View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)
Crazyhorse
22-02-2018, 11:10 AM
I still liken it to one of those watch through the fingers bad early episodes of Grand Design where the house developer is so up their own backside and full of their own self importance that they dont feel the need to employ professional people to design and build their new tasteless house, usually with the kind of "I am an experienced high flying person in the complex and modern world of IT, how hard can it be to build a house, I will apply all of my management skills to this and save money and time..."
Basically their arrogance and hubris are the big issue here :agree:
They usually come in massively over budget as well.
Cardinal Hibernian
22-02-2018, 11:40 AM
They usually come in massively over budget as well.With the closing scene of Kevin McCloud asking the smug couple, "So, go on, how much did it cost?" provoking one of two responses a) "Nothing we can afford" b) "Not saying" which the watching audience realises they will be eating beans on toast for the foreseeable future.
Funnily enough yet to see an ending where the answer is "It's all right Kevin, we only owe it to ourselves" or "Nothing that a few bumped charities and other organisations can't handle."
Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk
Baker9
22-02-2018, 11:51 AM
Interesting read, however I think I am probably going to wait for Ladybird to Publish Thomaso Builds a Stadium - an easy guide to defective erections. The definitive publication.
Should probably be out for Xmas.
22-02-2018, 11:56 AM
With the closing scene of Kevin McCloud asking the smug couple, "So, go on, how much did it cost?" provoking one of two responses a) "Nothing we can afford" b) "Not saying" which the watching audience realises they will be eating beans on toast for the foreseeable future.
Funnily enough yet to see an ending where the answer is "It's all right Kevin, we only owe it to ourselves" or "Nothing that a few bumped charities and other organisations can't handle."
Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk
Nor have we ever seen them say "Well a mysterious benefactor has given us the money to cover the massive overspend" :greengrin
22-02-2018, 12:06 PM
Nor have we ever seen them say "Well a mysterious benefactor has given us the money to cover the massive overspend" :greengrin
And we've still got to reinstate the kids nursery as well but hopefully the council will assist further than they already have with that one?
22-02-2018, 01:10 PM
And we've still got to reinstate the kids nursery as well but hopefully the council will assist further than they already have with that one?
Wasn’t the nursery supposed to be operational by now?
22-02-2018, 01:26 PM
Wasn’t the nursery supposed to be operational by now?
I was wondering as well. I knew it was late like everything else but surely the council would have insisted they get that done on time?
I knew it was late like everything else but surely the council would have insisted they get that done on time?
Sioux
22-02-2018, 01:35 PM
I see the new stand tread has gone off the front page of KB. Bad news or not so good news is always quickly confined to "yesterday's news, let's move on"
22-02-2018, 01:57 PM
I see the new stand tread has gone off the front page of KB. Bad news or not so good news is always quickly confined to "yesterday's news, let's move on"All finished,on budget, on time. Safety certificates in place and it's got the tomato seal of approval.
The good doctor is just deciding what to do with the money next instead of issuing share certificates.
22-02-2018, 02:28 PM
All finished,on budget, on time. Safety certificates in place and it's got the tomato seal of approval.
The good doctor is just deciding what to do with the money next instead of issuing share certificates.
The temporary occupation certificate they got for the new stand expired on 19th November 2017 and they have never applied for a new one.
They did apply and were granted another temporary occupation certificate for the work under the Wheatfield Stand but it has also expired ( 16th February 2018 )
Both buildings are occupied on a daily basis, but the officials at the Council who are meant to enforce regulations must have instructions to ignore any and all breaches of said regulations at the Budge Folly.
22-02-2018, 02:34 PM
According to the Edinburgh evening news Hearts started working on their new stand on 18 November 2016. That is 461 days ago and they wonder why we laugh at them. 😂
kdhibees1
22-02-2018, 02:36 PM
... and blood doesn't show on a rusty girder.
I blame the yams "groundbreaking" introduction of Chips . Some amount of salt floating about
22-02-2018, 03:10 PM
The temporary occupation certificate they got for the new stand expired on 19th November 2017 and they have never applied for a new one.
They did apply and were granted another temporary occupation certificate for the work under the Wheatfield Stand but it has also expired ( 16th February 2018 )
Both buildings are occupied on a daily basis, but the officials at the Council who are meant to enforce regulations must have instructions to ignore any and all breaches of said regulations at the Budge Folly.So it's all finished and secure then[emoji6]
Rules just go out the window (not glass curtains) when the thieves and the council come together it seems. Or are they operating deliberately without a certificate?
22-02-2018, 03:20 PM
Both buildings are occupied on a daily basis, but the officials at the Council who are meant to enforce regulations must have instructions to ignore any and all breaches of said regulations at the Budge Folly.
Fire off a FOI request asking for the most up to date safety certificate :wink:
McSwanky
22-02-2018, 03:22 PM
I'm starting to sound like a broken record here, but I still reckon they'll be lucky to get through the season without some sort of large-scale safety issue. From what I hear, the place is still a complete bomb site, and the officials both from the club and the Council are turning a blind eye to this on a daily basis.
It's an unbelievable state of affairs, and as much as I'm not a fan of those who choose to support the other side, I really, really hope that they manage to get to a point where they can make the place safe before any major incident.
22-02-2018, 03:38 PM
I'm starting to sound like a broken record here, but I still reckon they'll be lucky to get through the season without some sort of large-scale safety issue. From what I hear, the place is still a complete bomb site, and the officials both from the club and the Council are turning a blind eye to this on a daily basis.
It's an unbelievable state of affairs, and as much as I'm not a fan of those who choose to support the other side, I really, really hope that they manage to get to a point where they can make the place safe before any major incident.
So basically you're saying they've screwed over council, charities, public services, taxpayers and small businesses, *****ed millions of their own fans donations on an eyesore bombsite putting thousands of lives at risk and you hope they get away with it?
Crazyhorse
22-02-2018, 03:38 PM
All finished,on budget, on time. Safety certificates in place and it's got the tomato seal of approval.
Yes you would think they would be shouting from the rooftops about their architectural triumph, a stand which dwarfs all their rivals, a stand without a blemish, which boosts capacity to Nou Camp levels. But no the yams, like Trump are humble, very humble, in fact they are probably the most humble supporters you will ever meet...
22-02-2018, 03:43 PM
Yes you would think they would be shouting from the rooftops about their architectural triumph, a stand which dwarfs all their rivals, a stand without a blemish, which boosts capacity to Nou Camp levels. But no the yams, like Trump are humble, very humble, in fact they are probably the most humble supporters you will ever meet...I like the Trump like comparison. Dumb and shameless as *****. Don't realise why everyone's laughing at them.
McSwanky
22-02-2018, 03:45 PM
So basically you're saying they've screwed over council, charities, public services, taxpayers and small businesses, *****ed millions of their own fans donations on an eyesore bombsite putting thousands of lives at risk and you hope they get away with it?No, I hope none of their fans are killed or seriously injured as a result of their complacency. Two slightly different things.
If we're playing the putting words into someone else's mouth game though, maybe you'd rather they were... That would sure teach Budge and her Council cronies a lesson, eh?
Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
22-02-2018, 03:51 PM
Hearts, Hearts, incompetent Hearts
It's down at Tynecastle they rust
The boys in maroon have a stand turning broon
As both steelwork and dreams turn to dust
Daydreamer
22-02-2018, 03:53 PM
Hearts, Hearts, incompetent Hearts
It's down at Tynecastle they rust
The boys in maroon have a stand turning broon
As both steelwork and dreams turn to dust
Great lyrics lol
BonnieFitbaTeam
22-02-2018, 05:05 PM
In an ideal, planned scenario you are spot on.
I suspect that they effed it up for 3 main basic errors .......
1. Timescales not realistically analysed.
2. Open ended/unfinalised brief re. Internal layouts - the chickens are now coming home to rust on that, it would appear.
3. James Clydesdale was way, way out of his depth, hence his being binned.
(Also seat fiasco and their woeful attempts to do the PM.......:brokenyam::jamboclow:jamboclow:jamboclow )
Fixed that for you..
SuperAllyMcleod
22-02-2018, 05:17 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180219/804ca93f03d55b2e058ade8d75b27789.jpg
Apparently the roof is leaking as well. [emoji3]
Are we sure that’s rust and not p1sh stains? Could that no be Fatty Foulkes seat?
22-02-2018, 07:13 PM
I see the new stand tread has gone off the front page of KB. Bad news or not so good news is always quickly confined to "yesterday's news, let's move on"
Just go back to the first post on the "New stand" thread,comedy gold from Barbie Henderson.
22-02-2018, 07:25 PM
Are we sure that’s rust and not p1sh stains? Could that no be Fatty Foulkes seat?
He widnae fit oan that seat ya daft git. He would need a park bench......
22-02-2018, 07:41 PM
No surprise if the council help with the rust!!
Not sure what they can do for them here tho!!
22-02-2018, 08:45 PM
So basically you're saying they've screwed over council, charities, public services, taxpayers and small businesses, *****ed millions of their own fans donations on an eyesore bombsite putting thousands of lives at risk and you hope they get away with it?
I think what he's saying is that he hopes nobody gets hurt? Which I would agree with.
22-02-2018, 08:53 PM
It's an unbelievable state of affairs, and as much as I'm not a fan of those who choose to support the other side, I really, really hope that they manage to get to a point where they can make the place safe before any major incident.without suggesting for a minute that any major incident meant injury to any of their fans, or to any other clubs' fans I am of the view that the gorgie mob have skirted with disaster and total failure at the offset of this latest venture to try and outshine their nearby neighbours .(us) they have done this in an underhand way, and had the upmost help that ECC have had in their power to enact. they have been given carte blanche to use every method of using council tax payers money to assist them (mine and yours). I wish them the worst. farcical having read some recent comments about rust too. they can buy a black auto part paint that fights rust though . :faf: they, and their consultants should of course know that bare steel , whether low/medium/high grade or whether it's bloody high tensile or titanium is likely to start rusting soon given the likely make up of moisture and other factors such as heat/cold from people in confined spaces and industrial outpourings from their neighbouring distilleries, traffic etc. cant believe the structures were not coated before delivery with at least a primer?
22-02-2018, 10:49 PM
Really, no, it wasn't complex at all :agree:
without suggesting for a minute that any major incident meant injury to any of their fans, or to any other clubs' fans I am of the view that the gorgie mob have skirted with disaster and total failure at the offset of this latest venture to try and outshine their nearby neighbours .(us) they have done this in an underhand way, and had the upmost help that ECC have had in their power to enact. they have been given carte blanche to use every method of using council tax payers money to assist them (mine and yours). I wish them the worst. farcical having read some recent comments about rust too. they can buy a black auto part paint that fights rust though . :faf: they, and their consultants should of course know that bare steel , whether low/medium/high grade or whether it's bloody high tensile or titanium is likely to start rusting soon given the likely make up of moisture and other factors such as heat/cold from people in confined spaces and industrial outpourings from their neighbouring distilleries, traffic etc. cant believe the structures were not coated before delivery with at least a primer?
Ditto - asides from their 30+ years of 'Other People's Money' it's often overlooked the part ECC have played in the Jambos 'Big team' fantasy !. Whilst purposely denying a major revenue-stream (Lochend Butterfly) for Hibs, ECC have bent over backwards to accomodate a club that's basically shafted everyone (local businesse's/employess) that's had any dealings with it !. Even currently there's questions over their safety-certificate, the nursery, land being built on they don't yet own etc, etc. I know when it comes to dealings between them and the ECC that most Hibees just treat it with scorn and ridicule and Jambos like to call us 'Jealous' but personally I think it's well past time that there should be an official investigation/complaint into the undoubtable favouring of one club over another by ECC !. We have to do everything (and have done) by the book but they don't seem to be held to the same stringent standards - and that results in them (once again) benefitting financially over us !. After 30+ years I'm enjoying the 'Level Playing-Field' immensely and I don't want the ECC (the people who take money from me !) stopping that !
23-02-2018, 07:49 AM
I see those time travellers can not only pass a lie detector test, but have definitive proof in the form of photographs from their past, 2020.
Tynecastle
23-02-2018, 09:05 AM
No, I hope none of their fans are killed or seriously injured as a result of their complacency. Two slightly different things.
If we're playing the putting words into someone else's mouth game though, maybe you'd rather they were... That would sure teach Budge and her Council cronies a lesson, eh?
Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
I think what he's saying is that he hopes nobody gets hurt? Which I would agree with.
I too hope that there are no fatalties should there be an incident in their new stand.
However, if there are they would be frontrunners for this years Darwin awards.
23-02-2018, 09:12 AM
Ditto - asides from their 30+ years of 'Other People's Money' it's often overlooked the part ECC have played in the Jambos 'Big team' fantasy !. Whilst purposely denying a major revenue-stream (Lochend Butterfly) for Hibs, ECC have bent over backwards to accomodate a club that's basically shafted everyone (local businesse's/employess) that's had any dealings with it !. Even currently there's questions over their safety-certificate, the nursery, land being built on they don't yet own etc, etc. I know when it comes to dealings between them and the ECC that most Hibees just treat it with scorn and ridicule and Jambos like to call us 'Jealous' but personally I think it's well past time that there should be an official investigation/complaint into the undoubtable favouring of one club over another by ECC !. We have to do everything (and have done) by the book but they don't seem to be held to the same stringent standards - and that results in them (once again) benefitting financially over us !. After 30+ years I'm enjoying the 'Level Playing-Field' immensely and I don't want the ECC (the people who take money from me !) stopping that !
Can only add re their sheer brass neck when it comes to one of their "special relationships" with the Macraes Batallion Trust and the Lady Haig Poppy Fund, both listed on their very own creditors list. Shameless doesn't begin to describe the post Wallace Mercer Hearts era.
Wallace Mercer left Hearts with c.£5M debt.
23-02-2018, 09:27 AM
Wallace Mercer left Hearts with c.£5M debt.Sorry? Meant including the Wallace Mercer era. He was doing everything with other people's money including the failed takeover of Hibs!
Sorry? Meant including the Wallace Mercer era. He was doing everything with other people's money including the failed takeover of Hibs!
Misunderstanding them, bud. You said "the post Wallace Mercer Hearts" whereas the current style of not paying debts and living from other peoples dosh started with him.
23-02-2018, 09:34 AM
Sorry if I’ve missed anything but is this rust problem likely to cause any significant safety hazard or is it more likely to just be superficial damage?
23-02-2018, 09:36 AM
Sorry if I’ve missed anything but is this rust problem likely to cause any significant safety hazard or is it more likely to just be superficial damage?
Likely to just be cosmetic, providing they work out a solution to it, but it looks bloody awful but somehow fits in with the aesthetic of the rest of the stadium...
23-02-2018, 09:57 AM
Likely to just be cosmetic, providing they work out a solution to it, but it looks bloody awful but somehow fits in with the aesthetic of the rest of the stadium...
Doesn’t look cosmetic to me. In the picture with the FOH sticker some of the corrosion looks pretty deep already.
There is also no ‘solution’ to corrosion that has already happened barring sanding / grinding it out...you can’t just slap some paint on it and think it will stop because it won’t.
Considering this steel makes up their whole seating deck I’m very doubtful that it’s been designed to rust in this way like some external cladding is.
23-02-2018, 10:04 AM
Misunderstanding them, bud. You said "the post Wallace Mercer Hearts" whereas the current style of not paying debts and living from other peoples dosh started with him.[emoji106]
23-02-2018, 10:17 AM
Doesn’t look cosmetic to me. In the picture with the FOH sticker some of the corrosion looks pretty deep already.
There is also no ‘solution’ to corrosion that has already happened barring sanding / grinding it out...you can’t just slap some paint on it and think it will stop because it won’t.
Considering this steel makes up their whole seating deck I’m very doubtful that it’s been designed to rust in this way like some external cladding is.
:agree: ... The worst bit is the line running along behind the Perspex panel, it's actually starting to flake and go a bit deeper than just surface rust. One of the engineers at work was looking at it and was a bit surprised, "that's a design flaw"... Apparently you shouldn't have the Perspex hard up against the steel when there's an exposed join at the top, it allows water to get in behind the perspex and keeps it there! :cb
23-02-2018, 10:25 AM
:agree: ... The worst bit is the line running along behind the Perspex panel, it's actually starting to flake and go a bit deeper than just surface rust. One of the engineers at work was looking at it and was a bit surprised, "that's a design flaw"... Apparently you shouldn't have the Perspex hard up against the steel when there's an exposed join at the top, it allows water to get in behind the perspex and keeps it there! :cb
A design flaw? At tinycastle? Shirley not. :faf:
23-02-2018, 10:47 AM
A design flaw? At tinycastle? Shirley not. :faf:Nae chance, it's unique, historic and atmospheric. No other club will ever have perspex abutting the rusting steel in their shiny new one tier stand.
Gaze in wonder.
Greenfly
23-02-2018, 10:50 PM
It's not a perspex panel. It's a perspex curtain ... The words are very important to them.
23-02-2018, 10:58 PM
It's not a perspex panel. It's a perspex curtain ... The words are very important to them.
And it's the biggest
Ok it's the only one
But it's the biggest ok
23-02-2018, 11:34 PM
Auld Rusty supports them with pride
23-02-2018, 11:46 PM
Wallace Mercer left Hearts with c.£5M debt.
That debt was all part of their 'Other Peole's Money' business-plan - if you look through their history, their debt - Mercer onwards - just increased season-after-season. As you say, they were £5m in debt when Robinson took them over (approx 1994) but when he left some 10-11 years later, that debt had magnified to £20+m !. All that debt was just so that they play at being the 'Big team' - in Edinburgh !. There was never any serious chance of the 'Charity Thieves FC' repaying that money - neither was there any serious inclination to repay it !. By the time Romanov came along, many at the PBS had adopted the 'Might as well get hung for a sheep as a lamb' attitude and just crossed their fingers - and being the 'Establishment club', it worked and they got away with it !
24-02-2018, 06:09 AM
That debt was all part of their 'Other Peole's Money' business-plan - if you look through their history, their debt - Mercer onwards - just increased season-after-season. As you say, they were £5m in debt when Robinson took them over (approx 1994) but when he left some 10-11 years later, that debt had magnified to £20+m !. All that debt was just so that they play at being the 'Big team' - in Edinburgh !. There was never any serious chance of the 'Charity Thieves FC' repaying that money - neither was there any serious inclination to repay it !. By the time Romanov came along, many at the PBS had adopted the 'Might as well get hung for a sheep as a lamb' attitude and crossed their fingers - and being the 'Establishment club', it worked and they got away with it !
They ended Vlad period £70 mill in debt. £30 mill plus £40 mill that was forgiven by UBIG but not paid back to the parent bank or converted to worfless shares. i will write the full story one day.
24-02-2018, 07:31 AM
They ended Vlad period £70 mill in debt. £30 mill plus £40 mill that was forgiven by UBIG but not paid back to the parent bank or converted to worfless shares. i will write the full story one day.
And the film after the book!
24-02-2018, 07:38 AM
Perspex is a 'soft' material and scratches very easily. A couple of months down the line you will see nothing through it.
24-02-2018, 07:46 AM
Perspex is a 'soft' material and scratches very easily. A couple of months down the line you will see nothing through it.So similar to the corporate hospitality side then. Unable to see what's actually on the pitch.
Another rare offering from the maroon balloons.
24-02-2018, 10:19 AM
So similar to the corporate hospitality side then. Unable to see what's actually on the pitch.
Another rare offering from the maroon balloons.
In marketing terms, not being able to see what's happening on/above the pitch at the PBS is a positive.
24-02-2018, 10:26 AM
In marketing terms, not being able to see what's happening on/above the pitch at the PBS is a positive.Agree.
Especially when the school view lounge offers the chance to look at the very latest in educational establishment design, roof tiles and the sky.
The rest of us can only dream.
24-02-2018, 10:27 AM
In marketing terms, not being able to see what's happening on/above the pitch at the PBS is a positive.
Ah but on the flip side, they have a wonderful view of the castle.
24-02-2018, 11:02 AM
Not with their heads in the clouds... as they generally are
26-02-2018, 11:24 AM
Aye...the Tin Castle.
ShadesLongThrow
26-02-2018, 12:32 PM
Aye...the Tin Castle.
Is that similar to the Rus Tin Castle?
27-02-2018, 02:33 PM
Spurs must have been consulting with the Edinburgh big team on ground reconstruction.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43210300
Maybe Budge doing a bit of consultancy work. :greengrin
Hope the Press chavvies are wrapped up warm tonight.
27-02-2018, 03:07 PM
Spurs must have been consulting with the Edinburgh big team on ground reconstruction.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43210300
Maybe Budge doing a bit of consultancy work. :greengrin
Read that earlier, I wondered if Spurs were doing the big team thing and going for building in some early on set rust as part of their stadium design to give it a bit of character?
27-02-2018, 03:18 PM
Read that earlier, I wondered if Spurs were doing the big team thing and going for building in some early on set rust as part of their stadium design to give it a bit of character?
Don't know about that , but I hope they consider a move to Twickers after their away fixture venture expires.
28-02-2018, 12:10 AM
Is that similar to the Rus Tin Castle?
More chance of spotting Roy Castle from the "Sky lounge" than Edinburgh castle.
To be fair they are record breakers...
DarrenSQH
28-02-2018, 12:46 AM
Hearts claiming 15 thousand at last lights game is as laughable as their penalty. Place is empty on the highlights
28-02-2018, 06:44 AM
This "contact" in the box and players falling down needs stamped out. Blatant dive and the ref buys it.
It's a joke....
I'd imagine last night there would have been lots of salt out down in the areas around tinytiny.
That will do the rust bucket the world of good.
Killie players didn’t even complain about penalty which was odd. It was soft at best.
Poor Levein. He sounded very upset that he didn’t manage to steal 3 points.
28-02-2018, 02:30 PM
I'd imagine last night there would have been lots of salt out down in the areas around tinytiny.
That will do the rust bucket the world of good.
What ? and leave the chips
28-02-2018, 02:59 PM
Wonder what damage the snow lying on the roof of the new stand is causing
28-02-2018, 03:00 PM
It's a pen all day long, I'd want that if the identical happened to a Hibs player.
28-02-2018, 03:03 PM
Wonder what damage the snow lying on the roof of the new stand is causing
Here's the thread the last time it happened :greengrin
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?198996-Snow-Damage-to-Tynecastle
RoscoHibby
28-02-2018, 07:29 PM
Here's the thread the last time it happened :greengrin
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?198996-Snow-Damage-to-Tynecastle
Caused £20,000 of improvements 😂😂 auld yins are the best!
King Cosell
28-02-2018, 07:51 PM
Hearts claiming 15 thousand at last lights game is as laughable as their penalty. Place is empty on the highlights
Had a butcher's at Kickback last night, they admit it's cobblers. Estimates as low as 9,000.
007 Mickey Weir
01-03-2018, 10:06 AM
Had a butcher's at Kickback last night, they admit it's cobblers. Estimates as low as 9,000.
We both announce tickets sold. Hibs do the same.
01-03-2018, 12:34 PM
We both announce tickets sold. Hibs do the same.
It's a fairly new stance from Hibs then, up until fairly recently they only released the figures for the actual crowd.
007 Mickey Weir
01-03-2018, 12:39 PM
It's a fairly new stance from Hibs then, up until fairly recently they only released the figures for the actual crowd.
Changed that this season. Most games reporting 16k but probably 12-14k turning up. The sell out games having loads of gaps in all stands but still reporting over 20k
01-03-2018, 12:59 PM
Is that how they regularly get 400,000??
01-03-2018, 01:44 PM
Is that how they regularly get 400,000??
They only get to that figure by including those on the waiting list as well.
01-03-2018, 05:02 PM
Changed that this season. Most games reporting 16k but probably 12-14k turning up. The sell out games having loads of gaps in all stands but still reporting over 20k
Are you saying up to 4,000 people don't turn up?
01-03-2018, 05:11 PM
There's no way we only have 12k at some of our games.
The vast majority of yams I know, either friends or work colleagues are season ticket holder and FOH mugs but pick and choose games as “the football is crap”
01-03-2018, 06:16 PM
Nonsense.
How could you know we changed reporting things this season??
I’d guess we’ve been doing it for years, same as every other club in the land has been.
01-03-2018, 06:23 PM
Nonsense.
How could you know we changed reporting things this season??
I’d guess we’ve been doing it for years, same as every other club in the land has been.
We actually started doing it last season. Greg Mailer changed the system before he left.
That's correct. What is wrong is that it's recorded as an attendance. It should more accurately be recorded as tickets sold. Attendance is defined as being present at an event so it will be interesting to see the Arsenal "attendance" tonight.
Arsenal "attendance" 58,420. Laughable!
01-03-2018, 08:58 PM
Arsenal "attendance" 58,420. Laughable!
40,000 tops.
A lot of the home areas were no more that 35% full.
Caversham Green
02-03-2018, 11:02 AM
Interestingly (for some) Reading usually seem to have reported tickets sold, but for Tuesday's match against Sheffield United they gave the attendance as 6,769 - including 730 who made the trip from Sheffield despite the weather. As Reading have around 12,000 ST holders this must have been the actual crowd. I don't know whether they were trying to make a political point to the absent owners or they just decided they couldn't report a 15,000 crowd when there was clearly nothing like that in the ground.
02-03-2018, 12:08 PM
I could have sworn this thread was about Hearts new stand :confused:
02-03-2018, 12:25 PM
I could have sworn this thread was about Hearts new stand :confused:
It is, but work seems to have ground to a halt, even the Yams own thread has dropped down the charts on Sickbag. Now that its open to paying customers work on the internals seems to be dragging at a snails pace, even the club don't appear to be giving updates on it and we all know they would be announcing it as a major innovation in Scottish football if they had so much as laid a carpet.
Could it be they are having to wait for the coo to fill up again before things get moving? :greengrin
02-03-2018, 02:50 PM
Did I not read on here that priority is now player expenditure using the Mugs' money, so stand expenditure is currently at a standstill? When it does restart I expect it means FOH donations will continue to fund stand development, making fan ownership an even more distant possibility. Completion/safety certificate is of little or no consequence apparently.
On another point could one of our building experts advise what effect snow and ice has on poor quality Chinese steel?
Beast from the East = Ship load of sub standard Chinese Steel?
02-03-2018, 03:38 PM
I'm sure the structural steel will be designed to to support a sizeable snow loading.
02-03-2018, 04:00 PM
I'm sure the structural steel will be designed to to support a sizeable snow loading.
I think any worry might be about the huge expanse of perspex or whatever the see-through stuff is.
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=ms.c.eJw9yckNwCAQBMGM0B40nsk~%3BMUsG~%3BCwVlA ucT82lGnxesZ3HWO3sqWtt~_38CRfICh2MQLg~-~-.bps.a.445754419108467.1073741831.445307042486538&type=1
Like the football on offer, those images just scream 'DULL'. It really is a seriously nondescript stadium
Did I not read on here that priority is now player expenditure using the Mugs' money, so stand expenditure is currently at a standstill?
Surely the priority is to furnish and finish off the Nursery they've inconvenienced the last two years? Surely?
The council must be raging that hasn't been finished and player expenditure now has precedence. Surely?
Crazyhorse
03-03-2018, 01:08 PM
Surely the priority is to furnish and finish off the Nursery they've inconvenienced the last two years? Surely?
The council must be raging that hasn't been finished and player expenditure now has precedence. Surely?
Yeah well they have always been so hard on the yams in the past...
03-03-2018, 01:28 PM
When the Nursery is finished and occupied Budge has to cough up the pittance of £ 300,000 for the purchase of the land the new erection occupies.
No rush then.
vuefrom1875
03-03-2018, 01:37 PM
Edinburgh council raging at hertz, don't think so!They bend over backwards, have been for years.
Quote this morning from Queen Budgie:
Hearts owner Ann Budge has revealed that the Edinburgh club's new stand at Tynecastle Stadium will not be finished for some time yet despite it being opened in November. (Scottish Sun On Sunday, print edition)
Wow! I was told on numerous occasions by Yams that all the finances were in place and that this masterpiece will be ready when it’s ready!
Total and utter shambles of a club!
04-03-2018, 09:17 AM
Hearts owner Ann Budge has revealed that the Edinburgh club's new stand at Tynecastle Stadium will not be finished for some time yet despite it being opened in November. (Scottish Sun On Sunday, print edition)
Wow! I was told on numerous occasions by Yams that all the finances were in place and that this masterpiece will be ready when it’s ready!
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkShe's wrong, tomato on rustsback is the go to expert on all football based erection matters down gorgie way and he's saying allisbarry.
04-03-2018, 09:18 AM
Chucking all their money at player wages and the commitment to lay (another) new pitch. It’s a scandal the nursery hasn’t completed yet. Any council sign-offs should have been conditional on that. No shame though. Same old, same old.
Chucking all their money at player wages and the commitment to lay (another) new pitch. Its a scandal the nursery hasnt completed yet. Any council sign-offs should have been conditional on that. No shame though. Same old, same old.
Indeed however ECC have a lot to answer for IMHO. Whilst failing to chase them for unpaid Council Tax /Rates to the sum of nearly 100K, ECC chased up folk that had missed a couple of payments, threatening them with legal action should the monies not be repaid!
The nursery, the safety certificate and much more yet they get away with it. A common denominator in all this and it's not just the yams.
04-03-2018, 09:30 AM
Indeed however ECC have a lot to answer for IMHO. Whilst failing to chase them for unpaid Council Tax /Rates to the sum of nearly 100K, ECC chased up folk that had missed a couple of payments, threatening them with legal action should the monies not be repaid!
The nursery, the safety certificate and much more yet they get away with it. A common denominator in all this and it's not just the yams.Hearts and Edinburgh City Council, a proper example of being two cheeks of the same not insubstantial erse [emoji6]
Hearts and Edinburgh City Council, a proper example of being two cheeks of the same not insubstantial erse [emoji6] Sent from my SM-J320FN using Tapatalk
Correct!
04-03-2018, 09:36 AM
The nursery, the safety certificate and much more yet they get away with it. A common denominator in all this and it's not just the yams.
As a Hibby it really pisses me off the way the two clubs are dealt with but if I was a resident of Edinburgh I think I would be raising my concerns directly with ECC, my local councillor, my MSP and MP. What they get away with, hearts and ECC, is a disgrace
04-03-2018, 10:22 AM
^^Would you really??!
I mean would you actually go to the bother of writing letters and stuff outlining your concerns?
Can’t get my head around that at all.
04-03-2018, 10:32 AM
^^Would you really??!
I mean would you actually go to the bother of writing letters and stuff outlining your concerns?
Why wouldn't you? If you feel like your being taken for a mug do you just accept it? As I said earlier it doesn't directly affect me as I'm not an Edinburgh resident but if I was I would be looking for some answers to why a badly run organisation had so much preferential treatment.
04-03-2018, 10:37 AM
Hearts and Edinburgh City Council, a proper example of being two cheeks of the same not insubstantial erse [emoji6]
IMO Hibs should draw up plans for development of the corners at ER and submit them to the planning department ... it would be interesting to see what sort of reaction we got.
04-03-2018, 10:38 AM
^^Would you really??!
Why not? If you pay council tax the least you can expect is transparency and fairness. City of Edinburgh Council continually bend over backwards for the Gorgie mob. Wouldn't surprise me if they've broken the rules. Hibs meanwhile continually get SFA out of them. Do you think we'd have gotten the same round the clock help for a dodgy stand getting certified? Not a hope in Hell.
04-03-2018, 10:44 AM
Why wouldn't you? If you feel like your being taken for a mug do you just accept it? As I said earlier it doesn't directly affect me as I'm not an Edinburgh resident but if I was I would be looking for some answers to why a badly run organisation had so much preferential treatment.It's a tough one, but I'm reluctantly with Whilethechief on this one. The decades long culture is engrained and your complaint would be put on their bitter hobo pile.
If there was to be a change it would have been over their neglect and double standards concerning collection (or not in the hearts case) of aged business tax debt and the lack of pursuit and enforcement of the debt. If they are so detached and indifferent about their accountability and behaviour over this something obviously exists in the culture which means anything goes where Hearts are concerned.
The good people of Edinburgh seem happy enough to suck it up when it comes to their council here. They probably have other concerns they think they can do something about[emoji6]
04-03-2018, 10:47 AM
IMO Hibs should draw up plans for development of the corners at ER and submit them to the planning department ... it would be interesting to see what sort of reaction we got.Since we've recently been handed the accolade of biggest stadium in the city when hearts created the Rustbowl they'd probably not bother now!
Why not? If you pay council tax the least you can expect is transparency and fairness. City of Edinburgh Council continually bend over backwards for the Gorgie mob. Wouldn't surprise me if they've broken the rules. Hibs meanwhile continually get SFA out of them. Do you think we'd have gotten the same round the clock help for a dodgy stand getting certified? Not a hope in Hell.
Transparency is the key word here and there is a distinct lack of it during that whole era prior to admin and it continues now!
Bitter maybe but once again with the current stand saga it shows that ECC are happy to do all they can to accommodate them!
04-03-2018, 11:18 AM
As a Hibby it really pisses me off the way the two clubs are dealt with but if I was a resident of Edinburgh I think I would be raising my concerns directly with ECC, my local councillor, my MSP and MP. What they get away with, hearts and ECC, is a disgrace
I don't know how far back this favouritism goes. Historically has it been primarily about football clubs, or religion?
04-03-2018, 11:32 AM
They have till June to get the nursery ready.
04-03-2018, 11:33 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2311859/hearts-ann-budge-scottish-cup-1998-big-interview/
Sounds like they are well and truly skint though.
04-03-2018, 11:34 AM
I don't know how far back this favouritism goes. Historically has it been primarily about football clubs, or religion?
It may have its roots in religion, but I highly doubt that's anything like a factor these days. I would say the biggest factor is the demographics of the two clubs support ... in the households of Edinburgh's leafy suburbs where rugger isn't the go to sport chances are Heart of Midlowthian will be the club of choice ( not always so apologies to Hibbies living in such areas ) and that gives them a much bigger foothold in the corridors of power than a club like Hibs with our far more working class history.
04-03-2018, 11:36 AM
Don't worry Aldo, seems they would rather sign 33 year old veteran Craig Conway than finish their stand :wink::greengrin that's what I'm hearing anyway..........will make them 'a force to be reckoned with' according to my Hearts supporting friend :faf:
04-03-2018, 11:41 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2311859/hearts-ann-budge-scottish-cup-1998-big-interview/
Hope they get stuffed today
Don't worry Aldo, seems they would rather sign 33 year old veteran Craig Conway than finish their stand :wink::greengrin that's what I'm hearing anyway..........will make them 'a force to be reckoned with' according to my Hearts supporting friend :faf:
Ha really!! Good to hear. I’ll get this tomorrow at work I reckon but I’m just a bitter jealous peg selling hobo mind!! [emoji51]
Taking stock for a few months does sound like cash flow restrictions.
It could also meant they have some serious rethinking required on design.
Given the number of complaints and comments around quality, view to pitch, cover from roof, steel rusting, seats being wobbly, slippy surface (as it’s not concrete, toilets design! etc. the delay could be down to both this and financial. They are of course linked as a fundamental change to design could cost a lot of money.
I am willing to bet this project will be going on for at least another 12 months and will be a closer to £20m than £15m in the end.
04-03-2018, 11:48 AM
Don't worry Aldo, seems they would rather sign 33 year old veteran Craig Conway than finish their stand :wink::greengrin that's what I'm hearing anyway..........will make them 'a force to be reckoned with' according to my Hearts supporting friend :faf:Conway is maybe an expert in all things galvanising and rust treatment related so could be a mutually beneficial signing as he nears the end of his career. They can't rely on just the tomato forever.
04-03-2018, 11:50 AM
It may have its roots in religion, but I highly doubt that's anything like a factor these days. I would say the biggest factor is the demographics of the two clubs support ... in the households of Edinburgh's leafy suburbs where rugger isn't the go to sport chances are Heart of Midlowthian will be the club of choice ( not always so apologies to Hibbies living in such areas ) and that gives them a much bigger foothold in the corridors of power than a club like Hibs with our far more working class history.
Makes sense. :agree:
Gogs07
04-03-2018, 11:56 AM
Hertz are in a financial crisis!! Time to start selling season tickets and Potter and co to sign up to FOH!!:na na:
04-03-2018, 11:57 AM
Hertz are in a financial crisis!! Time to start selling season tickets and Potter and co to sign up to FOH!!:na na:
And don't forget to buy a plastic owl or stuff the maroon cow to help fund the white elephant.
Only Hearts can make such a complete arse of building what is a relatively simple structure - a big one tier stand and still manage to:-
- overspend by £4m (35%)
- forgot to order the seats
- use cheap materials
- have clear view restrictions
- have clear rust coming through already
- design with cramped seats on a rail and ice rink type surface
- make no allowance for TV box
- make sure the media area is soaked when it rains
- have little facilities available and no progress 4 months since it was built
- tell fans that priority now is building a nursery by the summer
- admit that it will be a long time before finaished and effectively looking st design again.
- increase capacity by c 2500 and still well short of Hibernian FC capacity
- still not have a UEFA compliant pitch size
Only Hearts. They tried to do it in the cheap and they had to do it with such a big fanfare. What a bunch of clowns.
04-03-2018, 12:12 PM
I would guess it started in the Wallace Mercer times. He was an expert at working situations to get advantages and absolutely shameless in asking for " support " for Hearts be it from Council, local business or football authorities.
04-03-2018, 12:15 PM
Three main KPIs for a project like this 1. On time? Nope 2. On budget? Nope 3. On Specification? Doesn't look it. It is like a lesson on how not to manage projects. Amateur at the very least
04-03-2018, 12:20 PM
Only Hearts can make such a complete arse of building what is a relatively simple structure - a big one tier stand and still manage to:-
- overspend by £4m (35%)
- forgot to order the seats
- use cheap materials
- have clear view restrictions
- have clear rust coming through already
- design with cramped seats on a rail and ice rink type surface
- make no allowance for TV box
- make sure the media area is soaked when it rains
- have little facilities available and no progress 4 months since it was built
- tell fans that priority now is building a nursery by the summer
- admit that it will be a long time before finaished and effectively looking st design again.
- increase capacity by c 2500 and still well short of Hibernian FC capacity
- still not have a UEFA compliant pitch size
Only Hearts. They tried to do it in the cheap and they had to do it with such a big fanfare. What a bunch of clowns.
Aye, but they have a plaza ..... we can only dream :boo hoo:
04-03-2018, 12:31 PM
....it shows that ECC are happy to do all they can to accommodate them!
And so they should. I’d expect the council to help any business in Edinburgh where it can.
Firing off letters to MPs, MSPs and councillors - to what end?
What kind of response would satisfy the author? “ Oh, you’re right Sir, we’ve shown atrocious bias against your club over the decades how we can help you now?”!!!
It’s nonsense. Whenever supporting your team leads to chat about writing letters, the compliance office or the human rights act then you really need to take a step back!
Posters here are basically saying that all of us who live in Edinburgh are complicit in the problem because we just take it! Bollocks to that.
Some of us just don’t live our lives looking for injustices and dramas.
Once, donkeys ago, we had an issue over the butterfly site. Since then, in what way has the council tried to stiff us?
Completely different council and councillors to back then but supposedly they all favour Hearts and do what they can to make things hard for us?
Not once have I heard anyone from Hibs voice any kind of concern over their dealings with Edinburgh Council.
04-03-2018, 12:37 PM
Publicity photo fail:
1) that heart shaped ‘thing’ she is leaning on is an abomination.
2) so is the jaiket, obviously
3) ped barriers in the background. Dear me
04-03-2018, 12:44 PM
Transparency is the key word here and there is a distinct lack of it during that whole era prior to admin and it continues now!
Bitter maybe but once again with the current stand saga it shows that ECC are happy to do all they can to accommodate them!
They obviously didn't just miss one or two payments, it looks like by the sum they were due the council it would seem they hadn't paid for a few years, did the council instruct Scott & co to get payment after the 1 st few months of non payment, and if so WTF were Scott & co playing at, joe blogs would have been hounded by them for payment with threats of removal of goods from property or bank accounts being frozen until payment is paid, and be assured they would have got payment from JB, Scott & co would have seen that there was money still coming in to the club and should have been there on match day to seize any cash that came through the turnstiles, it is a joke they were allowed to get away without paying any council tax before they went into admin
04-03-2018, 12:50 PM
And so they should. I’d expect the council to help any business in Edinburgh where it can.
What kind of response would satisfy the author? “ Oh, you’re right Sir, we’ve shown atrocious bias against your club over the decades how we can help you now?”!!!
It’s nonsense. Whenever supporting your team leads to chat about writing letters, the compliance office or the human rights act then you really need to take a step back!
Posters here are basically saying that all of us who live in Edinburgh are complicit in the problem because we just take it! Bollocks to that.
Once, donkeys ago, we had an issue over the butterfly site. Since then, in what way has the council tried to stiff us?
Completely different council and councillors to back then but supposedly they all favour Hearts and do what they can to make things hard for us?
Not once have I heard anyone from Hibs voice any kind of concern over their dealings with Edinburgh Council.
You obviously didn't hear Petrie sounding off the way the Council refused point blank to sell Hibs the land they required to build the West Stand.
A 10 yard wide strip of the old Norton Park School playground was what our Club wanted and the Council estates department said GTF. and sold the school and the whole playground to Albion Equity Ltd.
Petrie said this was done for the sole purpose of stopping Hibs developing the stadium.
04-03-2018, 12:50 PM
maybe because Hibernian Football club happen to do things by the book....and follow rules/guidelines, maybe ?
04-03-2018, 12:56 PM
maybe because Hibernian Football club happen to do things by the book....and follow rules/guidelines, maybe ?
I've no doubt about that.
My point is that some posters are saying the council goes out its way to make things difficult for us, I'm just wondering how.
The west stand was built around 20 years ago, are we still holding that grudge?!
04-03-2018, 12:59 PM
Maybe so mate .... but you cant deny that when they did screw us over IE with the Lochend Butterfly it was pretty bloody spectacular and cost the club an absolute fortune ... if STF's plan had been approved a new east stand would have been part of the development and would have cost the club nothing, instead we ended up spending three million quid or more of our own money building the east which stands now.
They did also deny us an early license for BTG citing 'giving the local residents a break' as the reason ... even though BTG has never that I'm aware of been responsible for any problem to the local area caused by folk leaving it when it closes or inside the building itself.
As I said before .... lets see how accommodating they are when we try to develop the FF / East corner which we surely will eventually, I'm willing to bet they wont allow anything taller than a Hobbit hole.
And so they should. Id expect the council to help any business in Edinburgh where it can. Firing off letters to MPs, MSPs and councillors - to what end? What kind of response would satisfy the author? Oh, youre right Sir, weve shown atrocious bias against your club over the decades how we can help you now?!!! Its nonsense. Whenever supporting your team leads to chat about writing letters, the compliance office or the human rights act then you really need to take a step back! Posters here are basically saying that all of us who live in Edinburgh are complicit in the problem because we just take it! Bollocks to that. Some of us just dont live our lives looking for injustices and dramas. Once, donkeys ago, we had an issue over the butterfly site. Since then, in what way has the council tried to stiff us? Completely different council and councillors to back then but supposedly they all favour Hearts and do what they can to make things hard for us? Not once have I heard anyone from Hibs voice any kind of concern over their dealings with Edinburgh Council.
I agree that the should however my point was that they allowed them to wrack up arrears for months/years? Yet Joe Public (as others have alluded to) would have been hounded and had a knock at the door.
I know friends whose parents had knocks at the door and even letters threatening with legal action after a few missed payments yet a local business fails to pay a huge sum yet gets away with it and they are as accommodating as ever.
With regards drama/injustices etc I never mentioned this however those who pay and live within this region deserve to be treated fairly and this has indeed not been the case for some.
Now the nursery saga will evolve and after promising to provide a facility it has yet to be started.... Will this be chased up by ECC??
It's about integrity, fairness and transparency yet these questions are very rarely asked by anyone about the yams and their dealings with ECC!
Each to their own mind and this is just my opinion!
They obviously didn't just miss one or two payments, it looks like by the sum they were due the council it would seem they hadn't paid for a few years, did the council instruct Scott & co to get payment after the 1 st few months of non payment, and if so WTF were Scott & co playing at, joe blogs would have been hounded by them for payment with threats of removal of goods from property or bank accounts being frozen until payment is paid, and be assured they would have got payment from JB, Scott & co would have seen that there was money still coming in to the club and should have been there on match day to seize any cash that came through the turnstiles, it is a joke they were allowed to get away without paying any council tax before they went into admin
Well said!
04-03-2018, 01:11 PM
My point is that some posters are saying the council goes out its way to make things difficult for us, I'm just wondering how.
The west stand was built around 20 years ago, are we still holding that grudge?!
How about selling the acre of ground in McLeod Street to Hearts for £ 300,000 that dosn't have to be settled until the nursery is occupied.
That's the same land they valued at £ 1.2 million when Vlad's UBIG group was wanting to buy it.
04-03-2018, 01:34 PM
I would suggest Sir Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie indeed do keep a very close eye on developments to see that the Council don’t stray into favouritism and cronyism.
https://www.scotsman.com/news/hibs-accuse-edinburgh-council-of-bias-towards-hearts-over-stadium-1-1981656
04-03-2018, 01:40 PM
That's from 2011.
Think about why Hibs training ground is outwith the city limits.
After offering to revamp Hunter's Hall for the benefit of Hibs, the surrounding area and the city Hibs were told to bolt and it was alluded to us that no training ground built by Hibs would be looked favourably by the EC.
Happens time and again, don't expect it to change anytime in the future.
Maybe so mate .... but you cant deny that when they did screw us over IE with the Lochend Butterfly it was pretty bloody spectacular and cost the club an absolute fortune ...
...and was later revealed to be illegal.
04-03-2018, 01:58 PM
Think about why Hibs training ground is outwith the city limits.
After offering to revamp Hunter's Hall for the benefit of Hibs, the surrounding area and the city Hibs were told to bolt and it was alluded to us that no training ground built by Hibs would be looked favourably by the EC.
Happens time and again, don't expect it to change anytime in the future.
Hunters Hall? Is that where Jack Kane centre is? I vaguely remember some chat about that and Hibs I think.
I'll need to take your word on the rest. Told to bolt though? Maybe there were valid reasons at the time?
I've no idea. Id be surprised though if it came down to the fact to was Hibs and not Hearts looking to do something.
Just picture the committee meeting.
12 or so councillors have a debate then take a vote. How do you think that those that have zero interest in football would react to one of their colleagues saying "naw, thats the Hibs, can't allow that"!
Seems a bit far fetched to me.
OK.
04-03-2018, 02:04 PM
That's from 2011.
Yes, but does prove that they keep a watchful eye on Council dealings with Hearts. As a Hibs supporter I am glad that they do.
04-03-2018, 02:45 PM
Aye, but they have a plaza ..... we can only dream :boo hoo:The driveway bricks are available at all good builders merchants and DIY stores.
04-03-2018, 02:47 PM
You obviously didn't hear Petrie sounding off the way the Council refused point blank to sell Hibs the land they required to build the West Stand.
A 10 yard wide strip of the old Norton Park School playground was what our Club wanted and the Council estates department said GTF. and sold the school and the whole playground to Albion Equity Ltd.
Petrie said this was done for the sole purpose of stopping Hibs developing the stadium.[emoji106]pertinent to the debate.
04-03-2018, 03:02 PM
Hunters Hall? Is that where Jack Kane centre is? I vaguely remember some chat about that and Hibs I think.
I'll need to take your word on the rest. Told to bolt though? Maybe there were valid reasons at the time?
I've no idea. Id be surprised though if it came down to the fact to was Hibs and not Hearts looking to do something.
Just picture the committee meeting.
12 or so councillors have a debate then take a vote. How do you think that those that have zero interest in football would react to one of their colleagues saying "naw, thats the Hibs, can't allow that"!
You seem to believe that no-one at ECC is capable of being a bit naughty ?. It was only 2/3 years ago a number of them were jailed for corruption over building-contracts, repairs etc that had been going on for years !
AltheHibby
04-03-2018, 03:14 PM
So, they held back on BTG for the decent people in the area? But that lot have no restrictions on noise (I know!) etc.
Simple reason: no decent people to consider over there!
04-03-2018, 03:15 PM
Mikey Stewart cheesin' at hertz misfortune. Pleasing!
04-03-2018, 03:17 PM
Stand redevelopment disappearing into the distance?
Million plus quid just went sailing down the Swannee.
Pleasing, or what.
Keep donating, chaps, it's what big teams do.
Oh ma sides............
04-03-2018, 04:08 PM
Pressure's on Potter for Friday -PBS-Cludgie on stand-by !
You seem to believe that no-one at ECC is capable of being a bit naughty ?. It was only 2/3 years ago a number of them were jailed for corruption over building-contracts, repairs etc that had been going on for years !
That's too far fetched for him.
04-03-2018, 04:34 PM
Aye, but they have a plaza ..... we can only dream :boo hoo:
No, no, nooo...they have a piazza
04-03-2018, 04:38 PM
Beat them on Friday, and that new stand will get no wear and tear for the rest of the season
04-03-2018, 04:48 PM
Budge 'called a halt to work on the stand in January'? I wasn't aware of that. Guess it explains why the interior remains a building site.
As you say, her claim to have stopped work so they could 'to take a breather' is hardly convincing. They've run out of money basically.
04-03-2018, 05:01 PM
Sure they can be a bit naughty, but at Hibs’ expense?
I was simply questioning the perceived wisdom on here that the council do everything they can to help Hearts and at the same time go out of their way to hinder us.
Fair do’s on the couple of examples over the last 30 years but again, it’s a completely new council now.
I don’t agree that there’s an ingrained bias against us. That kinda goes with Hearts being the establishment club guff.
I was simply questioning the perceived wisdom on here that the council do everything they can to help Hearts and at the same time go out of their way to hinder us.
Fair do’s on the couple of examples over the last 30 years but again, it’s a completely new council now.
I don’t agree that there’s an ingrained bias against us. That kinda goes with Hearts being the establishment club guff.
Do you think the council are going out of their way to help them just now?
04-03-2018, 05:16 PM
Do you think the council are going out of their way to help them just now?
I’ve no idea. They should be though. Why wouldn’t a council want to help a local football club?
I’d have thought that’s a no brainer. If for example it’s something like planning permission and it can get put through a bit quicker to allow stadium redevelopment then of course.
I’m not talking about turning a blind eye or anything corrupt here, just common sense.
04-03-2018, 05:18 PM
So when is the nursery due to open?
04-03-2018, 05:22 PM
Admit it,you creamed your pants at the 20mph zones.
I’ve no idea. They should be though. Why wouldn’t a council want to help a local football club?
I’d have thought that’s a no brainer. If for example it’s something like planning permission and it can get put through a bit quicker to allow stadium redevelopment then of course.
I’m not talking about turning a blind eye or anything corrupt here, just common sense.
So in one our latest dealings with the Council, opening BTG early, in what way did they help Hibs?
04-03-2018, 05:59 PM
Admit it,you creamed your pants at the 20mph zones.
I’m guessing that you’re having at dig at me here, I just can’t work it out!
04-03-2018, 06:02 PM
I’m guessing that you’re having at dig at me here, I just can’t work it out!
You've admitted to not having answers or ideas and suchlike but do you remember this utter, utter walloper?
04-03-2018, 06:13 PM
Budge 'called a halt to work on the stand in January'? I wasn't aware of that. Guess it explains why the interior remains a building site.
As you say, her claim to have stopped work so they could 'to take a breather' is hardly convincing. They've run out of money basically.
They really are a shambles. Signing and paying a fortune for players like laugherty and Naeskill but cant afford to put doors and walls up in their new stand. They really do have serious delusions of grandeur.
04-03-2018, 06:15 PM
Mark Lazorwitz or something?
Think he was responsible for the greenways bus lanes? Now that’s something worth writing to the council about!
If any of you do get round to writing to the council with your concerns, mind and post up your letters and replies for us :aok:
04-03-2018, 06:15 PM
They really are a shambles. Signing and paying a fortune for players like laugherty and Naeskill but cant afford to put doors and walls up in their new stand. They really do have serious delusions of grandeur.
As they said way back, fur coat and nae knickers!
04-03-2018, 06:17 PM
When they were racing to get things done in time for the Partick? Game I posted I’d overheard a couple of guys saying no chance and some of the things outstanding. They also mentioned that some of the guys were still waiting to get paid - it was a mess and some of the contractors who were agency were just getting let go others were getting paid out of the pockets of their bosses still awaiting payment or were at the time according to these guys looks like there may be something in that.
Why would a project halt? No funds ? No continuing business justification? Other business priorities?
Whilst weve been through the pain of updating the stadium we
Can look back and see that it was done in a thorough, professional manner. Now we have the infrastructure in place and can concentrate on the sporting excellence side of things we should see the benefit of the investment. Thanks for the foresight of playing the long term versus the short term game painful tho it was at the time.
04-03-2018, 06:26 PM
So when is the nursery due to open?
According to Queen Anne in the Sun article - “it’s due to be handed over by June”.
04-03-2018, 06:28 PM
Whilst weve been through the pain of updating the stadium we
Can look back and see that it was done in a thorough, professional manner. Now we have the infrastructure in place and can concentrate on the sporting excellence side of things we should see the benefit of the investment. Thanks for the foresight of playing the long term versus the short term game painful tho it was at the time.
Petrie in!
04-03-2018, 06:31 PM
You've admitted to not having answers or ideas and suchlike but do you remember this utter, utter walloper?
Eric Milligan, former lord provost and leader of the city council and hearts fan?
Likes a wee project involving trams?
Do I win a plastic owl?
Fair do’s on the couple of examples over the last 30 years
but again, it’s a completely new council now.
The cut price sale of the land & the nursery build is a current deal, agreed by your completely new council.
04-03-2018, 06:44 PM
Eric Milligan, former lord provost and leader of the city council and hearts fan?
Likes a wee project involving trams?
Do I win a plastic owl?
It's in the post in a big brown envelope.
04-03-2018, 07:25 PM
According to Queen Anne in the Sun article - “it’s due to be handed over by June”.
That'll be 2019 then... going by her track record on timescales
04-03-2018, 08:08 PM
Probably is as you suggest but I would hope its more.
My hope is that they have realised the stand design is badly flawed and they are going to have make major amendments to it to meet H & S requirements, cater for directors of both clubs etc and also to give the press decent facilities.
If it is these things they are going to have to cut into the rusting steel to add further vomitoriums and have a major internal rethink.
It would be too funny if this was the case and the capacity of the new was no much bigger than old, cost them several more millions to fix and still looked like a rusting hovel and the price of their initial cheapness was that theirnew Corporate facilities which were supposed to bring in upwards of £1m pa no longer existed
I have absolutely no inside information but even build quality apart that new stand is nowhere near fit for purpose and I can see it costing plenty to try and resolve.
04-03-2018, 08:20 PM
"...and will have a better view of both the castle and the pitch than those in the Sky(pe) Lounge
There are posts on this this thread from business owners/operators who have been waiting several months for CEC planning dept to do their job, a wait which has had significant financial impact on their business. The repeated response from said dept is that there’s a large backlog of work (iirc), yet they can not only spare the manpower but also the overtime pay to have 6(?) members of staff onsite for days in the run up to the Partick game.
whilst I see and agree with your general point, I think there is a fair amount of questionable actions by the council in regards the 2 clubs, and other Edinburgh businesses and residents.
crash
04-03-2018, 08:44 PM
There are posts on this this thread from business owners/operators who have been waiting several months for CEC planning dept to do their job, a wait which has had significant financial impact on their business. The repeated response from said dept is that there’s a large backlog of work (iirc), yet they can not only spare the manpower but also the overtime pay to have 6(?) members of staff onsite for days in the run up to the Partick game.
whilst I see and agree with your general point, I think there is a fair amount of questionable actions by the council in regards the 2 clubs, and other Edinburgh businesses and residents.
Totally agree. I think we should go on the offensive as a club and bring these issues into the media.
04-03-2018, 08:50 PM
Totally agree. I think we should go on the offensive as a club and bring these issues into the media.
I don't believe you really think that we "as a club" will do any such thing.
Criswell
05-03-2018, 12:42 AM
Reluctant as I am to subscribe to conspiracy/anti Hibs bias from the ECC there was certainly something untoward going on concerning the sale of the Lochend Butterfly land. As far as I can remember STF complied with the bidding process as laid down by the Council at the outset, only for them to suddenly "move the goalposts" after his bid was submitted. The result was that he was outbid. He made legal submissions to the Council to explain their decision, but unsurprisingly, they were dismissed out-of-hand. I think they quoted "Commercial Confidentiality" or something.
Incidentally, the site lay un-developed for years after this. Take from that what you may?
05-03-2018, 06:00 AM
Reluctant as I am to subscribe to conspiracy/anti Hibs bias from the ECC there was certainly something untoward going on concerning the sale of the Lochend Butterfly land. As far as I can remember STF complied with the bidding process as laid down by the Council at the outset, only for them to suddenly "move the goalposts" after his bid was submitted. The result was that he was outbid. He made legal submissions to the Council to explain their decision, but unsurprisingly, they were dismissed out-of-hand. I think they quoted "Commercial Confidentiality" or something.
Incidentally, the site lay un-developed for years after this. Take from that what you may?
the company who won the bid ended up - after winning - in receivership. This was a complete scam and scandal from the outset and should have been challenged legally and those responsible, charged with fraud. I have never witnessed such a blatant form of bias from a local public service. Milligan should be jailed for his actions!
TrinityHibs
05-03-2018, 06:32 AM
The cut price sale of the land & the nursery build is a current deal, agreed by your completely new council.
The deal on the nursery was negotiated by a Hibby.
05-03-2018, 07:28 AM
Did the deal include allowing them to move the Gorgie sprogs into the temporary nursery in Wheatfield Street in January 2017 when there was not even a Building Warrant issued for the building until August 2017 or a completion Certificate until November 2017.
05-03-2018, 07:45 AM
‘The Famous’ in a nutshell.
So much noise, so little substance.
05-03-2018, 10:53 AM
Probably is as you suggest but I would hope its more.
My hope is that they have realised the stand design is badly flawed and they are going to have make major amendments to it to meet H & S requirements, cater for directors of both clubs etc and also to give the press decent facilities.
If it is these things they are going to have to cut into the rusting steel to add further vomitoriums and have a major internal rethink.
It would be too funny if this was the case and the capacity of the new was no much bigger than old, cost them several more millions to fix and still looked like a rusting hovel and the price of their initial cheapness was that theirnew Corporate facilities which were supposed to bring in upwards of £1m pa no longer existed
I have absolutely no inside information but even build quality apart that new stand is nowhere near fit for purpose and I can see it costing plenty to try and resolve.
Whether or not there prove to be design flaws, yesterday's defeat means there won't be any need to worry about the capacity of the stadium for the rest of the season. The attendances will still be given as upwards of 14k due to the season ticket numbers but Tynecastle is unlikely to be more than half full when it comes to actual attendees.
Hard to see where the cash is coming from to fund what remains to be done with the stand (and it sounds like there's a lot), let alone finance summer signings. Even the yams aren't going to rush to snap up season tickets on the back of another lacklustre campaign.
05-03-2018, 10:57 AM
Whether or not there prove to be design flaws, yesterday's defeat means there won't be any need to worry about the capacity of the stadium for the rest of the season. The attendances will still be given as upwards of 14k due to the season ticket numbers but Tynecastle is unlikely to be more than half full when it comes to actual attendees.
Hard to see where the cash is coming from to fund what remains to be done with the stand (and it sounds like there's a lot), let alone finance summer signings. Even the yams aren't going to rush to snap up season tickets on the back of another lacklustre campaign.
Maybe they should shut the new stand for a few months to make it easier to do the remaining works?
05-03-2018, 11:02 AM
Which helps explain why Ann Budge was in the press talking about how it's the no1 priority for her now etc
Good to see a contractual obligation that has been well-negotiated and that can be used to hold Hearts feet to the flames for once.
:rules:Good job whoever this was
05-03-2018, 11:03 AM
Which helps explain why Ann Budge was in the press talking about how it's the no1 priority for her now etc
Good to see a contractual obligation that has been well-negotiated and that can be used to hold Hearts feet to the flames for once.
:rules:Good job whoever this was
Can you please remind me, without reading back, why the nursery needs to be completed by June, and the costs involved
05-03-2018, 11:15 AM
Can you please remind me, without reading back, why the nursery needs to be completed by June, and the costs involved
According to Ann Budge herself, here's why it's a priority - Budge being quoted in the press this past weekend:
After a crazy couple of months Budge called a halt to work in January to take stock of the situation.
Now her main goal is to complete the building of a new Tynecastle nursery behind the stand, a contractual obligation of the redevelopment, as well as a new club shop.
“The key thing is we must get the nursery open, that’s a contractual commitment.
“We need to hand that over to the council in June, so that’s my number one priority".
And as for the costs - here's the Council report :
http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/download/meetings/id/50731/item_77_-_tynecastle_nursery
Careful now, as you'll see reference in the early paragraphs to Hearts "raising capacity of the football stadium to over 20,000" hahaha :greengrin
05-03-2018, 11:19 AM
According to Ann Budge herself, here's why it's a priority - Budge being quoted in the press this past weekend:
After a crazy couple of months Budge called a halt to work in January to take stock of the situation.
Now her main goal is to complete the building of a new Tynecastle nursery behind the stand, a contractual obligation of the redevelopment, as well as a new club shop.
“The key thing is we must get the nursery open, that’s a contractual commitment.
“We need to hand that over to the council in June, so that’s my number one priority".
http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/download/meetings/id/50731/item_77_-_tynecastle_nursery
Careful now, as you'll see reference in the early paragraphs to Hearts "raising capacity of the football stadium to over 20,000" hahaha :greengrin
My guess is that getting the club shop up and running is more important and the nursery is just the bi-product of building the shop hence, mentioning the contractual commitment. She needs finance and what easier way to get than to fleece the hordes. Oh I loves it!
05-03-2018, 11:21 AM
There are plenty people on here who wanted Hibs to take the same approach i.e. chuck money at the team and leave the stadium till an unspecified future date.
Fortunately, our board took the difficult decisions at the right time and we're reaping the benefits now, big time.
Hearts will struggle for some time, but they're cushioned by the donations.
05-03-2018, 11:22 AM
A look at the sumptuous interior of the new stand hospitality. Very Hearts - bland and characterless.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPv73NM-Uts&feature=youtu.be
05-03-2018, 11:33 AM
A look at the sumptuous interior of the new stand hospitality. Very Hearts - bland and characterless.
Health warning - best viewed with muted sound.
05-03-2018, 11:36 AM
That lounge could be anywhere. Just a hotel function room. Unbelievable they made it with no views of the pitch.
05-03-2018, 11:49 AM
That’s embarrassing in terms of the money spent in the project.
05-03-2018, 11:57 AM
Stopping work on the stand to 'take stock' is clearly Budge speak for ...... A ) we are beginning to realise what a car crash the design is ... and B ) we have run out of money.
When you look at the list of stuff we already know about it really makes you wonder what other fundamental flaws they have come across which it will take time and money to rectify .... as it stands:
The police box which still needs to be removed ... at what cost?
Badly positioned press area.
A badly positioned directors box which shares an exit with the plebs ... is there another club in the country of their size who would take that chance?
Badly designed toilets which only allow about 3 folk at a time at the urinals.
A lack of turnstiles at the away end causing health & safety issues.
A posh lounge with no pitch view and nothing like the external views they promised.
No room anywhere in the stadium for a TV studio which wont compromise views or lose valuable seats.
Rust problems due to use of cheap materials.
The stand roof is already leaking .. according to one Yam on Sickbag.
Given that list what other problems have they come across with the first and second floors? I wouldn't be surprised if the escalators have been installed upside down .... besides that, if they are anything like the ones in my local supermarket they will continually break down, they must cost a fortune to maintain.
I cant help thinking there's a hell of a lot of comedy mileage left in this thread yet :thumbsup:
05-03-2018, 12:08 PM
This is 'fake news' ... I could clearly see breeze blocks :greengrin Watching them go through the vomitorium into the stand reminded me of the East Stand at ER. Bloody poor effort for a main stand .. everything about it looks cheap ... if that's their 'hospitality' it doesn't look any better than the 20 years old BTG.
KerPlunk
05-03-2018, 12:10 PM
Stopping work on the stand to 'take stock' is clearly Budge speak for ...... A ) we are beginning to realise what a car crash the design is ... and B ) we have run out of money.
When you look at the list of stuff we already know about it really makes you wonder what other fundamental flaws they have come across which it will take time and money to rectify .... as it stands:
A badly positioned directors box which shares an exit with the plebs ... is there another club in the country of their size who would take that chance?
The board room at ground floor level with windows facing the street ... as Rod Petrie will tell you, that's mental, possibly dangerous :greengrin
A posh lounge with no pitch view and nothing like the external views they promised.
No room anywhere in the stadium for a TV studio which wont compromise views or lose valuable seats.
Given that list what other problems have they come across with the first and second floors? I wouldn't be surprised if the escalators have been installed upside down .... besides that, if they are anything like the ones in my local supermarket they will continually break down, they must cost a fortune to maintain.
I cant help thinking there's a hell of a lot of comedy mileage left in this thread yet :thumbsup:
If only they’d appointed a proper architect instead of CIOB member Jim Clydesdale. :agree:
Buy cheap, buy twice.
Absolutely loving Budgies woeful attempts at turd polishing.
Make no mistake, this new stand shambles will be a millstone for some time to come.
100 times better than it was against us in December.
05-03-2018, 12:23 PM
I just spent 10 minutes wondering why they had a big picture of Scott Brown in a Celtic Shirt on the wall...finally had to freeze frame it to realise it was a telly ! DOH!:greengrin
05-03-2018, 12:30 PM
Imaginative use of magnolia paint inside their new suites. Very daring.
Your just jealous of the Piazza.
05-03-2018, 12:36 PM
If you notice on this video they’ve solved the problem of water ingress into the press area, they’ve put wee Perspex rain hoods on every press desk. So the jouros must be happy noo, nae water on their MacBooks but they themselves will still get wet 👍🏻
05-03-2018, 12:37 PM
Health warning - best viewed with muted sound.
If you mute the sound you'll miss the boy right at the end saying "for ****'s sake this is ****ing awesome man". It's probably an official club video, is it?
05-03-2018, 12:49 PM
Thought the coat hanger rail was a nice decorative touch
05-03-2018, 12:54 PM
Anyone know what Arlene Foster - leader of the DUP - was doing around the 3 min mark? :wink:
vuefrom1875
05-03-2018, 02:24 PM
Anyone know what Arlene Foster - leader of the DUP - was doing around the 3 min mark? :wink:
Not sure what she /he was doing there.
05-03-2018, 02:31 PM
Anyone know what Arlene Foster - leader of the DUP - was doing around the 3 min mark? :wink:Warm up man for a hearty rendition of their Billy boys anthem?
Bingo caller?
A wee presentation on effective use of the UK taxpayers money on environmental fuel schemes?
05-03-2018, 02:35 PM
Basically that looks like directors and officials of visiting teams get caught up in a queue with home fans waiting to take their seats.
Imagine Lennon got sent to the stand (unthinkable I know :wink:) or some other fans favourite down that way.
05-03-2018, 02:35 PM
Was it just me or did anyone else notice the complete silence and lack of atmosphere around the whole ' hospitality' area.
I've been at more atmospheric funerals at Mortonhall.
As has been mentioned on here many times, they have got problems.
05-03-2018, 03:37 PM
Basically that looks like directors and officials of visiting teams get caught up in a queue with home fans waiting to take their seats.
Imagine Lennon got sent to the stand (unthinkable I know :wink:) or some other fans favourite down that way.
Might actually happen if Neil gets a ban which covers the game at Tynecastle after the split. That is a recipe for disaster not just in respect to Neil but other teams directors etc.
05-03-2018, 03:45 PM
Just looking at the video thought it looked good pretty similar to the Hibs hospitality though would have been better with a view of the pitch. Certainly a a huge improvement on the stand that was there.
PeeKay
05-03-2018, 03:56 PM
They also say "The redevelopment would raise the stadium to UEFA standards, enabling it to host European games". Total fiction given as fact in an official CEC report. What else have they just made up?
That's fine but my point was this is a current deal negotiated by the new council members. The OP appears to have stuck his head in the sand & ignored the many posts providing recent/current examples of the Yams receiving favourable treatment from the council.
05-03-2018, 04:00 PM
Not a problem. Managers sent to the stand at Tynecastle simply slip in at the back of the dugout area. That’s what Levein did and at least one of his predecessors IIRC
05-03-2018, 04:08 PM
Having been at our Clubhouse (basically extension of The Gallery) hospitality at the Aberdeen match a couple of weeks ago, I can give a fair comparison from what that video shows.
The back of their main stand still looks like a Tescos, no getting away from it. 1-0 to the good guys
I was stunned when the video went into the "suite" - it was uncovered oblong tables with what I can only describe as Novotel conference facility seating. There was nothing on the walls, just looked like a room in a hotel. Ours, on the other hand, is round tables (much more convivial) covered with linen and nice flower arrangements (if you like that kinda thing) and all the walls on the way to the suite and in the suite itself are covered in Hibs memorabilia. 2-0
Menu - looked pretty similar to the fare I had at Easter Road, dont imagine its much different as will be outside caterers.
3-1
Access to the seating - Jambos go straight through, I think this is better than ours where you have to go up stairs - fine by me, but for older people they would have to get the lift. 3-2
However (not being snobby, just objective) with Hibs hospitality you dont have to mix with the punters as such - If I have paid extra, I want it to feel special and walk to my padded seat unmolested by the hoi polloi - In that video I recognised a **** in the background I used to work with, and he is just walking to his usual season ticket seat. 4-2
Atmosphere at half time - we were pretty bevvied, everyone was having a laugh - so much so that we forgot to go back and missed Boyles goal !! Jambos looked like a cardigan wearers convention 5-2
Have to add another just for the fact that we got to hear Mickey Weirs chat whereas they probably had Gary Locke slavering mince - final score 6-2, GIRUY Jambo losers :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Crazyhorse
05-03-2018, 04:10 PM
The capacity is still nice and vague though....
05-03-2018, 04:24 PM
Having club officials, injured players etc mixing with paying punters on entrance to their seats is a recipe for disaster.
05-03-2018, 04:33 PM
03:47 - "For ****'s-sake - this is ****ing awesome, man" - a statement genarated by the excitement of a pie and a millionaires-slice !. Just as well he's a Jambo if that's all it takes to float his boat !
Apart from that, it looks a totally under-whelming experience - bare walls, bare tables .............................. just .................................. notthing.
Hibs4185
05-03-2018, 04:57 PM
Green tinited spectacle aside, as someone who develops properties for a living, that is absolutely honking. Cheap door blanks painted maroon, magnolia walls, I could go on and on. The layout after leaving the church hall style hospitality is just moronic.
I must say the mosaic is not bad on entry but the reception with that wee crappy desk looks cheap.
An absolute shambles from Edinburgh’s biggest shambles of a club.
05-03-2018, 04:59 PM
Your just jealous of the Piazza.
Oh no !!! ... its true, its true .... my names Nae Nookie and I'm a jealous Hobo suffering from Piazza envy .. is there a group I can join? :boo hoo:
jakedance
05-03-2018, 05:15 PM
The mosaic in the foyer is a nice touch, other than that, nothing to get excited about.
05-03-2018, 05:23 PM
Green tinited spectacle aside, as someone who develops properties for a living, that is absolutely honking. Cheap door blanks painted maroon, magnolia walls, I could go on and on. The layout after leaving the church hall style hospitality is just moronic.
I must say the mosaic is not bad on entry but the reception with that wee crappy desk looks cheap.
An absolute shambles from Edinburgh’s biggest shambles of a club.Seen quite a few temporary fit outs down the years and this really does look like one. The contractor obviously had a load of magnolia left over, if you take away the understable hearts paraphernalia it really does look like a cheaply fitted out care home dining Hall. Cheap easily replaced / hired in furniture.
No idea what the pie and cake on the same plate combination is about, especially since they discovered the potato and invented chips.
05-03-2018, 06:01 PM
I would guess that the dining hall in the school opposite looks classier.
05-03-2018, 06:14 PM
The mosaic in the foyer is a nice touch, other than that, nothing to get excited about.
What’s rhe squiggly graphic thing under the badge?
Also, no expense spared on the “Foundation Plazza” sign. A bit of laminated A4, perhaps knocked up on Cathro’s laptop before he left.
The Pointer
05-03-2018, 06:24 PM
I felt transported back to the 70s watching that. Here we are in 2018 and I can't imagine anything more bland and uninspiring - like a works canteen. They obviously couldn't afford an interior designer so Budgie got her 1970s shade cards out. Gloss dark scarftwirler red woodwork with magnolia walls is so, so.... dated. Oh, and the lighting.
Oh no !!! ... its true, its true .... my names Nae Nookie and I'm a jealous Hobo suffering from Piazza envy .. is there a group I can join? :boo hoo:
I've seen some Pavement Pizzas in my time, but that one in front of Tincastle's office block is disgusting. Whoever threw that one up needs to change their diet. :sick:
05-03-2018, 06:51 PM
With all the corners they cut and shortage of funds, i wouldn't want any child of mine to go to this new nursery they are building. :rolleyes:
speedy_gonzales
05-03-2018, 07:06 PM
What’s rhe squiggly graphic thing under the badge?
Ancient hieroglyphs denoting the victory by the Yams at the battle of Megiddo?!? The start of their single handed campaign to win every battle,,,,
05-03-2018, 07:34 PM
The gourmet critic giving an in depth review of the catering at the end of the video had me salvitating for some of what he had on his plate, the rich salted caramel shortcake looked positively scrumptious and the organic, locally source Rat pastry had me reaching for the phone to book a table for the next home game.
I know I'll be giving cash to Hearts but when the cuisine on offer is of such a high standard I feel I owe it to myself to sample it. They have trumped us again with this truely groundbreaking half time banquet, you have to hand it to them, this cannot be bettered.
As the reviewer said, it's f***ing awesome!
SideBurns
05-03-2018, 07:37 PM
The gourmet critic giving an in depth review of the catering at the end of the video had me salvitating for some of what he had on his plate, the rich salted caramel shortcake looked positively scrumptious and the organic, locally source Rat pastry had me reaching for the phone to book a table for the next home game.
I know I'll be giving cash to Hearts but when the cuisine on offer is of such a high standard I feel I owe it to myself to sample it. They have trumped us again with this truely groundbreaking half time banquet, you have to hand it to them, this cannot be bettered.
"Owe it to myself..." - you've got the Jambo jargon down to a tee for when you pay them a visit too FF!
05-03-2018, 07:44 PM
🤣
05-03-2018, 07:55 PM
Ancient hieroglyphs denoting the victory by the Yams at the battle of Megiddo?!? The start of their single handed campaign to win every battle,,,,
Completely off topic but today I thought of Speedy Gonzales for absolutely no reason at all. Probably haven’t thought of him in 30+years.
You then pop up out of nowhere and quote me. Spooky.
05-03-2018, 07:58 PM
Completely off topic but today I thought of Speedy Gonzales for absolutely no reason at all. Probably haven’t thought of him in 30+years.
You then pop up out of nowhere and quote me. Spooky.
Who was faster, speedy Gonzales, or Billy Whizz🤣
05-03-2018, 08:01 PM
Who was faster, speedy Gonzales, or Billy Whizz🤣
Alan O'Brien on a motorbike surely?
05-03-2018, 08:03 PM
Billy Whizz was the Beano lad with a wee quiff hair thing right?
He was the fastest thing ever!
05-03-2018, 08:08 PM
Shirley in a Hearts thread Alf Tupper should get a mention, what with him being in The Rover and eating chips (before they were even invented).
05-03-2018, 08:12 PM
That’s me😎
speedy_gonzales
05-03-2018, 09:35 PM
For those on Twitter,
https://twitter.com/nigelbagshaw/status/968543577193230336?s=19
Isn't Nigel a councillor for the "Greens"?
05-03-2018, 09:38 PM
For those on Twitter,
Isn't Nigel a councillor for the "Greens"?There were some trees but they uprooted and walked when they seen the rustingarena.
The Pointer
05-03-2018, 09:46 PM
On a positive note the mosaic is rather good, and did anyone notice the heart shaped bicycle stands over to the right just at the start?
For those on Twitter,
Looks like someone forgot to order the trees.
05-03-2018, 10:18 PM
Shirley in a Hearts thread Alf Tupper should get a mention, what with him being in The Rover and eating chips (before they were even invented).
The Tough of the Track was in The Victor ☺
05-03-2018, 10:43 PM
For you young whippersnappers, aye:
Alf Tupper (http://www.toughofthetrack.net/rover1950s.htm)
KerPlunk
05-03-2018, 10:54 PM
For those on Twitter,
Young Baggers was indeed a Green councillor, however, was unelected / deselected / booted at the last Cooncil Vote-A-Rama.:taxi
05-03-2018, 10:59 PM
He was.
That’s where I read his adventures in the 60s but he was apparently originally in the Rover before doing “a Bosman free transfer”.
05-03-2018, 11:07 PM
If we’re talking Victor comic heroes in relation to Tynecastle we should be talking Swamp Ray. That heavily tattooed commando bloke with the blowpipe
06-03-2018, 11:17 AM
For you young whippersnappers, aye:
Alf Tupper (http://www.toughofthetrack.net/rover1950s.htm)
I stand corrected :greengrin
1950 eh? That explains how my dad knew so much about Alf I guess. He must have read his stories in the Rover back then. I remember reading that the Victor only started in the 60s, which seemed late for my dad to still have been reading comics (though it didn't stop him pinching a read of my Victor every Saturday morning!)
06-03-2018, 02:10 PM
DC Thomson allowed Alf to break the four minute mile once Roger Bannister had done it in real life.That might have been the same week that he rescued a stranded steeplejack and welded a vital seam on a battleship.
08-03-2018, 11:39 AM
Apparently the rust's been fixed - it looks spanking new now.
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2018_03/33D892CA-C60A-4193-B406-8E2E5480B357.thumb.jpeg.e7e6d58de6cde4aaec877715e0 a42c29.jpeg
08-03-2018, 11:45 AM
Apparently the rust's been fixed - it looks spanking new now.
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/monthly_2018_03/33D892CA-C60A-4193-B406-8E2E5480B357.thumb.jpeg.e7e6d58de6cde4aaec877715e0 a42c29.jpeg
Aye looks like it :aok:
cam75
08-03-2018, 11:52 AM
Quick run down then spray with galvi spray job done.nothing to see here now move on.
Ggtt
cam75
08-03-2018, 11:54 AM
The seats look like there peeling also