View Full Version : Match Updates Euro 2021 non-Scotland games

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Keyser Sauzee
29-06-2021, 06:17 PM
Is that a thing? It’s minging.

Unfortunately it is, minging indeed.

29-06-2021, 06:17 PM
I read a lot on here about how England's Achilles heel was the centre of their defence with Harry Maguire the weakest of the bunch.

We'll, that's 4 games played now and they're yet to concede. They're the only team who have done that.

I think I'll put the weak defence chat down to just more wishful thinking.

He has barely played and Germany should definitely had 2 goals. Good when the ball is in tha air played well.

Badge
29-06-2021, 06:19 PM
Sweden or Ukraine. Then Denmark or Czechs. Utter freeby

A few days ago you said Denmark were 10th in the world and a great side, surely can’t be an utter freeby.

29-06-2021, 06:21 PM
Is that a surprise whatever the country involved. Behave yourself.

It’s not England that is strange in that regard. It’s us, sitting watching another country’s tv.

29-06-2021, 06:22 PM
A few days ago you said Denmark were 10th in the world and a great side, surely can’t be an utter freeby.

Yes, there no freebies, just look at France last night. That said, England have better players than any side they will play before the final and should beat them. It's a case of whether the pressure gets to them. They shouldn't be looking too far ahead now.

29-06-2021, 06:23 PM
Lap of honor for winning the last 16. Tin pot nation

We drew 0-0 with England and you'd have thought we'd won the Euros. What does that say about us?

Chorley Hibee
29-06-2021, 06:23 PM
Even as an Englishman I cringe when I hear Ferdinand declare "this is what the country needs after the pandemic."

Like it's only affected England of course.

29-06-2021, 06:25 PM
Fair play to them. A lot of presssure on the players and Southgate but I thought they deserved it.

They did. They’re very solid and a bit stodgy but that can work wonders in knockout footy.

The pressure will be enormous now, Andy Murray’s first major plus 114 years Hibs, x 100!

No. The only gloating from either side is after Scotland & France have played each other (football or rugby) which is to be expected.

They arrived this morning at 10 minute intervals so I had the same conversation about 5-6 times.
👌

Germany are not the team they used to be, but, like it or not, England fully deserved the win.

However, like most folk on here, I don't enjoy the triumphal comments from the commentators or the pundits when England win which is why the sound has been off since Sterling scored.

Much, much better for the blood pressure.

ABE pathetic GIRUY. I will repeat this tomorrow when sober if required. When we play Scotland I can take all the crap but tonight.....FFS the redcoats were a long long time ago.
Regardless, I will still support all UK national teams.

Dmas
29-06-2021, 06:26 PM
Yes, there no freebies, just look at France last night. That said, England have better players than any side they will play before the final and should beat them. It's a case of whether the pressure gets to them. They shouldn't be looking too far ahead now.

Denmark beat them in nations league game in October at Wembley

29-06-2021, 06:28 PM
Denmark beat them in nations league game in October at Wembley

Aye, and anything can happen on a given day, but England should be confident of beating Denmark. They will never have a better chance of reaching a final.

29-06-2021, 06:31 PM
I think that they can go on and win it. Be interesting to see how they react to losing a goal though.
If they start attacking they could be out of sight.

29-06-2021, 06:32 PM
ABE pathetic GIRUY. I will repeat this tomorrow when sober if required. When we play Scotland I can take all the crap but tonight.....FFS the redcoats were a long long time ago.

Sees his nation win the "qualified for Quarters" trophy.

Spends the aftermath posting on hibs.net about ABE.

Enjoy your night.

29-06-2021, 06:33 PM
Aye, and anything can happen on a given day, but England should be confident of beating Denmark. They will never have a better chance of reaching a final.

Denmark will give England a much, much harder game.

29-06-2021, 06:37 PM
Sees his nation win the "qualified for Quarters" trophy.

Spends the aftermath posting on hibs.net about ABE.

Enjoy your night.

TBF they’ve just beaten Germany in a tournament knockout for the first time in 55 years. And this is effectively their derby. It’s a good bit more than ‘qualified for the Quarters’.

29-06-2021, 06:37 PM
Oh Dear God! If you are not old enough you have no idea of the slavering p**h we will be subjected to now until their next match, then if they win that, despite the cost, go on holiday somewhere sunny.:greengrin
I remember world Cup Argentina, Ally's tartan army, now that was slavering pi. s

29-06-2021, 06:38 PM

Scousehibby will you join me in a wee boogie. Still a long way to go but let's enjoy where we are.

29-06-2021, 06:39 PM
That’s an excellent result for England, like it or not.

Scousehibby will you join me in a wee boogie. Still a long way to go but let's enjoy where we are.

Ooh English friends

A much harder game than Germany? I'm not sure about that. Anyway, the Czech Republic look a good side, too.

Bangkok Hibby
29-06-2021, 06:41 PM
The coverage of the next few games will be unwatchable.

Best not to watch then. Works for me 🤔

29-06-2021, 06:42 PM
It’s just the press that drives me nuts, way over the top.
English girl just lost at Wimbledon, commentator says she can now go home, put her England top on and celebrate the win

I remember world Cup Argentina, Ally's tartan army, now that was slavering pi. s

Please. Don’t. That’s still a ****ing nightmare. 🙁

TBF they’ve just beaten Germany in a tournament knockout for the first time in 55 years. And this is effectively their derby. It’s a good bit more than ‘qualified for the Quarters’.

1966 doesn't count. They only played half of Germany then.

Worth a fiver on them to win the tournament :agree:

Stuck £20 on them last night at 5/1. Will make the pain slightly less bearable and recoup some of the tout money I spent on Scotland tickets.

29-06-2021, 06:44 PM
The good thing is, if they win the tournament, at least we won't have to listen to them banging on about 1966 all the time.
Silver linings and all that.

The good thing is, if they win the tournament, at least we won't have to listen to them banging on about 1966 all the time.
Silver linings and all that.

Very funny, but just dinnae eh?

A much harder game than Germany? I'm not sure about that. Anyway, the Czech Republic look a good side, too.

Denmark play at a way higher tempo with much more energy. Plus they’re on a mission and this is Rome, not London. The locals will be cheering on the Danes.

29-06-2021, 06:45 PM
We drew 0-0 with England and you'd have thought we'd won the Euros. What does that say about us?

We aren’t as good as England and if they do win it we will be the only team that they couldn’t beat.

29-06-2021, 06:46 PM
Denmark play at a way higher tempo with much more energy. Plus they’re on a mission and this is Rome, not London. The locals will be cheering on the Danes.

Think you've skipped a round. The Rome game is the 1/4s, no? Sweden or Ukraine.

29-06-2021, 06:47 PM

They play the Danes (if they beat the Czechs) at Wembley.

Rome will be vs Sweden/Ukraine.

29-06-2021, 06:48 PM

Yup. It’s England V Sweden/Ukraine in Rome. Then the winner of that will play the winner of Czech/Denmark at Wembley.

29-06-2021, 06:49 PM

Yes, quarter-final in Rome, semi-final at Wembley.

29-06-2021, 06:50 PM

Na, of course its not, I'm exaggerating slightly. But its a fantastic draw. If England play to their best, they'll get to the final.

29-06-2021, 06:51 PM
So just to clarify, England play in Rome this weekend?

29-06-2021, 06:51 PM
Please. Don’t. That’s still a ****ing nightmare. 🙁
I still have Flash backs, all the pretty cheer leaders waving their flags & the Scotland squad led out by our very own Ally McLeod, who went onto tell the nation he was going to bring back the the world cup. Oh well

29-06-2021, 06:53 PM
Stuck £20 on them last night at 5/1. Will make the pain slightly less bearable and recoup some of the tout money I spent on Scotland tickets.

I got a free £5 bet on Bet365 for the game this evening. I shoved it on England at 29/20 to return net £7 odds. They scored and I immediately cashed out £4.20 thinking Germany would get back at them. They scored their second right after I’d cashed out but at least they won a few Bob for me for nothing. :greengrin

So just to clarify, England play in Rome this weekend?

Yes, they play either Ukraine or Sweden in Rome on Saturday.

Uh oh. Still think the Danes will give them a much better test. Germany bottled it.

29-06-2021, 06:54 PM

Denmark, even without Eriksen, are a better outfit than a German side that had gone stale under Low. He should've walked years ago.

29-06-2021, 06:54 PM

I think so too, Denmark look very strong throughout.

29-06-2021, 06:57 PM
Do you think they’ll mention the result during tonight’s game?:greengrin

29-06-2021, 06:59 PM
Do you think they’ll mention the result during tonight’s game?:greengrin

Erm, aye :greengrin

29-06-2021, 07:03 PM
I still have Flash backs, all the pretty cheer leaders waving their flags & the Scotland squad led out by our very own Ally McLeod, who went onto tell the nation he was going to bring back the the world cup. Oh well

We did beat the runners up, it’s not like we didn’t have a decent side. We made an absolute shop front of the prep and Ally just couldn’t help himself. A generation scarred!

29-06-2021, 07:03 PM
Sweden kicking towards the Hibs end

Prof. Shaggy
29-06-2021, 07:05 PM
1966 doesn't count. They only played half of Germany then.

And still needed the Soviets to bail them out.

29-06-2021, 07:06 PM
Couldn't care what the English pundits say, it's their team and they get emotional and say daft things. Who knew?

Played well tonight.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

29-06-2021, 07:06 PM
I’ve got a bad feeling about this.

29-06-2021, 07:08 PM
I’ve got a bad feeling about this.

What, the Sweden-Ukraine game?

29-06-2021, 07:08 PM
I read a lot on here about how England's Achilles heel was the centre of their defence with Harry Maguire the weakest of the bunch.

We'll, that's 4 games played now and they're yet to concede. They're the only team who have done that.

I think I'll put the weak defence chat down to just more wishful thinking.

You didn’t just read it on here I’m sure, that was the commonly held opinion about England. But all of the cbs, including Mings who started instead of Maguire and who has loads of mistakes in him, have been rock solid. Pickford has also not put a foot wrong.

29-06-2021, 07:09 PM
What, the Sweden-Ukraine game?

Nah.

I’m struggling to see where they England this up.

Denmark on penalties has a ring to it.

29-06-2021, 07:11 PM
If England win it then it's hardly the end of the world.

Football is about the most short term thing in the world. The winners enjoy rubbing it in but after a while it becomes water off a ducks back. Remember 2012 was going to be the derby after which no other derby mattered? How did that work out? Do Hibs or Hearts fans care any less now when they win or lose? I'd say anyone who says yes is lying.

Over the piece the best team usually wins a tournament like this. Not necessarily the most entertaining but the team who can execute a game plan and get a job done.

If England win I won't particularly like it but it will be yesterday's news before the 1st flight to Qatar has departed for everyone except England fans and those who let themselves get worked up by the media frenzy.

EI255
29-06-2021, 07:12 PM
Always great seeing the Saxons go far.... Then fall.

They will.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EI255
29-06-2021, 07:13 PM
Sweden kicking towards the Hibs endThe sun is out too [emoji16]

Remember? [emoji57]

29-06-2021, 07:13 PM

We did beat the runners up, it’s not like we didn’t have a decent side. We made an absolute shop front of the prep and Ally just couldn’t help himself. A generation scarred!
A generation scarred, what a perfect description, I still have the marks on my back. 😩

29-06-2021, 07:15 PM
Nah.

I’m struggling to see where they England this up.

Denmark on penalties has a ring to it.

Can’t see them not reaching the final. The semi final and final then being at Wembley makes a massive difference. I know they still have the quarters to negotiate but there’s no danger one of these two are beating them.

29-06-2021, 07:15 PM
The sun is out too [emoji16]

Remember? [emoji57]

not on my tellybox it's not, unless i have the wrong settings :)

ah i see it, down at the David Gray corner of the Hibs end :greengrin

29-06-2021, 07:17 PM
Atmosphere at Hampden compared to Wembley no comparison

29-06-2021, 07:17 PM
Ooh English friends
d

What a surprise Scousehibby and Cockneyrebel being sympatico - well spotted.

29-06-2021, 07:18 PM
Atmosphere at Hampden compared to Wembley no comparison

Obviously. England at home vs Sweden/Ukraine in Hampden.

29-06-2021, 07:19 PM

Football is about the most short term thing in the world. The winners enjoy rubbing it in but after a while it becomes water off a ducks back. Remember 2012 was going to be the derby after which no other derby mattered? How did that work out? Do Hibs or Hearts fans care any less now when they win or lose? I'd say anyone who says yes is lying.

Over the piece the best team usually wins a tournament like this. Not necessarily the most entertaining but the team who can execute a game plan and get a job done.

If England win I won't particularly like it but it will be yesterday's news before the 1st flight to Qatar has departed for everyone except England fans and those who let themselves get worked up by the media frenzy.

Correct, im clueless about 1966 seeing as it never gets mentioned. at.all.

What happened?

Why do hardly any teams wear contrasting shorts now? I know there was a rule a couple of world cups ago about shorts and shorts both being either light or dark but is it still a thing?

Sweden should be in blue shorts, England should wear navy shorts, Scotland and France should wear white shorts and so on.

29-06-2021, 07:22 PM

It gets mentioned but who really cares except England fans and some Scottish fans?

I'm sure no one in Montevideo, Buenos Aires or Rome is worrying about who won the WC in 1966 and most won't care who won the Euros in 2021 either (unless in the case of the latter, it's them).

29-06-2021, 07:22 PM
It gets mentioned but who really cares except England fans and some Scottish fans?

I'm sure no one in Montevideo, Buenos Aires or Rome is worrying about who won the WC in 1966 and most won't care who won the Euros in 2021 either (unless in the case of the latter, it's them).

Correct.

29-06-2021, 07:23 PM

Glad to see you have got over tonight's result so soon and no longer playing to the audience!:greengrin

29-06-2021, 07:23 PM
Did they prevent fans getting into Hampden today?

The place is nearly empty.

29-06-2021, 07:24 PM
Sweden Ukraine not much to look at. Sweden seeing more of the ball, Johnathan Pearce and Martin Keown have the graveyard shift, rightfully so. The dullest commentators with nothing to say.

Obviously. England at home vs Sweden/Ukraine in Hampden.
Yip which of the 2 mangers was complaining about the game being at Hampden when covid restriction applied. Can see his point game should have been moved.

What? :faf:

Or Belgium the best team in the world

I think the Spaniards could give them a run for their money too.

Glad to see you have got over tonight's result so soon and no longer playing to the audience!

I appreciate it’s a big night for you and I hope you have a good one. But to be honest there’s really not much to get over.

29-06-2021, 07:25 PM
Glad to see you have got over tonight's result so soon and no longer playing to the audience!

Was I playing to the audience?

I think I posted about 4 or 5 times during the game and most of those occasions were in praise of England, particularly their unfairly maligned goalkeeper.

I'll assume you have got me confused with someone else and move on.

29-06-2021, 07:26 PM
Sweden Ukraine not much to look at. Sweden seeing more of the ball, Johnathan Pearce and Martin Keown have the graveyard shift, rightfully so. The dullest commentators with nothing to say.

Oh I don’t know, Keown’s analysis of the earlier game while this one is actually being played was a bit unexpected…

29-06-2021, 07:27 PM
I think the Spaniards could give them a run for their money too.

I think you should be banned for a month after today's result.

The ONE time I wanted the bl00dy Germans to win and they blow it!

1-0 Ukraine

1-0 Ukraine

Great strike, pure power

29-06-2021, 07:28 PM
Great strike, pure power

Great strike.. and poor defending.

29-06-2021, 07:28 PM
What? :faf:

You know what- read all the posts.

29-06-2021, 07:30 PM
Almost caught the keeper out there. He done well to get over in the end.

29-06-2021, 07:30 PM

I think I posted about 4 or 5 times during the game and most of those occasions were in praise of England, particularly their unfairly maligned goalkeeper.

Without being a sook, I thought you were even handed & made pertinent points re Pickford

29-06-2021, 07:33 PM
Why's the Ukrainian guy rolling about the ground holding his face? He was fouled but the guy just pushed him in the back.

Being a total fanny should be a yellow card offence.

He's here!
29-06-2021, 07:34 PM
It’s just the press that drives me nuts, way over the top.
English girl just lost at Wimbledon, commentator says she can now go home, put her England top on and celebrate the win

I imagine the commentator would have said something similar had Andy Murray lost on a day Scotland had a good result. And I also suspect Scottish commentators would be just as subjective in their analysis were we ever to do well at a tournament.

This sort of thing really doesn't bother me as I get older but if the pundits annoy you just do what I do and watch games without the commentary.

Said it earlier in the thread but I actually quite like this England side and I have a lot of time for Southgate. I certainly didn't feel any inclination to cheer on Germany against them.

29-06-2021, 07:35 PM

Said it earlier in the thread but I actually quite like this England side and I have a lot of time for Southgate. I certainly didn't feel any inclination to cheer on Germany against them.

I'm even more convinced you only come on here to wind people up.

29-06-2021, 07:36 PM
Without being a sook, I thought you were even handed & made pertinent points re Pickford

Sorry - came late to this thread and responded to one post. i got carried away with the general flavour of the preceding posts. Mea culpa.

29-06-2021, 07:36 PM
You know what- read all the posts.

I don't know what and your comments were out of order.

I posted once, and only after the game, saying that I turn the sound down when the commentators irritate me. People have got that option instead of moaning about them.

I'm neither up nor down that your team won. Fyi, I bet them to win the tournament weeks ago.

Sober up.

29-06-2021, 07:43 PM
wan-wan

1-1

Yaaas. Sweden score.

1-1

wan-wan

29-06-2021, 07:44 PM
Yaaas. Sweden score.

1-1
Deflection keeper no chance.

29-06-2021, 07:45 PM

Sure enough, but if Uruguayan TV was run from Buenos Aires I’m sure they would get fed up of hearing about Argentina (their rivals) winning the World Cup in 78 and 86.

29-06-2021, 07:46 PM
I was working and picking the wife up at 6pm so recorded the England game, decidedly average game compared to the last couple of nights games, Southgate manages to take a talented bunch of players and turn them into the most boring team going.

29-06-2021, 07:47 PM
Sorry - came late to this thread and responded to one post. i got carried away with the general flavour of the preceding posts. Mea culpa.
Some folk think it's a world war rather than a game of football & loose all sense of proportion.

29-06-2021, 07:48 PM
I was working and picking the wife up at 6pm so recorded the England game, decidedly average game compared to the last couple of nights games, Southgate manages to take a talented bunch of players and turn them into the most boring team going.

Nobody down here would give two hoots if England bored them to a Euro 2020 Cup win.

Sadly.

29-06-2021, 07:54 PM
btw, so much for the group of death. They're aw deid! :greengrin

29-06-2021, 07:55 PM
I imagine the commentator would have said something similar had Andy Murray lost on a day Scotland had a good result. And I also suspect Scottish commentators would be just as subjective in their analysis were we ever to do well at a tournament.

This sort of thing really doesn't bother me as I get older but if the pundits annoy you just do what I do and watch games without the commentary.

Get the tin hat on son ,tin hat. I have given up trying to be even handed and realise now that the majority are ABEs so I will respond only to non schoolboy posts.
All the ABEs, make a point that is not 200 years old or political to explain the football logic of your complaint then I will read it. If you mention media or pundits please compare to your own.

29-06-2021, 07:55 PM
Nobody down here would give two hoots if England bored them to a Euro 2020 Cup win.

Sadly.

Not sure anyone up here would mind if we bored our way past a group stage at some point eventually either. The difference is they generally have close to an embarrassment of riches and should be capable of playing more expansive football.

29-06-2021, 08:02 PM
Get the tin hat on son ,tin hat. I have given up trying to be even handed and realise now that the majority are ABEs so I will respond only to non schoolboy posts.
All the ABEs, make a point that is not 200 years old or political to explain the football logic of your complaint then I will read it. If you mention media or pundits please compare to your own.

🇺🇦🇸🇪

29-06-2021, 08:03 PM

You’re on a forum that’s filled with, predominantly, Scottish people.. I’m not sure what you’re expecting?

29-06-2021, 08:11 PM
both sides hit the post

29-06-2021, 08:15 PM
Just had to turn the sound down on the Sweden v Ukraine match

England this England that blah blah

Sooner they are out the better

29-06-2021, 08:16 PM

They’ve spent half the second half so far talking about England. It’s mental.

29-06-2021, 08:20 PM

Paddy Power nails it again.

https://twitter.com/paddypower/status/1409932988771667972?s=21

hibbytam
29-06-2021, 08:23 PM

The same football logic that says I don't want hearts to win, even though they're from Edinburgh

29-06-2021, 08:24 PM

That is actually outstanding

29-06-2021, 08:24 PM
sweden hit the woodwork again, it's not too bad a game this

29-06-2021, 08:29 PM
Forsberg has come a long way since scoring at ER for Malmo in that game.

29-06-2021, 08:32 PM
Sadly, this still isn't Forsbergs best performance in Scotland...

29-06-2021, 08:34 PM

I was responding to your last paragraph. You eventually seemed to be responding to local flavour. Again I seem to be late to the game and should read more of the previous posts. Alcohol is not an excuse but it is very nice.

I think England will fall short of winning the tournament but celebrating a good win is not a hanging offence. If it was all football supporters would be dead.

29-06-2021, 08:37 PM
The same football logic that says I don't want hearts to win, even though they're from Edinburgh

No it's not, not even close.

29-06-2021, 08:39 PM
No it's not, not even close.

Away man it's exactly the same. Local rivals. Nothing wrong with that at all.

29-06-2021, 08:41 PM
Joke booking for Forsberg. Probably irrelevant when the dust has settled but the stupidity’s amazing. He’s looking right at it.

CloudSquall
29-06-2021, 08:47 PM

Haha that is superb!!

29-06-2021, 08:49 PM
You’re on a forum that’s filled with, predominantly, Scottish people.. I’m not sure what you’re expecting?

Sorry my mistake, I thought i was on a HIBS forum talking about a non Hibs game - that's the title.
Do you want all non Scottish Hibbies to have a separate forum or just take all the sh*te? You do know that Scotland did not invent patriotism?

29-06-2021, 08:52 PM
Not sure who I want to win this. Ukraine probably, for the Dnipro kids

29-06-2021, 08:52 PM
Sorry my mistake, I thought i was on a HIBS forum talking about a non Hibs game - that's the title.
Do you want all non Scottish Hibbies to have a separate forum or just take all the sh*te? You do know that Scotland did not invent patriotism?

Come back when you’re sober and stop making a dick out of yourself.

29-06-2021, 08:56 PM
Haha that is superb!!

I am no Boris groupie but he was celebrating a goal against Germany not Scotland. He, unfortunately, is English so is qualified, again unfortunately, to jump about and look like he gives a sh*t.

29-06-2021, 08:57 PM

I want England to get absolutely pumped upside doon at football and rugby but want them to win when playing cricket. Honestly I think you are mixing up football banter and what is understandable annoyance at the pish commentary and summarising with something that's just not there in 99.9% of the posts or in general day to day life.

Santa Cruz
29-06-2021, 08:57 PM

Love this, really funny.

29-06-2021, 08:58 PM
I am no Boris groupie but he was celebrating a goal against Germany not Scotland. He, unfortunately, is English so is qualified, again unfortunately, to jump about and look like he gives a sh*t.

Go to bed ffs you’re embarrassing yourself.

I think you're confusing 2 different Tweets.

Not sure who I want to win this. Ukraine probably, for the Dnipro kids

It’s pretty bad. Not sure I fancy either team against the Sensational Super Soaraway Sassenachs.

29-06-2021, 08:59 PM
I want England to get absolutely pumped upside doon at football and rugby but want them to win when playing cricket. Honestly I think you are mixing up football banter and what is understandable annoyance at the pish commentary and summarising with something that's just not there in 99.9% of the posts or in general day to day life.

Good post.

29-06-2021, 08:59 PM
That should be a red card for the Swedish player.

29-06-2021, 09:00 PM

Your team won. Why are you getting all angry and gammony on here? Go and have some fun instead

Swedish player will be off here.

Sweden down to 10 - horrendous challenge.

McSwanky
Do you want all non Scottish Hibbies to have a separate forum or just take all the sh*te? You do know that Scotland did not invent patriotism?I've got no problem with people being patriotic, none at all. Congratulations to England on their win today. But here's the issue for me.

England are, to me, just another country. I have as much feeling for their football team as I do for, say, Sweden or Ukraine. So why do I have to put up with biased commentators continually talking about 'us' and 'we' on my television, which is very definitely in Scotland, about 50 miles away from the English border?

If I was sitting watching the England game in England, I'd absolutely accept biased TV coverage. Just as I would if I was watching Italy in Italy. But I'm not in England, am I?

I'm even being subjected to it during this evening's game, which is mildly annoying. At least they've got Freddie Ljunberg on though.

Horrific horrific dangerous tackle. The Ukrainian boy knee buckles…rightful red.

29-06-2021, 09:01 PM
Come back when you’re sober and stop making a dick out of yourself.

Read all of what's been posted previously and stop making a complete dick of a reply. Valid response.

29-06-2021, 09:01 PM
Sweden down to ten, I’m a bit torn about it that. He’s kicking the ball away and the Ukrainian player runs in to his outstretched foot.

Edit, actually nah, horrible the way the boys knee bends 🤢

29-06-2021, 09:02 PM
Horrific horrific dangerous tackle. The Ukrainian boy knee buckles…rightful red.

Think he’s a bit unlucky to be honest…he’s not challenging the player but stretching for the ball…the player then arrives late.

No doubting the horror result right enough.

29-06-2021, 09:02 PM
One of the worst tackles you'll see.

CloudSquall
29-06-2021, 09:06 PM

Tremendous reply to what was a reaction to a Paddy Power piss take, what are you like when England lose?

Ooooft, he’ll feel that in the morning.

29-06-2021, 09:07 PM
Why the **** is that boy not on a stretcher? Did they leave it in baggage claim?

29-06-2021, 09:07 PM
Sweden down to ten, I’m a bit torn about it that. He’s kicking the ball away and the Ukrainian player runs in to his outstretched foot.

Edit, actually nah, horrible the way the boys knee bends 🤢

I agree, he won the ball and cleared it, the Ukraine player couldn't pull out and took the brunt of the tackle but unlucky to get a red card. IMHO

Mantis Toboggan
29-06-2021, 09:08 PM
You didn’t just read it on here I’m sure, that was the commonly held opinion about England. But all of the cbs, including Mings who started instead of Maguire and who has loads of mistakes in him, have been rock solid. Pickford has also not put a foot wrong.

Very strong at the back, which could be enough to at least get them a final appearance. But do have a feeling that Denmark might somehow do it...

Horrific tackle!
Potential career ender.

Pearce and Keown now taking delight in the injuries ‘England wi be loving this’ . Just **** off Jono eh

Sounds to me like they’re bitter about covering this game and not that one.

Shame.

29-06-2021, 09:09 PM
Your team won. Why are you getting all angry and gammony on here? Go and have some fun instead

I was responding to a post that i disagreed with. Is that wrong? I am celebrating but, hey, gammony? Get a ******g life man or are you still in your teens? If you are I apologise and hope maturity comes soon.

29-06-2021, 09:10 PM
Another Ukrainian decked.

mcohibs
29-06-2021, 09:12 PM
One of the worst tackles you'll see.

It's not at all. He's looking at and stretching for the ball (which he got) and the other player arrives fast and late with a planted leg. It's a horror outcome but there's absolutely no intent whatsoever to injure the boy IMO.

29-06-2021, 09:13 PM
It's not at all. He's stretching for the ball (which he got) and the other player arrives late with a planted leg. It's a horror outcome but there's absolutely no intent whatsoever to injure the boy.

Intent is totally irrelevant. Red card is the only option for the ref I think.

29-06-2021, 09:14 PM
Red card all day

29-06-2021, 09:14 PM
Despite folk moaning earlier about the English-obsessed commentary, I didn’t think they were too bad. However this pillock keeps going on about how the English players will be loving the exertion of extra time and, worse, loving the injuries each team is experiencing. They can’t help it and it’s no wonder we all hate them.

29-06-2021, 09:16 PM
I agree, he won the ball and cleared it, the Ukraine player couldn't pull out and took the brunt of the tackle but unlucky to get a red card. IMHO

Like HB says, I think it’s a case of the red is left with no option. It wasn’t a bad challenge per say, it was a horrible collision.

mcohibs
29-06-2021, 09:17 PM
Intent is totally irrelevant. Red card is the only option for the ref I think.

Never said it wasn't a red card. I agree it is and ref had no choice but it's not 'one of the worst tackles you'll see' in my opinion. Ball was there to be won and the outcome is very unlucky

29-06-2021, 09:18 PM
Despite folk moaning earlier about the English-obsessed commentary, I didn’t think they were too bad. However this pillock keeps going on about how the English players will be loving the exertion of extra time and, worse, loving the injuries each team is experiencing. They can’t help it and it’s no wonder we all hate them.

When Pearce said that I couldn’t actually believe it. I mean I know he’s a prat, I have to put up with him on BT sport as the main ligue 1 commentator and he’s crap, but that was really classless.

29-06-2021, 09:19 PM
They even managed to slip in Marshall standing outside his box against the Czechs when the other reminded Keown ‘ be careful there might be Scots watching ‘

Dearie me ! 😃

29-06-2021, 09:20 PM
Sounds to me like they’re bitter about covering this game and not that one.

Shame.

Hey look - I have had a drink or two and in a happy place (for now) and had had a few posts arguing with folk about ABE but hey, FFS, wait until you have someting substantial to moan about.

29-06-2021, 09:20 PM
That Ukrainian striker will be delighted the flag went up.

What a miss.

29-06-2021, 09:21 PM
Hey look - I have had a drink or two and in a happy place (for now) and had had a few posts arguing with folk about ABE but hey, FFS, wait until you have someting substantial to moan about.

Sorry - went a bit Bob Marley there.

29-06-2021, 09:23 PM
Will there be enough fit players to take penalties?
It’s like passchendale

29-06-2021, 09:23 PM
Well that has to be a red card for the follow through if the Swedish one was.

29-06-2021, 09:24 PM
We all hate them, not sure about that Jim, hate is a pretty strong emotion.

29-06-2021, 09:24 PM
Pearce is an absolute bellend

29-06-2021, 09:25 PM
Well that has to be a red card for the follow through if the Swedish one was.

Just goes to show…not even a murmur from VAR on that despite the boy getting totally clattered after the dude had skiffed the ball.

Not sure how many players here will be left fit enough to take penalties. There’s bodies everywhere, it’s like the closing battle scene from Gangs of New York.

Tell you what mate, enjoy your night and the rest of the tournament. I’m not one for killing anyone’s buzz. 👍🏻👍🏻

29-06-2021, 09:26 PM
Will there be enough fit players to take penalties?
It’s like passchendale

Ah, same thought process, different massacre scene.

29-06-2021, 09:27 PM
We all hate them, not sure about that Jim, hate is a pretty strong emotion.

I don’t think there’s much I hate in football, commentators certainly don’t fall anywhere near that category.

29-06-2021, 09:29 PM
Ukraine want the penalties.

29-06-2021, 09:30 PM
Wow

Haha ffs goal Ukraine!

2-1 Ukraine

mcohibs
Tell you what, not sure there will be players left to take pens. Its like the battle of Helm's Deep out there

Ukraine 2-1

Why was he wearing a bra?

29-06-2021, 09:31 PM
Looks like Ukraine's rolling around all the time has paid off to win the game in injury time

VAR check...

Offside check

Goal stands

Sensation!

Goal stands.

29-06-2021, 09:32 PM
Probably the most dramatic header ever scored at that end of Hampden.

Ukraine to pump England please

Tell you what, not sure there will be players left to take pens. Its like the battle of Helm's Deep out there

We’ve been through this before, you’re wrong, Gallipoli

Imagine getting ******* Ukraine for a place in the semi finals. :rolleyes:

29-06-2021, 09:33 PM
We’ve been through this before, you’re wrong, Gallipoli

St valentine day??

Actually, on second thought, the charge of the light brigade is most appropriate.

Ukraine will beat them.

Ukraine to pump England please

Not a hope in hell 😩

29-06-2021, 09:34 PM
Ukraine will beat them.

Can't see it but hope so!

29-06-2021, 09:34 PM
This was like the insect massacre death battle scenes from Starship Troopers.

29-06-2021, 09:35 PM
Ashley Williams: “defend the bus”

St valentine day??

Actually, on second thought, the charge of the light brigade is most appropriate.

Is Crimea in Ukraine?

:faf: don’t go down this rabbithole

Hey look - I have had a drink or two and in a happy place (for now) and had had a few posts arguing with folk about ABE but hey, FFS, wait until you have <strong>someting</strong> substantial to moan about.<br>

<br><br>Sorry - went a bit Bob Marley there.

29-06-2021, 09:37 PM
Ukraine will beat them.
Dream on😂

29-06-2021, 09:37 PM
Bad night for Mr Putin. Somewhere’s getting annexed in the morning.

29-06-2021, 09:38 PM
Why was he wearing a bra?

Most players do now, it’s for player analytics, the GPS tech bits go in the bra.

Plus it stops chafing

29-06-2021, 09:38 PM
I don’t think there’s much I hate in football, commentators certainly don’t fall anywhere near that category.

C’mon give us a break, the use of the word hate in this context isn’t literal. Ok, exchange it for ‘can’t stand’, ‘dislike’ or ‘resent’ if that sits better with you ........ sometimes I think folk on here sit ready to pounce on anything to moan about or disagree with. :greengrin

29-06-2021, 09:40 PM
C’mon give us a break, the use of the word hate in this context isn’t literal. Ok, exchange it for ‘can’t stand’, ‘dislike’ or ‘resent’ if that sits better with you ........ sometimes I think folk on here sit ready to pounce on anything to moan about or disagree with. :greengrin

**** off

😜

Btw none of those other terms are exactly softer. “No wonder we all can’t stand them”…not exactly extending the hand of friendship.

29-06-2021, 09:45 PM
Ukraine will beat them.

We are reaching the point in the competition where the less talented countries are burning out after their efforts.
Ukraine will have lots of injured players from tonights game and a leggy performance in Rome is the likely result I'm afraid.

29-06-2021, 09:48 PM

They had a fortunate path in the World Cup. And they didn’t win it.

29-06-2021, 09:51 PM

Bet they were saying the same before Iceland

29-06-2021, 09:59 PM
**** off

😜

Btw none of those other terms are exactly softer. “No wonder we all can’t stand them”…not exactly extending the hand of friendship.

.......... on reflection ‘can’t stand them’ is too mild ........ I’m back with ‘hate’ ........ limited vocabulary and all that. :na na:

29-06-2021, 10:01 PM

Why should you hate a whole nation for what a few individuals said? If so every nation would hate every other nation, Oh no I forgot - no Scottish folk ever say anything nasty about anyone else. If you hate everything about the English just say so don't just pick out random crap that everyone is guilty of to try and justify yourself.

29-06-2021, 10:06 PM
Tonight hurt, probably more than Scotland not getting out of the group stages. I was forced to become a German because of the English electorate, so I was hoping they'd get pumped by my newly adopted country. It was not to be. Onwards and upwards, I don't care what country rips this trophy out of their arms, but someone will, I'll take consolation in that and the fact that as a German we'll win more than we'll lose.

29-06-2021, 10:08 PM
Dream on😂

You never know in football 👀

mcohibs
29-06-2021, 10:20 PM
Why should you hate a whole nation for what a few individuals said? If so every nation would hate every other nation, Oh no I forgot - no Scottish folk ever say anything nasty about anyone else. If you hate everything about the English just say so don't just pick out random crap that everyone is guilty of to try and justify yourself.

Don't think the poster has once said he hates the English or everything about the nation. Reads as in relation to English football pundits, which is a commonly held view. You may be jumping to your own conclusions.

29-06-2021, 10:20 PM

As an Englishman I wonder if you actually read any previous posts.

mcohibs
29-06-2021, 10:22 PM
We are reaching the point in the competition where the less talented countries are burning out after their efforts.

And for that reason, England will be knocked out in the next round :greengrin

29-06-2021, 10:26 PM

Sorry Lago, I can’t agree because any slavering by us has been in anticipation not expectation. They already have the route laid out to and winning the final in the press. :confused:

29-06-2021, 10:31 PM

Glass houses and stones must be a part of a phrase that Scotsman must never have heard of.

29-06-2021, 10:41 PM
Glass houses and stones must be a part of a phrase that Scotsman must never have heard of.

You we’re doing ok pal until you said that you arrogant twat.

He's here!
29-06-2021, 10:44 PM

Out of interest why do you think that is?

29-06-2021, 10:45 PM
]Sorry Lago, I can’t agree because any slavering by us has been in anticipation not expectation[/B]. They already have the route laid out to and winning the final in the press. :confused:

I have to say I was here at the time and your take on this is b*ll*cks. You fancied your chances of going all the way. Press hype/maybe but whatever it was it carried you away so why slag other folk for the same thing.

Shame on you.

29-06-2021, 10:45 PM

True, hopefully history can repeat itself.

He's here!
29-06-2021, 10:47 PM
Tonight hurt, probably more than Scotland not getting out of the group stages. I was forced to become a German because of the English electorate, so I was hoping they'd get pumped by my newly adopted country. It was not to be. Onwards and upwards, I don't care what country rips this trophy out of their arms, but someone will, I'll take consolation in that and the fact that as a German we'll win more than we'll lose.

How so?

pollution
29-06-2021, 10:50 PM
80 minutes of boredom with a deserved win. That sums it up.

England are an average team and good luck to them but I don't see them as overall winners.

29-06-2021, 10:50 PM
I have to say I was here at the time and your take on this is b*ll*cks. You fancied your chances of going all the way. Press hype/maybe but whatever it was it carried you away so why slag other folk for the same thing.

Shame on you.

I’ll try that again shall I? We had anticipation not expectation- a whole world of difference.

29-06-2021, 10:51 PM
How so?

Are you seriously asking that 5 years after Brexit?

29-06-2021, 10:52 PM
As an Englishman I wonder if you actually read any previous posts.

Well for a start I can’t understand what you are trying to say in this simple sentence. More importantly, as somebody has tried to point out to you, not once have I said I hate the English nation. I get pissed off with your football pundits, commentators and media, as many, no most, Scots do, in my opinion. I’ve been reading your posts and, even before you decided to have a go at me, thought they were argumentative and aggressive. Good luck to you and your team, which, by the way, I rate quite highly,

29-06-2021, 10:54 PM
You we’re doing ok pal until you said that you arrogant twat.

I was doing ok because I was right. You are no better or worse than the English in this respect so don't kid yourself.

He's here!
29-06-2021, 10:56 PM
Sorry Lago, I can’t agree because any slavering by us has been in anticipation not expectation. They already have the route laid out to and winning the final in the press. :confused:

I wasn't very old at the time but I remember being convinced we were going to win the World Cup in 78. England not having qualified, the expectation on Scotland was perhaps greater than usual, but we definitely went OTT about our chances.

'We're on the march wi' Ally's Army. We're going to the Argen-teen. And we'll really shake 'em up when we win the World Cup, cos Scotland are the the greatest fitba' team' :wink:

I vividly remember greetin' when we got gubbed by Peru in our opening game. Heartbreaking stuff for a kid not yet aware of the pain football can inflict.

29-06-2021, 10:56 PM
I was doing ok because I was right. You are no better or worse than the English in this respect so don't kid yourself.

You think so? Aye.

He's here!
29-06-2021, 10:59 PM
Are you seriously asking that 5 years after Brexit?

Ah, OK. Sorry, I don't know your personal history. I just wasn't sure what you meant.

29-06-2021, 11:01 PM
I wasn't very old at the time but I remember being convinced we were going to win the World Cup in 78. England not having qualified, the expectation on Scotland was perhaps greater than usual, but we definitely went OTT about our chances.

'We're on the march wi' Ally's Army. We're going to the Argen-teen. And we'll really shake 'em up when we win the World Cup, cos Scotland are the the greatest fitba' team' :wink:

I vividly remember greetin' when we got gubbed by Peru in our opening game. Heartbreaking stuff for a kid not yet aware of the pain football can inflict.

I enjoy a well worded counter-view such as yours. I don’t agree with you and will happily accept your difference of opinion. Thank you.:greengrin

29-06-2021, 11:16 PM
Well for a start I can’t understand what you are trying to say in this simple sentence. More importantly, as somebody has tried to point out to you, not once have I said I hate the English nation. I get pissed off with your football pundits, commentators and media, as many, no most, Scots do, in my opinion. I’ve been reading your posts and, even before you decided to have a go at me, thought they were argumentative and aggressive. Good luck to you and your team, which, by the way, I rate quite highly,

I was replying to what I i thought was the general tone of the previous posts. I am sorry if I got the wrong vibes as I am anxious to avoid being an arse when it's not warranted.

Media/pundits/commentators...I still say look at your own (or anyone else) we all get carried away.

29-06-2021, 11:18 PM
Great result for England tonight, Southgate got his tactics and formation spot on. Hoping we can get a result against Ukraine next will be be a tough game as will all games be. Can England go all the way? Of course they can but so can all the other teams, one game at a time is all we can do.

29-06-2021, 11:18 PM
Good to see that England’s advance has in no way provoked any hubris on their part nor any tonne weights of chips on Scottish shoulders. Smashing.

He's here!
29-06-2021, 11:26 PM
I've got no problem with people being patriotic, none at all. Congratulations to England on their win today. But here's the issue for me.

England are, to me, just another country. I have as much feeling for their football team as I do for, say, Sweden or Ukraine. So why do I have to put up with biased commentators continually talking about 'us' and 'we' on my television, which is very definitely in Scotland, about 50 miles away from the English border?

If I was sitting watching the England game in England, I'd absolutely accept biased TV coverage. Just as I would if I was watching Italy in Italy. But I'm not in England, am I?

I'm even being subjected to it during this evening's game, which is mildly annoying. At least they've got Freddie Ljunberg on though.

Just my opinion, but I think the 'it's not the the English football team I hate, it's the commentators' line is wearing a bit thin and is quite probably a little dishonest for many who trot it out. Are they really any more jingo-istic than any other country's commentators when their national team is doing well? I have my doubts. Some of the most OTT 'classic' pieces of commentary (Norway's 'Maggie Thatcher are you listening...your boys took one hell of a beating etc' springs immediately to mind) put 'biased' English commentary in the shade.

In my more partisan youth I have no problem admitting I was very much in the 'anyone but England' camp but these days I just don't get so hot and bothered about international football. Maybe it's because we got so out of the way of seeing Scotland at major tournaments, but now I see these events more as a bit of light relief before the real thing gets going again in the shape of Hibs.

As I said in an earlier post I find this England side hard to actively dislike and bearing in mind the number of English friends (and indeed relatives) I've accumulated throughout a life spent in numerous parts of the UK I think it's fair to say I have more feeling for them than, to use your examples, Sweden and Ukraine.

29-06-2021, 11:34 PM
I’ll try that again shall I? We had anticipation not expectation- a whole world of difference.

I'll try that again then - bollocks - as a nation you thought you would win - I was here - I even half believed it myself - so don't underestimate the power of the hype and don't try to twist it to suit your purpose. We are all gullible not just the folk you pick out.

29-06-2021, 11:38 PM
as a nation you thought you would win .

😂😂😂😂

29-06-2021, 11:39 PM
You think so? Aye.

Aye!!!!

29-06-2021, 11:41 PM
Just my opinion, but I think the 'it's not the the English football team I hate, it's the commentators' line is wearing a bit thin and is quite probably a little dishonest for many who trot it out. Are they really any more jingo-istic than any other country's commentators when their national team is doing well? I have my doubts. Some of the most OTT 'classic' pieces of commentary (Norway's 'Maggie Thatcher are you listening...your boys took one hell of a beating etc' springs immediately to mind) put 'biased' English commentary in the shade.

In my more partisan youth I have no problem admitting I was very much in the 'anyone but England' camp but these days I just don't get so hot and bothered about international football. Maybe it's because we got so out of the way of seeing Scotland at major tournaments, but these days I see these events more as a bit of light relief before the real thing gets going again in the shape of Hibs.

As I said in an earlier post I find this England side hard to dislike and bearing in mind the number of English friends I've accumulated throughout a life spent in numerous parts of the UK I think it's fair to say I have more feeling for them than, to use your examples, Sweden and Ukraine.I've lived in France for 17 years and being away from the UK media has definitely softened my views toward the English national football team. I have English cousins who are great guys and are fanatical football & England fans. It's only now that I'm not getting their team rammed in my face that I can grudgingly feel pleased for them if their team gets a good result (not that I'd ever let on).

And for info., the French media, commentators & pundits, who can probably be forgiven for expecting a bit of success, are like impartial observers compared to their English counterparts.

29-06-2021, 11:47 PM

In my more partisan youth I have no problem admitting I was very much in the 'anyone but England' camp but these days I just don't get so hot and bothered about international football. Maybe it's because we got so out of the way of seeing Scotland at major tournaments, but now I see these events more as a bit of light relief before the real thing gets going again in the shape of Hibs.

As I said in an earlier post I find this England side hard to actively dislike and bearing in mind the number of English friends (and indeed relatives) I've accumulated throughout a life spent in numerous parts of the UK I think it's fair to say I have more feeling for them than, to use your examples, Sweden and Ukraine.

If folk truly believe Braveheart and base their beliefs/politics on that crap then I despair.

Santa Cruz
29-06-2021, 11:50 PM
Great result for England tonight, Southgate got his tactics and formation spot on. Hoping we can get a result against Ukraine next will be be a tough game as will all games be. Can England go all the way? Of course they can but so can all the other teams, one game at a time is all we can do.

Well done. Really like the Manager, comes across as such a decent bloke, I really liked Bobby Robson for the same reasons. I know there's been big crowds at other stadiums, but when the roar went up when Sterling scored I got a bit emotional, I think it was just seeing some normality that set me off. As soon as Scotland exit any comp in any sport, I always get behind the remaining home nations. Good luck in the quarters.

29-06-2021, 11:54 PM
Hope Belgium win. Rom, Eden, especially Kev, and the rest are worthy of a trophy before their golden generation is over.

McSwanky
30-06-2021, 12:09 AM

As I said in an earlier post I find this England side hard to actively dislike and bearing in mind the number of English friends (and indeed relatives) I've accumulated throughout a life spent in numerous parts of the UK I think it's fair to say I have more feeling for them than, to use your examples, Sweden and Ukraine.You didn't actually read my post, did you?

30-06-2021, 12:24 AM
[QUOTE=Santa Cruz;6606272]Well done. Really like the Manager, comes across as such a decent bloke, I really liked Bobby Robson for the same reasons. I know there's been big crowds at other stadiums, but when the roar went up when Sterling scored I got a bit emotional, I think it was just seeing some normality that set me off. As soon as Scotland exit any comp in any sport, I always get behind the remaining home nations. Good luck in the quarters.[/QUOT I E]

I have to admit that not everyone I know feels this way but the majority of English folk I know do. Never mind social media bollocks what has the average Englishman or English footballer done to deserve the vitriol on here at times. I have lived in Edinburgh for 40 years and supported Hibs for that long (30 years a ST holder). How integrated I do I have to become before I stop having to defend myself for the exact same things you do yourselves.

McSwanky
30-06-2021, 12:45 AM
Imagine, for a second, you are a Danish person living in Denmark. And the Danish TV company which covers the Euros/WC decides not to have its own commentators/production, but instead decides to take the German coverage for all but the matches in which Denmark feature. (Let's ignore the language differences for illustrative purposes).

Sound ridiculous?

Now imagine they've been doing that for your whole life.

Nobody can honestly tell me that you wouldn't be pretty sick of that situation, and be more than happy when Germany exited the competition.

Like I said before, I have no problem with partisan coverage of football. It's the nature of the game. I'd just rather my only option wasn't what is 95% another country's coverage.

norhfc
30-06-2021, 05:13 AM
I am enjoying the whole Euro 2020 compitition this year. Even more so when after a couple of games I just started tuning in at kick off and turning off on final whistle. Half time is spent in the kitchen, it really is a lot more enjoyable than listening to Rio Ferdinand and the rest.

30-06-2021, 05:36 AM
I am enjoying the whole Euro 2020 compitition this year. Even more so when after a couple of games I just started tuning in at kick off and turning off on final whistle. Half time is spent in the kitchen, it really is a lot more enjoyable than listening to Rio Ferdinand and the rest.

Exactly what I've been doing.

30-06-2021, 06:11 AM
Out of interest why do you think that is?

Because we don't have a rivalry with them in cricket like we do in football and rugby. Don't get me wrong on the very few occasions where we have played England at cricket I want Scotland to win, but otherwise I want them to win at cricket. The poster in question in my opinion is the one who has the problem and not the other way round. The English football pundits, press etc are a complete pain in the arse and the problem for us in Scotlabd is that they are rammed down our throats because the British Broadcasting Corporation is actually the English Broadcasting Corporation. ITV the same, England centric. Other than Wales there can't ve any other nation who has to put up with having to listen to their biggest rivals spew the pish that we have to.
Can't wait for the test matches v India to start!!!

Crunchie
30-06-2021, 06:25 AM
Because we don't have a rivalry with them in cricket like we do in football and rugby. Don't get me wrong on the very few occasions where we have played England at cricket I want Scotland to win, but otherwise I want them to win at cricket. The poster in question in my opinion is the one who has the problem and not the other way round. The English football pundits, press etc are a complete pain in the arse and the problem for us in Scotlabd is that they are rammed down our throats because the British Broadcasting Corporation is actually the English Broadcasting Corporation. ITV the same, England centric. Other than Wales there can't ve any other nation who has to put up with having to listen to their biggest rivals spew the pish that we have to.
Can't wait for the test matches v India to start!!!

There is such a thing as BBC Scotland who can put on their own programmes, but instead choose to waste Scottish licence money on a channel that spouts some amount of pish too, only in a language 99% of us don't understand.

30-06-2021, 06:42 AM
There is such a thing as BBC Scotland who can put on their own programmes, but instead choose to waste Scottish licence money on a channel that spouts some amount of pish too, only in a language 99% of us don't understand.

I take it that you do understand the language since you know that they're spouting pish?

30-06-2021, 06:55 AM

If you mean BBC Alba, I think it's a
diverse, informative and enjoyable channel. Much more so than BBC Scotland.

Key West
30-06-2021, 07:00 AM
Wanting England to lose is probably for most no different from supporting any team that plays Hearts, Celtic or Rangers despite the media nonsense.

30-06-2021, 07:03 AM
Good to see that England’s advance has in no way provoked any hubris on their part nor any tonne weights of chips on Scottish shoulders. Smashing.

I think you’re right, that really didn’t happen.

What did happen was a thread about the wider tournament was hijacked by an England fan determined to start arguments with people, and who also seemed to be too incapacitated to understand what anyone else was saying or what he was saying himself. Which then moves on to talking about Braveheart and taking Gaelic language channels off the air, dear oh dear :greengrin

30-06-2021, 07:13 AM

ITV? Its not as simple as that. Why not take money from kids programmes, or stop signing for the deaf, or cut the news budgets and put it towards commentators for the football.
Why is it just at the football that it's like this though? As I say I'm a huge cricket fan and the commentators etc on that are superb, whetherSky, C4, BBC or TMS. Knowledgeable, articulate, clearly want England to win but none of them get caught up with the bull**** like the football guys. Similarly with rugby they definitely don't indulge in the worst of the partisan football pundits. Anyway probably time to bow out as some want to take this on a political route that I just don't think is there

He's here!
30-06-2021, 07:14 AM
You didn't actually read my post, did you?

I did and I respect your views. I should have stated that my response wasn't directed at you personally. It was more of a general point about Scotland fans and English commentators and the way I think many tend to hide behind the 'it's not the players, it's the commentators' thing, when it fact they should just admit they want to see England stuffed.

Re your more specific point though, I personally don't think my experience of watching, say, Ukraine v Sweden, would have been especially enhanced by a Scottish commentary team. I don't see the big deal about what nationality the commentators are to be honest and as I've said before I often turn the commentary off during football games. Not because I have an issue with English commentators but because by and large I don't see the need for commentary full stop. The majority of the time they are simply telling me which player is on the ball and what they're doing with it - something I can see plainly for myself.

He's here!
30-06-2021, 07:24 AM
I've lived in France for 17 years and being away from the UK media has definitely softened my views toward the English national football team. I have English cousins who are great guys and are fanatical football & England fans. It's only now that I'm not getting their team rammed in my face that I can grudgingly feel pleased for them if their team gets a good result (not that I'd ever let on).

And for info., the French media, commentators & pundits, who can probably be forgiven for expecting a bit of success, are like impartial observers compared to their English counterparts.

That's interesting feedback. I used to work with a bunch of lovely French colleagues who I kept in touch with for quite a number of years. When I went to visit them (in the south-west of France) I was struck by how, while football was popular, it wasn't the only sport folk cared about and, unlike the UK, other sports were high profile. Rugby was big and basketball was especially popular (big, passionate and family-friendly crowds at the games I went to). Tennis seemed to be played by a lot of people and I remember seeing a big fencing academy full of kids near where I stayed (over here both those sports probably carry more of a 'posh' tag). I wonder if that wider perspective on sport dilutes the mania/partisan commentary on football or does it depend which region you live in?

30-06-2021, 08:13 AM
Imagine, for a second, you are a Danish person living in Denmark. And the Danish TV company which covers the Euros/WC decides not to have its own commentators/production, but instead decides to take the German coverage for all but the matches in which Denmark feature. (Let's ignore the language differences for illustrative purposes).

Sound ridiculous?

Nobody can honestly tell me that you wouldn't be pretty sick of that situation, and be more than happy when Germany exited the competition.

Like I said before, I have no problem with partisan coverage of football. It's the nature of the game. I'd just rather my only option wasn't what is 95% another country's coverage.

Perfect analogy. The whole BBC is a sham for EBC and everyone knows it. When you are watching a Sweden Ukraine game the commentators are talking about how good it would be for England that players are getting injured.

30-06-2021, 08:15 AM
Hope Belgium win. Rom, Eden, especially Kev, and the rest are worthy of a trophy before their golden generation is over.

Hope they do however both Hazard and De Bruyne injured in last game.

Allez Hibs
30-06-2021, 08:21 AM

Sound ridiculous?

You can watch the game on mute.