Pages :
[
8]
26-06-2021, 05:45 PM
3-0
26-06-2021, 05:46 PM
3-0 very well played Denmark. Impressive tonight.
26-06-2021, 05:46 PM
Should have been 0-3
it is now……fantastic goal
26-06-2021, 05:47 PM
And Wales minus Bale < Scotland
Well, they do have him though. And Wales are undoubtedly better than Scotland.
Can see Denmark making the semi's.
Welsh red card.
26-06-2021, 05:48 PM
Wales have lost it now, red card Wilson
Good news! The Welsh fans now know what it feels to be Scottish:wink:
If Carlsberg did Euro nights. Enjoy Denmark, great performance.
Never a sending off that's a shocking decision.
And it's 3, must be nice to have quality goal scorers in your team.
26-06-2021, 05:49 PM
Can't they go to Var and overturn that red ?:confused:
Never ever ever ever ever a red. Crazy.
Dreadful decision. Fortunately doesn't really matter
Should have, yes.
26-06-2021, 05:50 PM
Can see Denmark making the semi's.
Played well tonight but it remains to be seen, they have lost twice already in these Euros. Dont get carried away after one game.
26-06-2021, 05:51 PM
That offside goal would have been goal of the tournament
Magpie
Will Bale pack it in after this? Can't see any clubs wanting to deal with his wage demands
One year left on his contract at Madrid and will want to play in the World Cup with Wales next year I’d imagine.
Should have done, never a red card.
Denmark have been very good but in the same breath Wales have been equally as poor. Far too reliant on Bale and Ramsay who are both in the twilight of their careers and with a bog standard striker on the park in Moore.
Never a red for the young lad Wilson, poor decision.
26-06-2021, 05:52 PM
Never a sending off that's a shocking decision.
Ref has been crap. Booked a Welsh player early doors, never a yellow, failed to give obvious FK before Denmark's 2nd, sent of Welsh player, never a red. He'll not ref another game in these Euros.
Wales look like a rabble now.
26-06-2021, 05:52 PM
4-0
26-06-2021, 05:53 PM
Brilliant goal 😀
26-06-2021, 05:53 PM
https://i.imgflip.com/5emmqz.jpg
Magpie
26-06-2021, 05:55 PM
https://i.imgflip.com/5emmqz.jpg
Find it hard to take the piss out of them tbh. They participated in more knockout stage games today than Scotland have in their history.
26-06-2021, 05:56 PM
You can all get behind England now. :greengrin:wink: you know you want to :wink::greengrin
Mr Grieves
I have a £2 free bet on Denmark to win the tournament, hopefully they can keep these performances up
Find it hard to take the piss out of them tbh. They participated in more knockout stage games today than Scotland have in their history.
Including getting to a semi final
You can all get behind England now. :greengrin:wink: you know you want to :wink::greengrin
https://media.tenor.com/images/90ac42142af32debf9135930ca154f53/tenor.gif
GTF, mon Denmark!
26-06-2021, 05:57 PM
GTF, mon Denmark!
Magpie
Including getting to a semi final
Exactly. Achieved more in the last 5 years than Scotland probably will in our lifetime.
Ref has been crap. Booked a Welsh player early doors, never a yellow, failed to give obvious FK before Denmark's 2nd, sent of Welsh player, never a red. He'll not ref another game in these Euros.
Wales look like a rabble now.
I thought it was a red. Red mist, could have injured the boy just because he couldn’t take getting gubbed.
The idea that Denmark are playing above themselves because of Eriksen is strange. They're 10th in the world. They're a great side.
I’d rather guide my dad into my mum tbqh
26-06-2021, 05:59 PM
I work for a Danish firm so it’s legitimate 😅😜
26-06-2021, 05:59 PM
We'll lose sooner or later mate Im just getting it in while I still can :wink:
26-06-2021, 06:02 PM
:agree: They've done very well for a nation of 3 million people where football's not their main sport.
Mr Grieves
26-06-2021, 06:03 PM
I thought it was a red. Red mist, could have injured the boy just because he couldn’t take getting gubbed.
:agree: There was no attempt to win the ball and he took the boy out.
26-06-2021, 06:06 PM
Think that Wales might be a bit guilty of buying into their own hype.
26-06-2021, 06:06 PM
Denmark only a few hundred thousand more in population than Scotland.
26-06-2021, 06:18 PM
Italy v Austria up next cant see Austria having enough to get a result against the Italians. Worth watching for the Italian anthem alone (my fave)
26-06-2021, 06:22 PM
Played well tonight but it remains to be seen, they have lost twice already in these Euros. Dont get carried away after one game.
Two games. They won the previous one 4-1 v Russia. In 1992 Denmark won the competition and shouldn't even have been there, maybe a similar run this year against all the odds again?
There are certainly far better sides in the other half of the draw but they might fancy their chances of getting to the final being in the easier side of the draw.
26-06-2021, 06:28 PM
Italy v Austria up next cant see Austria having enough to get a result against the Italians. Worth watching for the Italian anthem alone (my fave)
Agree on all points. Choon!
26-06-2021, 06:40 PM
😂😂😂
26-06-2021, 06:41 PM
Brilliant goal 😀
26-06-2021, 06:49 PM
You and that ref, then :greengrin
26-06-2021, 07:01 PM
Hadn't realised Italy has such a comedic and jaunty national anthem!
Best national anthem by a distance
26-06-2021, 07:03 PM
Best national anthem by a distance
Apart from France, aye.
26-06-2021, 07:14 PM
The Italians pass the ball so we'll, it's going to take while to readjust to watching hibs.
26-06-2021, 07:18 PM
Italy are just so good to watch.
26-06-2021, 07:18 PM
Oooft Austria should at least have a shot on target
26-06-2021, 07:24 PM
Austria certainly not overawed with Italy, looks pretty even so far, Austrian shock perhaps 🤔
26-06-2021, 07:26 PM
Austria certainly not overawed with Italy, looks pretty even so far, Austrian shock perhaps 🤔
Even? They each have 11 players on the pitch, that’s about the extent of it being even.
26-06-2021, 07:28 PM
They can't get near Italy.
26-06-2021, 07:28 PM
Certainly an Austrian opening goal would make things very interesting. Reference Italy playing well in the group stage, which they undoubtedly did, tournaments are never won in the group stage, its all about the knockout, the group stage just gets you there.
26-06-2021, 07:31 PM
Is anyone getting a really annoying background noise? It sounds a bit like some neds are playing music off their phone at the back of a bus.
26-06-2021, 07:33 PM
What a hit from Immobile!
26-06-2021, 07:33 PM
Is anyone getting a really annoying background noise? It sounds a bit like some neds are playing music off their phone at the back of a bus.
Hadnt noticed until you mentioned but yes can hear it. Not bothering me tho.
26-06-2021, 07:41 PM
I need someone who knows what they’re talking about to explain why, but Austria have their tactics spot on. Italy have been so good at controlling midfield but it’s not working tonight.
26-06-2021, 07:42 PM
Austria have done an outstanding job to date.
26-06-2021, 07:47 PM
Quite an intreaguing game. 0-0 halftime
26-06-2021, 07:47 PM
I need someone who knows what they’re talking about to explain why, but Austria have their tactics spot on. Italy have been so good at controlling midfield but it’s not working tonight.
Think they are just being very compact and not giving any space for Italy to exploit.
They have also had the benefit of seeing them play for the first 3 groups games so have went to school well.
That said Italy could quite easily have had a couple this half.
26-06-2021, 07:52 PM
Think they are just being very compact and not giving any space for Italy to exploit.
They have also had the benefit of seeing them play for the first 3 groups games so have went to school well.
That said Italy could quite easily have had a couple this half.
That’s a decent effort, it beats Danny Murphy’s analysis anyway :greengrin
26-06-2021, 07:58 PM
The Welsh manager making an erse of himself moaning about the ref and saying his team were ‘by far the better team’ for the first 25 minutes. Err, no, apart from the first ten minutes when it was even , you were completely destroyed.
26-06-2021, 07:58 PM
Pedantic and petty observation, but what gives with the huge retro microphones stuck in the gobs of Lineker and co.? I suppose it allows a bit of advertising but surely in an age of advanced technology, a neater and slicker quality of presentation might be expected.
26-06-2021, 08:06 PM
That’s a decent effort, it beats Danny Murphy’s analysis anyway :greengrin
A pretty low bar that to be fair [emoji23][emoji23]
26-06-2021, 08:20 PM
Italy definitely missing a spark tonight. Could go either way this game. Not sure about Mancini changing the winning midfield.
26-06-2021, 08:22 PM
1-0 Austria
They can't get near Italy.
you were saying……😂
1-0 Austria
Arnautovic still seems an angry man!
26-06-2021, 08:23 PM
There is it. Longer this went, I fancied an Austria goal. Might be VARd though
Magpie
Offside I think.
1-0 Osterreich maybe VAR
Offside?
Offside.
26-06-2021, 08:24 PM
Goal disallowed 0-0.
26-06-2021, 08:25 PM
Unlucky Austria but correct decision.
Genius header as well!
you were saying……😂
You should wait for the VAR check mate
I also posted just 5 minutes ago that is a much more even game now.
26-06-2021, 08:26 PM
Giving as good as they are getting Austria been excellent so far.
Goal disallowed 0-0.
Right decision supprised it took so long to make the decision
26-06-2021, 08:26 PM
Think Austria have the momentum, Italy spending too much time falling about screaming like girls at a 1960s Beatles concert whilst holding onto various limbs as if they are only attached by tendons after the mearest of touches
26-06-2021, 08:27 PM
Italy need a John McGinn to give them some dig and drive from midfield
26-06-2021, 08:27 PM
Italy just no where near what they were the first few games.
They were moving the ball so quickly but today just appear a bit lethargic and disjointed.
Credit to Austria though they are matching them stride for stride.
What's with all the ponytails in men's football?
26-06-2021, 08:28 PM
Italy may well win this game, they are a quality team but as posted quite a few times now looking good in the group stage mean absolutely nothing.
26-06-2021, 08:30 PM
Italy just no where near what they were the first few games.
They were moving the ball so quickly but today just appear a bit lethargic and disjointed.
Credit to Austria though they are matching them stride for stride.
They are overplaying it, shoot when you get the chance and don't check back and try for the spectacular!
26-06-2021, 08:30 PM
Efficient Austria making Italy looks ordinary. Could go either way.
26-06-2021, 08:32 PM
That should have been an Austrian penalty
26-06-2021, 08:33 PM
Shocking tackle by the Italian defender. They're starting to panic.
26-06-2021, 08:33 PM
Var looking amateur when the English refs get their hands on it.
26-06-2021, 08:38 PM
Great move Austria, looks like they are pressing for the win in normal time
26-06-2021, 08:40 PM
Austria look the better team now, but haven't beaten the Italians since early 60s.
26-06-2021, 08:40 PM
acrobatic p@sh
26-06-2021, 08:49 PM
How did they"get away with a disallowed goal?"
It was offside FFS
26-06-2021, 08:50 PM
Pens I’d imagine. Italy have lost all the potency the had in the first half.
26-06-2021, 08:52 PM
Anthony Taylor has had a good tournament, my money is on him getting the final....
26-06-2021, 08:52 PM
Extra time it is
26-06-2021, 08:53 PM
Extra time. Very well played Austria.
Poor 2nd half of football
26-06-2021, 08:54 PM
Not if you were Austrian. I thought they played very well.
26-06-2021, 08:56 PM
i thought it was great, unless your an Italian fan, but as a neutral quite compelling
The Baldmans Comb
26-06-2021, 08:57 PM
No surprise at all in this result with Austria very much in this game and on the front foot.
Klinsman well ahead of the English pundits on this occasion as he knows nearly all the Austrian players are Bundesliga players and key men in their teams as well. They aren't plucky underdogs at all.
To be fair to the English guys they recognize how poor their guys on the VAR are as so slow.
Not if you were Austrian. I thought they played very well.
Nope not Austrian & didn't really enjoy it, but yeah Italy disappointing in the 2nd half.
26-06-2021, 08:58 PM
Was that Darren McGregor in the Italian huddle?!
26-06-2021, 08:59 PM
It’s an awful game.
26-06-2021, 09:02 PM
1-0 Italy
26-06-2021, 09:03 PM
Have to say great goal Italy
**** could you not have done that within 90 mins
Harsh on Austria that.
David_D
Superb finish
Nice finnish 1-0 Italy
Now that was a good move & terrific goal
26-06-2021, 09:04 PM
Brilliant goal
26-06-2021, 09:06 PM
bloody hell the jolly green giant has just come on for Austria. How big is that lad they have just brought on?
Bit scary when you think that Denmark AND Austria are in our WC group:confused:
Austria deserve a chance here.
26-06-2021, 09:07 PM
The boy obv been watching Lyndons close control for that one…
I don’t see Austria as being as dangerous as Denmark.
different day different game
26-06-2021, 09:08 PM
Doesnt bode well, both teams look several levels above Scotland
26-06-2021, 09:09 PM
different day different game
We thought that about Israel who are also in our group :greengrin
26-06-2021, 09:12 PM
Really Austria’s first ever game in the knockout stages? Surely they got out the group stages when they had that fiasco draw with West Germany in the WC?
26-06-2021, 09:13 PM
2-0
Game over…
2-0 game over.
Scotland really needs to take a long blummin hard look at what we’ve done to our game.
26-06-2021, 09:14 PM
Think Italy will be delighted with this. Played poorly for 90 but I don't think they'll be so poor again.
Another good finish. That’ll be that, then.
Nice to see the Jeremy Corbyn song getting an airing :agree:
Great finish that
26-06-2021, 09:15 PM
Scotland really needs to take a long blummin hard look at what we’ve done to our game.
Italy didn’t qualify for a World Cup and ripped up their system. We got Malky McKay and project brave.
Not the best of games but 2 cracking goals by Italy looks to have sealed it, feel sorry for Austria as they've given their all but the quality came from Italy.
26-06-2021, 09:19 PM
Italy didn’t qualify for a World Cup and ripped up their system. We got Malky McKay and project brave.
Ok let’s not throw the baby out with the bath water we do have some talent to work with but that’s inspite of because of… but I’d say still rip it up. We need a purge and rebuild. We deserve so much better what will it take to storm the gates of Hampden? We’ve been miserable failures for over a generation that’s not unfortunate that’s wilful neglect/ineptitude.
Gordy M
26-06-2021, 09:19 PM
When Scotland drew 2 each with Austria not that long ago, it was a terrible result according to the many experts on here....now they are levels above us.......???
26-06-2021, 09:21 PM
Danny Murphys insight in to the Italian goalkeeper - “he does look a good keeper”.
26-06-2021, 09:22 PM
Ok let’s not throw the baby out with the bath water we do have some talent to work with but that’s inspite of because of… but I’d say still rip it up. We need a purge and rebuild. We deserve so much better what will it take to storm the gates of Hampden? We’ve been miserable failures for over a generation that’s not unfortunate that’s wilful neglect/ineptitude.
I totally agree, and I’d start by making it compulsory for councils to rip down “No Ball Games” signs all over the country.
Well not quite, but there has to be something drastic done. Copy Croatia’s model maybe?
Skol1972
26-06-2021, 09:23 PM
Really Austria’s first ever game in the knockout stages? Surely they got out the group stages when they had that fiasco draw with West Germany in the WC?
Was that the year that they then went into mini groups of 3 teams. Therefore no knockout tie.
26-06-2021, 09:24 PM
Belgium/Portugal v Italy
26-06-2021, 09:25 PM
That is what I was thinking. On thinking again I think that World Cup had a second round of group stages rather than a knockout so technically right.
26-06-2021, 09:25 PM
Was that the year that they then went into mini groups of 3 teams. Therefore no knockout tie.
Think you are right
Danny Murphys insight in to the Italian goalkeeper - “he does look a good keeper”.
And he does, do you disagree with Danny?
26-06-2021, 09:26 PM
2-1
two-wan
Game on 😀
26-06-2021, 09:28 PM
Yeah, I’d never heard of him before because he doesn’t play in the Barclays Premier League, Rommadunny or summat hes called
26-06-2021, 09:29 PM
Austria played in a World Cup semi Final in 1954
26-06-2021, 09:33 PM
And he does, do you disagree with Danny?
I don’t need to. I already know he is.
He describes him the way you would describe some unknown keeper who’s playing for Halifax in the FA cup on a televised match, not a record breaking 22 year old with 30 odd caps and who’s been a regular since he was 17 at AC Milan.
26-06-2021, 09:35 PM
Well played Austria and congratulations to Italy. Exciting extra time period for a change.
He describes him the way you would describe some unknown keeper who’s playing for Halifax in the FA cup on a televised match, not a record breaking 22 year old with 30 odd caps and who’s been a regular since he was 17 at AC Milan.
Oh that's OK then, pleased your so well versed on Italian football 👌
Well played Austria and congratulations to Italy. Exciting extra time period for a change.
It certainly was, well done both teams ran their legs off.
26-06-2021, 09:40 PM
Exactly.
The comment should have been ‘excellent save but you would expect that from a keeper of his quality’ but no Danny seemed surprised that this young lad from Italy was indeed half decent!
Shame the 90 minutes were not on the level of extra time…good final 30 though and Italy squeak through.
Probably Belgium for them next..some side of the draw that one!
26-06-2021, 09:47 PM
Oh that's OK then, pleased your so well versed on Italian football 👌
I’m not, that’s the point! I couldn’t give a **** about anything but Hibs in football, but I know that goalkeeper should be getting more than “he looks a good keeper” from a bbc co-commentator.
26-06-2021, 09:52 PM
When Scotland drew 2 each with Austria not that long ago, it was a terrible result according to the many experts on here....now they are levels above us.......???
It was poor in that we have to win our home games to have a chance, particularly as we drew in Israel.
I’m not, that’s the point! I couldn’t give a **** about anything but Hibs in football, but I know that goalkeeper should be getting more than “he looks a good keeper” from a bbc co-commentator.
Yes I suppose he could have been more enthusiastic about a very good save, but I can't get too upset about it, unlike you I enjoy all football not just Hibs, I would quite happily watch Halifax Town in a TV match, I've even been known to take in the odd local junior game.
hibsboy07
26-06-2021, 09:57 PM
1st time in euros knock out rounds
26-06-2021, 10:17 PM
Belotti reminded me of Drew Busby :na na:
Probably won’t sleep tonight :greengrin
I’d expect a co-commentator to do some work and research players before commentating on it. Even just watch clips on YouTube of the players for a few hours ffs. It’s not difficult. You don’t have to watch every AC Milan game to build an understanding of a player.
He could even use the scouting things like wyscout to look at players. It’s just amateurish and arrogance. The only players a knob like Murphy is aware of play in the BPL and he thinks that’s acceptable.
27-06-2021, 12:41 AM
Was that Morten Weighorst in the management team for Denmark??
27-06-2021, 01:16 AM
Was that Morten Weighorst in the management team for Denmark??
Yes it was, glad he is looking so well these days....
27-06-2021, 09:26 AM
I’d expect a co-commentator to do some work and research players before commentating on it. Even just watch clips on YouTube of the players for a few hours ffs. It’s not difficult. You don’t have to watch every AC Milan game to build an understanding of a player.
He could even use the scouting things like wyscout to look at players. It’s just amateurish and arrogance. The only players a knob like Murphy is aware of play in the BPL and he thinks that’s acceptable.
Jeezo! You certainly get stuck in to the really big issues eh?
27-06-2021, 09:38 AM
He’s right ‘tho
27-06-2021, 09:55 AM
He’s right ‘tho
Yip. How can you do expert analysis if you don't have the basic facts to hand. The unfortunate thing is that the bulk of the viewers probably only want to hear about players that they know or are on an English club's radar. Hence they play to their audience.
How often was the referee and var man referred to last night? The referee was fine but the var man took ages to come to a decision. He could do with visiting other countries to find out a better way to do it.
They also want any team that is a potential danger to England to get beaten. Hence the line that Italy were lucky to get away with a disallowed goal which was often repeated.
The commentators will not settle down until England are out.
The Baldmans Comb
27-06-2021, 10:38 AM
English commentators wanting threats to England to be eliminated early and not criticising English VAR officials while playing to their English audience with constant references to the English premier league. Whatever next.😉
Its their country FFS and with home draws they are going to go a long way in this tournament.
Their government have already done their bit by rolling over to UEFA to allow in the 2,500 VIP's with no quarintine so I would expect nothing less from the commentators and pundits as its what every other country in the world would do as well and is entirely to be expected and perfectly normal.
27-06-2021, 11:07 AM
English commentators wanting threats to England to be eliminated early and not criticising English VAR officials while playing to their English audience with constant references to the English premier league. Whatever next.😉
Its their country FFS and with home draws they are going to go a long way in this tournament.
Their government have already done their bit by rolling over to UEFA to allow in the 2,500 VIP's with no quarintine so I would expect nothing less from the commentators and pundits as its what every other country in the world would do as well and is entirely to be expected and perfectly normal.
Get your tin hat at the ready.
27-06-2021, 11:09 AM
He’s right ‘tho
It's an opinion ....not fact. You may agree with him...still not a fact.
27-06-2021, 11:16 AM
If he’s a pundit, I expect him to be able to tell me something about Donnarumma, even wikipedia for 10 mins prematch should help. But he’s too ****ing lazy :agree:
27-06-2021, 11:20 AM
Naw they’re no. Oot on Tuesday. Auf weidersehn England
Apologies didn’t realise you were expecting my thoughts on global warming or the political landscape.
The Baldmans Comb
27-06-2021, 11:51 AM
If he’s a pundit, I expect him to be able to tell me something about Donnarumma, even wikipedia for 10 mins prematch should help. But he’s too ****ing lazy :agree:
I would agree totally. Couldnae be ersed.
England have many excellent studio pundits in Lineker, Ferdinand and some of the women but the match commentators tend to get caught up in English nationalism or patronising exceptionalism and parochial remarks though I wouldn't castigate them for this (not that you are) as they are supporters who play to their audience.
😅
27-06-2021, 12:58 PM
Is the last 16 a long way? They'll be out by 7pm on Tuesday.
27-06-2021, 01:22 PM
Euro 2020: Wales defender Chris Gunter calls tournament format 'a joke' - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57629385)
"You and us deserved more from this joke set-up of a tournament, but who said life was fair.
"Suck it up, keep your chin up, we'll be all right, trust me on that."
should maybe take his own advice :confused:
Just_Jimmy
27-06-2021, 01:39 PM
Euro 2020: Wales defender Chris Gunter calls tournament format 'a joke' - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57629385)
"You and us deserved more from this joke set-up of a tournament, but who said life was fair.
should maybe take his own advice :confused:he's right though. we had 2 games at Hampden. England play all theirs at Wembley, Italy and Germany played games at home. Wales played in Baku twice at least.
how is that fair and why is it even necessary?
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
DIXIHIBS
27-06-2021, 01:51 PM
The welsh have all sounded quite bitter after the denmark game. Bale, Gunter, the manager etc. They were totally outplayed by a very good team but you wouldnt have thought that listening to them. Suck it up boys...thats the way it goes sometimes.
27-06-2021, 01:55 PM
he's right though. we had 2 games at Hampden. England play all theirs at Wembley, Italy and Germany played games at home. Wales played in Baku twice at least.
how is that fair and why is it even necessary?
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
we should play it again then, it is what it is, if he doesn't like the format in this "joke set up of a tournament" he should come home and "suck it up"
wait a minute, he IS home :)
27-06-2021, 02:04 PM
So you only point out the flaws of this **** tournament set up if you win it?
27-06-2021, 02:06 PM
The Welsh reaction to their defeat has been even more pathetic than their actual performance.
If they were a club side they’d be Hearts.
The Baldmans Comb
27-06-2021, 02:28 PM
Is the last 16 a long way? They'll be out by 7pm on Tuesday.
The last 16 won't be enough as the English absolutely crave respect as a football nation as their record in big tournaments in quite appauling compared to the other major football nations.
They crumble on big game occasions and at pressure situations such as penalty shoot outs which is the reason why they now work so hard at the mental strength side.
English exceptionalism runs through their society but I admire the football operations side as they strive to try to conquer their demons.
27-06-2021, 02:37 PM
England's natural place should be competing with Germany, France and Spain as the best team in Europe. For world rankings you could add in Brazil and Argentina.
Since 1966 they have underperformed.
That means the minimum of semis in Euros, quarters in world cup and further on a regular basis.
They probably should have won one by now.
27-06-2021, 02:43 PM
England's natural place should be competing with Germany, France and Spain as the best team in Europe. For world rankings you could add in Brazil and Argentina.
That means the minimum of semis in Euros, quarters in world cup as a minimum.Correct. England is very similar to France in terms of size & demographics, but the French national team, even including the odd slump, regularly out perform England by some way.
27-06-2021, 02:49 PM
That means the minimum of semis in Euros, quarters in world cup and further on a regular basis.
They probably should have won one by now.
Hubris and entitlement will always be their Achilles heels though.
They have had sufficient ability to do better on many occasions but will often fall short through simple things like complacency.
They’ll be a real threat if they can ever channel confidence correctly with preparation and ability.
FWIW I think their current squad and manager actually have a better chance of managing that than many of their predecessors.
27-06-2021, 03:19 PM
Hubris and entitlement will always be their Achilles heels though.
They have had sufficient ability to do better on many occasions but will often fall short through simple things like complacency.
They’ll be a real threat if they can ever channel confidence correctly with preparation and ability.
FWIW I think their current squad and manager actually have a better chance of managing that than many of their predecessors.
England will more than likely win a major tournament this decade. Maybe even this one.
I've made peace with it.
27-06-2021, 03:25 PM
Neville actually nailing it here. Denmark battered Wales, stop making excuses.
England will more than likely win a major tournament this decade. Maybe even this one.
I've made peace with it.
I don’t think Southgate is good enough. He seems to be in the job purely because he isn’t controversial.
27-06-2021, 03:32 PM
The welsh have all sounded quite bitter after the denmark game. Bale, Gunter, the manager etc. They were totally outplayed by a very good team but you wouldnt have thought that listening to them. Suck it up boys...thats the way it goes sometimes.
Yep, that's what I was thinking as well. Bale walked out of the interview on ITV. For me they were quite lucky in one or two of the earlier games, particularly Switzerland. They made a big thing about only losing 1-0 to Italy but neglected to mention it was basically an Italy 2nd 11 with 8 first team players out.
He's here!
27-06-2021, 03:57 PM
He's got a point tho. Scotland and England had two out of three group games at home (not that it did us any good mind you) and all of them in the UK. Wales did a tour of Europe for all four of their fixtures and had no fans (legally) travelling to back them. I think if he'd come out with those comments before the tournament he'd have been accused of getting his excuses in early. As it was they came through probably a tougher group than Scotland's and looked dead on their feet after about 10 minutes yesterday. I think it's fair enough for him to have a pop.
27-06-2021, 03:57 PM
Great anthems today. Inspiring. We need one too.
27-06-2021, 03:58 PM
Orange crush please. De Jong masterclass
He's here!
27-06-2021, 04:04 PM
I would agree totally. Couldnae be ersed.
England have many excellent studio pundits in Lineker, Ferdinand and some of the women but the match commentators tend to get caught up in English nationalism or patronising exceptionalism and parochial remarks though I wouldn't castigate them for this (not that you are) as they are supporters who play to their audience.
I've said it on an earlier thread, but I watch games without commentary when possible. You don't need it when you're actually at a game so why are commentators necessary unless you're listening on the radio? How often do you feel you benefit from their input? Some of the Scottish pundits/co-commentators on Sportscene/Sportsound are the poorest of the lot, bringing nothing to the table other than the fact they used to play the game. It's an easy old boys gig compared to say, a news or political correspondent who has to work hard to ensure they have often fast-moving facts at their fingertips.
He's here!
27-06-2021, 04:07 PM
I've made peace with it.
You know what, it honestly wouldn't bother me the way it once would have. I'd rather England won a major tournament than Hibs lose a derby, put it that way.
I actually quite like the England squad. They seem a decent enough bunch, but I just don't think they're good enough to go the whole way.
27-06-2021, 04:12 PM
I've said it on an earlier thread, but I watch games without commentary when possible. You don't need it when you're actually at a game so why are commentators necessary unless you're listening on the radio? How often do you feel you benefit from their input? Some of the Scottish pundits/co-commentators on Sportscene/Sportsound are the poorest of the lot, bringing nothing to the table other than the fact they used to play the game. It's an easy old boys gig compared to say, a news or political correspondent who has to work hard to ensure they have often fast-moving facts at their fingertips.
I'm in serious need of a lie down. I agree with you 😉
When I used to be able to go to a pub to watch hibs it was usually one with music on and TV on mute.
27-06-2021, 04:16 PM
I need the commentary in a tournament like this as I don't recognise the majority of the players - especially during the group stages.
I like to know who's playing, what clubs they're at, etc.
He's got a point tho. Scotland and England had two out of three group games at home (not that it did us any good mind you) and all of them in the UK. Wales did a tour of Europe for all four of their fixtures and had no fans (legally) travelling to back them. I think if he'd come out with those comments before the tournament he'd have been accused of getting his excuses in early. As it was they came through probably a tougher group than Scotland's and looked dead on their feet after about 10 minutes yesterday. I think it's fair enough for him to have a pop.
Totally agree
Again totally agree 👍
You know what, it honestly wouldn't bother me the way it once would have. I'd rather England won a major tournament than Hibs lose a derby, put it that way.
I actually quite like the England squad. They seem a decent enough bunch, but I just don't think they're good enough to go the whole way.
Again how can I put this, I totally agree 😁
27-06-2021, 04:29 PM
Where's Clive? This commentator is crap. No rapport with McCoist.
27-06-2021, 04:33 PM
Still waiting on Ally to tell us about the Museums and Art Galleries in Budapest :rolleyes:
27-06-2021, 04:36 PM
Still waiting on Ally to tell us about the Museums and Art Galleries in Budapest :rolleyes:
Orbans closed them all.
Should have had the first goal there
27-06-2021, 04:50 PM
Orbans closed them all.
I can understand not wanting to educate the prols, but closing them is a missed opportunity.
Imposing a substantial entry fee would have done the job and given him a nice new income stream at the same time.
27-06-2021, 04:54 PM
Great anthems today. Inspiring. We need one too.
It's the age old issue isn't it, Flower of Scotland has kinda stuck now but it's a bit narrow minded in its lyrics and everyone is always out of sync with the music! Maybe it needs a new verse that's more positive?
But what's the alternative? Scotland the Brave is a bit shortbread tin? Highland Cathedral gets mentioned, could we adapt Caledonia or just say f*** go for 500 Miles 😁
Still at least we can distinguish between Scottish and British national anthems unlike our neighbours😁
27-06-2021, 04:55 PM
Czech have shown they are a good side in this tournament.
27-06-2021, 04:57 PM
It's the age old issue isn't it, Flower of Scotland has kinda stuck now but it's a bit narrow minded in its lyrics and everyone is always out of sync with the music! Maybe it needs a new verse that's more positive?
But what's the alternative? Scotland the Brave is a bit shortbread tin? Highland Cathedral gets mentioned, could we adapt Caledonia or just say f*** go for 500 Miles 😁
Still at least we can distinguish between Scottish and British national anthems unlike our neighbours😁
It was Scotland the Brave at one time-without the words!
27-06-2021, 04:59 PM
I can understand not wanting to educate the prols, but closing them is a missed opportunity.
Imposing a substantial entry fee would have done the job and given him a nice new income stream at the same time.
I should say, that was just me being a smart erse, I have no idea if he’s actually closed museums or not :greengrin (I do remember a story about him demanding an unflattering artwork of him be removed). I’m enjoying the rainbow trolling that’s going on from vw, the Dutch players and some of the crowd.
Decent half despite the goals. De Ligt and De Jong have been faultless, Dumfries dangerous, some missed chances both sides.
27-06-2021, 05:00 PM
It was Scotland the Brave at one time-without the words!
Probably as most folks don't know the words 🤣
I mostly do but recall a Corries comedy version from my youth and those lyrics have a habit of sticking over the official ones 😁
27-06-2021, 05:02 PM
Probably as most folks don't know the words [emoji1787]Not necessarily a bad thing
27-06-2021, 05:02 PM
The Rugby guys have it nailed. Flower of Scotland at Murrayfield is one of the most spine tingling things you can hear. Just doesn't seem to work for football for some reason.
27-06-2021, 05:03 PM
The Rugby guys have it nailed. Flower of Scotland at Murrayfield is one of the most spine tingling things you can get. Just doesn't seem to work for football for some reason.
Maybe the Scotland anthem at tournaments should be "we're no awa tae bide awa"? 😁
27-06-2021, 05:04 PM
I should say, that was just me being a smart erse
I know. I was joining in.
27-06-2021, 05:08 PM
Maybe the Scotland anthem at tournaments should be "we're no awa tae bide awa"? 😁
27-06-2021, 05:08 PM
Probably as most folks don't know the words [emoji1787]
I mostly do but recall a Corries comedy version from my youth and those lyrics have a habit of sticking over the official ones [emoji16]Wash your ears out with soap! [emoji33]
They wouldn't have got away with that these days.
27-06-2021, 05:09 PM
Sitter. Awful. Just shoot
27-06-2021, 05:11 PM
VAR for a red card??
That's a sending off.
This will be a red card.
27-06-2021, 05:12 PM
Holland down to 10.
27-06-2021, 05:13 PM
Dutch get an ouch
Mr Grieves
Correct decision.
Argh, awful.
27-06-2021, 05:17 PM
VAR for a red card??
Yeah the had to Czech it out...
Decent game with both teams cancelling each other out the red was deserved. Am I the only one who thinks Depay is a tad overrated, he's got some nice wee tricks but loses the ball all too often trying wee flick ons and one two's.
27-06-2021, 05:23 PM
Yeah the had to Czech it out...
That line deserves a straight red as well 🙂🙂
27-06-2021, 05:26 PM
Goal! Let's see what this Dutch team are made of now...
27-06-2021, 05:28 PM
Not sure what the Dutch keeper was doing there.
27-06-2021, 05:30 PM
They're down to 10. I don't think we'll see much.
Can't see them rescuing this
27-06-2021, 05:37 PM
2-0 game over.
27-06-2021, 05:38 PM
That's a really composed finish
27-06-2021, 05:38 PM
That’s it done. The Czechs are bouncing.
27-06-2021, 05:39 PM
I think a lot of people were fantasizing (including me) thinking Scotland were good enough to beat this Czech team.
27-06-2021, 05:39 PM
That’s it done. The Czechs are bouncing.
Yours is in the post after that!
27-06-2021, 05:40 PM
Woof. Netherlands out. Red card changed it and the Czechs pounced. De Boer will get slaughtered for this.
27-06-2021, 05:40 PM
Yours is in the post after that!
No more than I deserve . :greengrin
CloudSquall
27-06-2021, 05:41 PM
Not sure what the Dutch keeper was doing there.
Just posting the obligatory -
WIT'S THE GOALIE DAIN TAM?!?!?! WIT'S THE GOALIE DOIN!!!!!!!!!!
27-06-2021, 05:42 PM
Just posting the obligatory -
WIT'S THE GOALIE DAIN TAM?!?!?! WIT'S THE GOALIE DOIN!!!!!!!!!!
What's that from?
27-06-2021, 05:43 PM
That de Jong is a wee greeting faced chunnt.....
CloudSquall
27-06-2021, 05:47 PM
What's that from?
It's from a compilation of Rangers TV commentary, I think it was in the game in which they got beat by the Luxembourgish team that one of them lost it at the keeper :greengrin
Magpie
27-06-2021, 05:50 PM
Denmark v Czech Republic be a good game. I fancy Denmark to go through but the Czech’s won’t make it easy for them.
27-06-2021, 05:53 PM
2-0 game over.
Yeah it's Czechmate
Magpie
27-06-2021, 05:54 PM
Bruno Fernandes dropped for the second game in a row.
27-06-2021, 05:55 PM
Yeah it's CzechmateNooooooo!
27-06-2021, 05:55 PM
Bruno Fernandes dropped for the second game in a row.
What's that about?
27-06-2021, 05:57 PM
Maybe the Czechs aren't as bad as we all thought.