View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52

05-08-2017, 09:12 AM
The Korean company supplying the seats is called Hanyoo and it's folding chairs that they've ordered.

I kid you not, each seat will have their design logo on it.....

HFC

Do a Google Image search for Hanyoo Folding Chairs if you don't believe me.

05-08-2017, 09:13 AM
Looking forward to the 9th sept when it will all be ready apart from the seats according to budge

Somebody really has to post a photo of the new Stand taken on 9th September, so we can judge whether every really is ready (except the seats).

I've got a funny feeling that there's gonna be no actual seating deck either, as per GG's prediction.

05-08-2017, 09:23 AM
Certainly it was the composite steel seating deck I was told was the problem back in June.

Also, it was Korea , not China that the Hardie's guy had been to, to speed up the shipment.

Half truths and spin is the usual from Gorgie.

Yeah I thought it was the lightweight decking they were waiting for ?

Maybe both ? Surely some decking would have been installed by now if they had it? Don't think it's been delivered to PBS yet either.

Hopefully more rainy days and delays as would love to see what they do if it doesn't arrive soon.

05-08-2017, 09:27 AM
We've got 4 stands
Super big 4 stands
I don't think the yams understand
They are all complete
We've even got the seats
We've got super big 4 stands

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

05-08-2017, 09:28 AM
The Korean company supplying the seats is called Hanyoo and it's folding chairs that they've ordered.

HFC

I see you can buy them on Alibaba. Anne must have forgotten to click on the check out button.

05-08-2017, 09:31 AM
I see you can buy them on Alibaba. Anne must have forgotten click on the check out button.

Wouldn't it be funny if she'd accidentally ordered green seats.

05-08-2017, 09:31 AM
Be interesting to see if they cut corners to speed up completion and the Council/Fire Brigade, etc have to make a decision re issuing safety certificates, etc. :greengrin

I think it may go in the opposite direction, now that the inevitable admission has been dealt with the pressure is off. The Gullibles now know and accept that the project is behind schedule and Budge has bought herself some time. If, as we were told, everyone on site was working their socks off to meet the original deadline which now cant be met it is only natural that the speed of works and the urgency of the workers will drop a level.
The general morale of the site will drop a notch in terms of urgency and the project will carry on at a more leisurely pace. I've seen this on numerous sites where deadlines haven't been met, the Holyrood Parliament had numerous delays which resulted in astronomical amounts of downtime. Tradesmen were regulary told to leave site as the works they were due to undertake weren't ready because plans had been altered or unforseen events had occured. Tynie has been a badly planned, poorly executed, amateurish DIY project from the start, the demolition of the asbestos stand after the outer infrastructure was erected was beyond insane but it allowed them to play their final few games in front of four stands. The Castleview restuarant with no castle view, the platinum seats with a restricted view of the pitch and no view of a penalty box, the seats ordered from the other side of Earth but not ordered until the season ticket money was in the bank, the list is endless, they are operated like a boys club with funding difficulties, auctions of signs, seats and owls, begging fans to donate to a cash cow, re directing fans money meant for shares to fund the never ending series of delays, budget increases and management errors. They have provided tremendous entertainment over the close season and Cathro has excelled as the court jester in Queen Anne's summer of comedy.
It's a pity he didn't hang around til January to witness the opening of the new stand.

05-08-2017, 09:32 AM
Wouldn't it be funny if she'd accidentally ordered green seats.

Maybe she did and had to send them back..

05-08-2017, 09:34 AM
We've got 4 stands
Super big 4 stands
They are all complete
We've even got the seats

😂😂😂 10/10

05-08-2017, 09:35 AM
It's a pity he didn't hang around til January to witness the opening of the new stand.

I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if it isn't open until after the winter break. Chances are we won't play at Tynecastle until Autumn next year.

05-08-2017, 09:40 AM
The 9th Sept date that was set was only for the external fittings to be completed or the stand in full.... i.e. All internal fittings , changing rooms, chip stalls and the likes??

Money is the major factor and can see this running into the new year.

green is good
05-08-2017, 09:44 AM
So was this the real plan all along?

The SPFL would probably have been less amenable if HoMFC had said outright that they wanted to play their first few home games at Murrayfield and then switch to Tynie mid-stream. They would more likely have invoked the rule about playing each club at the same venue or made them play in front of three stands. That would have meant they could not sell all their sell season tickets, uptake of which would almost certainly have been affected by the delay anyway.

Instead they claimed the stand was expected to be ready in time, but presented Murrayfield as a contingency (did they mention this contingency when they were marketing their season tickets?).

Many knowledgeable, sensible people were saying from the outset that it would never be ready in time, and lo and behold it isn't. Frankly, "Oops we forgot to order the seats - what are we like?" doesn't wash with me.

Even if the seats not ordered in time story is true Hearts didn't just find out yesterday. They have deliberately kept quiet about it.

05-08-2017, 10:25 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=DWrDgxIdano

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

05-08-2017, 10:31 AM
I just hope that the boat isn't captured by Somali pirates. That would be a disaster.

05-08-2017, 10:33 AM
We need a playlist. James "Sit Down" obvious choice. Any others?

Arch Stanton
05-08-2017, 10:34 AM
They are proper screwed if it's not ready for November as Scotland's 3 rugger Internationals are in November.

At that point they should be made to play at Tynie with 3 stands, if the new one is still not ready.

I'm pretty sure that it is only the Partick game that clashes and they have already switched the tie to the Sunday.

And that says to me, sceptic that I am, that it isn't going to be ready in November and they know it.

Maybe wait till nearer the time and tell fans that it is Murrayfield for a while longer.

05-08-2017, 10:37 AM
So they forgot to order the seats and missed their shipping slot?

If imagine that would cost them along with trying to get and pay for a new slot.

It won't be huge money but all these bits and pieces will be more overspend.

05-08-2017, 10:45 AM

HFC

These ones?19092

Posh Hibby
05-08-2017, 10:51 AM
We've got 4 stands
Super big 4 stands
They are all complete
We've even got the seats

05-08-2017, 10:52 AM
So they forgot to order the seats and missed their shipping slot?

If imagine that would cost them along with trying to get and pay for a new slot.

It won't be huge money but all these bits and pieces will be more overspend.

Does anyone know if the contractors and tradesmen who were scheduled to work and have now been put back will be entitled to receive compensation if they can't get alternative work?

05-08-2017, 10:53 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170805/4eb71e2c44543f8f0496f1c27c890701.jpg

Skol
05-08-2017, 10:54 AM

Wherever I lay my hat - thats my home

NGP
05-08-2017, 11:00 AM

Stand & Deliver

Aalborg Hibs
05-08-2017, 11:32 AM
(Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay.

Aalborg Hibs
05-08-2017, 11:33 AM
Stand.

Monopolyguy
05-08-2017, 11:34 AM

How about the Police 'Can't stand losing'?

Aalborg Hibs
05-08-2017, 11:34 AM
I'm Still Standing.

Aalborg Hibs
05-08-2017, 11:35 AM
Stand By Me.

Aalborg Hibs
05-08-2017, 11:35 AM
I Saw Her Standing There.

Callyballybe
05-08-2017, 11:37 AM
We've got 4 stands
Super big 4 stands
They are all complete
We've even got the seats
Tremendous. 😂😂

Aalborg Hibs
05-08-2017, 11:44 AM
Sometimes it's hard to be a Jambo
Giving all your love to just Queen Ann.
You'll have bad times
And she'll have good times,
Doin' things that you don't understand
But if you love her you'll forgive her,
Even though she's hard to understand
And if you love her oh be proud of her,
'Cause after all she's just Queen Ann
Stand by Queen Ann,
Give her two arms to cling to,
And something warm to come to
When nights are cold and lonely
Stand by Queen Ann,
And show the world you love her
Keep giving all the love you can
Stand by Queen Ann.
Stand by Queen Ann,
And show the world you love her,
Keep giving all the love you can
Stand by Queen Ann

05-08-2017, 12:19 PM
Wherever I lay my hat - thats my home

Maybe tomorrow I wanna settle down
until tomorrow I just keep movin on

05-08-2017, 12:40 PM
So it was on track to be ready but we forgot the seats.

Mostly accurate.

05-08-2017, 12:43 PM
The 9th Sept date that was set was only for the external fittings to be completed or the stand in full.... i.e. All internal fittings , changing rooms, chip stalls and the likes??

Money is the major factor and can see this running into the new year.

Yams were already short of £3m for the new mega stand without all these delays. They must now be seriously over budget.

They are going to be paying this off for years.

For any Jambos looking in - well done. You know that Hibs.net is your most authoritative source of news on this subject.

05-08-2017, 12:48 PM
Yams were already short of £3m for the new mega stand without all these delays. They must now be seriously over budget.

They are going to be paying this off for years.

For any Jambos looking in - well done. You know that Hibs.net is your most authoritative source of news on this subject.

They have to find the cash first. If they don't then it won't get finished.

05-08-2017, 12:54 PM

Yes gone are the old days where they did everything on tick and bumped the lender. Welcome to real world and thanks for all the laughs which are far from over.i

05-08-2017, 01:24 PM
Ah reckon they will make a wee bit from their Murrayfield move.

05-08-2017, 01:32 PM
Ah reckon they will make a wee bit from their Murrayfield move.

Only old firm and us will bring more fans.but police will set limits for security. Home fan attendance will drop off with team and management in a mess. The run of away games plus an unknown number of games at Murrayfield will push them down the table into relegation zone. Net net not positive. Are you a Jamboo?

05-08-2017, 01:34 PM
Only old firm and us will bring more fans.but police will set limits for security. Home fan attendance will drop off with team and management in a mess. The run of away games plus an unknown number of games at Murrayfield will push them down the table into relegation zone. Net net not positive. Are you a Jamboo?

Take a look at my post count

05-08-2017, 01:45 PM

You could be a sleeper😀

BFG
05-08-2017, 01:52 PM
Hey, size isn't everything, I"ve only got a small post count but l"m a hibby just ask my wife

05-08-2017, 01:52 PM

Criswell
05-08-2017, 09:46 PM
[QUOTE=Glory Lurker;5130946]We need a playlist. James "Sit Down" obvious choice. Any others?

Sitting on a cornflake waiting for the stand to come

06-08-2017, 01:05 AM
Budge reveals plan C:

http://media.gettyimages.com/photos/broken-seats-in-the-stadium-picture-id487790240?s=170667a&w=1007

06-08-2017, 08:33 AM
Budge reveals plan C:

http://media.gettyimages.com/photos/broken-seats-in-the-stadium-picture-id487790240?s=170667a&w=1007

This could send the dedicated followers of the 'Charity Thieves FC' over the edge - already struggling to come to terms with 'Playing Within Your Means' but now being asked to accept 'SITTING Within Your Means' ??

06-08-2017, 08:38 AM
This could send the dedicated followers of the 'Charity Thieves FC' over the edge - already struggling to come to terms with 'Playing Within Your Means' but now being asked to accept 'SITTING Within Your Means' ??

Hearts are no longer living within their means. Not even close.

06-08-2017, 10:24 AM
Hearts are no longer living within their means. Not even close.

Explain

06-08-2017, 10:29 AM

Budge is going to have to find the money surely?

Only realistic alternative is abandoning work on it before it is finished.

06-08-2017, 10:32 AM
They could call it The New National Monument Of Scotland.

06-08-2017, 11:09 AM
They could call it The New National Monument Of Scotland.

Scotland's Sagrada Familia

06-08-2017, 11:26 AM

No they will pass the begging bowl around.

That's how big teams operate!

06-08-2017, 11:33 AM
Heard this morning from an ITKr over in Yamland that unless they break around 18000 attendance in all their Murrayfield games they'll have zero chance at avoiding further financial losses :D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

06-08-2017, 11:35 AM
Heard this morning from an ITKr over in Yamland that unless they break around 18000 attendance in all their Murrayfield games they'll have zero chance at avoiding further financial losses :D

Pleasing😀

Planet Hibs
06-08-2017, 11:41 AM
I think any games played at Murrayfield should be capped at their Tynecastle attendance capacity. They should not profit from this.

06-08-2017, 11:42 AM

Only much, much, much more s***.

The Pointer
06-08-2017, 12:04 PM
Edinburgh's second folly. The tourist buses could divert along to Gorgie to see it.

06-08-2017, 01:12 PM

I'm naive in terms of business and money but isn't she personally worth roughly £30-40m and if so, what's to prevent her from dipping into her savings ?.

06-08-2017, 01:21 PM
I'm naive in terms of business and money but isn't she personally worth roughly £30-40m and if so, what's to prevent her from dipping into her savings ?.

How do you make a small fortune investing in football?

06-08-2017, 01:24 PM

Sold her business for £26m. Difficult to say what she is worth now but I doubt she wants to put it all into Hearts. All the money she has committed so far has been loans at 6%pa interest.

06-08-2017, 01:28 PM

She has made it clear from the outset that she was providing funding to save Hertz from bankruptcy and give FoH the time necessary to acquire enough funds to buy the club. She never said she would plough her own fortune into the club as a gift.

This is fair enough by the way.

What IS somewhat questionable is the way she has since enjoyed the profile and status of outright owner. There was no need for her to do this but she clearly enjoys the status of football club owner.

But so far it seems her long term plan is the same. Every £1 she has put in she wants back - most of it with interest on top.

If she does put more in to fund the stand she will want it back.

06-08-2017, 01:31 PM

Translates as something entirely different as you'll know. Aesthetically too. Let's keep it to stuff like shame, eyesore and disgrace :wink:

06-08-2017, 01:48 PM
She has made it clear from the outset that she was providing funding to save Hertz from bankruptcy and give FoH the time necessary to acquire enough funds to buy the club. She never said she would plough her own fortune into the club as a gift.

This is fair enough by the way.

What IS somewhat questionable is the way she has since enjoyed the profile and status of outright owner. There was no need for her to do this but she clearly enjoys the status of football club owner.

But so far it seems her long term plan is the same. Every £1 she has put in she wants back - most of it with interest on top.

If she does put more in to fund the stand she will want it back.

While the yams are painting her as some sort of saviour all she is actually doing is providing finance to the club in place of a traditional lending facility due to the whole not paying debts while robbing small businesses and charities business that conveniently gets forgotten about by those of a maroon persuasion.

She owns the club until FoH have raised enough to pay her back the money she has put up along with the interest charged so it can become "fan-owned".

As it stands all the money raised through FoH's direct debits have been put towards the new stand and Budge has allowed them to delay repaying her for two years so those funds can go towards the new stand also.

The fans have paid £3m towards the new stand out of thier own pockets and will probably sink another £3m of thier own money into that stand over the next couple of years.

In two years time they will have paid £6m to FoH and will own 0% of the club at which point they will start to pay back Budge the money she is owed, plus 6% interest while any increased revenues from the new stand will be paying off the cost of building the thing for many years to come.

Maybe, if they are lucky, they will be fully fan-owned and debt free within the next decade assuming the fans continue to contribute at the same levels to FoH throughout that time as well as attending matches and buying merchandise at the current levels every year.

06-08-2017, 02:25 PM
Initially the FoH dosh was used to pay off the football creditors debt plus the legal fees incurred in the Budge buy up of hearts and the FoH /Budge deal.

Then for 2 years the FOH dosh went towards the running costs of the Club.

Then the FoH donations were meant to start paying back Budge but the new stand was proposed and £3 million of FoH funds were promised to that end.

What I don't get is where the millions being spent on builders and design fees is coming from ?

I think they had some private pledges £ 1.5 million and say the FoH pledgers £1 million for this year, but the suppliers and builders need paid monthly.

I wonder how many offers of hospitality and program ads instead of cash are being prepared for posting at the end of the month. :greengrin

steelendhibs
06-08-2017, 07:53 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/news/article/spfl-fixture-amendments-premiership/

No games at tynecastle until until early November. Must seriously hurt there finances

06-08-2017, 07:54 PM
11th hour effort from Hearts to complete stand:

https://img.huffingtonpost.com/asset/58be97571a00003700f42097.jpeg?cache=hy7c4cayvj&ops=crop_0_0_634_448,scalefit_630_noupscale

06-08-2017, 08:02 PM

Or Sagrada Yamilia.

06-08-2017, 09:19 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/news/article/spfl-fixture-amendments-premiership/

No games at tynecastle until until early November. Must seriously hurt there finances

And the local community losing out on some money.

What about the nursery ? Nothing mentioned about it..

Surely this has to be ready soon to minimise the disruption for the young ones and families ?

06-08-2017, 10:15 PM
Good God [emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/5063f07c435b2c39165d4f9cd4908779.jpg

connerg
06-08-2017, 10:26 PM
Good God [emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/5063f07c435b2c39165d4f9cd4908779.jpg

Is that Whitburn Academy?

Never went there. Past it many times on the M8 though.

06-08-2017, 11:04 PM

Is that really it?? Haha!

Hahahaha!

Haha!

Edit: And to think what's going to be on the other side of it...

06-08-2017, 11:12 PM
Budge finally gets the stand sorted and will be in place for next week. Ian Black will be in with his tin of maroon paint:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cq3FMPnWAAA1-Oo.jpg

06-08-2017, 11:14 PM
Is that really it?? Haha!

Hahahaha!

Haha!

Edit: And to think what's going to be on the other side of it...Yup [emoji85]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/67863bea7bc1f9878cb01ead9e3c28f0.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/5c62944ffab5e1115e674fde13e3f14b.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/991815431f557f3cbf7a6390e05f90c1.jpg

06-08-2017, 11:31 PM
Yup [emoji85]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/67863bea7bc1f9878cb01ead9e3c28f0.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/5c62944ffab5e1115e674fde13e3f14b.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/991815431f557f3cbf7a6390e05f90c1.jpg

Where's the glass curtain wall gone?

06-08-2017, 11:31 PM

Quite similar including the Red parts!

06-08-2017, 11:42 PM
Where's the glass curtain wall gone?That's it my friend. Quite impressive don't you think?

06-08-2017, 11:43 PM
There was another page worth of pish in this mornings Sunday Mail about Hearts being the ideal model of how to run a club, how can they print that after the week they've had.

06-08-2017, 11:50 PM
Yup [emoji85]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/67863bea7bc1f9878cb01ead9e3c28f0.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/5c62944ffab5e1115e674fde13e3f14b.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/991815431f557f3cbf7a6390e05f90c1.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/554ad1d6073ed6f2f1d9cadd6e1d1a34.jpg

Wernham Hogg- The Office, comedy continues with manager Craig Levein doing his hilarious lap dance to impress Anne.

connerg
06-08-2017, 11:56 PM
There was another page worth of pish in this mornings Sunday Mail about Hearts being the ideal model of how to run a club, how can they print that after the week they've had.

Stopped reading the The Sunday Loyal in the 90's.

Of course they'll back them up, both screwed the system and got away with it.

High-On-Hibs
06-08-2017, 11:59 PM

Because they're viewed as one of queenies mighty eleven.

07-08-2017, 12:11 AM
some size of "glass curtains" there, I'm sure any window cleaner of reputable standard would avoid being invited to wash those things for fear of being bumped... probably get offered a punnet of chips for doing it right enough

07-08-2017, 12:16 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/554ad1d6073ed6f2f1d9cadd6e1d1a34.jpg

Wernham Hogg- The Office, comedy continues with manager Craig Levein doing his hilarious lap dance to impress Anne.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[emoji106]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170807/cba0472cb3032f1c9010e01b39a78a83.gif

connerg
07-08-2017, 12:37 AM
[emoji106]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170807/cba0472cb3032f1c9010e01b39a78a83.gif

That's the one. Imagine if your boss did that at a work night out or even Christmas time. What a ridder!!

Then again i might have a wee bit more respect for him, in a sympathetic way. Must be suffering from stess.

07-08-2017, 06:31 AM
Seats seats- we have nae seats
There's none in the new Tynie stand.
Let's hope they're maroon
At the very least broon
As we take the mugs forra ride

07-08-2017, 06:37 AM

Yikes. That's the 2017 carbuncle award sewn up nice and early.

07-08-2017, 06:55 AM
Translates as something entirely different as you'll know. Aesthetically too. Let's keep it to stuff like shame, eyesore and disgrace :wink:

Never gets finished and you can only imagine what it might finally look like.

07-08-2017, 07:09 AM

That was quite the most ridiculous article the Sunday mail has written. None of what was said is either correct or quantifiable. It beggars belief that they go so easy on their structure where any sane person can see they are a basket case of a club.

07-08-2017, 07:44 AM
When did she find out about the delay. Was it not just a few weeks ago they stated everything was fine. Lying to the fans yet they still love their 'queen'

I don't get that everything was fine a few weeks ago and now it's gone bottoms up. Queen Anne seems to have caught the malaise disease that going into the pbs and having to pay your way. They are soon gullible and as long as budgie keeps putting out statements how great they are and the wonderful stadium they will have( pity about the other three quarters of the stadium). Strange,strange people.

07-08-2017, 07:58 AM
A Hibs fan must have buried a scarf in the foundations of their new dump, the local health centre looks better than that stand !

hibbymark
07-08-2017, 08:05 AM
This looks like the type of 60s/70s built office blocks that are being demolished all over town.

Has someone taken a picture of St James centre as some sort of joke ? :greengrin

What a absolutely eyesore. Planning dept clearly said it must be in keeping with the rest of the place.

Perfect for them

07-08-2017, 08:05 AM
Yikes. That's the 2017 carbuncle award sewn up nice and early.Even setting aside the fact it's the yams it is simply a cheap 70's airport departure area style structure. Most projects like this today are moving away from such basic box designs and some are being pulled down to improve the area.

The plankton will doubtless continue to regard it as the next wonder of the world but what a shame that this is what they're getting for all that money, not to mention another crap high maintenance eyesore being dumped on the city.

07-08-2017, 08:22 AM
That's it my friend. Quite impressive don't you think?

Whatever it is, it's not 'the biggest glass curtain wall in Scottish football' as claimed.

http://seasontickets.heartsfc.co.uk/2/

It's cheap cladding with windows. As pointed out by others, a style of architecture much favoured in the 1970s, and then torn down.

As usual, hubris is their undoing.

07-08-2017, 08:54 AM
Whatever it is, it's not 'the biggest glass curtain wall in Scottish football' as claimed.

http://seasontickets.heartsfc.co.uk/2/

It's cheap cladding with windows. As pointed out by others, a style of architecture much favoured in the 1970s, and then torn down.

As usual, hubris is their undoing.

What position does he play?

07-08-2017, 08:57 AM
Hubris ? - R U Hibs ?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
07-08-2017, 08:59 AM
If thats how its going to look, im pretty pleased. There was the potential for it to look quite smart, but that design doesnt look too clever - id imagine that will date very quickly.

Also, does anyone know how it compares to the artists designs - i recall some of them looked quite smart?

07-08-2017, 09:08 AM

Surely that's not the infamous Glass Wall they were going on about endlessly?

07-08-2017, 09:09 AM
Surely that's not the infoamous Glass Wall they were going on about endlessly?

Yep, the rest of us call them windows.

07-08-2017, 09:14 AM
Even setting aside the fact it's the yams it is simply a cheap 70's airport departure area style structure. Most projects like this today are moving away from such basic box designs and some are being pulled down to improve the area.

The plankton will doubtless continue to regard it as the next wonder of the world but what a shame that this is what they're getting for all that money, not to mention another crap high maintenance eyesore being dumped on the city.

The Wernham Hogg Arena will not require any maintenance on the glass shower curtain as the windows are the self cleaning type favoured on modern glass structures these days.
No windows cleaners or height access companies will be bumped this time.

07-08-2017, 09:17 AM
Surely that's not the infamous Glass Wall they were going on about endlessly?

Have they just bought shrubhill house from the council and put new windaes in? 😂😂😂

07-08-2017, 09:19 AM
The Wernham Hogg Arena will not require any maintenance on the glass shower curtain as the windows are the self cleaning type favoured on modern glass structures these days.

Ah, the yams, always putting the interest of the community first.

There's plenty tin and concrete on show in their groundbreaking design, that'll look great after a couple of years of neglect and Gorgie grime:greengrin

07-08-2017, 09:23 AM
Looks like Napier at Collnton road.

07-08-2017, 09:28 AM
Have they just bought shrubhill house from the council and put new windaes in? 😂😂😂

It's really been bugging me as to what it reminded me of but that's the very building!!

Cheers for that.

MKHIBEE
07-08-2017, 09:34 AM

Dunno how they will cope with all that chip fat on them

Stoney Hibee
07-08-2017, 09:36 AM
For those of you that know Aberdeen, that looks very similar to the Old St Nicholas House (the council building opposite Marischal College) which was recently demolished for being a horrendous blot on the landscape (the fact the local council have replaced it with something nearly as bad as a local scandal).

Nice to see the Jambo's moving into the 1960 with their style choices.

07-08-2017, 09:37 AM

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-ULc7cvVOs1U/TxiX_iNWYgI/AAAAAAAAAAo/m02eQIwoC8A/s1600/076.JPG

07-08-2017, 09:52 AM

Good point, I wonder if they've factored in the residue from their innovative method of cooking potatoes. Another factor that may be worth considering is bird excrement, now that they've sold their Owl to a wealthy art collector how will they deter the resident rats with wings from using the new roof as a toilet?
As stated in a previous post their brutalist design has every chance of winning The Carbuncle of the Year Award, it was out of fashion before it left the designers mothers womb. In a decade it will resemble The Banana Flats, in two decades it will need a new facade, in three decades the gullibles might just have paid the Budge grandchildren the final installment of the £15 million its costing them.

In four decades the seats will arrive

Mainstandman
07-08-2017, 09:55 AM
With all that's happened recently, would like to know the quality of that cladding

07-08-2017, 09:55 AM
For those of you that know Aberdeen, that looks very similar to the Old St Nicholas House (the council building opposite Marischal College) which was recently demolished for being a horrendous blot on the landscape (the fact the local council have replaced it with something nearly as bad as a local scandal).

Nice to see the Jambo's moving into the 1960 with their style choices.

Think this is the one?

https://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2176/1832671404_4672968c78_b.jpg

07-08-2017, 10:08 AM
With all that's happened recently, would like to know the quality of that cladding

Take a wild guess.

Budge noticed the prices for certain types of cladding being reduced in late June and is very pleased with herself for getting a bargain.

07-08-2017, 10:46 AM
This looks like the type of 60s/70s built office blocks that are being demolished all over town.

Has someone taken a picture of St James centre as some sort of joke ? :greengrin

What a absolutely eyesore. Planning dept clearly said it must be in keeping with the rest of the place.

Perfect for them
That sums it up perfectly. I drove past it the other night and it really is as bad as it looks in the photos. It looks cheap, nasty and outdated. I can't for the life of me understand how it has cost so much money. It looks like one of those supermarkets that they knock up in a couple of months.

07-08-2017, 10:52 AM

Bought? It'll be a donation.

cocteautwin
07-08-2017, 10:52 AM
That's just a recycling of the old Porty High that's recently been pulled down isn't it?

07-08-2017, 11:10 AM
Good point, I wonder if they've factored in the residue from their innovative method of cooking potatoes. Another factor that may be worth considering is bird excrement, now that they've sold their Owl to a wealthy art collector how will they deter the resident rats with wings from using the new roof as a toilet?
As stated in a previous post their brutalist design has every chance of winning The Carbuncle of the Year Award, it was out of fashion before it left the designers mothers womb. In a decade it will resemble The Banana Flats, in two decades it will need a new facade, in three decades the gullibles might just have paid the Budge grandchildren the final installment of the £15 million its costing them.

In four decades the seats will arrive

What and get another listed building?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-38826344

07-08-2017, 11:12 AM

There's enough windae lickers kicking around there. They'll be fine

07-08-2017, 11:18 AM
Self cleaning glass ? How is it on bird-sh*t ?

07-08-2017, 11:22 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170807/74097f51aff91e5b4912bea9593a33b0.jpg
The artists impression looks slightly different from what they are getting?

07-08-2017, 11:24 AM

And a far cry from mad Vlad's original proposals...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/7191265.stm

joe t
07-08-2017, 11:25 AM
Is that genuinely a pic of their new stand?? ***** me, it looks like the burton biscuits factory at sighthill !! 😂😂😂😂

07-08-2017, 11:26 AM

Now that you mention it, it does kind of.

I wonder if they're actually following the original plans or just making it up as they go along

Mainstandman
07-08-2017, 11:31 AM
PBS is dead, long live the Wernham Hogg arena. Get it opened by David Brent

07-08-2017, 11:42 AM

Now this - apart from a narrow strip - is a glass wall.

What they are actually getting is nothing like it.

07-08-2017, 11:45 AM

That tenement gable with the Hearts badge on it is where full height crack has appeared since they did the piling work.

I'm sure someone else must have noticed it by now.

07-08-2017, 11:56 AM
To be fair (not that I want to be!) I think from the current pictures, you can see the cladding in-place for the glass wall.

07-08-2017, 12:01 PM
Even setting aside the fact it's the yams it is simply a cheap 70's airport departure area style structure. Most projects like this today are moving away from such basic box designs and some are being pulled down to improve the area.

A classic example of the emperors new clothes.

Queenie has declared it a marvel of modern architecture, so clearly, for them, this is what it is.

07-08-2017, 12:07 PM
Yep, the rest of us call them windows.

Once the office staff start filling the window sills with pen holders, ring binders and assorted clutter it'll look extra classy.

Dan Sarf
07-08-2017, 12:09 PM
Once the office staff start filling the window sills with pen holders, ring binders and assorted clutter it'll look extra classy.

What sort of stuff do you think they'll put on their window ledges? :greengrin

07-08-2017, 12:14 PM
To be fair (not that I want to be!) I think from the current pictures, you can see the cladding in-place for the glass wall.

What do you mean?

The artist impression has two substantially glazed areas, framed by narrow strips (probably denoting the floors).

The actual building is a bog standard facade to a steel framed building with windows in it.

They look very different to me.

07-08-2017, 12:16 PM
That tenement gable with the Hearts badge on it is where full height crack has appeared since they did the piling work.

So it'll look like this? :brokenyam: :greengrin

07-08-2017, 12:22 PM
What do you mean?

The artist impression has two substantially glazed areas, framed by narrow strips (probably denoting the floors).

The actual building is a bog standard facade to a steel framed building with windows in it.

Look at the windows and rims of the building, it's clear that they are protruding and prepared for clips to hold the glass. I'd guess the glass will sit proud of the windows by about 6"

07-08-2017, 12:27 PM

Queenie has declared it a marvel of modern architecture, so clearly, for them, this is what it is.I know one jambo who isn't impressed. Brother in law went down for a look so I texted him to see what he thought.

His wife replied to say he's not impressed but " it looks like this is the best we can afford for a while, shambles".

He also got her to say he's not going to respond to anyone about this any more.

Normally a reasonable guy. He cancelled his DD a while ago.[emoji1]

07-08-2017, 12:29 PM
It reminds me of the old Scottish Office that was round the back of St James Centre.

http://www.rampantscotland.com/let050528.htm

Edinburgh's ugliest building!

Corstorphine Hibby
07-08-2017, 12:33 PM

I see that they've managed to squeeze Graham Rix in the bottom right hand corner of the artists impression.

07-08-2017, 12:50 PM
Look at the windows and rims of the building, it's clear that they are protruding and prepared for clips to hold the glass. I'd guess the glass will sit proud of the windows by about 6"

No, I really think what we're seeing now is the finished 'look'. This is the most recent artist's impression:

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSbMNeJwXRCWS20sZQbvVxOkbA9uBwGs VuXuHHSASfgC6nJUC08yQ

At least the pink trees have been retained!

I think that the pipe dream was to be able to replicate something like this until costs got in the way:

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ15y5hXNiNN-qpUPN7OmYT97G5PR_OFZKKpSLsTrDXLOZTouOd

07-08-2017, 01:06 PM
http://www.michaelgallagher.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/untitled-24.jpg

07-08-2017, 01:15 PM
Yikes. That's the 2017 carbuncle award sewn up nice and early.

Hahahahahaha

That is f...ing awful ! 😂😂😂😂

07-08-2017, 01:17 PM
http://www.michaelgallagher.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/untitled-24.jpg

Uncanny :greengrin

07-08-2017, 01:19 PM
I know one jambo who isn't impressed. Brother in law went down for a look so I texted him to see what he thought.

His wife replied to say he's not impressed but " it looks like this is the best we can afford for a while, shambles".

He also got her to say he's not going to respond to anyone about this any more.

Normally a reasonable guy. He cancelled his DD a while ago.[emoji1]

Looks to me like a very reasonable... and sensible, guy. :greengrin

Sergio sledge
07-08-2017, 01:20 PM
What do you mean?

The façade is a glass curtain wall, it is just that they have used opaque glass panels in certain areas in order to disguise construction elements and floor build up etc. the artists impression shows the majority of the glass being see-through which looks much better than what they have got.

07-08-2017, 01:23 PM
No, I really think what we're seeing now is the finished 'look'. This is the most recent artist's impression:

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSbMNeJwXRCWS20sZQbvVxOkbA9uBwGs VuXuHHSASfgC6nJUC08yQ

At least the pink trees have been retained!

I think that the pipe dream was to be able to replicate something like this until costs got in the way:

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ15y5hXNiNN-qpUPN7OmYT97G5PR_OFZKKpSLsTrDXLOZTouOd

Wow that is new to me so aye, looks like no protruding glass wall. Still doing chips though?

Silversand
07-08-2017, 01:23 PM
http://www.michaelgallagher.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/untitled-24.jpgNice [emoji23]

Saturday Boy
07-08-2017, 01:24 PM
This stand is like when you put up new shelves; and then your joiner mate visits. Only I never spent £14M at B&Q.

07-08-2017, 03:24 PM
How do you make a small fortune investing in football?

By turning a large fortune into that small one

07-08-2017, 04:41 PM
The façade is a glass curtain wall, it is just that they have used opaque glass panels in certain areas in order to disguise construction elements and floor build up etc. the artists impression shows the majority of the glass being see-through which looks much better than what they have got.

The artists impression of the 'castle view' from the Skyline Lounge also looks much better than what they have got

Just saying likes :greengrin

07-08-2017, 04:44 PM

Queenie has declared it a marvel of modern architecture, so clearly, for them, this is what it is.

I'll explain to my jambo mate Budgie's been in the buff all this time. He thought she'd started wearing a sporran.

07-08-2017, 05:26 PM
I'll explain to my jambo mate Budgie's been in the buff all this time. He thought she'd started wearing a sporran.

That's just put me off ma dinner :jamboak:

07-08-2017, 06:14 PM
There was another page worth of pish in this mornings Sunday Mail about Hearts being the ideal model of how to run a club, how can they print that after the week they've had.Oh my word. So glad I dont read that rag

07-08-2017, 06:19 PM

Hmm - looking at the latest artist impression it looks like relatively narrow rows of windows separated by cladding panels.

We shall see!

07-08-2017, 06:23 PM
Surely that's not the infamous Glass Wall they were going on about endlessly?Is it just me or does that slope down from the left to right?

07-08-2017, 06:32 PM
I'll explain to my jambo mate Budgie's been in the buff all this time. He thought she'd started wearing a sporran.🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

07-08-2017, 08:03 PM
There's a page on Facebook which is dedicated to Edinburgh's heritage, its especially jealous of the city's architecture and very down on anything it views as spoiling the towns image. Now I'm not pretending that Easter Road adds very much to that side of Edinburgh, it is very much a simple functionary football stadium and doesn't pretend to be anything else. For me it looks brilliant, but then I like football stadiums that look like football stadiums.

The trouble with Tynecastle is that it has incorporated a design that I'm pretty sure is like a cross to a Vampire when it comes to the worthies who run and contribute to that page ..... It was like celebrating the second coming on that page when it was announced St James's centre was to be demolished .... I wonder what they will make of the 1970's carbuncle being chucked up in Gorgie ........... I wouldn't hold up much hope if I was a Yam :greengrin

Crazyhorse
07-08-2017, 09:27 PM
There's a page on Facebook which is dedicated to Edinburgh's heritage, its especially jealous of the city's architecture and very down on anything it views as spoiling the towns image. Now I'm not pretending that Easter Road adds very much to that side of Edinburgh, it is very much a simple functionary football stadium and doesn't pretend to be anything else. For me it looks brilliant, but then I like football stadiums that look like football stadiums.

The trouble with Tynecastle is that it has incorporated a design that I'm pretty sure is like a cross to a Vampire when it comes to the worthies who run and contribute to that page ..... It was like celebrating the second coming on that page when it was announced St James's centre was to be demolished .... I wonder what they will make of the 1970's carbuncle being chucked up in Gorgie ........... I wouldn't hold up much hope if I was a Yam :greengrin

Screw them this glass wall is one of the 7 wonders of the world. People will come from all over the world just to see it.

08-08-2017, 06:03 AM
Hmm - looking at the latest artist impression it looks like relatively narrow rows of windows separated by cladding panels.

We shall see!They're spandrel panels and used between the floors. They will likely be made of glass but opaque rather than clear.

That doesn't detract from the fact that it looks crap though [emoji16]

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk

08-08-2017, 11:28 AM
They're spandrel panels and used between the floors. They will likely be made of glass but opaque rather than clear.

That doesn't detract from the fact that it looks crap though [emoji16]

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk

Essentially the plans have gone from this genuinely innovative looking proposal:

http://www.edinburgharchitecture.co.uk/hearts-new-stand

To this much more basic 'office block' version:

http://seasontickets.heartsfc.co.uk/

Yet I see the latter is still referred to as the 'largest glass curtain wall in Scottish football'.

Who knew there was a hierarchy of such glass walls? In fact I didn't know any actually existed in Scottish football...and in fact they still don't as what Hearts have built does not, to my mind, equate to a 'glass wall'. It's two rows of windows with some cladding in between, not dissimilar to what has existed at ER for a number of years now.

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRLT0yP2YPm9WE5IG6FHra3kdSbwYdvh 2kLtylYFSD_Q4EJ80TVmQ

08-08-2017, 11:33 AM
Check out the bottom image of the new stand and how they have cheated it to make the new stand look wider than it will be. The dodgy chequered panels on the ends almost go past the back of the stands behind each goal. The lies continue...

08-08-2017, 11:39 AM
Really can't understand why nobody proofreads Mrs Budge's blah before it goes up on a website where 400,000 (plus a few obsessed hobos) will read it.

"change" is teh norm
decesion

How are yams not embarrassed by the rank amateur incompetence of it all? :confused:

08-08-2017, 12:11 PM
Really can't understand why nobody proofreads Mrs Budge's blah before it goes up on a website where 400,000 (plus a few obsessed hobos) will read it.

"change" is teh norm
decesion

How are yams not embarrassed by the rank amateur incompetence of it all? :confused:

It's teh long and rambling, sentances, unnecessary quotation marks and randomly applied "grammar"... as much as anything else... which annoys me!

I think there are two possible explanations for this rank amateurism.

1) Everyone at Hearts is thick as mince and think her statements are wonderful.
2) Budge has a Napoleon complex and none of the staff can be bothered to correct her anymore.

08-08-2017, 12:16 PM

"change" is teh norm
decesion

First time I've read it, spelling and grammar is worse than some posts on here (mine included)!

08-08-2017, 12:32 PM

"change" is teh norm
decesion

And several words running into each other...a simple spell check would surely iron these errors out. Amateur stuff.

thefunding

priceincrease

foundationfor

08-08-2017, 12:37 PM

"change" is teh norm
decesion

The Memorial garden is quite a nice idea but I have no clue why they are bragging about concourse space and a glass wall for.

08-08-2017, 12:44 PM

I see there's mention of an increased stadium capacity of 15%, but no definitive number is given.

Is it because?

a) They're not sure how many it'll hold
b) They know it'll still be smaller than ER and don't want to admit it
c) All of the above.

Interestingly, last season the capacity was listed as 17,420. If you add 15% to that, it makes 20,033.

If that's the figure, why not just say it?

08-08-2017, 12:52 PM
I see there's mention of an increased stadium capacity of 15%, but no definitive number is given.

Is it because?

c) All of the above.

Interestingly, last season the capacity was listed as 17,420. If you add 15% to that, it makes 20,033.

Could the eventual overall capacity of Tiny be determined by the width of the seats 'on order' from the Far East?
Could someone have miscalculated how narrow the new Wernham Hogg seats needed to be to produce an overall capacity greater than ER's?
Could the original order for seats have been replaced by a new order for narrower seats, leading to a delay in delivery?
Is it conceivable that the Tiny hierarchy would lie about the real reason for the delay?

08-08-2017, 01:37 PM
Who had the largest glass curtain wall before Hearts blew them out the water?

08-08-2017, 01:39 PM
Could the eventual overall capacity of Tiny be determined by the width of the seats 'on order' from the Far East?
Could someone have miscalculated how narrow the new Wernham Hogg seats needed to be to produce an overall capacity greater than ER's?
Could the original order for seats have been replaced by a new order for narrower seats, leading to a delay in delivery?
Is it conceivable that the Tiny hierarchy would lie about the real reason for the delay?

Maybe that's why they had to get them from the Far East where ***** tend to be a bit narrower? [emoji3]

08-08-2017, 01:47 PM
Maybe that's why they had to get them from the Far East where ***** tend to be a bit narrower? [emoji3]

Looks like its already a bit of a tight squeeze down Tynie way

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimage/1.4517620.1501411626!/image/image.jpg

08-08-2017, 01:48 PM

Literally no one has given a toss about this before Hertz realised they wouldn't have the biggest football stadium in Edinburgh and had to find something else to brag about.

Stupid Yams!

08-08-2017, 01:48 PM

Do the side panels on this stand constitute a glass curtain wall? 19113

08-08-2017, 01:51 PM

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimage/1.4517620.1501411626!/image/image.jpg

I love how annoyed Levein looks.

It might be because of what's happening on the park. Or it might be because that other guy has taken the seat next to Budge and looks like he's trying to sneak his arm around her for a cheeky cuddle.

08-08-2017, 02:00 PM

Is it because?

c) All of the above.

They announced 20099 from the start.

Whether that will go up or down is anybodies guess but they did state that as the new capacity originally.

08-08-2017, 02:14 PM

It might be because of what's happening on the park. Or it might be because that other guy has taken the seat next to Budge and looks like he's trying to sneak his arm around her for a cheeky cuddle.It's because he's sitting in a similar pose to the one deployed on their day of destiny at Dens Park 1986. Trousers up this time obviously [emoji6]

08-08-2017, 02:37 PM
And several words running into each other...a simple spell check would surely iron these errors out. Amateur stuff.

thefunding

priceincrease

foundationfor

I've just read teh "statement" fir teh first time...'' weird"... she likes to pat herself on teh "back" and has a thing about "comma's" and full stops which don't stop when they should...she often neglects the spacebarbutton too...she drones on about how they are teh envy of all other clubs whilst begging for the gullibles to sign up for three years to help finance the "Sardine Can Stand" ... I'm not sure what other clubs supporters actually "Envy" having to front up for their owners poor planning, mismanagement and lack of fiscal control but if she says its true it probably must be... "
It's a hard read though, puts me in mind of a first year essay.

08-08-2017, 02:43 PM

You just know that the guy with the tartan tie on has a rover 75 that he polishes every Sunday. He dreams that one day he might be able to afford a jag.

08-08-2017, 02:59 PM

Let me guess. The architect is the future of Scottish stadium design?

08-08-2017, 03:22 PM
Let me guess. The architect is the future of Scottish stadium design?If they remove the pillars, deadlines, budgets, seats and don't get the concrete in early their stadium designs are able to compete with the best in Scotland.

08-08-2017, 03:38 PM
If they remove the pillars, deadlines, budgets, seats and don't get the concrete in early their stadium designs are able to compete with the best in Scotland.

Don't think they need to remove the seats just yet.😀

08-08-2017, 03:43 PM
The spelling, grammar and punctuation are horrible.

Am I right in thinking the auld trout is scranning for 3 years ST money in one go? She'll be lucky !

08-08-2017, 03:59 PM

Is it because?

c) All of the above.

The 15% could be 14.5% rounded up - 19,946 :-)

08-08-2017, 04:28 PM

Someone is going to need to update this website.

There is no way the Freedom Tower in New York deserves this accolade any more. I mean. have they BEEN to Gorgie?

https://www.gulf.glass/news-blogs/news/glass-news/top-10-monumental-glass-facade-structures-around-the-world/

Hibbycol
08-08-2017, 04:35 PM
Maybe budget budgie is going to announce the new glass conservatory is going to be all standing ! Wouldn't put it passed her .

08-08-2017, 04:35 PM

Looks like a Jury about to administer the Death sentence

pollution
08-08-2017, 04:42 PM

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimage/1.4517620.1501411626!/image/image.jpg One of President Trump's security detail is moonlighting.

ACLeith
08-08-2017, 04:46 PM
Looks like a Jury about to administer the Death sentence

Looks more like the accused about to have the death sentence given to them

08-08-2017, 04:48 PM
WTF is a "Glass curtain wall" anyway?! A row of windaes?!!

08-08-2017, 04:50 PM
Looks more like the accused about to have the death sentence given to them

I thought it was an old photograph from the Nuremberg war trials.

08-08-2017, 05:05 PM
You just know that the guy with the tartan tie on has a rover 75 that he polishes every Sunday. He dreams that one day he might be able to afford a jag.

They do look extremely Heart of Midlothian. That could be the regulars in the Canny Man's.

ChrissyG1875
08-08-2017, 05:11 PM
.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170808/f6adf1348f3c3645b3671e057c55043b.jpg

08-08-2017, 05:21 PM
Someone is going to need to update this website.

There is no way the Freedom Tower in New York deserves this accolade any more. I mean. have they BEEN to Gorgie?

https://www.gulf.glass/news-blogs/news/glass-news/top-10-monumental-glass-facade-structures-around-the-world/

Indeed. Some distinctly underwhelming glass walls there compared to the Wernham Hogg arena.

As for these half-hearted attempts to incorporate glass by the Vikings and the Cowboys...

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQP-HdOAjPbdGJNSjtKWIn_6ycw5xeIly-sMLJtLgSMGtmC3rCY

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRuNPYIwK3xUt_vQwyU7pMnukF0jsmAu tbH4GJFlLYvEkYUjUDQbQ

...they just can't hold a candle to this:

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/5063f07c435b2c39165d4f9cd4908779.jpg

08-08-2017, 05:22 PM

That is the Hearts definition.

08-08-2017, 05:29 PM
...they just can't hold a candle to this:

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170806/5063f07c435b2c39165d4f9cd4908779.jpg[/QUOTE]

That is AWESOME!

I think I'm going to wet myself :not worth

So jealous :drool:

08-08-2017, 05:30 PM

Good pub quiz question.

08-08-2017, 05:39 PM
I note there is a thread about this on kickback and rather to my surprise there are actually some dissenters when it comes to the 'glass wall', one of whom compares it to the Leven Street Scotmid, which is a good shout:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/proxy/KX0O9dMp7CsjNL4SbzxSy7VjvJw8rf_XaZAsDRjK1NH8aNRvhM C6lNH4cen-R1GQaZv3Jcb3YjHOepNa0WDOWsKC1vgfkW_H9kVixzwRxu2BN3 wQYBSd_Db0KxlZi1ydD9ZPJoVhZmFTnS4oyjPnM2IXoIREizA= w213-h160-k-no

Needless to say, such dissention is not well received overall.

08-08-2017, 05:41 PM
Drove past today. Lower pitch side steelwork still not complete and not a single concrete step in. It's not the seats that a slowing that work down.

08-08-2017, 05:43 PM
Incidentally, this pic was apparently taken today and aside from the fact it looks ever more like some sort of 70s technical college building than a football stadium, does it not also strike you that the whole thing (including surrounding area) looks nowhere near effing finished? ie there wasn't a chance in hell they were opening in September even if they had remembered to order the seats.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170808/594330fcad8580bb45f25006d9453ca0.jpg

08-08-2017, 05:52 PM
Drove past today. Lower pitch side steelwork still not complete and not a single concrete step in. It's not the seats that a slowing that work down.

Budge has said it will be ready in 1 month. Just sitting there, complete, waiting for the seats.

I imagine there might be another "update statement" before then...

SuperAllyMcleod
08-08-2017, 06:16 PM
Do the side panels on this stand constitute a glass curtain wall? 19113

Nice bit of kit that - would have killed for that when I was a kid. [emoji4]

Aalborg Hibs
08-08-2017, 06:37 PM
Nice bit of kit that - would have killed for that when I was a kid. [emoji4]

Aye, there was always some flash gits who would have all that crap surrounding their pitch in the Subutteo league, full of painted supporters, filled in corners, milk crate floodlight pylons and everything, instead of just rolling their pitch out on top of their dad's old billiard table like I did :D

Funnily enough, it used to be mostly Huns or Yams that did it :wink:

08-08-2017, 07:49 PM
Billiard table???

Bedroom carpet more likes.

08-08-2017, 07:55 PM

It looks like the boy with the tartan tie has taken a dull one in the nads.

Same applies to Anne Budge.

Aalborg Hibs
08-08-2017, 08:04 PM
Billiard table???

Bedroom carpet more likes.

Not like it was that flash, it was an old Joe Davis 6 foot table that used to stand in the airing cupboard :LOL:

https://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTAyNFg1NzY=/z/AnAAAOSw-0xYSDUi/$_86.JPG

08-08-2017, 08:08 PM
Ha, I had visions of an ornate billiard table to match the oak panelled walls :cb

Aalborg Hibs
08-08-2017, 08:10 PM
Ha, I had visions of an ornate billiard table to match the oak panelled walls :cb

He'd never have got that in the lift

08-08-2017, 08:54 PM

It might be because of what's happening on the park. Or it might be because that other guy has taken the seat next to Budge and looks like he's trying to sneak his arm around her for a cheeky cuddle.

Or because the top on the guy next to him on the other side reminds him of some special day?

08-08-2017, 09:08 PM
It's because he's sitting in a similar pose to the one deployed on their day of destiny at Dens Park 1986. Trousers up this time obviously [emoji6]

😂😂😂😂😂

08-08-2017, 09:11 PM
Maybe budget budgie is going to announce the new glass conservatory is going to be all standing ! Wouldn't put it passed her .

Could they get the capacity up a bit then?

08-08-2017, 09:13 PM
I note there is a thread about this on kickback and rather to my surprise there are actually some dissenters when it comes to the 'glass wall', one of whom compares it to the Leven Street Scotmid, which is a good shout:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/proxy/KX0O9dMp7CsjNL4SbzxSy7VjvJw8rf_XaZAsDRjK1NH8aNRvhM C6lNH4cen-R1GQaZv3Jcb3YjHOepNa0WDOWsKC1vgfkW_H9kVixzwRxu2BN3 wQYBSd_Db0KxlZi1ydD9ZPJoVhZmFTnS4oyjPnM2IXoIREizA= w213-h160-k-no

We are going to need a full post to list all the terrible look a likes..

08-08-2017, 09:13 PM

What seats??

Hibbycol
08-08-2017, 09:17 PM
Could they get the capacity up a bit then?Get more in a non seated stand than a seated one ,also save a mint on seats ,upkeep,cost , wouldn't put it past her (budget budgie) .

08-08-2017, 09:18 PM
To be fair they have done remarkably well to make a brand new structure look like something from the 70's.

08-08-2017, 09:18 PM
Thanks lads, I've had a good laugh tonight! Missus keeps giving me funny looks!

08-08-2017, 09:23 PM
To be fair they have done remarkably well to make a brand new structure look like something from the 70's.[emoji1]

Trying to recreate the mythical atmosphere of the old library?

Problem is at the moment there's more atmosphere on the moon. More seats as well

09-08-2017, 01:41 AM
And the award for the world's ugliest building goes to......https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/bfb749f8448da97fb8237a40a42f1a37.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/fd45385f3c9a4632599f533626552960.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/f658858092a823be03abd8d20847b74a.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/86d3f93311ec1c73735d90180ba7415a.jpg

Arch Stanton
09-08-2017, 05:20 AM

It's strange how they don't talk much anymore about their fantastic glass wall - pics have completely dried up. All the talk now is about how on earth the seats didn't get ordered - that's got them confused all right.

Some fool dared to question whether the seat order delay was because they didn't have the money - even less well received that one.

The seats are just a convenient excuse. I'd love to know what really was going on - or not going on as the case may be.

The goalie
09-08-2017, 06:07 AM

Glass curtain? more like Beef Curtain!

09-08-2017, 07:46 AM
Glass curtain? more like Beef Curtain!

Well, there are plenty of them there 😉

09-08-2017, 09:12 AM
Drove past Tynecastle this morning. Looking ace tbh, going much better now since a Mr Dwight Schrute has taken over as building manager.

If you don't think it's glorious you're a caravan dwelling peg seller of course.

Juice-Terry
09-08-2017, 09:12 AM
Just went past it on the train. Honking.

09-08-2017, 09:24 AM
Just went past it on the train. Honking.

Good trick that. How do you honk on a train?

green glory
09-08-2017, 09:32 AM
Good trick that. How do you honk on a train?

A boiled egg vindaloo at 3am should do the trick.

09-08-2017, 09:58 AM
Apparantley, according to a jambo mate I bumped into, the boat from Korea containing the polystyrene dwarf seats has arrived and are in storage off site awaiting installation. If this is true then it seems that they're not so late in being delivered after all, only problem is the lower deck steelwork is still at the same stage as it was this time last week.

09-08-2017, 10:10 AM
Incidentally, this pic was apparently taken today and aside from the fact it looks ever more like some sort of 70s technical college building than a football stadium, does it not also strike you that the whole thing (including surrounding area) looks nowhere near effing finished? ie there wasn't a chance in hell they were opening in September even if they had remembered to order the seats.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170808/594330fcad8580bb45f25006d9453ca0.jpg

Is that not the Napier building in morningside 😂😂😂😂😂

09-08-2017, 10:12 AM
Apparantley, according to a jambo mate I bumped into, the boat from Korea containing the polystyrene dwarf seats has arrived and are in storage off site awaiting installation. If this is true then it seems that they're not so late in being delivered after all, only problem is the lower deck steelwork is still at the same stage as it was this time last week.

That'll be the kids furniture waiting installation when the New Nursery is completed.

09-08-2017, 10:37 AM
I think that building has been refurbished. They were probably embarrassed at having such an eyesore. That's not a problem for our classless chums over on the west side of the city.

09-08-2017, 10:43 AM
I think that building has been refurbished. They were probably embarrassed at having such an eyesore. That's not a problem for our classless chums over on the west side of the city.

It has indeed been done up. And it looks much, much better than Tynie ever will. 19121

09-08-2017, 10:51 AM
TBF to Budge, she promised her tenure at Tynecastle would bring in a new era of transparency.

We were too stupid to realise that it just meant they'd have a bl**dy big windae!

Hibbycol
09-08-2017, 11:00 AM
The over all colour and look of a stadium should reflect the teams (whoever it is) identity . For example ,looking round easter road the seat colour is uniform ,all a beautiful colour of emerald green no matter which stand you point your gaze . Other teams likewise ,but hertz ! Theirs is like a dulux graded paint wall chart ,so when (and if) their new glass conservatory is finished the seat colour will be uniform for a while but fade and pale to an ugly pasty sun bleached horror that the other bus shelters have acquired, so the over all look even with a new shiny new conservatory will still look shee-ite lolhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/3e7ba305cedf58e41ff7b68af7046d54.jpg

09-08-2017, 01:01 PM

No danger!

The announcement was last week mentioning the seats farce was only noticed a few days before.

Assuming the seats were available for shipping that day, unlikely, and there was space on a ship at short notice, possible but unlikely, a direct ship from S Korea to Tilbury takes 52 days (10 knots, likely) 35 days (15 knots, pushing it bit).

Bottom line. They're not here yet!*

* Unless she's being economical with the truth!

09-08-2017, 01:24 PM
They do look extremely Heart of Midlothian. That could be the regulars in the Canny Man's.🤣🤣

09-08-2017, 01:28 PM

Napier don't have anywhere in Morningside apart from the converted church next to the Dominion Cinema.

The building is in Merchiston and we take great exeption to being described as Morningside.

09-08-2017, 01:47 PM
Napier don't have anywhere in Morningside apart from the converted church next to the Dominion Cinema.

The building is in Merchiston and we take great exeption to being described as Morningside.

Only difference is Morningside is Rugby country and Merchiston is Hearts country. :greengrin

Actually, I know quite a few Watsonians and EVERY one of them is Hibs daft. (ok, I know 8 or so).

09-08-2017, 02:09 PM

I only started following this thread a few days ago after the 'forgotten seats' fiasco was announced, as it struck me as scarcely credible that such an oversight could have occurred. So apologies if this has already been discussed earlier in the thread, but the more I read about this stand the more I'm inclined to believe they have dug themselves into a financial hole which may see this thing sitting unfinished for far longer than they're claiming.

As recently as May, Ann Budge says here that they have only 50% of the £11-12 million funding in place, but claims to be confident they can raise the rest (article accompanied by the artist's impression of the now abandoned 'glass curtain' incidentally).

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-have-50-of-funding-for-new-tynecastle-main-stand-1-4116910

Yet only a couple of weeks ago, she admits here that the stand is now over budget to the tune of at least £2 million.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-have-50-of-funding-for-new-tynecastle-main-stand-1-4116910

What, realistically, are the chances that Hearts have raised circa £8 million in three months? Cake bakes and bric-a-brac auctions won't come close to touching that kind of sum. Is it unreasonable to speculate that the 'forgotten seats' are a fudge to buy them some time before coming clean on the true extent of the delay? I don't know who they contracted to build the stand, but in my experience contractors aren't slow to down tools if the client runs out of cash.

09-08-2017, 02:38 PM
I only started following this thread a few days ago after the 'forgotten seats' fiasco was announced, as it struck me as scarcely credible that such an oversight could have occurred. So apologies if this has already been discussed earlier in the thread, but the more I read about this stand the more I'm inclined to believe they have dug themselves into a financial hole which may see this thing sitting unfinished for far longer than they're claiming.

As recently as May, Ann Budge says here that they have only 50% of the £11-12 million funding in place, but claims to be confident they can raise the rest (article accompanied by the artist's impression of the now abandoned 'glass curtain' incidentally).

Yet only a couple of weeks ago, she admits here that the stand is now over budget to the tune of at least £2 million.

What, realistically, are the chances that Hearts have raised circa £8 million in three months? Cake bakes and bric-a-brac auctions won't come close to touching that kind of sum. Is it unreasonable to speculate that the 'forgotten seats' are a fudge to buy them some time before coming clean on the true extent of the delay? I don't know who they contracted to build the stand, but in my experience contractors aren't slow to down tools if the client runs out of cash.

Assuming that Budge has the readies to cover the shortfall, I think the most likely scenario is that she will cough up now and then add it to the debt she is owed by the fans.

Sounds like the £8m figure is plausible. Yams gonna be waiting a while before they even start acquiring ownership of their club.

Ian Murray's 'supporter ownership movement' rings more hollow by the day. Like most politicians he's taken the credit and left it to others to make his grand plan work.

09-08-2017, 02:43 PM
Assuming that Budge has the readies to cover the shortfall, I think the most likely scenario is that she will cough up now and then add it to the debt she is owed by the fans.

Sounds like the £8m figure is plausible. Yams gonna be waiting a while before they even start acquiring ownership of their club.

Ian Murray's 'supporter ownership movement' rings more hollow by the day. Like most politicians he's taken the credit and left it to others to make his grand plan work.

She can't just add more debt without permission from FoH.
Funding for this has been a little opaque from the outset.

09-08-2017, 02:47 PM
She can't just add more debt without permission from FoH.
Funding for this has been a little opaque from the outset.

If by opaque you mean missing then you would be correct.

09-08-2017, 02:56 PM
The latest photos on Kickback (from today) makes it look like there's been zero progress over the past week. This idea that the delay is down to forgotten seats seems dubious to me. Seats or no seats, there's nowhere to put them and it looks like there won't be for some time.

09-08-2017, 03:10 PM
The abandonment of the original plans for the 'glass wall' frontage must have come down to costs, so if they're still struggling to fund the project you do wonder how badly budgeted this has been.

09-08-2017, 03:16 PM
The latest photos on Kickback (from today) makes it look like there's been zero progress over the past week. This idea that the delay is down to forgotten sets seems dubious to me. Seats or no seats, there's nowhere to put them and it looks like there won't be for some time.

First time I've seen a pic of the inside. There appears to be no concrete whatsoever in place, which I'm guessing is due to the steel frame not yet being completed?

Could we be heading for something like this:

http://www.eastlothiancourier.com/news/13559792.County_s_biggest__white_elephant_to__fina lly_turn_into__dog_racing_mecca_/

As far as I know, that dog track stand is still at a standstill four years after this article was written.

09-08-2017, 03:28 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/63dfe61a22971d0b7a1d92ddfe9f4f52.jpg
Project at a standstill. Rumours the steel erectors have gone off site. Explains the lack of pics the last couple of days as most of the pics from inside come from their Facebook page.
No idea why they would go off site.

09-08-2017, 03:31 PM
And if that pics is taken today then I can't see a single person working?

09-08-2017, 03:49 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/63dfe61a22971d0b7a1d92ddfe9f4f52.jpg
Project at a standstill. Rumours the steel erectors have gone off site. Explains the lack of pics the last couple of days as most of the pics from inside come from their Facebook page.
No idea why they would go off site.

Maybe the steel wasn't ordered in time?

Or maybe they weren't being paid?

Oxford United experienced such problems in the construction of a new stadium:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kassam_Stadium

09-08-2017, 03:57 PM
Pretty sure its the precast seating decks that have arrived not the seats

09-08-2017, 04:00 PM
And if that pics is taken today then I can't see a single person working?

Maybe it's lunchtime and they're all in the Skyline Lounge having chips, while admiring the view of Edinburgh Castle :dunno:

09-08-2017, 04:19 PM
I think people criticising the lack of progress are being unfair.

There's been some freak weather recently.

09-08-2017, 04:28 PM
Maybe the steel wasn't ordered in time?

Or maybe they weren't being paid?

I heard the contractor walked off because he was fed up getting notes from Potter telling him how to do his job.

09-08-2017, 04:30 PM
BSB structural are the steel company and they were very good at putting a pic up every couple of days of the progress. There have been no updates now since the 1st August when they posted this pic.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/661fa6b13393e561a56481ee492ef8c3.jpg
Looking at the pic taken today it appears that work must have stopped shortly afterwards?

09-08-2017, 04:33 PM
It's only prudent that they postpone further construction work while nuclear Armageddon hangs over our heads.

If the radioactive fallout creates more mutants they'll need a bigger stadium.

09-08-2017, 04:38 PM
Only difference is Morningside is Rugby country and Merchiston is Hearts country. :greengrin

Myself and Dashing Bob S would disagree. Very few sightings of Hearts scarves at least on the south side of the canal.

09-08-2017, 04:42 PM
I think people criticising the lack of progress are being unfair.

There's been some freak weather recently.Yep, there's definitely been weather affecting freaks. Some of them still haven't got anywhere to sit or anything to sit on.

Looking good though, on time, on budget, everyone's envious and the share certificates are in the post.

The Pointer
09-08-2017, 04:43 PM

We've been demolishing buildings like that for a few years now to replace them with something more modern (in some cases!). The Tynecastle FE college. My old Marina TC wouldn't look out of place in front of it.

09-08-2017, 04:43 PM
Pretty sure its the precast seating decks that have arrived not the seats

correct.... its all being held off site.

.... at a secret location to prevent a certain Greenginger intervening and setting them on fire or something! :greengrin

09-08-2017, 05:03 PM
BSB structural are the steel company and they were very good at putting a pic up every couple of days of the progress. There have been no updates now since the 1st August when they posted this pic.

Looking at their Facebook updates, they seem to have secured a job lot on identikit steel frameworks to cover both Tynecastle and the Woodside Health Centre in Glasgow...wonder if we'll see patients using the new health centre before we see punters sitting in the new stand? ;-)

https://www.facebook.com/BSB-Structural-Ltd-445307042486538/

09-08-2017, 05:20 PM
If by opaque you mean missing then you would be correct.

Both I would suggest!

There was the mysterious £3m reserves they had somehow accumulated after Admin and relegation

Then there was the unnamed 'benefactors' which added another couple of £m

Then there was the family fun month, auction and cash cow which added anything between £6.20 and £7.00

After that they were open that they were still £m short....add in the ever increasing over spend which is min £2m and you do wonder just how and where the money is coming from.

IF it's from Budge directly then she is clearly getting suckered for many many many more millions than she could ever have envisaged. She may have a few quid but anyone who is having to throw £m after £m after £m into a black hole will be getting rather nervous at this stage.

Not that their fans seem overly concerned about it all! Deluding themselves about big name managers and more signings seems to be about it.

09-08-2017, 05:22 PM

As withh any building project of this scale warrant applications are staged. There are 2 so far, stage A, Demolition of existing main stand, erection of a proposed new main stand. STAGEA - Foundation and superstructure (Steel work) and stage B, STAGE B - Building Envelope (Demolition of existing main stand, erection of a proposed new main stand) neither appear to have been granted to date, but have a cost estimate of £6,400,000 which fits with the 'raised half the amount' scenario.