View Full Version : Next Hibs Manager

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

thebausburst
24-04-2022, 10:21 AM
Keane is a complete non starter if for no other reason than there is no chance Ron and Ben would want to work with him.

24-04-2022, 10:25 AM
Keane is a complete non starter if for no other reason than there is no chance Ron and Ben would want to work with him.

How do you know they wouldn’t work with him?

I think Keane would have a similar level of ambition to Gordon. Whether it could be backed up with results is a different question (that goes for Gordon as well).

24-04-2022, 10:28 AM
Cool. Good chat.

:bitchy:

It was clearly a joke and I quoted the previous post in which someone else joked about Keane and Kean.

Keane with Lennon as assistant? :faf:

24-04-2022, 10:29 AM
Does this count as the first fight of the Keane era?

24-04-2022, 10:29 AM
Does this count as the first fight of the Keane era?

Basics mate.

24-04-2022, 10:31 AM
That’s how I see it. Would attract players and get loads of media attention.

Who were the great players that he attracted to Sunderland and Ipswich then with a much bigger budget than us?

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/roy-keane/spielertransfers/trainer/3721

24-04-2022, 10:34 AM
Keane as Manager, Lennon as assistant is what I might have heard.

Other way around , I might have believed you

24-04-2022, 10:34 AM
If Keane was appointed it would immediately raise the profile of the club. He's the kind of firey character Hibs fans seem to like. Huge name in football. Still hungry. Exactly the shot in the arm we need. I reckon there would be fans outside Easter Road for his arrival. That's the difference. Would love it.

Go get him Ron, bring in Scott Brown as assistant, boy band instantly disbanded.

24-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Who were the great players that he attracted to Sunderland and Ipswich then with a much bigger budget than us?

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/roy-keane/spielertransfers/trainer/3721Tony stokes.

Ledge.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-04-2022, 10:36 AM

:faf: You know this how!

24-04-2022, 10:37 AM
Other way around , I might have believed you

Co-managers?

I was going to say joint managers but I thought that calming them down with THC would defeat the purpose of recruiting two absolute bams. :greengrin

24-04-2022, 10:37 AM

Go get him Ron, bring in Scott Brown as assistant, boy band instantly disbanded.

We don't have boy band players.

24-04-2022, 11:01 AM
We don't have boy band players.

That's, your opinion I will stick to mine thanks.

24-04-2022, 11:05 AM
That's, your opinion I will stick to mine thanks.

I'm sure you will, but it would be helpful if you expanded on it by naming the members of the band!

Melkerson, I grant you. :greengrin

24-04-2022, 11:10 AM

Reckon Ron would love having as big a name as Keane at Hibs. Guys known all over the world.

I'm honestly unsure about it myself. Hasn't managed in a decade now.

LeithMike
24-04-2022, 11:25 AM
Keane for me is far more balanced than Lennon. Yes, he can day and do certain things at times but I get the impression a lot of it is either for the cameras or to simply get a reaction from players. Lennon it felt like at times was the opposite, he would shoot from the hip and it just seemed like he had no control over his emotions at all.

Keane is also a far bigger name in football than Neil Lennon. He is generally regarded as one of the best, if not the best,captains the English Premier League has had. To achieve that you need a pretty determined mindset and winning mentality.

Yes, it would be a short term appointment, but all Hibs managers are. If someone comes in and does exceptionally well they'll get a better offer and be off, it they are rubbish they'll be sacked.

Keane might only be hear for a year or two, but you could guarantee it certainly wouldn't be a boring journey along the way.

I think the conversation is moot anyway as I don't see it happening. He's probably earning more at Sky for working 2 days a week than he would working full time at Hibs. He also lives just outside Manchester and I think has youngish daughters so not sure he'd be keen to move up here away from the family.Good post. Like I said I like Roy Keane. He's definitely one of the best players in the last 20 years or so and was magnificent for Man Utd. Definitely poorly treated by Ferguson.

I'm just not convinced he's got the give and take to be a good manager. That he can deal with and encourage players low on confidence (rather than berate them).

Still, like you say, it would, at the very least, be an interesting tenure.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

24-04-2022, 11:30 AM
I would be keen on Keane as Manager not so keen on Kean as assistant.😁
Seriously Keane and Brown would be brilliant for the sale of season tickets.

24-04-2022, 11:30 AM
Keane would just be Lennon on Cocaine.

24-04-2022, 11:32 AM
I'm sure you will, but it would be helpful if you expanded on it by naming the members of the band!

Melkerson, Newell, Jasper and Scott LOOK like they could be in a boy band. No idea if any of them can sing or dance though?:greengrin

24-04-2022, 11:37 AM
Roy Keane.
I doubt we could afford him.
And would he be able to fit us round his TV schedule?

24-04-2022, 11:37 AM
I can’t think of many players in the squad who are lazy or not giving 100%, it’s simply quality that we are lacking, not application. If a player isn’t good enough, shouting at them and calling them lazy isn’t going to improve their skills.

Better re watch the loss to Hearts at Tynecastle then, quite a few of them didn't try 100%

24-04-2022, 11:43 AM
Roy Keane.

Hope he loses interest as soon as he hears the salary and the player budget. But I don't think RG would be impressed by a manager who wants to keep a job as a frequent and regular media pundit as well as coach Hibs. He would want someone who is going to commit himself - or herself! - wholeheartedly to managing Hibs.

24-04-2022, 11:47 AM
Roy Keane.

Hope he loses interest as soon as he hears the salary and the player budget. But I don't think RG would be impressed by a manager who wants to keep a job as a frequent and regular media pundit as well as coach Hibs. He would want someone who is going to commit himself - or herself! - wholeheartedly to managing Hibs.

He doesn't need top money, he is absolutely loaded, and also, how do you know he isn't going to commit himself fully? If things don't work out there will always be a media job waiting for him at the end. He wanted a longer contract at Sunderland than they would offer, so he would have been committed there.

OldEast
24-04-2022, 11:54 AM

Melkerson booked twice in his first 2 appearances for tough tackles. Don't let the headband fool you, the laddie doesn't back out of a tackle. Definitely not boyband material.

24-04-2022, 12:00 PM
He doesn't need top money, he is absolutely loaded, and also, how do you know he isn't going to commit himself fully? If things don't work out there will always be a media job waiting for him at the end. He wanted a longer contract at Sunderland than they would offer, so he would have been committed there.

He’s been quite vocal about wanting to get back in to management lately. If he’s doing it, it’s certainly not going to be for the money and he’ll know he’s not walking in to some kind of elite job anywhere.

I like the idea of us getting Roy Keane. Will be surprised if it happens though.

24-04-2022, 01:10 PM
Melkerson, Newell, Jasper and Scott LOOK like they could be in a boy band. No idea if any of them can sing or dance though?:greengrin

Scott Allan must have gone solo.

24-04-2022, 01:13 PM
Melkerson booked twice in his first 2 appearances for tough tackles. Don't let the headband fool you, the laddie doesn't back out of a tackle. Definitely not boyband material.

I was referring to his boyish looks. I don't think any of our team are boyband material in the sense you mean.

24-04-2022, 01:16 PM
Keane would just be Lennon on Cocaine.
Magic lets get him 'lined' up then :wink:

He's the type of character that would get the silent majority back to ER I would hope that have been missing recently.

OldEast
24-04-2022, 01:30 PM
I was referring to his boyish looks. I don't think any of our team are boyband material in the sense you mean.

My apologies

24-04-2022, 01:36 PM
Get Roy in, along with Broony as assistant, any snowflakes at Easter Rd will soon melt, the tickets sales and media attention would be worth it alone.
He would get on well with the GFA and the ref's.

24-04-2022, 02:19 PM
Scott Allan must have gone solo.

:hilarious Written off by many as a has been, but think he still has a few top hits left in him yet.

24-04-2022, 06:31 PM
Magic lets get him 'lined' up then :wink:

He's the type of character that would get the silent majority back to ER I would hope that have been missing recently.

😎

24-04-2022, 07:07 PM
Has Latapy thrown his hat into the ring or is that a Twitter hoax?

Seemingly posted on BBC but then taken straight back down?

https://i.postimg.cc/k43Cj83x/B734-DE40-1131-47-EB-976-D-621768-A56-BC7.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

justlikebrazil
24-04-2022, 07:08 PM
What a fickle bunch!!! A waist of a thread because Hibs fans will never agree about a new manager!!!

24-04-2022, 07:16 PM

https://i.postimg.cc/k43Cj83x/B734-DE40-1131-47-EB-976-D-621768-A56-BC7.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Managerial career win stat is 36% with Trinidad & Tobago and Barbados

Hard pass from me.

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 07:41 PM
Would Steve Cooper leave Forrest for the chance of taking a team into Europe? Doubt it, would be worth asking though, worked wonders with them.

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-04-2022, 07:45 PM

Hard pass from me.

To be fair, neither of those countries are exactly regional football powerhouse’s

mcohibs
24-04-2022, 07:54 PM

Hard pass from me.

Experience in managing three international sides is impressive though. Could be a good appointment

24-04-2022, 08:00 PM
Would Steve Cooper leave Forrest for the chance of taking a team into Europe? Doubt it, would be worth asking though, worked wonders with them.

Zero chance

24-04-2022, 08:01 PM

Absolutely no chance

24-04-2022, 08:29 PM

Can’t be serious

24-04-2022, 08:39 PM

You said that the Hibs fans who think Roy Keane would be a good choice are "not actually thinking this one through before giving their opinion". And then you come out with this pearler?!

24-04-2022, 08:48 PM

he might be on a downer that his side are in the play-offs to reach the EPL, could ask him though

lol

24-04-2022, 08:49 PM
What a fickle bunch!!! A waist of a thread because Hibs fans will never agree about a new manager!!!

Surely it's hips fans?

24-04-2022, 09:06 PM

Night outs would be good

24-04-2022, 09:13 PM
Night outs would be good

If not the preparation for cup finals.

24-04-2022, 09:49 PM

Brian McLauchlin is fat jambo who talks pish.

Perfect for the BBC.

cameronw-hfc
24-04-2022, 10:14 PM
Can’t be serious

I meant if they failed in the play offs. Did say I don't think he'd take it, but he's the sort of manager I'd be wanting at Hibs. They play decent stuff, he's appealed to the fan base there big time and brought the feel good factor back to Forrest.

24-04-2022, 10:34 PM
Brian McLauchlin is fat jambo who talks pish.

Perfect for the BBC.

OldEast
25-04-2022, 02:43 AM
Surely it's hips fans?

😂😂😂 that'll confuse some.

25-04-2022, 01:14 PM
Someone from Hibs.net, it’s a no brainier for Ron. :flag:

25-04-2022, 01:32 PM
Can’t help but feel all this talk of Roy Keane is getting in the way of what’s really important here. Random left field names who won’t get the job but allow us to research random foreign managers during times we are meant to be at work.

Barnsley used to be good at finding random foreign managers (Daniel Stendel apart obviously), Graham Mathie says they actually appointed one we were looking at previously but I don’t know who that would have been.

They’ve sacked two managers recently, Markus Schopp and Poya Asbaghi so when I started this post I was going to suggest them. Having looked a bit further into them though I’ve absolutely no idea how they got that job as both got horrible records.

Luis Boa Marte anyone? I’m not as arsed about getting someone with experience as some other folk are and seen him getting touted for a few jobs recently. Don’t know if he’d be any good or not but it’s a wee break from the Roy Keane chat.

25-04-2022, 01:41 PM
Freddie Ljunberg could be a left field appointment

25-04-2022, 01:45 PM
Freddie Ljunberg could be a left field appointment

Another Maloney ??

25-04-2022, 01:51 PM
Karl Robinson could be a good appointment. Only 41 years old and already got 651 games in the dugout under his belt with MK Dons, Charlton Athletic and now with Oxford Utd. Has an average of 41.8% win rate with these 3 clubs.

Just a name I plucked out , absolutely no substance other than I like the sound of him 😁

25-04-2022, 01:54 PM
Diego Martinez might be closer to Ron’s Spanish vision. He done wonders at Granada.

Paulie Walnuts
25-04-2022, 01:56 PM
Diego Martinez might be closer to Ron’s Spanish vision. He done wonders at Granada.

I’d be absolutely delighted with him.

Think bingo70 suggested him previously and I’ve yet to see anyone that comes close to him.

JamesHFC
25-04-2022, 01:59 PM
I wouldn’t be surprised if Lee Johnson is a leading contender.

25-04-2022, 02:00 PM

Think bingo70 suggested him previously and I’ve yet to see anyone that comes close to him.

Can’t help to think that he’s waiting on the right opportunity down South though.

25-04-2022, 02:02 PM

Wee word of caution about him though is that he was apparently very close to getting the Leeds, Everton and Watford jobs. Every chance he’s as unrealistic as Knutsen that I’m moaning about people suggesting.

Also read that his success was built on having a solid defence and not conceding many. Having a good South American sounding name would make up for that in the short term though.

leith lynx
25-04-2022, 02:44 PM
Michael O'Neill would be the sensible choice for me.

25-04-2022, 02:45 PM

But can he do it with STV?

OldEast
25-04-2022, 03:06 PM
Micheal O'neill would be the sensible choice for me.

Far too difficult to spell

25-04-2022, 03:12 PM
But can he do it with STV?

leith lynx
25-04-2022, 03:14 PM
Far too difficult to spell

Sorry, spelling korekted...

25-04-2022, 03:16 PM
Wee word of caution about him though is that he was apparently very close to getting the Leeds, Everton and Watford jobs. Every chance he’s as unrealistic as Knutsen that I’m moaning about people suggesting.

Also read that his success was built on having a solid defence and not conceding many. Having a good South American sounding name would make up for that in the short term though.

Aye, having now read about a bit about him I reckon he is probably pretty unrealistic

25-04-2022, 03:19 PM
One good thing to come from all the Roy Keane chat is that at least the club know the calibre of man we are after.

They will see the number of pages his thread has reached and I'm pretty sure that wider Hibs related social media will have been busier than usual too.

They know that we want a name. Someone that will make a large chunk of the support sit up and go 'nice one Hibs, well played'.

It means there is no chance of us going for a Gary Caldwell type.

We might not get someone as high profile as Keane, but I'm happy that we might be trying.

25-04-2022, 03:20 PM

Didn't do as well at Radio Rentals though...

OldEast
25-04-2022, 03:25 PM
Sorry, spelling korekted...

👍🏻😀 I wasn't really meaning you. It seems to be a trend with our club.

25-04-2022, 03:26 PM
Didn't do as well at Radio Rentals though...

Porto is enough Radio Rental for any team...

25-04-2022, 03:30 PM
Can’t help but feel all this talk of Roy Keane is getting in the way of what’s really important here. Random left field names who won’t get the job but allow us to research random foreign managers during times we are meant to be at work.

:faf: :top marks

Actually, Hibs are possibly quite pleased that all the attention is on Keane. It's letting them get on with the real job in the background.

25-04-2022, 03:54 PM
How about a big name jan venegoor of Hesselink

25-04-2022, 03:57 PM
I think it'll be Derek McInnes.

25-04-2022, 05:53 PM

I don't.

Silky
25-04-2022, 07:03 PM
Och bugger it, while we're banding names about. Marcelo Bielsa. 😂😂.

25-04-2022, 07:06 PM

Wouldn't surprise me at all.

25-04-2022, 07:20 PM
Och bugger it, while we're banding names about. Marcelo Bielsa. 😂😂.

Love this game.

I’ll go next….., Rui Faria.

Was linked with the Celtic job previously. Mourinhos former assistant manager, left Mourinho to pursue his own managerial career. Only had the one job at a club in the Middle East, absolutely no idea how that went though, left after a year for personal reasons.

Steve Austin
25-04-2022, 07:33 PM
Love this game.

I’ll go next….., Rui Faria.

Was linked with the Celtic job previously. Mourinhos former assistant manager, left Mourinho to pursue his own managerial career. Only had the one job at a club in the Middle East, absolutely no idea how that went though, left after a year for personal reasons.

what about Martin o Neil ?
experienced knows the league, was a winner !
was at forest last ,but who hasn’t managed them recently.

Carlos carvahal ex Swansea ,Sheffield weds. Now at Braga .likes attacking football well thought of manager..

Big Duncan Ferguson at Everton, would like to be his own man ,bit of fight and passion on the sidelines too.,,

25-04-2022, 07:39 PM
what about Martin o Neil ?
experienced knows the league, was a winner !
was at forest last ,but who hasn’t managed them recently.

Carlos carvahal ex Swansea ,Sheffield weds. Now at Braga .likes attacking football well thought of manager..

Big Duncan Ferguson at Everton, would like to be his own man ,bit of fight and passion on the sidelines too.,,

Can’t see Martin O’Neil being interested. Terrific manager but suspect he won’t see the Hibs job as being very attractive.

Carlos Carvahal would be excellent but in a good job just now, rumoured to be in with a chance of the Burnley job.

Don’t fancy Duncan Ferguson for the job. Not my cup of tea at all.

MGmick
25-04-2022, 08:16 PM
I think Sol Campbell might be worth a shot. He's got a bit of profile and is mad keen to manage. I think he's been very unfortunate with the two goes he's had at Macclesfield and Southend.

Mr. Wonderful
25-04-2022, 08:19 PM
Liam Manning. Chris Hogg as assistant.

25-04-2022, 08:19 PM
I think Sol Campbell might be worth a shot. He's got a bit of profile and is mad keen to manage. I think he's been very unfortunate with the two goes he's had at Macclesfield and Southend.

17 percent win ratio

25-04-2022, 08:23 PM
Liam Manning. Chris Hogg as assistant.

I’ve mentioned him too, brilliant young manager and has recruited very well this season with the use of loans.

His team score a ridiculous amount of screamers, if he comes I hope he somehow brings Scott Twine with him.

MGmick
25-04-2022, 08:29 PM
17 percent win ratio

With the constraint of both being financial basket cases and he kept Macclesfield in the league.

25-04-2022, 08:38 PM
I’ve mentioned him too, brilliant young manager and has recruited very well this season with the use of loans.

His team score a ridiculous amount of screamers, if he comes I hope he somehow brings Scott Twine with him.

I’ve seen Michel Duff being mentioned for a few jobs. Cheltenham town manager, apparently done an excellent job.

Not sure it would be someone that captures the imagination and I think we want that for this appointment to sell season tickets.

25-04-2022, 08:43 PM
I’ve seen Michel Duff being mentioned for a few jobs. Cheltenham town manager, apparently done an excellent job.

Not sure it would be someone that captures the imagination and I think we want that for this appointment to sell season tickets.

I can see the headline now, “ Duff appointment for Hibs”

25-04-2022, 08:45 PM

With SDG as his number two? The last time we had a Duff and Gray in charge didn't go well? 🤣

Percy Vere
25-04-2022, 09:00 PM
Nuno Espírito Santo
SDG Assistant
Be amazing

Greenworld
27-04-2022, 07:48 AM
Whoever come in SDG should not be part of the package clean start is required right across the coaching staff .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 08:07 AM
Whoever come in SDG should not be part of the package clean start is required right across the coaching staff .

Agree with this.

Club needs to move forward and find its identity again and literally start a fresh.

Personally sick of hearing about 2016 whilst we are bang average.

Last Minute
27-04-2022, 08:13 AM

That's who would go for to steady the ship, Not the best attacking football on the eye but was rarely out the top 4 in the 8 years he was with Aberdeen.

Musselbound
27-04-2022, 08:16 AM

Duff Jimmy is available for those who like to turn the clock back. Rejnite the dream team with Paul Tosh and Lee Power as assistants.

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 08:20 AM

Na, not for me.

He’s proven himself to be very able when he’s taken over as caretaker.

SDG should be kept in some capacity. Doesn’t need to be assistant, but he absolutely has to stay imo. He’ll be our manager one day.

27-04-2022, 08:28 AM
Agree with this.

Club needs to move forward and find its identity again and literally start a fresh.

Personally sick of hearing about 2016 whilst we are bang average.

I bet you are.

27-04-2022, 08:35 AM

I hate this view ..frankly SDG should have a role at our club as long as he wants . Not just because of that goal - but because we should cherish people who bring the right values and attributes and identity to our club . He does this in spades . The reality though is you may get your wish . I’d expect SDG to go an get a managers job somewhere, if he is overlooked this time . He has had a few tastes now, and I’m sure will want to do more of it .

Greenworld
27-04-2022, 09:01 AM
I hate this view ..frankly SDG should have a role at our club as long as he wants . Not just because of that goal - but because we should cherish people who bring the right values and attributes and identity to our club . He does this in spades . The reality though is you may get your wish . I’d expect SDG to go an get a managers job somewhere, if he is overlooked this time . He has had a few tastes now, and I’m sure will want to do more of it .It's a tough decission but if he stays next manager that comes in and players are not happy with this or that they go straight to dave its a comfort blanket that's not needed.

27-04-2022, 09:06 AM
Duff Jimmy is available for those who like to turn the clock back. Rejnite the dream team with Paul Tosh and Lee Power as assistants.

Reported.

Some of us lived through those days :boo hoo:

LeithMike
27-04-2022, 11:31 AM
I hate this view ..frankly SDG should have a role at our club as long as he wants . Not just because of that goal - but because we should cherish people who bring the right values and attributes and identity to our club . He does this in spades . The reality though is you may get your wish . I’d expect SDG to go an get a managers job somewhere, if he is overlooked this time . He has had a few tastes now, and I’m sure will want to do more of it .Agree with this but if David Gray wants to manage Hibs one day, he'd be better off going down the leagues and getting experience as a manager in his own right at a club where he can get to grips with all parts of management and a t a club that will let him make and learn from his mistakes. That woukd be far better preparation than woeking in the background at Hibs.

27-04-2022, 11:34 AM
Agree with this but if David Gray wants to manage Hibs one day, he'd be better off going down the leagues and getting experience as a manager in his own right at a club where he can get to grips with all parts of management and a t a club that will let him make and learn from his mistakes. That woukd be far better preparation than woeking in the background at Hibs.

That’s fair Mike ..will be sorry to see him leave , but yes , learning his trade elsewhere (as Maloney should have done ) is the best way forward for him .

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 12:26 PM
I bet you are.
Not a happy clapper.

I see Simon Jordan responded to Don Goodman saying: "wouldn't it be great if Nottingham Forrest got to to the playoffs finals even if they lost" by responding: "if you get to three playoff finals in a row and lose them you are perennial losers".

That's the kind of mentality we need to change at the club ourselves.

27-04-2022, 02:16 PM
Phillip Cocu linked with the job.

https://bit.ly/3vFNgmU

27-04-2022, 02:20 PM

"However, a lot of Derby fans were impressed with ‘Cocuball’ where he tried to introduce the Dutch template of total football."

Well we've tried playing like Belgium, so 1970s Netherlands is the obvious next step.

I_Love_Latapy
27-04-2022, 02:21 PM

This is more like it!

27-04-2022, 02:22 PM
Few Derby fan opinions on his time at the club.

https://twitter.com/comeonderby_/status/1411936380477792257?s=21&t=s2EMh8WS57_AJ5au709SQw

This one stuck out..

“Good tactics…just not for our level of players”

27-04-2022, 02:23 PM

Some big boys being linked this time around eh! Interesting stuff!

27-04-2022, 02:24 PM

Interesting

27-04-2022, 02:28 PM

https://twitter.com/comeonderby_/status/1411936380477792257?s=21&t=s2EMh8WS57_AJ5au709SQw

This one stuck out..

And this:

"Let down by failure to sign a centre forward and the football nous of our squad. Having said that in mitigation, he then failed to adapt or get the best from what he’d got."

27-04-2022, 02:46 PM
Another high calibre candidate.

Well chuffed with the rumours this time around. Way better than McInnes / Wright / Goodwin etc.

Keep them coming.

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 02:49 PM

On paper he looks a significantly better option than Keane. :agree:

27-04-2022, 02:52 PM
Cocu - success at PSV, then failure at Fenerbache and Derby.

He done fantastically at PSV, sure his stock must have been high so not sure how he went straight to Fenerbache after that. If anyone said at that point he would one day be interested in the Hibs job you'd think they were mad!

I'd still prefer Keane.

27-04-2022, 02:54 PM
On paper he looks a significantly better option than Keane. :agree:

In what way? He had success at his first club and then failed at his next. Similar to Keane

27-04-2022, 02:55 PM
And this:

"Let down by failure to sign a centre forward and the football nous of our squad. Having said that in mitigation, he then failed to adapt or get the best from what he’d got."

That sounds familiar.

27-04-2022, 03:02 PM
"However, a lot of Derby fans were impressed with ‘Cocuball’ where he tried to introduce the Dutch template of total football."

Well we've tried playing like Belgium, so 1970s Netherlands is the obvious next step.

Is Cocuball better than Maloneyball?

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 03:03 PM
In what way? He had success at his first club and then failed at his next. Similar to Keane

His Fenerbahce post was only over 15 games. Of course it sounds like it was an utter disaster but he’s managed 312 games in total generally done alright or in the case of his post at PSV, very, very well. I’m not going to worry too much about a bad 15 game period.

He left Fenerbahce and done a half decent job at his next in Derby from the sounds of how their support still talk about him.

He’s also managed PSV, done a great job there winning 3 titles and a cup. They’ve not won the title since he left infact. It’s a more impressive level of success than Keane winning one English Championship title.

Also plays attractive football which fans want to see and it sounds like a reputation for bringing through youth players.

27-04-2022, 03:07 PM
His Fenerbahce post was only over 15 games. Of course it sounds like it was an utter disaster but he’s managed 312 games in total generally done alright or in the case of his post at PSV, very, very well. I’m not going to worry too much about a bad 15 game period.

He left Fenerbahce and done a half decent job at his next in Derby from the sounds of how their support still talk about him.

He’s also managed PSV, done a great job there winning 3 titles and a cup. They’ve not won the title since he left infact.

Also plays attractive football which fans want to see.

His win percentage at Derby was 32%. Of the last 10 managers they've had its the 3rd worst.

Rooney's is only slightly below his and that's with the club being in administration.

27-04-2022, 03:08 PM
That sounds familiar.

Perfect, get him in.

Mcbizz1998
27-04-2022, 03:09 PM
So already, in Keane and Cocu, we have 2 really interesting candidates. I wonder why these big names are so interested? Have we upped the money on offer to a manager?

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 03:10 PM
His win percentage at Derby was 32%. Of the last 10 managers they've had its the 3rd worst.

Rooney's is only slightly below his and that's with the club being in administration.

His only full season he finished 10th with Derby. He had a poor start to the second season but that pretty much coincided with things starting to unravel at Derby from the looks of things.

Over the rest of that season Rooney only managed to get them from 24th to 21st despite managing the majority of games and not having all that much ground to make up. That club were already falling to bits by the time Cocu left.

27-04-2022, 03:13 PM
His only full season he finished 10th with Derby. He had a poor start to the second season but that pretty much coincided with things starting to unravel at Derby from the looks of things.

So he done ok first season, finishing 10th is hardly anything to write home about, and then was rubbish the following season?

Not exactly a glowing reference.

27-04-2022, 03:13 PM
So already, in Keane and Cocu, we have 2 really interesting candidates. I wonder why these big names are so interested? Have we upped the money on offer to a manager?

I think folk like them maybe realising that their name alone can’t get them a job.

Maybe seeing Rodgers and Gerrard coming to Scotland then getting moves on the back of their work. You’re not going to go from Hibs to the Premier League but it might get them a move back to a decent level and there is the opportunity to do things up here that they can’t do in the lower leagues down south.

Gloucester Hibs
27-04-2022, 03:15 PM
Not a happy clapper.

I see Simon Jordan responded to Don Goodman saying: "wouldn't it be great if Nottingham Forrest got to to the playoffs finals even if they lost" by responding: "if you get to three playoff finals in a row and lose them you are perennial losers".

That's the kind of mentality we need to change at the club ourselves.

Talking of perennial losers...reckon your lot will finally manage to beat the Huns at Hampden? Or will it be a 4th successive cup final defeat since you last won a trophy? :wink:

27-04-2022, 03:16 PM
So he done ok first season, finishing 10th is hardly anything to write home about, and then was rubbish the following season?

Done an outstanding job at PSV though. Miles better than anything Keane has achieved as a manager.

27-04-2022, 03:17 PM
Got to admit that Cocu is the first name that's been linked that has actually interested me.

27-04-2022, 03:18 PM

Derby are a basket case club though so if we apply the same logic being applied to Keane and his time at Ipswich we can just completely ignore anything negative about his time there.

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 03:19 PM

Roy Keane only managed 15th in his only full season then done rubbish in his second season. Surely that’s even less to write home about and even less of a glowing reference?

They both had one full season. Cocu finished 10th, Keane finished 15th. Cocu struggled as the club were starting to fall apart on their journey to administration and possibly being liquidated, Keane struggled for no real obvious reason.

Throw in the outstanding job he done at PSV and he’s quite clearly had a more successful management career. He also has a reputation for bringing through youngsters and playing good football.

There’s only one winner between the two for me.

27-04-2022, 03:20 PM
Done an outstanding job at PSV though. Miles better than anything Keane has achieved as a manager.

Yip, done really well there. Although Dutch football is very different to Scottish football.

Ultimately failed at in Turkey and at Derby, so he's done badly in 2 jobs and well in 1.

27-04-2022, 03:22 PM
Roy Keane only managed 15th in his only full season then done rubbish in his second season. Surely that’s even less to write home about and even less of a glowing reference?

They both had one full season. Cocu finished 10th, Keane finished 15th. Cocu struggled as the club were starting to fall apart on their journey to administration and possibly being liquidated, Keane struggled for no real obvious reason.

Keane took Sunderland from the relegation zone to the English Premier League. Two roughly similar sized clubs competing in the same league and Keane far outperformed Cocu.

27-04-2022, 03:23 PM
Obviously another big name but not sure a continental style is suited to the hoofball, blood and thunder Cinch. I'd still prefer Keane.

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 03:29 PM
Keane took Sunderland from the relegation zone to the English Premier League. Two roughly similar sized clubs competing in the same league and Keane far outperformed Cocu.

Ipswich and Derby are also similar sizes and Cocu outperformed Keane in that one.

And Cocu won 3 top tier league titles and a cup, a far higher achievement than anything Keane managed and been assistant manager for Netherlands when they got to a World Cup final.

He’s also not been out of the management game for a decade.

27-04-2022, 03:36 PM
Ipswich and Derby are also similar sizes and Cocu outperformed Keane in that one.

And Cocu won 3 top tier league titles and a cup, a far higher achievement than anything Keane managed and been assistant manager for Netherlands when they got to a World Cup final.

He's done well in 1 out of 3 jobs. The job he done well in is in a league and country who's style of football is miles away from that in Scotland.

Keane's done well in 1 out of 2 jobs. The job he done well in is in a league far closer to the style of the Scottish Premiership.

Pretty Green
27-04-2022, 03:42 PM
Is Cocuball better than Maloneyball?

Don't know but it does need to be better than Angeball😁

27-04-2022, 03:45 PM

I dont think you can say Cocu at Derby out outperformed Keane at Ipswich.

Keane had a better win rate at Ipswich and Cocu left Derby rooted to the bottom of the Championship.

27-04-2022, 03:46 PM
On the Hibs talk podcast, they are discussing that the Gent manager has been linked. I’ve not seen that anywhere but that is yet another decent name IMO. Seems to have done pretty well with them

davhibby
27-04-2022, 03:50 PM

Keane had a better win rate at Ipswich and Cocu left Derby rooted to the bottom of the Championship.

Derby were a total mess last season, as they were this season so I’m not sure how fair a comparison you can make. The fact is that Cocu was infinitely more successful at PSV alone than Keane was in his managerial career.

27-04-2022, 03:54 PM
On the Hibs talk podcast, they are discussing that the Gent manager has been linked. I’ve not seen that anywhere but that is yet another decent name IMO. Seems to have done pretty well with them

Got to ask yourself why he'd leave Gent to come to us. They are a fairly big club, bigger than us with a likely sizably bigger budget.

Edit - I may be getting Genk confused with Gent. Looks like it was Genk who were in Champions League recently.

27-04-2022, 03:55 PM
Got to ask yourself why he'd leave Gent to come to us. They are a fairly big club, bigger than us with a likely sizably bigger budget.

That’s what I was thinking mate

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 03:59 PM

He finished significantly higher in the league in his only full season than Keane did in his only full season.

Win percentages are nice but it’s league positions that matter surely, not win percentages.

Cocu struggled once Derby became an absolute shambles on the verge of administration. Keane didn’t have anything like that to contend with at Ipswich.

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 04:00 PM
He's done well in 1 out of 3 jobs. The job he done well in is in a league and country who's style of football is miles away from that in Scotland.

Keane's done well in 1 out of 2 jobs. The job he done well in is in a league far closer to the style of the Scottish Premiership.

He done well at Derby, Derby fans still talk about him pretty positively.

JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 04:02 PM
Phillip Cocu’s record at PSV speaks for itself, certainly looks better than our last three managers on paper.

Paulie Walnuts

He’d be an impressive appointment. Can’t quite see how we would manage it though!

An opportunity to come in and have a full pre season with players they will sign will be a huge draw this time round

Add in that they will be well backed financially and its a no brainer for someone looking to get back in to management at a decent sized club

Taking our time now that we're virtually clear of play offs makes complete sense to get the right candidates whittled down

Sioux
27-04-2022, 04:03 PM

As if they'd know better that anyone else right enough. What credentials do they have to warrant folks to sit up and take notice?

Far too many amateurs pretending they know things.

27-04-2022, 04:07 PM
Cocu is way too tall, i wouldn't be back if we signed him, cant think why yet, but im out.

JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 04:11 PM
Cocu is way too tall, i wouldn't be back if we signed him, cant think why yet, but im out.

Looks a bit like a Dutch Paul Hartley?

27-04-2022, 04:12 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hein_Vanhaezebrouck

JamesHFC
27-04-2022, 04:14 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hein_Vanhaezebrouck

Need a degree to pronounce that name.

27-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Whichever manager arrives at us, he’ll have to understand that football and being able to play football are two different things.

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 04:18 PM
An opportunity to come in and have a full pre season with players they will sign will be a huge draw this time round

Add in that they will be well backed financially and its a no brainer for someone looking to get back in to management at a decent sized club

Taking our time now that we're virtually clear of play offs makes complete sense to get the right candidates whittled down

Yup.

If a manager gets the guarantee of being very well backed then it could be a really decent opportunity for some big names. A bit of backing and a capable manager and we could easily be third next year. The two things haven’t really came together at the same time for a good while now though.

27-04-2022, 04:26 PM
The pedigree of managers linked to the post suggest there will be a bigger budget available.

27-04-2022, 04:29 PM
He done well at Derby, Derby fans still talk about him pretty positively.

I suppose everyone's definition of good is different. Finishing 10th and then leaving them bottom of a 24 team league would be poor in my eyes, but everyone's entitled to their opinion.

27-04-2022, 04:32 PM
I suppose everyone's definition of good is different. Finishing 10th and then leaving them bottom of a 24 team league would be poor in my eyes, but everyone's entitled to their opinion.

Finishing 10th wasn't bad, he didn't have the luxury of getting top, top players from Chelsea on loan like Lampard did. Mount and Tomori were miles too good for derby at the time.

27-04-2022, 04:37 PM
Finishing 10th wasn't bad, he didn't have the luxury of getting top, top players from Chelsea on loan like Lampard did. Mount and Tomori were miles too good for derby at the time.

Yeah it's not bad, not great though, and despite their problems sitting 24th out of 24 teams when he left was obviously very poor.

Paul1642
27-04-2022, 04:39 PM
I like the way this is going. Cocu and the Gent manager look like something worth getting excited about.

No doubt we will announce Martindale in the morning 😂

27-04-2022, 04:51 PM
As if they'd know better that anyone else right enough. What credentials do they have to warrant folks to sit up and take notice?

Haha I could be wrong, but I am pretty sure you were digging out the podcasts a few days ago.
Which journalist that is going out of fashion are you?

As for the pod, they were reading off a list mate

JXM73
27-04-2022, 04:52 PM
No doubt we will announce Martindale in the morning 😂

That would be criminal..

HFC93
27-04-2022, 04:53 PM
Can't believe some Hibs fans are turning their nose up at Cocu. The guy has won 3 Dutch titles and would be a great appointment.

davhibby
27-04-2022, 05:01 PM

They were already in the mess that’s seen them relegated this season by that point. Rooney has done a brilliant job since Cocu left yet his win percentage at Derby is 27%. The fact that he got them 10th in his first season actually points to him doing a pretty good job at Derby.

27-04-2022, 05:05 PM
After a long and thorough review of the options. Slavisa Jokanovic would be my first choice - don’t know if that is realistic but with some of the other names being mentioned now it’s probably not out with the realms of possibility.

Plays exciting, attack first football. In his 1 season with Watford they were the 2nd highest scorers in the Championship despite him only joining in October. In his 2 full seasons in the Championship with Fulham they ended as 1st and 2nd top scorers respectively. The season he got Fulham promoted they recorded the largest win in the league (6-0 v Burton) and the longest unbeaten streak (23 games).

I very much enjoyed this quote from a Sheffield paper from during his short time managing Sheff United, who obviously prefer a more Hecky style of play:
“The Blades boss has come under fire this week following his substitutions at Oakwell on Sunday, with some fans questioning the need to bring on two strikers when leading 3-0 instead of opting for a more conservative approach to ensure a much-needed clean sheet.”

Out with England, he won back-to-back doubles with Partizan Belgrade and a League title in Thailand proving his methods are transferable to other leagues/countries.

Negatives
- Prioritise attack over defence so Jack Ross acolytes might be disappointed
- Has never appeared as a pundit on Sky Super Sunday

27-04-2022, 05:10 PM
Can't believe some Hibs fans are turning their nose up at Cocu. The guy has won 3 Dutch titles and would be a great appointment.

I'd be happy with Cocu, but I think Keane of the two would be a better fit for us.

27-04-2022, 05:17 PM
I'd be happy with Cocu, but I think Keane of the two would be a better fit for us.

I can’t see Keane as a great fit at any club, ego bigger than the moon. He’s also been out of management for eleven years.

Not convinced Cocu is the right man but convinced Keane isn’t.

27-04-2022, 05:25 PM
I can’t see Keane as a great fit at any club, ego bigger than the moon. He’s also been out of management for eleven years.

Not convinced Cocu is the right man but convinced Keane isn’t.

I don't think having a big ego is necessarily a bad thing for a manager. Pretty much every tip manager I can think of has a big ego.

27-04-2022, 06:50 PM

This one stuck out..

A lot of posts about boring football and defenders passing it between each other.

Sounds very familiar.

27-04-2022, 06:57 PM
Cocu only getting 20% win rate at Fenerbache is really alarming for me as they’re one of the biggest teams in the league and one of the biggest budgets you would imagine , 32% at Derby isn’t great although they have had a lot of issues but their fans commends about style of football is a worry.

Where is the Gent manager link coming from? On paper he looks very good and is known for attacking football.

CL0762
27-04-2022, 06:57 PM

What an absolute pile of pish this is.

They’re Hibs fans discussing names for the next manager, just like all over the forum.

Or are you suggesting you’re more qualified than other Hibs fans regarding who the new manager should be?

27-04-2022, 07:03 PM
A lot of posts about boring football and defenders passing it between each other.

Sounds very familiar.

It’s modern football , think I’ve read you talking about it on here at times …he’s actually largely talked about for being very attack minded ..so I’m quite excited about this candidate ..

27-04-2022, 07:06 PM
It’s modern football , think I’ve read you talking about it on here at times …he’s actually largely talked about for being very attack minded ..so I’m quite excited about this candidate ..

No issue with ‘modern football’ if there is still an intensity to it and end result from it.

But knocking it about the back between the defenders won’t enamour large parts of our support

27-04-2022, 07:08 PM
No issue with ‘modern football’ if there is still an intensity to it and end result from it.

But knocking it about the back between the defenders won’t enamour large parts of our support

He built his reputation in Netherlands as very attack minded .

Keeping possession is the approach of almost all quality teams these days ..if we have good forward capable players , it will work just fine (easier said than done , I know )

davhibby
27-04-2022, 08:02 PM

Sounds very familiar.

There’s also plenty posts that have no grasp of the situation he was in charge of. I’ve also seen a fair few comments from Derby fans from when he left saying that having to shoehorn Rooney in to his team made it more difficult for him

27-04-2022, 09:14 PM

I think we're quite happy to see the ball knocked back and forward between the defenders - as long as over a 90 minute period it ends up leading to enough attempts at goal and a team that wins.

When we're not winning, when we're going weeks without threatening the opposition goal - the knocking the ball between the defenders takes on a different meaning.

Mr. Wonderful
27-04-2022, 09:33 PM
After a long and thorough review of the options. Slavisa Jokanovic would be my first choice - don’t know if that is realistic but with some of the other names being mentioned now it’s probably not out with the realms of possibility.

Plays exciting, attack first football. In his 1 season with Watford they were the 2nd highest scorers in the Championship despite him only joining in October. In his 2 full seasons in the Championship with Fulham they ended as 1st and 2nd top scorers respectively. The season he got Fulham promoted they recorded the largest win in the league (6-0 v Burton) and the longest unbeaten streak (23 games).

I very much enjoyed this quote from a Sheffield paper from during his short time managing Sheff United, who obviously prefer a more Hecky style of play:
“The Blades boss has come under fire this week following his substitutions at Oakwell on Sunday, with some fans questioning the need to bring on two strikers when leading 3-0 instead of opting for a more conservative approach to ensure a much-needed clean sheet.”

Out with England, he won back-to-back doubles with Partizan Belgrade and a League title in Thailand proving his methods are transferable to other leagues/countries.

Negatives

Sign me up.

27-04-2022, 09:41 PM

Negatives

Alan Nixon said previously that he priced himself out of jobs before the Sheff Utd one as he was demanding a huge salary.

No idea how that’s effected by failing at Sheffield Utd but would be surprised if we could afford him.

27-04-2022, 09:51 PM
Alan Nixon said previously that he priced himself out of jobs before the Sheff Utd one as he was demanding a huge salary.

No idea how that’s effected by failing at Sheffield Utd but would be surprised if we could afford him.

Yeah, I’ve always liked him but would never have considered him a possibility until the likes of Cocu and Keane were linked who’ll also be looking for big money.

27-04-2022, 09:52 PM
Great to read about some alternatives to usual candidates even if most of them are probably unfounded rumours and candidates have probably never heard of Hibs let alone thought of managing us . Think Ron G etc will also be delighted to see famous names linked with us even if we end up with a mundane ( but possibly better ) manager . Whoever gets the job will have benefit of starting at start of season and time to sign in the best transfer window we have .

27-04-2022, 11:04 PM
I feel if Keane really wants the gig and the terms and conditions suit everyone he'll be our next manager

28-04-2022, 10:27 AM
Apparently the guy in charge of Reading recently, Paunovic, is interested. A poster on the PM board mentioned his name saying they’d heard about him. Could be rubbish!

Not got a great record to be fair. I’d probably avoid

28-04-2022, 10:35 AM
As others have said, im glad names like Cocu and Keane have come up. Hopefully another big name emerges today. Really enjoying the speculation. One of the highlights of the season which says a lot! We badly need a bit of razzmatazz to lift everyone for next season. Not a Martindale, McPake or Murray.

28-04-2022, 10:42 AM
Apparently the guy in charge of Reading recently, Paunovic, is interested. A poster on the PM board mentioned his name saying they’d heard about him. Could be rubbish!

Didn't he work with Charleston Battery or someone in America? Interesting.

28-04-2022, 10:46 AM
As others have said, im glad names like Cocu and Keane have come up. Hopefully another big name emerges today. Really enjoying the speculation. One of the highlights of the season which says a lot! We badly need a bit of razzmatazz to lift everyone for next season. Not a Martindale, McPake or Murray.

Goes without saying but we need to get the balance right.

A boring name to steady the ship isn’t what the club needs just now I don’t think. We need someone that’ll campfire the imagination of the fans, whether that’s because they’re a big name or a bit of a left field appointment of someone we’re not too familiar with.

Whoever we appoint will have failed somewhere if we’re after experience, we just need to hope the club have drilled down deep enough to establish why they failed and what would be different this time round.

In order to improve the team we need a decent transfer budget, for that we need bums on seats and season tickets sold so we can’t just ignore the initial reaction of whoever we appoint, it clearly can’t be the only factor though.

28-04-2022, 10:48 AM

Chicago Fire from 2015 - 2019

149 games with a 32% win rate or 1.2 points per game.

Absolutely no idea how Chicago Fire are expected to do in their leagues so not sure if his stats are good or bad.

I can't see anything about him that gets me excited at appointing him tbh.

28-04-2022, 10:49 AM

Chicago Fire he was at. We were also rumoured to be forging links with the Chicago fire academy teams, I forget their name but it’s where we got Jon Busch from so there is a link already there. He was at Chicago Fire for 4 years so was obviously very well established at that club. Not sure if him and Busch paths would have crossed. Not that I think our goalie coach will have a huge influence on the appointment of our next manager but he’d maybe have made sure his name came up in conversation.

28-04-2022, 10:51 AM
Liking the Cocu/Gent chat.

Winning the Belgian league and cup with Gent is a big deal. But he's had quick failures at Genk and Anderlecht.

Winning leagues with PSV obviously good too, but then he'd have a high quality of player to work with.

I think Keane would be ok if the board are willing to back him to the hilt, but I don't think it'll work on a half hearted basis. Probably be box office one way or another.

28-04-2022, 10:57 AM
At our level, any manager is always going to have to develop players, integrate youth and make do with what they’ve got, to one extent or another.

Any manager that can’t do that won’t work, regardless of name or profile.

Caversham Green
28-04-2022, 11:00 AM

Had a great start down here and very nearly got them into the play offs but things went downhill when Reading had an injury and illness crisis similar to Hibs. At the end of his reign many fans were begging the owners to sack him - more so when they were knocked out of the cup by Kidderminster Harriers, which is as unthinkable as a Scottish Premiership side losing to the likes of Brora Rangers. If we got the earlier version I'd be very interested. As an aside he replaced Mark Bowen - not very exciting when set against Keane and Cocu, but he was the first name I thought of as a good fit for Hibs when Maloney was sacked. He's on a very short contract at AFC Wimbledon just now but will probably be available at the end of the season (as might Paul Ince who has turned Reading's fortune around)

Chicago Fire.

28-04-2022, 11:02 AM
Liking the Cocu/Gent chat.

Winning the Belgian league and cup with Gent is a big deal. But he's had quick failures at Genk and Anderlecht.

Winning leagues with PSV obviously good too, but then he'd have a high quality of player to work with.

I think Keane would be ok if the board are willing to back him to the hilt, but I don't think it'll work on a half hearted basis. Probably be box office one way or another.

Where did the Gent chat come from? Heard it on a podcast but absolutely nothing else. Have I missed something.

28-04-2022, 11:06 AM
Where did the Gent chat come from? Heard it on a podcast but absolutely nothing else. Have I missed something.

Dunno, I only saw it on here tbh.

28-04-2022, 11:08 AM
Any ‘experienced’ manager we appoint is going to have some baggage of failure elsewhere otherwise they’d be managing at a level far higher than us, there are risks with any appointment. On that basis, we might as well go for the manager who’s going to put more bums on seats which in turn will help contribute to the player budget next year. Announce Keane😎

Pretty Green
28-04-2022, 11:15 AM
That would be a criminal..

Sorted that for you 😁

MikeyS
28-04-2022, 11:32 AM
Had a great start down here and very nearly got them into the play offs but things went downhill when Reading had an injury and illness crisis similar to Hibs. At the end of his reign many fans were begging the owners to sack him - more so when they were knocked out of the cup by Kidderminster Harriers, which is as unthinkable as a Scottish Premiership side losing to the likes of Brora Rangers. If we got the earlier version I'd be very interested. As an aside he replaced Mark Bowen - not very exciting when set against Keane and Cocu, but he was the first name I thought of as a good fit for Hibs when Maloney was sacked. He's on a very short contract at AFC Wimbledon just now but will probably be available at the end of the season (as might Paul Ince who has turned Reading's fortune around)

Chicago Fire.

I'm sure we have interviewed Ince before, possibly around the Calderwood time. Really hope he isn't interested again

Mcbizz1998
28-04-2022, 11:54 AM
I really don’t know who I want tbh but I do know that if Hibs announce Roy Keane then I’m probably going to be extremely excited.

28-04-2022, 01:21 PM
Warburton finishing at QPR this season....

28-04-2022, 01:27 PM
Warburton finishing at QPR this season....

Would 100% take him and think his style of football would go down a treat.

Whether he’d come or other fans would be so welcoming I don’t know

28-04-2022, 01:27 PM

Think one of the Hibs Talk guys mis-spoke idols meant the Bodo/Glimt manager but said Gent instead.

ClermistonGreen
28-04-2022, 01:32 PM
Keane ! :aok:

Mcbizz1998
28-04-2022, 01:34 PM

Emm nah.

The song about him and his hat was one of the finest things to come out of the 2016 cup win.

Let’s not ruin his legacy.

28-04-2022, 01:35 PM

No way

28-04-2022, 01:38 PM
No way

I’m with you - god no !!!!

28-04-2022, 01:39 PM
Think one of the Hibs Talk guys mis-spoke idols meant the Bodo/Glimt manager but said Gent instead.

That's fair enough easy mistake to make 😁
So I can now quote the boy from Longbangers saying it's kjetil Knutsen 😁

28-04-2022, 01:43 PM
Would definitely take Warburton. Done well at QPR and comes with experience of Scottish football that so many want.

Don't think he'd come mind you, but I'd take success over a chant any day of the week.

28-04-2022, 01:50 PM
Would definitely take Warburton. Done well at QPR and comes with experience of Scottish football that so many want.

Don't think he'd come mind you, but I'd take success over a chant any day of the week.

If he failed with Rangers budget - what would suggest he would do anything useful without it

28-04-2022, 01:51 PM
No chance Warburton would come to Hibs.

He'd have to acknowledge that we won the Cup in 2016!

28-04-2022, 01:53 PM
If he failed with Rangers budget - what would suggest he would do anything useful without it

Think he did what he could with Rangers budget. Hugely out spent by Celtic at that point with a far inferior squad.

And if he came here and did what he could with our budget it would see us challenging for third again and good cup runs.

28-04-2022, 01:55 PM
Think he did what he could with Rangers budget. Hugely out spent by Celtic at that point with a far inferior squad.

And if he came here and did what he could with our budget it would see us challenging for third again and good cup runs.

Think he well underperformed with the scale of budget he had ..poor defensively too ..done nothing with QPR or Forest either. Definitely a no from me

28-04-2022, 02:04 PM
Think he well underperformed with the scale of budget he had ..poor defensively too ..done nothing with QPR or Forest either. Definitely a no from me

Also have a ready made song when it went breast upwards :greengrin

JamesHFC
28-04-2022, 02:10 PM
Warbuton will think he’s above us, definitely can’t see that happening.

28-04-2022, 02:19 PM
Also have a ready made song when it went breast upwards :greengrin

We could sing one version at 1-0 up and then the other at 1-2 down.

28-04-2022, 02:26 PM

Definitely a no from me but surprisingly he has the best record as manager since Iain Dowie back in 2008.

28-04-2022, 02:31 PM
We could sing one version at 1-0 up and then the other at 1-2 down.

😄

JamesHFC
28-04-2022, 02:47 PM
Tony Mowbray has pretty much just confirmed he’s leaving Blackburn at the end of the season.

28-04-2022, 03:51 PM
I'm definitely keen on Cocu but not cuckoo about Keane.

seanshow
28-04-2022, 03:51 PM
Irish newspaper sundayworld reporting Keane will not be the next manager.

seanshow
28-04-2022, 03:54 PM
https://www.sundayworld.com/sport/soccer/roy-keane-is-not-a-contender-to-become-the-new-manager-of-hibernian-41597004.html (https://www.sundayworld.com/sport/soccer/roy-keane-is-not-a-contender-to-become-the-new-manager-of-hibernian-41597004.html)

28-04-2022, 04:01 PM
I'm definitely keen on Cocu but not cuckoo about Keane.

:not worth

28-04-2022, 04:01 PM
https://www.sundayworld.com/sport/soccer/roy-keane-is-not-a-contender-to-become-the-new-manager-of-hibernian-41597004.html (https://www.sundayworld.com/sport/soccer/roy-keane-is-not-a-contender-to-become-the-new-manager-of-hibernian-41597004.html)
According to the article author.
He has a good dig at us over Maloney exit, and even brings Lenny into his column to have a pop about Shaun.

Dublin version of Brian McLaughlin methinks !

28-04-2022, 04:03 PM
Irish newspaper sundayworld reporting Keane will not be the next manager.

Reporting it as if he wasn’t interested…who says we were?

G15 Hibs
28-04-2022, 04:03 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bristling-tony-mowbray-takes-aim-26824638

Welcome back to Easter Road, Tony

28-04-2022, 04:04 PM
Article says Keane has no desire to take the Hibs job then further down it says Keane would unlikely want to work with our signing policy. Which is it? Sounds like guesswork.

28-04-2022, 04:05 PM

Apart from the Keane "scoop" it's just a rehash of last week's press conference with RG and the subsequent noise in the press.

Anything for clicks.

28-04-2022, 04:11 PM
Article says Keane has no desire to take the Hibs job then further down it says Keane would unlikely want to work with our signing policy. Which is it? Sounds like guesswork.
Thought the same.
Author's had a pub lunch and a wee scribble to himself in hope he is correct.
Be a Celtic fan miffed at us for Maloney exit.
Nought to do with Keane really,the article.
As said, a rehash of Ron's interview.
Chippie paper.

28-04-2022, 04:14 PM

very good news :agree:

next

28-04-2022, 04:26 PM
According to the article author.
He has a good dig at us over Maloney exit, and even brings Lenny into his column to have a pop about Shaun.

Dublin version of Brian McLaughlin methinks !

Lachlan O' Briain

28-04-2022, 04:31 PM
Lachlan O' Briain

28-04-2022, 04:37 PM
Lachlan O' Briain

Mcbizz1998
28-04-2022, 04:41 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bristling-tony-mowbray-takes-aim-26824638

Welcome back to Easter Road, Tony

We should be asking the question.

G15 Hibs
28-04-2022, 04:48 PM
We should be asking the question.

I'm normally against hankering after former managers, and he doesn't strike me as the kind of person who'd go back to a previous job, but I still have a lot of affection for Mowbray's time at Hibs. Who knows?

28-04-2022, 05:21 PM
Really didn't want Roy Keane so hopefully he isn't interested

More managers becoming available as this season comes to an end. Ideal timing for a couple of months off then starting afresh in the summer for someone

hibs#1
28-04-2022, 05:27 PM
Mark Warburton going to be available soon.

28-04-2022, 06:29 PM

Does he still have THAT hat?

HendoDelivered
28-04-2022, 06:33 PM

He’s a fanny

28-04-2022, 06:47 PM
That's fair enough easy mistake to make 😁
So I can now quote the boy from Longbangers saying it's kjetil Knutsen 😁

🤣🤣 yes! but don’t tell Liam from Down the Slope!

28-04-2022, 09:41 PM
https://twitter.com/scotsunsport/sta...EluSo9uTZTCj8w

Henning Berg being interviewed.

My memory of him being a manager was doing a terrible job at Blackburn (that could be wrong) but from looking at his Wikipedia page I think he’s done a good job in most places he’s been. On the face of it he’d be a decent candidate.

28-04-2022, 09:54 PM
https://twitter.com/scotsunsport/sta...EluSo9uTZTCj8w

Henning Berg being interviewed.

My memory of him being a manager was doing a terrible job at Blackburn (that could be wrong) but from looking at his Wikipedia page I think he’s done a good job in most places he’s been. On the face of it he’d be a decent candidate.

Don't know much about his managerial career other than wiki but notice he was sacked at Omonia before Lennon got the job.

28-04-2022, 10:00 PM
Don't know much about his managerial career other than wiki but notice he was sacked at Omonia before Lennon got the job.

https://youtu.be/A_aeH3K_fAA

CV makes for decent reading to be fair and reading the comments below that YouTube video he appears to have been a very popular manager in Cyprus.

28-04-2022, 10:15 PM
Henning Berg doesn’t excite me as much as the other names

JamesHFC
28-04-2022, 10:19 PM
Henning Berg doesn’t excite me as much as the other names

Same, would prefer Cocu over him.

28-04-2022, 10:21 PM
Same, would prefer Cocu over him.

I think Cocu sounds ***** to be honest.

When I hear Henning Berg I was ready to throw a tantrum but reading the Cypriot fans thoughts on him and reading his recent record I think he could do better than I thought

GreenGray
28-04-2022, 10:26 PM
I think Cocu sounds ***** to be honest.

When I hear Henning Berg I was ready to throw a tantrum but reading the Cypriot fans thoughts on him and reading his recent record I think he could do better than I thought

Cocu has the best CV of anyone linked so far

28-04-2022, 10:30 PM
Few shockers on Berg’s CV but seems to have done well a couple of times too.

28-04-2022, 10:40 PM
Cocu has the best CV of anyone linked so far

Great job at PSV but terrible everywhere else I think?

28-04-2022, 11:11 PM
Henning Berg looks quite exciting on paper imo.

Win rate

Lyn - 41%
Lillestrom - 31%
Blackburn - 10%
Legia Warsaw - 61%
Videoton - 54%
Stabaek - 21%
Omonia - 52%

Clearly a couple never went great but I think we’re going to have that with whoever we recruit at our level.

But what makes me optimistic is the success he’s had at clubs who don’t necessarily have the biggest budget or are expected to win trophy’s.

Won the league with Omonia and got them into the group stages of European football for the first time( never done before by a Cypriot team). Also won their super cup.

Videoton was another good spell and he missed out on the league on the final day.

Won the league with Legia Warsaw and when sacked he was still 2nd in the league. He is there most successful manager in two decades.

Now I’ve no idea about his style of football and if it fits but to me there’s a lot to get excited about there and it seems he’s really popular with Omonia fans and he speaks about loving being at clubs that at passionate.

I imagine having knowledge and experience of numerous leagues will interest our board.

Cocu however I’m scared would be similar football to Maloney based on the comments.

28-04-2022, 11:15 PM

Win rate

Lyn - 41%
Lillestrom - 31%
Blackburn - 10%
Legia Warsaw - 61%
Videoton - 54%
Stabaek - 21%
Omonia - 52%

Clearly a couple never went great but I think we’re going to have that with whoever we recruit at our level.

But what makes me optimistic is the success he’s had at clubs who don’t necessarily have the biggest budget or are expected to win trophy’s.

Won the league with Omonia and got them into the group stages of European football for the first time( never done before by a Greek team). Also won their super cup.

Videoton was another good spell and he missed out on the league on the final day.

Won the league with Legia Warsaw and when sacked he was still 2nd in the league.

Now I’ve no idea about his style of football and if it fits but to me there’s a lot to get excited about there and it seems he’s really popular with Omonia fans and he speaks about loving being at clubs that at passionate.

I imagine having knowledge and experience of numerous leagues will interest our board.

Cocu however I’m scared would be similar football to Maloney based on the comments.

Is the Omonia team he managed not from Cyprus i.e. the same one that Lennon's now at?

28-04-2022, 11:16 PM

Win rate

Lyn - 41%
Lillestrom - 31%
Blackburn - 10%
Legia Warsaw - 61%
Videoton - 54%
Stabaek - 21%
Omonia - 52%

Won the league with Omonia and got them into the group stages of European football for the first time( never done before by a Greek team). Also won their super cup.

Won the league with Legia Warsaw and when sacked he was still 2nd in the league.

Seems to be a bit of a pattern than he’s been sacked from clubs he’s doing a decent job at. Legia Warsaw, Videoton and Omonia he seemed to do a terrific job but sacked quite quickly,

I suppose this is what the board will dig a bit deeper into but seems a bit odd that’s happened 3 times?!

28-04-2022, 11:17 PM
Is the Omonia team he managed not from Cyprus i.e. the same one that Lennon's now at?

Yes it is, Lennon replaced him.

The point the poster you replied to was correct but just got the country wrong I think.

28-04-2022, 11:26 PM

You’re quite right, my apologies!

davhibby
29-04-2022, 08:48 AM
Great job at PSV but terrible everywhere else I think?

Won 3 league titles in 4 years at PSV (They haven’t won any of the 4 since he left). Had a bit of a disaster in Turkey but done a decent job at Derby who were and still are a shambles.

If Cocu is actually interested then we won’t get anyone else with a CV that’s even remotely close to being as good as his.

29-04-2022, 08:51 AM
Won 3 league titles in 4 years at PSV (They haven’t won any of the 4 since he left). Had a bit of a disaster in Turkey but done a decent job at Derby who were and still are a shambles.

If Cocu is actually interested then we won’t get anyone else with a CV that’s even remotely close to being as good as his.

The job he did at PSV was fantastic but can’t help but feel that’s a very different job to what he’d have at Hibs.

I’m no expert on his spell at Derby but I thought he had a disaster there?

Paulie Walnuts
29-04-2022, 09:03 AM
The job he did at PSV was fantastic but can’t help but feel that’s a very different job to what he’d have at Hibs.

I’m no expert on his spell at Derby but I thought he had a disaster there?

He finished 10th which is probably about par for the course in his full season there. He done quite well bringing through youth players as well apparently.

His second season was a disaster but that was the start of things falling apart at Derby. Whilst he’d undoubtedly have hoped to have done better that season the club was a shambles.

29-04-2022, 09:29 AM
Paul schooles and Giggs out in Edinburgh last night 😂

Obviously scouting out the city for Keane.

29-04-2022, 09:38 AM
https://punditarena.com/football/andrewdempsey/roy-keane-snub-hibs-reports/

This report saying keane to turn down hibs

29-04-2022, 09:48 AM
https://punditarena.com/football/andrewdempsey/roy-keane-snub-hibs-reports/

This report saying keane to turn down hibs

Just quoting that Irish paper from yesterday. Article sounded like it was made up guesswork.

NicosiaHibby
29-04-2022, 10:05 AM
Henning Berg did an excellent job at Omonia by winning them the League effectively two years in a row (first one a bit "tainted" by season ending early due to Covid) and would probably be an interesting candidate. The fans and players liked him. One caveat though..this season Omonia had an absolute meltdown and his team selections, recruitment and tactics were severely criticised. I must admit that following some of his post-match interviews I wondered whether we had been at the same match. Similar to his successor in some ways, but overall, perhaps worth a punt.