View Full Version : Match Updates Euro 2021 non-Scotland games

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

15-06-2021, 06:04 PM
Ronaldo hardly in the game and scores 2, a pen and a bit of class by him, the man's 36 and a machine, just so fit.

As he has got older he has adapted his game. Brilliant athlete and of course with Messi has been right at the top of his game for a long time. He's class you cant really argue otherwise he's had a fantastic career.

Class told over endevour tonight in the end. Hungary tried their ersies off tho.

15-06-2021, 06:08 PM
Na. Germany and France will beat Hungary. Its tonight game that will tell us a lot. Not overly impressed with Portugal. Bruno Fernandes and Bernardo silva were rubbish

They’ll beat Hungary but I’m not sure either of them will do it by 3 goals.

It leaves Portugal in a very decent position.

seanshow
15-06-2021, 06:08 PM
You'd think they would have shown a replay of the final pass for Ronaldo 2nd goal to confirm it, looked offside as the defender tried to get back out the box.

Edit. Forget that he was actually onside, when you pause it, good call from the linesman :rolleyes:

15-06-2021, 06:09 PM
You'd think they would have shown a replay of the final pass for Ronaldo 2nd goal to confirm it, looked offside as the defender tried to get back out the box.

Surely it was checked. Every goal is checked isnt it?

15-06-2021, 06:11 PM
Highly unlikely i know but if the France Germany match is dull we've got Keane and Veira in the studio together :greengrin

15-06-2021, 06:12 PM
Looked offside to me.

And me

15-06-2021, 06:20 PM
Christ how many times do they want to show the gazza goal

15-06-2021, 06:25 PM
Anybody else sick of seeing that Gascogne goal? I think I’ve seen it about ten times in the last few days. Can’t argue with the quality but it’s wearing a bit thin. It’s on again as I write this. :sick: They’re now discussing which English player is going to try to replicate the goal this year?

15-06-2021, 06:26 PM
Aye, alright already.

15-06-2021, 06:26 PM
He looked at the asst referee for that first.

He always looks at the screen after he's been on the ball. Always.

He does. Great player but a massive tit.

15-06-2021, 06:29 PM

Anybody else sick of seeing that Gascogne goal? I think I’ve seen it about ten times in the last few days. Can’t argue with the quality but it’s wearing a bit thin. It’s on again as I write this. :sick: They’re now discussing which English player is going to try to replicate the goal this year?

They’ve shown it about six times in the last five minutes. They’re now having a wee giggle at the goal yesterday. :rolleyes:

15-06-2021, 06:29 PM
Pretty sure that none of the pundits know Marshall’s name

15-06-2021, 06:34 PM
They’ve shown it about six times in the last five minutes. They’re now having a wee giggle at the goal yesterday. :rolleyes:

tbf they are perfectly entitled to, that goal will be shown for years to come all over the world thanks to social media, it WAS absolutely comical why on freakin earth a keeper was so far up the park and why on earth hendry thought a shot from 40 yards would come to anything, i think Marshall will never live that keystone cop ****-up down it WAS pure comedy and it deserves to get laughed at, if that was Pickford etc..... :agree:

15-06-2021, 06:35 PM

ITV conflicted. Producers had VT in the can showing Gazza's world-class goal 25 times, but feel it's only fair to show Schick's world-class effort a few times. Not having a go at Scotland of course :greengrin

15-06-2021, 06:41 PM
That France starting line up is ridiculous. Some quality players on the bench as well

15-06-2021, 06:44 PM
tbf they are perfectly entitled to, that goal will be shown for years to come all over the world thanks to social media, it WAS absolutely comical why on freakin earth a keeper was so far up the park and why on earth hendry thought a shot from 40 yards would come to anything, i think Marshall will never live that keystone cop ****-up down it WAS pure comedy and it deserves to get laughed at, if that was Pickford etc..... :agree:

:agree: Gone big in the US as it was .... from way down town :greengrin

Like it or not, Marshall will forever be associated with that goal. He would have been better going down injured.

15-06-2021, 06:45 PM

CloudSquall
15-06-2021, 06:46 PM
The goal was shown on prime time news in Argentina, never thought my TV here would be in risk..

15-06-2021, 06:48 PM
:agree: Gone big in the US as it was .... from way down town :greengrin

Like it or not, Marshall will forever be associated with that goal. He would have been better going down injured.

The goal was shown on prime time news in Argentina, never thought my TV here would be in risk..

and so it begins :boo hoo:

15-06-2021, 06:56 PM
:sauzee:

15-06-2021, 07:04 PM

:greengrin Got to laugh. Not sure if it says more about the English psyche or their utter disdain for the Scottish national team or maybe both. It's Hearts level arrogance.

15-06-2021, 07:08 PM
Did I hear that right. ITV commentator just said "Ngola ****e was a nice guy that does come first" :rotflmao:

Magpie
15-06-2021, 07:08 PM
That France starting line up is ridiculous. Some quality players on the bench as well

German team just as good. Multiple trophies between them.

15-06-2021, 07:10 PM
kinda hoping France/Germany/Portugal all go through, footy purists need those three, and probably Spain, to be the Semi-Finalists :agree: imo anyway

15-06-2021, 07:10 PM

No mate :greengrin

15-06-2021, 07:17 PM
German team just as good. Multiple trophies between them.

France team edges it for me.

Germany team has lots of great players but a few seem to have been shoehorned into the staring line up imo.

France team is pretty much outstanding players in their best positions all over the pitch.

15-06-2021, 07:19 PM
France team edges it for me.

Germany team has lots of great players but a few seem to have been shoehorned into the staring line up imo.

France team is pretty much outstanding players in their best positions all over the pitch.

Agree, I think France will edge this. Belting group this.

15-06-2021, 07:20 PM
1-0 France

Great ball by Pogba there

Germany 0 France 1 OG

Magpie
15-06-2021, 07:21 PM
Another own goal in the tournament. Think that’s three now since Friday.

15-06-2021, 07:22 PM
Decent chance for Muller there. Could be a class game this one.

15-06-2021, 07:43 PM
Did I hear right the ref is from Madrid so he cannot ref any big game involving Madrid teams or against Barcelona.If so what about our league

15-06-2021, 07:43 PM
Benzema had a great chance there but a bad touch takes him too wide. There’s definite needle here.

15-06-2021, 07:44 PM
Did I hear right the ref is from Madrid so he cannot ref any big game involving Madrid teams or against Barcelona.If so what about our league

Its that way in England too. You declare the team you support, and you can never ref them, or any close rivals.

15-06-2021, 07:47 PM
Its that way in England too. You declare the team you support, and you can never ref them, or any close rivals.

Imagine that in our league 😆😆😆

15-06-2021, 07:47 PM
“70% of the earths surface is covered by water, the rest is covered by Ngolo K ante”.

15-06-2021, 07:49 PM
They would have to promote multiple referees from outside Glasgow/catchment area. That's never going to happen in any great numbers....

15-06-2021, 07:49 PM
France look a notch above. Ally and his best pal "Clive" spoiling a good game.

15-06-2021, 07:50 PM

Surprised at that - I’d say McCoist is the best co-comms by some way …

Agree that France look a level above though

15-06-2021, 07:51 PM

I have no problem with those two. I like Ally’s enthusiasm. He’s a hun prick, but I agree with his take on most things.

15-06-2021, 07:52 PM

He could referee any game in our league.

15-06-2021, 07:53 PM
I like Allys input too. At least he tries to be positive and he's obviously played at a high level. Some pundits are crap but it seems to be the trend to moan like f##k about them. We all have opnionos, live with it.

15-06-2021, 07:54 PM
He could referee any game in our league.

Yep would welcome it.

15-06-2021, 07:58 PM
I like Allys input too. At least he tries to be positive and he's obviously played at a high level. Some pundits are crap but it seems to be the trend to moan like f##k about them. We all have opnionos, live with it.

He’s an absolute top-drawer pundit. Brings entertainment, facts, stats and good observations. Works well with his co-commentators as well.

15-06-2021, 08:06 PM

Not at all. Clive Tyldseley is an excellent commentator. Really good, knowledgeable, calls goals brilliantly, always on point with names etc. Very good.

McCoist is a good laugh. Nothing wrong at all with these two. Get good reviews from many people as well.

15-06-2021, 08:09 PM
France should have sealed it there

15-06-2021, 08:16 PM
I feel like France have dominated but it feels like Germany are going to equalise. I never trust Pavards defending, that’s their only possible weakness.

15-06-2021, 08:19 PM
I'd love to know what McCoist said to Lennon that time.

15-06-2021, 08:20 PM
I'd love to know what McCoist said to Lennon that time.

I asked Lennon and he refused to tell me.

15-06-2021, 08:22 PM
Can we all just take a minute to appreciate ****e !!

15-06-2021, 08:23 PM
Ka n te would look f##king brilliant in a Hibs kit, :wink::greengrin

15-06-2021, 08:23 PM
That's a ridiculous offside call

15-06-2021, 08:24 PM
Naw

Ally is the best co commentator in the business

Maybe try listening to him and give him a chance

15-06-2021, 08:25 PM
That's a ridiculous offside call

Nah it was the right call. Why it took him so long though.....

15-06-2021, 08:26 PM
Naw

Ally is the best co commentator in the business

Maybe try listening to him and give him a chance

I despise all things Hun as much as the next man but I think McCoist is brilliant in this role.

Nah it was the right call. Why it took him so long though.....

Thats how it works. Let it play out incase its on.

You can add Mbappe to that. That was a goal of pure filth, ruined by the offside flag.

15-06-2021, 08:27 PM

Gogic needs an understudy

SJNB Hibby
15-06-2021, 08:27 PM
Not euros, but Scots women beat the Welsh 1-0
Aussies beat Jordan 1-0 in WC qualifying

15-06-2021, 08:29 PM
Gogic needs an understudy

Christ I didnt realise he could get any better :greengrin

15-06-2021, 08:30 PM
I despise all things Hun as much as the next man but I think McCoist is brilliant in this role.

15-06-2021, 08:33 PM
Not euros, but Scots women beat the Welsh 1-0
Aussies beat Jordan 1-0 in WC qualifying

keeper muck up, i wasn't overly impressed with our performance though it was just a friendly

i can see shelly kerr getting invited back :)

bringbackbenny
15-06-2021, 08:35 PM
Some pace from Mbappe there

15-06-2021, 08:36 PM
Great recovery challenge by Hummels. Boring take to give him stick for his pace there, a wonderful piece of defending after being caught.

15-06-2021, 08:37 PM
Mbappe is ridiculously quick.

15-06-2021, 08:38 PM
Great recovery challenge by Hummels. Boring take to give him stick for his pace there, a wonderful piece of defending after being caught.I thought it was a penalty.

I thought it was a penalty.

Got some ball but M’bappé as well.

France playing the counter attacking game brilliantly. Germany cannot get through.

15-06-2021, 08:40 PM
Got some ball but M’bappé as well.He got the ball through Mbappé's legs, and after making contact twice.

15-06-2021, 08:41 PM
Fantastic goal

15-06-2021, 08:41 PM
Brilliant

15-06-2021, 08:42 PM
He was offside

Offside

That's offside....

15-06-2021, 08:44 PM
He was offsideHa ! I'm trying to explain why to my daughters....

Wasted opportunity

VAR'd again

Very nice goal.

Pogba has been excellent tonight. No doubt Roy will tell us ''for me, he must do more''

15-06-2021, 08:45 PM
Ha ! I'm trying to explain why to my daughters....

If you don’t have salt, pepper and tomato sauce to demonstrate you’re not doing it right.

15-06-2021, 08:47 PM
The **** happened there?

15-06-2021, 08:48 PM
Not the first time ITV have done that! Can't remember the previous time but I think they missed a last minute goal.

15-06-2021, 08:48 PM
The **** happened there?

Stoopit ITV!

15-06-2021, 08:49 PM
The joke of it is there was an ad for The Sun which said “never miss any of the action”… except when you cut to ads before the end!

15-06-2021, 08:50 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRV7sOZ3X3s

15-06-2021, 08:51 PM
Kind of shows the BBC could have cut the footage on Saturday if they really wanted to!

15-06-2021, 08:52 PM
The super powers of the last two decades have truly fallen now.

15-06-2021, 08:53 PM
VAR'd again

Very nice goal.

Pogba has been excellent tonight. No doubt Roy will tell us ''for me, he must do more''

Yup, he’s been superb.

Roy Keane is an absolute welt.

15-06-2021, 08:55 PM
France worthy winners but played well within themselves.

15-06-2021, 08:56 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRV7sOZ3X3s

Haha that was the one.

15-06-2021, 08:57 PM
He got the ball through Mbappé's legs, and after making contact twice.

Yes, I was agreeing.

Something dodgy going on somewhere. Telly is ducked again.

Yup, he’s been superb.

Roy Keane is an absolute welt.

The Top Flight Time Machine podcast do a series on his autobiographies, and they sort of make a caricature of him, which, once you’ve heard the series, makes it impossible not to watch him as that character and absolutely love him.

15-06-2021, 08:59 PM
France worthy winners but played well within themselves.

Yep. Got to agree with the annoyingly alright for a dirty fat Hun McCoist, they’ve got more in the tank.

pollution
15-06-2021, 08:59 PM
Stv, amateur nonsense.

Reminds me of Channel 4 Italian football coverage of last match in the league, Rome derby, whoever wins wins the league about 1992.

Picture froze for the whole game.

15-06-2021, 09:02 PM
Stv, amateur nonsense.

Reminds me of Channel 4 Italian football coverage of last match in the league, Rome derby, whoever wins wins the league about 1992.

Picture froze for the whole game.

They were channeling the GB News channel 😉

15-06-2021, 09:06 PM
Disappointed in the game tonight, quite a lot of poor performances with the odd bit of class thrown in. I thought the passing was poor, particularly the Germans, for me the most impressive team so far has been Italy.

15-06-2021, 09:37 PM
Disappointed in the game tonight, quite a lot of poor performances with the odd bit of class thrown in. I thought the passing was poor, particularly the Germans, for me the most impressive team so far has been Italy.

The passing was quite poor, at times. I think a lot of that was down to the players trying the harder, short passes. They have been better going for the simpler 50 yard passes that are easy to hit with precision. :greengrin

15-06-2021, 09:39 PM
The passing was quite poor, at times. I think a lot of that was down to the players trying the harder, short passes. They have been better going for the simpler 50 yard passes that are easy to hit with precision. :greengrin

You’re a bad, bad man 😁

15-06-2021, 09:42 PM
You’re a bad, bad man 😁

It’s just a joke (no offence, Callum!)

15-06-2021, 09:51 PM

Agree with your assessment of Italy. Not seen anything better than their opening performance yet. France are playing the same tactics as in 2018. 8 man defence in 2 rows of 4 and blitz krieg moving forward when they win the ball, Germany had most of the ball but couldn't make any headway in the final third. Someone will suss out a way to beat the French and my money is on Italy.

16-06-2021, 01:04 PM
1-0 Finland.

1-0 Finland after 3 mins!

Oh no it's not ☹️

16-06-2021, 01:05 PM
Russia 0 Finland 1

Pretty much the same as the first Czech goal

4 minutes in

And then VAR rules it off 🙄

16-06-2021, 01:07 PM
Gaun the Eagle Owls!

16-06-2021, 01:07 PM
I hate VAR. What a great header/finish.

16-06-2021, 01:09 PM
The Finnish top is gorgeous. Might need to try and find one!

16-06-2021, 01:11 PM
Terrible miss, Russia coming back into this, good signs for this game.

16-06-2021, 01:14 PM
Dzubya the Russian Colin Nish.

16-06-2021, 01:16 PM

It is a nice top, and Scotland could wear that

16-06-2021, 01:16 PM

Same here. Sure it's sold out everywhere.

16-06-2021, 01:18 PM
Keown and Cowen on commentary equals mute

16-06-2021, 01:24 PM

Dire. There is the 5 live option on red button.

16-06-2021, 01:25 PM

You’ve got the geordie dreamboat Chris waddle on the red button.

16-06-2021, 01:26 PM
Dire. There is the 5 live option on red button.

Excellent, didn't know that, thanks very much

16-06-2021, 01:26 PM
You’ve got the geordie dreamboat Chris waddle on the red button.

Hopefully he sings Diamond Lights then everyone is a winner

Greenio
16-06-2021, 01:27 PM
Seeing as they share borders, are the Fins n the Ruskis pals?

16-06-2021, 01:28 PM

The ol' Winter War pals :greengrin

16-06-2021, 01:29 PM
Hopefully he sings Diamond Lights then everyone is a winner

:greengrin Did you ever hear his duet with Basile Boli? Tragic.
Conor McNamara is a decent commentator.

16-06-2021, 01:29 PM

Nah, not at all, Russia have tried to invade Finland on a couple of occasions which didn't turn out too well in the end

16-06-2021, 01:30 PM

Not one bit. The Russians occupied them and did their normal raping and pillaging.

16-06-2021, 01:30 PM
Same here. Sure it's sold out everywhere.

Thanks to Pukki apparently - the Norwich fans bought them up en masse.

Reminds me of a classic Marseille top I used to have from 2000, though that was a light blue cross through the middle of the top.

16-06-2021, 01:31 PM
Thanks to Pukki apparently - the Norwich fans bought them up en masse.

Reminds me of a classic Marseille top I used to have from 2000, though that was a light blue cross through the middle of the top.

:aok: yeah it is similar to that one.

16-06-2021, 01:31 PM
:greengrin Did you ever hear his duet with Basile Boli? Tragic.
Conor McNamara is a decent commentator.

I now have the YouTube commentary of Waddles greatest hits as the background to the game

16-06-2021, 01:33 PM
I now have the YouTube commentary of Waddles greatest hits as the background to the game

It doesn’t get any better than this

https://youtu.be/CRuMoH0AXmM

16-06-2021, 01:36 PM
It doesn’t get any better than this

https://youtu.be/CRuMoH0AXmM

It's like the time I had a cheeseburger on a donut at bread meats bread, I can't work out if thats the greatest thing ever or the worst, I'm just confused, so much to unpack

16-06-2021, 01:38 PM
Ooft studs in the couponski

16-06-2021, 01:39 PM
Cracking tackle, paid for in boot!

16-06-2021, 01:42 PM
Surprised there haven't been more cards here. Another wallop to the chops.

16-06-2021, 01:47 PM
1-0 Russia

16-06-2021, 01:48 PM
Aw balls. Putin’s boys put it in the net

16-06-2021, 01:49 PM

Pesky Putineskas.

leith lynx
16-06-2021, 02:40 PM
Big Russian centre forward Dzyuba looks like an overweight Colin Nish

16-06-2021, 02:45 PM
Big Russian centre forward Dzyuba looks like an overweight Colin Nish

I said the same earlier, he also got caught offside twice on the first few minutes like Nish would. Not sure he’s overweight though, I think that’s mostly muscle!
Talking about lookalikes, I was thinking at halftime Robbie Savage is like a hormone replaced Barbara Streisand.

leith lynx
16-06-2021, 02:52 PM
I said the same earlier, he also got caught offside twice on the first few minutes like Nish would. Not sure he’s overweight though, I think that’s mostly muscle!
Talking about lookalikes, I was thinking at halftime Robbie Savage is like a hormone replaced Barbara Streisand.

Aye, Muscular would be a better description, Streisand is a bit savage looking right enough!

16-06-2021, 02:53 PM
O'Shaughnessy ?

Good Finnish name that! :greengrin

16-06-2021, 03:01 PM
O'Shaughnessy ?

Good Finnish name that! :greengrin

Finnish mum, Irish dad

16-06-2021, 03:04 PM
Not been a great game at all. Finland lacking quality going forward and Russia content to take the 1-0.

Renfrew_Hibby
16-06-2021, 03:23 PM
Nah, not at all, Russia have tried to invade Finland on a couple of occasions which didn't turn out too well in the end

Quite an interesting relationship between the two of them.
The Finns are somewhat of a crossbreed between Scandinavians and slavic Russians. There's a region that sits either side of the border and Finns actually had special dispensation to holiday on the Russian side during communist times, a beautiful region of lakes and ski resorts south of the Kola peninsula.

16-06-2021, 04:19 PM
Wales Turkey first 20 sounds very good on the radio. End to end stuff?

16-06-2021, 04:24 PM
Wales could easily be 2 up already

16-06-2021, 04:24 PM

Ramsey is playing like Dykes, missed 2 really good chances.

Green Reaper
16-06-2021, 04:31 PM

Yep, really enjoying it even though no goals yet

16-06-2021, 04:31 PM
Amateur coverage, freezing, sound up then down then really loud then blank screen!!!!

16-06-2021, 04:32 PM
It's like watching Hibs TV, no picture, frozen picture, no sound then LOUD SOUND 🙄

16-06-2021, 04:42 PM
1-0 Wales

16-06-2021, 04:42 PM
Ramsey scores, at last

16-06-2021, 04:43 PM
1-0 Wales
Excellent goal

16-06-2021, 04:43 PM
Wales are a decent side. Been good here.

Magpie
16-06-2021, 04:44 PM
Gareth Bale is different class. Wales are very good.

16-06-2021, 04:45 PM
What a fillet Robbie Savage is. Delighted for Wales but I really want something shutting that **** up.

16-06-2021, 04:49 PM
What a fillet Robbie Savage is. Delighted for Wales but I really want something shutting that **** up.
He's Welsh, Wales are winning he's happy, no worse than lots of so called "pundits"

Magpie
16-06-2021, 04:50 PM
Wales have all but sealed their trip to the knockouts if they see this game off. Will probably end up finishing 2nd.

EI255
16-06-2021, 05:10 PM
Wales look infinitely superior to Scotland. In a different class.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

16-06-2021, 05:16 PM
Wales penalty.

16-06-2021, 05:17 PM
He played for that, left his own foot in

16-06-2021, 05:18 PM
Bale misses.

Awful penalty.

16-06-2021, 05:19 PM
He almost scored from keeper block straight after.

16-06-2021, 05:20 PM
Bale misses.

Awful penalty.
Can't be bothered with these stuttering, shuffling penalties, just hit hard!

16-06-2021, 05:20 PM
Bale ….. shocking. Was he not illegal in his run up? He started to run then stopped almost stepping back.

16-06-2021, 05:21 PM
Bale ….. shocking. Was he not illegal in his run up? He started to run then stopped almost stepping back.

No. You just can't fake shot

16-06-2021, 05:22 PM
By the way, that was no penalty. Boyle would be getting pellters for diving like that.

CloudSquall
16-06-2021, 05:26 PM
I know next to nothing about the Welsh team, is the difference between them and us just Ramsey and Bale or are they better all over the pitch on paper?

16-06-2021, 05:29 PM
I know next to nothing about the Welsh team, is the difference between them and us just Ramsey and Bale or are they better all over the pitch on paper?
They certainly attack more.

16-06-2021, 05:29 PM

They have better depth than they did previously.

Not a bad side, with 2 game changers in Ramsay and Bale.

Magpie
16-06-2021, 05:31 PM

Evidently better than Scotland.

16-06-2021, 05:36 PM
Good open game this, Turkey having a go and Wales hitting on the counter, Bales penalty was a shocker of a miss for a player his calibre and I'm not sure it was a pen in the 1st place.

16-06-2021, 05:44 PM
Good save Wales.

16-06-2021, 05:46 PM
He's Welsh, Wales are winning he's happy, no worse than lots of so called "pundits"

I love the Welsh. Wales are winning. He’s a knob.

16-06-2021, 05:48 PM
It's all kicking off.

16-06-2021, 05:49 PM
Welsh player could have been off there

Green Reaper
16-06-2021, 05:49 PM
It's all kicking off.

Stramash , 4 bookings

16-06-2021, 05:50 PM
What a great game, loving it.

Should have been a penalty

Welsh player could have been off there

Did that Welsh player go down holding his face with no contact whatsoever ?

16-06-2021, 05:51 PM
Turkish guy did nothing, the Welsh defender went down holding his face when never touched, Turkish lad went to check him and was pushed over, Welsh guy started it all.

16-06-2021, 05:52 PM
2-0!

2-0 Wales outstanding.

Wales pretty much through to the last 16, well done to them.

16-06-2021, 05:53 PM
Brilliant from Wales. Wish it was Scotland. Absolutely tremendous

Magpie
Gareth Bale is quality. Wales will give Italy a game next week. Fantastic from them yet again.

Great result for Wales, maybe Clarke could take a few tips.

Excellent by Bale there at both corners.

Turkey were rotten against Italy and not much better tonight. Pleased for the Welsh though

16-06-2021, 05:54 PM
A good result for the annoying sporting nation that is Wales. So lucky they have Bale.

16-06-2021, 05:54 PM
Brilliant from Wales. Wish it was Scotland. Absolutely tremendous

Seconded.

16-06-2021, 05:55 PM
Great result for Wales, maybe Clarke could take a few tips.

Yep. The benefit of being positive and going for it. Hope clark is watching

Turkey were rotten against Italy and not much better tonight

Wales got it done though, well done to them. Delighted to see them go through.

Great game.

Wales class.

16-06-2021, 05:57 PM
Well done Wales but that was pure cheating by the defender that fell clutching his face when he wasn't even touched ! See it more and more in football though

16-06-2021, 05:57 PM
Well done Wales, played with confidence and willing to have a right go, pity Clarke doesn't try and get Scotland playing with that level of freedom.

16-06-2021, 06:00 PM
Wales are great - but the downside is having to hear the walloper that is Robbie Savage on the TV.

16-06-2021, 06:01 PM
Wales are great - but the downside is having to hear the walloper that is Robbie Savage on the TV.

Utter bellend

16-06-2021, 06:03 PM
Well done Wales but that was pure cheating by the defender that fell clutching his face when he wasn't even touched ! See it more and more in football though

Not a single bit of criticism for blatant cheating so far. Maybe when they calm down they might admit the Welsh defender was out of order.

16-06-2021, 06:04 PM
Well done Wales. Be proud of yourselves. I’m so envious of those Welsh fans tonight they must be on such a high.

Steve Clarke - thanks for nothing with your team selection, tactics and substitutions against the Czechs.

Magpie
16-06-2021, 06:05 PM
If Wales finish 2nd they will play 2nd from Group B which at the moment looks likely to be Russia or Finland. Wouldn’t rule out another Quarter Final.

16-06-2021, 06:06 PM
Not a single bit of criticism for blatant cheating so far. Maybe when they calm down they might admit the Welsh defender was out of order.

Yep not a single word said about it , Savage muttered something along the lines of the welsh players sticking up for his team mates

Disgusting play acting

16-06-2021, 06:08 PM
Well done Wales. Be proud of yourselves. I’m so envious of those Welsh fans tonight they must be on such a high.

Steve Clarke - thanks for nothing with your team selection, tactics and substitutions against the Czechs.

That's the spirit unfortunately we don't have a Bale or Ramsay.

16-06-2021, 06:10 PM
Wales played with far mor intensity than Scotland do. Yes they have a couple of match winners but they play like we used to 30 years ago. They will be physically shattered tonight I don't think Scotland ever give that much effort

Just_Jimmy
16-06-2021, 06:14 PM
difference of having a genuine world class player who lifts the squad with his performances.

we've got loads of average to good players.

I'd kill for a Scottish version of bale.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

16-06-2021, 06:20 PM

I can’t think of any occasion on here where I have had cause to question or be negative about any of your posts on here JimBHibees.

We may not have a Bale or Ramsey and on that point I agree with you. We do however have a group of players who, with the right motivation, preparation and tactics who are worthy of giving any team anywhere in the world a fighting game.

Thar Czech game was an eye-opener to how naive our team selection and tactics were. I saw a Scottish national team line up and play like a Kilmarnock team from 2016-19

16-06-2021, 06:20 PM

Yep not a single word said about it , Savage muttered something along the lines of the welsh players sticking up for his team mates

Disgusting play acting

I’m glad Wales got their 15 minutes of glory but if that incident had been on the other foot, we would be seeing it over and over again. For me it takes the shine off their performance and I won’t shed a tear when they’re kicked out in the knockout stages.

Magpie
16-06-2021, 06:22 PM
I’m glad Wales got their 15 minutes of glory but if that incident had been on the other foot, we would be seeing it over and over again. For me it takes the shine off their performance and I won’t shed a tear when they’re kicked out in the knockout stages.

16-06-2021, 06:23 PM
difference of having a genuine world class player who lifts the squad with his performances.

Bale is sensational but Wales have built their game around him superbly well. He and Ramsay are genuine class acts and they have inspired those around them. Wales is everything I'd like the Scottish national side to be.

Magpie
16-06-2021, 06:28 PM
Bale is sensational but Wales have built their game around him superbly well. He and Ramsay are genuine class acts and they have inspired those around them. Wales is everything I'd like the Scottish national side to be.

Their defence is solid. Conceded only one goal in their recent Nations League campaign. Dan James and Kieffer Moore both offer a lot in their attacking threat too. They are a few steps ahead of Scotland for now.

16-06-2021, 06:31 PM

Even if we did, they probably wouldn’t get a game ahead of someone who might be handier at defending set pieces.

The dalmeny
16-06-2021, 06:31 PM

Bale, Ramsay and James better than anything we have, unfortunately

16-06-2021, 06:35 PM
We have some decent players but we just don’t have that special player that can elevate our team to greater levels. A Bale, a Ronaldo or an Mbappe etc, etc.

16-06-2021, 06:36 PM
Wales played with far mor intensity than Scotland do. Yes they have a couple of match winners but they play like we used to 30 years ago. They will be physically shattered tonight I don't think Scotland ever give that much effort

That's exactly how I described that to my son. 30/40 years ago we had a couple of very good players with some more good players who would work like **** for the Jersey. Wales are like that now. Bale and Ramsey are very good but the rest are just OK. But put them together in Wales Jersey and by Christ they are a decent team. I honestly think we have players as good as theirs in most positions if played right and with the right tactics. Well done tho

16-06-2021, 06:42 PM
Your over egging the cake aren't you, you see that all the time & many time at ER, Wales defending for all it's worth, Turkey attacking for all they're worth with time against them. Storm in a tea cup.

16-06-2021, 06:45 PM
To be fair to Steve Clarke he has got us there which is more than a long list of managers before him.
He probably was a bit conservative on Monday but it's not unreasonable that he stuck by the players who got us here.
The big test for him is whether he has the courage to make difficult decisions for Friday night.

16-06-2021, 06:46 PM

When have we ever seen an incident like that over and over again?

16-06-2021, 06:46 PM
Your over egging the cake aren't you, you see that all the time & many time at ER, Wales defending for all it's worth, Turkey attacking for all they're worth with time against them. Storm in a tea cup.

TBH the Welsh defender went down holding his face when there was no contact at all, the big Turkish forward went to see if he was ok and was then pushed over by another Welsh player for absolutely nothing, then it all kicked off, definitely Welsh players in the wrong.

16-06-2021, 06:49 PM
I’ve got to hold my hands up and admit over-reaction to the incident but I really get hot under the collar at blatant cheating.

16-06-2021, 06:54 PM
TBH the Welsh defender went down holding his face when there was no contact at all, the big Turkish forward went to see if he was ok and was then pushed over by another Welsh player for absolutely nothing, then it all kicked off, definitely Welsh players in the wrong.
I agree, although I think it was a foul so no need for face holding or pushing. Having said that to hope Wales get pumped out because of some play acting, which I've seen similar at ER, is taking it a bit far. I wish Scotland had shown as much commitment on Monday.

16-06-2021, 06:57 PM
Italy singing the Ferrari song again...

I agree, although I think it was a foul so no need for face holding or pushing. Having said that to hope Wales get pumped out because of some play acting, which I've seen similar at ER, is taking it a bit far. I wish Scotland had shown as much commitment on Monday.

I don't want them to lose, I want Wales to do well, the cheating things also annoys the hell out of me too, a bit like Bales dive for the penalty.

The Italian national anthem is class.

16-06-2021, 07:10 PM
Italy should have went up there

16-06-2021, 07:13 PM
Good to see Insigne playing well, I always like a wee guy to play well in every tournament

16-06-2021, 07:14 PM
Italy are so good to watch. Play the game at a right good tempo.

16-06-2021, 07:23 PM
I don't want them to lose, I want Wales to do well, the cheating things also annoys the hell out of me too, a bit like Bales dive for the penalty.
Yeah totally agree, it's something that has crept into football more and more & it's not pleasant but I don't think it will be eliminate now.

16-06-2021, 07:25 PM
Italy are so good to watch. Play the game at a right good tempo.

Absolutely terrific. VAR on the other hand............

16-06-2021, 07:26 PM
1-0 Italy

What a goal

Great goal by Italy. The speed of that attack…

Even if we did, they probably wouldn’t get a game ahead of someone who might be handier at defending set pieces.

:agree: Too wee etc.

That first volleyed pass was sublime.

16-06-2021, 07:27 PM
Italy are fantastic. So good.

Chiellini off, but looked like just a precaution.

16-06-2021, 07:27 PM
Beautiful football from the Italians.

16-06-2021, 07:28 PM
That was a ****ing fabulous goal. From the volleyed pass to a man actually beating a defender to the perfect cut back to Locatelli running 60 yards to finish. Absolbrilliant

16-06-2021, 07:28 PM
Italy have been by far the most impressive outfit so far for me

16-06-2021, 07:29 PM
Great goal by Italy. The speed of that attack…
Terrific, from the initial pass, to the speed at which he travelled with the ball & the lay back, exquisite.

16-06-2021, 07:29 PM
Best team to watch in the competition for me.

16-06-2021, 07:30 PM
Italy should have a full tournament again.

16-06-2021, 07:37 PM
Swiss struggling to get out of neutral here.

16-06-2021, 07:41 PM

16-06-2021, 07:44 PM
Italy have been by far the most impressive outfit so far for me

Definitely:agree: They’re looking like playing Belgium in the round of 16, that could be epic.

16-06-2021, 07:44 PM
Is the Swiss kit identical to the Czech kit anyone? Looks that way.

16-06-2021, 07:48 PM
Di Lorenzo there :thumbsup::thumbsup:

16-06-2021, 08:04 PM
A moment of silence for Roy’s beard … 😞

16-06-2021, 08:09 PM
2-0 Italy.

Wow.

16-06-2021, 08:09 PM
Too easy, different class

16-06-2021, 08:10 PM
Oh my days what a strike from Lucatelli. Wow

16-06-2021, 08:11 PM
2-0 Italy.

Wow.
Yip just wow

16-06-2021, 08:13 PM

They have mountains to climb now.....

16-06-2021, 08:13 PM
Fantastic.

Thought Swiss would give them a hard game. They are a tough side to beat but Italy have really battered them.

16-06-2021, 08:14 PM
Italy v France in the final would be amazing to watch on the evidence so far

Keyser Sauzee
16-06-2021, 08:15 PM
Italy have been the most impressive so far, fancy them to go the distance. Immobile’s record for Lazio is unbelievable.

16-06-2021, 08:19 PM
Have to be honest, I am quite glad Scotland are not in this group, we would be utterly humiliated by Italy.