View Full Version : Match Updates Euro 2021 non-Scotland games

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

21-06-2021, 08:33 PM
Missed that one an all 😂😂😂 changed about 2 minutes before it.

Does that put the danes thro as it stands?

I'd like to see them qualify

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Even that tried hard not to go in!

the stars are aligning

21-06-2021, 08:34 PM
Begium will pick them off now, as Finland have to try score.

Does that put the danes thro as it stands?

I'd like to see them qualify

yes

Get in there!

21-06-2021, 08:35 PM
Yas

What a goal from Denmark!

SJNB Hibby
Boom!!!!!

Ohhhhhh ya beauty!

Mr Grieves
21-06-2021, 08:36 PM
Yas! Get in

This is incredible. What a goal by Christiansen!

Just need Belgium to sneak another...

andy1875
How do the Danes go through above Finland when they are both on 3 points?

Finland beat them 1-0 and I thought it was head to head before goal difference?

Danes go 3-1 as I type this!! Would be great for them to go through after the first game!

21-06-2021, 08:37 PM
4-1 Denmark

JXM73
Denmark goin nuts 4-1

4-1!!!

21-06-2021, 08:38 PM

Danes go 3-1 as I type this!! Would be great for them to go through after the first game!

It goes to head to head first.

They're all on 3 points and Denmark have the best goal difference in the matches between the 3 teams.

Well that was a good few minutes for us.

Finns will need to fling 5 up top in the next few minutes

2-0 Belgium :greengrin

Goalfest now haha

JXM73

Maybe because 3 way tie?

That's it. 2-0. Belgium and Denmark going through with Scotland :thumbsup:

21-06-2021, 08:39 PM
Great results for us and for football!

andy1875

Thats what I thought too but the Danes are 2nd on the live tables as it stands.

Lukaku= Goal Machine

21-06-2021, 08:40 PM

I'm with you on this. It's how Russia were ahead of Finland despite Finland having better goal difference?

Edit - cheers SDG

SQHib
21-06-2021, 08:41 PM

That’s what I thought too - but there is 3 teams on 3 point and they all beat each other so to speak

Yes sorry I added to my post.

It's a 3 way tie so the first thing that's looked at is the results between the 3 teams. Denmark's goal difference is superior to both Russia and Finland's goal difference in the group matches between the 3 teams.

andy1875

They're all on 3 points and Denmark have the best goal difference in the matches between the 3 teams.

I didnt see your second part. Ta for clarifying.

The Danes are a right good side to watch.

Good on them after everything they have been through in this tourney!!

21-06-2021, 08:42 PM
I'm with you on this. It's how Russia were ahead of Finland despite Finland having better goal difference?

Because when it's only 2 teams on the same points it's the head to head that counts first.

At the moment it's a 3 way tie on points.

Potty78
21-06-2021, 08:42 PM
Thats what I thought too but the D2anes are 2nd on the live tables as it stands.

Must be because the other three have beat each other so then it goes to goal difference

21-06-2021, 08:43 PM
Because when it's only 2 teams on the same points it's the head to head that counts first.

At the moment it's a 3 way tie on points.

Sorted, thanks!

Wouldn’t you love to be in that stadium.
Scenes.

wales play Finland or Denmark, great chance for them to advance

Think Denmark will beat Wales

Scenes.

21-06-2021, 08:44 PM
no goals for a while now

poor show

21-06-2021, 08:44 PM
Scenes.

How come they’re packed so tight? All tested or vaccinated or what?

Magpie
21-06-2021, 08:45 PM
Think Denmark will beat Wales

Fancied Wales to beat either Russia or Finland, Denmark will be a lot tougher though. Didn’t think Wales would knock out Belgium in the last tournament so anything can happen, will be a good game in Amsterdam to kick off the knockouts.

21-06-2021, 08:45 PM
Must be because the other three have beat each other so then it goes to goal difference

:agree: It is.

Basically Belgium's results are wiped so it's;

Denmark - For: 4 Against: 2
Finland - For: 1 Against: 1
Russia - For: 2 Against: 4

Brummie_Hibs
21-06-2021, 08:49 PM
It's now completely in our hands.

21-06-2021, 08:50 PM
Win tomorrow and Scotland's in the last 16.

It's that simple. :greengrin

21-06-2021, 08:52 PM
Finland can still go though although they are -2 now

21-06-2021, 08:54 PM

Not on 3 points surely

SJNB Hibby
21-06-2021, 08:56 PM
One of our best days ever at the Euros...and we didn't even play
Now have to do our part, no excuses

21-06-2021, 08:56 PM
Fancied Wales to beat either Russia or Finland, Denmark will be a lot tougher though. Didn’t think Wales would knock out Belgium in the last tournament so anything can happen, will be a good game in Amsterdam to kick off the knockouts.

Yep will be a cracking game

21-06-2021, 08:58 PM

That’s a great matchup in Amsterdam :agree:

21-06-2021, 09:00 PM

They could but very unlikely.

21-06-2021, 09:00 PM
Russian penalty was a joke. Glad it didn't matter.

21-06-2021, 09:03 PM
They could but very unlikely.

If we draw with Croatia, then something similar happens elsewhere they would sneak through

21-06-2021, 09:08 PM
Great of the BBC to mention those results mean England are through but not a peep about Scotland having it in their own hands due to it, **** right off :rolleyes:

21-06-2021, 09:11 PM
Being a bit petty here, but English commentators can’t see past the EPL. Andreas Christensen scores a screamer for his country but, in the eyes of the English tosser, “Christensen of Chelsea scores ........”. Who the **** cares which club he plays for?

21-06-2021, 09:11 PM
No Welsh fans allow in Amsterdam for the game the news reporting due to Holland being an amber country atm. Such a shame for them.

21-06-2021, 09:20 PM
Win tomorrow and Scotland's in the last 16.

It's that simple. :greengrin

Yep. Couldn't resist it and I've picked up a ticket on a reselling site. It's a once in a lifetime game.

It had better be worth it :greengrin

21-06-2021, 09:22 PM

I think for Finland to go through I think they need two of the following to happen;

Hungary to beat Germany by 4 goals AND France to beat Portugal.

Sweden avoid defeat to Poland AND Slovakia beat Spain or Spain beat Slovakia at least 3-0.

Croatia and Scotland draw.

I think!

21-06-2021, 09:28 PM
Great of the BBC to mention those results mean England are through but not a peep about Scotland having it in their own hands due to it, **** right off :rolleyes:

Was always in Scotlands hands. No one is going out with 4 points and a positive goal difference

21-06-2021, 09:31 PM

If we draw with Croatia, then something similar happens elsewhere they would sneak through

From what I can gather, for Finland to go through, they would need Scotland and Croatia to draw tomorrow, Spain lose against Slovakia AND Poland draw/lose against Sweden

21-06-2021, 09:31 PM
I think for Finland to go through I think they need two of the following to happen;

Hungary to beat Germany by 4 goals AND France to beat Portugal.

Sweden avoid defeat to Poland AND Slovakia beat Spain or Spain beat Slovakia at least 3-0.

Croatia and Scotland draw.

I think!

Probably more chance of seeing Haleys comet and winning the lottery on the same day. :greengrin

21-06-2021, 09:40 PM
From what I can gather, for Finland to go through, they would need Scotland and Croatia to draw tomorrow, Spain lose against Slovakia AND Poland draw/lose against Sweden

Finland can afford for Spain to beat Slovakia, it would just need to be by at least 3 goals along with Sweden avoiding defeat to Poland.

21-06-2021, 09:57 PM
Was always in Scotlands hands. No one is going out with 4 points and a positive goal difference

Yes but before today's results Scotland could have
theoretically gone out on 4 points and a -1 goal difference if we were to beat Croatia 1-0. Winning will be hard enough let alone having to potentially win by more than 1 and not even knowing it beforehand.

Now we know that any win will definitely get us through, pretty useful to know that going into tomorrow's game.

oxymoron
22-06-2021, 11:20 AM
Yes but before today's results Scotland could have
theoretically gone out on 4 points and a -1 goal difference if we were to beat Croatia 1-0. Winning will be hard enough let alone having to potentially win by more than 1 and not even knowing it beforehand.

Now we know that any win will definitely get us through, pretty useful to know that going into tomorrow's game.

Spot on. Up until yesterday there were a few permutations and dependancies, now there is one clear task - WIN!

22-06-2021, 11:30 AM
Was always in Scotlands hands

It wasn’t though

Magpie
22-06-2021, 01:24 PM
UK government confirms more than 60,000 fans will be permitted to attend the semi finals and final.

22-06-2021, 01:47 PM
UK government confirms more than 60,000 fans will be permitted to attend the semi finals and final.

Most of Europe aren’t going to be happy about that, based on our numbers. this could get nasty going forward, especially if England go deep into the competition and they’re made to play out of London to go to Budapest or Munich or somewhere. What will the Daily Mail say?

22-06-2021, 02:06 PM

Have they said anything about the 2,000 or so UEFA personnel, if they have to quarantine before the final

22-06-2021, 05:46 PM
Have they said anything about the 2,000 or so UEFA personnel, if they have to quarantine before the final

i'm sure it's already been said that Westminster will more than likely push the quarantine rules to one side just so they can get the final

22-06-2021, 05:48 PM

Like the athletes moving around they won't have to quarantine.

England want to get the World Cup in 2030 so they need to lay the red carpet down to those from UEFA.

22-06-2021, 07:50 PM
Played well tonight so far England. 1-0 very good value. Sterling goal and he hit the post in the first minute or so. Grealish running the show.

23-06-2021, 04:04 PM
Sweden 1 v 0 Poland

Forsberg

23-06-2021, 04:12 PM
Spain miss a penalty v Slovakia.

0-0.

23-06-2021, 04:12 PM
spain miss a penalty awarded by VAR

23-06-2021, 04:13 PM
Spain miss a penalty v Slovakia.

0-0.

Missed their last 5 penalties.

23-06-2021, 04:19 PM
Lewandowski hits the crossbar twice

When ur lucks oot

23-06-2021, 04:29 PM
1-0 Spain.

Goalkeeper howler.

23-06-2021, 04:29 PM
lol some goal

23-06-2021, 04:30 PM
Slovakia 0 v 1 Spain

23-06-2021, 04:30 PM
That's a strange og

23-06-2021, 04:31 PM
That's a strange og

He's been to the bookies :wink:

23-06-2021, 04:32 PM
He's been to the bookies :wink:

He saved a penalty 😉

23-06-2021, 04:32 PM
He saved a penalty 😉

Some howler though lol

23-06-2021, 04:33 PM
He saved a penalty 😉

So, he's been to the bookies twice :greengrin

23-06-2021, 04:43 PM
Lewandowski hits the crossbar twice

When ur lucks oot

Not sure anything to do with luck second chance is a shocking miss

23-06-2021, 04:47 PM
2-0 Spain.

23-06-2021, 04:49 PM
Not sure anything to do with luck second chance is a shocking miss

Wisnae talking aboot him

I got him to score 😃

23-06-2021, 04:51 PM
I'm Eric scored for Spain. Should be home and dry now, sets up a very good game with Croatia.

23-06-2021, 04:53 PM
I'm Eric scored for Spain. Should be home and dry now, sets up a very good game with Croatia.

No you didn't.

23-06-2021, 04:56 PM
No you didn't.

And I don't think he's Eric either.

23-06-2021, 05:07 PM
No you didn't.

And I don't think he's Eric either.

https://i.redd.it/kfcud6p5mdq51.jpg

Hilarous tweets tbh. Hope the guy was joking

23-06-2021, 05:20 PM
Wisnae talking aboot him

I got him to score 😃
Get in !

Magpie
23-06-2021, 05:44 PM
Sweden 2-2 Poland. As things stand, Spain win the group.

23-06-2021, 05:44 PM
Imagine if Scotland had a Robert Lewandowski.

23-06-2021, 05:52 PM
3-2 Sweden.

Magpie
23-06-2021, 05:53 PM
Sweden 3-2 Poland. Last minute winner.

23-06-2021, 05:54 PM
Slovakia and Poland both out.

23-06-2021, 07:07 PM
14 teams are through and 6 teams are out.

4 teams are looking to get the remaining 2 spots in the last 16 tonight

Finland are highly unlikely to go through and although it's in their hands I think Hungary will go out too.

Germany and Portugal to go through.

23-06-2021, 07:10 PM
1-0 Hungary

23-06-2021, 07:30 PM
1-0 Portugal. Ronaldo penalty.

23-06-2021, 07:31 PM
Nasty challenge by Lloris and Ronaldo scores the pen.

23-06-2021, 07:32 PM
Lloris booked in the process. He was beaten to a cross and ended up catching the Portuguese attacker with a cracking punch, following through with his elbow.

23-06-2021, 07:37 PM
Germany going home as it stands, we are in good company......

SJNB Hibby
23-06-2021, 07:40 PM
Germany going home as it stands, we are in good company......

And England play France in the last 16?

23-06-2021, 07:41 PM
And England play France in the last 16?
Yes I think that's correct....

23-06-2021, 07:46 PM
Penalty France.

Very, very soft but approved by VAR.

Benzema scores 1-1

23-06-2021, 07:47 PM
That is never ever a penalty to France! Shocker.

Jenas really is a fanny, he's not sure what the defender is meant to do there, how about not try and smash the forward as he's coming through

100% a pen for me

If that’s a penalty the games ****ed

23-06-2021, 07:48 PM
Can't see how that wasn't a penalty. Looked a stonewaller to me .

EI255
23-06-2021, 07:49 PM
Germany going home as it stands, we are in good company......Hopefully Germany come out second half and dump Hungary.

Never like teams who have a large Neo Nazi following

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Unbelievably soft there. Don’t know what VAR saw to confirm it either but hey ho game on !

Never a penalty in a million years. What's the defender meant to do step out his way?

23-06-2021, 07:50 PM
Mbappe is an over rated diving cheat

23-06-2021, 07:52 PM
Can't see how that wasn't a penalty. Looked a stonewaller to me .Even the French commentators are being very sheepish about it.

CloudSquall
23-06-2021, 07:52 PM
What an achievement this would be for Hungary if they hold on and get out of this group.

23-06-2021, 07:54 PM
Hopefully Germany come out second half and dump Hungary.

Never like teams who have a large Neo Nazi following

I kind of like the thought of Portugal finishing second and Ronaldo ripping England a new one :greengrin

23-06-2021, 07:55 PM
Jenas really is a fanny, he's not sure what the defender is meant to do there, how about not try and smash the forward as he's coming through

100% a pen for me

Mon Dieu 🙄.

23-06-2021, 07:59 PM
Mbappe is an over rated diving cheat

Is he? did he actually dive?

It was a soft pen, but running that fast into someone could easily knock you over.

Definitely not overrated. 22 years old, 180 career goals.

23-06-2021, 08:03 PM

It was a soft pen, but running that fast into someone could easily knock you over.

Definitely not overrated. 22 years old, 180 career goals.He wasn't even looking where he was going. Just a simple collision for me.

23-06-2021, 08:04 PM
Even the French commentators are being very sheepish about it.

Are the French commentators and pundits better than ours 😁

EI255
23-06-2021, 08:08 PM
What an achievement this would be for Hungary if they hold on and get out of this group.They also copy the Iceland clap I see.

23-06-2021, 08:10 PM
Benzema scores but about 6" offside.

Edit. Goal given by VAR. 2-1 France.

Very strange.

23-06-2021, 08:12 PM
It would be just England's spawny luck if out of a group with France, Germany and Portugal they were to play ****ing Hungary.

23-06-2021, 08:12 PM
It would be just England's spawny luck if out of a group with France, Germany and Portugal they were to play ****ing Hungary.

I hope not!

23-06-2021, 08:15 PM
Full house on the BBC punditry 4 English internationals. Any chance we could get some representation from another country. Absolute joke. Complete echo chamber. Half time chat all England

23-06-2021, 08:15 PM
Just checked, it's even worse.

If the results say the same, England's route to the final is:
R16: Hungary
QF: Sweden or Ukraine
SF: Netherlands, Czech Republic, Wales or Denmark

Apart from Netherlands that's a piss easy draw. AND all the games except the QF are in London.

Magpie
23-06-2021, 08:16 PM
I would love to see Portugal get knocked out here.

EI255
23-06-2021, 08:21 PM

Apart from Netherlands that's a piss easy draw. AND all the games except the QF are in London.Why are the majority of games in London?

CloudSquall
23-06-2021, 08:21 PM

Apart from Netherlands that's a piss easy draw. AND all the games except the QF are in London.

Oh dear god.

23-06-2021, 08:22 PM
Penalty Portugal

Ronaldo 2-2

EI255
23-06-2021, 08:22 PM
Hungary fans chanting Right Said Fred? WTF?

23-06-2021, 08:23 PM

Relax they've lost to Croatia, Iceland and Uruguay and failed to beat Scotland, Russia, Slovakia and Costa Rica in their last four major tournaments including this one.

EI255
23-06-2021, 08:23 PM
What a night of football!

23-06-2021, 08:24 PM
Germany now heading out. This is a crazy night.

23-06-2021, 08:25 PM
1-1 Germany

23-06-2021, 08:25 PM
Goal Germany

EI255
23-06-2021, 08:26 PM
Get in Germany! [emoji16][emoji629][emoji629][emoji629]

23-06-2021, 08:26 PM
keeper error, he has to punch that clear

23-06-2021, 08:27 PM
my goodness 2-1 Hungary

2-1 Hungary!

Scenes

EI255
23-06-2021, 08:28 PM
English commentators absolutely desperate to avoid Germany. Going wild at Hungary goal

23-06-2021, 08:29 PM

Definitely not overrated. 22 years old, 180 career goals.

He dived the next time he was in the box with no contact.

And yes he fell over too easily for the penalty that was never a penalty

23-06-2021, 08:29 PM
Whits the goalie daen Tam

23-06-2021, 08:30 PM
English commentators absolutely desperate to avoid Germany. Going wild at Hungary goal

With good reason. The national team has a mental block when it comes to Germany. Hope they get them.

What a night of football!

Musical chairs in this group. I couldn’t care less who wins it but we don’t want England v Hungary. My God, Hungary go ahead again. Presently England v Portugal but it’ll all probably change.

Hungary fans chanting Right Said Fred? WTF?

Why do most of them wear black shirts?

23-06-2021, 08:33 PM
He dived the next time he was in the box with no contact.

And yes he fell over too easily for the penalty that was never a penalty

He fell over, he didn't even appeal.

VAR and the Ref thought it was a pen. Does diving make a player overrated, anyway?

23-06-2021, 08:40 PM
If France score another England get Hungary. :rolleyes:

23-06-2021, 08:42 PM
He fell over, he didn't even appeal.

VAR and the Ref thought it was a pen. Does diving make a player overrated, anyway?

When I have seen him play I have yet to see him meet the expectation of him, a bit like Pogba, good players when it suits them

23-06-2021, 08:43 PM
Yes, goal Germany.

2-2

EI255
Take that Hungary [emoji629][emoji629][emoji629]

EI255
23-06-2021, 08:44 PM
Some game

CloudSquall
23-06-2021, 08:49 PM
Auf wiedersehen England! :greengrin

23-06-2021, 08:50 PM
Auf wiedersehen England! :greengrin

Germany have been poor tonight

23-06-2021, 08:52 PM

They’re saving it for England.:greengrin

CloudSquall
23-06-2021, 08:58 PM
Life savings on a rousing rendition of "Ten German Bombers" at Wembley by a lovely bunch of bald overweight middle-aged men dressed up as Crusaders in the next round.

23-06-2021, 09:00 PM
When I have seen him play I have yet to see him meet the expectation of him, a bit like Pogba, good players when it suits them

Like the world cup final in 2018? Or his Hat-trick vs Barcelona last season?

Guy is class. Nothing to do with when it suits him. 180 goals in 290 games, aged 22. It suits him quite a lot.

23-06-2021, 09:01 PM
Best and most exciting night of group stage football in these Euros.

23-06-2021, 09:05 PM
Best and most exciting night of group stage football in these Euros.

Aye, great nights entertainment.

Stairway 2 7
23-06-2021, 09:09 PM
Winner of England Germany will be favourites to go to the final. Teams are stacked in first half of the draw

23-06-2021, 09:10 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed that this evening apart from the commentator who said England were at a disadvantage because the teams in that group had all had top games against top players. England meanwhile had played lesser teams and would not be match sharp.

23-06-2021, 09:12 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed that this evening apart from the commentator who said England were at a disadvantage because the teams in that group had all had top games against top players. England meanwhile had played lesser teams and would not be match sharp.

Makes it all the more enjoyable when they get pumped.

Renfrew_Hibby
23-06-2021, 09:13 PM
Winner of England Germany will be favourites to go to the final. Teams are stacked in first half of the draw

Looking at the draw, England now favs to reach the final.
Unbelievable how its panned out that Belgium, Italy, Spain, France and Portugal are all now on the opposite side of the draw.
England now get just about all the games at Wembley and 60,000 crowds willing them on.

23-06-2021, 09:19 PM
Makes it all the more enjoyable when they get pumped.

Lose on penalties, PLEASE 😊

Magpie
England v Germany
Sweden v Ukraine

Wales v Denmark
Netherlands v Czech Republic

———————

France v Switzerland
Croatia v Spain

Belgium v Portugal
Italy v Austria

Some good ties in there, you would fancy England or Germany to reach the final from the route they have.

Unbelievable how its panned out that Belgium, Italy, Spain, France and Portugal are all now on the opposite side of the draw.
England now get just about all the games at Wembley and 60,000 crowds willing them on.

Although poor tonight, Germany are a good side. They could beat England and they'll be well up for it. Sweden are no mugs. Netherlands neither. I'll be surprised if England are in the final.

Largshibby
23-06-2021, 09:24 PM
I think his actual words were “compared to what we’ve been up against”. Arrogant and completely uncalled for. Wasn’t bothered beforehand but now I hope they get royally pumped at the earliest opportunity.

23-06-2021, 09:25 PM
I don't fancy any of the teams from the top half to win it, they all have deficiences, if I had to pick a team that I would like to win it I would pick Italy, for me they've played the best football and are well represented in all areas of the park, but it's quite open.

23-06-2021, 09:33 PM

Didn't hear that wa it the commentator or Jenas?

23-06-2021, 09:37 PM
Think Germany will beat England so many big game players in their team imo.

23-06-2021, 09:51 PM
Didn't hear that wa it the commentator or Jenas?

It was Jenas

23-06-2021, 09:57 PM

Southgate to take one.

23-06-2021, 10:01 PM

If England had been in that group they'd have been knocked out.

23-06-2021, 10:28 PM
If England had been in that group they'd have been knocked out.

Don't know. They managed 2 goals in 3 games and kept 3 clean sheets. Might have bored the other teams to submission.

23-06-2021, 11:07 PM

You could also argue that Germany are favourites as England aren't exactly blowing teams away...

France for me..💙

23-06-2021, 11:14 PM
Although poor tonight, Germany are a good side. They could beat England and they'll be well up for it. Sweden are no mugs. Netherlands neither. I'll be surprised if England are in the final.

All teams that have sent England teams packing from recent tournaments. And all teams that will be fine playing on the counter, which is what England are best suited to do, they want to play on the break themselves.

23-06-2021, 11:28 PM

No thanks, I don't want to hear about them being unlucky. I want them skelped 5-0 at least.....

24-06-2021, 05:07 AM

I think Germany will beat England as England are mince

24-06-2021, 05:47 AM
I think Germany will beat England as England are mince

Don't think England are mince and Germany aren't great however just think the German players more likely to step up especially in this game.

24-06-2021, 05:49 AM
It was Jenas

Wow what an incredibly entitled thing to say. Quite ignorant

24-06-2021, 06:18 AM

I couldn’t call that one, both teams have flaws. I don’t see either of them as tournament winners though. Italy have to be favourites but I’m not discounting Denmark from riding a wave of emotion all the way to the final.

24-06-2021, 06:31 AM
I got something on Italy at the start of the tournament but watching Portugal and France pinging it about last night I'm not confident. Italy are still in embryo rather.
England won't do it anyway. Unimpressed.

24-06-2021, 06:31 AM
Wow what an incredibly entitled thing to say. Quite ignorant

Sort of comment Ferdinand apologised for

24-06-2021, 07:12 AM

They were rotten, they had no idea on how to break the Hungarians down. They'll get more space to work in against England but they just don't have the fire power that England can call on and defensively the Germans are weak on their right flank. I'm just hoping the Germans manage to take the game to penalties :greengrin

24-06-2021, 07:15 AM

It was the only negative from last night having to listen to the football panel experts of Shearer, Lampard and Ferdinand being chaired by Lineker, with Jenas providing the expert commentary. Switch over to BBC 2 and it was Danny Murphy. FFS, why can't they get some non-English people to do this job for the games that don't involve England, like Keane, either of the O'Neill's, the ex-Croat West Ham boss that I can't recall, Moyes etc. So many candidates, but instead we get these England greats ramming the England perspective down our throats constantly.

I'm a bit disappointed as in the 1st game of the tournament involving Italy and Turkey, I thought they did well not to mention England every other second. But now they revert to type again.

24-06-2021, 03:07 PM
It was the only negative from last night having to listen to the football panel experts of Shearer, Lampard and Ferdinand being chaired by Lineker, with Jenas providing the expert commentary. Switch over to BBC 2 and it was Danny Murphy. FFS, why can't they get some non-English people to do this job for the games that don't involve England, like Keane, either of the O'Neill's, the ex-Croat West Ham boss that I can't recall, Moyes etc. So many candidates, but instead we get these England greats ramming the England perspective down our throats constantly.

I'm a bit disappointed as in the 1st game of the tournament involving Italy and Turkey, I thought they did well not to mention England every other second. But now they revert to type again.

Yep the all English panel was a joke. Absolute echo chamber. A bit of a different perspective required. Also wonder why someone like Mark Hughes or someone Scottish are only on the panel when their team plays. England were not involved last night no need for wall to wall opinion.

24-06-2021, 03:43 PM
It’s a wide open competition, I think it’s really hard to call.

France look like they should have the best players but they’ve been fairly unconvincing in the past 2 games and I wonder if they have enough strong, positive characters for when the going gets tough.

Italy have been the most impressive so far but they’ve not played anyone of real note.

A few decent teams have deficiencies somewhere in their team that will probably stop them from winning (England, Netherlands, Portugal).

It’s actually been a cracking tournament already, Scottish disappointment aside, and it looks set to have a few twists and turns yet.

24-06-2021, 03:45 PM
It’s a wide open competition, I think it’s really hard to call.

France look like they should have the best players but they’ve been fairly unconvincing.

Italy have been the most impressive so far but they’ve not played anyone of real note.

A few decent teams have deficiencies somewhere in their team that will probably stop them from winning (England, Netherlands, Portugal).

It’s actually been a cracking tournament already, Scottish disappointment aside, and it looks set to have a few twists and turns yet.

France have won titles in the past while being unconvincing in the group and even QF/SF stages.

They definitely had luck on their side last night.

24-06-2021, 06:55 PM

I was watching the game with a French pal of mine, he was asking what had happened to Thierry Henry, he remembered the bbc used to use him as a pundit. They’ve had Évra and Emmanuel Petit in the past. Its much better when they bring in international pundits

24-06-2021, 06:57 PM
I was watching the game with a French pal of mine, he was asking what had happened to Thierry Henry, he remembered the bbc used to use him as a pundit. They’ve had Évra and Emmanuel Petit in the past. Its much better when they bring in international pundits

Henry is part of the Belgian coaching staff.

24-06-2021, 07:07 PM
Watching Copa America on BBC red button channel on Sky. Standard Definition was never this bad even back in the day was it?

Surely can’t be difficult in 2021 to give us a non blurry picture?

25-06-2021, 12:47 PM
Watching Copa America on BBC red button channel on Sky. Standard Definition was never this bad even back in the day was it?

Surely can’t be difficult in 2021 to give us a non blurry picture?

Watched the Uruguay Bolivia match last night on the same media as you, looked perfectly normal to me.

The Baldmans Comb
26-06-2021, 03:41 PM
These are English TV channels so I have no problem whatsoever that they are packed with English supporting pundits as thats what every other the country in the world do so its all perfecly normal.

On the whole English pundits are very knowledgeable and on the whole fair and of course they can be biased when they let their emotions run away with themselves which is just to be expected.

I wouldn't be giving their TV channels any money but I admire their professional studio TV coverage.

He's here!
26-06-2021, 04:00 PM
The Welsh national anthem is up there with the best in the world (it's a toss-up between God Save the Queen and Flower of Scotland for the worst in my view. Both dirges). Best heard in a packed national rugby stadium.

Not seen any of the Wales games so far. Can they reach the last eight?

26-06-2021, 04:08 PM
These are English TV channels so I have no problem whatsoever that they are packed with English supporting pundits as thats what every other the country in the world do so its all perfecly normal.

On the whole English pundits are very knowledgeable and on the whole fair and of course they can be biased when they let their emotions run away with themselves which is just to be expected.

I wouldn't be giving their TV channels any money but I admire their professional studio TV coverage.

Except they are not of course. Their coverage covers all parts of the uk and are meant to be unpartisan. Unfortunately you are right BBC see themselves as EBC.

26-06-2021, 04:10 PM
Denmark showing Bale the way to goal, they need to get tighter.
That stadium looks sensational even from the top tiers.

26-06-2021, 04:11 PM
Hope west England get humped out this evening

26-06-2021, 04:15 PM

26-06-2021, 04:19 PM

If they were English channels there would be no argument, but they aren’t.

26-06-2021, 04:19 PM
Good game this.

26-06-2021, 04:20 PM
Good game this.

Watching with deep interest. Denmark are in our WC group.

26-06-2021, 04:21 PM

What’s wrong?

26-06-2021, 04:23 PM
Watching with deep interest. Denmark are in our WC group.

They’re better than us :greengrin

I’m very impressed with Connor Roberts, right back, plays in the championship with Swansea, looks a level above that.

EI255
26-06-2021, 04:24 PM
Would like Wales to win. But I don't want to be subjected to Savage's crap.

26-06-2021, 04:26 PM
What's rodon complaining about ?:confused: It's a yellow card everytime

26-06-2021, 04:26 PM
They’re better than us :greengrin

I’m very impressed with Connor Roberts, right back, plays in the championship with Swansea, looks a level above that.

Don’t know too much about Roberts, though so far, I’d agree with you on that. Wow! That could be costly yellow,,,,,, and that very special goal.

26-06-2021, 04:27 PM
1-0 Denmark

26-06-2021, 04:27 PM
1-0 Denmark

26-06-2021, 04:28 PM
Some goal

26-06-2021, 04:29 PM
Baggio scored one like that in Itallia90

26-06-2021, 04:31 PM
Should have been 0-2 there

26-06-2021, 04:33 PM
Starting look as though Denmark not only did their homework on Wales but also went to night school.

26-06-2021, 04:33 PM
Denmark have stepped up a gear since the goal....

26-06-2021, 04:35 PM
Dolberg is absolute quality

26-06-2021, 04:37 PM
No danger that's a free kick on the goalkeeper

Can't VAR intervine when we see goalys getting to much protection ? Seems VAR covers every other area of the pitch

26-06-2021, 04:40 PM
Dolberg is absolute quality
And the next game Scotland have is against Denmark, hope Steve Clarke is making notes because they look quality.

26-06-2021, 04:42 PM
No danger that's a free kick on the goalkeeper

Can't VAR intervine when we see goalys getting to much protection ? Seems VAR covers every other area of the pitch

How would you remedy it though? Drop ball where the ball fell? Indirect fk? Very hard to do.

26-06-2021, 04:47 PM
It’s impressive how over the last twenty minutes or so how Denmark have mainly managed to get at least one more attacker than defender in the box when they attack.

It’s a shame Bale isn’t playing

How would you remedy it though? Drop ball where the ball fell? Indirect fk? Very hard to do.

Not really got a clue to be honest but we can't have goalkeepers with absolute no contact on them falling to the ground and winning free kicks

Just_Jimmy
26-06-2021, 04:50 PM
Not really got a clue to be honest but we can't have goalkeepers with absolute no contact on them falling to the ground and winning free kickswe have it from other positions all over the park so why not? [emoji23]

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Magpie
26-06-2021, 04:59 PM
It’s a shame Bale isn’t playing

Was the most dangerous player on the pitch for the first 15 minutes.

26-06-2021, 05:00 PM
Wales getting a chasing. They're no much better than Scotland. Bale and Ramsay aside they are very average.

26-06-2021, 05:03 PM

I don't think the people of Wales would recognise such a description.

26-06-2021, 05:05 PM
Hahahaha

26-06-2021, 05:05 PM
2-0 Denmark game over.

26-06-2021, 05:06 PM
Game

2-0 Denmark, Dolberg again

Dolberg again

Should have been a foul further up the pitch but that defending is abysmal!

I think Denmark are better than England. Certainly better coached and better in defence.

26-06-2021, 05:07 PM
2-0 Denmark

Pleasing

Hahahaha
Oh well they will join North Britain now

Not really got a clue to be honest but we can't have goalkeepers with absolute no contact on them falling to the ground and winning free kicks

Just got to hope the ref spots it I think.

26-06-2021, 05:08 PM
Cheerio 😂😂😂

26-06-2021, 05:11 PM
Do the winners of this game play the winners of the England game?

EI255
26-06-2021, 05:12 PM
What's that silence?

Oh, its Robbie Savage

EI255
26-06-2021, 05:12 PM
I think Denmark are better than England. Certainly better coached and better in defence.What odds Denmark to win this tournament?

26-06-2021, 05:14 PM
Denmark are quality .

26-06-2021, 05:15 PM
Do the winners of this game play the winners of the England game?

Netherlands/Czech Republic

26-06-2021, 05:22 PM
Denmark have done really well to stop the Bale/Ramsey interplay so far. When either one of them gets the ball, the Danes pretty much just double mark the other.

Not so much now, now the game is being stretched a bit.

26-06-2021, 05:33 PM
Games gone a bit flat since the second goal, can’t see Wales doing much. Which means they’ll probably score in a minute or two !! 😅

26-06-2021, 05:33 PM
Will Bale pack it in after this? Can't see any clubs wanting to deal with his wage demands

26-06-2021, 05:36 PM
Denmark are quality .

And Wales minus Bale < Scotland

26-06-2021, 05:36 PM
Will Bale pack it in after this? Can't see any clubs wanting to deal with his wage demands

Heard on the grapevine he would love to play for Hibs at Easter Road with Leigh Griffiths and Billy Gilmour. :greengrin

26-06-2021, 05:38 PM
Cornelius run was fantastic, with 4 defenders around him, cool as a cucumber

26-06-2021, 05:40 PM
I think Denmark are better than England. Certainly better coached and better in defence.

Not sure about that. England havent conceeded a goal yet and Demark have let 4 in. Whats that based on? :wink:

Played very well tonight though Denmark and Wales simply havent got the answers.

26-06-2021, 05:41 PM
Cornelius run was fantastic, with 4 defenders around him, cool as a cucumber

I find your statement offensive to ice-cubes:greengrin

26-06-2021, 05:42 PM

A possibility, perhaps a last pay day in China or the MLS if someone will stompt the cash up.

26-06-2021, 05:43 PM
Should have been 0-3

26-06-2021, 05:44 PM
Denmark are quality .

And Wales minus Bale < Scotland