View Full Version : Match Updates Euro 2021 non-Scotland games

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

27-06-2021, 06:00 PM
I think a lot of people were fantasizing (including me) thinking Scotland were good enough to beat this Czech team.
I was, but in a way had Scotland reached the knock out stages they may well have ended up like Wales getting well beaten

27-06-2021, 06:04 PM
Maybe the Czechs aren't as bad as we all thought.

Don’t think anyone ever thought they were bad really. When you see that side of the draw, this competition probably feels like even more of a missed opportunity.

27-06-2021, 06:18 PM
The Dutch team are a shadow of their predecessors.

27-06-2021, 07:10 PM
The Dutch team are a shadow of their predecessors.

Plenty of talent, but a rubbish manager and missing their key player in Van Dijk will hurt anyone.

27-06-2021, 07:14 PM
Lee Dixon is about as miserable as Danny Murphy and keeps bringing it back to England...

Magpie
27-06-2021, 07:22 PM
Shameful from Ronaldo.

Green Reaper
27-06-2021, 07:24 PM
Ronaldiois a diving scroat and that Portugal top is bowfing

27-06-2021, 07:26 PM
It took me 20 minute to realise the frizzy haired dude for Belgium wasn't Fellaini but a lad called Witsel.:greengrin

Green Reaper
27-06-2021, 07:28 PM
It took me 20 minute to realise the frizzy haired dude for Belgium wasn't Fellaini but a lad called Witsel.:greengrin

Witsel gummidge

27-06-2021, 07:29 PM
Bruno Fernandes dropped for the second game in a row.

He looks burnt out, played almost every minute of every game for Man U, he started to look jaded at the end of the season and was pretty rubbish in their last 5-6 games.

27-06-2021, 07:29 PM
Witsel gummidge

27-06-2021, 07:32 PM
Dreadful game

27-06-2021, 07:32 PM
It's from a compilation of Rangers TV commentary, I think it was in the game in which they got beat by the Luxembourgish team that one of them lost it at the keeper :greengrin

It was against Celtic, Edouard goal at ibrox when brown got clattered.

27-06-2021, 07:35 PM
Dreadful game

It's like a game of cat and mouse, no pace and all sideways and backwards passes, I too am bored watching it.

27-06-2021, 07:39 PM
It's like a game of cat and mouse, no pace and all sideways and backwards passes, I too am bored watching it.

Feeling myself nodding off, was looking forward to this one, it needs a goal!

27-06-2021, 07:42 PM
1-0 Belgium

Terrific goal

ACLeith
Feeling myself nodding off, was looking forward to this one, it needs a goal!

And your wish is granted

27-06-2021, 07:43 PM
That's not a bad goal

Magpie
27-06-2021, 07:44 PM
He looks burnt out, played almost every minute of every game for Man U, he started to look jaded at the end of the season and was pretty rubbish in their last 5-6 games.

Rashford and Fernandes both made to play too many games last season imo. Both players not participating much in this tournament will probably benefit them going into the new season.

27-06-2021, 07:45 PM
The Hazard family turn out some decent players eh?

27-06-2021, 07:47 PM
The Hazard family turn out some decent players eh?

They are known in their home country as the Belgian McGinns

27-06-2021, 07:53 PM

Lol........:top marks

27-06-2021, 07:54 PM
Surprised Belgium were so passive however goal changes a lot in terms of Portugal having to open up which will suit Belgium.

27-06-2021, 07:55 PM
Borefest until the goal

27-06-2021, 08:07 PM
Odd seeing Shaun Maloney telling Mertens where he is playing on the pitch

He's here!
27-06-2021, 08:31 PM
I need the commentary in a tournament like this as I don't recognise the majority of the players - especially during the group stages.

I like to know who's playing, what clubs they're at, etc.

Yep I get why you would want the commentary if you're keen to learn more about that. Being honest I'm not actually interested enough in international football to care too much about who's who, but if I were I would probably familiarise myself pre-match via a newspaper like the Guardian/Telegraph which have excellent sports sections. I prefer a leisurely read of some quality writing to listening to some of the commentators.

27-06-2021, 08:36 PM
Ehhhhh…that’s a red for Pepe for me

27-06-2021, 08:37 PM
Some shocking ****housery going on in this game, Pepe surprisingly involved.

27-06-2021, 08:39 PM
Bit of a battle zone at the moment 😁

27-06-2021, 08:42 PM
Easy save for the keeper.

27-06-2021, 08:43 PM
Portugal hit the post. Great strike

27-06-2021, 08:44 PM
Don’t what you’s are on about, this has been a great game! 😂

27-06-2021, 08:46 PM
Lukaku playing like Nade since he took the boot to the head.

I still can't work out Lukaku, 9 times out of 10 I see him he looks like a carthorse

Pépés a ****house but he’s been great on Lukaku second half.

Magpie
27-06-2021, 08:51 PM
Fernandes 🤣

27-06-2021, 08:54 PM
Portugal’s long range passing has been better than anyone I’ve seen so far.

Magpie
27-06-2021, 08:56 PM
Great win for Belgium. Sets up an exciting tie with Italy.

27-06-2021, 08:59 PM
Great win for Belgium. Sets up an exciting tie with Italy.

Hopefully it will be a better game than this one tonight

27-06-2021, 09:01 PM
Worry for Belgium both KDB and Hazard injured.

mcohibs
27-06-2021, 09:02 PM

Second half was superb

27-06-2021, 09:03 PM
Portugal’s long range passing has been better than anyone I’ve seen so far.

If only they had Lyndon Dykes up front on the end of them...

27-06-2021, 09:11 PM
I enjoyed it

27-06-2021, 09:13 PM
Eden Hazard was completely anonymous yet again. Turned in to a fat wee wage thief since he went to Madrid.

27-06-2021, 09:32 PM
Eden Hazard was completely anonymous yet again. Turned in to a fat wee wage thief since he went to Madrid.

That's an extremely poor thing to say imo. Guy has had a torrid time with injury. Never nice to see a top player and by all accounts a nice guy struggling to find his form.

AugustaHibs
27-06-2021, 09:36 PM

Wouldn’t say he was anonymous tonight. Done far more than ronaldo did anyway

27-06-2021, 09:37 PM
Strange game IMO, I thought Portugal were the better team throughout the game but a cracking goal to win it. Belgium v Italy will be an interesting game.

27-06-2021, 09:39 PM
Wouldn’t say he was anonymous tonight. Done far more than ronaldo did anyway

Thought he played pretty well in flashes for a team not playing great. Thought there were a few fouls he should have got.

27-06-2021, 10:34 PM
He was hardly anonymous......

27-06-2021, 10:41 PM

What a strange thing to say.

28-06-2021, 05:44 AM
Laughed at Roy Keane having a go at joao felix for not playing well, saying your country needs you to perform in tournaments - said it straight faced :greengrin

adam middlemass
28-06-2021, 06:34 AM
Brilliant :top marks

28-06-2021, 09:11 AM
Probably the most exciting thing about the game yesterday is that it brought Scott Allan out of Twitter retirement after six years.

28-06-2021, 10:21 AM
He was hardly anonymous......
Or fat, or wee

28-06-2021, 03:43 PM
No Alba in the Spain team. Is he injured?

28-06-2021, 04:14 PM
No Alba in the Spain team. Is he injured?

On the bench.

28-06-2021, 04:17 PM
Koke missing a sitter.

28-06-2021, 04:19 PM
Ridiculous miss from Morata yet again.

28-06-2021, 04:21 PM
OMG......most ridiculous goal you ever see. 1-0 Croatia.

SJNB Hibby
28-06-2021, 04:22 PM
OMG......most ridiculous goal you ever see. 1-0 Croatia.

Never pass the ball back to your goalie, directly towards the goal

28-06-2021, 04:23 PM
Always take a chance passing between the posts at that speed. Poor from Simon as well. Disaster all round when Spain were well on top.

28-06-2021, 04:26 PM
Never pass the ball back to your goalie, directly towards the goal
Aye you’re taught that as a kid and that is the reason why.

28-06-2021, 04:26 PM
Poor guy

28-06-2021, 04:32 PM
Am I right on thinking that there had never been an OG by a goalie in the Euros prior to this tournament and there have now been 4?

I thought I heard that after the first one.

28-06-2021, 04:33 PM
Am I right on thinking that there had never been an OG by a goalie in the Euros prior to this tournament and there have now been 4?

Been awarded to the defender rather than the goalie

28-06-2021, 04:37 PM
1-1

Magpie
28-06-2021, 04:39 PM

I’m sure there have been more own goals this tournament than the last 6 Euro’s combined.

Edit: Commentator just said more in this tournament than all previous Euro’s put together.

28-06-2021, 04:39 PM
Vamous 🇪🇸

28-06-2021, 04:40 PM
Goal for Lawrence of Sarabia

28-06-2021, 04:47 PM
Cracking game! First half flew in.

What an OG that was though [emoji23]

28-06-2021, 04:53 PM
Cracking game! First half flew in.

What an OG that was though [emoji23]

No idea how they can put that down as a Pedri own goal.

28-06-2021, 04:55 PM
Spain not playing like the Spain of old. Barring the first group game where the old Spain passed the ball to death and rarely looked like they would score. In today’s game they are passing forward more often and creating chances. Almost every corner swung in, rather than the old short corner routine.

As to the own goal, why is it Pedri has been shown as the ‘scorer’ when the keeper clearly touched the ball last?

28-06-2021, 05:06 PM
Spain not playing like the Spain of old. Barring the first group game where the old Spain passed the ball to death and rarely looked like they would score. In today’s game they are passing forward more often and creating chances. Almost every corner swung in, rather than the old short corner routine.

As to the own goal, why is it Pedri has been shown as the ‘scorer’ when the keeper clearly touched the ball last?

BBC has it as Gonzales.

28-06-2021, 05:17 PM
Who is the co commentator, is it a man or a woman? so hard to tell with the toneless voice.

28-06-2021, 05:19 PM
BBC has it as Gonzales.

Full name is Pedro Gonzalez Lopez = Pedri ✅

28-06-2021, 05:21 PM
Who is the co commentator, is it a man or a woman? so hard to tell with the toneless voice.

It’s Emma Hayes and I think she’s a cut above the rest. Little or no use of cliches and interesting views on tactics etc unlike Danny Murphy and co 😀

28-06-2021, 05:22 PM
It’s Emma Hayes and I think she’s a cut above the rest. Little or no use of cliches and interesting views on tactics etc unlike Danny Murphy and co 😀

Cheers, nothing against her it was her voice didn't tell me if she was a woman or a man, quite non descript.

28-06-2021, 05:25 PM

Her accent does my head in. Find it hard to listen to her.

28-06-2021, 05:27 PM
Sounds like Janet Street Porter, buts never stops talking on & on.

28-06-2021, 05:34 PM
Her accent does my head in. Find it hard to listen to her.

Yep her accent is a bit nippy right enough 😂

28-06-2021, 05:34 PM
Sounds like Janet Street Porter, buts never stops talking on & on.

That does not really narrow it down.

28-06-2021, 05:35 PM
Game over.

28-06-2021, 05:38 PM
Cheers, nothing against her it was her voice didn't tell me if she was a woman or a man, quite non descript.

Aye, her monotone is grating. I actually think Gary Neville is annoyingly monotone too 😁

28-06-2021, 05:43 PM
2-3 spain

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

28-06-2021, 05:49 PM
Omg 3-3

3-3

Wow!!!

28-06-2021, 05:50 PM
3-3 only saw the last 10 mins tae :greengrin

Magpie
Brilliant scenes.

What a fantastic game

3-3! You love to see it.

28-06-2021, 05:51 PM
Some game, remember we only had to beat Croatia to qualify for knock out stages. 😅

28-06-2021, 05:53 PM
It’s Emma Hayes and I think she’s a cut above the rest. Little or no use of cliches and interesting views on tactics etc unlike Danny Murphy and co [emoji3]

First time I’ve listened to her a whole game.

I actually don’t mind her accent and her analysis has been insightful and pretty much spot on…apart from saying with 5 to go that Spain were in total control [emoji2957]

She certainly adds way more than most of them I’d say.

28-06-2021, 05:54 PM
Excellent match. Both teams very good.

28-06-2021, 05:55 PM
First time I’ve listened to her a whole game.

I actually don’t mind her accent and her analysis has been insightful and pretty much spot on…apart from saying with 5 to go that Spain were in total control [emoji2957]

She certainly adds way more than most of them I’d say.

She’s the best analyst on tv.

28-06-2021, 05:55 PM
Full name is Pedro Gonzalez Lopez = Pedri ✅

Ah OK.👍

28-06-2021, 05:56 PM
Without goal line technology I don't think the 2nd would have been given too

Great game

After getting married in Croatia Il always have a soft spot for them but thought they were dead and buried

28-06-2021, 05:59 PM
Some game, remember we only had to beat Croatia to qualify for knock out stages. 😅

The 3 teams in our group could quite feasibly make up 3 of the 4 semi finalists. Maybe we were in the group of death and didn't realise it.

28-06-2021, 06:00 PM
Almost 4-3 Croatia

28-06-2021, 06:04 PM
What a save by Simon

Or what a miss for Croatia

28-06-2021, 06:04 PM
What a save by the Spanish keeper. What a game

28-06-2021, 06:05 PM
What a save by the Spanish keeper. What a gameCroatia are murdering them down there left side

28-06-2021, 06:07 PM
Croatia are murdering them down there left side

I like their left back, GuardioI think? He’s great running with the ball.

28-06-2021, 06:08 PM
4-3 spain

4-3 Spain

Morata

Great finish

Magpie
Game of the tournament

28-06-2021, 06:09 PM
Some finish by Morata.

28-06-2021, 06:09 PM
Top class finishing

28-06-2021, 06:10 PM
Morata is actually a top player. Just struggles a bit with confidence and metallity. Quality is there.

28-06-2021, 06:11 PM
5-3 game ?

28-06-2021, 06:11 PM
5-3

Nice goal

28-06-2021, 06:12 PM
Brekelo at fault for goals 4 and 5

28-06-2021, 06:12 PM
No defending now :faf:

28-06-2021, 06:13 PM
Best game at the Euro’s in a long time.

28-06-2021, 06:14 PM
Best game at the Euro’s in a long time.

Plenty of good ones this tournament though. Been brilliant overall.

28-06-2021, 06:15 PM
Plenty of good ones this tournament though. Been brilliant overall.

Agree. This is the pick of the bunch but there’s been lots of good games.

28-06-2021, 06:16 PM
Agree. This is the pick of the bunch but there’s been lots of good games.

28-06-2021, 06:18 PM
Offt almost 4-5

28-06-2021, 06:49 PM
What a great game that was! Hope the France v Switzerland game is even half as good.

28-06-2021, 07:15 PM
nooooo

1-0 Switzerland

Brilliant

CloudSquall
28-06-2021, 07:23 PM
The Czech and Croatian performances in the last 16 have dulled the boot to the balls the Scottish performances produced.

28-06-2021, 07:34 PM
The Czech and Croatian performances in the last 16 have dulled the boot to the balls the Scottish performances produced.

Boot to the balls? Slight brush of the elbow as they gently squeezed past us. Scotland performed well in spells but when you see the game management and invention at these stages we've still got a long way to go.

28-06-2021, 07:36 PM
If they were ever to bring in a sin bin for football, those fouls ten yards either side of the halfway line when a team is breaking and the player is always chopped - 5 mins for one 10 mins for the next.

28-06-2021, 07:39 PM

Surely a boot to the balls is when the team doesn't try. That cannot be said about Scotland at all. They were simply outclassed.

28-06-2021, 07:44 PM

Add Austria to the list. At least they went out fighting and had a go.

28-06-2021, 07:50 PM
France very poor so far. Not enough urgency when in possession. Pogba strolling about in midfield needs a kick up the arse 😂

28-06-2021, 07:50 PM
Ffs :sauzee: waken up

28-06-2021, 08:00 PM
Les Français sont steak haché

28-06-2021, 08:02 PM
Ffs :sauzee: waken up

I think they will. The guys in the studio at half time are leaving France without a name but they’ll have the last laugh when they step up a gear.

28-06-2021, 08:02 PM
France need le rocket up ze arse or they are going oot!

Tout de suite!

28-06-2021, 08:04 PM
I'm still stuck on the earlier game. Has anyone explained how the own goal in the game was a Pedri own goal.

28-06-2021, 08:11 PM
I'm still stuck on the earlier game. Has anyone explained how the own goal in the game was a Pedri own goal.

Obvious assumtion is it was going in regardless of keeper touch. They don't count a keeper touch on a normal shot as a own goal so this is no different.

Pen Switzerland

No idea how the ref missed it initially

Magpie
Incredible. I think this could be goodbye France.

Was that not outside the box?

VAR again

28-06-2021, 08:12 PM
Saved!

Magpie
Brilliant save by Lloris.

Good save

ooooooooooohh

Crappy penalty

Justice done. Lloris saves.

28-06-2021, 08:13 PM
Justice done. Lloris saves.How was it justice done? Clear penalty

Loving Lloris’ réaction there. Momentum.

Brilliant save by Lloris.Thought so too commentary way to harsh on the taker there

28-06-2021, 08:14 PM
3 pens in a row missed by Rodriguez.

Hope the Swiss can hold on.

Big chance Mbappe

Was that not outside the box?

I thought so

Doidge would have buried that

Magpie
Benzema!

1-1

Benzema

oh la la 1-1

France are back in it

28-06-2021, 08:15 PM
Y’a beauty

How was it justice done? Clear penalty

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkI thought the challenge looked just outside the box. There was even a mark on the turf.

Benzema scores. 1-1.

One extreme to the other.

What a touch

Ally squealing

Justice done. Lloris saves.

That was a stone waller

bringbackbenny
what a first touch!!!!!!!!!!

28-06-2021, 08:16 PM
What a great move by Deschamp to bring Benzema back into the France team.

Stop it Benzema, that touch was out of this world

That first touch is ridiculous.

That was either an outrageous fluke or world class.

2-1 France

sexee football

Benzema again. 2-1

JXM73
Wow 2-1 le blue

Magpie
Sexy.

28-06-2021, 08:17 PM
Griezmann spectacular there on the 2nd

Benzama, that is a goal to saver. Then another, what a player.

That was either an outrageous fluke or world class.I don't know if he knew much about it.

What a touch by mbappe

28-06-2021, 08:18 PM
Vive la France......

28-06-2021, 08:18 PM
I don't know if he knew much about it.

No, he’s done that before.

:sauzee:

28-06-2021, 08:19 PM
That’s more like it ✅✅

Magpie
28-06-2021, 08:19 PM
That Rodriguez fella will feel sick as a pig.

CloudSquall
28-06-2021, 08:20 PM
Surely a boot to the balls is when the team doesn't try. That cannot be said about Scotland at all. They were simply outclassed.

Maybe I should have said results rather than performances, they are not as hard to take given how well these teams performed Vs Holland and Spain.

28-06-2021, 08:20 PM
No, he’s done that before.

:sauzee:

Yep, Benzema has his faults but his first touch and the ability to pull the ball out of nowhere are David Murphy like

28-06-2021, 08:26 PM
Great defending to match Mbappé for pace there.

28-06-2021, 08:28 PM
looks to me as though the French are just rolling over the Swiss

28-06-2021, 08:32 PM
Yep, Benzema has his faults but his first touch and the ability to pull the ball out of nowhere are David Murphy like

:agree: Murphys first touch was basically a sex tape all on its own.

My word

3-1

trois-un

gies the money

28-06-2021, 08:33 PM
Brilliant from Pogba.

Mr Grieves
What a ****ing goal!

So cool. Pogba :sauzee:

Magpie
Pick that out.

28-06-2021, 08:34 PM
So cool. Pogba :sauzee:The celebration was almost as good as the goal.

JXM73
Mallan-esque

Outstanding goal

That’s better, Paul 😉 😂

28-06-2021, 08:35 PM
I've seen some good goals in the competition, have to say that's right up there with the best.

28-06-2021, 08:36 PM
Roy Keane will be spewing.

Someone check on Souness.

28-06-2021, 08:38 PM
just realised Sweden v Ukraine is at our very own Hampden

28-06-2021, 08:38 PM
I think they will. The guys in the studio at half time are leaving France without a name but they’ll have the last laugh when they step up a gear.

....... never in doubt. That Swiss penalty miss was like an own goal and the spark to bring out France at their best.

28-06-2021, 08:39 PM
trois-deux

JXM73
Hawd the bus, no over yet

2-3

Game on

how the heck did the keeper not save that

28-06-2021, 08:40 PM
how the heck did the keeper not save that

Wasn’t set because the cross was so fast and early

28-06-2021, 08:42 PM
3-3

Offide... Maybe

28-06-2021, 08:42 PM
oooooohh offside wakey wakey le francais

28-06-2021, 08:47 PM
just realised Sweden v Ukraine is at our very own Hampden

Still tickets available i’m sure.

28-06-2021, 08:48 PM
3-3

JXM73
Gooooooooooooal 3-3

Gooooallllll!!

What an evening of football it’s been!

Holy ****, what a game again haha

Simply outrageous

What a day of football!

Can’t believe what I’m watching. Varane, best defender in the world apparently. Torn apart

28-06-2021, 08:49 PM
That was brilliant football.

28-06-2021, 08:50 PM
the french have rolled over

28-06-2021, 08:51 PM
What a day of football this has been.

Hope Switzerland can get the win.

28-06-2021, 08:52 PM
Still tickets available i’m sure.

if it wasn't at hampden i probably wouldn't even watch it, don't know why i just don't think it will be a good game

watch for several goals now

Coeman off the bar

Nearly a winner with the last kick

28-06-2021, 08:53 PM
Best sport in the world.

28-06-2021, 08:56 PM
We're lucky to be watching football in this era. Such a high level.

28-06-2021, 08:59 PM
Deschamps likes his structure and defensive control. He must be pulling his hair out.

28-06-2021, 09:02 PM
Anyone think the England game will match today's games ��

JXM73
28-06-2021, 09:06 PM
Thuram junior coming on, i feel old

28-06-2021, 09:11 PM
We're lucky to be watching football in this era. Such a high level.

The standard now compared to even as recently as the 90s is ridiculous.

It’s like a different sport at times.

28-06-2021, 09:16 PM
Wasn’t a fan of having so many subs when it first came in but no doubt that it’s helped to keep games alive later on as the energy levels are still there for so many players.

Switzerland might actually do this…still trying ‘to a man’ [emoji12]

28-06-2021, 09:18 PM
France will regret taking off the front 2 if this goes to pens.

28-06-2021, 09:20 PM
Mbappe really hasn’t looked all that great this tournament.

28-06-2021, 09:23 PM
Yes, the old pretend you’re injured when you’ve just made a hash of a chance😎

28-06-2021, 09:23 PM
Thuram junior coming on, i feel old

Aye! :-(

28-06-2021, 09:25 PM
Mbappe really hasn’t looked all that great this tournament.
He’s a poor mans Martin Boyle:wink::greengrin

28-06-2021, 09:26 PM
Pogba has been a joy to watch second half.

Pogba has been a joy to watch second half.That ball forward with the outside of his foot was brilliant.

Pogba for France is probably the best midfielder in the world. Crazy how talanted the boy is.

28-06-2021, 09:27 PM
Really don't want France to go out. Joy to watch.

28-06-2021, 09:28 PM
Varane has been excellent. Top class player, and possibly on the move this summer.

28-06-2021, 09:30 PM
Varane has been excellent. Top class player, and possibly on the move this summer.Straight swap for Porteous?

28-06-2021, 09:31 PM
Straight swap for Porteous?

Pppppfffftttttt......they'd have to give us some cash too.....

28-06-2021, 09:32 PM
Penalties!

What a match for the neutrals.

They might even win!

JXM73
28-06-2021, 09:32 PM
Game going to finish about 1am local time....

28-06-2021, 09:36 PM
Varane has been excellent. Top class player, and possibly on the move this summer.

Individually he’s done some good things, but questions need to be asked about the cb partnership that’s been ripped a new one by an old style centre forward.

28-06-2021, 09:37 PM
Good penalty

28-06-2021, 09:38 PM
Individually he’s done some good things, but questions need to be asked about the cb partnership that’s been ripped a new one by an old style centre forward.Yep I thought all of France CBs were shaky

28-06-2021, 09:40 PM
I was enjoying the camera angle from behind the takers, seems like they’ve changed their mind again and went back to normal 😂

28-06-2021, 09:41 PM

The standard now compared to even as recently as the 90s is ridiculous.

It’s like a different sport at times.
It is a different sport to be honest

28-06-2021, 09:42 PM
I've got a feeling Mbappe is missing the vital pen

28-06-2021, 09:43 PM
Edit, kimpembe looks terrified

28-06-2021, 09:44 PM