View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)
23-10-2017, 04:47 PM
They've bought themselves another 14 days, that's all as they're scheduled to play Partick on the 19th November.
Scotland play New Zealand on the 18th with a 17:15 kick-off.
Pretty poor show that the All Blacks haven't offered to switch that game to NZ. If it wasn't for The Famous they'd be speaking German now etc etc.
23-10-2017, 04:49 PM
https://twitter.com/stvpaul/status/922493703368912898
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/6277
Another delay.:greengrin
Hahaahhahahaha
What a shambles of a club!
We could all see this coming weeks ago!
It’s already 44 days behind schedule and counting.
I thought it was meant to be ready apart from the seats arriving ?
So many false statements..what a joke of a club
The Pointer
23-10-2017, 04:49 PM
[QUOTE=Radium;5199697]“Following a period of fairly intense speculation over the past few weeks, I can now confirm that the Board has decided to take further advantage of our contingency arrangements with the SRU to play our "Home" fixture against Kilmarnock FC, on Sunday, 5th November, at BT Murrayfield.
These arrangements have been confirmed with all parties involved and I would like to record my appreciation for their co-operation in agreeing to the change in venue.
I will issue a further detailed progress up-date to our supporters later in the week. I would, however, take this opportunity to stress that the building programme will see the handover of Phase 1 requirements to the club within the next 10 days.
However, the time then remaining to enable "acceptance testing" of all the various new facilities and processes would be very limited, were we to aim to play our opening game on 5th November, 2017.
One of our key objectives is to ensure that our first game back at Tynecastle runs smoothly, and provides supporters with the best possible match-day experience. We have therefore decided to take advantage of the opportunity open to us to call on our contingency arrangements for this fixture, thereby giving us more time to robustly test out all of our new facilities.
I will finish at this point by thanking you all for your fantastic support so far this season, which has helped the team immeasurably. To be in a top six position, having played all 10 league games away from Tynecastle, is a terrific achievement, helped in no small measure by the superb traveling support and indeed by the wonderful turnout at BT Murrayfield. Please keep it up. We will be home soon!”
Taking advantage of a contingency - 🤥🤥🤥🤥
For the youngsters out there it's 'travelling'.
23-10-2017, 04:54 PM
Hahaahhahahaha
True, a total shambles, but they always seem to do well out of it; no consequences. They should be made to play with three stands.
23-10-2017, 04:58 PM
Kily game moved to Murryfield.
23-10-2017, 05:06 PM
Missing another deadline appears to have taken away the fear of missing another deadline.
"Okay! We're going to miss the deadline, but we did warn you a couple of days ago that this might happen... even though we knew it would happen but thought it prudent to prepare you. You're used to that though, right? Besides, the team have scraped a few points under the direction of our em... (aside) What are we calling you now Craig?... No, not the Hibbies, us? ... Really? Am I paying you more for that?
Anyways, bend over and suck it up... You know you love it. Got to rush. Craig's down to his socks and his hand's up the cows derriere. Exciting night coming up"
23-10-2017, 05:35 PM
Are they allowed to pick and choose whenb they play their 'home 'games?
Looks like it to me. Surely should be all at Murrayfield or none or is that too much like common sense?
Hearts have skooshed all over SPFL with this.
Firestarter
23-10-2017, 06:30 PM
And they continue to rip the arse out of Scottish football and we think the jokes on them?
Firestarter
23-10-2017, 06:30 PM
Looks like it to me. Surely should be all at Murrayfield or none or is that too much like common sense?
Hearts have skooshed all over SPFL with this.
Yep.
LithgaeHibby
23-10-2017, 06:34 PM
Taking advantage of a contingency.
Well they certainly took advantage of one of those a few years ago when their creditors agreed to receive hee haw so that the cheats could avoid liquidation.
Let's put them back in their box tomorrow.
23-10-2017, 06:37 PM
Hearts have skooshed all over SPFL with this.[emoji106]It does look that way. Mrs Budge and her sevco pal are walking all over their fellow blazers, ours included .
You've got to laugh though £15m and rising, who is really making money here and who are the patsies/simple fans?
23-10-2017, 06:39 PM
Hahaahhahahaha
Seats in yet?!
23-10-2017, 07:58 PM
And they continue to rip the arse out of Scottish football and we think the jokes on them?
There's a decent punchline to this one I think.
Let's hope it's worth the wait.
Remember how they re-prioritised other stuff as they had more time ?
Seems like that was a wise decision given they ran out of time to finish the basics.
These fools believe whatever line they are fed. Only last week they believed that everything was on track. Which in fact it now is as the end date has been reset.
23-10-2017, 08:06 PM
Morganleieeiiith!
Where aaaarrre yoooouuu?
Hellooooo?
Morganleieeiiith!
Where aaaarrre yoooouuu?
Hellooooo?
He's late!
23-10-2017, 08:17 PM
He's late!
No he’s not. He’s just delayed
Firestarter
23-10-2017, 08:18 PM
There's a decent punchline to this one I think.
Let's hope it's worth the wait.
I can't see it? And there's thousands of Hibs fans looking to assist them and the funding should we agree to play them at Murrayfield? Nah you're alright.
23-10-2017, 08:29 PM
No chance. It'll be ready- I don't know who your source is but as I've said previously it's on track. I know I'll get called a yam but it's actually ahead of schedule for their game v the sheep. The steel will be put in in a week and it will be ready. As I said before my mates working on it and has no reason to lie
😂😂😂
23-10-2017, 08:34 PM
No he’s not. He’s just delayedAgreed. He's just prioritising other things just now.
Prayformorgan
23-10-2017, 08:39 PM
Inspired by Hilda, built by Stan. :greengrin
23-10-2017, 09:00 PM
Excellent - a muriel!
23-10-2017, 09:10 PM
had not noticed the name on the lift till now ... :wink:
23-10-2017, 09:37 PM
Excellent - a muriel!
:not worth
23-10-2017, 10:10 PM
https://twitter.com/stvpaul/status/922493703368912898
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/6277
Another delay.:greengrin
I love the attempt to pass this off with a breezy 'I can now confirm...' as though we're supposed to believe this delay was pretty much what they expected.
Be in no doubt, they were desperate to get this thing over the line and today's all too transparent spin is pitiful. They've botched this big time and I'm surprised they're not kopping more flak for it.
How, pray tell, is it possible to state back in September that the stand would have been open for business had it not been for the missing seats and then STILL fail to be open in November even though the seats have long since arrived?! Stuff this 'revised schedule' p***. This is a shambles of a project that one can only conclude they're making up as they go along.
23-10-2017, 10:14 PM
I'm still waiting on the media to ask - WHERE'S THE GLASS CURTAIN ???
23-10-2017, 11:43 PM
He's late!
No he’s not. He’s just delayed
My understanding is he’s taking advantage of a contingency :agree:
24-10-2017, 12:19 AM
Covered already - it’s obviously just temporarily undrawn, tucked in by the side of the Roseburn. When it’s time for the official launch the glass curtain will be drawn, to show it off to its full effect.
The letters on the stand will expand to five times the size, thus making it look a bit more like the artist’s impression, rather than a shoddy cost-cutting measure.
If I wasn’t seething with wounded cringe I would admit to my jealousy.
24-10-2017, 07:19 AM
I love the attempt to pass this off with a breezy 'I can now confirm...' as though we're supposed to believe this delay was pretty much what they expected.
Be in no doubt, they were desperate to get this thing over the line and today's all too transparent spin is pitiful. They've botched this big time and I'm surprised they're not kopping more flak for it.
How, pray tell, is it possible to state back in September that the stand would have been open for business had it not been for the missing seats and then STILL fail to be open in November even though the seats have long since arrived?! Stuff this 'revised schedule' p***. This is a shambles of a project that one can only conclude they're making up as they go along.
Even when it is "open for business" it will look horrifically unfinished. They previously stated that the conferencing and hospitality stuff wonbt be open until next year. Which begs the question - WTF have they been working on ????
All good fun for us though.
Even when it is "open for business" it will look horrifically unfinished. They previously stated that the conferencing and hospitality stuff wonbt be open until next year. Which begs the question - WTF have they been working on ????
All good fun for us though.
It could have and should have been finished by now but they have been prioritising since the seat debacle.
It all comes down to cash and it’s clear there is a severe lack of it with the current state of it all!
What date did they actually start the build?? February springs to mind!
8 months so far if that’s the case
24-10-2017, 07:44 AM
The story about them playing Killie is the 15th or 16th story on the BBC Sport Scotland site - its not even deemed as important as Rogers empathising with Pedro.
Hearts = media darlings
24-10-2017, 07:47 AM
Shambles of a club. Hearts fans with free time are fitting the seats. Two childhood friends of mine (brothers) are both participating.
24-10-2017, 07:52 AM
Shambles of a club. Hearts fans with free time are fitting the seats. Two childhood friends of mine (brothers) are both participating.
No way. Really?
24-10-2017, 07:53 AM
My understanding is he’s taking advantage of a contingency :agree:Sounds pretty gullible if he really believed what the maroon balloons were telling the drones last time around, so I reckon he's just bought that many owls that he's having to take a break from here so he can spend some time with them.
24-10-2017, 07:53 AM
Normal practice on every multi million pound build.
24-10-2017, 07:56 AM
and not getting paid?
24-10-2017, 07:59 AM
I posted a few weeks ago, after walking past, that it was never going to be ready for the Kilmarnock game.
Anyone strolling past in the street could see that was the case, I wouldn't bet against it being delayed again. A guy from my work was in the other day and said there are still large pools of standing water in the concourses and that, as of last week, there were very few seats in. They seem to be releasing pictures of the same block of seats from various angles to make it look further forward than it is.
Total shambles. They should have been made to play in front of 3 stands and if they sold STs for seats they don't have then that should have been their problem.
24-10-2017, 08:01 AM
Normal practice on every multi million pound build.
:agree: They're going to be peeling their own potatoes and cutting them into strips when the worlds first chips go on sale as well. Mrs Budge just hasn't told them yet.
24-10-2017, 08:07 AM
No way. Really?
Really. Since around a week past Saturday, posted photographs of themselves on Facebook. I was a little taken aback as one is a fabrication engineer and the other works for a distribution company.
24-10-2017, 08:08 AM
Really. Since around a week past Saturday, posted photographs of themselves on Facebook. I was a little taken aback as one is a fabrication engineer and the other works for a distribution company.
That is just bizarre. Why would that be required: are they over budget?
24-10-2017, 08:08 AM
and not getting paid?
Don't know mate.
Firestarter
24-10-2017, 08:13 AM
Don't know mate.
Certificate by Xmas.
24-10-2017, 08:40 AM
And are they simply allowed to work on site as general labourers? I guess it's maybe not that challenging to slot a plastic seat on to a metal bar, but I'd have thought that everyone working on a construction site would have to conform to some sort of health and safety stipulations specific to the building trade. I can see fans being invited to help out with something like picking up litter from the stands after a game, but this seems bizarre.
Mainstandman
24-10-2017, 09:13 AM
Surely they're not insured for that as not a contractor
24-10-2017, 09:14 AM
Of course they'd have to get a H&S induction, as you should on any site.
The Fb photo was worded with " Fitting the seats" and shows them doing exactly that.
I've no inclination to think it was anything other than that.
LeithSqualk
24-10-2017, 09:19 AM
Few of my Jambo pals claim they aren’t that bothered about the delay. What seems to piss them off is that they have been blatantly lied too so they got the maximum income from season ticket sales. They are now going to question everything the cheats and liars come out with.
24-10-2017, 09:25 AM
Of course they'd have to get a H&S induction, as you should on any site.
The Fb photo was worded with " Fitting the seats" and shows them doing exactly that.
I've no inclination to think it was anything other than that.
Fans fitting the seats. Let's hope they do a proper job and the seats don't fall to bits the first time our Jambo friends sit on them :lolyam:
Edinburgh Green
24-10-2017, 09:50 AM
That is just bizarre. Why would that be required: are they over budget?
I was told weeks ago and posted on here that the seats weren’t being delivered until October 27th and that they were looking for all operatives on site whether it be brickies, sparks, painters etc to help insta them. When I seen that the seats had arrived a few weeks back I thought this might have been duff info, however as they seem to have only installed a small section of seats, this now makes sense.
So more lies from Queen Ann as she would have known that there was never a hope in hell it was goin to be ready for the Killie game.
24-10-2017, 10:00 AM
Few of my Jambo pals claim they aren’t that bothered about the delay. What seems to piss them off is that they have been blatantly lied too so they got the maximum income from season ticket sales. They are now going to question everything the cheats and liars come out with.
Sure. I can only imagine just how tough those questions are going to be:
"Dear Leader, is there anything else you would like to say at this time to your grateful and loyal followers?"
"Aye. The hollow coo isnae full yet. Get it sorted."
"Oh yes, dear Leader. Thank you." *doffs cap*
24-10-2017, 10:27 AM
Sure. I can only imagine just how tough those questions are going to be:
"Dear Leader, is there anything else you would like to say at this time to your grateful and loyal followers?"
"Aye. The hollow coo isnae full yet. Get it sorted."
"Oh yes, dear Leader. Thank you." *doffs cap*
As inflation is on the rise and an interest rate hike is likely would you now like to charge us more than 6.5% for the cost of building the one stand that is increasing the value of your asset?
Plums
24-10-2017, 12:02 PM
How much is the auld trout charging these numpties to fit the seats?
24-10-2017, 12:15 PM
They're getting on fine fitting the seats, it's fitting in the seats that might be a problem.
24-10-2017, 12:18 PM
As of saturday
24-10-2017, 12:19 PM
As of saturay
Why is it taking so long to fit them?
24-10-2017, 12:21 PM
Couldn't get the right shade of pink
24-10-2017, 12:24 PM
Your guess us as good as minne. If you have volunteers doing it with little or no experience as to what they are doing it’s bound to drag a bit.
Maybe they are paying and receiving the seats in smaller batches as cash runs out.
They seem to be installing the. Maroon seats and then taking the ones that need to be coloured fir the badges back out( or painting them as they go along). All very strange.
24-10-2017, 12:45 PM
And are they simply allowed to work on site as general labourers? I guess it's maybe not that challenging to slot a plastic seat on to a metal bar, but I'd have thought that everyone working on a construction site would have to conform to some sort of health and safety stipulations specific to the building trade. I can see fans being invited to help out with something like picking up litter from the stands after a game, but this seems bizarre.
Im pretty sure if you're working on an active building site you need a CIS certificate or the modern equivalent, but then again when have they ever followed the rules?
24-10-2017, 01:07 PM
Somebody posted earlier that they don't actually have them all yet, with more due to arrive at the end of this week.
Wonder what sort of gloss the alleged ITKers on kickback are painting on this latest hitch.
24-10-2017, 01:14 PM
The bolts for the seats are the same type as they have in the necks so every time a seat gets fitted some Yak joker steals the bolts.........
24-10-2017, 01:26 PM
They're getting on fine fitting the seats, it's fitting in the seats that might be a problem.
Apollogies to Sir Tom but..
You can't get cheaper than a yam seat fitter, they're the mugs to screw! :greengrin
24-10-2017, 01:28 PM
I'm sure they could get them closer together than that.
https://www.facebook.com/100007854405184/videos/1958358264435968/
24-10-2017, 01:33 PM
Why is it taking so long to fit them?Real tradesmen want paid?
Eaststandee
24-10-2017, 01:42 PM
Can we get "Delaydium" in the dictionary. "When a stadium is ready, but isn't."
24-10-2017, 01:57 PM
Somebody posted earlier that they don't actually have them all yet, with more due to arrive at the end of this week.
Wonder what sort of gloss the alleged ITKers on kickback are painting on this latest hitch.
The best bit about the seats is that if you look closely, the crests going in stop about half way. This is apparently because they can't find the relevant seats, so are just chucking them in.
24-10-2017, 01:58 PM
Counted 7 bodies in that - one of them just standing doing nowt, not exactly a hive of industry !
They must be 'Emptying the coo' on a daily basis to afford 7 bodies 'Cash-in-hand' !
24-10-2017, 02:00 PM
What do you get when you can't just chuck the tradesmans bill on a creditors list instead of paying it?
A delaydium.
24-10-2017, 03:21 PM
God they're not doing those awful jaggy badge efforts are they.
Like drawing with an etchasketch
24-10-2017, 03:33 PM
Nice one FF I thought the seating would be finished by this week. I'm intrigued as to what the other hold up are, I know there was mention of testing and no doubt certification of these tests hopefully it all goes smoothly.
Erm...
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/22728845_10208437043237414_2087050956901145299_n.j pg.addc387e8a2cae9ab7b124124a5aaad1.jpg
24-10-2017, 03:44 PM
What do you get when you can't just chuck the tradesmans bill on a creditors list instead of paying it?
A delaydium.
Deriv: Delay/diy/yam
24-10-2017, 03:49 PM
Deriv: Delay/diy/yam☺
Eaststandee
24-10-2017, 03:52 PM
Deriv: Delay/diy/yam
24-10-2017, 04:01 PM
My guess would be because the rest haven’t arrived yet. Or paid for.
24-10-2017, 04:11 PM
Counted 7 bodies in that - one of them just standing doing nowt, not exactly a hive of industry !
They must be 'Emptying the coo' on a daily basis to afford 7 bodies 'Cash-in-hand' !
That would be quite satisfying if you're a Hibby on the workforce, sitting having a cuppa and reading the papers while those hapless Jambos are having sponsored cake bakes to pay your wages :agree:
That's assuming you'll get your wages of course, they do have form... :embarrass
My guess would be because the rest haven’t arrived yet. Or paid for.
The later would be my guess. Once they have played Sevco they’ll have a few pennies for the coo so the next batch of seats can be ordered.
It looks ****ter with the seats in. O and the look quite narrow!!
24-10-2017, 04:17 PM
Erm...
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/22728845_10208437043237414_2087050956901145299_n.j pg.addc387e8a2cae9ab7b124124a5aaad1.jpg
Why is there a big gap between the seats and the wall on the left?
24-10-2017, 04:28 PM
And they couldn't possibly have run out of the steel deck for the top left... I wonder if they've also forgot the comfy seats for the corporate bit. Genuinely wouldn't surprise me now! :D
24-10-2017, 04:28 PM
Highly appropriate as there's plenty fabrications being engineered down Tynecastle way.
24-10-2017, 04:30 PM
They haven't riveted the metal decking to the steelwork yet. Once that is done they can get Stoneyburn Hibs pals to fit the rails then screw the seats in to position. I'm sure they both have the relevant CSCS cards for the specific works they are undertaking.
24-10-2017, 04:55 PM
That seems to be the elephant in the room. They're all going on about trees, monobloc, aluminium trims, etc., but they're oblivious to one end of their stand being missing.
24-10-2017, 05:17 PM
That seems to be the elephant in the room. They're all going on about trees, monobloc, aluminium trims, etc., but they're oblivious to one end of their stand being missing.
Rubbish, they're just waiting for the arrival of the seats!
I hope they never nicked any of our seats!
hibeesjoe
24-10-2017, 09:28 PM
Can't afford there own seats so I doubt they will be able to afford to replace the ones in the south which looked broken at the final whistle.
24-10-2017, 09:31 PM
Erm...
Have they run out of money for the bit at the end? Or to let crane etc out?
The Loser Dome.
24-10-2017, 09:40 PM
Only if they put them in sideways
24-10-2017, 09:41 PM
24-10-2017, 09:44 PM
Run out of pop rivets and sticky tape
Alan62
25-10-2017, 11:14 AM
Can anyone confirm if the rumour about them ordering the wrong sized turnstiles is true?
25-10-2017, 11:15 AM
From Ann Budge's statement on Monday:
"To be in a top six position, having played all 10 league games away from Tynecastle, is a terrific achievement, helped in no small measure by the superb travelling support and indeed by the wonderful turnout at BT Murrayfield. Please keep it up. We will be home soon!"
Better revise that bit about being in the top six Ann.
25-10-2017, 11:24 AM
Can anyone confirm if the rumour about them ordering the wrong sized turnstiles is true?
They'll be looking for turnstiles akin to an airline hand baggage size check - ie. if you don't fit through the turnstile then there's no chance you'll fit in your seat.
25-10-2017, 11:28 AM
They'll be looking for turnstiles akin to an airline hand baggage size check - ie. if you don't fit through the turnstile then there's no chance you'll fit in your seat.[emoji23]
25-10-2017, 11:41 AM
"To be in a top six position, having played all 10 league games away from Tynecastle, is a terrific achievement, helped in no small measure by the superb travelling support and indeed by the wonderful turnout at BT Murrayfield. Please keep it up. We will be home soon!"
She means the top six worst teams in the league.
25-10-2017, 11:45 AM
its not a problem.she'll just revise it the top 6 without Celtic.
25-10-2017, 12:04 PM
I thought the bit missing had to be left open to get the cranes out the stadium?
25-10-2017, 12:08 PM
I thought the bit missing had to be left open to get the cranes out the stadium?
But if they let the crane out before they've installed the final sections of tinfoil won't that cause a problem?
25-10-2017, 12:11 PM
Maybe the crane is going to be kept on up front?
Laugherty is hopeless and the crane is the right height for an era of Levein hoofball. Similar mobility to goncalves as well.
25-10-2017, 12:15 PM
Maybe the crane is going to be kept on up front?
Laugherty is hopeless and the crane is the right height for an era of Levein hoofball. Similar mobility to goncalves as well.
Maybe it's a training aid.
Swing a ball 18 feet in the air and if you can't head it your dropped.
25-10-2017, 12:20 PM
Maybe it's a training aid.
Swing a ball 18 feet in the air and if you can't head it your dropped.[emoji23]
OxoHibby
25-10-2017, 12:31 PM
The later would be my guess. Once they have played Sevco they’ll have a few pennies for the coo so the next batch of seats can be ordered.
It looks ****ter with the seats in. O and the look quite narrow!!
I thought the same it actually looks worse with some seats in. Must be something to do with the awful colour
Maybe they should get their players to fit some seats, its been a while since they put a shift in.
25-10-2017, 12:47 PM
Those cranes telescope in to nothing. No larger than a long van so I can't see that being the problem as there will be emergency access maintained at that corner.
Genuinely starting to think this will be the next big story coming out... it just keeps giving, this stand.
25-10-2017, 12:55 PM
.......and the superb travelling support.
25-10-2017, 12:57 PM
The kog stand, Keeps On Giving at every turn!
25-10-2017, 01:24 PM
Because there's a big gap between 'Reality' and their 'finances' !
What must it like to be a Yam right now ?? - 8 derbies without a win, keech team, carbuncle of a new-stand (deep down they know it !), not having the money for the carbuncle of a new-stand YET getting further and further into debt trying to pay for the carbuncle of a new-stand ???!!!. They must absolutely loathe and despise the 'Level Playing-Field' !
25-10-2017, 01:32 PM
What must ie like to be a Yam right now ?? - 8 derbies without a win, keech team, carbuncle of a new-stand (deep down they know it !), not having the money for the carbuncle of a new-stand YET getting further and further into debt trying to pay for the carbuncle of a new-stand ???!!!. They must absolutely loathe and despise the 'Level Playing-Field' !Don't mention the shares.
I think you got away with it [emoji6]
Tiny tynie, so small they named it twice
What must ie like to be a Yam right now ?? - 8 derbies without a win, keech team, carbuncle of a new-stand (deep down they know it !), not having the money for the carbuncle of a new-stand YET getting further and further into debt trying to pay for the carbuncle of a new-stand ???!!!. They must absolutely loathe and despise the 'Level Playing-Field' !
£15 million and rising and let’s not forget this is not including the internal fittings and fixtures. I wonder what the final tally will be.
They’re only just out of admin a few years ago and are wracking up even more debt o plus 6% (or is that included).
Some think that once it is built they will repair this debt in 3 years. 🤣🤣
Living within their means is hurting them and the quality of their current squad clearly backs this up.
Most I know still think they have a superior squad and only need 2 players to have the best squad out with Celtic.
I couldn’t respond to that for laughing.
25-10-2017, 03:20 PM
£15 million and rising and let’s not forget this is not including the internal fittings and fixtures. I wonder what the final tally will be.
They’re only just out of admin a few years ago and are wracking up even more debt o plus 6% (or is that included).
Some think that once it is built they will repair this debt in 3 years. 🤣🤣
Living within their means is hurting them and the quality of their current squad clearly backs this up.
Most I know still think they have a superior squad and only need 2 players to have the best squad out with Celtic.
I couldn’t respond to that for laughing.
The bulk of their support are still living in the 'Other People's Money' years, they still see something in their team/players that no-one outside of them can see, despite the cold, hard facts of reality showing that they're seeing things ! The best advice I can give them is to seek out older Jambos (40/50+) and ask those guys what their team's standards/levels were like the last time (pre-Mercer) Hearts played on a 'Playing Within Our Means' basis ??. If they do that it'd be bad news for the FOH D/D's but it''s better than living in ignorance !!
25-10-2017, 04:30 PM
Real problem for them is not that they forgot to order the seats, they forgot to order any half decent players!!!
Sioux
25-10-2017, 05:18 PM
The street frontage is no longer similar to any office block type of construction. Oh no.
"It is the curve that, in my opinion, lifts our stand out of the ordinary bank/office block/school genre."
No other office type building has a curve, so it must be a stand. Aye ok.
25-10-2017, 05:40 PM
The street frontage is no longer similar to any office block type of construction. Oh no.
"It is the curve that, in my opinion, lifts our stand out of the ordinary bank/office block/school genre."
It's the curve that, in my opinion, confirms this as a particularly hideous form of non-architecture. It's the kind of thing that morons do 'to be different'. It has no purpose, it has no precedent, and it does not relate in any way to the building it's attached to or its wider context.
People are going to be laughing at this poorly conceived monstrosity for a long time.
Sioux
25-10-2017, 06:08 PM
It's the curve that, in my opinion, confirms this as a particularly hideous form of non-architecture. It's the kind of thing that morons do 'to be different'. It has no purpose, it has no precedent, and it does not relate in any way to the building it's attached to or its wider context.
People are going to be laughing at this poorly conceived monstrosity for a long time.
How can some of these people be so goddam submissive? If Hertz do anything at all, it's going to the best and biggest whatever. Take their plaza as an example. No one else has a plaza, therefore better and bigger.
They've got a badge on their stand. They've got the stadium name on the frontage. Totally out of left field those are! As if it's the only sports stadium on planet earth that has those. They've got trees - wait until they find out they are wee trees!!
They totally ignore the actuality of the building. It looks effen crap.
Crazyhorse
25-10-2017, 06:58 PM
But if they let the crane out before they've installed the final sections of tinfoil won't that cause a problem?
That crane will be going nowhere. It counts as an extra seat...
25-10-2017, 07:22 PM
The curve is probably the new stands best feature, i mean it is a bog standard glass fronted monstrosity, with no view of anything especially the pitch.
I'd be trying to find something positive about the thing too, if i was one of them.
Great curve Hearts. :top marks
Mainstandman
25-10-2017, 07:48 PM
Once the dugout cover goes in you'll. struggle to over it in that first row or have any leg room
25-10-2017, 08:49 PM
20,165 at ER last night. They will never ever have that many fans at Tynecastle :na na::cb
25-10-2017, 09:08 PM
No way. Really?
Yam logic. They are great at removing them so the opposite must also be true
It does !!! Maybe it lifts The Castle View suite / chip shop.. Like that one in princess st gardens.. Eating your pies a hundred feet above the School..
They could also sell bungee Jumps !!! we are falling behind here folks.. :wink:
25-10-2017, 09:29 PM
It does !!! Maybe it lifts The Castle View suite / chip shop.. Like that one in princess st gardens.. Eating your pies a hundred feet above the School..
They could also sell bungee Jumps !!! we are falling behind here folks.. :wink:
There would be to many of them just throwing themselves off! Especially on nights like last night!!
25-10-2017, 10:07 PM
There would be to many of them just throwing themselves off! Especially on nights like last night!!
The average Hearts fan would be unharmed if he landed on his head.
26-10-2017, 05:00 AM
I think its staying to help George Foulkes into his seat on match days......
26-10-2017, 06:50 AM
Levein says do not read to much into latest parts to arrive at Tynecastle:
http://www.aiyoh.com.my/media/catalog/product/cache/2/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/r/u/rugby_20post.jpg
monarch
26-10-2017, 10:06 AM
Gorgie's answer to Leith's banana flats.
26-10-2017, 10:10 AM
Gorgie's answer to Leith's banana flats.
You mean this A listed piece of modern architecture !
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-38826344
McSwanky
26-10-2017, 10:16 AM
You mean this A listed piece of modern architecture !
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-38826344
To be fair, that is some curve. A curve the maroon hordes can only dream of. Curves are where it's at.
26-10-2017, 10:46 AM
http://www.spox.com/de/sport/fussball/zweiteliga/1105/Bilder/hertha-fans1-514.jpg
This is the east terrace at the Olympiastadion Berlin, better known as the Ostkurve.
These guys go from about half an hour before KO until half an hour after FT and don't stop.
Singing, chanting, bouncing wall of noise.
There are more than 20,000 in there and I think we can say fairly confidently that they LOVE their football team.
THIS, ladies and gentlemen, is a CURVE.
26-10-2017, 10:56 AM
Aye, nobody's designed an office with a curve right enough. Modern day or centuries old (just look at some of the streets in Edinburgh's New Town), it's hardly some sort of unique yam innovation. What would be more impressive would be if the bit which faces the pitch was curved.
26-10-2017, 11:12 AM
"Jongreh"?
WOOOOOOOO! :faf:
Of course, the first time I saw photos of the completed Easter Road from a distance, I didn't think it was a football stadium.
I was convinced it must be a bank. Or an office block. Or a school.
I just couldn't work out what the rectangle of grass in the middle was for.
26-10-2017, 11:15 AM
The curve does make all the difference though...:rolleyes:
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/IMG_20171026_114511.thumb.jpg.b4defc4fc1b403f296c5 07e2d4c52a48.jpg
26-10-2017, 11:17 AM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/IMG_20171026_114511.thumb.jpg.b4defc4fc1b403f296c5 07e2d4c52a48.jpg
There's a curve? Where? You sure they haven't just built it wrong?
26-10-2017, 11:22 AM
There's a curve? Where? You sure they haven't just built it wrong?
Of course there is - look...
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/P1010670.thumb.JPG.a36f81b7f49fd77b978a06e0c059289 4.JPG
... it's as curvy as a big bland curvy thing.
We might slag that curve off but it has the largest (i.e. biggest) arc of any curve on any glass curtain wall in Scottish Football - so slagging it just comes over as envy.
26-10-2017, 11:23 AM
we might slag that curve off but it has the largest (i.e. biggest) arc of any curve on any glass curtain wall in scottish football - so slagging it just comes over as envy.
Petrie!!!!
McSwanky
26-10-2017, 11:26 AM
We might slag that curve off but it has the largest (i.e. biggest) arc of any curve on any glass curtain wall in Scottish Football - so slagging it just comes over as envy.Hold on, there's a glass curtain?
Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
26-10-2017, 11:29 AM
Of course there is - look...
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/P1010670.thumb.JPG.a36f81b7f49fd77b978a06e0c059289 4.JPG
... it's as curvy as a big bland curvy thing.
That's no a curve - they've just built it squint.
On another topic - is that the white van that's been delivering the seats?
Is that why they were late? Off the back of a lorry, surplus from West Ham?
26-10-2017, 11:29 AM
The crane will stay there I'm told, its to retrieve the balls from the roof of the stand due to leveins hoofball tactics. :cb
Hold on, there's a glass curtain?
I haven't seen it but it was in the papers so there must be one, no way would any Hearts hierarchy ever try and fool the "simple fans".
26-10-2017, 11:33 AM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSp4D2SNrUcHitIyVQvucKQd2FJWTYoK bdFoU6svo09WfDaC-aR4Q
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSy7eofCFnA1dHLvayb0kCH53Saq9Vg_ BYE17ysXkQXUrE8ezGsGg
The 'hard-to-spot unless you're standing in the right place' curve they've ended up with is certainly a far cry from Vlad's grand vision above, which was going to feature curves inside AND out! Now that would have been quite impressive. Shame they couldn't afford it yet have still ended up spending £14 million (or more?) on a still unfinished scaled-down version.
26-10-2017, 11:35 AM
We might slag that curve off but it has the largest (i.e. biggest) arc of any curve on any glass curtain wall in Scottish Football - so slagging it just comes over as envy.
Now mathematically speaking, one definition of a straight line is that it is 'the arc of a circle whose radius is infinity'.
Since the Jambos are convinced that HoMFC 'is the Greatest Football Club in the Universe Known and Unknown', is that what they're doing? They've finally gone where no man has gone before, and reached out to Infinity?
Come on - they've built it squint and now they're claiming they meant it.
26-10-2017, 11:37 AM
Hold on, there's a glass curtain?
So we're supposed to believe. It may look like a standard set of office windows to you and I, but with maroon-tinted glasses on it looks just like the orginal plan:
http://www.edinburgharchitecture.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/new-hearts-main-stand-tynecastle-edinburgh-building-x160816.jpg
26-10-2017, 11:44 AM
Now mathematically speaking, one definition of a straight line is that it is 'the arc of a circle whose radius is infinity'.
Since the Jambos are convinced that HoMFC 'is the Greatest Football Club in the Universe Known and Unknown', is that what they're doing? They've finally gone where no man has gone before, and reached out to Infinity?
Come on - they've built it squint and now they're claiming they meant it.
To infinity ..... and beyond
It is the big team after all.
CropleyisGod
26-10-2017, 12:15 PM
So we're supposed to believe. It may look like a standard set of office windows to you and I, but with maroon-tinted glasses on it looks just like the orginal plan:
http://www.edinburgharchitecture.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/new-hearts-main-stand-tynecastle-edinburgh-building-x160816.jpg
Where do they get the pink trees from? Now that's cool. Presumably green trees were a complete no-no?
26-10-2017, 12:19 PM
Where do they get the pink trees from? Now that's cool. Presumably green trees were a complete no-no?
It is permanently Autumn in Gorgieland. Those sun filled memories of Summer are long gone, never to be seen again.
26-10-2017, 12:22 PM
It is permanently Autumn on Gorgieland. Those sun filled memories of Summer are long gone, never to be seen again.
They should have snow, it might be finished by then!
26-10-2017, 12:26 PM
CL basically admitting the stand has left them skint.....
http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/41762384
26-10-2017, 12:32 PM
CL basically admitting the stand has left them skint.....
http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/41762384
BBC once again referring to a £12m spend despite carrying an interview with Ann Budge as far back as July when she admitted it was at least £2 million more than that...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40590063
Given how far behind they are you have to imagine we're looking at an all-in bill of between £15m and £20m??
26-10-2017, 12:36 PM
How much did the new East at ER cost?
26-10-2017, 12:38 PM
Wait till you see the curve on the curly fries. :aok:
26-10-2017, 12:39 PM
Wait till you see the curve on the curly fries. :aok:
Will they still have infinity chips tho?
26-10-2017, 12:39 PM
And the road? With the cars speeding by? And the box hedge all neatly trimmed - that'll last right up to the first OF game, I'd guess. And the nice wee pedestrian bit with the trees and the seats and everything?
But most unrealistic of all - where do those people come from? They're walking upright, knuckles well off the ground. None of them are morbidly obese, either. It looks like Happytime in Happytown. Where are the jakey-drinkers and meth-heads?
The guy who produced that artist's impression DID realise they're building it in Gorgie? Gargoyle-and-Gremlin-Land?
Edinburgh Green
26-10-2017, 12:40 PM
£6-7m I think.
-Jonesy-
26-10-2017, 12:41 PM
And the road? With the cars speeding by? And the box hedge all neatly trimmed - that'll last right up to the first OF game, I'd guess. And the nice wee pedestrian bit with the trees and the seats and everything?
But most unrealistic of all - where do those people come from? They're walking upright, knuckles well off the ground. None of them are morbidly obese, either. It looks like Happytime in Happytown. Where are the jakey-drinkers and meth-heads?
The guy who produced that artist's impression DID realise they're building it in Gorgie? Gargoyle-and-Gremlin-Land?
Shouldn't be able to see the pavement for dug keek and foil wraps either
26-10-2017, 12:46 PM
£6-7m I think.
I'm sure the West cost 6/7m........ did the East not come in around 3m?
I could be well off the mark, but that's the figures in my head...:cb
26-10-2017, 12:53 PM
I'm sure the West cost 6/7m........ did the East not come in around 3m?
I could be well off the mark, but that's the figures in my head...:cb
3 to 3.5 million was my recollection.
Seems a bargain now.
Early doors it seemed to be a waste of money if viewed solely through a financial perspective but now virtually every game played is paying back some of that initial investment.
I'm sure the new East put the capacity up from 17,700 to 20,250.
26-10-2017, 12:57 PM
What's wrong with that? Its perfectly fine and certainly competes well with what you will see at any Scottish football ground and in all honesty is better than most. Only the Yams with their almost instinctive need to guild the Lilly could have made the end result of what is actually perfectly good into a let down. Its the same with the 'magnificent' pitch facing part of the stand ... its not 'magnificent' what it is is perfectly acceptable given the restraints in space, budget and engineering limitations they faced.
They have a brand new office building housing their corporate and administration facilities ..... that's fine.
They have a one tier stand with no pitch facing hospitality facilities, which if they were honest would not have been their preferred option, but its still far better than what they had, and folk in the posh bits can still leave their seats and live it up when the game isn't actually in progress ... so who could complain about that?
The only thing that has let down this perfectly acceptable project is Hearts themselves ... by making it out to be far more grandiose than it has turned out to be. By constantly moving the completion deadline from the ones they have quoted, instead of just starting off with a realistic one, and by screwing up the logistics of it.
Just shutting up and getting on with it is the best approach to these things .... a lesson the Yams are learning the hard way.
26-10-2017, 01:31 PM
Seems a bargain now.
Early doors it seemed to be a waste of money if viewed solely through a financial perspective but now virtually every game played is paying back some of that initial investment.
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?172756-Capacity-of-Easter-Road-Stands-**Updated-figures**&p=2323029&viewfull=1#post2323029
17400 and it's now quoted at 20421.
Took us a while but we definitely need the size now. :agree:
26-10-2017, 01:35 PM
BBC once again referring to a £12m spend despite carrying an interview with Ann Budge as far back as July when she admitted it was at least £2 million more than that...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40590063
Given how far behind they are you have to imagine we're looking at an all-in bill of between £15m and £20m??
Sorry but that interview's an old one - 12 July
Sorry if this is a daft question but is their glass-curtain still to be added or have they just quietly dropped it ?? 1
26-10-2017, 01:38 PM
Sorry if this is a daft question but is their glass-curtain still to be added or have they just quietly dropped it ?? 1
You mean you can't see it? :confused:
26-10-2017, 02:57 PM
You mean you can't see it? :confused:
You'd have heard it if they'd dropped it.
26-10-2017, 02:59 PM
You cannae quietly drop a glass curtain, it’d make an awfy big smashing noise 😉
26-10-2017, 03:01 PM
You cannae quietly drop a glass curtain, it’d make an awfy big smashing noise 😉
Yeah, if it was a curtain! Rather than little squares of glass!
26-10-2017, 03:07 PM
What can I do to jazz up my church leaflet.... I know I'll stick the text in a curve. This is the architectural equivalent. It's like they've just discovered 'word art' and think it's the best thing ever.
26-10-2017, 03:10 PM
What can I do to jazz up my church leaflet.... I know I'll stick the text in a curve. This is the architectural equivalent. It's like they've just discovered 'word art' and think it's the best thing ever.
The "comic sans" stand.
26-10-2017, 03:12 PM
Seems a bargain now.
Yep a master stroke by the club aided by steel being at an all time low and a recession- so builders were available and cheap.
26-10-2017, 03:17 PM
Yep a master stroke by the club aided by steel being at an all time low and a recession- so builders were available and cheap.
Rod played a blinder there and we definitely see the alternative in action with the eighth wonder of the world at gorgie.
They are also suffering with the price and availability of plastic seemingly being high and scarce - nae seats and the price of owls seems to be going through the roof.
speedy_gonzales
26-10-2017, 03:49 PM
nae seats and the price of owls seems to be going through the roof.
This might be news to non-twitchers but owls never go cheep!
26-10-2017, 03:55 PM
Yes, the July interview with Budge is old but what I meant was that in today's BBC interview with Levein they refer to the £12m stand when it's clearly stated in that July report that the overspend has already reached the £14m mark. As I said, if it was already £2m over budget in July what must it be costing them by now?
wearehibernian
26-10-2017, 04:01 PM
Was driving my mum past there this afternoon and took a short detour to take a look. Her comment summed it up when I asked, 'what do you reckon compared to Easter Road?'. She replied, 'Easter Road has class, but this looks like a 1970s office block'. I have to add that she is not a football fan so this was a honest observation without coercion...
HFCdeb
26-10-2017, 04:16 PM
The "comic sans" stand.
Brilliant 😂
Brummie_Hibs
26-10-2017, 04:44 PM
The "comic sans" stand.
'Sans' means 'without' .
Believe me, that stand is not lacking in comedy!
The Pointer
26-10-2017, 05:07 PM
It looks like the Council provided the lighting columns.
The Pointer
26-10-2017, 05:32 PM
I'm looking forward to Grand Designs next year when Kevin McLoud sits down with AB and asks her how the budget went.
"Now Ann, you said you were going to do it for around £9 million. How much did you actually spend?"
"Well Kevin, what with the cost of pre-cast units, importing nice seats from China and paying off Cathy, we had to cut back on the hospitality suites, curtain walling, curved roof, lighting, showers, paving, signing, TV studio and all the nice wee individual touches like, we've probably spent about £18 million."
26-10-2017, 05:46 PM
The Basilica Familia has gone up quicker 😁
26-10-2017, 05:51 PM
This might be news to non-twitchers but owls never go cheep!
Hur hur. :thumbsup:
26-10-2017, 05:55 PM
Hur hur. :thumbsup:
What a hoot
26-10-2017, 06:05 PM
Frankfurt Airport looks in dire need of a refurb there.
26-10-2017, 06:14 PM
Seems a bargain now.
That was the figure I had in mind.
Hibs built the East Stand at the the right time when the contractors were struggling for work.
It probably saved Hibs a fortune on maintenance costs on the crumbling East Terrace and rusting cover.
26-10-2017, 06:21 PM
I think it's a fair representation of the club and its fans... dull, miserable and not what they crack themselves up to be
btw, I hope they light up the badge from behind... it's going to look like a clown nose... which is fitting
26-10-2017, 06:27 PM
Ok , so it don't matter if its £14 or £15 million and there is a couple of million underspend because they don't intend to fit out the lounges immediately, but where is all the cash coming from ???
I know they had some reserves , £1.5 million from rich sponsors , FoH are contributing monthly , but there has to be a funding gap.
There are no new securities taken out on the stadium , so who would be mug enough to put their cash, hard earned or otherwise, into that clusterf*** of a club. :confused:
26-10-2017, 06:32 PM
What's wrong with that? Its perfectly fine and certainly competes well with what you will see at any Scottish football ground and in all honesty is better than most. Only the Yams with their almost instinctive need to guild the Lilly could have made the end result of what is actually perfectly good into a let down. Its the same with the 'magnificent' pitch facing part of the stand ... its not 'magnificent' what it is is perfectly acceptable given the restraints in space, budget and engineering limitations they faced.
They have a brand new office building housing their corporate and administration facilities ..... that's fine.
They have a one tier stand with no pitch facing hospitality facilities, which if they were honest would not have been their preferred option, but its still far better than what they had, and folk in the posh bits can still leave their seats and live it up when the game isn't actually in progress ... so who could complain about that?
The only thing that has let down this perfectly acceptable project is Hearts themselves ... by making it out to be far more grandiose than it has turned out to be. By constantly moving the completion deadline from the ones they have quoted, instead of just starting off with a realistic one, and by screwing up the logistics of it.
Just shutting up and getting on with it is the best approach to these things .... a lesson the Yams are learning the hard way.
Good post - very accurate.
TrinityHibs
26-10-2017, 07:16 PM
Ok , so it don't matter if its £14 or £15 million and there is a couple of million underspend because they don't intend to fit out the lounges immediately, but where is all the cash coming from ???
I know they had some reserves , £1.5 million from rich sponsors , FoH are contributing monthly , but there has to be a funding gap.
There are no new securities taken out on the stadium , so who would be mug enough to put their cash, hard earned or otherwise, into that clusterf*** of a club. :confused:
Mibbies somebody who is looking for a 6% return on their cash:dunno:
26-10-2017, 07:23 PM
On their corresponding thread,six hours ago"mickey1874" posted 4 photos.........the last one is the first time I've ever seen a building "lurk"
26-10-2017, 07:38 PM
The site foreman in that photo is more animated than Levein was on Tuesday night 😉
26-10-2017, 08:08 PM
Mibbies somebody who is looking for a 6% return on their cash:dunno:
6.2%, surely?
26-10-2017, 08:09 PM
Support column right outside the main entrance, bet a few dafties will get a sore one walking into that!
26-10-2017, 08:40 PM
It looks like a dogs dinner.
Proof will come when the new stand opens and they start using it, but given how it's gone so far it looks like it could be a real shambles.
We shall see.
Firestarter
26-10-2017, 08:51 PM
Looks no bad from the outside, nothing over the top and worth all the hype they've given it. Inside it will resemble our East. It still won't be a patch on our stadium because the other three stands are utter middens.
26-10-2017, 09:04 PM
official capacity confirmed yet?
26-10-2017, 09:06 PM
official capacity confirmed yet?Right after the share certificates start landing on the doormat.
26-10-2017, 09:15 PM
official capacity confirmed yet?
No-one will ever know but their stadium announcer will always announce another sell out
26-10-2017, 09:19 PM
I wonder what Tiny looks like from the Castle. Easter Road looks a picture from Holyrood Park especially when the lights are on like tonight
https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4468/26176629569_ab8e541256_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/FT94Zt)810_4204-Pano-2 (https://flic.kr/p/FT94Zt) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/caughtinamber/), on Flickr
26-10-2017, 09:24 PM
At least they aren't putting those hideous heart crest designs on the seats. The other stands look awfull with it. Looks half decent from inside at least.
26-10-2017, 09:31 PM
At least they aren't putting those hideous heart crest designs on the seats. The other stands look awfull with it. Looks half decent from inside at least.
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/TynecastleTrussBadge.gif.5492bfd9052169518e4f1ed4b 0800d08.gif
26-10-2017, 09:35 PM
I wonder what Tiny looks like from the Castle. Easter Road looks a picture from Holyrood Park especially when the lights are on like tonight
https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4468/26176629569_ab8e541256_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/FT94Zt)810_4204-Pano-2 (https://flic.kr/p/FT94Zt) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/caughtinamber/), on Flickr
Majestic :thumbsup:
26-10-2017, 09:37 PM
Few clubs can build a spanking new stand that actually looks about 20 years old - bravo :clapper:
26-10-2017, 09:39 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/TynecastleTrussBadge.gif.5492bfd9052169518e4f1ed4b 0800d08.gifDear god
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Firestarter
26-10-2017, 09:56 PM
There's no way that **** off badge at the top is legit hahaha. The Shan badges on the seats are bad enough.
26-10-2017, 10:09 PM
There's no way that **** off badge at the top is legit hahaha. The Shan badges on the seats are bad enough.
I think it's been put there for comparison reasons which is rather silly as it's clear the design on the seats is modelled instead on the Space Raider (a corn based snack).
Quite apt when they are shoehorning as many seats as possible in a failed attempt to live up to their big team rep.
26-10-2017, 10:09 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2017_10/TynecastleTrussBadge.gif.5492bfd9052169518e4f1ed4b 0800d08.gif
I realise it’s photoshopped but still........:LOL::faf::faf:
The Pointer
26-10-2017, 10:39 PM
Support column right outside the main entrance, bet a few dafties will get a sore one walking into that!
Good grief, they couldn't even cantilever it! That beggars belief for a 'modern' building structure.
27-10-2017, 08:22 AM
What's remarkable about it is that they've somehow managed to make a new stand look old. Perhaps something to do with the awful purple seats, along with the grey concrete, sucking all the colour from the the place. It puts me in mind of some sort of Soviet bloc Cold War era stand.
27-10-2017, 08:34 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/key-fob-failure-meant-woman-s-body-was-left-unnoticed-for-months-1-4596653
Now thats a curve.
27-10-2017, 08:35 AM
What's remarkable about it is that they've somehow managed to make a new stand look old. Perhaps something to do with the awful purple seats, along with the grey concrete, sucking all the colour from the the place. It puts me in mind of some sort of Soviet bloc Cold War era stand.
Maybe it's in homage to Vlad and the built in the mid 1960's Lithuanian Brutalist Cheap'n'Nasty style?! :confused:
27-10-2017, 10:21 AM
Maybe it's in homage to Vlad and the built in the mid 1960's Lithuanian Brutalist Cheap'n'Nasty style?! :confused:
Yes, it has echoes of that. Gala Fairydean put up something of that ilk in 1964:
https://peterrmiles.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/march-2015-009.jpg
Here's your answer.
WRTC
27-10-2017, 11:41 AM
Yes, it has echoes of that. Gala Fairydean put up something of that ilk in 1964:
Stop being kind to the hertz :wink: The Fairydean stand has since been granted an "A" listing" by Historic Scotland.
27-10-2017, 12:39 PM
Penny's dropped on KickBack
"Looking at the original plans for the front section, you can see that a fair number of seats have been lost due to the configuration around the dugouts and tunnel. I think those changes will take the capacity below 20,000."
Crazyhorse
27-10-2017, 12:51 PM
"Looking at the original plans for the front section, you can see that a fair number of seats have been lost due to the configuration around the dugouts and tunnel. I think those changes will take the capacity below 20,000."
Yeah but living in denial is the default position down Gorgie way. Budgie, Potter, All is Barry, their BBC poodles etc. will continue to spout the 20,000 capacity myth. It shouldn't really matter it's going to be a decent stadium when they eventually finish it, but it will grate on them and eventually be used as another stick to beat poor old Ann with - level playing field, stadium smaller than ER = Yam nightmare.
Their reported attendances will be interesting.
MurrayfieldHibs
27-10-2017, 12:57 PM
199 pages and nearly 600,000 views.
When will this all end?????
Yeah but living in denial is the default position down Gorgie way. Budgie, Potter, All is Barry, their BBC poodles etc. will continue to spout the 20,000 capacity myth. It shouldn't really matter it's going to be a decent stadium when they eventually finish it, but it will grate on them and eventually be used as another stick to beat poor old Ann with - level playing field, stadium smaller than ER = Yam nightmare.
Their reported attendances will be interesting.
It will never be as high as Tuesday, Attendance: 20,165.
We should thank the jambos for their contribution.
27-10-2017, 01:36 PM
Oi ..... that stand was miles ahead of its time, I know for a fact that groups of architecture students from all over Europe come over to study it. Compared to what the Yams are building its still space age ... for example, you can see the pitch from the bar :greengrin
27-10-2017, 01:48 PM
You'd have heard it if they'd dropped it.
I thought I heard an almighty crash on Tuesday evening. Thought at first it was the glass curtain that was shattered, but can confirm it was only their bottle that crashed.
27-10-2017, 02:03 PM
Oi ..... that stand was miles ahead of its time, I know for a fact that groups of architecture students from all over Europe come over to study it. Compared to what the Yams are building its still space age ... for example, you can see the pitch from the bar :greengrin
Meadowbank modelled on it. So Jambos have a design that was eclipsed in the 60s!
EuanH78
27-10-2017, 02:17 PM
199 pages and nearly 600,000 views.
When will this all end?????
:greengrinMid February is my guess 🤣
Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk
27-10-2017, 02:52 PM
Mid February is my guess 🤣
I reckon it will be open for use in 4-5 weeks..get the seats in , make sure the basic services are working and get safety sign off for entrance and exit and that's it largely usable...All the nice to have stuff (like dressing rooms !! , hospitality etc will be end Q1 next year ....
It is really strange that they are the only club that have been allowed to Play at two stadiums in the same
Season (that I can recall ).
Penny's dropped on KickBack "Looking at the original plans for the front section, you can see that a fair number of seats have been lost due to the configuration around the dugouts and tunnel. I think those changes will take the capacity below 20,000."
Original capacity was 20,099.
This I am led to believe didn't take into consideration the restricted view seats behind the Police Control Room. I have tried to count the rows and seats and get around 160 seats.
So the capacity would be in the region of 19,939 approx of course)
Again a guesstimate... We take 100 seats away for dugouts etc we are looking at a revised capacity of around 19,800
You can however guarantee that they will count 'all' the seats regardless if they are in a position to be used or not.
So it's fair to say the capacity will bee 20,099 regardless of the true capacity
27-10-2017, 03:04 PM
There's no way they will announce the capacity as lower than Easter Road. We know what they're like: they would never allow it.
That's why they rarely mention it and when they do it's done very vaguely i.e. just over 20,000.
If it was more than ER it would getting rammed down everyone's throats.
WRTC
Original capacity was 20,099.
This I am led to believe didn't take into consideration the restricted view seats behind the Police Control Room. I have tried to count the rows and seats and get around 160 seats.
So the capacity would be in the region of 19,939 approx of course)
Again a guesstimate... We take 100 seats away for dugouts etc we are looking at a revised capacity of around 19,800
You can however guarantee that they will count 'all' the seats regardless if they are in a position to be used or not.
So it's fair to say the capacity will bee 20,099 regardless of the true capacity
I think slightly lower, plus once the Press/UnDignitaries/ECC Freeloaders have plonked their bums it'll mean less than 19,000 seats for sale on a match day.
You could be right but imagine the outrage when they announce the official capacity! 15 or so million for around 1400 extra seats.
That would be superb
27-10-2017, 03:50 PM
27-10-2017, 03:55 PM
You could be right but imagine the outrage when they announce the official capacity! 15 or so million for around 1400 extra seats.
That would be superbIt's not the extra seats that count. The additional income from hospitality etc. will allow them to pay up the stand and buy Budgie's shares within 2 years. I read it on kickback.
It's not the extra seats that count. The additional income from hospitality etc. will allow them to pay up the stand and buy Budgie's shares within 2 years. I read it on kickback.
Ah must be true if you read it on there. Real shame that they've got little or no chance of the internal fittings being completed anytime soon cos they are rooked. The game tomorrow will add a few rows of seats but not much more! Maybe Budgie is going to get a chip van and marquee erected outside the Megastand, right above the best monoblocked crest in the world and sell tickets to see it??
Edinburgh Green
27-10-2017, 04:39 PM
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/6291
Can’t wait to see the ‘interesting design’ dug outs
EuanH78
27-10-2017, 04:41 PM
I reckon it will be open for use in 4-5 weeks..get the seats in , make sure the basic services are working and get safety sign off for entrance and exit and that's it largely usable...All the nice to have stuff (like dressing rooms !! , hospitality etc will be end Q1 next year ....
It is really strange that they are the only club that have been allowed to Play at two stadiums in the same
Season (that I can recall ).I think that's probably about right, as long as there's still building (and the inevitable bodging) going on we can continue to laugh though right?
27-10-2017, 04:43 PM
Love a Budge statement...
Where to start...
27-10-2017, 04:43 PM
Modelled on a WW1 trench and foxhole. They really like their historical references.
ShadesLongThrow
27-10-2017, 04:50 PM
I'm particularly looking forward to seeing the "vomitories". Never has a description been so apt.:sick:
27-10-2017, 04:53 PM
That would be superb
So that works out at over 10K per seat! That’ll take a while to recoup.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
27-10-2017, 04:53 PM
Toilets have been formed. Say what you mean wummin!! The walls are built around wher the toilets will eventually be fitted.
27-10-2017, 04:54 PM
"vomitories" i knew the Jambos are bad but it seems they are spewing already ! what a typo to make !!! still no date of their first game though.
27-10-2017, 04:54 PM
Love a Budge statement...
Where to start...
They've got vomitories.
The rest of us have to make do with exits.
It’s no fair.
27-10-2017, 04:55 PM
So when is the 'magnificent, stunning, perfect' stand open Budgie?
27-10-2017, 04:58 PM
What is a vomitary?
Do hibs have them and if not can someone please get Petrie to explain why I’ve never heard of this word until now, After building 4 new stands in my lifetime we’ve had plenty opportunity to use such a word.
Furious.
27-10-2017, 05:02 PM
I read the part about the control box being scaled back. Even AFTER the work is completed, there WILL restricted view seats !! In a spanking new state-of-the-art stand, they will have restricted view seats!!!!!!
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
27-10-2017, 05:08 PM
Why does she say all 4 stands will be joined when they won’t be. The Roseburn and main stand won’t be.
The power issue sounds like it may be an issue..
These statements basically raise expectations for the yams - no wonder this thread is so long when they keep giving us material to rip the pish out of them.
SuperAllyMcleod
27-10-2017, 05:17 PM
Season (that I can recall ).
Really, Hibs have already played at 9 different stadiums this season! [emoji3]
Inverness played half a season in Aberdeen until their own home stadium was ready.
27-10-2017, 05:17 PM
What is a vomitary?
Do hibs have them and if not can someone please get Petrie to explain why I’ve never heard of this word until now, After building 4 new stands in my lifetime we’ve had plenty opportunity to use such a word.
Furious.
Its the bit linking the front of the stand (where you sit) and the back bit (where you buy your pie :greengrin) - you would walk through it twice a game unless you go for a pee / fag.
Why the daft auld boot feels the need to tell the simpletons that kind of stuff is beyond me.
27-10-2017, 05:19 PM
What is a vomitary?
Furious.
Let’s put this to bed. Every stand internal entry/exit point is a vomitary. I’m all for poking fun at our neighbours when it is justified but let’s not look foolish here.
27-10-2017, 05:20 PM
What is a vomitary?
Furious.
Yes , we have vomitaries too. They are the exits out of the stand seated areas to the concourses below.
Vomit is just Latin for exiting iirc.
Difference with the Yams is they are doing a lot more spewing these days. :greengrin
27-10-2017, 05:21 PM
What is a vomitary?
Furious.
It's not what you might think it is.
A vomitory (sp) is an exit-passage or exit-way from a public building, especially a large stadium.
The word derives from the Latin "vomitorium" meaning the same thing - you'll find them in the Colosseum, for example.
They were wide, gently-sloping passages, staircases and ramps by which the crowd could exit the stadium quickly and safely at the end of the show.
I imagine that since Hibs are well-known to be "The Wee Team" it was assumed that there would never be any occasion when our grossly inferior football ground (in no way fit to be mentioned in the same breath as the MegaJamboDrome) would ever require anything so pretentious or elaborate as a vomitorium to enable the pathetically tiny crowds it would accommodate to leave safely. Exits will do us just fine.
Witness the wide swathes of empty green seats in ER on Tuesday evening.
At least, the ones in the South Stand immediately after full time. :greengrin
27-10-2017, 05:24 PM
What is a vomitary?
Furious.
Hibs have loads of them. They're the pedestrian access tunnels to the stands.
27-10-2017, 05:28 PM
........where are these chips though, when will they be ready, that's surely what the Hearts fans need to know ?
I see she has avoided telling them about the vast overspend :cb
plhibs
27-10-2017, 05:29 PM
Just had a look over there and someone has started a thread saying they have the best crest/badge in World football, and the best song LOL.
27-10-2017, 05:31 PM
Just had a look over there and someone has started a thread saying they have the best crest/badge in World football, and the best song LOL.
They're called after the old city jail, for goodness' sake.
And the only song I heard from them on the telly on Tuesday evening was "Hullo, hullo, we are the Gorgie Boys ..." :confused:
tynehibs
27-10-2017, 05:34 PM
A self draining management system ? Is that what is normally referred to as a SEWER ?
27-10-2017, 05:37 PM
Holy ****. Who reads all that from start to end??
Load of waffle.
27-10-2017, 05:38 PM
Really, Hibs have already played at 9 different stadiums this season! [emoji3]
Inverness played half a season in Aberdeen until their own home stadium was ready.
The stadium was ready, but they were forced by the authorities to complete the half season they had started at Pittodrie, IIRC.
27-10-2017, 05:39 PM
Best creased badge maybe :agree::greengrin
27-10-2017, 05:43 PM
Can I just ask her maj if its a 'Plaza' or a 'Piazza', or is she just demonstrating her command of multiple languages? 'Square' would have been a little less pretentious and a little more Scottish