View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)
Artists impression
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170711/71abe41145efa8f75624ebf76bf6bced.png
Actual[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170711/0c479d769a3224cc5a3cd1642e1466de.jpg
They promised a unique view of the castle and it looks like they've provided that.
11-07-2017, 01:52 PM
Are those the seats directly behind the Police Control room. I was looking at some older pictures an couldn't make out if this was the case.
It's what big teams do remember!!
That's them ..... a lot of our Yam friends seem a bit confused about this one too .... it seems incredible that they have planned a new stand without factoring in removal of the police control box which blocks the view of the goals at that end from a fair number of seats, that indeed looks like what's happened though :greengrin
11-07-2017, 01:54 PM
At ER, at an night game we can see the moon. That is 93 million miles away. How far do you want to see ?
11-07-2017, 01:54 PM
You can't deny the external look of the stand is impressive.
https://tommyoftheshire.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/100_20601.jpg
That's them ..... a lot of our Yam friends seem a bit confused about this one too .... it seems incredible that they have planned a new stand without factoring in removal of the police control box which blocks the view of the goals at that end from a fair number of seats, that indeed looks like what's happened though :greengrin
[emoji23][emoji23] so their brand new mega stand will have 'Restricted View' seating. Ha that's brilliant.
Bet they've sold ST's for that section without telling the roasters!
11-07-2017, 02:00 PM
[emoji23][emoji23] so their brand new mega stand will have 'Restricted View' seating. Ha that's brilliant.
Bet they've sold ST's for that section without telling the roasters!
On the advice of Cathro they will solve the problem by having the goals removed :faf:
11-07-2017, 02:04 PM
Only big teams have a stand that features in the Opening Credits to multi-BAFTA-winning comedy series "The Office"....
gramskiwood
11-07-2017, 02:07 PM
At ER, at an night game we can see the moon. That is 93 million miles away. How far do you want to see ?
Pedant alert:
It's the Sun that is 93M miles away, the Moon is about 240,000 miles away.
11-07-2017, 02:07 PM
30 odd years ago Easter Road looked like this mate, and I cant recall Scotland hosting too many international tournaments since then.
https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.AsEfxb8xReoDUJY8VaNY6QEsDf&w=231&h=169&c=7&qlt=90&o=4&dpr=1.05&pid=1.7
Outwith what the team is doing the upgrade of Easter Road is probably my favourite subject. As I say on all of the numerous threads where the subject is raised, it doesn't have to mean an increase in capacity, there are a number of innovative ideas the club can look at which would lead to the stadium being more enclosed and in effect 'finished' without adding more seats ......... look at stadiums all around the world, many of them have paid attention to ensuring the finished article is fully enclosed with the corners filled in without that meaning seating for spectators.
The Yams have achieved this by accident .... we will have to work harder to get to that stage, but if the club has any ambition for the stadium going forward they have to recognise that getting to that stage is A) desirable .... and B) a hell of a long way from impossible.
I agree we might fill the corners in with something (and I hope we do) but I don't think they will be extensions to the other stands (although maybe in the NE corner)
Also the comparison to 30 years ago is a bit daft imo, back then we were allowed to stand and there were way fewer stadium regulations. Stadiums are completely safe now so there's no reason there will be many more regulations and reasons to change the stadium (can see us developing a safe standing area though). Also what's important is that in the last 30 years we've been living in a world with rapid economic growth and plentiful cheap energy, making it much easier to build and make changes to the stadium . The next 30 years will not be quite the same
11-07-2017, 02:08 PM
Have to disagree there, think it's very unlikely it will ever happen unless Scotland hosts an international tournament and we get an upgrade
Rubbish !! All we need is a big coo 😂😂😂
11-07-2017, 02:11 PM
Found their hospitality info...
http://smgb.co.uk/pdf/FinalBrochureUpdated130617.pdf
Didn't look at it look enough to find info about chips :greengrin
On the advice of Cathro they will solve the problem by having the goals removed :faf:
Indeed.
Artists impression
How high do the fireworks go from the Castle?
They could perhaps sell tickets twice a year to see them.
Velma Dinkley
11-07-2017, 02:38 PM
Edinburgh will have two similarly sized stadiums with 20,000 capacities. Only one will be fully compliant to host internationals but both will be great venues for neutral cup ties, and Scottish football will be all the better for it. What ground will be the biggest by a handful of seats? Honestly doesn't matter to me one iota.
Three stands at Tynecastle will still not be fit for purpose.
The complaint was that they have not been issued with a Building Warrant to even start the stand construction. The conditions of the Planning Permission was that they were not meant to start work on the stand until the safety work to the North British Distillery was complete ( that has only just got passed by the planners )
The second rule break was with the work at the Wheatfield Stand. There is a Building warrant Issued for that work , but no completion certificate or certificate for partial occupation been issued but they have been using the ticket office, shop and offices for months without the necessary permission.
The complaint which was made at the beginning of March is " pending consideration " on the desk of planning officer David Givan.*
Our Council in the Yam pockets per usual.
* Apologies to Mr Givan , he was the planning officer who issued the planning permission, its a Brian Fleming who is meant to be dealing with the breach of conditions complaint.
I do hope Brian Fleming doesn't have a conflict of interest here.
11-07-2017, 02:46 PM
Artists impression
I'm surprised the artist missed the unicorns grazing in the surrounding fields!
If you ever wanted a definition of 'Artistic Licence', this is surely it.
11-07-2017, 03:19 PM
I do hope Brian Fleming doesn't have a conflict of interest here.
I just had a look at the Council web site and the Non - compliance with planning condition compliant is still " pending consideration "
The complaint was logged on 6th March and every other complaint made in March and April has been dealt with.
I don't know what needs to be considered, they are working without a Building Warrant being issued, and against a specific planning condition that work could not start until the safety work in the N B Distillery was complete.
I think it will be decisions higher up the food chain than Mr Fleming that is making sure this site is treated completely different to any other Edinburgh building project.
. Stadiums are completely safe now
Stadiums were safe back when ER looked like it did in the photo. Only when police or stadium owners ignored H&S or match day procedures was there ever a problem.
11-07-2017, 03:35 PM
Only big teams have a stand that features in the Opening Credits to multi-BAFTA-winning comedy series "The Office"....Thought it was unique? ffs, half of Slough, Milton Keynes and Readings empty office blocks look just like that.
Monktonhall 7
11-07-2017, 04:15 PM
I've read loads of times about the "wall of glass". I might be wrong, but I'm sure we just call them windows!:wink:
11-07-2017, 04:18 PM
OxoHibby
11-07-2017, 04:20 PM
Looks like a soviet Era prison block reception in eastern europe
11-07-2017, 04:50 PM
Looks like a soviet Era prison block reception in eastern europe
You know that's not actually their new stand lol
11-07-2017, 06:05 PM
Looks like a school
11-07-2017, 06:38 PM
Edinburgh will have two similarly sized stadiums with 20,000 capacities. Only one will be fully compliant to host internationals but both will be great venues for neutral cup ties, and Scottish football will be all the better for it. What ground will be the biggest by a handful of seats? Honestly doesn't matter to me one iota.
It doesn't matter to us but it sure-as-hell matters to them on account of their rabid-obsession with size (and anything else Hibs-related) - their complete collective-silence on the subject confirms it !.
We're just using it as a 'spoon to stir a pot of vegetables' ....................
11-07-2017, 06:44 PM
I agree we might fill the corners in with something (and I hope we do) but I don't think they will be extensions to the other stands (although maybe in the NE corner)
Also the comparison to 30 years ago is a bit daft imo, back then we were allowed to stand and there were way fewer stadium regulations. Stadiums are completely safe now so there's no reason there will be many more regulations and reasons to change the stadium (can see us developing a safe standing area though). Also what's important is that in the last 30 years we've been living in a world with rapid economic growth and plentiful cheap energy, making it much easier to build and make changes to the stadium . The next 30 years will not be quite the same
The comparison was merely to illustrate the way a stadium can change over the years, how many folk back then could have envisaged the way ER looks now?
Like so many grounds ER changed because for the most part it was forced to by amongst other things the Taylor report, but you seem to be suggesting that Hibs wouldn't, or worse shouldn't, consider stadium improvements or upgrades at all unless they are forced on us by an outside influence, for example in the highly unlikely event that Scotland would host an international tournament.
In my view that's a depressingly limited mindset and one that if demonstrated by the clubs owners I would find more than a little annoying. The whole ethos of a club hoping to be at the forefront of anything good happening in Scottish football should be to improve in all aspects of its business and for me that should certainly include looking at Easter Road and acknowledging that there is plenty of scope there for the club to move the ground forward from being a very good stadium to something even better ...... In the long term that has to include joining up the stands to make the stadium far more enclosed and in the short term reinstating the supporters bar, the loss of which I see as very much a backward step.
As for the influence of the global economy and energy prices ....... I am no expert, but I highly doubt the ups and downs in the price of steel and the cost of labour in the construction industry will be any less subject to change than they are now .... In fact is it not the case at the moment that we have a U.S. president who is determined to get their steel industry back to churning out tons and tons of the stuff, as far as I can see that's more likely to lead to a glut of the stuff in the next 10 years, with that worldwide over production making it even cheaper, not more expensive.
11-07-2017, 07:12 PM
Artists impression
Seriously? Is this right?
11-07-2017, 07:17 PM
The comparison was merely to illustrate the way a stadium can change over the years, how many folk back then could have envisaged the way ER looks now?
Like so many grounds ER changed because for the most part it was forced to by amongst other things the Taylor report, but you seem to be suggesting that Hibs wouldn't, or worse shouldn't, consider stadium improvements or upgrades at all unless they are forced on us by an outside influence, for example in the highly unlikely event that Scotland would host an international tournament.
In my view that's a depressingly limited mindset and one that if demonstrated by the clubs owners I would find more than a little annoying. The whole ethos of a club hoping to be at the forefront of anything good happening in Scottish football should be to improve in all aspects of its business and for me that should certainly include looking at Easter Road and acknowledging that there is plenty of scope there for the club to move the ground forward from being a very good stadium to something even better ...... In the long term that has to include joining up the stands to make the stadium far more enclosed and in the short term reinstating the supporters bar, the loss of which I see as very much a backward step.
As for the influence of the global economy and energy prices ....... I am no expert, but I highly doubt the ups and downs in the price of steel and the cost of labour in the construction industry will be any less subject to change than they are now .... In fact is it not the case at the moment that we have a U.S. president who is determined to get their steel industry back to churning out tons and tons of the stuff, as far as I can see that's more likely to lead to a glut of the stuff in the next 10 years, with that worldwide over production making it even cheaper, not more expensive.
I don't mean to say that we shouldn't try and improve the stadium, but I would argue that ER is basically complete in the sense that we are unlikely to carry out any more major expansions (maybe barring the NE corner). Sure we can and will make minor improvements but my point was that we won't extend the stands so that they fill in the corners (although it would be nice to see them fill them up with something)
As for your last paragraph, it's not really about steel prices, it's more about the state of the economy and our society as a whole. Not going to go too far into it but basically I believe that our current state of affairs where we have economic growth and plentiful energy is coming to an end soon. Oil production is peaking worldwide, meaning that it will become progressively more expensive and difficult to produce. Our civilisation is totally dependent on oil and other fossil fuels for basically everything, meaning we will have to totally reshape our way of life if we want to continue living at all.
This is relevant because we will be living in a world where energy and resources must go to our basic needs such as food, shelter and medicine. Relatively unimportant things like expanding a football stadium will be much much more difficult than it has been up until now
Anyway this might not happen as soon as I'm implying it will but it will happen eventually!
11-07-2017, 07:18 PM
Looks like a school
Exactly what I thought
11-07-2017, 07:21 PM
I just had a look at the Council web site and the Non - compliance with planning condition compliant is still " pending consideration "
The complaint was logged on 6th March and every other complaint made in March and April has been dealt with.
I don't know what needs to be considered, they are working without a Building Warrant being issued, and against a specific planning condition that work could not start until the safety work in the N B Distillery was complete.
I think it will be decisions higher up the food chain than Mr Fleming that is making sure this site is treated completely different to any other Edinburgh building project.
Something like this would affect the insurance situation on the site?
11-07-2017, 08:19 PM
Something like this would affect the insurance situation on the site?
I would guess their employee and third party liability insurance wouldn't be worth a dime if an accident happened in the new shop, ticket office or changing rooms below the Wheatfield Stand since there is neither a completion certificate or a certificate of partial occupation been issued for the structure.
Normally it wouldn't matter if it were only the Gorgie grunts involved, but on Friday they will have a couple of hundred million quids worth of English Premier League talent in changing rooms with no certificates .
Better hope the sparks were sober when they did the wiring. :greengrin
11-07-2017, 08:24 PM
Seriously? Is this right?
Sure is.
Images lifted from the jambo kickback thread - they are none too pleased over there
Crazyhorse
11-07-2017, 08:31 PM
I hate being pedantic but in the interest of accuracy there will only be one football stadium in Edinburgh with a capacity over 20,000. The other one as any yams looking in well know is much tynier...
11-07-2017, 08:39 PM
It matters to them, it matters a lot.
Sure is.
Images lifted from the jambo kickback thread - they are none too pleased over there
Not pleased!
Just wait till the see the view in the opposite direction!!
They'll be ragin.
HibbySpurs
11-07-2017, 09:14 PM
Is that no the office block used in "the office"😂
fiolex1
12-07-2017, 05:59 PM
Cost up to £14 million, due to larger kiosks and toilets!!
The Budgie has just been on the telly, proudly standing in front of the building site.
No mention of capacity.
Mention of a £2,000,000 overspend ... because she wanted bigger kiosks, for the chips probably. And bigger toilets. One can only assume for their fat *****!
And maybe food poisoning!
fiolex1
12-07-2017, 06:03 PM
The Budgie has just been on the telly, proudly standing in front of the building site.
No mention of capacity.
Mention of a £2,000,000 overspend ... because she wanted bigger kiosks, for the chips probably. And bigger toilets. One can only assume for their fat *****!
And maybe food poisoning!
Maybe they will count the attendance as the seating capacity of the stands and toilets?
12-07-2017, 06:34 PM
Maybe they will count the attendance as the seating capacity of the stands and toilets?
😂😂😂
12-07-2017, 06:36 PM
2million for bigger lavvies and pie stands :faf::faf:
Not a chance that stand will be ready in 9 weeks either.
Sounds very like a smother for some other mess up.
Some Hearts fans must be developing skin complaints with all that face paint going on and off.
12-07-2017, 07:32 PM
It matters to them, it matters a lot.Sure I read somewhere that it's not the done thing to talk about things that might show them in a less than favourable, maybe even true light[emoji6]
12-07-2017, 07:49 PM
^^ Have a read at this from kickback. I think you'll like it :wink:
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/165070-new-stand-wall-of-glass-almost-complete-updated/page-268
Excuse my ignorance here and confirm the cost has gone up £2 million taking the total to £14 million??
Capacity is going to be less than 20,000 at this rate.
The poppy thieving roasters also think they can change more fixtures to suit any delay.
If they can play a friendly against Newcastle they can play a league game.
If it is that unsafe then no games should take place. Simple
12-07-2017, 08:05 PM
I can't bear to go onto kickback, but for anyone who has visited recently - have any of them commented yet on how the windows taste?
12-07-2017, 08:27 PM
Skyline Suite to be renamed the Schooline Suite now the view has been revealed.
so hearts have "accidentally" built thier new stand with a nice, clear view right into the school playground across the road..................and they wonder why we call them "savilles"
12-07-2017, 08:33 PM
so hearts have "accidentally" built thier new stand with a nice, clear view right into the school playground across the road..................and they wonder why we call them "savilles"
Saville Row
Saville Row
The Wee Airdrie Jambo Lounge - extensive toilet facilites
The Craig Thomson sweet (deliberate spelling mistake to confuse and attract the kids)
The Graham Rix Room - No over 16's allowed
12-07-2017, 09:03 PM
^^ Have a read at this from kickback. I think you'll like it :wink:
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/165070-new-stand-wall-of-glass-almost-complete-updated/page-268
Hilarious how the beLIEvers over there are trying to redefine "panoramic view of the Edinburgh skyline" as "being able to see the castle". :faf:
Criswell
12-07-2017, 09:54 PM
Hmm... They're going to need a bigger cow!
So its gone from a rooftop michelin star resturant with skyline views of the castle to Kiosk at the top of the stand with chips and a skyline view of the top of lots of houses.
Also reckon the obsession with views is because there's cracking views of Arthurs seat and the forth from our home.
12-07-2017, 10:12 PM
Could the city council not arrange for the castle to be jacked up twenty metres or so?
The viewing area will be crammed full of councillors every week so they'll want a decent view surely.
12-07-2017, 10:16 PM
Skyline Suite to be renamed the Schooline Suite now the view has been revealed.
a former hertz player would have loved a view of the school
Also reckon the obsession with views is because there's cracking views of Arthurs seat and the forth from our home.
Hearts fan on that thread saying we will be gutted that the only view from our hospitality will be of the car park, completely forgetting that ours looks out on the only view that actually matters - the pitch.
12-07-2017, 10:19 PM
There was a feature on it on Reporting Scotland tonight. Over budget at 14m now. Budge said they had been flexing the plans as the build progressed. "I decided I'd like some more toilets and asked if the kiosks could be bigger." The latter point being necessary due to the introduction of chips no doubt. 14m for a big sardine can with a big glasshouse bolted on the front. Unbelievable.
Edit - missed the posts from earlier tonight already pointing this out. She looked fair proud though.
12-07-2017, 10:24 PM
[QUOTE=Waxy;5099786]Also reckon the obsession with views is because there's cracking views of Arthurs seat and the forth from our home.
Indeed, from the FF in what was BTG there are sweeping views across Leith down to the Forth ... apart from the view of Tynecastle high school from hospitality at the very top of their new greenhouse what can you see from any other stand at the PBS apart from a bunch of tenements. To be honest what you can see from out the back of any stand doesn't really matter ..... but at Easter Road you can view the important part from inside three of the four stands ... IE the pitch .... you can't do that from any stand at the PBS not even their new 12 million quid mega stand .... talk about cheap crap :faf:
12-07-2017, 10:30 PM
[QUOTE=Waxy;5099786]Also reckon the obsession with views is because there's cracking views of Arthurs seat and the forth from our home.
Indeed, from the FF in what was BTG there are sweeping views across Leith down to the Forth ... apart from the view of Tynecastle high school from hospitality at the very top of their new greenhouse what can you see from any other stand at the PBS apart from a bunch of tenements. To be honest what you can see from out the back of any stand doesn't really matter ..... but at Easter Road you can view the important part from inside three of the four stands ... IE the pitch .... you can't do that from any stand at the PBS not even their new 12 million quid mega stand .... talk about cheap crap :faf:
Make that 14m bud.
vuefrom1875
12-07-2017, 10:31 PM
There was a feature on it on Reporting Scotland tonight. Over budget at 14m now. Budge said they had been flexing the plans as the build progressed. "I decided I'd like some more toilets and asked if the kiosks could be bigger." The latter point being necessary due to the introduction of chips no doubt. 14m for a big sardine can with a big glasshouse bolted on the front. Unbelievable.
Edit - missed the posts from earlier tonight already pointing this out. She looked fair proud though.
THEY ARE SKINT.......BEGGING BOWL OOT FOR EXTRA SHUNKS:flag:
12-07-2017, 10:38 PM
The Greenhouse. Thats it for me, Im finished with PBS, from now on its The Greenhouse.
12-07-2017, 10:39 PM
[QUOTE=NAE NOOKIE;5099794]
Make that 14m bud.
I stand corrected ........ they better have a factory out there mass producing fake Owls :greengrin
12-07-2017, 10:42 PM
[QUOTE=tamig;5099798]
I stand corrected ........ they better have a factory out there mass producing fake Owls :greengrin
They need a herd of cows placed strategically outside all council offices and golf clubhouses to maximise potential revenue from their core support
connerg
12-07-2017, 11:27 PM
The Greenhouse. Thats it for me, Im finished with PBS, from now on its The Greenhouse.
Make that the tiny (tynie) Greenhouse.
13-07-2017, 08:22 AM
So last night we hear the cost has gone up 2 million.
Did Ann convieniently make this decision so that she is due back even more money on her loans ?
I know they had some FOH vote about where money is going previously but surely someone must have given the all clear to spending more ?
13-07-2017, 08:27 AM
So last night we hear the cost has gone up 2 million.
Did Ann convieniently make this decision so that she is due back even more money on her loans ?
I know they had some FOH vote about where money is going previously but surely someone must have given the all clear to spending more ?
Just the one fan shareholder still.
She does what she want, she does what she wants, she's Mrs Budge and she does what she wants.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-07-2017, 08:37 AM
Spending other people's money must be very enjoyable!
A £2m overspend is pretty serious surely - imagine we got hit for a bill for £2m that we hadnt budgeted for.
13-07-2017, 08:54 AM
Hilarious how the beLIEvers over there are trying to redefine "panoramic view of the Edinburgh skyline" as "being able to see the castle". :faf:
Be fair.
It IS a "skyline view." It's just that it's the skyline of McLeod Street.
13-07-2017, 09:05 AM
Be fair.
It IS a "skyline view." It's just that it's the skyline of McLeod Street.
So we're talking a view of the sky that the entire country gets free gratis and a chance to look at a few cracked chimney pots and TV aerials along with some old roof tiles?
Could maybe brighten things up a bit by sticking the coo on a roof? Another first for the famous.
13-07-2017, 09:21 AM
Maybe time they organised another raffle.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-owner-ann-budge-auctions-stay-on-her-yacht-to-fund-tynecastle-redevelopment-1-4423712
Has the winner had his hols. yet ?
13-07-2017, 09:22 AM
Loved this quote from brokeback on the change in potential views from their lounge:
The rationale for the hospitality facing away from the ground was that it would give a glorious panoramic view of Edinburgh. It would be helpful if the club could clarify that this consists of more than just a close-up of Tynecastle High school's roof.
:lolyam:
13-07-2017, 09:25 AM
Maybe time they organised another raffle.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-owner-ann-budge-auctions-stay-on-her-yacht-to-fund-tynecastle-redevelopment-1-4423712
Has the winner had his hols. yet ?
Decided to sink his money into plastic owls instead? looks like a better long term investment, terrific rate of return.
Alan62
13-07-2017, 10:01 AM
Surely the alarming thing (if you're a Jambo) about the new £2m overspend is that it is added to the shortfall they already had. Bearing in mind that they set out to raise £1m from supporter donations and that all the payback for Mrs B's loans has to come from supporter donations that's a lot of digging deep for our maroon mates. I know they're taking enormous pride in their efforts to rebuild their club (as well they should) but surely there should be some kind of agreement with the current owner as to how the money is spent. It certainly seems odd that Ann Budge can just rack up the bill by tweaking the plans when, ultimately, other folks are going to have to pay for it.
Also, while it's undoubtedly useful to have an increased capacity at the chip stalls, they're only open on matchdays. So you have an hour or so before the games and half time to sell stuff times 20 odd home games a season. That's a very limited time window for flogging stuff. They may succeed in simply shortening the queues rather than making more money. One can only hope.:wink:
Loved this quote from brokeback on the change in potential views from their lounge:
The rationale for the hospitality facing away from the ground was that it would give a glorious panoramic view of Edinburgh. It would be helpful if the club could clarify that this consists of more than just a close-up of Tynecastle High school's roof.
The rationale for the hospitality facing away from the ground comes about because its a one tier stand given the cramped confines of their *hithole. The offer of "skyline views like no other" is a compromise and its a botched one at that. Its like no other I suppose though.
13-07-2017, 10:15 AM
If I get the ladders out and up on the roof, I get views "like no other" of my neighbours gardens. Its not like seeing the Castle, but looks nicer than Tynie High School.
13-07-2017, 10:38 AM
If I stand in the middle of my street or the top of my garden I have sweeping panoramic views of the beautiful Eildon hills .... unfortunately from my windows the hills cant be seen and for that reason I haven't called the house 'Eildon view' ..... time for a review of that methinks :greengrin
13-07-2017, 10:47 AM
Christ, the fact that Budge can justify a 17% increase in the building work costs and justify it with 'larger kiosks and toilets' and that mob just shrug it off and accept it is proper scary.
SuperAllyMcleod
13-07-2017, 10:58 AM
Christ, the fact that Budge can justify a 17% increase in the building work costs and justify it with 'larger kiosks and toilets' and that mob just shrug it off and accept it is proper scary.
I agree, there's no way that a few additional toilets and bigger kiosks will total £2m. It's smoke and mirrors while the Jambos turn a blind eye.
The good thing is that they won't be told as it's their new stand and we are just jealous - yeah, right [emoji3]
13-07-2017, 11:30 AM
Christ, the fact that Budge can justify a 17% increase in the building work costs and justify it with 'larger kiosks and toilets' and that mob just shrug it off and accept it is proper scary.Am getting confused now, is this Budge owing it to herself and them owing it to her? And she can do anything else she fancies.
A derivative of the Vladimir Romanov model [emoji1]
13-07-2017, 11:35 AM
It should be remembered that when we built the end stands, they went well over budget because STF decided to splash the cash on the internal finishes (chandeliers, etc.).
There was no obligation for him to consult the fans, so he didn't.
13-07-2017, 11:41 AM
The rationale for the hospitality facing away from the ground comes about because its a one tier stand given the cramped confines of their *hithole. The offer of "skyline views like no other" is a compromise and its a botched one at that. Its like no other I suppose though.
I still don't understand what prevented them from having Eecutive Boxes (facing the pitch) at the back of the stand. This is quite common in a lot of stadia, even where the stand is single tier.
It doesn't exactly have to be much taller to fit them in either.
mixumatosis
13-07-2017, 11:57 AM
I see they have opened a PR agency where fans can get the latest on castle views, luxury toilets and super-sized chip kiosks:
scotia44
13-07-2017, 12:06 PM
So we're talking a view of the sky that the entire country gets free gratis and a chance to look at a few cracked chimney pots and TV aerials along with some old roof tiles?
Could maybe brighten things up a bit by sticking the coo on a roof? Another first for the famous.
Apparently she doesn't do ladders must be afraid o heights:wink:
13-07-2017, 12:08 PM
I see they have opened a PR agency where fans can get the latest on castle views, luxury toilets and super-sized chip kiosks:
Do they write Cathro's Churchillian speeches too?
13-07-2017, 12:09 PM
:agree: £2m straight into her brother's back pocket, which he'll give her back later. Simple fans won't mind.
13-07-2017, 12:14 PM
:agree: £2m straight into her brother's back pocket, which he'll give her back later. Simple fans won't mind.
The club that keeps on giving ! 😂😂😂
13-07-2017, 12:18 PM
Surely the alarming thing (if you're a Jambo) about the new £2m overspend is that it is added to the shortfall they already had. Bearing in mind that they set out to raise £1m from supporter donations and that all the payback for Mrs B's loans has to come from supporter donations that's a lot of digging deep for our maroon mates. I know they're taking enormous pride in their efforts to rebuild their club (as well they should) but surely there should be some kind of agreement with the current owner as to how the money is spent. It certainly seems odd that Ann Budge can just rack up the bill by tweaking the plans when, ultimately, other folks are going to have to pay for it.
Also, while it's undoubtedly useful to have an increased capacity at the chip stalls, they're only open on matchdays. So you have an hour or so before the games and half time to sell stuff times 20 odd home games a season. That's a very limited time window for flogging stuff. They may succeed in simply shortening the queues rather than making more money. One can only hope.:wink:
We have yet to hear how much they will charge for the chips!
mixumatosis
13-07-2017, 12:22 PM
Do they write Cathro's Churchillian speeches too?
If you take away the beaches, landing grounds, sea, fields and streets the Germans would have won you know.
13-07-2017, 12:25 PM
We have yet to hear how much they will charge for the chips!
Apparently £100 per annum to "earn" the right to pay £4 a pop every fortnight for a tray of microchips.
13-07-2017, 12:27 PM
Apparently £100 per annum to "earn" the right to pay £4 a pop every fortnight for a tray of microchips.
Sounds cheap as .......
13-07-2017, 12:32 PM
What does her brother have to do with the new stand?
13-07-2017, 12:38 PM
What does her brother have to do with the new stand?
He's building it! Hibs season ticket holder as well :thumbsup:
dchibs
13-07-2017, 12:41 PM
Budge said they will have periscopes built into hospitality that go up through the roof and for a tenner a pop you get an amazing panoramic view.
13-07-2017, 12:43 PM
Budge said they will have periscopes built into hospitality that go up through the roof and for a tenner a pop you get an amazing panoramic view.
Their new stand? Are you sure?
He fitted out the temporary changing rooms under the Wheatfield - are you maybe getting confused?
13-07-2017, 01:04 PM
just not as good as the original
http://www.camera-obscura.co.uk/
13-07-2017, 01:09 PM
Their new stand? Are you sure?
He fitted out the temporary changing rooms under the Wheatfield - are you maybe getting confused?
The £2m's not going on toilets, though, is it?
13-07-2017, 01:11 PM
Do Yams actually go on toilets?
13-07-2017, 01:18 PM
To announce a £2m cost over run so early into the build is impressive. There is lots of scope still for that to rise again. [emoji3]
13-07-2017, 01:23 PM
So most building projects have a contingency of around 10-15%, their overspend with 9 weeks construction to go it at 16.6%, although that does include design changes it seems a lot for a project of this size. Do we want to do a wee sweep on the final overspend figure? I'm gonna go for a nice round 25% :greengrin
13-07-2017, 01:39 PM
So most building projects have a contingency of around 10-15%, their overspend with 9 weeks construction to go it at 16.6%, although that does include design changes it seems a lot for a project of this size. Do we want to do a wee sweep on the final overspend figure? I'm gonna go for a nice round 25% :greengrin
Don't be daft, they've increased the budget rather than exceeding it :greengrin
To be fair, ever since Cathro took charge they've been keen on moving the goalposts!
connerg
13-07-2017, 01:49 PM
The neighbour next door in that photo must be a Hibby. :greengrin
13-07-2017, 01:51 PM
I've no idea but I don't really care either TBH.
The bottom line is that Budge is doing the right thing by building them their new stand. Yes there's FOH money in there (approved by the FOH board), together with all their other fund raising efforts, but Budge is, for the time being, paying the rest - probably around £8m from her pocket.
itslegaltender
13-07-2017, 01:55 PM
hoping some Hibee working on sight has placed suitable Hibee related objects in the ground and ready to show them once its completed.
Alan62
13-07-2017, 01:56 PM
The bottom line is that Budge is doing the right thing by building them their new stand. Yes there's FOH money in there (approved by the FOH board), together with all their other fund raising efforts, but Budge is, for the time being, paying the rest - probably around £8m from her pocket.
When you say 'paying the rest', surely you mean 'lending the rest'?
13-07-2017, 01:57 PM
When you say 'paying the rest', surely you mean 'lending the rest'?
OK - lending the rest to her own company.
13-07-2017, 01:59 PM
I think we know some of the overspend items already.
They originally planned to use the foundations of the old stand to build the front part of the new stand. The structural engineers said , no way, not if you want us to sign for structural integretry of the stand. Old founds. had to be dug out and new reinforced concrete foundations installed. Rather difficult as the back of the stand blocked access.
The extra safety work to the Distillery storage tanks is a big one. Originally they hoped they would get away with a few splash guards on the top of the old containment wall but the Health and Safety Exec. had other ideas. The finalised plans show new reinforced concrete L-shaped panels fixed to new massive reinforced concrete foundations along the full 100 metre length of the old 4 metre high wall.
I would guess all this is being paid for out of their season ticket money and they hope the direct debits will keep flowing and keep the Tynie lights on and the wage bills met.
13-07-2017, 02:00 PM
hoping some Hibee working on sight has placed suitable Hibee related objects in the ground and ready to show them once its completed.
Its a building SITE, mate.
13-07-2017, 02:06 PM
I hope she's factored in £4000 for another owl when it's all finished.
13-07-2017, 02:08 PM
I hope she's factored in £4000 for another owl when it's all finished.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VCf-oiIbVnw
13-07-2017, 02:16 PM
I thought that place was opened by Vlad's cousin Lodov.
Alan62
13-07-2017, 02:19 PM
OK - lending the rest to her own company.
Hmm. It's not quite as simple as that though is it? There's a notion of long-term transfer of the assets of that company to the Hearts fans. Not to mention that much of the working capital for that company is being provided by those fans. Her decisions are helping to accumulate a debt that will have to be repaid by the fans at some point.
13-07-2017, 02:25 PM
Hmm. It's not quite as simple as that though is it? There's a notion of long-term transfer of the assets of that company to the Hearts fans. Not to mention that much of the working capital for that company is being provided by those fans. Her decisions are helping to accumulate a debt that will have to be repaid by the fans at some point.
If they want to. For the time being Budge is putting up the majority of the money and taking all the risk.
It's not that much different from what happened with Hibs - the big difference being the FOH money.
13-07-2017, 02:26 PM
There will be less credulous yams (who will get labelled 'frothers' over on JKB) who, putting together the £2m overspend on 'toilets' and the laughable attempt at A Room With A View, will mutter about the competence of the people in charge at the PBS. Which is nice.
13-07-2017, 02:30 PM
If they want to. For the time being Budge is putting up the majority of the money and taking all the risk.
It's not that much different from what happened with Hibs - the big difference being the FOH money.
What risk? If they don't pay up she keeps the club.
13-07-2017, 02:31 PM
There will be less credulous yams (who will get labelled 'frothers' over on JKB) who, putting together the £2m overspend on 'toilets' and the laughable attempt at A Room With A View, will mutter about the competence of the people in charge at the PBS. Which is nice.
The somewhat ambitious image showing the panoramic view is down to the Architect. Budge can't be blamed for that.
SuperAllyMcleod
13-07-2017, 02:31 PM
Where is the cable, coming out from the window above, going? presumably into the nearest lamppost?
It will giveBudge ideas on how to save a few pennies.
13-07-2017, 02:32 PM
What risk? If they don't pay up she keeps the club.
The risk to her is that, from what I can gather, she never wanted to tie up too much money long term in Hearts.
13-07-2017, 02:37 PM
The risk to her is that, from what I can gather, she never wanted to tie up too much money long term in Hearts.
It's still not much of a risk. She gets her money back plus interest or she can sell the club, and it's shiny new stand, on. She'll be getting a decent return either way.
13-07-2017, 02:41 PM
It's still not much of a risk. She gets her money back plus interest or she can sell the club, and it's shiny new stand, on. She'll be getting a decent return either way.
True, but if there's a risk, it's her that's taken it.
What happens if at some point she needs cash and wants to sell the club but can't find a buyer?
13-07-2017, 02:42 PM
The somewhat ambitious image showing the panoramic view is down to the Architect. Budge can't be blamed for that.
Who hired the architect likes? :confused:
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-07-2017, 02:46 PM
What happens if at some point she needs cash and wants to sell the club but can't find a buyer?
Regardless, it means they are spending more money on their stand, and that is money that now camt be spent on them acquiring their club or improving their team - thats a good thing for us.
Putting 2m into context, that must be the equivalent of them habing to find money for between 1/3rd to 1/2 of their entire wage budget for a year.
Alan62
13-07-2017, 02:47 PM
Undoubtedly, she's taking a risk. The punters could fall out with her and she could end up with an asset that nobody wants to buy. The direct debits could dry up. Cathro's team could be honking and the fans could turn on the club. The spending could spiral out of control and she could change her mind about providing the loans. All kinds of stuff could happen that could threaten her investment.
Saturday Boy
13-07-2017, 02:49 PM
Undoubtedly, she's taking a risk. The punters could fall out with her and she could end up with an asset that nobody wants to buy. The direct debits could dry up. Cathro's team could be honking and the fans could turn on the club. The spending could spiral out of control and she could change her mind about providing the loans. All kinds of stuff could happen that could threaten her investment.
You've no half cheered me up 😄
13-07-2017, 02:52 PM
Who hired the architect likes? :confused:
The Architect, Jim Clydesdale is the same guy that did the other 3 stands. Appointing someone with an extensive knowledge of the site/st-up makes perfect sense.
13-07-2017, 03:08 PM
The Architect, Jim Clydesdale is the same guy that did the other 3 stands. Appointing someone with an extensive knowledge of the site/st-up makes perfect sense.
or thrice bitten... :wink:
13-07-2017, 03:10 PM
Oh aye, the other 3 widely acclaimed stands! :wink:
TrinityHibs
13-07-2017, 03:12 PM
That will be the same Architect who designed the stands in such a way that they couldn't fill in the corners and so constrained capacity or come up with a compliant pitch or have no leg room in the Wheatfield. Who has now designed a premium skyline restaurant with views of a school roof, seats that cannot see goalposts and a lesser capacity than their rivals despite having been shown how to increase the capacity by another Architect for the same price (roof going up as opposed to down). There is also the £3M over run because his design needed to be amended due to not accounting for chip demand and the need to make Tynie a bigger toilet. You are probably right though just imagine what might have happened if he didn't know what he was doing.
13-07-2017, 03:16 PM
That will be the same Architect who designed the stands in such a way that they couldn't fill in the corners and so constrained capacity or come up with a compliant pitch or have no leg room in the Wheatfield. Who has now designed a premium skyline restaurant with views of a school roof, seats that cannot see goalposts and a lesser capacity than their rivals despite having been shown how to increase the capacity by another Architect for the same price (roof going up as opposed to down). There is also the £3M over run because his design needed to be amended due to not accounting for chip demand and the need to make Tynie a bigger toilet. You are probably right though just imagine what might have happened if he didn't know what he was doing.
The very chap!
Alan62
13-07-2017, 04:05 PM
He has a good Jambo name though eh? You can imagine Jim Clydesdale in his cardigan polishing the Rover at the weekend while Mrs Clydesdale bakes for the next fundraiser.
13-07-2017, 04:28 PM
There must be a magic money tree down Gorgie way or.............
Mrs Budge is digging ever deeper and
Her aristocratic friend (can't remember his name) is lobbing more into the pot.
or............
the deluded hordes are going to continue lobbing funds in for years with no sign of the fabled 'fan ownership.'
and Mrs Budge gets to play Football Manager with other folks money.
You couldn't make it up.
13-07-2017, 04:36 PM
He got the job because he had several relatives playing in the team.
13-07-2017, 04:41 PM
Mrs Budge is digging ever deeper and
Her aristocratic friend (can't remember his name) is lobbing more into the pot.
A descendant of this bloke (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archibald_Primrose,_5th_Earl_of_Rosebery):
Rosebery also became Honorary President of the national Scottish Football Association, with the representative Scotland national team and Honorary President of Heart of Midlothian FC. The national team occasionally forsook their traditional dark blue shirts for his traditional racing colours of primrose and pink. This occurred 9 times during Rosebery's lifetime, most notably for the 1900 British Home Championship match against England, which the Scots won 4–1. These colours were used for the away kit of the Scottish national team in 2014 and were Heart of Midlothian's away colours for season 2016/17.
13-07-2017, 04:44 PM
That's priceless.
That's the Skyline Restaurant!
It will even serve potatoes in innovative chipped form.
13-07-2017, 04:48 PM
There's a lot(70) of laminated pictures of SDG in the walls and ceilings in the new wheatfield undercroft, including the shop, ticket office dressing rooms and budgies cage
13-07-2017, 05:37 PM
Am I reading the reports right?
It was to cost £12M, and with Budges gold plated bogs its now to be £14 Million.............for a single tier stand (albeit with some corporate stuff in behind) - thats a hell of a lot of prawn sandwiches :cb
I looked at kickback and a few of them are saying "its just an increase in budget, not an overspend" :thumbsup: I mean, jesus christ do they not remember what go them up **** creek in the first place? Its back to the old spend, spend, spend mentality.
I simply cant see how they can fund this when they had a large (£3 million?) shortfall already.
Quite incredible.
13-07-2017, 06:18 PM
I simply cant see how they can fund this when they had a large (£3 million?) shortfall already.
Quite incredible.
Artisanal chipped potatoes in the Schoolline Restaurant will bring in plenty.
Crispy pomme de terre batonettes served with a sweet tomato jus and finished with a delicate garnish of sodium crystals.
13-07-2017, 07:37 PM
Am I reading the reports right?
It was to cost £12M, and with Budges gold plated bogs its now to be £14 Million.............for a single tier stand (albeit with some corporate stuff in behind) - thats a hell of a lot of prawn sandwiches :cb
I looked at kickback and a few of them are saying "its just an increase in budget, not an overspend" :thumbsup: I mean, jesus christ do they not remember what go them up **** creek in the first place? Its back to the old spend, spend, spend mentality.
Quite incredible.
That's proper project manager thinking.
"The project is over budget by 2 million".
"Ok let's adjust the budget to 14 million from 12".
"Good thinking, ok project is now in line with the agreed budget".
13-07-2017, 07:39 PM
I just lost 45 minutes of my life clicking the link to Frothback. There are running verbal battles between undercover vermin infiltrators (those questioning the overspend) and the Durty Windaes Defenders (those accepting everything without question). The defenders are ecstatic that there will be 50 tills in the kiosks, this will cut down on queuing times and ensure that everyone can contribute more to the cause in terms of chip sales.
Further delight is fueled by the arrival of the lift, it arrived today and has brought tears of joy from several who are seated at the top of the greenhouse (Bulgarian Balcony View) one stated that it will be the best stadium in scotland for atmosphere while his friend added that he looked forward to ragdolling the vermin in front of the best stand in the best stadium in the whole land...oh, and best atmosphere.
The cynics analysing Budge's BBC interview are asking pertinent, if obvious, questions but they are drowned in a sea of scorn. The happy clappers are the dominant force and the Vlad mindset of just trusting whoever is charge has not undergone a significant change despite history teaching them that those running the club need to be held accountable for their decisions.
On the whole most of them are happy with whatever is happening, they just want a new stand, and who can blame them? They're a funny bunch though, reasoned debate is lacking and you get the feeling a lot of them are fairly young and excitable and type before engaging their brains, a bit like facebook.
My final observation was the regard in which Greenginger is held by the frothing seethers amongst them, he elicits numerous comments regarding his magnificent obsessive stalking of them, they impersonate him with quips of Ah'll Rite Letturz! He's really got under their skin, gave me a good laugh.
That's the Skyline Restaurant! It will even serve potatoes in innovative chipped form. Think they'll do chippy sauce in glass bru bottles or will it be too posh for that??
Jambos invite a few old guests to their new suite to check out the view.
http://oi65.tinypic.com/286v02a.jpg
And all drinks served by under 16 year old girls 😱
13-07-2017, 08:57 PM
😂😂😂
14-07-2017, 01:06 PM
I see our council has just granted a temporary occupation certificate for the Wheatfield stand undercroft construction.
https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/scottishBuildingWarrantDetails.do?activeTab=comple tionCertificate&keyVal=O4JFW9EW01O00
The occupation starts today and expires tonight.
No doubt to allow use for tonight's game, but the officials must know they have been using the building for months anyway.
Maybe I was not too far off the mark with an earlier joke about valuable EPL players and expendable Gorgieites. :greengrin
I see our council has just granted a temporary occupation certificate for the Wheatfield stand undercroft construction. https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/scottishBuildingWarrantDetails.do?activeTab=comple tionCertificate&keyVal=O4JFW9EW01O00 The occupation starts today and expires tonight. No doubt to allow use for tonight's game, but the officials must know they have been using the building for months anyway. Maybe I was not too far off the mark with an earlier joke about valuable EPL players and expendable Gorgieites. :greengrin
Just shows what ECC are all about.... One rule for them and a separate rule for others!!
Same as the Council they bumped!
14-07-2017, 06:40 PM
I see the new stand has those same awful cheap looking curved ends. It's tacky and not even lego-esque.
I thought they'd take the chance to, somehow, improve the look of the place.
Hideous, just hideous. And I'm saying that cause I'm a green boy.
14-07-2017, 06:44 PM
Some images from the new tunnel at the PBS ......... apart from the fact that yet again the folk at Hearts seem incapable of proof reading anything, apparently their cup final win was "empathic" :faf: what a superb way to motivate Hibs as they take the pitch for their next visit to the Wongadome ......... :aok:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DEtOWfEW0AAcLTc.jpg
Some images from the new tunnel at the PBS ......... apart from the fact that yet again the folk at Hearts seem incapable of proof reading anything, apparently their cup final win was "empathic" :faf: what a superb way to motivate Hibs as they take the pitch for their next visit to the Wongadome ......... :aok:
That is just brilliant.
Renfrew_Hibby
14-07-2017, 07:19 PM
I see the new stand has those same awful cheap looking curved ends. It's tacky and not even lego-esque.
I thought they'd take the chance to, somehow, improve the look of the place.
Hideous, just hideous. And I'm saying that cause I'm a green boy.
Where else in the UK have they built a retro stand? When a new stand is built now, it's not designed and built as if it were 1993.
14-07-2017, 07:27 PM
Unbelievable. They've mistaken 'emphatic' for 'empathic' the useless thick b*******s.
That club really is a two-bit cheap joke.
14-07-2017, 07:47 PM
what a superb way to motivate Hibs as they take the pitch for their next visit to the Wongadome
Assuming the blu-tak holds that long.
14-07-2017, 08:01 PM
Surely that's the temp dressing room under the Wheatfield Stand ands hen we play them the new one on the Super structure will be ready. They might get the spieling correct by then too.
14-07-2017, 08:12 PM
'COULD be honking' ??. No doubt about it, they started to plummet south the very instant he took over (if only he'd arrived earlier !!) and I see no reason or signs that's going to change. Ok, it's highly unlikely Cathro will even see Christmas but every game he's in charge will see that damage continue - not forgetting the opening-period of playing x-amount of consecutive games away from home and they'll be too far gone for whoever else comes in as replacement.
14-07-2017, 10:10 PM
Going to be interesting seeing their new temporary dugouts in a high profile game. Very close to the fans in the Wheatfield and don't even look the correct size for a technical area. Add in rain and you get a soaked Cathro and coaching staff - they didn't think that one through.
They also need to sort the exits to the stadium - getting out the Wheatfield in an emergency through the 1 back exit is a receipe of disaster waiting to happen.
14-07-2017, 11:38 PM
Wow. And all about Hibs really.
Does it mention Craig Beattie was signed instead of passing money over to charities and local businesses?
14-07-2017, 11:47 PM
I have empathy for the empathic author who had one job, to type a blurb about an event that everyone is already aware of. Which begs the question, why have any writing attached to the picture in the first place? mispelt or otherwise. Clubs everywhere have these sort of pictures adorning the walls of the corridors behind the scenes but i have never seen any with pointless summaries of the content of the pictures. The Hibs dressing rooms have loads of iconic moments in the clubs history covering the walls but there is no need for descriptions to be added, the pictures speak for themselves. This is yet another example of hearts making a pigs ear of everything they attempt, from restuarants with views of a high school roof, hospitality suites facing the wrong way, restricted view seats in a £14 million stand, an extra £2 million for toilets and kiosks, they just cant do anything properly. Poor grammar and mispelt words have become the norm with their club statements but to have a print made and hung without anyone noticing the error only highlights how amatuer their entire background staff are. This new stand development malarky has been comedy gold from the start, they've brightened up a dull close season and for that I thank them.
15-07-2017, 12:00 AM
Maybe when they wrote Skyline they actually meant School Run?
Hmmm. While I still maintain that Romanov was at fault for his actions that trivialised sex crimes, I'm not entirely comfortable with such banter any more.
Paedophiles have infiltrated too many aspects of our game and caused too much suffering for it to be treated with anything other than disgust. Let Rangers and the bigots attached to other clubs be the ones who score points like this. Let them hang themselves while others watch.
I'm sorry for going off course but I think this is a no-no for the entire British game now.
So they are spending £14m (£3m over original quote) to build a new stand that will increase capacity by c 2000 seats. And it has less than two months to complete and looking more and more unlikely it will be open by the target date. And the fans will be even longer before they get hands on any kind of club ownership.
Fair summary?
15-07-2017, 06:15 AM
So they are spending £14m (£3m over original quote) to build a new stand that will increase capacity by c 2000 seats. And it has less than two months to complete and looking more and more unlikely it will be open by the target date. And the fans will be even longer before they get hands on any kind of club ownership.
Fair summary?
Absolutely.
Aberdeen game is 8 weeks today. Not a chance the stand will be ready.
15-07-2017, 07:40 AM
I have empathy for the empathic author who had one job, to type a blurb about an event that everyone is already aware of. Which begs the question, why have any writing attached to the picture in the first place? mispelt or otherwise. Clubs everywhere have these sort of pictures adorning the walls of the corridors behind the scenes but i have never seen any with pointless summaries of the content of the pictures. The Hibs dressing rooms have loads of iconic moments in the clubs history covering the walls but there is no need for descriptions to be added, the pictures speak for themselves. This is yet another example of hearts making a pigs ear of everything they attempt, from restuarants with views of a high school roof, hospitality suites facing the wrong way, restricted view seats in a £14 million stand, an extra £2 million for toilets and kiosks, they just cant do anything properly. Poor grammar and mispelt words have become the norm with their club statements but to have a print made and hung without anyone noticing the error only highlights how amatuer their entire background staff are. This new stand development malarky has been comedy gold from the start, they've brightened up a dull close season and for that I thank them.
All true, though you've misspelt misspelt. :nerd:
Alan62
15-07-2017, 08:08 AM
And amateur. Like the Hearts, you should have hired a professional writer.
Just seen the highlights of last notes game at the Asbestos arena and looks like they are trialing the High Line and got caught out.
Why does it always look like a complete and utter **** hole (maybe because it is)
14 million and rising for 2000 extra seats! Get in
15-07-2017, 08:45 AM
Fair summary?
Sounds fair to me. And it will still be a hole.
Arch Stanton
15-07-2017, 08:50 AM
Not only is the back of the stand made of glass but it looks like the rest of the stand is made of glass too.
Either that, or there's nothing there.
SuperAllyMcleod
15-07-2017, 10:29 AM
Hmmm. While I still maintain that Romanov was at fault for his actions that trivialised sex crimes, I'm not entirely comfortable with such banter any more.
Paedophiles have infiltrated too many aspects of our game and caused too much suffering for it to be treated with anything other than disgust. Let Rangers and the bigots attached to other clubs be the ones who score points like this. Let them hang themselves while others watch.
I'm sorry for going off course but I think this is a no-no for the entire British game now.
Yep, I agree - time to let this one go.
15-07-2017, 10:41 AM
Yep, I agree - time to let this one go.
Yes, I agree as well ...... The whole thing is a blight on the game and by the looks of it by the time the whole thing is put to bed there's hardly going to be a club in the country that isn't asking itself if it could have done better at the time, including us unfortunately.
15-07-2017, 11:33 AM
Well if you think that's bad, wait until I tell you that when Hearts advertised for a Proof Reader they couldn't work out why it was only men that applied for the job. All gay as well. :agree:
15-07-2017, 11:35 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170715/147508e489d77349b76567460dbd33b8.jpg
56 days till they play Aberdeen.[emoji3]
The stand for the dog track at Wallyford is further on.
56 days till they play Aberdeen.[emoji3] The stand for the dog track at Wallyford is further on. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What I don't understand is why they can play a friendly at the Asbestos Arena but not a league fixture! Surely the powers that be can see this??
15-07-2017, 11:42 AM
Was that last night?
15-07-2017, 11:49 AM
fair enough but i was never going to get a quick observation about them laminated and stuck on the wall in my hall, I would do a quick spellcheck if it was of any significance, ditto my incorrect spelling of amateur, 35 years on building sites has done nothing to improve my grammar. Point still stands, they lack professionalism and an attention to detail
15-07-2017, 11:49 AM
Was that last night?
Yes
15-07-2017, 12:04 PM
Did you get that from fb? Sure I saw it yesterday but it seems to have vanished
15-07-2017, 12:29 PM
I think it's quite smart, as girders go.
15-07-2017, 12:41 PM
Was that last night?
I don't know if I'm hoping this, or sensing it, but I'm getting the impression that they've run out of money and are only paying the contractors scraps from cash cow, thus the slow progress.
15-07-2017, 12:42 PM
fair enough but i was never going to get a quick observation about them laminated and stuck on the wall in my hall, I would do a quick spellcheck if it was of any significance, ditto my incorrect spelling of amateur, 35 years on building sites has done nothing to improve my grammar. Point still stands, they lack professionalism and an attention to detail
They sure do, and one of the things you left out was that they're spending £11m/£12m/£14m etc on a stand in which no-one yet seems to know how many seats there will be. Probably the architect is eventually just going to make up an exact number for that, like he made up a panoramic view of the Edinburgh skyline. :wink:
What I don't understand is why they can play a friendly at the Asbestos Arena but not a league fixture! Surely the powers that be can see this??
I think they'll eventually need to have cranes/equipment on the pitch, rendering it unplayable for a period of time.
15-07-2017, 12:47 PM
This stand is going to be Ukio Bankas' Edinburgh office Mark II
Expecting pelters but I quite like the design and think it'll look quite smart. A poor mans Deepdale but smart nonetheless and should foster a good atmosphere (especially when it's used as a neutral venue where there are passionate fans inside it)
In fact, scrub that. For it to look anywhere near smart they'll have to replace the seats in the other three stands. All these sun bleached pink ones look scabby, tacky and unsightly. It's looks like it belongs on one of those YouTube videos set to sad music showing abandoned grounds.
Jamesconnolly
15-07-2017, 04:10 PM
How do I put a photo on here?
15-07-2017, 04:16 PM
Click on the photo frame icon at the top of the reply to thread box. If the image is on your computer, click on the 'computer' tab in the box that just popped up. Click 'choose file' and navigate to where it is and click on it. Click 'upload file'
15-07-2017, 04:16 PM
Jamesconnolly
15-07-2017, 04:21 PM
15-07-2017, 04:55 PM
They're just waiting on the DIY SOS team arriving. Be up inside a week at no cost.
15-07-2017, 05:28 PM
I think it looks great https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170715/841df4a6878e1a497e4cd2db3554bffb.jpg
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
15-07-2017, 05:31 PM
I think it looks great https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170715/841df4a6878e1a497e4cd2db3554bffb.jpg
LOLOL at the ground in front of it.
15-07-2017, 05:32 PM
LOLOL at the ground in front of it.
It's improved since the last Scottish Cup game there.
High-On-Hibs
15-07-2017, 05:32 PM
The better pitch gives the joke away.
15-07-2017, 05:33 PM
Any idea where that actually is?
It looks familiar to me but I can't place it.
Not Brechin, not Forfar but can't quite put my finger on it.....
15-07-2017, 05:34 PM
Any idea where that actually is?
It looks familiar to me but I can't place it.
Not Brechin, not Forfar but can't quite put my finger on it.....
McCain stadium in Scarborough
Arch Stanton
15-07-2017, 06:02 PM
I don't know if I'm hoping this, or sensing it, but I'm getting the impression that they've run out of money and are only paying the contractors scraps from cash cow, thus the slow progress.
Tha's not a bad disaster scenario at all - but it isn't my favourite.
I reckon that some clever dick decided to shorten the critical path by starting the main steel work before the demolition of the old stand started - after all, it's what Liverpool did.
Now, as the architect wasn't bothered what order his stand got built said 'fine', but unfortuneately no one actually checked whether the approach was feasible.
So , the project turned to mush, and now AB is trying to find ways to shift some of the massive overrun cost of the stalled project on to the architect (or his insurance).
15-07-2017, 06:29 PM
I think there's a thick vein of ineptitude running through the management of the club at every level. Choices have been made which are having negative impacts, and with the egos involved, I don't see them getting their s*** together anytime soon
15-07-2017, 06:40 PM
Did you get that from fb? Sure I saw it yesterday but it seems to have vanished
Lifted from Kickback mate .... it was too good not to share :greengrin
15-07-2017, 06:51 PM
Jeezo ... that looks about 56 weeks from completion, not 56 days .... I presume they are hoping to get it fitted out with seats and that's about it before their first scheduled home game, even that might be a stretch given the lower half steel isn't even in place yet ( I nearly said lower deck, woops :faf: ) never mind the concrete the seats will have to be bolted to.
Tell you what though, that picture makes their pitch look like a bloody postage stamp, its a wonder its legal for league games, never mind Europe .... When they are competing with us for players and the money and length of contract being offered by both clubs are the same its not hard to see which club the unfit lazy bassas are gonna' choose :greengrin
15-07-2017, 07:09 PM
Both sets of goalposts at the Roseburn end? What new 'throdaplan is this?
15-07-2017, 07:48 PM
McCain stadium in Scarborough
They obviously did chips.
15-07-2017, 07:55 PM
To be fair, I had a drink with some decent Jambos that evening in 2012, where we had the grace to congratulate them on their win and they showed some empathy with our hurt.
Not sure they meant to allude to this on a poster though!
Maybe it was empathic in that their victory showed great solidarity with their financial doping bigger cousins from the west.
15-07-2017, 09:47 PM
They obviously did chips.
👏👏
15-07-2017, 11:20 PM
This one from the dressing room area..
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170715/7f0bf0c24c6752065587a76bcdb9a1b1.jpg
15-07-2017, 11:56 PM
Wow .... now handy tips for murderers, what the hell next :worried:
connerg
16-07-2017, 01:25 AM
Wow .... now handy tips for murderers, what the hell next :worried:
Aston Vlla, Burnley, West Ham. Sure i've missed a few, sorry no offence. They could claim the same! Some herts **** said it years ago so it belongs to them.
Aye ok yams, your debt under Romanov/Robinson belongs to you too!
16-07-2017, 01:56 AM
Aston Vlla, Burnley, West Ham. Sure i've missed a few, sorry no offence. They could claim the same! Some herts **** said it years ago so it belongs to them.
Aye ok yams, your debt under Romanov/Robinson belongs to you too!
West Ham is Claret.
16-07-2017, 03:28 AM
West Ham is Claret.
The difference between claret and maroon is tenuous at best and non-existent at worst
Oxford dictionary defines maroon as "a brownish crimson or claret color."
You could argue that maroon is usually browner/darker than claret but even that isn't always the case
16-07-2017, 03:38 AM
This is terrible. Getting beat 5.0 by Man Utd and Ivam worried the Galaxy might e destroyed as a club
Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
16-07-2017, 03:44 AM
**** we just scored. 5.1 we are finished as a club.
16-07-2017, 03:52 AM
5.2 Jambos **** you
Col_0762
16-07-2017, 06:52 AM
That's terrible spelling the key word in the whole thing wrong lol. Seems common place now spelling mistakes. We even spelt our name wrong on the video thing for the new jersey. It's pathetic really. Both mistakes.
AngloHibs
16-07-2017, 07:27 AM
That's terrible spelling the key word in the whole thing wrong lol. Seems common place now spelling mistakes. We even spelt our nane wrong on the video thing for the new jersey. It's pathetic really. Both mistakes.
You didn't write it for them, did you? :-)
Col_0762
16-07-2017, 07:28 AM
You didn't write it for them, did you? :-)
Ssht lol. Nothing to see here haha..
SuperAllyMcleod
16-07-2017, 09:18 AM
Clearly photoshopped as all of the words have been spelled correctly!
16-07-2017, 09:19 AM
Wrong. That's not how you spell Moron's.
16-07-2017, 09:22 AM
Is it true they have now sold over 15,000 ST?
16-07-2017, 09:22 AM
Having been in a number of interesting after match 'disucssions' with some of their supporters, I can vouch for the veracity of that statement
16-07-2017, 10:40 AM
Ha good point!
Although it should be pointed out that this quote is actually not a quote as the words were never spoken by the dude they claim to have said them...
The difference between claret and maroon is tenuous at best and non-existent at worst
You could argue that maroon is usually browner/darker than claret but even that isn't always the case
"Sh*te doesn't show on a brownish crimson jersey."
As proven by them when they've sh*t themselves againt us recently.
16-07-2017, 11:34 AM
The quote is from the 1950's from their captain John Cumming an era when they had a very good team. I would have been surprised if it wasn't displayed in the stadium
16-07-2017, 11:39 AM
The quote is from the 1950's from their captain John Cummings, an era when they had a very good team. I would have been surprised if it wasn't dispayed in the stadium
I'm pretty sure there is no record of John Cummings ever saying those words..
Arch Stanton
16-07-2017, 11:46 AM
I'm pretty sure there is no record of John Cummings ever saying those words..
Maybe it was his wife.
High-On-Hibs
16-07-2017, 11:59 AM
http://oi65.tinypic.com/2h5o0pj.jpg
16-07-2017, 12:31 PM
Strangely enough, daihorrea wouldn't show on their jersey either, so why was Potter in the bog instead of on the pitch for their most famous moment ever in 1986?
16-07-2017, 01:31 PM
Im sure we would have heard about it if they had
SuperAllyMcleod
16-07-2017, 01:38 PM
Strangely enough, daihorrea wouldn't show on their jersey either, so why was Potter in the bog instead of on the pitch for their most famous moment ever in 1986?
White shorts?
16-07-2017, 01:54 PM
White shorts?They might have been, we'll never know[emoji6]
Nutmegged
16-07-2017, 02:06 PM
In a word No, not for any other reason than to say this would be a club record and as such they and any other right minding club would be shouting about this from the rooftops.
I think they got 14.5k last season, I dont think they'll match that figure again this year especially with extra seats now available but I'd imgine they'll get close to it
16-07-2017, 02:15 PM
That's terrible spelling the key word in the whole thing wrong lol. Seems common place now spelling mistakes. We even spelt our name wrong on the video thing for the new jersey. It's pathetic really. Both mistakes.
Maybe it is spelt correctly and they are saying they beat us but in a caring way that day.
16-07-2017, 02:33 PM
Maroon is the colour of blood stained stools
16-07-2017, 02:44 PM
In a word No, not for any other reason than to say this would be a club record and as such they and any other right minding club would be shouting about this from the rooftops.
I think they got 14.5k last season, I dont think they'll match that figure again this year especially with extra seats now available but I'd imgine they'll get close to it
I'm going to be magnanimous and admit that was an impresive figure, and I've no doubt they'll reach a respectable number this season as well.
Early claims by some on here (admittedly very few) that we'd outsell them on STs this season were overly optimistic and had the potential to put a dampener on our actual sales, if/when they hadn't reached the expected heights.
We've already reached 12k, which is a fantastic number, and we'll sell even more before the season starts. Good enough on our own merits without having to compare that with anybody else.
High-On-Hibs
16-07-2017, 02:46 PM
Hearts have always had that added bigot element that adds an extra couple of thousand to their attendances. Quality over quantity I say.
16-07-2017, 03:39 PM
'PAID IN FULL' doesn't show (ever) on a Jambo account-sheet.
19-07-2017, 09:04 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170719/cf30d240e00f73426ab3845933358bb8.jpg
52 days to go.
I am willing to bet a statement will come out soon to suggest they might need to move a couple of home fixtures in Sept to another date!!!
19-07-2017, 09:09 AM
Admittedly I know nout about construction work but surely there is no way that stand can be finished and given a safety certificate in 52 days??
19-07-2017, 09:19 AM
Admittedly I know nout about construction work but surely there is no way that stand can be finished and given a safety certificate in 52 days??
Seems tight I agree
But I'm not so sure about that, the council might not be able to empty the bins or clean up the streets anywhere near on time but if the yam are in touching distance of finishing and the council have anything to do with it they'll get the certificates they need. As has been alluded to above they've been able to bend a few rules already.
Alan62
19-07-2017, 09:21 AM
All they have to do is make it safe and put the seats in. They aren't fitting it out. The chips won't be available until Christmas.
19-07-2017, 09:32 AM
All they have to do is make it safe and put the seats in. They aren't fitting it out. The chips won't be available until Christmas.
They are still pouring the concrete foundations to the front part of the stand. The seat decking is still on a container ship somewhere between Korea and Europe.
They will need plumbing, electrical , and exiting arrangements. The chips can wait though.
Alan62
19-07-2017, 09:35 AM
Mere details, greenginger! There are men all over it, working round the clock. Remember, this is the team that won the Great War. Building a stand in a matter of weeks will be a breeze in comparison.
19-07-2017, 10:32 AM
The Yams fans are bumming this up as being one of the more impressive construction projects in Scottish football which will leave them with a façade to their gaff better than just about anything outside of Glasgow ..... now that is undoubtedly true, but it also cant be denied that the more glass they chuck up the more it looks like somewhere you would go clothes shopping followed by a coffee rather than to watch football.
Its ironic that for all they love to shove our Gorgie TESCO comments from back in the day back in our faces that their club have made a pretty decent attempt at making it look like a TESCO .............. I cant help thinking that Hertz are getting into glass just as the smart builders are moving out and that in a few years time the Gorgie greenhouse is going to look cheap and dated :greengrin
19-07-2017, 10:35 AM
They are still pouring the concrete foundations to the front part of the stand. The seat decking is still on a container ship somewhere between Korea and Europe.
They will need plumbing, electrical , and exiting arrangements. The chips can wait though.
They will need to have all the emergency alarm system up and running and have all the staff trained in evacuation procedures.
Don't think it's fair if Hearts basically get to play the 2nd half of the season at home. Gives them a chance to get a run going under whoever is their new manager by then.
19-07-2017, 10:41 AM
The Yams fans are bumming this up as being one of the more impressive construction projects in Scottish football which will leave them with a façade to their gaff better than just about anything outside of Glasgow ..... now that is undoubtedly true, but it also cant be denied that the more glass they chuck up the more it looks like somewhere you would go clothes shopping followed by a coffee rather than to watch football.
Its ironic that for all they love to shove our Gorgie TESCO comments from back in the day back in our faces that their club have made a pretty decent attempt at making it look like a TESCO .............. I cant help thinking that Hertz are getting into glass just as the smart builders are moving out and that in a few years time the Gorgie greenhouse is going to look cheap and dated :greengrin
To be honest, it doesn't make me want to touch myself.
Callum7
19-07-2017, 10:42 AM
It couldn't possibly look like Tesc... oh.http://i65.tinypic.com/2ntjub9.png
Alan62
19-07-2017, 10:46 AM
They will need to have all the emergency alarm system up and running and have all the staff trained in evacuation procedures.
Don't think it's fair if Hearts basically get to play the 2nd half of the season at home. Gives them a chance to get a run going under whoever is their new manager by then.
I'm not sure that's what's happening with their fixtures. Are they not postponing the games that are scheduled to be at home rather than switching them to away fixtures? If that's the case, they'll just end up with fixture congestion playing Saturday/Wednesday until the backlog is cleared.
Alan62
19-07-2017, 10:49 AM
No. My bad. I see they've fixed that. They're home all December to compensate for the aways in August.
If they don't get the stand finished in time, it's going to be an issue right enough.
19-07-2017, 10:51 AM
Indeed ..... there surely has to come a cut off point where the number of consecutive home fixtures they will be handed at an important time of the season has to be questioned .... there are two suitable venues in Edinburgh where Hearts could have arranged to play matches both of which have a higher capacity than Tynecastle pre ( and post :greengrin ) the construction of their new stand. Both venues have better facilities than the PBS and the Yams have already used one of them on more than one occasion.
The higher capacity of both venues would also allow Hertz to recoup the outlay for rent in a higher attendance than they could have managed at Tynecastle in its old form ...... IMO the SPFL should have demanded that Hearts go down that route before they started inconveniencing every other club in the Premiership, not least of all us .... I will be beyond angry if Hibs are forced to move a single fixture to accommodate a run of Yams home games, something I would certainly hope isn't even on the table.
19-07-2017, 10:53 AM
To be honest, it doesn't make me want to touch myself.
Reminds me of the train station in Milton Keynes or similar.
19-07-2017, 10:54 AM
I'm generally of the viewpoint of 'never say never' but, going by the current status of their stand, I think it's looking les likely every day that they'll have it ready in time.
I think they should have just bit the bullet and done the construction similar to when we did our Main Stand, just accepting that they would have to play a number of games in a three sided stadium. This idea of putting the big girder up during last season to save time is starting to look a bit pointless now.
19-07-2017, 11:04 AM
Surely theres no chance that stand will be finished in a month and a half, its still effectively a shell. Wonder how long Hearts can leave it without releasing a statement extending the timescale.. My mate works in Sweden but is booking flights to come back so he can go to the first game in the new stand, imagine he wont be the only one with the same idea so could piss quite a few people off if they wait until the last minute before postponing/rescheduling.
19-07-2017, 11:07 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170719/cf30d240e00f73426ab3845933358bb8.jpg
52 days to go.
Tick tock!
19-07-2017, 11:13 AM
The line spacing on that type is too far apart. Bit like their centre halfs....