19-06-2021, 08:15 PM
That's not a penalty

Spain penalty.

Penalty Spain (dont agree with personally)

19-06-2021, 08:16 PM
Missed. Justice for me.

Spain miss the penalty and rebound.

That's not a penalty

I want Poland to win but it was a foul.

19-06-2021, 08:18 PM
Missed. Justice for me.

And me, penalty decision was harsh.

19-06-2021, 08:19 PM
"There was contact but the ball was gone"! Wtfm when has the whereabouts of the ball dictated when it's a foul or not? :hilarious

19-06-2021, 08:20 PM
I want Poland to win but it was a foul.

Definitely not a penalty for me. Ref's made a few questionable calls in this game - no wonder the Polish players are getting ratty.

19-06-2021, 08:22 PM
Definitely not a penalty for me. Ref's made a few questionable calls in this game - no wonder the Polish players are getting ratty.

He kicked the boy. That's not allowed therefore it's a foul in the box.

Anyway, mon Poland.

19-06-2021, 08:23 PM
Been three great and entertaining games today. :thumbsup:

19-06-2021, 08:24 PM
"There was contact but the ball was gone"! Wtfm when has the whereabouts of the ball dictated when it's a foul or not? :hilarious

Danny Murphy is the worst of the worst.

So he studded him after the ball was gone so as the ball was gone that makes it LESS of a foul? Bizarre!

Turning into a feisty game! Not sure the Spanish seem to have much oomph about them so would love to see Poland stick another one in.

19-06-2021, 08:27 PM
Just meant that in the game this afternoon he walked away with a goal and an assist but thought he was anonymous for the rest of the game bar those two moments. Arguably he was a big factor in why Germany dominated the game so easily, IMO, although Germany did also play very well and Silva and Fernandez were also anonymous.

Or conversely since he scored and assisted the two goals Portugal did get he was the biggest factor in Germany not absolutely crushing them?

19-06-2021, 08:27 PM
Absolute torture at half time with the Lineker Rio and Micah England whining. No real analysis just we were crap basically only valid analysis was Klinsmann.

19-06-2021, 08:30 PM
Absolute torture at half time with the Lineker Rio and Micah England whining. No real analysis just we were crap basically only valid analysis was Klinsmann.

I quite enjoyed Lineker ripping the pish out of Rio for saying how easy it was going to be, to be honest.

Any half-time studio at the minute is incomplete without Alex Scott.

Jim your anti english head should be in the wash today. Get a grip. Be happy :wink:

Danny Murphy is the worst of the worst.

So he studded him after the ball was gone so as the ball was gone that makes it LESS of a foul? Bizarre!

Turning into a feisty game! Not sure the Spanish seem to have much oomph about them so would love to see Poland stick another one in.

Twitter ripping into Murphy for the comment.

19-06-2021, 08:32 PM
Twitter ripping into Murphy for the comment.

radge we get it you thought it as a penalty, no need to devote your life to it. I didnt think it was. God (not that i Believe) saw differently and made him miss :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

19-06-2021, 08:35 PM

I thought they were absolutely fine.

Scotland came with the right attitude, played with desire and heart, Gilmour was excellent. England were lacking in those respects and Kane can still come good.

Hardly torturous.

19-06-2021, 08:36 PM
radge we get it you thought it as a penalty, no need to devote your life to it. I didnt think it was. God (not that i Believe) saw differently and made him miss :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

I'm talking about Murphy saying it wasn't a foul because the ball was away

19-06-2021, 08:38 PM
That keeper is a bit iffy

19-06-2021, 08:39 PM

Scotland came with the right attitude, played with desire and heart, Gilmour was excellent. England were lacking in those respects and Kane can still come good.

Hardly torturous.

As you're probably aware Im an English Hibee, no complaints here and most people I know. Scotland had the desire and the game plan. Glad of the point to be honest but tomorrow is another day England havent become crap overnight and Scotland havent become world beaters overnight. It was a great night for Scotland and Im glad for you and the tartan Army. Focus on Tuesday.

19-06-2021, 08:40 PM
That keeper is a bit iffy

The keeper was about to gather the ball but it hit the defender's leg and bounced away.

19-06-2021, 08:40 PM
Jim your anti english head should be in the wash today. Get a grip. Be happy :wink:

Your right. :greengrin

19-06-2021, 08:41 PM
I'm talking about Murphy saying it wasn't a foul because the ball was away

It’s Murphy that’s torturous…

“We call that eye of a needle stuff”

“Swinger. We call that a swinger”

Painful Danny that’s what we call it. [emoji2957]

19-06-2021, 08:42 PM
Your right. :greengrin

:wink:Seriously hope Scotland get the required result on Tuesday.

19-06-2021, 08:42 PM
As you're probably aware Im an English Hibee, no complaints here and most people I know. Scotland had the desire and the game plan. Glad of the point to be honest but tomorrow is another day England havent become crap overnight and Scotland havent become world beaters overnight. It was a great night for Scotland and Im glad for you and the tartan Army. Focus on Tuesday.

You keep misinterpreting my comments. :hilarious

That time, I was quoting the pundits in order to show that, despite Jim's assertion of "absolute torture", they were being fair in their assessment.

19-06-2021, 08:43 PM
Sczesny has been absolutely fantastic for Poland tonight.

19-06-2021, 08:48 PM

Hardly torturous.

Nah on and on about how poor England were at half time in a Spain Poland game.

19-06-2021, 08:49 PM
Spain still play the same way they did when they were world beaters. But they havent got the players to do that now. All tippy tappy no end product. More chance of an England Scotland final than Spain winning this tournament :wink::greengrin

19-06-2021, 08:50 PM

Doesn’t fill Danny with confidence tho…

<can you tell I don’t like Murphy? [emoji1787]>

19-06-2021, 08:51 PM
We need as few teams going into last match day on 1 point as possible, so much as I have affection for Poland a late Spanish winner would be ideal.

19-06-2021, 08:51 PM
I’m not enjoying watching Spain in this tournament. There’s just no cojones.

19-06-2021, 08:52 PM

Dannys a nice lad but is a bit boring and negative. He is infact the film negative of Micah Richards.

19-06-2021, 08:53 PM
It’s Murphy that’s torturous…

“We call that eye of a needle stuff”

“Swinger. We call that a swinger”

Painful Danny that’s what we call it. [emoji2957]

Also his remark ‘from an English point of view, we have nothing to fear from Spain’. wtf!

19-06-2021, 08:53 PM

Hes Ron Atkinson pretending to be Murphy.

19-06-2021, 08:54 PM
1-1 good game infact three good games today. Enjoyed.

19-06-2021, 08:54 PM
Hes Ron Atkinson pretending to be Murphy.

😂😂 I thought that too!

19-06-2021, 08:55 PM
Well done Poland, a well deserved point.

19-06-2021, 08:56 PM
I’m not enjoying watching Spain in this tournament. There’s just no cojones.

Too right.

Even at their pomp their tikka taka stuff was not exciting to watch. Technically superb but drained the game of the ebb and flow that makes football enjoying to watch.

This Spanish team seem to want to play the same way but are a poor shadow of their former selves. Totally lacking any drive or determination and have so far got pretty much what they have deserved.

19-06-2021, 08:59 PM
We need as few teams going into last match day on 1 point as possible, so much as I have affection for Poland a late Spanish winner would be ideal.

Come on Slovakia and Sweden then.

19-06-2021, 09:06 PM
Come on Slovakia and Sweden then.

Aye! They'll not both come off, though. Almost wish we'd got beat last night, I hate being killed by hope!

19-06-2021, 09:14 PM

He needs to be to keep Zibi out the team...

19-06-2021, 10:58 PM
We need to win against Croatia as even a draw will see us finishing fourth. If we can do that then the best case scenario for us in the other games would be:

Switzerland not to win against Turkey
Belgium to beat Finland
Ukraine or Austria to win their game outright
France to beat Portugal
Poland not to win against Sweden

Get those results and we will be in the top 4 third place finishers

19-06-2021, 11:00 PM

My predictions for the other groups;

Group A

Switzerland to finish 3rd on 4 points.

Group B

Finland to finish 3rd on 3 points.

Group C

Austria to finish 3rd on 4 points.

Group E

Slovakia to finish 3rd on 3 points.

Group F

Portugal to finish 3rd on 3 points.

I'm still very confident that a win on Tuesday takes Scotland through.

19-06-2021, 11:18 PM
We need to win against Croatia as even a draw will see us finishing fourth. If we can do that then the best case scenario for us in the other games would be:

Belgium to beat Finland
France to beat Portugal

No, just get any two of those five highly likely scenarios in the bag and that’s enough.

20-06-2021, 01:23 AM
Group A
Switzerland 1 pt v Turkey 0 pts

Group B
Finland 3 pts v Belgium 6 pts

Group C
Ukraine 3 pts v Austria 3 pts

Group E
Slovakia 3 pts v Spain 2 pts
Sweden 4 pts v Poland 1 pt

Group F
Germany 3 pts v Hungary 1 pt
Portugal 3 pts v France 4 pts

20-06-2021, 08:59 AM

Belgium to beat Finland
France to beat Portugal

So we only need two of them to happen.

20-06-2021, 09:05 AM

Belgium to beat Finland
France to beat Portugal

Belgium plus at least one other will happen.
However, the difficult bit is Scotland winning.

20-06-2021, 09:08 AM

A good summary. Scotland are better in these games when can sit in and also break out much more difficult when we are on the front foot. Good thing imo for Tuesday is Croatia need a win also. They aren't as strong but still have loads of quality and will be a very difficult game no doubt.

20-06-2021, 09:10 AM
My predictions for the other groups;

Group A

Switzerland to finish 3rd on 4 points.

Group B

Finland to finish 3rd on 3 points.

Group C

Austria to finish 3rd on 4 points.

Group E

Slovakia to finish 3rd on 3 points.

Group F

Portugal to finish 3rd on 3 points.

I'm still very confident that a win on Tuesday takes Scotland through.

I think your predictions are how I see these games going.

20-06-2021, 09:11 AM
Belgium plus at least one other will happen.
However, the difficult bit is Scotland winning.

20-06-2021, 09:15 AM
So we only neeed two of them to happen.

:agree: I'd say Belgium beating Finland and Sweden avoiding defeat v Poland represents Scotland's best chance of qualifying.

A winner between Austria v Ukraine would also come in handy but I think that's a stick on for a draw.

SJNB Hibby
20-06-2021, 09:15 AM
So we only need two of them to happen.

Remember, we can still get 2nd place if we win, England lose and there's a decent swing in the goal difference

20-06-2021, 09:22 AM
Okay it's unlikely, but how many goals would we need to beat Croatia by to finish 2nd if England were beaten 1-0 by the Czech Republic?

20-06-2021, 09:26 AM
Okay it's unlikely, but how many goals would we need to beat Croatia by to finish 2nd if England were beaten 1-0 by the Czech Republic?

We'd need to score at least 3 and win by at least 2.

SJNB Hibby
20-06-2021, 09:40 AM
We'd need to score at least 3 and win by at least 2.

If England lose 1-0, and we win 2-0, are we not through on goals scored?

20-06-2021, 09:42 AM
If England lose 1-0, and we win 2-0, are we not through on goals scored?

20-06-2021, 09:51 AM
Croatia are an amazing national football team and along with Uruguay and Wales have provided me with hope for some time that Scotland could put a good competitive team together despite our tiny population.
On Tuesday our team drawn from a population of 5.5 million people take on a team drawn from a population of 4 million so there are no excuses for losing despite what I said in my 1st paragraph :wink:.

20-06-2021, 10:21 AM
It isn't insurmountable that we could beat Croatia, finish 3rd, and play group E winners Sweden at Hampden in the round of 16.

20-06-2021, 10:43 AM
It isn't insurmountable that we could beat Croatia, finish 3rd, and play group E winners Sweden at Hampden in the round of 16.

Then possibly England at Wembley in last 8

20-06-2021, 10:57 AM
Croatia are an amazing national football team and along with Uruguay and Wales have provided me with hope for some time that Scotland could put a good competitive team together despite our tiny population.
On Tuesday our team drawn from a population of 5.5 million people take on a team drawn from a population of 4 million so there are no excuses for losing despite what I said in my 1st paragraph :wink:.

Scotland are ranked 44th, Croatia are ranked 14th. Population size is pretty irrelevant.

20-06-2021, 11:16 AM

Odd how two teams from the same group could meet before the final. I guess there are too many permutations in the mix to avoid it.

20-06-2021, 11:21 AM
Odd how two teams from the same group could meet before the final. I guess there are too many permutations in the mix to avoid it.

:agree: the addition of the 3rd place team made that inevitable. It’s good for Scotland obviously, but I don’t really like that 16/24 qualify for the second round. It devalues the achievement a bit. I’d rather they expanded to 32 and made it a simple top two go through structure.

Lendo
20-06-2021, 11:27 AM
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/uefa-european-championship/story/4410772/euro-2020-what-all-teams-need-to-qualify-from-the-group-stage?platform=amp&__twitter_impression=true

A handy break down of what each team needs to do to qualify from their respective groups.

GROUP D

June 22: Croatia (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/team?id=477) vs. Scotland (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/team?id=580), Czech Republic (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/team?id=450) vs. England (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/team?id=448) (9 p.m. CET, 3 p.m. ET)

Czech Republic: Need a point to qualify which will secure top spot in the group. Can only finish third in the group if they lose and Croatia win and finish above them on overall goal difference.

England: Also need a point to be sure of going through, but must win to top the group. Will also qualify with a defeat if Scotland do not win to better their goal difference, and even then four points should be enough to qualify in third.

Croatia: Only hope of finishing second is if they beat Scotland, Czech Republic lose and they finish with better goal difference. But a win is almost certain to take them through in third on four points anyway.

Scotland: Must win but England must lose, and Scotland better the overall goal difference, to take second. Again, a win would almost certain take them through in third.

20-06-2021, 11:41 AM

So we are making it to the semi finals at least 🤣

20-06-2021, 11:42 AM
Where do we need to be, to play a last 16 game, which is getting played at Hampden

20-06-2021, 11:50 AM
:agree: the addition of the 3rd place team made that inevitable. It’s good for Scotland obviously, but I don’t really like that 16/24 qualify for the second round. It devalues the achievement a bit. I’d rather they expanded to 32 and made it a simple top two go through structure.

Whilst I would ordinarily agree, there's barely more than 32 countries in Europe. Qualifying would be pretty boring.

SJNB Hibby
20-06-2021, 12:00 PM
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/uefa-european-championship/story/4410772/euro-2020-what-all-teams-need-to-qualify-from-the-group-stage?platform=amp&__twitter_impression=true

A handy break down of what each team needs to do to qualify from their respective groups.

GROUP D

June 22: Croatia (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/team?id=477) vs. Scotland (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/team?id=580), Czech Republic (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/team?id=450) vs. England (https://www.espn.co.uk/football/team?id=448) (9 p.m. CET, 3 p.m. ET)

Czech Republic: Need a point to qualify which will secure top spot in the group. Can only finish third in the group if they lose and Croatia win and finish above them on overall goal difference.

England: Also need a point to be sure of going through, but must win to top the group. Will also qualify with a defeat if Scotland do not win to better their goal difference, and even then four points should be enough to qualify in third.

Croatia: Only hope of finishing second is if they beat Scotland, Czech Republic lose and they finish with better goal difference. But a win is almost certain to take them through in third on four points anyway.

Scotland: Must win but England must lose, and Scotland better the overall goal difference, to take second. Again, a win would almost certain take them through in third.

We don't need to better the overall gd to finish 2nd---we can go thru on goals scored, although we'd have to score minimum 2 goals. What happens if we end up with identical records, and the 3rd place team doesnt qualify from our group---drawing of lots?

SJNB Hibby
20-06-2021, 12:01 PM
Whilst I would ordinarily agree, there's barely more than 32 countries in Europe. Qualifying would be pretty boring.

Agreed---and its bad enough when we're one of 30 teams that don't qualify, would be rather humiliating to be one of only 22:confused:

20-06-2021, 12:03 PM
We don't need to better the overall gd to finish 2nd---we can go thru on goals scored, although we'd have to score minimum 2 goals. What happens if we end up with identical records, and the 3rd place team doesnt qualify from our group---drawing of lots?

Next test is disclipinary record.

Then the qualifying record.

Then the ability to correctly pronounce the names of the North Macedonian squad.

20-06-2021, 04:08 PM
Swiss 1 Turkey 0

mon the turks

20-06-2021, 04:12 PM
Swiss 1 Turkey 0

mon the turks

Where is this game? I’d much rather watch it than a Italy Wales where there’s not as much as stake

20-06-2021, 04:14 PM
Where is this game? I’d much rather watch it than a Italy Wales where there’s not as much as stakeI've gone for 2-2 with both teams, pretty evenly matched form wise, needing the win.

20-06-2021, 04:15 PM
Wow you know Italy have proper depth when they can bring players like Chiesa in. Great talent.

20-06-2021, 04:15 PM
Why are Italy wearing black arm bands?

20-06-2021, 04:16 PM
Where is this game? I’d much rather watch it than a Italy Wales where there’s not as much as stake

It's on ITV4

chi-bee
20-06-2021, 04:16 PM
Scots and Swiss are now level on goal difference. Scotland will still be above Switzerland if this result holds and Scotland win on Tuesday.

20-06-2021, 04:17 PM
Why are Italy wearing black arm bands?

Giampiero Boniperti died recently, few days ago, probably for that. Big Juventus legend.

20-06-2021, 04:21 PM
Giampiero Boniperti died recently, few days ago, probably for that. Big Juventus legend.

Ah, fair enough 👍

20-06-2021, 04:26 PM

sorry ITV4 yep,, 2-0 Swiss

turkey could do with Stevie Mallan :)

shoulda/coulda been 3

20-06-2021, 04:31 PM
Swiss doing a good job of getting the third placed teams' points tallies off to a strong start. Great.

20-06-2021, 04:31 PM
If Wales keep a clean sheet, Switzerland need to win by 5 says John Hartson

They'd also need 4 points for a win John, because Wales are getting at least 1 point if they don't concede.

20-06-2021, 04:32 PM
The Wales 16, Morrell, keeps giving the ball away

EI255
20-06-2021, 04:38 PM
Lest not forget, Alan Shearer tipped Turkey as dark horses to win this cup.

Oh. Dear.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

20-06-2021, 04:39 PM
The Wales 16, Morrell, keeps giving the ball away

He's not the only one Wales's passing has been brutal so far they can't keep possession.

What a beautiful goal by Italy, right off the training ground.

20-06-2021, 04:39 PM
Goooooooaaaaaalllllllaaaattttoooooo....

20-06-2021, 04:42 PM
Wales could end up losing a few here

20-06-2021, 04:44 PM

Oh. Dear.

Easy to mock him after it, but he wasn't alone. 3 players who were brilliant for Lille in a league winning season. 2 brilliant young centre backs. The quality is there, they've just been well off it.

20-06-2021, 04:46 PM

Oh. Dear.

So did I :faf: I thought they’d be semi finalists.

20-06-2021, 04:49 PM
He's not the only one Wales's passing has been brutal so far they can't keep possession.

What a beautiful goal by Italy, right off the training ground.

Pessina the goal scorer played in the same midfield as Liam Henderson at Hellas Verona two seasons ago. I wonder if Liam says anything on Twitter…

20-06-2021, 04:50 PM
It's on ITV4

:aok: thanks

20-06-2021, 04:52 PM
Wales will improve once they bring Bale on …. Oh wait

20-06-2021, 04:55 PM
Harry Wakes😀

😂 corrected now ✅

20-06-2021, 05:00 PM
Scary thing for the other teams here is Italy have made EIGHT changes here, and they look just as good. Only the keeper, Jorginho and Bonucci played against Switzerland.

20-06-2021, 05:12 PM
red card for wales

not too sure why he's complaining imo

20-06-2021, 05:14 PM
Seems harsh imo Italian players would normally have went nuts if a genuinely poor tackle

20-06-2021, 05:15 PM
Scary thing for the other teams here is Italy have made EIGHT changes here, and they look just as good. Only the keeper, Jorginho and Bonucci played against Switzerland.
They are very good. Well drilled, quality players in reserve, and a whole squad that knows the system well.

A bit of luck and they'll be right in there to win this.

20-06-2021, 05:15 PM
Come on Turkey.

20-06-2021, 05:16 PM
Never a red, a yellow all day long, we've seen it umpteen times this tournament and it's been a freekick and yellow every time.

20-06-2021, 05:16 PM
Turkey are awful. I can't believe I was talking them up only a week or so ago.

20-06-2021, 05:18 PM

Emma Hayes said it, the body language is awful, they’ve given up.
Another top save from the Turkey keeper, could easily have been four

20-06-2021, 05:19 PM

They have been horrific. Do get the impression some behind the scenes stuff going on and or their preparation has been awful as they look miles off it.

20-06-2021, 05:19 PM
Screamer! Go on the Turks!

20-06-2021, 05:21 PM
Turkey goal important even if they lose by one.

20-06-2021, 05:21 PM
Yes Turkey.

What a team, never doubted them for a second.

20-06-2021, 05:22 PM
Turkey goal important even if they lose by one.

As it stands, a 1-0 victory for Scotland would put us above Switzerland on goal difference
Still think there’s more goals in this game

20-06-2021, 05:24 PM
As it stands, a 1-0 victory for Scotland would put us above Switzerland on goal difference
Still think there’s more goals in this game

Definitely still goals here but for Switzerland I fear.

20-06-2021, 05:25 PM
Yes Turkey.

What a team, never doubted them for a second.

:greengrin You weren’t wrong though. I think what happened is they’d stopped trying to play, some midfielders were trying long distance shots thinking about their market value and one of them came off.

3-1 Shaq, game over

20-06-2021, 05:25 PM
Another fantastic goal by the Swiss.

20-06-2021, 05:28 PM
Swiss GD is -1, so we'd need to win by two against Croatia to outrank as things stand.

EI255
20-06-2021, 05:29 PM
red card for wales

not too sure why he's complaining imoDefinitely a red. And what a stupid thing to do

20-06-2021, 05:35 PM
That's a decent claim for a penalty to the Swiss.

But the Ref gives the player that was fouled a yellow

Jeez!

20-06-2021, 05:37 PM
That's a decent claim for a penalty to the Swiss.

But the Ref gives the player that was fouled a yellow

Jeez!
Yellow card was for dissent...

20-06-2021, 05:39 PM
Yellow card was for dissent...

Yeah, I think the guy was a bit p1ssed off that nothing was given.

TBH, it didn't look much at first but the slow motion replay seemed to show a push in the back in the penalty area.

20-06-2021, 05:41 PM
I want Wales to do well but from a Scottish perspective we could have done with them collapsing after the red card. 3 or 4 for Italy would have been lovely.

Tbf to Wales they have dug in well.

Magpie
20-06-2021, 05:50 PM
Wales finish 2nd and qualify for the knockout stages.

20-06-2021, 05:52 PM
The youngest team in the competition, tipped to be dark horses, leave the tournament to a chorus of boos.

Turkey, you’ve been rubbish.

EI255
20-06-2021, 05:53 PM
Well done Wales. But they'll go no further than last 16. Gave very little against an Italy B team tonight.

20-06-2021, 05:55 PM
Finland/Russia or Denmark next for wales

played in the Netherlands

Magpie
20-06-2021, 05:55 PM
Well done Wales. But they'll go no further than last 16. Gave very little against an Italy B team tonight.

They will play Russia as things stand, I think they would beat them again like they did in the last Euro’s.

20-06-2021, 05:56 PM

Talk about damning them with faint praise.:greengrin
Wales have done very well to reach the knockout stage. I’m delighted for them.

20-06-2021, 06:08 PM
Well done to Wales again. Going through is a terrific achievement for a country of three million where football isn't the national game.

20-06-2021, 06:24 PM
Well done to Wales again. Going through is a terrific achievement for a country of three million where football isn't the national game.

Yep, a lot of players who aren’t regular starters for their teams or playing in the second tier, impressive.

But it’s been a lucky draw for the Welsh; the Swiss and Turks haven’t impressed, I have a sneaky feeling Scotland would have done well in this group.

20-06-2021, 06:29 PM
Yep, a lot of players who aren’t regular starters for their teams or playing in the second tier, impressive.

But it’s been a lucky draw for the Welsh; the Swiss and Turks haven’t impressed, I have a sneaky feeling Scotland would have done well in this group.

Thought Wales were a bit lucky against the Swiss to be honest and did well to get a point out of it. Turkey have been hugely disappointing. The Welsh dug in very well today, Italy did make a few changes but still a very creditable performance against strong opposition.

20-06-2021, 06:38 PM
Were Turkey supposed to be possible winners of the tournament? I'm sure they were mentioned amongst the big hitters.

20-06-2021, 06:42 PM
Were Turkey supposed to be possible winners of the tournament? I'm sure they were mentioned amongst the big hitters.

Had some decent results in the last couple of seasons (beat France Holland Norway (away) and Russia for instance). I think winning it was stretching things a bit far but they have certainly under performed.

20-06-2021, 06:49 PM
Things looking a lot tighter for a 4 points 3rd place finish (Scotland aim) to qualify IF we have a negative (-1) goal difference.

Group A - can only finish above Swiss if we win by 2
Group B - most likely to deliver with Belgium win over finland
Group C - watch out for Austria and Ukraine stitch up draw to give them both 4 points with +0 goal difference
Group E - Spain likely to beat Slovakia and it’s key that Poland don’t beat Sweden. The later seems in the balance as Poland are no mugs.
Group F - Germany now in form and likely to beat Hungary or at least draw and finish on 6 or 4 points with + goal difference. Then we need Portugal to lose to France for both them and Hungary to be on less than us. A draw for Portugal with good goal difference likely to be ahead of us.

I think we have gone from 90% certain to progress with a single goal victory to I would say 50%.

20-06-2021, 07:11 PM
Things looking a lot tighter for a 4 points 3rd place finish (Scotland aim) to qualify IF we have a negative (-1) goal difference.

Group A - can only finish above Swiss if we win by 2
Group B - most likely to deliver with Belgium win over finland
Group C - watch out for Austria and Ukraine stitch up draw to give them both 4 points with +0 goal difference
Group E - Spain likely to beat Slovakia and it’s key that Poland don’t beat Sweden. The later seems in the balance as Poland are no mugs.
Group F - Germany now in form and likely to beat Hungary or at least draw and finish on 6 or 4 points with + goal difference. Then we need Portugal to lose to France for both them and Hungary to be on less than us. A draw for Portugal with good goal difference likely to be ahead of us.

I think we have gone from 90% certain to progress with a single goal victory to I would say 50%.

France slipping up yesterday hopefully wakes them up and they do the business against Portugal. The Germans generally turn up when it matters and that game being in Munich as opposed to Budapest makes a big difference. Fairly hopeful that group should go in our favour.

I thought four points would guarantee getting through as a best third placed team but there is definitely a chance it won’t looking at that. That said, it would still take quite a few things to go against us (if we manage to get a win).

20-06-2021, 07:13 PM
France slipping up yesterday hopefully wakes them up and they do the business against Portugal. The Germans generally turn up when it matters and that game being in Munich as opposed to Budapest makes a big difference. Fairly hopeful that group should go in our favour.

I thought four points would guarantee getting through as a best third placed team but there is definitely a chance it won’t looking at that. That said, it would still take quite a few things to go against us (if we manage to get a win).

That's the problem, I can't see us beating the Croats. IMO, they're a vastly superior team.

I just hope that we put up a decent challenge... and actually scoring a goal would be nice :-)

20-06-2021, 07:15 PM
That's the problem, I can't see us beating the Croats. IMO, they're a vastly superior team.

I just hope that we put up a decent challenge... and actually scoring a goal would be nice :-)

I don’t think they’re vastly superior, from what I’ve seen of them in this tournament. They’re nowhere near the level they were a few years ago.

20-06-2021, 07:28 PM
If Scotland win 1-0 and England lose 2-0, what happens next.

Both teams will have four points, with a -1 goal difference having scored one goal. An identical record.

20-06-2021, 07:35 PM
If Scotland win 1-0 and England lose 2-0, what happens next.

Both teams will have four points, with a -1 goal difference having scored one goal. An identical record.

Goes to disciplinary record.

20-06-2021, 07:40 PM
Goes to disciplinary record.

Yep then if that's identical England would go through due to being the higher ranked team.

20-06-2021, 07:49 PM
Yep then if that's identical England would go through due to being the higher ranked team.
That is a ridiculous rule if true. It should actually be the opposite as being the better team should mean they need to commit less fouls etc. Pretty much sums up modern football though

20-06-2021, 07:53 PM

What a rule that is, wow.

20-06-2021, 07:55 PM

Great. We've just found a new way to unlucky get knocked out at the group stages.

20-06-2021, 07:57 PM
Great. We've just found a new way to unlucky get knocked out at the group stages.

I very much doubt it will come to that :greengrin. Let's at least score a goal in the tournament then see what happens.

20-06-2021, 08:00 PM
That is a ridiculous rule if true. It should actually be the opposite as being the better team should mean they need to commit less fouls etc. Pretty much sums up modern football though

https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro-2020/news/026a-1286c3028f34-c072d2f81d9b-1000--who-needs-what-to-go-through/#

20-06-2021, 08:10 PM
https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro-2020/news/026a-1286c3028f34-c072d2f81d9b-1000--who-needs-what-to-go-through/#

You are right enough, a coin toss or corners etc would be far fairer

"20.01 If two or more teams in the same group are equal on points on completion of thefinal tournament group stage, the following criteria are applied, in the ordergiven, to determine their rankings:a. higher number of points obtained in the matches played among the teams inquestion;b. superior goal difference resulting from the matches played among the teamsin question;c. higher number of goals scored in the matches played among the teams inquestion;d. if, after having applied criteria a) to c), teams still have an equal ranking,criteria a) to c) are reapplied exclusively to the matches between theremaining teams to determine their final rankings. If this procedure does notlead to a decision, criteria e) to i) apply in the order given to the two or moreteams still equal:e. superior goal difference in all group matches;f. higher number of goals scored in all group matches;g. higher number of wins in all group matches;h. lower disciplinary points total based only on yellow and red cards received inall group matches (red card = 3 points, yellow card = 1 point, expulsion fortwo yellow cards in one match = 3 points);i. position in the overall European Qualifiers rankings (see Article 23)."

20-06-2021, 08:51 PM

It needs about 7 different tie breakers to be identical, I don't think its something to worry about, and I really don't think it sums up modern football at all.

It has never and probably will never happen.

20-06-2021, 09:04 PM
It needs about 7 different tie breakers to be identical, I don't think its something to worry about, and I really don't think it sums up modern football at all.

It shouldn't be there at all though.

20-06-2021, 09:06 PM
It shouldn't be there at all though.

I agree. It should be decided on a game of kerby.

20-06-2021, 09:30 PM

There's the chance it could though and that is wrong.

20-06-2021, 09:37 PM
The Czechs and England both know a draw takes them both through. They might not deliberately play for it but if its still level after the break then I'll not be surprised in the least if it plays out like that. Seen it plenty times before.

20-06-2021, 10:11 PM
The Czechs and England both know a draw takes them both through. They might not deliberately play for it but if its still level after the break then I'll not be surprised in the least if it plays out like that. Seen it plenty times before.

Which would give England an easier tie in next round, albeit it wouldn't be in England. Would they prefer say Sweden/Slovakia/Spain in Copenhagen to Germany at Wembley?

21-06-2021, 03:43 PM
What to watch at 5pm ?

ITV Holland v N Macedonia

ITV4 Ukraine v Austria

SJNB Hibby
21-06-2021, 03:46 PM
What to watch at 5pm ?

ITV Holland v N Macedonia

ITV4 Ukraine v Austria

Ukraine v Austria---anything but a draw---Austria need the win

21-06-2021, 03:55 PM

Can they not both play out a draw? Think one would play Italy if a draw.

21-06-2021, 03:55 PM

SJNB Hibby
21-06-2021, 03:58 PM

Bit risky for Austria--theyd be 3rd and not sure of a play-off spot. Would love to see Ukraine get thru and play Russia---would be worse than us vs England

21-06-2021, 03:59 PM
Think the Ukraine forward Yaremcuk has looked very good. Strong quick and a goal threat.

SJNB Hibby
21-06-2021, 04:00 PM
There's the chance it could though and that is wrong.

Anyone know what the disciplinary record is for Scotland and England?

21-06-2021, 04:00 PM

SJM(and one other)booked v england

that's all i know :)

chi-bee
21-06-2021, 04:05 PM
England -1
Scotland -2

SJNB Hibby
21-06-2021, 04:06 PM
SJM(and one other)booked v england

that's all i know :)

Yeah----we're on 2 yellows, them on one

chi-bee
21-06-2021, 04:18 PM

Hurt me head looking at all the permutations, but second place (Ukraine with a draw) gets Italy, and third (if they advance) will get, I think, either winner of the group of death France/Germany/Portugal or winner of Sweden/Slovakia/Spain. woof.

21-06-2021, 04:20 PM
1-0 Austria

keeper has to do better there

SJNB Hibby
21-06-2021, 04:21 PM
YES!!!!! deserved goal for Osterreich

21-06-2021, 04:21 PM
Ukraine 0 v 1 Austria

21-06-2021, 04:24 PM
1-0 Netherlands.

oxymoron
21-06-2021, 04:26 PM
Goal - Netherlands 1-0 - against the run of play but lovely move and finish!

Being looked at for an earlier tackle!

...have to say Ally McCoist is my favourite of the in-game analysts. Entertaining and informative

21-06-2021, 04:28 PM
A win for either Austria or Ukraine is a brilliant result for Scotland and I'd say that almost guarantees Scotland qualification to the last 16 with a win tomorrow night as I'm almost certain that Belgium will beat Finland later on tonight which then gives us the required two 3rd place teams that would be on less points than us.

21-06-2021, 04:30 PM
I think I'm right in saying that if today's games go our way, and the third placed team in each group ends up on 3 points, we'll know for sure that a win tomorrow will take us through on 4 points.

Does that sound right?

21-06-2021, 04:30 PM
Goal - Netherlands 1-0 - against the run of play but lovely move and finish!

Being looked at for an earlier tackle!

...have to say Ally McCoist is my favourite of the in-game analysts. Entertaining and informative

Should have been a free kick to Macedonia just before!

21-06-2021, 04:31 PM
A win for either Austria or Ukraine is a brilliant result for Scotland and I'd say that almost guarantees Scotland qualification to the last 16 with a win tomorrow night as I'm almost certain that Belgium will beat Finland later on tonight which then gives us the required two 3rd place teams that would be on less points than us.

Beat me to it :greengrin

oxymoron
21-06-2021, 04:33 PM
Surprisingly good end-to-end game. I see a few goals here (but mostly from the Netherlands, as they know how to finish well)

21-06-2021, 04:39 PM
Surprisingly good end-to-end game. I see a few goals here (but mostly from the Netherlands, as they know how to finish well)

This Dumfries fella is a machine. Big move must be on the cards for him with the tournament he is having.

21-06-2021, 04:39 PM
I think I'm right in saying that if today's games go our way, and the third placed team in each group ends up on 3 points, we'll know for sure that a win tomorrow will take us through on 4 points.

Does that sound right?

Think you’re right, as there will only be 3 groups left to play out

21-06-2021, 04:43 PM
Beat me to it :greengrin

:greengrin You are right. :aok:

21-06-2021, 04:43 PM
Sitter from Arnautovic.

21-06-2021, 04:46 PM
Sitter from Arnautovic.

Scored or missed? I'm watching the Holland game

21-06-2021, 04:52 PM
Scored or missed? I'm watching the Holland game
Missed

Took his eye off the ball at the vital second

No like him

21-06-2021, 04:54 PM
I don’t think the Ukraine v Austria game is over
Ukraine surely will come out and throw everything at Austria, although a quick 2nd goal for Austria will kill them off

21-06-2021, 05:06 PM
I don’t think the Ukraine v Austria game is over
Ukraine surely will come out and throw everything at Austria, although a quick 2nd goal for Austria will kill them off

Yep think Sheva will have roasted them been very poor.

The Tubs
21-06-2021, 05:29 PM
Scotland wants anything but a draw between Ukraine and Austria, right?

21-06-2021, 05:34 PM
Scotland wants anything but a draw between Ukraine and Austria, right?

Yep.

If the score stays the same then Belgium beat Finland, the winner of Scotland v Croatia will go through.

The Tubs
21-06-2021, 05:38 PM
Yep.

If the score stays the same then Belgium beat Finland, the winner of Scotland v Croatia will go through.

21-06-2021, 05:45 PM
Yep.

It’s happening :hyper

21-06-2021, 05:52 PM
Full time 1-0 Austria. :thumbsup:

21-06-2021, 05:53 PM
I for one welcome our new Austrian overlords.

SJNB Hibby
21-06-2021, 05:53 PM
One down---one result to go....c'mon Belgium

21-06-2021, 05:54 PM
Italy v Austria wembley next weekend

21-06-2021, 05:54 PM

Hopefully I’m correct, but a Scotland win by 2 tomorrow, puts us ahead of Switzerland

21-06-2021, 05:56 PM
Hopefully I’m correct, but a Scotland win by 2 tomorrow, puts us ahead of Switzerland

Hopefully Russia or Finland results go our way tonight and then just a win of any sort will do

oxymoron
21-06-2021, 05:58 PM

As long as Belgium win tonight we then only need a win, cos that would be two 3rd places on 3 points and we'd have 4

21-06-2021, 06:00 PM
i have a feeling our friendly against the Netherlands a few weeks back was a dress rehearsal for the real thing :)

21-06-2021, 06:00 PM

A Denmark win v Russia would also be enough if Finland get something.

21-06-2021, 06:02 PM
As long as Belgium win tonight we then only need a win, cos that would be two 3rd places on 3 points and we'd have 4

Or Russia don’t win. A draw would give them 4 points and -2 goal difference. Defeat would mean they and Denmark only have 3 points

chi-bee
21-06-2021, 06:02 PM

A Danish win will also do.

21-06-2021, 06:03 PM
wonder if Belgium will take the foot of the pedal a bit, they're +6 GD over Russia 3 points behind

oxymoron
21-06-2021, 06:05 PM
A Danish win will also do.

Thats right, a few permutations, but good to know going into tomorrow what is needed - so c'mon the Belgians!

chi-bee
21-06-2021, 06:08 PM
Thats right, a few permutations, but good to know going into tomorrow what is needed - so c'mon the Belgians!

Don't think we need to worry about it, but the one thing we do not want is both Finland and Russia to win.

oxymoron
21-06-2021, 06:09 PM
Just listening to Gareth Southgate on the Covid situation. What a genuine decent guy - no 'we are special' exceptionalism, recognising that many many others have suffered worse and the lost lives etc. Makes it hard to think bad of him and his team

21-06-2021, 06:11 PM
wonder if Belgium will take the foot of the pedal a bit, they're +6 GD over Russia 3 points behind

Belgium have got a strong team out tonight

21-06-2021, 06:15 PM

Have been pretty ruthless in previous tournaments in last group games when already qualified. Looked very good v Danes.

oxymoron
21-06-2021, 06:17 PM
I'm hoping that - as I suspected towards the end of the Croatia-Czech match - that Croatia are the type of team that come into a tournament and see how they are in the first game or so, and if they aren't looking like going far they would rather go on home at this stage than hang about for another week to go out in the next round and lose a weeks break. Here's hoping

oxymoron
21-06-2021, 06:18 PM
Have been pretty ruthless in previous tournaments in last group games when already qualified. Looked very good v Danes.

Momentum, it's all about momentum. These serious teams don't do 'foot off the gas' surely

21-06-2021, 06:56 PM
Just listening to Gareth Southgate on the Covid situation. What a genuine decent guy - no 'we are special' exceptionalism, recognising that many many others have suffered worse and the lost lives etc. Makes it hard to think bad of him and his team

He’s a class act.

21-06-2021, 07:02 PM
He’s a class act.

Not many would do this
https://youtu.be/GWqmqGsTTBI

21-06-2021, 07:14 PM
I can’t help hoping Finland get to the next round, Russia can still help us out.

21-06-2021, 07:17 PM
I can’t help hoping Finland get to the next round, Russia can still help us out.

If Belgium don't win then best result in other game would be Denmark win. I think?

21-06-2021, 07:31 PM
If Belgium don't win then best result in other game would be Denmark win. I think?

Correct, they can help us by losing :greengrin I’ve switched over to the Denmark game, literally sure that was a goal there for Denmark, the old deflection onto the side netting. Russia look decent.

21-06-2021, 07:38 PM
1-0 Denmark :thumbsup:

21-06-2021, 07:39 PM
Great goal, You don’t see a lob into top bins very often.

21-06-2021, 07:40 PM
that Danish goal should help bring home some Bacon

21-06-2021, 07:40 PM
that Danish goal should help bring home some Bacon

I’d rather have a pastry

21-06-2021, 07:44 PM
He’s a class act.
He is 👍

21-06-2021, 07:48 PM
I’d rather have a pastry

they need to keep Russian about for more goals if they want to get through though

21-06-2021, 07:49 PM
Not many would do this
https://youtu.be/GWqmqGsTTBI

Prince Andrew wears one every time he goes in. Southgate is a classy manager, not necessarily a good one

21-06-2021, 07:50 PM
That should have been a penalty to Belgium. Just a clumsy trip but still a foul.

21-06-2021, 08:03 PM
Hazard is still a diving **** !!

21-06-2021, 08:15 PM
Limbs

21-06-2021, 08:16 PM
2-0 Denmark. :thumbsup:

Scotland win tomorrow and it's last 16 here we come!

21-06-2021, 08:17 PM

Just for their strip alone

21-06-2021, 08:18 PM
Great celebration by Poulsen.

21-06-2021, 08:20 PM
just turned over, have belgium been trying to win this, or...

21-06-2021, 08:21 PM
2-0 Denmark. :thumbsup:

Scotland win tomorrow and it's last 16 here we come!

Thank ****. A straight Cup Final. Winner takes all. Draw no good for either team.

Cup tie tomorrow now.

Win and you are through.

Russia should be down to 10 men, clear second yellow card not given.

wales play Finland or Denmark, great chance for them to advance

21-06-2021, 08:22 PM
Belgium score :greengrin

21-06-2021, 08:22 PM
1-0 Belgium

21-06-2021, 08:23 PM
VAR check :(

away tae ****

Booooooooooo VAR

21-06-2021, 08:23 PM
Cup tie tomorrow now.

Win and you are through.

Have never felt more nervous about a game of football in my lifetime.

21-06-2021, 08:24 PM
Goal chalked off.

Offside give

Looked well on in the replay.

Looked onside in the replay.

21-06-2021, 08:25 PM
Looked really right in the replay I see, one of they get the lines oot calls

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Russia penalty

Penalty Russia

Denmark 2-1 Russia

21-06-2021, 08:26 PM
Lukaku was a fair amount offside actually

I’ve missed every major incident in these games by flicking between games chasing the goals 😂😂

JXM73
Lukaku's big toe offside...

SJNB Hibby
21-06-2021, 08:27 PM
Poor couple of minutes for us there

21-06-2021, 08:27 PM
Hang in there, Denmark.

21-06-2021, 08:28 PM
We could really be doing with a Belgium goal.

EI255
21-06-2021, 08:29 PM
Were Turkey supposed to be possible winners of the tournament? I'm sure they were mentioned amongst the big hitters.Shearer tipped them.

Tells you everything

21-06-2021, 08:30 PM
I’ve missed every major incident in these games by flicking between games chasing the goals 😂😂

I've been a victim of that in the past. Got the wee Sky Q preview screen on the bottom this time

EI255
21-06-2021, 08:30 PM
I’ve missed every major incident in these games by flicking between games chasing the goals [emoji23][emoji23]Schoolboy error!

21-06-2021, 08:31 PM
Goal Belgium

goal Belgium :greengrin

goal Belgium :greengrinEven that tried hard not to go in!

21-06-2021, 08:32 PM
Scenes

1-0 Belgium :thumbsup:

The tournament of the own goal this