View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52

18-10-2017, 07:35 PM
Reading some of their comments re their new stand one is struck by the almost child-like enthusiasm they all seem to have for every last minute detail . Does a grown-up really get "goosebumps" when a workman nails some cheap tacky-looking signage on to it. Quite sad really. They really will have to "get a life"

You got quoted over the road with this post, one of the Bulgarian balcony blubberers thought you lacked irony and posted a hilarious meme featuring a Canadian singer who was popular for five minutes two decades ago. The hilarious meme post was subsequently re posted as several cardigans thought that one view of the meme didn't do justice to the humour that the first posting evoked.

Im not sure what thread I like best, their stand thread or ours, theirs always leaves me shaking my head at the blind optimism but they unwittingly provide much of the ammunition which we then recycle on our thread with add ons and analysis attached.

In truth, this thread wouldn't exist without their thread.

And maybe the blind optimism of their thread would be tempered if they never had us peering over their shoulders looking for ammo to use against them. The fact that they know we are watching might possibly make some of their more hard wired posters less inclined to show anything but unflinching support for The Budge Vision.

Their thread repeats the mantra 'allisbarry' with no questions asked. Im convinced that this cult like mentality has evolved into a shield to protect them from the unpalatable truths that they feel slicing into them like a Cummings goal everytime their Gods And Masters make a James Hunt of their club

Our thread just states the bleeding obvious with a bit of humour thrown in.

PerfectlyFranck
18-10-2017, 09:13 PM
I doubt many Jambos will care about the appearance of the stand when it is full for a match. The proximity of the stands to the pitch and 'boxed-in' single-tier stands will be great for the atmosphere. I believe that most Premiership fans would have claimed Tynecastle as the best Premiership stadium for atmosphere (outside of the tribute acts) — their new stand should only solidify this claim.

I wish Easter Road's stands were as close to the pitch and towered over players like they will at Tynecastle. The closest we can get to that at the moment would be to lengthen/widen the pitch unnecessarily and stick unsymmetrical advertising boards between the stands. (Not very close...)

I would rather have the dated office block appearance and slightly smaller capacity if it means stands sitting on top of the pitch and a better atmosphere.

Greenfly
18-10-2017, 09:36 PM
This is the nub of it. It will be a very decent stand, but it's uninspiring and does look like it has been built on the cheap...despite being expensive ! However green tinted specs aside, it's actually good to see other Scottish teams investing in infrastructure, the scottish game has needed it for a long time.

Don't let that stop anyone, continuing to take the piss on here though ! always cheers my day up ! lol

This is very true as is the Bunberry piece you quote. It will look ok inside and add some symmetry. There will be seats on which they can park themselves and have a decent enough view (apart from those behind police boxes and whatever else) of whatever mince is taking place on the pitch down below. The front looks bland and thoroughly uninspiring apart from the paving mosaic stuff which is a decent enough idea. That said, any facade has to be an improvement on the previous eyesore.

It's functional - seats (eventually), a roof, a few necessary facilities. And really that's it - the sum total and the best you can say about it - a utilitarian box that will serve its basic purpose - fullstop.

Yet when you read Dicksack you'd think this was the Taj Mahal of Gorgie - Building of the Year and a dead cert replacement for Holyrood Palace. Wise up maroon lads and lasses - it'll be ok (until it shows its age in a few years) but nothing more. You've swapped a very old engine shed for a 70s bus station and spent lots of dosh you don't have in the process.

18-10-2017, 09:44 PM
Thing is, they know fine well that it is a basic stand.

It’s a massive improvement on what they had before and they’re finally catching up with us after close on 20 years, but there’s absolutely nothing special about it.

Someone earlier mentioned it’s like a cult on kickback. That’s so true. Anyone even slightly questioning any issue is immediately shot down in flames as if what they’re doing is perfection and couldn’t possibly have been any better.

18-10-2017, 09:47 PM
This is the nub of it. It will be a very decent stand, but it's uninspiring and does look like it has been built on the cheap...despite being expensive ! However green tinted specs aside, it's actually good to see other Scottish teams investing in infrastructure, the scottish game has needed it for a long time.

Don't let that stop anyone, continuing to take the piss on here though ! always cheers my day up ! lol

I'm not sure about that at all.

Given the mess they've made of the build, I won't be at all surprised if they've made some fundamental design mistakes too.

We can see the compromised sight lines for ourselves. I think there will be many more. Keeping that brutal office block at a comfortable temperature might be an obvious issue.

18-10-2017, 10:18 PM
I doubt many Jambos will care about the appearance of the stand when it is full for a match. The proximity of the stands to the pitch and 'boxed-in' single-tier stands will be great for the atmosphere. I believe that most Premiership fans would have claimed Tynecastle as the best Premiership stadium for atmosphere (outside of the tribute acts) — their new stand should only solidify this claim.

I wish Easter Road's stands were as close to the pitch and towered over players like they will at Tynecastle. The closest we can get to that at the moment would be to lengthen/widen the pitch unnecessarily and stick unsymmetrical advertising boards between the stands. (Not very close...)

I would rather have the dated office block appearance and slightly smaller capacity if it means stands sitting on top of the pitch and a better atmosphere.

😂😂😂

18-10-2017, 10:23 PM

Great post, should get the discussion really going.

Are you in favour of the tin, tape and pop-rivet construction method too? Really modern.

18-10-2017, 11:00 PM

Whether or not their new stand is a “thing of beauty” in their eyes, when you plan improvements, you must think of the bigger picture. They haven’t.

Summed up - even with their new UEFA compliant stand - it doesn’t alter the fact their pitch will STILL not be UEFA compliant. Surely that should have been factored in for the future. Alleged so called self styled atmospheric superiority doesn’t override the compliance rules

The comparison is, that even though we took a few years to rebuild all four sides of Easter Road, we at least had the foresight to ensure the whole stadium was UEFA compliant.

18-10-2017, 11:17 PM
To be fair it will complete the stadium and look good from the inside.
Yes but the stadium is still not UEFA compliant and since the construction of that stand can never become compliant.

They will have to rely on annual dispensations to play even League matches there for evermore.

18-10-2017, 11:28 PM

I would rather have the dated office block appearance and slightly smaller capacity if it means stands sitting on top of the pitch and a better
atmosphere.

The stands at ER are taller than the PBS ..... Its true they aren't as close to the pitch, but then I doubt there are many grounds in Europe where the stands encroach as much as they do at the PBS, if there was I doubt UEFA would have set the standards they have for pitch size and run off areas.

As for the atmosphere. The new stand might solidify the 'claim' .. but that's all it is a 'claim' ... because as witnesses by the numerous posts on Kickback on the subject the home fans aren't exactly taking advantage of the grounds clearly advantageous to atmosphere configuration. I'm not sure why the new stand will change that ..... you have to actually make a noise first.

Hell, the way some folk go on you would think the stands at ER were as far from the pitch as somewhere like West Ham or Wolves ...... the truth is they are pretty average compared to most stadiums and I cant remember the atmosphere being a problem when we were thumping the Yams in front of them last season. I always think folk are deceived because the ends of the FF and south stands were left a few yards short of the east when it was rebuilt, but the front of the stands in themselves are, as I said, a pretty average distance from the touchlines.

18-10-2017, 11:36 PM
Their first strips were supplied by the pub that they were named after, The Heart of Midlothian. They were ahead of their time and could argue that they were the first club to have a sponsors logo on their jersey. The heart they had on their chest was a bit of free advertising for the pub that created them.
It cant be denied that they are biggest pub team in EdinburghOddfellows:wink:

scm70nyd1973
19-10-2017, 12:11 AM
Hearts originally played in the establishment's favourite combo of Red, White and Blue. On one of the rare occasions they washed the kit it the colours ran coming out a drab, dreary, shabby shade of dark pink i.e. maroon.

Chicken and egg scenario here I suppose but which came first - Edinburgh buses, trams etc etc with maroon on them or the Poppy Thieves. I m a Weegie Hibby (Edinburgh born but left when I was 3) so forgive me as I am a bit unsure of the history of this.

19-10-2017, 12:25 AM
I'm not sure about that at all.

Given the mess they've made of the build, I won't be at all surprised if they've made some fundamental design mistakes too.

We can see the compromised sight lines for ourselves. I think there will be many more. Keeping that brutal office block at a comfortable temperature might be an obvious issue.

17 days till we find out!

Caversham Green
19-10-2017, 08:31 AM

They're not half getting worked up about it now though. Why are they going on about the biggest glass curtain wall in Scottish football (also the smallest btw) if nobody's going to care about it?

19-10-2017, 08:43 AM
They'll have a decent ground when the things eventually completed, no more, no less. If they hadn't been proclaiming the arrival of something akin to the eighth wonder of the world, then this thread wouldn't exist.

19-10-2017, 08:48 AM

Agree, there's been far too much emphasis on here about the capacity. It's as if we've been sucked into their obsession with size. They've gone for quality over quantity, and it can hardly be argued that their stadium won't be better than ours when theirs will have an escalator and a glass wall.

19-10-2017, 09:00 AM
Agree, there's been far too much emphasis on here about the capacity. It's as if we've been sucked into their obsession with size. They've gone for quality over quantity, and it can hardly be argued that their stadium won't be better than ours when theirs will have an escalator and a glass wall.

Surely the only way forward is for us to abandon our pitiful stadium and beg her ladyship to allow us to ground share at the magnificent erection that is Tynecastle Park.

-Jonesy-
19-10-2017, 09:23 AM
They've gone for quality over quantity

This will only be true if the final capacity is 4 seats.

19-10-2017, 09:28 AM

Not to mention chips.

19-10-2017, 09:33 AM

By my reckoning there's around 90 glass panels at the Main Stand entrance. Quite how anyone thought that would be ever be enough, and wouldn't leave us totally open to ridicule down the line, is frankly embarrassing.

Even worse that they provide full view of amateurish staircases inside, as well.

19-10-2017, 10:04 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/41679613 here come the excuses

19-10-2017, 10:07 AM

"Ann is determined to get the game on," he said. "When she is determined about something, it usually happens.

Seems like she must be determined to have more games played at the egg-chasers ground then.

Andy.1875
19-10-2017, 10:11 AM
"Ann is determined to get the game on," he said. "When she is determined about something, it usually happens.

Seems like she must be determined to have more games played at the egg-chasers ground then.

Being determined didn't get her seats in an quicker!

Firestarter
19-10-2017, 10:16 AM
Here comes the bull****.

19-10-2017, 10:18 AM
Potter softening them up for the announcement with some classic doublespeak. 'It will be ready because Anne is determined but it might not be ready although it will be sort of ready but not in the timeframe we previously stated, in short, it will be ready but not ready yet

19-10-2017, 10:19 AM

In a low interest rate economy Ann was determined to get a better than the average average 1% interest rate for her money.

She got it :thumbsup:

19-10-2017, 10:21 AM

Tough, they should be told to play with three stand if necessary, until the new stand is ready. That will make them get a move on. We all knew they would try to rip the erse out of the situation.

19-10-2017, 10:22 AM
Potter softening them up for the announcement with some classic doublespeak. 'It will be ready because Anne is determined but it might not be ready although it will be sort of ready but not in the timeframe we previously stated, in short, it will be ready but not ready yet

So we're talking almost nearly then.

Yamspeak

19-10-2017, 10:24 AM
Tough, they should be told to play with three stand if necessary, until the new stand is ready. That will make them get a move on. We all knew they would try to rip the erse out of the situation.

It's ridiculous. Think about Kilmarnock. It's 2 weeks away and they don't even know if they've got a game. The SPFL should be stepping in and getting them to make a decision on this.

19-10-2017, 10:28 AM

With 17 days to go the semi-fornal announcement. They are basically saying the new target date is 19th for Thistle game even if everything is not ready!

19-10-2017, 10:32 AM
"Hearts had set a date of early September for playing matches at Tynecastle but were forced to play recent fixtures at Murrayfield after a delay in building work."

Why do journos always give them an easy ride?

Why don't they get held up to ridicule as most other teams do?

seanshow
19-10-2017, 10:34 AM
With 400,000 fans to cater for they will have sold every seat in the new stand for the opening match.
Even if all the seats are in place surley the lack of internal fittings will stop this from happening any time soon.

9th September
5th November
...............tbc

19-10-2017, 10:51 AM

"Hearts' return to Tynecastle faces potential delay"

No ****, Sherlock.

19-10-2017, 11:08 AM
I don't think there will be a delay - in fact I don't believe there has been any delay at all. Morganleith on here said so.

19-10-2017, 11:11 AM

Murrayfield it is then. At the end of the day they should just have asked for all their games this season to be played at Murrayfield like the Tottingham Hotspurs did with Wembley and that would have been an end to it ... they could have jigged their fixtures around the rugby.

I know folk are complaining about that possibly giving them extra income, but Spurs are more than doubling their average crowds at Wembley compared to White Heart Lane and I cant recall hearing a peep of complaint from their rivals about it. I cant say it bothers me, every extra penny the Yams make will be swallowed up in rental fees for Murrayfield and deep fat fryers and Windowlene for the Gorgie Taj Mahal.

19-10-2017, 11:22 AM
Murrayfield it is then. At the end of the day they should just have asked for all their games this season to be played at Murrayfield like the Tottingham Hotspurs did with Wembley and that would have been an end to it ... they could have jigged their fixtures around the rugby.

I know folk are complaining about that possibly giving them extra income, but Spurs are more than doubling their average crowds at Wembley compared to White Heart Lane and I cant recall hearing a peep of complaint from their rivals about it. I cant say it bothers me, every extra penny the Yams make will be swallowed up in rental fees for Murrayfield and deep fat fryers and Windowlene for the Gorgie Taj Mahal.

Tbf you're comparing apples and oranges.

Spurs are a world class professional organisation, Hearts are prolific liars, thieves and cheats.

19-10-2017, 11:22 AM

White Hart please!
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/12/The_White_Hart_Signboard.jpg/220px-The_White_Hart_Signboard.jpg

Firestarter
19-10-2017, 11:23 AM

Is Wembley double the size of Spurs' new stadium?

19-10-2017, 11:30 AM

I think most teams in the EPL don't have to worry about finance the way Scottish teams do. A short sharp increase in capacity will not have the same impact on their overall income in the same way it will help Hearts.

19-10-2017, 11:44 AM

No ... but its more than double the size of the old one, which means Spurs are still making more money than they would if they had played in front of a half finished White Hart Lane.

19-10-2017, 11:46 AM
White Hart please!
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/12/The_White_Hart_Signboard.jpg/220px-The_White_Hart_Signboard.jpg

Whoops .... apologies to Spurs fans for my schoolboy error :embarrass

Firestarter
19-10-2017, 11:53 AM
No ... but its more than double the size of the old one, which means Spurs are still making more money than they would if they had played in front of a half finished White Hart Lane.

But they are spending hundreds of millions expanding their stadium. They set their intentions out clear as day before doing so too. Hearts are ripping the piss, picking and choosing what games to play at Murrayfield whilst gambling the stand will be ready to play the Diddy sides with no support. In fact if they struck a deal to play there the whole season it wouldn't have been that bad but they knew they would lose season ticket holders this season so didnt. They have been sleekit as **** at everything they have done during this "project" and it continues.

19-10-2017, 11:55 AM
I think most teams in the EPL don't have to worry about finance the way Scottish teams do. A short sharp increase in capacity will not have the same impact on their overall income in the same way it will help Hearts.

I know that. But unfortunately the SPFL don't see it as part of their remit to keep all the clubs in Scotland on a level playing field financially, if they did we wouldn't get the ugly sisters carve up all the time. At the end of the day if this wasn't Hearts I doubt we would be making such a big deal of it. I know its nauseating to see that bunch of cheats and swindlers making money out of this situation, buy hey whatchagonnado :dunno:

Firestarter
19-10-2017, 11:58 AM
I know that. But unfortunately the SPFL don't see it as part of their remit to keep all the clubs in Scotland on a level playing field financially, if they did we wouldn't get the ugly sisters carve up all the time. At the end of the day if this wasn't Hearts I doubt we would be making such a big deal of it. I know its nauseating to see that bunch of cheats and swindlers making money out of this situation, buy hey whatchagonnado :dunno:

Good point about it being Hearts but then you have to differentiate Hearts the club our city rivals and Hearts the club that have past history of being conning ****s. If it was another club with similar backgrounds as they have over the par 15 years then I would feel the same.

19-10-2017, 12:08 PM

No. Wembley holds 90k and the new stadium 61k

19-10-2017, 12:17 PM
Looking slick...

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/F8AB4677-59E3-4093-81E7-D64638620081.thumb.jpeg.85bd2b696f03fa4475d095cbd4 ac578e.jpeg

19-10-2017, 12:19 PM
They're not half getting worked up about it now though. Why are they going on about the biggest glass curtain wall in Scottish football (also the smallest btw) if nobody's going to care about it?

brilliant!

19-10-2017, 12:19 PM
We can just paint new white lines if we ever want the pitch to be closer to the stands.

Bit cheaper than having to build a whole new stadium!

19-10-2017, 12:20 PM

Should that not be plan C?

19-10-2017, 12:23 PM
Looking slick...

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/F8AB4677-59E3-4093-81E7-D64638620081.thumb.jpeg.85bd2b696f03fa4475d095cbd4 ac578e.jpeg

Now all we need is a slow zoom out, you know, to show the sheer scale of this magnificent edifice :greengrin

19-10-2017, 12:26 PM

I think part of the redevelopment at White Hart Lane involves turning the pitch through 90 degrees making it impossible for them to play there.

19-10-2017, 12:28 PM
But they are spending hundreds of millions expanding their stadium. They set their intentions out clear as day before doing so too. Hearts are ripping the piss, picking and choosing what games to play at Murrayfield whilst gambling the stand will be ready to play the Diddy sides with no support. In fact if they struck a deal to play there the whole season it wouldn't have been that bad but they knew they would lose season ticket holders this season so didnt. They have been sleekit as **** at everything they have done during this "project" and it continues.

It is a totally new stadium situated mostly north of the existing one. the footprint of the old north stand is almost where the new south stand is located. half the stadium would have been demolished, involving 3 stands to allow the new stadium to be built

Groathillgrump
19-10-2017, 12:33 PM
Looking slick...

Is it just me or does the left side of the badge look a bit crumpled? :hmmm:

19-10-2017, 12:34 PM
I don't think there will be a delay - in fact I don't believe there has been any delay at all. Morganleith on here said so.

Morganleith was probably a Doctor Who fan as well, and as all good time travellers, or in the yam case time lords know, the space / time continuum can be stretched. It can probably be taped together or pop riveted as well.

19-10-2017, 12:37 PM

Tyne(bouncy)castle!

ehf
19-10-2017, 12:39 PM
Looking slick...

FFS, is that badge made of papier maché?

19-10-2017, 12:42 PM
Looking slick...

It's just a badly fitted sticker :faf:

19-10-2017, 12:43 PM
FFS, is that badge made of papier maché?

Looks like a Hibby builder mistook it for the Heart of Midlothian in the High St and took a waz on it.

Alan62
19-10-2017, 12:45 PM

Definitely crumpled. Wait until the weather gets in under it. Perhaps it's just temporary like the rest of the construction.

19-10-2017, 12:51 PM
I think part of the redevelopment at White Hart Lane involves turning the pitch through 90 degrees making it impossible for them to play there.

I thought that as well but it doesn't look like it from this taken at the end of last season.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/tottenham-new-stadium-pictures-video-when-will-it-open-cost-a7736456.html#

(http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/tottenham-new-stadium-pictures-video-when-will-it-open-cost-a7736456.html#)The corner was demolished during the season to allow the large concrete monalith to go in, meaning UEFA games had to be played at Wembley

Hibs07p
19-10-2017, 12:55 PM
It looks like something is coming off the right hand side as well.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

19-10-2017, 12:56 PM

Nope, it's not just you, the badge looks a bit crumpled anaw.

19-10-2017, 12:57 PM
Looking slick...

In the 'grand' scheme of things a ridiculously small point, but the dimensions of the crest relative to the square behind it would irritate me if I was involved in the design. Should be contained within the square behind it and not overlapping the windows, sorry, the adjacent sections of the glass wall.

And as someone said, the crest does seem to be crumpled on one side.

But apart from that, the end result will be the second largest football stadium in Edinburgh, functional and useful even to us for our league cup semi-finals against non Celtic/The Rangers 2012 opponents.

19-10-2017, 01:02 PM
In the 'grand' scheme of things a ridiculously small point, but the dimensions of the crest relative to the square behind it would irritate me if I was involved in the design. Should be contained within the square behind it and not overlapping the windows, sorry, the adjacent sections of the glass wall.

But apart from that, the end result will be the second largest football stadium in Edinburgh, functional and useful even to us for our league cup semi-finals against non Celtic/The Rangers 2012 opponents.

The crest is mounted on a rectangular block that stands proud of the main panel. In order to fully cover the block the crest has to overlap the glass sections of the wall (windows to you and me). I think they ran a competition in the school across the road to come up with the design. And I think the crumpled look at the edge of the crest might just be reflection.

19-10-2017, 01:05 PM

HAHAHA..... an inflatable badge ! Bunch of halfwits

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

19-10-2017, 01:06 PM
The crest is mounted on a rectangular block that stands proud of the main panel. In order to fully cover the block the crest has to overlap the glass sections of the wall (windows to you and me). I think they ran a competition in the school across the road to come up with the design. And I think the crumpled look at the edge of the crest might just be reflection.

It's not a reflection. It's a poly bag stretched badly over a heart-shaped frame/light-box.

Alan62
19-10-2017, 01:07 PM

Absolutely agree. When I saw the space they had left for it I assumed it would be contained in the square but, no, overlapping into the windows either side and bursting out the top as well. It’s almost like the signage was an afterthought.

19-10-2017, 01:08 PM
Looking slick...

Oh that is absolutely dreadful. I just can't adequately express how cheap that looks.

It's like someone has done a bodged wallpapering job.

19-10-2017, 01:10 PM
Absolutely agree. When I saw the space they had left for it I assumed it would be contained in the square but, no, overlapping into the windows either side and bursting out the top as well. It’s almost like the signage was an afterthought.

It would look better of it was lowered sligthly so that it over lapped all four edges. Tasteless gits!

19-10-2017, 01:14 PM
Great post, should get the discussion really going.

Are you in favour of the tin, tape and pop-rivet construction method too? Really modern.

I personally really like the thought of seats that are crammed in so tightly next to each other that they will cause stand up fights to break out on a regular basis amongst the home supporters.

And by the way, Hobos, it won't be any old pagger. It will be a World Class pagger

19-10-2017, 01:18 PM
Oh that is absolutely dreadful. I just can't adequately express how cheap that looks.

It's like someone has done a bodged wallpapering job.

It's ok. It's in a fairly discreet location and no one will really see it.

19-10-2017, 01:19 PM
Looking slick...

Take everything back. That is smart as

19-10-2017, 01:25 PM
Is there a reason why they've got so much grey on the stand?

If they replaced the grey panelling with a brighter colour it would look a million times better.

As it stands, it is very 60s office block.

19-10-2017, 01:28 PM
Looking slick...

HMP Tynecastle Park

19-10-2017, 01:28 PM
Is there a reason why they've got so much grey on the stand?

If they replaced the grey panelling with a brighter colour it would look a million times better.

As it stands, it is very 60s office block.

You would think they would have had grey for the away stand...

19-10-2017, 01:29 PM
Take everything back. That is smart as

... a suit from Cowan Tailoring? Berry's on Lothian Road?

(or that other place at the end of Albert Street. Help me out, somebody).

19-10-2017, 01:31 PM
Looking slick...

Stunning.

19-10-2017, 01:32 PM

The place you bought your first Teddy Boy suit from?

19-10-2017, 01:34 PM

...or Compo from Last of the Summer Wine...

19-10-2017, 01:38 PM
Looking slick...

Thats mental, look at the creases in the vinyl for the badge to the left of the F. On the sign above, the rails the letters are on could at least have ran over the horizontal frame below.

If thats the quality control on the club badge, imagine what its like behind the scenes? Our cup final displays are better made.

19-10-2017, 01:41 PM
Now all we need is a slow zoom out, you know, to show the sheer scale of this magnificent edifice :greengrin

It's crumpled? please tell me it's not a sticker or one of those poster type efforts that is just rolled on?

Surely not another cheap balls up from the club that keeps on giving.

19-10-2017, 01:44 PM
A Sweep for when the first letter falls off?

Or which one even.

I'll go for the "C" on 21/4/18.

19-10-2017, 02:01 PM
Looking slick...

They wonder why this thread is so long...

It’s because they keep giving their rival team a right good laugh.

I posted about the lettering a few days ago - surely £14 million could get you some decent signage ?!

The badge looks terrible and the lettering worse from an angle - the bold font doesn’t work and just isn’t clear ! Basics!

As I said last time - money can’t buy you class !

Wonder what the next laugh out loud moment will be...

dchibs
19-10-2017, 02:04 PM

Looks like its made of cardboard.

19-10-2017, 02:10 PM
Just another disaster to add to the list. What's next? I genuinely fear the thing isn't built correctly and someone ends up hurt. Complete incompetence and miss management.

19-10-2017, 02:13 PM
A Sweep for when the first letter falls off?

Or which one even.

I'll go for the "C" on 21/4/18.

I'll take the "P" on 1/4/18

19-10-2017, 02:14 PM
I agree, it will look absolutely fine. The problem is that in true Hearts fashion, they’ve made it out to be something it isn’t. It’s a bog standard stand to go with the other three they already have.

Thing is, they know fine well that it is a basic stand.

It’s a massive improvement on what they had before and they’re finally catching up with us after close on 20 years, but there’s absolutely nothing special about it.

Someone earlier mentioned it’s like a cult on kickback. That’s so true. Anyone even slightly questioning any issue is immediately shot down in flames as if what they’re doing is perfection and couldn’t possibly have been any better.

30+ years of supporting teams that were artificially financially inflated with 'Other People's Money', has had a major effect on the Jambo psyche as the bulk of their support has been brought-up truly believing that their club has always been well-off, has always been able to attract players of a level way outwith their historical norm just because of who they are !. 'Playing Within Our Means' is their new business-model but it doesn't mean that they will have to give up on their unbelieveable 'Dreams of grandeur', the false beliefs that they really are a 'Big team' and that they really are 'famous' - it'll take a long, long time before their collective-support comes anywhere near 'Realistic' and drops it's outrageous beliefs of how their club is perceived and it's actual standing within the game !. And until that happens, we can continue to have the most incredible amount of fun and laughter with - and at - them as the cold, hard fingers of 'Reality' grip them by the neck and slowly chokes them !!

gaz1875
19-10-2017, 02:18 PM
I'll take the "P" on 1/4/18

Is it not "I'll have a "P" please Bob :greengrin

Green Blood
19-10-2017, 02:19 PM
The crest was cut from a duvet cover and then superglued on apparently!

19-10-2017, 02:22 PM
Looking slick...

My word, that's worse than I thought it possibly could be. The crumpled badge is bad enough (surely that's some form of laminate that's still to be peeled off??) but the tacked on bits of railing to accommodate the lettering (which in itself looks awful) looks so cheap.

19-10-2017, 02:28 PM
My word, that's worse than I thought it possibly could be. The crumpled badge is bad enough (surely that's some form of laminate that's still to be peeled off??) but the tacked on bits of railing to accommodate the lettering (which in itself looks awful) looks so cheap.

My thoughts on the letter rails is that they could have done away with the rails if only they had built a wall out of breeze blocks :wink:

19-10-2017, 02:32 PM
As I once heard someone say - on a scale of 1 to mince, it's a huge pile of ground beef!

19-10-2017, 03:14 PM
All joking aside for a minute - even the Yams cant honestly believe that monstrosity is worth 15 million quid?

19-10-2017, 03:46 PM
4 o'clock news on Radio Scotland saying there's a chance tynecastle will NOT be ready for the home game as planned. Only took this long to post this info as I was driving.

19-10-2017, 03:52 PM
Is that badge on the front of the building, one of those tyre covers you can buy for jeeps and the likes that have the spare tyre on the back of the vehicle?

Bobo
19-10-2017, 03:54 PM
Looking slick...

Just wait until they shine their 50w bulb through the back of it, they’ll be beside themselves 🙄🤣

19-10-2017, 03:56 PM
Looking slick...

The badge is a disaster. Cheap vinyl they haven't been able to fit properly owing to the curve. As someone else pointed out, it's placement is off kilter... should have been lower to give symmetry.

Still... it's a thing of beauty which will inspire awe in all who behold its grandeur.

19-10-2017, 03:56 PM
It looks like a P7 project tbh and the person responsible gets a D for their efforts!

Tornadoes70
19-10-2017, 03:59 PM
Looking slick...

When even the drab maroon brightens up a background it just shows off how bad one of the worst facades put up in manies a year really is. I cannot for the life of me understand just how they got away with putting up this monstrosity. Its an eyesore that harks back decades.

Mellow Hibee
19-10-2017, 04:12 PM
The other day some Jambo over on Kickback was saying that looking at the stand brought a tear to his eye.

I'm starting to understand.

19-10-2017, 04:12 PM
I'm going for L for "last minute Paul Hanlon equaliser" on 7th February.

19-10-2017, 04:19 PM
The other day some Jambo over on Kickback was saying that looking at the stand brought a tear to his eye.

I'm starting to understand.

what, how sensationally epic it is? Or epically sensational? Or stunningly epically sensationally... I've lost track on this week's in-vogue erbole.

19-10-2017, 04:26 PM

Escalator......glass wall.......:hmmm:

https://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_700,f_auto,ar_3:2,c_fill/http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimage/1.4326900.1482920012!/image/image.jpg

Tynecastle Park - officially not as good as Goldbergs

19-10-2017, 04:29 PM

That story has been shortened since it was put online. The Evening News still carries the rest of his quote:-

“There is a plan ‘B’ but I have not been party to those discussions.”

The Hearts boss said he was sure there would be an alternative if the stadium is not ready in time for the fixture.

He added: “I believe Murrayfield is an option, but I’m sure there will be adequate plans in place should it not go ahead.”

Seriously!? The next in line after the Queen 'has not been party to the discussions'? He's sure there would be an alternative... but doesn't actually know?

19-10-2017, 04:33 PM
4 o'clock news on Radio Scotland saying there's a chance tynecastle will NOT be ready for the home game as planned. Only took this long to post this info as I was driving.

Ah but they have a Plan B in place although Levein couldn't tell us what it was. They'll not be able to use Murrayfield in November because of the Autumn tests - at least on the Saturday afternoons.

19-10-2017, 04:36 PM
It looks like something is coming off the right hand side as well.

I think that's just shadow, a feature they've used to such good effect above to make the lettering as difficult as possible to read.

Firestarter
19-10-2017, 04:39 PM
Ah but they have a Plan B in place although Levein couldn't tell us what it was. They'll not be able to use Murrayfield in November because of the Autumn tests - at least on the Saturday afternoons.

You can somehow guarantee that he SRU and the SPFl will work with them as best they can to assist the situation.

19-10-2017, 04:47 PM
You can somehow guarantee that he SRU and the SPFl will work with them as best they can to assist the situation.

The SRU are a commercial organisation. They're not going to turn down the income.

Firestarter
19-10-2017, 04:49 PM
The SRU are a commercial organisation. They're not going to turn down the income.

I agree and it always turns up good for them too so regardless if test matches they will find a way round this.

19-10-2017, 04:52 PM
Can someone with more techy skills than me i.e anyone, post a pic of our main stand alongside that one of theirs with the badge on. Just so we can all see where the extra £9m or so pounds has been spent. Honestly anyone involved in that project, from architects, to project managers should be ashamed

19-10-2017, 05:01 PM
Can someone with more techy skills than me i.e anyone, post a pic of our main stand alongside that one of theirs with the badge on. Just so we can all see where the extra £9m or so pounds has been spent. Honestly anyone involved in that project, from architects, to project managers should be ashamed
In fairness to the architect, they will be working to a tight budget and therefore limited in design scope. That said, i'm fairly certain that they won't have it in their future portfolio for prospective clients.......:faf:

19-10-2017, 05:02 PM
Is that badge on the front of the building, one of those tyre covers you can buy for jeeps and the likes that have the spare tyre on the back of the vehicle?

19-10-2017, 05:07 PM

To be honest with you for the first time in this sorry tale I actually feel a wee bit sorry for them.

To have the signage and the badge looking that bloody awful is incompetence on a grand scale.

19-10-2017, 05:09 PM
Looking slick...

Ye gods, even the letters are on rails ...... that looks awful :greengrin

And to think in their desperation to show up our place lots of them have posted pictures of the metal badges on the front of our main stand .... that looks like they have cut up a duvet cover from the club shop and stretched it over a frame, but forgot to iron it first ... oh dear, its not going very well is it :faf:

19-10-2017, 05:09 PM
"Hearts had set a date of early September for playing matches at Tynecastle but were forced to play recent fixtures at Murrayfield after a delay in building work."

Why do journos always give them an easy ride?

Why don't they get held up to ridicule as most other teams do?

Indeed. Did the building company not actually step in back in September to take issue with Hearts releasing such a statement and insist they came clean about the club forgetting to order the seats?

19-10-2017, 05:15 PM
Indeed. Did the building company not actually step in back in September to take issue with Hearts releasing such a statement and insist they came clean about the club forgetting to order the seats?

Indeed they did .... in fact IIRC they were pretty blunt in their demand that the Yams make it clear where the blame lay :aok:

19-10-2017, 05:17 PM
Not sure where that picture of the badge with the wrinkles on it came from. But my mate sent me a photo earlier and as garbage as it looks, there was no crease visible?

I also don't believe he could use Photoshop to fix it either :greengrin

19-10-2017, 05:23 PM
To be honest with you for the first time in this sorry tale I actually feel a wee bit sorry for them.

To have the signage and the badge looking that bloody awful is incompetence on a grand scale.

I know it’s probably the wrong place to say it and I should go and scrub my mouth out after saying it but I do ‘almost’ feel sorry for the average yam.

I was speaking to one the other week and he was saying it’s like their seasons not started yet. This isn’t a ‘big famous team’ idiot that a lot of them are, just a relatively normal guy that likes going to the football with his laddie.

I’m guessing with all the rearranged fixtures coming thick and fast there’ll be a lot of younger fans in particular that can’t go to them all, especially the midweek rearranged games. Don’t get me wrong I’ve enjoyed this main stand farce a much as anyone but Budge really should be dragged over the coals to explain how they’ve made such an arse of this.

Sure I’ll still be able to sleep tonight but as the saying goes ‘it’s the children I feel sorry for.

19-10-2017, 05:27 PM
Not sure where that picture of the badge with the wrinkles on it came from. But my mate sent me a photo earlier and as garbage as it looks, there was no crease visible?

It’s been ironed out. Still looks brutal along with the lettering along the office block. Budge really has sold them out on this and I’d be raging if this was my club.

I think the crease has been 'ironed out' this afternoon but there now appears to be some sort of edging hanging off the bottom and both sides of the badge:

https://random.carrd.co/assets/images/gallery01/07_original.jpg?v84940194248051

Apparently the illumination being used to light up the badge is the same as was used in the Halbeath shopping centre upgrade in Dunfermline...according to a yam who seems to regard this as the epitome of quality.

It's the cheapest of the cheap look to the 'Tynecastle Park' lettering that really leaves me lost for words though. Could they really not have found a way to attach them without those ugly extra rails?

Looking slick...

Well that’s going to hold up well to the Scottish winter. If it lasts long enough, it will be faded pink by August and as creased as a pair of tramps trousers.

Liam978
19-10-2017, 05:28 PM

It is the lamination,wont be peeled off until that and the lettering are connected up.I'ts a wonder they didn't use the old one.

19-10-2017, 05:28 PM
Where did Tynecastle ”Park” come from?

19-10-2017, 05:55 PM

Away up in Gorgie at Tynecastle Park...:confused:

19-10-2017, 05:57 PM
Away up in Gorgie at Tynecastle Park...:confused:

...there's a WEE fitba' team etc

Perhaps they've worded it like that to acknowledge that the capacity of the stadium will remain smaller than Easter Road?

19-10-2017, 06:15 PM

Don't mock, as we sit back , moves are taking place in Manchester to re-brand The Etihad into Etihad Park and Arsene Wenger wants his place known as Emirates Park.

Yams lead and others follow. :greengrin

19-10-2017, 06:16 PM
It's the cheapest of the cheap look to the 'Tynecastle Park' lettering that really leaves me lost for words though. Could they really not have found a way to attach them without those ugly extra rails?

Are they rails, though, or tubes to carry neon to light up the signage?

I say neon, but it might be something less up-to-date to go with the 60s/70s period look of the stadium.

19-10-2017, 06:24 PM
OMG how cheap and nasty does that look.
Probably comes with lazers and smoke effects.

19-10-2017, 06:33 PM
These grey panels.

Not a chance in hell that any Hearts fans actually think they look good. They’ve just got to say it’s amazing cause there’s nowt they can do about it.

I bet even Budge is gutted at how it’s looking.

19-10-2017, 06:38 PM
I think the crease has been 'ironed out' this afternoon but there now appears to be some sort of edging hanging off the bottom and both sides of the badge:

https://random.carrd.co/assets/images/gallery01/07_original.jpg?v84940194248051

Apparently the illumination being used to light up the badge is the same as was used in the Halbeath shopping centre upgrade in Dunfermline...according to a yam who seems to regard this as the epitome of quality.

Ok, I’m this picture, the wrinkles have gone BUT, it looks like a bit wire frame or something has come away under the 74 that looks like it should attach to the point of the heart?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

19-10-2017, 06:42 PM
Ok, I’m this picture, the wrinkles have gone BUT, it looks like a bit wire frame or something has come away under the 74 that looks like it should attach to the point of the heart?

Good spot.

Wonder if there'll be much of a snagging list for the whole WH erection.

19-10-2017, 06:44 PM

I'm guessing here, but the vinyl may have been heated to stretch it onto the frame and then tightened/smoothed out as it cooled.

The photo was too good to not share though.

19-10-2017, 06:44 PM
In fairness to the architect, they will be working to a tight budget and therefore limited in design scope. That said, i'm fairly certain that they won't have it in their future portfolio for prospective clients.......:faf:

In actual fact, one thing that seems to be missing from this epic 'PBS Laugh-in' IS the name of the architect ? :confused:

renato
19-10-2017, 06:49 PM
Looking slick...

19-10-2017, 06:52 PM

Changed it so she didn't have to shell out for the three extra letters in "stadium".

19-10-2017, 06:54 PM
I’d have preferred it if we’d gone for proper illuminated signage on the West.

Also something inside the stadium like Newcastle have would be good.

19-10-2017, 06:56 PM
In actual fact, one thing that seems to be missing from this epic 'PBS Laugh-in' IS the name of the architect ? :confused:

This guy? :dunno:

Skol
19-10-2017, 07:24 PM
So up until today there was absolute confidence that the Pink Tin can would be ready on time

Now the scene has been set for a delay they all say whats the big deal, its obviously not going to be ready and we all knew that.

I went past today and the big issue is the unfinished end beside the away end. There is no way that it will get a safety certificate when its not safe,

19-10-2017, 07:33 PM
why are they calling it a plan B when they're still on plan A.this shambles was never going to be open fot the 5th November

19-10-2017, 07:41 PM
Is this not Plan C as Plan B is already in place?

19-10-2017, 07:48 PM
That story has been shortened since it was put online. The Evening News still carries the rest of his quote:-

“There is a plan ‘B’ but I have not been party to those discussions.”

The Hearts boss said he was sure there would be an alternative if the stadium is not ready in time for the fixture.

He added: “I believe Murrayfield is an option, but I’m sure there will be adequate plans in place should it not go ahead.”

Seriously!? The next in line after the Queen 'has not been party to the discussions'? He's sure there would be an alternative... but doesn't actually know?

Levein is in the dark because Budge doesn't talk in her sleep.

19-10-2017, 08:10 PM

No reason we can't still do so. And we have a lot more scope to do so due the fact we don't have all those office windows to contend with. I guess that's why the lettering and badge are so small on the Tynecastle stand, because if they overlapped the windows the illuminated effect would be totally lost when the office lights get switched on.

19-10-2017, 08:32 PM
That’s the beauty with ER. There is room for us to expand and improve in the future.

Think LD commented that they doing some work inside the stadium to freshen things up. Changing rooms, tunnel etc.

Will be brilliant when he have the longest supporters bar in Scotland, nay the world, running the length of the East. We could make it out of glass :wink:

19-10-2017, 08:37 PM
It's a hive of activity here, can't see anyway this will be ready for Nov 5th

https://www.facebook.com/stvsport/videos/10156733658888712/

19-10-2017, 09:01 PM

The Architect is James Clydesdale who isn't actually an architect and cannot describe himself as such.

There wasn't a main contractor either, just a series of trades contractors.

19-10-2017, 09:26 PM
Looking slick...

Also available in the club shop for the kids bedroom - £9.99.
Hopefully mum will make a better job centering it and sticking it on.

19-10-2017, 09:44 PM

What would be the point? .... The only place you can see the front of the main stand from is the car park and perhaps fleetingly from the road that passes the part where the west and south meet, which has next to no passing traffic or pedestrians. If you want a neon sign then put it on the side of the east that faces Hawkhill Avenue / St Clair street, or chuck it on top of the main stand so you can see it from Calton Hill and Arthurs seat :greengrin

19-10-2017, 09:49 PM
Looking slick...

That is simply pathetic.

rodhibs55
19-10-2017, 09:52 PM
That’s the beauty with ER. There is room for us to expand and improve in the future.

Think LD commented that they doing some work inside the stadium to freshen things up. Changing rooms, tunnel etc.

Will be brilliant when he have the longest supporters bar in Scotland, nay the world, running the length of the East. We could make it out of glass :wink:

The longest supporters bar made out of glass..... its curtains for that I fear. :)

19-10-2017, 10:12 PM

I would have preferred we concentrated on the first team and nothing but the first team.

Mantis Toboggan
19-10-2017, 10:26 PM
Levein is in the dark because Budge doesn't talk in her sleep.

She should have locked him in a room until he understood. Worked last time.

Criswell
19-10-2017, 10:36 PM
That is simply pathetic.

Looking at the lettering above the badge reminds me that I really have to clean my printer-heads!

19-10-2017, 11:30 PM
why are they calling it a plan B when they're still on plan A.this shambles was never going to be open fot the 5th November

16 days till plan B 1.0 elapses. I expect Plan B 1.1 to be announced on Wednesday. Levin gave the game away say everything does not have to be complete for the Thistle game.

20-10-2017, 12:08 AM
The Architect is James Clydesdale who isn't actually an architect and cannot describe himself as such.

There wasn't a main contractor either, just a series of trades contractors.

Ah, so he won their 'Draw your best picture' competition !!

20-10-2017, 08:34 AM
Looking slick...

I am sure once it is all lit up it will look amazing.... Aye right its a disaster of a sign.

20-10-2017, 09:32 AM
So it’s a toss up ifntheyll make the 5th 🤔😏 Nae real surprise

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-haven-t-ruled-out-postponing-tynecastle-return-says-ann-budge-1-4591642

Firestarter
20-10-2017, 09:35 AM
They will gamble on getting a decent result tomorrow and the Derby before announcing more delays in the run up to the huns match at Murrayfield and everyone wlll be happy and I will be allowed to happen. Far too predicticable on poor wee Hertz.

20-10-2017, 09:40 AM
"The last thing I want is 20,000 supporters unable to get into the stadium in good time."

Ann, you'll never get 20k supporters into the stadium.

seanshow
20-10-2017, 10:14 AM
Anyone fancy a job?

Heart of Midlothian Football Club is looking forward to the opening of the brand new Main Stand and will be hosting a recruitment evening on Wednesday 1st November 2017.

We would like to open the invite to enthusiastic individuals who would be interested in working on a casual basis for the Club on match days, at the newly named Tynecastle Park.

You will have the chance to talk to some of our Managers and experienced staff and find out more about the various opportunities available to you.

VENUE: Gorgie Suite, Tynecastle Park, Edinburgh, EH11 2NL

*Entry for this event will be from Tynecastle Terrace*

DATE: Wednesday 1st November 2017

TIME: 6pm – 8pm

Current match day roles available:

Food Kiosk staff
Hospitality Bar Staff (must be 18+)
Hospitality Waiting staff
Event Supervisors
Chefs of all levels

We are looking for individuals 16 years and above who are friendly, enthusiastic, professional and able to work in a fast-paced environment.

Experience is not essential as training can be provided. You must also be available to work first team home matches, which includes some evening games. Due to the team playing many away matches this season we have a high volume of home matches in December, which we are all looking forward to coming back home!

Please register your interest by e-mailing your name and contact details to .....

20-10-2017, 10:20 AM
So it’s a toss up ifntheyll make the 5th ���� Nae real surprise

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-haven-t-ruled-out-postponing-tynecastle-return-says-ann-budge-1-4591642

So 41 days after all that would have to be done is put in the seats the stand is a complete mess. Yet the Jambos swallow everything Queen Anne says without question.

20-10-2017, 10:20 AM
It's not quite reached the stage of an official announcement on the club website, but with Budge now following up on Potter's comments it seems they're very much trying to cushion the impending announcement of another delay:

20-10-2017, 10:36 AM
I see the article in today's Scotsman mentions a 'Plan B' if the Stand's not ready for 5th November.

I thought they were already on Plan B.

20-10-2017, 10:41 AM
I see the article in today's Scotsman mentions a 'Plan B' if the Stand's not ready for 5th November.

I thought they were already on Plan B.

They'll announce it as plan B (2) and it'll be another first as no other team :blah::blah::blah::trumpet:etc

Is it really all that time since Mrs Budge told them they were only waiting on the seats and would be getting on with everything else meantime? What she actually might have said is we are waiting on the gate money from Sevco and Aberdeen then we'll get on with the bigger stuff.

20-10-2017, 10:47 AM
Maybe morganleith could inform us what it is they've been doing that they decided was a higher priority after they announced the seats delay?

Anyway, looks like they're going to be playing one more game at Murrayfield after all, but I'd love to know what they intend to do after that, seeing as it'll be unavailable due to the upcoming internationals.

20-10-2017, 10:56 AM
Ah, so he won their 'Draw your best picture' competition !!

The 9 and under category.

20-10-2017, 11:32 AM

This made me laugh “I have had daily meetings with the contractors and we are absolutely still shooting for the fifth but there have been delays. Last weekend we had roofers scheduled to do various things but because of the high winds that didn’t happen. So, it is almost a case of assessing things one day at a time.”

What else were the roofers in to do, other than install the roof? Install the seats? Wire up the deep fat fryers? Take first team coaching? :greengrin

20-10-2017, 11:35 AM
earlier this season Hearts played Dunfermline in front of 3 stands at tynecastle.

why are they not just being required to do the same for other fixtures?

20-10-2017, 11:36 AM
This made me laugh “I have had daily meetings with the contractors and we are absolutely still shooting for the fifth but there have been delays. Last weekend we had roofers scheduled to do various things but because of the high winds that didn’t happen. So, it is almost a case of assessing things one day at a time.”

What else were the roofers in to do, other than install the roof? Install the seats? Wire up the deep fat fryers? Take first team coaching? :greengrin

Well, presumably the roof was ready for the grand opening in September as it was only the seats that were delayed. :rolleyes:

20-10-2017, 11:37 AM

Well they'll see more of the ball than anyone else.

20-10-2017, 11:46 AM
Well, presumably the roof was ready for the grand opening in September as it was only the seats that were delayed. :rolleyes:

She should stick to computer services. She is way out of her depth and comfort zone. Making a complete arse if herself and Hearts

20-10-2017, 12:04 PM

Roofers @ double time. Wow that will cost

20-10-2017, 12:12 PM
Anyone fancy a job?

The grammar is woeful, as usual.

20-10-2017, 12:33 PM
The grammar is woeful, as usual.

Yes thought that myself. December start so no catering facilities till then. Maybe no football either.

20-10-2017, 12:46 PM
Yes thought that myself. December start so no catering facilities till then. Maybe no football either.

This. If you are recruiting you do it in advance in case notices have to handed in and it also allows training before actually starting on the job with 20,000* punters turning up.

*copyright the Budgie

20-10-2017, 01:08 PM
It's important to note that, as per the profferings of some JKB wit, the stand isn't actually behind schedule because you can't class something as behind schedule if you just constantly shift the end date of a project and communicate this to the slavering masses in advance of the original deadline.

That's just "change" and we all need to get on board.

20-10-2017, 01:45 PM
They have been at this for nearly a year, yes a whole year to build one stand. :faf:

20-10-2017, 02:29 PM
BUDGIE “The last thing I want is 20,000 supporters unable to get into the stadium in good time. When we do come back into the stadium, I want it to be a success and a really enjoyable experience.”"

19,801 more like!

20-10-2017, 02:34 PM

I think this is Jambo euphemism for 'we are making it up as we go'.

Utter shambles.

20-10-2017, 02:36 PM
They have been at this for nearly a year, yes a whole year to build one stand. :faf:

Yep, just the one stand remember-theyve been hyping it like they have been building a life size model of the Eifel tower. How did it turn into such an overdue over budget shambles?

BonnieFitbaTeam
20-10-2017, 02:36 PM
Well they'll see more of the ball than anyone else.

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

haagsehibby
20-10-2017, 02:41 PM
An interesting take on the finances over the road.

"Based on the money raised so far to pay for this, the shortfall if any wont matter too much as inside 2 years the extra revenue generated from the extra seats and the extra corporate boxes, plus the FoH we will have the full thing bought and paid for inside 2years, There is no other skint club in that position. In 2 years all we will be moaning about is who to spend all our additional revenue on. Appart from Celtic we are in a better place finacially over the next decade than anybosy else"

20-10-2017, 02:43 PM

Yep, and its over 13 months since they applied for the Building Warrant to allow building work on their stand to commence, and it still hasn't been issued yet. :confused::confused::confused:

Arch Stanton
20-10-2017, 03:03 PM

A comment (below) makes a point about us not playing between 1891 and 1893 - he doesn't mention how big our creditor list was though. Another one for the historians looks like.

Or indeed whether SFA rules requiring us to restart in the lowest division were enforced. :greengrin

"Where did Hibs play 1891-3, what was their team, who was their captain, how much was their income......when were they reformed according to heir own historians?"

20-10-2017, 03:52 PM

"Based on the money raised so far to pay for this, the shortfall if any wont matter too much as inside 2 years the extra revenue generated from the extra seats and the extra corporate boxes, plus the FoH we will have the full thing bought and paid for inside 2years, There is no other skint club in that position. In 2 years all we will be moaning about is who to spend all our additional revenue on. Appart from Celtic we are in a better place finacially over the next decade than anybosy else"

Ah, you cannae beat some good old fashioned Yamanomics.

:lolyam:

20-10-2017, 03:58 PM
A comment (below) makes a point about us not playing between 1891 and 1893 - he doesn't mention how big our creditor list was though. Another one for the historians looks like.

Or indeed whether SFA rules requiring us to restart in the lowest division were enforced. :greengrin

"Where did Hibs play 1891-3, what was their team, who was their captain, how much was their income......when were they reformed according to heir own historians?"

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/1890-1899/1890-need-to-move

Hibs still operated during this period although not as part of the Scottish League set-up.

They played friendlies and challenge matches much the same as all clubs did before the league formation.

20-10-2017, 04:28 PM

Hibs still operated during this period although not as part of the Scottish League set-up.

They played friendlies and challenge matches much the same as all clubs did before the league formation.

That's quite a swift overview of complex series of events starting with the formation of Celtic, but there's no doubt Hibs carried on playing at various levels through that time. Lugton's book gives a more in depth look.

As for creditors and "business talk" that the jambos bring up they forget that, like every other club at the time, Hibs were an amateur organisation. In fact the SFA expelled Hearts at one point for making illegal payments to players, although that was the old Hearts as by 1905, by which time the majority of clubs were professional and registered as limited companies, they were bankrupt and had to start again after shedding their debts.

BTW the use of "Hibernians" as the club's name by the HHT gets on my thruppnies, it always been Hibernian Football Club except the odd descriptive usage.

20-10-2017, 04:40 PM
Ah, you cannae beat some good old fashioned Yamanomics.

:lolyam:

I don't know why they don't just borrow a couple of billion then declare that they're not going to worry about paying it back as they've really just owed it to themselves all along.

That'll sort it out.

20-10-2017, 04:47 PM
That's quite a swift overview of complex series of events starting with the formation of Celtic, but there's no doubt Hibs carried on playing at various levels through that time. Lugton's book gives a more in depth look.

As for creditors and "business talk" that the jambos bring up they forget that, like every other club at the time, Hibs were an amateur organisation. In fact the SFA expelled Hearts at one point for making illegal payments to players, although that was the old Hearts as by 1905, by which time the majority of clubs were professional and registered as limited companies, they were bankrupt and had to start again after shedding their debts.

BTW the use of "Hibernians" as the club's name by the HHT gets on my thruppnies, it always been Hibernian Football Club except the odd descriptive usage.

You are correct.
Sadly for the fantasists wee story the records show that there were none of the features of the administration event that hearts put themselves into when hibernian were amateurs and simply stayed out of the league for the period in question.

Nae luck for the followers of the team that definitely went bust.

20-10-2017, 04:55 PM

They’re forgetting that some clubs have had corporate facilities for decades.

All they’re doing is catching up with the rest of us and are trying to imply that they are pioneers.

Their FoH donations simply make up for early cup exits.

Arch Stanton
20-10-2017, 04:59 PM

Thanks for that. Good read!

20-10-2017, 05:19 PM

You can tell that the schools are off this week.

20-10-2017, 05:21 PM
Heart of Midlothian Football Club is looking forward to the opening of the brand new Main Stand and will be hosting a recruitment evening on Wednesday 1st November 2017.

We would like to open the invite to enthusiastic individuals who would be interested in working on a casual basis for the Club on match days, at the newly named Tynecastle Park.

You will have the chance to talk to some of our Managers and experienced staff and find out more about the various opportunities available to you.

VENUE: Gorgie Suite, Tynecastle Park, Edinburgh, EH11 2NL

*Entry for this event will be from Tynecastle Terrace*

DATE: Wednesday 1st November 2017

TIME: 6pm – 8pm

Current match day roles available:

Food Kiosk staff
Hospitality Bar Staff (must be 18+)
Hospitality Waiting staff
Event Supervisors
Chefs of all levels

We are looking for individuals 16 years and above who are friendly, enthusiastic, professional and able to work in a fast-paced environment.

Experience is not essential as training can be provided. You must also be available to work first team home matches, which includes some evening games. Due to the team playing many away matches this season we have a high volume of home matches in December, which we are all looking forward to coming back home!

Please register your interest by e-mailing your name and contact details to .....

Working a chip fryer will be a distinct advantage to anyone applying.

20-10-2017, 05:23 PM
They’re forgetting that some clubs have had corporate facilities for decades.

All they’re doing is catching up with the rest of us and are trying to imply that they are pioneers.

Their FoH donations simply make up for early cup exits.

’Early Cup exits’. What’s all that about then?

20-10-2017, 05:43 PM
Well they generally get knocked out early don’t they? By us if it’s the Scottish!

Paying FoH subs is basically them subsidising their team’s failure whilst we reap the benefits of reaching Hampden:greengrin

Ómaigh-Hib
20-10-2017, 05:43 PM
Yep, and its over 13 months since they applied for the Building Warrant to allow building work on their stand to commence, and it still hasn't been issued yet. :confused::confused::confused:

That is disgraceful. What do the council say when your raise that with them?

20-10-2017, 05:51 PM
Office jambo came through to my office with a picture on the badge and tynecastle park lettering banging on about how fantastic it was, beautiful etc etc. I showed the picture of it along with a picture of our west to a woman in the office who knows squat about football. Asked her what looked better and what one looked cheap. Surprise surprise she thought tiny tiny looked cheap as and the ER looked much better. She burst out laughing when I told her that the. Heap one was actually about 9 million more expensive!! She actually asked the office jambo " so do you support Tynecastle then?" He scuttled off mumbling something about big team. ****in fantasist like the rest of them

20-10-2017, 06:17 PM
The badge is a disaster. Cheap vinyl they haven't been able to fit properly owing to the curve. As someone else pointed out, it's placement is off kilter... should have been lower to give symmetry.

Still... it's a thing of beauty which will inspire awe in all who behold its grandeur.

That symmetry will look even worse from ground level

20-10-2017, 06:28 PM
Office jambo came through to my office with a picture on the badge and tynecastle park lettering banging on about how fantastic it was, beautiful etc etc. I showed the picture of it along with a picture of our west to a woman in the office who knows squat about football. Asked her what looked better and what one looked cheap. Surprise surprise she thought tiny tiny looked cheap as and the ER looked much better. She burst out laughing when I told her that the. Heap one was actually about 9 million more expensive!! She actually asked the office jambo " so do you support Tynecastle then?" He scuttled off mumbling something about big team. ****in fantasist like the rest of them

Yam fans, what a strange breed of person, weirdos.

20-10-2017, 06:28 PM

They could put some seats up there, increase the capacity, and actually see the goal at the other end!

20-10-2017, 06:38 PM
They could put some seats up there, increase the capacity, and actually see the goal at the other end!

.....and the castle. I often think when I'm at Easter Road what an embarrassment it is that there is no proper view of the castle. I'm really jealous of their view of that building. Really.

20-10-2017, 07:01 PM
That is disgraceful. What do the council say when your raise that with them?

What would they say ? its almost a joint project after all.

The whole site for the stand was sold at a knockdown price of £ 200,000 (Vlad was being asked for £ 1.1 million) only payable when the nursery is occupied.
Mrs Budge announced the Council was giving them £ 500,000 to fit out the nursery.
And no tram contribution asked for.

20-10-2017, 07:35 PM

The whole site for the stand was sold at a knockdown price of £ 200,000 (Vlad was being asked for £ 1.1 million) only payable when the nursery is occupied.
Mrs Budge announced the Council was giving them £ 500,000 to fit out the nursery.
And no tram contribution asked for.

Budge in charge of fit out for the nursery?

I feel sorry for the kids already.

Skol
20-10-2017, 07:42 PM
See all these extra things they reprioritised after the first delay and which will be in place. What are they ?

20-10-2017, 08:30 PM
See all these extra things they reprioritised after the first delay and which will be in place. What are they ?I'd Imagine it took a bit of planning and time to get the plastic owl sale right, and it went really well as someone paid £4000 for one.

They haven't just wasted all that time taping metal steps down and looking down the back of the big red coo for loose change to buy seats you know.

All on time and everything's hunky dory.

20-10-2017, 08:35 PM

And no tram contribution asked for.Suspicious generosity to say the least.

Still, the school view lounge will be bursting at the seams with freeloaders as a consequence.

20-10-2017, 08:52 PM
Meanwhile in the Hearts Boardroom the powers at be make a realisation:

https://youtu.be/2Ttsa4__Ewk

Mainstandman
20-10-2017, 09:57 PM
Anyone fancy a job?lets all get jobs then not turn up on match day, total chaos!! :wink:

Greenfly
20-10-2017, 09:59 PM
Budge in charge of fit out for the nursery?

I feel sorry for the kids already.

Mrs. Budge wishes to apologise to the toddlers of Gorgie that the nursery will be opening a few months behind schedule as someone forgot to order the beanbags.

20-10-2017, 10:13 PM

Of course old Hearts went bust or the company that owned them in the early 20th century. Just like RFC now.

20-10-2017, 10:49 PM

That's usually the case when your paying for a stand one day at a time - probably all depending on the contents of the big fibre-glass coo that'll be getting 'milked' daily !

21-10-2017, 04:56 AM
That's usually the case when your paying for a stand one day at a time - probably all depending on the contents of the big fibre-glass coo that'll be getting 'milked' daily !
15 days (subject to revisions) till the new Jambo shed opens.

21-10-2017, 06:36 AM
15 days (subject to revisions) till the new Jambo shed opens.

Im off to hampden to see hibs play in yet another national cup semi final.
Still at least hearts have another 1-5 to celebrate today, 15 days til plan B fails and they begin plan C on their shan £15m sellotape stand.

What a time to be alive for the yams :)

Fuzzywuzzy
21-10-2017, 08:18 AM
Are they having an open day for the fans to go and see it since most of them won't be near the thing

21-10-2017, 02:25 PM
Just drove past it and admittedly it looks very imposing but maybe that’s because I’m comparing it to what was there before.

It doesn’t look like a wall of glass though, more like a wall of shiny plastic. Hard to describe but I had the urge to go up to it and peel off the protective film.

21-10-2017, 11:42 PM
Im off to hampden to see hibs play in yet another national cup semi final.
Still at least hearts have another 1-5 to celebrate today, 15 days til plan B fails and they begin plan C on their shan £15m sellotape stand.

What a time to be alive for the yams :)

14 days (subject to revisiobs). Expecting next revised schedule on Tuesday before We pump Hearts.

22-10-2017, 09:01 AM
Looking good for the 5th!Picture taken this morning.

22-10-2017, 09:33 AM
Looking good for the 5th!Picture taken this morning.

If they're making a midweek call on this, then based on that pic there's no way they can state with certainty it will be ready in time.

I suspect they're praying for a decent result in the derby so that the midweek announcement of a further delay is softened to some extent.

22-10-2017, 09:41 AM
Sounded like they’re ready to make the next delay announcement soon.

Obviously Levein dropped it into the press conference on Thursday but Alan Preston and the rest followed it up on Radio Scotland yesterday - they were trying to make arrangements on how they can reschedule the Autumn internationals to accommodate Hearts. Forget the fact that 67500 folk are going to an all day event (with a 230kick off).

Probably anniunce it on Wednesday morning in the aftermath of the derby so it loses a bit of attention.

22-10-2017, 10:12 AM
If they're making a midweek call on this, then based on that pic there's no way they can state with certainty it will be ready in time.

I suspect they're praying for a decent result in the derby so that the midweek announcement of a further delay is softened to some extent.

Yes picture from today on new stand Facebook page. Think will be Tuesday as wont want to risk a derby defeat followed by the delay announcement next day.

22-10-2017, 01:24 PM
Yes picture from today on new stand Facebook page. Think will be Tuesday as wont want to risk a derby defeat followed by the delay announcement next day.

They appear to have demolished the turnstiles to the away end.

22-10-2017, 03:57 PM
Sounded like they’re ready to make the next delay announcement soon.

Obviously Levein dropped it into the press conference on Thursday but Alan Preston and the rest followed it up on Radio Scotland yesterday - they were trying to make arrangements on how they can reschedule the Autumn internationals to accommodate Hearts. Forget the fact that 67500 folk are going to an all day event (with a 230kick off).

Probably anniunce it on Wednesday morning in the aftermath of the derby so it loses a bit of attention.

They ere even talking about how there has been rubgy and football played on the same day before😂.

22-10-2017, 03:59 PM
They ere even talking about how there has been rubgy and football played on the same day before😂.

And at the same time, by their beloved Hearts.

22-10-2017, 05:08 PM
There is no way that the SRU can accommodate them in November. Operational commitments due to the Internationals do not allow them any leeway.

22-10-2017, 05:18 PM
There is no way that the SRU can accommodate them in November. Operational commitments due to the Internationals do not allow them any leeway.

Could they play on the Sunday?

There’s an international break so will only affect the games on 18 and 25 November. Just checked the bbc and they’re already listed to be playing on Sunday 19th at home?...

22-10-2017, 07:50 PM
Could they play on the Sunday?

There’s an international break so will only affect the games on 18 and 25 November. Just checked the bbc and they’re already listed to be playing on Sunday 19th at home?...

It’s not a question of the pitch being available but all the work they have to do behind the scenes to prepare for a big event.

22-10-2017, 07:54 PM
It’s not a question of the pitch being available but all the work they have to do behind the scenes to prepare for a big event.

They said on the radio it’s a really quick turnaround now for big events at Murrayfield. Not sure what they were clutching at the time.

Skol
22-10-2017, 08:16 PM
There is a 10k race on 5/11 starts 10am and finishes in murrayfield stadium. Not impossible but not long between two events.

22-10-2017, 08:37 PM
They ere even talking about how there has been rubgy and football played on the same day before[emoji23].It has been done before. McDiarmid Park IIRC. St J at lunchtime and Scotland in the evening.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

22-10-2017, 09:25 PM
There is a 10k race on 5/11 starts 10am and finishes in murrayfield stadium. Not impossible but not long between two events.

Here’s hoping Hearts aren’t at the races that day.

22-10-2017, 09:39 PM
They said on the radio it’s a really quick turnaround now for big events at Murrayfield. Not sure what they were clutching at the time.

Hampden had two games in 24hours. So don't really see the problem with time BUT would the rugger boys want their grass cut as short as a football pitch?

007 Mickey Weir
22-10-2017, 09:42 PM
Hampden had two games in 24hours. So don't really see the problem with time BUT would the rugger boys want their grass cut as short as a football pitch?

Long grass is fine for Leveins hoof ball

22-10-2017, 09:47 PM
It has been done before. McDiarmid Park IIRC. St J at lunchtime and Scotland in the evening.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

The whole of the stadium is a bar on matchday though - beer tents etc on the back pitches. Kick offs are 515 and 230 so not ideal. Day after could be done I suppose and as I said HoMFC already have their fixture listed as on the Sunday on the bbc website.

23-10-2017, 03:52 AM
Long grass is fine for Leveins hoof ball

13 days to be revised soon!

23-10-2017, 01:17 PM
We should name it the American Airlines stand, as buying a ticket doesn't guarantee you will have a seat... :greengrin

23-10-2017, 01:50 PM
We should name it the American Airlines stand, as buying a ticket doesn't guarantee you will have a seat... :greengrin

The Ryanair Stand surely?

23-10-2017, 03:04 PM
The Ryanair Stand surely?

Flight of fancy!

Fuzzywuzzy
23-10-2017, 03:15 PM

I'm doing it and after the square root of **** all training I reckon I'll be rolling in at about 14:00

23-10-2017, 03:31 PM
I'm doing it and after the square root of **** all training I reckon I'll be rolling in at about 14:00

😂😂😂

23-10-2017, 03:51 PM
Wish I could find Peevemor's original post with the crumpled badge as I'm sure you can see the reflection of the castle in the glass underneath :greengrin

23-10-2017, 03:57 PM
Wish I could find Peevemor's original post with the crumpled badge as I'm sure you can see the reflection of the castle in the glass underneath :greengrin

23-10-2017, 04:00 PM

Castle views.

23-10-2017, 04:02 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/F8AB4677-59E3-4093-81E7-D64638620081.thumb.jpeg.85bd2b696f03fa4475d095cbd4 ac578e.jpegMagnificent, Edinburgh's skyline reflected in all it's glory, a view that no other part of the city can hope to replicate.

Worth every penny.

23-10-2017, 04:04 PM
https://twitter.com/stvpaul/status/922493703368912898

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/6277

Another delay.:greengrin

-Jonesy-
23-10-2017, 04:20 PM
https://twitter.com/stvpaul/status/922493703368912898

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/6277

Another delay.:greengrin

No it's not, another revision is all, everything is running along smoothly!!

23-10-2017, 04:23 PM
Another delay, christ i never saw that coming. :greengrin

“Following a period of fairly intense speculation over the past few weeks, I can now confirm that the Board has decided to take further advantage of our contingency arrangements with the SRU to play our "Home" fixture against Kilmarnock FC, on Sunday, 5th November, at BT Murrayfield.

These arrangements have been confirmed with all parties involved and I would like to record my appreciation for their co-operation in agreeing to the change in venue.

I will issue a further detailed progress up-date to our supporters later in the week. I would, however, take this opportunity to stress that the building programme will see the handover of Phase 1 requirements to the club within the next 10 days.

However, the time then remaining to enable "acceptance testing" of all the various new facilities and processes would be very limited, were we to aim to play our opening game on 5th November, 2017.

One of our key objectives is to ensure that our first game back at Tynecastle runs smoothly, and provides supporters with the best possible match-day experience. We have therefore decided to take advantage of the opportunity open to us to call on our contingency arrangements for this fixture, thereby giving us more time to robustly test out all of our new facilities.

I will finish at this point by thanking you all for your fantastic support so far this season, which has helped the team immeasurably. To be in a top six position, having played all 10 league games away from Tynecastle, is a terrific achievement, helped in no small measure by the superb traveling support and indeed by the wonderful turnout at BT Murrayfield. Please keep it up. We will be home soon!”

Taking advantage of a contingency - 🤥🤥🤥🤥

"Take further advantage of our contingency arrangements"

That's Pyongyang levels of spin 😂

23-10-2017, 04:28 PM
"We will be home soon!"

Any idea when, Budge?

23-10-2017, 04:30 PM
Doubt that will be the last time they take advantage of their contingency planning. "Phase One" still no where near complete and H&S will have their work cut-out.

23-10-2017, 04:40 PM
"We will be home soon!"

Any idea when, Budge?

They've bought themselves another 14 days, that's all as they're scheduled to play Partick on the 19th November.

Scotland play New Zealand on the 18th with a 17:15 kick-off.