View Full Version : Match Updates Euro 2021 non-Scotland games

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20

EI255
07-07-2021, 09:26 PM
Wondering what else I can do on Sunday instead of watching the final.Richard Branson is going into space on Sunday. Not sure if on TV

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EI255
07-07-2021, 09:27 PM
If England win the Euros and Harry Kane scores in the final, I think he might be a serious contender for Ballon d’Or.No chance.

07-07-2021, 09:28 PM
referee says no penalty...............shocks all around

EI255
07-07-2021, 09:28 PM
Who is the female pundit who came off mute on her mic and was signing?

07-07-2021, 09:29 PM
Richard Branson is going into space on Sunday. Not sure if on TV

It's on YouTube

Magpie
No chance.

Why not? Most goals and most assists in the PL as well as possibly winning the Golden Boot and captaining his country to a major tournament win. He’s currently 2nd fav with the bookies.

Sterling's a cheating *******, should be banned for that.

07-07-2021, 09:30 PM

He’ll prob get a knighthood for it

Wonder if I could join him

Does he have a spare seat?

07-07-2021, 09:31 PM
6 minutes after Denmark have been playing with 10 men commentary finally notice

AliboyFC
07-07-2021, 09:31 PM
Maybe he supports England. Several here are.

Yeh I do but I like to see Scotland do well aswell.

07-07-2021, 09:33 PM
Yeh I do but I like to see Scotland do well aswell.

Didn't know you were English, chief. Crack on! :-)

07-07-2021, 09:34 PM
Denmark have given up the ghost.

07-07-2021, 09:35 PM
Is that Alan Partridge commentating for ITV? :greengrin

07-07-2021, 09:36 PM
Denmark have given up the ghost.

They gave up around about the 70th minute of normal time , they deserve nothing from this. England have been the better side for most of the game.

Is that Alan Partridge commentating for ITV? :greengrinFeel. It, ride it, you deserve this, take the day off work

Its actually mental we have this in Scotland and wales [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Does he have a spare seat?
:greengrin:greengrin

NC1875
Have they won it already ?

07-07-2021, 09:38 PM
**** off.

Congrats England, now you have to win against an actually good team.

Right, telly aff.

World Cup from 1966 mentioned

Have they won it already ?

Of course, didn’t you know?

They gave up around about the 70th minute of normal time , they deserve nothing from this. England have been the better side for most of the game.

I don't think they gave up at the 70th. Were ragged in injury time, but still in the game. Extra time, on the other hand.....

07-07-2021, 09:39 PM
Telly aff !

07-07-2021, 09:39 PM
Mr Var has been asked to go out to the centre circle to take a bow

then again he's maybe away hiding with a red face

poulton hibs
07-07-2021, 09:40 PM
Who is the female pundit who came off mute on her mic and was signing?

Emma Hayes, Chelsea womens manager.

Just_Jimmy
better team by far. deserve to win. credit to Southgate and the team.

schmichael was outstanding.

come on Italy

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Most of the game come on. Gifted the win by a shocking decision. Why is the same ref having the same team a week apart? Sterling biggest cheat in the game

Horrific viewing.

07-07-2021, 09:41 PM
So unprofessional now.

Dan Sarf
The key, Gary, is to find a way to win a football match.

Not at all. Our telly guys would be the same.

07-07-2021, 09:42 PM
Not at all. Our telly guys would be the same.Aye on BBC Scotland

Peanut Shaz
07-07-2021, 09:42 PM
Actually embarrassing listening to these pundits.

07-07-2021, 09:43 PM
I've not been keeping up with this thread but why did the Denmark manager take Damsgaard off? That handed England the game.

07-07-2021, 09:44 PM
Most of the game come on. Gifted the win by a shocking decision. Why is the same ref having the same team a week apart? Sterling biggest cheat in the game

i've said that for years now, Kane not too far behind him

It would be pretty churlish to say England didn't deserve to win that game but the manner of their winning it sticks in the throat.

There would be something quite wonderful about some real Italy ****housery winning the final and that wonderful football hypocrisy we all have coming to the fore though.

Just realised England have played every game bar one at Wembley, what a joke

Magpie
Penalties on Sunday.

JXM73
Actually embarrassing listening to these pundits.

Begs the question why the **** you watching it then, you knew what was coming... youre the type that wants to be offended...then moans

07-07-2021, 09:45 PM
It would be pretty churlish to say England didn't deserve to win that game but the manner of their winning it sticks in the throat.

There would be something quite wonderful about some real Italy ****housery winni g the final and that wonderful football hypocrisy we all have coming to the fore.A. Blatent dive by Insigne followed by serious grappling by bonnuci and chillieni I'm sure would just be talked away by the commentators

NC1875
07-07-2021, 09:45 PM
Just realised England have played every game bar one at Wembley, what a joke

Just the final at Wembley to go. You couldn’t make it up

07-07-2021, 09:46 PM
I thought pickford was dodgy all game. Just like the var ref. Dive all day long.

07-07-2021, 09:47 PM

😂😂😂😂😂🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢 󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

07-07-2021, 09:47 PM

Aye, if only we had been able to play a couple games at home……:greengrin

07-07-2021, 09:48 PM
Begs the question why the **** you watching it then, you knew what was coming... youre the type that wants to be offended...then moans

Offended? We want to hear a balanced view but we're hearing jingoistic nonsense.

There would be something quite wonderful about some real Italy ****housery winni g the final and that wonderful football hypocrisy we all have coming to the fore.
Italy always find a way 🇮🇹

they should be excited, a nation with a population of 55 million taking 55 years to get to a final of another tournament, albeit a much smaller tournament, but still

We should be able to watch the tournament like everyone else.

Quite unique here that the other home nations have to watch the programming from another football nation. As others have said ITV can get away with it as they would consider themselves a commercial English channel.

It wasn't a penalty, by any objective analysis.

Logie Green

Hopefully it’s a one way ticket so he’s not ‘coming home’. The bearded twat.

07-07-2021, 09:49 PM
Forza Italia

07-07-2021, 09:49 PM
2 decisions that for me affected this game big time. The dodgy penalty was one, and the other one was the decision by the Denmark manager to take off the goalscorer and 2 other players and replace them with 3 players who did virtually nothing for the team. Weird decision. Did England deserve the win? Yes, of course they did, but it still wasn't a penalty.

07-07-2021, 09:50 PM

he can take that other tax avoiding baldy git Bezos with him

07-07-2021, 09:50 PM

Might just be someone that likes watching football?

If we are profiling people...you could be the type that waits to see someone moan to then have a moan about them moaning.

07-07-2021, 09:51 PM
At least Gary Neville had the good grace to admit it wasn't a penalty. Ian Wright on the other hand....

07-07-2021, 09:53 PM
Another few days of this hell.

07-07-2021, 09:53 PM

Dives every game he plays never called out

07-07-2021, 09:54 PM
Spend money on a good stadium / training facility and coaches and you get why England are doing well.

Add in their players being coached by good coaches in EPL and no wonder they are reaching final.

They have some very talented young players too coming through system also!!

Denmark subs were awful. England more depth / hardly had an injury all tournament.

If only the Scottish FA weren’t so useless.

07-07-2021, 09:54 PM
It wasn't a penalty, by any objective analysis.

Then why was it given when Kane's was wasn't? It's football. The better team won.

07-07-2021, 09:55 PM
I’m actually quite surprised how sick I feel after watching that, and how high up the lengthy list of utterly galling football watching experiences that one probably lies.

07-07-2021, 09:56 PM
At least Gary Neville had the good grace to admit it wasn't a penalty. Ian Wright on the other hand....

That man's probably the biggest melt that commentates on England. He makes Rio Ferdinand seem balanced and sensible.

Not only was it a blatant dive, but there were 2 balls on the pitch as Sterling began his run in from the wing and the ref totally ignored it.

07-07-2021, 09:56 PM
I thought pickford was dodgy all game. Just like the var ref. Dive all day long.

Pickford was horrific

07-07-2021, 09:57 PM
Then why was it given when Kane's was wasn't? It's football. The better team won.
No you again :greengrin

Cardinal G
07-07-2021, 09:57 PM
Another few days of this hell.

Living down here is making it virtually unbearable, can't escape hype, national/local TV and radio are going into overdrive.

07-07-2021, 09:58 PM

They weren't winning without the appallingly wrong decision

Peanut Shaz
07-07-2021, 09:58 PM

No, I don't want to be offended. I want commentary that takes into account this is being broadcast nationwide and we don't all feel the same euphoria. A little professionalism wouldn't go amiss. And no need for the smart arse reply. It was just my opinion.

07-07-2021, 09:59 PM
The whole competition the referees have been waving away claims when strikers are diving from all teams. The boy must have lost the memo tonight.

07-07-2021, 10:00 PM
Thought England deserved to win because Denmark offered nothing after an hour. They were totally done and the players coming on weren’t as good as the ones going off.

But and OG, a penalty that wasn’t a penalty, two balls on the pitch at the point they got the penalty that wasn’t a penalty, a terrible penalty that fell right back to him and Denmark playing the last 15 with 10 men. Hopefully their luck was used up there.

i've said that for years now, Kane not too far behind him

Is without question? Not criticised bizarrely

they should be excited, a nation with a population of 55 million taking 55 years to get to a final of another tournament, albeit a much smaller tournament, but still

Haha, that’s exactly what I’m thinking with my English mates.

“It’s not the World Cup is it?”

Just belittle their achievement. TBH they won’t give a **** but I’ll get my jabs in while I can.

07-07-2021, 10:01 PM
I’m actually quite surprised how sick I feel after watching that, and how high up the lengthy list of utterly galling football watching experiences that one probably lies.

It's pretty galling.

Doesn't help I have a fiance who has suddenly discovered she likes football and a 3 year old parroting all the England chat in the house.

'Can't you just be happy for your English family?'

The Baldmans Comb
07-07-2021, 10:02 PM
English TV has been absolutely breathtaking tonight with Sam Whathisface easily getting the 1st prize in crassness for claiming England deserved this after what they had gone through with Covid.

They have all waited all their footballing lives for this though and the English nationalism, outright jingoism and downright hypocrisy is a joy to watch and listen to and I don't grudge them a single moment of their delight as England is a country I have always admired as they are such a clever people who understand exactly how to exercise and more importantly what they need to do to retain that power.

It does raise a serious point though are Scottish people the only nation in the world who have to watch major sporting events through the prism of another countries TV Channel as well as having to pay England good money for this dubious priveledge.

07-07-2021, 10:02 PM
Living down here is making it virtually unbearable, can't escape hype, national/local TV and radio are going into overdrive.

Delighted I’m going to England for a holiday on Friday…

07-07-2021, 10:03 PM

I know, and I’m including some cup final defeats. TBH I’ve got over our Cup final last season quicker than this (and if they do it, their Euro win).

07-07-2021, 10:04 PM
England will need to raise their game at least two levels to compete with the Italians. Italians have looked the best side in the comp by some distance move the ball quickly and are a joy to watch. The second half of the semi final against Spain was the best half of football I have seen in a long time

07-07-2021, 10:04 PM
I think that we can confidently say that English commentators have lost the right to question the ‘hand of god’ goal after their reaction to the penalty.

Liked this from Twitter

https://twitter.com/nareystoepoker/status/1412888007410081797?s=21

JXM73
07-07-2021, 10:05 PM
No, I don't want to be offended. I want commentary that takes into account this is being broadcast nationwide and we don't all feel the same euphoria. A little professionalism wouldn't go amiss. And no need for the smart arse reply. It was just my opinion.

Sorry, was meaning generally people watch it, dinnae mean to be so personal... english sport on british tv never going to be impartial... we know it should be but never happening

From my mate (he’s French watching French Tv:

“Franck Sauzee on french TV: No Penalty“

English TV has been absolutely breathtaking tonight with Sam Whathisface easily getting the 1st prize in crassness for claiming England deserved this after what they had gone through with Covid.

They have all waited all their footballing lives for this though and the English nationalism, outright jingoism and downright hypocrisy is a joy to watch and listen to and I don't grudge them a single moment of their delight as England is a country I have always admired as they are clever people who understand exactly how to exercise and more importantly retain power.

It does raise a serious point though are Scottish people the only nation in the world who have to watch major sporting events through the prism of another countries TV Channel as well as having to pay good money for this dubious priveledge.

Don’t forget get the kids up

Party all night and take tomorrow off work

Dearie me !

I’m neither up nor down. Watching Hearts win like that would be a struggle but I really have nowt against this England team. The penalty decision was poor but the best team on the night has won.

davhibby
07-07-2021, 10:06 PM
They should just bin VAR now, it’s pathetic that for such a big decision in a Euros semi final the ref didn’t even go and have a second look. To be honest it was so clear cut that the VAR ref should’ve overturned it themselves. If it can’t get the big decisions right on the big stage then what’s the point in having it?

07-07-2021, 10:06 PM
I hope Italy absolutely spank them. An inglorious capitulation in the final would be the perfect way to put a dampener on all this noise.

07-07-2021, 10:08 PM
Aye, if only we had been able to play a couple games at home……:greengrin

I know you like to play devil's advocate, but we only got 2/3 of our games at home. Over the same period, England got 100% at home and Sunday brings them the second-lowest outcome they could possibly get. That's not their fault. That was the framework that applied at the outset, so that's fine. But you can't try to suggest an equivalence in Scotland's experience.

07-07-2021, 10:08 PM
They weren’t that impressive keeper seemed to try and catch the poor pen and that caused it to spill back out If he had just pushed it wide Kane wouldn’t of got to it
But Danes tired and sterling didn’t That was a one of the main differences between the teams

Just_Jimmy
07-07-2021, 10:09 PM
I’m neither up nor down. Watching Hearts win like that would be a struggle but I really have nowt against this England team. The penalty decision was poor but the best team on the night has won.agreed, my mates down here are absolutely buzzing and they're all just honest football fans like us. it's hard not to be pleased for them.

I can leave the media/pundit crap like but it's hardly my mates fault who pretty much to man and woman agree it's a nonsense.

leith lynx
Well said.

It’s really not that bad. It’s hard not to like Southgate and they have some decent players. They have a very good chance to win it now.

I’m more concerned about the Scottish FA and how far behind Scottish football is at times.

07-07-2021, 10:10 PM
https://twitter.com/sked21/status/1412890058705809420

07-07-2021, 10:11 PM

No you again :greengrin

Now, CR, tone it down and don’t get carried away this time and get yourself barred. There’s plenty of room here for a local English numpty but you’ve got to rein it in. :greengrin

07-07-2021, 10:11 PM

They have all waited all their footballing lives for this though and the English nationalism, outright jingoism and downright hypocrisy is a joy to watch and listen to and I don't grudge them a single moment of their delight as England is a country I have always admired as they are such a clever people who understand exactly how to exercise and more importantly retain power.

It does raise a serious point though are Scottish people the only nation in the world who have to watch major sporting events through the prism of another countries TV Channel as well as having to pay England good money for this dubious priveledge.

I was astonished to hear him say that. Parochial to say the least, you’d think England was the only place with COVID the way he delivered that.

Peanut Shaz
07-07-2021, 10:12 PM
Sorry, was meaning generally people watch it, dinnae mean to be so personal... english sport on british tv never going to be impartial... we know it should be but never happening

No problem. Going by comments elsewhere the commentator is getting a lot of criticism from all fronts. Yes we dont expect impartiality but a bit professionalism and humility wouldn't go amiss. I might take your advice and switch off on Sunday straight after the game if they win 😁

leith lynx
07-07-2021, 10:13 PM
Don’t forget get the kids up

Party all night and take tomorrow off work

Dearie me !
Mattiface should be pulled up for that, what a balloon!

07-07-2021, 10:13 PM
I was astonished to hear him say that. Parochial to say the least, you’d think England was the only place with COVID the way he delivered that.
Italy

07-07-2021, 10:14 PM
better team by far. deserve to win. credit to Southgate and the team.

schmichael was outstanding.

come on Italy

not really England got stronger but created not much before the pen. Danish coach weakened the team with his changes.

07-07-2021, 10:15 PM
Got to hope Italy are too strong for them. It’s a definite step up for England to what they’ve faced in the quarter and semi finals. Not sure it’s such a step up for Italy having knocked out Belgium and Spain.

Can’t really argue that the two teams in the final have been the two best in the competition to be honest. But I do think Italy have been the best. Hope I’m still saying that on Sunday.

07-07-2021, 10:16 PM
I know you like to play devil's advocate, but we only got 2/3 of our games at home. Over the same period, England got 100% at home and Sunday brings them the second-lowest outcome they could possibly get. That's not their fault. That was the framework that applied at the outset, so that's fine. But you can't try to suggest an equivalence in Scotland's experience.

I wasn’t being entirely serious. :greengrin
I don’t think many would have seen England as semi-finalists let alone finalists before the tournament started so having Wembley host the end games didn’t look like a problem. It is what it is though.

07-07-2021, 10:17 PM
Italy

Lost me there Billy.

Mattiface should be pulled up for that, what a balloon!

I dunno, I think the idiots that listen to him are the ones that need a talking to.

“But the football commentator said it was alright”…

not really England got stronger but created not much before the pen. Danish coach weakened the team with his changes.

I think the changes just betrayed the lack of depth of squad. None of the subs really contributed, but they replaced guys who were out on their feet. Manager had no choice.

07-07-2021, 10:18 PM
I wasn’t being entirely serious. :greengrin
I don’t think many would have seen England as semi-finalists let alone finalists before the tournament started so having Wembley host the end games didn’t look like a problem. It is what it is though.

It is indeed. Peace!

07-07-2021, 10:19 PM
Lost me there Billy.
Suffered more than England thru Covid 19 unfortunately

07-07-2021, 10:19 PM
Suffered more than England thru Covid 19 unfortunately

Ah. Got it.

07-07-2021, 10:21 PM
It’s really not that bad. It’s hard not to like Southgate and they have some decent players. They have a very good chance to win it now.

I’m more concerned about the Scottish FA and how far behind Scottish football is at times.

We don't have anywhere near the resources England have.

07-07-2021, 10:26 PM

We are run by muppets.

Can’t even get sponsors for competitions.

Scotland are skint but the game up here needs serious work if they ever want to qualify again as it won’t be the World Cup with Austria and Denmark in same group.

Mr Grieves
07-07-2021, 10:27 PM
https://twitter.com/jusukilpelainen/status/1412892988200689672?s=19

Two balls on the pitch, a dive and now this

07-07-2021, 10:35 PM
You just know the first time an Italian player goes down in the box on Sunday the commentators will be moaning about it. Ironic if Italy win due to a dubious decision.

07-07-2021, 10:42 PM
We are run by muppets.

Scotland are skint but the game up here needs serious work if they ever want to qualify again as it won’t be the World Cup with Austria and Denmark in same group.

Have you seen how much broadcasters put into English football? That in turn means sponsors pump more cash in. We're run badly but England and their broadcasting partners will kill football if it continues the way it is. We've already had Super League touted which Madrid and Barca were desperate for as its probably the only means of levelling the playing field with English teams.

Money in sport ruins the sport. Especially when it becomes the central focus. Football is more about the drama of £XXmillion for some player's big toe than anything else now.

Hopefully it has improved but biggest problem I see is shown in Griffiths, Riordan, O'connor etc. Underprivileged kids mingling at boys club level probably coached by someone who is/was underprivileged. This then leads the kids to develop habits and behaviours that detrimentally affect their footballing careers.

Hopefully it has changed but I used to play in teams filled with nutters, some who attacked referees, and after their ban they were back starting. Coaches, parents etc. almost seemd to encourage this behaviour.

Attitude is our biggest weakness still. Being hard and crunching someone is applauded too much at far too young. Money may help with that but it's more of general social affluence rather than anything specifically to do with football or sport. Counselling and things like that will have helped some of these England players for example.

07-07-2021, 10:49 PM
We are run by muppets.

You haven't really covered the disproportionate resources point.

He's here!
07-07-2021, 10:53 PM
Credit to England. That was some test of nerve. Got some luck at times but I thought they were the better team overall. I think we sometimes underestimate the pressure the players and the manager are under (despite, as Southgate pointed out before the game, the fact that their international history is not as great as is sometimes imagined).

Said it before, but I like this bunch of players and my admiration for Southgate grows by the game. I'd be happy enough to see them go on and win it now - and especially happy for English friends and family who I know were going through the agonies this evening.

07-07-2021, 10:55 PM
Now, CR, tone it down and don’t get carried away this time and get yourself barred. There’s plenty of room here for a local English numpty but you’ve got to rein it in. :greengrin

Why say tone it down? Am I a numpty because I'm English:? I thought we were the better team over the 90mins. Not brilliant but deserved winners. Discuss.

07-07-2021, 10:56 PM
Why say tone it down? Am I a numpty because I'm English:? I thought we were the better team over the 90mins. Not brilliant but deserved winners. Discuss.

Drinking again aye?

07-07-2021, 10:59 PM
I think that we can confidently say that English commentators have lost the right to question the ‘hand of god’ goal after their reaction to the penalty.

Liked this from Twitter

https://twitter.com/nareystoepoker/status/1412888007410081797?s=21

They lost that right before it ever happened. Wembley Goal that wasn't a goal in 66.

07-07-2021, 11:03 PM

Nor do most of the football world yet you only moan about England?

7Hero
07-07-2021, 11:04 PM

You had a bit of luck for sure, deserved not sure. Anyway not everything gained is deserved and with the resources England have it was only a matter of time before they had some kind of success.

I'm Half Italian , half Scottish so for me i can only see one winner but their is no need to tone it down.. enjoy your night mate..

Anyway , It's not coming home it's going to Rome 😂🇮🇹

07-07-2021, 11:05 PM

Insular is unfortunately how a large group of people south of the border think.

07-07-2021, 11:06 PM
Have you seen how much broadcasters put into English football? That in turn means sponsors pump more cash in. We're run badly but England and their broadcasting partners will kill football if it continues the way it is. We've already had Super League touted which Madrid and Barca were desperate for as its probably the only means of levelling the playing field with English teams.

Money in sport ruins the sport. Especially when it becomes the central focus. Football is more about the drama of £XXmillion for some player's big toe than anything else now.

Hopefully it has improved but biggest problem I see is shown in Griffiths, Riordan, O'connor etc. Underprivileged kids mingling at boys club level probably coached by someone who is/was underprivileged. This then leads the kids to develop habits and behaviours that detrimentally affect their footballing careers.

Hopefully it has changed but I used to play in teams filled with nutters, some who attacked referees, and after their ban they were back starting. Coaches, parents etc. almost seemd to encourage this behaviour.

Attitude is our biggest weakness still. Being hard and crunching someone is applauded too much at far too young. Money may help with that but it's more of general social affluence rather than anything specifically to do with football or sport. Counselling and things like that will have helped some of these England players for example.

I agree with money killing football but that hasn't stopped Denmark reaching the semis this tournament, and the likes of Wales, Iceland and North Ireland getting out of their group in tournaments gone by. Greece won the bloody thing not that long ago!

I don't what it is but we punch well below our weight.

07-07-2021, 11:09 PM

Well, I’m trying to keep it light ‘cos you got a bit carried away last time :greengrin and I can see you are in danger of going ott if you can’t take the banter from Scotsmen who are pissed off with having Engerland this and that shoved down their throats. For what it’s worth, I think England was the better team, but I desperately wanted them to lose this one. Still our Italian friends will shut you all up on Sunday :pray:

07-07-2021, 11:11 PM
Drinking again aye?

Not tonight pal - no need. Saying we we were the better team over 90 mins is not an exaggeration. Have you had a few? ABE ?

07-07-2021, 11:13 PM

So that's our fault?

07-07-2021, 11:16 PM
I agree with money killing football but that hasn't stopped Denmark reaching the semis this tournament, and the likes of Wales, Iceland and North Ireland getting out of their group in tournaments gone by. Greece won the bloody thing not that long ago!

I don't what it is but we punch well below our weight.

I think it boils down to culture and mental attributes. Kids form bad habits and behaviours here that they struggle to shake as shown in youth Hibs have had come through. Some should've went to the top and they didn't. Some didn't even make it Senior when they looked destined for great things.

Increased counselling and family support systems in underprivileged areas would go a long way but it would take time to have a measurable affect.

England suffered from the same thing. Culture and what it breeds here is a big problem. Brexit is a sign of some of that unfortunately. Booing of national anthems shows something else that is growing...

I hope it will change.

07-07-2021, 11:16 PM
Fantastic from England again, they have really grown into this tournament and have raised their game significantly in line with the better class of opposition they have encountered since the group stage.
Another tough game awaits with the added pressure of being the home team against the classy and far better Italians. I look forward to Sunday though as you have to beat all of the top sides to win the tournament.
🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴 󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧 󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

07-07-2021, 11:19 PM
Well, I’m trying to keep it light ‘cos you got a bit carried away last time :greengrin and I can see you are in danger of going ott if you can’t take the banter from Scotsmen who are pissed off with having Engerland this and that shoved down their throats. For what it’s worth, I think England was the better team, but I desperately wanted them to lose this one. Still our Italian friends will shut you all up on Sunday :pray:

I rest my case. And you have the gall to call me â numpty.

07-07-2021, 11:23 PM
I rest my case. And you have the gall to call me â numpty.

:fishin::faf:

07-07-2021, 11:24 PM
:fishin::faf:

😁

07-07-2021, 11:25 PM

I'm taking it tight in a Facebook page for Brits living in the EU. Why is it that when jokes are aimed at the stupid Paddies, the sheep ****gers or the tight sweaties it's banter, but if the English football team is on the end of a few jokes then it's anti-english? They don't like it up em.

07-07-2021, 11:28 PM
Good of BBC Scotland to have a half hour highlight show then straight after put the whole game on, wtf

07-07-2021, 11:34 PM
Fantastic from England again, they have really grown into this tournament and have raised their game significantly in line with the better class of opposition they have encountered since the group stage.
Another tough game awaits with the added pressure of being the home team against the classy and far better Italians. I look forward to Sunday though as you have to beat all of the top sides to win the tournament.
🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴 󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧 󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

But you haven't though, unless you think a very average German team, Ukraine and Denmark are the top sides. England are a good team though, it'll be a good final.

07-07-2021, 11:45 PM
I’m in Englandshire for two more days. I’ll be planning to avoid tv and radio at all costs. Thankfully the forecast is decent and there’s a beach nearby.

Forza Italia Baby :aok:

08-07-2021, 12:21 AM
But you haven't though, unless you think a very average German team, Ukraine and Denmark are the top sides. England are a good team though, it'll be a good final.

The only way to be a true Euro or World champion is if you play every team but no team has ever done that or ever will. If Scotland ever won one of these would you be so choosey?

08-07-2021, 12:23 AM
I'm taking it tight in a Facebook page for Brits living in the EU. Why is it that when jokes are aimed at the stupid Paddies, the sheep ****gers or the tight sweaties it's banter, but if the English football team is on the end of a few jokes then it's anti-english? They don't like it up em.

No one does - even you. Don't kid yourself.

08-07-2021, 12:36 AM
Drinking again aye?

Cheap shot for a sore loser!

08-07-2021, 12:43 AM

I know banter and I know the difference.

08-07-2021, 12:45 AM
Should be a good final hopefully

Italy have been the best team at the tournament but its anyones game

I still don't think England have been that great (yet). They totally bossed the game from about 60 mins onwards tonight but created very little and ended up needing a ridiculous decision at a penalty to get over the line

Infact 2, seeing as Stirling dribbled past a 2nd ball on the pitch

Italy will fancy there chances I'm sure

08-07-2021, 03:59 AM
I’m loving the panic on here that England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 might actually win it, the list of comfort excuses grows every game 😂

08-07-2021, 05:03 AM
I’m loving the panic on here that England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 might actually win it, the list of comfort excuses grows every game 😂

I'm quite relaxed about it surprisingly . If ye can beat Italy on Sunday it's going to be well earned . Tough game but not insurmountable

08-07-2021, 05:26 AM
At least it isn't the World Cup I guess 🙄

08-07-2021, 05:47 AM
At least it isn't the World Cup I guess 🙄

Won't matter. It'll be thirty years of hurt ears for the other three nations if England win on Sunday.

08-07-2021, 06:17 AM
I’m loving the panic on here that England [emoji2527] might actually win it, the list of comfort excuses grows every game [emoji23]

I wouldn’t have had an issue if they had soundly beaten them but to award a penalty when he was already going down was ludicrous.

Sterling conned the ref to get the pen and it wa there for all to see!

Can guarantee the media won’t be running with that today!

NC1875
08-07-2021, 06:18 AM

If it wasn’t for the absolute clown ex players and pundits then no one would actually mind yous winning it. But for a team who’ve won the World Cup once, your “big team” ego is on a par with Hearts.

08-07-2021, 06:18 AM
England will need Sterling and Kane to maintain their Olympic standard diving abilities if they're going to beat the Azzuri.

Three things guaranteed if they don't win on Sunday

(1) There'll be rioting in pubs and beer gardens from Newquay to Newcastle
(2) The English media who have hailed Gareth as the messiah will immediately demonize him and make him public enemy number one
(3) "Footballs coming Rome" will be the meme/hashtag of 2021

hibee316
08-07-2021, 06:25 AM
the better class of opposition they have encountered since the group stage.

I'd be quite happy for England to win and if they beat Italy they will thoroughly deserve it!

But you're on the wind up saying that you've played better class since the group stage.

Scotland aside, Croatia and to a lesser extent the Czech are much stronger than Ukraine and comparable to Denmark and Germany.

And no, this isn't bitterness. Its debating!

08-07-2021, 06:35 AM
Cheap shot for a sore loser!

You replied to my post twice. Hope you enjoyed celebrating the England win by getting pished and losing the plot on here (again).

08-07-2021, 06:41 AM
I think it boils down to culture and mental attributes. Kids form bad habits and behaviours here that they struggle to shake as shown in youth Hibs have had come through. Some should've went to the top and they didn't. Some didn't even make it Senior when they looked destined for great things.

Increased counselling and family support systems in underprivileged areas would go a long way but it would take time to have a measurable affect.

England suffered from the same thing. Culture and what it breeds here is a big problem. Brexit is a sign of some of that unfortunately. Booing of national anthems shows something else that is growing...

I hope it will change.

I agree with some of what your saying about culture in Scotland.

England have changed their footballing culture - while we are still trying to figure out what ours is.

I wouldn’t say England have fixed this problem in society though - I think that’s a deeper discussion.

Correct me if I’m wrong but did Scotland fans not boo God save the Queen anthem at Wembley ?

08-07-2021, 06:48 AM
I might be one of only a few who does think it was a penalty, soft but still a pen. It was the challenge from the side against Sterlings thigh that was the foul, although he was going down when he was hit.

I thought they deserved the win, and we have one more chance for them to fail.

Come on ITALY. :pray::pray::pray::pray::pray::pray::pray::pray:

08-07-2021, 07:05 AM
What time is the final on Sunday? Just so I know when to wash my hair

08-07-2021, 07:06 AM
I'd be quite happy for England to win and if they beat Italy they will thoroughly deserve it!

But you're on the wind up saying that you've played better class since the group stage.

Scotland aside, Croatia and to a lesser extent the Czech are much stronger than Ukraine and comparable to Denmark and Germany.

And no, this isn't bitterness. Its debating!

Just following the pattern of many on here by twisting it to suit my own agenda, that’s not bitterness either it’s like for like. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

08-07-2021, 07:08 AM
If it wasn’t for the absolute clown ex players and pundits then no one would actually mind yous winning it. But for a team who’ve won the World Cup once, your “big team” ego is on a par with Hearts.

Oh yes they would 😁

08-07-2021, 07:08 AM
There's some huge doses of copium on this thread, I don't think England will beat Italy but they were better than the Danes last night and deserve to be there.

08-07-2021, 07:09 AM
https://www.lequipe.fr/Football/Article/Un-penalty-discutable-offre-a-l-angleterre-sa-qualification-pour-la-finale/1268980

French not happy/jealous. But they don’t like it up ‘em, surrender monkeys, would have been speaking German if it wasn’t for us.

Key West
08-07-2021, 07:10 AM
England have a good team and deserve to be in the final regardless of how they are rated, they have beaten what has been put in front of them apart from Scotland, I hope they lose just as I would like to see Hearts, Celtic or Rangers losing on a weekly basis, in tournaments every team needs a bit of luck and they have had their share, unfortunately I think they will complete the job.

08-07-2021, 07:20 AM
England have a good team and deserve to be in the final regardless of how they are rated, they have beaten what has been put in front of them apart from Scotland, I hope they lose just as I would like to see Hearts, Celtic or Rangers losing on a weekly basis, in tournaments every team needs a bit of luck and they have had their share, unfortunately I think they will complete the job.

Yup. Feel exactly as I do when Hearts are in a final. Makes me realise how much 2016 would have been torture for them.

soul_driver
08-07-2021, 07:39 AM
We really need BBC Scotland or STV to do a Scottish transmission of the Final.

Logie Green
08-07-2021, 07:45 AM

I agree. Preferably with Jack and Victor from Still Game doing the commentary.

08-07-2021, 07:50 AM
I might be one of only a few who does think it was a penalty, soft but still a pen. It was the challenge from the side against Sterlings thigh that was the foul, although he was going down when he was hit.

That was certainly the ‘contact! that would have meant VAR didn’t see it as an obvious error, which is the way they’ve run it this tournament.

Don’t think it was really enough for a penalty of course but I think that’s what they’ve seen.

08-07-2021, 07:50 AM
What time is the final on Sunday? Just so I know when to wash my hair

I’m sure if you tune into almost every news, chat show you will be frequently reminded

08-07-2021, 08:09 AM
I’m sure if you tune into almost every news, chat show you will be frequently reminded

Prematch build-up from 6.30 (am).

08-07-2021, 08:12 AM
Prematch build-up from 6.30 (am).

This morning. 😉

08-07-2021, 08:17 AM

He was already in the process of diving into that contact. Never a penalty. Even the normally pro England German media were baffled by the decision.

hibee316
08-07-2021, 08:33 AM
Just following the pattern of many on here by twisting it to suit my own agenda, that’s not bitterness either it’s like for like. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

Fair enough. It's a bit weird though.

Scotland and England are considered rivals, its really not that odd that Scottish folk don't want England to win, and the vast vast majority of folk on here support Scotland.

Do you call it bitter when Hibs fans don't want Hearts to win?

08-07-2021, 08:41 AM
So that's our fault?

Who said it was

08-07-2021, 08:44 AM

Scotland and England are considered rivals, its really not that odd that Scottish folk don't want England to win, and the vast vast majority of folk on here support Scotland.

Aye it never ceases to amaze me. It's Hibs v Hearts, local rivals. I want England to lose every game they play as I'm sure do the vast majority of Scottish football fans. If Hearts beat Motherwell in the Scottish cup semi with a poorly taken disputed penalty I doubt many on here would be wanting to sing their praises.

08-07-2021, 08:52 AM
Aye it never ceases to amaze me. It's Hibs v Hearts, local rivals. I want England to lose every game they play as I'm sure do the vast majority of Scottish football fans. If Hearts beat Motherwell in the Scottish cup semi with a poorly taken disputed penalty I doubt many on here would be wanting to sing their praises.

Yep that is it for me. A rivalry simple as that. Not too difficult to understand really.

08-07-2021, 08:55 AM
Yep that is it for me. A rivalry simple as that. Not too difficult to understand really.

Pakistan cricket fans in ‘Refuse to support India’ Outrage!

08-07-2021, 09:13 AM
I’m just glad that unlike some it’ll have no real bearing on me should they win it. I’d rather they didn’t and I hope they get pumped but for instance I’d choose them winning that over say Hearts winning a league cup. I think they’re winning it unfortunately.

08-07-2021, 09:28 AM
I've never understood the needy English desire to have Welsh, Scottish and Irish football and Rugby fans support them. Do Welsh, Irish and Scottish fans have the same need of solidarity or acceptance from their English counterparts?

This Home Nations need to stick together thing is lost on me and as an EU citizen, I've got 27 Home Nations to choose from. :wink:

08-07-2021, 09:38 AM
Agree, I just switched it off & went to bed.

08-07-2021, 09:41 AM
Tartan short bread tin commentary, please no just no.

08-07-2021, 09:42 AM

Surely if you have read any of my other posts on this matter you will realise that I fully get this is a Scottish board and accept the banter that goes with it. I have never called it bitterness, just because I am vastly outnumbered it doesn’t mean I can’t banter back. Oh and for the record I ****** hate Hertz 😁🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

08-07-2021, 09:44 AM
Tartan short bread tin commentary, please no just no.

I’d watch if Frankie Boyle got the presenter gig. And Irvine Welsh and Jerry Sadowicz as studio pundits.

08-07-2021, 09:44 AM

It’s fully understandable and works both ways, I revel in our success and your failure without getting upset 😁🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

He's here!
08-07-2021, 09:47 AM

I also thought it was a penalty. As you say, it was soft but I've seen softer ones given. They were also denied a stonewaller earlier so it kind of evened things up.

08-07-2021, 10:00 AM

You are right, there was a foul and that's why VAR couldn't overturn it as there had been no obvious mistake made.

He's here!
08-07-2021, 10:01 AM
I've never understood the needy English desire to have Welsh, Scottish and Irish football and Rugby fans support them. Do Welsh, Irish and Scottish fans have the same need of solidarity or acceptance from their English counterparts?

This Home Nations need to stick together thing is lost on me and as an EU citizen, I've got 27 Home Nations to choose from. :wink:

Are the English genuinely needy about that? It's not something I'm aware of. They seem to be having a happy enough time right now without worrying what the rest of the UK thinks.

Is it not just the case that English teams/sportsmen and women feature more regularly in high profile games/events than the rest of their Home Nations counterparts (hardly a surprise given the respective populations of each nation) and it can therefore seem a bit 'in our faces'?

What I would say is that in my experience English people tend to be more likely to wish Scotland well in sporting events than vice versa.

08-07-2021, 10:14 AM
It’s fully understandable and works both ways, I revel in our success and your failure without getting upset 😁🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

......... you’ve always struck me as that sort of punter and good on you. Of course we are bad losers, jealous and have barrowloads of sour grapes but it’s galling when someone comes on this forum to reprimand us for a natural reaction.

08-07-2021, 10:14 AM
Are the English genuinely needy about that? It's not something I'm aware of. They seem to be having a happy enough time right now without worrying what the rest of the UK thinks.

Is it not just the case that English teams/sportsmen and women feature more regularly in high profile games/events than the rest of their Home Nations counterparts (hardly a surprise given the respective populations of each nation) and it can therefore seem a bit 'in our faces'?

What I would say is that in my experience English people tend to be more likely to wish Scotland well in sporting events than vice versa.

In my experience, it's a bit like Hibs and Celtc. They "support" us in a patronising way when it suits them and are amazed and dismayed to find out it's not reciprocated.

08-07-2021, 10:15 AM
Anybody else notice Gary Neville getting a wee dig in at Boris Johnson while praising Southgate?

Seems like a nice lad, Gary.

He's here!
08-07-2021, 10:17 AM

The Hibs v Hearts comparison has never stacked up IMHO. In fact it's not even close for me. Hearts impact on my day to day life to a far greater extent than the England football team ever do. We share a city with them and play them regularly, whereas Scotland face England once in a blue moon. The vast majority of Hearts fans wish nothing but ill on us at all times (and vice versa) and there's a poison around the derby fixture that these days puts me off attending. Sure, there's a 'traditional' rivalry between Scotland and England but not one that consumes me with the total and utter loathing I feel for Hearts.

I've got no problem admitting I felt happy for England and their fans last night and I hope they go on and win the tournament. I certainly don't feel the need to summon up support for Italy based solely on the fact they're playing England. There are no circumstances in which I could ever say such a thing about Hearts, whose total and utter non existence would improve my life immeasurably!

08-07-2021, 10:18 AM

This Home Nations need to stick together thing is lost on me and as an EU citizen, I've got 27 Home Nations to choose from. :wink:Some of the non-footballing journalists took umbrage at Danish players wanting Denmark to win and not caring about England.

They imagine the whole world revolves around their own personal wants.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

08-07-2021, 10:19 AM
In my experience, it's a bit like Hibs and Celtc. They "support" us in a patronising way when it suits them and are amazed and dismayed to find out it's not reciprocated.

I support Scotland except when they are playing England, nothing patronising about that from me, always been that way for me growing up in Liverpool. Just so happened I married a Scottish girl too! 😁🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

MKHIBEE
08-07-2021, 10:21 AM
You are right, there was a foul and that's why VAR couldn't overturn it as there had been no obvious mistake made.

That is the thinking behind VAR but it seems to go out the window where offsides are concerned

08-07-2021, 10:21 AM
Anybody else notice Gary Neville getting a wee dig in at Boris Johnson while praising Southgate?

Seems like a nice lad, Gary."Lack of leadership this country has suffered."

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Key West
08-07-2021, 10:25 AM
That is the thinking behind VAR but it seems to go out the window where offsides are concerned

VAR is far from perfect and inconsistent due to human interpretation but it is better than not looking at a decision again, agree with your general point though.

08-07-2021, 10:25 AM
I support Scotland except when they are playing England, nothing patronising about that from me, always been that way for me growing up in Liverpool. Just so happened I married a Scottish girl too! 😁🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

We gave you Shankly, Dalglish, etc it would've been a bit harsh if you didn't! :greengrin

08-07-2021, 10:30 AM

That's a decent description.

08-07-2021, 10:43 AM
I'm sure things have changed over the last few days but not that long ago the England national team struggled to get people in large chunks of England to support them never mind people from Scotland.

I used to go to Newcastle games semi regularly and the guys I knew there had no interest in the national team whatsoever. 'It's a southern team' was the general refrain (admittedly these guys thought of anywhere south of Durham as 'down there').

08-07-2021, 10:47 AM
We gave you Shankly, Dalglish, etc it would've been a bit harsh if you didn't! :greengrin

Yes I’ll give you that 😁

08-07-2021, 10:52 AM
UEFA charges England over laser pointed at Kasper Schmeichel during EURO Semi Final

BBC Sport

08-07-2021, 10:54 AM
England celebrates.

https://twitter.com/garyshearer1/status/1412879008065273856

08-07-2021, 11:00 AM
England celebrates.

Animals

08-07-2021, 11:04 AM
Yes I’ll give you that 😁

The attitude you have to all of this is pretty good in my opinion, you see it for what it is, banter. You give it as well as take it and in the main it is well accepted on both sides. Fwiw I am currently working with 3 ex forces Englishmen on a project and believe me when I say it is me that us taking dogs abuse, and not just for the football! Anyway, forza Italia, Everton and Hibs. I'm sure you will agree on at least one if those!!

He's here!
08-07-2021, 11:06 AM
I'm sure things have changed over the last few days but not that long ago the England national team struggled to get people in large chunks of England to support them never mind people from Scotland.

I used to go to Newcastle games semi regularly and the guys I knew there had no interest in the national team whatsoever. 'It's a southern team' was the general refrain (admittedly these guys thought of anywhere south of Durham as 'down there').

No doubt about the connection between team and fans last night. Whether it's partly down to a kind of post-lockdown exuberance I don't know, but it seems better, more wholesome somehow, than previous occasions like Euro 96. The youthfulness of the players plus the likeability of Southgate seems to be a big factor too.

08-07-2021, 11:06 AM
England celebrates.

Footage from the 2018 World Cup apparently, just before anyone asks about social distancing or why no-one was wearing masks etc.

08-07-2021, 11:09 AM
Footage from the 2018 World Cup apparently, just before anyone asks about social distancing or why no-one was wearing masks etc.

:not worth:party:

08-07-2021, 11:09 AM
lineker trying to justify the penalty, giving it "Hand of God", "Lampards ball over the line...", we never had the luck in the past...

No mention Russian linemen! :greengrin

08-07-2021, 11:30 AM

Maybe you don't have much contact with English people, but I've had it for years "well we support Scotland when they play anyone else apart from England, so why don't you support England when they are playing anyone else apart from Scotland". Of course it's easy to say "good-luck to Scotland when they might have a chance of scraping a Euros play-off slot", but I really doubt that would be the case if it was the semi-final of the World Cup and we had a good chance of winning it.

To me, the Scotland England rivalry is the biggest one that impacts on me. I don't want them to win at anything. I grew up in the 70s, when we regularly beat them and that was just fantastic. Now, I'm saddened by our nation's acceptance of their superiority and the "doesn't bother me" attitude.

davhibby
08-07-2021, 11:37 AM
Gary Neville on SSN actually being reasonable about the penalty which is refreshing. Said it’s never a penalty and English people would be raging if it had been the other way around.

Some of the revisionism surrounding the game is amazing, by the time we get to Sunday we’ll be told it was a stonewaller and so was the one on Kane. Oh and Denmark should never have had a freekick for the goal too. Crazy

08-07-2021, 11:37 AM

Aye, lets have Doddsy and Shelley Kerr on spouting their words of wisdom.

soul_driver
08-07-2021, 11:53 AM
Aye, lets have Doddsy and Shelley Kerr on spouting their words of wisdom.

On this occasion I'd rather listen to anyone than what we had last night.

08-07-2021, 12:05 PM
UEFA charges England over laser pointed at Kasper Schmeichel during EURO Semi Final

BBC Sport

Can they ask for the game to be replayed😀

08-07-2021, 12:13 PM
Can they ask for the game to be replayed😀

Must have been just after the second ball on the pitch was booted out of the Stadium before the Ref noticed it 😃

hhibs
08-07-2021, 12:34 PM
Maybe you don't have much contact with English people, but I've had it for years "well we support Scotland when they play anyone else apart from England, so why don't you support England when they are playing anyone else apart from Scotland". Of course it's easy to say "good-luck to Scotland when they might have a chance of scraping a Euros play-off slot", but I really doubt that would be the case if it was the semi-final of the World Cup and we had a good chance of winning it.

To me, the Scotland England rivalry is the biggest one that impacts on me. I don't want them to win at anything. I grew up in the 70s, when we regularly beat them and that was just fantastic. Now, I'm saddened by our nation's acceptance of their superiority and the "doesn't bother me" attitude.

08-07-2021, 12:34 PM
Wow, the levels of bitter from some about this England result are staggering and very, very revealing. There's a spectrum across most of social media all the way from fair play to them you can only beat what's in front of you through to pretty much pus-filled hatred and literally just making stuff up - and everything in between.

It was a very soft penalty, I don't think it was one at all in fact. The Kane claim earlier in the game was stronger. However for the majority of that game they were certainly the more likely side. I think its a pretty uninspiring style of football - reminds me of the German approach in fact - with Denmark being the stiffest test they've had so far and yet the Danes, particularly without Eriksen, looked knackered well before full time.

Lots of games at home, an easier side to the draw, no major opponents yet and the final at a full or near full Wembley. Sometimes its written in the stars and if you take all your chances then you deserve to be champions. All the whining in the world about how they did it in those circumstances just comes across as chip-on-shoulder sour grapes.

But they still have to get past Italy who for my money have already played two finals and come out on top despite facing two very different tests. If Italy show up I expect them to win. If Italy show up and England still win then they will have deserved it. If England are going to win a major tournament I'll be pleased it's with that manager and that group of players who are a credit to themselves and their country in ways that most previous managers and squads simply were not.

It has been an outstanding finals. Whatever happens they've had a great tournament. I wish we had too. We need to do better.

And Sam Matterface is a horse's arse throwback who makes it hard to wish England well. Many English fans clearly feel that too.

Forza Azzurri.

hhibs
08-07-2021, 12:38 PM
On this occasion I'd rather listen to anyone than what we had last night.

I tried to avoid it last night by switching to ESPN,no luck ,same commentary different pundits.

08-07-2021, 12:55 PM

Absolutely. England are in only their second ever major final and first since just after Hearts last won the league cup and their fans are still singing about Scotland getting battered everywhere they go. It's a rivalry. It's a rivalry that wants me to see England getting beat. The same kind of rivalry that Germany and Holland have. I want Hearts to lose every game they play. Same applies to England.

08-07-2021, 01:06 PM
I tried to avoid it last night by switching to ESPN,no luck ,same commentary different pundits.

I did avoid the bulk of it, very easy to watch anything else.

Saint Hibee
08-07-2021, 01:06 PM
Gary Neville seems to be the only pundit on either ITV or BBC who actually has anything insightful or interesting to say about the actual football.

08-07-2021, 01:07 PM
Jack, Victor and Winston commentary team in Scotland for the final please.

08-07-2021, 01:10 PM
Jack, Victor and Winston commentary team in Scotland for the final please.

Half time refreshments provided by Bobby and Isa.

08-07-2021, 01:25 PM
Correct me if I’m wrong but did Scotland fans not boo God save the Queen anthem at Wembley ?

and yet it's the English FA that have been charged for the booing of the Danish anthem last night(along with the laser incident and one other) the only football authorities to do so this tournament, i think england fans have actually booed every nations anthem, as for the Scotland game at wembley do you think maybe the Scotland fans booing would have been a tad muted if our own national anthem hadn't been booed firstly ? still, at least Scotland fans don't boo every/ANY other countries national anthem, just the one.. strange that

08-07-2021, 01:54 PM
and yet it's the English FA that have been charged for the booing of the Danish anthem last night(along with the laser incident and one other) the only football authorities to do so this tournament, i think england fans have actually booed every nations anthem, as for the Scotland game at wembley do you think maybe the Scotland fans booing would have been a tad muted if our own national anthem hadn't been booed firstly ? still, at least Scotland fans don't boo every/ANY other countries national anthem, just the one.. strange that

Two.

Liechenstein:wink:

08-07-2021, 02:05 PM

Scotland bood England’s anthem.

England bood Scotland’s anthem.

England bood Germany and last night - possible more I don’t know as not at all the games.

The point is this isn’t just England as Scotland also did it. Folk saying it’s disgraceful when it’s double standards Scottish folk doing it. Scotland have done it previously to England at Hampden also.

08-07-2021, 02:11 PM
Scotland bood England’s anthem.

England bood Scotland’s anthem.

England bood Germany and last night - possible more I don’t know as not at all the games.

The point is this isn’t just England as Scotland also did it. Folk saying it’s disgraceful when it’s double standards Scottish folk doing it. Scotland have done it previously to England at Hampden also.

We used to boo GSTQ when it was *our* anthem. :greengrin

08-07-2021, 02:14 PM
Wow, the levels of bitter from some about this England result are staggering and very, very revealing. There's a spectrum across most of social media all the way from fair play to them you can only beat what's in front of you through to pretty much pus-filled hatred and literally just making stuff up - and everything in between.

It was a very soft penalty, I don't think it was one at all in fact. The Kane claim earlier in the game was stronger. However for the majority of that game they were certainly the more likely side. I think its a pretty uninspiring style of football - reminds me of the German approach in fact - with Denmark being the stiffest test they've had so far and yet the Danes, particularly without Eriksen, looked knackered well before full time.

Lots of games at home, an easier side to the draw, no major opponents yet and the final at a full or near full Wembley. Sometimes its written in the stars and if you take all your chances then you deserve to be champions. All the whining in the world about how they did it in those circumstances just comes across as chip-on-shoulder sour grapes.

But they still have to get past Italy who for my money have already played two finals and come out on top despite facing two very different tests. If Italy show up I expect them to win. If Italy show up and England still win then they will have deserved it. If England are going to win a major tournament I'll be pleased it's with that manager and that group of players who are a credit to themselves and their country in ways that most previous managers and squads simply were not.

It has been an outstanding finals. Whatever happens they've had a great tournament. I wish we had too. We need to do better.

And Sam Matterface is a horse's arse throwback who makes it hard to wish England well. Many English fans clearly feel that too.

Forza Azzurri.

Good summary ODS. I think Kane would've got a penalty if he hadn't gone for his "springboard" dive style. Matterface was ridiculous at the end - basically saying ignore covid restrictions because we won at the footy. :confused:

He's here!
08-07-2021, 02:21 PM

On the contrary. I spent a big chunk of my formative years in Yorkshire and until a few years ago regularly worked in London. I have English family and friends all over the country and I remember watching the Scotland v England match at Euro 96 in a pub full of English fans while wearing a Scotland shirt. The only Scotland/England football-related 'bother' I've ever had in all those years was from a couple of drunken boneheads at a wedding in Hampshire. Based on my own experiences I'd be very surprised England fans weren't by and large more supportive of Scotland than we are of England were we ever to be in a position to achieve something.

08-07-2021, 02:23 PM
Two.

Liechenstein:wink:

why did we boo that one ?, i honestly can't recall

aah, just googled, 2010, every days a skool day, i see also the American de facto anthem before star-spangled banner "My country, 'Tis of thee" though i'm sure i've heard that one before and was quite baffled at the time without there being a google back in that day to satisfy my curiosity

08-07-2021, 03:08 PM

Absolutely it's only football nothing too important or as Arrigo Sacchi said football is the most important of the least important things in life :greengrin

08-07-2021, 03:23 PM

Yep English fans have booed every team they have played in this tournament. Pathetic it isn't mentioned, embarrassing and people are surprised people want them to lose.

08-07-2021, 03:26 PM
I dinnae mind another countries fans booing our anthem.

Nae reason to get upset.

08-07-2021, 03:37 PM
They even cheered at the wee German girl who was greetin after England scored against Germany

Low life’s :greengrin

08-07-2021, 03:52 PM
Tokyo next for these two

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/212356898_10159741483529574_4305513885790717791_n. jpg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=BHzpRFLHGzAAX9Iz1lA&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=43f387eac42afd310d48c272a7105708&oe=60EC9B7D

08-07-2021, 04:00 PM
Tokyo next for these two

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/212356898_10159741483529574_4305513885790717791_n. jpg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=BHzpRFLHGzAAX9Iz1lA&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=43f387eac42afd310d48c272a7105708&oe=60EC9B7D
Pair of cheating khantz and have been for years but the referees and national associations who don't have the cahonies to punish them are even worse. They are enabling the cheating.

08-07-2021, 04:17 PM
Never mind the diving. Play should have been called back because there were 2 balls on the park at the same time.

08-07-2021, 04:44 PM
Never mind the diving. Play should have been called back because there were 2 balls on the park at the same time.

Yep. Although Denmark goal shouldn't have stood because of rules with the wall and free kicks now.

08-07-2021, 05:10 PM

Forza Azzurri.

08-07-2021, 05:14 PM

Forza Azzurri.

I actually quite like this England squad and Southgate. Like you said, if they win it then they’ll deserve it and I wouldn’t begrudge a single player in that squad their win, something you probably couldn’t have said about England squads of old.

That being said, I still hope they lose. If they win though, I really can’t say I’d be all that bothered.

08-07-2021, 06:05 PM
No doubt about the connection between team and fans last night. Whether it's partly down to a kind of post-lockdown exuberance I don't know, but it seems better, more wholesome somehow, than previous occasions like Euro 96. The youthfulness of the players plus the likeability of Southgate seems to be a big factor too.

‘Wholesome’? Hmm, personally I’m not so sure. Plenty of attitudes like this around, which is more prevalent in everyday English political culture than Scottish. I don’t think that’s debatable anymore.

John Redwood MP tweeting ‘Brilliant England win. Great for the UK. Great for the most ignored and understated country in our Union. Even the BBC has to mention England today.’

08-07-2021, 06:11 PM
‘Wholesome’? Hmm, personally I’m not so sure. Plenty of attitudes like this around, which is more prevalent in everyday English political culture than Scottish. I don’t think that’s debatable anymore.

John Redwood MP tweeting ‘Brilliant England win. Great for the UK. Great for the most ignored and understated country in our Union. Even the BBC has to mention England today.’

Redwood is a truly terrible human being and has probably never watched a football match in his life.

08-07-2021, 06:20 PM

Got to be said how anyone can say England is an understated country is truly delusional

08-07-2021, 06:25 PM
Got to be said how anyone can say England is an understated country is truly delusional

British reserve, sir. Stiff upper lip; accept your lot and battle on; don't feel emotion and don't complain.

08-07-2021, 06:38 PM
I agree with some of what your saying about culture in Scotland.

England have changed their footballing culture - while we are still trying to figure out what ours is.

I wouldn’t say England have fixed this problem in society though - I think that’s a deeper discussion.

England can easily plaster over poor diet and culture with the money being thrown around. The amount of astro pitches etc. that have been put around the place compared to in Scotland is crazy.

Poor diet and poverty without adequate facilities for sport and exercise is a recipe for disaster and disease. Gyms are more common now but I don't think astros and pitches are. Prices are not getting cheaper either. Sponsors and broadcasters throwing billions at England obviously makes providing cheap, or free, facilities a much much easier proposition.

Give kids more facilities and more (better) coaching, and probably counselling/pastoral care for free plus generally encouraging more enjoyment in playing sports and you'll easily find and cultivate a sporting culture.

England and Scotland will almost certainly always boo each other's anthems as they are. I wouldn't expect either should boo another nation's anthem though.

percy veer
08-07-2021, 07:15 PM
I dont mind the stuff about 55 years since a cup final and them being happy about that, what sticks in the throat is them peddling the myth that they are the only country that has suffered through this pandemic and because of this they deserve to win it.

08-07-2021, 07:28 PM
Yep. Although Denmark goal shouldn't have stood because of rules with the wall and free kicks now.

The wall was well over 1m away from the main English wall.

08-07-2021, 07:34 PM
I dont mind the stuff about 55 years since a cup final and them being happy about that, what sticks in the throat is them peddling the myth that they are the only country that has suffered through this pandemic and because of this they deserve to win it.

I said the same to my Mrs. there is a complete lack of awareness from the commentators.

08-07-2021, 07:34 PM
For a country the size of England they have a terrible record in major tournaments only two finals and only a handful of semi finals. They should be up there with Italy and Germany in the Euros.
It will be a bit late being a 8.00pm kick off for Denis Law to be playing golf.

He's here!
08-07-2021, 07:55 PM

Forza Azzurri.

That's it in a nutshell. The England-sized chip on the shoulder many Scots seem to carry around is the sort of thing the SNP feed off.

08-07-2021, 08:06 PM
That's it in a nutshell. The England-sized chip on the shoulder many Scots seem to carry around is the sort of thing the SNP feed off.Lol. Right.

08-07-2021, 08:12 PM
That's it in a nutshell. The England-sized chip on the shoulder many Scots seem to carry around is the sort of thing the SNP feed off.

But up here, there is no equivalent of Sir Jock Redwood spouting his paranoid dysfunctional nationalism in public life, that’s the difference.

EI255
08-07-2021, 08:33 PM
All shaping up nicely for Sunday's EPIC, EPIC FAIL.... [emoji4]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210708/d8de9aae7d2e168aac25c7e3b03b8926.jpg

ben johnson
08-07-2021, 08:39 PM
But up here, there is no equivalent of Sir Jock Redwood spouting his paranoid dysfunctional nationalism in public life, that’s the difference.

As opposed to you spouting an inaccurate racist post against the French on
Page 131

08-07-2021, 08:48 PM
As opposed to you spouting an inaccurate racist post against the French on
Page 131

I think that's a whoosh 😉

08-07-2021, 09:24 PM
I like Southgate, he seems a decent enough sort. Same can be said for most of their players and I wouldn't begrudge them winning the tournament. It's the culture that has grown up around English football that grips my ****. There's zero magnanimity towards anything outside their own little bubble and the sense of entitlement is off the scale. There's also the hijacking of England's progress by the populist press and politics in the post Brexit era and the expectancy that all the home nations should get behind England, all in all it makes it very difficult for me to find it in myself to wish England well in the final. I probably should, but I can't separate the sport from the politics, especially when that what is driving British politics is so apparent on the terraces. Maybe that makes me a bitter and twisted sweaty sock, but it is what it is.

08-07-2021, 09:25 PM

That's a crock nothing no to do with politics.

08-07-2021, 09:34 PM

I wondered how long it would take for the unionists to bring the SNP into the discussions. It never fails. Plenty space on the holy ground to make political points.

Keep your Scottish hating posts for there.

Tommy75
08-07-2021, 09:39 PM
For a country the size of England they have a terrible record in major tournaments only two finals and only a handful of semi finals. They should be up there with Italy and Germany in the Euros.
It will be a bit late being a 8.00pm kick off for Denis Law to be playing golf.

True, and I think pretty much everyone of an English persuasion would agree that they are massive under achievers. In terms of 'being up there in the Euros' with Italy, surprisingly they have a pretty poor record at the Euros for a country of their footballing stature. Only 1 win in 1968. A very good WC record though.

He's here!
08-07-2021, 10:49 PM
I wondered how long it would take for the unionists to bring the SNP into the discussions. It never fails. Plenty space on the holy ground to make political points.

Keep your Scottish hating posts for there.

Happy to keep political points on the Holy Ground but there's nothing Scottish-hating about my views.

08-07-2021, 11:47 PM
Some people transparently get so triggered by England. Almost like it’s not really about the football…

I don’t really buy the ‘it’s just like city rivalry between Hibs and Hearts’ line, partly because it isn’t a two way street. England see Germany as their ‘derby’ rivals much more than Scotland. Anyway I wouldn’t want to spend my time as a Hibs fan defined and consumed by what Hearts are doing.

09-07-2021, 01:02 AM
True, and I think pretty much everyone of an English persuasion would agree that they are massive under achievers. In terms of 'being up there in the Euros' with Italy, surprisingly they have a pretty poor record at the Euros for a country of their footballing stature. Only 1 win in 1968. A very good WC record though.
Meant to say Spain in Euros you are right. When you look at some of the countries who have won the Euros Czechs Denmark Greece it makes England's record look worse. They have underachieved for years so have a lot of catching up to do to become a top ranked nation in terms of Trophies won.
What tends to annoy other nations is the arrogance of the English press/pundits that they only need to turn up to win.
Should be a good game on Sunday but England will need players with pace to match the Italians. Watching the matches I think only Raheem Sterling in the England side would get a start for Italy.