View Full Version : Scott Allan - signs a 4 year deal with Celtic
Exactly this last few words, we need to focus on hibs as a whole now and put all this garbage behind us, I think we were doing that at the start of pre season but this whole saga has derailed everything.
This is the most important thing in all this tbh.... Hibs.
Whether they were genuine or not Der Hun have caused a bit of disharmony at the club using the west coast media as their promoter.
I hate them both but selling SA to Smellic is the lesser of the 2 evils at this moment in time.
Let's get it done!
We can but hope. As I said last night, if the agreement is on the rumoured terms, I would like to have a gained a larger fee; but it needs resolving for the good of he club. Hopefully we'll look back with satisfaction.
We could say that about pretty much all transfers involving a fee. We could of got more!
To get what has been rumoured and Dylan on a permanent deal and another on loan for a player that cost us zip is good in my eyes.
I will say this though... The club have been superb in all this!
14-08-2015, 09:06 AM
We we lose a player that doesn't want to be here, get about 250k, get a player who looks good (to most), another player on lam who looks a real prospect and further cash payments if Celtic get to the champions league each year.
That 250k. Could be used as wages for another couple of players, so we lose one player and gain 4!
A few weeks ago the derisory offer made by Rangers was laughed out of here, now for a few pounds more, you suggest we should view the Celtic offer as a welcome means to improving our playing squad, while ditching our best player by far - I was sure you must be joking, but I have a sneaking feeling that you're not ... :greengrin
14-08-2015, 09:09 AM
If this is a done deal I'm quite disappointed. Our best player goes, we end up with yet another injury-prone player, who doesn't really impress me anyway, to add to the many we have on board already. Personally think It would have been better to keep and use Allan then let him go for free, than to give him away for next to nothing now ...
Could it be that too many Hibs fans on here are more concerned with how this is affecting Rangers instead of how it is affecting us as a club?
I tend to agree with this as Allan was our outstanding player. But what's done is done, and I just hope that when all this nonsense settles down, we can get our season properly up and running without a cabaret on the side-lines.
14-08-2015, 09:09 AM
We we lose a player that doesn't want to be here, get about 250k, get a player who looks good (to most), another player on lam who looks a real prospect and further cash payments if Celtic get to the champions league each year.
That 250k. Could be used as wages for another couple of players, so we lose one player and gain 4!
Is the player on the lam Leigh Griffiths, by any chance? :wink::greengrin
14-08-2015, 09:12 AM
A few weeks ago the derisory offer made by Rangers was laughed out of here, now for a few pounds more, you suggest we should view the Celtic offer as a welcome means to improving our playing squad, while ditching our best player by far - I was sure you must be joking, but I have a sneaking feeling that you're not ... :greengrin
It would be substantially more than the Rangers offer, PeeJay: cash plus McGeough and another for the season. We also have to bear in mind he walks for nothing next summer. It certainly isn't an ideal situation, but the guy wants to leave. We can only try to get the best from it.
14-08-2015, 09:13 AM
Dempster and Petrie will be impressed we now finally have a manager who can pick players with a sell on value
14-08-2015, 09:13 AM
If this is a done deal I'm quite disappointed. Our best player goes, we end up with yet another injury-prone player, who doesn't really impress me anyway, to add to the many we have on board already. Personally think It would have been better to keep and use Allan then let him go for free, than to give him away for next to nothing now ...
Could it be that too many Hibs fans on here are more concerned with how this is affecting Rangers instead of how it is affecting us as a club? IMO this is all about making the best of a bad situation .... Like it or not this whole thing has gotten out of hand now and good player or not its hard to see it getting any better if SA stays and signs a pre contract in January with Sevco. I'm a bit surprised to hear anybody express doubts about McGeough, from what I could see he is a busy energetic player who likes to drive forward and doesn't waste he ball, yes he had a few injuries, but that doesn't mean he will be injury prone. I'm sure we can make good use of £250K or more and by the sound of it a very decent loan player. Hibs have shown a bit of steel here and it looks like the result could be a very decent outcome, that's pretty positive for the club as far as I can see ........ how it affects the huns is just a very decent bonus.
14-08-2015, 09:15 AM
I can see where your coming from Peejay but I don't want a player who doesn't want to be at the club and SA did this the minute he handed in his transfer request. Cutting off our nose to spite our face, maybe, but one player does not make a team.
To get a fee plus Dylan (permanent) and another loanee as part of the deal will strengthen us and make us stronger IMHO.
It's never done until it's announced however I hope it's announced in the next few hours so we can concentrate on Hibs.
I realise he "wanted" to play for Rangers, but I'm not convinced that he didn't want to play for us - his recent performances suggested otherwise (from what I've seen that is) - he's now supposedly going to Celtic, which ultimately means he'll play for the team to whom he is under contract: we should have kept him.
Looks to me like Celtic have maybe done their Glasgow "friends" a favour here? Still, if it's done and dusted, we'll just have to hope these guys do actually strengthen the team, not convinced myself ...
14-08-2015, 09:16 AM
I realise he "wanted" to play for Rangers, but I'm not convinced that he didn't want to play for us - his recent performances suggested otherwise (from what I've seen that is) - he's now supposedly going to Celtic, which ultimately means he'll play for the team to whom he is under contract: we should have kept him.
Looks to me like Celtic have maybe done their Glasgow "friends" a favour here? Still, if it's done and dusted, we'll just have to hope these guys do actually strengthen the team, not convinced myself ...
He handed in a written transfer request, so no, he didn't want to play for us.
14-08-2015, 09:16 AM
I'm not convinced that Allan is to blame for this season's poor preparation and start - I fail to see how you can blame him for last season's dismal failure to get promotion?
Anyway, you say he didn't want to play for us as he wanted to play for Rangers, yet here he is now going to Celtic so he can play for them, although he wants to play for Rangers - don't you think a properly run club should have dealt better with this situation at the onset: Celtic will deal with it, I'm sure ...
I didn't blame our lack of success on him, just pointed out that we achieved nothing at all when he was a hibs player.
There is no doubt his transfer saga has disrupted our preparations, stubbs would never have dropped him if he had not requested to leave the club and our midfield would have been stronger, possibly handling our injury crisis better with him available and playing like he did last year.
He never once said "I want to play for Rangers", it was just assumed because they were the interested party at the time. I am not convinced celtc didn't plan a move like this all along considering they had almost no reason to extend McGeochs contract by a further year and knew that we wanted to sign him permanently.
14-08-2015, 09:17 AM
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=286337&st=0
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=286330&st=0
"Fitba is a man's game. If wumin need entertained outside of the bedroom then they should go to the ****** bingo" [emoji102]
"There is no official conformation he has signed for the filth, only that hibs offered to sell him to the ****. Scott would refuse to sign any such contract.
Scott Allan was born and bred a Bear and was brought up a couple of miles away from Ibrox stadium.
He won't sign a contract with them. FACT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
I realise he "wanted" to play for Rangers, but I'm not convinced that he didn't want to play for us - his recent performances suggested otherwise (from what I've seen that is) - he's now supposedly going to Celtic, which ultimately means he'll play for the team to whom he is under contract: we should have kept him. Looks to me like Celtic have maybe done their Glasgow "friends" a favour here? Still, if it's done and dusted, we'll just have to hope these guys do actually strengthen the team, not convinced myself ...
Yeah they could of but we will just need to move on and as I've said concentrate on us as a team. No one else plain and simple.
If Stubbs selling SA benefits the club then I'm happy with his judgement.
The next few hours are going to be very interesting.
14-08-2015, 09:18 AM
The Celtic love in on here would make your stomach turn. Two cheeks of the same erse IMO
14-08-2015, 09:18 AM
"Alan, that's The Rangers on the phone again...?!"
:greengrin Fixed that for you :wink:
14-08-2015, 09:19 AM
It would be substantially more than the Rangers offer, PeeJay: cash plus McGeough and another for the season. We also have to bear in mind he walks for nothing next summer. It certainly isn't an ideal situation, but the guy wants to leave. We can only try to get the best from it.
Stubbs was quoted in the Scotsman as saying 3 million pounds was a basis for discussing Allan's possible transfer - from where I'm sitting 275k falls some way short of that ... I'm not convinced about a sometimes Celtic player that can drop down to a Championship club because no Premier League club is interested, there's a tale in there surely?
14-08-2015, 09:20 AM
I'm not convinced that Allan is to blame for this season's poor preparation and start - I fail to see how you can blame him for last season's dismal failure to get promotion?
Anyway, you say he didn't want to play for us as he wanted to play for Rangers, yet here he is now going to Celtic so he can play for them, although he wants to play for Rangers - don't you think a properly run club should have dealt better with this situation at the onset: Celtic will deal with it, I'm sure ...
He wasn't to blame for last seasons failure to get promoted . What was significant for me ,and marked a turning point in our public stance ,which up to then had been ,Scott Allan will stay at hibs as he is central to your prospects of getting promotion , was Stubbs going Public After Dumbarton game stating the Media Circus was impacting on the teams performance .He Did state that was not an excuse for losing the game , but given he was desperate to get off to a winning start , that must have given him and the Board food for thought .
I also think Stubbs made it clear he still wanted Mcgeoch and he has maybe been instrumental in helping Scotty think through his options and not be blinkered on move to Rangers .
Paying money for McGinn may also of been advance planning .
If Scoops is right ,and I don't doubt him that Allan passed a medical last night then a deal must surely be close to being concluded .
Time wil tell how we do in this leaugue and even with Scott Allan there was no guarantee we would get promoted ,and Before January the whole circus of ,has he signed a pre contract for Rangers ? Would of started up again ,and goodness knows how that would have impacted on him or team . So looks like Stubbs and Board have been pro active behind the scenes , possibly for greater good of the Team and Club as a whole .
Let's hope the Celtic press conference today is to announce the deal ,as don't want this dragging on and impacting on preparation for Morton game or ibrox the week after .
Stokesy's on fire
14-08-2015, 09:20 AM
if Allan goes, it works in rangers favour. looks like celtic are doing their bit to help rangers back into the top flight.
hate the both of them.
we shouldnt be selling to either of those clubs
Sevco are our rivals not Celtic.
We can't be doing deals with the devil. By selling to celtic we prevent further unrest in January when the newly formed Rangers tribute act walk in with a pre contract and a packet of sweets....Could you imagine how hacked off our support would be if he signed the devils dotted line in January?
14-08-2015, 09:21 AM
The Celtic love in on here would make your stomach turn. Two cheeks of the same erse IMO
Fair view but we are not competing with Celtic this year and better for us if he goes there than Rangers
No love in from me. My love in is with Hibs and I think this deal is good for Hibs
14-08-2015, 09:22 AM
"There is no official conformation he has signed for the filth, only that hibs offered to sell him to the ****. Scott would refuse to sign any such contract.
Scott Allan was born and bred a Bear and was brought up a couple of miles away from Ibrox stadium.
"
I read that [emoji23]
Also read that he wouldn't sign for Celtic because it would damage his friendship with Halliday [emoji23][emoji23]
14-08-2015, 09:23 AM
Will we not organise our own Press conference if/when this deal goes through?
I'd like to think that we will.
What you on about?
The only aspect I've seen discussed at all is the fact they aren't direct rivals to try and get promoted this year.
Celtic aren't in our division, so I don't care if we sell to them or not. The roles would be reversed if Rangers were in the Premiership and we were battling it out with Celtic for promotion.
14-08-2015, 09:26 AM
What love in ?
I think it's more people are relieved that Hibs didn't buckle and sell to Sevco. Plus it's a pretty good deal for us.
E10 Rifle
14-08-2015, 09:27 AM
Sounds like a good deal to me. If it comes off as quoted in the media, I would say the club have played a bit of a blinder in difficult circumstances.
14-08-2015, 09:27 AM
Celtic aren't in our division, so I don't care if we sell to them or not. The roles would be reversed if Rangers were in the Premiership and we were battling it out with Celtic for promotion.
It's simply adapting the situation to suit our own particular needs.
14-08-2015, 09:30 AM
Oh and if some of you talk to John collins again, remember he lies! :greengrin
Knew as soon as I spotted him at Dumbarton they would be bidding this week.
hibbypostie
14-08-2015, 09:30 AM
bang on it's not about where he is going it's about where he aint going :gwa:
14-08-2015, 09:31 AM
"
Yeah.
Champions league or petrofact cup.
Spl title medal or a (possible) championship winners medal.
Likely Scottish cup semi and final appearance.
5 a week or 10+k a week.
He won't sign a contract with them right enough. What a clown that poster on RM is.
14-08-2015, 09:31 AM
Really? I think it's more down to seeing Sevco get what they deserve and us getting a cracking deal out of it to boot.
14-08-2015, 09:33 AM
Oh and if some of you talk to John collins again, remember he lies! :greengrin
Knew as soon as I spotted him at Dumbarton they would be bidding this week.
The Celtic "bid" was always going to happen.
I was told a fortnight ago from a fairly reliable Celtic "in the know type person" that they were interested.
Greenworld
14-08-2015, 09:35 AM
... and if they loaned him to Rangers?
That would be histerical ....we would look like silly billy boyhs
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
14-08-2015, 09:36 AM
I dislike Celtc more than any other team. Whilst selling to them turns my stomach, if the deal is as stated, it is a tremendous piece of business IMO. Would Scott have kept on playing to the best of his abilities? Who knows. Will Dylan offer us the same? Who knows. Another roller coaster of a season. The main thing for me was that we did not sell him to our nearest rivals. We haven't but I could have seen that more difficult not to do had he signed a precontract in January. Big difference I think between playing in the first half of the season to possibly impress enough to get a precontract, and the effort you can expect after the precontract to your rivals has been signed.
Looking forward to tomorrow.
14-08-2015, 09:37 AM
While we are losing one of our most creative players - I do believe Dylan and Fyvie will step up - I also think Dylan does more of the dirty work than Allan.
I'm hoping this saga is concluded today - we still have to play sevco x4 times and every week or two before each game the issue would come up - plus the carry on had he signed for someone in January.
I'm more concerned we sort out our defending and score more goals and start being part time teams and others in this league !!
14-08-2015, 09:38 AM
I'm not seeing any Celtic love in. What I'm seeing is people being happy that there may be a way out of a disruptive and unpleasant situation, which enables us to rescue something from the mess, and which will also p*** off The Rangers. As someone else has said, had the roles of Celtic and the new boys been reversed, so would the solution to the problem we have on our hands.
Like you, I dislike both clubs equally, but I hope he goes to Celtic. Once the media nonsense started and Allan handed in his transfer request, there were no perfect solutions. He doesn't want to play for us / believes he's entitled to a move to bigger club (and leaving aside argument about the size and status of The Rangers...) / we can't sell him to Rangers....that leaves Celtic.
14-08-2015, 09:40 AM
While we are losing one of our most creative players - I do believe Dylan and Fyvie will step up - I also think Dylan does more of the dirty work than Allan.
I'm hoping this saga is concluded today - we still have to play sevco x4 times and every week or two before each game the issue would come up - plus the carry on had he signed for someone in January.
I'm more concerned we sort out our defending and score more goals and start being part time teams and others in this league !!
If the team push on and start winning games without him then it may have been Allan that was the problem unsettling the rest of the squad with the will he/won't he leave stuff.
14-08-2015, 09:40 AM
What you on about?
The only aspect I've seen discussed at all is the fact they aren't direct rivals to try and get promoted this year.
I'm on about once more selling our best players to them, Some things never change.
14-08-2015, 09:41 AM
Rangers were offering 200k or so in installments for us to sell our most creative player to a serious rival. He has now been sold to a team outwith our league for more money brought in a player permanently who was very good for us last season and also have the use of a young player who will definitely help us the season on loan so not really understanding what you are on about. The notion that half way during the season Allan could sign a pre-contract with a key rival was a step too far IMO and the club have done exactly the right thing.
14-08-2015, 09:41 AM
Yeah.
Champions league or petrofact cup.
Spl title medal or a (possible) championship winners medal.
Likely Scottish cup semi and final appearance.
5 a week or 10+k a week.
He won't sign a contract with them right enough. What a clown that poster on RM is.
But, but he was "born a bear" -for some of these idiots it just shows that the actual football is secondary to the institutions around which they focus their bigotry. If Allan joins the other bigots it shows he is putting personal success, wealth and job satisfaction first - like most civilised modern people.
14-08-2015, 09:42 AM
I'm on about once more selling our best players to them, Some things never change.
That's not what you said. You were suggesting there was a Celtic love in going on.
14-08-2015, 09:43 AM
His recent perfomances that included us losing 6-1 to TRFC and 2-1 to Dumbarton?
14-08-2015, 09:44 AM
Celtc are a horrible club IMO and I dislike them greatly but they have given us a much better offer than Sevco and aren't a club that could damage our attempts at promotion. Very cynical of them to keep McGeouch on probably exactly for this scenario.
14-08-2015, 09:45 AM
Thats not the same as a love in though is it. Ideally he would have signed an extension and helped us win promotion however he put in a transfer request amid rumours he desperately wanted to sign for our main rival. It isnt ideal however getting Dylan permanently and hopefully Liam Henderson on loan plus some cash is the best of a bad situation.
Can you imagine if we were neck and neck with Rangers at Christmas and he then signed a pre-con for them that would have been an awful situation to be in.
14-08-2015, 09:50 AM
http://www.ibroxnoise.co.uk/2015/08/scott-allan-backwater-politics-of.html?m=1
14-08-2015, 09:51 AM
All part of the football food chain...it happens, it always will happen in every league in the world, I don't see why it is a surprise to some.
14-08-2015, 09:52 AM
I'm not seeing any Celtic love in. What I'm seeing is people being happy that there may be a way out of a disruptive and unpleasant situation, which enables us to rescue something from the mess, and which will also p*** off The Rangers. As someone else has said, had the roles of Celtic and the new boys been reversed, so would the solution to the problem we have on our hands.
Like you, I dislike both clubs equally, but I hope he goes to Celtic. Once the media nonsense started and Allan handed in his transfer request, there were no perfect solutions. He doesn't want to play for us / believes he's entitled to a move to bigger club (and leaving aside argument about the size and status of The Rangers...) / we can't sell him to Rangers....that leaves Celtic.
Good post. It's never good to lose your best player, but there are many factors in play in Allan's case, and it's about getting the best from it. I think Cetc would be getting a bargain but we'd also have positives.
SmashinGlass
14-08-2015, 09:53 AM
Delusion knows no bounds. It's concerning that the article is written with such deluded beliefs behind it. I'd suggest its author may require hospital treatment for a mental disorder
14-08-2015, 09:54 AM
They don't change because of the economics of Scottish football are what they are. Only Celtic (and previously Rangers) can afford to buy them/ pay them what they or their agents think they're worth.
14-08-2015, 10:04 AM
😂 pharmaceutical alert
Talk about delusional
14-08-2015, 10:06 AM
His recent perfomances that included us losing 6-1 to TRFC and 2-1 to Dumbarton?
Well if it was all Allan's fault the 3 points at Ibrox - as all other points on the table - will surely be a piece of cake once he leaves us ... :greengrin
14-08-2015, 10:06 AM
Pffft [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Feel the SEETHE!!!
The bad Celtic fans let of smoke bombs. You would never catch The Rangers fans misbehaving at a football game. Nope, never.
14-08-2015, 10:08 AM
So ....announced at midday. Medical passed last night.
300k + Dylan perm and Henderson on a fully financed year loan.
I personally think its an amazing deal for Hibs. Expect a defender announcement very soon.
14-08-2015, 10:09 AM
I personally think its an amazing deal for Hibs. Expect a defender announcement very soon.
Is it actually getting announced at midday?
14-08-2015, 10:12 AM
That blog is amazing. "The Scott Allan saga, already an excruciating episode of tug-of-war between Rangers and Hibs"
What tug of war?
"We'll give you £150k".
"Naw"
"We'll give you £175k"
"Naw, he's no for sale to you. Bolt".
14-08-2015, 10:13 AM
Any news on Dylan and Liam's medicals?
14-08-2015, 10:15 AM
Is it actually getting announced at midday?
That's what ive been told. Happy for others to clarify... (Scooby?)
Greenworld
14-08-2015, 10:16 AM
100% agree im hoping it a very experienced defender
Apparently they both failed due to not being injured.
Joking guys [emoji16]
Glad I saw his farewell at Dumbarton.
He played well but we'll just have to cope without him
McGeouch and Henderson aren't bad players and should help us get stronger.
What worries me more is not losing SA but the tippy tappy, stop and turn, play in front of the opposition football we are playing. Let's hope the new players give us some oomph.
14-08-2015, 10:17 AM
That's what ive been told. Happy for others to clarify... (Scooby?)
Fingers crossed
Was told his medical was today by a colleague in the nhs, will probably be wrong though
Dublin07
Dylan fell off the treadmill and broke his ankle, Liam tore his hammy getting out the taxi at east mains. both should be fit for christmas. :greengrin
Glad I saw his farewell at Dumbarton.
He played well but we'll just have to cope without him
McGeouch and Henderson aren't bad players and should help us get stronger.
What worries me more is not losing SA but the tippy tappy, stop and turn, play in front of the opposition football we are playing. Let's hope the new players give us some oomph.
That's what Dylan gave us last season when fit imo
Devonhibs
14-08-2015, 10:18 AM
I personally think its an amazing deal for Hibs. Expect a defender announcement very soon. Sweet and the icing on the cake - the club don't have to give him a % as he asked for a transfer:thumbsup:
14-08-2015, 10:18 AM
http://www.ibroxnoise.co.uk/2015/08/scott-allan-backwater-politics-of.html?m=1The sort of guy who sits with tin foil wrapped around his head coz he thinks the government can read his mind. The more they say it doesn't matter the more you know its hurting ...... this is nice.
So ....announced at midday. Medical passed last night. 300k + Dylan perm and Henderson on a fully financed year loan. I personally think its an amazing deal for Hibs. Expect a defender announcement very soon.
Let's get this announced now.
Excellent piece of business if and when announced (not doubting you Underscore).
Any idea where the defender is coming from??
14-08-2015, 10:19 AM
All part of the football food chain...it happens, it always will happen in every league in the world, I don't see why it is a surprise to some.
Absolutely correct
As I have said often on this forum it has been the " roller coaster ride to end roller coaster rides" over all the years I have supported Hibs
Players sold on a regular basis is as you say part of rthe " food chain" :greengrin
14-08-2015, 10:20 AM
Dylan fell off the treadmill and broke his ankle, Liam tore his hammy getting out the taxi at east mains. both should be fit for christmas. :greengrin
Just dinnae!
14-08-2015, 10:20 AM
Excellent piece of business if and when announced (not doubting you Underscore).
That blog is amazing. "The Scott Allan saga, already an excruciating episode of tug-of-war between Rangers and Hibs" What tug of war? "We'll give you £150k". "Naw" "We'll give you £175k" "Naw, he's no for sale to you. Bolt".
Thing is the still don't get it and I don't think they ever will.
You also forgot to add the bit about them paying in instalments.
Embarrassing as they expected us to roll over and take it.
GIRFUY!
rodhibs55
14-08-2015, 10:24 AM
Great deal and if our RP has been involved, hopefully a sell on.
14-08-2015, 10:26 AM
The sort of guy who sits with tin foil wrapped around his head coz he thinks the government can read his mind. The more they say it doesn't matter the more you know its hurting ...... this is nice.
He's spot on with this quote, "The game north of the border now prides itself on hating Rangers"
I take immense pride in my hatred of all things The Rangers.
Rangers were offering 200k or so in installments for us to sell our most creative player to a serious rival. He has now been sold to a team outwith our league for more money brought in a player permanently who was very good for us last season and also have the use of a young player who will definitely help us the season on loan so not really understanding what you are on about. The notion that half way during the season Allan could sign a pre-contract with a key rival was a step too far IMO and the club have done exactly the right thing.
Well, the derisory offer from Rangers of 175,00 and then 215,000 or whatever it was, was a cheap shot on their part. The 275,000 now on the table does not seem to be a giant leap from "derisory" to me, however it is dressed up with unwanted players: I don't rate Dylan M. very highly and he hardly strengthens our squad, he was here last year: it's more of the same really, isn't it, he wasn't that good, that often. Maybe he will prove me wrong this time round though, I certainly hope so.
FWIW, I alluded elsewhere to Stubb's claim that 3 million pounds was a sum that could be a discussion basis for Allan's transfer ... 275 k does not fit in well with that statement of intent, I feel.
Personally, I would have kept Allan and not bothered about the fact we wouldn't get anything when his contract was up - it's not as if we are getting so much more at the moment that it is worth letting him go ... for me he was the only player really worth watching in our team, I will miss that creative class.
As to the Club doing "exactly the right thing": no doubt this will be shown to be what it is during the course of the season ...
Just now on SSN that he's having a medical right now
Could it be that on trial from Accrington Stanley? He played at left back as a trialist for the under 20s on Tuesday night.
Thought he did his medial ligament.
Persevere80
14-08-2015, 10:28 AM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/33905902
Has been for his medical at celtic
No he will be injured for weeks if not months.
Well, the derisory offer from Rangers of 175,00 and then 215,000 or whatever it was, was a cheap shot on their part. The 275,000 now on the table does not seem to be a giant leap from "derisory" to me, however it is dressed up with unwanted players: I don't rate Dylan M. very highly and he hardly strengthens our squad, he was here last year: it's more of the same really, isn't it, he wasn't that good, that often. Maybe he will prove me wrong this time round though, I certainly hope so.
FWIW, I alluded elsewhere to Stubb's claim that 3 million pounds was a sum that could be a discussion basis for Allan's transfer ... 275 k does not fit in well with that statement of intent, I feel.
Personally, I would have kept Allan and not bothered about the fact we wouldn't get anything when his contract was up - it's not as if we are getting so much more at the moment that it is worth letting him go ... for me he was the only player really worth watching in our team, I will miss that creative class.
As to the Club doing "exactly the right thing": no doubt this will be shown to be what it is during the course of the season ...
I'm delighted you don't run Hibs. If getting cash plus two players and getting rid of a player who doesn't want to play for us is not a good bit of business then I really don't know how Hibs could have done any more.
Cant wait to see allan in celtic top as weird as it sounds
No idea on the defender...just been told its their main focus right now.
14-08-2015, 10:29 AM
He picked up a serious injury I think. I doubt if it will be him if that was the case.
14-08-2015, 10:30 AM
I think Scott has played a blinder here knowing any bid from his "boyhood heroes" would never be entertained. He has held off letting The Rangers make a fool of themselves with pathetic offers waiting on Celtic to come in and give him and his young family security on a great wage. This situation has been handled fantastically well by Stubbs and Dempster who have turned a bad situation into, in my opinion, a good one for us with the deal we are getting. I don't think they could have done anymore in this scenario. Dempster and Stubbs... :top marks
14-08-2015, 10:31 AM
I like how the BBC mentions Allan's had his medical but won't say a thing about whether McGeouch and Henderson have agreed terms and passed their medicals. Anyone care to shine a light?
14-08-2015, 10:33 AM
Thought he did his medial ligament.
No he will be injured for weeks if not months.
He picked up a serious injury I think. I doubt if it will be him if that was the case.
I was was at the bloody game!! How did I miss that? Or at the very least not remember it? :greengrin:confused:
14-08-2015, 10:34 AM
I'd imagine Celtic will still pay Hendersons wages as part of the deal?
14-08-2015, 10:37 AM
I'd imagine Celtic will still pay Hendersons wages as part of the deal?
We have to pay a percentage do we not?
Greenworld
14-08-2015, 10:38 AM
I like how the BBC mentions Allan's had his medical but won't say a thing about whether McGeouch and Henderson have agreed terms and passed their medicals. Anyone care to shine a light?
Were not the story just a wee chapionship side ....its all about celtic
14-08-2015, 10:39 AM
It's a shame we have to lose him, but there was little point keeping a player who in less than 5 months, would be free to sign a pre-contract for our direct rivals in the league.
What his commitment to helping Hibs get promoted would be like after that is anyone's guess. Reports suggest that the atmosphere at East Mains has already been soured by the affair, so it does seem we have done pretty well out it.
1875STEVE
I think McGeouch was brilliant for us last season.
It's a cracking deal for the club IMO, we get rid of a petulant player who doesn't want to be here, we get 300k up front, we get McGeouch and we get a loan of cracking player in Henderson, who went on loan to Rosenborg last season, and played very well.
Henderson will rip the 1st division apart imo.
I think Scott has played a blinder here knowing any bid from his "boyhood heroes" would never be entertained. He has held off letting The Rangers make a fool of themselves with pathetic offers waiting on Celtic to come in and give him and his young family security on a great wage. This situation has been handled fantastically well by Stubbs and Dempster who have turned a bad situation into, in my opinion, a good one for us with the deal we are getting. I don't think they could have done anymore in this scenario. Dempster and Stubbs... :top marks
When Sellick next draw them in a cup tie, it will be interesting to see if the hun players lovingly fondle and stroke him after the game.
Ive been told the loan is fully financed by Celtic...but im sure they wont even mention that
high bee
Out of the 3 parties, 2 are happy IMO.
Hibs get DM, plus a talented midfielder for a year long free loan and more cash than was offered by the zombies.
Celtc get a highly talented young midfielder in return for an unwanted player, giving a player away for a season on loan when they would've been looking to do so anyway (albeit maybe not wage free) and they pay a few which is considered small to them.
The zombies looked like they had played a blinder but this has turned on them, another 'died in the wool' bear chooses Celtic over them. Fans are fighting, there surely must be a realisation they are skint still. Only the most deluded fan will believe they have won because we have lost our best player.(I'm willing to eat my words but I think we will be a better team with DM, LH and another guy funded by this deal, no doubt SA is a great player but his effect is limited when the rest of the team aren't on the same wavelength.)
Dylan adds pace and urgency to our team, something which Allan didn't do at times, when we wanted him further forward he came deep to collect the ball and although at times his passing and vision was top drawer, he did lose the ball a lot with his hollywood passes. Far too much went through Allan and we started to become a one man team, hopefully this deal gives us more options and a better balance to the team.
We all knew there would be interest for Allan and we would be delighted to keep him, it's just been the whole Rangers saga that's left a sour taste in the mouth, so instead of leaving with our thanks, Allan is leaving under a cloud and good riddance, maybe this circus can end and we can focus on the task at hand.
Greenworld
14-08-2015, 10:40 AM
Not if its been agreed that its fully funded as part of the deal....underscore suggested this
14-08-2015, 10:41 AM
No, I think what takes it up to the discussed figure of £1m was the fact of us getting Henderson without paying
No idea on the defender...just been told its their main focus right now.
Good good.
14-08-2015, 10:42 AM
Ive been told the loan is fully financed by Celtic...but im sure they wont even mention that
This just makes the deal even more impressive on Hibs part. Well done to everyone involved at Hibs.
Dr Jimmy
14-08-2015, 10:43 AM
Whilst annoyed at them at the time, it's hilarious that The Rangers derisory bids have triggered the process where the player they really really really wanted has ended up going to their bitterest rivals.
In days gone by Allan would have been a Rangers player by now, but how the mighty have fallen. They most certainly are not Rangers anymore!
14-08-2015, 10:44 AM
Cant wait to see allan in celtic top as weird as it sounds
Wait, what? I thought Allan was definitely signing for Rangers a couple of Thursdays ago?
TBH we know McGeouch already and his medical will be done fairly quickly, Henderson is a loan player so a medical will not be needed
14-08-2015, 10:47 AM
Even better!
Some news reports saying it might be mcgoosh and stokes plus cash
What
14-08-2015, 10:48 AM
Out of the 3 parties, 2 are happy IMO.
Hibs get DM, plus a talented midfielder for a year long free loan and more cash than was offered by the zombies.
Celtc get a highly talented young midfielder in return for an unwanted player, giving a player away for a season on loan when they would've been looking to do so anyway (albeit maybe not wage free) and they pay a few which is considered small to them.
The zombies looked like they had played a blinder but this has turned on them, another 'died in the wool' bear chooses Celtic over them. Fans are fighting, there surely must be a realisation they are skint still. Only the most deluded fan will believe they have won because we have lost our best player.(I'm willing to eat my words but I think we will be a better team with DM, LH and another guy funded by this deal, no doubt SA is a great player but his effect is limited when the rest of the team aren't on the same wavelength.)
If Hibs somehow manage to pip the Huns to the title, everyone will reflect back on this deal as the turning point - making it even more galling for Sevco. How sweet would that be :aok:
khib70
:agree: FWIW I agree with you. But it's not going to be a popular viewpoint. There are some on here who would regard any deal with Celtc as a good one, even if it offers about fifty grand more and a had working but unexceptional player who has suddenly become the answer to all our problems. I regularly have to bite back the nausea as various individuals who've bolted from Hibs to Celtc for the big bucks are described as "one of our own". Celtc are one vile cheek of a very vile arse, and they get far too much respect on this forum sometimes.
Very good deal for us for a player, albeit a good one, that didn't want to be here and only had a year left on his contract.
I also dislike the Celtic and The Rangers equally but at the moment Celtic aren't direct competition so given the circumstances I'm not fussed about him going there. As has been said before, 2 cheeks of the same unwashed arse.
The arrogance of The Rangers is quite something: they actually think they have a devine right to buy our players at a knockdown price and we're only selling them to Celtic because we don't like them. Seeing them feeling a misguided sense of injustice is a bonus
Any idea on the length of contract McGeouch will be getting? I'd hope it would be at least three years.
Pffft [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Feel the SEETHE!!!
The bad Celtic fans let of smoke bombs. You would never catch The Rangers fans misbehaving at a football game. Nope, never.
Yep :agree: just ask the ordinary Mancunians who were out for a days shopping when the now defunct Glasgow rangers were down there for a European game - maybe the fans of the new slightly less well off team will behave with a bit more dignity whilst they try to establish themselves in the modern day game? Maybe not.
Saint Hibee
I think McGeouch was brilliant for us last season.
It's a cracking deal for the club IMO, we get rid of a petulant player who doesn't want to be here, we get 300k up front, we get McGeouch and we get a loan of cracking player in Henderson, who went on loan to Rosenborg last season, and played very well.
Henderson will rip the 1st division apart imo.
I completely agree. Although he tailed off towards the end of the season, there were many games when McGeough was at least as good as Allan. Getting him back is, for me, the best part of this deal.
I cannot wait to see the expressions on the faces of Warburton, Weir, and his pal Halliday, and also hear the squeals of anguish coming from all connected with Castle Greyskull, when it is confirmed they have been gazumped by ra Sellick.
They will really hate it. It's hilarious, and puts Der Hun firmly in their place again. GIRFUY. :lolrangers:
Where you hearing this CH??
Luke Shandley just on SSN saying a medical this afternoon with Henderson and Dylan coming to ER??
14-08-2015, 10:49 AM
Stop it ! Stokes as part of the deal would be the cream on top of the current bun :greengrin
14-08-2015, 10:50 AM
Live from Sky Sports news now at Lennoxtown ..
Allan definitely going..
Henderson (loan) and Dylan (permanent) going to Hibs as expected - both trained with Celtic this morning (maybe make debuts next week at Ibrox?).
Fee 275k
Just awaiting final confirmation now on both official sites.
14-08-2015, 10:50 AM
Thought Hibs were looking for £1.5m for SA.
Luke Shanley just on SSN, deal for Allan is £275k, DM and Henderson training at Lennoxtown today.
high bee
14-08-2015, 10:51 AM
I think Sevco deserve immense credit for all this.
Never before has a tribute act been so much more entertaining than the real thing. (Apart from a brief spell in 2012 when the real deal where quite hilarious)
14-08-2015, 10:52 AM
Allan definitely going..
Henderson (loan) and Dylan (permanent) going to Hibs as expected - both trained with Celtic this morning.
Fee 275k
All will be confirmed in the next 10-15 mins if you believe the rumours.
Greenworld
Well there we go medical not done yet ....latr today...Henderson and mcgeoch at celtics training ground so not ss far on as suggested..live on sky sports just now
Haha, aye good one. :greengrin
14-08-2015, 10:53 AM
Allan definitely going..
Henderson (loan) and Dylan (permanent) going to Hibs as expected - both trained with Celtic this morning (maybe make debuts next week at Ibrox?).
Fee 275k
Why not Saturday v Morton? :confused:
14-08-2015, 10:54 AM
Well there we go medical not done yet ....latr today...Henderson and mcgeoch at celtics training ground so not ss far on as suggested..live on sky sports just now
he's wrong. medical has happened already.
14-08-2015, 10:55 AM
Why has Allan already had a medical whilst McGeouch and Henderson haven't even gone to East Mains?
Greenworld
14-08-2015, 10:56 AM
Yea I must say a bit strange does not fit in with everything else being said inc you...not like Sky to be wrong
familyman
14-08-2015, 10:57 AM
I ask the question , as at the consultation process last year,we were told we take our time and hand picked only players that will fit in having regard to the team,so we do not just buy anyone ..they need to be a good fit for the whole team.This new culture then sounds a good theory ,but why then did our very best player not fit in if that was supposed to be factored in?Is there still something in the culture hanging around the place?
I do acknowledge that Hibs typically lack steal and have been effected by this SA carry on, so we cut our losses....but what about this cultural issue..are we getting the full picture?
14-08-2015, 10:58 AM
:agree: FWIW I agree with you. But it's not going to be a popular viewpoint. There are some on here who would regard any deal with Celtc as a good one, even if it offers about fifty grand more and a had working but unexceptional player who has suddenly become the answer to all our problems. I regularly have to bite back the nausea as various individuals who've bolted from Hibs to Celtc for the big bucks are described as "one of our own". Celtc are one vile cheek of a very vile arse, and they get far too much respect on this forum sometimes.
I can see where you are coming from here and agree, the phrase two cheeks of the same erse has been with me for nearly 50 years and I see nothing in the way either of these odious sets of people conduct themselves that makes me think any differently - Scotlands' shame, and its when people outside their backwater contemplate it that it reflects badly.
Looking at the mechanics of this arrangement with a business head on I think that since Allan doesn't want to be at Hibs, and does seemingly want to stay in Scotland (this week anyway) then given Hibs stand on not letting his agent and him dictate that we must give him to the new boys to our detriment this season I think its good business - no one else in Scotland bidded that we know about, he probably wouldn't go if they did. That tends to suggest its celtc or he sits it out in a situation that is likely to do us no good.
If we get a decent cash amount and McGeouch as a minimum then I would say our management have made the best of a bad lot. There was a time when we'd have just grabbed the money. This could be a seminal moment for the new boys unless the off the radar wealth comes into play late in the day.
14-08-2015, 11:02 AM
Daily Record reporting that it's Stokes and McGeouch
14-08-2015, 11:03 AM
Is there a link?
I ask the question , as at the consultation process last year,we were told we take our time and hand picked only players that will fit in having regard to the team,so we do not just buy anyone ..they need to be a good fit for the whole team.This new culture then sounds a good theory ,but why then did our very best player not fit in if that was supposed to be factored in?Is there still something in the culture hanging around the place?
I do acknowledge that Hibs typically lack steal and have been effected by this SA carry on, so we cut our losses....but what about this cultural issue..are we getting the full picture?
He had two overriding priorities, more money and going to the new boys, the former was the main one when push came to shove.
Whatever the merits of the way we are approaching things even if every one of the new cultural fit boxes are ticked there will always be someone who will pay a player more than we can and there is always likely to be an agent hawking a deal around. It's in nearly every players culture at every level in professional football.
Flip side is that if we do get the right players in and develop them properly then its inevitable they are going to attract attention and be sold. Unless a bunce of money comes our way and we become a big paying club - whats that Romanov guy doing again?
Is there a link?
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/scott-allan-checks-celtic-medical-6250500
Stokes on loan or permanent?
He would tear apart this division.
14-08-2015, 11:04 AM
Doesn't say
14-08-2015, 11:05 AM
Doesn't say
From reading the link it looks like the Record are just speculating without any substance. It'll more than likely be Henderson.
14-08-2015, 11:05 AM
Where you hearing this CH??
Luke Shandley just on SSN saying a medical this afternoon with Henderson and Dylan coming to ER??
Its on the newsnow site
If we had been in the same league then we would've been up in arms selling to Celtic, hence why Rangers was not an option but we are not, we are still struggling to get back to the big boys, this deal suits all parties.
14-08-2015, 11:06 AM
Ive just been told Celtic are holding off announcing the deal until Jim White starts his shift on SkySports!:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
14-08-2015, 11:07 AM
Why are Henderson and DM still training with Celtc, should they not be at EM today.
14-08-2015, 11:07 AM
No way will it be Stokes. Not after his off field antics when was last here.
Would be amazed.
14-08-2015, 11:08 AM
If we had been in the same league then we would've been up in arms selling to Celtic, hence why Rangers was not an option but we are not, we are still struggling to get back to the big boys, this deal suits all parties.
There is no cozy arrangement between Hibs and Celtic. The media promote this myth because they remain utterly convinced that every single person (or club) in Scotland is incapable of hating both halves of the Old Firm.
14-08-2015, 11:08 AM
Gives me a nice wee glow inside when I think of the rapturous reception the Orcs gave SA when he came on at Easter Road.
Any of our Sevco lurkers care to comment?
14-08-2015, 11:09 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/scott-allan-checks-celtic-medical-6250500
Just says "keen on" nothing to suggest it's going to happen.
14-08-2015, 11:10 AM
Gives me a nice wee glow inside when I think of the rapturous reception the Orcs gave SA when he came on at Easter Road.
We don't have any left, they all disappeared the minute R*****s went into administration. Funny that eh.
Ive just been told Celtic are holding off announcing the deal until Jim White starts his shift on SkySports!:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
😁
BoltonHibernian
Stokes would be a great signing. Would be brilliant in this division.
Just says "keen on" nothing to suggest it's going to happen.
I would like to think we hold the aces here so if we are that keen then I think we would get him. I'm not convinced we are that keen tho. My money would be on McGeouch and Henderson.
14-08-2015, 11:11 AM
I think Sevco deserve immense credit for all this.
Never before has a tribute act been so much more entertaining than the real thing. (Apart from a brief spell in 2012 when the real deal where quite hilarious)
Good point actually, without them maybe Allan would never have ended up at their ugly sister.
Ha. Not likely. They are too busy tweeting abuse towards SA. Not that it will be reported in the papers or anything.
What a load of....
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/opinion/sport/record-fc-rangers-hibs-second-6250614
14-08-2015, 11:12 AM
Stokes would be a great signing. Would be brilliant in this division.
He's also a bam who disrupts squads and gambles heavily. It's a no from me.
Its on the newsnow site
Cheers. Someone also just mentioned that it's on the Daily Record website.
The sort of guy who sits with tin foil wrapped around his head coz he thinks the government can read his mind. The more they say it doesn't matter the more you know its hurting ...... this is nice.
:agree: Funniest thing I've read in ages (and all the hun stuff over SA has set a pretty high bar). No sense of irony, no self-awareness, barely any sense of reality. Lovely.
What a load of....
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/opinion/sport/record-fc-rangers-hibs-second-6250614
That's borderline regionalism. Shocking article.
14-08-2015, 11:13 AM
He's also a bam who disrupts squads and gambles heavily. It's a no from me.
Same here.
14-08-2015, 11:13 AM
Really hope not would much prefer Henderson, Stokes has more baggage than an average 747.
14-08-2015, 11:14 AM
Really hope not would much prefer Henderson, Stokes has more baggage than an average 747.
Right what about this..... If we got Stokes and it guaranteed us promotion would we take him regardless of his 747 like baggage??
green.and.white
14-08-2015, 11:17 AM
Would like the loan player to have been young Tierney the left back, he looks a player and would have added quality there but I'm getting picky! This would be a great deal for us if it comes off
14-08-2015, 11:18 AM
Right what about this..... If we got Stokes and it guaranteed us promotion would we take him regardless of his 747 like baggage??
Couldn't care less. If any player is producing on the pitch and so are the team then great.
14-08-2015, 11:19 AM
Nothing about skokes being part of the deal on Ssn website. Suspect it's just speculation and pish from the very jealous Daily Ranger.
What a load of....
Who shat in his mouth when he was sleeping last night,what a root
What a load of....
That is truly a terrible article and something should be done to stop these hacks from publishing such stuff, to call a manager a serial drone is shocking journalism and the sooking up to Rangers ***** is unbelievable.
Edit: just realised this was written by a Rangers fan, still doesn't make it right.
What a load of....
Hahaha feel the seethe. If we're the second team in a city that doesn't even like football that would make sevco the third team in a city with one of the highest murder rates in the developed world :devil:
What a load of....
I love the sound of a bitter twisted The Rangers fan don't you. Delusions of grandeur, what irony, ha ha. That from a team who don't pay their debts ha ha oh my sides!
Couldn't care less. If any player is producing on the pitch and so are the team then great.
Exactly. I want out of this league and to do this we need players that will help and if Stubbs sees Stokes as part of this then great.
Tbh though I cannot see Stokes being part of this deal.
14-08-2015, 11:21 AM
10/10 :-)
That is truly a terrible article and something should be done to stop these hacks from publishing such stuff, to call a manager a serial drone is shocking journalism and the sooking up to Rangers ***** is unbelievable.
Time the club stepped up and banned any media in respect of the DR from ER.
Shocking and disrespectful IMHO.
14-08-2015, 11:22 AM
I could only see the headline but even that got me thinking "this cannae be real"!
14-08-2015, 11:23 AM
What a load of....
14-08-2015, 11:23 AM
I love the sound of a bitter twisted The Rangers fan don't you. Delusions of grandeur, what irony, ha ha. That from a team who don't pay their debts ha ha oh my sides!
Do they still call themselves the voice of Scotland on their banner? so long since I looked at the rag - but its clearly not an accurate description.
I wonder if they would be outing any other business who had failed to pay millions to the UK exchequer thereby robbing the rest of society.
14-08-2015, 11:24 AM
There's no chance of Stokes coming here so forget it. It'll be McGeouch and Henderson, that's it.
RoscoHibby
14-08-2015, 11:25 AM
What a load of....
My god. I'm a pretty placid guy, but I'd like to repeatedly punch that author in the face while telling him " yous urnae Ranjurs anymair, you thick weegie ******"
Unbelievable a paper even allows that to be printed.
Surely the question they should be asking is, Dave King, where is your money?
14-08-2015, 11:26 AM
What a load of....
Oh dear, resorting to name calling to sooth their pain. What a shame :thumbsup:
14-08-2015, 11:26 AM
I don't think the Daily Ranger cover games at Easter Road that don't involve The Rangers or Ra Celtc. And even then their "journalists" are usually in the away end.
14-08-2015, 11:27 AM
Its a fans article...nothing more than a poor blog. There is a hibs one too.
Canon Hannan
Do they still call themselves the voice of Scotland on their banner? so long since I looked at the rag - but its clearly not an accurate description.
I wonder if they would be outing any other business who had failed to pay millions to the UK exchequer thereby robbing the rest of society.
The Record is correct and wrong with the article.
Correct - Edinburgh is not a huge football City like Newcastle, Glasgow, Liverpool and many others.
Wrong - Rangers do not exist. They are called SEVCO 2012
Why anyone wanting balanced impartial articles about Scottish football would buy or read the Daily Record rag is beyond me. It's basically a Rangers fanzine.
I don't think the Daily Ranger cover games at Easter Road that don't involve The Rangers or Ra Celtc. And even then their "journalists" are usually in the away end.
Sounds about right.
Shockingly bad article which just confirms everything which is wrong about the west coast media.
Should of read it properly! Oops
Do we want Stokes? He's good but i'm happy with Cummings Malonga Keatings Farid.
14-08-2015, 11:29 AM
What a load of....
haha, what a bitter Hun. Hope we crush these muppets next week.
14-08-2015, 11:30 AM
Holy **** is that real? I don't read these papers but if that's real no wonder folk don't read it. How can they let someone print something so biased and *****?
I honestly have no idea why folk buy these rags.
Hank Schrader
14-08-2015, 11:30 AM
Agree entirely. Also, Hibs should be making contact with the Press Complaints Commission in regards to that article. Regardless of the fact its an "opinion" its a slanderous attack on our club who have done nothing wrong in the whole transfer saga.
My parents still buy that rag. I will be suggesting they don't ever again.
But to promote it as they do is just so wrong in many ways. This would have to be read 1st by a Record hack before it goes on their site and allowing such things to be written just shows how poor they are.
14-08-2015, 11:31 AM
Why anyone wanting balanced impartial articles about Scottish football would buy or read the Daily Record rag is beyond me. It's basically a Rangers fanzine.
And yet, as I have said before, every hun fan I know despises rhe Record and reckon it is a celtc paper.:confused:
Exactly. Sounds incredibly bitter.
BBC journo on Twitter saying it's happening regardless of McGeouch or Henderson ...
high bee
What a load of....
I'm pretty sure those words were meant to insult but I found it hilarious. Delusions of grandeur indeed, shame for the 'author' that it's so strong down Govan way.
What a load of....
You really have to laugh at there deluded little minds!! :faf::faf::faf::faf:
14-08-2015, 11:32 AM
And yet, as I have said before, every hun fan I know despises rhe Record and reckon it is a celtc paper.:confused:
It's an Old Firm paper. The journalists will not care which half they're trying to promote.
14-08-2015, 11:33 AM
Correct - Edinburgh is not a huge football City like Newcastle, Glasgow, Liverpool and many others.
Personally I think Edinburgh is football daft so I'm not sure how that guy or even yourself can say otherwise. Look at Hearts attendances right now! If Hibs and Hearts had the money The Old Firm had and the size of their stadium we'd be the same! Success brings fans simple as that. Newcastle are huge because it's a one club city!
Is the Allan transfer separate to Dylan and Henderson deals?
Also while Stokes would score goals for us - can't see that happening.
Agree entirely. Also, Hibs should be making contact with the Press Complaints Commission in regards to that article. Regardless of the fact its an "opinion" its a slanderous attack on our club who have done nothing wrong in the whole transfer saga. My parents still buy that rag. I will be suggesting they don't ever again.
Exactly. I've not bought a paper for at least 5 years.
To think if that had been written about Der Hun they would be a media campaign to have the police involved.
Record is an absolute rag. The only time I have ever been thankful for seeing it was when I was in a cubicle in Milne's Bar and realised a bit too late there was no loo roll but a rolled up copy of that comic on the cistern. About all it's worthy for. That article is a pro Hun joke from a delusional two bit hack.
14-08-2015, 11:34 AM
What a load of....
Side-splitting article. Bitterness partly eclipsed by delusion.
14-08-2015, 11:35 AM
BBC journo on Twitter saying it's happening regardless of McGeouch or Henderson ...
Then surely the fee goes up by a bit then.
14-08-2015, 11:35 AM
What a load of....
On the contrary! ........ You can feel the SEETHE :greengrin
Personally I think Edinburgh is football daft so I'm not sure how that guy or even yourself can say otherwise. Look at Hearts attendances right now! If Hibs and Hearts had the money The Old Firm had and the size of their stadium we'd be the same! Success brings fans simple as that. Newcastle are huge because it's a one club city!
The yams did have the money. They spent nearly 40 million on the team but didn't win the league.
Agree about winning games. When we were doing well under McLeish and Mowbray our crowds were up.
We need to win games to get crowds back,
14-08-2015, 11:36 AM
What a load of....
The Rangers fan accusing us of having delusions of grandeur.....:faf:
So we're the second team in a city that doesn't even like football.....they're the mankiest team in a city that doesn't even like soap!
Then surely the fee goes up by a bit then.
I'm guessing they are doing the deals separate to stop any issues appearing etc. It will probably be an agreement.
Is the Allan transfer separate to Dylan and Henderson deals?
Also while Stokes would score goals for us - can't see that happening.
Dylan and Henderson will have medicals and as long as both are happy, Dylan will sign and Henderson will be a loan, if any of that does not happen, then Allan will still go to Celtic with a revised amount of money coming to Hibs, either way Allan is going there.
What a load of....
Wow!!
So Edinburgh don't like football? That's weird. Fairly sure, having lived in Edinburgh my whole life, that that's a load of bull. What an absolute clown of a guy. What a joke of a paper.
Hope to see this article brought back up in May [emoji109]
What a load of....
That is a disgrace for a Scottish national paper and Hibs should do something about it. I don't know what but that is a disgrace. I f..... hate the daily record and their weegie pissy banter.
14-08-2015, 11:37 AM
Nonsense - Hibs and Hearts both have wide fan bases.
If Hibs had performed anywhere near potential the last few years we would be regularly pulling in 15,000 plus. Look at the cup final attendances etc.
Didn't even read the Record article - terrible paper
Agree entirely. Also, Hibs should be making contact with the Press Complaints Commission in regards to that article. Regardless of the fact its an "opinion" its a slanderous attack on our club who have done nothing wrong in the whole transfer saga.
My parents still buy that rag. I will be suggesting they don't ever again.
Its an absolute rag of a paper. Shocking piece of journalism. Reeks of bitterness and another pathetic attempt to sook up to the huns.
That daily record article is amazing. They are gutted beyond belief.
14-08-2015, 11:39 AM
What a load of....
Wha a bitter bitter little man
:faf::faf:
14-08-2015, 11:39 AM
Why would they reckon that? Can't they read?
It's surely not a coincidence that The Daily Record is commonly referred to as The Daily Ranger by fans of many clubs, not just Hibs or Celtic. For example, I've heard Hearts supporters frequently referring to it as The Daily Ranger.
The Rangers - "nobody likes us but we don't care" as they say themselves. That probably includes The Daily Ranger, and perhaps says something about the mentality of many of their supporters I would suggest.
14-08-2015, 11:41 AM
Nonsense - Hibs and Hearts both have wide fan bases.
If Hibs had performed anywhere near potential the last few years we would be regularly pulling in 15,000 plus. Look at the cup final attendances etc.
Didn't even read the Record article - terrible paper
Perhaps he thinks that the people of Edinburgh care less about football because we don't obsess ourselves with the same level of sectarian bigotry as the knuggle-dragging OF fans do.
14-08-2015, 11:42 AM
Here's one you might enjoy contributing to later today! (https://www.facebook.com/welcomehomeboydy) :faf:
14-08-2015, 11:43 AM
DJ: Don't bet on beating #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) to Allan, #Celtic (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Celtic?src=hash) http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/13597294.DJ__Don_t_bet_on_beating_Rangers_to_Allan __Celtic/ … (http://t.co/DyW2SV3Sge)
Iain Duff @iainduff 9m9 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/iainduff/status/632153175085215744) Iain Duff retweeted The Evening Times
DJ is either ITK in a big way or he's been sniffing glue.
EskbankHibby
14-08-2015, 11:44 AM
The Rangers fan accusing us of having delusions of grandeur.....:faf:
So we're the second team in a city that doesn't even like football.....they're the mankiest team in a city that doesn't even like soap!
Ironically they are the 3rd (and newest) team in a city that does not do irony. After Celtic and Partick, I have generously placed them above Albion Rovers.
14-08-2015, 11:45 AM
DJ: Don't bet on beating #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) to Allan, #Celtic (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Celtic?src=hash) http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/13597294.DJ__Don_t_bet_on_beating_Rangers_to_Allan __Celtic/ … (http://t.co/DyW2SV3Sge)
Iain Duff @iainduff 9m9 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/iainduff/status/632153175085215744) Iain Duff retweeted The Evening Times
DJ is either ITK in a big way or he's been sniffing glue.
He's speculating.
14-08-2015, 11:47 AM
To me there's stil a few if's and but's about this. If we get McGeouch permanently, Henderson on loan and £275k then yes, it's an excellent deal, I've seen Henderson and he's an excellent prospect. But the £275k on its own is not enough IMO, particularly if the players pull out of the swap. Call me cynical but Celtic could quite easily pull out of the player deal and get Allan on the cheap. Hope I'm wrong of course.
He's speculating.
Indeed he is.
Just want this announced and done and dusted today! The longer we wait for something the longer doubts will be had by many.
For all we know however it could be all done!
14-08-2015, 11:49 AM
Why not Saturday v Morton? :confused:
Probably both picked up injuries during the medical .:greengrin
14-08-2015, 11:49 AM
You only need to go on twitter etc to see just how wound up the huns are about this. They are absolutely spewing that hibs didn't lie down to them and give them exactly what they wanted. They still live in their delusional fantsy world were their club is big and is powerful enough to get just about any player they go for. Their pathetic bids and the fact they have been pushed aside by Celtic (again) just shows you how far they have fallen.
One hun on twitter saying "hibs have gone back on their word about not selling to a rivals because they are mini tims". Hahahahahaha. First of all, Celtic are not in our league, they are no threat to us as we wont be playing them. Secondly, we are not "mini tims" - we have sold a player for a very good deal that we will benefit from.
FFS some huns still tweeting Halliday begging him to tell Scott to go to ibrox haahahahhahaha! It is literally beyond pathetic. They are so desperate.
Talk about seethe. They expected hibs to roll over and accept the peanuts they were offering because they still think they are the "big and mighty Glasgow Rangers". The sooner they realise how far they are from their formers selves the better.
14-08-2015, 11:50 AM
Its an absolute rag of a paper. Shocking piece of journalism. Reeks of bitterness and another pathetic attempt to sook up to the huns.
It's not journalism. AFAIK, each week the DR give space to supporters of each club to write what is, effectively, an opinion piece.
I personally don't understand why folk react in exactly the way that the writer wants.
What a load of....
Yet this comes from supporters of glasgows second team
Saint Hibee
Some "The Rangers" fans still holding out hope!: https://v.cdn.vine.co/r/videos/F0BD3187721017276013996089344_1b81125f14a.4.4.1612 4982960012152737_PAjMNz75MC_CciwWCMmY_RMcbveJVAS6w 80VRvYEaPtNREPjs4EL5UpSfB3L7gG..mp4?versionId=7QzW .9fkR5tRdtarQ3nCy2Di43bD6_ek
14-08-2015, 11:51 AM
To me there's stil a few if's and but's about this. If we get McGeouch permanently, Henderson on loan and £275k then yes, it's an excellent deal, I've seen Henderson and he's an excellent prospect. But the £275k on its own is not enough IMO, particularly if the players pull out of the swap. Call me cynical but Celtic could quite easily pull out of the player deal and get Allan on the cheap. Hope I'm wrong of course.
No chance of Leeann Dempster allowing that to happen.
14-08-2015, 11:51 AM
Not so much cynical as silly.:greengrin
Do you seriously think Leeann Dempster would fall for something as simple as that.
If McGeouch is valued at £100,000 for example then they will have to pay £375,000 if he pulls out.
14-08-2015, 11:52 AM
Wha a bitter bitter little man
:faf::faf:
The DR asked if I would care to report a fault with the article. Said,as you did, it was written by a bitter, twisted guy (did not want to call him a man !) who needed to get a life.
A city that doesnt like football? Isn't the Edinburgh derby one of the oldest derbys in world football?
14-08-2015, 11:59 AM
You are the one that must be joking! We are not just getting cash, we are getting a player permanently and a very hot prospect on loan! Very different deals!
SonOfDavidFrancey
14-08-2015, 12:01 PM
People getting their knickers in a twist about the DR piece: it's a fan blog, an opinion piece, a mouthpiece.
Voltaire: 'I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.'
Islington Hibs
14-08-2015, 12:08 PM
A city that doesnt like football? Isn't the Edinburgh derby one of the oldest derbys in world football?
Your are right (or so Wikipedia says so!)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edinburgh_derby
Edinburgh may not have the 'football culture' of Liverpool or Glasgow but for a City of 450k the teams are not that badly supported. Between Us and Them around 25k people attended on average or around 5% of the population.
People getting their knickers in a twist about the DR piece: it's a fan blog, an opinion piece, a mouthpiece. Voltaire: 'I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.'
So it's ok for them to allow someone to post derogatory comments about our team and manager.
Imagine the media storm if a non OF fan had posted or written something like that.
Shows you what they are all about tbh!
14-08-2015, 12:09 PM
So it's ok for them to allow someone to post derogatory comments about our team and manager.
Imagine the media storm if a non OF fan had posted or written something like that.
Shows you what they are all about tbh!
There was a Hibs equivalent one a couple of weeks ago...it's just a fans view....shows how hurt they are - I think it's magic to hear their teeth...
There was a Hibs equivalent one a couple of weeks ago...
Was there. Was it as bad??
Don't read that it any other rag.
14-08-2015, 12:11 PM
Was there. Was it as bad??
Don't read that it any other rag.
It certainly got them grumpy...so it was good enough for me :) ps saw to online somewhere - not sure why anyone would buy that either!
14-08-2015, 12:11 PM
It is, and a lot older than the self-appointed greatest-derby-in-the-world that used to take place in Glasgow before one of the participants fell out of existence.
It certainly got them grumpy...so it was good enough for me :)
Ha ha!
14-08-2015, 12:13 PM
Your are right (or so Wikipedia says so!)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edinburgh_derby
Edinburgh may not have the 'football culture' of Liverpool or Glasgow but for a City of 450k the teams are not that badly supported. Between Us and Them around 25k people attended on average or around 5% of the population.
Does Glasgow really have a football culture? Aside from Scotland games - I've never seen much evidence on my rare trips to the West. Just the occasional bigoted nonsense from a few orcs.
nellio
14-08-2015, 12:14 PM
The hard reality is that Hibs are the second team in a city that doesn’t even like football. They are about as big time as the groups of over privileged, Oxbridge educated “performance arts” types that fill their city at this time of year.
Incredible that it was published, fan blog or not. Unbelieveable article!
14-08-2015, 12:14 PM
That DR article is breathtaking in it's bitterness and inverted snobbery. The piece of turd responsible for it is hardly a journalist but a fanatical Sevco blogger who happens to write things that appeal to the weegie DR mentality. He's obviously hurting big time.:greengrin
14-08-2015, 12:15 PM
Some rangers fan tweeting that he thinks Scott has been poorly advised and making a mistake going to celtic instead of rangers. Don't kid yourself son and stop living in the delusion that you are still a big club that players are dying to play for. From a players point of view celtic can offer, bigger wages, European football, most likely the SPL title and most likely playing in domestic cup finals. Going to Celtic is far more ambitions than going to rangers.
Juice-Terry
Back on topic(!?): Any updates on news conferences at either ER or Celtic Park?
That DR article is breathtaking in it's bitterness and inverted snobbery. The piece of turd responsible for it is hardly a journalist but a fanatical Sevco blogger who happens to write things that appeal to the weegie DR mentality. He's obviously hurting big time.:greengrin
He's not a journo ..it's a fans view...
Platinum Scotty
14-08-2015, 12:17 PM
Back on topic(!?): Any updates on news conferences at either ER or Celtic Park?
nice try :wink:
14-08-2015, 12:17 PM
If Glasgow is a football city, why do Celtc and Sevco fans hardly ever sing football songs?
14-08-2015, 12:19 PM
Yet this comes from supporters of glasgows second team
Third.
14-08-2015, 12:19 PM
If Glasgow is a football city, why do Celtc and Sevco fans hardly ever sing football songs?
are we really going there? Glasgow is definitely a football city...as is Edinburgh...Football is Scotland's biggest sport....it runs through the whole fabric of this country.
14-08-2015, 12:21 PM
So what is the latest ? I presume we're still waiting on an "official" announcement?
The latest is everyone is getting worked up over some trollbait and have forgotten about the actual transfer.
Third.
:faf::top marks
are we really going there? Glasgow is definitely a football city...as is Edinburgh...Football is Scotland's biggest sport....it runs through the whole fabric of this country.
I'd hazard a guess it was a light-hearted dig at the sectarian nature of Glasgow's most popular teams... rather than him not understanding that Football is the most popular sport in Glasgow :greengrin
14-08-2015, 12:22 PM
Wow!!
So Edinburgh don't like football? That's weird. Fairly sure, having lived in Edinburgh my whole life, that that's a load of bull. What an absolute clown of a guy. What a joke of a paper.
Hope to see this article brought back up in May [emoji109]
Haha' half their manky support are from through here! FEEL THE SEETHE!!
14-08-2015, 12:23 PM
Why would they reckon that? Can't they read?
It's surely not a coincidence that The Daily Record is commonly referred to as The Daily Ranger by fans of many clubs, not just Hibs or Celtic. For example, I've heard Hearts supporters frequently referring to it as The Daily Ranger.
The Rangers - "nobody likes us but we don't care" as they say themselves. That probably includes The Daily Ranger, and perhaps says something about the mentality of many of their supporters I would suggest.
First question, not a clue. Second question, yep, I have seen them reading so presume they can. What it says about their supporters, I have not a clue. I am merely passing on what I see in daily life. I live amongst them.
14-08-2015, 12:23 PM
People getting their knickers in a twist about the DR piece: it's a fan blog, an opinion piece, a mouthpiece.
Voltaire: 'I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.'
Come on mate... You think it's "professional", and I use that term extremely loosely, that a national paper lets something like that on its site?! Calling our manager a serial drone?! Stubbs has been nothing short of fantastic in sticking up for our club. I love the fact he refuses to be bullied by anyone! Him and Dempster have been a breath of fresh air for us.
14-08-2015, 12:24 PM
You are the one that must be joking! We are not just getting cash, we are getting a player permanently and a very hot prospect on loan! Very different deals!
Well, the way I see it Celtic are getting a more than decent player at a knock-down price while offloading players they don't need to us, one of which wasn't all that great a performer for us last season and one who might or might not be. We'll see who the joke is on at the end of the season, I guess.
Hank Schrader
14-08-2015, 12:25 PM
The latest is everyone is getting worked up over some trollbait and have forgotten about the actual transfer.
Its not about getting caught up in "trollbait" (another new term I suppose I should get used to :rolleyes:) Its more about what constitutes decent journalism and acceptable print (it is the website of a newspaper after all). These blogging nomarks should stick to Twitter or Facebook to publish their "opinions", no doubt in the company of other amoeba brained pondlife that frequent those places.