View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)
cocteautwin
18-06-2019, 02:58 AM
Whilst we are on the subject of large units that Budge and Levein have wasted the fans money on, might I also put forward this one for consideration:
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/48666101
I wonder if anyone is starting a Twitter thread tracking his flight back to Prague:
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/david-vanecek-hearts-tweet-live-15637220
:faf::faf::faf:
18-06-2019, 06:04 AM
Whilst we are on the subject of large units that Budge and Levein have wasted the fans money on, might I also put forward this one for consideration:
I wonder if anyone is starting a Twitter thread tracking his flight back to Prague:
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/david-vanecek-hearts-tweet-live-15637220
Brilliant.
Wonder who Dr Football is blaming for that signing?
18-06-2019, 06:46 AM
The funniest thing about it is we had to hear about 5 months worth of how great this guy was when they got him on a pre.
Literally weekly updates on him from the EEN with Barry stroking one over him, how he would do this and that, transform their season, if he had come in at the start the injury to Naismith and uche wouldn't matter as much etc etc
I had hearts family members telling me how great this guy was and creaming over some made up wiki goalscoring stats.
They never fail to disappoint, I'll give them that 😂
18-06-2019, 07:27 AM
:faf::faf::faf:Guy probably bought up his contract to get out as the basketball season is starting back home.
It's not his fault they thought he was a football player.
HFC93
18-06-2019, 07:37 AM
The funniest thing about it is we had to hear about 5 months worth of how great this guy was when they got him on a pre.
Literally weekly updates on him from the EEN with Barry stroking one over him, how he would do this and that, transform their season, if he had come in at the start the injury to Naismith and uche wouldn't matter as much etc etc
I had hearts family members telling me how great this guy was and creaming over some made up wiki goalscoring stats.
They love to hype a player. See Sean Clare as well.
18-06-2019, 07:56 AM
They love to hype a player. See Sean Clare as well.
Yip. The Gorgie Galacticos.
Naismith - Would walk in to any team in Scotland (would need to be on crutches).
Soutar - Future Scotland captain
Vaneck - Upgrade on Lafferty
Uche - Unplayable goal machine
Clare - Turned down EPL for the famous
Mitchell - Man United starter next season
Zlamal - The human wall
Berra - Best CB in Premiership
They only finished 6th because of their injuries though
18-06-2019, 08:31 AM
Yep thats a perfect example of the free hype/publicity the EEN generates for them. Especially round about the times of negativity or when season tickets are up for renewal.
Every article is headlined like "Find out how hearts improved this..." "Learn the way hearts are increasing that...."
and when they get pumped its "Read how Craig Levein is fixing the team for the next Hibs game..." etc etc.
Proof the 3 senior writers at the EEN are all partial to a maroon cardigan on a first date....
18-06-2019, 08:49 AM
5 years since they went into admin but still the vast majority of them have yet to tipple that the players they bring in now are of a completely different standard/level to the ones they brought in during their 'Money years' -getting so excited they tracked David Vanecek's flight from Prague to Edinburgh to sign for them, when he was a player that -
1) was within their modern-day budget
and
2) was a player deemed good enough by Potter
- all this just proves that 'Reality' is still to break out at Tiny Tyney !
18-06-2019, 08:51 AM
Yep thats a perfect example of the free hype/publicity the EEN generates for them. Especially round about the times of negativity or when season tickets are up for renewal.
Every article is headlined like "Find out how hearts improved this..." "Learn the way hearts are increasing that...."
and when they get pumped its "Read how Craig Levein is fixing the team for the next Hibs game..." etc etc.
Proof the 3 senior writers at the EEN are all partial to a maroon cardigan on a first date....
Not forgetting the front page coverage they gave to those balloons and the Hands on Hibs campaign at the time we were launching HSL.
I don't think I've bought a single EEN since .
5 years since they went into admin but still the vast majority of them have yet to tipple that the players they bring in now are of a completely different standard/level to the ones they brought in during their 'Money years' -getting so excited they tracked David Vanecek's flight from Prague to Edinburgh to sign for them, when he was a player that -
1) was within their modern-day budget
and
2) was a player deemed good enough by Potter
- all this just proves that 'Reality' is still to break out at Tiny Tyney !
I’ll raise you Maulrey Martin. Easily the best dead ball specialist in the SPL ( or so Preston reckons) sitting gathering a wage since Nov 2017 and just released!
18-06-2019, 11:05 AM
I’ll raise you Maulrey Martin. Easily the best dead ball specialist in the SPL ( or so Preston reckons) sitting gathering a wage since Nov 2017 and just released!
What about the left back (Nigerian I think) they signed a few seasons ago. I remember him listed as being a player to watch in a pre season article.
Even the greatest managers get it wrong sometimes with their signings but Dr Football seems to get it wrong more than most. Long may he stay in charge.
What about the left back (Nigerian I think) they signed a few seasons ago. I remember him being in the players to watch article in a pre season article.
Even the greatest managers get it wrong sometimes with their signings but Dr Football seems to get it wrong more than most. Long me he stay in charge.
I think they have signed too many to remember.
I think the scattergun approach they have is quality and should continue.
Pressure will be on big time to get above us and win the league earlier.
Potter will continue in his own way and will not change.
Like you say hope he’s there for a while!
18-06-2019, 11:12 AM
What about the left back (Nigerian I think) they signed a few seasons ago. I remember him listed as being a player to watch in a pre season article.
Even the greatest managers get it wrong sometimes with their signings but Dr Football seems to get it wrong more than most. Long may he stay in charge.
He's still not found a club since they released him in 2017
18-06-2019, 11:27 AM
He's still not found a club since they released him in 2017
It’s just good to see the FoH money is being spent wisely 😂
Barman Stanton
18-06-2019, 11:35 AM
Wow, Lochend_Hibs must be one of the worst undercover Jambos I have seen on here. How has he managed to not get banned!?
18-06-2019, 11:42 AM
Wow, Lochend_Hibs must be one of the worst undercover Jambos I have seen on here. How has he managed to not get banned!?We're allowed to keep one. It's in the contract[emoji16]
Changes every time a stupider one comes along.
Barman Stanton
18-06-2019, 11:44 AM
We're allowed to keep one. It's in the contract[emoji16]
Changes every time a stupider one comes along.
Im all for keeping a Jambo pet. And he is quite funny with his delusions in fairness.
18-06-2019, 11:49 AM
Im all for keeping a Jambo pet. And he is quite funny with his delusions in fairness.If you affect a Russian accent they'll give you cash as well.
18-06-2019, 12:44 PM
Did he come on during the 2 2 game when Hearts went for a moneyspinning replay?
18-06-2019, 01:09 PM
When's the Official Opening of their new stand?
Oh and is it true that Sean Connery is going to land a helicopter in the Grand Plaza to cut the ribbon?
18-06-2019, 01:17 PM
Oh and is it true that Sean Connery is going to land a helicopter in the Grand Plaza to cut the ribbon?Sean Connery's coming back to Scotland, and he's going to pay a grand for a pizza?
Cannae see it myself, sounds about as likely as the thieves getting to the stage where they can say the megastand's signed off as complete so they can actually get someone to cut the ribbon.
Independent
18-06-2019, 01:36 PM
Record signing. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mirsad_Be%C5%A1lija
cocteautwin
18-06-2019, 02:02 PM
I'll see your Malaury Martin and raise you a Craig Wighton. £200k transfer fee was paid for that one.
18-06-2019, 02:23 PM
I'll see your Malaury Martin and raise you a Craig Wighton. £200k transfer fee was paid for that one.£200k for Wighton? Really?
I thought Dr Football's agent pal threw him in as a makeweight so long as hearts paid for a tank of diesel for the transit the rest of the batch came in.
18-06-2019, 03:42 PM
Sean Connery's coming back to Scotland, and he's going to pay a grand for a pizza?
Cannae see it myself, sounds about as likely as the thieves getting to the stage where they can say the megastand's signed off as complete so they can actually get someone to cut the ribbon.
It’ll be the only known structure to man where the opening ribbon is severed whilst the faded paint is flaking of the rust at the same time.
18-06-2019, 03:48 PM
It’ll be the only known structure to man where the opening ribbon is severed whilst the faded paint is flaking of the rust at the same time.[emoji23]
I'll see your Malaury Martin and raise you a Craig Wighton. £200k transfer fee was paid for that one.
No way!! REALLY.
Who is he again?
18-06-2019, 05:37 PM
Colin S @BigC1874 (https://twitter.com/BigC1874)FollowFollow
@BigC1874
More
Previous flights have landed on runway 24 so it’s likely that the approach will be over the Firth of Forth, so good news if you live in the North of the city and want to point it out to your kids or your inner child.
That's in the same league as Bulgarian Balcony and Solo Clapping in 'Piazza' :faf:
dchibs
18-06-2019, 05:42 PM
Oh and is it true that Sean Connery is going to land a helicopter in the Grand Plaza to cut the ribbon?
cant wait for his speech
Budgie doll that's a ***** for shore eyes.
18-06-2019, 06:09 PM
@BigC1874
More
Previous flights have landed on runway 24 so it’s likely that the approach will be over the Firth of Forth, so good news if you live in the North of the city and want to point it out to your kids or your inner child.
That's in the same league as Bulgarian Balcony and Solo Clapping in 'Piazza' :faf:
Jesus wept, did some maroon balloon really post that?
18-06-2019, 07:19 PM
Jesus wept, did some maroon balloon really post that?
Oh yes he did.
Legend! :jamboclow
Chuckle at yam associate today at work who mentioned in the passing that they will be filling in the corners next year to raise the capacity, making it higher than ours.
I asked if it would be before the megastand was finished and where the floodlight pylons were going to go?? His response.... 1-5 blah blah.
Obvious he’s been reading it somewhere!
18-06-2019, 07:34 PM
Chuckle at yam associate today at work who mentioned in the passing that they will be filling in the corners next year to raise the capacity, making it higher than ours.
I asked if it would be before the megastand was finished and where the floodlight pylons were going to go?? His response.... 1-5 blah blah.
Their corners are already filled in with ruddy great structurally supportive pylons.
Indeed. I pointed that out to him but Heay. Couldn’t make it up tbh.
18-06-2019, 07:36 PM
I’m sure you said what corners Aldo🤣🤣🤣
Think there are only a few ways they can increase capacity
Knock the stadium down, and move
Lower the pitch (don’t give them that idea), maybe give them another 2,000 seats
Build another 3 Mega stands at £20m each, take them up to 24,000 capacity max
Have I missed anything
I’m sure you said what corners Aldo[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]
Lower the pitch (don’t give them that idea), maybe give them another 2,000 seats
Have I missed anything
Honestly Billy you couldn’t make it up. I was pissing myself and I’m sure I heard him say... suspend the floodlights from the stand.
I did ask what the current capacity was and he didn’t answer. We are all jealous of the ultra modern facilities! What like a media area that could electrocute those using it when it rains, no directors box, restricted views, rust blah blah blah. 1-5 1-5 2012. I got really childish and mentioned the lady haig poppy fund and he stormed off!
You did forget one thing. Just lie!
18-06-2019, 07:49 PM
Honestly Billy you couldn’t make it up. I was pissing myself and I’m sure I heard him say... suspend the floodlights from the stand.
I did ask what the current capacity was and he didn’t answer. We are all jealous of the ultra modern facilities! What like a media area that could electrocute those using it when it rains, no directors box, restricted views, rust blah blah blah. 1-5 1-5 2012. I got really childish and mentioned the lady haig poppy fund and he stormed off!
You did forget one thing. Just lie!
Don't forget the state of the art TV lounge overlooking the pitch that they forgot to build. Had to install a portacabin down the front of the away end for one of our games.
18-06-2019, 07:50 PM
https://i2-prod.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article13117371.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/0_The-Daily-Mirrors-Laura-and-Rhian-join-George-on-the-girder.jpg
Sorted
Don't forget the state of the art TV lounge overlooking the pitch that they forgot to build. Had to install a portacabin down the front of the away end for one of our games.
Delusions of grandeur and not to forget their own state of the art training facilities at the Oriam....... no wait it’s not theirs it’s rented and we’re bumped for all sorts of sports since it opened!
All we need is the rest filled in and it'll perfect.
18-06-2019, 08:02 PM
Filling in the corners[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Aye, right after the good doctor has finished concreting up the gap between their ears.
Am assuming the walloper that came up with that one isn't a structural engineer or architect.
18-06-2019, 08:14 PM
I think you’re at the wind up, nobody with an ounce of sense could think that the corners could be filled in. Oh wait he’s a Jambo !!!
18-06-2019, 08:23 PM
All we need is the rest filled in and it'll perfect.
Filling in every ****er that sits in it would also clean things up.
18-06-2019, 08:26 PM
I’m sure you said what corners Aldo[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]
Have I missed anythingLowering the pitch to add seats would make their playing surface even smaller.
18-06-2019, 08:29 PM
@BigC1874
More
I know **** all about Twitter but is he calling himself (amongst other things) ‘Follow Follow’ ??????
Dear lord.
18-06-2019, 10:37 PM
Those Muppets couldn't even fill the corners of a jigsaw.
18-06-2019, 10:55 PM
I know **** all about Twitter but is he calling himself (amongst other things) ‘Follow Follow’ ??????
Dear lord.
No, that’s the text from the follow button on his profile.
18-06-2019, 11:55 PM
Delusions of grandeur and not to forget their own state of the art training facilities at the Oriam....... no wait it’s not theirs it’s rented and we’re bumped for all sorts of sports since it opened!
Delusion is the right word. I was at a bbq a couple of weeks ago and one of them assured me that the pitch size had been addressed and they could now host group games and international matches. When I pointed out that this couldn’t possibly have happened I was told we’d be forever in their shadow.
19-06-2019, 07:30 AM
Delusion is the right word. I was at a bbq a couple of weeks ago and one of them assured me that the pitch size had been addressed and they could now host group games and international matches. When I pointed out that this couldn’t possibly have happened I was told we’d be forever in their shadow.[emoji23]
They can't make the pitch any wider so maybe the idiot thought they'd "addressed " the problem by making it deeper.
19-06-2019, 07:38 AM
[emoji23]
They can't make the pitch any wider so maybe the idiot thought they'd "addressed " the problem by making it deeper.
They actually tried to fix it by making the grass longer.
19-06-2019, 07:42 AM
They actually tried to fix it by making the grass longer.Ah, the cheaper, unique solution another first, biggest grass in Scotland.
Forever in their shadow-apologies to Lee Wallace but this is the other kind of grass.
Delusion is the right word. I was at a bbq a couple of weeks ago and one of them assured me that the pitch size had been addressed and they could now host group games and international matches. When I pointed out that this couldn’t possibly have happened I was told we’d be forever in their shadow.
[emoji23]
You really do have to remember they don’t do FACT!
They like to live in this world where they beLIEve that they are getting the best of the best and it is a cut above everyone else!
How wrong have they been. As I mentioned in an earlier post...... restricted views, no directors box, poor media facilities, rust and the list goes on and on.
If this is the best of the best then frankly they can have them!
Mind I’m just a jealous peg selling hobo after all !
HFC93
19-06-2019, 08:04 AM
@BigC1874
More
His follow up tweet yesterday is beyond parody: "I’d just like to add a final tweet to this thread for all the Hibs fans sharing it today. I’d like to point out that at no point in the thread did I say he’d be any good, just that I was excited we were getting a new striker. Also we pumped you 5-1 in the biggest derby in history."
19-06-2019, 08:05 AM
His follow up tweet yesterday is beyond parody: "I’d just like to add a final tweet to this thread for all the Hibs fans sharing it today. I’d like to point out that at no point in the thread did I say he’d be any good, just that I was excited we were getting a new striker. Also we pumped you 5-1 in the biggest derby in history."
Obviously a Hibby on the wind up
19-06-2019, 09:15 AM
We need to come up with a name for this scenario, as it sounds very similar to the principle of 'Godwin's Law'.
"As an online discussion (with a Jambo) grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving (5-1, Wee Team or Forever in our Shadow) approaches 1...... at which point, that person has quite clearly lost the argument."
Maybe something in Latin, like Comfortius Blanketus.
19-06-2019, 09:21 AM
I kid you not when I first saw the image of the outside of Hearts new stand with the glass curtain I thought they had revamped the Ace of Hearts Social Club ( older posters only).
:cb
I kid you not when I first saw the image of the outside of Hearts new stand with the glass curtain I thought they had revamped the Ace of Hearts Social Club ( older posters only).
C'mon, Billy - in order to revamp something it has to have been vamped in the first place. That hovel on stilts never approached anything like vamped.
19-06-2019, 11:04 AM
We need to come up with a name for this scenario, as it sounds very similar to the principle of 'Godwin's Law'.
"As an online discussion (with a Jambo) grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving (5-1, Wee Team or Forever in our Shadow) approaches 1...... at which point, that person has quite clearly lost the argument."
Maybe something in Latin, like Comfortius Blanketus.
This needs to be added to this
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?74108-The-Yamasaurus-1st-Edition&highlight=Yamsaurus
cocteautwin
20-06-2019, 02:02 AM
Further update on this big huddy:
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/david-vanecek-joins-a-new-club-just-days-after-leaving-hearts-1-4949853
One does hope he slinked away from Tynecastle with the last year of his contract paid up and in his back pocket. I think that's called a fan financed double dip.
20-06-2019, 12:36 PM
Remember it well from my days in Dalry. Always fat couples coming out of that building both unshaved smoking regals with tight fitting anaraks
madsen5
20-06-2019, 12:42 PM
Remember it well from my days in Dalry. Always fat couples coming out of that building both unshaved smoking regals with tight fitting anaraks
I worked with a guy who was a good hibby
And was at a function there just before
it closed and was nearly thrown out for getting up and
singing 40 shades of green.
20-06-2019, 12:46 PM
tamsonsbairn
20-06-2019, 02:04 PM
Sing Hibs have you got a stutter. lol. :hibees
20-06-2019, 02:37 PM
Remember it well from my days in Dalry. Always fat couples coming out of that building both unshaved smoking regals with tight fitting anaraksTheir parents were even worse.
20-06-2019, 07:23 PM
It's pretty obvious from that that he reads this forum, so suck on this Colin... YOU TRACKED HIS FLIGHT!!!... and then tweeted his progress for the other deluded, cap-doffing cardigans. Why would you do that if you didn't think he was going to be absolutely brilliant? I mean, seriously... are you 12?
Get a girl or boyfriend ffs!
10-08-2019, 08:11 PM
This was posted today by Michael Stewart on his Twitter feed.
Watch those electrics, Michael!
10-08-2019, 08:18 PM
Wow, is that for real?
10-08-2019, 08:24 PM
Wow, is that for real?
It sure is.
10-08-2019, 08:28 PM
Famous, world class and massive... fail.
Budge has made such a mess of this project it is untrue. Amateurish in the extreme... and £18m and counting.
10-08-2019, 08:34 PM
Famous, world class and massive... fail.
Budge has made such a mess of this project it is untrue. Amateurish in the extreme... and £18m and counting.
Is that before or after the optional seats in the stand?
10-08-2019, 08:37 PM
Surely that's a massive health and safety problem? Lawsuit waiting to happen.
10-08-2019, 08:43 PM
Surely that's a massive health and safety problem? Lawsuit waiting to happen.I'd imagine that, given the media people bring their own gear, responsibility/liability will be with them as opposed to Hearts.
10-08-2019, 08:45 PM
Is that before or after the optional seats in the stand?
Ordering the seats is the kind of fiddly little detail it’s very easy to overlook when you are building a new All Seated Stand.
10-08-2019, 09:47 PM
I'd imagine that, given the media people bring their own gear, responsibility/liability will be with them as opposed to Hearts.
It’s a workplace. Somebody will have to have authorised Method & Risk. Don’t know about a lawsuit but wouldn’t want that tickle on the fingers if it goes tits up. Especially if I was the PD.
10-08-2019, 09:47 PM
They were live on Sportsound when it started hammering down and because they were broadcasting they couldn't leave their seats.
Complete shambles of a club Hertz 😂
10-08-2019, 10:29 PM
Why oh why did they not just stick the media up the back?!
Oh ye a money spinner. We know how they work out..
Whilst in the mean time the media will slate the stand every time there’s a spot of rain XD
24-11-2019, 08:03 PM
I sat in this stand for the first time today at the Women's Scottish Cup final. Impressions? It serves its purpose fine, with the padded seats in the central sections pleasant to sit on. I didn't venture along to the infamous police control box end but it's clear that must still obscure the view to significant extent for a few of the end rows despite being hacked back. And the press box is crazily near the front. Not only must the the media get a soaking every so often, it's far too low down for them to get the sort of perspective on the game they would ideally require.
What mystifies me, though, is how on earth it has cost, what, £18 million so far? I can only assume the function areas are something spectacular because I was at a loss to see where the basic structure differed from any other main stand I've sat in. Breeze block everywhere and overall just seems like a slightly upgraded version of the other three stands. The so-called 'glass curtain' looks exactly what it is - a set of windows.
hibby rae
24-11-2019, 08:11 PM
I sat in this stand for the first time today at the Women's Scottish Cup final. Impressions? It serves its purpose fine, with the padded seats in the central sections pleasant to sit on. I didn't venture along to the infamous police control box end but it's clear that must still obscure the view to significant extent for a few of the end rows despite being hacked back. And the press box is crazily near the front. Not only must the the media get a soaking every so often, it's far too low down for them to get the sort of perspective on the game they would ideally require.
What mystifies me, though, is how on earth it has cost, what, £18 million so far? I can only assume the function areas are something spectacular because I was at a loss to see where the basic structure differed from any other main stand I've sat in. Breeze block everywhere and overall just seems like a slightly upgraded version of the other three stands. The so-called 'glass curtain' looks exactly what it is - a set of windows.
And I believe it still isn't finished?
I have to say, the padded seats seem to be an unnecessary expense, I know in the scheme of things it's probably not much but all adda up. Honestly never thought unpadded seats were uncomfortable.
Marvellous
24-11-2019, 08:16 PM
It's a single-tier tin can with a little office block at the back and it's cost them a hilarious amount of money. They must kick themselves when they think of all the Craig Wightons and Malaury Martins they could have bought instead.
Aubenas
24-11-2019, 08:19 PM
Why oh why did they not just stick the media up the back?!
Oh ye a money spinner. We know how they work out..
Whilst in the mean time the media will slate the stand every time there’s a spot of rain XD
They had to put the media there because when they (partially) opened the stand, there was no electricity access above that level.
24-11-2019, 09:28 PM
I’ve been in one of the function suites and I can assure you the ‘fulfils a purpose’ feel continues on throughout. Indeed the quality of finish in the toilets etc. was only just above acceptable and no where near what you would expect for the money.
I also believe their top two levels are still unfinished.
Oh and don’t forget that they forgot about a directors box and specific access for the big wigs...
Topographic Hibby
24-11-2019, 09:33 PM
Oh and don’t forget that they forgot about a directors box and specific access for the big wigs...Wow, is that still the case???
Must make an interesting journey for the directors having to face angry, pink faced men in cardigans when things aren't going too well.
24-11-2019, 09:37 PM
Wow, is that still the case???
Must make an interesting journey for the directors having to face angry, pink faced men in cardigans when things aren't going too well.
Budge’s Hearts tartan jaiket is in fact made in a military grade dazzle pattern designed to confuse and disorientate the enemy. She can walk past puce Jambos without getting noticed.
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 12:41 AM
Guess again mate :wink: £21m is the number capitalised to date and it's not even finished yet :faf:
25-11-2019, 05:21 AM
Rain only bothers wee clubs.
Renfrew_Hibby
25-11-2019, 11:26 AM
Another problem, as we can see illustrated in the picture is that Hearts main stand is west facing meaning that the prevailing wind, which in the British Isles generally comes from the west /south west, will nearly always blow and dump rain right on those sitting in an Eastern stand.
Most UK clubs, certainly the major clubs, you will find that the main, posh, stand is always a west or a south stand for this very reason. Only Tynie and Pittodrie buck the trend.
25-11-2019, 11:48 AM
Another problem, as we can see illustrated in the picture is that Hearts main stand is west facing meaning that the prevailing wind, which in the British Isles generally comes from the west /south west, will nearly always blow and dump rain right on those sitting in an Eastern stand.
Most UK clubs, certainly the major clubs, you will find that the main, posh, stand is always a west or a south stand for this very reason. Only Tynie and Pittodrie buck the trend.
Pittoddrie’s main stand faces South does it not?
Dundee Utd is open to the elements and faces the opposite way to that of Dundee a few hundred yard down the road.
25-11-2019, 12:01 PM
Guess again mate :wink: £21m is the number capitalised to date and it's not even finished yet :faf:
Even without the green tinted glasses for what they have built ( nearly built :greengrin ) that's an eye watering sum of money ... I think I said it before, that's approaching half of what Aberdeen have budgeted for to build a brand new 20,000 capacity stadium. At some point somebody at the Rust arena has to take their head out of their arse and admit the whole project has been handled extremely poorly.
I cant believe that for the same money they couldnt have had a two tier stand with a bigger capacity built further back from the pitch leaving scope to extend the Gorgie and Roseburn stands to meet it, adding even more capacity and allowing them to widen the pitch as well.
25-11-2019, 12:20 PM
Even without the green tinted glasses for what they have built ( nearly built :greengrin ) that's an eye watering sum of money ... I think I said it before, that's approaching half of what Aberdeen have budgeted for to build a brand new 20,000 capacity stadium. At some point somebody at the Rust arena has to take their head out of their arse and admit the whole project has been handled extremely poorly.
I cant believe that for the same money they couldnt have had a two tier stand with a bigger capacity built further back from the pitch leaving scope to extend the Gorgie and Roseburn stands to meet it, adding even more capacity and allowing them to widen the pitch as well.
Ach no! You’re just a jealous and bitter Hibby. The truth is that the rest of the football fraternity beat a path to Tynecastle Park, desperate to learn from Dr Mrs Budge. She is Famous for being the best club owner ever.
Ron and Leeann were well down in the queue of course, but Budge gave them special access because Hibs are neighbours, even though they are just a wee club and much less Famous.
I’m sure Daniel Levy called Budge for advice before sacking Poch, but this is just a rumour because Budge is so modest and doesn’t like to brag.
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 01:23 PM
Ach no! You’re just a jealous and bitter Hibby. The truth is that the rest of the football fraternity beat a path to Tynecastle Park, desperate to learn from Dr Mrs Budge. She is Famous for being the best club owner ever.
Ron and Leeann were well down in the queue of course, but Budge gave them special access because Hibs are neighbours, even though they are just a wee club and much less Famous.
I’m sure Daniel Levy called Budge for advice before sacking Poch, but this is just a rumour because Budge is so modest and doesn’t like to brag.
It’s astonishing the myth that’s built these few years that HMFC are some well run Company. A quick 2 minute read of their latest accounts shows a football club that’s spent most of their 2019/20 season ticket money before the season has even started. I’m surprised their Auditors have signed off their accounts as a going concern when they only had £500k in their bank at 30 June and current liabilities exceeded current assets by some £11.2m. Totally mental.
25-11-2019, 01:42 PM
I cant believe that for the same money they couldnt have had a two tier stand with a bigger capacity built further back from the pitch leaving scope to extend the Gorgie and Roseburn stands to meet it, adding even more capacity and allowing them to widen the pitch as well.It's unique, atmospheric, historic and famous and it's all these much spouted opinions that mean it's worth every penny.
When you add in the facts, like the escalator to nowhere, the castle view that's a school view, the al fresco press boxes, the slippery steel walk ways, the uniquely sited police control shed, the seats with partial views, the hospitality facing away from the pitch and windows that are called glass curtains you begin to get a feel for what £21m can almost buy.
Alan62
25-11-2019, 01:48 PM
It’s astonishing the myth that’s built these few years that HMFC are some well run Company. A quick 2 minute read of their latest accounts shows a football club that’s spent most of their 2019/20 season ticket money before the season has even started. I’m surprised their Auditors have signed off their accounts as a going concern when they only had £500k in their bank at 30 June and current liabilities exceeded current assets by some £11.2m. Totally mental.
Much of the HMFC legend has been built by the BBC with the ill-informed fellows from Sportsound drooling on about the marvellous job that's been done by auld Annie since she took over. They're fitba' people though and don't (can't) read the accounts.
Cataplana
25-11-2019, 03:18 PM
Much of the HMFC legend has been built by the BBC with the ill-informed fellows from Sportsound drooling on about the marvellous job that's been done by auld Annie since she took over. They're fitba' people though and don't (can't) read the accounts.
It's the same lazy reporting that had them the third force in Scottish Football, for many years, when a actually they weren't.
25-11-2019, 03:46 PM
It's unique, atmospheric, historic and famous and it's all these much spouted opinions that mean it's worth every penny.
When you add in the facts, like the escalator to nowhere, the castle view that's a school view, the al fresco press boxes, the slippery steel walk ways, the uniquely sited police control shed, the seats with partial views, the hospitality facing away from the pitch and windows that are called glass curtains you begin to get a feel for what £21m can almost buy.
When you put it like that....:greengrin
inglisavhibs
25-11-2019, 04:05 PM
Even less cash in hand last year, I think there was a note in last year’s accounts stating they were expecting the cash donations to see them through. Must be expecting the same this year( indeed it must have already happened)
25-11-2019, 04:15 PM
Even less cash in hand last year, I think there was a note in last year’s accounts stating they were expecting the cash donations to see them through. Must be expecting the same this year( indeed it must have already happened)
Well, I suppose that’s true. If folk keep on ploughing cash into the club, even when the waste of money is plan to see, why should they do things any differently?
25-11-2019, 04:16 PM
Well, I suppose that’s true. If folk keep on ploughing cash into the club, even when the waste of money is plan to see, why should they do things any differently?
Isn’t it more of the benefactors have already agreed to put money in so the money is there to spend instead of it being used to bridge the gap if overspending?
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 04:20 PM
Yes, they’ve cloaked the reporting this year by informing in the notes of the anonymous cash injection for the first quarter only, to the sum of £500k. HMFC are short of funds by some £4m for the coming year. The auditors should have had some of the creditors reclassified to greater than one year or stated in the accounts what the short term funding was. Dodgy accounts preparation and probably a mistake by the auditors.
inglisavhibs
25-11-2019, 04:36 PM
Yes, they’ve cloaked the reporting this year by informing in the notes of the anonymous cash injection for the first quarter only, to the sum of £500k. HMFC are short of funds by some £4m for the coming year. The auditors should have had some of the creditors reclassified to greater than one year. Dodgy accounts preparation and probably a mistake by the auditors.
Am I reading it correctly that they now owe Budge just short of £4m? I suppose they hope that fan donations and others can soon be used to pay that debt. Not that easy when the fans are desparate for even more money to be pumped in to the playing staff and manager.
25-11-2019, 04:38 PM
Am I reading it correctly that they now owe Budge just short of £4m? I suppose they hope that fan donations and others can soon be used to pay that debt. Not that easy when the fans are desparate for even more money to be pumped in to the playing staff and manager.
Are we witnessing another implosion?
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 04:42 PM
The club is short of funding for the forthcoming year by £4m+. They’ve spent all the season ticket money in advance. If they want to pay the Budge loans as well they’ll need another £4m to pay that, £8m in total. The notes to the accounts only state the additional funds contributed by the anonymous donor for the first quarter for £500k.
25-11-2019, 04:44 PM
The club is short of funding for the forthcoming year by £4m+. They’ve spent all the season ticket money in advance. If they want to pay the Budge loans as well they’ll need another £4m to pay that, £8m in total. The notes to the accounts only state the additional funds contributed by the anonymous donor for the first quarter for £500k.
No wonder any potential top manager, is wary of joining them
25-11-2019, 04:46 PM
This post will inevitably be mocked over the road - proof of our bitter seethe. But I am loving it!
EDIT: surely the world’s most successful businesswoman wouldn’t let things get out of hand?!
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 04:48 PM
Are we witnessing another implosion?
Probably not, as long as Budge doesn’t call in her £4m loans. The net current liabilities of £11m would suggest that there is a significant funding problem if those amounts were truly repayable within one year. If not repayable within one year then the auditors should have had those amounts reclassified.
Either there’s a funding problem or there’s a mis-statement in the accounts. Most definitely the latter.
The auditors should have had the loans reclassified as due after one year to have the accounts signed off as being prepared under the going concern principle.
25-11-2019, 04:54 PM
No wonder any potential top manager, is wary of joining them
How have they funded the stand?
25-11-2019, 04:55 PM
This post will inevitably be mocked over the road - proof of our bitter seethe. But I am loving it!
EDIT: surely the world’s most successful businesswoman wouldn’t let things get out of hand?!
... Like the last time, you mean... How did that go again? :timebomb::spammy:
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 04:57 PM
How have they funded the stand?
£20m+ of contributions from FoH and some anonymous donor. Also £4m+ from Budge. The amounts are quantifiable from their accounts. And astonishing.
25-11-2019, 05:06 PM
£20m+ of contributions from FoH and some anonymous donor. Also £4m+ from Budge. The amounts are quantifiable from their accounts. And astonishing.
That’s incredible...I’d question the true cost of the unfinished stand as £21m just seems like an inflated cost which someone has benefitted greatly from.
I’m surprised that given the farcical project management which has seen:
Forgotten seats
Hospitality with no pitch view
No view of Castle as promised
Shoddy rust protection measures
Restricted views due to Police control room
And I’m sure there are others...
It’s surprising that there has been to pressure from the fans or donors about this. I’d be shouting for an independent review!
Just where has all that money gone?
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 05:08 PM
Isn’t it more of the benefactors have already agreed to put money in so the money is there to spend instead of it being used to bridge the gap if overspending?
Yes, this must be the case. The accounts don’t state the fact, but they’ll need at least £3m from the anonymous donor and £1m from FoH just to survive the coming year.
When you add those amounts on to the cash already contributed up to 30 June 2019, the total extraneous funds spent by HMFC amount to almost £30m.
I’m surprised the media hasn’t picked up on this and even more surprised that the numbers guys of hibs.net aren’t milking it.
25-11-2019, 05:13 PM
That’s incredible...I’d question the true cost of the unfinished stand as £21m just seems like an inflated cost which someone has benefitted greatly from.
Forgotten seats
It’s surprising that there has been to pressure from the fans or donors about this. I’d be shouting for an independent review!
Just where has all that money gone?The contractors probably doing okay out of it[emoji6]
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 05:16 PM
Forgotten seats
Just where has all that money gone?
Where’s the money gone? Well at least £6m of it has gone to Budge’s family. I’m not wanting to stir things as I know there’s some people on here that might feel sensitive about this number, but it’s all out there in the HMFC accounts.
Cataplana
25-11-2019, 05:17 PM
Yes, this must be the case. The accounts don’t state the fact, but they’ll need at least £3m from the anonymous donor and £1m from FoH just to survive the coming year.
When you add those amounts on to the cash already contributed up to 30 June 2019, the total extraneous funds spent by HMFC amount to almost £30m.
I’m surprised the media hasn’t picked up on this and even more surprised that the numbers guys of hibs.net aren’t milking it.
I'm writing to the Lithuanian government as we speak.
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 05:26 PM
I'm writing to the Lithuanian government as we speak.
You’ll probably want to write to the accounts payable department of Heriot-Watt University first.
25-11-2019, 05:29 PM
I’m surprised the media hasn’t picked up on this and even more surprised that the numbers guys of hibs.net aren’t milking it.I think the problem with these potentially unsustainable numbers is that they probably believe they owe it to themselves again, back that up with a "self sufficiency " statement every now and again and the actual accounts are just another inconvenience.
derekduval
25-11-2019, 05:34 PM
The contractors probably doing okay out of it[emoji6]
Was the Main contractor not budgies brother?
25-11-2019, 05:37 PM
Enjoyed reading your posts on this matter.
Good to read something of substance rather than the usual childish drivel.
Obviously childish drivel that is funny is good.
25-11-2019, 05:42 PM
Unfortunately for them, extending the decaying structures width ways isn’t really an option. They’d have to take them down and start from scratch again. There was no future proofing done when that pit was rebuilt back in the 90s.
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 05:46 PM
I think the problem with these potentially unsustainable numbers is that they probably believe they owe it to themselves again, back that up with a "self sufficiency " statement every now and again and the actual accounts are just another inconvenience.
Who knows how sustainable/unsustainable those numbers are though. £3-4m per annum could just be pocket change to an Edinburgh business guy in the current global economy.
Whether he/she/they think they are getting value for money from the current spendthrift stewards of HMFC might be a different matter.
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 05:48 PM
Was the Main contractor not budgies brother?
£6m has passed through to the family member.
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 05:51 PM
Enjoyed reading your posts on this matter.
Good to read something of substance rather than the usual childish drivel.
Obviously childish drivel that is funny is good.
Just trying to keep it factual. I’m only a business owner and not a numbers guy.
If any of the hibs.net numbers guys see the HMFC accounts differently I’d be happy to adjust my thinking.
25-11-2019, 05:55 PM
£6m has passed through to the family member.
Cha ching. I wonder how much has been given back as a friendly gift to Budge.
25-11-2019, 06:02 PM
Who knows how sustainable/unsustainable those numbers are though. £3-4m per annum could just be pocket change to an Edinburgh business guy in the current global economy.
Whether he/she/they think they are getting value for money from the current spendthrift stewards of HMFC might be a different matter.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYep, they're sustainable or unsustainable at the whim of whoever isn't worried about endlessly handing over that sort of cash. For as long as they are able to do it and want to do it.
Not really a good business model.
Renfrew_Hibby
25-11-2019, 06:03 PM
Pittoddrie’s main stand faces South does it not?
Dundee Utd is open to the elements and faces the opposite way to that of Dundee a few hundred yard down the road.
Yes Aberdeens main stand is the north side meaning that all the dignitaries are facing south.
So not only do the dignitaries get the full blast of the prevailing winds but when its not raining, quite often dazzled by the sun.
cocteautwin
25-11-2019, 06:05 PM
Cha ching. I wonder how much has been given back as a friendly gift to Budge.
Zero. Nothing that’s identifiable in the public domain. It says so in the accounts, that it’s an arms length transaction. In the Accounts. Arms length transaction. Signed off by the auditors.
25-11-2019, 06:21 PM
Very entertaining my post-punk friend.
25-11-2019, 06:23 PM
Zero. Nothing that’s identifiable in the public domain. It says so in the accounts, that it’s an arms length transaction. In the Accounts. Arms length transaction. Signed off by the auditors.
I obviously meant very privately and personal. :greengrin
25-11-2019, 06:29 PM
25-11-2019, 10:24 PM
Unfortunately for them, extending the decaying structures width ways isn’t really an option. They’d have to take them down and start from scratch again. There was no future proofing done when that pit was rebuilt back in the 90s.
I'm not so sure. The support pylons at both ends on the main stand side weren't holding up the old main stand roof, so if the Jambos had built a cantilever stand on the new structure they would never have had to use the existing pylons for the new stand. They could surely in time have moved the pylons a few meters and extended the seating deck and roof of both end stands... I doubt it would have cost more than a couple of million, which is nowt compared to what they appear to have wasted.
Instead by using the pylons to hold up the roof of the new stand they have painted themselves into a corner which will make further ground development if not impossible then at least eye wateringly expensive.
Their end game here has to be at the very least wanting a future where they challenge for 3rd place regularly and win a cup every few years, or where they are part of some sort of UK / European set up leading to a bigger demand for tickets, especially in a city predicted to grow in population ... in short exactly the same as Hibs. What Hearts have done has left Hibs as the only club in the city capable of stadium expansion to a capacity in excess of 21,000 should either of these two scenarios come to pass.
To the Jambos what Budge has done might have kept them in Gorgie, but by doing it the way she has ironically one day it might leave them in a position where moving from Tynecastle is their only viable option financially.
25-11-2019, 10:44 PM
I suspect that had Hibs played in such as tightly enclosed stadium, the decision to move would have reluctantly been taken.
At some stage the ‘annual dispensations’ given for run off space will run out. Maybe the SPFL will eventually insist on larger playing surfaces. If either happens, Hearts will have to decide if they move to a new site or take out more rows of seats and drop the capacity considerably.
At least Vlad’s master plan offered a decent stadium (at ridiculous cost) but the current scheme has dug Hearts into a hole.
25-11-2019, 10:51 PM
I suspect that had Hibs played in such as tightly enclosed stadium, the decision to move would have reluctantly been taken.
At some stage the ‘annual dispensations’ given for run off space will run out. Maybe the SPFL will eventually insist on larger playing surfaces. If either happens, Hearts will have to decide if they move to a new site or take out more rows of seats and drop the capacity considerably.
At least Vlad’s master plan offered a decent stadium (at ridiculous cost) but the current scheme has dug Hearts into a hole.
Vlad’s £50m planning application is looking better value by the day.
25-11-2019, 11:03 PM
Remember Preston on Sportsound during the Vlad days cheering every time Vlad wrote of some debt or converted to shares. The total was about £40 million. Nobody challenged him and asked if the bank would be happy at these huge holes opening up on their balance sheet.
03-12-2019, 08:37 AM
It goes without saying that across the world every football fan knows of the famous Tynecastle atmosphere, but what atmosphere competition did they actually win?
https://i.postimg.cc/RZDWJKnt/D2-FCFE4-C-12-CE-40-DD-8-EFE-9-A476-D2-DB055.jpg (https://postimg.cc/RWwSj3dC)
It goes without saying that across the world every football fan knows of the famous Tynecastle atmosphere, but what atmosphere competition did they actually win?
https://i.postimg.cc/RZDWJKnt/D2-FCFE4-C-12-CE-40-DD-8-EFE-9-A476-D2-DB055.jpg (https://postimg.cc/RWwSj3dC)
What did the Atmosphere say on accepting the award?
Steven79
03-12-2019, 08:58 AM
Saying Tynecastle is one of the oldest grounds in Scotland when since 1994 all the stands have been rebuilt is a bit like Trigger and his brooms.
The oldest part of the ground is the control box which blocks views from many seats behind it...
Steven79
03-12-2019, 09:00 AM
What did the Atmosphere say on accepting the award?
Probably a rendition of Billy boys knowing our friends across in Gorgie.
Fair enough. I have heard it say that on many occasions.
03-12-2019, 09:02 AM
They missed off a couple of words, that was all
It should have said "THE ROSEBURN STAND AT TYNECASTLE, WHICH IS famed for its award-winning atmosphere..."
This was the award-winning day in question... https://twitter.com/CyberHibby/status/949981122607353856
Crazyhorse
03-12-2019, 09:08 AM
I’m pleased they won the world atmosphere title. It’s means that Levein doesn’t end his career as a total failure. If someone asks him what did he win in the game he’ll be able to take out his atmosphere medal and proudly show it off.
03-12-2019, 09:10 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/RZDWJKnt/D2-FCFE4-C-12-CE-40-DD-8-EFE-9-A476-D2-DB055.jpg (https://postimg.cc/RWwSj3dC)They've got the packed in bit right, now they've actually got the seats.
Even the directors are wedged in amongst the Duncans-No doubt a deliberate design feature to allow them to share the unique atmosphere.
03-12-2019, 12:13 PM
‘Famed’
‘No finer sight’
‘Award-winning’
The Hearts have a similar relationship to the truth as Boris Johnson.
What a pathetic, needy lot they are. Have to keep telling themselves how important they are because no one else will.
What award did they win for atmosphere?
Did they really? If they did i missed it.
03-12-2019, 02:06 PM
What award did they win for atmosphere?
Did they really? If they did i missed it.
I believe Russ Abbott also wrote a song about them in the 80s.
03-12-2019, 02:40 PM
If you had just built a £25m super duper amazing state of the art new stand why wouldn't you have that in the picture? Fuds
Steven79
03-12-2019, 02:45 PM
If you had just built a £25m super duper amazing state of the art new stand why wouldn't you have that in the picture? Fuds
It's still not finished yet...
03-12-2019, 02:46 PM
If you had just built a £25m super duper amazing state of the art new stand why wouldn't you have that in the picture? FudsThey're waiting until it's finished?
wallpaperman
03-12-2019, 02:47 PM
‘Famed’
‘No finer sight’
‘Award-winning’
What a pathetic, needy lot they are. Have to keep telling themselves how important they are because no one else will.
Bang on, they have this craving to be seen as important, they see themselves as Edinburgh’s establishment team.
Their pathetic toadying to try and have some sort of tie up with Manchester City is particularly cringey.
03-12-2019, 02:55 PM
Bang on, they have this craving to be seen as important, they see themselves as Edinburgh’s establishment team.
Their pathetic toadying to try and have some sort of tie up with Manchester City is particularly cringey.City are obviously the latest mark for them, they can hardly try it on with league leaders liverpool again since they were unlucky enough to make it onto the Hearts creditors list last time around.
03-12-2019, 02:55 PM
If you had just built a £25m super duper amazing state of the art new stand why wouldn't you have that in the picture? FudsThere isnt a wide angle lens on the planet can capture its full magnificance....
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
03-12-2019, 03:03 PM
There isnt a wide angle lens on the planet can capture its full magnificance....
Sent from my SM-T580 using TapatalkThe same problem shouldn't arise with professional footballs smallest and non EUFA compliant pitch though so it's not all bad news.
04-12-2019, 10:13 AM
"Hey, Duncan! Put another sprinkler on, we really huv tae get tomorrow's game cancelled!"
04-12-2019, 10:33 AM
Probably having to wait for its official ratification as Eighth Wonder of the world by NATO or the G20 or somesuch.
‘Famed’
‘No finer sight’
‘Award-winning’
Also, the recently redeveloped "stadium" when it was actually just one stand.
NthCarolinaHibs
04-12-2019, 11:36 AM
Also, the recently redeveloped "stadium" when it was actually just one stand.
..and that is still in the state of redevelopment..🙄
04-12-2019, 11:38 AM
The unique approach of crushing 'nearly' 20,000 fans into a space designed for 17,000 makes for a claustrophobic atmosphere bringing terror to anybody subject to our supports ire ... usually the players, manager and owner :greengrin
"Hey, Duncan! Put another sprinkler on, we really huv tae get tomorrow's game cancelled!"
They spelled reviled wrong!
Probably having to wait for its official ratification as Eighth Wonder of the world by NATO or the G20 or somesuch.
The good news is that the SFA have stepped in to award both the architect and the project manager a Fit & Proper Person Test Certificate.
The fact the police box stayed, that home & away directors have to run the Cardigan Gauntlet, and - above all - the fact that the press get rained on, with all that electrical equipment nearby, all counted heavily in Hearts favour.
"Never before has a fit and proper person test been conducted on an escalator to nowhere, and the slippery nature of the gangways really added some much-needed tension to my matchday experience" said some Blazer.
Hibs4185
05-12-2019, 12:04 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/Blancheyboy81/status/1202530327274643456?s=20
A million pound for a pitch that looks like that 😂
The whole club is a shambles from top to bottom. “Most monitored pitch in the world” 😂
15-09-2022, 11:27 AM
Starting to think about getting the thing finished at long last….
…with a 22 room hotel.
https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/article/main-stand-development
15-09-2022, 11:43 AM
…with a 22 room hotel.
The stairs to nowhere might have a purpose at last. 😂
15-09-2022, 12:01 PM
Spurs managed to build a £1bn 60k seater stadium in the time it’s taken them to build this main stand, and they’re still not finished. Fuds.
Hibs4185
15-09-2022, 12:01 PM
Talk about making it up as you go along! Who wants to spend £100 a night to stay in a second rate football stand.
It will be full of jambos taking their wife’s away on their anniversary followed by a trip to gorgie farm and a day out in their immaculate Rover.
Absolute roasters
15-09-2022, 12:09 PM
Imagine the utter disappointment in the faces of the poor women when their brothers tell them they are spending their annaversary night at Tynecastle.
15-09-2022, 12:29 PM
…with a 22 room hotel.
Now that’s what I call a planning application!
Renfrew_Hibby
15-09-2022, 12:55 PM
Think Ron's spooked them with the ongoing upgrades of ER that we're currently in the middle of.
15-09-2022, 12:56 PM
26 parking spaces required, where will they be?
15-09-2022, 12:59 PM
Around the pitch.
I assume someone has opened one of those cardboard boxes that Vlad had.
15-09-2022, 12:59 PM
The Foundation Plaza will forthwith be known as the NCP Plaza.
15-09-2022, 01:00 PM
Imagine the utter disappointment in the faces of the poor women when their brothers tell them they are spending their annaversary night at Tynecastle.Yep, sometimes even the promise of chips will never be enough.
15-09-2022, 01:03 PM
…with a 22 room hotel.
This will be a guaranteed shambles.
Adapting the 70s office block into hotel rooms will be very expensive and I have no idea how you would turn a profit from that.
15-09-2022, 01:03 PM
Talk about making it up as you go along! Who wants to spend £100 a night to stay in a second rate football stand.
It will be full of jambos taking their wife’s away on their anniversary followed by a trip to gorgie farm and a day out in their immaculate Rover.
Absolute roasters
Did Budge not put a statement out a while back saying the main stand was finished ??
Gorgie Farm is decent - just a shame it’s so close to the Tiny Library.
Have to laugh when you read the word “boutique” - with castle views also or rooms with no windows ?
Wonder if they will remember to order the beds ?
Couldn’t think of anything worse - bedrooms for nightmares.
15-09-2022, 01:06 PM
They’re kinda going about this all backwards aren’t they?
Most architects know what the spaces in their buildings will be used for when they design them.
Instead, they’ve built it and then spent a couple of years scratching their heads thinking of what to use it for.
Fuds indeed.
Rumble de Thump
15-09-2022, 01:30 PM
They'll forget to order the beds.
Hibs4185
15-09-2022, 01:34 PM
It’s pretty good news for us….turning it into a hotel would cost the normal person around £500k. Being Dr Budge, it will cost £5 million and use every penny from Europe.
All their money spent, in order to generate £100k a year in room sales.
15-09-2022, 01:40 PM
Most architects know what the spaces in their buildings will be used for when they design them.
Instead, they’ve built it and then spent a couple of years scratching their heads thinking of what to use it for.
Fuds indeed.
Eventually they got it right, it's a library, but someone forgot to order any books. 😉
15-09-2022, 01:45 PM
It’s pretty good news for us….turning it into a hotel would cost the normal person around £500k. Being Dr Budge, it will cost £5 million and use every penny from Europe.
Good news for JB Contracts.
hibstag
15-09-2022, 01:47 PM
Fuds indeed.
Yep built a shell with seats and and have been making it up as they go along - bespoke hospitality, chips etc... Remember when they were all frothing at the mouth over the artists impression of the stand and as it turns out non existent glass curtains.
hibstag
15-09-2022, 01:49 PM
Given the proximity to the school and nursery will the guest need to have a valid disclosure...
dchibs
15-09-2022, 01:50 PM
Was there not photo's on Hibs net a while ago where one off their terraces opened up like a garage door.
15-09-2022, 01:53 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/vHkcLzqx/6-C062-DF0-D602-47-E5-8992-C4-EEC80-D2-EEF.png (https://postimg.cc/fJ7zMxhM)
Chorley Hibee
15-09-2022, 02:01 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/vHkcLzqx/6-C062-DF0-D602-47-E5-8992-C4-EEC80-D2-EEF.png (https://postimg.cc/fJ7zMxhM)
Don't mention the money spinning replay.
Fuzzywuzzy
15-09-2022, 02:12 PM
22 rooms and conference facilities on one floor? How big is the stand!!
archie
15-09-2022, 02:33 PM
I stayed at the hotel in the old West Ham ground for a conference. The corporate boxes were turned into hotel rooms as well, which meant the room looked out over the pitch. It was great fun and could be a success for them.
15-09-2022, 02:41 PM
How small are the rooms ?!
15-09-2022, 02:41 PM
Imagine the utter disappointment in the faces of the poor women when their brothers tell them they are spending their annaversary night at Tynecastle.
15-09-2022, 02:47 PM
I imagine it would be closer to £1m, no?
15-09-2022, 02:47 PM
Boutique hotels tend to be in fashionable urban areas so their rooms can be smaller then usual, so they will have two out of three, it will be in an urban area with small rooms it is just the fashionable bit they'll be missing :greengrin
15-09-2022, 02:52 PM
Tynie
15-09-2022, 02:55 PM
Big enough to accomodate all the league cups they've won in the last 60 years.
I said on here a few times, taking away the green tinted specs for a second…
…. Hearts had the opportunity to get far ahead of us and the likes of Aberdeen given the c£5m+ income boost they got from Europe and not to mention benefactors.
They needed to replace Neilson and they needed to up the quality and quantity of recruitment. They have done neither and now it is clear what wee Anne has planned for the next vanity project.
Gloucester Hibs
15-09-2022, 03:20 PM
Haha! Don't mention the capacity...
15-09-2022, 03:23 PM
Good news for JB Contracts.
Which in turn is good news for Hibs!!
McSwanky
15-09-2022, 03:27 PM
Was there not photo's on Hibs net a while ago where one off their terraces opened up like a garage door.
This?
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160907/2312aa2fb46bc27d8eda7fb38f44fd90.jpg
15-09-2022, 03:31 PM
This?
They raised seats would have been great for LeveinBall, you wouldn’t need to crane your neck to see the baw. HOOOOOF!
15-09-2022, 03:32 PM
Tynie
😂😂
15-09-2022, 03:33 PM
This?
First time I've seen that. Why on earth do the seats flip up?
15-09-2022, 03:40 PM
So you can tip off the fans you don’t like
15-09-2022, 03:40 PM
Ejection seats if you boo a minute's silence?
15-09-2022, 03:53 PM
It's at the Gorgie road end and, as I understand it, the only hospitality at tynecastle before the new mega stand was built, had a view of the pitch ONLY after the seats were raised.
15-09-2022, 03:58 PM
Haha! Don't mention the capacity...
15-09-2022, 04:31 PM
At least the journalists will have somewhere to dry off and store their waterproofs😁
Knew they’d give up football and turn to something else eventually.
15-09-2022, 05:00 PM
…with a 22 room hotel.
I assume it will be 22 in a row room layout? Guess they couldn't fit 51 in?
Hibs4185
15-09-2022, 05:03 PM
It’s a not a stand, it’s the eighth wonder of the world
15-09-2022, 05:04 PM
Knew they’d give up football and turn to something else eventually.
Running a BUDGEt Hotel? 😁
15-09-2022, 05:08 PM
First time I've seen that. Why on earth do the seats flip up?It's where Thunderbird 2 takes off from.
15-09-2022, 05:16 PM
It's where Thunderbird 2 takes off from.
Blunderbird surely? 🤣
Running a BUDGEt Hotel? 😁
I think it’s Eureka moment for hearts.
They never really wanted to be a football club. They wanted to run a hotel.
15-09-2022, 05:57 PM
All their money spent, in order to generate £100k a year in room sales.Maybe she will engage the same contractors that built the nearly finished megastand [emoji6]
15-09-2022, 05:58 PM
How small are the rooms ?!20,000 capacity, sold out every week
Flowery Twats
15-09-2022, 06:02 PM
Fair dos to them if they can make a go of it.
I wonder how it would work on match days though If you've paid a boutique price and have no interest in football I'm not sure you'd be impressed with the crowds that would be swilling about outside. That's not meant as a dig at hearts in particular. Can you imagine making your way back to your posh hotel through a derby crowd?
15-09-2022, 06:06 PM
Fair dos to them if they can make a go of it.
I wonder how it would work on match days though If you've paid a boutique price and have no interest in football I'm not sure you'd be impressed with the crowds that would be swilling about outside. That's not meant as a dig at hearts in particular. Can you imagine making your way back to your posh hotel through a derby crowd?
The amazing scenery from the Castle View and Plaza View rooms will soon make them forget about the riff raff.
Absolute roasters
Would be surprised if it is that cheap. For "boutique" read "small and vastly overpriced".
Tommy75
15-09-2022, 06:17 PM
22 rooms? Is this like the stadium capacity, they say 22 rooms but in reality there are only 12? No doubt Hearts will say it is sold out every night as well when rooms are sitting empty
I hope they remember to order the beds in time for it opening
15-09-2022, 06:23 PM
I stayed at the hotel in the old West Ham ground for a conference. The corporate boxes were turned into hotel rooms as well, which meant the room looked out over the pitch. It was great fun and could be a success for them.
I can see a problem right there.
15-09-2022, 06:28 PM
I remember you well, in the Jambo Motel
From the famous, you were a hearts legend
You told me again you preferred the loo at Dens
But while here you would make an exception
gaz1875
15-09-2022, 06:33 PM
It was used as an artillery position during the WW1 war they won single handed.
15-09-2022, 06:36 PM
It was used as an artillery position during the WW1 war they won single headedly.Ejects creditors, they are invited to an outdoor meeting then launched into orbit. It's the only way to get a proper castle view.
15-09-2022, 06:41 PM
https://www.argos.co.uk/product/3650921?clickSR=slp:term:garden%20swimming%20pools :1:2:1
Roof top swimming pool has been ordered
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
They're thinking of using this on the restaurant to get the castle view.
Hibs4185
15-09-2022, 07:10 PM
They're thinking of using this on the restaurant to get the castle view.
What lift up the high school opposite so that it doesn’t block the view?
15-09-2022, 07:17 PM
When do they claim it as a world first and the biggest boutique hotel attached to a football stadium anywhere in the world?
15-09-2022, 08:06 PM
This?
Ottoman storage for the spare seats 💺
Bridge hibs
15-09-2022, 08:17 PM
Ottoman storage for the spare seats 💺To let the smell oot
This?
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160907/2312aa2fb46bc27d8eda7fb38f44fd90.jpgMm, looks a bit fritzl.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
McSwanky
15-09-2022, 08:49 PM
Ottoman storage for the spare seats 💺
The penny has just dropped, that's where the extra seats that take the capacity over 20,000 are. Of course!
The penny has just dropped, that's where the extra seats that take the capacity over 20,000 are. Of course!Yeah, they hand out periscopes. They use them in the castle view restaurant as well, to view the castle.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
I'm Spartacus
15-09-2022, 09:49 PM
This?
Is that like the chair on the Graham Norton Show when he pulls a lever and dumps the ********s??
Chorley Hibee
15-09-2022, 09:52 PM
DO mention the war (which we won singlehandedly of course).
NC1875
15-09-2022, 09:53 PM
A boutique hotel with maroon curtains and bed sheets. Aye ok then.
Will be “full” of Plebs from the Rover 75 owners club taking there wives away for the night
This?
I used to love Robot Wars.
https://i.ibb.co/8BTnbj0/download-2.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
15-09-2022, 09:56 PM
Wonderful! Just Wonderful! Helpless!
15-09-2022, 10:05 PM
This?
My uncle designed that 😳
donno
16-09-2022, 04:26 AM
A boutique hotel with maroon curtains and bed sheets. Aye ok then.
Will be “full” of Plebs from the Rover 75 owners club taking there wives away for the nightAre they also going to open a cardigan museum?
Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk
16-09-2022, 07:02 AM
Renfrew_Hibby
16-09-2022, 07:40 AM
I've just had a feature on tiny pop up on my Instagram. Stadium Channel, it's in German but the capacity is listed as 19,852.
16-09-2022, 08:17 AM
My uncle designed that 😳
Was he a Navaho trapper
16-09-2022, 08:23 AM
My uncle designed that 😳
Why , what’s wrong with him ?
16-09-2022, 08:32 AM
Flowery twats
16-09-2022, 09:04 AM
Is that like the chair on the Graham Norton Show when he pulls a lever and dumps the ********s??
How funny would it be if someone pressed the button during a game?
Just to be clear not funny in a fans getting injured sort of way. Utterly bizarre that was requested to be designed
16-09-2022, 09:17 AM
How funny would it be if someone pressed the button during a game?
Just to be clear not funny in a fans getting injured sort of way. Utterly bizarre that was requested to be designed
Nobody would be injured as it would be empty in 20K sell out way only they can do
16-09-2022, 09:54 AM
22 rooms, up to 44 guests. That might be enough for visiting teams to stay in. I think I've got it sussed, they want to charge Ross County for accommodation when they play at tynecastle.
Groathillgrump
16-09-2022, 10:58 AM
This?
It's actually the entrance to Vladimir Romanov's secret bunker.
It has a network of tunnels leading to the docks where he made his escape to the Baltic Sea in his personal submarine.
True story.
16-09-2022, 11:07 AM
This?
It is where they keep all the stolen poppies.
Also where Vlad and Bednar would have their weekly fight club role plays.
16-09-2022, 11:38 AM
They will probably call it The Edinburgh Grand Plaza Hotel,as the are good at making things sound bigger than they actually are.
Heartbreak Motel would be more apt.
Donegal Hibby
16-09-2022, 12:39 PM
This?
Looks like something out of a episode of 'Thunderbirds '
16-09-2022, 12:49 PM
They will probably call it The Edinburgh Grand Plaza Hotel,as the are good at making things sound bigger than they actually are.
Heartbreak Motel would be more apt.
Overlook Hotel more like
16-09-2022, 12:52 PM
I’ve heard of reclining seats, but not a stand. Another world first for our peculiar wee neighbours.
16-09-2022, 12:56 PM
Maybe they will call it Hotel Vanden Plas?
Am also Wondering if it will have 22 jambo themed rooms...