11-07-2021, 09:53 PM
Rubbish

another terrible penalty....you had one chance italy, one chance

Another one trying to be too smart though.

11-07-2021, 09:54 PM
That was the best save

Aaaaaaaaaand breathe Scotland!

Get in Gigi

🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹

Italia 🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹

yassssssss :greengrin:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Hahahahahahhahahahahahha ha hahahahaha love it

Football is going Rome

Is it coming home still?

Yassssssssssssss

Yaaaaaaaaas. Well done Italy. Well deserved winners

Feel really bad for Rashford tbh

11-07-2021, 09:55 PM
So much for his substitutions. The young guns didn't have the bottle after all.

You beauty :thumbsup: GIRUY :greengrin

italia
italia
italia

it's going to rome
it's going
footballs going to ROME

Thank you Mr Southgate.

No subs in normal time when they were needed then 2 subs that ****ed it in the penalties. Scotland owes you a pint or 5 million.

Genuinely feel for the players who missed and I mean that. It must be a horrible feeling and Rashford in particular is a likeable sort.

Forever_Green93
11-07-2021, 09:56 PM
Forza Italia!

It’s going to Rome
The trophy’s going to Rome.

AltheHibby

I don't. He tried to be a smart***e and paid the price. We were lucky in that semi when Cummings missed with the same attitude.

11-07-2021, 09:57 PM
Natural order

Great showing by England but the best team in the tournament won.

Best team won thankfully……footballs coming home my f’n arse!

Jakhog1
And relax

CloudSquall
I could cry :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Absolute perfection, beat on penalties at Wembley after believing it was in the bag.

Absolutely majestic, orgasmic even, GIRUY THATCHER:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Actually really feel for the England players that missed. They’ll be absolutely devastated.

Delighted for the Italians though. Didn’t expect a lot from them this tournament (I hadn’t realised the run they were on) but they’re deserved winners.

GIRUY Rio. Arrogant ******. 😀

i want the DVD of that save

Have to feel for those youngsters

11-07-2021, 09:58 PM
Old guys rule!:agree:

Italy always find a way :aok:

I’m now looking forward to the radio in the morning.

1875godsgift

:agree: It was a lot to expect of them

11-07-2021, 09:59 PM

He’s a very good person but if you **** about with a penalty like that you deserve to miss.

I fear for how bad the abuse on social media will be for the three penalty takers who missed given the state of racial abuse on those sites in recent years.

https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_2021_07/EnglandEuros.gif.00e9e3a4384edfc95619c3cbae6d246e. gif

Yeap. It’s a cruel game sometimes.

11-07-2021, 10:00 PM
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_2021_07/EnglandEuros.gif.00e9e3a4384edfc95619c3cbae6d246e. gif

:faf: oh my

Whilst extremely happy that England have lost on penalties, we should compliment them on getting so far. They've got some great players and will get better.

Majestic hearing Ferdinand gutted

Classless.

The 2 players brought on late on to take penalties both missed but I do feel for the English team. Media and fans aside they are a great team. Better team won but for the English it’s been a great tournament. That’s just the Italians and the Scottish they couldn’t beat.:wink:

And Pickford is a nutter, just saying!

Over the piece, Italy are worthy winners.

Better team won, but Southgate was far too cautious, I’m delighted to say.

11-07-2021, 10:01 PM
italy took a battering the first half ?

Chorley Hibee
Some senior players in the England team shat themselves at penalties and left the responsibility on the shoulders of a couple of teenagers.

The young lad should never have been on the fifth position penalty. Bad planning.

11-07-2021, 10:02 PM
why did sterling not take a penalty, or could they not trust him falling down before hitting it looking for another penalty

11-07-2021, 10:02 PM
Unless you live amongst these people, you really wont understand how delighted i am at the moment. :greengrin

speedy_gonzales
11-07-2021, 10:03 PM
And Pickford is a nutter, just saying!

Most goalies are!!!!

Classless.
How is it classless. I seen the exact same using Sturgeon as a pro English gif. Big deal.

He’s a very good person but if you **** about with a penalty like that you deserve to miss.

I fear for how bad the abuse on social media will be for the three penalty takers who missed given the state of racial abuse on those sites in recent years.

I hadn't thought about that angle.
The racists will be out in force.
Tragic.

Bank holiday cancelled then...bummer

11-07-2021, 10:04 PM
They'll be rioting in the streets of England tonight. 🤣

Actually really feel for the England players that missed. They’ll be absolutely devastated.

Delighted for the Italians though. Didn’t expect a lot from them this tournament (I hadn’t realised the run they were on) but they’re deserved winners.

Agree with this…like a lot of matches with England I start quite ambivalent about who wins but after two hours of English commentary am quite glad to see the opposition win. However England have done well, some decent players and in Southgate one of the nicest guys in football.

It's their own stupid fault. Just do a normal penalty with a normal run up, none of those stupid little short steps and little pauses to try and fool the keeper. Pick a corner, left or right and concentrate on hitting it, just like Kane did. Take a leaf out of Scotland's book. 100% record in competitive penalty shoot outs, 10 penalties taken, 10 scored and not a single silly run up.

AltheHibby
Burn of the tournament has to be the Italian fan with the "Football's coming Rome" banner.

11-07-2021, 10:05 PM
Unless you live amongst these people, you really wont understand how delighted i am at the moment. :greengrin

First sirens of the night just outside my house...

NC1875
Whilst extremely happy that England have lost on penalties, we should compliment them on getting so far. They've got some great players and will get better.

No thanks, hope they get pumped every time they play. Arrogant tossers

Pizza shops will be in for a torrid time.

Bank holiday cancelled then...bummer

I'm having one. :thumbsup:

Just had a look on Twitter and although the majority of messages to Saka, Rashford and Sancho are supportive, there’s already some amount of absolutely horrendous abuse. It’s disgusting.

Jim Herriot

11-07-2021, 10:06 PM
All the praise Southgate has got has to be cancelled out with these subs and sending young laddies out there to take the pens. Shame 😀

Southgate hung the young lads out to dry.
Terrible management

It's their own stupid fault. Just do a normal penalty with a normal run up, none of those stupid little short steps and little pauses to try and fool the keeper. Pick a corner, left or right and concentrate on hitting it, just like Kane did. Take a leaf out of Scotland's book. 100% record in competitive penalty shoot outs, 10 penalties taken, 10 scored and not a single silly run up.

To be fair Jorginho is potentially the best penalty taker in world football and he has the strangest run up there is. I’m not sure there’s anything wrong with the run ups, they were just **** pens.

Easiest route to the final in history and still ****ed it 🤣🤣🤣

11-07-2021, 10:07 PM
...and breathe.

Sancho and Saka's penalties were dreadful.
You win nothing with kids.

Andy.1875
Fantastic result.

Magnificent management

Fixed that for you. :wink:

11-07-2021, 10:08 PM

If this match of players and Manager don't win a major tournament, I don't think that they ever will.

I feel for the English hibbys on here, but the better team won it. England getting that goal so early was probably the worst thing that happened for them. They didn’t know what to do and just shat it and Italy took control of the game. They must be absolutely gutted with the way they performed as they weren’t a threat after the goal.

dchibs
Majestic hearing Ferdinand gutted

Forgot about that Prick watched the other channel because he was on will turn it over now :aok:

To be fair Jorginho is potentially the best penalty taker in world football and he has the strangest run up there is. I’m not sure there’s anything wrong with the run ups, they were just **** pens.

It was the best save in the shoot out

Jakhog1
11-07-2021, 10:09 PM
Quite looking forward to heading down to England for my holiday tommorow, don't know if it is wise to let my laddie take his Italy strip though

11-07-2021, 10:09 PM
Atomic Kitten back on the dole again.

CloudSquall
11-07-2021, 10:10 PM
At least the slapheads can get back to the Danny Dyer act.

11-07-2021, 10:10 PM
Terrible management

Or he picked the best penalty takers regardless of age? England over acheived by reaching the final. Well done to them. No way were they going to overcome Italy tonight.

11-07-2021, 10:11 PM
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_2021_07/277360F5-5B74-46DE-9BC4-5660396145D1.thumb.jpeg.a2cf6c5947419b27668d644974 aeba76.jpeg

11-07-2021, 10:12 PM
https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/1234d0a2-3ff9-4198-8095-71cfe6406feahttps://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/2a8509cf-63b2-4e62-87ad-17c3c3d7e6d6

11-07-2021, 10:13 PM
Sancho and Saka's penalties were dreadful.

At least theirs were on target, Rashford missing the goals was the most unforgivable

That was poetry. The perfect way for them to lose it.

And he missed his too didn't he? Maybe I'm just too old school. I just think you look really stupid with one of those run ups if you miss. For me it is akin to Cummings and his failed Panenka in normal time in the cup semi v Dundee United.

I think that was the chance for this England team.

Italy will improve come the WC, France will be better, Argentina, Brazil et al will be there.

I could be wrong but I don't think they will get a better chance than that to win a major tournament. We've seen it before with Belgium, Portugal in the late 90s and 00s, Brazil in the 80s. They maybe next times but you don't get too many shots at it.

England bottle it when it matters at a major tournament.

Water is wet.

Taking their losers medals off like a bunch of expectant spoilt brats,,,,,,, loving it :greengrin

11-07-2021, 10:14 PM
Bunch of ungrateful gits taking off their runners up medal. They're English, what did they expect. 😉

30k likes so far, wee shame

Louisa Compton on Twitter: "At Wembley - Nigel Farage just arrived to loud boos and people throwing bottles at him." / Twitter (https://twitter.com/louisa_compton/status/1414269777326088198)

Really poor from most of the English players taking off their medals almost as soon as they got them.

Unless you live amongst these people, you really wont understand how delighted i am at the moment. :greengrin[emoji106][emoji16]

https://twitter.com/russo_brothers/status/1414347176629596164?s=21

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210711/ba44ab9fe272d930a9a3ae86841bb664.png

11-07-2021, 10:15 PM
Really poor from most of the English players taking off their medals almost as soon as they got them.

Really? Losers medals, players always take them off.

11-07-2021, 10:15 PM
Scenes

11-07-2021, 10:16 PM
At the end of the tournament, the right team won it. And that should be celebrated. :thumbsup:

Really? Losers medals, players always take them off.

Yep I find it really poor.

I'm having one. :thumbsup:

Pray for Rio. 🙏

Grazie mille Italia!!

11-07-2021, 10:17 PM
No sympathy for players who missed penalties. Over the 120 mins Italy were the best team Harry Kane is no where near a player who is worth 100 million. Southgate did not make his substitutions quickly enough. Kane should have been taken off in second half. Grealish should have been on sooner. Mancini got his substitutions right Southgate did not.

11-07-2021, 10:17 PM
And he missed his too didn't he? Maybe I'm just too old school. I just think you look really stupid with one of those run ups if you miss. For me it is akin to Cummings and his failed Panenka in normal time in the cup semi v Dundee United.

He did, but he near enough never does and he always does that run up.

Would be interesting to see stats for “dodgy run ups”. I’d suspect they’ll not be much different, they’ll just be more memorable.

The panenka is utter stupidity though. Nothing to gain from it where as the run ups there is.

11-07-2021, 10:18 PM
i'm lovin this post mortem

Likewise.

Disrespectful.

I know you jest but there will be trouble tonight and there will be damage to property...it's been built up so much that they will win that something has to give with the tanked up yobs tonight 😟

11-07-2021, 10:19 PM
I think that was the chance for this England team.

Italy will improve come the WC, France will be better, Argentina, Brazil et al will be there.

I could be wrong but I don't think they will get a better chance than that to win a major tournament. We've seen it before with Belgium, Portugal in the late 90s and 00s, Brazil in the 80s. They maybe next times but you don't get too many shots at it.
I agree. They need to play with 2 wide forwards(not grealish) as that is where their strengths lie. They can still play with 2 defensive midfielders but I feel others will progress more than they will.

Even more classless than nippy sweetie clapping their defeat. Yes, I had a wee private gloat but I think a public gloat from a person in her position was embarrassing. :tin hat:

There is no shame in being runners up in this tournament as there have been some real quality sides taking part. I guess that England's own conceit of themselves might stop them seeing that right now.

11-07-2021, 10:20 PM
Hope Nichola announces a public holiday fir Scotland tomorrow now 😀😀🤣

AltheHibby
I have just found out that there are Italians living near me. At least, I think there are judging by the fireworks.

Magpie
Bringing on Sancho and Rashford a poor decision imo.

Likewise.

Disrespectful.

They'll get fined for that, as well as letting 20k fans in beyond the agreed capacity. That's a story that will run this week, to deflect from the shattering defeat.

11-07-2021, 10:21 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/216800273_10226384080891679_7493040344625186840_n. jpg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=Fi8BaomJI9IAX-7rMDC&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=603e98f10be0e72a58a8aa0fcc3b4d88&oe=60F12A88

i picked the bin on the right, the huddies, pleased all the same though ;)

11-07-2021, 10:21 PM

Nice Post, fully agree

11-07-2021, 10:23 PM
Even more classless than nippy sweetie clapping their defeat. Yes, I had a wee private gloat but I think a public gloat from a person in her position was embarrassing. :tin hat:

Sure that was a mocked up vid. Looked like her celebrating an SNP win a few years back with a title overlay.

AltheHibby
11-07-2021, 10:24 PM
Nice Post, fully agree

The best thing is that 3 players missed, meaning tht a single player doesn't have to carry the weight alone.

11-07-2021, 10:25 PM

Lol. It's not a genuine video of her celebrating England getting beat.

Thought it was poor management to let Saka take the last one.

Fair enough him offering to take one but not the last.

If it's the one that was shared earlier on in this thread then that's a spoof from footage from an SNP election win last year or something?

Unless there's another one I've missed?

That’s not real ffs.

I have just found out that there are Italians living near me. At least, I think there are judging by the fireworks.
Naw probably some Scottish people.

11-07-2021, 10:26 PM

Whoooooooosssshhhhhh!!!!!!!

I'm sure it's different on ITV if Keane is there but it's quite funny watching Ferdinand, Lampard, Shearer and Lineker on BBC. All desperate to have a go at Southgate but none of them willing to do so because he's one of their own. Loads of skirting around the issues and 'maybe some will say' or 'you could possibly argues' to avoid directly criticising him.

If it's the one that was shared earlier on in this thread then that's a spoof from footage from an SNP election win last year or something?

Unless there's another one I've missed?

It's from the 2019 general election when Jo Swinson got voted out. :greengrin

11-07-2021, 10:27 PM
It didn’t phase me. They want to be winners but came up short. No big deal that they feel disappointed.

Bobo

It's a shame for the lad considering he had the superstar Sterling hiding behind him and not offering to take one of the crucial penalties.

Key West
I can switch the telly back on now.

Dmas
11-07-2021, 10:29 PM
Don’t know what it takes for these guys to criticise Southgate he put 2 guys on that have barely played any mins to take pens in the final replacing one of the squads most experienced players in the process, he really could have used his subs a lot earlier and made a positive change or 2 to swing the game in their favour to stop the need for pens,

11-07-2021, 10:29 PM
Shearer 😂😂😂😂😂😂

11-07-2021, 10:30 PM
Italy by far the better team. Congratulations to them.

Anyway, enough of the glamour, back to proper fitba.
C’mon the Hibs. :greengrin

:agree: That will all come out in the days/weeks to come. English media will be unmerciful. There will be no hiding place for the English failures and little recognition of how the Italians went about winning this competition.

Shearer 😂😂😂😂😂😂

The state of him 😂😂😂😂😂

11-07-2021, 10:31 PM
That’s not real ffs.

ssshhh

BBC commentators bemoaning a red card decision :greengrin:top marks

Oh dear god

Delicious

https://twitter.com/EURO2020/status/1414349897772371968?s=20

11-07-2021, 10:33 PM
Don’t know what it takes for these guys to criticise Southgate he put 2 guys on that have barely played any mins to take pens in the final replacing one of the squads most experienced players in the process, he really could have used his subs a lot earlier and made a positive change or 2 to swing the game in their favour to stop the need for pens,

While Sterling hides

The state of him 😂😂😂😂😂

Spluttering that Jorginho shouldn’t have been on the pitch to take a penalty, despite the fact he missed 😂

It’s hard not to like chiellini.

Now the BBC commentators are skirting around criticising Southgate :thumbsup:

11-07-2021, 10:34 PM
Whoooooooosssshhhhhh!!!!!!!

Never even looked closely at it. :blushie::blushie::blushie:

Don't know why Southgate played two DMs in a Final.

If Kane and Sterling had stayed on their feet all game rather than their ***** England might have scored another goal and kids wouldn't have had to take pens. They didn't seem to twig that the ref wasn't going to be suckered like Premier League refs week in week out. Senior players to blame for the defeat.

11-07-2021, 10:35 PM
While Sterling hides

And thought Grealish would have taken one?

Key West
After Donnarumma picked the ball out of the net after 2 minutes did he have a save to make before it went to penalties?

He's here!
Disappointed for England. They should be very proud of themselves tho. They had a brilliant tournament and look to have a great young base of players from which to keep building. Be good to think Scotland can draw some inspiration from them.

11-07-2021, 10:36 PM
After Donnarumma picked the ball out of the net after 2 minutes did he have a save to make before it went to penalties?

Helped one over the bar which was already going high.

JXM73
11-07-2021, 10:36 PM
Disappointed for England. They should be very proud of themselves tho. They had a brilliant tournament and look to have a great young base of players from which to keep building. Be good to think Scotland can draw some inspiration from them.

**** em, scotland inspired by that lot, you taking the piss?

11-07-2021, 10:37 PM

Southgate did an incredible job over the piece and was close to winning the whole thing. His comments and some of his decision-making over the last day or two suggests things got to him a bit. Hardly surprising given the ridiculous amount of pressure on him trying to meet the expectations of a Nation. If there's one person I feel sorry for, it's Southgate.

11-07-2021, 10:37 PM
I hate to see that, petulant

11-07-2021, 10:38 PM
Southgate did an incredible job over the piece and was close to winning the whole thing. His comments and some of his decision-making over the last day or two suggests things got to him a bit. Hardly surprising given the ridiculous amount of pressure on him trying to meet the expectations of a Nation. If there's one person I feel sorry for, it's Southgate.

Souter96Mac
11-07-2021, 10:38 PM
You absolutely love to see it

11-07-2021, 10:40 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210711/1d8c5ab965bce55d6d381cb02a113edd.jpg

11-07-2021, 10:41 PM
:wtf:

” We were beaten by the best team in the tournament and the best team over the 120 minutes”

Rio Ferdinand

11-07-2021, 10:42 PM
It’s hard not to like chiellini.

Wouldn't want to mess with him , he's a god damn monster . ****ing love him though

https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/1234d0a2-3ff9-4198-8095-71cfe6406feahttps://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/2a8509cf-63b2-4e62-87ad-17c3c3d7e6d6

I don't think Southgate will be England manager by the time the next Euros comes around. A poor WC, which for England means anything less than the semi final, and the knives will be out.

I said it during the game and I stand by it. He's not that great a manager. He's done a good job with England but he's got a very decent squad to work with. They were totally outplayed in the 2nd half tonight and he didn't have a clue how to fix it.

If he's taking that team to semis and finals then a prime Ferguson, Mourinho, Guardiola etc, real top level managers, are delivering success. I like him as a person, as a manger I'm not convinced.

11-07-2021, 10:43 PM
Yes I agree. I’m sure he will be persecuted by the English press though.

:wtf:

” We were beaten by the best team in the tournament and the best team over the 120 minutes”

Rio Ferdinand

The same Rio that said nobody could live with them haha.

That BBC outro hahahahaha wow

11-07-2021, 10:45 PM
Chiellini rag dolling Saka, must be the best yellow he's taken in his career.

pollution
11-07-2021, 10:45 PM
I am emotionally exhausted but happy.

What a good loser Southgate is, a true gentleman.

Jakhog1
11-07-2021, 10:48 PM
That BBC outro hahahahaha wow

It's like Scotland and Wales were not taking part

Dmas
11-07-2021, 10:49 PM

Yeah I’d agree with that but he’s got it wrong at the final hurdl, from about 30mins onwards England where falling out that game and he was too scared to make positive attacking changes with all that attacking talent on the bench, 2 holding mids for 120mins? Italy’s centre halfs combined age is 72 a second striker with rashfords pace would have caused them problems

Comes across as a good and decent guy no doubt but England could be a force with a better manager IMO man for man you’d probably pick more English players than Italians but there manager can change it

CloudSquall
11-07-2021, 10:50 PM
A final run that included wins against sub standard opposition and a Germany that is a shadow of it's former self, it's majestic to see England build themselves up for a last 16 knock out against decent opposition in Qatar.

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/217395932_10218001438124289_609339160329784280_n.j pg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=8RQ2mCYz5xcAX-By-Gj&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=c66ecbba895c10d56463c2d3fbf8f58f&oe=60EFCA16

And thought Grealish would have taken one?

Agree No idea why they wouldn’t or why manager wouldn’t work with them to have confidence to take them instead of bringing on players not involved in game and in rashford some I e who hasn’t been deemed good enough to play much game time in whole tournament No doubt he will get racial abuse from the morons

I don't think Southgate will be England manager by the time the next Euros comes around. A poor WC, which for England means anything less than the semi final, and the knives will be out.

I said it during the game and I stand by it. He's not that great a manager. He's done a good job with England but he's got a very decent squad to work with. They were totally outplayed in the 2nd half tonight and he didn't have a clue how to fix it.

If he's taking that team to semis and finals then a prime Ferguson, Mourinho, Guardiola etc, real top level managers, are delivering success. I like him as a person, as a manger I'm not convinced.
I kind of agree with that but the top class managers you list aren’t going to be anywhere near international management for a long time. Southgate strikes me as the ideal guy to manage international teams and England should probably stick with him, but I agree with you that they probably won’t.

11-07-2021, 10:56 PM

Spent most of the tournament throwing themselves to the ground and failed to win the final played in their own back garden. I hope they don't inspire us.

11-07-2021, 10:57 PM
**** England, **** Southgate, and **** any sympathy for them that missed the penalties

I am happy that the cheating weasel Sterling hasn’t got a winners medal. He isn’t the only one but he is the one that’s caught the eye in this tourney

I ended up cleaning up sick from my better half. No idea how, but ya effin beauty!!!!!!

11-07-2021, 10:59 PM
I kind of agree with that but the top class managers you list aren’t going to be anywhere near international management for a long time. Southgate strikes me as the ideal guy to manage international teams and England should probably stick with him, but I agree with you that they probably won’t.

I think your right that you will rarely get a real top drawer manager in charge of a national team whilst at their peak.

In saying that I'd place Mancini a rung or 2 below top of the ladder and, totally hypothetically of course, I'd argue if he managed England tonight the result would have been different. His changes, both in terms of personnel and style, swung the game in favour of his team.

Souter96Mac
11-07-2021, 11:00 PM
I am happy that the cheating weasel Sterling hasn’t got a winners medal. He isn’t the only one but he is the one that’s caught the eye in this tourney

He was dreadful today. Him and Kane spent majority of the game on the ground. Cheats

11-07-2021, 11:02 PM
What do you think Lineker was insinuating when they were talking about the ages of Chiellini and Bonuccis age and how many games they have played. Sounded to me like he was almost accusing them of performance enhancing drugs

11-07-2021, 11:04 PM
**** England, **** Southgate, and **** any sympathy for them that missed the penalties
:agree: Living in Engerland I’m so looking forward to going to work tomorrow

11-07-2021, 11:04 PM
What do you think Lineker was insinuating when they were talking about the ages of Chiellini and Bonuccis age and how many games they have played. Sounded to me like he was almost accusing them of performance enhancing drugs

Noticed that as well. Was definitely a weird comment to make.

11-07-2021, 11:06 PM
Yeah I’d agree with that but he’s got it wrong at the final hurdl, from about 30mins onwards England where falling out that game and he was too scared to make positive attacking changes with all that attacking talent on the bench, 2 holding mids for 120mins? Italy’s centre halfs combined age is 72 a second striker with rashfords pace would have caused them problems

Comes across as a good and decent guy no doubt but England could be a force with a better manager IMO man for man you’d probably pick more English players than Italians but there manager can change it

IMO England have had better individuals and squads of players and not reached a major final. Southgate did that and was within a pen kick of winning the whole thing. For all his mistakes tonight, you can't ignore 4-0 Ukraine and their goals against record. They lost 1 goal in open play.

11-07-2021, 11:08 PM
IMO England have had better individuals and squads of players and not reached a major final. Southgate did that and was within a pen kick of winning the whole thing. For all his mistakes tonight, you can't ignore 4-0 Ukraine and their goals against record. They lost 1 goal in open play.

Couldnae beat Scotland but

Just gorgeous. It’s a chianti night tonight so I’ll save it for tomorrow. Horrible way to settle a final though and England can hold their heads up. They got gitjrr than I expected though they didn’t meet a serious hurdle until the final. Southgate should have been more adventurous.

Donnarumma Italy named player of the tournament

Pedri 18 Spain named young player of the tournament

Euro 2020

11-07-2021, 11:11 PM
Bank holiday cancelled then...bummerArnt we having one tomorrow? [emoji23][emoji16]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

11-07-2021, 11:13 PM
I think your right that you will rarely get a real top drawer manager in charge of a national team whilst at their peak.

In saying that I'd place Mancini a rung or 2 below top of the ladder and, totally hypothetically of course, I'd argue if he managed England tonight the result would have been different. His changes, both in terms of personnel and style, swung the game in favour of his team.
That’s a good point, Mancini was probably the highest profile manager in the tournament and it’s probably no coincidence that his team were the best and ended up winning it.

11-07-2021, 11:16 PM

They were outstanding for a spell against Ukraine but I thought they played well within themselves for much of the tournament.

I’m delighted Italy won for many reasons but I’m delighted that the team who played the most positive and aggressive football throughout the tournament won.

There’s a cracking, positive team to be built out of those England players but you just feel they’ll always fall short playing like that. Like Stevie Clarke’s tentative Scotland. And Jack Ross’ tentative Hibs.

It feels to me like England, Scotland and Hibs have the players to go a step further if the players were just let off the leash a bit more often.

11-07-2021, 11:24 PM
I thought Ukraine looked dead on their feet tbh by the time they played England 0-4

England skilfully managed to manoeuvre themselves over to the easier side of the draw (55 years and counting ) but I suppose you can only beat what’s put in front of you :greengrin

11-07-2021, 11:25 PM
For me the 2 players that stood out in this game were both subbed, Chiesa and Declan Rice. 2 potentially brilliant players in the future, and they're both pretty good already.

11-07-2021, 11:30 PM

Scotland are also the only team to have kept a clean sheet against England at Euro 2020.

Cool stat.

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

11-07-2021, 11:34 PM
Scotland are also the only team to have kept a clean sheet against England at Euro 2020.

Cool stat.

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

We've also never missed in any penalty shootout we've ever been in.

Souter96Mac
11-07-2021, 11:38 PM
For me the 2 players that stood out in this game were both subbed, Chiesa and Declan Rice. 2 potentially brilliant players in the future, and they're both pretty good already.

Chiesa for me was by and far, the best footballer out there tonight. Everytime he got the ball, something happened. The boy had some talent. Such a joy to watch.

11-07-2021, 11:45 PM
I thought Declan Rice was immense an absolute rolls royce of a player. He’ll go on to have a brilliant career, if he can add goals to his game he could be the next Lampard.

vuefrom1875
11-07-2021, 11:47 PM

Cool stat.

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿
Small change.

The Baldmans Comb
11-07-2021, 11:48 PM
In the end it came down to real bottle and mental strength and yet again England were found totally wanting though the English manager and his arrogance didn't do that very young inexperienced guy any favours by making him number 5 in the shoot out.

English TV were utterly and totally spewing but self confidence can take some many countries a very long way and many lessons can be learned from inner self belief.

I wish them well.✅

11-07-2021, 11:49 PM
Chiesa for me was by and far, the best footballer out there tonight. Everytime he got the ball, something happened. The boy had some talent. Such a joy to watch.
He was brilliant, especially in the second half, i think Italy would’ve won it before penalties if he’d stayed on.

11-07-2021, 11:53 PM
I thought Declan Rice was immense an absolute rolls royce of a player. He’ll go on to have a brilliant career, if he can add goals to his game he could be the next Lampard.
He was superb in tonight’s game. His best performance all tournament game . Not sure about the lampard comparison though. Totally different players.

11-07-2021, 11:55 PM
England will never have a better opportunity to win a tournament. They had an easy group and progressed to a very easy side of the draw, beating one of the poorest German sides I can ever remember. All the big guns were knocked out apart from Italy. They only had one game away from home and beat poor Denmark by means of a penalty from a dive. They will never get it as easy again and they blew it. Thank you, thank you, thank you 🇮🇹

11-07-2021, 11:56 PM
In the end it came down to utter bottle and mental strength and yet again England were found totally wanting though the English manager didn't do that very young inexperienced guy any favours by making him number 5 in the shoot out.

English TV were utterly spewing but self confidence can take countries a very long way and many lessons can be learned from inner self belief.

I wish them well.✅

Sticking Rashford and Sancho on just for the penalties was a huge call. Went against them. Happy to see it back fire. Always fancied Italy in a penalty shoot out.

12-07-2021, 12:04 AM
Veni, vidi, vici !

joebakerforever
12-07-2021, 12:09 AM

Mantis Toboggan
12-07-2021, 12:17 AM

Most appropriate use of the helmet emoji I've ever seen

He's here!
12-07-2021, 12:30 AM
**** em, scotland inspired by that lot, you taking the piss?

I'd have thought we would all be ecstatic if Scotland ever got to the final of a major tournament?

12-07-2021, 12:50 AM
https://youtu.be/va6nPu-1auE
I’m more of a lasagna man personally, but each to their own.

12-07-2021, 02:53 AM
Well done Italy🇮🇹🇮🇹🇮🇹

12-07-2021, 06:56 AM
Anyone else find themselves whistling Three Lions this morning 😁

Fratelli
12-07-2021, 07:09 AM
Currently in Rome on holiday and have to say the drive back from our friends house to our apartment near to St Peter’s Square is something I won’t forget!

All the cars and scooters were out and it was just a continual noise of horns and shouting.

Eventually arrived back at 2:15am.

Forza Italia!

12-07-2021, 07:10 AM
Reflecting on the game..

1st half if England had got a 2nd goal it was over. Italy couldn’t cope with them and it took them to half time to sort their shape.

England went backwards at half time and were luckily Chiesa went off as he was running riot and looked like he could score.

The stats while aren’t everything show Italy had 60% possession over the whole game / more goal attempts (20v6), shots on target (6v1) and double number the completed passes (798 v 340).

Italy you have to remember were also missing Spinazzola and had Veratti who played through a leg injury plus Chiesa going off after 85 mins.

The madness of the last few minutes of extra time didn’t help England - defending a corner without Henderson and Walker and the pressure put onto the guys who missed a penalty. Some of those guys hadn’t kicked a football since the half time warm up!!

Italy didn’t surprise me - you don’t go unbeaten in 34 games if you are average. Mancini's team needs to stay unbeaten in their next match to equal the all-time record of 35 matches unbeaten, which is held jointly by Brazil (1993 to 1996) and Spain (2007 to 2009).

Much of the build it was dominated by “its coming home” and many fans thinking this final was only going to be an England win. We know as Hibs fans that’s a dangerous mindset to be in and only leads to motivation of the opposition. Can’t see England winning in Qatar due to heat and other counties improving/ European teams winning outside Europe….then the next Euros is in Germany..can’t see them winning it there surely ?! Won’t get an easier run / chance playing at home for a long time (2030 World Cup?!).

Keyser Sauzee
12-07-2021, 07:21 AM

It’s pathetic behaviour tbh shows no class at all. Show some respect and do what you want with it when you leave the ground.

12-07-2021, 07:28 AM
Man who called Muslim women “letterboxes”, has spoken of “picaninnies with watermelon smiles” and has called gay men “bum boys” condemns the abuse the penalty takers get.

No wonder England is in such a state. Sheep following by the example of their leader and both the racists on social media and the PM need held to account.

12-07-2021, 07:43 AM
Man who called Muslim women “letterboxes”, has spoken of “picaninnies with watermelon smiles” and has called gay men “bum boys” condemns the abuse the penalty takers get.

No wonder England is in such a state. Sheep following by the example of their leader and both the racists on social media and the PM need held to account.

Some of the videos showing English fans making Italians run the gauntlet to get out whilst racially abusing them remind me of a different place in a different era.

12-07-2021, 07:46 AM
Reflecting on the game..

1st half if England had got a 2nd goal it was over. Italy couldn’t cope with them and it took them to half time to sort their shape.

England went backwards at half time and were luckily Chiesa went off as he was running riot and looked like he could score.

The stats while aren’t everything show Italy had 60% possession over the whole game / more goal attempts (20v6), shots on target (6v1) and double number the completed passes (798 v 340).

Italy you have to remember were also missing Spinazzola and had Veratti who played through a leg injury plus Chiesa going off after 85 mins.

The madness of the last few minutes of extra time didn’t help England - defending a corner without Henderson and Walker and the pressure put onto the guys who missed a penalty. Some of those guys hadn’t kicked a football since the half time warm up!!

Italy didn’t surprise me - you don’t go unbeaten in 34 games if you are average. Mancini's team needs to stay unbeaten in their next match to equal the all-time record of 35 matches unbeaten, which is held jointly by Brazil (1993 to 1996) and Spain (2007 to 2009).

Much of the build it was dominated by “its coming home” and many fans thinking this final was only going to be an England win. We know as Hibs fans that’s a dangerous mindset to be in and only leads to motivation of the opposition. Can’t see England winning in Qatar due to heat and other counties improving/ European teams winning outside Europe….then the next Euros is in Germany..can’t see them winning it there surely ?! Won’t get an easier run / chance playing at home for a long time (2030 World Cup?!).

I thought Italy had got hold of the game long before half time. Weren’t much of a threat but after the first 10/15 minutes England were playing almost completely on the break. Immobilie was a man short but as soon as they got him off that changed.

12-07-2021, 07:48 AM
Some of the videos showing English fans making Italians run the gauntlet to get out whilst racially abusing them remind me of a different place in a different era.

England fans: “Its coming home”
Scotland: “This is your home”.

It’s incredible how differently the two countries represent themselves on the world stage.

12-07-2021, 07:59 AM
why did sterling not take a penalty, or could they not trust him falling down before hitting it looking for another penalty

Spot on :greengrin

12-07-2021, 08:00 AM
Currently in Rome on holiday and have to say the drive back from our friends house to our apartment near to St Peter’s Square is something I won’t forget!

All the cars and scooters were out and it was just a continual noise of horns and shouting.

Eventually arrived back at 2:15am.

Forza Italia!

I was in France in 98 when they won the world cup (it was also my birthday) - quite an experience!

12-07-2021, 08:01 AM
Aldo Zilli just said on tv that Chiellini slept with the trophy last night.

The boys a legend.

12-07-2021, 08:02 AM

The boys a legend.

I hope his team mates got their drink out of it first!

12-07-2021, 08:06 AM

Well, man-child anyway.

12-07-2021, 08:09 AM
It’s pathetic behaviour tbh shows no class at all. Show some respect and do what you want with it when you leave the ground.

I noticed that too. I can understand them doing it out of frustration but should have waited a few mins. The Italians believed they would win,the English hoped. There lies the difference.

12-07-2021, 08:11 AM
I thought Italy had got hold of the game long before half time.

:agree: Couldn't understand why commentators/pundits were quite so pleased at half-time with the way the game was going.

12-07-2021, 08:12 AM

The boys a legend.

An utter warrior. The smiling assassin. The way he hauled back Saka was just brutal. From a bygone age.

12-07-2021, 08:13 AM
55 years in a row.

12-07-2021, 08:18 AM
:agree: Couldn't understand why commentators/pundits were quite so pleased at half-time with the way the game was going.

It's time the Linekers and Shearers of this world got the boot. Its extraordinary how those oafs get such high salaries. They are presenting the game in the wrong light.

12-07-2021, 08:19 AM

Yep, England had the first 20 minutes and the second half of extra time, other than that it was all Italy

Just_Jimmy
12-07-2021, 08:20 AM
It's time the Linekers and Shearers of this world got the boot. Its extraordinary how those oafs get such high salaries. They are presenting the game in the wrong light.exactly, when you compare that to Jürgen Klinsman and how classy he was in a Partizan environment, they're absolutely vile.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

12-07-2021, 08:21 AM

At half time the pocession was 71% to Italy, 29% to England. England came into the game a bit more in extra time and it finished 66% to 34% to Italy. Shots 19-6 to Italy. They completely dominated the game._

12-07-2021, 08:26 AM
Well, man-child anyway.

Nah, that indicates that he’s not in full control of his actions. The man who condemns the trouble inside and outside the ground who was recorded on a phone call where a journalist was conspired against to get beaten up, and then Johnson laughed about it when replayed it later on a TV programme.

The racist, violent thugs who have been causing trouble are just following the morals of their racist thug leader.

12-07-2021, 08:29 AM
Taking their losers medals off like a bunch of expectant spoilt brats,,,,,,, loving it :greengrin

Always hate that trend totally disrespectful to the tournament and an appalling example to especially young fans.

12-07-2021, 08:38 AM
At half time the pocession was 71% to Italy, 29% to England. England came into the game a bit more in extra time and it finished 66% to 34% to Italy. Shots 19-6 to Italy. They completely dominated the game._

Think it was 61% to 39% at half time.

Though Italy were definitely struggling 1st half early on. 2-0 and not sure they would have come back from that.

It’s hard to think of a save by the Italy keeper in the whole game (apart from penalties) and the stats say 1 shot on target by England..which was the goal. No shots on goal in 2nd half or extra time for England.

12-07-2021, 08:42 AM
Scotland couldn't beat anybody, at least Wales got into knockout stages.

12-07-2021, 09:05 AM
I thought Italy had got hold of the game long before half time. Weren’t much of a threat but after the first 10/15 minutes England were playing almost completely on the break. Immobilie was a man short but as soon as they got him off that changed.

I thought Italy were hopeless during the first half and the commentators were right to be happy with how things were going at half time.

Yes, they’d got a bit of a foothold in the run up to half time but they didn’t look remotely like they were going to create, score or get back into the game.

England were comfortable, their shape was good and they were content to concede possession. They had their goal and everything to me looked like they’d be able to kill the game, defend in numbers and see it out.

It became a very different game after the break. If the truth be told, I didn’t see Italy going on to put in the performance they did, and certainly didn’t see them winning the trophy.

12-07-2021, 09:05 AM
Nah, that indicates that he’s not in full control of his actions. The man who condemns the trouble inside and outside the ground who was recorded on a phone call where a journalist was conspired against to get beaten up, and then Johnson laughed about it when replayed it later on a TV programme.

The racist, violent thugs who have been causing trouble are just following the morals of their racist thug leader.

https://twitter.com/EmmaKennedy/status/1414336288036118534/photo/1 :wink:

12-07-2021, 09:06 AM
Was there any trouble last night or was it mostly just people going home a bit sad?

12-07-2021, 09:15 AM

100% this - public school manchild who has uttered numerous racist comments in his life, fostered a racist and England first mentality in his government, played off racism to make Brexit happen.

In the same way as allowing these bams to drink all day and night led to violence, his government policies lead to racism being not only allowed but encouraged down there.

12-07-2021, 09:16 AM
Turned on the news this morning and of course expected to hear a bit of reaction to the Italian victory.
But it has been wall to wall coverage and appears to be a desperate attempt to salvage the whole thing as a glorious English achievement against a cheating, hatchet wielding, bunch of Italians.
You would think there was nothing else happening in the world???

Just_Jimmy
12-07-2021, 09:16 AM
Scotland couldn't beat anybody, at least Wales got into knockout stages.Scotland were the third lowest ranked team in the competition. Scotland got what everyone who has a clue about football expected. they did well to get a draw against England.

England have a phenomenal level of talent and their biggest weakness is the manager who's negative and can't change a game with a positive sub. he's reactive rather than proactive. however, he's out punched every England manager since Ramsay and he's a genuinely decent guy. I didn't want them to win but honestly, my heart sank when rashford missed, then Sancho and saka. this isn't an unlikeable England squad at all.

12-07-2021, 09:17 AM
Was there any trouble last night or was it mostly just people going home a bit sad?

CBA looking for it, but they were battering each other in the lead up to the match, its almost certain there were rammies afterwards when several more beers were consumed.

12-07-2021, 09:17 AM

Plenty videos doing the rounds showing disturbing attacks on Italian fans with racial insults thrown in for good measure. One video in particular that I found sickening is of a young Italian boy getting slapped around by a mob of grown men. I'm not going to post them on here but I'm sure you'll have no trouble finding them. The racial abuse their own players are getting is quite astounding, like I said earlier it reminds me of scenes from a different place in a different era.

12-07-2021, 09:35 AM
SuperEnglandlosttoItaliaEuropeisEuphoric

He's here!
12-07-2021, 09:42 AM
Scotland were the third lowest ranked team in the competition. Scotland got what everyone who has a clue about football expected. they did well to get a draw against England.

England have a phenomenal level of talent and their biggest weakness is the manager who's negative and can't change a game with a positive sub. he's reactive rather than proactive. however, he's out punched every England manager since Ramsay and he's a genuinely decent guy. I didn't want them to win but honestly, my heart sank when rashford missed, then Sancho and saka. this isn't an unlikeable England squad at all.

Good post. I actually feared Scotland would lose all three games so as you say a point against England was welcome. Most of us would admit that we're a long way off the pace though and I think we need to qualify 'properly' for a tournament before we can say we're on the right track. We got to the Euros via a relatively unchallenging back door method which didn't sit easy with me and tended to get a bit glossed over amid the hype around us actually being at a tournament for a change.

I think it's harsh to find too much fault with Southgate's tactics. A World Cup semi-final and a Euro final in his first two tournaments in charge shows he's doing something very right and personally I think he and his team can only improve. Like you, I really felt for the young guys last night. Such fine margins as they say and I find it hard to see how anyone could take genuine pleasure in their misfortune. I spotted the front page of the National earlier and while I guess it's meant to be light-hearted it still comes across as a bit infantile and narrow-minded.

12-07-2021, 09:46 AM
Sir Geoff Hurst touting Gareth Southgate for a knighthood on breakfast tele this morning FFS :faf:

12-07-2021, 09:48 AM

Sky news coverage different to BBC. Apparently thousands of fans outside the stadium drinking from 10 am, was apparently a feral atmosphere at 2pm no doubt resulting in pissed ticketless fans storming into the stadium. Lot of trouble in central London something like 19 police injured. Apparently Danny Mills indicated at end of the game fans were throwing cans into some of the media sections just missing Skys Martin Tyler.

He's here!
12-07-2021, 09:53 AM
Plenty videos doing the rounds showing disturbing attacks on Italian fans with racial insults thrown in for good measure. One video in particular that I found sickening is of a young Italian boy getting slapped around by a mob of grown men. I'm not going to post them on here but I'm sure you'll have no trouble finding them. The racial abuse their own players are getting is quite astounding, like I said earlier it reminds me of scenes from a different place in a different era.

It would be wrong, I think, to try and make out that this sort of thing is reflective of today's England support. Most of the TV features which focused on fans gathered around the country showed big, family friendly groups of punters all there just to will on their team. A significant amount of ethnic diversity among them, in the stadium and, of course, within the team. Anyone trying to make racist mileage out of the defeat (particularly those hiding behind social media) isn't a football fan, just a racist. Twitter etc need to do a lot more to deplatform this sort of nonsense.

While the colour of the players who missed the penalties should be irrelevant, it would have been wonderfully inspiring to see those youngsters become this morning's front page heroes.

12-07-2021, 10:03 AM
Video going about of england fans attacking Italians coming out of Wembley even looks like a middle age man attacking kids.

12-07-2021, 10:04 AM
It would be wrong, I think, to try and make out that this sort of thing is reflective of today's England support. Most of the TV features which focused on fans gathered around the country showed big, family friendly groups of punters all there just to will on their team. A significant amount of ethnic diversity among them, in the stadium and, of course, within the team. Anyone trying to make racist mileage out of the defeat (particularly those hiding behind social media) isn't a football fan, just a racist. Twitter etc need to do a lot more to deplatform this sort of nonsense.

While the colour of the players who missed the penalties should be irrelevant, it would have been wonderfully inspiring to see those youngsters become this morning's front page heroes.

Its very reflective of english football tbh.

12-07-2021, 10:06 AM
Scotland were the third lowest ranked team in the competition. Scotland got what everyone who has a clue about football expected. they did well to get a draw against England.

Interesting. By my calculations we ended up the third worst team in the tournament. So there’s something to say about the rankings.

We only bettered Macedonia (0 points) and Turkey (0 points). Poland finished on 1, but had a better goal difference.

Socks need pulling up if we want to have a sniff of Qatar.

I said at the time, not beating Austria at home and Israel away pretty much has ended our qualification campaign.

I hope I’m wrong.

12-07-2021, 10:07 AM
Video going about of england fans attacking Italians coming out of Wembley even looks like a middle age man attacking kids.

Quite frankly if I was Italian, I’d be in Wembley until they shut off the lights.

jonny
12-07-2021, 10:14 AM
Interesting. By my calculations we ended up the third worst team in the tournament. So there’s something to say about the rankings.

We only bettered Macedonia (0 points) and Turkey (0 points). Poland finished on 1, but had a better goal difference.

Socks need pulling up if we want to have a sniff of Qatar.

I said at the time, not beating Austria at home and Israel away pretty much has ended our qualification campaign.

I hope I’m wrong.

If we don't lose to Austria away and beat Israel at home I think that might be just about enough for a playoff as long as we don't take a spanking by Denmark and beat the lesser teams by a few goals

12-07-2021, 10:17 AM
God Save the Queen" is the de facto national anthem of the United Kingdom

So....why have the English hijacked it as belonging to them?😇

12-07-2021, 10:20 AM

It's the de jure anthem of the UK.

But I think you have it the wrong way round, it used to be played for all UK teams, but Us/Wales have moved on and England are left with it. Do NI still use it as well? Not exactly inclusive for them.

12-07-2021, 10:21 AM

Same reason as they sometimes conflate the Union flag as somehow English - because they deem British as English.

Oh, and they dont actually have an English national anthem wont help either.