View Full Version : Match Updates Euro 2021 non-Scotland games
Pages :
[
17]
09-07-2021, 08:14 AM
Happy to keep political points on the Holy Ground but there's nothing Scottish-hating about my views.
Good.
There's been plenty of support of England, their team, and manager on here, but somehow it changed to the Jocks having a chip on their shoulder or it not really being about football at all. It's pitiful stuff.
If you look back on the thread, some of us even predicted the Final with an England win. Maybe we can get through the week end without the need to have someone ask why we're not supporting the "home nation".
Just let the football take care of itself, and let us enjoy it without the digs.
EI255
09-07-2021, 08:25 AM
I like Southgate, he seems a decent enough sort. Same can be said for most of their players and I wouldn't begrudge them winning the tournament. It's the culture that has grown up around English football that grips my ****. There's zero magnanimity towards anything outside their own little bubble and the sense of entitlement is off the scale. There's also the hijacking of England's progress by the populist press and politics in the post Brexit era and the expectancy that all the home nations should get behind England, all in all it makes it very difficult for me to find it in myself to wish England well in the final. I probably should, but I can't separate the sport from the politics, especially when that what is driving British politics is so apparent on the terraces. Maybe that makes me a bitter and twisted sweaty sock, but it is what it is.My gripe is not with players or manager. Great bunch of talented players and a brilliant young manger.
As we all know, it's their FANS (not all) and their stinking attitudes.
Always, ABE!
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
09-07-2021, 08:26 AM
Some people transparently get so triggered by England. Almost like it’s not really about the football…
I don’t really buy the ‘it’s just like city rivalry between Hibs and Hearts’ line, partly because it isn’t a two way street. England see Germany as their ‘derby’ rivals much more than Scotland. Anyway I wouldn’t want to spend my time as a Hibs fan defined and consumed by what Hearts are doing.
Not so sure about that. They were singing about us during a semi final of a major tournament. It's a bit like Hearts fans claiming Celtic are their real rivals and not Hibs.
09-07-2021, 08:33 AM
Some people transparently get so triggered by England. Almost like it’s not really about the football…
I don’t really buy the ‘it’s just like city rivalry between Hibs and Hearts’ line, partly because it isn’t a two way street. England see Germany as their ‘derby’ rivals much more than Scotland. Anyway I wouldn’t want to spend my time as a Hibs fan defined and consumed by what Hearts are doing.
Think you are overthinking it. Scotland and England teams have always have a rivalry less or more so likely depending on your age. Unfortunately we get the English football coverage which imo perpetuates that. It isn't really a big deal in the grand scheme of things. People can only give their own reason for whether they support or don't support England however I have no real issue with England on a personal level regularly holiday there have many English relatives.
09-07-2021, 08:38 AM
My gripe is not with players or manager. Great bunch of talented players and a brilliant young manger.
As we all know, it's their FANS (not all) and their stinking attitudes.
Always, ABE!
:agree: Many of their fans are very difficult to like given their frequent hooliganism over the years and blatant far right element within their support such as the no surrender nonsense and general xenophobic attitude.
09-07-2021, 08:41 AM
I have no ill-will towards England winning it, plenty English friends and I’ll be happy for them.
Their media on the other hand can go and take a run and jump… And do a flip while they’re at it !
09-07-2021, 09:21 AM
I like Southgate, he seems a decent enough sort. Same can be said for most of their players and I wouldn't begrudge them winning the tournament. It's the culture that has grown up around English football that grips my ****. There's zero magnanimity towards anything outside their own little bubble and the sense of entitlement is off the scale. There's also the hijacking of England's progress by the populist press and politics in the post Brexit era and the expectancy that all the home nations should get behind England, all in all it makes it very difficult for me to find it in myself to wish England well in the final. I probably should, but I can't separate the sport from the politics, especially when that what is driving British politics is so apparent on the terraces. Maybe that makes me a bitter and twisted sweaty sock, but it is what it is.
It all has a very hertzish vibe to it for me so far as the fan attitude is concerned. I don’t mind the English team one bit and wouldn’t begrudge them a win. It’s the circus that accompanies it all that bugs me. Although if it were Scotland in the same position, we can only imagine what the media frenzy here would be like.
09-07-2021, 09:58 AM
Think you are overthinking it. Scotland and England teams have always have a rivalry less or more so likely depending on your age. Unfortunately we get the English football coverage which imo perpetuates that. It isn't really a big deal in the grand scheme of things. People can only give their own reason for whether they support or don't support England however I have no real issue with England on a personal level regularly holiday there have many English relatives.
:aok: Judging from your posts I would never have thought anything other than that about you.
09-07-2021, 10:12 AM
It's a pretty elegant bit of multi-cultural, inclusive, sticking it up the currently prevailing politics from Southgate and his squad. As Gary Neville said, proper leadership. Who would ever have thought we'd be able to look to an England manager and squad as a beacon of this sort?
https://twitter.com/TimesSport/status/1413380088188571651
England players donate prize money to the NHS
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2021/jul/08/england-and-southgate-stop-divisive-politicians-hijacking-euro-2020-success
England and Southgate stop divisive politicians hijacking Euro 2020 success
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/gary-lineker-england-fans-booing-b1880825.html
Gary Lineker slams ‘classless’ fans booing rival anthems at Wembley
We should be welcoming all this. Its the sort of stuff many of us have posted on at various times. And when even some of the commentariat are beginning to speak out it may be that a tide is slowly turning. Christ, I wish we'd see some of our own commentators going so public in calling out the sectarian bigotry we routinely hear in games up here.
Big, big silver linings here for me if the worst should happen.
Forza Italia.
Rumble de Thump
09-07-2021, 10:43 AM
It is really weird that there are England fans who see Germany as more of a football rival because of World Wars, rather than seeing Scotland as their rival because it's the oldest rivalry in international football.
09-07-2021, 10:46 AM
I wonder if ‘football coming home’ will mean it’s return to Aberdeen?
couldn't care less about England as that is their nation and fans responsibility, anything else is not my problem!
09-07-2021, 10:47 AM
It's a pretty elegant bit of multi-cultural, inclusive, sticking it up the currently prevailing politics from Southgate and his squad. As Gary Neville said, proper leadership. Who would ever have thought we'd be able to look to an England manager and squad as a beacon of this sort?
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2021/jul/08/england-and-southgate-stop-divisive-politicians-hijacking-euro-2020-success
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/gary-lineker-england-fans-booing-b1880825.html
We should be welcoming all this. Its the sort of stuff many of us have posted on at various times. And when even some of the commentariat are beginning to speak out it may be that a tide is slowly turning. Christ, I wish we'd see some of our own commentators going so public in calling out the sectarian bigotry we routinely hear in games up here.
Forza Italia.
I wish it was but sadly I think it's just deeper polarisation. Still, if England winning causes "Lozza" Fox's head to explode, it will be well worth it. :wink:
HFC93
09-07-2021, 10:48 AM
That's it in a nutshell. The England-sized chip on the shoulder many Scots seem to carry around is the sort of thing the SNP feed off.
I wouldn't want Hearts to win a game of tiddlywinks. I feel the same about the English national team. Do I have Jambo-sized-chip on my shoulder? What's the difference?
09-07-2021, 10:50 AM
Some abuse I've been getting down here just because I'm not bothered if england win or lose. Plastic jock etc can't wait for Hibs to return to competitive action.
09-07-2021, 10:59 AM
Forza Italia.
Thought this was quite good on the wider ramifications: Gideon Rachman in the FT.
The prospect that England might win a major football tournament for the first time in 55 years will transfix the country over the coming week. Over 26m people, almost half the population of England, tuned in to watch the win against Ukraine on Saturday. Hysteria is building steadily ahead of a semi-final on Wednesday and a possible final at the weekend.
For the Johnson government the symbolism of an England triumph, just six months after Brexit, would be delightful. The prime minister has so far resisted the temptation to make the connection, but some of his allies have been less restrained. After England beat Germany, Lord Moylan, a former Johnson aide, crowed: “Poor Germans, this wasn’t the Brexit narrative fed them by their press, was it?”
But any effort to fit the England team into a narrative of post-Brexit national resurgence faces a significant problem. Gareth Southgate, the team’s manager, seems to be playing for the other side in England’s culture war.
Southgate is pretty clearly a Remainer. In a TV documentary in 2018, he spoke about the “racial undertones” that he felt surrounded the Brexit campaign. Around the same time, he argued that Brexit had divided the country between young people who identified with Europe and “want to travel the world”; and an older generation “pining for something that isn’t there any more”.
These low-key political interventions are not accidental. Unusually for a football coach, Southgate’s preparation for Euro 2020 included writing a long essay on the nature of patriotism. The article, published earlier this month, was entitled — “Dear England”.
In it, Southgate gently distanced the England team from the chauvinism of some of its supporters. Tommy Robinson, a prominent far-right activist, was arrested at an England game in Portugal last year. England fans regularly sing songs about the second world war. (I heard fans belt out “Ten German bombers” in the bars at Wembley Stadium before England games last week). Southgate noted that his own grandfather was a “fierce patriot and a proud military man who served during World War Two”. He stressed his own pride in Queen and country. But he then added: “On this island, we have a desire to protect our values and traditions — as we should — but that shouldn’t come at the expense of introspection and progress.”
In the run-up to the tournament, the England team was booed by some of its own fans for “taking the knee” ahead of games as a protest against racial injustice. Lee Anderson, a Tory MP, claimed to be so annoyed by the gesture that he would stop watching the England team in protest. (One wonders if his resolution is wavering as England progress through the tournament?) Priti Patel, the home secretary, accused the players of indulging in gesture politics.
Southgate has not only supported his team’s decision to take the knee. In his patriotism essay, he went further and argued that “it’s their duty to continue to interact with the public on matters such as equality, inclusivity and racial injustice”.
Even before the England team began to win games in the European championships, the significance of Southgate’s stances had struck the political class. Keir Starmer, the leader of the Labour party, retweeted Southgate’s essay on patriotism, adding: “This is England”. Some Labour sympathisers grumbled that the England manager had managed to produce a more articulate statement of “progressive patriotism” than Starmer himself ever had.
Conservatives and Johnson supporters are less ecstatic. Some seem to believe that Southgate is becoming a tool of deep Woke — with one Tory strategist telling me that the England manager’s patriotism essay was “suspiciously well-written”.
If England actually win the tournament later this week, Southgate and his players will become national heroes — comfortably more popular than Boris Johnson. The England team and its manager will be in a powerful political position and have already shown a willingness to embrace their platform. Marcus Rashford, the Manchester United striker (who has so far mainly been a reserve during this tournament), led campaigns against child hunger over the past year that forced changes in government policy. Raheem Sterling, the team’s star, has highlighted racism in the media. Harry Kane, the captain, wore a rainbow armband to mark pride month.
But, before anybody gets too excited about England’s woke winners, a reality check is in order. There is no doubt that sporting success creates shared national memories. But its ability to effect lasting political change is more dubious. After France won the World Cup in 1998, with a multiracial side described as “Black, blanc, beur”, some theorised that the country would now embrace its multiracial identity. But in subsequent years the far-right has grown in strength. When the opening ceremony for the London Olympics celebrated immigration and the NHS, the British left lauded the moment as a symbol of the country’s new progressive identity. Four years later, Britain voted for Brexit.
The truth is that sport is wonderful at creating fleeting moments of euphoria. Lasting social or political change is a much bigger ask.
CloudSquall
09-07-2021, 11:39 AM
That's it in a nutshell. The England-sized chip on the shoulder many Scots seem to carry around is the sort of thing the SNP feed off.
aaaaand the "honestly I'm just talking about football!" mask slips.
09-07-2021, 11:54 AM
I hope England get absolutely pumped. Nae chip on my shoulder, if England do win (and I think they will) then it won’t affect my mood in the slightest.
Doesn’t change that I would absolutely love to see them fail at anything they ever compete at.
I’d happily boo God Save The Queen too.
09-07-2021, 12:03 PM
i imagine a lot of Welsh footy fans have the same opinion as us Scots, or maybe they have those chips on their shoulders as well :(
Journalist's question to Schmeichel show why it’s hard for Welsh fans to support England (nation.cymru) (https://nation.cymru/opinion/journo-question-to-schmeichel-show-why-its-hard-for-welsh-fans-to-support-england/?fbclid=IwAR3BEsuUjFwy-I213WBoyHXsRZkfRN0btNZeNdcKo16e0oput6_P9BCGdtw)
P.S. ABE :thumbsup:
Forza Italia and aw that
If we are talking about chips on shoulders there is a section of the England support who carry quarry loads around, way more than fans of other countries and way more than the majority of actual England fans.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
09-07-2021, 12:38 PM
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/euro-2020-england-italy-bank-holiday-final-b1881007.html
Calls for Monday to be a public holiday if England win on Sunday.
Scotland and Wales will have one if England lose 😉
He's here!
09-07-2021, 01:00 PM
It is really weird that there are England fans who see Germany as more of a football rival because of World Wars, rather than seeing Scotland as their rival because it's the oldest rivalry in international football.
I don't think that's the reason. It's more to do with the fact that England and Germany have such a long-standing history of meeting at key stages of major football tournaments and that Germany (between 1966 and 2021) have so often killed off England's dreams. These days beating Germany is likely to give England a great deal more satisfaction than beating Scotland.
Until 1984 Scotland and England used to play each other annually in the Home Nations Championship but that was nearly 40 years ago and in the intervening years we've rarely come up against them which I think has diluted the sense that it's a 'traditional' rivalry.
I never really understood why the Home Nations Championship ended. It had more spice to it than a run of the mill friendly or a Nations League tie. Too much aggro once the casual era started?
Green Reaper
09-07-2021, 05:42 PM
Heard someone on sky this morning saying that (because they obviously expect to win it) that it’s harder to win the Euros than the World Cup!
09-07-2021, 06:24 PM
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/euro-2020-england-italy-bank-holiday-final-b1881007.html
Calls for Monday to be a public holiday if England win on Sunday.
Scotland and Wales will have one if England lose 😉
this is absolutely pathetic and indicative of the small minded approach to world inclusiveness the English have! Entitled, arrogant and shows that the 'UK'gov only care for one nation!
09-07-2021, 06:39 PM
this is absolutely pathetic and indicative of the small minded approach to world inclusiveness the English have! Entitled, arrogant and shows that the 'UK'gov only care for one nation!
Why wouldn't there be one if Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland were ever to win the Euros?
09-07-2021, 06:41 PM
Why wouldn't there be one if Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland were ever to win the Euros?
you know the answer to that question!
09-07-2021, 06:46 PM
See, I’m a pretty grizzled, miserable, chip on the shoulder Scot who hopes they get pumped sideways on Sunday but in the event of them winning I have absolutely no problem whatsoever with them declaring a national holiday and I’m pretty sure that if Scotland were ever to achieve anything of that scale then similar would happen.
Without wishing to go too “Holy Ground” on here - there is a solution to having to live our lives through the lens of the English, we’ve just not quite convinced ourselves that we’re capable and if we’re to go down the resentment path then it should probably be done in front of a mirror.
The longer time goes by, the more realise I totally agree with the opinions of Renton in trainspotting regarding the dynamic of the relationship between Scotland and England.
09-07-2021, 06:48 PM
So what if England win its only a game of football. By the way how do you say Footballs coming home in Italian. 😁😁
09-07-2021, 07:54 PM
you know the answer to that question!
We'll probably never know but I actually think there would be calls for a Bank Holiday under those circumstances.
09-07-2021, 09:03 PM
So what if England win its only a game of football. By the way how do you say Footballs coming home in Italian. 😁😁
Google translate
Il calcio sta tornando a casa 🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹
09-07-2021, 09:04 PM
We'll probably never know but I actually think there would be calls for a Bank Holiday under those circumstances.
probably but those calls would fall on deaf ears from an uncaring UK gov.
Green Reaper
09-07-2021, 09:39 PM
Google translate
Il calcio sta tornando a casa 🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹
“Footballs coming to Rome” is much easier 😅
The Pointer
10-07-2021, 09:30 AM
probably but those calls would fall on deaf ears from an uncaring UK gov.
Despite it being within the remit of Holyrood. I'm pretty sure the Government would be very sure of supporting the idea of a national holiday should Scotland achieve such a feat.
Highwayman
10-07-2021, 01:45 PM
The eternally annoying Jane Lewis was on Off The Ball today and revealed that Gareth Southgate once refused her request for an interview.
The man obviously is a good judge of character and did well to avoid her idea of “interrogation “.
Still hope though that Italy gives his team a good skelping tomorrow night.
10-07-2021, 02:00 PM
The eternally annoying Jane Lewis was on Off The Ball today and revealed that Gareth Southgate once refused her request for an interview.
The man obviously is a good judge of character and did well to avoid her idea of “interrogation “.
Still hope though that Italy gives his team a good skelping tomorrow night.
Why can't I follow any of the links in this post 🤔😉
https://news.sky.com/story/euro-2020-gareth-southgate-evokes-wartime-spirit-ahead-of-final-urging-england-fans-to-be-proud-of-an-island-our-size-12352710
Aye really likeable right enough. GTF
10-07-2021, 04:46 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/euro-2020-gareth-southgate-evokes-wartime-spirit-ahead-of-final-urging-england-fans-to-be-proud-of-an-island-our-size-12352710
"People have tried to invade us and we've had the courage to hold that back," he told the paper.
He's a fruitcake, just missing the MEGA hat :greengrin
10-07-2021, 04:51 PM
"People have tried to invade us and we've had the courage to hold that back," he told the paper.
He's a fruitcake, just missing the MEGA hat :greengrin
Which people? Hitler? William of Orange?
10-07-2021, 04:53 PM
Maybe read the complete article for his views on modern England being an inclusive country etc.
10-07-2021, 05:00 PM
Maybe read the complete article for his views on modern England being an inclusive country etc.
Why would he bring up the blitz spirit as a factor in them beating Germany? Seems crass in the extreme imo
10-07-2021, 05:04 PM
Mr Southgate has went back down in my estimation, he just had to blow it
back to advertising Pizzas Gareth
:)
10-07-2021, 05:04 PM
The way he talks about the work of Rashford and Sterling is excellent.
The other comments come across as misguided as opposed to anything else.
10-07-2021, 05:19 PM
Why would he bring up the blitz spirit as a factor in them beating Germany? Seems crass in the extreme imo
It wasn’t the best thing to say but I’d call it clumsy rather than crass in the extreme. If a politician said it I might think differently though. Opinions. :greengrin
10-07-2021, 05:31 PM
Flag of St George in the window (next to a Hibs scarf) and as you can imagine very excited about the game tomorrow. Very hard to call and IMO the two best teams in the tournament.
Went shopping this morning (I know life in the fast lane) and virtually every other bloke was wearing something England related. Me, Hibs polo and clearly the coolest person in the supermarket.
10-07-2021, 05:40 PM
It wasn’t the best thing to say but I’d call it clumsy rather than crass in the extreme. If a politician said it I might think differently though. Opinions. :greengrin
Pretty poor comments relating a war to a football game. Poor by St Gareth showing his true colours now :greengrin
10-07-2021, 05:45 PM
Flag of St George in the window (next to a Hibs scarf) and as you can imagine very excited about the game tomorrow. Very hard to call and IMO the two best teams in the tournament.
Went shopping this morning (I know life in the fast lane) and virtually every other bloke was wearing something England related. Me, Hibs polo and clearly the coolest person in the supermarket.
Have a good night think you will do it. :aok:
You can’t be inclusive if you exclude Germans. It’s a contradiction.
MKHIBEE
10-07-2021, 05:49 PM
Wasn’t the “blitz spirit” recently found to be a bit of a myth?
EI255
10-07-2021, 05:50 PM
Aye really likeable right enough. GTFWhat an absolute fool. Went right down in my estimations now.
Invade who / what?
Britain brought misery to millions of totally innocent Germans during the bombing in ww2. Go see some German museums.
You won't get German people coming out with such utter tripe.
Because German people have class.
Something blinking face eegit Southgate lacks.
What a pathetic attempt to wow his audience. He'll be knighted before you know it. He's a creep.
MKHIBEE
10-07-2021, 05:54 PM
Southgate surely knows what constitutes an island and England certainly doesn’t. I fear he is being caught up in the Little Englander stance we see so often in football
Victor
10-07-2021, 05:54 PM
"For an island our size, we've got an incredible influence on the world and we've got to keep that in a positive way."
Is England an island? It’s on an island, but unless you discount Scotland (which he probably has) England is not totally surrounded by water. Maybe being pedantic, but he seems to be confusing England with the UK. Or is that him being inclusive?
Edit: Wrote this before I saw the previous post, glad it’s not just me.
10-07-2021, 06:18 PM
What a load of pish that is. Going on about wars and blitz spirit while seemingly confusing the fact that he’s the manager of England and not Britain. I actually quite like him, but he’s gone down in my estimation after that nonsense.
10-07-2021, 06:22 PM
What a load of pish that is. Going on about wars and blitz spirit while seemingly confusing the fact that he’s the manager of England and not Britain. I actually quite like him, but he’s gone down in my estimation after that nonsense.
He was actually doing ok in my books as well - blown it now though, he’s gone straight back to the pre 1966 final and ever since media guff. Pity.
10-07-2021, 06:24 PM
He was actually doing ok in my books as well - blown it now though, he’s gone straight back to the pre 1966 final and ever since media guff. Pity.
Maybe the pressure is getting to him.
MKHIBEE
10-07-2021, 06:28 PM
I have managed to avoid most of the news about the build up, I will now hopefully see or hear nothing until after the final whistle, if the englanders win good luck to them but I will avoid the tv and radio for a few days.
10-07-2021, 06:33 PM
"For an island our size, we've got an incredible influence on the world and we've got to keep that in a positive way."
Is England an island? It’s on an island, but unless you discount Scotland (which he probably has) England is not totally surrounded by water. Maybe being pedantic, but he seems to be confusing England with the UK. Or is that him being inclusive?
England doesn’t really have its own national identity separate from Britain or the UK is probably the truth of it, isn’t it?
10-07-2021, 06:37 PM
I have managed to avoid most of the news about the build up, I will now hopefully see or hear nothing until after the final whistle, if the englanders win good luck to them but I will avoid the tv and radio for a few days.
To be fair mate Im English and Im missing most of the news for similar reasons, its a bit of a cringe isnt it. That said i guess im a bit different, Im English and in my distant past followed England around the world, Im very excited about my country being in a major final, who wouldnt be? But I get Scotland and have worked and visited Edinburgh many times, been a season ticket holder at Hibs from the Fylde coast for a few seasons (not now due to circumstance but still get up as and when i can).Right now things are fever pitch in England, why wouldnt they be? Just think how amazing it would be in Scotland if you reached the final stages of a major tournament. We all see what we want to see.
10-07-2021, 06:39 PM
Most of the build up is pretty tolerable, just normal football fans getting excited about a major final. It really has the makings of a cracking game with the best team in the Tournament, (Italy ), playing the tournament’s emerging dark horses. I’m really looking forward to it.
I’m forecasting Italy winning a penalty shoot out and Kane being courted by Pizza Hut afterwards. :greengrin
10-07-2021, 06:45 PM
Most of the build up is pretty tolerable, just normal football fans getting excited about a major final. It really has the makings of a cracking game with the best team in the Tournament, (Italy ), playing the tournament’s emerging dark horses. I’m really looking forward to it.
I’m forecasting Italy winning a penalty shoot out and Kane being courted by Pizza Hut afterwards. :greengrin
Im thinking of watching the match tomorrow with a Pizza bag on my head with two holes cut out.
I'll give you all fair warning though I will be wearing my Green French Connecton lucky top that I wore on a certain day at Hampden in 2016. Italy have no chance :wink::greengrin
hibeg
10-07-2021, 06:59 PM
I have sky sports news on series link for 7 am every day. I have deleted them all so don’t even know what’s going on in the wider world of sports !
10-07-2021, 07:00 PM
I have sky sports news on series link for 7 am every day. I have deleted them all so don’t even know what’s going on in the wider world of sports !
Hate to tell you mate but Hearts have won the SPL in preseason beating their previous record of September.
MKHIBEE
10-07-2021, 08:12 PM
To be fair mate Im English and Im missing most of the news for similar reasons, its a bit of a cringe isnt it. That said i guess im a bit different, Im English and in my distant past followed England around the world, Im very excited about my country being in a major final, who wouldnt be? But I get Scotland and have worked and visited Edinburgh many times, been a season ticket holder at Hibs from the Fylde coast for a few seasons (not now due to circumstance but still get up as and when i can).Right now things are fever pitch in England, why wouldnt they be? Just think how amazing it would be in Scotland if you reached the final stages of a major tournament. We all see what we want to see.
I get that true football fans are excited and looking forward to the game, I have 3 sons who have followed England all over Europe for the last 10 years, no problem with any of that. When I hear about 10 German bombers, 2 world wars 1 World Cup, no surrender to the IRA and the like then I despair. Add to that the jingoistic attitude from most presenters and commentators then I will give it a miss. I hope you enjoy the game, if you win feel free to ignore miserable old barstewards like me!
The Baldmans Comb
10-07-2021, 08:33 PM
Southgate is from England and is using English TV,English radio and English newspapers to fan the flames of English nationalism by enlisting both the mythical spirit of the Blitz together with some fabled English exceptionalism.
I actually see that as being rather normal and other than being a bit crass exactly as to be expected from any English authoritative figure.
England is an admirable country who always uses every trick at its disposal to ensure that English interests are always paramount and Southgate is just following in a well trodden path of politician and celebrity.
MKHIBEE
10-07-2021, 08:47 PM
Southgate is from England and is using English TV,English radio and English newspapers to fan the flames of English nationalism by enlisting both the mythical spirit of the Blitz together with some fabled English exceptionalism.
I actually see that as being rather normal and other than being a bit crass exactly as to be expected from any English authoritative figure.
England is an admirable country who always uses every trick at its disposal to ensure that English interests are always paramount and Southgate is just following in a well trodden path of politician and celebrity.
Southgate is also using British tv and British radio to fan English nationalistic flames.
10-07-2021, 08:57 PM
I heard that UEFA had refused permission for Badiel and Skinner performing Three Lions before the game tomorrow......... too partisan apparently ......... a rare occasion of UEFA getting something right for a change. Maybe they’ll get away with singing Jerusalem after God Save The Queen. :greengrin
10-07-2021, 09:03 PM
I heard that UEFA had refused permission for Badiel and Skinner performing Three Lions before the game tomorrow......... too partisan apparently ......... a rare occasion of UEFA getting something right for a change. Maybe they’ll get away with singing Jerusalem after God Save The Queen. :greengrin
Should go for a playlist of English classics like chim, chiminee, and my old man's a dustman. 😉
10-07-2021, 09:07 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/RPZCWVvz774KYtz37
10-07-2021, 09:14 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/RPZCWVvz774KYtz37
With one win agaisnt them nearly 60 years ago do you think they know who you are? :greengrin:greengrin
I'll bow out now I know I'm playing to the wrong audience.
From a purely football POV enjoy the game tomorrow fellas
Mon the Hibs
10-07-2021, 10:17 PM
Italy good odds to win tomorrow.
11-07-2021, 07:45 AM
England doesn’t really have its own national identity separate from Britain or the UK is probably the truth of it, isn’t it?
Spot on. Part of the reason non football fans can’t fathom why we don’t actively support England in big games.
11-07-2021, 07:48 AM
Correct. If only the had Baccara - Yes Sir, I can boogie. That would have gotten through the UEFA parity censors.
11-07-2021, 09:23 AM
Correct. If only the had Baccara - Yes Sir, I can boogie. That would have gotten through the UEFA parity censors.
The ‘boogie’ song qualifies because of it’s truly international connections - Baccarat, Spanish, The Fratellis, Scottish Italians. :greengrin
11-07-2021, 09:29 AM
And you’ve just discounted Wales :greengrin
11-07-2021, 10:16 AM
Not overkill. At. All. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210711/6754a8719c189a96df46322ab7604078.jpg
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Steven79
11-07-2021, 10:34 AM
What an absolute fool. Went right down in my estimations now.
Invade who / what?
Britain brought misery to millions of totally innocent Germans during the bombing in ww2. Go see some German museums.
What a pathetic attempt to wow his audience. He'll be knighted before you know it. He's a creep.
English not British but I suppose in his eyes they are the same thing!
11-07-2021, 11:15 AM
Invade who / what?
If you read your history books you will find that the Germans were also responsible for inflicting misery and death to many millions of innocent people across the whole of Europe.
There was not much class in that period in their history.
11-07-2021, 11:18 AM
If you read your history books you will find that the Germans were also responsible for inflicting misery and death to many millions of innocent people across the whole of Europe.
There was not much class in that period in their history.And that event some 80 years ago matters... How?
I think it's pretty crass mentioning the blitz spirit after winning a game of football against Germany
I don't even know why it comes into anyones thinking
I like this England team and I've always liked Southgate, seems like a bit of a poor interview though
He's here!
11-07-2021, 11:19 AM
Southgate is also using British tv and British radio to fan English nationalistic flames.
Dearie me. What nonsense. Southgate has conducted himself very well throughout, under what must be enormous pressure, and has rightly drawn admiration and praise from msny quarters.
The only thing that concerns me about England doing so well at this tournament is the massive covid spike we're likely to see as a result.
That aside, good luck to Southgate and his team. Hope they win it.
11-07-2021, 11:24 AM
Dearie me. What nonsense. Southgate has conducted himself very well throughout, under what must be enormous pressure, and has rightly drawn admiration and praise from msny quarters.
The only thing that concerns me about England doing so well at this tournament is the massive covid spike we're likely to see as a result.
That aside, good luck to Southgate and his team. Hope they win it.England loose all restrictions a week on Monday so a covid spike is probably moot
11-07-2021, 12:07 PM
I really hope tonight’s game proves to be a fitting finale to what has been a superb tournament. I’d fallen out of love with International football years ago but I haven’t been able to get enough of it this past few weeks, there have been some wonderful matches.
Italy haven’t lost a match now for over 30 games and I can’t see that changing tonight. England have done extremely well to get there, I had them down as quarter finalists at best. If they stick to the same patient game plan they have used the whole tournament then they can win but If Italy play anywhere near their best I think they will be just too good. I’m buzzing here, I can’t wait to see how it plays out. :thumbsup:
11-07-2021, 12:09 PM
I really hope tonight’s game proves to be a fitting finale to what has been a superb tournament. I’d fallen out of love with International football years ago but I haven’t been able to get enough of it this past few weeks, there have been wonderful matches.
Italy haven’t lost a match now for over 30 games and I can’t see that changing tonight. England have done extremely well to get there, I had them down as quarter finalists at best. If they stick to the same patient game plan they have used the whole tournament then they can win but If Italy play anywhere near their best I think they will be just too good. I’m buzzing here, I can’t wait to see how it plays out. [emoji106]It's been a really good tournament - open and exciting [emoji106]
11-07-2021, 02:46 PM
I really hope tonight’s game proves to be a fitting finale to what has been a superb tournament. I’d fallen out of love with International football years ago but I haven’t been able to get enough of it this past few weeks, there have been some wonderful matches.
Italy haven’t lost a match now for over 30 games and I can’t see that changing tonight. England have done extremely well to get there, I had them down as quarter finalists at best. If they stick to the same patient game plan they have used the whole tournament then they can win but If Italy play anywhere near their best I think they will be just too good. I’m buzzing here, I can’t wait to see how it plays out. :thumbsup:
Completely agree. It's been a real antidote to the isolation of lockdown and Covid restrictions, given people something to share and had some great football. I'm desperate for Italy to win it but whoever wins I'll be sad that it's over. And at the end of the day, it is just football.
11-07-2021, 02:53 PM
Completely agree. It's been a real antidote to the isolation of lockdown and Covid restrictions, given people something to share and had some great football. I'm desperate for Italy to win it but whoever wins I'll be sad that it's over. And at the end of the day, it is just football.
I'm the complete opposite, I watched Scotland's games, and I've caught the end of a few games, but it doesn't consume me. I won't be watching tonight, my Sunday's tend to be dinner with music, listening to vinyl is my Sunday pleasure. I might look at my phone around half time and full time. I hope Itally win, but it won't be the end of the world for me. The telly has been OK (apart from the OTT coverage of any school where someone connected with the England team went to :rolleyes:)
PS dinner is seafood tagliateli :wink:
CloudSquall
11-07-2021, 02:59 PM
I had suppressed my ABE tendency given I'm in South America and had managed to avoid the UK media, but that article has ensured I'm full blown unadulterated McGlashan for the rest of the day.
11-07-2021, 03:02 PM
Same as you, international football hasn’t really interested me for a long time but I’ve really enjoyed this one. Probably because we were part of it (even if it was short lived).
England apparently going more cautious tonight with a back three which isn’t really a surprise. Hopefully Italy get in front tonight because I don’t see them running out of steam the way the Danes did the other night.
11-07-2021, 03:06 PM
Out and about in London and nearly every third person is wearing an England tshirt or top or waving a flag or with face paint, never seen this before.
I don't know if it will be worse if they win or lose today...
11-07-2021, 03:07 PM
International football tournaments are the pinnacle for me, I just love them every second year, this one has been one of the better ones for sure.
Forza Italia. Always one of my favorite countries and I’ve enjoyed watching engerland fail to win major tournaments my entire life and I don’t want that changing. Anything else is going to be a kick in the teeth.
11-07-2021, 03:11 PM
Out and about in London and nearly every third person is wearing an England tshirt or top or waving a flag or with face paint, never seen this before.
None of which I have a problem with, it’s their media that are OTT, I understand that they are “speaking” to the majority but their pathetic jingoism gets on my tits
11-07-2021, 03:19 PM
Invade who / what?
Not getting into a War debate but did the Germans not wreak havoc with their bombing raids on Britain?
11-07-2021, 03:20 PM
just one of 45214321904 reasons i hope they're hurting tonight
‘He is nine years old’ – more Danes tell of being abused by England fans | Denmark | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/football/2021/jul/10/he-is-nine-years-old-more-danes-tell-of-being-abused-by-england-fans?fbclid=IwAR229piqyAOxnlShquaJuwpY-xm6S6JKipZc-8BHuDx9I8cUBchE9Qw4j1E)
i just hope poor Italians aren't hanging about after their side triumphs
11-07-2021, 03:23 PM
None of which I have a problem with, it’s their media that are OTT, I understand that they are “speaking” to the majority but their pathetic jingoism gets on my tits
Even Cerys Matthews on radio 6 Music was urging them on, and she is Welsh!
11-07-2021, 03:29 PM
There’s been two references now on Five Live to an unpleasant atmosphere on wembley way and it not being a place to take young children:dunno: Wish they would be more specific
John Murray also said there are 30 or 40 Italian fans inside Wembley now and it would be safer for them inside than outside.
MKHIBEE
11-07-2021, 03:30 PM
A national football team manager invoking the (mythical) spirit of the blitz while commenting on Englands record in repelling would be invaders doesnt really belong in an interview about a football match. .
11-07-2021, 03:36 PM
Even Cerys Matthews on radio 6 Music was urging them on, and she is Welsh!
Wales might as well be part of England most of the time anyway.
Cannae really stick them tbh
Hillsidehibby
11-07-2021, 03:44 PM
I hope they boo the Italian national anthem and that gets the Italians dander up
11-07-2021, 03:46 PM
Rumour is Saka has been dropped for Trippier
11-07-2021, 03:46 PM
I will be euphoric if England lose and the media and pundits are distraught. I’ve got to be honest and I’ll feel a tiny bit sorry for the ordinary English punter and the players, but I would get over it.:greengrin
11-07-2021, 03:47 PM
A national football team manager invoking the (mythical) spirit of the blitz while commenting on Englands record in repelling would be invaders doesnt really belong in an interview about a football match. .
It does in England.
Until that changes, they're just going to have to get used to the fact that they'll seldom enjoy the support of anyone outside of their own nation.
I don't expect the vast majority of them will care.
11-07-2021, 03:48 PM
I don’t get the whole ABE mindset or culture if you want to call it that, just think folk like that have small man syndrome or the like.
That aside, just back from the Republic of Ireland and I was shocked how ‘pro’ England the RTE coverage was with the exception of Liam Brady. Even South East Radio was playing its coming home (heard it immediately after the Ukraine game when I was driving for a run).
11-07-2021, 03:53 PM
fireworks going off outside the Italian team hotel at 2am
11-07-2021, 04:01 PM
I hope Italy win tonight, they’ve been the best team in the tournament. I’ll not be that bothered if England win it and I’ll be happy for the few English hibbys on here. I’ve not watched the build up to any of the games so far as I can’t stand listening to the pundits on either channel. Whatever the result I hope everyone can just enjoy it and not have any trouble tonight.
11-07-2021, 04:18 PM
I hope Italy win tonight, they’ve been the best team in the tournament. I’ll not be that bothered if England win it and I’ll be happy for the few English hibbys on here. I’ve not watched the build up to any of the games so far as I can’t stand listening to the pundits on either channel. Whatever the result I hope everyone can just enjoy it and not have any trouble tonight.
Zero chance there is no trouble. 8pm kick off means that every city centre in England will get trashed tonight. Looking at Twitter, a few already have been. And if they lose, there won’t be an Italian restaurant left in England.
11-07-2021, 04:22 PM
Zero chance there is no trouble. 8pm kick off means that every city centre in England will get trashed tonight. Looking at Twitter, a few already have been. And if they lose, there won’t be an Italian restaurant left in England.
:agree: lock the Fiat in the garage tonight.
Souter96Mac
11-07-2021, 04:29 PM
Correct. There's also a staggering stat going around about the impact on domestic abuse cases, that England's results have when playing in tournaments.
Whilst I'll be supporting Italy tonight, I do hope everyone can remain safe and well, regardless of tonights result.
11-07-2021, 04:40 PM
I just hope it's a good game to end what has been a superb tournament. It's a very tricky one to call; I fully expect extra time and possibly penalties.
11-07-2021, 04:54 PM
They can kiss goodbye to hosting the World Cup in the near future if they can’t behave.
11-07-2021, 04:58 PM
They can kiss goodbye to hosting the World Cup in the near future if they can’t behave.
I suspect one or two Italian restaurants will survive and not every city centre will look like the set of zombie apocalypse.
We could maybe blame visiting England fans for Dundee tomorrow morning though. :greengrin
Stairway 2 7
11-07-2021, 05:03 PM
https://twitter.com/NewsForAllUK/status/1414268273487716360
News For All
@NewsForAllUK
Police cars revolving lightFace with rolling eyes | NEW: People trying to get into Wembley without tickets
https://mobile.twitter.com/NewsForAllUK/status/1414246103407529989
Bottles and Missiles being thrown Bottles thrown at Leicester Square, London
https://mobile.twitter.com/NewsForAllUK/status/1414243698704015364
NEW: England fans stamp on Italy’s flag
Tommy75
11-07-2021, 05:13 PM
England fans wearing strips etc in England on the day of a final? What's the problem?
11-07-2021, 05:24 PM
BBC or STV??
11-07-2021, 05:27 PM
I suspect one or two Italian restaurants will survive and not every city centre will look like the set of zombie apocalypse.
We could maybe blame visiting England fans for Dundee tomorrow morning though. :greengrin
Haha poor Dundee :greengrin
11-07-2021, 05:29 PM
BBC or STV??
I’m going to watch on RTE :wink:
11-07-2021, 05:38 PM
England will burn tonight when they lose. In fact it will get trashed even if they win. Their fans are as close as you’ll get to being on a par with the huns.
Stairway 2 7
11-07-2021, 05:38 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/NewsForAllUK/status/1414274893978472449
NEW: People swarm into Wembley with no ticket
Be funny if they call if off.
11-07-2021, 05:41 PM
Radio Five Live were just reporting the atmosphere outside the ground hasn’t been great for a few hours now. Hopefully it’s dealt with and those who have tickets get in safely.
bringbackbenny
11-07-2021, 05:44 PM
allegedly just the general concourse.. not past the turnstiles?
11-07-2021, 05:46 PM
allegedly just the general concourse.. not past the turnstiles?
But they’ll block fans with tickets from getting in
What a nightmare for the Stewards and the police
bringbackbenny
11-07-2021, 05:50 PM
But they’ll block fans with tickets from getting in
What a nightmare for the Stewards and the police
yes, that's likely. well they should forfeit the tie it that's happening :greengrin
11-07-2021, 05:53 PM
England 3421, very defensive line up at first glance, trying to nullify the Italy midfield?
11-07-2021, 05:56 PM
NEW: People swarm into Wembley with no ticketYeah but their manager is a likeable lovely guy so why does everyone want them to lose?
Embarrassing but entirely predictable scenes as usual.
11-07-2021, 05:57 PM
England 3421, very defensive line up at first glance, trying to nullify the Italy midfield?
I think he has it right. England lack pace in defence so need numbers. They may pay the price in midfield though.
11-07-2021, 05:58 PM
Just watching the highlights of the goals from the 1966 final there on BBC. Never realised how bad the standard of football was back then, utterly abysmal defending from both sides.
11-07-2021, 05:58 PM
What a absolute morons decide to try and get in without a ticket
What is going through your mind when doing that?
11-07-2021, 06:00 PM
Maybe looking to keep Italy goalless for the first 60 before ringing in the changes and keeping extra time in mind?
11-07-2021, 06:00 PM
Just watching the highlights of the goals from the 1966 final there on BBC. Never realised how bad the standard of football was back then, utterly abysmal defending from both sides.And no chnsce that was over line despite Monday night footballs asertion [emoji23][emoji23]
11-07-2021, 06:05 PM
Listening to BBC, sounds like the England players could be meeting the Pope soon to be sainted (or whatever the bloody word is). ��
11-07-2021, 06:06 PM
I’m just hoping to see Vialli sprinting out the dugout and rounding the advertising boards to celebrate, it’s been one of the highlights of the tournament so far. :greengrin
11-07-2021, 06:06 PM
I remember crowds outside Hampden in the late 70s and early 80s trying to get in to see Scotland play England. And we generally managed it….. I mean the morons usually managed to scale the walls. :greengrin
I get your point though , different times.
11-07-2021, 06:07 PM
I remember crowds outside Hampden in the late 70s and early 80s trying to get in to see Scotland play England. And we generally managed it….. I mean the morons usually managed to scale the walls. :greengrin
I get your point though , different times.
To be fair, Scotland fans used to always find a way, to get into the old Wembley
11-07-2021, 06:08 PM
To be fair, Scotland fans used to always find a way, to get into the old Wembley
True .:greengrin
11-07-2021, 06:09 PM
https://twitter.com/GBNEWS/status/1414154757296607233?s=19
LOL.
11-07-2021, 06:11 PM
At the 5-1 humping down there we were astonished to see Scotland fans scaling the outer walls of the old Wembley. They literally could have fallen to their deaths.
11-07-2021, 06:12 PM
Italy : Donnarumma Di Lorenzo Bonucci Chielini Emerson Barella Jorginho Veratti Chiesa Immobile and Insigne
England : Pickford Trippier Walker Stones Maguire Shaw Phillips Rice Mount Kane and Sterling
11-07-2021, 06:13 PM
Drinking all day, fever pitch build up, tickets selling for £8k a pair, 20,000 empty seats.
Penalty for getting caught trying to get in .... a little ticking off. No brainer. Police should have anticipated this.
CloudSquall
11-07-2021, 06:20 PM
Lol, you'd be absolutely ****ing spewing if Stevie Clark used the "Bannockburn spirit" to back up a Scottish performance.
I hope England get humped to get it right up Scottish Labour anaw.
11-07-2021, 06:28 PM
Italy : Donnarumma Di Lorenzo Bonucci Chielini Emerson Barella Jorginho Veratti Chiesa Immobile and Insigne
England : Pickford Trippier Walker Stones Maguire Shaw Phillips Rice Mount Kane and Sterling
Billy,
I’m disappointed that you should choose to show your favouritism for Italy by using 2 lines to list their team but only 1 for England. :wink:
11-07-2021, 06:34 PM
Lol, you'd be absolutely ****ing spewing if Stevie Clark used the "Bannockburn spirit" to back up a Scottish performance.
I hope England get humped to get it right up Scottish Labour anaw.
:greengrinWe tapped into the Bannockburn spirit with a courage draw at wembley to send the auld enemy away with their tail between their legs
We should have sent down a copy of the declaration of arbroath right after it
Freeedom.
11-07-2021, 06:35 PM
Listening to BBC, sounds like the England players could be meeting the Pope soon to be sainted (or whatever the bloody word is). ��
Surely not cause believe it or not I heard someone on the news this morning claim it was ‘anglicans v catholics’ 🤦🏽*♂️
11-07-2021, 06:37 PM
Surely not cause believe it or not I heard someone on the news this morning claim it was ‘anglicans v catholics’ 🤦🏽*♂️
Really? That’s poor by any measure.
11-07-2021, 06:41 PM
Drinking all day, fever pitch build up, tickets selling for £8k a pair, 20,000 empty seats.
Penalty for getting caught trying to get in .... a little ticking off. No brainer. Police should have anticipated this.
Think that covers it.
There is always some group or other making football supporters look bad.
11-07-2021, 06:44 PM
Ian Wrights doing ma tits in already
11-07-2021, 06:44 PM
Just watching the highlights of the goals from the 1966 final there on BBC. Never realised how bad the standard of football was back then, utterly abysmal defending from both sides.
Ian Wrights doing ma tits in already
Roy Keane... "don't forget to win" 😂
pollution
11-07-2021, 06:47 PM
Writing as an Italy fan I worry that Sterling is going to run directly at Chiellini and Bonucci all evening looking for the slightest contact.
I don't fancy Emerson, he looked rusty the other night. Doesn't get a game for his club yet plays for the national side.
Put plenty of pressure on Pickford, England's weak point.
I dread it but I sense a penalty shoot out.
11-07-2021, 06:48 PM
Writing as an Italy fan I worry that Sterling is going to run directly at Chiellini and Bonucci all evening looking for the slightest contact.
I don't fancy Emerson, he looked rusty the other night. Doesn't get a game for his club yet plays for the national side.
Put plenty of pressure on Pickford, England's weak point.
I dread it but I sense a penalty shoot out.
Disagree, I thought Emerson had a good game against Spain.
11-07-2021, 06:50 PM
Good luck Italy🇮🇹
11-07-2021, 06:50 PM
Hopefully there is an early goal.
11-07-2021, 06:51 PM
This is Chiesa’s final. 2-1 Italy, Chiesa double.
11-07-2021, 06:53 PM
I hope so, this is unbearable television
11-07-2021, 06:53 PM
It's rare to see such a positive, upbeat crowd before a Final. However this plays out going to be an interesting night :greengrin
11-07-2021, 06:54 PM
How confident do the Italians look? The crowd is not going to affect them. England will get a massive lift though.
11-07-2021, 06:54 PM
That was a really cool wee montage there tbf
11-07-2021, 06:56 PM
How confident do the Italians look? The crowd is not going to affect them. England will get a massive lift though.
Hope it’s the same for the officials
11-07-2021, 06:56 PM
Boo boys at it again.
11-07-2021, 06:57 PM
Here we go, 70000 people singing about someone’s granny
11-07-2021, 06:57 PM
Did it a couple of times myself at the old Wembley for the home internationals, getting in to watch the match was my thoughts at the time i suppose.
11-07-2021, 06:58 PM
What a difference watching the Irish coverage makes, decent unbiased build up to what should be a cracking game. Why can’t we have our own coverage up here?
11-07-2021, 06:58 PM
What a difference watching the Irish coverage makes, decent unbiased build up to what should be a cracking game. Why can’t we have our own coverage up here?
Where can I find that
11-07-2021, 06:59 PM
Because we’re an “equal” part of a famous union, now sit down and take your medicine.
pollution
11-07-2021, 06:59 PM
Is Bonucci on Gary Tank Commander too ?
11-07-2021, 07:00 PM
Gay pride VW.
The quirky star of the tournament.
Game is on Sportsound, Scottish commentators
Cmon Italy.
11-07-2021, 07:02 PM
1-0 England
Oops
**** off. You’ve got to be joking
11-07-2021, 07:03 PM
Have the Italians forgotten they are renowned for their defending.
That was ****ing atrocious.
Wow. How easy was that?
**** off. You’ve got to be joking
Some start, great move great goal
Oh **** off.
11-07-2021, 07:04 PM
Oh dear, Italy ARE just making up the numbers :greengrin
11-07-2021, 07:04 PM
Junior level defending from the kings of defending
11-07-2021, 07:05 PM
That was garbage by Italy on both flanks
HendoDelivered
11-07-2021, 07:05 PM
Whole tournys been set up for then to have a decent chance at winning. All games at home bar one. Final at home…. Tell me it’s not rigged 😂
11-07-2021, 07:06 PM
It was a very good goal from Englands pov
Mourinho will still be raging at Luke Shaw
11-07-2021, 07:06 PM
England should go for the jugular here. Italians are a mess.
11-07-2021, 07:09 PM
WTF is wrong with the Italians at the back? They are a shambles.
11-07-2021, 07:10 PM
Oh ****ing hell
Whole tournys been set up for then to have a decent chance at winning. All games at home bar one. Final at home…. Tell me it’s not rigged 😂
Bit early for the conspiracy theories 😊
11-07-2021, 07:13 PM
That was all decided years ago.
It's no different from any other team that has hosted a tournament or a final.
11-07-2021, 07:14 PM
"Losing the first goal takes away the fear of losing the first goal"
11-07-2021, 07:14 PM
I think England will win this at a canter.
11-07-2021, 07:15 PM
Still early days.
Yip Italian's need to wise up or England will as you say win at a canter.
CloudSquall
11-07-2021, 07:17 PM
Oh dear, I'm just hoping this is building to the cruellest of cruel failures when Italy launch a comeback..
11-07-2021, 07:18 PM
Italy look very comfortable on the ball when they can put a foot on it. England are doing well to rush them in possesion though. Their issue is when they don't have the ball, they are all over the place.
11-07-2021, 07:19 PM
Oh dear, I'm just hoping this is building to the cruellest of cruel failures when Italy launch a comeback..
Italian equaliser in the 94th minute and Italy win on penalties.
11-07-2021, 07:20 PM
Kane falls over his own feet again, big tongued **** is my pet hate
11-07-2021, 07:20 PM
The diving from Kane is ridiculous
11-07-2021, 07:22 PM
Italy showing nothing to indicate they’re going to storm back.
Now I know how Hearts fans felt in 2016.
Kane is a blatant cheat! Loses the ball, throws himself down and screams!
Me also.
3-0. They’re far superior player for player imo.
11-07-2021, 07:23 PM
Italy look very comfortable on the ball when they can put a foot on it. England are doing well to rush them in possesion though. Their issue is when they don't have the ball, they are all over the place.
Yeap. Southgate has England playing to their strengths but the weaknesses are obvious. Italy should still win this.
11-07-2021, 07:23 PM
Italy playing the occasion. England dangerous everytime they go forward, esp on the right. Sterling finding miles of space in centre mid. Not sure what Italy's game plan was, but it needs to change.
11-07-2021, 07:25 PM
Italy look vurnerable at the back and poor going forward.
Ideal.
The Italian number 2 attempt at blocking the shot for for the goal is ridiculous, rather than flying across to try and block he's too busy putting his hands behind his back
11-07-2021, 07:26 PM
The Italian number 2 attempt at blocking the shot for for the goal is ridiculous, rather than flying across to try and block he's too busy putting his hands behind his backNo idea why he's so central anyway
Kane was only attacker in the box
11-07-2021, 07:30 PM
England by far the better team here
Italy look like the occasion has got to them so far
Zero fluidity and exposed in defence
11-07-2021, 07:31 PM
England bossing this.
Can see them scoring again before half time
Italy look out of ideas already.
Can see this game just petering out. Echoes of the cup final v St Johnstone.
11-07-2021, 07:33 PM
https://twitter.com/peterbland8/status/1414304375393169411?s=20
Terrifying.
11-07-2021, 07:34 PM
For all their pretty possession, Italy lack ideas in the final 3rd. England look much sharper up front.
11-07-2021, 07:34 PM
I don't think England have looked particularly threatening in the last 10-15 minutes either. They are struggling to put 4 or 5 passes together.
Taking nothing away from them at all, they are well worth their lead and are playing Italy well but I don't see them rattling up 3 or 4 as it stands.
Green Reaper
11-07-2021, 07:35 PM
Chiesa close
Renfrew_Hibby
11-07-2021, 07:39 PM
Is it just me or is the ref a bit of a prick?
11-07-2021, 07:39 PM
Terrifying.
Horrendous stuff.
11-07-2021, 07:40 PM
Luke Shaw having a good time of it.
11-07-2021, 07:43 PM
Terrifying.
Embarrassing.
CloudSquall
11-07-2021, 07:45 PM
Would be interesting to see the crowd reaction if Italy score and then take a hold of the game, atmosphere seems volatile..
NC1875
11-07-2021, 07:45 PM
Sterling diving again. Shock
11-07-2021, 07:47 PM
Italy just look slow
Previous games I've seen them there energy and drive have been the difference
They look a bit like Italy of old without the solid defence
11-07-2021, 07:48 PM
Would be interesting to see the crowd reaction if Italy score and then take a hold of the game, atmosphere seems volatile..
The atmosphere is crap. Hard to believe with all the English hype that it’s so poor.
11-07-2021, 07:49 PM
The atmosphere is crap. Hard to believe with all the English hype that it’s so poor.
Said the same. Atmosphere is pish.
11-07-2021, 07:51 PM
Can't believe how bad Italy are in the final 3rd. Zero ideas, zero threat, easy street for England. Scotland have pushed England the hardest in this tournament.
CloudSquall
Probably should have clarified that I was talking about the slaphead vs slaphead aggro at the turnstiles:greengrin
Italy just look slow
England aren’t letting them play their game. I expect Italy to make changes at half time but Southgate has got this right so far.
Said the same. Atmosphere is pish.It surley can't be like that in the ground
It sounds about as atmospheric as my house right now
11-07-2021, 07:52 PM
Can't believe how bad Italy are in the final 3rd. Zero ideas, zero threat, easy street for England. Scotland have pushed England the hardest in this tournament.
Like watching the cup final again. Anti football winning again
Could someone explain to me how it’s fair that a European final has 84k England fans and 6k Italian? That’s ignoring the advantage England already have playing at Wembley.
11-07-2021, 07:52 PM
England aren’t letting them play their game. I expect Italy to make changes at half time but Southgate has got this right so far.They are even slowing there own counter attacks down
Look terrified of the occasion whereas earlier in the tournament they looked fearless
11-07-2021, 07:53 PM
Could someone explain to me how it’s fair that a European final has 84k England fans and 6k Italian? That’s ignoring the advantage England already have playing at Wembley.I thought there was only 60k allowed?
11-07-2021, 07:53 PM
0-0, England have it all to gain. 1-0, England have it all to lose.
Huge difference, crowd just nervous.
11-07-2021, 07:54 PM
Probably should have clarified that I was talking about the slaphead vs slaphead aggro at the turnstiles:greengrin
England has been a very angry nation for a while but with no idea why. A very dangerous situation.
11-07-2021, 07:55 PM
It surley can't be like that in the ground
It sounds about as atmospheric as my house right now
Nerves.
But if England win I guess we can take comfort in the crap atmosphere. :greengrin
I’m expecting it to heat up a bit when Italy equalise.
It’s like watching the Scottish Cup Final in May
Although the Italians have been garbage this game is still there for the taking. England have looked nervous. Where they would normally passed and retained possession they have lumped it as far as they could. If Italy get the next goal I think England will crack.
Can I put in a word of praise for the referee.
He's taken no nonsense from either team and has ignored multiple attempts to 'win' free kicks. He's even laughed at a couple of the efforts.
It’s on.
11-07-2021, 07:56 PM
He's taken no nonsense from either team and has ignored multiple attempts to 'win' free kicks. He's even laughed at a couple of the efforts.
Agreed. He has been excellent.
11-07-2021, 07:56 PM
I’ve said previously in this tournament that Southgate is wasting so much attacking talent with his team selections, but he’s getting the results. It’s no pretty, it’s very defensive, but if it works it works. Fair play.
11-07-2021, 07:57 PM
It’s like watching the Scottish Cup Final in May
Yup. The game is unfolding exactly the same way.
11-07-2021, 07:57 PM
It feels like a very nervous Wembley. England do seem to start both half's strongly so Italy have to watch out for an early 2nd England goal, then it would be game over. An Italy goal and I'd fancy them to go on to win 2-1.
11-07-2021, 07:58 PM
Italy just look slow
:agree: Night and day to their previous games. Think difference is the threat that England breakaway carries. If they go 2 down, it's over.
I’ve said previously in this tournament that Southgate is wasting so much attacking talent with his team selections, but he’s getting the results. It’s no pretty, it’s very defensive, but if it works it works. Fair play.
I’ve kept saying I can’t believe he keeps playing 5 defenders and 2 holding midfielders. But here they are winning the final and looking extremely comfortable so you’d have to say he’s got it right.
Yup. The game is unfolding exactly the same way.
Scary how similar and frustrating it is
I agree, well I hope our refs are watching, on how to officiate the divers
The trouble with changes from the Italian bench is that it's not that strong. Second half, England will slow it down, waste time, and try to see it out. Italians pushing in the last 20 minutes, English breakaway to score again.
11-07-2021, 07:59 PM
0-0, England have it all to gain. 1-0, England have it all to lose.
Huge difference, crowd just nervous.
Can’t agree. If you’re at a cup final and leading the place is bouncing.
11-07-2021, 07:59 PM
We best get used to this, England have won it! Someone said earlier that it was like watching the SC in May, I fully concur and this game has all the makings of the same outcome.
11-07-2021, 08:00 PM
The trouble with changes from the Italian bench is that it's not that strong. Second half, England will slow it down, waste time, and try to see it out. Italians pushing in the last 20 minutes, English breakaway to score again.
Don’t upset me Ronnie
11-07-2021, 08:02 PM
Think Italy will be happy enough at half time. No need to panic yet.
Thought England were going to run right over them first 15 but they gradually got stronger. Next goal huge, obviously.
11-07-2021, 08:03 PM
Italy look vurnerable at the back and poor going forward.
Ideal.
England the better team. They're out italianing the Italians though.
11-07-2021, 08:04 PM
Confirmed, folk are in the ground with no tickets
11-07-2021, 08:04 PM
Not sure I agree Locatelli Belotti and Peschina are good and can offer something. Personally would bring on Belotti now as more likely to run in behind as Immobile been poor. Their full backs are probably weakest part of the team and it has showed.
11-07-2021, 08:05 PM
If Immobile cannae get involved in the game in the next 10-15 mins then get him off.