Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

20-04-2022, 01:31 PM
You should probably include,

6. Have you ever broken the law, any law
7. Have you ever sent a dodgy text message
8. Have you ever signed a player who wasn't a success
9. Have you ever agreed with or liked a Hun/Tim tweet or text
10. Have you ever given your opinion to the press, or online on any topic at all which might be cast up in the future

There's more, but the list is just too long...

Burn the witch! :greengrin

scuttle
20-04-2022, 01:34 PM
I’m a gay hibee, and while Mackay’s texts were clearly homophobic and offensive, he deserves a second chance.

It’s hugely important to allow people the chance to change and grow, before they are simply ‘cancelled’, especially given how quickly social politics are progressing in the right direction.

Malky messed up, most people do. He’s my choice for next manager

Well said mate that is very magnanimous of you. I dont particularly want him or Martindale as our next manager but if they are appointed i would never give up on my club, managers come and go and if they are not performing Ron has proved he want accept it. On the other hand if they win a cup or get us into Europe i would thank them before they eventually move on

20-04-2022, 01:37 PM
Paul Hartleys past doesn’t change the fact he’s currently managing ****ing cove rangers.

Terrible example.

He's about to get them promoted for the second time in three seasons. Arguably a better record than Thomson who some would be perfectly happy with.

G15 Hibs
20-04-2022, 01:40 PM
I have never known a support who will never set foot in easter road, or hand their season tickets back because we appoint a manager they dont like.

Is mother teresa available?

I, for one, will never be back if they appoint a dead nun as manager

20-04-2022, 01:42 PM

She is more suited to the saints.

20-04-2022, 01:44 PM
I’ve already renewed my season ticket, but if Mackay is brought in I’m 100% handing it back. He’s a racist homophobe who belongs nowhere near our club.

That Hun Thomson can gtf too - albeit he’s not season ticket returning material. He’s only disgraced himself with his footballing allegiances, and not through being bigoted.

I like the Norwegian names being floated as next manager, but the rest of the list is pretty uninspiring.

How would you feel about Marv after his conviction for threatening and abusing his ex bird? Like actual directed harm at a woman rather than off colour comments in a private message.

May21/05/216
20-04-2022, 01:44 PM
I, for one, will never be back if they appoint a dead nun as managerIf martindale is appointed then I'm out mackay I think I would be inclined to renew

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

20-04-2022, 01:46 PM
He's about to get them promoted for the second time in three seasons. Arguably a better record than Thomson who some would be perfectly happy with.

Are Cove not heavily financially backed? They have a very decent squad for that level.

20-04-2022, 01:52 PM

What kind of dead person would you be prepared to accept or would a live nun be ok. The singing nun from Airplane might be ok.

G15 Hibs
20-04-2022, 01:54 PM
What kind of dead person would you be prepared to accept or would a live nun be ok. The singing nun from Airplane might be ok.

Well certainly not a Blue Nun. Is Sister Wendy still on the go?

20-04-2022, 01:58 PM
Given Ron has said he wants to go more experienced this list throws up a few potential names:
www.bettingodds.com/thesackrace/casualties (http://www.bettingodds.com/thesackrace/casualties)

Always thought Chris Hughton seemed a decent manager but was limited by unstable clubs (Newcastle, Birmingham, Forest)

Colin Calderwood's assistant at Hibs, wasn't he?

20-04-2022, 02:03 PM
Was it no the other way round, CC had been manager at Notts Forest but spoke to them while hibs manager with a view to returning there as assistant?

Steven79
20-04-2022, 02:05 PM

Nope but Calderwood was his assistant at Newcastle.

Steven79
20-04-2022, 02:06 PM
Was it no the other way round, CC had been manager at Notts Forest but spoke to them while hibs manager with a view to returning there as assistant?

Colin spoke to both Birmingham (Where Chris was the manager) and Notts Forrest during his time at Hibs as both wanted him as their assistant.

20-04-2022, 02:13 PM
Given Ron has said he wants to go more experienced this list throws up a few potential names:
www.bettingodds.com/thesackrace/casualties

Always thought Chris Hughton seemed a decent manager but was limited by unstable clubs (Newcastle, Birmingham, Forest)

Veljko Paunovic could be an interesting shout.

Ended badly at Reading but sure he did a really good job there for a while at first?

Reason why it could be interesting though is that he was at Chicago Fire at the same time as Jon Busch. He was manager there for 4 years so must have done a decent job. Also think it was said in the summer we were trying to get some link up with the Chicago fire feeder team.

If this is going to be an Ian Gordon appointment, not impossible he could have links to him and will certainly be aware of him.

Hibeewilly
20-04-2022, 02:15 PM
I have never known a support who will never set foot in easter road, or hand their season tickets back because we appoint a manager they dont like.

Is mother teresa available?I agree.... totally baffling

Sent from my POT-LX1 using Tapatalk

Cat Stanton
20-04-2022, 02:15 PM
I usually avoid the EEN's clickbait, but as someone who doesn't follow English football (and therefore knows nothing about most managers who have worked down there recently), there seemed a quite a few interesting names in here:

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-next-manager-10-out-of-work-coaches-who-may-fit-the-profile-3661116

20-04-2022, 02:26 PM
I usually avoid the EEN's clickbait, but as someone who doesn't follow English football (and therefore knows nothing about most managers who have worked down there recently), there seemed a quite a few interesting names in here:

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-next-manager-10-out-of-work-coaches-who-may-fit-the-profile-3661116
Far better than the usuals

yerauldda
20-04-2022, 02:31 PM

Tomasson would be my pick there. On top of his impressive CV, he also really managed to wind up Rangers fans in his pre match press conference against them. Sign him up.

20-04-2022, 02:31 PM

You are spot on. There is an element who are always looking for an reason to knock the club. Anyway, if you don't like the manager you don't need to worry, they never hang around long.

20-04-2022, 02:33 PM

If Hibs were rattling in the goals and playing teams off the park they'd be back no matter who was in charge. Don't think they'd sit in the house on a Saturday to make a point.

20-04-2022, 02:39 PM

Definitely the most appealing of all of those types of lists that I've seen over the years, IMO. Most of those listed I could easily get on board with.

20-04-2022, 02:39 PM
Tomasson looks a great candidate if we could afford him, I'd love Keane just for the interviews alone.

Eaststand
20-04-2022, 02:41 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRnyfVgQbXk

Excellent 👌 it's one of my all time fav movie clips 😀

huggie1875
20-04-2022, 02:45 PM
People who claim they’ll hand there season tickets back if certain people get the job make me laugh either you’ve never had a season ticket or you’re a spoilt little brat

Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 02:50 PM

Yes. It's pathetic really. Attention seeking type stuff. We are appointing a football manager not a prime minister.

OldEast
20-04-2022, 02:57 PM
Yes. It's pathetic really. Attention seeking type stuff. We are appointing a football manager not a prime minister.

Remember we have Boris Johnson. That maybe wasn't the best comparison 😂😂😂
Totally understand and agree though 👍🏻

Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 03:08 PM
Remember we have Boris Johnson. That maybe wasn't the best comparison 😂😂😂
Totally understand and agree though 👍🏻
Said Prime Minister for a reason :aok:

20-04-2022, 03:08 PM

This :greengrin

Who cares as long as they are a good manager.

No kiddie fiddlers though. I draw the line at that.

Saying that though, if the new manager still plays Josh Campbell I'm cancelling my ST :greengrin

OldEast
20-04-2022, 03:23 PM
Said Prime Minister for a reason :aok:

Gotcha, understood. 😉

20-04-2022, 03:31 PM
My final thought, at the moment
Which chairman is happier, Ross County or Hibernian?
Whose fans are happier, Ross County or Hibernian?
Whose players are happier, Ross County or Hibernian?

tonyrougier123
20-04-2022, 03:35 PM
Here’s a name no been mentioned yet as far as I’ve seen.
Alex McLeish?
63 now,wealth of experience though.
Scotland stint few years back was quite bad.
Worth mentioning at least.

20-04-2022, 03:35 PM
My final thought, at the moment
Which chairman is happier, Ross County or Hibernian?
Whose fans are happier, Ross County or Hibernian?
Whose players are happier, Ross County or Hibernian?

You could have done the same with Inverness and Hibs in November 2013 and you would have picked Inverness for every answer. It’s not the way to select a manager.

Steven79
20-04-2022, 03:42 PM
Here’s a name no been mentioned yet as far as I’ve seen.
Alex McLeish?
63 now,wealth of experience though.
Scotland stint few years back was quite bad.
Worth mentioning at least.

Did you see the state of him when he was in charge of Scotland not so long ago?

LewysGot2
20-04-2022, 03:46 PM
Did you see the state of him when he was in charge of Scotland not so long ago?

I think he's struggling healthwise...

Steven79
20-04-2022, 03:55 PM
I think he's struggling healthwise...

I don't know what the issue is but he should have been nowhere near the Scotland job.

Whoever put him in that position should have a word with themselves as it was painful to watch.

Posh Swanny
20-04-2022, 03:57 PM

Fergie actually has four promotions with Posh! And another with Doncaster. Has become a little more pragmatic with his style of play in recent years though. It certainly helped him early on when he inherited Mackaill-Smith, Aaron McLean and George Boyd!

When the wheels come off it tends to be quite spectacular with him mind.

Spudster
20-04-2022, 04:12 PM
Fergie actually has four promotions with Posh! And another with Doncaster. Has become a little more pragmatic with his style of play in recent years though. It certainly helped him early on when he inherited Mackaill-Smith, Aaron McLean and George Boyd!

When the wheels come off it tends to be quite spectacular with him mind.

Sounds like it's meant to be!

20-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Absolutely.

Its crazy that some people exonerate Martindale because he's supposedly a reformed character who has shown remorse. Its slso crazy that some people think what Mackay done was worse.

Mackay's actions were disgusting, but Martindale was part of a trade helping to faciliate deaths, rapes and torture thousands of miles away, alongside destruction of natural habitats and also causing misery and social distruction in communities closer to home. Oh its fine though cause he got caught and served his time:hilarious

Your second paragraph could literally be about any number of 'legal' trades as well though. If you use a smart phone with cobalt or lithium in the battery, or eat any product with palm oil your indirectly contributing to those exact same issues you've listed.

20-04-2022, 06:08 PM
Your second paragraph could literally be about any number of 'legal' trades as well though. If you use a smart phone with cobalt or lithium in the battery, or eat any product with palm oil your indirectly contributing to those exact same issues you've listed.

Oh come on, there may be some issues with the trades you have mentioned but to compare those to the global drug trafficking trade is absolutely ridiculous.

Your palm oil claim is totally wild as well. There are many products eaten on a daily basis using sustainable palm oil and is in fact a far more ethical type of oil to use than many replacements for it. I had this explained to me by a well run food manufacturer through West recently. You'd be laughed out the room for coming out with nonsense that the palm oil they used contributed to death, rapes as well as misery to communities in Scotland.

Anyway not for the main board this discussion.

Scotty Leither
20-04-2022, 08:51 PM
I was going to suggest Martin O'Neill - until I googled him and see that he's now 70! I thought he was just in his early 60s too...

Pity we couldn't clone him - could do with some of his determination and will-to-win permeating the club just now.

Ah well - Que sera sera, as someone once said/sung.

Edit - Director of Football maybe?

Zambernardi1875
20-04-2022, 08:59 PM
Veljko Paunovic could be an interesting shout.

Ended badly at Reading but sure he did a really good job there for a while at first?

Reason why it could be interesting though is that he was at Chicago Fire at the same time as Jon Busch. He was manager there for 4 years so must have done a decent job. Also think it was said in the summer we were trying to get some link up with the Chicago fire feeder team.

If this is going to be an Ian Gordon appointment, not impossible he could have links to him and will certainly be aware of him.

this is a great shout.

20-04-2022, 10:24 PM
Patrick McPartlin (@p_mcpartlin) Tweeted:
Hibs have drawn up a list of potential candidates to succeed Shaun Maloney but Celtic assistant boss John Kennedy is not under consideration. Club is casting the net far & wide but many options are UK-based

https://t.co/TC2KBgNhNd

20-04-2022, 10:34 PM
Hibs have drawn up a list of potential candidates to succeed Shaun Maloney but Celtic assistant boss John Kennedy is not under consideration. Club is casting the net far & wide but many options are UK-based

Was just going to post that. Seems to me there’s not a great appetite for risk and far and wide will mean English, or possibly Irish football.

Sounds to me like we want someone that knows British football and will be able to hit the ground running next season.

20-04-2022, 10:46 PM
Listening to Ron Gordon again and hearing his enthusiasm and want to be the very best that we can and instilling a real winners mentality is really refreshing.

To me he’ll want a manager of similar ilk who will kick every ball on the side of the pitch and demand huge standards.

It makes me think he’d absolutely love Neil Lennon….

20-04-2022, 10:53 PM
Wonder if Stephen Bradley at Shamrock Rovers would be considered?

I don’t know much about Irish football but seems to have won the league with Shamrock two years in a row and highly thought of.

I know that route didn’t work with Fenlon but that wouldn’t mean all Irish managers are duds.

20-04-2022, 10:55 PM
Lennon’s current club. Check the badge and strip….:greengrin

https://www.omonoiafc.com.cy/

ElginHibbie
20-04-2022, 10:58 PM

...well he clearly has a type

#2 Double Tap
20-04-2022, 11:05 PM

that is quite funny.

21-04-2022, 08:06 AM

Good, about as uninspiring an appointment as I can imagine.

21-04-2022, 08:08 AM

Further evidence that the media in this country are absolutely clueless. Favourite my arse.

21-04-2022, 08:11 AM
Wonder if Stephen Bradley at Shamrock Rovers would be considered?

I don’t know much about Irish football but seems to have won the league with Shamrock two years in a row and highly thought of.

I know that route didn’t work with Fenlon but that wouldn’t mean all Irish managers are duds.
They may take applications from other places that will make them sit up and notice mind you.

Has to get this right. A lot of the usual British names are uninspiring

Boss_Nass
21-04-2022, 10:40 AM
Neil Lennon with Scott Brown as assistant would be my preference but appreciate Lennon settled in Cyprus.

21-04-2022, 12:11 PM
We're gonna push the boat out for Ronnie Deila. Highest paid manager in our history.

Paulie Walnuts
21-04-2022, 12:12 PM
We're gonna push the boat out for Ronnie Deila. Highest paid manager in our history.

I’d be happy with that.

21-04-2022, 12:13 PM

Inside knowledge or a guess/theory?

HendoDelivered
21-04-2022, 12:14 PM

No chance?

21-04-2022, 12:23 PM
I’d be happy with that.

Inside knowledge or a guess/theory?

No chance?

He's on the list. Ron Gordon stated in his interview yesterday that they want managers to come to Hibs and succeed with our club and to use us as a stepping stone to progress to bigger clubs.

21-04-2022, 12:24 PM
Ronnie Deila will be on a small fortune at New York. There's absolutely no chance that is happening. None.

21-04-2022, 12:26 PM
Ronnie Deila will be on a small fortune at New York. There's absolutely no chance that is happening. None.

Much you reckon he's on?

21-04-2022, 12:30 PM
Francesca Gelico (@iammrazul) Tweeted:
NEW: Hibernian considering move for Tommy Wright as man to replace Maloney as Manager. Other candidates being considered but the board are leaning towards the experienced Northern Irish man. More to follow. FG.

https://t.co/WFQqaY4ZlF

21-04-2022, 12:30 PM
NEW: Hibernian considering move for Tommy Wright as man to replace Maloney as Manager. Other candidates being considered but the board are leaning towards the experienced Northern Irish man. More to follow. FG.

Rubbish.

21-04-2022, 12:31 PM

Think that'll (hopefully) be pish.

21-04-2022, 12:37 PM
Think that'll (hopefully) be pish.

Hope so.

A huge climb down in a matter of posts from Ronny Deila to this guy

21-04-2022, 12:37 PM

What a coup that’d be, we can but dream.

With regards to Delia, I think there’s other factors to consider other than money, although that’s a biggy.

He’s been at New York a wee while now, where is he going to go from there? I would guess at some point he will want back into European football. Is he going to go straight to one of the big big leagues from there? Probably not IMO.

I suspect his ambitions will lie in England, doing a good job here would be a really decent stepping stone for him. He’s also be much closer to home. I think he would be in the unlikely but hugely ambitious but not impossible category.

21-04-2022, 12:39 PM

Haha surprise surprise

21-04-2022, 12:40 PM

https://t.co/WFQqaY4ZlFThat would be a staunch appointment :hilarious

tonyrougier123
21-04-2022, 12:41 PM

I really don’t like the idea of deila coming to hibs.
Was his Celtic side no pushed to the wire by Aberdeen and generally a bit meek?

21-04-2022, 12:43 PM

Think he’s done a really good job everywhere else he’s been and while he wasn’t anything amazing at Celtic, he never did a bad job.

21-04-2022, 12:44 PM
Much you reckon he's on?

More than we could pay and he'd get offered more elsewhere.

Look at it from his perspective, he's just managed a team to the MLS and his stock will be we high as it's ever been. Why is he going to come to a bottom 6 Scottish club.

Never happening.

Paulie Walnuts
21-04-2022, 12:46 PM

17 points ahead then 15 points ahead in his two seasons.

Not amazing from Celtics point of view but they still won the league at a canter.

21-04-2022, 12:54 PM

I wouldn’t worry about it …no chance we could afford him

HFC93
21-04-2022, 12:55 PM
The idea that a Deila would give up managing and living in New York, which seems to be going well for him, and come to Easter Road is bonkers.

21-04-2022, 12:55 PM
I wouldn’t worry about it …no chance we could afford him

Wanted him last time and remain in that camp.

Someone put up a list of folk from the EEN the other day there. There were loads of exciting names in there

21-04-2022, 12:56 PM
He's on the list. Ron Gordon stated in his interview yesterday that they want managers to come to Hibs and succeed with our club and to use us as a stepping stone to progress to bigger clubs.

Has he not already used his stepping stone in the MLS? Could go somewhere paying a lot more and in a better league than back to Scotland.

21-04-2022, 01:01 PM
Imagine circling from Jack Ross to Shaun Maloney and then ending up with Tommy Wright…shudders. Not a chance in hell that’s happening.

21-04-2022, 01:09 PM

****ing hope not.

21-04-2022, 01:18 PM
****ing hope not.

That's a photoshop - old photo of Wright at ER, with the logo added. As if the Economist would be reporting on candidates to be the next manager of Hibs!

21-04-2022, 01:19 PM
Think he’s done a really good job everywhere else he’s been and while he wasn’t anything amazing at Celtic, he never did a bad job.

Bigger budget than anyone else in the league at that time ,looks like he spent just under 13m in 2 seasons, Ange has spent 22.5m this season

21-04-2022, 01:22 PM
Whoever it is, will oversea an interesting next 6 months or so, bring it on.

OstKurve Hibs
21-04-2022, 01:34 PM
I've never threatened to not buy a season ticket for whatever reason, but if tommy wright gets the job I wont be, hes in the orange lodge ffs. Fk off wi that

21-04-2022, 01:37 PM
Ronny Deila would be a cracking appointment but like others have said must be on a good packet at NY. Fantasy stuff getting him. Tommy Wright? Haha not happening.

21-04-2022, 01:44 PM
Ronny Deila would be a cracking appointment but like others have said must be on a good packet at NY. Fantasy stuff getting him. Tommy Wright? Haha not happening.

Don't think he'll be on that much there. Salary cap in the MLS right?

Think I read somewhere not that long ago that the average salary for the NYC team was about £8k a week. Obviously still more than we pay but can't see Deila being out of our range financially.

It's the moving from NYC back to Scotland thing though, as amazing as Edinburgh is, just can't see it!

21-04-2022, 01:57 PM
Don't think he'll be on that much there. Salary cap in the MLS right?

Think I read somewhere not that long ago that the average salary for the NYC team was about £8k a week. Obviously still more than we pay but can't see Deila being out of our range financially.

It's the moving from NYC back to Scotland thing though, as amazing as Edinburgh is, just can't see it!

I’m fairly certain the salary cap doesn’t apply to managers.

21-04-2022, 02:10 PM
I’m fairly certain the salary cap doesn’t apply to managers.

Aye, you're right. According to this;

https://authoritysoccer.com/mls-coaches-salary-by-teams-in-2021/

Deila is on $500,000 a season. Source looks to be complete crap mind you. Still don't think he'd trade it in for the Hibs job.

Dazzjw1875
21-04-2022, 02:28 PM
Marcelo bielsa? Haha let's get some.of that to ER would defo be entertaining.

21-04-2022, 02:41 PM
SDG.

And stick with him..

An assistant coach who has never managed before.

Those are worse credentials than Maloney came with.

21-04-2022, 02:43 PM

In a heartbeat but he's even less likely than Deila. Was probably on a minimum of 30k a week at Leeds and he'll have suitor's all over the world.

21-04-2022, 02:51 PM

He 's probably shown more that suggests he knows what he's doing during his temporary spell in charge of Hibs than Maloney did during his time in the permanent job though.

21-04-2022, 02:58 PM
Aye, you're right. According to this;

https://authoritysoccer.com/mls-coaches-salary-by-teams-in-2021/

Deila is on $500,000 a season. Source looks to be complete crap mind you. Still don't think he'd trade it in for the Hibs job.

What's that £385k ??

£7k a week

21-04-2022, 02:59 PM
He 's probably shown more that suggests he knows what he's doing during his temporary spell in charge of Hibs than Maloney did during his time in the permanent job though.

I suppose that's arguable, but he's not the experienced person that we're looking for and need.

If he has aspirations to be Hibs manager, I hope he gets a job at a decent championship club so he can get experience and learn about the difference between coaching and man management.

21-04-2022, 03:00 PM
In a heartbeat but he's even less likely than Deila. Was probably on a minimum of 30k a week at Leeds and he'll have suitor's all over the world.

Bielsa took a £30k+/week CUT during the pandemic

he was on £150k/week

4th highest paid manager in the EPL on £8m/year

21-04-2022, 03:02 PM
Apparently Tony Mowbray is not getting his contract renewed at Blackburn at the end of the season
He has an eye for a player

Actually John Park had the eye for the players and Mowbray knew how to play them

21-04-2022, 03:02 PM

he was on £150k/week

Crazy money.

Gordy M
21-04-2022, 03:05 PM

he was on £150k/week

Exactly, its no wonder some folk come out with the disappointed chat when we appoint a manager, their heads have been filled with totally unrealistic names they think we SHOULD be hiring.

21-04-2022, 03:11 PM
I suppose that's arguable, but he's not the experienced person that we're looking for and need.

If he has aspirations to be Hibs manager, I hope he gets a job at a decent championship club so he can get experience and learn about the difference between coaching and man management.

Yeah, I'd agree with that. Would always be horrible to see him leave though.

FWIW I think Ian Murray will be a better manager for the various experiences he's had managing at a lower level - some positive, some negative. By all accounts he's put a very good side together at Airdrie.

21-04-2022, 03:11 PM
JC walked away when he realised those players you listed were the height of the boards ambitions. We just bagged the record transfer fee paid within Scotland for a player - a record that still stands 15 years later - and he wasn’t given enough of the pie.

He banned pies...

21-04-2022, 03:18 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/BDF8b2LdXWBp1U6J6

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

21-04-2022, 03:25 PM
Tommy Wright?! Someone’s having a laugh surely!!!

Re Deila and Knutsen I would take both in a heartbeat however they will have bigger and more lucrative offers elsewhere.

For those that mention Bielsa…I doubt we could afford one week of his salary.

Chorley Hibee
21-04-2022, 03:25 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/BDF8b2LdXWBp1U6J6

I want the new manager doing this after away wins at Tynie and Ibrox.

21-04-2022, 03:42 PM
What's that £385k ??

£7k a week

Roughly that aye. Again, the source looks like it's pure guess work though.

21-04-2022, 03:54 PM

Were his Leeds team not being destroyed most weeks?

Mcbizz1998
21-04-2022, 03:58 PM
Were his Leeds team not being destroyed most weeks?

Emm well yeah but he also got them into the premier league for the first time in 16 years. They absolutely loved him.

Anyway, there is absolutely no chance he would come to Hibs.

21-04-2022, 05:16 PM
Tommy Wright 😂😂😂😂😂

LunasBoots
21-04-2022, 07:22 PM

😫

chippy
22-04-2022, 09:29 AM
😫

Got to be a wind up, can’t see an Orangeman as our manager

Cat Stanton
22-04-2022, 01:11 PM
Got to be a wind up, can’t see an Orangeman as our manager

That comment is almost as depressing as Wright being our manager.

joebakerforever
22-04-2022, 03:13 PM

Well Tom Courts @ Dundee Utd was "An assistant coach who has never managed before" and managed to get them in 4th place currently, so David Gray is in a similar situation.

If SDG does a decent job in the remaining 5 games, could do far worse than then appoint him as manager on a 6/12 rolling contract pro tem.

22-04-2022, 03:29 PM
Coincidentaly just saw a clip of Collins in Scotlands Game - documentary that came out about 5 years ago - about how he tried to change the culture at ER and how players rebelled against it, he also said they were going on a training camp in the build up to the LC final in 2007 and some players thought it would be a stag do with nights out etc. He spoke at length as to how different Monaco was and why Scottish football was behind the times. I wonder if his way of thinking was maybe slightly too soon, could his ideas be implemented now?

FWIW I don't Collins would want to be a manager at Hibs, but maybe a DOF style role would be ideal?

Steven79
22-04-2022, 03:37 PM
Well Tom Courts @ Dundee Utd was "An assistant coach who has never managed before" and managed to get them in 4th place currently, so David Gray is in a similar situation.

If SDG does a decent job in the remaining 5 games, could do far worse than then appoint him as manager on a 6/12 rolling contract pro tem.

I don't want him as manager as if it all goes tits up then where does that leave him?

Gordy M
22-04-2022, 03:44 PM

Was Tam Courts not the manager of Kelty Hearts?

1875Sean
22-04-2022, 03:45 PM

Tam courts did manage Kelty for a few years when they were non league

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 03:50 PM
Coincidentaly just saw a clip of Collins in Scotlands Game - documentary that came out about 5 years ago - about how he tried to change the culture at ER and how players rebelled against it, he also said they were going on a training camp in the build up to the LC final in 2007 and some players thought it would be a stag do with nights out etc. He spoke at length as to how different Monaco was and why Scottish football was behind the times. I wonder if his way of thinking was maybe slightly too soon, could his ideas be implemented now?

FWIW I don't Collins would want to be a manager at Hibs, but maybe a DOF style role would be ideal?

If the issues are as described by John Collins then maybe.

I have a feeling his story when he tells it is always a bit one sided though.

JamesHFC
22-04-2022, 04:05 PM

He won’t be next manager.

JamesHFC
22-04-2022, 04:56 PM
Roberto Di Matteo?

22-04-2022, 04:59 PM
If the issues are as described by John Collins then maybe.

I have a feeling his story when he tells it is always a bit one sided though.

It may well be, but then the other side of that story is often told by Kevin Thomson…

22-04-2022, 06:00 PM
Roberto Di Matteo?

No idea what he's up to these days but looks like he's been out of management since 2016

22-04-2022, 09:06 PM
Tommy Wright anyone?

22-04-2022, 09:09 PM
Tommy Wright anyone?

I’d rather have my eyes pulled out

22-04-2022, 09:12 PM
Tommy Wright anyone?

Killie wouldn't have gone up if he wasn't punted

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 09:19 PM
Roberto Di Matteo?

I’ve suggested him every time our job comes up.

Champions League winning manager. Why is it he doesn’t seem to get work? Is it through choice or is there something about him?

Gaffer1875
22-04-2022, 09:27 PM
Ronny Delia for me

22-04-2022, 09:31 PM

22-04-2022, 09:44 PM
I’d hate for it to turn sour for SDG if he became manager. He’s too big a legend for that.

22-04-2022, 09:49 PM
Really hoping we’ll go out there and get a decent manager in. Then for them the be backed and improve the squad in every position over the next couple of years

22-04-2022, 09:49 PM
I’d hate for it to turn sour for SDG if he became manager. He’s too big a legend for that.

If he wants the managers job and does enough tk earn it, that would almost be punishing him for being an absolute hero on the pitch for us.

If he does well as caretaker and earns a crack at the job full time, he should get it IMO.

22-04-2022, 10:07 PM
If he wants the managers job and does enough tk earn it, that would almost be punishing him for being an absolute hero on the pitch for us.

If he does well as caretaker and earns a crack at the job full time, he should get it IMO.

I’m not sure 5 games in the bottom six is a good barometer for a successful season next season tbh. Id much rather we just brought in experience.

Far too much of a risk following another inexperienced manager that failed

timewilltell
22-04-2022, 10:11 PM

You can't be serious!

timewilltell
22-04-2022, 10:13 PM

Bonkers to suggest irrespective of his next 5 results to think this would be a good idea!

joebakerforever
23-04-2022, 01:51 AM
Bonkers to suggest irrespective of his next 5 results to think this would be a good idea!

So if Hibs, under David Gray's temporary charge, were to get the better of Aberdeen, Livingston, & St Mirren, which they have not done in the last encounters this Season, you would ignore this as being relevant to consider appointing him as Manager on a 6/12 month rolling contract?

Like to explain how this would be bonkers?

BigKev
23-04-2022, 04:18 AM
So if Hibs, under David Gray's temporary charge, were to get the better of Aberdeen, Livingston, & St Mirren, which they have not done in the last encounters this Season, you would ignore this as being relevant to consider appointing him as Manager on a 6/12 month rolling contract?

Like to explain how this would be bonkers?

David Gray won’t be getting the job. Can we stop this chat rather than it getting suggested on every other page and folk going round in circles with arguments over it.

He’ll continue in a back room role but be nowhere near the top job.

Gaffer1875
23-04-2022, 06:13 AM
Di Canio? [emoji38]

hibbydog
23-04-2022, 06:50 AM
For me

Gordon Strachan
George Burley
Alan Stubbs

23-04-2022, 06:57 AM
For me

Gordon Strachan
George Burley
Alan StubbsHow mmay games have they managed between them the last 5 years?

Must Be about zero [emoji23]

23-04-2022, 07:00 AM
Strachan is undoubtedly a good manager, he's pretty much done a job wherever he's been. He also had a bit of stature and charisma so he's going to instantly get the respect of the dressing room.

I don't think he'd take it as I believe he doesn't want to get back into full time management but he'd be about as good an appointment we could get IMO.

23-04-2022, 07:07 AM
Wonder when left field names will start getting banded about the media. Guys that have no chance of getting it but want to throw their hat in the ring.

A Joel Cantona type rumour or that guy that was Guardiolas mate that got recommended to us before Jack Ross got appointed.

23-04-2022, 07:17 AM
Wonder when left field names will start getting banded about the media. Guys that have no chance of getting it but want to throw their hat in the ring.

A Joel Cantona type rumour or that guy that was Guardiolas mate that got recommended to us before Jack Ross got appointed.Harry kewell might be at love street the day [emoji23]

I'm guessing the end of next week the club might have a more serious list, so the crowd at almondvale or ER the week after might have some interesting faces

I don't think it's really that realistic but I think Delia would be a massive success for us

23-04-2022, 07:20 AM
It may well be, but then the other side of that story is often told by Kevin Thomson…

I'd suggest Michael Stewart rather than Kevin Thomson.

23-04-2022, 07:21 AM
Harry kewell might be at love street the day [emoji23]

I'm guessing the end of next week the club might have a more serious list, so the crowd at almondvale or ER the week after might have some interesting faces

I don't think it's really that realistic but I think Delia would be a massive success for us

Harry Kewell, forgot about him.

Remember watching interviews with him and thinking what a fanny he sounded like but trying to convince myself he wasn’t that bad.

Inconsequential
23-04-2022, 07:23 AM
Strachan is undoubtedly a good manager, he's pretty much done a job wherever he's been. He also had a bit of stature and charisma so he's going to instantly get the respect of the dressing room.

I don't think he'd take it as I believe he doesn't want to get back into full time management but he'd be about as good an appointment we could get IMO. Sorry but my opinion differs from yours on Gordon Strachan. His win percentage rates at Coventry, Southampton and Middlesbrough were poor. He only excelled at Celtic but then he had a huge advantage over other sides. I wouldn't want him to manage Hibs in this day and age.

23-04-2022, 07:29 AM
I'd suggest Michael Stewart rather than Kevin Thomson.

I’m sure there were articles that came out, I might be imagining though as I can’t stand KT 😂

In fairness Stewart, from what I’ve heard, has a genuine grievance with the way Collins treated him.

Skol
23-04-2022, 07:31 AM
If we start to win and see something with gray in charge then he will be considered. However I don’t think Gordon would take another chance on someone with no real experience and so he is unlikely to be given the job

on-the-level
23-04-2022, 07:44 AM
Roy Maurice Keane
RG would be too frightened to sack
Him so that would sort out the
stability issue.
No long in the tooth pros saving them
self's for semis/finals and
concentrating on the old addage 'one
game at a time'
Would defo sort out any poor
refereeing decisions... No ref in
Scotland would want Roy banging on
thier door at f/t
Think nearly every Hibs fan would be
OK with this choice as Manager...
and if they arent🥊🥊

hibbydog
23-04-2022, 07:47 AM
How mmay games have they managed between them the last 5 years?

Must Be about zero [emoji23]

So that means we discount them and move on ?

23-04-2022, 08:02 AM
Roy Maurice Keane
stability issue.
game at a time'
thier door at f/t
and if they arent🥊🥊

I don’t
Think
There’s any chance
Roy Keane
Would come up here
Unless it was
To manage Celtic

23-04-2022, 08:03 AM
So that means we discount them and move on ?Yes, definately

I don't want a manager who hasn't been in work for 5 years

Literally not managed a game in that time?

For me that discounts them, absolutely

I mean I'm. Saying 5 years, but when did George Burnley last do anything - about a decade ago according to wiki

on-the-level
23-04-2022, 08:28 AM
I don’t
Think
There’s any chance
Roy Keane
Would come up here
Unless it was
To manage Celtic
I would rather have Roy than some
Brad Bobbly... We need to shoot high
who ever gets the job end of..

23-04-2022, 08:30 AM
Roy Maurice Keane
stability issue.
game at a time'
thier door at f/t
and if they arent🥊🥊

What tune is that to?

LustForLeith
23-04-2022, 08:52 AM
Raphael Wicky

Linked when Maloney got the job, experience in America, won stuff with Basel. Doesn’t have a club

That’s the man

on-the-level
23-04-2022, 08:53 AM
What tune is that to?

#eye of the 🐯!
That do for you?

on-the-level
23-04-2022, 08:55 AM
Raphael Wicky

Linked when Maloney got the job, experience in America, won stuff with Basel. Doesn’t have a club

That’s the man

Meg nuts 🤣

23-04-2022, 09:00 AM
Roy Maurice Keane
stability issue.
game at a time'
thier door at f/t
and if they arent🥊🥊

I’d be keen to see Roy in the dugout

23-04-2022, 09:54 AM
Roy Maurice Keane
Him so that would sort out thet
stability issue.
game at a time'
thier door at f/t
and if they arent🥊🥊
Guys an absolute arse. And a failed manager too.

"oh but he was hard as a player so he must be able to shout at them and demand things"

It's not 1980. Managers need to teach players, not shout at them.

23-04-2022, 11:10 AM
Roy Maurice Keane
stability issue.
game at a time'
thier door at f/t
and if they arent[emoji3037][emoji3037]

When was last time he managed a club ?? Years ago now … not for me

23-04-2022, 11:24 AM
David Gray won’t be getting the job. Can we stop this chat rather than it getting suggested on every other page and folk going round in circles with arguments over it.

He’ll continue in a back room role but be nowhere near the top job.
Less experienced than Maloney, most certainly not the long term solution Ron Gordon has talked about.

AugustaHibs
23-04-2022, 11:27 AM

"oh but he was hard as a player so he must be able to shout at them and demand things"

Failed manager? Done well with Sunderland

mcfly
23-04-2022, 11:32 AM
I really don’t care who the manager is

What I want is a winning team, big crowds, making Easter road a fun play to go again.

Last few years our home record has been terrible.

I don’t agree giving our new contracts until we know the new manager, and it’s his decision.

A big clearout is needed. No room for “hibs” loyality.

However if I had to say a management team I’d be happy with a team of Lennon and Bartley

Both of them get hibs and I’d love to see marv back at Easter road.

23-04-2022, 11:58 AM
Just listened to SDG pre match interview.

From listening to him I think he wants the job, last time he was distancing himself from it but now seems like he was deflecting the question and trying not to answer.

Also liked how he put them in their place in a joking way by saying if they asked questions about the game that would be outstanding!

23-04-2022, 12:27 PM
Just listened to SDG pre match interview.

From listening to him I think he wants the job, last time he was distancing himself from it but now seems like he was deflecting the question and trying not to answer.

Also liked how he put them in their place in a joking way by saying if they asked questions about the game that would be outstanding!

Moira Gordon "we're here cause the manager got sacked haha"

Aye, hilarious stuff, Moira.

Key West
23-04-2022, 12:29 PM
5 wins and Gray would be in contention.

23-04-2022, 12:31 PM
Slow down guys - let's see if he starts James Scott first [emoji44]

23-04-2022, 01:35 PM
Slow down guys - let's see if he starts James Scott first [emoji44]

Gray out!

Although at least we've gone with two up front for once.

23-04-2022, 02:36 PM
Any potential new manager for us sitting in the stand today at Paisley watching ?

23-04-2022, 02:52 PM
Any potential new manager for us sitting in the stand today at Paisley watching ?

If he's there he'll be sitting fast asleep, total borefest.

23-04-2022, 02:52 PM

hope not

23-04-2022, 02:53 PM

Hope there's none in the dugout either.

mcfly
23-04-2022, 02:56 PM
Well that first half was awful.

We are so boring to watch. Big worry for owner because unless there is a huge clearout the same players will produce the same boring performances next season.

Need to get those lost fans back. We need better players

23-04-2022, 02:57 PM
how did we get to this since 2016:boo hoo:

23-04-2022, 02:59 PM

How did we get to this from last season. We won 3-0 here and played like Brazil.

23-04-2022, 03:01 PM

Lack of forward planning and serious investment in players, thats how.

loanheadhibby
23-04-2022, 03:11 PM
How did we get to this from last season. We won 3-0 here and played like Brazil.

We’re still playing like Brazil. Unfortunately this season it’s the blue Brazil

23-04-2022, 04:13 PM

A terrible summer transfer window and a few questionable decisions in the aftermath.

This time last year we'd finished 3rd, had started the habit of getting to the last 4 of cup competitions but were still a work in progress.

We are where we are and need to improve from here.

23-04-2022, 10:18 PM

A Joel Cantona type rumour or that guy that was Guardiolas mate that got recommended to us before Jack Ross got appointed.

https://twitter.com/dougiestsport/status/1517976072368922624?s=21&t=vyxiSv_GnnSI-dJ-97mnsg

To answer my own question, tomorrow apparently!

FWIW I don’t know who the big name manager is, but I bet whoever it is that gets mentioned, doesn’t get the job.

23-04-2022, 10:27 PM
https://twitter.com/dougiestsport/status/1517976072368922624?s=21&t=vyxiSv_GnnSI-dJ-97mnsg

FWIW I don’t know who the big name manager is, but I bet whoever it is that gets mentioned, doesn’t get the job.NeilFrancisLennon

Or Harry Kewell

[emoji23]

Daily Hibs
23-04-2022, 10:32 PM
Relying on players who haven't been good enough or have the right mentality for years. These players have also managed to remain at the club, in the team and it has now turned stale. Severe lack of forward planning from the club.

Steve Austin
23-04-2022, 10:41 PM
Relying on players who haven't been good enough or have the right mentality for years, who have also managed to remain in the team and it has now turned stale.

we need a manager with a proven record and with a presence and plays fast free flowing high pressing football,
someone who can get HIBS and what it means !!.
Not afraid to empty players either!!.
:wink::agree:

MGmick
23-04-2022, 10:50 PM
we need a manager with a proven record and with a presence and plays fast free flowing high pressing football,

Just :faf:
How's he going to get that lot to fit the bill?

23-04-2022, 10:53 PM

John Collins fits the bill perfectly.

👍

Daily Hibs
23-04-2022, 10:55 PM
Just :faf:
How's he going to get that lot to fit the bill?
He doesn't, he releases them and builds a team from scratch. New captain, the lot.

23-04-2022, 11:06 PM

FWIW I don’t know who the big name manager is, but I bet whoever it is that gets mentioned, doesn’t get the job.

It’s Roy Keane.

MGmick
23-04-2022, 11:07 PM
[INDENT]
He doesn't, he releases them and builds a team from scratch. New captain, the lot.

Are you buying? What about all the new contracts that have been doled out? Don't get me wrong, I agree 100% that is the what's needed but they aren't lemmings so they won't be tearing up their own contracts.

Steve Austin
23-04-2022, 11:08 PM
[INDENT]

absolutely need some manager to galvanise the whole place.,some one with energy enthusiasm!.
whole spine of team needs upgrading seriously?,Time fur Ron to pony up with the dough…
we need quality and experience.
a miracle.:thumbsup:

23-04-2022, 11:26 PM
[INDENT]
He doesn't, he releases them and builds a team from scratch. New captain, the lot.We all want to see a Hibs team challenging regularly for cups , qualifying for Europe most if not every year and some time challenging for the league . But to do that , unless we have an incredible amount of money one year like a lottery winner , takes time . This season , ironically , our club`s owners started process by changing manager in December and appointing a new manager plus his assistants plus signing of Steve Kean and signings of several exciting young players .
Sacking of manager this week just seems crazy to me but that`s been debated on other thresdas . Yes we need a new captain and many new players if we want to compete at a higher level but reality is that we don`t have money to attract players who can significantly improve our team .

24-04-2022, 08:10 AM
It’s Roy Keane.

The Sunday Times is reporting that Roy Keane is interested in replacing Shaun Maloney as manager of Hibs.

The story, by @DougieSTSport, claims Keane ‘has discussed the Hibs job with friends’. https://t.co/caVv58vAjY

Bridge hibs
24-04-2022, 08:17 AM
The Sunday Times is reporting that Roy Keane is interested in replacing Shaun Maloney as manager of Hibs.

The story, by @DougieSTSport, claims Keane ‘has discussed the Hibs job with friends’. https://t.co/caVv58vAjYOh ffs please no 😳

LustForLeith
24-04-2022, 08:26 AM

The story, by @DougieSTSport, claims Keane ‘has discussed the Hibs job with friends’. https://t.co/caVv58vAjY

Keane “what about Hibs?”

Keane’s pals “they’re mince”

End of conversation

#2 Double Tap
24-04-2022, 08:26 AM
It’s Roy Keane.

i would love that!

24-04-2022, 08:27 AM

Would absolutely love it if we got Keane. Yes there are risks with his type of character but he has proved before he can be a very good manager and would raise the profile of the club to another level.

LustForLeith
24-04-2022, 08:32 AM
I’d take Keane in a minute

I reckon he makes far more money doing his Sky stuff with far less responsibility. I know which one I’d rather do on a regular basis.

I’d take Keane. I just don’t think Keane would take us

24-04-2022, 08:38 AM
Roy Keane has not been a club manager since 2011. 11 years ago ! When he left Ipswich they were in the relegation zone in the championship, despite being favourites for promotion . Other than his personality , he has nothing that suggests he would be a good appointment

JXM73
24-04-2022, 08:40 AM

Would absolutely love it if we got Keane. Yes there are risks with his type of character but he has proved before he can be a very good manager and would raise the profile of the club to another level.

Would be the best comedy signing since lennon, might get some great football again but the implosion will be fantastic.

24-04-2022, 08:41 AM
Oh ffs please no 😳

That's my gut feeling, too. As well as being a potentially divisive force in the dressing room and on the training pitch and an overall controversial character, he's not experienced at all as a head coach, which was RG's number one requirement. It would be a celebrity/media appointment rather than a football appointment, IMO.

24-04-2022, 08:45 AM

Box office

24-04-2022, 08:45 AM
Keane would be a risky appointment but one that's definitely worth considering IMO.

He'd get instant respect in the dressing room, the players would certainly look out to him in terms of what he achieved as a player and I think he would demand very high standards which ultimately is what we want. He's also likely to have good contacts in the game due to who he is which you won't get with lower key managers.

If he is genuinely interested then it would be foolish of the board to not consider and meet with him to hear what he has to say.

24-04-2022, 08:47 AM
Wow that would be…entertaining at least 😂

24-04-2022, 08:48 AM
Correct me if I’m wrong but his teams play a very boring style of football don’t they?

24-04-2022, 08:51 AM
Correct me if I’m wrong but his teams play a very boring style of football don’t they?

I genuinely couldn't tell you how his teams play. It's been that long since I can remember watching a game when he managed a team.

Bridge hibs
24-04-2022, 08:52 AM
That's my gut feeling, too. As well as being a potentially divisive force in the dressing room and on the training pitch and an overall controversial character, he's not experienced at all as a head coach, which was RG's number one requirement. It would be a celebrity/media appointment rather than a football appointment, IMO.I like him as a pundit, especially his rants when Man U lose 🤣 but as a Manager, hopefully he is nowhere near us

24-04-2022, 08:53 AM
Whilst Ipswich didnt work out he gave Sunderland fans one of their favourite seasons.

If he had a bit of cash to splash I think he could seriously raise the level of the calibre of player that would be willing to sign for Hibs.

If there were other names jumping out at me then I might not be so convinced about him, but lets face it there aren't.

24-04-2022, 08:55 AM

The Sunderland fans were gutted when his proposed return as manager fell through before Alex Neil was appointed.

#2 Double Tap
24-04-2022, 08:56 AM
The Sunderland fans were gutted when his proposed return as manager fell through before Alex Neil was appointed.

took them up to premier league and beat newcastle for the clubs first time in 28 years, according to wiki.

Keano's green and white army! got a nice ring to it!

24-04-2022, 09:00 AM
That's my gut feeling, too. As well as being a potentially divisive force in the dressing room and on the training pitch and an overall controversial character, he's not experienced at all as a head coach, which was RG's number one requirement. It would be a celebrity/media appointment rather than a football appointment, IMO.

Think Gordon said ‘some’ experience. Couple of hundred games as a manager, plus his years as and assistant. I don’t think lack of experience would count him out of our thinking.

24-04-2022, 09:01 AM
took them up to premier league and beat newcastle for the clubs first time in 28 years, according to wiki.

Keano's green and white army! got a nice ring to it!

We could do with someone that can inspire a team to a derby victory.

24-04-2022, 09:03 AM
I think this would interest Ron. Like him or not Keane is box office. He's looking for a way back in to football. Turned down the Sunderland job. May be a good fit for both parties.

Zambernardi1875
24-04-2022, 09:04 AM
An incredible appointment if true, great for business also

24-04-2022, 09:04 AM
Glad to see no one would return their season ticket or not renew if Keane got the job.

24-04-2022, 09:05 AM

At this stage, I’d take bored to tears and 1-0 win every week!

chippy
24-04-2022, 09:05 AM
I think this would interest Ron. Like him or not Keane is box office. He's looking for a way back in to football. Turned down the Sunderland job. May be a good fit for both parties.

With 3 or 4 really good signings this could work for a while anyway. It would be the end for our current midfield dynamos mind you

24-04-2022, 09:08 AM
At this stage, I’d take bored to tears and 1-0 win every week!

Folk were complaining that football under JR was boring when we got third.

24-04-2022, 09:08 AM
Glad to see no one would return their season ticket or not renew if Keane got the job.

After half a season, they would.

24-04-2022, 09:09 AM
All the imposters in the current squad would certainly get a shock to the system

Would love keane as hibs manager

Just think rod might see him as too much of a risk when he doesn’t get signings etc, calling the board out etc

Would bring the fans back though!

24-04-2022, 09:10 AM
In all seriousness no-one really has a clue how appointing Keane would go because it’s been that long since he’s managed.

24-04-2022, 09:10 AM
After half a season, they would.

Och well, onto the next name.

24-04-2022, 09:11 AM
Roy Keane would be a marketing signing and nothing more. Not so keen myself.

See what I did there?

But no seriously, please don't employ him.

24-04-2022, 09:12 AM

It looks like the run they went on between sacking Johnson and appointing Neil will cost them automatic promotion though.

ie - the time they spent courting Keane, discussing personal terms, budgets etc before appointing a proper football manager. Who has instantly and quite dramatically improved them.

Bridge hibs
24-04-2022, 09:15 AM

See what I did there?

But no seriously, please don't employ him.Thats how I see it, he is a big name, he played for Man U and he is a radge, is he all that good a Manager though ? Im sure if he was he would be managing a club now, silly season has just got a bit sillier, hope oor Ron has more sense after the recent **** up 🤣

24-04-2022, 09:15 AM
It looks like the run they went on between sacking Johnson and appointing Neil will cost them automatic promotion though.

ie - the time they spent courting Keane, discussing personal terms, budgets etc before appointing a proper football manager. Who has instantly and quite dramatically improved them.

Are we ruling out that Keane wouldn’t have been able to get the wins Neill got?

24-04-2022, 09:16 AM
If Keane was appointed it would immediately raise the profile of the club. He's the kind of firey character Hibs fans seem to like. Huge name in football. Still hungry. Exactly the shot in the arm we need. I reckon there would be fans outside Easter Road for his arrival. That's the difference. Would love it.

24-04-2022, 09:16 AM

Yeah, well I would have taken Alex Neil in a hearbeat at Hibs.

Keane may also have had the same or better effect at Sunderland. Neil has had a fair few draws in there as well.

#2 Double Tap
24-04-2022, 09:19 AM
Folk were complaining that football under JR was boring when we got third.

but think about the interviews, this would be epic!

24-04-2022, 09:19 AM
If Keane was appointed it would immediately raise the profile of the club. He's the kind of firey character Hibs fans seem to like. Huge name in football. Still hungry. Exactly the shot in the arm we need. I reckon there would be fans outside Easter Road for his arrival. That's the difference. Would love it.

Get Micah Richards in as his assistant:greengrin

BegbieHSC
24-04-2022, 09:24 AM
Quite like this one tbh.

24-04-2022, 09:29 AM
Are we ruling out that Keane wouldn’t have been able to get the wins Neill got?

No. And he’d have had the full support of the fans there.

That spell between managers just didn’t sit all that comfortably with me. I think Keane said something to the effect that Sunderland didn’t demonstrate that they wanted him enough. Sounds a bit dodgy, given Neil eventually just went in and did what was most sensible - got the players playing to their strengths asap. And time was of the essence, they needed to be picking up points to get out that league, not pissing about.

Would Hibs demonstrate that we want him enough? What exactly does that even mean?

I mean - I’d be all over Keane coming to Hibs, I think it would be great. Probably knows David Gray to an extent? Might be a senior figure to bring him on? And Gray might temper Keane a bit too, curb his wilder excesses?

Has shades of Lennon, who I thought was good for Hibs.

Not without risk, and not exactly a no brainer though.

24-04-2022, 09:29 AM
I cannot remember what kind of football Keabe's teams played it was so long ago but he'll at least kick a few lazy ***** into gear and demand at least 100%.

LeithMike
24-04-2022, 09:30 AM

See what I did there?

But no seriously, please don't employ him.Have to agree. I really like Roy Keane and think he knows football well. I'm sure he could have a positive short-term impact but, like Lennon, he hates and cannot handle losing.

At a club like Hibs, we are always going to lose a fair amount of games at some point, and managers of that ilk cannot handle it and end up alienating the dressing room in a rapid downwards spiral.

If Keane or Lennon were a bit more mature and level headed I think they could be great managers but its just not in their make-up.

I've still not seen a name mooted that would be better than McInnes.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

24-04-2022, 09:37 AM
Have to agree. I really like Roy Keane and think he knows football well. I'm sure he could have a positive short-term impact but, like Lennon, he hates and cannot handle losing.

At a club like Hibs, we are always going to lose a fair amount of games at some point, and managers of that ilk cannot handle it and end up alienating the dressing room in a rapid downwards spiral.

If Keane or Lennon were a bit more mature and level headed I think they could be great managers but its just not in their make-up.

Keane for me is far more balanced than Lennon. Yes, he can day and do certain things at times but I get the impression a lot of it is either for the cameras or to simply get a reaction from players. Lennon it felt like at times was the opposite, he would shoot from the hip and it just seemed like he had no control over his emotions at all.

Keane is also a far bigger name in football than Neil Lennon. He is generally regarded as one of the best, if not the best,captains the English Premier League has had. To achieve that you need a pretty determined mindset and winning mentality.

Yes, it would be a short term appointment, but all Hibs managers are. If someone comes in and does exceptionally well they'll get a better offer and be off, it they are rubbish they'll be sacked.

Keane might only be hear for a year or two, but you could guarantee it certainly wouldn't be a boring journey along the way.

I think the conversation is moot anyway as I don't see it happening. He's probably earning more at Sky for working 2 days a week than he would working full time at Hibs. He also lives just outside Manchester and I think has youngish daughters so not sure he'd be keen to move up here away from the family.

24-04-2022, 09:39 AM
It's going to be an interesting few weeks

24-04-2022, 09:40 AM
Have to agree. I really like Roy Keane and think he knows football well. I'm sure he could have a positive short-term impact but, like Lennon, he hates and cannot handle losing.

I’d have preferred Alex Neil, but he’s got a job now. Sunderland I think.

Mcinnes from his early days at Aberdeen, yes please. The version from his second half at Aberdeen, regardless of the success I doubt it would get me back attending. Same as Ross, was difficult to argue against the success of last season but it also didn’t have me enthused to attend games.

MGmick
24-04-2022, 09:42 AM
I cannot remember what kind of football Keabe's teams played it was so long ago but he'll at least kick a few lazy ***** into gear and demand at least 100%.

Delete Keane and insert Butcher.

How did that work out?

24-04-2022, 09:45 AM
Delete Keane and insert Butcher.

How did that work out?

There's obviously a nuanced difference between simply coming in and being an aggressive arse to the players compared to demanding higher standards and making the squad aware a drop in said standard won't be tolerated but at the same time showing them respect.

Butcher was a disaster but it doesn't mean a highly demanding and intense manager can't work out in different circumstances.

Zambernardi1875
24-04-2022, 09:49 AM

That’s how I see it. Would attract players and get loads of media attention.

24-04-2022, 09:51 AM
No. And he’d have had the full support of the fans there.

That spell between managers just didn’t sit all that comfortably with me. I think Keane said something to the effect that Sunderland didn’t demonstrate that they wanted him enough. Sounds a bit dodgy, given Neil eventually just went in and did what was most sensible - got the players playing to their strengths asap. And time was of the essence, they needed to be picking up points to get out that league, not pissing about.

Would Hibs demonstrate that we want him enough? What exactly does that even mean?

I mean - I’d be all over Keane coming to Hibs, I think it would be great. Probably knows David Gray to an extent? Might be a senior figure to bring him on? And Gray might temper Keane a bit too, curb his wilder excesses?

Has shades of Lennon, who I thought was good for Hibs.

Not without risk, and not exactly a no brainer though.

The deal fell through because of contract length on offer apparently. Keane was offered deal til end of season but he wanted a longer contract.

24-04-2022, 09:51 AM
That’s how I see it. Would attract players and get loads of media attention.

Which didn’t do Steven Gerrard any harm when it came to taking on a club with a bigger budget in Scotland.

on-the-level
24-04-2022, 09:53 AM
I don’t
Think
There’s any chance
Roy Keane
Would come up here
Unless it was
To manage Celtic
Your opinion now?

MGmick
24-04-2022, 09:53 AM
There's obviously a nuanced difference between simply coming in and being an aggressive arse to the players compared to demanding higher standards and making the squad aware a drop in said standard won't be tolerated but at the same time showing them respect.

Butcher was a disaster but it doesn't mean a highly demanding and intense manager can't work out in different circumstances.

Most of what I can remember reading about Keane's time as a manager or assistant points more towards the aggressive arse end of the scale rather than the hard but fair taskmaster.

Anyway, at least it might be interesting for a wee while, instead of the mind numbing, turgid non football and corporate soccer speak dripping out of the club at the moment.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 09:55 AM
Roy Keane, no thanks. He’s been a disaster everywhere he didn’t have an infinite chequebook.

on-the-level
24-04-2022, 09:57 AM

Feel free to hand your season ticket
back cause big Roy coming😁

24-04-2022, 09:59 AM
Your opinion now?I not sure that story really tells us anything different

'he's talked about the job with his friends'

Its not exactly an application

I'd be surpised if Roy Keane is genuinly interested in managing Hibs

24-04-2022, 10:05 AM

He'd also make enemies of the players resulting in nice paydays for a lot of agents for finding their clients new clubs.

The recruitment team would need to add to the attributes list they currently look for in new players.

A lack of self respect and previous evidence of accepting being bullied would be top of the list.

24-04-2022, 10:05 AM
So we could have Keane as Manager and Kean as his assistant 🤔
Would be known as the Keen team😁

24-04-2022, 10:10 AM
He absolutely wouldn't take any **** from anyone, players, refs, other managers. Would find himself in the stands a lot with touchline bans. Entertainment wise he's 10/10, sign him up.

24-04-2022, 10:12 AM
So we could have Keane as Manager and Kean as his assistant 🤔

Keane as Manager, Lennon as assistant is what I might have heard.

24-04-2022, 10:13 AM

I can’t think of many players in the squad who are lazy or not giving 100%, it’s simply quality that we are lacking, not application. If a player isn’t good enough, shouting at them and calling them lazy isn’t going to improve their skills.

24-04-2022, 10:14 AM
He absolutely wouldn't take any **** from anyone, players, refs, other managers. Would find himself in the stands a lot with touchline bans. Entertainment wise he's 10/10, sign him up.

It would be entertaining for about 10 minutes, then our tolerance would depend on results.

We'd soon get fed up with it if the team weren't winning.

hibee1875
24-04-2022, 10:14 AM
Keane as Manager, Lennon as assistant is what I might have heard.

Why would Lennon return as an assistant?

24-04-2022, 10:17 AM
Why would Lennon return as an assistant?

Seriously?

hibee1875
24-04-2022, 10:19 AM
Seriously?

Serious question. Why would Lennon return as an assistant?

24-04-2022, 10:20 AM

Because "I might have" heard it.

hibee1875
24-04-2022, 10:20 AM
Because "I might have" heard it.

Cool. Good chat.

#2 Double Tap
24-04-2022, 10:21 AM

how do random people lack a sense of humour.