View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)
04-09-2017, 01:37 PM
But the delay was reported on here before the official announcement of the seat debacle and you were proved wrong that there were "no delays".
Why should you be believed now?
Yes everything has been rescheduled. Things are being done in a differenr order now according to the Yams. But the priorities are all wrong. First focus to get stand ready for the mythical seats so no further delay. Then do any other work. But the Yams are trying to be clever again. But Budge said everything except the seats will be ready on Sep 9. So story changed again.
04-09-2017, 01:40 PM
Well if they can't get seats in then better to prioritise other parts of the build ?
Mate,
I agree with you 100%. However what's the excuse going to be when the seats turn up and the stadiums not ready for them to be fitted?
Said it before and probably go crazy repeating myself, jambo's, yams or poppy thiefs what ever you want to call them Are thick as mince with Bisto added.
Genuine question. Have you been at the Bisto?
04-09-2017, 01:47 PM
The stand was to be ready but the seats debacle obviously changed that as was reported. The reason it's not ready as per recent pictures is that as a result of the seats not arriving the build schedule changed. There's a lot of internal work that goes on in projects as well as external. I believe for instance that there will be some corporate lounges available in November now instead of next January as the build program was rearranged given the delay.
Except that's not what Mrs Budge said.
04-09-2017, 01:53 PM
Well if they can't get seats in then better to prioritise other parts of the build ?
But first priority is to make sure stand is ready for the seats else it does not open. It's called project management!
04-09-2017, 02:21 PM
hopefully a few missiles get launched at the glass windows on it when we play them
Hopefully not. Let's enjoy their discomfort but no need to damage stuff. After all, that might look a lot like jealousy
The stand was to be ready but the seats debacle obviously changed that as was reported. The reason it's not ready as per recent pictures is that as a result of the seats not arriving the build schedule changed. There's a lot of internal work that goes on in projects as well as external. I believe for instance that there will be some corporate lounges available in November now instead of next January as the build program was rearranged given the delay.
Keep telling yourself that and it'll all work out fine.
So you beLIEve this to be the case but don't have FACT.
What have the seats not being ordered to do with putting everything else in place?? Porkies being told and mind take your head out sand to have a look at the FACTS
04-09-2017, 02:41 PM
yes mate im for real they wreck our ground we wreck there ground lets get our support back to the old days hated by everyone and nice and hostile to other fans I think we have became to soft and a family club its wrong
Yep you're for real. A real Yam on the wind up. I think you need to toddle back to yakback
04-09-2017, 02:54 PM
Or. As it's clear the seats ain't arriving, all the other contractors stop bursting their balls and burst their balls somewhere else on projects that have some proper management with a realistic end date?
Crazyhorse
04-09-2017, 03:11 PM
OK, using the latest plans from the CEC site, I've quickly calculated that there is in the region of 6970 seats in their new stand, including wheelchair spaces. I didn't count them but used Autocad (I took the area of a block of 280 seats, then worked out the total seated area and calculated proportionally the total number, then added wheelchair spaces, etc.) it took me all of 2 minutes, but if someone wants to count they can.
There doesn't seem to be any allowance made for the press box, directors' box, camera emplacements, etc. so the figure will probably reduce.
This would give a new capacity of 19568 (maximum).
That's interesting. I was taking their figure of 7290 as accurate for the new stand (hence I always got a figure between 19,700 and 19,800 - depending on how many rows they had to remove from the Wheatfield when they widened the pitch). That 7,290 might of course include lumping in (they are desperate) the fine dining capacity of the Schoolplaygroundview Lounge.
But it doesn't really matter if the true capacity keeps diminishing toward a circa Rugby Park sized stadium because 'Chips will be served!'
04-09-2017, 03:15 PM
Aberdeen announce almost 6000 tickets sold for the egg dome this weekend.
04-09-2017, 03:24 PM
That's interesting. I was taking their figure of 7290 as accurate for the new stand (hence I always got a figure between 19,700 and 19,800 - depending on how many rows they had to remove from the Wheatfield when they widened the pitch). That 7,290 might of course include lumping in (they are desperate) the fine dining capacity of the Schoolplaygroundview Lounge.
But it doesn't really matter if the true capacity keeps diminishing toward a circa Rugby Park sized stadium because 'Chips will be served!'
I think it's a given that ANY figure they give about ANYTHING, will be grossly exaggerated.
04-09-2017, 03:25 PM
Very impressive.
04-09-2017, 03:27 PM
Quiz question - has there ever been a game in Edinburgh, involving Hibs or Hearts, where the home team was outnumbered by the away team in terms of fans in attendance?
I suspect Hearts will be very close to being outnumbered when Rangers play there (12,000 Rangers and similar number of Hearts fans)
04-09-2017, 03:37 PM
Quiz question - has there ever been a game in Edinburgh, involving Hibs or Hearts, where the home team was outnumbered by the away team in terms of fans in attendance?
I suspect Hearts will be very close to being outnumbered when Rangers play there (12,000 Rangers and similar number of Hearts fans)I suspect it may have happened during the 80s at ER. Rangers and (more so) Celtic would pack the Dunbar end together with the old South stand and enclosure while at times the home end was far from full. It may have been similar at Tynie in the late 70s.
04-09-2017, 03:38 PM
I suspect Hearts will be very close to being outnumbered when Rangers play there (12,000 Rangers and similar number of Hearts fans)
Don't know what typical attendances and home/away make-up were like way back when, but isn't it likely that this would have happened at some point when both ER and Tynie had massive terraces and much larger capacities than now? You'd think at some point a Hibs/Hearts team in a bad spell (and therefore with reduced home attendance) would have played a buoyant Celtc/Rangers (RIP) and been outnumbered?
04-09-2017, 03:39 PM
Don't know what typical attendances and home/away make-up were like way back when, but isn't it likely that this would have happened at some point when both ER and Tynie had massive terraces and much larger capacities than now? You'd think at some point a Hibs/Hearts team in a bad spell (and therefore with reduced home attendance) would have played a buoyant Celtc/Rangers (RIP) and been outnumbered?If you're not fast, you're last.
04-09-2017, 03:40 PM
If you're not fast, you're last.
I had to type more than you, ya concise prick! :grr:
04-09-2017, 03:56 PM
I had to type more than you, ya concise prick! :grr:
:cb
04-09-2017, 04:00 PM
I suspect it may have happened during the 80s at ER. Rangers and (more so) Celtic would pack the Dunbar end together with the old South stand and enclosure while at times the home end was far from full. It may have been similar at Tynie in the late 70s.
Definitely happened loads of times I would have thought. 80s in particular.
04-09-2017, 04:17 PM
Looking on the SPFL website for club stadium details, I notice the Yams have miraculously managed to lengthen their Tiny pitch.
https://spfl.co.uk/clubs/hearts/
Its now listed as 100 metres long, that's 2.20 metres longer than the 107 yards that has been their pitch measure in the past.
I wonder where they found that extra length :fibber::fibber: :greengrin
04-09-2017, 04:23 PM
Loads of times over the decades when playing Celtc or Rangers.
It's only since all-seater stadiums were introduced that Hibs and Hearts have given low tickets numbers to away teams.
Looking on the SPFL website for club stadium details, I notice the Yams have miraculously managed to lengthen their Tiny pitch. https://spfl.co.uk/clubs/hearts/ Its now listed as 100 metres long, that's 2.20 metres longer than the 107 yards that has been their pitch measure in the past. I wonder where they found that extra length :fibber::fibber: :greengrin
Never ends does it!
Always and I mean always the club with no shame
04-09-2017, 04:45 PM
Looking on the SPFL website for club stadium details, I notice the Yams have miraculously managed to lengthen their Tiny pitch.
https://spfl.co.uk/clubs/hearts/
Its now listed as 100 metres long, that's 2.20 metres longer than the 107 yards that has been their pitch measure in the past.
I wonder where they found that extra length :fibber::fibber: :greengrin
Surely there is a mechanism for rectifying this? Simple arithmetical measurements would do the trick :)
04-09-2017, 04:47 PM
Surely there is a mechanism for rectifying this? Simple arithmetical measurements would do the trick :)
Find a drawing with the famous girder truss span. The pitch is a bit shorter. :cb
04-09-2017, 06:27 PM
yes mate im for real they wreck our ground we wreck there ground lets get our support back to the old days hated by everyone and nice and hostile to other fans I think we have became to soft and a family club its wrong
Listen dafty ... even if you are a Yam on the wind up what the hell do you hope to achieve with the crap you are posting? Here's how it works, anybody who thinks its clever to vandalise a clubs stadium is mentally subnormal, we vandalise theirs they vandalise ours and what that leaves you with is two clubs out of pocket, one of them the club you pretend to support.
If you are a Yam how do you think this is clever trolling .... do you think your Yam mates will enjoy you encouraging Hibs fans to break windows at the Pink bus shelter? If you are a Hibby ( I hope not ) and I see you lobbing stones at the Gorgie Greenhoose windaes I'll grass you faster than Lee Wallace with the cops on speed dial :aok:
04-09-2017, 06:34 PM
Listen dafty ... even if you are a Yam on the wind up what the hell do you hope to achieve with the crap you are posting? Here's how it works, anybody who thinks its clever to vandalise a clubs stadium is mentally subnormal, we vandalise theirs they vandalise ours and what that leaves you with is two clubs out of pocket, one of them the club you pretend to support.
If you are a Yam how do you think this is clever trolling .... do you think your Yam mates will enjoy you encouraging Hibs fans to break windows at the Pink bus shelter? If you are a Hibby ( I hope not ) and I see you lobbing stones at the Gorgie Greenhoose windaes I'll grass you faster than Lee Wallace with the cops on speed dial :aok:
I think it's our old pal Fozzy having another go. Very transparent, unlike his glass wall or the nonsense of Queenie's statements. People like him are serial trolls and just can't help themselves
04-09-2017, 06:36 PM
If you are a Yam how do you think this is clever trolling .... do you think your Yam mates will enjoy you encouraging Hibs fans to break windows at the Pink bus shelter? If you are a Hibby ( I hope not ) and I see you lobbing stones at the Gorgie Greenhoose windaes I'll grass you faster than Lee Wallace with the cops on speed dial
:aok::aok::aok::aok:
04-09-2017, 06:39 PM
I think it's our old pal Fozzy having another go. Very transparent, unlike his glass wall or the nonsense of Queenie's statements. People like him are serial trolls and just can't help themselves
I don't mind trolling Yams mate, they add to the fun ..... what I cant abide is dullards who think encouraging stuff that could lead to violence at football is clever, that does no favours to either side and I would hope that any Yam reading his stuff would agree with that.
04-09-2017, 06:41 PM
Just a wee heads up, NN. He was launched this afternoon.
04-09-2017, 06:47 PM
He's obviously not a yam lol. Like it or not some Hibs fans are a bit radge.
Chorley Hibee
04-09-2017, 06:49 PM
Find a drawing with the famous girder truss span. The pitch is a bit shorter. :cb
It's all in the schematics.
04-09-2017, 08:19 PM
So the guys that were going to be fitting the sheet metal cladding have now moved inside and are fitting out the bar area? Righto....[emoji23]
04-09-2017, 08:22 PM
You're a hoot.
04-09-2017, 09:27 PM
So the guys that were going to be fitting the sheet metal cladding have now moved inside and are fitting out the bar area? Righto....[emoji23]
The sheet metal cladding couldn't get fitted until all the steel decking is in place. The decking acts as cross-bracing for the structure and any strong winds would have twisted the whole construction out of shape if the cladding had gone up before the decking.
I'm not sure how far the decking has progressed but I don't think there will be much cladding until its almost complete.
Criswell
04-09-2017, 09:32 PM
It would be bloody stupid for Hearts to do such a thing as if the crowd goes above 18,000 they will be paying extra rental money to the SRU for every ticket.
See Post 2839 (30/08/17)
The sheet metal cladding couldn't get fitted until all the steel decking is in place. The decking acts as cross-bracing for the structure and any strong winds would have twisted the whole construction out of shape if the cladding had gone up before the decking.
I'm not sure how far the decking has progressed but I don't think there will be much cladding until its almost complete.
That will explain why they're not playing home games just now.
My hearts acquaintance farts like thunder. He'd have certainly twisted a few cross members!
04-09-2017, 09:53 PM
Joibed in Feb 2017?
04-09-2017, 10:22 PM
I'm not sure how far the decking has progressed but I don't think there will be much cladding until its almost complete.I'm not sure that's the case. The only way that the decking could provide adequate bracing is if the panels acted in unison but they won't as they're pop rivetted together. If the main structure was to move/twist, the rivets would be torn out.
In any case, we can see plenty diagonal bracing in the various photos.
I have no idea why they haven't pressed on with the cladding to the roof and the Gorgie Road gable - there must be another reason. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170904/395d2265888469c2d5000a9b5b0f44b9.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170904/1bdf4250cb7881ddb8597c312ca23f85.jpg
Greenfly
04-09-2017, 10:30 PM
I'm not sure that's the case. The only way that the decking could provide adequate bracing is if the panels acted in unison but they won't as they're pop rivetted together. If the main structure was to move/twist, the rivets would be torn out.
I have no idea why they haven't pressed on with the cladding to the roof and the Gorgie Road gable - there must be another reason. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170904/395d2265888469c2d5000a9b5b0f44b9.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170904/1bdf4250cb7881ddb8597c312ca23f85.jpg
Maybe they just forgot! Given the history of this project that's not impossible.
04-09-2017, 10:35 PM
I'm not sure that's the case. The only way that the decking could provide adequate bracing is if the panels acted in unison but they won't as they're pop rivetted together. If the main structure was to move/twist, the rivets would be torn out.
Mmm ? I was just reading the bumf on the SPS Stadia website.
http://www.ie-sps.com/sectors/stadia
04-09-2017, 10:51 PM
Mmm ? I was just reading the bumf on the SPS Stadia website.
http://www.ie-sps.com/sectors/stadia"SPS Terraces eliminate the need for in-plane horizontal bracing for stadia."
Fair enough, but the photos show steel bracing in place.
04-09-2017, 11:06 PM
"SPS Terraces eliminate the need for in-plane horizontal bracing for stadia."
Fair enough, but the photos show steel bracing in place.
Maybe Jim Clydesdale didn't read it . :greengrin
05-09-2017, 08:25 AM
I have no idea why they haven't pressed on with the cladding to the roof and the Gorgie Road gable - there must be another reason. []
I just don't understand this at all, they have a number different and unconnected work strands that could be progressing just now, all it would mean that come payday they'd pay the relevant companies and they'd get the stadium completed on time.
I just can't understand why they'd only want to pay one lot at a time?
famousfife
05-09-2017, 08:35 AM
That monstrosity has Death Trap written all over it.
Arch Stanton
05-09-2017, 08:58 AM
Where?
05-09-2017, 08:58 AM
Hope so!!!!
Safety certificate, withheld, reason looks like a jigsaw puzzle gone wrong!!!!
05-09-2017, 09:06 AM
Maybe Jim Clydesdale didn't read it . :greengrinOr doesn't understand it?
05-09-2017, 09:29 AM
Thon metal decking will be one helluva noisy when a few hundred folk start walking on it, those in the corporate bit will need ear defenders !
05-09-2017, 09:31 AM
Maybe they just forgot! Given the history of this project that's not impossible.
For a Yam seeing the new stand compared to the Romanov fantasy version must be like going on Tinder and seeing shots of a bronzed supermodel on an exotic beach, then a minging jakey anorexic in an oxygen mask shows up.
05-09-2017, 10:39 AM
Thon metal decking will be one helluva noisy when a few hundred folk start walking on it, those in the corporate bit will need ear defenders !
Maybe they did it on purpose to help improve the atmosphere.
05-09-2017, 11:32 AM
Where?
It's hidden in the pattern of the metal bolts. Quite subtle.
05-09-2017, 11:41 AM
It's hidden in the pattern of the metal bolts. Quite subtle.
We need a picture at 3pm on Saturday of the finished stand just waiting for the seats.
05-09-2017, 11:50 AM
We need a picture at 3pm on Saturday of the finished stand just waiting for the seats.
Didn't you read morganleith's post that they've since re-prioritized the work?
Apparently, some as yet unspecified inner part of the stand has been prioritized as more important than: a) the decking to put the seats on; b) the roof; c) the turnstyles.
I'd love to know exactly what it is that's more important than those three items... but I'm a mere Hobo, so I wouldn't understand.
05-09-2017, 11:51 AM
The Chip fryers maybe?
05-09-2017, 11:56 AM
The Chip fryers maybe?
Or a shrine for a retired plastic owl
05-09-2017, 12:04 PM
Looking at that bend in the curtain wall it looks like it already has bent out of shape... :greengrin
05-09-2017, 12:05 PM
The Chip fryers maybe?
I'm gonna guess it's Craig Levein's new Office.
Any other takers?
05-09-2017, 12:06 PM
I'm gonna guess it's Craig Levein's new Office.
Any other takers?
Does he not get two offices? :confused:
05-09-2017, 12:08 PM
Apparently, some as yet unspecified inner part of the stand has been prioritized as more important than: a) the decking to put the seats on; b) the roof; c) the turnstyles.
I'd love to know exactly what it is that's more important than those three items... but I'm a mere Hobo, so I wouldn't understand.
Yes beyond the understanding of us mere hobos. Has Queen Anne made a statement to explain the change of plan from the previous statement?
05-09-2017, 12:15 PM
That's a point.
I wonder who's gonna carry the messages back and forward between them.
05-09-2017, 12:17 PM
Yes beyond the understanding of us mere hobos. Has Queen Anne made a statement to explain the change of plan from the previous statement?
"Everything's proceeding exactly according to the now updated schedule" *
* Subject to further changes, at which point it will be proceeding exactly according to that schedule instead.
05-09-2017, 12:32 PM
No just two hats and both on shoogly pegs!
One of which used to belong to Warburton?
05-09-2017, 12:33 PM
"Everything's proceeding exactly according to the now updated schedule" *
* Subject to further changes, at which point it will be proceeding exactly according to that schedule instead.
Same as any construction project in fairness :wink:
05-09-2017, 12:35 PM
Does he not get two offices? :confused:And a wee secret toilet in between for when they find themselves in the same position as Dens Park 1986? It's the least they're expecting now they've signed someone from Raiths legendary relegation squad to supply the ammo to Cole (open goal) Stockton.
05-09-2017, 12:35 PM
Perhaps they forgot to lay the foundations?
Ones a bookmakers office!
Crazyhorse
05-09-2017, 01:39 PM
For a Yam seeing the new stand compared to the Romanov fantasy version must be like going on Tinder and seeing shots of a bronzed supermodel on an exotic beach, then a minging jakey anorexic in an oxygen mask shows up.
Disappointing experience on Tinder Bob?
All Is Barry doing his bit and keeping the lie alive that the Mega-Stand will cost only £12Million.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/it-s-a-murrayfield-of-dreams-for-hearts-ross-callachan-1-4550779
05-09-2017, 02:48 PM
All Is Barry doing his bit and keeping the lie alive that the Mega-Stand will cost only £12Million.
Ross Callachan has served an extensive apprenticeship. He’s dreamt the youth academy dream at Raith Rovers, come through soulless reserve matches and even a loan spell at Musselburgh juniors. Promotion to the big stage has been hard-earned, and for this midfielder the stage doesn’t get much bigger.
Read more at: http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/it-s-a-murrayfield-of-dreams-for-hearts-ross-callachan-1-4550779
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/it-s-a-murrayfield-of-dreams-for-hearts-ross-callachan-1-4550779
Jeezus wept !!! Just couldn't get past that first paragraph - all that's missing from it is the click-on for the trumpet-fanfare !! You'd think this laddie has signed for Real Madrid or something ! :faf:
'All-is' is most definitely on something today, he's went through more than just the one box of tissues typing THAT !!!
05-09-2017, 03:03 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170905/409cd03fa6eb2c33c9d6462c8f9880c2.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170905/bf25173513f893ae2c7294e7599acb66.jpg
Taken today. Apologies for the slow progress, the steel fixers are inside tiling the bathrooms.
05-09-2017, 03:20 PM
I see the Yams have announced the appointment of a new director.
https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/SC005863/filing-history
Well, not really new, she is Jacqueline Duncan, the club secretary made up to director.
I see she is a Chartered Accountant ..... maybe they require additional help balancing the books.
Taken today. Apologies for the slow progress, the steel fixers are inside tiling the bathrooms. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I see from the pictures that there will be more than few rows with a restricted view thanks to the Police Control room!
Is there a picture in existence of more than 3 folk "working" on the stand at the same time? Seems to be a solitary chap just plodding on in every image you see... The urgency is real.. :cb
05-09-2017, 03:53 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170905/409cd03fa6eb2c33c9d6462c8f9880c2.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170905/bf25173513f893ae2c7294e7599acb66.jpg
Taken today. Apologies for the slow progress, the steel fixers are inside tiling the bathrooms.
If only the seats had been ordered it would have been ready for Saturdays game or if you are a yam believer they are focusing on the internals of the stand now as they can't do 2 things at once.
05-09-2017, 04:23 PM
Is there a picture in existence of more than 3 folk "working" on the stand at the same time? Seems to be a solitary chap just plodding on in every image you see... The urgency is real.. :cb
One was posted further back on the thread which appears to show only 1, but microscopic examination of the image (Where's Wally? stylee :greengrin ) uncovers another 3 for a grand total of 4... but you have to look very, very closely
05-09-2017, 04:38 PM
If only the seats had been ordered it would have been ready for Saturdays game or if you are a yam believer they are focusing on the internals of the stand now as they can't do 2 things at once.
I'm not sure the internals are exactly moving at pace either.you can see straight through to the MEGA curtain wall in some places
05-09-2017, 04:47 PM
Plumbing and Electricity, two things you should sort out early in the building process.
Firestarter
05-09-2017, 05:04 PM
You have to remember they where previously riding the stand equivant of Budge herself.
Hibbycol
05-09-2017, 05:06 PM
This Darren Jackson? [emoji6]
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170904/38c245261f0fa9ef41a657df5135062d.jpg
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalknever ever liked him even when he played for us , never celebrated a goal for us by ripping his shirt off and swirling it round his head ahla ridiculous helicoptering jambo fudds antic , but he was silenced in that game cos we tucked them [emoji6]. still don't like him, big chinned galoot.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Firestarter
05-09-2017, 05:07 PM
The spfl have been duped much more than the hertz fans. Master plan all along to gain the rewards of playing at Murrayfield against Aberdeen and Huns. They always seem to fall in ***** and come back smelling of roses.
05-09-2017, 05:07 PM
Plumbing and Electricity, two things you should sort out early in the building process.
Yep, that's why over at the Gorgie Folly they decide just last week they will need to build a new Plant Room under another stand to put all the gubbins in.
https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/simpleSearchResults.do?action=firstPage
05-09-2017, 05:11 PM
never ever liked him even when he played for us , never celebrated a goal for us by ripping his shirt off and swirling it round his head ahla ridiculous helicoptering jambo fudds antic , but he was silenced in that game cos we tucked them [emoji6]. still don't like him, big chinned galoot.
Excellent player though. Wonder what he'd be worth I'm today's market.
05-09-2017, 05:14 PM
"Let them eat cake, and eventually, chips.......!"
Firestarter
05-09-2017, 05:44 PM
never ever liked him even when he played for us , never celebrated a goal for us by ripping his shirt off and swirling it round his head ahla ridiculous helicoptering jambo fudds antic , but he was silenced in that game cos we tucked them [emoji6]. still don't like him, big chinned galoot.
It was a raker mind. Poor Sauzee, still gives me the fear his mouth after his goal.
05-09-2017, 06:09 PM
Yep, that's why over at the Gorgie Folly they decide just last week they will need to build a new Plant Room under another stand to put all the gubbins in.
https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/simpleSearchResults.do?action=firstPage
Ah, so my inside info is not as dodgy as I thought.
The Masons, not as secretive as you think, especially with a drink in them.
05-09-2017, 06:16 PM
From their thread discussing this thread:
Rudy T
Reserve Team
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/public/style_images/JKB_2010/profile/default_large.png
Registered Users A
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/public/style_extra/team_icons/member.gif
6,601 posts
Posted 02 September 2017 - 10:35 pm
The difference between Hearts and Hibs is we are supporters they are fans.
We'll support Hearts and love the club. Good or bad we're there.
They're fans when it suits them...having a good spell they'll turn up, starts to go wrong it's ocean terminal on a saturday with the missus for a spot of shopping.
We support Hearts because it's in our blood they're fans of hibs cause they sort of always have or their dad did or they're from that end of town.
Supporters v Fans that's the difference!
05-09-2017, 06:18 PM
The spfl have been duped much more than the hertz fans. Master plan all along to gain the rewards of playing at Murrayfield against Aberdeen and Huns. They always seem to fall in ***** and come back smelling of roses.
Are you saying hearts waited until the fixture list was announced and delibertly held back the construction so they could play aberdeen and rangers at murrayfield? I thi k the lies to the fans about the completion date and time is true. however to say its been planned to play 2 specific games that no one knows about how much extra will be made is pretty far fetched
05-09-2017, 06:19 PM
Rudy T
Reserve Team
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/public/style_images/JKB_2010/profile/default_large.png
Registered Users A
6,601 posts
They're fans when it suits them...having a good spell they'll turn up, starts to go wrong it's ocean terminal on a saturday with the missus for a spot of shopping.
We support Hearts because it's in our blood they're fans of hibs cause they sort of always have or their dad did or they're from that end of town.
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
05-09-2017, 06:21 PM
Rudy T
Reserve Team
Registered Users A
6,601 posts
That last bit makes the least sense ever. The majority of football fans support the team from where they live and/or their dad supports. Is he trying to say all hearts fans have special blood and only those born with that blood can support them? I didnt realise windse lickers were all the same blood type but there ya go
05-09-2017, 06:23 PM
Bit harsh. Yep he was a bit of a twat that day (don't think he was the sharpest of blokes) but as you say we gave them a doing so he got his medicine (he also played in the 6-2 game so the move to Hearts was probably the low point of his career). He was at his peak with Hibs though and I thought he was a great player for us. He scored some absolute crackers for us, most of them against Dundee United IIRC. When we had that team including Jackson, Wright, O'Neill, McAllister, Harper and Weir it proved Alex Miller wasn't always as dour a manager as he was portrayed.
Overall he had a fine playing career and overcame what at one stage looked like a career-ending brain condition at Celtic. Pretty sure he was declared bankrupt a couple of years back though.
05-09-2017, 06:24 PM
That last bit makes the least sense ever. The majority of football fans support the team from where they live and/or their dad supports. Is he trying to say all hearts fans have special blood and only those born with that blood can support them? I didnt realise windse lickers were all the same blood type but there ya go
Obviously this particular maroon balloon wasn't amongst some of their crowds in the 3000 - 7000 range in the 70's & 80's. He seems like one of Vlad or Mercers lickspittles to me.
Mainstandman
05-09-2017, 06:29 PM
Excellent player though. Wonder what he'd be worth I'm today's market.
He was rated the worst player he'd ever seen by the Brazil manager in 1998 World Cup
I think in their case it is in their blood and could it not be from their brother or sister.... or indeed uncle daddy scenario.
Maybe that's why the yam poster has posted this.
05-09-2017, 06:31 PM
Rudy T
Reserve Team
Registered Users A
6,601 posts
I wonder if he knows " Fans " is an abbreviation of Fanatics !
Suggests we are more intense in our Club loyalty than a mere Supporter would be. :confused:
05-09-2017, 06:34 PM
Yeh I know, that bit jumped out at me too ..... he lists practically every reason folk have for supporting any club and then says that's not why folk support Hearts .... is this some sort of football specific racism? :shocked:
Hibbycol
05-09-2017, 06:36 PM
That last bit makes the least sense ever. The majority of football fans support the team from where they live and/or their dad supports. Is he trying to say all hearts fans have special blood and only those born with that blood can support them? I didnt realise windse lickers were all the same blood type but there ya goSounds a bit like Harry potter is taking over them pure bloods (hertz) mud bloods every other fan/supporter of other teams who aren't in GRYFFINDOR!
Hibbycol
05-09-2017, 06:48 PM
Bit harsh. Yep he was a bit of a twat that day (don't think he was the sharpest of blokes) but as you say we gave them a doing so he got his medicine (he also played in the 6-2 game so the move to Hearts was probably the low point of his career). He was at his peak with Hibs though and I thought he was a great player for us. He scored some absolute crackers for us, most of them against Dundee United IIRC. When we had that team including Jackson, Wright, O'Neill, McAllister, Harper and Weir it proved Alex Miller wasn't always as dour a manager as he was portrayed.
Overall he had a fine playing career and overcame what at one stage looked like a career-ending brain condition at Celtic. Pretty sure he was declared bankrupt a couple of years back though.Hertz fan if I am not mistaken, never tried a leg if he didn't get a touch in the first minute, always moaned at fellow players,refs,always falling over . my personal dislike of him was proven "pleasing" when he signed for them ,met him a few times and was always a class one bell end , but that's my opinion, others will disagree ,but that's fitba !
05-09-2017, 06:50 PM
I wonder if he knows " Fans " is an abbreviation of Fanatics !
Suggests we are more intense in our Club loyalty than a mere Supporter would be. :confused:
A wee snapshot of their "loyalty" in an era where there was a lot less doping, the real crowds were when we celtc or the now defuncts were in town, you can understand them turning out in numbers to see if they could beat 7 goals.
That's really a random sample, plenty more similar numbers available from the era where they never just got some roaster to scream sell out and they all swallow it whilst gazing at the seats around them.
Sat Oct 7 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
02-Jan Aberdeen
Sat Oct 21 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
0-0 Motherwell
Sat Oct 28 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
3-0 Arbroath
Sat Nov 11 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
3-0 Ayr United
Sat Nov 25 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
2-0 Partick Thistle
Sat Dec 9 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
0-0 Kilmarnock
Sat Dec 23 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
01-Feb Dundee
Mon Jan 1 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-7 Hibernian
Sat Jan 20 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
01-Jan East Fife
Sat Feb 3 1973
Heart of Midlothian
0-0 Airdrieonians
Sat Feb 10 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-2 Dundee United
Sat Mar 10 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
1-0 Falkirk
Mon Mar 12 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-0 Morton
Sat Mar 24 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-2 Celtic
Sat Apr 7 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-1 Rangers
Sat Apr 21 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-1 Airdrieonians
Hibbycol
05-09-2017, 06:55 PM
A wee snapshot of their "loyalty" in an era where there was a lot less doping, the real crowds were when we celtc or the now defuncts were in town, you can understand them turning out in numbers to see if they could beat 7 goals.
That's really a random sample, plenty more similar numbers available from the era where they never just got some roaster to scream sell out and they all swallow it whilst gazing at the seats around them.
Sat Oct 7 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
02-JanAberdeen
Sat Oct 21 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
0-0Motherwell
Sat Oct 28 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
3-0Arbroath
Sat Nov 11 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
3-0Ayr United
Sat Nov 25 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
2-0Partick Thistle
Sat Dec 9 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
0-0Kilmarnock
Sat Dec 23 1972
Heart Of Midlothian
01-FebDundee
Mon Jan 1 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-7Hibernian
Sat Jan 20 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
01-JanEast Fife
Sat Feb 3 1973
Heart of Midlothian
0-0Airdrieonians
Sat Feb 10 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-2Dundee United
Sat Mar 10 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
1-0Falkirk
Mon Mar 12 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-0Morton
Sat Mar 24 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-2Celtic
Sat Apr 7 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-1Rangers
Sat Apr 21 1973
Heart Of Midlothian
0-1Airdrieonians
4328Sat Dec 9 1972 ,now that's a date they won't forget hibs 2 celtic 1 league cup final [emoji106]
05-09-2017, 06:57 PM
Sat Dec 9 1972 ,now that's a date they won't forget hibs 2 celtic 1 league cup final [emoji106]
Yep, I was there, my uncle who was an old style Hearts supporter took me through.
05-09-2017, 07:01 PM
Obviously this particular maroon balloon wasn't amongst some of their crowds in the 3000 - 7000 range in the 70's & 80's. He seems like one of Vlad or Mercers lickspittles to me.
Yup ........ I remember being at a Hearts v Killie game back in the 80s I think it was ( I cant remember for the life of me why I ended up there ) anyway, what I do remember is rattling around in the empty space like a dried pea in an empty tin :greengrin
They do love their myths our Yam chums :aok:
Hibbycol
05-09-2017, 07:05 PM
Yep, I was there, my uncle who was an old style Hearts supporter took me through.My absolute favourite picture of any "hibs" images is the pic of his godship running away past the goals arm aloft with the biggest smile after scoring , "orourke chips the ball to stanton ,chance for stanton !!!! goal " .absolute LEGEND ,LEGEND I SAY ,
GOD BLESS HIM.
05-09-2017, 07:06 PM
Yeh I know, that bit jumped out at me too ..... he lists practically every reason folk have for supporting any club and then says that's not why folk support Hearts .... is this some sort of football specific racism? :shocked:
The facts of the matter are this. If hearts supporters hadnt done what they did the club would not exist, not in its current form anyway.
The Hibs support rallied and saved the club in early 90's and hearts have done the same.
So what's his point?
05-09-2017, 07:06 PM
(details removed)
As I mentioned in an earlier comment, they had much lower attendances than the ones you mentioned when they were in the first division, often less than 3,000.
Their crowds only increased when Mercer, Robinson, etc, started subsidising them with funds that would never be paid back.
Tobias Funke
05-09-2017, 07:07 PM
Rudy T
Reserve Team
Registered Users A
6,601 posts
What a complete and utter helmet!
05-09-2017, 07:11 PM
Yup ........ I remember being at a Hearts v Killie game back in the 80s I think it was ( I cant remember for the life of me why I ended up there ) anyway, what I do remember is rattling around in the empty space like a dried pea in an empty tin :greengrin
They do love their myths our Yam chums :aok:
For a bit of balance you can see that 10 years approx. later it was standing room only at the home of fantasy football.
Sat Aug 16 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
0-2 Airdrieonians
Sat Sep 13 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
0-2 Celtic
Sat Sep 20 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
0-1 Morton
Sat Oct 4 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
0-1 Aberdeen
Sat Oct 18 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
0-1 Partick Thistle
Sat Nov 1 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
01-Jan St Mirren
Sat Nov 8 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
0-3 Dundee United
Sat Nov 22 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
0-0 Rangers
Sat Dec 6 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
2-0 Kilmarnock
Sat Dec 20 1980
Heart Of Midlothian
0-0 Morton
Thu Jan 1 1981
Heart Of Midlothian
02-Mar Airdrieonians
Sat Jan 10 1981
Heart Of Midlothian
0-2 Aberdeen
Wed Jan 28 1981
Heart of Midlothian
01-Mar Morton
Sat Jan 31 1981
Heart Of Midlothian
0-3 Celtic
Sat Feb 28 1981
Heart Of Midlothian
01-Jan Partick Thistle
Sat Mar 14 1981
Heart Of Midlothian
02-Jan Rangers
Sat Mar 28 1981
Heart Of Midlothian
0-4 Dundee United
Sat Apr 4 1981
Heart Of Midlothian
1-0 Kilmarnock
Sat Apr 18 1981
Heart Of Midlothian
01-Feb St Mirren
05-09-2017, 07:12 PM
Rudy T
Reserve Team
Registered Users A
6,601 posts
A few chips short of a poke.
05-09-2017, 07:13 PM
Probably my favourite all-time Hibs player.
He was absolutely immense for us.
We saw the best of him and he improved as a player whilst he was at Hibs.
As well as being a class player he had a great habit of noising up and really getting under the skin of opposition fans.
I was devastated when he joined Celtic and devastated when he joined Hearts.
I've mellowed and am willing to overlook the aberrations he had late in his career, as well as his maroon leanings.
We have a decent record with Jambos as players tbh - Jackson, Whittaker, Cummings.......
05-09-2017, 07:31 PM
Pretty much destroyed Hearts single handed in the New Year derby immediately after the 0-7 Ibrox debacle.
Great player for Hibs. A great player.
05-09-2017, 07:46 PM
We have a decent record with Jambos as players tbh - Jackson, Whittaker, Cummings.......
Gordon Smith, Sir David Gray...
05-09-2017, 07:52 PM
Hertz fan if I am not mistaken, never tried a leg if he didn't get a touch in the first minute, always moaned at fellow players,refs,always falling over . my personal dislike of him was proven "pleasing" when he signed for them ,met him a few times and was always a class one bell end , but that's my opinion, others will disagree ,but that's fitba !
Yip I disagree he was very good for Hibs and when I hear him he always talks fondly of his time with Hibs
Tornadoes70
05-09-2017, 08:00 PM
Yip I disagree he was very good for Hibs and when I hear him he always talks fondly of his time with Hibs
I think he was more of a hearts fan than he was a hibby but I'm surprised anyone would doubt Darren's commitment to us during the time he played with us back in the day. He was a hard working decent to very good player most of the time and rarely says anything bad about us, (probably why he doesn't get that many gigs on sportsound :greengrin).
05-09-2017, 08:24 PM
I think he was more of a hearts fan than he was a hibby but I'm surprised anyone would doubt Darren's commitment to us during the time he played with us back in the day. He was a hard working decent to very good player most of the time and rarely says anything bad about us, (probably why he doesn't get that many gigs on sportsound :greengrin).
From Simon Pia's 'Sunshine on Leith: Hibernian's Finest Sons' book:
"I know there have been a few rumours about who I supported as a boy. I was more interested in playing but let me make one thing clear. I was never a Hearts supporter. It's true I was a mascot at a Hearts v Alloa game in 1978 which was just after my school, Leith Walk Primary, had won the league and was the sort of thing you wouldn't turn down for any wee boy."
We're going well off thread here, but I feel quite strongly about standing up for Jacko's contribution to Hibs. I thought he gave us his best years and as previously mentioned he scored some terrific goals (my personal favourite was the winner in the League Cup semi at Tynecastle v the Arabs). I think it would be fair to say he didn't really gel as a 'partner' for Keith Wright. It was more the case that they were two fine strikers in their own right who were bound to score a lot of goals. Other than that, though, I thought he was a great signing. Ooh Ah Jacksona...as the chant used to go.
On the subject of Simon Pia's book, I believe that when Darren joined Hearts Simon was bringing the book up to date to include Sauzee, Latapy etc and asked Darren if he might want to have his chapter withdrawn now that he was playing for Hearts. Darren wouldn't hear of it and said his years at Hibs were the best of his career.
He was a late developer when it came to Scotland and while never the finest international player he won a good number of caps and scored a few goals too. There have been many far, far less deserving players to have won caps for Scotland.
05-09-2017, 08:29 PM
Probably my favourite all-time Hibs player.
He was absolutely immense for us.
We saw the best of him and he improved as a player whilst he was at Hibs.
As well as being a class player he had a great habit of noising up and really getting under the skin of opposition fans.
I was devastated when he joined Celtic and devastated when he joined Hearts.
I've mellowed and am willing to overlook the aberrations he had late in his career, as well as his maroon leanings.
Darren was a terrific player for hibs, no doubt about it......but I also have no qualms at saying he was some player for hearts too. (Pretty sure he single handed kept hearts up one season)
Good luck to him whatever he's up to......no bad word from me.
As for the Brazil manager saying he was the worst player he'd seen...think about that, he was playing against Brazil in the World Cup. (Wouldn't mind us having a player of that quality in the team these days)
"I know there have been a few rumours about who I supported as a boy. I was more interested in playing but let me make one thing clear. I was never a Hearts supporter. It's true I was a mascot at a Hearts v Alloa game in 1978 which was just after my school, Leith Walk Primary, had won the league and was the sort of thing you wouldn't turn down for any wee boy."
We're going well off thread here, but I feel quite strongly about standing up for Jacko's contribution to Hibs. I thought he gave us his best years and as previously mentioned he scored some terrific goals (my personal favourite was the winner in the League Cup semi at Tynecastle v the Arabs). I think it would be fair to say he didn't really gel as a 'partner' for Keith Wright. It was more the case that they were two fine strikers in their own right who were bound to score a lot of goals. Other than that, though, I thought he was a great signing. Ooh Ah Jacksona...as the chant used to go.
On the subject of Simon Pia's book, I believe that when Darren joined Hearts Simon was bringing the book up to date to include Sauzee, Latapy etc and asked Darren if he might want to have his chapter withdrawn now that he was playing for Hearts. Darren wouldn't hear of it and said his years at Hibs were the best of his career.
He was a late developer when it came to Scotland and while never the finest international player he won a good number of caps and scored a few goals too. There have been many far, far less deserving players to have won caps for Scotland.
I seem to remember him being average to crap whilst being a fairly hard worker to begin with at Hibs, then started to improve to the point he got called up to the Scotland squad. At this point he got to know John Collins fairly well and adopted much of collins' training/fitness regime, which saw Jackson improve further and start to make some waves at Hibs, which eventually led to his move to Celtic.
Also seem to remember Duff Jimmy being quoted some time after his spell with Hibs saying that he'd barely got in the door when he had Jackson at his office wanting a move away
05-09-2017, 08:35 PM
Rudy T
Reserve Team
Registered Users A
6,601 posts
Really ??. Then where were these 'supporters' BEFORE Wallace Merger took over, with his 'Other People's Money' business-plan, in the 1970's when hearts reguarly had gates of 5-6000 ??. Surely the difference in the size of their 'support' then and as it is now has nothing to do with 'Artificially Financially-inflated' football-teams ??. Then again, that could go some way to explaining the rows and rows of empty-seats' that were clearly visible in a lot of their televised games last season which they laughingly claimed were 'Full-House' !!
05-09-2017, 08:45 PM
Jackson was anything but average or crap for Hibs.
I remember a period when some eejits were getting on his back for playing too deep. After a few games Alex Miller changed his shirt number to show that he'd been put in midfield. He was a great player for Hibs and always gave 100%.
As for his boyhood team, my understanding is that, if anything, he was a hun.
05-09-2017, 08:48 PM
Jackson was anything but average or crap for Hibs.
I remember a period when some eejits were getting on his back for playing too deep. After a few games Alex Miller changed his shirt number to show that he'd been put in midfield. He was a great player for Hibs and always gave 100%.
As for his boyhood team, my understanding is that, if anything, he was a hun.
100% correct...used to wear a scarf...in his teens
more importantly - agree completely - played his best football at Hibs...
Tornadoes70
05-09-2017, 08:54 PM
Excellent post.
I heard the rumours circulating around then that Darren leaned towards being a Hearts fan which turns out to have been wrong, however I never once heard any hibby criticise Darren for it then very probably because of his commitment and talent while playing for Hibernian.
Ooh ah Jacksonah singing Ooh ah Jacksona, had forgotten about that one :greengrin
05-09-2017, 09:05 PM
I don't remember which Sunday broadsheet or game it was, but my favourite Hibs football headline still is 'Hibees dance to Jackson's sweet sole music' when he ran the midfield in a emphatic victory at ER.
Morganleith
05-09-2017, 09:14 PM
Superb player and a gentleman to boot
05-09-2017, 09:28 PM
Jackson really grew into a game at Hibs and in his last couple of seasons was streets ahead of his outfield teammates, reflected in him getting international call-ups.
05-09-2017, 10:19 PM
Hertz fan if I am not mistaken, never tried a leg if he didn't get a touch in the first minute, always moaned at fellow players,refs,always falling over . my personal dislike of him was proven "pleasing" when he signed for them ,met him a few times and was always a class one bell end , but that's my opinion, others will disagree ,but that's fitba !
Never tried a leg?!? What a bizarre comment. He was regularly our best player and scored some outstanding, and important goals for us. My favourite player whilst growing up, was gutted when he left for Celtic, for £1.25million if I remember correctly...which was a lot of money back then for a player that didn't try a leg and was always falling over [emoji848]
05-09-2017, 10:25 PM
Never tried a leg?!? What a bizarre comment. He was regularly our best player and scored some outstanding, and important goals for us. My favourite player whilst growing up, was gutted when he left for Celtic, for £1.25million if I remember correctly...which was a lot of money back then for a player that didn't try a leg and was always falling over [emoji848]
Some folk just don't appreciate goal scorers for some reason. Weird because it's the most important and hardest aspect of the game.
See also: Jason Cummings.
Crazyhorse
05-09-2017, 10:30 PM
Overall he had a fine playing career and overcame what at one stage looked like a career-ending brain condition at Celtic. Pretty sure he was declared bankrupt a couple of years back though.
Agree with all of that. I moved to Edinburgh and started to go to Hibs games when Darren and Michael O'Neill were really on top form. Loved watching those two every week in particular.
05-09-2017, 10:31 PM
Some folk just don't appreciate goal scorers for some reason. Weird because it's the most important and hardest aspect of the game.
Wasn't in Cummings class when it came to goal scoring. About 1 every 3.5 games.
I liked him as a player though. Very clever. Just not prolific as a striker.
05-09-2017, 10:37 PM
I see the Yams have announced the appointment of a new director.
https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/SC005863/filing-history
Well, not really new, she is Jacqueline Duncan, the club secretary made up to director.
I see she is a Chartered Accountant ..... maybe they require additional help balancing the books.they don't really need her. they already have Ambassador Locke. and yet some on here slated anyone who was against him getting a job with Hibernian:rolleyes:
05-09-2017, 11:01 PM
There's a couple of generations of them who know nothing of what it was like pre-Mercer. We will never forget.
05-09-2017, 11:12 PM
Darren Jackson was a tremendous player for Hibs. I don't understand how anyone who watched that mid-90s team could disagree with that.
05-09-2017, 11:15 PM
they don't really need her. they already have Ambassador Locke. and yet some on here slated anyone who was against him getting a job with Hibernian:rolleyes:
Nah. I think some on here slated folk who claimed they wouldn't renew their season ticket if he got a job here. There's a difference.
05-09-2017, 11:27 PM
Nah. I think some on here slated folk who claimed they wouldn't renew their season ticket if he got a job here. There's a difference. I think you are correct I got mine. wisnae gonnae if that fud got a job. stuck to my guns,so tae speak:wink: btw, I did not claim,.... I did
Hibbycol
06-09-2017, 12:02 AM
Agree with all of that. I moved to Edinburgh and started to go to Hibs games when Darren and Michael O'Neill were really on top form. Loved watching those two every week in particular.Now michael oneil ,there was a player ,firey, fast ,great eye for a pass and chipped in with a few goals, met him a lot in his time with hibs ,absolute gent [emoji16],IMO, should have been hibs manager if it wasn't for that twat Harry potter (allegedly).
06-09-2017, 02:15 AM
DJ was superb for Hibs. A fantastic signing who carried the team towards the end of his spell with us. How anyone can say he never tried a leg at times is beyond me...
The season after he left we were relegated. A great player for us.
06-09-2017, 02:26 AM
Now michael oneil ,there was a player ,firey, fast ,great eye for a pass and chipped in with a few goals, met him a lot in his time with hibs ,absolute gent [emoji16],IMO, should have been hibs manager if it wasn't for that twat Harry potter (allegedly).
Also need to put the ridiculous rumour that he has some affinity for the manky Gorgie mob to bed. The Silence of the Yams. Michael O'Neill is a Hibernian great. And a fan. For some reason that deluded mob think he has a liking for their club and some still seem to think there's a possibility of him managing them in future.
NO CHANCE... MoN is green and white. :flag:
Hibbycol
06-09-2017, 02:45 AM
Also need to put the ridiculous rumour that he has some affinity for the manky Gorgie mob to bed. The Silence of the Yams. Michael O'Neill is a Hibernian great. And a fan. For some reason that deluded mob think he has a liking for their club and some still seem to think there's a possibility of him managing them in future.
NO CHANCE... MoN is green and white. :flag:correct, met him most days after he had been to mass, talked endlessly about football,life,and other subjects, didn't particularly like the hertz "party songs" and the manner of the hertz fans. Loved it at hibs and wanted the job as manager , great guy,footballer,manager.
06-09-2017, 02:58 AM
Anyhoo this stand thing.
06-09-2017, 03:25 AM
Anyhoo this stand thing.
Darren scored a great goal against the Arabs in front of there old heap.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6bSX0hfkXE
Hibbycol
06-09-2017, 05:04 AM
Anyhoo this stand thing.Aye sorry my fault ,likes and dislikes in footie players eh [emoji6], any hoo, question , how much do the hertz have to pay over the odds when the crowd gets over a certain size, is it per person,ticket sold,or block payment ? And have the seats arrived yet ? Or is Harry potter going to have to wave his magic wand ?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170906/028bb46fd509519a74952d34e0d932f9.jpg
06-09-2017, 05:40 AM
Pretty much destroyed Hearts single handed in the New Year derby immediately after the 0-7 Ibrox debacle.
Great player for Hibs. A great player.
Can't really relate to Col's position. He carried our team pretty much single handed for a couple of seasons much like Sparkie. His goal v United at Tynie was glorious. When the argument resorts to personal insults it's usually a losing one.
06-09-2017, 06:09 AM
While some can see just how good a goalscorer one is, the same folk can appreciate the other was not as good at putting the ball in the net, but was better at other parts of the game?
Not really sure how anyone can't see this?
06-09-2017, 07:11 AM
I found the inspiration for their new stand this morning, opposite the hospital in Saint-Malo. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170906/0af51a2f428941e739d4d2b62c995724.jpg
06-09-2017, 08:03 AM
I found the inspiration for their new stand this morning, opposite the hospital in Saint-Malo. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170906/0af51a2f428941e739d4d2b62c995724.jpg
Sorry, but what has that got to do with Darren Jackson?
06-09-2017, 08:09 AM
Rudy T
Reserve Team
Registered Users A
6,601 posts
:faf:Deluded erses the lot of them[emoji23][emoji23]
KDY Hibs
06-09-2017, 08:57 AM
Sorry, but what has that got to do with Darren Jackson?
The post is to do with their new stand, which is the title of the thread.
06-09-2017, 09:00 AM
06-09-2017, 09:40 AM
Darren scored a great goal against the Arabs in front of there old heap.
Cant get the link to work but I don't have to, that goal is ingrained in my memory ... a fantastic strike fit to win any game :thumbsup:
06-09-2017, 09:43 AM
I agree DJ was an excellent player for us but was a crap goal keeper. Parkhead mid 90s Hibs 1-0 up, Jim Leighton leaves the field for treatment, DJ goes in goals and by the time Leighton comes back we are 2-1 down, Final result if my memory is correct.
Newry Hibs
06-09-2017, 09:51 AM
http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-london-41163584
I see another red and grey and glass building has won an award ....
06-09-2017, 09:52 AM
Does this thread reset to page 1 after 114 pages? :wink:
06-09-2017, 10:07 AM
06-09-2017, 10:13 AM
Can we submit the Tiny Library for next season ? :greengrin
Firestarter
06-09-2017, 10:15 AM
:greengrin :top marks
06-09-2017, 10:47 AM
:fishin:
06-09-2017, 10:50 AM
Wow. that's even uglier than the PBS will be, but at least that building stands out for something, the thing about the PBS is that you cant even get excited about its ugliness .... its just bland, bland, bland. In all honesty so is the main stand at ER but it never pretended it was going to be anything more than what it is, a perfectly acceptable functionary stand built to do a job with no overblown announcements about it being an architectural marvel in pre construction publicity.
As usual the Yams are the architects ( no pun intended :greengrin ) of their own destruction ...... it wasn't enough to say 'this stand is going to be a massive improvement on what we had' which it undoubtedly is. It wasn't enough to say 'we will have one of the more impressive main stands from the street view in Scottish football' which they clearly will have and you would churlish to deny it. No, the Yams had to boast about glass wall curtains and come out with artists impressions which showed something far removed from what the end product will end up like .... they are building a 1970's office block of no architectural merit whatsoever and making a dock of that along the way .... the fact that they seem incapable of accepting that reality is why we are getting so much entertainment from it. Silly Yams :greengrin
NZ Green
06-09-2017, 10:57 AM
Not after a bit of exuberant posting.
06-09-2017, 10:59 AM
There's a couple of generations of them who know nothing of what it was like pre-Mercer. We will never forget.
Yeah, I find it absolutely amazing how the average yam IS oblivious of their pre-Mercer times - their crowds, their 'football'(:faf:), their usual debt !. When they talk it's like that throughout their history they've always been knee-deep in money and always signed players that are way, way above their historical standard and level !
Cant get the link to work but I don't have to, that goal is ingrained in my memory ... a fantastic strike fit to win any game :thumbsup:
Try this -=
06-09-2017, 11:48 AM
Yeah, I find it absolutely amazing how the average yam IS oblivious of their pre-Mercer times - their crowds, their 'football'(:faf:), their usual debt !. When they talk it's like that throughout their history they've always been knee-deep in money and always signed players that are way, way above their historical standard and level !
Try this -=
Cheers :aok:
06-09-2017, 11:54 AM
As an aside, journo Ewan Murray (a Jambo) suggests that Tynecastle could be a venue for international fixtures alongside Celtic Park, Ibrox and Easter Road if the national team leaves Hampden...
https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2017/sep/06/world-cup-qualifying-10-talking-points
Er, no!
06-09-2017, 12:16 PM
Wow. that's even uglier than the PBS will be, but at least that building stands out for something, the thing about the PBS is that you cant even get excited about its ugliness .... its just bland, bland, bland. In all honesty so is the main stand at ER but it never pretended it was going to be anything more than what it is, a perfectly acceptable functionary stand built to do a job with no overblown announcements about it being an architectural marvel in pre construction publicity.
As usual the Yams are the architects ( no pun intended :greengrin ) of their own destruction ...... it wasn't enough to say 'this stand is going to be a massive improvement on what we had' which it undoubtedly is. It wasn't enough to say 'we will have one of the more impressive main stands from the street view in Scottish football' which they clearly will have and you would churlish to deny it. No, the Yams had to boast about glass wall curtains and come out with artists impressions which showed something far removed from what the end product will end up like .... they are building a 1970's office block of no architectural merit whatsoever and making a dock of that along the way .... the fact that they seem incapable of accepting that reality is why we are getting so much entertainment from it. Silly Yams :greengrin
Having worked opposite for a while Nova is indeed an oversized and overdesigned lump of a building that is too big for the block it is on. I did note they remembered to order some seats for the place though :agree:
06-09-2017, 02:42 PM
As an aside, journo Ewan Murray (a Jambo) suggests that Tynecastle could be a venue for international fixtures alongside Celtic Park, Ibrox and Easter Road if the national team leaves Hampden...
https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2017/sep/06/world-cup-qualifying-10-talking-points
Er, no!
What planet is he on?
As an aside, journo Ewan Murray (a Jambo) suggests that Tynecastle could be a venue for international fixtures alongside Celtic Park, Ibrox and Easter Road if the national team leaves Hampden... https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2017/sep/06/world-cup-qualifying-10-talking-points Er, no!
Ha with a tiny pitch and tiny capacity!
06-09-2017, 03:09 PM
Er, no!
I think someone mentioned that the length of their pitch just mysteriously increased by 3 metres, so maybe it's the right size in the same imaginary world.
Anway, never mind that, any news on the estimated arrival date of the seats?
06-09-2017, 03:53 PM
I think someone mentioned that the length of their pitch just mysteriously increased by 3 metres, so maybe it's the right size in the same imaginary world.
Anway, never mind that, any news on the estimated arrival date of the seats?
Thing is, do FIFA/UEFA actually check pitch-lengths before games or do they just take the club's word for it ?. This recent surprise 'increase/extension' of their pitch sounds like the Yams are trying to pull yet another fast-one - attempting to get international games played on their public-park style pitch/stadium !
Firestarter
06-09-2017, 04:26 PM
Thing is, do FIFA/UEFA actually check pitch-lengths before games or do they just take the club's word for it ?. This recent surprise 'increase/extension' of their pitch sounds like the Yams are trying to pull yet another fast-one - attempting to get international games played on their public-park style pitch/stadium !
The SFA will make sure it's compliant as they could lose points etc if not and there's a complaint made. Especially when it's common knowledge it's a **** tip unable to host any games in After qualifiers in the europa.
06-09-2017, 04:27 PM
It's not just the pitch size. For international games you need larger run off areas. They just don't have the space at Tincastle.
Firestarter
06-09-2017, 04:30 PM
It's not just the pitch size. For international games you need larger run off areas. They just don't have the space at Tincastle.
And there one tierd main stand would be an embarrassment to host UEFA or FIFA officials.
06-09-2017, 04:39 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170906/ce74262034eca6bded709cb1a1b4e6d5.png
06-09-2017, 04:47 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170906/ce74262034eca6bded709cb1a1b4e6d5.png
Thought they enlarged the pitch, by taking seats out the front of the Gorgie and Roseburn stands?
06-09-2017, 04:49 PM
Thought they enlarged the pitch, by taking seats out the front of the Gorgie and Roseburn stands?
They did that a few years back, but it still didn't meet UEFA standards.
EDIT: Actually, that's not quite true, it meets minimum standards (100m x 64m) but some competitions wouldn't be allowed, such as Champions League games, International matches and group stages of the UEFA Cup.
They just can't help themselves. Another FIRST for Scottish football has just been announced.
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5512
06-09-2017, 05:05 PM
They just can't help themselves. Another FIRST for Scottish football has just been announced.
Have you checked the date on it
Thats from last year. I think its quite a good shout, makes a change from pies and pizza.
Good on our chums from the pink palace :greengrin
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5512Blast.
I thought they were going to say they'd be preserving the famous historic atmospheric calor gas heaters from the John Robertson lounge.
06-09-2017, 05:23 PM
So, so cringey
06-09-2017, 05:34 PM
Thought they already had a curry stall in there?
My mistake. I saw it as one of the recent posts on brokeback and assumed it was a new "first" for them.
06-09-2017, 06:27 PM
Truly embarrassing. It just gets worse from these muppets.
Comedy gold.
06-09-2017, 06:31 PM
So, so cringey
Quite enjoy a curry, could get messy sitting eating a curry at yer seat at the football though.
Also, it says get along tomorrow. They won't have anyone in the Wheatfield until at least a months time!!
Firestarter
06-09-2017, 06:37 PM
Truly embarrassing. It just gets worse from these muppets.
Comedy gold.
It does? In what way? Half time curry watching the scores come through in the concourse in the west would be class.
06-09-2017, 07:08 PM
November 2016??
Curry House - And Now Curry probably - " Served With CHIPS "... :not worth Hibs are Miles behind..
Disappointed in the lack of pictures of this mega-structure.
Stop talking about curries and keep all of the architectural enthusiasts on here visually updated on the progress please.
06-09-2017, 08:28 PM
Love how Anne Budge said this week that she is fed up of chair/seat jokes. Claimed that when on a bus some pensioner stood up and offered her his seat as he had heard she was in desperate need of seats :-)
06-09-2017, 08:32 PM
http://i65.tinypic.com/4zyln5.jpg
Forgetting the stand for a moment, I was interested to note the use of sun lamps on the pitch. I thought this was a very expensive practice, but I suppose with such a small area to cover maybe not as much as it costs others.
06-09-2017, 08:36 PM
Forgetting the stand for a moment, I was interested to note the use of sun lamps on the pitch. I thought this was a very expensive practice, but I suppose with such a small area to cover maybe not as much as it costs others.
06-09-2017, 08:47 PM
Forgetting the stand for a moment, I was interested to note the use of sun lamps on the pitch. I thought this was a very expensive practice, but I suppose with such a small area to cover maybe not as much as it costs others.Are they for the turf though? Maybe they've planted seat seeds?
Are they for the turf though? Maybe they've planted seat seeds?
Or magic money trees.
06-09-2017, 09:00 PM
Are they for the turf though? Maybe they've planted seat seeds?
They've planted tatties, you cannae have chips without tatties
06-09-2017, 09:05 PM
I'm curious to see if the new bus shelter causes any issues with sunlight reaching the grass in the corners. Obviously these lights are to help but you probably won't see full affect till full tin shell of the bus shelter is built and less sunlight hours in the day.
06-09-2017, 09:26 PM
I'm curious to see if the new bus shelter causes any issues with sunlight reaching the grass in the corners. Obviously these lights are to help but you probably won't see full affect till full tin shell of the bus shelter is built and less sunlight hours in the day.Sunlight shouldn't be that much of an issue as long as they've made provision for translucide panels here and there. They should put some in the Gorgie Road gable IMO (instead of the normal cladding they've used elsewhere) to maximise the sun coming from the South-East.
Lack of air circulation could be more of a problem given the relatively small gaps that will be left between the stands.
Mainstandman
06-09-2017, 09:32 PM
Its a pity those seats are late cause that's all that's needed
06-09-2017, 09:36 PM
Its a pity those seats are late cause that's all that's needed
Yip, if only those seats had arrived that would be ready to open on Saturday!! The Budgie is more deluded and off her heid than Romanov.
06-09-2017, 09:37 PM
So is the front row about 10 ft above the pitch?
06-09-2017, 09:39 PM
So is the front row about 10 ft above the pitch?No, the bottom rows, including steelwork, have still to be installed.
06-09-2017, 09:44 PM
Sunlight shouldn't be that much of an issue as long as they've made provision for translucide panels here and there. They should put some in the Gorgie Road gable IMO (instead of the normal cladding they've used elsewhere) to maximise the sun coming from the South-East.
Lack of air circulation could be more of a problem given the relatively small gaps that will be left between the stands.
I'll take your word for it Peevemor😄
Crazyhorse
06-09-2017, 09:46 PM
I suppose it's going to look ok when eventually finished (around Xmas looking at that photo). But it is a bit cramped and poky compared to ER.
06-09-2017, 09:57 PM
I suppose it's going to look ok when eventually finished (around Xmas looking at that photo). But it is a bit cramped and poky compared to ER.
Going to be messy trying to eat a curry, squashed in your seat!
Sunlight shouldn't be that much of an issue as long as they've made provision for translucide panels here and there. They should put some in the Gorgie Road gable IMO (instead of the normal cladding they've used elsewhere) to maximise the sun coming from the South-East.
Can sunlight ever be an issue in Scotland? :wink:
Firestarter
06-09-2017, 10:06 PM
Yip, if only those seats had arrived that would be ready to open on Saturday!! The Budgie is more deluded and off her heid than Romanov.
No she's not, she's very smart, she's got herself on the spfl board and made it look like to them it's a small mistake etc whilst she's sold season tickets for the pbs, got some clubs to swap home matches to away then the Sru to give them Murrayfield for matches against the sheep and the huns unlike admitting it was never going to be built before swapping home for away with Killie and Motherwell. Huns and sheep will make them ****loads. Won't be ready for the next official pbs home game, Murrayfield needed by the sru so a nice wee ask for a swap against whoever they have at home after that. And nobody questions why they couldn't just start this like we did with our main and east and take the hit from January onwards and close the stand that was going down.
06-09-2017, 10:07 PM
They've planted tatties, you cannae have chips without tatties
At least they'll have something to lift at the end of the season
06-09-2017, 10:19 PM
Er, no!
Maybe the SPFL could enforce their own rules.
https://spfl.co.uk/docs/067_324__therulesofthescottishprofessionalfootball leagueasat24july201_1502440056.pdf
Rule H 20 on page 76
" The League Management Board may at any time require a Club to submit a report from a qualified independent source certifying their pitch dimensions. "
Firestarter
06-09-2017, 10:22 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/docs/067_324__therulesofthescottishprofessionalfootball leagueasat24july201_1502440056.pdf
Rule H 20 on page 76
" The League Management Board may at any time require a Club to submit a report from a qualified independent source certifying their pitch dimensions. "
Budge is on the board. They aren't going to do that with her there.
06-09-2017, 10:26 PM
At least they'll have something to lift at the end of the seasonBrilliant [emoji23]
Criswell
06-09-2017, 10:42 PM
Is it just me? Or does that roof truss thing look completely out of proportion to the rest of the stand?
06-09-2017, 10:51 PM
The post is to do with their new stand, which is the title of the thread.:agree:his post really threw me there. just jumped in, a couple of pages back but it is about their stand, yeah?
06-09-2017, 11:43 PM
Is it just me? Or does that roof truss thing look completely out of proportion to the rest of the stand?
Nope, I posted the same a few dozen pages back ........... I suppose you would have to see it in real life, but from the photos it seems to dwarf the rest of the stand making it look really small.
Morganleith
07-09-2017, 06:11 AM
Rule H 20 on page 76
Hearts didn't suggest their stadia for international games. It was the journalist. As far as I'm aware it's accepted it's too small due to the dimensions.
07-09-2017, 06:29 AM
Hearts didn't suggest their stadia for international games. It was the journalist. As far as I'm aware it's accepted it's too small due to the dimensions.
Stockholm syndrome Agent Morganleith. You have been imbedded on .net for too long and are now showing signs of talking sense, JKB handlers wont be happy, I think you may be called back for debriefing and re education.
07-09-2017, 06:44 AM
Is it just me? Or does that roof truss thing look completely out of proportion to the rest of the stand?Just the same as the Wheatfield. In fact, from inside the ground, the new stand will be pretty much the same as all the others, only slightly deeper.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/42dd42ab1012d9d8f07ee4f4c9dbf44b.jpg
07-09-2017, 08:49 AM
:lolyam:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1154852404581539/permalink/1426906200709490/
07-09-2017, 09:03 AM
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
07-09-2017, 09:17 AM
Stockholm syndrome Agent Morganleith. You have been imbedded on .net for too long and are now showing signs of talking sense, JKB handlers wont be happy, I think you may be called back for debriefing and re education.
Remember that the Yams believe what they want to believe.
JKB Handler's report: 'Agent fully embedded and cover intact. He's leading them a merry dance and quickly become one of most trusted posters on Hibs.net. They've got no idea!'
07-09-2017, 09:33 AM
Nothing like a good flag debate :greengrin
07-09-2017, 11:31 AM
At least they'll have something to lift at the end of the season
..."end of season" in Gorgie falls typically around 16/17 Feb, following an unsuccessful Scottish Cup 5th Round Replay at Holders' Hibernian...
07-09-2017, 12:01 PM
Most new stadia have an issue with lack of sunlight on the pitch, including ER. I suppose the higher the roof, the worse the problem will be.
What matters most to me is whether or not their new stand is going to be ready in time for our League Cup Semi Final on October 21st.
I for one am grateful to them for finally providing us with a decent facility for our regular Semi Final visits. All those donations from FoH members is greatly appreciated in that respect.
07-09-2017, 12:03 PM
Remember that the Yams believe what they want to believe.
JKB Handler's report: 'Agent fully embedded and cover intact. He's leading them a merry dance and quickly become one of most trusted posters on Hibs.net. They've got no idea!'
Yeah! Like my mum never ever noticed the stains on my sheets :greengrin
07-09-2017, 12:05 PM
Most new stadia have an issue with lack of sunlight on the pitch, including ER. I suppose the higher the roof, the worse the problem will be.
What matters most to me is whether or not their new stand is going to be ready in time for our League Cup Semi Final on October 21st.
I for one am grateful to them for finally providing us with a decent facility for our regular Semi Final visits. All those donations from FoH members is greatly appreciated in that respect.
Could you imagine Hibs were the first team to sell out their redeveloped stadium. Pleasing.
07-09-2017, 12:05 PM
Yeah! Like my mum never ever noticed the stains on my sheets :greengrin
Eating ice cream in bed? Disgraceful!
07-09-2017, 12:08 PM
I love the way the sun shines off the tin can flooring. So pretty.
07-09-2017, 12:12 PM
Eating ice cream in bed? Disgraceful!
Sometimes, you just can't stop yourself.
07-09-2017, 12:56 PM
Internationals, Europa League games... some high profile games lined up for Tynecastle Park!
Just wait til we hear the Champions League anthem blaring from Gorgie...
07-09-2017, 01:12 PM
No, the bottom rows, including steelwork, have still to be installed.
Is there some sort of overhang from the top tier which the bottom rows are being built underneath? If not, then from the angle of that photo it looks like a remarkably tight, steep little space that's been left for the front rows. Sorry if this has already been explained, it's a long thread to trawl through!
If the bottom rows ARE simply being squeezed in to the remaining space then it would be pushing it to describe this as a two tier stand. More like the three stands which are already there which are to all intents and purposes single tier and merely dressed up to look like they're two-tiered.
07-09-2017, 01:16 PM
Internationals, Europa League games... some high profile games lined up for Tynecastle Park!
Just wait til we hear the Champions League anthem blaring from Gorgie...
Having Levein appointed as manager is the only way they can have CL 'football' behind the biggest glass curtain in Scotland!
07-09-2017, 01:18 PM
Is there some sort of overhang from the top tier which the bottom rows are being built underneath? If not, then from the angle of that photo it looks like a remarkably tight, steep little space that's been left for the front rows. Sorry if this has already been explained, it's a long thread to trawl through!
If the bottom rows ARE simply being squeezed in to the remaining space then it would be pushing it to describe this as a two tier stand. More like the three stands which are already there which are to all intents and purposes single tier and merely dressed up to look like they're two-tiered.
It's not a two tier stand. It's exactly the same as the wheatfield but with less of a rake.
07-09-2017, 01:21 PM
It's not a two tier stand. It's exactly the same as the wheatfield but with less of a rake.
Cheers, must have been getting mixed up with the original Romanov vision:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSy7eofCFnA1dHLvayb0kCH53Saq9Vg_ BYE17ysXkQXUrE8ezGsGg
07-09-2017, 01:24 PM
Cheers, must have been getting mixed up with the original Romanov vision:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSy7eofCFnA1dHLvayb0kCH53Saq9Vg_ BYE17ysXkQXUrE8ezGsGg
I can see the similarities......quite a few clouds in the sky behind it.
It never rains but it pours !
07-09-2017, 01:25 PM
The finished stand is going to look nearly identical to the other stands - single tier with walk way in middle. Hopefully the disabled viewing is better than the other 3 stands.
Here is a picture of the final design - http://www.constructionenquirer.com/wp-content/uploads/5000e9abdc9fc014472caf8b6852ef32.jpg
At the far end closest to the away end - there will be a gap in lower tier as ambulance access is required.
The 4 black doors at the top are where hospitality will walk through and down to sit amongst everyone else.
The lower part of the stand will be done last and they will work from the ugly police box back to the Roseburn an then finally cover up the remaining open corner. If they had pitch access it would be much easier but hopefully this way will cause another delay.
Regarding a possible semi final - the League Cup semi is the same weekend Hearts are due to play 1st game in front of new stand - doubt they would allow us to play there plus with the big 4 possibly in the semi finals - I would imagine it would be Hampden once again.
07-09-2017, 01:26 PM
Looking at the photos, how are the final rows going to be applied? The drop from where its stops right now, looks almost vertical and would be really tight on the pitch. To me, it looks like they are going for a high view and maybe a few ground level rows without an incline.
07-09-2017, 01:32 PM
To digress a little from the Tincastle stand, I notice that Hearts are making a real play of marketing the move to Murrayfield as a 'historic' chapter for the club (with Allisbarry as their willing mouthpiece) as though it's some sort of brilliant coup for the club be playing there.
It's an interesting spin on the reality of the situation (ie that the shambolic progress of their own stadium development means that they have to decamp to the very rugby stadium over which the Pieman was all but hounded out of town for suggesting they move to).
Similar 'keep the fans on our side' spin has been deployed when it comes to letting their new back-up keeper speak to the press. He's from a big Hibs family but has been effectively schooled to make it clear he never went to a game at ER (largely because he was brought up in the Middle East) so as to make him more palatable to the yams. Ditto the lad they signed from Raith, who seems to have spent his first few days at Hearts deleting his tweets in support of Hibs.
I guess if they can sell as a masterstroke a month-long search for a new manager which ended in them not actually replacing Cathro and naming Levein as boss then the yams will clearly lap up anything the club tells them.
07-09-2017, 01:33 PM
The finished stand is going to look nearly identical to the other stands - single tier with walk way in middle. Hopefully the disabled viewing is better than the other 3 stands.
Here is a picture of the final design - http://www.constructionenquirer.com/wp-content/uploads/5000e9abdc9fc014472caf8b6852ef32.jpg
At the far end closest to the away end - there will be a gap in lower tier as ambulance access is required.
The 4 black doors at the top are where hospitality will walk through and down to sit amongst everyone else.
The lower part of the stand will be done last and they will work from the ugly police box back to the Roseburn an then finally cover up the remaining open corner. If they had pitch access it would be much easier but hopefully this way will cause another delay.
Regarding a possible semi final - the League Cup semi is the same weekend Hearts are due to play 1st game in front of new stand - doubt they would allow us to play there plus with the big 4 possibly in the semi finals - I would imagine it would be Hampden once again.
That photo does not look too bad, except maroon is just a horrible colour. (That photo has been 'lightened' a little I think). Not just because it is their colour. In the league of dark, drab colours maroon is one rung up from dark brown.
Dark brown or maroon? Not a lot in it. Tom Kite does not show on dark brown. Blood does not show on maroon. Just a pity for them that Tom Kites shows up every week in maroon.
07-09-2017, 01:37 PM
Is the guy with the rucksack that nutter who was on here a few days back getting along to launch some missiles at the new stand before it's even opened?
07-09-2017, 02:01 PM
Except it's not actually the final design, as it doesn't include the Executive Seating, Dugouts and Press area. It also seems to minimize the Police Box somewhat.
Bascially, that photo makes their new stand look remarkably like a Maroon seated version of our East Stand, a bog standard single tiered Stand, but with a big girder on top.
07-09-2017, 02:04 PM
That photo does not look too bad, except maroon is just a horrible colour. (That photo has been 'lightened' a little I think). Not just because it is their colour. In the league of dark, drab colours maroon is one rung up from dark brown.
Dark brown or maroon? Not a lot in it. Tom Kite does not show on dark brown. Blood does not show on maroon. Just a pity for them that Tom Kites shows up every week in maroon.
Unfortunately for them, colours toward the red end of the spectrum (eg. bloodied turd) are the quickest to fade, which is why their existing seats look so crap, whereas those at ER of a similar age are still looking smert.
07-09-2017, 02:06 PM
Except it's not actually the final design, as it doesn't include the Executive Seating, Dugouts and Press area. It also seems to minimize the Police Box somewhat.
Bascially, that photo makes their new stand look remarkably like a Maroon seated version of our East Stand, a bog standard single tiered Stand, but with a big girder on top.
It doesn't help that the graphics/images are pish poor.
07-09-2017, 02:17 PM
The near (Gorgie) stand appears to have pink seats
CyberSauzee
07-09-2017, 02:24 PM
That's what I thought.
I recall teams in smaller traditional old stadia were allowed participate in UEFA competitions as it would be impossible to change the pitch size. As new grounds have been built more and more teams are now playing on pirches between 100-105m and no more than 68m wide.
I'm thinking of Arsenal at Highbury - when they moved to the Emirates they ensured their new pitch size was/is 105m x 68m.
Pretty sure the Yams pitch is the minimum 100x68m. Still seems very pokey though.
07-09-2017, 02:27 PM
That's what I thought.
I recall teams in smaller traditional old stadia were allowed participate in UEFA competitions as it would be impossible to change the pitch size. As new grounds have been built more and more teams are now playing on pirches between 100-105m and no more than 68m wide.
I'm thinking of Arsenal at Highbury - when they moved to the Emirates they ensured their new pitch size was/is 105m x 68m.
Pretty sure the Yams pitch is the minimum 100x68m. Still seems very pokey though.
100m x 64m, which is the absolute minimum for hosting Euro qualifying matches, but not large enough for international games or other tournaments.
07-09-2017, 02:42 PM
100m x 64m, which is the absolute minimum for hosting Euro qualifying matches, but not large enough for international games or other tournaments.
It was previously recorded as 107 yards long , that is 97.8 metres and took the back of the goal nets onto the narrow track behind the goals.
Extending the pitch 2.2 metres would put the nets into the seats .
07-09-2017, 02:42 PM
They are also prone to quoting their dimensions in yards to give the impression it's bigger than it actually is.
07-09-2017, 02:55 PM
Unfortunately for them, colours toward the red end of the spectrum (eg. bloodied turd) are the quickest to fade, which is why their existing seats look so crap, whereas those at ER of a similar age are still looking smert.
Yup one of their HMFC crests is now barely visible.
Knowing them they bought extra cheap seats which fade even faster.
07-09-2017, 02:55 PM
Hearts won't need to worry about European football for the foreseeable.
07-09-2017, 03:00 PM
For a club obsessed with size I'm shocked the new TINcastle will be smaller than Easter Road. It will be enough to tip the average Jambo over the edge.
CyberSauzee
07-09-2017, 03:04 PM
I think there is still some leeway on pitch size. Anfield and Goodison Park are given in yards! as 110 - so 101 metres give or take a few cms. I think Anfield is a UEFA cat 3 stadium but minimum pitch length for that category is supposed to be 105m.
07-09-2017, 03:15 PM
Will be interesting to see what the executive seating looks like...bigger / wider seats with more leg room? Probably same leg room as everyone else (which isn't much).
Dugouts - are going to be like Wheatfield and in the stand - they will need to do something to provide cover from the rain as the Wheatfield ones have been awful when it's rained - plus the PBS roof hardly reach the front row of the stand so you will be soaked.
Press Area and TV camera space - who knows...Easter Road has camera access on all 4 sides of the stadium - I don't see any camera access in the new main stand - instead they have tried to cram in as many seats as possible including several restricted view seats at each end of the stand - even if the police box goes the final 2 rows will look through the floodlights pretty much.
I don't know many football clubs that have a single tier main stand unless they play in the Lowland League or lower English conference.
07-09-2017, 03:25 PM
Im sure its been answered before, but why have they gone for a single tier main stand?
I am sure the facilities in behind will be decent enough, but whats seen on the tv will look a bit crap. I mean, I quite like the East, but its clearly not a main stand when you see it on the tv.
Jambos one will look pretty identical (albeit with pink seats) to the East when its finished.
Is it simply lack of money, or space :confused::confused:
07-09-2017, 03:27 PM
Found a better image...
07-09-2017, 03:31 PM
Found a better image...
07-09-2017, 03:34 PM
Will be interesting to see what the executive seating looks like...bigger / wider seats with more leg room? Probably same leg room as everyone else (which isn't much).
Dugouts - are going to be like Wheatfield and in the stand - they will need to do something to provide cover from the rain as the Wheatfield ones have been awful when it's rained - plus the PBS roof hardly reach the front row of the stand so you will be soaked.
Press Area and TV camera space - who knows...Easter Road has camera access on all 4 sides of the stadium - I don't see any camera access in the new main stand - instead they have tried to cram in as many seats as possible including several restricted view seats at each end of the stand - even if the police box goes the final 2 rows will look through the floodlights pretty much.
I don't know many football clubs that have a single tier main stand unless they play in the Lowland League or lower English conference.
Celtc Park.
07-09-2017, 04:01 PM
Celtc Park.
http://stadiumdb.com/pictures/stadiums/sco/celtic_park/celtic_park12.jpg
While I know what you are saying - I still consider that 2 tiers..as entrances / doors half way up.
I think they also have plans to try redevelop this stand also in the near future.
There is also minimum requirements for run off areas around the pitch and for the distance from the touch line to the first row of stadium seating as well