View Full Version : Brexit - What Now.

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

23-06-2021, 09:13 AM
https://www.onebritainonenation.com/

Apparently there is some sort of song they’re going to get all the kids to sing at school. I assumed it was a spoof but clearly not. Creepy.

23-06-2021, 09:28 AM
Apparently there is some sort of song they’re going to get all the kids to sing at school.

:hmmm: What will rhyme with 'Dear Leader'? :dunno:

23-06-2021, 09:30 AM

Apparently there is some sort of song they’re going to get all the kids to sing at school. I assumed it was a spoof but clearly not. Creepy.They're going to get all Bozo's children to sing it initially just to give it some impetus.

It's a toss up between Somewhere Over The Rainbow and Got To Pick A Pocket Or Two.

23-06-2021, 09:36 AM
Obon's values...

"tolerance, kindness, pride, respect and a tremendous desire to help others. "

.. you couldn't make it up, but they managed to.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

23-06-2021, 09:37 AM

Apparently there is some sort of song they’re going to get all the kids to sing at school. I assumed it was a spoof but clearly not. Creepy.

Not a spoof. :confused:

https://twitter.com/billybragg/status/1407379950206865408?s=20

23-06-2021, 09:38 AM
They're going to get all Bozo's children to sing it initially just to give it some impetus.

It's a toss up between Somewhere Over The Rainbow and Got To Pick A Pocket Or Two.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/education/2021/jun/22/education-department-challenged-over-support-for-one-britain-one-nation-day

The happy day is Friday. It will make my heart sing to see all those happy wee faces belt out the ditty in question.

23-06-2021, 09:40 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/education/2021/jun/22/education-department-challenged-over-support-for-one-britain-one-nation-day

The happy day is Friday. It will make my heart sing to see all those happy wee faces belt out the ditty in question.They could get that awful Patel person to go round and whack the ones that aren't singing patriotically enough with a ruler.

23-06-2021, 09:41 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E4gYmC_WYAka8Bi.jpg

23-06-2021, 09:43 AM
Not a spoof. :confused:

https://twitter.com/billybragg/status/1407379950206865408?s=20

Nope, Sky, BBC Guardian all reporting it as being on the DoE gov.uk site.

23-06-2021, 09:51 AM
Nope, Sky, BBC Guardian all reporting it as being on the DoE gov.uk site.

It must be really, really hard to be a satirist these days.

23-06-2021, 09:52 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210623/b0cad16abab97f4ff9b6660304fdd5a4.jpg

Can’t see anything wrong with this idea at all.

23-06-2021, 09:56 AM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIf you replace all the kids in the picture with fat bald guys called Baz, Trev, or Nige you'd get the modern day equivalent spot on.[emoji6]

23-06-2021, 10:42 AM
https://www.politico.eu/article/eu-citizens-will-always-have-a-home-in-scotland/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

23-06-2021, 10:50 AM
https://twitter.com/lbc/status/1407645830442586113?s=21

The song

23-06-2021, 11:28 AM

The song

The 🇬🇧 entrant for Eurovision sorted for next time.

23-06-2021, 12:21 PM

I got a warning from Facebook for making a similar comparison this morning. I did add the words "Ein Volk, ein Reich und ein Führer" mind you. :greengrin

23-06-2021, 12:32 PM
One of the most brilliant and disturbing moments in movie history (IMO)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lv0jav4lNsk

23-06-2021, 01:44 PM
https://i.ibb.co/NCwwM76/the1930s-212134.jpg (https://ibb.co/QQss4XF)

coming soon, how to goose step

23-06-2021, 01:47 PM
Welsh Gov slaps down Westminster plan for children in Wales to celebrate ‘One Britain One Nation Day’ (https://nation.cymru/news/welsh-gov-slaps-down-westminster-plan-for-children-in-wales-to-celebrate-one-britain-one-nation-day/?fbclid=IwAR1K0-xraaoxTT7HqNzAhcZBeVZYu_PYrvshvwuqelRCv2SgsCq4V94R UDY)

The Welsh Government has slapped down a Westminster plan for school children in Wales to celebrate ‘One Britain One Nation Day’.

23-06-2021, 04:08 PM
"Britain" is only England and Wales. How come we don't get a mention? Ragin. :-)

24-06-2021, 06:21 AM

The song

Not Morrissey’s best tune but I’ll wait to hear it in the context of an album.

24-06-2021, 06:56 AM

Very powerful stuff, unfortunately only if you're capable of understanding what it's really trying to say. That will be lost on those who need to understand it most.

GRA
24-06-2021, 07:43 AM
Five years ago today the Brexit referendum ended up a victory for the Leavers.

Five years on and can anyone tell me any concrete benefits that have come from Brexit thus far? Must be some apart from getting those blue passports surely...

Skol
24-06-2021, 07:49 AM

Five years on and can anyone tell me any concrete benefits that have come from Brexit thus far? Must be some apart from getting those blue passports surely...

I guess its a benefit that we have gotten rid of two conservative PMs. Unfortunately we are now landed with an incompetent buffoon who purged the party of any of the sensible voices.

24-06-2021, 07:50 AM

Five years on and can anyone tell me any concrete benefits that have come from Brexit thus far? Must be some apart from getting those blue passports surely...Some chat about reinstating all those imperial weights and measures?

Farthings and half crowns next?

Super opportunity to eat food produced to lower standards than we have previously enjoyed and Bozo wants to buy the Queen a boat?

Some of us might be getting a new extra British song?

Farage returned to being a nonentity, that's pretty concrete.

24-06-2021, 08:15 AM
I guess its a benefit that we have gotten rid of two conservative PMs. Unfortunately we are now landed with an incompetent buffoon who purged the party of any of the sensible voices.

Surely that's a wind up?

24-06-2021, 08:17 AM

Farmers and fishermen have been shafted - real win for people who hate food 👍🏻

Skol
24-06-2021, 08:26 AM
Surely that's a wind up?

Are you suggesting Boris is competent ?

24-06-2021, 08:48 AM

They'll be a bit hard to come by!

I think there's a reasonable chance we'd have been part of the EU procurement scheme for the vaccine and ended up in a worse position there accordingly. Although that could have went either way depending on the government of the day and how they felt about cooperation with the EU.

I'm also not sure if the relaxation of whisky tariffs with the US would still have happened had we been in the EU - tariffs applied by the US in retaliation to EU's illegal support of Airbus.

They're certainly not concrete, but it's all I can really think of as far as Brexit benefits go. :greengrin

24-06-2021, 08:53 AM
They'll be a bit hard to come by!

I think there's a reasonable chance we'd have been part of the EU procurement scheme for the vaccine and ended up in a worse position there accordingly. Although that could have went either way depending on the government of the day and how they felt about cooperation with the EU.

I'm also not sure if the relaxation of whisky tariffs with the US would still have happened had we been in the EU - tariffs applied by the US in retaliation to EU's illegal support of Airbus.

They're certainly not concrete, but it's all I can really think of as far as Brexit benefits go. :greengrin

Pretty sure the removal of the tariffs happened because the EU and US declared a ceasefire?

https://www.aljazeera.com/economy/2021/6/17/cheers-to-that-us-agrees-to-lift-tariffs-on-scotch-whiskey

Also, I don’t think the EU roll out is that far behind us now and they have a lot less deaths than we do.

24-06-2021, 09:04 AM
Pretty sure the removal of the tariffs happened because the EU and US declared a ceasefire?

https://www.aljazeera.com/economy/2021/6/17/cheers-to-that-us-agrees-to-lift-tariffs-on-scotch-whiskey

Also, I don’t think the EU roll out is that far behind us now and they have a lot less deaths than we do.

It looks like the tariff issues would have been resolved regardless. :agree:

It makes sense they'd catch up, but we still went out faster and earlier which will have saved lives over the time period. Less deaths in the EU isn't relevant I would say, as there's other contributing factors and the comparison isn't dependant on UK vaccine programme. The comparison would be actual UK deaths Vs what would have happened in the UK had our vaccine rollout been done with an EU co-procurement strategy.

Again though, we'd not technically have been obligated to join the procurement scheme and could perhaps have had the same rollout regardless - I think.

24-06-2021, 09:43 AM
It looks like the tariff issues would have been resolved regardless. :agree:

It makes sense they'd catch up, but we still went out faster and earlier which will have saved lives over the time period. Less deaths in the EU isn't relevant I would say, as there's other contributing factors and the comparison isn't dependant on UK vaccine programme. The comparison would be actual UK deaths Vs what would have happened in the UK had our vaccine rollout been done with an EU co-procurement strategy.

Again though, we'd not technically have been obligated to join the procurement scheme and could perhaps have had the same rollout regardless - I think.

On comparison with Europe, it can be argued all ways. The current idiots in charge of the UK gave us Brexit, but Brexit also gave us the idiots in charge - the Health Secretary, for example, like the rest of the cabinet, was chosen specifically because he would not query Brexit. No Brexit, no Hancock, fewer deaths.

24-06-2021, 10:31 AM
On comparison with Europe, it can be argued all ways. The current idiots in charge of the UK gave us Brexit, but Brexit also gave us the idiots in charge - the Health Secretary, for example, like the rest of the cabinet, was chosen specifically because he would not query Brexit. No Brexit, no Hancock, fewer deaths.

Maybe.

Just talking about the vaccine though. :aok:

24-06-2021, 10:44 AM

Don't forget the cheaper soy sauce!

24-06-2021, 10:59 AM
Maybe.

Just talking about the vaccine though. :aok:

The vaccine was sorted out while we were still linked to the EU though, there was nothing stopping other countries doing similar. So can't really be listed as a Brexit dividend, regardless of that the UK procurement went really well and I bet the other European countries wish they did more of it themselves (Poland used Russian vaccines for example)

On the other hand, The Independent has this on BREXIT!

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-vote-cost-trade-eu-b1843018.html

24-06-2021, 11:07 AM
I got a warning from Facebook for making a similar comparison this morning. I did add the words "Ein Volk, ein Reich und ein Führer" mind you. :greengrin

Me too. Had to take a photo down. WTF?

No context to what I was saying. Just I broke the rules.

24-06-2021, 11:09 AM
Rees-Mogg has already told it'll be 50 years before we see any benefit from Brexit. I'm sure there will be niche business's, banks and individuals who benefit immediately but yer ordinary Tommy Atkins will have to wait for his cheaper "footwear" etc.

24-06-2021, 11:13 AM
The vaccine was sorted out while we were still linked to the EU though, there was nothing stopping other countries doing similar. So can't really be listed as a Brexit dividend, regardless of that the UK procurement went really well and I bet the other European countries wish they did more of it themselves (Poland used Russian vaccines for example)

On the other hand, The Independent has this on BREXIT!

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-vote-cost-trade-eu-b1843018.html

We were on our way out by that point, so the decision to join the procurement scheme or not would have been affected by the Brexit decision I would think.

24-06-2021, 11:29 AM
We were on our way out by that point, so the decision to join the procurement scheme or not would have been affected by the Brexit decision I would think.

Absolutely, but it cant really be used as a Brexit dividend if we could have done it regardless.

Chorley Hibee
24-06-2021, 11:44 AM

Beautiful and chilling in equal measure - that's what I feel makes it so great.

24-06-2021, 12:04 PM
Apologies if this has been mentioned

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-eu-o2-data-roaming-charges-b1871484.html%3famp

24-06-2021, 12:20 PM
Absolutely, but it cant really be used as a Brexit dividend if we could have done it regardless.

It depends if it made an impact on whether we would have done it or not I guess.

If we wouldn't have went alone had we voted to remain, and I don't think we would have, then I think it could be thought of in that way.

24-06-2021, 12:45 PM
I am seeing the following being posted on social media by a number of small businesses that I know from my own business.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CQd_HXWJ96R/?utm_medium=copy_link

24-06-2021, 12:58 PM

Five years on and can anyone tell me any concrete benefits that have come from Brexit thus far? Must be some apart from getting those blue passports surely...Crunchie will have done the research on this. I'm sure he has a list of the benefits.

24-06-2021, 01:08 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-41969672.amp

Want to take your pet abroad?

That will be between £100 & £150

24-06-2021, 01:39 PM
I am seeing the following being posted on social media by a number of small businesses that I know from my own business.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CQd_HXWJ96R/?utm_medium=copy_linkA few places I had bought records from in Italy, Germany and Holland now no longer sell to the UK [emoji19]

Mind, with the increase in postage prices from EU it was making it awfy expensive.

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

24-06-2021, 08:37 PM
EE and O2 bringing back roaming charges when we are in the EU.

Another win

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-06-2021, 09:25 PM
todays independent..

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/203169406_10165361374150644_9012089767701195266_n. jpg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=5ltWucpFKbUAX_w3Gnq&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=6d2c8333aee109175e254c3a1289a04a&oe=60DA12D2

24-06-2021, 09:40 PM
EE and O2 bringing back roaming charges when we are in the EU.

Another win

EE seemed to be saying the charges would only apply to new customers. Needs clarifying though.

25-06-2021, 12:04 PM
A list of all the positives, as published in the guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/jun/24/five-years-brexit-calamity-uk

25-06-2021, 02:17 PM
A list of all the positives, as published in the guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/jun/24/five-years-brexit-calamity-uk

Toynbees problem is she’s so clearly lacking objectivity when it comes to criticising Starmer. How can say it’s ‘no surprise’ the Tories are rocking a 14% lead going into the Jo Cox by-election? These centrist writers talk about the vaccine ‘dividend’ but people don’t vote on the vaccine. Already lowering expectations for a Labour defeat, which should in a normal world, see Starmers miserable leadership come to an end.

27-06-2021, 11:28 AM
https://twitter.com/ripplescrafts/status/1409106169247961091?s=19

This is brilliant 😁

28-06-2021, 08:47 PM
https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-kent-57638584

Hadn’t realised that dealing with the scourge of antisocial HGV parking would be one of the spin-offs of Brexit

28-06-2021, 08:54 PM
https://twitter.com/kayburley/status/1409443643371438083?s=21

Another brexiteer not happy with what he voted for.

28-06-2021, 09:16 PM
https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-kent-57638584

Hadn’t realised that dealing with the scourge of antisocial HGV parking would be one of the spin-offs of Brexit

Truck drivers in the UK have been hung out to dry. They're obliged by law to take breaks but have nowhere to take them.

28-06-2021, 09:18 PM
Truck drivers in the UK have been hung out to dry. They're obliged by law to take breaks but have nowhere to take them.

Agree

28-06-2021, 09:34 PM

It’s a beautiful metaphor for Brexit. Rivers of pish and jobbies flowing down the lay-bys of Kent.

29-06-2021, 06:31 PM
https://twitter.com/tconnellyrte/status/1409846735829151750?s=21

A compromise on protocol. UK to align with Eu standards for another 3 months to allow supermarket to change supply chains and start buying from Republic of Ireland.

29-06-2021, 06:59 PM
https://twitter.com/tconnellyrte/status/1409846735829151750?s=21

A compromise on protocol. UK to align with Eu standards for another 3 months to allow supermarket to change supply chains and start buying from Republic of Ireland.

But what about all the wee Union Jacks on the labels?

29-06-2021, 07:06 PM
But what about all the wee Union Jacks on the labels?

I’m sure business men in Ireland will happily stick them on so the DUP still think they’re British bangers.

30-06-2021, 12:17 PM
https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1232211/?__twitter_impression=true

Unionists lose their case against the protocol in court.

01-07-2021, 12:59 PM
I can't link to it on the phone, but the Nissan investment announced today is very relevant to the debate. A vote of confidence, or an investment bought by the government? Does that even matter? I can't help but see this as a big boost for leavers.

01-07-2021, 01:05 PM
I can't link to it on the phone, but the Nissan investment announced today is very relevant to the debate. A vote of confidence, or an investment bought by the government? Does that even matter? I can't help but see this as a big boost for leavers.

I put a link in the electric car owners thread

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-57666008

It's a requirement of the Brexit deal to build batteries here

01-07-2021, 11:59 PM
If you voted for Brexit, this is what you voted for. You might think you didn't vote for this or at least tell yourself you didn't, but you did. There's worse to come, once this imaginary enemy has been vanquished, this government will need to find another. Hell mend you.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thelondoneconomic.com/news/heartbreaking-twitter-thread-highlights-cruelty-of-eu-settlement-scheme-279323/%3famp

02-07-2021, 07:48 PM
If you voted for Brexit, this is what you voted for. You might think you didn't vote for this or at least tell yourself you didn't, but you did. There's worse to come, once this imaginary enemy has been vanquished, this government will need to find another. Hell mend you.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thelondoneconomic.com/news/heartbreaking-twitter-thread-highlights-cruelty-of-eu-settlement-scheme-279323/%3fampIf a £1bn "investment" in a big scale industry like car manufacturing from a non UK business is seen as some sort of brexit related triumph then god help the beneficiaries.

These businesses were here on an equal or bigger scale pre brexit... still, any port in a storm.

02-07-2021, 09:13 PM
I'm now curious as to what the conversion was like around 9pm 🤔

Crunchie
03-07-2021, 06:12 AM
I'm now curious as to what the conversion was like around 9pm 🤔

Need you ask, the usual angry children hurling insults at Her Majesty’s PM.

Stairway 2 7
03-07-2021, 06:42 AM

Nah that the one point we agreed, that he is an erse 😆

03-07-2021, 08:05 AM

Somehow I don't think it would be that. You just have to look at what is allowed to be said about all politicians, it is only personal insults that get removed.

Jay
03-07-2021, 09:08 AM
Somehow I don't think it would be that. You just have to look at what is allowed to be said about all politicians, it is only personal insults that get removed.

Totally untrue . We wont be discussing the deletion of posts. The posters involved know why they were deleted.

04-07-2021, 11:46 AM
https://www.reuters.com/business/retail-consumer/bring-army-food-groups-call-relieve-uk-lorry-driver-crisis-2021-07-02/

Bring in the army or we’ll starve.

Andy Bee
04-07-2021, 11:54 AM
https://www.reuters.com/business/retail-consumer/bring-army-food-groups-call-relieve-uk-lorry-driver-crisis-2021-07-02/

It is actually happening, I know of fridge motors being emptied as the food inside is going past sell by because of driver shortage. Not complaining as the wages seem to be going up and hopefully the hours get more realistic. I know one driver who received a £7 an hour pay rise. Not before time if you ask me as the haulage industry has been on a race to the bottom for years. I'd assume the construction industry will be next.

04-07-2021, 12:08 PM
It is actually happening, I know of fridge motors being emptied as the food inside is going past sell by because of driver shortage. Not complaining as the wages seem to be going up and hopefully the hours get more realistic. I know one driver who received a £7 an hour pay rise. Not before time if you ask me as the haulage industry has been on a race to the bottom for years. I'd assume the construction industry will be next.

Which is why a lot of people voted for brexit. Not every person who voted for brexit did so against their own interest. I worked in construction from 2004 to 2012 and could see the effect the huge influx of workers was having on wages.

04-07-2021, 12:46 PM
Which is why a lot of people voted for brexit. Not every person who voted for brexit did so against their own interest. I worked in construction from 2004 to 2012 and could see the effect the huge influx of workers was having on wages.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkEU immigration laws never invoked or never even explained at the time. Brutal on workers from Blair, Brown and Cameron.

04-07-2021, 02:38 PM
It is actually happening, I know of fridge motors being emptied as the food inside is going past sell by because of driver shortage. Not complaining as the wages seem to be going up and hopefully the hours get more realistic. I know one driver who received a £7 an hour pay rise. Not before time if you ask me as the haulage industry has been on a race to the bottom for years. I'd assume the construction industry will be next.Construction is challenging just now. Materials are scarce, lead times are way out and prices are very volatile.
Not seen the hit on labour market as yet, I expected Brexit to negatively impact that first. There is still lack of certain trades like Brickies but that has been the case for years.

Not sure that Brexit is the key driver in material issues. Exceptional demand from housebuilders against a back drop of Covid shutdowns has been a bigger issue I think.

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

04-07-2021, 04:17 PM

I view that as a rare Brexit benefit. The Army will actually be providing a service we need rather than paying for them to kill foreigners in foreign lands or back up the police if the people decide they don't like something teh Government has done.

05-07-2021, 09:14 PM

Nonsense, this is just project fear. And besides, we have hundreds of miles of unused canals in this country, time for a fire and brimstone renaissance of our canal system. No silly EU time directives, everyone should be allowed to drive a narrow boat for as many hours a week as they want.

07-07-2021, 11:01 AM
https://twitter.com/pmdfoster/status/1412714034902802434?s=21

Uk passport holders told not to apply for jobs working in resorts. This is going to be a real boost for Irish kids wanting to work in the sun during summer.

07-07-2021, 11:06 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210707/58632596b36478a89c928be47a9d3e1b.jpg

CloudSquall
07-07-2021, 11:27 AM
I remember working in the Netherlands for the 3rd year of my degree (and subsequently moving there for 4 years upon graduating), I took for granted just how easy it was to move at the time.

Stairway 2 7
07-07-2021, 11:40 AM

Disgusting

07-07-2021, 11:53 AM

Horrific that these opportunities have been taken away from our children. I spent a summer working in Europe while a student and it was one of the best experiences of my life.

07-07-2021, 01:56 PM
Problem solved. Stupid rules anyway. [emoji6]
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210707/1b1f640c7274c9dc38bc585d5e35d9a9.jpg

07-07-2021, 01:58 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSaying that something is being "ramped up" is the perfect solution for everything.

Stairway 2 7
07-07-2021, 02:02 PM

Can't beat shattered truck drivers

Bangkok Hibby
07-07-2021, 02:05 PM
Saying that something is being "ramped up" is the perfect solution for everything.

I despise that phrase...made fashionable by Torys, now used by all.

07-07-2021, 02:17 PM
I despise that phrase...made fashionable by Torys, now used by all.Its usage has rampe...increased recently.

You have to make the hand signal, moving your flattened hand up through 15 degrees, to really make it work though.

07-07-2021, 02:31 PM

Is it the off ramp or the on ramp?

07-07-2021, 02:42 PM

This won't end well....

https://news.stv.tv/west-central/courier-drove-28-hours-in-punishing-work-regime-before-crash?top

07-07-2021, 03:16 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI thought the Brexiteer supporting Tories had said there was no way working standards would be reduced with Brexit?

07-07-2021, 05:10 PM
I thought the Brexiteer supporting Tories had said there was no way working standards would be reduced with Brexit?

They'll do it gladly and insist the legislation is changed because someone is waving a flag somewhere.

07-07-2021, 05:13 PM
I thought the Brexiteer supporting Tories had said there was no way working standards would be reduced with Brexit?

Correct. Brexit gave us the freedom to crack on and improve our working standards, instead of being held back by Europeans. :faf:

07-07-2021, 06:11 PM

Yay! Overworked drivers with 40 ton loads! Brexit, Brexit, Brexit!

07-07-2021, 06:15 PM

They'll be happy British drivers though.

Will EU drivers, working for EU companies, still be bound by EU rules?

07-07-2021, 06:19 PM

I don’t think there are any, that’s what is causing the shortage.

07-07-2021, 06:41 PM

Not sure about them being happy. In the UK drivers are leaving the job in their droves, extending their working hours is only going to make more leave. Genius move by the government.

07-07-2021, 06:45 PM
Not sure about them being happy. In the UK drivers are leaving the job in their droves, extending their working hours is only going to make more leave. Genius move by the government.

They'll be as happy as the fish, farmers and everybody else.

07-07-2021, 07:51 PM
They'll be as happy as the fish, farmers and everybody else.

Sounds about right, another Brexit bonus.

Andy Bee
07-07-2021, 09:37 PM

Yup that's clever, increase the hours of the drivers they still have and watch them walk as well creating a bigger shortage

08-07-2021, 11:34 AM
https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/1459613/EU-news-boris-johnson-brexit-news-european-union-Bernard-Jenkin-eu-citizenship-latest-vn

"plot" :faf:

08-07-2021, 11:35 AM
Yay! Overworked drivers with 40 ton loads! Brexit, Brexit, Brexit!

It's part of the war on woke, apparently. :rolleyes:

08-07-2021, 09:02 PM
https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/1459613/EU-news-boris-johnson-brexit-news-european-union-Bernard-Jenkin-eu-citizenship-latest-vn

"plot" :faf:

People choosing to leave the UK for Europe. That’s Europe plotting to kidnap them? Mental headline.

08-07-2021, 09:10 PM
People choosing to leave the UK for Europe. That’s Europe plotting to kidnap them? Mental headline.

“But sir, you cancelled your membership”

“Yes, but don’t I still get use of the tennis courts?”

“No”

“The swimming pool?”

“No”

“The gym?”

“No”

“What about my wife and children? Don’t they get use of the facilities?”

“No”

08-07-2021, 10:13 PM
This will sting.

https://twitter.com/tconnellyRTE/status/1413187407147585538?s=19

47 billion.

08-07-2021, 10:16 PM
This will sting.

47 billion.

Not so sure. They are just printing money these days anyway.

08-07-2021, 10:34 PM
Not so sure. They are just printing money these days anyway.

Won't it be calculated in €?

08-07-2021, 10:43 PM
This will sting.

47 billion.

I take it that the Scottish media will be pressing the representatives of the UK government up here for confirmation that the bill should be paid without contest?

09-07-2021, 06:58 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210709/0c919e7d32a7220eb1444befba950400.jpg

Very convenient.

10-07-2021, 10:59 AM
Wonderful piece of skewering of Lord Frost on the Brexit negs and the Irish Protocol.

https://twitter.com/M_AndersonSF/status/1413525227280248832

10-07-2021, 11:45 AM
Wonderful piece of skewering of Lord Frost on the Brexit negs and the Irish Protocol.

https://twitter.com/M_AndersonSF/status/1413525227280248832A lack of mealy-mouth, empty rhetoric. Pretty refreshing.

10-07-2021, 12:40 PM
A lack of mealy-mouth, empty rhetoric. Pretty refreshing.

And it makes clear what everyone seems to be forgetting, that the protocol has support in NI.

19-07-2021, 08:59 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/jul/19/spanish-woman-in-uk-for-44-years-sacked-over-post-brexit-rules

19-07-2021, 11:22 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/jul/19/spanish-woman-in-uk-for-44-years-sacked-over-post-brexit-rules

It's a tragic situation and an absolute disgrace. Shameful treatment.

19-07-2021, 11:25 AM
It's a tragic situation and an absolute disgrace. Shameful treatment.

May, now a voice of reason within the Tory party :faf:, can take her Hostile Environment and shove it up her jacksie.

19-07-2021, 11:39 AM
May, now a voice of reason within the Tory party :faf:, can take her Hostile Environment and shove it up her jacksie.

This centrist rehabilitation of slightly-less-right-wing former leaders as pragmatic and reasonable commentators is nauseating. See May, Cameron, christ even George ****ing Bush.

19-07-2021, 01:57 PM

This centrist rehabilitation of slightly-less-right-wing former leaders as pragmatic and reasonable commentators is nauseating. See May, Cameron, christ even George ****ing Bush.

Just another step to the right completed with a good few still to come imo

20-07-2021, 02:56 PM
https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1236230/?__twitter_impression=true

21-07-2021, 12:04 PM
Looks like the UK govt just blinked first on NI protocol. Bottled it on triggering article 16.

21-07-2021, 12:51 PM
Looks like the UK govt just blinked first on NI protocol. Bottled it on triggering article 16.

But still demand a rewrite of the protocol they wrote and signed up to, and one that was part of Boris' "oven ready" agreement.

Surely we weren't misled...

21-07-2021, 06:39 PM
Shirley to prevent the planned theft, it could just be padlocked to the new bridge from Scotland? :confused:

https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/1465812/EU-Brexit-Northern-Ireland-UK-Britain-protocol-latest-trade-deal-vn

23-07-2021, 08:30 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/jul/23/northern-ireland-protocol-boris-johnson-oven-ready-deal-sausage?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true

27-07-2021, 12:36 AM
UK lorry drivers plan to strike over low pay and poor working conditions

proposing a 'stay at home day'

UK lorry drivers plan to strike over low pay and poor working conditions | Transport | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/jul/24/lorry-drivers-plan-to-strike-over-low-pay-and-poor-working-conditions?fbclid=IwAR2tKTexX-myUPTv3RbCzNsyjUNcyY1HBJQo4RuPiTKlUiq5Oyrw-eJMl-A)

i was reading elsewhere Tesco are bringing in Cauliflowers from Poland, no one to pick them in Cornwall and other areas :rolleyes:

27-07-2021, 06:52 AM
UK lorry drivers plan to strike over low pay and poor working conditions

proposing a 'stay at home day'

UK lorry drivers plan to strike over low pay and poor working conditions | Transport | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/jul/24/lorry-drivers-plan-to-strike-over-low-pay-and-poor-working-conditions?fbclid=IwAR2tKTexX-myUPTv3RbCzNsyjUNcyY1HBJQo4RuPiTKlUiq5Oyrw-eJMl-A)

i was reading elsewhere Tesco are bringing in Cauliflowers from Poland, no one to pick them in Cornwall and other areas :rolleyes:

UK truckers aren't the best organised bunch. I don't think any action will have either a serious detrimental effect to the economy or improve their conditions. A real shame because if they did stick together they have the potential to bring the country to its knees, but being overwhelmingly right of centre, most truckers would never contemplate joining a union.

27-07-2021, 07:05 AM
UK truckers aren't the best organised bunch. I don't think any action will have either a serious detrimental effect to the economy or improve their conditions. A real shame because if they did stick together they have the potential to bring the country to its knees, but being overwhelmingly right of centre, most truckers would never contemplate joining a union.

It’s clearly a Brexit problem. Blaming pings is super convenient for the cabal of gangster ****s running this country.

I was listening to a report about the driver shortage situation, when they interviewed someone from the trade association about how they wanted to encourage more women to the role, make it less machismo culture, etc. The whole report descended into a bit of a farce as they realised that the woman haulage driver they were interviewing as ‘human interest’ was actually a horse box driver, one of the few subsets of haulage drivers that have a lot of women doing the job, hence the whole section was a bit pointless :greengrin

Anyway, what struck me about the whole discussion was how Actually Paying The Drivers More Money To Attract Them To the Profession was never even discussed, by the interviewer or the interviewee. It’s like crap pay and crap conditions are a UK prerequisite for a happy and successful economy, ever since we destroyed the unions in the 1980s. (And 90s).The same thing is happening everywhere there is a skills shortage, in teaching? Oh get in some temps or teaching assistants and pay them less. Drivers? Oh, just get that boy on the zero hours contract to do it, call him self employed. It’s like the nice capitalist rules of supply and demand no longer apply when the already rich aren’t involved.

27-07-2021, 07:23 AM
It’s clearly a Brexit problem. Blaming pings is super convenient for the cabal of gangster ****s running this country.

I was listening to a report about the driver shortage situation, when they interviewed someone from the trade association about how they wanted to encourage more women to the role, make it less machismo culture, etc. The whole report descended into a bit of a farce as they realised that the woman haulage driver they were interviewing as ‘human interest’ was actually a horse box driver, one of the few subsets of haulage drivers that have a lot of women doing the job, hence the whole section was a bit pointless :greengrin

Anyway, what struck me about the whole discussion was how Actually Paying The Drivers More Money To Attract Them To the Profession was never even discussed, by the interviewer or the interviewee. It’s like crap pay and crap conditions are a UK prerequisite for a happy and successful economy, ever since we destroyed the unions in the 1980s. (And 90s).The same thing is happening everywhere there is a skills shortage, in teaching? Oh get in some temps or teaching assistants and pay them less. Drivers? Oh, just get that boy on the zero hours contract to do it, call him self employed. It’s like the nice capitalist rules of supply and demand no longer apply when the already rich aren’t involved.The 'pings' bit does make me laugh... the system's been in place from about September last year and now its not fit for purpose.... maybe something else has changed

Crunchie
27-07-2021, 07:28 AM

Anyway, what struck me about the whole discussion was how Actually Paying The Drivers More Money To Attract Them To the Profession was never even discussed, by the interviewer or the interviewee. It’s like crap pay and crap conditions are a UK prerequisite for a happy and successful economy, ever since we destroyed the unions in the 1980s. (And 90s).The same thing is happening everywhere there is a skills shortage, in teaching? Oh get in some temps or teaching assistants and pay them less. Drivers? Oh, just get that boy on the zero hours contract to do it, call him self employed. It’s like the nice capitalist rules of supply and demand no longer apply when the already rich aren’t involved.

If as you say the unions were destroyed in the 80s and 90s why didn't Prescott do anything about it when they had a huge majority in the HOC.

27-07-2021, 07:36 AM
If as you say the unions were destroyed in the 80s and 90s why didn't Prescott do anything about it when they had a huge majority in the HOC.

He should have done. Im not sure Prescott had much real power though, as deputy PM his main job seemed to be to open factories, ride on miniature steam trains or tanks for photo ops and generally make the working class North of England feel part of the party.

The UK has the most restrictive union laws in western europe. Successive govts are to blame for that.

Andy Bee
27-07-2021, 09:19 AM
Unite are also balloting their XPO members regards a strike next month, XPO deliver 40% of the countries beer amongst other things so I wonder if that may stir things up a bit. The 1.4% pay rise offered hasn't went down well.

https://www.unitetheunion.org/news-events/news/2021/july/beer-drought-on-cards-as-xpo-delivery-drivers-hold-strike-ballot-over-paltry-pay-offer/

27-07-2021, 09:25 AM

:top marks:

Having worked as a union rep for the same company under UK and then German contract, I've seen first hand the difference in terms and conditions available for employees. In Germany it's understood that unions are merely a means of bridging the gap in power between employer and employee. The system here works because of the works council laws. A German company can't fart without getting the blessing to do so from the works council and the works council needs to be informed about any changes to anything in the planning stage of these changes. Those elected to the works council have special protection and basically can only be fired for murder, they also work on eye level with the management board and are entitled to the same perks, if management get provided with a Ferrari as company car, then so do the works council. For a British company navigating its way through German labour laws it's hard to accept but it actually works really well and ensures the people that work in a company actually have a voice in what happens and employee exploitation is rare as bad practices are nipped in the bud rather than corrected retrospectively. This balance is missing in the UK IMO and all the aces lie with the employer.

27-07-2021, 09:31 AM

Having worked as a union rep for the same company under UK and then German contract, I've seen first hand the difference in terms and conditions available for employees. In Germany it's understood that unions are merely a means of bridging the gap in power between employer and employee. The system here works because of the works council laws. A German company can't fart without getting the blessing to do so from the works council and the works council needs to be informed about any changes to anything in the planning stage of these changes. Those elected to the works council have special protection and basically can only be fired for murder, they also work on eye level with the management board and are entitled to the same perks, if management get provided with a Ferrari as company car, then so do the works council. For a British company navigating its way through German labour laws it's hard to accept but it actually works really well and ensures the people that work in a company actually have a voice in what happens and employee exploitation is rare as bad practices are nipped in the bud rather than corrected retrospectively. This balance is missing in the UK IMO and all the aces lie with the employer.

That’s interesting. And from a UK/US perspective it looks like crazy radicalism.

27-07-2021, 11:27 AM

We tried to get our company to look at this method of working together, and to introduce works councils all over the UK. They declined, and introduced quality circles which were formalised in Japan as a way to get productivity up. They were quite happy to have the workforce look at how to improve the production lines, but not so much improvements in the Bothies or work wear. That changed a bit when the participation fell away after the first few months, and when people saw how much work had to be put into the Kiazen charts.

27-07-2021, 05:01 PM
We tried to get our company to look at this method of working together, and to introduce works councils all over the UK. They declined, and introduced quality circles which were formalised in Japan as a way to get productivity up. They were quite happy to have the workforce look at how to improve the production lines, but not so much improvements in the Bothies or work wear. That changed a bit when the participation fell away after the first few months, and when people saw how much work had to be put into the Kiazen charts.

We had a similar situation pre German contracts. The company asked for volunteers to join a works team that would have the right to consultation on company matters but not co-determination. As expected it just turned into a way for the company to get the volunteers to do their dirty work for them.

27-07-2021, 10:54 PM
I got asked this question tonight by a Danish neighbour, what tangible or measurable improvement to everyday life has Brexit brought to the UK? I couldn't think of any. Maybe a Brexit voting member could help me answer this question, just one will do.

28-07-2021, 08:08 AM
I got asked this question tonight by a Danish neighbour, what tangible or measurable improvement to everyday life has Brexit brought to the UK? I couldn't think of any. Maybe a Brexit voting member could help me answer this question, just one will do.

Don't hold your breath

28-07-2021, 08:09 AM

Support for independence is up?

Crunchie
28-07-2021, 08:10 AM

99% of the population will have seen no tangible difference either way and I very much doubt anyone thought there would be in such a short period of time. Ask me in a years time and I'll let you know. It's all about the feel good factor atm for me knowing I was on the winning team, a bit like winning at Tynecastle :greengrin

28-07-2021, 08:13 AM
99% of the population will have seen no tangible difference either way and I very much doubt anyone thought there would be in such a short period of time. Ask me in a years time and I'll let you know. It's all about the feel good factor atm for me knowing I was on the winning team, a bit like winning at Tynecastle :greengrin

A bit like winning at Tynecastle in a season you get relegated?

Crunchie
28-07-2021, 08:16 AM
A bit like winning at Tynecastle in a season you get relegated?

These Great British Isles face a great future together while the EU block will crumble like a pack of cards, that's my honest opinion. Time will tell who is right :aok:

28-07-2021, 08:27 AM

So that's a no then.

28-07-2021, 08:32 AM
Don't hold your breath

You'd think there would be at least 1 thing 6 years after the vote to leave.

28-07-2021, 08:32 AM
Support for independence is up?

Think you need to read the question again Oz :greengrin

28-07-2021, 08:35 AM
These Great British Isles face a great future together while the EU block will crumble like a pack of cards, that's my honest opinion. Time will tell who is right :aok:

So the thought of the EU crashing (it won't) is what lights up your day? That's incredibly sad.

28-07-2021, 08:35 AM

Blue (black?) passports. What do I win?

28-07-2021, 08:36 AM
I got asked this question tonight by a Danish neighbour, what tangible or measurable improvement to everyday life has Brexit brought to the UK? I couldn't think of any. Maybe a Brexit voting member could help me answer this question, just one will do.It'll take 50 years, according to Jabob Rees-Taxdodge, before us ordinary people feel the benefits of Brexit.

Crunchie
28-07-2021, 08:37 AM
So that's a no then.
Does my inner happiness count?

28-07-2021, 08:38 AM
Does my inner happiness count?

Is it tangible or measurable?

28-07-2021, 08:41 AM
Blue (black?) passports. What do I win?

Nowt, the new passports are inferior to the previous ones. Go stand in the corner.

Crunchie
28-07-2021, 08:42 AM
So the thought of the EU crashing (it won't) is what lights up your day? That's incredibly sad.

That's quite funny coming from you :faf:. Like the majority of British people I wish the best for this country, you on the other hand you hope it all goes tits up, now that's sad .

Your forefathers would be so proud of you :aok:

28-07-2021, 08:44 AM
That's quite funny coming from you :faf:. Like the majority of British people I wish the best for this country, you on the other hand you hope it all goes tits up, now that's sad .

Your forefathers would be so proud of you :aok:

Nope, try again. I'm pretty sure it's going tits up, that's not the same as wishing it to.

28-07-2021, 08:46 AM

Funnily enough a French girl at my work asked similar the other day.

We all ended up in a wide ranging conversation about it.....

Covid Vaccine - the UK went alone - We did that while part of the EU under existing EU rules, other countries have since done similar (Poland etc)

Own Food standards - we can do our own thing... reality is that as long as we don't go for poorer standards it makes no difference, Northern Ireland is a great example, currently our standards align to the EU's so we can move food across the border with no issues, IF we decide to reduce standards we will have a problem. Our Government is on a point of principle, rejecting the agreement to continue as now until some time in future when standards might diverge.

Immigration - we already had some control over permanent immigration from the EU, we just never used it, that said almost our whole issue with immigration lies outside the EU and nothing has changed in that respect, it's arguably worse as the information sharing process with mainland Europe is now more convoluted since the UK authorities lost a lot of direct access to information systems.

Trading Agreements - we can make our own on better terms - every single agreement made to date is either on the same terms as the EU or resulting in us having to give concessions which undermines our own industries

New Export Opportunities - Well. as our fish processors have found out, it's now so hard and time consuming to ship live shellfish etc to France/Spain they can do it easier and more cheaply to a hotel in Taiwan (as an example!). So THAT's a positive :rolleyes:

We won't be part of a EU defence force - True, but there wasn't one on the cards in the way people were trying to say and before we had a veto anyway, now we don't have a voice.

Turkey Joining the EU - wont impact us - They were miles away from joining, and of course our veto etc etc....

There's bound to be something tangible that is actually positive just no one's ever told me!

28-07-2021, 08:47 AM

:faf: Humour on a grey morning. :top marks

Crunchie
28-07-2021, 08:52 AM
Nope, try again. I'm pretty sure it's going tits up, that's not the same as wishing it to.
I said it was my opinion about the EU but you managed to twist my words, show me where I said I wished anything. Whilst you're searching I'm off to enjoy the great British weather :aok:

28-07-2021, 08:53 AM

Not done the calculation to know exactly how many bottles I'd have to drink to get the full benefit, but apparently I'm £130 million better off if I drink wine (https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E7NE4QBXIAMrUBT?format=jpg&name=900x900).

28-07-2021, 09:34 AM
I said it was my opinion about the EU but you managed to twist my words, show me where I said I wished anything. Whilst you're searching I'm off to enjoy the great British weather :aok:

Eh, you're the one who said I hoped the UK would fail. I think you might be onto something with the weather though, it does seem to have improved after Brexit.

28-07-2021, 09:36 AM
Eh, you're the one who said I hoped the UK would fail. I think you might be onto something with the weather though, it does seem to have improved after Brexit.

THAT'S Climate change, not Brexit! :rules:

28-07-2021, 09:37 AM
Not done the calculation to know exactly how many bottles I'd have to drink to get the full benefit, but apparently I'm £130 million better off if I drink wine (https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E7NE4QBXIAMrUBT?format=jpg&name=900x900).

So more money saved by reducing quality standards. Tim Martin will be pleased. :wink:

28-07-2021, 09:47 AM

There is absolutely no way that 99% will have seen no difference. I’ve had issues with a number of things, both work related and personally. I can’t believe that I’m the only one.
Work wise I’ve had difficulty buying equipment, and prices have risen for a lot of the items I buy.
Personally I’ve found that some items I’ve bought (mostly motorbike parts) have been subjected to delays and additional import taxes.

28-07-2021, 10:09 AM
I got asked this question tonight by a Danish neighbour, what tangible or measurable improvement to everyday life has Brexit brought to the UK? I couldn't think of any. Maybe a Brexit voting member could help me answer this question, just one will do.Fat, elderly, bald headed blokes usually called Baz, Trev or Nige who wear badly fitting england tops get to fly union Jack's out their window?

Some of them are even the right way up

28-07-2021, 10:10 AM
Blue (black?) passports. What do I win?A great British haggis

28-07-2021, 12:11 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210728/d16c259ef96b9ae231a4a8dcbb4d1b9e.jpg

Lendo
28-07-2021, 12:29 PM

28-07-2021, 12:32 PM

Ah the shelves of sovereignty. 😂

28-07-2021, 12:40 PM
Ah the shelves of sovereignty. 😂

I can see a turnip

28-07-2021, 01:37 PM
I can see a turnipWho picked it? Or is it one of those nasty foreign ones we shouldn't be getting post Brexit.

Coming over here and being our root vegetables, it's a disgrace.

28-07-2021, 03:22 PM
You'd think there would be at least 1 thing 6 years after the vote to leave.

Less money laundering in the City Of London?

28-07-2021, 03:37 PM
I can see a turnip

Get it wrapped in an apron. :greengrin

28-07-2021, 03:39 PM

[emoji23]Good one.

28-07-2021, 03:52 PM
I can see a turnip

Bet its a swede. ****ing foreign vegetables, coming over here taking our good old British vegetables positions on our supermarket shelves............

28-07-2021, 04:15 PM

Or more? Without the pesky EU scrutinising markets within its jurisdiction, this Tory government will have free hand to fill their boots with whatever from wherever they want.

28-07-2021, 04:53 PM

That comment doesn’t justify a smilie. Gives me the boak.

28-07-2021, 05:18 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210728/049e73c48d4d3b19ec85fb2818e92ad7.jpg

28-07-2021, 05:40 PM

A lot of that will be blamed on the pandemic. Would be good to see figures for the same products from May or June - if available.

COVID has overshadowed a lot of the negative impacts of Brexit. They won't be able to hide behind the mask for much longer though.

And I hope folks like our friend Crunchie can still feel proud as he cheers from the rooftops, Union flag in hand.

28-07-2021, 05:53 PM
That comment doesn’t justify a smilie. Gives me the boak.

I find it hard to believe anyone with even a semblance of intelligence or common sense can still think that Brexit was a good idea.

28-07-2021, 06:04 PM

:agree::agree:

https://youtu.be/BKzQZlVfc-k

28-07-2021, 06:38 PM

Look at those salmon numbers. The French/Spanish (who also go mad for our langoustines, or should i say used to)/Italians probably getting it from the Norwegians now and that wont change. Once these purchasing habits get formed they'll stay that way.

28-07-2021, 07:11 PM
Or more? Without the pesky EU scrutinising markets within its jurisdiction, this Tory government will have free hand to fill their boots with whatever from wherever they want.

Maybe more as a percentage of turnover but has to be less in total with the amount of money that's moved out.

James310
28-07-2021, 07:12 PM
A lot of that will be blamed on the pandemic. Would be good to see figures for the same products from May or June - if available.

https://thefishsite.com/articles/scots-salmon-producers-report-record-exports-to-europe-despite-brexit

28-07-2021, 07:22 PM
I find it hard to believe anyone with even a semblance of intelligence or common sense can still think that Brexit was a good idea.

I've still to hear from one. :wink:

28-07-2021, 07:57 PM
https://thefishsite.com/articles/scots-salmon-producers-report-record-exports-to-europe-despite-brexit

You're cherry picking data/info again I see..... from that same site in a report just 4 days later...

“New Brexit-related changes to exports are beyond belief and have resulted in the cessation of our business. The UK government failed to negotiate provision for us to continue exports post-Brexit, and currently we have been unable to get the relevant UK agencies together to make the fundamental changes needed to reinstate our business. It seems that sadly, they may be prepared see us go out of business rather than tackle uncomfortable anomalies and nonsenses in the current system they impose,” she concluded."

https://thefishsite.com/articles/british-shellfish-farmers-crippled-by-legislative-anomalies-and-nonsenses-mussel-aquaculture-post-brexit

James310
28-07-2021, 08:02 PM
You're cherry picking data/info again I see..... from that same site in a report just 4 days later...

“New Brexit-related changes to exports are beyond belief and have resulted in the cessation of our business. The UK government failed to negotiate provision for us to continue exports post-Brexit, and currently we have been unable to get the relevant UK agencies together to make the fundamental changes needed to reinstate our business. It seems that sadly, they may be prepared see us go out of business rather than tackle uncomfortable anomalies and nonsenses in the current system they impose,” she concluded."

https://thefishsite.com/articles/british-shellfish-farmers-crippled-by-legislative-anomalies-and-nonsenses-mussel-aquaculture-post-brexit

Is Salmon a shellfish?

A question was asked about Salmon and volumes since January 2021. I just answered the question.

Figures compiled by the Scottish Salmon Producers Organisation (SSPO) from information supplied by all of Scotland’s salmon producers, reveal that 19,410 tonnes of Scottish salmon, were exported to the EU in Q1 - 74 percent more than the 11,150 tonnes delivered during the same period in 2020.

28-07-2021, 08:18 PM
Is Salmon a shellfish?

A question was asked about Salmon and volumes since January 2021. I just answered the question.

Figures compiled by the Scottish Salmon Producers Organisation (SSPO) from information supplied by all of Scotland’s salmon producers, reveal that 19,410 tonnes of Scottish salmon, were exported to the EU in Q1 - 74 percent more than the 11,150 tonnes delivered during the same period in 2020.

How does this year compare to 2019 BC?

Before Covid.

28-07-2021, 08:21 PM
Is Salmon a shellfish?

Fair point, ............. he does also mention Langoustines though :wink:

And when I first posted about it, it was "the fishing industry"

James310
28-07-2021, 08:32 PM
How does this year compare to 2019 BC?

Before Covid.

No idea, but as the article states it was a "record amount". I am sure the answer is out there though.

I am guessing the numbers might be hit again though.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/salmon-farmers-warn-against-snp-green-deal-3293576

"Meanwhile Anne Anderson of Scottish Sea Farms, said in a BBC interview, that the Greens’ desire to shut open pen farms would have “a catastrophic effect on the Scottish salmon farming.”

She added it would have a “devastating conclusion and impact on people.”

I have not heard anything more about this SNP/Green deal so maybe it comes to nothing.

Crunchie
29-07-2021, 05:28 AM

COVID has overshadowed a lot of the negative impacts of Brexit. They won't be able to hide behind the mask for much longer though.

And I hope folks like our friend Crunchie can still feel proud as he cheers from the rooftops, Union flag in hand.

I don’t. have a Union Jack but I’d sure as hell fly it over the EU flag.

29-07-2021, 07:04 AM
I don’t. have a Union Jack but I’d sure as hell fly it over the EU flag.

Are you the business editor of the guardian? No mention of Brexit at all in this economic picture. Just weird.

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2021/jul/29/cautious-optimism-over-covid-as-inflation-hits-three-year-high

29-07-2021, 08:18 AM

Empty supermarket shelves, like the soviet era Moscow?

Fruit and vegetables rotting in fields because there is nobody to pick them?

Lack of hgv drivers because they have all taken the advice of brexiters and gone home?

29-07-2021, 08:20 AM

How long are you willing to wait before being proved wrong?

29-07-2021, 09:06 AM
How long are you willing to wait before being proved wrong?

In general, those who believe that the EU is teetering on the brink of collapse won't change that view until it does collapse. In other words they won't change their view.

29-07-2021, 09:07 AM
No idea, but as the article states it was a "record amount". I am sure the answer is out there though.

I am guessing the numbers might be hit again though.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/salmon-farmers-warn-against-snp-green-deal-3293576

"Meanwhile Anne Anderson of Scottish Sea Farms, said in a BBC interview, that the Greens’ desire to shut open pen farms would have “a catastrophic effect on the Scottish salmon farming.”

She added it would have a “devastating conclusion and impact on people.”

I have not heard anything more about this SNP/Green deal so maybe it comes to nothing.

If we’re to have our industries suffer catastrophic damage, I’d probably accept it more if it was balanced with an improvement in animal welfare and health of the planet than appeasing the deluded nationalistic hubris of little Englanders struggling to cope with the demise of their nation’s former empire.

Crunchie
29-07-2021, 10:29 AM

Lack of hgv drivers because they have all taken the advice of brexiters and gone home?
More hyperbole from the SNP following. I don't know if you lot are at the wind up but I'm in supermarkets too and I've not seen any empty shelves.

I'll refrain from posting on the subject again so you can enjoy your fantasy in peace.

29-07-2021, 10:34 AM
More hyperbole from the SNP following. I don't know if you lot are at the wind up but I'm in supermarkets too and I've not seen any empty shelves.

I'll refrain from posting on the subject again so you can enjoy your fantasy in peace.

Maybe this will be one committment a Brexiteer can actually stick to. We shall see.

29-07-2021, 10:37 AM

Maybe you're just lucky that the shelves have been filled for you. I'm in numerous supermarkets every day and they're all suffering from late deliveries and stock availability. Tesco have increased HGV drivers wages and are now offering a signing on bonus.

29-07-2021, 10:38 AM

You’ll be missed. Enjoy those turnips :aok:

29-07-2021, 10:42 AM

Not an snp member, or even first choice on the ballot papers, but feel free to spout tory lies.

The first 2 example are first hand eye witness accounts.

The papers on Sunday had articles about the shortage of various goods, one even had a photo of the loo paper aisle in my local co-op in pitlochry, 5 days it was empty last week.

Andy Bee
29-07-2021, 10:45 AM

"hyperbole" yup, that's why Tesco are offereing drivers £1000 signing on bonus if you start, Gist are offering £2000 with a further £3000 for attendance and Lidl are paying £30 an hour for certain areas, all are offering large pay rises. They're obviously only offering these amounts due to their sense of moral obligation.

29-07-2021, 11:31 AM
https://www.cnn.com/2021/07/28/business/lugano-convention-uk-europe-dispute-intl-cmd/index.html

29-07-2021, 11:32 AM
"hyperbole" yup, that's why Tesco are offereing drivers £1000 signing on bonus if you start, Gist are offering £2000 with a further £3000 for attendance and Lidl are paying £30 an hour for certain areas, all are offering large pay rises. They're obviously only offering these amounts due to their sense of moral obligation.
At last a positive for Brexit. Lorry Drivers will get massive inflation busting pay rises while the rest of of have to hope something is on a shelf and we can afford it when we see it

29-07-2021, 09:10 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-58018850.amp

A unionist in favour of the Irish Sea border? I can’t keep up.

31-07-2021, 12:13 PM

You can add in the huge shortage of staff in the hospitality sector. Even the mouthpiece Tim Martin was looking for a bending of the rules to allow him to staff his boozers.

31-07-2021, 12:59 PM
You can add in the huge shortage of staff in the hospitality sector. Even the mouthpiece Tim Martin was looking for a bending of the rules to allow him to staff his boozers.

That can't be right, the tories, right wing press, brexiters and our very own Crunchie tells us that everything is rosy in the UK outside of the European Union.

31-07-2021, 02:31 PM
You can add in the huge shortage of staff in the hospitality sector. Even the mouthpiece Tim Martin was looking for a bending of the rules to allow him to staff his boozers.You can make his life easier by helping reduce demand here

https://neverspoons.app/

He did tell his staff to go find jobs at Tesco after all, and now he's wondering why they're maybe not an employer of choice.

31-07-2021, 04:05 PM
Princess nut nut pregnant again........building up future maintenance income :agree:

31-07-2021, 05:14 PM
The small tourist town I live near has 400, that's FOUR HUNDRED, hospitality vacancies right now!!!!

Lendo
31-07-2021, 06:07 PM
Princess nut nut pregnant again........building up future maintenance income :agree:

It’s clear he can’t afford the child he has already!

04-08-2021, 05:29 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/230141386_2639966772965260_8632594145547184012_n.j pg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=f4On_I_d6OEAX93zvdk&tn=5m7pnQZ1SlTC4D2w&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=48ab618d225e6c8526b8918859e7c891&oe=613167B8

thank god the NHS are getting an extra £350m/week though, pheeewww

oh and we also have blue passports...................and all those appealing empty shelves in our supermarkets

and trade deals with two countries the other side of our planet

04-08-2021, 05:41 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/230141386_2639966772965260_8632594145547184012_n.j pg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=f4On_I_d6OEAX93zvdk&tn=5m7pnQZ1SlTC4D2w&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=48ab618d225e6c8526b8918859e7c891&oe=613167B8

oh and we also have blue passports...................and all those appealing empty shelves in our supermarkets

and trade deals with two countries the other side of our planetAt this rate we will be able to afford 2 royal yachts, one for each of princess nut nuts children and Bozo will probably get his garden bridge after all.

Trebles all round.

Lendo
04-08-2021, 06:04 PM

and trade deals with two countries the other side of our planet

“but but but we knew what we were voting for. You can’t put a price on freedom and controlling your own borders…..” or some ***** along those lines.

04-08-2021, 06:25 PM

Time to put a Bullingdon Old Boy in charge of the BoE, stop all this lefty activist propaganda oozing out of it.

06-08-2021, 11:30 PM
At this rate we will be able to afford 2 royal yachts, one for each of princess nut nuts children and Bozo will probably get his garden bridge after all.

Trebles all round.

i read he's Acquired a 2nd brand new £75m "Brexit Jet" :rolleyes:

“but but but we knew what we were voting for. You can’t put a price on freedom and controlling your own borders…..” or some ***** along those lines.

but but but think of the NHS privatisation we have coming, the english voter will maybe come out of their slumber after they get a bill for that Hospital/GP appointment....

Time to put a Bullingdon Old Boy in charge of the BoE, stop all this lefty activist propaganda oozing out of it.

A former Bullingdon Club member and university friend of Boris Johnson (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/boris-johnson) has been appointed to Whitehall’s independent sleaze watchdog, the Guardian can disclose.

Ex-Bullingdon Club member appointed to Whitehall’s sleaze watchdog | Boris Johnson | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jul/15/ex-bullingdon-club-member-appointed-to-whitehalls-sleaze-watchdog)

Sleaze watchdog lol

06-08-2021, 11:34 PM
Sainsburys finally drop advertising on that right wing Britnat news outlet

Sainsbury’s ends advertising campaign with GB News following backlash over Nigel Farage | indy100 (https://www.indy100.com/news/sainsburys-nigel-farage-gb-news-b1898109)

i doubt Kelloggs will but maybe Halfords/Compare the market may follow suit.

07-08-2021, 07:31 AM
Sainsburys finally drop advertising on that right wing Britnat news outlet

Sainsbury’s ends advertising campaign with GB News following backlash over Nigel Farage | indy100 (https://www.indy100.com/news/sainsburys-nigel-farage-gb-news-b1898109)

i doubt Kelloggs will but maybe Halfords/Compare the market may follow suit.The list of businesses to boycott continues to grow[emoji16]

07-08-2021, 07:33 AM

but but but think of the NHS privatisation we have coming, the english voter will maybe come out of their slumber after they get a bill for that Hospital/GP appointment....

A former Bullingdon Club member and university friend of Boris Johnson (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/boris-johnson) has been appointed to Whitehall’s independent sleaze watchdog, the Guardian can disclose.

Ex-Bullingdon Club member appointed to Whitehall’s sleaze watchdog | Boris Johnson | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jul/15/ex-bullingdon-club-member-appointed-to-whitehalls-sleaze-watchdog)

Sleaze watchdog lolA second jet is probably seen to be in keeping with the type of monarchy he is building and a necessary reminder to the prols to do as I say and not as I do on the environment.

07-08-2021, 08:23 AM

Sleaze watchdog lol

NHS privatisation will happen by stealth I would think. They won’t outright charge for it but they will make the service so terrible that people will opt to go private themselves. As they do so, the govt will start cutting funding because less people will be using it.
And in Scotland we will have to follow them. Our funding for our NHS is tied to England’s. If they are cutting back then we will have to as well whether we like it or not.

09-08-2021, 11:23 AM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/vodafone-reintroduces-eu-roaming-charges?top&amp&__twitter_impression=true

09-08-2021, 11:26 AM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/vodafone-reintroduces-eu-roaming-charges?top&amp&__twitter_impression=true

Was always going to happen, I don't exactly blame the companies either, of course they are going to try and make as much money as possible

09-08-2021, 11:34 AM
Was always going to happen, I don't exactly blame the companies either, of course they are going to try and make as much money as possibleI thought we were told it wouldnt change though?

09-08-2021, 11:36 AM
I thought we were told it wouldnt change though?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkWhich will be why its changing. Just take the opposite of what was said pre-Brexit and that'll be how it goes.

09-08-2021, 11:42 AM
I thought we were told it wouldnt change though?

Wouldn't believe a word out of anyone, if a company can make money then they will, always a reason to be found

09-08-2021, 11:50 AM
Was always going to happen, I don't exactly blame the companies either, of course they are going to try and make as much money as possible

I wonder how long it will take until the likes of the Express and Mail blame the EU?

09-08-2021, 12:02 PM
I wonder how long it will take until the likes of the Express and Mail blame the EU?They will have a template of an article/headline oven ready.

09-08-2021, 12:59 PM
Wouldn't believe a word out of anyone, if a company can make money then they will, always a reason to be foundIt's a bit of both, a wee bit more of an admin overhead in managing offshore connections and the comms companies charge each other interconnect fees on top.
So they do have higher costs but will definitely not miss a trick if they can offset those costs to help their profits!

09-08-2021, 01:13 PM
They will have a template of an article/headline oven ready.

The Express are blaming Brexit and the thousands of EU drivers who have returned home. Truck drivers are outraged that the Hauliers lobby are pressuring the government to let EU drivers return rather than offer drivers better conditions to stay in the job.

It looks like the gammons are coming home to roost, to misquote Chaucer.

09-08-2021, 08:11 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/brexit-costing-scotch-whisky-industry-24718318.amp?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar&__twitter_impression=true

One of Scotland’s biggest exports being badly hit.

09-08-2021, 09:08 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/brexit-costing-scotch-whisky-industry-24718318.amp?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar&__twitter_impression=true

One of Scotland’s biggest exports being badly hit.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk5million quid down on whiskey exports alone?

They won, get over it.

12-08-2021, 09:36 AM
5million quid down on whiskey exports alone?

They won, get over it.

Per week.

12-08-2021, 10:12 AM
🎵 no e in whisky, oh there is no e in whisky, no e in whisky, there is no e in whisky🎵

Maybe one for the pet peeves thread.

But having worked in the whisky industry for 36 years the brexit fiasco is a total **** show when one of our biggest exports is hit like this.

12-08-2021, 10:17 AM
Per week.

Aye but Union jacks are better than the EU flag.. and something about Brussels.

12-08-2021, 10:29 AM
🎵 no e in whisky, oh there is no e in whisky, no e in whisky, there is no e in whisky🎵

Maybe one for the pet peeves thread.

But having worked in the whisky industry for 36 years the brexit fiasco is a total **** show when one of our biggest exports is hit like this.

I'm trying to make up for it 😉

12-08-2021, 10:32 AM
I was buying cherry tomatoes in the co-op on Tuesday, a choice of grown in the UK (Kent) emblazoned with the union flag or Morocco.

Morocco won.

12-08-2021, 10:35 AM
[emoji444] no e in whisky, oh there is no e in whisky, no e in whisky, there is no e in whisky[emoji444]

I did try it once, I think.

12-08-2021, 11:26 AM

:tsk tsk:

12-08-2021, 11:45 AM
Aye but Union jacks are better than the EU flag.. and something about Brussels.Even more impressive sight when Patriots learn to fly them the right way round, or maybe there are some brexiters who are in genuine distress that they can't get their jellied eels from Belgium as quickly and cheaply as before?

beensaidbefore
12-08-2021, 12:33 PM

13-08-2021, 10:25 AM
I’ve just seen a convoy of army trucks moving Tesco food up the A1. With my own eyes. But food shortages are just protect fear, apparently :blah:

13-08-2021, 10:46 AM
I’ve just seen a convoy of army trucks moving Tesco food up the A1. With my own eyes. But food shortages are just protect fear, apparently :blah:

the army can't march on an empty stomach!

Andy Bee
13-08-2021, 01:50 PM

Neither wonder when Tesco are only offering shifts on a 5/7 basis, ask for Mon to Fri and they hang the phone up. It aint rocket science, more decent overnight parking and service areas, a decent wage and hours that allow a decent work/life balance. It's estimated that there's around 60-70k unused HGV licences in the UK so make the job attractive and drivers will return to the trade.

https://www.lancs.live/news/uk-world-news/tesco-asda-morrisons-sainsburys-army-21266021

13-08-2021, 02:53 PM
Neither wonder when Tesco are only offering shifts on a 5/7 basis, ask for Mon to Fri and they hang the phone up. It aint rocket science, more decent overnight parking and service areas, a decent wage and hours that allow a decent work/life balance. It's estimated that there's around 60-70k unused HGV licences in the UK so make the job attractive and drivers will return to the trade.

https://www.lancs.live/news/uk-world-news/tesco-asda-morrisons-sainsburys-army-21266021

And if every single one of them return, we are still 30-40k drivers short.

Also, increase in wages = increase to prices and I can’t remember one Brexit charlatan promising price hikes before the vote.

Andy Bee
13-08-2021, 03:42 PM
And if every single one of them return, we are still 30-40k drivers short.

Also, increase in wages = increase to prices and I can’t remember one Brexit charlatan promising price hikes before the vote.

If every single one of them returned it would be because the conditions have improved which in turn would also entice new drivers, at the moment why would young people want to spend the best part of £4 - £5k on a license which allows them to earn what has fell to near minimum wage levels?

As for price increases, an HGV carries 26 pallets on a normal 45ft trailer, more on a double decker, so just assuming a driver only moves 1 trailer a day he's moved 26t of product, so for instance let's say it's baked beans, how much do you think a drivers wage increase on that day is going to affect the price of 26t of baked beans per can? Don't fall for the hype, wage increases are not going to affect prices on the shelves or at least they shouldn't.

13-08-2021, 03:47 PM
If every single one of them returned it would be because the conditions have improved which in turn would also entice new drivers, at the moment why would young people want to spend the best part of £4 - £5k on a license which allows them to earn what has fell to near minimum wage levels?

As for price increases, an HGV carries 26 pallets on a normal 45ft trailer, more on a double decker, so just assuming a driver only moves 1 trailer a day he's moved 26t of product, so for instance let's say it's baked beans, how much do you think a drivers wage increase on that day is going to affect the price of 26t of baked beans per can? Don't fall for the hype, wage increases are not going to affect prices on the shelves or at least they shouldn't.

Any increase in cost will increase prices. However, wages in this country are far too low and need to rise. Constantly depressed wages is why brexit happened in the first place.

17-08-2021, 02:55 PM
https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/whats-on/food-drink-news/nandos-forced-shut-15-uk-21331346.amp?__twitter_impression=true

Nando’s running out of supplies.

17-08-2021, 05:47 PM
Weatherspoons in Musselburgh just turfed everyone out at 5.30. Wouldnt give a reason but said they'd be shut for a couple of days.

He said it wasn't covid related though.

Edit...This was actually a Norovirus outbreak, and required the pub to be deep cleaned.

17-08-2021, 11:50 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210817/d906cb2595f54d0a9ee2c1983293d5f7.jpg

Andy Bee
18-08-2021, 01:25 AM

Level up (https://hammeraddict.com/can-a-level-go-bad/)

19-08-2021, 07:25 AM

This is the hard reality of Brexit. The UK as a nation paid membership funds to the EU who in turn redistributed some of that money back to different regions within the EU including the devolved nations of the UK. Now that the UK no longer pays that membership fee to the EU you would think that Westminster would have more money to give to these regions but are now only giving a tiny fraction of it back and boasting about how generous they are. It's utterly bizarre.

19-08-2021, 07:34 AM
This is the hard reality of Brexit. The UK as a nation paid membership funds to the EU who in turn redistributed some of that money back to different regions within the EU including the devolved nations of the UK. Now that the UK no longer pays that membership fee to the EU you would think that Westminster would have more money to give to these regions but are now only giving a tiny fraction of it back and boasting about how generous they are. It's utterly bizarre.Bozo and the gang have switched from the nasty EU method of regional allocation that helps everyone in the region to a type of class or club based system.

Without any real scrutiny funds are targeted to the right sorts and when the method of blagging the cash leaks out just brass it out and talk about Johnny Foreigner and vaccine programs.

The Matt Hancock Give Tax Payers Millions to your Pal the Pub Landlord scheme is but one example of our new, and seemingly approved, method of wealth distribution.

19-08-2021, 11:07 AM
What do the people want though, £375M of corrupt money filtered through the near collapsing EU or £10M stout, proudly British pounds kindly donated by our diversity loving Govt?

19-08-2021, 11:08 AM
What do the people want though, £375M of corrupt money filtered through the near collapsing EU or £10M stout, proudly British pounds kindly donated by our diversity loving Govt?

Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkGuess quite a few of them are getting what they voted for so all good.

23-08-2021, 07:42 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210823/17b666dbc83a2db1e9ed95d589f4a31e.jpg

Looks like we are taking trade very seriously.[emoji849] Is this really the best Scotland can do?

23-08-2021, 09:21 AM

Looks like we are taking trade very seriously.[emoji849] Is this really the best Scotland can do?

Yep, he seems fully qualified for that job right enough.

Going by his previous cricket commentaries he'll use his trips to Oz to play golf and scoop as much wine as possible. This time, at the tax payers expense.

23-08-2021, 09:49 AM

He's in good company. Mundell is on his way to New Zealand, and Kate Hoey is off to Ghana

Global Britain looks a rather shallow catch phrase these days.