View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52

OxoHibby
27-10-2017, 05:44 PM
Best creased badge maybe :agree::greengrin

So they have a badge that the tradition is to spit on and what song?

27-10-2017, 05:49 PM
They're called after the old city jail, for goodness' sake.

And the only song I heard from them on the telly on Tuesday evening was "Hullo, hullo, we are the Gorgie Boys ..." :confused:
No no. We got a rendition of Hearts Hearts glorious Hearts once when they won a corner. I could be talking nonsense however. It may have been a throw in. Anyhoo it was quickly drowned out with our alternative version which we economically just added the appropriate words rather than the whole dirge.

27-10-2017, 05:53 PM
What is a vomitary?

Do hibs have them and if not can someone please get Petrie to explain why I’ve never heard of this word until now, After building 4 new stands in my lifetime we’ve had plenty opportunity to use such a word.

Furious.

The first time I came across that word was when they were building the Stade de France, and the vomitories were designed to broaden towards the exits, as the volume of people increases. Seemed like one of these things that should be obvious, but somehow isn't routinely done.

27-10-2017, 05:54 PM
No no. We got a rendition of Hearts Hearts glorious Hearts once when they won a corner. I could be talking nonsense however. It may have been a throw in. Anyhoo it was quickly drowned out with our alternative version which we economically just added the appropriate words rather than the whole dirge.

I do beg your pardon - I must have been distracted at that moment.

I do like our version much better than theirs, don'tcha know?

27-10-2017, 05:58 PM
So they have a badge that the tradition is to spit on and what song?

Would probably be the Hearts song - it's the only one they ever sing due to a complete lack or originality and creativity :greengrin that and that rather tiresome twirly scarf thing that cheerleaders do :aok:.

27-10-2017, 06:09 PM
Would probably be the Hearts song - it's the only one they ever sing due to a complete lack or originality and creativity :greengrin that and that rather tiresome twirly scarf thing that cheerleaders do :aok:.

I heard that Budgie wants to change the song to "Buddy, can you spare a dime?"

"Once I bought a football club, built a stand,
Couldn't get it finished on time.
Now I've got to paint the walls and buy some seats ...
Buddy, can you spare a dime?"

27-10-2017, 06:24 PM
Cheesing about ticket sales for tomorrow but not mentioning half are in the away end. Never knew big teams relied on others for big attendances.

27-10-2017, 06:27 PM
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/6291

Jeez, it's all so amateurish isn't it? Another rambling load of tittle tattle. When all's said and done they're building a football stand that's months late and millions over budget. Yet from Budge's waffle you'd think every single brick laid was a thing of wonder.

"...ticket sales for the Rangers fixture tomorrow at BT Murrayfield are now exceeding 32,000!"

Can't imagine too many yams have rushed out to buy tickets on the back of Tuesday's latest derby defeat, but with Pedro out the door at Ibrox it's not hard to imagine another couple of thousand huns coming through. Might actually be more of them than 'home' fans tomorrow.

27-10-2017, 06:37 PM
32,000 tickets sold 17,000 of them to der Hun! It's what all big, massive, huge, enormous, gigantic clubs do when they can't sell their own tickets. What a ****ing joke of a club. But they will all tell us at work I. Monday that it's the biggest Edinburgh attendance for whoever many years and will gloss over the fact that at least 50% of the crowd will be huns

27-10-2017, 06:39 PM
32,000 tickets sold 17,000 of them to der Hun! It's what all big, massive, huge, enormous, gigantic clubs do when they can't sell their own tickets. What a ****ing joke of a club. But they will all tell us at work I. Monday that it's the biggest Edinburgh attendance for whoever many years and will gloss over the fact that at least 50% of the crowd will be huns

I hate both but I really hope the yams get absolutely pumped in front of their super duper mega support.

27-10-2017, 06:43 PM
Holy ****. Who reads all that from start to end??

Load of waffle.

And how appropriate is this, if only they knew:

27-10-2017, 06:44 PM
I hate both but I really hope the yams get absolutely pumped in front of their super duper mega support.

As much as I’d love that too, a draw would suit us better, especially if we can get a win at Well

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

27-10-2017, 06:47 PM
As much as I’d love that too, a draw would suit us better, especially if we can get a win at Well Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

It would but I want the yams to lose every game.

27-10-2017, 06:49 PM
Only thing not mentioned was the cost?

27-10-2017, 06:52 PM
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/6291

Can’t wait to see the ‘interesting design’ dug outs

a) Curtain Walling

From McLeod Street the building looks magnificent. The curtain walling is stunning ................... :faf:

Still going on about this 'Curtain' thing - surely she disnae mean the windaes ??

27-10-2017, 06:55 PM
Actually hope Rangers destroy them tomorrow. Pretentious roasters. I'm away for a shower.

27-10-2017, 06:56 PM

Thought they only got 14,000

27-10-2017, 06:56 PM
a) Curtain Walling

From McLeod Street the building looks magnificent. The curtain walling is stunning ................... :faf:

Still going on about this 'Curtain' thing - surely she disnae mean the windaes ??
Yes she does - it's a glass curtain wall system with aluminium, glass and vinyl or rubber seals, I've been involved in many many projects which have those systems. The problem with them is that they are not meant to be in place for the long term - a lot of the younger fans are going to see this replaced again in their lifetimes.......

27-10-2017, 06:57 PM
Near on 15 million and even when it's done there'll be restricted view seats.

Pathetic.

27-10-2017, 06:58 PM
a) Curtain Walling

“a) Curtain Walling

From McLeod Street the building looks magnificent. The curtain walling is stunning. Due to planning conditions the cappings to the main structure require to be grey, in keeping with the new Tynecastle School, but the coloured panels and maroon cappings at either end give a lift to the whole building… and there will be plenty of maroon once the columns are painted! The badge and the Tynecastle Park signage finish it off perfectly.”

That’s everyone told. 🤣

Green Badger
27-10-2017, 07:14 PM
Reads like a very poor employee update. Amateur.

27-10-2017, 07:24 PM
If there are 150 men working extra and late shifts, where the f*** are they all hiding when the photos have been taken?

27-10-2017, 07:26 PM
So when’s it ready then?

27-10-2017, 07:33 PM
18k yams attending tomorrow is some going. The reduced prices and novalty factor is working a treat over there.

InchHibby
Thought they only got 14,000

I heard they got 14,000 and asked for a further 3,000 but we’re refused.

So when’s it ready then?

A date has been formed... probably

27-10-2017, 07:35 PM
Yes she does - it's a glass curtain wall system with aluminium, glass and vinyl or rubber seals, I've been involved in many many projects which have those systems. The problem with them is that they are not meant to be in place for the long term - a lot of the younger fans are going to see this replaced again in their lifetimes.......

“a) Curtain Walling

From McLeod Street the building looks magnificent. The curtain walling is stunning. Due to planning conditions the cappings to the main structure require to be grey, in keeping with the new Tynecastle School, but the coloured panels and maroon cappings at either end give a lift to the whole building… and there will be plenty of maroon once the columns are painted! The badge and the Tynecastle Park signage finish it off perfectly.”

That’s everyone told. 🤣

So, their 'Curtain of glass' is their .................................... wait for it ........................................ (Drum-roll) ................................ WINDAES !?!?!?

Oh ffs - only these clowns would give an ostentatious title to bog-standard, every-day WINDAES !!! :faf:

27-10-2017, 07:39 PM
And how appropriate is this, if only they knew:

"****-Top.jpg" :greengrin

27-10-2017, 07:47 PM
So, their 'Curtain of glass' is their .................................... wait for it ........................................ (Drum-roll) ................................ WINDAES !?!?!?

Oh ffs - only these clowns would give an ostentatious title to bog-standard, every-day WINDAES !!! :faf:

Indeed they are naming the toilets "The Mckay Suite"

27-10-2017, 07:48 PM

Well it really has to be the Wee Windaes then ! :greengrin

https://www.yelp.co.uk/biz/wee-windaes-edinburgh

27-10-2017, 07:58 PM
Holy ****. Who reads all that from start to end??

I did. Basically, everything's almost, nearly completely finished but perhaps as much as a quarter of the delaydium will be usable by the first home game, whenever that is.

27-10-2017, 08:00 PM
You'd think the 8th wonder of the world is being erected by diet statement fc and no just replacing a stand that's over 20 years out of date 😂😂

Did anyone actually read the full statement? I got to the bit where they were getting excited about dugouts and gave up.

Fannies

Argylehibby
27-10-2017, 08:11 PM
Indeed they are naming the toilets "The Mckay Suite"

Surely not, thought it would have been more likely to be named after Gary Locke.

27-10-2017, 08:14 PM
You'd think the 8th wonder of the world is being erected by diet statement fc and no just replacing a stand that's over 20 years out of date 😂😂

Did anyone actually read the full statement? I got to the bit where they were getting excited about dugouts and gave up.

Fannies

Is that the "interesting" shape of the dugouts?

27-10-2017, 08:14 PM
Surely not, thought it would have been more likely to be named after Gary Locke.

Would save on a sprinkler system right enough - every penny counts :aok:

Firestarter
27-10-2017, 08:19 PM
Every single statement that wifie makes I read it as the queens speech and it's always got the final part of gies your money and they buy it. What a bunch of flumps. "Truely magnificent" aye nae bother pal.

Argylehibby
27-10-2017, 08:22 PM
They're putting in a nursery garden!!! With their history how the **** did they get away with that?

27-10-2017, 08:27 PM
A date has been formed... probably

Seems amazing to me that they can do an update of that length but not know when it’s ready. Must be an amateur project manager in charge.

27-10-2017, 08:59 PM
Can I just ask her maj if its a 'Plaza' or a 'Piazza', or is she just demonstrating her command of multiple languages? 'Square' would have been a little less pretentious and a little more Scottish

Ha ha ha, what an effing numpty. At least the spell checker seems to be working though.

27-10-2017, 09:25 PM
Really, Hibs have already played at 9 different stadiums this season! [emoji3]

Inverness played half a season in Aberdeen until their own home stadium was ready.

Hearts may well make it to half a season at Murrayfield.

majorhibs
27-10-2017, 09:37 PM
Every single statement that wifie makes I read it as the queens speech and it's always got the final part of gies your money and they buy it. What a bunch of flumps. "Truely magnificent" aye nae bother pal.

On 6 odd percent interest, she can afford outside expertise to spraff & keep the trumpets onside. Does'nae always read like that mind, but the interest payers seem happy enough.

27-10-2017, 10:03 PM
On 6 odd percent interest, she can afford outside expertise to spraff & keep the trumpets onside. Does'nae always read like that mind, but the interest payers seem happy enough.They're not paying any interest just now. It's been waived for 2 years.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

27-10-2017, 10:14 PM
They're not paying any interest just now. It's been waived for 2 years.

Have you set up an alert to get a notification each time someone mentions this fabled 6% CWG? 😊

Budgie's statements get more cringe worthy every month, the self congratulatory tone would be a surprise to some but hey, the Jambos are happy that this woman has managed to totally mismanage the project. All whilst throwing away hundreds of thousands on Cathro and Leveins doomed recruitment methods.

Pleasing

majorhibs
27-10-2017, 10:19 PM
Have you set up an alert to get a notification each time someone mentions this fabled 6% CWG? 😊

Budgie's statements get more cringe worthy every month, the self congratulatory tone would be a surprise to some but hey, the Jambos are happy that this woman has managed to totally mismanage the project. All whilst throwing away hundreds of thousands on Cathro and Leveins doomed recruitment methods.

Pleasing

Naebody is game enough to risk potters wrath by bein over interested in QB. Surely, T.D???

27-10-2017, 10:20 PM
Have you set up an alert to get a notification each time someone mentions this fabled 6% CWG? [emoji4]

PleasingHa.... I'd seen it mentioned this week again, and had to go back to their accounts to make sure i wasn't talking *****.

Agreed on the statements though...she didnt get where she is by being a PR whizz , you know.

27-10-2017, 10:23 PM
Pretty crap that the nursery kids don’t get into the new nursery till June next year.

You would think the community club which they claim to be would spend more time putting together this new nursery structure than sorting out a custom badge / hospitality etc.

Why is it taking so long to sort the nursery ?

Tornadoes70
27-10-2017, 10:35 PM
Potter has a damaged psyche. He thinks of himself as a bit of a machavellian type yam who can whisper little gollum type tit-bits into gullible folks-ears, similarly to cathy who thought he could re-invent football until coming up against real football manager types. Potter will drain a person of their will to live and whatever else, mostly their faith in him and money until they come to realise the truth that he's just a convincing con man who'll play without any forwards because of his narcissist personality and not for the good of the team. He's not only self destructive he will bring down those with good intentions due to his egotist nature.

Unfortunately for Potter there are 'real managers' like Lenny in the Scottish game who will win games through expertise and genuine nature.

27-10-2017, 10:47 PM
Not only did the forget to order the seats but someone forgot to get some 50 pence pieces for the new electricity meter, which they also forgot to tell the power companies they needed! Any half baked project manager will even know that you need ukpn or whoever lined up well in advance...

Actually reading the whole thing the outstanding works all sound like things a professional construction project manager would have had ordered in good time.

27-10-2017, 10:50 PM
See in the real world you usually get the building warrant prior to building. I suppose it’s not a proper build in the proper world though.

27-10-2017, 10:56 PM
Pretty crap that the nursery kids don’t get into the new nursery till June next year.

You would think the community club which they claim to be would spend more time putting together this new nursery structure than sorting out a custom badge / hospitality etc.

Why is it taking so long to sort the nursery ?

The deal with the Council is Hearts don't have to pay the council for the land they have built the stand on until the Nursery is occupied.

That info is in Council Minutes agreeing the arrangements with Hearts.

27-10-2017, 11:28 PM
Can I just ask her maj if its a 'Plaza' or a 'Piazza', or is she just demonstrating her command of multiple languages? 'Square' would have been a little less pretentious and a little more Scottish

Apparently the centre of the Piazza which is basically a square will be named Foundation Plaza.

As you were.

Criswell
27-10-2017, 11:30 PM
As far as I am aware all our new stands were delivered on time and on budget. I can't remember anyone making a big-deal about it. Dugouts design.. anyone?

Tornadoes70
27-10-2017, 11:39 PM
The deal with the Council is Hearts don't have to pay the council for the land they have built the stand on until the Nursery is occupied.

That info is in Council Minutes agreeing the arrangements with Hearts.

I always have a wry chuckle thinking of the Council and Hearts agreeing arrangements. There's bound to be advantage Hearts. Its in the yamtram councils dna.

Dirty barstewards.

Glory Glory to the Hi bees.

27-10-2017, 11:46 PM
What is a vomitary?

Do hibs have them and if not can someone please get Petrie to explain why I’ve never heard of this word until now, After building 4 new stands in my lifetime we’ve had plenty opportunity to use such a word.

Furious.

Dinnae you start .... there's a lot of mirth on Sickbag about some folk on here not knowing what a 'vomitary' is, apparently this every day word for an exit is well known to them ... I'm sure if you were to scroll through the threads on JKB you would find at least one titled 'why do folk head for the vomitaries before the game is finished?' :greengrin

What are they going to call the turnstiles? ........... patron admittance facilitation apertures :faf:

Their pomposity knows no bounds :jamboak:

28-10-2017, 12:12 AM
Dugouts design.. anyone?

Theirs or ours?

Not really bothered how revolutionary theirs will apparently be.

However, I do recall an announcement from Leeann not long ago saying our dugouts were to be refurbished in the not too distant future. Can’t recall if a timescale was mentioned but it was high on the priority list of “things to do”.

28-10-2017, 07:03 AM
"I get no elbow room in my cramped seat, with its restricted view of the field of play. Im heading to the vomitorium"

HibbySpurs
28-10-2017, 07:28 AM
I am lead to believe Hearts have carried out this project without using a Main Contractor (I work in the industry and a director from one of the contractors told me this).

In the modern era of Construction with D&B removing risk from the "client" this decision is just baffling.

Well it's not really, they've tried to save a few pennies by using an in house project manager rather than paying a few hundred grand extra for the services of a main contractor (for main contractor think McAlpine, Morgan Sindall, BAM and the like).

All they achieved in the end of course was the project to be delivered late and miles over budget.... Amateur is too kind a word for this debacle.

28-10-2017, 07:34 AM
The last time any of them ventured through a vomitory they were pig sick with SOL blaring out behind. Pleasing.

AltheHibby
28-10-2017, 07:41 AM
The last time any of them ventured through a vomitory they were pig sick with SOL blaring out behind. Pleasing.

28-10-2017, 07:43 AM
I am lead to believe Hearts have carried out this project without using a Main Contractor (I work in the industry and a director from one of the contractors told me this).

In the modern era of Construction with D&B removing risk from the "client" this decision is just baffling.

Well it's not really, they've tried to save a few premises by using an in house project manager rather than paying a few hundred grand extra for the services of a main contractor (for main contractor think McAlpine, Morgan Sindall, BAM and the like).

All they achieved in the end of course was the project to be delivered late and miles over budget.... Amateur is too kind a word for this debacle.

Indeed.

Even if if your just putting the likes of a new kitchen at £8k+ in your house you have a 'main contractor' normally the showroom people. They coordinate the ordering of the units, appliances etc. and delivered at the right time and make sure the different tradesmen joiners, sparks, plumbers are there at the right time. You can also whinge like hell at them and extract a discount if things go wrong.

How they ever thought they could deliver a £12m project to a very challenging timescale with well meaning amateurs at the helm is naive in the extreme.

I suppose the fact it's months overdue and millions over budget will be a lesson Budgie considers seriously the next time she replaces her kitchen!

28-10-2017, 08:16 AM

Well it's not really, they've tried to save a few pennies by using an in house project manager rather than paying a few hundred grand extra for the services of a main contractor (for main contractor think McAlpine, Morgan Sindall, BAM and the like).

Hardies have been appointed as Project Manager, Quantity Surveyor, Principal Contractor and Clerk of Works on the construction of new £12m Main Stand at Heart of Midlothian FC, Tynecastle Park. The works are being carried out under a Construction Management contract and will include seats for 7,500 fans, new media facilities, changing rooms, boardrooms, offices, function rooms, rooftop restaurant and spectator concourse facilities.

http://www.hardies.co.uk/case-studies/new-main-stand-at-tynecastle-park-for-heart-of-midlothian-football-club

houstonhibbee
28-10-2017, 08:28 AM

Presumably it's not d&b contract then with a more traditional client design team. As you say it's more owner risk to keep costs down and also maybe delay progress payments to help cash flow

HibbySpurs
28-10-2017, 09:50 AM
http://www.hardies.co.uk/case-studies/new-main-stand-at-tynecastle-park-for-heart-of-midlothian-football-club

Project Management not a main contractor (e.g a builder)

HibbySpurs
28-10-2017, 09:52 AM
Presumably it's not d&b contract then with a more traditional client design team. As you say it's more owner risk to keep costs down and also maybe delay progress payments to help cash flow

Has to be a traditional contract if there's no MC. Which is great news for all the supply chain working on it.

You want what now????? (Sucks through teeth) 💰💰💰💰💰

28-10-2017, 09:54 AM
Project Management not a main contractor (e.g a builder)

They also say that they're the "principal contractor".

28-10-2017, 10:53 AM
I'm particularly looking forward to seeing the "vomitories". Never has a description been so apt.:sick:

'The Vomitorium' would be an apt name for the whole stadium.

28-10-2017, 11:00 AM
Reads like a very poor employee update. Amateur.

Reads like a pretentious bunch of horse feathers - vomitories, glass curtain, piazza ...

Quickly, Batman! To the vomitory! :sick:

28-10-2017, 11:01 AM
'The Vomitorium' would be an apt name for the whole stadium.

:top marks:thumbsup:

28-10-2017, 11:03 AM
They also say that they're the "principal contractor".

Think that is to get round there no being a "main contractor".

Hardies, from their website, are not a "contractor" - http://www.hardies.co.uk/case-studies/new-main-stand-at-tynecastle-park-for-heart-of-midlothian-football-club.

However, almost all construction projects especially one the size of this project, will need a "principal contractor". That role is being done by Hardies, who are project managing all the activities of all the other "sub-contractors". As others have stated, that places a huge risk on the "client", if there are any delays.

If I was involved in the planning of this project, I think I would have wanted a "main contractor".

28-10-2017, 11:19 AM
Think that is to get round there no being a "main contractor".

Hardies, from their website, are not a "contractor" - http://www.hardies.co.uk/case-studies/new-main-stand-at-tynecastle-park-for-heart-of-midlothian-football-club.

However, almost all construction projects especially one the size of this project, will need a "principal contractor". That role is being done by Hardies, who are project managing all the activities of all the other "sub-contractors". As others have stated, that places a huge risk on the "client", if there are any delays.

If I was involved in the planning of this project, I think I would have wanted a "main contractor".I think it's an HSE requirement that a principal contractor is named as responsible for the security and working conditions on site.

timewilltell
28-10-2017, 12:08 PM
Ann Budge quote.

In summary, we are nearly there…and personally, I can’t wait! That said, I want to reiterate what I have said from the outset. We currently have around 150 men working on site on a daily basis, many of whom are working late shifts and weekends. So… although we are close, issues do still arise every day. I also want to set your expectations. Please remember that completion of Phase 1 will see only around 25% of the useable stand space in operation with the second and third floors, and indeed much of the ground floor, still under development. Most of the building will still be a building site. So, please do not expect perfection in everything. There will undoubtedly be some finishing works still to be carried out. However, as I have repeatedly said, it will be well worth the

28-10-2017, 01:49 PM
Ann Budge quote.

In summary, we are nearly there…and personally, I can’t wait! That said, I want to reiterate what I have said from the outset. We currently have around 150 men working on site on a daily basis, many of whom are working late shifts and weekends. So… although we are close, issues do still arise every day. I also want to set your expectations. Please remember that completion of Phase 1 will see only around 25% of the useable stand space in operation with the second and third floors, and indeed much of the ground floor, still under development. Most of the building will still be a building site. So, please do not expect perfection in everything. There will undoubtedly be some finishing works still to be carried out. However, as I have repeatedly said, it will be well worth the

So it is a shell. A building site and you might be disappointed. But we have no money and you might die on site.0

28-10-2017, 01:54 PM
So it is a shell. A building site and you might be disappointed. But we have no money and you might die on site.0

Yet also perfect, stunning and magnificent at the same time?

Budge attempts to both big up the famous new stand and play down expectations in the same update.

Confusing times down Gorgie way. No doubt the faithful will prostrate themselves on the 'Foundation Plaza' as their queen waves to them from the castle view suite.

28-10-2017, 02:07 PM
Yet also perfect, stunning and magnificent at the same time?

Budge attempts to both big up the famous new stand and play down expectations in the same update.

Confusing times down Gorgie way. No doubt the faithful will prostrate themselves on the 'Foundation Plaza' as their queen waves to them from the castle view suite.

It actually reads to me as if she's made the statement addressing all the things that we have been taking the piss about and making excuses/justifications for them

28-10-2017, 02:14 PM
Ann Budge quote.

In summary, we are nearly there…and personally, I can’t wait! That said, I want to reiterate what I have said from the outset. We currently have around 150 men working on site on a daily basis, many of whom are working late shifts and weekends. So… although we are close, issues do still arise every day. I also want to set your expectations. Please remember that completion of Phase 1 will see only around 25% of the useable stand space in operation with the second and third floors, and indeed much of the ground floor, still under development. Most of the building will still be a building site. So, please do not expect perfection in everything. There will undoubtedly be some finishing works still to be carried out. However, as I have repeatedly said, it will be well worth theAre the 150 men small, or just very far away?

Never seems to be more than half a dozen in their own pictures. Maybe it's like the 400,000 fans thing.

28-10-2017, 02:29 PM

You have got it in one.

I saw Mrs Budge first hand speak at a dinner on Thursday and a poorer public speaker you could not find.

Stuttering, stumbling, talking to her feet, total lack of presence, no personality. Doesn't look she could lead a ring a ring a roses kids dance.

Leeann on the other hand, at the same dinner, was confident, measured and came across as in control and totally at ease

First time I had encountered either of these ladies ' in the flesh' and the contrast could not have been greater.

Budgie is on the defensive and I only see tough times ahead for her, her DOF/manager, club and supporters.

Pass the popcorn, it's going to be pretty pleasing.

28-10-2017, 02:38 PM
Who me? lo!

28-10-2017, 03:23 PM
Are the 150 men small, or just very far away?

Never seems to be more than half a dozen in their own pictures. Maybe it's like the 400,000 fans thing.

There are 150 men in total, but never more than six at a time actually working. Nobody works longer than 10 minutes a day.

It's the dame with the 400,000 fans. There ARE 400,000 Jambos in total, but only 5,000 of them are visible at any given time.

The other 395,000 are working in the Bullsh.. mines.

28-10-2017, 03:32 PM

You have got it in one.

I saw Mrs Budge first hand speak at a dinner on Thursday and a poorer public speaker you could not find.

Stuttering, stumbling, talking to her feet, total lack of presence, no personality. Doesn't look she could lead a ring a ring a roses kids dance.

Leeann on the other hand, at the same dinner, was confident, measured and came across as in control and totally at ease

First time I had encountered either of these ladies ' in the flesh' and the contrast could not have been greater.

Budgie is on the defensive and I only see tough times ahead for her, her DOF/manager, club and supporters.

Hibs 1-0 Hearts twice in a week.

And then gubbed by managerless Sevco.

Must be a sore one to take.

28-10-2017, 04:18 PM

That is correct. The approach was used routinely in Scotland up to the 1970s. The problem is that a main contractor will often absorb a lot of risk. Hearts have penny pinched and left themselves exposed to all the risk involved with delays and cost overruns. I assume they wanted to use their own design team (James Clydesdale who is not a qualified architect) rather than employ a design and build contractor as Hibs did for the East Stand and the West Stand(?).

Using a design and build contractor insulates the client from risks associated with the design as well as the construction process. But obviously Queen Ann knows better.

28-10-2017, 04:44 PM

You have got it in one.

Seems like its twice in one week she's rescued a dug.

28-10-2017, 04:48 PM
As far as I am aware all our new stands were delivered on time and on budget. I can't remember anyone making a big-deal about it. Dugouts design.. anyone?

The only one to go over budget was the North Stand. That was down to a late intervention by Tom Farmer to put in the hospitality suits and bars. If I recall correctly it cost £4.5 million as opposed to £1.5 million for the South Stand.

28-10-2017, 05:02 PM
That is correct. The approach was used routinely in Scotland up to the 1970s. The problem is that a main contractor will often absorb a lot of risk. Hearts have penny pinched and left themselves exposed to all the risk involved with delays and cost overruns. I assume they wanted to use their own design team (James Clydesdale who is not a qualified architect) rather than employ a design and build contractor as Hibs did for the East Stand and the West Stand(?).

Using a design and build contractor insulates the client from risks associated with the design as well as the construction process. But obviously Queen Anne knows better.

Correct me if I am wrong but under CDM a Principal Contractor must be nominated to manage and coordinate all aspects of the project?

28-10-2017, 05:09 PM
Seems like its twice in one week she's rescued a dug.

Nothing's too hard for Leeann. She has the wisdom of Yoda and the superpowers of Wonderwoman.

The Dark Side is doomed.

She's the Bee's Knees, the Cat's Pyjamas.

Just give thanks.

28-10-2017, 08:34 PM
Has anyone else noticed how quickly the jambos managed to use the vomitoriums on Tuesday and today? Maybe they are ahead of everyone else, certainly the fans over there know how to use them very quickly and early

28-10-2017, 08:53 PM
So when’s it ready? I skimmed the update so assuming I missed the confirmation of the expected date?

28-10-2017, 08:55 PM
So when’s it ready? I skimmed the update so assuming I missed the confirmation of the expected date?

Looking forward to finding out too!

Green Blood
28-10-2017, 09:16 PM
Ann Budge quote.

The bold underlined section tells you that even she doesn't believe what she's saying anymore!

28-10-2017, 11:16 PM
Has anyone else noticed how quickly the jambos managed to use the vomitoriums on Tuesday and today? Maybe they are ahead of everyone else, certainly the fans over there know how to use them very quickly and early

PEDANT ALERT: The plural of "vomitorium" is "vomitoria". Latin, you know.

The plural of "glass curtain" on the other hand is "windaes".

They do seem to have got the knack of using vomitoria very quickly. I really hope they'll get lots of incentive to use them often and early in all their future games.

28-10-2017, 11:20 PM

And here the thing........

Yams happy with ‘brilliant” update from Queen Ann yet nothing about the fundamentals....

1. Date it will be ready

2. The cost

3. The funding

4. The size/capacity

You couldn’t make it up.

28-10-2017, 11:22 PM
PEDANT ALERT: The plural of "vomitorium" is "vomitoria". Latin, you know.

The plural in Latin is vomitoria, but hibs.net isn't conducted in Latin. Not many fora are.

https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/grammar/plurals-of-english-nouns-taken-from-latin-or-greek (https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/grammar/plurals-of-english-nouns-taken-from-latin-or-greek)

28-10-2017, 11:37 PM
The plural in Latin is vomitoria, but hibs.net isn't conducted in Latin. Not many fora are.

https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/grammar/plurals-of-english-nouns-taken-from-latin-or-greek (https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/grammar/plurals-of-english-nouns-taken-from-latin-or-greek)

It would be much more fun if they were. The decline of this country is entirely to be attributed to the decline of Classical education. :devil:

Besides, if using the Latin form "smacks of pretentiousness or pomposity" surely we should use it to stay in keeping with the pretentious pomposity of the Budgerigar's original article.

However, I mentioned it as a matter of information only. "Vomitoriums" is fine by me. In fact "The Vomitorium" would be an excellent name for the entire structure hitherto referred to as "The PBS".

29-10-2017, 06:07 AM

Yams happy with ‘brilliant” update from Queen Ann yet nothing about the fundamentals....

1. Date it will be ready

2. The cost

3. The funding

4. The size/capacity

You couldn’t make it up.

That was the info I skimmed the update for. Missed it all - is it in the small print?

If not, i assume they’ve picked up on it in the kickback thread?

29-10-2017, 06:15 AM
Sounds like a busy week at Tynecastle ahead. Auld Budgie is now starting to talk builder speak herself with "next week" being a favoured sound bite.

29-10-2017, 06:29 AM
That was the info I skimmed the update for. Missed it all - is it in the small print?

You would think but don’t be silly!

You really think they would ask such important, o and relevant questions, of Queen B?? [emoji41]

They now believe there is no target date so in theory (to them anyway) it’s not delayed.

29-10-2017, 06:29 AM

1. Date it will be ready

2. The cost

3. The funding

4. The size/capacity

You couldn’t make it up.

1. They obviously still don’t have a clue.
2. Obviously more than they are letting on.
3. The muppets who support the club will be expected to cough up. Who else is there?
4. I reckon it’s going to be embarrassingly low, probably closer to 18k than 20k. When Jambos are shy about talking about size you know there’s no way this can be spun positively.

29-10-2017, 07:13 AM
Ann Budge quote.

150 men working on site on a daily basis :shocked:,

With late shifts and weekends, say average 45 hours at an all in rate £ 40/hour, that's about £ 270,000 per week in labour and assuming a construction project like the Yam stand is about 50/50 cost labour/materials. that is £ 540,000 per week from the FoH debitors and the Coo.

29-10-2017, 07:24 AM
Besides, if using the Latin form "smacks of pretentiousness or pomposity" surely we should use it to stay in keeping with the pretentious pomposity of the Budgerigar's original article.
Indubitably. (Someone with a history in the IT industry using jargon words and phrases to assist in discomposing people to hand over (even more) money - who'd have thunken it?)

29-10-2017, 07:34 AM
150 men working on site on a daily basis :shocked:,

With late shifts and weekends, say average 45 hours at an all in rate £ 40/hour, that's about £ 270,000 per week in labour and assuming a construction project like the Yam stand is about 50/50 cost labour/materials. that is £ 540,000 per week from the FoH debitors and the Coo.

If Ann sticks at it, that kind of labour force working as hard as she says were able to build the world's second tallest building in the same time it's taking her to install a few cheap plastic seats...

Shanghai Tower - timelapse video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sCMGhVX5Ts

29-10-2017, 07:41 AM
If Ann sticks at it, that kind of labour force working as hard as she says were able to build the world's second tallest building in the same time it's taking her to install a few cheap plastic seats...

That's uncannily like the new Tynecastle project - especially the trajectory of the football at 44 seconds in.

29-10-2017, 08:44 AM
Correct me if I am wrong but under CDM a Principal Contractor must be nominated to manage and coordinate all aspects of the project?

Yes but that is concerned with Health and Safety issues for the project and does not imply they will be in control of progress of the works. Neither will they have any input into insulating the client from risks.

29-10-2017, 08:48 AM

Might have been in the very small print. It’s not a priority on kickback so must be clear to them. They are debating how nice glass turnstyles are going to look and different levels of seat padding. They must be at the stage of the final touches and snagging I assume.

29-10-2017, 08:50 AM

FFS the thing isn’t even straight.................No wait

29-10-2017, 09:03 AM
Indubitably. (Someone with a history in the IT industry using jargon words and phrases to assist in discomposing people to hand over (even more) money - who'd have thunken it?)Yep, all that's happened is that the continuum for horological assessment has been chronologically varied for the optimum futuristic implementation of a fluid plan.

The average plum donator will read this as saying they've won the cup so keep sending us the cash.

29-10-2017, 09:18 AM

On the contrary when I looked on Kickback I didn't see any such questions raised. In fact one poster even thanks queen Ann for providing them with 'more information than we are entitled to expect'.

Crazyhorse
29-10-2017, 10:22 AM

1. Date it will be ready

2. The cost

3. The funding

4. The size/capacity

You couldn’t make it up.

Minor details compared with the announcement about 'chips'.

29-10-2017, 10:34 AM

1. Date it will be ready

2. The cost

3. The funding

4. The size/capacity

You couldn’t make it up.
We don't need to make it up.

The evidence confirms that the answers are later, increasing, missing, and smaller.

MagicSwirlingShip
29-10-2017, 11:13 AM

The evidence confirms that the answers are later, increasing, missing, and smaller.

Sounds like a Daft Punk tune.

29-10-2017, 11:35 AM

Those are bitter pills, man.

No wonder they're such a joyless bunch when attending their clubs' games. So much sticking in their throats they just stick their fingers up. 5-1, though. :rolleyes:

You could publish their songbook on a pea.

29-10-2017, 12:17 PM
On the contrary when I looked on Kickback I didn't see any such questions raised. In fact one poster even thanks queen Ann for providing them with 'more information than we are entitled to expect'.

Your average Yam in a nutshell.

Who says the age of deference is dead?

Wee Effen Bee
29-10-2017, 12:29 PM

As in stadiums/stadia:aok:

29-10-2017, 04:35 PM
Yup< it's nearly ready as these photos show !

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/36E57F7E-61C1-4D30-B480-024C23EEF9FF.thumb.jpeg.2ae6480be93c96a3c87f65362e 3d6eae.jpeg (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/36E57F7E-61C1-4D30-B480-024C23EEF9FF.jpeg.11292da6d8a3e6b1bf18d61f536155cd .jpeg)http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/390AAA5A-61AD-48D2-A789-4E8A73778EC0.thumb.jpeg.0fcad03bdee3f8e7c244d2bb7c 2bb68e.jpeg (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/390AAA5A-61AD-48D2-A789-4E8A73778EC0.jpeg.e344017b88b69a332918c7de6b234f6c .jpeg)http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/2E36F8D4-6A1E-4D77-BF86-BA068E9C60B8.thumb.jpeg.b0f09697e5c6a81669583450f1 c41005.jpeg (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/2E36F8D4-6A1E-4D77-BF86-BA068E9C60B8.jpeg.0070ca9aafa640890de74da7ada39051 .jpeg)

29-10-2017, 04:43 PM

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/36E57F7E-61C1-4D30-B480-024C23EEF9FF.thumb.jpeg.2ae6480be93c96a3c87f65362e 3d6eae.jpeg (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/36E57F7E-61C1-4D30-B480-024C23EEF9FF.jpeg.11292da6d8a3e6b1bf18d61f536155cd .jpeg)http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/390AAA5A-61AD-48D2-A789-4E8A73778EC0.thumb.jpeg.0fcad03bdee3f8e7c244d2bb7c 2bb68e.jpeg (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/390AAA5A-61AD-48D2-A789-4E8A73778EC0.jpeg.e344017b88b69a332918c7de6b234f6c .jpeg)http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/2E36F8D4-6A1E-4D77-BF86-BA068E9C60B8.thumb.jpeg.b0f09697e5c6a81669583450f1 c41005.jpeg (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/2E36F8D4-6A1E-4D77-BF86-BA068E9C60B8.jpeg.0070ca9aafa640890de74da7ada39051 .jpeg)

Just keep in mind that, according to Doc Budge, the game has been moved just to be on the safe side, for the very remote possibility that it's not quite ready for the game... or it is ready but the safety certificate isn't issued in time.

In light of which, I suggest that those photos are fake, and that Doc Budge is telling the truth, that it's merely a bawhair away from being finished.

29-10-2017, 04:51 PM
To be fair they will be selling chips. I repeat they will be selling chips.

We are so far behind them it’s frightening.

29-10-2017, 04:52 PM

Is that a noose?

29-10-2017, 05:03 PM

Hoots mon

Theres a noose loose aboot this hoose

29-10-2017, 05:05 PM
Didn't Budge say months ago that the stand was complete apart from the delayed seats?

And to suggest that there are 150 workers on site is just a bare faced lie. The various pictures only ever show a handful of people at most.

29-10-2017, 05:09 PM
Didn't Budge say months ago that the stand was complete apart from the delayed seats?

And to suggest that there are 150 workers on site is just a bare faced lie. The various pictures only ever show a handful of people at most.

Not sure if it’s a lie - they’re all taking photos and don’t want to incriminate each other so make sure no one’s in shot.

29-10-2017, 05:12 PM
It is now 8 weeks until the next derby.

Given the latest pictures is it totally impossible to think this game could be at Murrayfield. The police won’t let them make a last minute decision on it so if it’s not ready at least 10 days before then it will be Murrayfield.

Ann’s latest update doesn’t give any indication when it will really be ready.

I am willing to bet that the total cost of this piss-poor effort will be much much more than £15m and they will have to go cap on hand to FOH for yet another delay in ownership to say 2024.

29-10-2017, 05:32 PM
To be fair it's a bit like the Pompidou Centre but in pink.

29-10-2017, 05:47 PM

This his avatar -

See the '150 men working on site on a daily basis' - have they got it written into their contracts that they must be photoshopped out of each and every single photograph taken of their new stand ?? Every pic I've seen is like a scene from a post-apocalyptic film with barely a human-soul to be seen !

29-10-2017, 05:49 PM

Every photo from the site shows a disorganised mess.

It looks like a self-build house where the guy runs out of money half way and has to pick up the pieces as best he can.

Why, given it's a new build, does the pipe work require so many twists and turns in it? Surely you'd design that in from the start to run as straight and true as possible?

This building is hilarious.

29-10-2017, 06:33 PM
Seen worse building sites but, jeez - what a guddle. At first I thought that may be sections that aren't due to be finished til next year but I doubt they've got that far down the line with those, if indeed they have even started.

Awkward, "Right, jings, (wid ye believe it!) there's another delay, buck stops with me" type statement in the next few days, opening no happening.

29-10-2017, 07:10 PM
This his avatar -

See the '150 men working on site on a daily basis' - have they got it written into their contracts that they must be photoshopped out of each and every single photograph taken of their new stand ?? Every pic I've seen is like a scene from a post-apocalyptic film with barely a human-soul to be seen !

Yes it is a post apocalyptic film its called 28 days late.

29-10-2017, 07:36 PM
Had the kids at Fountainpark for early morning cinema then had a walk round Gorgie Farm. Parked up outside the piazza which gave us our first view of the development. It looks alright, and perfectly acceptable for a good SPFL club, but certainly nothing special. Quite neat and tidy outside, but no clues given to what lies within progress wise. There are not any turnstiles at Roseburn stand entrance and that end of the site is still a bit of a mess. Not sure what provision was made for parking (club officials, guests & dignitries etc) but doesn't look like there is any?
Took a picture with the kids laughing at it, but the photo made the stand look twice as big as it actually is with the naked eye strangely.

29-10-2017, 07:53 PM

After sitting in the wheatfield at the semi a couple years ago, that doesn't look too dissimilar to their idea of a finished stand.

29-10-2017, 08:01 PM
I hope it ****ing falls doon as Budge cuts the ribbon.

KerPlunk
29-10-2017, 08:05 PM
[QUOTE=Deansy;5206359]This his avatar -

With an avatar like that, it’s a cinch that this guy’s ultimate fantasy is to be enveloped in a latex gimp suit and then have The Budgie staple his scrotum to table, all whilst singing that effin ’ terrible song of theirs.......how does it go again ? Oh aye, “$h1te, $h1te.......”

KerPlunk
29-10-2017, 08:11 PM
I hope it ****ing falls doon as Budge cuts the ribbon.

Steady, you know that The Lord Provost will be handling that little duty, aided and abetted by the MP for South Edinburgh.
Pishy Breeks Foulkes will be there for the scran and doing his best Monsieur Creosote impersonation.

29-10-2017, 08:22 PM
It is now 8 weeks until the next derby.

Given the latest pictures is it totally impossible to think this game could be at Murrayfield. The police won’t let them make a last minute decision on it so if it’s not ready at least 10 days before then it will be Murrayfield.

Ann’s latest update doesn’t give any indication when it will really be ready.

I am willing to bet that the total cost of this piss-poor effort will be much much more than £15m and they will have to go cap on hand to FOH for yet another delay in ownership to say 2024.

The tickets will go on sale around 2 weeks before the game and they'll need to know at that point where the game's going to be played.

So they've got around 6 weeks to make a decision.

29-10-2017, 08:29 PM

Can Any Plumbers - Come up with a Reason for the Pipework.. Not sure what it serves but it looks unnecessary.. or a last thought

29-10-2017, 08:32 PM
Wow - First time I've seen the dreaded 'C' word mentioned on JKB - CAPACITY !. In their 'Anne Budge Statement' thread -

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/173048-statement-from-ann-budge/

Very 1st post -

'Reasonable update

So the grey glass panels a planning requirement by Edinburgh council to make it blend in with the ***** looking new school

No mention of capacity yet'

later on -

'A couple of people, myself included, have said they might be disappointed if we don't get the 20k capacity as promised. We've then been called hibs fans because no true Hearts fan would care about the final capacity. Just warning you you might get attacked by these people if you express any disappointment about the capacity'

Soooooooo looking forward to when the keech hits the fan - all that debt, all that hassle - ALL FOR A 19,000+ SEATED-STADIUM !

Samaritans - 'Are you ready ??' ........................

29-10-2017, 10:46 PM

“Cathro was here”

29-10-2017, 10:55 PM

Before they bring in some new players in January they need to get rid of some. Hence the noose.

HibbyDave
30-10-2017, 07:25 AM
New excuse for delay perhaps? List your ideas here, i’ ll start:-
We never realised that all that metal will expand and contract depending on the temperature. All the recent cold weather means the meccano set bolts dont line up with the holes.
Also when it gets warm, all the gaffer tape joints will split so we are planninv to demolish the whole thing and move to Murrayfield.

30-10-2017, 07:54 AM
We never realised that all that metal will expand and contract depending on the temperature. All the recent cold weather means the meccano set bolts dont line up with the holes.
Also when it gets warm, all the gaffer tape joints will split so we are planninv to demolish the whole thing and move to Murrayfield.The red coo asks for a transfer in the January window?

" When I agreed to move to the famous I thought I would be able to make a serious fund raising effort and take it to the next level.

Instead, as soon as I get a few coins inserted Mrs Budge's butler appears with the rubber gloves and extracts them.

This and having to have your picture taken with people who don't help my career as a fundraising fake farmyard animal was the final straw.

Don't get me started about the proposals of marriage"

30-10-2017, 08:12 AM

Loving the minute levels of architectural detailing they have achieved with this fit out, how the inside of the stand replicates precisely the asthetic of the external elements of the arena, truly achieving the architectural utopian vision and ideal of bringing the inside out and the outside in.

The exquisite matching detailing in the steelwork both inside and out, the perfect match of plasterboard colour for the faded pink of the three existing stands (I believe it has been matched exactly as Pantone Colour 70/62) and the strategic placing of the up turned hard hat to replicate the begging bowls that will be out at the next home game.

It is truly the 8th wonder of the modern world.

30-10-2017, 08:45 AM
Just found this beauty on Linkedin, posted by a Health and Safety Professional.

Health and Safety at its finest on Hearts Main stand here.

One of the comments:

"I'm almost sure someone from the main contractor on this job will see this over the weekend and blow a gasket tomorrow!"

If only there was a contractor in charge!

http://image-store.slidesharecdn.com/ef400e39-55d5-4c6b-bc19-2a648d6a23ae-original.jpeg

30-10-2017, 08:50 AM

One of the comments:

"I'm almost sure someone from the main contractor on this job will see this over the weekend and blow a gasket tomorrow!"

http://image-store.slidesharecdn.com/ef400e39-55d5-4c6b-bc19-2a648d6a23ae-original.jpeg

One of those guys is wearing spurs and a gun holster.

cocteautwin
30-10-2017, 09:32 AM
Is their game going ahead at Tynecastle this weekend? Nothing been announced about a cancellation yet?

30-10-2017, 09:41 AM
Is their game going ahead at Tynecastle this weekend? Nothing been announced about a cancellation yet?

Murrayfield on the 5th.

cocteautwin
30-10-2017, 09:46 AM
Murrayfield on the 5th.

Ah, OK. Silly me. Cheers.

Benny Brazil
30-10-2017, 09:49 AM

The picture on the right - look at the stairs - surely that isnt a main access point to the stand itself?

30-10-2017, 09:52 AM
The picture on the right - look at the stairs - surely that isnt a main access point to the stand itself?

I thought it was just me but the bottom of the stairs look like they stop at the wall ?

Sergio sledge
30-10-2017, 09:59 AM
Every photo from the site shows a disorganised mess.

It looks like a self-build house where the guy runs out of money half way and has to pick up the pieces as best he can.

Why, given it's a new build, does the pipe work require so many twists and turns in it? Surely you'd design that in from the start to run as straight and true as possible?

This building is hilarious.

To be fair it would be more unusual, even in a new build, to have perfectly straight run of drainage pipe. Having to bend and offset to avoid structure and other services is pretty normal.

30-10-2017, 10:02 AM
To be fair it would be more unusual, even in a new build, to have perfectly straight run of drainage pipe. Having to bend and offset to avoid structure and other services is pretty normal.

:agree: From what I understand the picture in question is of the top floor, so the pipe is either a soil vent pipe (with no 'solids' coming from above) or a rainwater downpipe - either way twists and turns are no big deal.

KerPlunk
30-10-2017, 10:09 AM

One of the comments:

Interesting that the operative on the right hand side (who also appears to be wired to the ceiling !) is wearing a “Square and Crescent” hi-vis bib. This company are an up-market Edinburgh developer/contractor. There is no way they are involved with Budgie’s Folly though and the guy in the bib probably worked on a past S & C project. However, I’m sure the directors of this company would be gobsmacked to see their logo displayed in such a negative light.
Obviously very little/ no H&S supervision / oversight.
Remember that ‘Duty of Care’, Mrs. Budge !

hibsforeurope
30-10-2017, 10:14 AM
Does any new stand not need to have a soft/test opening to test systems, entrance and exit procedures etc before it can be opened to full capacity? This has to happen down south, is this just another H&S requirement they are going to bypass!

30-10-2017, 10:16 AM
Interesting that the operative on the right hand side (who also appears to be wired to the ceiling !) is wearing a “Square and Crescent” hi-vis bib. This company are an up-market Edinburgh developer/contractor. There is no way they are involved with Budgie’s Folly though and the guy in the bib probably worked on a past S & C project. However, I’m sure the directors of this company would be gobsmacked to see their logo displayed in such a negative light.

Not uncommon for hi Vis from other projects to continue with a life of their own! Thought the yams would have had some project specific ones made though given the magnitude of the project, it's what all the big teams do.

30-10-2017, 10:39 AM
This photograph shows the size of the project we are undertaking here. We are not just building "a stand" with the facilities built in the undercroft below the seating, as many other Clubs have done - we are building a large complex annex interfacing with the stand, which is unique certainly in Scotland.

All this takes time and money.

I take it he's never seen the main sand at Parkhead then...

30-10-2017, 10:43 AM
I take it he's never seen the main sand at Parkhead then...

He probably doesn't get much further than his front door!

30-10-2017, 10:46 AM
Your average Yam in a nutshell.

Who says the age of deference is dead?

Whenever I scan through kickback I'm always struck by just how deferential most on there are. You do, however, come across the very occasional voice of reason as evidenced by the response by 'Francis Albert' to 'CB Jambo' here (Needless to say Francis Albert is subsequently shot down for daring to suggest everything isn't all sweetness and light with the project):

CB Jambo wrote:
Regardless of the poor state of the playing squad the club have moved heaven and earth to get to where we are with the main stand. People who complain about the time it is taking have absolutely no clue of the programming nightmares a construction project faces.

Now we are into the colder months there could be more delays but I feel we are sufficiently far enough down the road with the external work that this should be minimal. To be where we are is testamount to some excellent team work by the club, design team and construction team.

Maybe everyone just needs to be thankful for what we are getting and be grateful there is a club still here to support, an alternative venue a stones throw away and that it won’t be forever!

Francis Albert wrote:

Presumably when they set the September date (or indeed the November date) for opening the stand the club, design team and construction team also had no idea despite the excellent team work about the programming nightmares a construction project faces. And the seats fiasco suggests the team work was perhaps not all it might be.

It isn't a question of impatience. If we had chosen to play the whole season at Murrayfield I'd have been quite content. It is the failure to meet deadlines with no real explanation of the reasons, but rather bull**** about having to test the facilities, as if that wasn't part of any planned schedules in any construction project.

30-10-2017, 10:47 AM

My guess is its the stairs leading to the 'Sky view lounge' .... the health & safety folk will have insisted on access to the stairs being configured in a way that stops large groups charging up them all at once, they will be aware that as folk reach the top of the stairs they will grind to a halt in open mouthed amazement as the 'stunning' view meets them ... this could lead to a bottleneck and a danger of crushing.

30-10-2017, 10:49 AM
"we are building a large complex annex interfacing with the stand, which is unique certainly in Scotland"

Quite apart from being abjectly untrue - if tagging on a few offices and a paved area outside is what is meant here then I'd imagine a few main stands in Scotland meet these steep criteria - this comically grandiose language is indicative of the delusion we're dealing with here.

"a large complex annex" = some offices and leisure facilities
"interfacing with" = attached to.

I suspect the poster works in upper middle management at a company that claims to have no hierarchy in management but is in fact the exact opposite. They're usually the perfect incubators for this genre of Americanised "trying to sound intelligent" absolute waffle bull****.

30-10-2017, 10:50 AM

Maybe the stand's wired to him :greengrin

30-10-2017, 10:59 AM
"we are building a large complex annex interfacing with the stand, which is unique certainly in Scotland"

Quite apart from being abjectly untrue - if tagging on a few offices and a paved area outside is what is meant here then I'd imagine a few main stands in Scotland meet these steep criteria - this comically grandiose language is indicative of the delusion we're dealing with here.

"a large complex annex" = some offices and leisure facilities
"interfacing with" = attached to.

I suspect the poster works in upper middle management at a company that claims to have no hierarchy in management but is in fact the exact opposite. They're usually the perfect incubators for this genre of Americanised "trying to sound intelligent" absolute waffle bull****.

So they've built a lean-to at the back of their main stand.

30-10-2017, 11:04 AM
Why do the Jambos keep harping on about having a 'great stadium and training ground' once it's finished.

The training ground isn't theirs, they just use it. :confused:

KerPlunk
30-10-2017, 11:04 AM
So they've built a lean-to at the back of their main stand.

Steady on Geo - it’s an integrated, executive lean-to.

30-10-2017, 11:13 AM
Why do the Jambos keep harping on about having a 'great stadium and training ground' once it's finished.

The stadium isn't theirs either.

30-10-2017, 11:13 AM
Interesting that the operative on the right hand side (who also appears to be wired to the ceiling !)

Pretty half-hearted PR that. If he'd had comprehensive customer-interfacing training he'd have made more effort to integrate with the yams by wiring himself to the moon.

30-10-2017, 11:16 AM

They're using the Piazza for training...

30-10-2017, 11:17 AM
The stadium isn't theirs either.

No? :confused:

30-10-2017, 11:18 AM
£6-7m I think.

was about half that :agree:

30-10-2017, 11:21 AM
No? :confused:

Technically, it belongs to Mrs Budge.

30-10-2017, 11:25 AM
Technically, it belongs to Mrs Budge.

Don't think it does. Unless you're using the analogy that a mortgaged house belongs to the lender.

And, it's DOCTOR Budge to you......:rolleyes:

HibbySpurs
30-10-2017, 11:30 AM

One of the comments:

Wow! Just wow 😳.....

That anyone is allowed to work on a tower like that in 2017 beggars belief. I could list what's wrong with it but it would take me an hour.

Guys working on most sites would be yellow carded, possibly red carded for that (yes yellow & red cards are a thing on Construction sites).

30-10-2017, 11:35 AM
Don't think it does. Unless you're using the analogy that a mortgaged house belongs to the lender.

And, it's DOCTOR Budge to you......:rolleyes:Aye, but they're saving up to buy it, or is it saving up for whatever the good doctor decides she fancies doing next with their money?

30-10-2017, 11:42 AM
Also when it gets warm, all the gaffer tape joints will split so we are planninv to demolish the whole thing and move to Murrayfield.

ANN FUDGE STATEMENT

Good morning all!

I was so touched by the positive feedback from so many supporters after my detailed update on the Tynecastle Redevelopment Project that I feel sure you'll forgive me when I tell you that we're now facing another, minor delay.

We are scouring the globe at considerable expense but have thus far been unable to source trees yielding the correct shade of pink leaf for our arboretum on the Piazza. As this wonderful feature is something that will be unique to Scottish football, we feel we simply cannot disappoint the keen horticulturists among our fantastic support by failing to provide them with a tree-lined avenue through which to approach our new stand for the first time. As such, we have entered into talks with a team of experts at the Royal Bontanic Garden with a view to developing our very own 'Hearts tree'. Needless to say, such a project will take time to bear fruit, but I feel sure the end result will make this further delay well worthwhile. All being well, we anticipate the tree planting ceremony will take place in spring 2019, or perhaps a little later in the year. I, for one, cannot wait!

* As these trees will be grown in pots to avoid root disruption to the monoblock Piazza, can I ask in advance that fans desist from using these pots as ashtrays prior to entering the stadium.

30-10-2017, 11:43 AM
Wow! Just wow 😳.....

That anyone is allowed to work on a tower like that in 2017 beggars belief. I could list what's wrong with it but it would take me an hour.

Guys working on most sites would be yellow carded, possibly red carded for that (yes yellow & red cards are a thing on Construction sites).

Working at height permit, bet there's not one for that.

Newry Hibs
30-10-2017, 11:45 AM
Wow! Just wow 😳.....

So what is wrong with it? Not trying to defend them - just interested, as I'm not in the construction game. I presume that one big step backwards and they fall off?

30-10-2017, 11:48 AM
Why are they putting patio doors in front of the turnstiles ?

Looks terrible - but no surprise.

On a side note anyone doing the 10k on the day of the next Murrayfield game and want to take extra long to run it...wouldn’t want to delay their kick off..

30-10-2017, 12:11 PM
ANN FUDGE STATEMENT

Good morning all!

I was so touched by the positive feedback from so many supporters after my detailed update on the Tynecastle Redevelopment Project that I feel sure you'll forgive me when I tell you that we're now facing another, minor delay.

We are scouring the globe at considerable expense but have thus far been unable to source trees yielding the correct shade of pink leaf for our arboretum on the Piazza. As this wonderful feature is something that will be unique to Scottish football, we feel we simply cannot disappoint the keen horticulturists among our fantastic support by failing to provide them with a tree-lined avenue through which to approach our new stand for the first time. As such, we have entered into talks with a team of experts at the Royal Bontanic Garden with a view to developing our very own 'Hearts tree'. Needless to say, such a project will take time to bear fruit, but I feel sure the end result will make this further delay well worthwhile. All being well, we anticipate the tree planting ceremony will take place in spring 2019, or perhaps a little later in the year. I, for one, cannot wait!

* As these trees will be grown in pots to avoid root disruption to the monoblock Piazza, can I ask in advance that fans desist from using these pots as ashtrays prior to entering the stadium.

You have to admit the Yams are clever though ........ how they managed a huge harvest of plumbs last January without any trees is impressive :greengrin

30-10-2017, 12:16 PM
ANN FUDGE STATEMENT

Good morning all!

Plums? I thought they already had 400k of them :dunno:

30-10-2017, 12:19 PM

And, it's DOCTOR Budge to you......:rolleyes:

I forgot about her doctorate in Prevarication.

30-10-2017, 12:37 PM
They're using the Piazza for training...

The Piazza ain't theirs, they don't have to pay for the Council land until the new nursery is occupied.

30-10-2017, 12:41 PM

Looks like a torture chamber.

Velma Dinkley
30-10-2017, 12:42 PM

And they'll still have three awful, crumbling stands.

30-10-2017, 12:43 PM
The Piazza ain't theirs, they don't have to pay for the Council land until the new nursery is occupied.

Not even for a game of shapes after school????

30-10-2017, 12:47 PM
ANN FUDGE STATEMENT

Good morning all!

I have the perfect tree in my garden it is readily available

https://www.chewvalleytrees.co.uk/products/detail/prunus-pissardii-nigra

30-10-2017, 12:47 PM
ANN FUDGE STATEMENT

Good morning all!

FURTHER STATEMENT FROM FAN NUDGE

Good afternoon my loyal Hearts of Midlothian,

From all of the letters, postcards and tweets I have received this past few days it is gratifying to know that you all so enjoy my little updates and wait on baited breath for the next installment, well I hope you lucky people appreciate getting two of me on the one day!

As you all know the new stand and integrated facilities are well on schedule to complete as planned, however as you may have seen in the less salubrious parts of the world wide web there have been some pictures posted showing workmen working "unsafely", rest assure my little friends that all right thinking Heart of Midlothian workers are being looked after and working extra safely, however these two Hibs supporting members of the workforce are not open to receive the same luxury and are just extremely lucky to be able to work on our project.

Toeboards and handrails are purely the purvey of the right minded workers who have so diligently applied themselves to the project like true craftsmen and not those that we have hired in to reinforce and secure our completion date. We look after our own, as you know.

With this in mind I must ask you to help us out to fit only the best of extra thick, luxurious carpets to the boardroom and to my office, this is to ensure that in the event of a fall by one of those dedicated Heart of Midlothian supporting workers, they will not hurt themselves on inferior carpets. The collection cow's will be at the main gates this weekend for your ongoing assistance and I must repeat that every £20 note you deposit goes directly to the improvement of the important parts of the stadium.

I look forward to welcoming you all to your new stand at the new agreed completion date, I know you will like it as much as I do.

Love n Hugs,

Fan Nudge

KerPlunk
30-10-2017, 01:00 PM

Good afternoon.....blah,blah,blah.....

Fan Nudge

Non Fudge, shoorely ??

30-10-2017, 01:02 PM
Non Fudge, shoorely ??

Are you suggesting she uses more than one name?! :greengrin

KiddA
30-10-2017, 03:17 PM
I’m hearing the new stand is 4 Million plus over budget, anyone in the know regarding this? If that’s the case I suspect a bake sale announcement hopefully the poppy charity money will be safe this time.

30-10-2017, 03:24 PM
Couldn't care less whether their overspend is 4p or £4m, it will still be ***** and infested with *****, as the saying goes if it looks like ***** smells like ***** then it will more than likely be *****.

30-10-2017, 03:36 PM
Couldn't care less whether their overspend is 4p or £4m, it will still be ***** and infested with *****, as the saying goes if it looks like ***** smells like ***** then it will more than likely be *****.

Now now Ringo what have you been told about sitting on the fence [emoji51]

30-10-2017, 03:39 PM
So what is wrong with it? Not trying to defend them - just interested, as I'm not in the construction game. I presume that one big step backwards and they fall off?

The no handrail/barrier stopping them falling is a big one.
Should also be a lip on the platform to stop things being kicked/knocked off.
Shouldn't be cables hanging down.
Shouldn't be trunking leaning against it.
Its too high for the job as well, you can see the bloke having to strain his neck.

Its honestly total cowboy stuff, getting injured here would be incredibly easy.

30-10-2017, 03:49 PM
Its too high for the job as well, you can see the bloke having to strain his neck.

How does the trunking - which is leaning against a wall near the platform, not the platform itself - constitute a risk? :dunno:

HibbySpurs
30-10-2017, 03:53 PM

Big one is no guard rail, also the tower is accessed externally, you are meant to climb internally and through a trap door in the floor of the working platform.

It should be double guard railed around the top above the platform to prevent the risk of falls.

It should look more like the attached. Although probably no need for outrigg ers at that height.

HibbySpurs
30-10-2017, 03:55 PM

Good afternoon my loyal Hearts of Midlothian,

From all of the letters, postcards and tweets I have received this past few days it is gratifying to know that you all so enjoy my little updates and wait on baited breath for the next installment, well I hope you lucky people appreciate getting two of me on the one day!

As you all know the new stand and integrated facilities are well on schedule to complete as planned, however as you may have seen in the less salubrious parts of the world wide web there have been some pictures posted showing workmen working "unsafely", rest assure my little friends that all right thinking Heart of Midlothian workers are being looked after and working extra safely, however these two Hibs supporting members of the workforce are not open to receive the same luxury and are just extremely lucky to be able to work on our project.

Toeboards and handrails are purely the purvey of the right minded workers who have so diligently applied themselves to the project like true craftsmen and not those that we have hired in to reinforce and secure our completion date. We look after our own, as you know.

With this in mind I must ask you to help us out to fit only the best of extra thick, luxurious carpets to the boardroom and to my office, this is to ensure that in the event of a fall by one of those dedicated Heart of Midlothian supporting workers, they will not hurt themselves on inferior carpets. The collection cow's will be at the main gates this weekend for your ongoing assistance and I must repeat that every £20 note you deposit goes directly to the improvement of the important parts of the stadium.

I look forward to welcoming you all to your new stand at the new agreed completion date, I know you will like it as much as I do.

Love n Hugs,

Fan Nudge

Hahaha 😂 brilliant

30-10-2017, 03:56 PM
Big one is no guard rail, also the tower is accessed externally, you are meant to climb internally and through a trap door in the floor of the working platform.

How have you ascertained from that picture that they have climbed up the outside? The ladder is equally accessible from the inside.

30-10-2017, 04:00 PM
How does the trunking - which is leaning against a wall near the platform, not the platform itself - constitute a risk? :dunno:Hard to tell from the picture if its close enough for him to hit himself off if he turned round carelessly. Could knock it over injuring himself or others.

That would be a hazard btw, not a risk. The risk is the chance of the hazard occurring. :wink: :greengrin

30-10-2017, 04:06 PM
Hard to tell from the picture if its close enough for him to hit himself off if he turned round carelessly. Could knock it over injuring himself or others.

That would be a hazard btw, not a risk. The risk is the chance of the hazard occurring. :wink: :greengrin

He might just be able to touch it if he doubled himself up to duck under the large iron girder and walked off the edge of the platform. Honestly wonder sometimes how you H&S guys manage to leave your hooses in the morning with all the hazards out there!

30-10-2017, 04:07 PM

Its honestly total cowboy stuff, getting injured here would be incredibly easy.Quite a few breaches of employers and public liability insurance conditions on show there and highlighted on this list.

All assuming they have bought the cover of course [emoji6]

HibbySpurs
30-10-2017, 04:11 PM
How have you ascertained from that picture that they have climbed up the outside? The ladder is equally accessible from the inside.

I can't to be honest but experience tells me they did

30-10-2017, 04:13 PM
Quite a few breaches of employers and public liability insurance conditions on show there and highlighted on this list.

Only hope those two guys don't get into serious trouble, as having to complete the project with only 148 workers would give Drs Budge an entirely convincing reason/laughable excuse to put the deadline day back from, er, sometime to, er, sometime later.

30-10-2017, 04:14 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/B8E549B1-743B-48CC-9BB8-7F1E363E34A4.jpeg.40e6fd4100dc8bdc405d7d0fb073af02 .jpeg
Jambos getting all orgasmic about latest image of a smaller capacity main stand than our East Stand.

Forgive me but ours looks better, longer and higher with 8 full sectiins not just 7. Remember max size for a section is 28 seats if there is a gangway either side

They are coming up well short on promised capacity and they will also have an entire row (Row 11) of restricted view seats when they put that handrail in.

Never mind they are the only stand to have tarmac laid...oh wait a minute Jumbos

30-10-2017, 04:14 PM
He might just be able to touch it if he doubled himself up to duck under the large iron girder and walked off the edge of the platform. Honestly wonder sometimes how you H&S guys manage to leave your hooses in the morning with all the hazards out there!

That's what I am thinking

The world has obviously changed since my short spell as a labourer in 1979

I remember taking down one of those scaffoldings that the legs simply go on top of the previous ones and it gets cross braced every so often by sitting on the row underneath the one I was taking of and wrapping my legs round it so that I had both hands to lift the one off

It was fairly high up and I remember being none to confident :-)

Its a good job H & S doesn't apply to DIY as some of my external DIY attempts wouldn't pass muster either.

30-10-2017, 04:19 PM
Quite a few breaches of employers and public liability insurance conditions on show there and highlighted on this list.

Any employers and public liability insurance won't be worth the paper its written on.

There has never been a Building Warrant issued allowing work to start on the new stand. All the work is being done illegally and any insurance company would simply tell them to bolt.

30-10-2017, 04:26 PM
Any employers and public liability insurance won't be worth the paper its written on.

There has never been a Building Warrant issued allowing work to start on the new stand. All the work is being done illegally and any insurance company would simply tell them to bolt.

In this case, who would the personal injury claims lawyers be going after if the lads in the picture do walk straight off the platform? Not Hearts FC, I hope.

30-10-2017, 04:26 PM
Only hope those two guys don't get into serious trouble, as having to complete the project with only 148 workers would give Drs Budge an entirely convincing reason/laughable excuse to put the deadline day back from, er, sometime to, er, sometime later.

its about 4 foot high.....does anyone really care about this.

30-10-2017, 04:27 PM
its about 4 foot high.....does anyone really care about this.

Aye, Digby Brown are rubbing their hands.

30-10-2017, 04:35 PM
In this case, who would the personal injury claims lawyers be going after if the lads in the picture do walk straight off the platform? Not Hearts FC, I hope.

I'd guess it would be the main contractor. They are the ones responsible for filling in all the forms necessary before starting work on a building site.

30-10-2017, 04:39 PM
I'd guess it would be the main contractor. They are the ones responsible for filling in all the forms necessary before starting work on a building site.

30-10-2017, 04:43 PM
In this case, who would the personal injury claims lawyers be going after if the lads in the picture do walk straight off the platform? Not Hearts FC, I hope.Generally the occupier of the site and the principal are a good place to start☺

30-10-2017, 04:46 PM

There has never been a Building Warrant issued allowing work to start on the new stand. All the work is being done illegally and any insurance company would simply tell them to bolt.They probably wouldn't but would potentially walk away from public liability because of the breaches but they'd have to deal with employers regardless of breach if the responsible party doesn't pay, then go after whoever they can put in the frame.

30-10-2017, 04:48 PM
I believe anyone killed has been guaranteed a place on the Haymarket memorial.

30-10-2017, 05:01 PM
I believe anyone killed has been guaranteed a place on the Haymarket memorial.

Any day now the entire Hearts squad are going to enlist to the workforce trying to get the stadium finished.

A heroic effort in pursuit of magnificent perfection.

30-10-2017, 05:12 PM
I bumped into a guy who was working on the stand for a brief spell a few weeks ago. He said there was no site induction and he wasn't asked for his CSCS card. Just sign here pal and get on with it.
To be fair, a lot of sites are over the top with H & S and I much prefer when inductions are ignored and Im just allowed to get on with it, most guys on site know how to survive the day to day hazards without getting hurt.
That picture of the guys on the scaffold would probably get you a yellow card nowadays but its nothing compared to what most guys have done out of sight of cameras, I would have been banned for life 20 years ago after my 1000th red card if all the daft things ive done had been caught on camera

30-10-2017, 05:41 PM
:agree: From what I understand the picture in question is of the top floor, so the pipe is either a soil vent pipe (with no 'solids' coming from above) or a rainwater downpipe - either way twists and turns are no big deal.

It's definitely rainwater.

30-10-2017, 06:01 PM
I bumped into a guy who was working on the stand for a brief spell a few weeks ago. He said there was no site induction and he wasn't asked for his CSCS card. Just sign here pal and get on with it.
To be fair, a lot of sites are over the top with H & S and I much prefer when inductions are ignored and Im just allowed to get on with it, most guys on site know how to survive the day to day hazards without getting hurt.
That picture of the guys on the scaffold would probably get you a yellow card nowadays but its nothing compared to what most guys have done out of sight of cameras, I would have been banned for life 20 years ago after my 1000th red card if all the daft things ive done had been caught on camera

And there lies the inherent problem in the construction industry regards h&s 😉

HibbySpurs
30-10-2017, 06:12 PM

30-10-2017, 06:31 PM
Whenever I scan through kickback I'm always struck by just how deferential most on there are. You do, however, come across the very occasional voice of reason as evidenced by the response by 'Francis Albert' to 'CB Jambo' here (Needless to say Francis Albert is subsequently shot down for daring to suggest everything isn't all sweetness and light with the project):

CB Jambo wrote:
Regardless of the poor state of the playing squad the club have moved heaven and earth to get to where we are with the main stand. People who complain about the time it is taking have absolutely no clue of the programming nightmares a construction project faces.

Now we are into the colder months there could be more delays but I feel we are sufficiently far enough down the road with the external work that this should be minimal. To be where we are is testamount to some excellent team work by the club, design team and construction team.

Maybe everyone just needs to be thankful for what we are getting and be grateful there is a club still here to support, an alternative venue a stones throw away and that it won’t be forever!

Francis Albert wrote:

Presumably when they set the September date (or indeed the November date) for opening the stand the club, design team and construction team also had no idea despite the excellent team work about the programming nightmares a construction project faces. And the seats fiasco suggests the team work was perhaps not all it might be.

It isn't a question of impatience. If we had chosen to play the whole season at Murrayfield I'd have been quite content. It is the failure to meet deadlines with no real explanation of the reasons, but rather bull**** about having to test the facilities, as if that wasn't part of any planned schedules in any construction project.

What does ‘testamount’ mean?

Sounds like something cowboys did before buying a horse :dunno:

30-10-2017, 06:41 PM
What does ‘testamount’ mean?

Sounds like something cowboys did before buying a horse :dunno:

Bless 'em! They do have a way with words... even if it's unintentional :greengrin

30-10-2017, 06:42 PM
I’m hearing the new stand is 4 Million plus over budget, anyone in the know regarding this? If that’s the case I suspect a bake sale announcement hopefully the poppy charity money will be safe this time.

The Coo's just heard the news !

I've always thought Budge was a bit like a 'Duck out of water' at the PBS - a principled, successful business-woman, who, naively, swallowed that she was 'saving an Edinburgh institution' and din't realise exactly what she was getting into. With all the information coming out about the somewhat 'less than professional' building of their stand, I wonder if I was wrong in my original assessment of her or has she just been brought down to their levels and is just as bad/rotten as everyone and everything else at 'Tiny-Tyney' ??

HibbySpurs
30-10-2017, 06:56 PM

The Coo's just heard the news !

I've always thought Budge was a bit like a 'Duck out of water' at the PBS - a principled, successful business-woman, who, naively, swallowed that she was 'saving an Edinburgh institution' and din't realise exactly what she was getting into. With all the information coming out about the somewhat 'less than professional' building of their stand, I wonder if I was wrong in my original assessment of her or has she just been brought down to their levels and is just as bad/rotten as everyone and everything else at 'Tiny-Tyney' ??

I think she got involved with the best of intentions and much like we did when STF came in they needed someone to offer them a lifeline.

Problem she faces is that the utter sense of entitlement a fair portion of their support have has driven her into a corner and the only answer is to keep ponying up the dough.

To make matters worse for her the resurgence of Hibs had made all this ten times worse as they are unable to accept having to be second fiddle in the city.

STF had a plan and stuck to it doggedly with RP withstanding all the abuse and criticism that came their way. 25 years on the dream of winning the SC was realised and a stadia, training ground and at last a squad the fans could be proud of but far from job done we all know the work continues.

Maybe they should realise this and accept that Rome was never built in a day. Laughably though they won't as it's just not in their nature and Rome will burn instead.

30-10-2017, 07:22 PM

Fair enough but the truth is most guys find it hard not to sleep through inductions, once you've endured a few dozen theres not much else you can learn other than a few site specific details.

SuperAllyMcleod
30-10-2017, 07:23 PM
Maybe they should realise this and accept that Rome was never built in a day. Laughably though they won't as it's just not in their nature and Rome will burn instead.

I like what you did there - implying that they will ‘fiddle’ while Rome burns. Top marks! [emoji4]

speedy_gonzales
30-10-2017, 07:39 PM
re the H&S, there were 4/5 guys walking along the roof of the new stand today as observed from the West Approach Road. There was no work restraint or fall arrest being used, on an uneven/sloping roof surely that's a criminal act. All it would take is for one worker to faint/collapse and there'd be nothing to stop him falling off!?!

30-10-2017, 07:41 PM

While you're banging your H&S drum HS, could you give me a brief explanation of how in that particular picture, reaching a platform about six feet high, it would be significantly safer for the second man to go up the ladder on the inside rather than the outside? Presumably when there's already one man up there, opening the hatch to go up the inside creates a new hazard for the first man. (Genuine question, not trying to be smart - PM if you prefer.)

30-10-2017, 07:49 PM
That's what I am thinking

The world has obviously changed since my short spell as a labourer in 1979

I remember taking down one of those scaffoldings that the legs simply go on top of the previous ones and it gets cross braced every so often by sitting on the row underneath the one I was taking of and wrapping my legs round it so that I had both hands to lift the one off

It was fairly high up and I remember being none to confident :-)

Its a good job H & S doesn't apply to DIY as some of my external DIY attempts wouldn't pass muster either.
The world has changed since the 70s. 1974 deaths of employees at work, 651 - deaths in 2016, 100. Workplace injuries 1974, 336,000. 2016, 77,000. The world of work has changed over the last 40 years, not all for the better but H&S certainly has.

30-10-2017, 08:06 PM
The world has changed since the 70s. 1974 deaths of employees at work, 651 - deaths in 2016, 100. Workplace injuries 1974, 336,000. 2016, 77,000. The world of work has changed over the last 40 years, not all for the better but H&S certainly has.

Impressive stats. Would a proportion of those reductions be due to the fact there is virtually no mining, steelworking, shipbuilding, etc, industry anymore and it's quite hard to die sitting looking at a computer screen? :dunno:

(Not disagreeing with your point, btw. Still shudder at this (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4YFCJETmwI)!)

30-10-2017, 08:10 PM
Impressive stats. Would a proportion of those reductions be due to the fact there is virtually no mining, steelworking, shipbuilding, etc, industry anymore and it's quite hard to die sitting looking at a computer screen? :dunno:

(Not disagreeing with your point, btw. Still shudder at this (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4YFCJETmwI)!)
Not sure about that - depends how many daily doughnuts one eats whilst drinking a gallon of coffee.....

30-10-2017, 08:19 PM

I see where you're going with that but having worked in industry for 32 years now I can honestly say that it is safer now than ever as long as rules are followed. There will always be idiots who think it will never happen to them and that H&S isn't for them but in general the workplace is safer. This also includes offices with things like Display Screen Equipment regs

30-10-2017, 08:24 PM
Hard to tell from the picture if its close enough for him to hit himself off if he turned round carelessly. Could knock it over injuring himself or others.

No, the risk is the chance of someone being
hurt as a result of the Hazard.

30-10-2017, 08:29 PM
I see where you're going with that but having worked in industry for 32 years now I can honestly say that it is safer now than ever as long as rules are followed. There will always be idiots who think it will never happen to them and that H&S isn't for them but in general the workplace is safer. This also includes offices with things like Display Screen Equipment regs

Worked on a Site development Next to a chemical plant... (cambridge area)

We Were Not Allowed to have mobile phones or Lighters/matches On Site !!!

" One Spark and This Place Could Go Bang !!!! hand them in to Security Office.."

Yet - People inside working with angle grinders etc and petrol concrete cutters... you couldnt make it up ...

30-10-2017, 08:35 PM
Fair enough but the truth is most guys find it hard not to sleep through inductions, once you've endured a few dozen theres not much else you can learn other than a few site specific details.

And having given enough of the bloody things the skill is making them site specific and not boring the pants off the guys you are inducting or yourself as you have to present it hundreds of times over the lifespan of a project, at least you only hear it once 😁

majorhibs
30-10-2017, 09:08 PM

Reason less anything - more penpushers creating more paperwork creating more reason for more office staff, meaning actual workers spend less time working on ACTUAL work, diluting any profits company makes because huge new bills for self-interested pen pushers, meaning less working hours of actual WORKING staff, less wages all round, happy huge office, disgruntled actual workforce doing actual work. But we are all “safer” nowadays according to penpushers. Sometimes I wonder how I am still here considering I had to work in the terrible old days before the penpushers took over!

30-10-2017, 09:24 PM

30-10-2017, 09:41 PM
Reason less anything - more penpushers creating more paperwork creating more reason for more office staff, meaning actual workers spend less time working on ACTUAL work, diluting any profits company makes because huge new bills for self-interested pen pushers, meaning less working hours of actual WORKING staff, less wages all round, happy huge office, disgruntled actual workforce doing actual work. But we are all “safer” nowadays according to penpushers. Sometimes I wonder how I am still here considering I had to work in the terrible old days before the penpushers took over!

We are safer now, not according to penpushers but according to facts. I worked in the oil industry for 30 years & the difference in standards, attitude & culture now is hugely improved from when I started. After Grenfell Tower I thought the constant sneering about Health & Safety may have abated but it seems I was over optimistic.

30-10-2017, 09:56 PM

And actual workers actually spend less time actually dying or actually less time in hospital or actual with less injuries and families actually have a better chance of actually getting their family members home safe each night...

And I guess you are still here because you are one of the lucky ones?

30-10-2017, 09:56 PM
No, the risk is the chance of someone being
hurt as a result of the Hazard.

Not according to the H&S guy where I work.

A risk is a risk, whether or not there's been any injury as yet.

30-10-2017, 10:19 PM

Correct. You cannot remove risk completely you can only take considered risk treatment. There's at least one poster who considers risk treatment penpushing. In my world its where the experts consider the cost of mitigation comenserate with the risk and any resulting impact. If we don't care if employees die as a result and cannot be held responsible way hay- result. Unfortunately Lawyers 4 you take a different view....

31-10-2017, 12:05 AM
Wow! Just wow 😳.....

Guys working on most sites would be yellow carded, possibly red carded for that (yes yellow & red cards are a thing on Construction sites).:agree:I have been away from construction/industrial work for years now but seeing these two chumps up that tower gives me shivers. where is the site overman/agent while these guys are working like that?

31-10-2017, 12:10 AM
ANN FUDGE STATEMENT

Good morning all!

* As these trees will be grown in pots to avoid root disruption to the monoblock Piazza, can I ask in advance that fans desist from using these pots as ashtrays prior to entering the stadium.she never. stop making up fantasies about trees . a tree's a tree and a pot's fur pissin' in. your winding us up, surely?

31-10-2017, 01:11 AM

My statement still stands firm, according to the H &S guy at my work,,,,ME.

31-10-2017, 03:23 AM
ANN FUDGE STATEMENT

Good morning all!

Genuinely don't know if this as a pisstake or an actual statement

31-10-2017, 05:25 AM
Genuinely don't know if this as a pisstake or an actual statement

Punctuation and grammar correct therefore it's a pisstake

31-10-2017, 05:32 AM

Thanks for the reply.

I had never seen those stats

if the number had gone down from 651 to 650 it would have been worthwhile

100 deaths is still far too many, 1 would be too many and 77,000 injuries is obscene

I wasn't looking back with rose tinted glasses, I was a young boy of 16 and youthful bravado apart it was dangerous and I knew it to be so.

Glad things have improved.

31-10-2017, 05:53 AM

I thought a “risk” was something that could happen and when it does happen it’s no longer a risk and becomes an “issue”?

HibbySpurs
31-10-2017, 05:53 AM
While you're banging your H&S drum HS, could you give me a brief explanation of how in that particular picture, reaching a platform about six feet high, it would be significantly safer for the second man to go up the ladder on the inside rather than the outside? Presumably when there's already one man up there, opening the hatch to go up the inside creates a new hazard for the first man. (Genuine question, not trying to be smart - PM if you prefer.)

It's a valid point, however you need to realise climbing up the outside is potentially leathal as it is likely to make the tower tip, climbing from the inside prevents this. One goes up, stands on platform at side without trap door and his mucker comes up after then closes trap door and they have full use of platform. The first occupant is safer on a properly built platform as the hand/guard rails and tie boards minimise the risk of him falling off. Obviously in this picture this is not the case as the platform is poorly built with no guardrail or toeboards.

31-10-2017, 05:57 AM

Fair enough!

31-10-2017, 05:57 AM
I thought a “risk” was something that could happen and when it does happen it’s no longer a risk and becomes an “issue”?

Risk is the chance or probability that a person will be harmed or experience an adverse health effect if exposed to a hazard.

When completing an initial RA you will come to a Low, Medium or High level of Risk conclusion. You can then review and implement further control measures in order to lessen that risk conclusion. Ultimately I may come to tbe conclusion that the risk is too high for my employees to actually conduct tbe task themselves. I therefore will consider removing the task all together or bringing in experts with special training and equipment to conduct the task for me.

When I worked in construction as a young joiner H&S was nowhere near as considered as it now obviously. When I look back at some of the issues on sites then it certainly makes me think. Ì had my own apprentice experience of asbestos which may well come back to haunt me! No such thing as an asbestos register in those days!

31-10-2017, 06:42 AM

That would be more Project management definition that risk management. They are effectively the same thing but different terminology is used. Risk = could happen, take steps to avoid. Hazard/Issue = problem exists, find ways to mitigate/work around.

31-10-2017, 06:59 AM
One of my Jambo mates who is in denial in everything and still does the 5-1 sign like a 5 year old is a little more switched into the inner workings of Tynecastle.

A few snippets from him.

Stand won’t be ready until December as the sophistication of the design has meant they have come against some issues but Budge wants quality over speed all day long 😉

The worse case scenario fallback is it has to be ready for flagship game versus us on 27th but should be ready a few weeks in advance. 🙃

The capacity will eventually be more than Easter Road once the final phase is completed. 😂😂

FoH have been told that project is £3-£4m more than original £12m due to sophistication of the design and some other delays thrioigh no fault of Hearts. Budge will part fund the gap but most of gap will need to be from donations and will extend ownership by another 18 months later. But as he said it - it would all be worth it. 🙄

31-10-2017, 07:10 AM
One of my Jambo mates who is in denial in everything and still does the 5-1 sign like a 5 year old is a little more switched into the inner workings of Tynecastle.

A few snippets from him.

Stand won’t be ready until December as the sophistication of the design has meant they have come against some issues but Budge wants quality over speed all day long 😉

The worse case scenario fallback is it has to be ready for flagship game versus us on 27th but should be ready a few weeks in advance. 🙃

The capacity will eventually be more than Easter Road once the final phase is completed. 😂😂

FoH have been told that project is £3-£4m more than original £12m due to sophistication of the design and some other delays thrioigh no fault of Hearts. Budge will part fund the gap but most of gap will need to be from donations and will extend ownership by another 18 months later. But as he said it - it would all be worth it. 🙄

I fail to see any sophistication in that design that would lead to a 30% or more increase in costs

31-10-2017, 07:22 AM
I fail to see any sophistication in that design that would lead to a 30% or more increase in costs

Me neither. Once they were out the ground there shouldn't have been any "unknowns" and Budge's bigger bogs wouldn't have cost millions more.

In saying that, from what I've seen on the Council website, there may well have been errors in the plans.

31-10-2017, 07:25 AM
Me neither. Once they were out the ground there shouldn't have been any "unknowns" and Budge's bigger bogs wouldn't have cost millions more.

In saying that, from what I've seen on the Council website, there may well have been errors in the plans.

What would account for a huge blow out is the incompetence of the client and their design team and main contractor in working through and agreeing design and construction in advance, I suspect the way teh project has been set up and run is 90% to blame for the cost and time overruns.

But the smoke and mirrors were clearly ordered on time down Tynecastle way :greengrin

31-10-2017, 07:29 AM
It's a valid point, however you need to realise climbing up the outside is potentially leathal as it is likely to make the tower tip, climbing from the inside prevents this.
:aok: Ta. Hadn't considered the possibility of tipping. I have a similar low tower and next time I assemble it I am going to try to see if I can tip it by climbing up the outside. I've only ever gone up the inside.

J Noakes

31-10-2017, 07:34 AM

Not as simple as that. There's known unknowns and unknowable unknowns. An example of the latter would be the High School growing taller during the construction of Tiny Park. Clearly outwith Drs Budge's control.

31-10-2017, 07:39 AM
Not as simple as that. There's known unknowns and unknowable unknowns. An example of the latter would be the High School growing taller during the construction of Tiny Park. Clearly outwith Drs Budge's control.

Or the unknown that nobody knew to order the seats?

Or the hitherto unknown ability of anyone at Tynecastle to manage such a sophisticated construction project (so much so that Herzog and de Meuron have visited the site many times to update their knowledge of how far the boundaries can be pushed in stadia design).

Or the unknown final completion date or final cost?

Or the unknown final capacity?

Or the unknown cost of chips?

It's amazing how much of the unknown still remains unknown :greengrin