View Full Version : Match Updates Euro 2021 non-Scotland games
Pages :
[
13]
Saint Hibee
02-07-2021, 08:47 PM
Surprised not one big club in Europe has came in for Insigne. Under-rated player.
Why would any true Neapolitan ever play for anyone but Napoli? (Immobile being the exception to the rule).
02-07-2021, 08:47 PM
Just switched it on after watching Yorks beat Lancashire at the cricket.
Hope Belgium score for extra time.
No didnt happen sorry refusing to accept that.:wink:
02-07-2021, 08:49 PM
That was almost a Zaire moment there. He was about 3 yards away when that ball was hit.
No didnt happen sorry refusing to accept that.:wink:
Excellent game of cricket.
02-07-2021, 08:51 PM
book the keeper and add on 20 mins
Super game of football. Shame it wasn’t the final.
Agreed!:agree:
I've changed my mind, they're getting on my tits again.
02-07-2021, 08:52 PM
How can the commentator say that isn't a foul? Goalkeeper takes a leg to the stomach and a full body follow through as well. A player contests a header and someone jumps into him like that no one questions a free kick being given.
Saint Hibee
02-07-2021, 08:52 PM
Jeez, goalkeepers really are made of glass these days.
02-07-2021, 08:55 PM
Italy v Spain at Wembley very tasty but can only see an Italian win in that one. Thought Italy were fantastic tonight. End of a golden generation I think for Belgium. Won nothing but been very entertaining.
02-07-2021, 08:56 PM
It's amazing how they still do this whole time wasting faking injury thing and get away with it. Really takes the edge off how good they have played for me
02-07-2021, 08:57 PM
Great game and Italy were fantastic, even loved the bawbaggery at the end to seal the deal
02-07-2021, 08:58 PM
Italy v Spain would have been a great final
02-07-2021, 09:01 PM
Great game and Italy were fantastic, even loved the bawbaggery at the end to seal the deal
Some amount of bawbaggery flying about at full time an aw
02-07-2021, 09:03 PM
Surely the Italian players should not be hugging fans in the crowd. Given these teams are living in bubbles they are taking a huge risk.
It's amazing how they still do this whole time wasting faking injury thing and get away with it. Really takes the edge off how good they have played for me
It's magnificent to watch.
1875godsgift
Where did the Italian boy lose his shorts???
There's a hunger among the Italians that even the winners-elect England will have to be a little wary of. Know it's a but crazy but the Italians might even make a match of the final to keep the criowd interested :greengrin.
02-07-2021, 09:07 PM
I love the way this Italy team play, although they’re going to have to adapt without Spinazzola.
It’s funny, I’ve not been watching as much “elite football” in recent years, I’ve just got a bit bored with it. What that means though is that I’m unfamiliar with a lot of the teams and players - which makes it more like a finals from 30 years ago for me, which is brilliant.
Can’t say the games tomorrow get the pulse racing , but you never know.
02-07-2021, 09:09 PM
I love the way this Italy team play, although they’re going to have to adapt without Spinazzola.
It’s funny, I’ve not been watching as much “elite football” in recent years, I’ve just got a bit bored with it. What that means though is that I’m unfamiliar with a lot of the teams and players - which makes it more like a finals from 30 years ago for me, which is brilliant.
Can’t say the games tomorrow get the pulse racing , but you never know.
Do for me mate but Im sure you undertand that.
02-07-2021, 09:09 PM
Italy v Spain would have been a great final
See, other than the bizarre Croatia game I’ve found Spain quite dull.
I’d love to see how England would get on against Italy’s energy tbh...
The prospect of Italy ****housing their way to the trophy at Wembley versus England is delicious.
02-07-2021, 09:15 PM
The prospect of Italy ****housing their way to the trophy at Wembley versus England is delicious.
To go a bit Kevin Keegan I would absolutely love that. I think we are way, way better than England but losing Spinazzola is very bad news. I remain unconvinced they’ll make it past Ukraine and Denmark.
02-07-2021, 09:17 PM
The Danes will beat England.
02-07-2021, 09:21 PM
To go a bit Kevin Keegan I would absolutely love that. I think we are way, way better than England but losing Spinazzola is very bad news. I remain unconvinced they’ll make it past Ukraine and Denmark.
You never know Pal I was seriously surprised Sctotland made it past Israel and Serbia. :wink: But there you go. You never know in football a player can get sent off early doors, a team can be spot on tactically, the other team off, you jut never know.
Magpie
02-07-2021, 09:24 PM
Leonardo Spinazzola broke his Achilles’ tendon.
02-07-2021, 09:25 PM
Bad news for the lad he's been a star of the tournament
Surely the Italian players should not be hugging fans in the crowd. Given these teams are living in bubbles they are taking a huge risk.
Aye. But, let's face it, it was a given that they'll only have half a squad by the time they play England in the final!
No chance
02-07-2021, 09:28 PM
Thats a really bad one that can cause long lasting issues.
02-07-2021, 09:34 PM
I thought that was what might have happened at the time. He won’t be playing again for a while, that’s a real shame.
02-07-2021, 09:39 PM
If it's a Denmark England semi then the Danes will give them a really good game. They won at Wembley in the Nations league just last year. The Danes also have this real togetherness right now after what happened to Eriksen. Along with Italy they look like a bunch of players who would run through a brick wall to win a game.
02-07-2021, 10:24 PM
No chance
Every chance
02-07-2021, 10:29 PM
That's funny the clip of Immobile for the first Italian goal. Never seen a player recover from an injury so quickly. 🤣
02-07-2021, 10:41 PM
Horrible for him, just horrible. And severely weakens Italy’s prospects. ****.
02-07-2021, 11:44 PM
England vs Italy final with Italy to win. Not an anti English sentiment, I've just felt this was Italy's year since the tournament began.
To be honest if England get to the final and don't get run over they should feel it's an accomplishment however similar to our own cup runs, the fans will see falling at the final hurdle as failure and I'm sure many will call for Southgate to go. A mistake in my opinion should it happen.
Definitely feel for the Belgian fans and team, feels like those classic Portuguese and Spanish teams that were full of brilliant players but never managed to fulfil their potential. This team has one more tournament, the next world cup, and let's be honest they aren't going in to that as favourites. This was probably their last chance. A team full of great players, I feel sad they never won a competition.
03-07-2021, 01:17 AM
Did you post this in the wrong thread?
Yes 😂
03-07-2021, 10:34 AM
See, other than the bizarre Croatia game I’ve found Spain quite dull.
I’d love to see how England would get on against Italy’s energy tbh...
I'd much prefer to see how the Ukraine get on against them.:wink:
03-07-2021, 03:59 PM
Cmon the Danes!
(Wonder what ulrik Laursen is up to now)
03-07-2021, 04:05 PM
Cmon the Danes!
(Wonder what ulrik Laursen is up to now)
Up the Vikings.
Just booked a week on the Danish Baltic Coast as Germany was booked out. Last time I holidayed there was 1992. It's an omen I tell you.
03-07-2021, 04:09 PM
Up the Vikings.
Just booked a week on the Danish Baltic Coast as Germany was booked out. Last time I holidayed there was 1992. It's an omen I tell you.
If the Balkans go up in flames again I’ll know who to blame :greengrin
Did that Danish #5 go off? He clearly had a head knock, deffo against concussion protocol if not.
03-07-2021, 04:14 PM
Did that Danish #5 go off? He clearly had a head knock, deffo against concussion protocol if not.
You’re about 1600 miles too far north with that thought I’m afraid.:greengrin
03-07-2021, 04:16 PM
Denmark look excellent. Again.
03-07-2021, 04:32 PM
Absolute joke this game getting played in Baku. No atmosphere at all in a quarter final match. The travelling differentials between the teams is a joke imo.
03-07-2021, 04:37 PM
Absolute joke this game getting played in Baku. No atmosphere at all in a quarter final match. The travelling differentials between the teams is a joke imo.
Apart from a wee trip across to Amsterdam this has been their only travel outside Copenhagen, so they’ll be fresh for the semis.
03-07-2021, 04:44 PM
I think that cross proves Maehle hasn’t got concussion :greengrin
2-0.
03-07-2021, 04:45 PM
I think that cross proves Maehle hasn’t got concussion :greengrin
2-0.
It was some ball in. Great goal.
Bridge hibs
03-07-2021, 04:47 PM
Absolute joke this game getting played in Baku. No atmosphere at all in a quarter final match. The travelling differentials between the teams is a joke imo.Atmosphere is fine, take your tv off mute 😀 Get your point though Jim 👍
03-07-2021, 04:47 PM
Apart from a wee trip across to Amsterdam this has been their only travel outside Copenhagen, so they’ll be fresh for the semis.
More the general point about Baku
03-07-2021, 04:48 PM
Atmosphere is fine, take your tv off mute 😀 Get your point though Jim 👍
Just think what it would have been like in a full stadium.
More the general point about Baku
Find it hard to even consider it to be European
03-07-2021, 05:09 PM
2-1
Schick, again
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
03-07-2021, 05:09 PM
Danes must have went for a nap at HT and haven’t really woken up, bit of a game now !
Holy ***** man…. Some media outlets are talking about England not being able to parade through London when they win the Euro’s
03-07-2021, 05:39 PM
Did I just hear Flower of Scotland?
03-07-2021, 05:42 PM
Holy ***** man…. Some media outlets are talking about England not being able to parade through London when they win the Euro’s
They will get to the final if Southgate plays right team and gets tactics right
Can they beat Italy ? No
03-07-2021, 05:43 PM
FFS Ally give the keeper some credit, outstanding save from Maehle but apparently his teammates will be furious…
03-07-2021, 05:45 PM
Danes getting all the decisions late on
03-07-2021, 05:50 PM
Did I just hear Flower of Scotland?
Sounded like it
03-07-2021, 05:51 PM
Danes getting all the decisions late on
Was a clear foul on Vydra by Kjaer
03-07-2021, 05:52 PM
Was a clear foul on Vydra by Kjaer
:agree: and a yellow card minimum
Wait really?!
03-07-2021, 06:06 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;6609739]They will get to the final if Southgate plays right team and gets tactics right
Can they beat Italy ? No
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
I wouldn't underestimate the impact of the loss of Spinazzola. I think Italy are still substantially the better side but without him their ability to play that forward press game with so much width, possession and then quick interplay in the opposition box is substantially reduced.
I remain convinced England will have tough games against both Ukraine and then Denmark if they win the first one and could very easily not make the final.
03-07-2021, 06:09 PM
Sancho starts for England
03-07-2021, 06:11 PM
03-07-2021, 06:12 PM
You’re about 1600 miles too far north with that thought I’m afraid.:greengrin
Maybe you're too young to remember 92. :wink:
🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦
03-07-2021, 06:26 PM
Well said mate :greengrin
03-07-2021, 06:34 PM
Subtle, but effective :greengrin
Get right into Boris's Bufoons.
03-07-2021, 06:34 PM
Maybe you're too young to remember 92. :wink:
Ah! Got it :aok:
03-07-2021, 06:44 PM
That is sad. No wonder he was so upset.
Does anyone have an update on the Ukrainian player that was injured in the sending off incident in their last game?
Took a straight leg just below the knee which caused his knee to flex against the joint. It looked horrendous.
* Just looked it up and the Ukraine management say he is out of the tournament and has gone to Kiev for further examination of the injury.
Think both players will miss next season.
03-07-2021, 06:46 PM
Ok am over the England build up now, just get on with the game 🙄
03-07-2021, 06:48 PM
:agree: and a yellow card minimum
Wonder if that would have ruled him out the semi
03-07-2021, 06:55 PM
Rio has never been more confident.
That’s quite a competition.
03-07-2021, 06:56 PM
And his beard is even weirder than usual...
03-07-2021, 06:57 PM
Still using the wrong anthem... 🤣
03-07-2021, 06:58 PM
He's such a muppet. You'd think Ukraine were just going to lie down here. This is a team and a country with a lot to prove. I'm not saying that Comrade Putin's activities are the be all and end all but they are absolutely playing for more than just football glory.
03-07-2021, 06:58 PM
Hope to see him in tears later.
03-07-2021, 07:03 PM
What a noise from the Ukrainian fans
03-07-2021, 07:05 PM
1-0 England
England are going to stroll this.
game over
Oh bumholes
03-07-2021, 07:06 PM
Keeper shat it. Stand up man
Ukraine look like a bunch of imposters / capitulators.
Glad to get the 1st goal out of the way, so they don't have to worry :bye:
Oh dear. That’s the Ukraine gameplan out the window already.
3 and a half minutes in and it looks inevitable already!
Cmon Ukraine!
03-07-2021, 07:07 PM
I thought that as well.
How bad was the defender though? Walked out right past Kane when everyone else stayed in then looked scoobied as to why it wasn't offside. Absolutely no game awareness at all.
03-07-2021, 07:09 PM
I thought that as well.
How bad was the defender though? Walked out right past Kane when everyone else stayed in then looked scoobied as to why it wasn't offside. Absolutely no game awareness at all.
:agree: first instructions, stay tight on Kane
03-07-2021, 07:09 PM
Urgh Jermaine Jenas is unlistenable to, there is no joy or wit or intelligence there. Just sounds like he is presenting some pointless filler on the one show..
Jenas “how was that a foul” Ukrainian player was obstructing! Eh! He stamped on the guys foot
1-0 England
Didn't take long
Saint Hibee
03-07-2021, 07:12 PM
Is it possible to watch this without Jermaine Jenas i.e. is he still the commentator on BBC1 Scotland? Or are we stuck with him?
03-07-2021, 07:15 PM
England will win the Euros unfortunately.
It’s going to be horrible!
03-07-2021, 07:15 PM
Jenas “how was that a foul” Ukrainian player was obstructing! Eh! He stamped on the guys foot
He really is a complete bell end
03-07-2021, 07:16 PM
Shevchencko to come out retirement at half time and score 2 ! England are just gonna play keep ball now until 90 mins.
Mr Grieves
03-07-2021, 07:16 PM
Urgh Jermaine Jenas is unlistenable to, there is no joy or wit or intelligence there. Just sounds like he is presenting some pointless filler on the one show..
:agree: I wish he would shut the **** up, he's not stopped yapping
03-07-2021, 07:17 PM
He looked like he was trying to avoid giving away a handball in the box.
03-07-2021, 07:19 PM
England will win the Euros unfortunately.
It’s going to be horrible!
They are still to come up against a good team imo, they've beat a Croatian team a couple of years past their best, an average Czech team, the worst German team in years and now look like beating an average Ukraine team
03-07-2021, 07:20 PM
Harry Maguire runs like Barney The Dinosaur with a limp
03-07-2021, 07:21 PM
They are still to come up against a good team imo, they've beat a Croatian team a couple of years past their best, an average Czech team, the worst German team in years and now look like beating an average Ukraine team
:agree:I honestly think Denmark are being underrated, they’ll give them a good game
Why don’t all you guys who have conceded an English victory put all your life savings on them and earn easy money.
Sadly, England are just going to pick these Ukrainians off. They look like a star-struck bunch of imposters who've somehow stumbled into the quarters of the Euros.
03-07-2021, 07:22 PM
:agree: I wish he would shut the **** up, he's not stopped yapping
Can you imagine being stuck on a long car journey with him. It's inane boring drivel and is adding nothing to the analysis of this game
Surely Sterling was obstructing the Ukrainian boy there with his arse?? Going by Jenas and his thoughts earlier!
03-07-2021, 07:24 PM
Ukraine are poor. Hopeful long punts, nobody wants the ball . Very poor
03-07-2021, 07:26 PM
England be 2-0 up if they are not careful
03-07-2021, 07:27 PM
This is very dull
03-07-2021, 07:29 PM
Funny how Sterling's constant falling over never gets mentioned
03-07-2021, 07:31 PM
Can you imagine being stuck on a long car journey with him. It's inane boring drivel and is adding nothing to the analysis of this game
Forget proper analysis, BBC are unapologetically playing to the average English fanboy sitting with his two mates after 10 pints in the beer garden. That's their base level, hence Jenas :greengrin
Funny how Sterling's constant falling over never gets mentioned"Not alot" when the Ukraine defender didn't get a foul but ended up getting treatment
"little nibble" on "Raheem" ofcourse
ardecos
Scotland could beat this lot (Ukraine), especially if Harry Kane had a Scottish granny.
03-07-2021, 07:33 PM
Scotland could beat this lot (Ukraine).
Ukraine are playing like they've been paid off !! Has someone made a call ?
03-07-2021, 07:34 PM
Ukraine defend like a Sunday league side. They are all over the place.
I though the keeper had made a hash of that Rice strike but the ball was moving everywhere. He did well.
03-07-2021, 07:35 PM
They’re just not very good and they know it themselves.
Orchard_Hibs
03-07-2021, 07:36 PM
We have just sold them some war ships
03-07-2021, 07:38 PM
Nice play by Ukraine there
Oops
03-07-2021, 07:41 PM
How is nobody picking up Shaw there?
Appalling defending, they’re a gang tonight
03-07-2021, 07:42 PM
Just some signs down that England right side that the Ukraine are getting behind Walker, they just need a better ball and more bodies in the box
03-07-2021, 07:42 PM
Yuremchuk couldve thrown himself down there
Wouldnt have been dis similar to Belgiums pen
England will be disappointed to be only be 1 up at half time
In true hibs fan fashion I'd be getting nervous at that
Prickford is always angry
Yuremchuk couldve thrown himself down there
Whilst I would normally condone that sort of behaviour you are 100% correct!
ardecos
03-07-2021, 07:44 PM
Must be a goalie thing.
03-07-2021, 07:48 PM
England could have been out of sight if they had kept the foot on the gas.
Instead they have gone all timid and cautious and suddenly Ukraine look a wee bit dangerous when they attack.
England will still likely have more than enough and I'm sure they will have a bit of joy on the break but equally they could well end up making heavy weather of it.
03-07-2021, 08:00 PM
BBC are just like Hun TV, scared ****less to say anything that might upset the snowflakes or the true believers who have suffered 55 years of "hurt". It's like watching a therapy session for a "Nation" :greengrin
03-07-2021, 08:06 PM
BBC are just like Hun TV, scared ****less to say anything that might upset the snowflakes or the true believers who have suffered 55 years of "hurt". It's like watching a therapy session for a "Nation" :greengrin
I think You must be watching a different programme from me. Chill and enjoy the fitba. :greengrin
**** off.
That defending again.
Oh well time to fire up Football Manager and lead Partick Thistle to glory.
Come on Denmark
His heid is that big it has its own gravity field sucking the ball in
56 seconds into second half and it’s good night!
O well time to change over
Logie Green
03-07-2021, 08:07 PM
Must be one of the side effects of being glaikit.
ardecos
03-07-2021, 08:08 PM
Too f*****g easy.
03-07-2021, 08:09 PM
Oh well!
03-07-2021, 08:10 PM
**** sake.
They’re all over the place. Poor poor defending.
ardecos
Too f*****g easy.
As I said.
03-07-2021, 08:12 PM
England brilliant tonight.
Ukraine are ****. Better luck with Denmark and Italia you ****s
03-07-2021, 08:12 PM
Ukraine are dug*****....never threatened all night.....this is too one way for me...I'm out
03-07-2021, 08:13 PM
England brilliant tonight.
It's the equivalent of Hibs playing Stranraer, I'd except them to win
03-07-2021, 08:14 PM
Any decent films on tonight ?! 🤷
03-07-2021, 08:14 PM
England are a good side. Still think they're midfield isn't good enough to win this, but they are good.
03-07-2021, 08:15 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;6609739]They will get to the final if Southgate plays right team and gets tactics right
Can they beat Italy ? No
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
I wouldn't underestimate the impact of the loss of Spinazzola. I think Italy are still substantially the better side but without him their ability to play that forward press game with so much width, possession and then quick interplay in the opposition box is substantially reduced.
I remain convinced England will have tough games against both Ukraine and then Denmark if they win the first one and could very easily not make the final.
Well they are three up
V Ukraine
You’ve got me worried about itsly now though ffs
It's the equivalent of Hibs playing Stranraer, I'd except them to win
It’s really not.
Ukraine are a rabble. Had a shot on target ?
03-07-2021, 08:16 PM
It’s really not.
It really is, the Ukraine are absolutely honking
I know it can come across as sour grapes, but they've been sooo ****** lucky with the draw. They would have been punished by a better team in that first half. Semi and possible Final will be far harder but I'm sure Ferdinand and Co will have England's name on the trophy right now. 🙄
norhfc
Telly off for a few days.
England are a good side. Still think they're midfield isn't good enough to win this, but they are good.
Yeap.
Southgate has them playing to their strengths. It may be dull to watch but it gets the job done. They deserve to be heading for the semi-finals. I still can’t see them winning the tournament but I wouldn’t be dismissing it.
Gogglebox is on.
03-07-2021, 08:17 PM
Telly off for a few days.
Will be in Liverpool on Wednesday night when the semi final is on. May just stay in hotel.
Please tell me the final isn't at Wembley ?!
This is absolute f***** torture
03-07-2021, 08:18 PM
Ukraine look completely inept, masters of the passback, but you suspect they would still give Scotland a skelping
03-07-2021, 08:18 PM
Please tell me the final isn't at Wembley ?!
It is.
03-07-2021, 08:20 PM
It is.
You are having a ****ing laugh !! 1 game away and every other at home
03-07-2021, 08:20 PM
Denmark will beat England 3-1 🤙
03-07-2021, 08:21 PM
This is absolute f***** torture
60 thousand allowed at Wembley fir Semi Final England v Denmark Not sure about Final
03-07-2021, 08:21 PM
England making Ukraine look like a pub team
03-07-2021, 08:22 PM
4-0
03-07-2021, 08:22 PM
4-0 and probably more to come……
03-07-2021, 08:23 PM
This could end up as 6,7 or 8
03-07-2021, 08:24 PM
I’d have them down as outright favourites for the tournament tbh. Phenomenal performance tonight.
03-07-2021, 08:24 PM
Ukraine capitulated before a ball was kicked.
Can think of 5 or 6 sides that would have at the very least given England a game tonight. England reserve team now coming on :greengrin
03-07-2021, 08:25 PM
I’d have them down as outright favourites for the tournament tbh. Phenomenal performance tonight.
Really? Ukraine are an absolute shambles, yes England have been decent but they've not really done anything special, basic basic goals lost
03-07-2021, 08:25 PM
Taxi for Shevchenko
03-07-2021, 08:26 PM
This is like Hibs beating Ayr United 4-0 in a Scottish Cup 1/4 Final.
Not for me, Ukraine have been awful defensively. And very, very knackered. Remarkably England still haven’t met a strong team so far.
Will be in Liverpool on Wednesday night when the semi final is on. May just stay in hotel.
I'm in Durham next week...can't wait. 🙄
Most one sided game of the tournament so far.
03-07-2021, 08:27 PM
Then claiming to be the greatest team that ever existed
Phenomenal? Really?
Ukraine have been awful
Not quite favourites ……. Ukraine are mince. England will bottle it against a team that can play football.
Yeah pretty much
03-07-2021, 08:28 PM
Crazy talk. Have you watched Ukraine tonight? So bad it actually looks slightly suspicious.
I’d have my money on Italy first and Spain second.
03-07-2021, 08:29 PM
Phenomenal? Really?
Ukraine have been awful
Four going on seven and just over an hour into the game - they’ve been lethal and still not conceded a goal.
If it wasn’t England then this place would be raving about this team. All credit to them.
My sincerest apologies.
Pickford is a liability under pressure, same as psycho Joe Hart
03-07-2021, 08:30 PM
Pickford will be England’s downfall in this tournament, he looks a bombscare every time the ball goes near him
03-07-2021, 08:31 PM
Four going on seven and just over an hour into the game - they’ve been lethal and still not conceded a goal.
If it wasn’t England then this place would be raving about this team. All credit to them.
You are Rio Ferdinand and I demand my tenner
03-07-2021, 08:32 PM
You are having a ****ing laugh !! 1 game away and every other at home
It's utterly bizarre this is how it's been determined....6 games at home !?......call it sour grapes, but that's a ****ing joke.
Does anyone know how the venues were determined?
03-07-2021, 08:33 PM
Hey, I haven't been watching the game, it's pretty well the only game of the Euros that I haven't watched, cos I knew Ukraine were pish anyway so we watched a new film on Prime, The Tommorrow's War, well worth a look.
03-07-2021, 08:35 PM
Venue debate aside, it's hard to not see quality throughout this young England side. Aye, Ukraine are garbage and the English media will no doubt want to crown them at full time, but no mistake about it they deserve their win. Very accomplished looking young team who'll be in with a serious shout at winning this.
03-07-2021, 08:37 PM
Baws, I’m in London Wednesday.
03-07-2021, 08:41 PM
It's utterly bizarre this is how it's been determined....6 games at home !?......call it sour grapes, but that's a ****ing joke.
On the basis that Wembley was the best venue to host the Semis and the Final? I don’t think many would have seen England getting that far before the tournament. A wee bonus for them now though.
03-07-2021, 08:42 PM
Every country in Europe was asked to bid to host games. Once decided what countries the games would be played in Wembley was given the Semi Finals and Final due to having the largest capacity of all stadiums. This was pre covid and the assumption was 100% capacity. I'm pretty sure England's ge v Germany would have been played in Dublin but after Ireland couldn't guarantee fans those games were moved to Wembley.
I’ve been in England all week, very rural, you just avoid the papers and pretend you’re not interested in football when speaking to anyone and all’s happy days :agree:
Crazy talk. Have you watched Ukraine tonight? So bad it actually looks slightly suspicious.
I’d have my money on Italy first and Spain second.
Suspicious?? 😂😂😂
03-07-2021, 08:43 PM
Thought England would win, but the Ukraine approach from the off has been shocking. Scotland gave this lot a better game.
03-07-2021, 08:45 PM
England have played within themselves this evening. They're only getting the second test in this competition against Denmark in the semi after we played them on their own turf. It'll be a test to stay controlled when the fans are wanting them to go forward in the next match.
Argylehibby
03-07-2021, 08:47 PM
Baws, I’m in London Wednesday.
Me too. I’m in London Wednesday till Friday (at Wimbledon on Thursday). I’m going to get some stick from my former colleagues no doubt.
03-07-2021, 08:48 PM
Suspicious?? 😂😂😂
‘What was that Vladimir? Slip it into their morning tea? No worries wee man, it wouldn’t be the first time’
03-07-2021, 08:50 PM
Ukraine got off lightly there
greenlad
03-07-2021, 08:56 PM
It was always to be a pan-Euro tournament albeit with no hosting in France, Ukraine, Poland, Switzerland, Austria and Portugal as they've all hosted the tournament in the past 20 years.
Of the host countries England does have one of the biggest and most modern stadiums in Wembley and obviously London smashes the tournament requirements in terms of transport links and hotel rooms etc. So the semis and final being there is natural.
In terms of groups all the host countries were placed where possible in their own country.
If Scotland had qualified for the tournament through the main route it would have gone to a toss of a coin whether the Scotland Vs England match would have been at Hampden or Wembley.
03-07-2021, 08:56 PM
I take it you’re a Northern England Hibee, :greengrin……. solid England performance but no flair …. no chance against a football team, two of which are on the other side of the draw. If they squeeze past Denmark, they will be out of the competition v Italy or Spain. In fact, I would say there is no competition. C’mon Denmark, shut the buggers up.
Liam6270
03-07-2021, 08:58 PM
I really hope the first decent team they play absolutely batter them, the commentary from Jenas was unbearable. Losing it in the final would be even sweeter
Very professional display from England, definitely can go all the way.
McSwanky
03-07-2021, 09:02 PM
Very professional display from England, definitely can go all the way.Yep, you can only beat what's put in front of you. 5 clean sheets out of 5 is pretty impressive.
03-07-2021, 09:03 PM
I take it you’re a Northern England Hibee, :greengrin……. solid England performance but no flair …. no chance against a football team, two of which are on the other side of the draw. If they squeeze past Denmark, they will be out of the competition v Italy or Spain. In fact, I would say there is no competition. C’mon Denmark, shut the buggers up.
In fairness, a 4-0 victory in international football is very good. Phenomenal is a bit ott for me though.
03-07-2021, 09:06 PM
No, northern Scotland!
My dads side of the family are English and I know it’ll make him happy so can remain reasonably objective in these games. It’s a very good squad they have.
Logie Green
03-07-2021, 09:08 PM
It will be typically Scottish for us to be the only country they fail to beat in this tournament. 🤦*♂️
03-07-2021, 09:08 PM
In fairness, a 4-0 victory in international football is very good. Phenomenal is a bit ott for me though.
:agree: a sudden back down to earth is not far away.:greengrin
03-07-2021, 09:10 PM
England were excellent, so well done to them. Nobody had a bad game for them. Ukraine are far from great, but England ran rings around them, and five clean sheets is superb. They should beat Denmark at Wembley, in front of a big crowd.
03-07-2021, 09:11 PM
Yep, you can only beat what's put in front of you. 5 clean sheets out of 5 is pretty impressive.
Getting to the semi final without losing a goal is good going.
Ukraine are a poor side and totally chucked it second half so I wouldn’t be getting carried away with them attacking wise. But defensively, they know what they’re doing.
Tommy75
03-07-2021, 09:12 PM
Good performance from a very good side. If that was Italy or Spain who just turned in that performance they would be getting highly praised.
I always felt this was a Hibs forum first and foremost and when Scotland play there is a collective support for Scotland (as I assume 99.
03-07-2021, 09:16 PM
England were excellent, so well done to them. Nobody had a bad game for them. Ukraine are far from great, but England ran rings around them, and five clean sheets is superb. They should beat Denmark at Wembley, in front of a big crowd.
The Danes will give them a game.
03-07-2021, 09:17 PM
England looked class. Simple and annoying as that.
I'm fully prepared for them winning it now. They were always going to win a Euro's or World Cup in my life time with the quality of player they produce.
On the plus side, when they win it we can go on about how they still didn't manage to score against us.
Tommy75
03-07-2021, 09:19 PM
Very good performance from a very good England side.
03-07-2021, 09:20 PM
On the basis that Wembley was the best venue to host the Semis and the Final? I don’t think many would have seen England getting that far before the tournament. A wee bonus for them now though.
Why not other venues for the semi? Seems odd they have both semis and final.
The Danes will give them a game.
Aye, they should, but England should beat them at home.
Very good performance from a very good England side. The only people suggesting otherwise are Scottish or know nothing about football (or both).
Terrible post.
03-07-2021, 09:21 PM
Very good performance from a very good England side. The only people suggesting otherwise are Scottish or know nothing about football (or both).
Player for player other than maybe France, maybe, they have the best squad in the tournament. And they look to be starting to turn it on.
Still blows my mind that Sterling is only 26.
03-07-2021, 09:21 PM
Aye, they should, but England should beat them at home.
Yep, but it'll be closer than some think.
Tommy75
03-07-2021, 09:27 PM
Terrible post.
On reflection you're probably right mate. Amended the post as I wouldn't want to cause offence.
I think Italy are the best hope against the forces of darkness. The prospect of an Italian hand of god moment gives me the horn.
03-07-2021, 09:29 PM
On reflection you're probably right mate. Amended the post as I wouldn't want to cause offence.
👍
03-07-2021, 09:31 PM
I think Italy are the best hope against the forces of darkness. The prospect of an Italian hand of god moment gives me the horn.
At Wembley as well 🤤🤤🤤
03-07-2021, 09:32 PM
It's a bit of both. Aye England have looked good, but how would they have faired with a group containing say 2nd seed France and 3rd seed Portugal, Or had to play games in several different countries. Probably no coincidence all the semi finalists, Italy, Spain, England and Denmark have played most of their games 'at home' unlike say Belgium or France who played all their games away.
03-07-2021, 09:32 PM
I have to admit the thought of Italy absolutely ****housing their way to victory at Wembley is quite appealing.
I wasn't really that bothered about England winning it until my fiance started with the 'it's coming home' pish tonight. Now I hope they get pumped because I'm petty like that.
03-07-2021, 09:36 PM
Pickford seemed to be losing the plot in that second half, still the best source of England imploding 😁
03-07-2021, 09:38 PM
:greengrin Loving it
I have to admit the thought of Italy absolutely ****housing their way to victory at Wembley is quite appealing.
I wasn't really that bothered about England winning it until my fiance started with the 'it's coming home' pish tonight. Now I hope they get pumped because I'm petty like that.
Be careful or there will be no pumping for you 😁
03-07-2021, 09:38 PM
England have some decent players and a very solid defence and they clearly have a decent chance of winning the tournament. They have however had a fortuitous draw and if they do win it, playing all but 1 game at Wembley with a negligible opposition support will have been a huge advantage.
I reckon England will make the final and if they play Spain they will win it. If they play Italy though, they will lose as Italy are a better team.
The Pointer
03-07-2021, 09:39 PM
Why would you cause offence? It's just your opinion so stick with it.
03-07-2021, 09:40 PM
No, northern Scotland!
My dads side of the family are English and I know it’ll make him happy so can remain reasonably objective in these games. It’s a very good squad they have.
….. no malice intended, I can live with an English win ……… as long as it doesn’t become a habit.:greengrin
03-07-2021, 09:41 PM
England have some decent players and a very solid defence and they clearly have a decent chance of winning the tournament. They have however had a fortuitous draw and if they do win it, playing all but 1 game at Wembley with a negligible opposition support will have been a huge advantage.
I reckon England will make the final and if they play Spain they will win it. If they play Italy though, they will lose as Italy are a better team.
Italy have been brilliant stuttered a bit against Austria but England more than any other team have the ability to turn Italy over.
It’s absolutely petty but I’d take a 1-0 Italian last minute insigne hand ball over a a 4-0 Italia win. Denmark will give them a decent game though.
03-07-2021, 09:48 PM
My oldest daughter has spent the last 2 weeks in Newcastle working for her boyfriends parents company as part of a Uni work experience. She has little interest in football since being a Hibs kid about 10 years ago but wanted England to get beat tonight and is dreading going back down next week for her last week. We said to her. Don't you want your boyfriend to be happy. Not if it means they win, no. 🤣 That's my girl.
Italy have been brilliant stuttered a bit against Austria but England more than any other team have the ability to turn Italy over.
On what basis? Italy should destroy England based on performances in this tournament so far.
03-07-2021, 09:52 PM
On what basis? Italy should destroy England based on performances in this tournament so far.
lol based on me being English and you being Scottish. We'll see fella.
03-07-2021, 09:56 PM
If only Scotland had a half decent home stadium where they got results.
Instead we have Hampden and doesn’t do the team any favours or make the Dan experience very enjoyable.
Anyway it’s hard to not like Southgate - compare him to some other managers who treat players really badly.
Doesn’t bother me if England win this tournament - England have pumped a load of money into a stadium, St George’s Park, managers / coaches - structure / youth teams and women’s football..
I do think though aren’t any any really strong international teams just now - think of famous teams and quality in sides over the years..don’t feel England are this level but they do have a very chance to win this tournament and be fondly remembered.
Instead we have Hampden and doesn’t do the team any favours for fans or players.
Anyway it’s hard to not like Southgate - compare him to some other managers.
Doesn’t bother me if England win this tournament - England have pumped a load of money into a stadium, St George’s Park, managers / coaches - structure / youth teams and women’s football..
The one thing I would say though are there any really strong international teams just now - think of famous teams and quality in sides - don’t feel England are this level but they do have a very chance to win this tournament.
Spot on, and agree re Southgate there's non of the loud mouth stuff from him, quiet and modest, doing an excellent job.
03-07-2021, 10:05 PM
Instead we have Hampden and doesn’t do the team any favours for fans or players.
Anyway it’s hard to not like Southgate - compare him to some other managers.
The one thing I would say though are there any really strong international teams just now - think of famous teams and quality in sides - don’t feel England are this level but they do have a very chance to win this tournament.
I don't mind Southgate tbh. He seems like a decent bloke and not unlikeable like some of the English managers in the past. England won the World Cup when it was played in England, Football was coming home in 1996 when it was in
..England. This year? It's their best chance as the Semis and Final are played in England.
Given the teams who have won the Euros in recent years, Denmark, Greece and Portugal, England SHOULD fancy their chances. Maybe they will win it this year, though I'd still fancy one of the bigger hitters, Italy to do it
03-07-2021, 10:08 PM
I don't mind Southgate tbh. He seems like a decent bloke and not unlikeable like some of the English managers in the past. England won the World Cup when it was played in England, Football was coming home in 1996 when it was in
..England. This year? It's their best chance as the Semis and Final are played in England.
Given the teams who have won the Euros in recent years, Denmark, Greece and Portugal, England SHOULD fancy their chances. Maybe they will win it this year, though I'd still fancy one of the bigger hitters, Italy to do it
England v Italy you would think would be a great final.
Denmark beat and drew England recently though so that should be interesting game. Home advantage definitely important though.
03-07-2021, 10:35 PM
England stuttered against Scotland. At Wembley.
He's here!
03-07-2021, 10:37 PM
Venue debate aside, it's hard to not see quality throughout this young England side. Aye, Ukraine are garbage and the English media will no doubt want to crown them at full time, but no mistake about it they deserve their win. Very accomplished looking young team who'll be in with a serious shout at winning this.
Correct. I was really impressed with their disciplined performance against Germany and I thought they were a pleasure to watch tonight. Southgate deserves a lot of credit. I honestly wouldn't have a problem with them winning the thing.
03-07-2021, 10:40 PM
England stuttered against Scotland. At Wembley.
Most definately dont think you will finsd any England fans say anything differently, the only team so far to give England a game. teams grow into tournaments but if it suits you to think England are crap then fair enough. Dont think anyone down south actually cares.
MGmick
03-07-2021, 10:40 PM
lol based on me being English and you being Scottish. We'll see fella.
:aok::wink: Scottish, but my Dad wasn't.
03-07-2021, 10:41 PM
England v Italy you would think would be a great final.
Denmark beat and drew England recently though so that should be interesting game. Home advantage definitely important though.
Denmark will defo give England a game. Said before I think they have a bit of bite after what happened with Eriksen. Ferdinand and Co will have England as winners, the others sides will also fancy their chances.
04-07-2021, 12:23 AM
Destroy 😂
04-07-2021, 06:58 AM
It's amazing how easy a run England have had to the final. If they don't win this competition they will never get a better chance. Us Hibs fans know it doesn't always work like that though.
04-07-2021, 07:35 AM
It's amazing how easy a run England have had to the final. If they don't win this competition they will never get a better chance. Us Hibs fans know it doesn't always work like that though.
Ah the easy run to the final chat…….again. The usual comfort blanket nonsense when England are doing well.
:confused: In the group stages they beat the teams we failed to be beat including the previous finalists and then they had Germany, who they hadn't beaten since some event in the mid-sixties. Failing to see how that is amazingly easy?
04-07-2021, 07:44 AM
If England do win it, they will have beaten every team in the tournament on their way bar one,then I'm invoking the traditional Scottish logic and declaring us Joint European Champions.
04-07-2021, 07:49 AM
Fantastic performance from England.
04-07-2021, 07:53 AM
Ah the easy run to the final chat…….again. The usual comfort blanket nonsense when England are doing well.
Having all but one game at Wembley does make it a little easier for them...
04-07-2021, 07:55 AM
Having all but one game at Wembley does make it a little easier for them...
Of course and if they win it that can be the reason why it wasn’t such an achievement, easy draw, home games blah blah blah.