View Full Version : Next Hibs Manager
18-05-2022, 12:54 PM
https://twitter.com/HibbySmurf/status/1526892654943928320?t=iJErplw8ZyG1O-ekned9BA&s=19
A wee bit of an over reaction!
Translation: "I WANT ATTENTIONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN"
JamesHFC
Breaking news, Hibs agree to not sign Lee Johnson amid rumours that 28 year long season ticket holder, pro brexit, anti “woke” Hibs fan Kenny Murphy has cancelled his direct debit.
Loyalty has reached its limits. However, we look forward to welcoming him to our next cup final.
Mcbizz1998
I’m pretty worried about the reaction in general to this. Season ticket sales are going to be horrible and unless we see a massive improvement in results, it will be weekly soulless trips to ER.
I don’t mind LJ having played 4 times for Hearts but it will be another reason for fans to turn he doesn’t hit the ground running. I thought he was an ok option before JDT was mentioned as a viable option - now it’s just a massive let down.
Unless JDT has pied us, I can’t get my head round this appointment from Gordon. Seems so out of touch.
18-05-2022, 12:55 PM
No we all want the guy with the fancy name.
It's not about the fancy name, it's about what they've done in the game.
If LJ had won 2 top flight league titles i'd be delighted we're going for him.
If JDT had taken Enschede to a few mid-table finishes i wouldn't want him anywhere near Hibs.
You must see the difference and understand why folk are so against LJ? It's not about name, or where they're form or who they played for. It's about their managerial record.
JDTs is far superior to LJs. That's it in a nutshell for me. Everything else is just noise.
If our board think LJ is the better man for the job, I simply can't agree. I can't force myself to like someone or something. It's a natural reaction.
Highwayman
18-05-2022, 12:55 PM
As the appointment of Lee Johnson is imminent my first reaction is it’s not going to make me faint with excitement.
But if it is so let’s give the guy every opportunity to show what he can do and don’t start sniping at him before he gets a chance to get in the door.
However my first question would be,as a new manager how much input will he be allowed on recruitment.Or does he just have to accept what Ron’s son leaves at his door ?
I'm sitting here reading all these, I'm underwhelmed, I'm angry, I'm cancelling my S. T etc posts, shaking my head as I think of all the mangers I've seen come and go over the last 50 years supporting hibs, after Turnbull I seem to remember, in no particular order, Bertie Auld, Pat Stanton, Sloop, Alex Miller all 10 years worth, helicopter Duffy, at least his arrival was exciting, Bobby go to the cinema Williamson, Calderwood, Collins won us a cup and had a better 6 pack than any player, Alex Mcleish great player recruitment but nearly bankrupted the club Butcher relegation, Stubbs won us the big cup, Mowbray horsed by Hearts, lately Ross, Maloney what's to say. All in all looking at the list the mangers haven't in the main been routinely successful but never at each appointment did I say that's it I won't be back at Easter Road, but maybe I'm easy pleased.
For what it's worth I think L. J is a decent appointment, if it happens.
bringbackbenny
18-05-2022, 12:58 PM
https://twitter.com/HibbySmurf/status/1526892654943928320?t=iJErplw8ZyG1O-ekned9BA&s=19
Replied and he's either blocked me or limited his account.
Either a drama queen or touchy lol
18-05-2022, 12:58 PM
He has protected his twitter account now. Marvellous.
18-05-2022, 01:00 PM
What was said?
I’m pretty worried about the reaction in general to this. Season ticket sales are going to be horrible and unless we see a massive improvement in results, it will be weekly soulless trips to ER.
I don’t mind LJ having played 4 times for Hearts but it will be another reason for fans to turn he doesn’t hit the ground running. I thought he was an ok option before JDT was mentioned as a viable option - now it’s just a massive let down.
Unless JDT has pied us, I can’t get my head round this appointment from Gordon. Seems so out of touch.
Fans wanted Butcher. Fans wanted Ross sacked. Fans were excited by Maloney because BELGIUM.
People like Coldplay and voted for the Nazis. You can't trust people.
mcfly
I think with this appointment if true is that the hibs owner, board and chief executive have no understanding of the fans. But I’m sure they’ll get the message with vastly reduced season ticket sales.
Appointing 2 ex hearts players as the management team is not a great start to asking people to part with £400 for a season ticket.
Very disappointing from the board.
18-05-2022, 01:02 PM
If JDT had taken Enschede to a few mid-table finishes i wouldn't want him anywhere near Hibs.
You must see the difference and understand why folk are so against LJ? It's not about name, or where they're form or who they played for. It's about their managerial record.
JDTs is far superior to LJs. That's it in a nutshell for me. Everything else is just noise.
If our board think LJ is the better man for the job, I simply can't agree. I can't force myself to like someone or something. It's a natural reaction.
As long as people actually give the guy a chance then all the stuff on here won't matter.
If they aren't prepared to do that they are no supporters.
Brown Hibs
Not who I would have chosen but I'm right behind him. Back him properly please Ron.
G15 Hibs
YAS! :greengrin
18-05-2022, 01:03 PM
I think with this appointment if true is that the hibs owner, board and chief executive have no understanding of the fans. But I’m sure they’ll get the message with vastly reduced season ticket sales.
Appointing 2 ex hearts players as the management team is not a great start to asking people to part with £400 for a season ticket.
Very disappointing from the board.
Next we will be letting ex Jambos score the winner in the Cup Final.
Victor
18-05-2022, 01:04 PM
Foosball should give you a clue
I am old, my eyesight isn’t good and it would have made my day if it was true! [emoji2]
Why the excitement over JDT? Record outwith Malmo isn't great or is it because he made funny comments about Rangers......
Lee Johnson'a CV is not to shabby and managed at bigger clubs than Hibs.
Give him a chance.
Crumbs look at Hecky, two games away from take a side into the Premiership
bringbackbenny
18-05-2022, 01:06 PM
Shocking from Stubbs and Leeane. Strike 2016 from the record and award to the Current Buns.
Sergio sledge
18-05-2022, 01:08 PM
And yet you were very pro Roy Keane when he was linked, a guy who has a fairly ordinary managerial record except for one and a bit good seasons with Sunderland to the point where he hasn't even had a sniff of a managers job for 10 years?
18-05-2022, 01:09 PM
Yeah, didn't happen eh. No way he sent that then posted it on Twitter.
18-05-2022, 01:10 PM
Why the excitement over JDT? Record outwith Malmo isn't great or is it because he made funny comments about Rangers......
Lee Johnson'a CV is not to shabby and managed at bigger clubs than Hibs.
Give him a chance.
Crumbs look at Hecky, two games away from take a side into the Premiership
I wanted JDT and was nothing to do with comments he made. Malmo hadn't won the league in two seasons, he came in and won two in a row and qualified for the Champions League. I'd say that's impressive and certainly more of a reason to be excited than the Rangers comments.
Lee Johnson looks a bit underwhelming on paper and took some real hidings this season. However his record isn't bad and he may well turn out to be a decent choice. Whoever gets it MUST be backed with a decent budget though. Or they're on a hiding to nothing. So if it's Johnson, let him build the side he wants.
18-05-2022, 01:12 PM
JDT “priced himself out” according to Scott Burns.
http://bit.ly/3wwPx4x
18-05-2022, 01:13 PM
And yet you were very pro Roy Keane when he was linked, a guy who has a fairly ordinary managerial record except for one and a bit good seasons with Sunderland to the point where he hasn't even had a sniff of a managers job for 10 years?
Yeah i got excited when Keane's name appeared, nowt wrong with that. Been bored rigid with Hibs for 18 months or so.
But I'd choose JDT over Keane. I'd choose Cocu over JDT. I'd choose Lennon over all of them and I'd never in a million years choose LJ :greengrin
We're allowed more than one point of view no?!
18-05-2022, 01:13 PM
I wanted JDT as much as the next guy but that doesn’t mean Johnson a bad.
Maybe the board listened to both them and thought Johnson ‘got’ the club more. Having playing in England and Scotland, especially for Hearts he’ll know the size of the club and what’s expected.
Maybe the board thought JDT never seemed to grasp the league, expectations etc.
There as far too many unknowns to start critiquing the club.
18-05-2022, 01:15 PM
If this is true then the board made the right decision, 100%.
Saint Hibee
18-05-2022, 01:15 PM
Fans wanted Butcher. Fans wanted Ross sacked. Fans were excited by Maloney because BELGIUM.
Especially don’t trust people who claim that they “are the people” - those people are the worst kind of people.
Sergio sledge
18-05-2022, 01:16 PM
I wanted JDT and was nothing to do with comments he made. Malmo hadn't won the league in two seasons, he came in and won two in a row and qualified for the Champions League. I'd say that's impressive and certainly more of a reason to be excited than the Rangers comments.
Lee Johnson looks a bit underwhelming on paper and took some real hidings this season. However his record isn't bad and he may well turn out to be a decent choice. Whoever gets it MUST be backed with a decent budget though. Or they're on a hiding to nothing. So if it's Johnson, let him build the side he wants.
Agree with this, JDT was more exciting, but Johnson's record is pretty decent. If he replicates his points per league game from this season with Sunderland then we'll be sitting on a 70 point season next year having scored 69 goals, which would be a brilliant season.
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 01:16 PM
The guy managed Bristol City for 4 and a half years in the Championship. It’s no an easy league, and he didn’t have one of that big teams. Finished 18th, 17th, 11th, 8th and 12th. Before that he did well at Oldham and Barnsley in League 1.
I think he’s got a good CV. Better than most of the managers we’ve had that I can think of.
Failed at Sunderland…who doesn’t?
I respect your view that you think he is a good appointment, but the stats you quoted are average at best. If LJ was still at Sunderland and doing well, do you think he would give Hibs a seconds thought?..I don't think so! Primarily, he's only here for the money and he's got lucky. In saying that, I hope he proves me wrong and we get lucky for a change! Michael O'Neill was the man for me!
18-05-2022, 01:17 PM
If this is true then the board made the right decision, 100%.
If his financial demands are talking about the salary he was after then I actually agree.
18-05-2022, 01:18 PM
Bet you JDT ends up at the sheep in December.
18-05-2022, 01:20 PM
Agree with every word.
Unfortunately.
Clinging to the hope this is just a really strong rumour. If the deal is done, RG should be taking a minute to himself before calling LJ to apologise for getting his hopes up.
I have never known our support to be so against a prospective manager. Calderwood and Fenlon were random appointments but I don't remember so many people being vocally against them from the off.
This is just horrible. Nothing about it all makes any sense to me.
The events in Ukraine are horrible, this is not.
This is a managerial appointment that may or may not work.
I respect your right to be disappointed but please keep it sensible.
18-05-2022, 01:20 PM
If his financial demands are talking about the salary he was after then I actually agree.
Are there rumours of how much he was wanting and if so how much?
Saw a couple of people saying it was a huge amount for us without any figures quoted
Sergio sledge
18-05-2022, 01:21 PM
Yeah i got excited when Keane's name appeared, nowt wrong with that. Been bored rigid with Hibs for 18 months or so.
But I'd choose JDT over Keane. I'd choose Cocu over JDT. I'd choose Lennon over all of them and I'd never in a million years choose LJ :greengrin
We're allowed more than one point of view no?!
Yeah of course, but you were responding to someone who said that people were only wanting certain candidates because they were flashy names, (I think that's what was said, I'm losing track... :greengrin) saying it wasn't about the name, but the managerial record, just pointing out that's not why you were wanting Keane as I think LJ has a better long term managerial record than Keane.
For the record, I agree that JDT and Cocu were more exciting appointments than LJ, but I can certainly see why the board have gone for him.
Anyway, can't we all just be grateful that the new guy isn't Steve Kean..... :greengrin
Zambernardi1875
18-05-2022, 01:22 PM
So what was the point in sacking maloney so early if we’ve waited till the end of the season, to appoint someone who won’t be in high demand down south anyway
18-05-2022, 01:23 PM
The events in Ukraine are horrible, this is not.
This is a managerial appointment that may or may not work.
I respect your right to be disappointed but please keep it sensible.
In the context of how i feel about Hibs right now, that's a mild criticism!
The events in Ukraine are appalling and we can continue to discuss them on the excellent thread in the Holy Ground if you like.
We can still be emotional on here about Hibs whilst caring about Ukraine :aok:
18-05-2022, 01:24 PM
Reading that it makes me even more comfortable with the decision.
18-05-2022, 01:25 PM
So what was the point in sacking maloney so early if we’ve waited till the end of the season, to appoint someone who won’t be in high demand down south anyway
Because it gives the incoming nanager an extra month to hit the ground running rather than playing catch up in June
18-05-2022, 01:27 PM
Completely underwhelmed, which is maybe a good thing.
I was over the moon with Butcher and we all know how that ended, contrast that with not being fussed about Mowbray.
What I will say is that with his Hearts background he won't last as long as Maloney if he gets off to a bad start, he will be crucified on here and everywhere else.
On the other hand if he gives it a go it will hurt them which is always nice.
Time will tell.
18-05-2022, 01:28 PM
I respect your view that you think he is a good appointment, but the stats you quoted are average at best. If LJ was still at Sunderland and doing well, do you think he would give Hibs a seconds thought?..I don't think so! Primarily, he's only here for the money and he's got lucky. In saying that, I hope he proves me wrong and we get lucky for a change! Michael O'Neill was the man for me!
Bizarre train of thought.
Why are you saying he is here for the money? He'll probably be on less than he was at Sunderland. Can you not fathom that he's maybe here because he fancies the challenge, sees the potential in the Hibs job, likes Edinburgh etc. He is a professional and he'll be paid for his work.
So many strange reasons people are finding to criticise.
18-05-2022, 01:28 PM
We sacked Maloney because the board thought he’d get us relegated.
Gray ensured our safety.
It also allowed us time to conduct a thorough process and gave in charge very early.
18-05-2022, 01:29 PM
To avoid relegation.
Steven79
18-05-2022, 01:30 PM
Also that bit about Johnson stood out for me.
"The former Hearts (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/hearts-fc) and Kilmarnock player has also taken a significant cut in what he was earning in previous jobs to take up the top job in Leith. "
But we are clearly paying him more than he was getting for sitting doing nothing...
ElginHibbie
18-05-2022, 01:32 PM
"The former Hearts (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/hearts-fc) and Kilmarnock player has also taken a significant cut in what he was earning in previous jobs to take up the top job in Leith. "
But we are clearly paying him more than he was getting for sitting doing nothing...
Clearly paying him less than whatever job seeker's allowance is these days, spirit of Petrie lives on
Lester B
18-05-2022, 01:32 PM
The events in Ukraine are appalling and we can continue to discuss them on the excellent thread in the Holy Ground if you like.
It's not a mild criticism. To use the word horrible is an hysterical over reaction.
As for the rest I can't decide whether that's a deliberate misinterpretation or not.
OldEast
18-05-2022, 01:33 PM
Lots of ifs, buts and maybe's but if this has any truth then Lee Johnson is the correct choice of the final two (a final two neither of which would have been my preferred choices) Maybe JDT came over as a "Billy big baws"
Anyway, looks like it's done. Now FFS put yer dummy's back in and give the club your support. The outrage is laughable.
18-05-2022, 01:33 PM
It's quite funny because I've been quite firmly at the waterproof sheets end of the Hibs fan scale lately - I was raging at our poor preparation for Europe last year, been disgusted with the lack of progress made during transfer windows and I was very quick to lose faith in Maloney. I've certainly not held back in being emotional and critical.
I'm certainly starting to think I'm one of our more moderate folks today though, seeing some of the other reactions.
Johnson has some relative successes under his belt and has a reputation for having his teams play decent football.
Plan needs to be - give him a decent few quid to sort out the midfield, give him what he needs to get us creating and scoring. Get walk up prices back to a sensible level so all those who don't renew can still come along and watch the team if they start playing well.
18-05-2022, 01:34 PM
This is what I can't work out, it makes no sense. Should have just let Maloney continue and see how it worked out, here we are at the end of the season, no one in place yet, and the favourite from the job is someone who didn't even have a job anyway.
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 01:36 PM
Exactly, if he was still managing at a decent level down south, he wouldn't give us the time of day!
18-05-2022, 01:37 PM
The guy on twitter announcing he has sent a letter telling Hibs he will not be getting a renewal. :greengrin:greengrin Whats the point of that? Does he think if he gets like 20 RTs and 40 Likes they might not bother with LJ?
18-05-2022, 01:38 PM
Lots of ifs, buts and maybe's but if this has any truth then Lee Johnson is the correct choice of the final two (a final two neither of which would have been my preferred choices) Maybe JDT came over as a "Billy big baws"
Anyway, looks like it's done. Now FFS put yer dummy's back in and give the club your support. The outrage is laughable.
spot on
mcfly
18-05-2022, 01:38 PM
Stop living in the past - as a club we haven’t moved on since then.
His ex Jambo status gives him no leeway with the fans
Better start well
18-05-2022, 01:40 PM
It's quite funny because I've been quite firmly at the waterproof sheets end of the Hibs fan scale lately - I was raging at our poor preparation for Europe last year, been disgusted with the lack of progress made during transfer windows and I was very quick to lose faith in Maloney. I've certainly not held back in being emotional and critical.
I'm certainly starting to think I'm one of our more moderate folks today though, seeing some of the other reactions.
Johnson has some relative successes under his belt and has a reputation for having his teams play decent football.
Plan needs to be - give him a decent few quid to sort out the midfield, give him what he needs to get us creating and scoring. Get walk up prices back to a sensible level so all those who don't renew can still come along and watch the team if they start playing well.
Thanks for the reply, I don't disagree really.
I've never thought the word 'horrible' to be a strong adjective that could cause offence though. Certainly wasn't my intention and bringing Ukraine into it just seemed off.
If you've been on the Ukraine thread, you'll have seen my thoughts quite clearly there.
G15 Hibs
18-05-2022, 01:40 PM
Better start well
Stop living in the past, but remember half a dozen games he played 16 years ago? Hmm.
18-05-2022, 01:42 PM
I'm disappointed that it isn't JDT. I think it would have been an exciting prospect but I don't think Lee Johnson is the numpty that some people are making him out to be. He's done well enough in his previous roles. My biggest concern is that he and the group of people at the club who sanction signings understand he quality required for Hibs to return to the top 3 in the SPFL . The signings that we make this summer will determine my level of optimism for the new season.
Really excited for the rebuild now. Good young manager (in my opinion) in place and a summer to recruit. I'm sure he'll be backed well.
leith lynx
Bizarre train of thought.
Why are you saying he is here for the money? He'll probably be on less than he was at Sunderland. Can you not fathom that he's maybe here because he fancies the challenge, sees the potential in the Hibs job, likes Edinburgh etc. He is a professional and he'll be paid for his work.
So many strange reasons people are finding to criticise.
What I can fathom is that he's took the job up here because nobody else wants him!
18-05-2022, 01:44 PM
Stop living in the past, but remember half a dozen games he played 16 years ago? Hmm.
More wild hyperbole: it was a third of a dozen games.
GreenPJ
18-05-2022, 01:45 PM
What I can fathom is that he's took the job up here because nobody else wants him!
And you know this how?
JamesHFC
18-05-2022, 01:48 PM
Really excited for the rebuild now. Good young manager (in my opinion) in place and a summer to recruit. I'm sure he'll be backed well.
Me too. Looking forward to seeing how things pan out. Should be an exciting summer.
18-05-2022, 01:48 PM
Better start well
Is this serious or satire?
I genuinely don't know.
Hibiza
18-05-2022, 01:49 PM
Has the announcement been made ?
McGruber
18-05-2022, 01:51 PM
From what I can gather LJ has a reputation for good attacking football. A reputation for long losing streaks and earned the nickname Streaky Johnson. Is prone to heavy defeats. Signed dross for millions. Signed some really good players. Developed players and sold them for millions. Had success - diddy cup at Sunderland and 3rd with Sunderland. Had failure.. 3rd at Sunderland in league 1! Left clubs being poached for doing well, sacked at clubs for being awful. Acts a bit like David Brent, bit cringey but a nice guy. Pretty mixed bag all in.
I can't see this being a good appointment or a long one but you never know.
Any obvious past players that he could go for that would raise a modicum of excitement? Last chance to generate any enthusiasm now with the recruitment team
. Given what's come before, not holding my breath
18-05-2022, 01:52 PM
The only informative bit there is "according to Scott Burns". He's got plenty of previous for "Hibs were priced out" stories, with no evidence at all to back them up.
badabing67
18-05-2022, 01:52 PM
Has the announcement been made ?
I haven't seen anything official though other outlets are saying its him
18-05-2022, 01:55 PM
From what I can gather LJ has a reputation for good attacking football. A reputation for long losing streaks and earned the nickname Streaky Johnson. Is prone to heavy defeats. Signed dross for millions. Signed some really good players. Developed players and sold them for millions. Had success - diddy cup at Sunderland and 3rd with Sunderland. Had failure.. 3rd at Sunderland in league 1! Left clubs being poached for doing well, sacked at clubs for being awful. Acts a bit like David Brent, bit cringey but a nice guy. Pretty mixed bag all in.
I can't see this being a good appointment or a long one but you never know.
Any obvious past players that he could go for that would raise a modicum of excitement? Last chance to generate any enthusiasm now with the recruitment team
. Given what's come before, not holding my breath
He’s said himself he’s to blame for the big defeats as despite being 3-0 down for example he’s still went for it and wanted to attack to get back in the game but they got picked off.
I imagine he’ll have learnt a lot from that.
I also think it’s funny when there’s a big defeat it’s always the managers fault and never the players for having an absolute shocker 😅
18-05-2022, 01:56 PM
Exactly, if he was still managing at a decent level down south, he wouldn't give us the time of day!
No **** Sherlock.
What manager or player moves to a Scottish Team (outwith the Old Firm) when they’re managing or playing at a decent level down there?
Mcbizz1998
18-05-2022, 01:57 PM
So if that article is to be believed, we refused to pay JDT what he believes he is worth but we’re more than happy to take the guy who was cheap.
I see.
18-05-2022, 02:01 PM
With no evidence to back that up at all.
18-05-2022, 02:04 PM
So if that article is to be believed, we refused to pay JDT what he believes he is worth but we’re more than happy to take the guy who was cheap.
I see.
Would you rather we didn't have a budget and just went under?
18-05-2022, 02:07 PM
I see.
And if JDT wanted an unreasonable amount that would reduce the amount available for the playing squad, we should just go ahead and pay him it? There are lot of people on social media with zero knowledge of the discussions around the job spitting the dummy out and we've not even made the appointment yet.
18-05-2022, 02:08 PM
That's a wee bit dramatic is it no, Hibs will pay what they think they can get away with, same as any other business.
18-05-2022, 02:10 PM
Mental that people think we should just work without a budget now.
Obviously the hope is he would bring more success to pay for himself but that’s by no means a certainty. We also don’t know just how expensive we are talking here. Could potentially be millions by the time he brings in his own staff, and then if he’s on the big wages, how big a transfer kitty was he wanting? Presumably we just pay that too?
**** it, let’s just hand out £20 to every fan that attends games too, it’s only money and seeing as we apparently have an unlimited supply of it, we should really just be throwing it around more than we are!
That's a wee bit dramatic is it no, Hibs will pay what they think they can get away with, same as any other business.
Right so if JDT wage demands were vastly more than what we can afford, what are we supposed to do? Once you do it once the whole system falls apart.
sauzeelegod
What’s his favoured formation?
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 02:11 PM
No **** Sherlock.
What manager or player moves to a Scottish Team (outwith the Old Firm) when they’re managing or playing at a decent level down there?
Glad you agree smart arse
18-05-2022, 02:12 PM
Mental that people think we should just work without a budget now.
Obviously the hope is he would bring more success to pay for himself but that’s by no means a certainty. We also don’t know just how expensive we are talking here. Could potentially be millions by the time he brings in his own staff, and then if he’s on the big wages, how big a transfer kitty was he wanting? Presumably we just pay that too?
**** it, let’s just hand out £20 to every fan that attends games too, it’s only money and seeing as we apparently have an unlimited supply of it, we should really just be throwing it around more than we are!
haha
We could sell more season tickets if we just paid fans to come to games, get the chequebook out Ron!
18-05-2022, 02:14 PM
Point out to me where I’ve written the guy off? I absolutely haven’t. I have no idea if he will be a good manager or not for Hibs, but I’m sorry for not being excited or enthusiastic about this appointment, as you can see I’m not the only one.
My angers at the Hibs board, who had a great chance to unite the support with this managerial appointment, instead they’ve just drove the wedge further in.
Why did we not appoint JDT?
18-05-2022, 02:14 PM
I see.
How cheap was he? Do you know what JDT was asking for? DO you know what we can afford? Im guessing the answer is you dont know ,yet you still manage to come to baseless conclusion.
If JDT has priced himself out then fair enough, we're not paying well over the odds for him just because he is who he is, he must've known our budget limitations, add in the fact he was unsure of our main market for players means the board have made the right choice. Johnson has a very decent CV, not the best but decent, plays attacking football and was willing to take less money because he wanted the job more. I just wonder if the board thought JDT was maybe going to be a bit of a roller coaster ride instead of steadying the club.
At least now it's done and we can start rebuilding, now please just get rid of all the deadwood players in the squad.
18-05-2022, 02:16 PM
Right so if JDT wage demands were vastly more than what we can afford, what are we supposed to do? Once you do it once the whole system falls apart.
What part of "Hibs will pay whatever they can get away with, same as any other business" If the demands were more than Hibs could get away with then they would not pay, same as any other business, then it is up to the applicant to take it or leave it.
18-05-2022, 02:18 PM
I was over the moon with Butcher and we all know how that ended, contrast that with not being fussed about Mowbray.
What I will say is that with his Hearts background he won't last as long as Maloney if he gets off to a bad start, he will be crucified on here and everywhere else.
Time will tell.
4 games
18-05-2022, 02:20 PM
If JDT has priced himself out then fair enough, we're not paying well over the odds for him just because he is who he is, he must've known our budget limitations, add in the fact he was unsure of our main market for players means the board have made the right choice. Johnson has a very decent CV, not the best but decent, plays attacking football and was willing to take less money because he wanted the job more. I just wonder if the board thought JDT was maybe going to be a bit of a roller coaster ride instead of steadying the club.
At least now it's done and we can start rebuilding, now please just get rid of all the deadwood players in the squad.
Good post agree Personally think a decent appointment. Could do with 2 or 3 decent signings?
Good luck Lee
I see.
Or we have a certain wage budget for the manager that Johnson was happy with and JDT wasn't, no matter what we will not be held to ransom over wages.
18-05-2022, 02:27 PM
Good post agree Personally think a decent appointment. Could do with 2 or 3 decent signings?
Good luck Lee
Only 2 or 3 :greengrin
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 02:32 PM
Good luck Lee
We need a hell of a lot more than 2 or 3 imo.
If we want to challenge for third again next year then we’re looking at 4 or 5 guys who will start near enough every game and another few decent squad players, not 20 year old laddies with no experience.
18-05-2022, 02:33 PM
Why did we not appoint JDT?
He wanted more money than we offered.
18-05-2022, 02:34 PM
Time will tell.
He needs to win his first 3-4 games or he's toast.
18-05-2022, 02:40 PM
Which should be achievable as it’s league cup football against lower league teams.
Dazzjw1875
18-05-2022, 02:44 PM
I think we should be realistic..LJ has agreed a pay cut( less money than when in previous jobs) to join us if stories are true which shows he's not in it for the money, on the other hand JDT who we mostly all wanted wasn't going to take pay cut!? Seems like he was only interested in the money not in the project as surely he couldve took a cut and in a yr if flying get new improved deal. No one can guess how we will be or the team will be playing just need to be behind the new Gaffer and back him and any new players brought in.
18-05-2022, 02:45 PM
I know this is hyperbole but c'mon, use a better example than Klopp as every single Hibs supporter and fan would not be moaning at that!
absolutely guarantee there'd be at least a couple of posts expressing doubts about the appointment
18-05-2022, 02:48 PM
Would that also have applied to Tomasson?
18-05-2022, 02:48 PM
The recruitment is key.
I think LJ will be the nice guy and JM his assistant will be the tougher one.
I really hope we start to see some players being added soon to give us hope and a lift.
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 02:50 PM
I think we should be realistic..LJ has agreed a pay cut to join us if stories are true which shows he's not in it for the money, on the other hand JDT who we mostly all wanted wasn't going to take pay cut!? Seems like he was only interested in the money not in the project as surely he couldve took a cut and in a yr if flying get new improved deal. No one can guess how we will be or the team will be playing just need to be behind the new Gaffer and back him and any new players brought in.
Where has LJ taken a pay-cut from?
Was sacked at Bristol City for losing 4 on the bounce. He could be away the start of September with our board. At least he'll be here for the festival :wink:
Really? Winning our first 3 or 4 games would be an unbelievable start. Anything less and he's toast? Harsh. Sounds like your mind is already made up.
18-05-2022, 02:51 PM
Where has he taken a pay-cut from?
Sunderland still paying his wages maybe??
Mcbizz1998
18-05-2022, 02:52 PM
Or we have a certain wage budget for the manager that Johnson was happy with and JDT wasn't, no matter what we will not be held to ransom over wages.
I’m approached about new jobs often in my line of work. First thing I find out before even considering a job is - can they pay me what I want?
I find it really odd that we have whittled it down to these 2 candidates, only to discover one of them has wage demands out-with what we can offer. Unless JDT has moved the goalposts late on then it stinks of the cheap option.
18-05-2022, 02:53 PM
Since when have we became such impatient fans. Moronic expectation that is
McGruber
18-05-2022, 02:53 PM
I think we should be realistic..LJ has agreed a pay cut to join us if stories are true which shows he's not in it for the money, on the other hand JDT who we mostly all wanted wasn't going to take pay cut!? Seems like he was only interested in the money not in the project as surely he couldve took a cut and in a yr if flying get new improved deal. No one can guess how we will be or the team will be playing just need to be behind the new Gaffer and back him and any new players brought in.
Not to be pedantic but he hasn't agreed a paycut. He is out of work so not on any pay. He will be getting less than what Sunderland paid him but that had nothing to do with us.
Hopefully generate some excitement through signings
McGruber
18-05-2022, 02:54 PM
No
We need a hell of a lot more than 2 or 3 imo.
If we want to challenge for third again next year then we’re looking at 4 or 5 guys who will start near enough every game and another few decent squad players, not 20 year old laddies with no experience.
2 or 3 in early wasnt suggesting we only needed that
I’m approached about new jobs often in my line of work. First thing I find out before even considering a job is - can they pay me what I want?
I find it really odd that we have whittled it down to these 2 candidates, only to discover one of them has wage demands out-with what we can offer. Unless JDT has moved the goalposts late on then it stinks of the cheap option.
Agreed, it’s weird. Unless JDT was never even a serious consideration.
tonyrougier123
18-05-2022, 02:56 PM
The daily ranger says an out of work manager took a pay cut to join hibs?
I’m struggling with that one tbh.
18-05-2022, 02:56 PM
No
Funny that.
G15 Hibs
18-05-2022, 02:58 PM
I suppose it could depend on what kind of agreement there was between him and Sunderland when they got rid of him. I'd imagine there was still time left on his contract, perhaps they agreed to pay him £x amount per month but only until he got a new job and Hibs have offered him less than that. Only speculating obviously, but it's the only way that would make sense.
18-05-2022, 02:59 PM
Where has LJ taken a pay-cut from?
Sunderland still paying his wages maybe??
:agree: He would be due pay from Sunderland until June, but it would be more likely he was just paid the last 6 months of his contract when he was sacked.
Hibiza
18-05-2022, 03:01 PM
Not to be pedantic but he hasn't agreed a paycut. He is out of work so not on any pay. He will be getting less than what Sunderland paid him but that had nothing to do with us.
Hopefully generate some excitement through signings
Excellent point , sur.
18-05-2022, 03:01 PM
Only 2 or 3 :greengrin
2 or 3 in the next week :greengrin
CB Hibs 68
18-05-2022, 03:02 PM
Not surprised that Hibs are going for LJ as I think he ticks more of Ron’s boxes than JDT.Neither up nor down about this appointment to be honest because a successful season or not will hinge on who we get in players wise.To my mind the same would have been true if we had got JDT.In our recruitment team we trust😀
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 03:02 PM
Really? Winning our first 3 or 4 games would be an unbelievable start. Anything less and he's toast? Harsh. Sounds like your mind is already made up.
To be fair they’ll all be against lower league opposition so I don’t think expecting us to win them all is that outrageous.
Did you not want rid of Maloney after 4 games, 3 wins with the only defeat being at Parkhead if I’m not mistaken? Or if not 4, I’m sure it couldn’t have been more than 5 or 6 before you wanted him out. And that was with him having come in mid season and taking us over on a terrible run of form.
Tom Hart RIP
18-05-2022, 03:05 PM
To be fair I wanted Duffy and Butcher and probably Maloney but didn't want McLeish or Mowbray so what do I know but can't muster up a lot of enthusiasm for LJ. Hope I'm wrong.
I'd assume Johnson had a couple of other options paying more money hence hes taking less money than he would've got elsewhere.
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 03:07 PM
Not surprised that Hibs are going for LJ as I think he ticks more of Ron’s boxes than JDT.Neither up nor down about this appointment to be honest because a successful season or not will hinge on who we get in players wise.To my mind the same would have been true if we had got JDT.In our recruitment team we trust😀
Just let's hope we don't go down the cheap option player wise and match/better what Hertz/sheep offer.
18-05-2022, 03:07 PM
Appointing Malky Mackay would have even got a better reception than this 😅
18-05-2022, 03:08 PM
I think you are correct
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 03:10 PM
Fair comment!
tonyrougier123
18-05-2022, 03:22 PM
Agree totally btw.
The Captain....
18-05-2022, 03:22 PM
Appointing Malky Mackay would have even got a better reception than this [emoji28]Probably true that.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
leithsansiro
18-05-2022, 03:25 PM
What’s his favoured formation?
4231 but used a 433 fairly often at Sunderland. Prefers a compact back 4 that's fairly narrow (not, for example, necessarily suiting Doig) and a narrow centre midfield. Wide expansive attack though, typically with wide guys
leithsansiro
18-05-2022, 03:26 PM
No it doesn't. It says he is going to take less than he has previously taken at his most recent roles.
18-05-2022, 03:27 PM
It can get far worse, people also like Radiohead.
147lothian
18-05-2022, 03:29 PM
Will LJ see out his contract or have we became a managerial merry go round club?
18-05-2022, 03:30 PM
Will LJ see out his contract or have we became a managerial merry go round club?
We should announce him, then fire him the next day just to show him who's in charge.
McGruber
Funny that.
It's not funny, it's reality.
A more popular man afforded more time than a less popular man coming in - that's what happens. It's not fair but it's the way it is.
It can get far worse, people also like Radiohead.
How dare you. A truly magnificent band.
Willis1875
18-05-2022, 03:32 PM
4231 but used a 433 fairly often at Sunderland. Prefers a compact back 4 that's fairly narrow (not, for example, necessarily suiting Doig) and a narrow centre midfield. Wide expansive attack though, typically with wide guys
Narrow midfield will suit the 3 imposters on long contracts we have just now
sauzeelegod
18-05-2022, 03:38 PM
Nice one mate, hopefully he can get us playing a bit faster
18-05-2022, 03:38 PM
The Board getting its retaliation in early there I see. And with lots of complete bull too.
They had concerns over his knowledge of the Scottish and English game and its players - where they say we will primarily have to shop. They were concerned about how serious he was about building Hibs. They were worried about him staying at the club. He made excessive wage demands.
What kind of utterly incompetent fools would let an individual with all those weaknesses make it to the last two FFS?
These suggestions are either untrue or our club is being run by people who have no business doing so.
Willis1875
18-05-2022, 03:40 PM
We'll support you evermore
Okay they aren’t imposters anymore,they are really good because we have a new manager coming in
18-05-2022, 03:41 PM
Narrow midfield will suit the 3 imposters on long contracts we have just now
In one of the interviews someone posted a million pages back, he speaks about the importance of energy in midfield and the need to have positive body language and one of his pet hates is seeing his midfielders with their hands on their hips looking slouched. The first person I thought of there was Newell, I could be wrong but I think he’s guilty at times of that, I have a feeling he won’t be his cup of tea if so. Campbell might be ok on that front but he’ll need tk show much more quality with the ball than he has done this season.
18-05-2022, 03:42 PM
Okay they aren’t imposters anymore,they are really good because we have a new manager coming in
Clean slate
18-05-2022, 03:44 PM
It’s possible to want better without calling them imposters or even words tk that effect.
18-05-2022, 03:44 PM
Hope the announcement is made early doors tomorrow. Get all the social media backlash out the way and then we can move onto making some real quality signings 🤞
Only what, seven weeks or so until the league cup group stages start. Players will have a few weeks off I imagine. So not long really.
18-05-2022, 03:45 PM
It’s possible to want better without calling them imposters or even words tk that effect.
The way people conduct themselves on the internet in general is amusing. A lot of words thrown around that they'd never use to player's faces.
Willis1875
18-05-2022, 03:46 PM
In one of the interviews someone posted a million pages back, he speaks about the importance of energy in midfield and the need to have positive body language and one of his pet hates is seeing his midfielders with their hands on their hips looking slouched. The first person I thought of there was Newell, I could be wrong but I think he’s guilty at times of that, I have a feeling he won’t be his cup of tea if so. Campbell might be ok on that front but he’ll need tk show much more quality with the ball than he has done this season.
Newell shows flashes of energy but it usually results in him needlessly clattering somebody and getting booked
Campbell your pretty much spot on,don’t think he will ever have the required quality on the ball
JDH Meh,there’s probably about 20/30 guys that play midfield Scottish football that can do what he does
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 03:48 PM
The Board getting its retaliation in early there I see. And with lots of complete bull too.
They had concerns over his knowledge of the Scottish and English game and its players - where they say we will primarily have to shop. They were concerned about how serious he was about building Hibs. They were worried about him staying at the club. He made excessive wage demands.
What kind of utterly incompetent fools would let an individual with all those weaknesses make it to the last two FFS?
These suggestions are either untrue or our club is being run by people who have no business doing so.
It does seem strange that we whittled it down to a final two and then realised one of those candidates has next to none of the things we wanted and was also out of our budget.
18-05-2022, 03:50 PM
Is it not fairest to give everyone a clean slate... but to acknowledge the failure of last season and promise to be quick and decisive regarding making judgments on who gets to stay and who has to go, rather than let it linger on forever?
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 03:51 PM
Is it not fairest to give everyone a clean slate... but to acknowledge the failure of last season and promise to be quick and decisive regarding making judgments on who gets to stay and who has to go, rather than let it linger on forever?
It might be fairest, yes. But seeing as they’d presumably need to be given pre season friendlies etc to give them their clean slate id rather we didn’t wait until mid July and a good bit into the window before we bothered trying to shift guys we already know aren’t good enough just for the sake of being fair.
18-05-2022, 03:52 PM
It does seem strange that we whittled it down to a final two and then realised one of those candidates has next to none of the things we wanted and was also out of our budget.
If it's true - and that is a massive if - then it isn't just strange it's completely incompetent. I'd certainly like to know who led and conducted the interviews.
18-05-2022, 03:52 PM
He's going to need to find a good striker who can play up front on his own.
I mean, that was going to be the case anyway, but more so if that's the way he likes to play.
That can be the big failing of these English league one types imo, trying to play the way they all play there without having the players to do it. Hecky struggled with it, Jack Ross was struggling with it...
18-05-2022, 03:53 PM
I don’t think so.
Underperforming players can’t just continually keep getting clean slates. I would assume LJ is watching plenty video footage of last season and everyone will quite rightly be getting judged on that until we can get replacements in.
18-05-2022, 03:56 PM
I don’t think so.
Underperforming players can’t just continually keep getting clean slates. I would assume LJ is watching plenty video footage of last season and everyone will quite rightly be getting judged on that until we can get replacements in.
Agree we need to hit the ground runnng hopefully brings in a few early doors and then clears out a few some of which are at the end of either loan or contracts so naturally there will be space to fill. The awarding of longer contracts to three centre mids gets weirder by the day. Can see Newell leaving personally
18-05-2022, 03:58 PM
I think it reeks of a safety first, lower cost and don't scare the horses choice. I've been initially enthusiastic about most of our recent managerial appointments I think unless and until they proved me wrong.
I'm going to save time on this one by adopting a different attitude which is 'you're probably the poorer choice unless you prove otherwise'.
I could just about buy that they wouldn't or couldn't meet his personal terms (though frankly I'm sceptical about that too), but letting him get to the last two of our choices with what is being claimed is a string of other weaknesses is just ludicrous. Literally incredible.
18-05-2022, 04:03 PM
How do you know that JDH or his representatives indicated at first they would be happy with the indicated terms and then tried to up the ante during negotiations?
18-05-2022, 04:04 PM
https://youtu.be/ek1pRXdu5bU
Wins the big games
18-05-2022, 04:05 PM
How do you know that JDH or his representatives indicated at first they would be happy with the indicated terms and then tried to up the ante during negotiations?
Because the rest of the article is full of a load of bollocks about him essentially being unfit to manage us for various reasons and yet the Board decided to make him one of the final two we chose from?
18-05-2022, 04:07 PM
Because the rest of the article is full of a load of bollocks about him essentially being unfit to manage us for various reasons and yet the Board decided to make him one of the final two we chose from?
Sounds like he came late on the scene and was considered then not taken forward. Maybe they got the impression he wasnt serious about taking the job and was just getting his name out there.
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 04:07 PM
Maybe he did. That’s one thing struck off the list potentially
Why did someone who has a lack of knowledge of the Scottish market and didn’t seem committed to a project like ours make it to the final two?
There’s a hell of a lot of apparent issues with Tomasson according to that article for someone that made it to the final two in our process.
18-05-2022, 04:08 PM
Your right, Mackay would have split the support but a percentage would have been happy with him, with LJ the reaction ranges from apathy to outrage!
Must say this appointment (if confirmed) will do nothing to boost my enthusiasm, but good luck to him, he will need it!
147lothian
18-05-2022, 04:08 PM
We should announce him, then fire him the next day just to show him who's in charge.
Ahh the Romanov way of running a club, surely Ron has got a bit more class than that :wink:
18-05-2022, 04:09 PM
I thought Ron said that the manager outlines the type of player and position he wants and it’s up to IG and his ‘team’ to find them ? So why would not having knowledge of the Scottish or English market matter - they’ve already shown in two windows they’re clueless about that market anyway !!
Still, I wouldn’t trust a former Danish and Dutch Player of the Year, UEFA Cup and Champions League winner, League title winner in three countries as player and manager, top international striker and top scorer for three clubs in five seasons, and manager of the year in Sweden - to know a player when he sees one 😂😊
I’m angry, disinterested, and alarmed by Gordon and Kensall - new kits threads - wouldn’t surprise me if that pair decided maroon tops with white shorts and socks were ‘the best design we were presented with’ 😂
18-05-2022, 04:10 PM
Your right, Mackay would have split the support but a percentage would have been happy with him, with LJ the reaction ranges from apathy to outrage!
Must say this appointment (if confirmed) will do nothing to boost my enthusiasm, but good luck to him, he will need it!
Not here it doesn't. I'm quite excited.
18-05-2022, 04:10 PM
Maybe he did. That’s one thing stuck off the list potentially
Why did someone who has a lack of knowledge of the Scottish market and didn’t seem committed to a project like ours make it to the final two?
There’s a hell of a lot of apparent issues with Tomasson according to that article for someone that made it to the final two in our process.
Perhaps he, or his agents, bull****ted in the early stages, and was found out at the interview stage. It happens :greengrin
18-05-2022, 04:12 PM
If it's true - and that is a massive if - then it isn't just strange it's completely incompetent. I'd certainly like to know who led and conducted the interviews.
Doesn't seem likely to be true. It's the natural thing for Ron & co to get out into the press when choosing the massively unpopular option between 2.
I suspect (entirely without foundation admittedly) that he's getting it via knowing Kensell or friends of Kensell. Not necessarily a bad thing, I suppose.
tonyrougier123
18-05-2022, 04:15 PM
No it doesn't. It says he is going to take less than he has previously taken at his most recent roles.
Is that a pay cut though?
The post suggested he is taking a pay cut to join hibs.
I would like to double my wages but I’m no in a position to get that,neither is lee Johnson at this stage.
He’s a jobless manager taking what he can get,and we’ve obliged.
The daily rangers will print anything to make it look as though hibs are lucky to get anything these days,then be the first to put managers under pressure with articles,absolute ****bags at that rag!😡
18-05-2022, 04:18 PM
Is that a pay cut though?
Pedant alert.
The article being referred to here was quite clear.
18-05-2022, 04:18 PM
So we're getting a young manager who has managed for years at a higher level than the Scottish Premiership. Has won a trophy and has a better managerial record than the guy who took us to 3rd, cup finals and Europe? Sack the board i say.
18-05-2022, 04:19 PM
Doesn't seem likely to be true. It's the natural thing for Ron & co to get out into the press when choosing the massively unpopular option between 2.
I suspect (entirely without foundation admittedly) that he's getting it via knowing Kensell or friends of Kensell. Not necessarily a bad thing, I suppose.
How and why does the Board allow someone they think is utterly ill-equipped to manage Hibs to get down to being one of their final two that they are choosing between?
And if the appointment is being made on an 'I know this guy, trust me' basis then we really are on rocky ground. That would be a terrible way to choose a manager and would have all sorts of implications for other decisions being made at the club.
tonyrougier123
18-05-2022, 04:20 PM
Pedant alert.
The article being referred to here was quite clear.
😂i quoted the post not the article 🤡
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 04:23 PM
So we're getting a young manager who has managed for years at a higher level than the Scottish Premiership. Has won a trophy and has a better managerial record than the guy who took us to 3rd, cup finals and Europe? Sack the board i say.
He hasn’t managed at a level higher than the Scottish Premiership for years I presume that should say? He’s been managing in League One the last two years. It’s without a shadow of a doubt a poorer league than ours overall imo.
18-05-2022, 04:24 PM
I think it’s fine tbh. Even if you are deep into a recruitment process, if a high profile talent becomes available then you might well pause ongoing negotiations and see what they have to say.
Lack of knowledge about UK players? Ask them about it… are they willing to take on a Scottish assistant who already knows the game here, or are they insistent on having their own guy?
I’m not massively impressed by Lee Johnson but I’ll back the guy of course. We need to hope this is the right appointment.
Celtc were gutted and a bit embarrassed to miss out on Eddie Howe but it’s turned out ok for them.
Let’s hope we’ve got it right this time, again I think as a support we need to show patience.
18-05-2022, 04:26 PM
In relative terms, Jack Ross has the better record having won a title here in Scotland, runners up in major cups, and he was a runner up in the play off final that LJ never reached - so yes, seriously question the Board 👍
Maybe he did. That’s one thing struck off the list potentially
Or we had done our recruitment, settled on Johnson as the leading candidate and agreed terms only for JDT to indicate an interest. We put the recruitment on hold to interview him because he has a good reputation and the fan reaction to him is extremely positive.
After we interview him it’s apparent that he isn’t as committed to being our manager as we would like and his lack of experience in British football is a concern when we would be paying such a high price for him and we’ve decided that Johnson is still the right one for the job.
Personally I know nothing about JDT or how good a manager he would be at our level and with our budget but the amount of people having a tantrum about us not giving him the job is actually embarrassing.
18-05-2022, 04:28 PM
Or we had done our recruitment, settled on Johnson as the leading candidate and agreed terms only for JDT to indicate an interest. We put the recruitment on hold to interview him because he has a good reputation and the fan reaction to him is extremely positive.
After we interview him it’s apparent that he isn’t as committed to being our manager as we would like and his lack of experience in British football is a concern when we would be paying such a high price for him and we’ve decided that Johnson is still the right one for the job.
Personally I know nothing about JDT or how good a manager he would be at our level and with our budget but the amount of people having a tantrum about us not giving him the job is actually embarrassing.
Sounds about right imo
18-05-2022, 04:31 PM
Too much common sense in this post.
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 04:32 PM
The other day it was reported that the board were split with some wanting LJ and some wanting JDT.
I very much doubt JDT just appeared out the blue with huge wage demands, no knowledge of our league and no commitment to the job in question and we held off appointing our manager for nearly a week for him.
18-05-2022, 04:34 PM
What is this trophy your referring to? Is it the Pappa Johns Pizza trophy? That’s for Englands diddy teams! Like winning the Irn Bru Challenge cup here or The Rangers boasting about their ‘trophies’ since they died.
18-05-2022, 04:36 PM
I think it’s fine tbh. Even if you are deep into a recruitment process, if a high profile talent becomes available then you might well pause ongoing negotiations and see what they have to say.
Lack of knowledge about UK players? Ask them about it… are they willing to take on a Scottish assistant who already knows the game here, or are they insistent on having their own guy?
I’m not massively impressed by Lee Johnson but I’ll back the guy of course. We need to hope this is the right appointment.
Celtc were gutted and a bit embarrassed to miss out on Eddie Howe but it’s turned out ok for them.
Let’s hope we’ve got it right this time, again I think as a support we need to show patience.
A thoughtful post mate and fair points. The harsh and sad reality is that the next appointment is being made when the support are at a low ebb and split. A new manager coming in doesn’t need any further distractions or reasons to widen that - alas, his and his assistants Hearts connections (fickle as most would admit to), and his distinctly average record as a manager - despite Ron stressing the need for excellence in every area - means the manager is already working against the support from Day 1.
I admit I’m dejected about the club at present, yep, my mood will shift as we approach a new season. But this, for me, is a truly poor appointment and is nothing to do with JDT being linked or not.
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 04:37 PM
What is this trophy your referring to? Is it the Pappa Johns Pizza trophy? That’s for Englands diddy teams! Like winning the Irn Bru Challenge cup here or The Rangers boasting about their ‘trophies’ since they died.
The idea that League One is a higher standard is also laughable imo.
We could send two teams down there that would obliterate that league and probably hit record points totals whilst doing it.
We could probably send another two or three who would be capable of winning it and another 2 or 3 who would be comfortably top half.
There’s a very good chance we’ll have 3 teams playing group stage European football next season.
Not one team from that league would come up here and do anything better than compete with Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen and only a few would be capable of doing that. It’s a crap league.
18-05-2022, 04:38 PM
The idea that League One is a higher standard is also laughable imo.
We could send two teams down there that would obliterate that league and probably hit record points totals whilst doing it.
We could probably send another two or three who would be capable of winning it and another 2 or 3 who would be comfortably top half.
There’s a very good chance we’ll have 3 teams playing group stage European football next season.
Not one team from that league would come up here and do anything better than compete with Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen.
The Championship is a higher standard and he managed in it for years.
18-05-2022, 04:38 PM
You outline a perfectly reasonable scenario, just not one that I think takes you to a place where that guy is one of your last two choices without you already knowing the answers to most of those non wage related questions. I've just watched an interview of Kensell after the Maloney appointment where he talks about the process having been as usual to start with a long list that goes to a short list and ends up with a final two. So something this time smells off.
My tuppence worth here is that Gordon or Kensell or both knew from early on who their appointment would be. Everything else was window dressing. Maybe some of the Board were excited about JDT and that delayed the appointment because reasons then had to be found to make Johnson the final outcome regardless.
This club needs a psychological refit, something that recreates a sense of unity and purpose. Everything is just too beige, to passionless, too ordinary, too apathetic. It's being run functionally but I fear its sense of itself and it's connection with the supporters is not in a good place. A different managerial appointment might have started to address that but now it looks like we will need to hope it comes from signings - and fast.
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 04:39 PM
The Championship is a higher standard and he managed in it for years.
Aye, years ago.
18-05-2022, 04:40 PM
So we'll just dismiss a trophy win because it wasn't a big enough competition?
18-05-2022, 04:41 PM
Aye, years ago.
Hardly. You're making out like it was 10 years ago.
The other day it was reported that the board were split with some wanting LJ and some wanting JDT.
I very much doubt JDT just appeared out the blue with huge wage demands, no knowledge of our league and no commitment to the job in question and we held off appointing our manager for nearly a week for him.
JDT = a commercial decision as the fans will be happier despite the concerns about his suitability for the job so more likely to buy season tickets and less likely to moan about everything
Johnson = a footballing decision. They think he’s the best man for the job with the most relevant experience and genuine desire to be our manager but realise there will be a significant portion of the fanbase acting like three year olds who have been told they aren’t getting what they want.
There’s the split
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 04:42 PM
Hardly. You're making out like it was 10 years ago.
I never said 10 years so I’m not quite sure how you get that :confused:
18-05-2022, 04:44 PM
I never said 10 years so I’m not quite sure how you get that :confused:
You're saying aye but he managed in the championship years ago insinuating that football has changed since he managed in that league. It was 2020 😂
That's a perfectly reasonable theory. Two weaknesses in it: 1.They'd completed the job, leaving their preferred candidate swinging in the wind is pretty unprofessional and looks like second guessing themselves. 2. They've said he was one of our final two but then they decided to look away from him due to a range of weaknesses. If that's the case he should never have been near the final two.
Either they're fools or they're trying to sell the support a story that doesn't stack up. They need to get their story straight and/or better control who the messenger is and what they are claiming.
Paulie Walnuts
JDT = a commercial decision as the fans will be happier despite the concerns about his suitability for the job so more likely to buy season tickets and less likely to moan about everything
Johnson = a footballing decision. They think he’s the best man for the job with the most relevant experience and genuine desire to be our manager but realise there will be a significant portion of the fanbase acting like three year olds who have been told they aren’t getting what they want.
There’s the split
Aye that’ll be it. The commercial/finance guys wanted the really expensive guy.. it sounds exactly like them :agree:
18-05-2022, 04:47 PM
the reaction to this appointment is getting embarrassing.
18-05-2022, 04:50 PM
I can't really believe it to be honest. Don't know what people expect.
18-05-2022, 04:51 PM
I don’t believe for a minute it was a “board” decision. It would be a decision made by a few “key” members of the board with the remainder briefed in advance of the appointment being made public.
18-05-2022, 04:52 PM
The lack of an actual appointment to facilitate the reaction to an appointment is worse. Letting it be known that he's going to be appointed and so provoking a a negative response which will drag on until he's actually appointed tomorrow or Friday or whenever is just clown-shoe stuff.
I'm underwhelmed by the prospect of LJ as are many others. But FFS just formally announce the guy so that those who want him and those who are lukewarm can get on with reconciling themselves to reality asap rather than letting it dribble out in this incompetent half-assed way.
That's a perfectly reasonable theory. Two weaknesses in it: 1.They'd completed the job, leaving their preferred candidate swinging in the wind is pretty unprofessional and looks like second guessing themselves. 2. They've said he was one of our final two but then they decided to look away from him due to a range of weaknesses. If that's the case he should never have been near the final two.
Either they're fools or they're trying to sell the support a story that doesn't stack up. They need to get their story straight and/or better control who the messenger is and what they are claiming.
Except your talking about “the final two” as if JDT had been an option from the very beginning rather than being a late consideration towards the end of the recruitment process.
He was part of the final two only because we had someone we wanted to appoint before he became an option that we looked into. We hadn’t been onto his from the start and disregarded all the concerns brought up in this article to take him to that stage (in this scenario)
The club haven’t said anything about this so there is no story to get straight. This is simply using logic and common sense to come up with the most likely scenario that has led to this as opposed to only thinking about how the club could have messed up
Aye that’ll be it. The commercial/finance guys wanted the really expensive guy.. it sounds exactly like them :agree:
The commercial/finance guys wanted the one that the reactionary element of our support would buy season tickets because of rather than the one that people are threatening to cancel thier tickets because of.
18-05-2022, 04:57 PM
I expected us to least get someone in that, even if not universally popular, wouldn't be as unpopular a choice as LJ appears to be.
Anyways, it's still not confirmed so might not be him :na na:
18-05-2022, 05:04 PM
Except your talking about “the final two” as if JDT had been an option from the very beginning rather than being a late consideration towards the end of the recruitment process.
He was part of the final two only because we had someone we wanted to appoint before he became an option that we looked into. We hadn’t been onto his from the start and disregarded all the concerns brought up in this article to take him to that stage (in this scenario)
The club haven’t said anything about this so there is no story to get straight. This is simply using logic and common sense to come up with the most likely scenario that has led to this as opposed to only thinking about how the club could have messed up
No. I'm taking Kensell at his word when he described how Maloney was appointed: 'as usual - long list, short list, final two'. The club has clearly briefed or leaked to some journalists explicitly that the Board made a choice between two final possibilities put before them. It's now in print. Why would you even present the Board with a choice between two men, one of which was so clearly unsuitable? Why wasn't eg Appleton the other choice?
JDT being too costly in the final analysis I can buy, all the other stuff and still making the final two is just bollocks. Someone has gone too far with their 'the Danish dog ate my homework' excuse.
18-05-2022, 05:04 PM
They want their own way, they want to sack a manager when it suits them, they dont want to take any resposibilty for hounding that manager out the door.
They then back the new man to the hilt, because they know they have to do so, because they hounded the last guy, even though it's clear we had the wrong guy, a complete novice with no idea how to manage a football club.
Now they want us to appoint who they want, because he has a name they have heard of before, irrespective of his demands, who he wants to bring with him and whether we can afford him.
Now as it looks like LJ, they are underwhelmed because it looks like they are not getting their choice, and are marking the ground out for when LJ has his first bad run of results.
Supporting Hibs these days, has so many caveats i just cant keep up with how i should support him? :faf:
18-05-2022, 05:05 PM
Sounds like the club have undertaken a proper recruitment process this time around. Good on them, and I’m expecting LJ to be a decent appointment because of the work that has been done in it.
Popularity votes for managers are perhaps the least useful indicator. Remember Butcher ?. Most people were delighted . Compare that to Stubbs and Mowbray, we’re many were underwhelmed.
LJ is on his way - let’s get right behind him.
18-05-2022, 05:06 PM
They want their own way, they want to sack a manager when it suits them, they dont want to take any resposibilty for hounding that manager out the door.
They then back the new man to the hilt, because they know they have to do so, because they hounded the last guy, even though it's clear we had the wrong guy, a complete novice with no idea how to manage a football club.
Now they want us to appoint who they want, because he has a name they have heard of before, irrespective of his demands, who he wants to bring with him and whether we can afford him.
Now as it looks like LJ, they are underwhelmed because it looks like they are not getting their choice, and are marking the ground out for when LJ has his first bad run of results.
Supporting Hibs these days, has so many caveats i just cant keep up with how i should support him? :faf:
Bang on.
18-05-2022, 05:10 PM
Doubt there's a single Hibs player in the squad excited by this.
It's ridiculous. Worse than Maloney.
Gutted that I bought 2 STs this week.
Its such a well reasoned post but your use of the term underwhelmed is, well... Underwhelming given the actual reaction [emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
So we'll just dismiss a trophy win because it wasn't a big enough competition?
Yes
18-05-2022, 05:11 PM
Gutted that I bought 2 STs this week.If he can get more than about a 30 percent winning rate he will blow maloney out the waterin what way is this worse than Maloney btw?
Is ut simply maloneybwas a total punt and this isn't?
A guy whos manged 450 games at a more than decent level btw
18-05-2022, 05:12 PM
Just think back to the last great Hibernian manager schism which I would suggest was Neil Lennon. So that would make your choices either full-on Lennonista or alternatively sitting at the back of the class throwing rocks from day one. I intend to pilot a Third Way (of course I do) - resentful enthusiastic tolerance. Eventually that will tip over into fan-boy or revolutionary. Unless it just stays lodged in resentful. I am 57 after all.
18-05-2022, 05:15 PM
Would any Hibs players have been excited by the appointment of Tony Mowbray or Alan Stubbs?
I’m more interested in what players excite him and who he brings to the club. He must have excited the board.
18-05-2022, 05:17 PM
Couldn’t care less what the players think. They should be ashamed of their efforts this season. Only thing they were good at was getting managers sacked.Hopefully half of them(at least)will be on their bikes soon.
18-05-2022, 05:17 PM
Worse than Maloney 😂
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 05:18 PM
And yet you’re the guy who didn’t give the last manager a chance at all and hounded him out the door because you were greeting about us sacking a “good man” (:faf:) before him and not getting your own way by keeping him. So essentially doing the exact same thing you’re suggesting others are doing.
Ironic really.
Antonyopus
18-05-2022, 05:22 PM
Hugely underwhelming appointment more of the same next season I fear…..
18-05-2022, 05:23 PM
And yet you’re the guy who didn’t give the last manager a chance at all and hounded him out the door because you were greeting about us sacking a “good man” (:faf:) before him and not getting your own way by keeping him. So essentially doing the exact same thing you’re suggesting others are doing.
Ironic really.
Did i hit a nerve? :faf:
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 05:24 PM
Did i hit a nerve? :faf:
Rumble de Thump
18-05-2022, 05:24 PM
No. I'm taking Kensell at his word when he described how Maloney was appointed: 'as usual - long list, short list, final two'. The club has clearly briefed or leaked to some journalists explicitly that the Board made a choice between two final possibilities put before them. It's now in print. Why would you even present the Board with a choice between two men, one of which was so clearly unsuitable? Why wasn't eg Appleton the other choice?
JDT being too costly in the final analysis I can buy, all the other stuff and still making the final two is just bollocks. Someone has gone too far with their 'the Danish dog ate my homework' excuse.
The idea that the club has briefed or leaked information to journalists isn't clear at all. That is simply your imagination. This is football journalism. Most of what is written in these situations is just guesswork and filler for newspapers and websites. Absolutely everyone knows that.
18-05-2022, 05:25 PM
Hugely underwhelming appointment more of the same next season I fear…..
You’re predicting that an experienced manager is going to get the same results as a rookie coach?
OK
Mcbizz1998
18-05-2022, 05:26 PM
He quite simply can’t be worse than Maloney.
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 05:27 PM
You’d have to think we can’t be as bad as this season simply because we can’t have as bad a squad as we have this season… surely…
18-05-2022, 05:29 PM
Are you really 50?
18-05-2022, 05:33 PM
Could you see hearts appointing 2 ex Hibbes, just wouldn’t happen
18-05-2022, 05:34 PM
I’m not excited by his appointment but he’s in no way worse than Maloney. He has alot of experience and has had success doing the job.
I do have major concerns about our recruitment. With the ST sales flagging, I was desperately hoping we’d appoint someone who’d galvanise the support.
**** knows why they thought appointing a couple of ex-Jambo’s who made Sunderland even worse would do that.
The idea that the club has briefed or leaked information to journalists isn't clear at all. That is simply your imagination. This is football journalism. Most of what is written in these situations is just guesswork and filler for newspapers and websites. Absolutely everyone knows that.
I suggest you go and read what has been briefed. It's not general, it's pretty specific regarding JDT's weaknesses. And that's despite the fact that his hat was known to be in the ring AT LEAST six days ago.
GreenPJ
Go and get a refund then.
18-05-2022, 05:35 PM
Did you have to?
18-05-2022, 05:36 PM
I’m not excited by his appointment but he’s in no way worse than Maloney. He has alot of experience and has had success doing the job.
I do have major concerns about our recruitment. With the ST sales flagging, I was desperately hoping we’d appoint someone who’d galvanise the support.
**** knows why they thought appointing a couple of ex-Jambo’s who made Sunderland even worse would do that.
Oh it's galvanising the support alright, both sides of it.
18-05-2022, 05:38 PM
That's because we are a more inclusive organisation. We can forgive past misdeeds. :agree:
JamesHFC
18-05-2022, 05:38 PM
They gave John Rankin a role as coach, can’t think of many former hibs players in management positions but I’m sure they wouldn’t say no to someone like Michael O’Neill.
NC1875
18-05-2022, 05:39 PM
Good, hopefullly most of the squad get the bullet.
Basildon Hibs
18-05-2022, 05:39 PM
Good luck Lee
'2 or 3' ??!! And the rest...
😄
18-05-2022, 05:40 PM
One thing I will say about Lee Johnson is that any time I've heard him mention his time in Scotland he only ever mentions Kilmarnock, who knows, maybe he holds a grudge against Heart's and hated his time there? It was only a handful of games.
18-05-2022, 05:44 PM
They gave John Rankin a role as coach, can’t think of many former hibs players in management positions but I’m sure they wouldn’t say no to someone like Michael O’Neill.
A “coaching role” not Manager
18-05-2022, 05:44 PM
Close this thread for goodness sake. The bed wetters have taken over.
18-05-2022, 05:46 PM
Are you really 50?
I know many won’t agree however I’ve thoroughly enjoyed your posts today.
Keep fighting the good fight.
G15 Hibs
18-05-2022, 05:47 PM
One thing I will say about Lee Johnson is that any time I've heard him mention his time in Scotland he only ever mentions Kilmarnock, who knows, maybe he holds a grudge against Heart's and hated his time there? It was only a handful of games.
You'd think we'd appointed Gary Mackay the way some folk are going on.
Close this thread for goodness sake. The bed wetters have taken over.Too late, they've taken over almost every thread.
I know many won’t agree however I’ve thoroughly enjoyed your posts today.
Keep fighting the good fight.
Yep....agreed.
147lothian
Who can't be worse than Jack Ross, and can't be worse that Paul Heckingbottom etc etc etc, I just hope due diligence was done and at the very least Lee Johnson is allowed implement his plans and see out his contract, we can't continue with a cycle of sacking managers after a few bad results then starting again, it takes time for any manager to build the team he wants, and implement his style of football.
18-05-2022, 05:48 PM
Gutted you bought a season ticket... that’s a pathetic reaction “look at me, look at me”.
JamesHFC
18-05-2022, 05:49 PM
Well if they are happy enough to have a former hibs player as part of the coaching staff, why wouldn’t they take a former Hibs player (someone like Michael O’Neill) if they are a good manager.
18-05-2022, 05:50 PM
Does anyone really care where he played a small part of his football? It has nothing to do with his coaching and management credentials .
timewilltell
18-05-2022, 05:53 PM
Sounds like the club have undertaken a proper recruitment process this time around. Good on them, and I’m expecting LJ to be a decent appointment because of the work that has been done in it.
Popularity votes for managers are perhaps the least useful indicator. Remember Butcher ?. Most people were delighted . Compare that to Stubbs and Mowbray, we’re many were underwhelmed.
LJ is on his way - let’s get right behind him.
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 05:53 PM
Who can't be worse than Jack Ross, and can't be worse that Paul Heckingbottom etc etc etc, I just hope due diligence was done and at the very least Lee Johnson is allowed implement his plans and see out his contract, we can't continue with a cycle of sacking managers after a few bad results then starting again, it takes time for any manager to build the team he wants, and implement his style of football.
If Lee Johnson turns out to be worse than Heckingbottom,Ross and Maloney, the games up for Ron I'm afraid.
18-05-2022, 05:54 PM
Does anyone really care where he played a small part of his football? It has nothing to do with his coaching and management credentials .
Anyone that does care will soon stop caring if he does well.
18-05-2022, 05:56 PM
If Lee Johnson turns out to be worse than Heckingbottom,Ross and Maloney, the games up for Ron I'm afraid.
Utter nonsense - who's going to fire him? How long did it take Farmer to find a buyer?
18-05-2022, 05:58 PM
Personally I'm sick of being told to shut up and back the manager every couple of months, I am getting the feeling the board don't have a clue. I will Give LJ a chance because I wasn't really that drawn in to JDT. But get this wrong and I will lose faith on the board.
18-05-2022, 05:58 PM
Anyone that does care will soon stop caring if he does well.
Agreed…and if anyone is making noise about it, is simply looking for reasons for be unhappy around this appointment..
18-05-2022, 06:04 PM
[QUOTE=S4uzee;6965767]Could you see hearts appointing 2 ex Hibbes, just wouldn’t
Willie McCartney and Willie Ormond managed both clubs.
We,like now, were in the doldrums when we appointed ex Hearts Willie McCartney.
Willie died,age 58 ,half way through season 1947/48
Trainer Hugh Shaw took the reigns .We won the league !
Willie Ormond had managed Hearts,sadly he became ill soon after he returned to the Holy Ground and had to retire from the game in 1980 .
18-05-2022, 06:05 PM
Personally I'm sick of being told to shut up and back the manager every couple of months, I am getting the feeling the board don't have a clue. I will Give LJ a chance because I wasn't really that drawn in to JDT. But get this wrong and I will lose faith on the board.
Who's telling you to back the manager every couple of months?
Ross was in charge for 25 months
Walter
18-05-2022, 06:06 PM
Have I logged on to a thread of yam trolls ???
This seems like a very good appointment. Thank goodness the lunatics aren't running the asylum
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 06:08 PM
Utter nonsense - who's going to fire him? How long did it take Farmer to find a buyer?
Of course nobody's going to sack him, but I wouldn't be surprised if he sold out to someone else, only last year he said that he had offers. I quite like Ron and hope he sticks around, his heart is in the right place, not too sure if he could /should put up with all the hassle of another failed manager appointment. And I can tell you that one of his big concerns is the negativety of a large proportion of the Hibs support at the moment.Hope it all works out for him and we can all be happy.
Sioux
18-05-2022, 06:09 PM
So many so-called Hibs fans absolutely begging for the guy to fail, just so they can say "I told you so" - even though they know nothing about him and nothing about the JDT fella, and know nothing about everything for that matter.
Desperate to fuel the fire that there's a rift between club and fans.
Utterly utterly pathetic.
18-05-2022, 06:10 PM
Oh for Christ sake.
More hysteria.
Why don’t you fling your season tickets on the pitch on the opening day? Seeing as your so disgusted.
18-05-2022, 06:12 PM
Have I logged on to a thread of yam trolls ???
This seems like a very good appointment. Thank goodness the lunatics aren't running the asylum
This thread demonstrates exactly why we should never be run by the fans.
18-05-2022, 06:14 PM
Mind that post about an player that played under Johnson
'he's good....'
What would they know though I suppose
[emoji57]
NC1875
18-05-2022, 06:17 PM
Let’s get behind LJ.
No one can say for sure that JDT would be a better appointment so it’s a 50/50 in my eyes.
We’ve chosen LJ so let’s back him, the board have said we’ll have money to spend. Nothing to say we can’t be 3rd next season with a few good signings.
18-05-2022, 06:21 PM
Ill take ur season tickets then if you dont want em!
Willis1875
18-05-2022, 06:23 PM
If you got them on the 6 month Direct Debit plan then just cancel the DD
But we don't know that for a fact, do we, it's all supposition on the part of a journalist, in fact we really don't know any of the ins and outs of the recruitment process it's all effectively gossip.
18-05-2022, 06:29 PM
It's the league Cup early rounds first up of course it would.
18-05-2022, 06:33 PM
That's because we are a more inclusive organisation. We can forgive past misdeeds. :agree:
Unless it's Malky Mackay though.
It is, people are adding arms and legs to every tit bit they hear in an effort to support their opinion.
18-05-2022, 06:34 PM
How peculiar that you chose to purchase two season tickets this week, given the likelihood of LJ being appointed, and you being well aware of this as you’ve been moaning about it being likely to happen for days.
And the early bird deadline not until next week? With hibs almost certainly going to announce something well before then?
It’s so strange in fact, that some people might doubt that it’s actually happened. Who knows.. they may even begin to doubt a lot of the other stuff you come out with on here.
Just guessing.