View Full Version : Scott Allan - signs a 4 year deal with Celtic

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

30-07-2015, 07:10 PM
:agree: Always thought Murray was one of the brighter players of his time and a potential Hibs manager in the making. Seems like he doesn't know what it means to be a club manager and plenty of chairmen will have taken note, not least Hibernian FC. Career limiting stuff.

I've never really taken to him as a manager. I know he's done a good job so far but when I hear him talking I just think he sounds like he's trying too hard. Think he comes across as a bit of an erse.

As for his thoughts on Allan, I couldn't really care what he thinks, it's none of his business.

30-07-2015, 07:12 PM
Aye .. well if I ever go to Ireland I promise not to use it. I'm buggered if I'm going to bin a perfectly good insult just because a bunch of bigots, be they Protestant or Catholic, have decided to hijack it.

30-07-2015, 07:16 PM
On Sky Sports Adverts just now with AS reiterating that he is quite happy for Scott to run down his contract.

Press saying AS has him squad for Sat, but you can put your house on him being nowhere near ER on Sat. His head must be spinning, having been convinced by the west coast media, Huns and his agent that he was heading West.

30-07-2015, 07:17 PM
Anyway, why is Ian Murray, the manager of St Mirren FC, commenting in a newspaper about one of Hibs players? That is disrespectful. Scott Allan is not his player so he should keep his mouth shut on matters like this.

Is he the next one jumping on the bandwagon in an attempt to undermine Hibs before the season has started?

Isn't undermining Hibs part of his job as manager of St Mirren?

30-07-2015, 07:29 PM
Isn't undermining Hibs part of his job as manager of St Mirren?

No it's not IMO. At least not in that manner.

Murray's job is to get his team to beat Hibs on the pitch. That's his job. Not discuss another club's player in a newspaper. Especially such a controversial issue as the Scott Allan transfer saga. It's none of his business.

I even heard Warburton say on TV a few days ago that he felt it was disrespectful for him to be discussing another club's player.

If it is part of Murray's job to go around talking to newspapers about another club's player(s), why don't ALL mangers do that? Lets just have a free for all. Na, I don't think so.

30-07-2015, 07:43 PM
Sauzee was on £8k a week and Latapy just a little bit less.
I believe sauzee was on £6500. plus bonuses and appearance money. Latapy was on £4500 and john oneil £3000 plus £3000 per appearance. Crazy money but worth it for the 6-2 game alone.

30-07-2015, 07:44 PM

Murray's job is to get his team to beat Hibs on the pitch. That's his job. Not discuss another club's player in a newspaper. Especially such a controversial issue as the Scott Allan transfer saga. It's none of his business.

I even heard Warburton say on TV a few days ago that he felt it was disrespectful for him to be discussing another club's player.

If it is part of Murray's job to go around talking to newspapers about another club's player(s), why don't ALL mangers do that? Lets just have a free for all. Na, I don't think so.

Warburton adopting the classic OF strategy - unsettle a player then deny doing anything of the sort.

He'll be talking about SA again before the transfer window closes, I am sure of that.

30-07-2015, 07:56 PM
Warburton adopting the classic OF strategy - unsettle a player then deny doing anything of the sort.

He'll be talking about SA again before the transfer window closes, I am sure of that.

During the brief interview I saw on TV, Warburton was continually pressed by the interviewer to discuss Scott Allan, and whether The Rangers would be making a further bid. He refused point blank to do so, saying repeatedly it would be disrespectful of him to do so as Allan was/is a Hibs player.

I think that interview took place after Alan Stubbs had phoned Warburton...

The Rangers have clearly unsettled Allan, but I also suspect Allan and his agent would have been fully aware in advance that a bid was coming, and Allan was perfectly happy that was the case.

30-07-2015, 08:06 PM

It's because Allan's non-transfer is controversial that Murray is stepping in. He must believe he can upset Hibs. I don't think it'll do anything for him or St Mirren, but I understand his thinking. The best thing Hibs and our support can do is ignore him.

Expect another bid (for an amount they know Hibs won't accept) in the week before we visit Ibrox.

30-07-2015, 08:13 PM
Hibs should have told Rangers and Allan that he can move to Ipox if our valuation of 3 million is met and paid in one lump sum. Put up or shut up.

Hibby D
30-07-2015, 08:14 PM
What's the point of dredging up these old tweets? Allan's probably expressing his dismay in that one at the state of his team. Not sure what Hibby D is trying to prove there. It does look a bit sad imo.

Let me tell you what Hibby D was trying to do there. Nothing! Because Hibby D didn't "dredge" the tweet up.

All I did was 'retweet' it when I saw it on my feed. I knew, as do most folk I assume, exactly what SA's reason was for tweeting that back in the day.

It was the irony that amused me - but that's obviously lost on you :aok:

30-07-2015, 08:37 PM
Expect another bid (for an amount they know Hibs won't accept) in the week before we visit Ibrox.

It wouldn't come as a surprise I suppose. Perhaps Hibs should join in this game too, and offer £25,000 (in instalments) for Lee Wallace. :greengrin

30-07-2015, 08:39 PM
I believe sauzee was on £6500. plus bonuses and appearance money. Latapy was on £4500 and john oneil £3000 plus £3000 per appearance. Crazy money but worth it for the 6-2 game alone.

:agree: Nae creditors bumped, nae charities robbed and not one, not one poppy fund left with a shortfall. We paid our way, traded legally, Hibs class.

30-07-2015, 09:34 PM

Crazy money until you think of the likes of David Obua and others of his ilk on double that per week at Hearts at a time when Sky weren't even pumping money into our game. Now THAT really is crazy. Difference being we didn't stifle charities to pay Sauzee

magpie1892
30-07-2015, 11:37 PM
I just want to know who would win in a fight between LD and the fud 'representing' SA.

30-07-2015, 11:44 PM
It wouldn't come as a surprise I suppose. Perhaps Hibs should join in this game too, and offer £25,000 (in instalments) for Lee Wallace. :greengrin

He's desperate to come home to his boyhood heroes.

31-07-2015, 12:05 AM
Let me tell you what Hibby D was trying to do there. Nothing! Because Hibby D didn't "dredge" the tweet up.

All I did was 'retweet' it when I saw it on my feed. I knew, as do most folk I assume, exactly what SA's reason was for tweeting that back in the day.

It was the irony that amused me - but that's obviously lost on you :aok:

Irony? Well good for you if that's how you see it. I just think you made yourself look a bit silly. No worries though if that's what amuses you ☺

Retweeting old stuff, dredging - all one to me.

31-07-2015, 12:07 AM
Crazy money until you think of the likes of David Obua and others of his ilk on double that per week at Hearts at a time when Sky weren't even pumping money into our game. Now THAT really is crazy. Difference being we didn't stifle charities to pay Sauzeewe all knew, and all kept saying that the money the likes of him were on, would end up in disaster. It should have, but as has happened for a long long time those ****ers got off the hook, at the very last minute. they can still boast that they are in their spiritual home though. the next instalment is yet to come.

31-07-2015, 05:52 AM
He was happy enough to take our money, you'd hope he might have had a bit more respect for Hibs fans. He had a lot of fundraisers from the fans and I was uncomfortable at the lack of information on what 'percentage' went to charity from these at the time.

I didn't attend Murray's testimonial because of the complete refusal to state what proportion was going to charity. That was the organisers though, not Murray.

As a St Mirren manager, Murray's job is to do the best for them and get them promoted. Sowing some seeds of unrest and trying to weaken Hibs is just part of that. Expecting total loyalty from someone who used to play for us but now managers a competitor is a bit silly IMHO.

To be honest, given the amount of abuse he's taken from Hibs fans in the last couple of days (and over the years) maybe he's right not to give that much of a **** about our feelings.

31-07-2015, 07:28 AM
https://theclumpany.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/moving-on/

Thought this was a good summary...

31-07-2015, 07:40 AM
Daily Record online edition stirring it up again this morning.

31-07-2015, 08:02 AM
In what way?

31-07-2015, 08:16 AM
In what way?

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-stay-tight-lipped-scott-6168157

31-07-2015, 08:19 AM
It's doing the 'Dempster's won't deny that there was a verbal agreement with Allan that Hibs would let him move to a bigger club'. She won't confirm it either but that's neither here not there for the article.

SA has been very badly advised by his agent.

Yesterday was "come on now, move on and just sell him". This is today's line of attack in the media orchestrating the move to his boyhood* heroes he "so badly craves": Hibs have duped him.

(* The Rangers have only existed for 3 years, so I don't understand why they keep using that phrase).

Slicer
31-07-2015, 08:23 AM
I was expecting another stir up from the Record after no word on the matter yesterday.

FWIW, the Herald and another paper are running interviews with two ex oldco players, Derek Johnstone and Gordon Smith. Johnstone thinks sevco should move on and wait until January and Smith is backing Hibs stance. Of course that's not what the DR's readers want to read.

RAG

For those who would rather not click on the DR website.....

Hibs stay tight lipped on Scott Allan contract pledge story: We would never discuss the content of a player's contract

BY GAVIN BERRY
THE midfielder and his advisors claim that Hibs promised they wouldn’t stand in his way if a bigger club came in when he first signed for the club.

HIBS are refusing to deny that they are reneging on a verbal agreement by killing Scott Allan's dream move to Rangers.

The midfielder and his representatives are furious with the Edinburgh club’s refusal to sell him.

Allan and his advisors claim it was acknowledged when he signed as a free agent that Hibs wouldn’t stand in his way if a bigger club came in.

But chief executive Leeann Dempster was tight-lipped on those claims while boss Alan Stubbs wasn’t involved in the negotiations and insisted any such deal must be put in writing.

Hibs are charging ahead with plans for the new season with Allan part of the plans and are on the verge of adding John McGinn, subject to a medical, to the squad after agreeing a six-figure compensation deal with St Mirren.

Asked about claims of a verbal agreement with Allan, Dempster said: “I would never discuss the content of a player contract or the discussions around a player contract so I won’t confirm or deny any of that.”

Stubbs said: “I wasn’t involved in that discussion so I can’t comment on something if I wasn’t there. If I had promised him then it would have been in writing and I would advise any player out there never to have a verbal agreement with anybody.

“To be honest, there have been a lot of things coming out in the press but I don't know where they have come from. The most important thing is that the club has dealt with this situation fantastically well and with the utmost respect and a lot of dignity.”

Despite Stubbs signing a contract extenstion until 2017 and McGinn on the verge of joining the squad, it was Allan’s transfer request that dominated news at Easter Road. Dempster said: “It’s been an unusual week and we can’t pretend otherwise.

“Scott is a Hibernian player. He’s within his rights to ask for a transfer, as any player is, and we’re quite within our rights to refuse that. The transfer request has come from a team many perceive to be one of our biggest rivals for promotion this season. It’s a pretty straightforward situation. We’re now trying to get back to football and Scott is very much part of our plans.”

Allan received vile online abuse and Dempster said: “That was unnecessary but you will also find our own support very quickly came out and made it clear that was not acceptable and it’s not acceptable. If it goes any further as far as Police Scotland is concerned we will cooperate fully.”

Stubbs was delighted to land new deals along with backroom team Andy Holden and John Doolan but insists keeping Allan wasn’t the decisive factor. He said: “I could have easily signed my contract when we first started negotiating at the end of May but I wanted to make sure all the players were organised before me. I will always come second to them.”

Dempster added: “We’ve been thinking about the bigger ambition and direction of the club and I believe that what Alan and his team have done deserves a new deal. Supporters are challening us to show our ambition and we’re trying to do within the realms of what we can achieve in the Championship.”

Hibby D
31-07-2015, 08:24 AM
Irony? Well good for you if that's how you see it. I just think you made yourself look a bit silly. No worries though if that's what amuses you ☺

Retweeting old stuff, dredging - all one to me.

:greengrin Aye ok

31-07-2015, 08:25 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-stay-tight-lipped-scott-6168157

The transfer request has come from a team many perceive to be one of our biggest rivals for promotion this season.

Love it!!

31-07-2015, 08:25 AM
So what if there was a verbal agreement, any offer for the player still has to be acceptable to Hibs.

31-07-2015, 08:29 AM
So what if there was a verbal agreement, any offer for the player still has to be acceptable to Hibs.

Also not sure about 'bigger'. They've only been going three years and in that time have won two lower divisions and got pumped in the premier league play off.

31-07-2015, 09:03 AM
I predict he will go on loan somewhere other than Rangers for the season.

31-07-2015, 09:09 AM
Reading some of 'their' opinions is startling. Apparently we are not giving him to them for reasons not involved with football.

They think our club has handled it appallingly.

I think it's clear nothing derisory has been said about the rangers.
It is obvious to me that we are making it clear to the lowlife media and what seems to be a completely idiotic and incapable of understanding media, that the deal is a no goer in regards to the rangers.
They ought to open their eyes and ears and realise that we are not bigots. And we are not selling our best player to our biggest rivals.

31-07-2015, 09:12 AM
Very unexpected support from Hun Gordon Smith in the Scotsman this morning. You can be wrong about people.:greengrin

31-07-2015, 09:18 AM
We're getting quite a lot of support from people within the game.

Even people with Rangers-leanings like Gordon Smith, Alex McLeish, Alex Rae and Alex Miller.

Most fans of Scottish football aren't remotely interesting and are finding it utterly tedious as 2 lower division teams have a tug of love over a player who has had one decent season in the First Division and about 8 good games in the Premier League as a teenager.

I think we're definitely in the right here and have a fair bit of support. It's just that those who don't agree with us are particularly noisy (Rangers fans and the west-coast media).

Lester B
31-07-2015, 09:23 AM
I was expecting another stir up from the Record after no word on the matter yesterday.

FWIW, the Herald and another paper are running interviews with two ex oldco players, Derek Johnstone and Gordon Smith. Johnstone thinks sevco should move on and wait until January and Smith is backing Hibs stance. Of course that's not what the DR's readers want to read.

RAG

For those who would rather not click on the DR website.....

Hibs stay tight lipped on Scott Allan contract pledge story: We would never discuss the content of a player's contract

BY GAVIN BERRY
THE midfielder and his advisors claim that Hibs promised they wouldn’t stand in his way if a bigger club came in when he first signed for the club.

HIBS are refusing to deny that they are reneging on a verbal agreement by killing Scott Allan's dream move to Rangers.

The midfielder and his representatives are furious with the Edinburgh club’s refusal to sell him.

Allan and his advisors claim it was acknowledged when he signed as a free agent that Hibs wouldn’t stand in his way if a bigger club came in.

But chief executive Leeann Dempster was tight-lipped on those claims while boss Alan Stubbs wasn’t involved in the negotiations and insisted any such deal must be put in writing.

Hibs are charging ahead with plans for the new season with Allan part of the plans and are on the verge of adding John McGinn, subject to a medical, to the squad after agreeing a six-figure compensation deal with St Mirren.

Asked about claims of a verbal agreement with Allan, Dempster said: “I would never discuss the content of a player contract or the discussions around a player contract so I won’t confirm or deny any of that.”

Stubbs said: “I wasn’t involved in that discussion so I can’t comment on something if I wasn’t there. If I had promised him then it would have been in writing and I would advise any player out there never to have a verbal agreement with anybody.

“To be honest, there have been a lot of things coming out in the press but I don't know where they have come from. The most important thing is that the club has dealt with this situation fantastically well and with the utmost respect and a lot of dignity.”

Despite Stubbs signing a contract extenstion until 2017 and McGinn on the verge of joining the squad, it was Allan’s transfer request that dominated news at Easter Road. Dempster said: “It’s been an unusual week and we can’t pretend otherwise.

“Scott is a Hibernian player. He’s within his rights to ask for a transfer, as any player is, and we’re quite within our rights to refuse that. The transfer request has come from a team many perceive to be one of our biggest rivals for promotion this season. It’s a pretty straightforward situation. We’re now trying to get back to football and Scott is very much part of our plans.”

Allan received vile online abuse and Dempster said: “That was unnecessary but you will also find our own support very quickly came out and made it clear that was not acceptable and it’s not acceptable. If it goes any further as far as Police Scotland is concerned we will cooperate fully.”

Stubbs was delighted to land new deals along with backroom team Andy Holden and John Doolan but insists keeping Allan wasn’t the decisive factor. He said: “I could have easily signed my contract when we first started negotiating at the end of May but I wanted to make sure all the players were organised before me. I will always come second to them.”

Dempster added: “We’ve been thinking about the bigger ambition and direction of the club and I believe that what Alan and his team have done deserves a new deal. Supporters are challening us to show our ambition and we’re trying to do within the realms of what we can achieve in the Championship.”

Thanks for posting the story in full. Quotes from both LD and AS indicate just how well they are playing this issue and if you take out the first new paras the quotes make the story positive from a Hibs point of view.

But a verbal agreement? Anyone who has ever negotiated any type of contract or negotiated anything knows one thing; you get everything relevant down on paper. All preliminary discussions, offers, counter offers, suggestions, etc are wholly irrelevant. What matters is what's on the page. If there was any such clause at all in the contract then one party could insist that it be invoked. There clearly isn't; otherwise they could have insisted that the clause applies and cite breach of contract if this was refused. So we get the desperation of the first few paragraphs as that is all they have left to throw in. It totally lacks any credibility and reeks of straw clutching.

Oh and The Rangers are not a bigger club anyway. They are in the same division as us, finished below us last year and even we have won more Scottish Cups than them as they are only a few years old.

GreenOnions
31-07-2015, 09:23 AM

I think it's quite possible that Hibs might have said to Scott that we, as a club, have a reputation for developing young players and that we have shown we can help develop their careers. We may also have said that if the right offer comes along then we have shown we don't stand in players' way.

Does anyone really believe that Hibs would say to a player that we will accept ANY offer from ANY club at ANY time irrespective of whether or not that deal works for Hibernian FC?

Such a scenario is so unlikely that it doesn't even really deserve further discussion IMO.

I think that this story is actually good news for Hibs. It indicates to me that TRFC, the Record, the agent and The Scottish Bum have now given up on getting Scott's move. The "verbal agreement" story is like a final spiteful remark delivered by them over their shoulder as they're walking away.

31-07-2015, 09:27 AM
Daily Record online edition stirring it up again this morning.

Exactly, stirring it up big time, kow towing to the rangers.....Their little piece about AS and Bolton is just digging up the past and not comparable to this situation, pathetic stuff....

Allan and his agent are coming out of this very badly

Caversham Green
31-07-2015, 11:01 AM
I'm just surprised no-one seems to have quoted Samuel Goldwyn yet.

"A verbal contract is not worth the paper it's written on."

31-07-2015, 11:28 AM
It wouldn't matter if any "agreement" was verbal or written, there would still be the question of what constitutes a "bigger" club and the impossibility of selling to our immediate rivals.

And as I've pointed out before, if a verbal agreement is to be worth anything then we have Allan's verbal agreement to play for Hibs this season on video :greengrin

Lester B
31-07-2015, 11:29 AM
I'm just surprised no-one seems to have quoted Samuel Goldwyn yet.

"A verbal contract is not worth the paper it's written on."

Goldwyn quotes are often quite apposite. Such as:

"I'll tell you in two words; Im Possible"

OR

"we've all passed a lot of water since then"

31-07-2015, 12:15 PM
I have yet to read of any journo taking the huns to task about their pathetic bid for Allan.

This bid came from a club who sold Lewis Macleod for 1m plus 6 months previously, who at the time had only played 52 games for them. The majority at the lower level of Scottish football.
The only thing I can't find is how long he had left on his hun contract before he left however 1m is some amount for this player.

So, not only are Hibs right to ask for a decent wedge, the huns have been outrageous on what they have bid. That is of course the game clubs play.
What I don't get is why the huns are getting off scot-free in all this in the media? Surely some journo's have a shred of credability and could ask why they are not prepared to pay the going rate, using MacLeods transfer as a benchmark?

31-07-2015, 12:23 PM
He's desperate to come home to his boyhood heroes.

:agree: :greengrin

31-07-2015, 12:38 PM
I have yet to read of any journo taking the huns to task about their pathetic bid for Allan.

This bid came from a club who sold Lewis Macleod for 1m plus 6 months previously, who at the time had only played 52 games for them. The majority at the lower level of Scottish football.
The only thing I can't find is how long he had left on his hun contract before he left however 1m is some amount for this player.

So, not only are Hibs right to ask for a decent wedge, the huns have been outrageous on what they have bid. That is of course the game clubs play.
What I don't get is why the huns are getting off scot-free in all this in the media? Surely some journo's have a shred of credability and could ask why they are not prepared to pay the going rate, using MacLeods transfer as a benchmark?

I can't see why Scott Allan would want to move to a club that values him as almost worthless. He should feel humiliated being rated so poorly compared to past transfer fees for other Scottish midfielders when they were at their prime.

Charlie Adams £4,000,000
Scott Brown £4,400,000
Shaun Maloney £3,000,000
Ryan Gauld £3,000,000

Scott Allan £150,000

Cringeworthy.

31-07-2015, 12:50 PM

Graham Speirs was critical of their bid calling it miserly and outlined if Rangers bid were to bid 900k things may be different.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/13495629.Spiers_on_Sport__Scott_Allan_is_a_sidesho w_in_the_greater_good_of_Rangers/

31-07-2015, 12:56 PM
Graham Speirs was critical of their bid calling it miserly and outlined if Rangers bid were to bid 900k things may be different.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/13495629.Spiers_on_Sport__Scott_Allan_is_a_sidesho w_in_the_greater_good_of_Rangers/

He has just tweeted there could be some excitement brewing and asks if anyone has a hard had with the hash tag #rangers.

Wonder of he thinks Celtic could be about to move for allan?

31-07-2015, 01:06 PM
He has just tweeted there could be some excitement brewing and asks if anyone has a hard had with the hash tag #rangers.

Chris Graham
‏@ChrisGraham76 I'm told @GrahamSpiers has had press privileges for Ibrox removed with immediate effect. Years of lies about fans and club catch up to him.

31-07-2015, 01:07 PM
We're getting quite a lot of support from people within the game.

Even people with Rangers-leanings like Gordon Smith, Alex McLeish, Alex Rae and Alex Miller.

Most fans of Scottish football aren't remotely interesting and are finding it utterly tedious as 2 lower division teams have a tug of love over a player who has had one decent season in the First Division and about 8 good games in the Premier League as a teenager.

I think we're definitely in the right here and have a fair bit of support. It's just that those who don't agree with us are particularly noisy (Rangers fans and the west-coast media).

Agreed. I was very pleasantly surprised at Gordon Smith's article today.

31-07-2015, 01:08 PM
I think it's quite possible that Hibs might have said to Scott that we, as a club, have a reputation for developing young players and that we have shown we can help develop their careers. We may also have said that if the right offer comes along then we have shown we don't stand in players' way.

Does anyone really believe that Hibs would say to a player that we will accept ANY offer from ANY club at ANY time irrespective of whether or not that deal works for Hibernian FC?

Such a scenario is so unlikely that it doesn't even really deserve further discussion IMO.

I think that this story is actually good news for Hibs. It indicates to me that TRFC, the Record, the agent and The Scottish Bum have now given up on getting Scott's move. The "verbal agreement" story is like a final spiteful remark delivered by them over their shoulder as they're walking away.

Verbal agreement garbage. If that's all the player, the media, Huns and agent can grasp on to then they've lost the tug of war and the agent has been negligent in his job. The AGENT should have ensured SA's contract had a release clause. The HUNS should have had enough money to pay the market rate. Not once have the press questioned the fee Sevco are offering. This is free market. Everyone has their price. Fact is Sevco cannot even afford a Championship player, and THAT's the real story in all of this :greengrin

31-07-2015, 01:29 PM
And the irony of it all is that if fat sally had half a football brain he could have been at rangers. Happy enough at that time to come to ER.

31-07-2015, 01:50 PM
I wish they would just get over it,he's no going to that mob

bill the hibby
31-07-2015, 02:05 PM

I've heard they are interested in him and making a deal

gramskiwood
31-07-2015, 02:13 PM
Heard a Hun in the pub saying Sevco's last offer was £500,000. Is this ***** or has anyone else heard this? I can't believe they have that much money.

31-07-2015, 02:15 PM
Heard a Hun in the pub saying Sevco's last offer was £500,000. Is this ***** or has anyone else heard this? I can't believe they have that much money.

The last bid was £225k.

gramskiwood
31-07-2015, 02:29 PM
The last bid was £225k.

That was what I thought.

plhibs
31-07-2015, 02:47 PM

Don't think they have, probably "to be paid in installments". aye no problem:rolleyes:

31-07-2015, 02:47 PM

Even if they did and the bid was made the Sevco chairman would say it wasn't in his clubs interest to pay the amount owed.

31-07-2015, 02:55 PM
I've heard they are interested in him and making a deal

Go on, who did you hear it from? :blah:

bill the hibby
31-07-2015, 03:08 PM
Go on, who did you hear it from? :blah:

Already posted what I heard on the transfer thread.

Same source who told me a week and a bit ago that McGinn was signing

31-07-2015, 03:14 PM
Already posted what I heard on the transfer thread.

Same source who told me a week and a bit ago that McGinn was signing

Don't have time to look back over the thead, who is possibly going where

31-07-2015, 03:32 PM

Seriously, why would anyone believe anything the Huns, west coast media or the agent tells us after what's gone before ? It's in their interests to talk any offers up and present them as credible. Makes them look good to their gullible fans and makes Hibs look petty and holding the player's 'dream move' back. Not a cat in hells chance of the press understating the value of the offer or explaining exactly how much or what conditions are attached to it. IMO the Huns must be near the point of praying that Hibs DON'T accept any offers as it's clear they're skint.

Gerard
31-07-2015, 03:33 PM
seriously, why would anyone believe anything the huns, west coast media or the agent tells us after what's gone before ? It's in their interests to talk any offers up and present them as credible. Makes them look good to their gullible fans and makes hibs look petty and holding the player's 'dream move' back. Not a cat in hells chance of the press understating the value of the offer or explaining exactly how much or what conditions are attached to it. Imo the huns must be near the point of praying that hibs don't accept any offers as it's clear they're skint.
not for sale

31-07-2015, 03:36 PM
not for sale

Exactly, don't believe any of these rumours - Allan is not being sought be Celtic, and Hibs have made it clear he is not being sold to Rangers .

31-07-2015, 03:44 PM

Is it Cause he's been banned?

bill the hibby
31-07-2015, 04:17 PM
Don't have time to look back over the thead, who is possibly going where

Someone had asked on the transfer thread if anyone had heard about allan to celtic and I replied saying I had got a text this morning saying cash plus Liam Henderson on loan for allan but source said info wasn't 100% reliable

31-07-2015, 04:24 PM
Someone had asked on the transfer thread if anyone had heard about allan to celtic and I replied saying I had got a text this morning saying cash plus Liam Henderson on loan for allan but source said info wasn't 100% reliable

Heard this last week . But it was 250k plus DM ( permanent)and Henderson on loan . Source = guy behind me in the queue on Sat ( diddy cup game )

31-07-2015, 04:27 PM
Is it Cause he's been banned?

I was wondering the same.

31-07-2015, 04:30 PM
Straight swap for Sparky please....:duck:

31-07-2015, 04:32 PM
Straight swap for Sparky please....:duck:

Tell you what, Leigh cant have been too impressed at being left on the bench in favour of ciftci in the champions league game

He's one of OUR own

Hibby D
31-07-2015, 04:37 PM
Tell you what, Leigh cant have been too impressed at being left on the bench in favour of ciftci in the champions league game

He's one of OUR own

My son was at the game ( :embarrass ) and said he was brought on for the last 20 minutes - and immediately made a chance.

What a flipping waste of a naturally gifted goal scorer.

31-07-2015, 04:42 PM
He's the best natural striker Scotland has (and his workrate and team play seem to have improved even further this last year)

I've bought my euro millions ticket. If it comes in, I know where some of it is getting spent 😃

31-07-2015, 05:08 PM

Heard this last week . But it was 250k plus DM ( permanent)and Henderson on loan . Source = guy behind me in the queue on Sat ( diddy cup game )

GGTTH I said last week that I had made this up to wind up some Bluenose pals on facebook. If its true then its a huge coincidence. The rest of my made up nonsense was of course that Allan would be loaned back to us in a season long deal.

31-07-2015, 05:31 PM

Agreed - D'dee Utd offer £250,000 in January. Between their offer and the Hun's 'bid', SA is awarded the Championship-POTY - Hun's logic ? Offer £75,000 LESS than D'dee Utd's ??. So winning POTY actually DEVALUED him - makes sense, eh !

There was never any serious intent by them, to sign Scott Allan - it was solely to unsettle the club/player and our fans. With the added-bonus of the 'Moron-Loyal' believing DK means business !!. Thereafter to be known as 'The Hun Way'.

31-07-2015, 05:32 PM

He's one of OUR own

He's not first choice in any game now they have signed the vampire. Come home wee man, where you are loved (hoping he's reading this :greengrin)

31-07-2015, 05:46 PM
My son was at the game ( :embarrass ) and said he was brought on for the last 20 minutes - and immediately made a chance.

What a flipping waste of a naturally gifted goal scorer.

Thats the celtic way though isn't it. Look at Riordan for example. Celtic ruined what should have been a very succesful career for him. I'm not saying celtic will ruin Leighs career but a talent like his shouldn't be wasted on a subs bench.

31-07-2015, 05:49 PM
I get the impression that most of the morons are getting the message but a few are still expecting SA. to move there soon. One idiot reckons that £400k with a good instalment plan will clinch the deal.:faf:

31-07-2015, 05:50 PM
not for sale

To the hun.

31-07-2015, 05:54 PM
Heard Griffiths had toothache the other night and had been up half the night before the game. Hence he didn't play.

31-07-2015, 06:15 PM
To all the Hun's looking in.

Scott was enjoying his football today. :giruy2:

31-07-2015, 06:39 PM

I'd take that.

bill the hibby
31-07-2015, 07:03 PM
To all the Hun's looking in.

Scott was enjoying his football today. :giruy2:

May you expand on this :greengrin

31-07-2015, 07:15 PM
I expect Celtic to enter the race for Scott Allan in a fortnight.........powder kept dry and all that :agree: definitely interested according to two people I know. Just have to wait and see....one thing being interested, one thing getting him :greengrin :cb:wink:

Trying to be logical about it, timelines wise I think Celtic will try and get next week out the way, see what draw they get.......Virgil Van Dijk going (I think he will be an EPL player quite soon regardless of CL qualification) will trigger activity in the market for Celtic.....and they will want to win all the domestic cups now that The Rangers believe they are stronger under Warbinho :rolleyes::greengrin........I'll stick to my guns and my prediction last two weeks........Allan to go to Celtic as window nears end with Dylan (permanent) and McGregor and/or Henderson coming to us (6 month loans)....they'll also have Stokes money to spend and to be honest, they played Stokes in almost a playmaker type position/wide player at times........they'll be looking for midfield creative activity. Allan fits the bill there and for me, if I was his agent, with the Euros potentially on the horizon, Celtic would be the correct football decision (depends how living in the west and going against the grain would affect his private life and family life). I'd also say the working relationship between Rod and Lawell may come into play with their SFA links........accountants and all that :wink::greengrin

So........I'll go for Scott Allan to Celtic :cb

CelticEnd
31-07-2015, 07:22 PM
I expect Celtic to enter the race for Scott Allan in a fortnight.........powder kept dry and all that :agree: definitely interested according to two people I know. Just have to wait and see....one thing being interested, one thing getting him :greengrin :cb:wink:

Trying to be logical about it, timelines wise I think Celtic will try and get next week out the way, see what draw they get.......Virgil Van Dijk going (I think he will be an EPL player quite soon regardless of CL qualification) will trigger activity in the market for Celtic.....and they will want to win all the domestic cups now that The Rangers believe they are stronger under Warbinho :rolleyes::greengrin........I'll stick to my guns and my prediction last two weeks........Allan to go to Celtic as window nears end with Dylan (permanent) and McGregor and/or Henderson coming to us (6 month loans)....they'll also have Stokes money to spend and to be honest, they played Stokes in almost a playmaker type position/wide player at times........they'll be looking for midfield creative activity. Allan fits the bill there and for me, if I was his agent, with the Euros potentially on the horizon, Celtic would be the correct football decision (depends how living in the west and going against the grain would affect his private life and family life). I'd also say the working relationship between Rod and Lawell may come into play with their SFA links........accountants and all that :wink::greengrin

So........I'll go for Scott Allan to Celtic :cb

I'd be very surprised.

If Allan came to Celtic he'd get nowhere near the centre mid role with Brown and Bitton (same age as Allan!) got those positions wrapped up with Mulgrew, Johansen, Armstrong all capable of filling in...

In the three behind the striker we have Forrest (24), Johnasen (24), Armstrong (23), GMS (24) as well as more experienced options like Commons, Stokes etc.

Allan is the same age as most players in that area for Celtic so wouldn't really be one for the future so have no idea where he'd fit into the squad.

Still a decent player but not good enough for Celtic at the moment iMO.

31-07-2015, 07:24 PM
I'd be very surprised.

If Allan came to Celtic he'd get nowhere near the centre mid role with Brown and Bitton (same age as Allan!) got those positions wrapped up with Mulgrew, Johansen, Armstrong all capable of filling in...

In the three behind the striker we have Forrest (24), Johnasen (24), Armstrong (23), GMS (24) as well as more experienced options like Commons, Stokes etc.

Allan is the same age as most players in that area for Celtic so wouldn't really be one for the future so have no idea where he'd fit into the squad.

I'd agree with pretty much all of that.

31-07-2015, 07:26 PM
I'd be very surprised.

Still a decent player but not good enough for Celtic at the moment iMO.Your probably right, but brother Walfrid was a Hibby.

31-07-2015, 07:33 PM
I'd be very surprised.

Your manager is a good manager in my opinion who seems to be able to get the best from players now he has settled in and has them knowing the way he works........I think he would see Allan as a very very good squad player, some games he may play, some he may be introduced at key points in games. He is a very tactical manager........that sounds daft in the sense all managers work to a tactic/game plan, but the players you mention all have periods where their form dips. Forrest has had a bad run of injuries, Johansen is a gifted player who needs looked after as he and Brown are the 'drivers' in that area........a lot of your play does come from working the ball through the middle and out wide.......adding Allan gives that added spark of being able to have a player who can drive and go through the middle.

If he also wants to play in England, Celtic in my opinion are the better platform/springboard.........Allan's agent has let things run away this last fortnight and he/they have played a shambolic hand :agree:.......I also think wee Gordon may enter the media in the next wee while and perhaps stir it a little......getting to the business end of the Euros he may be asked about players who may enter his thoughts............

31-07-2015, 07:48 PM
I'd be very surprised.

Aye but Celtc are a selling club these days and (depending on CL) might be looking to sell a high value midfielder this window.

SA might get struggle to get near the 1st team this week or next but I bet they are monitoring him.

31-07-2015, 08:22 PM
I'd be very surprised.

Probably correct but Celtic might see a way making some easy money. Get him cheap, a few high profile games and move him on south for a profit. Unlikely, but Allans best option if he harbours any thoughts of a move to England in the foreseeable future.

More likely will be at hibs through the season and after we win the championship will have a decision to make if the rangers don't gain promotion ;)

31-07-2015, 08:31 PM
I don't think it is Allan's footballing ability that would be the problem. He's a cracking player and more than good enough to establish himself amongst all those players imo. They always seem to look down on players that we rate, I'd never have imagined Leigh would have done as well as he has by now the way they were going on when he signed.

The problems with Allan (in their eyes) would be

1/ His allegiances. He hasn't exactly kept these secret of late and they're hardly going to ingratiate him easily amongst the Celtic hordes.

2/ His attitude. There can be no doubting that Allan is a bit of a tool (probs at Utd, probe on loan, never cut it at WBA, now he's causing probs with us). Why would Celtic take someone like that when they don't even seem to think that they need him in the first place?

Either he's staying for a year and going to Rangers at the end of the season or getting another chance in England imo.

31-07-2015, 09:11 PM
I don't think it is Allan's footballing ability that would be the problem. He's a cracking player and more than good enough to establish himself amongst all those players imo. They always seem to look down on players that we rate, I'd never have imagined Leigh would have done as well as he has by now the way they were going on when he signed.

The problems with Allan (in their eyes) would be

1/ His allegiances. He hasn't exactly kept these secret of late and they're hardly going to ingratiate him easily amongst the Celtic hordes.

2/ His attitude. There can be no doubting that Allan is a bit of a tool (probs at Utd, probe on loan, never cut it at WBA, now he's causing probs with us). Why would Celtic take someone like that when they don't even seem to think that they need him in the first place?

Either he's staying for a year and going to Rangers at the end of the season or getting another chance in England imo.

Interesting post !!!:agree:
Was chatting with one of Hibs Developement team backroom staff , in the company of a Celtic fan ,earlier this evening and this " possible move " came up
Both were in almost total agreement with your points I have highlighted
The Hibby was verysure about Allan's leanings/allegiance towards Ibrox and is guessing he will sign a " pre contract" early 2016

31-07-2015, 09:36 PM
i'm willing to gamble a nice shiny new £2 coin on the dishonourable one pre-signing with the govan bigots in jan, in fact i'd even put £5 on it

31-07-2015, 09:42 PM
i'm willing to gamble a nice shiny new £2 coin on the dishonourable one pre-signing with the govan bigots in jan, in fact i'd even put £5 on it

I reckon December. :wink:

31-07-2015, 09:45 PM

It's a cert and it's perfect . Win the Championship with Hibs this year and then win it again with Rangers next year.

31-07-2015, 09:47 PM
It's a cert and it's perfect . Win the Championship with Hibs this year and then win it again with Rangers next year.

And Hamilton the year after :greengrin

31-07-2015, 10:13 PM

Heard that also.

31-07-2015, 11:12 PM
Anyone seen the article that's one hibs news 24/7 by Jack Chrispoher mbe saying its a disgrace hibs won't sell S A to Rangers .Cant make up my mind if it's a spoof article given its content .Sorry. Don't how to post links .
The other story is the Mail on line saying Rangers haven't given up,on possibility of third bid for S A
what bit of Not for Sale is it that they don't understand ,Media hell bent on trying to keep this issue alive .It really is getting tiresome ,reading this repetitive drivel

31-07-2015, 11:44 PM
Anyone seen the article that's one hibs news 24/7 by Jack Chrispoher mbe saying its a disgrace hibs won't sell S A to Rangers .Cant make up my mind if it's a spoof article given its content .Sorry. Don't how to post links .
The other story is the Mail on line saying Rangers haven't given up,on possibility of third bid for S A
what bit of Not for Sale is it that they don't understand ,Media hell bent on trying to keep this issue alive .It really is getting tiresome ,reading this repetitive drivel

Article by ETIMS, definitely a spoof.

http://etims.net/?p=7561

01-08-2015, 01:49 AM
Back page of the sun again saying the Huns won't give up on him and are preparing a third bid.

01-08-2015, 03:01 AM
Back page of the sun again saying the Huns won't give up on him and are preparing a third bid.

....they're best phoning Celtic Park and asking what they might be bidding..........'cos 3rd, 4th and 5th bid ain't coming close to what The Rangers are bidding :aok:

01-08-2015, 03:05 AM
...in fact, I'm quite surprised (maybe not) that the journalists that read the board are not mentioning on the back pages that Celtic will enter the race soon.........bizarre :rolleyes: however to be expected :agree: maybe they are banned from Lennoxtown..........Twitter just ain't been told yet :cb

01-08-2015, 04:44 AM
Article by ETIMS, definitely a spoof.

http://etims.net/?p=7561

Mildly amusing.

01-08-2015, 05:10 AM

Three words (for the new clubbers) #Hard_of_thinking

01-08-2015, 06:58 AM
Sevco can keep bidding all they want..they are NOT getting him. Now I kno ur average sevconian is a sandwich short of a picnic but how many times does it take to understand the word NO?? .

01-08-2015, 09:10 AM
Apologies if this (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/im-a-rangers-fan-but-i-couldnt-stand-1113508) has been posted before but I've not had time to check back the other 111 pages :greengrin A poster on the Bounce unearthed it.

"SCOTT ALLAN admits he turned his back on boyhood heroes Rangers because he refuses to endure the pressure of playing in Glasgow.After completing his move from Dundee United to West Brom last night, the Scotland Under-21 midfielder insisted he had to head south in a bid to fulfil his potential.

Despite being a target for Rangers and Celtic, Glaswegian Allan revealed:

HE WASN’T prepared to invite the social problems of being an Old Firm player in his home town.
HE NEEDED to escape the SPL to play with a better calibre of player.
HE’S READY to become a major hit in the best league on the planet.
HE REFUSES to waste his talent after seeing pals hit the scrapheap.

Allan, 20, said: “As a fan it might seem strange not to look at the chance of going to Rangers but I was never told they had made an official bid.
“West Brom were always going to be my choice and even though I was aware Rangers were interested I knew I had to go south to become a better player.
“It came down to a purely football decision and no disrespect to Rangers but it was about getting the chance to play with a better standard of player.
“I’m a Glasgow boy and I just wanted to get away from the city.
“It’s about focusing on my football without the distractions and not being a footballer in Glasgow with all the problems that brings.
“People have been saying I’m this or that but the true story hasn’t come out. All that matters now is having people judging me as a footballer and not someone who has lost his head.
“I used to watch Paul Gascoigne and Mikel Arteta play for Rangers. I always loved players who like to get on the ball, good footballers. I want to live up to that.”
Allan agreed a 30-month deal at the Hawthorns and is determined to learn the lessons of the past and be a success. He insists he has seen at first hand the pitfalls of football.
He said: “I have so many good mates who were brilliant players who are working on building sites and not even playing football any more.
“I looked at them and knew when I got the opportunity I had to grab it because it doesn’t come along often for young Scottish players.
“The percentage of Scottish success stories isn’t high and I don’t intend to waste my chance. I want to be the best player I can be.
“It’s good to feel wanted and I know the manager has said I’m here to be a part of the future.
“I’m still young and I know I haven’t played a lot of games because of injury and other circumstances.
“But I know I will only get better by working with better players.
“Graham Dorrans has turned into a fantastic player by moving to England and he has developed into a Scottish international. Look at how a move south has transformed the likes of James McCarthy and Charlie Adam. Charlie couldn’t get a game at Rangers despite believing he could do it and now he’s a Liverpool regular. It shows you what can be achieved.”
Allan insists conditions at West Brom are night and day compared with what he has experienced north of the border.
He said: “It’s been a mad few days and it’s just great to be away from Scotland. It’s good to be looking forward to playing football again.
“I was a no-brainer to sign for West Brom – they have fantastic facilities.

“Everything from the way they look after you right down to the sports science is just in a different class.

“I’ll be playing with better players and operating in the Premier League, one of the best in the world.

“I knew this was the right platform for me to discover how better I can be. It’s about developing alongside some of the best players in the game – it’s just the best of everything down here.”

Allan endured a well-documented spell on the sidelines at Tannadice after being frozen out by boss Peter Houston and now he’s only looking forward.
He said: “There has been so much talk about my future and where I was going to go that it was just a relief to sign and get into the dressing room and meet my new team-mates.
“It’s an older squad because there aren’t many young boys here so it’s really good to be involved with such experience.
“Boys such as Shane Long and Dorrans have done their bit to make me feel welcome.
“It hasn’t sunk in yet. I was sitting in the changing room getting ready with guys I’ve been watching for years on Match of the Day.
“Now I’m a part of that and it’s incredible but I have to think of myself as being an equal because we all have the same aim. I’ve always believed in myself and been confident and I don’t see why I can’t play in the Premier League.”

01-08-2015, 09:15 AM
Your probably right, but brother Walfrid was a Hibby.

Love this post!

01-08-2015, 09:56 AM

Hmm.

Will the 3rd bid be derisory, or merely unacceptable?

It's like someone in a shop who can't afford the goods but keeps asking if the pennies they've scraped together will be enough. Embarrassing.

01-08-2015, 10:00 AM
Hmm.

Will the 3rd bid be derisory, or merely unacceptable?

It's like someone in a shop who can't afford the goods but keeps asking if the pennies they've scraped together will be enough. Embarrassing.

Warbsy won't give up?Who the **** is Warbsy?

The Leith Dutch
01-08-2015, 11:00 AM

Used to work in the Scotmid at Crighton Place on Leith Walk 20 odd years ago.
The local jakeys would come in for their tin of Special Brew and pay entirely in coppers.

Before anyone thinks I'm likening Sevco to tramps it's worth noting that not once did any of them try to underpay and they always had the 88p bang on.
Also they were significantly easier on the nose than a hun.

01-08-2015, 11:09 AM

By all accounts they've been preparing a third bid for a week or so now. It's nothing more than guesswork-based writing in the hope that sooner or later they just might be right.

01-08-2015, 11:14 AM
It's warbler isn't it?

01-08-2015, 11:27 AM
Also they were significantly easier on the nose than a hun.

Why do Sevconians smell so badly?

So that blind people can hate them as well.

(book of childish jokes, page 325)

01-08-2015, 11:33 AM

What part in the press statements from all concerned at Hibs do they not understand will not be sold to Rangers, it's like talking to a bairn who wants a sweety, no matter how many times they ask for the sweety, they still get told they aint getting one.

01-08-2015, 11:42 AM
What part in the press statements from all concerned at Hibs do they not understand will not be sold to Rangers, it's like talking to a bairn who wants a sweety, no matter how many times they ask for the sweety, they still get told they aint getting one.

Kids normally end up getting the sweetie though so probably not the best analogy!

I think they know they'll not get him but the longer they drag this on for the more disruption to hibs it could cause. If they were to admit defeat we could work on getting Allan back in favour with the support, statement online, hibs tv interview etc.... as long as there's a rangers shaped cloud hanging over his head though he'll struggle to move on from this imo.

01-08-2015, 11:47 AM

They're incapable of comprehending words with more than two syllables so they had to shorten it.

Reminds me of an interview many moons ago with Barry Ferguson when he referred to every single one of his teammates with the first syllable of their surname followed by the prefix "-y".

01-08-2015, 11:48 AM
Kids normally end up getting the sweetie though so probably not the best analogy!

I think they know they'll not get him but the longer they drag this on for the more disruption to hibs it could cause. If they were to admit defeat we could work on getting Allan back in favour with the support, statement online, hibs tv interview etc.... as long as there's a rangers shaped cloud hanging over his head though he'll struggle to move on from this imo.

Well mine didn't :wink:

01-08-2015, 11:57 AM
Well mine didn't :wink:

Clearly a better parent than me;-)

Anything for an easy life!

01-08-2015, 11:58 AM
Clearly a better parent than me;-)

Anything for an easy life!

:greengrin With a big stick........

01-08-2015, 12:02 PM
I think they know they'll not get him but the longer they drag this on for the more disruption to Hibs it could cause. If they were to admit defeat we could work on getting Allan back in favour with the support, statement online, hibs tv interview etc.... as long as there's a rangers shaped cloud hanging over his head though he'll struggle to move on from this imo.

The Huns know that the longer this goes on the more distracted and disrupted our squad will be.

Which is why they won't be going away.

A perfect way to torpedo our campaign before we even get going.

So I can't see them going away until they either get the player or he signs for someone else.

And he isn't going to sign for anyone but the Huns as far as I can see.

01-08-2015, 12:23 PM
Why does the heap of lard keep talking about 'quality players being available'? No definition of the term 'avilable' comes close to his interpretation of the word. I think he is dumber than a lot of people think. He insists that he has nothing to do with signing players, and insists it's the clever people who are doing all the business. What a heap of crap. I'm willing to bet that he has everything to do with that side of the business.

Dan Sarf
01-08-2015, 12:39 PM
How do you "prepare" a bid?

"Has anyone else here got any money?"
"No."
"Well this'll have to do then."

The Leith Dutch
01-08-2015, 12:49 PM
The Huns know that the longer this goes on the more distracted and disrupted our squad will be.

So I can't see them going away until they either get the player or he signs for someone else.

I agree with all the above but it got me thinking - can/should we do anything to unsettle them?

Obviously, we don't want to tap up any of their first squad players up as they're all mince but couldn't we look for a decent young player they have to target (whether we intend to buy or not) and paint them as a skint club whose best assets can be poached by decently run, professional clubs?
That plus the fact they don't have the money to muscle through the Allan deal would surely cause aggro between their support and the club and get them questioning the supposed "warchest" that ass hat King was supposed to provide.

Part of me thinks we're better than that but part of me does also want to ****** with them.

01-08-2015, 02:46 PM
Warburton is nothing more than the average, typical 'London wide-boy' who's really good at maths, hence his success as a currency-trader - we've all seen them before in documentaries, films etc. like the type, he is also an empty-souled w*nker whose God is MONEY and no matter how much he's got, he wants more and will do ANYTHING to achieve that !. If it's illegal, as long as he thinks it's safe and won't get caught, then he'll do it - and not give a toss if the outcome affects close friends/family. The 'Bank-balance' is his trophy - if he's got more than others, then HE'S the winner !.

It isn't surprising he went to 'Greyskull' as Dave King is a fully-qualified criminal - Warburton's merely there to pick up tips from him and complete his 'education'. They're kindred spirits !. Their 'bid' for SA is NOT serious - DK is skint and Warburton is using his experience in finance to carry it out. If Hibs accepted their 'offer' but only if it was in full, in cash and on the table within 24 hours - they'd s*it themselves !.

magpie1892
01-08-2015, 03:10 PM

Disagree. Even the red tops will get bored when Secvo announce their fifth bid for the player (they won't make a third bid by my reckoning - they don't have £300k). They are well aware that Stubbs' extension was 'go' as soon as it had been unanimously agreed that SA wasn't going to Greyskull.

Law of diminishing returns. Even a significant proportion of hun on swallowswallow.com are bored with this story now.

01-08-2015, 03:55 PM
I'm not complaining, but I'm a wee bit surprised that there has been no interest from English clubs.

01-08-2015, 04:12 PM
I'm not complaining, but I'm a wee bit surprised that there has been no interest from English clubs.

He had a bad rep down there, maybe a few don't want to touch him, when you get a name for yourself a troublemaker it's hard to shift it.

01-08-2015, 04:15 PM
I agree with all the above but it got me thinking - can/should we do anything to unsettle them?

No... we could'nt even afford the wages of some wee lad in their reserves/it would be completely pointless and probably make us look like idiots.... They are a bunch of clowns who will be the masters of their own downfall... leave them to it.

01-08-2015, 04:34 PM
Scott Allan was different class when he came on today. Good to see him get a decent reception - in the main - and delighted to see him score. Every player celebrated with him which was also nice to see.

01-08-2015, 04:43 PM
Scott Allan was different class when he came on today. Good to see him get a decent reception - in the main - and delighted to see him score. Every player celebrated with him which was also nice to see.

Good to see and also good to see he clapped the fans when he took his corner

01-08-2015, 04:45 PM

Get a good picture of his celebrations and post it on as many hun-sites as you can. Pie and Boveril etc. too. :thumbsup:

01-08-2015, 04:51 PM
Good to see and also good to see he clapped the fans when he took his corner

I was down at the front on my own as he walked over to take the corner. I shouted encouragement at him and he clapped me. Several others joined in right after that. I'm convinced Scott Allan's head has been filled with pish from his agent but he looked nothing other than the consumate professional on that pitch today.

01-08-2015, 04:59 PM
They're incapable of comprehending words with more than two syllables so they had to shorten it.

Reminds me of an interview many moons ago with Barry Ferguson when he referred to every single one of his teammates with the first syllable of their surname followed by the prefix "-y".

Fergy ... always talked up his team. He was a massive Fan-y

01-08-2015, 05:01 PM
I was down at the front on my own as he walked over to take the corner. I shouted encouragement at him and he clapped me. Several others joined in right after that. I'm convinced Scott Allan's head has been filled with pish from his agent but he looked nothing other than the consumate professional on that pitch today.

Yeah saw that. The applause went round a bit and got louder . Good job 👍

01-08-2015, 05:05 PM
Disagree. Even the red tops will get bored when Secvo announce their fifth bid for the player (they won't make a third bid by my reckoning - they don't have £300k). They are well aware that Stubbs' extension was 'go' as soon as it had been unanimously agreed that SA wasn't going to Greyskull.

Law of diminishing returns. Even a significant proportion of hun on swallowswallow.com are bored with this story now.

Well, from all the accounts of the way he conducted himself today, I think there's a decent chance he'll be professional and mature and behave like the professional he is.

He seems to have made a big difference when he came on. I'd really like to see him see out his contract and get us into the Premiership. He can then move on to wherever he wants to go with no bad feelings.

01-08-2015, 05:10 PM

I was up the back of the East and nearly all the fans down that end were clapping SA before he acknowledged it. What was it though with some fans booing when he came on. He's a Hibs player and will be until next season. Time for some fans to grow up

01-08-2015, 05:16 PM
Decent reception for him today - good he clapped fans back.

Scored a goal which made the game safe and is now cup tied for the league cup :greengrin

He needs to start games :agree: think he will next week as he was looking sharp.

01-08-2015, 05:47 PM
Scott Allan's contribution today simply underlines why Hibs cannot sell him to Sevco, no matter what they offer for him. It would be tantamount to conceding the Championship before it has even started IMO.

I'm just hoping Allan will perform to the best of his ability for Hibs until the end of this season, then he is free to go wherever he chooses.

Some supporters (including me) might not be happy that he has asked for a transfer, but booing him is just crass, and does not help Hibs or the manager's attempts to get him to knuckle down and give his best in a Hibs jersey so long as he remains at ER.

01-08-2015, 05:50 PM
I was up the back of the East and nearly all the fans down that end were clapping SA before he acknowledged it. What was it though with some fans booing when he came on. He's a Hibs player and will be until next season. Time for some fans to grow up

I know. There was a small pocket of booing and I really don't get what these folk think it's going to achieve. After the initial small chorus it died pretty quickly and never returned.

mentalhibee
01-08-2015, 05:51 PM

The whole Montrose end booed him when he came on, never heard a boo around me in the west lower. Great performance when he came on today.

01-08-2015, 05:53 PM
Scott Allan's contribution today simply underlines why Hibs cannot sell him to Sevco, no matter what they offer for him. It would be tantamount to conceding the Championship before it has even started IMO.

I'm just hoping Allan will perform to the best of his ability for Hibs until the end of this season, then he is free to go wherever he chooses.

Some supporters might not be happy that he has asked for a transfer, but booing him is just crass, and does not help Hibs or the manager's attempts to get him to knuckle down and give his best in a Hibs jersey so long as he remains at ER.

SA was head and shoulders above every other player on the park today, other than Fyvie and Jason (IMO). His approach and attitude was spot on, very professional, and I give full credit to Alan Stubbs for that. There will likely be more pressure, twists and turns in the next few weeks, but today showed us why SA is so valuable to team.

01-08-2015, 05:55 PM
The whole Montrose end booed him when he came on, never heard a boo around me in the west lower. Great performance when he came on today.

All 153 of them was it? :hilarious

01-08-2015, 05:57 PM
SA was head and shoulders above every other player on the park today, other than Fyvie and Jason (IMO). His approach and attitude was spot on, very professional, and I give full credit to Alan Stubbs for that. There will likely be more pressure, twists and turns in the next few weeks, but today showed us why SA is so valuable to team.

01-08-2015, 05:57 PM

Maybe because although they realise that although Scott is a real talent, its only the scottish championship he's playing in where he is playing against low quality teams. Until he's proven to be good against big opposition on a regular basis I don't think there will be a lot of interest from English clubs.

01-08-2015, 05:59 PM
I reckon Scott would have been nervous today and feeling pressure to perform. If he had come on today and had a shocker people would be claiming that he was deliberately not trying because he was in the huff etc.

02-08-2015, 06:19 AM
Typical example of the west cost media campaign. Headline is a quote from Warburton saying Huns will sign SA on pre-contract, completely unsupported by the article. Shocking stuff.

http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/rangers/transfer-talk/news/warburton-pre-contract-possible-for-allan_236787.html

02-08-2015, 07:51 AM
Just went for a wee gander on the bears den, interested to see if the had finally accepted that they are not getting him. I happened to find this comment from a poster called KingKirk, can someone please explain the logic behind this one for me???

"deluded c**** IF MW really wants SA now we will get SA now thats what they can't accept IF not now then December"

So we are deluded because we cant accept that they can take him off our hands but if they cant take him off our hands they will in December!? eh?

02-08-2015, 08:11 AM
How do you "prepare" a bid?

"Has anyone else here got any money?"
"No."
"Well this'll have to do then."

"Walter, count they coppers again, Warbsy, you get yer mits doon the back on that sofa in reception and see what ye can find, Durranty, you take them ginger boattles doon tae the corner shop, Davey, you sure we got all yon lead off them catholic churches...."

02-08-2015, 08:27 AM
Typical example of the west cost media campaign. Headline is a quote from Warburton saying Huns will sign SA on pre-contract, completely unsupported by the article. Shocking stuff.

http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/rangers/transfer-talk/news/warburton-pre-contract-possible-for-allan_236787.html

Just went for a wee gander on the bears den, interested to see if the had finally accepted that they are not getting him. I happened to find this comment from a poster called KingKirk, can someone please explain the logic behind this one for me???

"deluded c**** IF MW really wants SA now we will get SA now thats what they can't accept IF not now then December"

So we are deluded because we cant accept that they can take him off our hands but if they cant take him off our hands they will in December!? eh?

The signs are that he will sign a pre-contract with them but also that he will be professional about the whole thing. My total focus is on us getting promotion and if he makes a decent contribution towards that, fine. I'm at the stage where, once our goal is reached, I'll be glad when the circus leaves town and we see the back of him.

02-08-2015, 08:31 AM
The signs are that he will sign a pre-contract with them but also that he will be professional about the whole thing. My total focus is on us getting promotion and if he makes a decent contribution towards that, fine. I'm at the stage where, once our goal is reached, I'll be glad when the circus leaves town and we see the back of him.

If he signs a pre-contract with them, I can see no possible way of him staying with Hibs beyond January especially if Hibs are challenging them for the title. Best thing would be for someone like Celtic to pre-sign him and leave him with us for the rest of the season.

cad
02-08-2015, 08:37 AM
Warburton is nothing more than the average, typical 'London wide-boy' who's really good at maths, hence his success as a currency-trader - we've all seen them before in documentaries, films etc. like the type, he is also an empty-souled w*nker whose God is MONEY and no matter how much he's got, he wants more and will do ANYTHING to achieve that !. If it's illegal, as long as he thinks it's safe and won't get caught, then he'll do it - and not give a toss if the outcome affects close friends/family. The 'Bank-balance' is his trophy - if he's got more than others, then HE'S the winner !.

It isn't surprising he went to 'Greyskull' as Dave King is a fully-qualified criminal - Warburton's merely there to pick up tips from him and complete his 'education'. They're kindred spirits !. Their 'bid' for SA is NOT serious - DK is skint and Warburton is using his experience in finance to carry it out. If Hibs accepted their 'offer' but only if it was in full, in cash and on the table within 24 hours - they'd s*it themselves !.

02-08-2015, 08:43 AM
If Scott Allan performs the way he can then bigger clubs than new Rangers will be interested by January.

02-08-2015, 08:44 AM

If he signs a pre contract with them then I can't see how he can play for us again, everyone will be questioning his commitment to getting us promoted when he's going to our biggest rivals once the season is over!

02-08-2015, 08:48 AM
If he signs a pre contract with them then I can't see how he can play for us again, everyone will be questioning his commitment to getting us promoted when he's going to our biggest rivals once the season is over!

To be honest, it's quite simple how he can play for us again...he simply does what he did yesterday - has a good game and scores some goals....

Caldwell did it, Scott Brown did it...committed themselves to another club and yet played on...it's not ideal, but perfectly manageable..

Stokesy's on fire
02-08-2015, 08:50 AM

Poor article....pretty desperate and Aberdeen being linked with a move for Allan is even more embarrassing there's no way Allan would leave Hibs to play for the likes of Aberdeen more so if he has ambition.

Stokesy's on fire
02-08-2015, 08:51 AM
If Scott Allan performs the way he can then bigger clubs than new Rangers will be interested by January.

Exactly. Moving to Sevco would be a real waste for Scott when he could join up to an English club and try again

02-08-2015, 08:52 AM
To be honest, it's quite simple how he can play for us again...he simply does what he did yesterday - has a good game and scores some goals....

Caldwell did it, Scott Brown did it...committed themselves to another club and yet played on...it's not ideal, but perfectly manageable..

They didn't sign for clubs that were our nearest rivals at the time though, so no it's not quite simple.

02-08-2015, 08:53 AM

I seem to remember a couple of Dortmund lads played vs bayern in a champions league final at wembley having already signed pre contracts.

If its ok for Robert lewandowski then its kosher for Scott Allan :flag:

02-08-2015, 08:54 AM
They didn't sign for clubs that were our nearest rivals at the time though, so no it's not quite simple.

Stubbs will know his mindset by the time January comes. Most professionals want to win any game they are involved in...and anyway, by January with Rangers sitting about 5th in the league, it won't be an issue! :)

02-08-2015, 08:54 AM

I agree with this. He can't go to The Rangers this season no matter what, IMHO.

Ryan69
02-08-2015, 08:57 AM

Taking into account he is a compulsive baby(4 times now) and WILL throw his toys out the pram if he doesnt get his way......You cannot compare Scott Brown and Gary Caldwell to this spoilt child.

Im sorry.....But he scores against Montrose,some people have a short memory.

I wish somebody else came in with a bid and took this disgusting individual off our hands before it has a major impact on our season...If it it has not already.

02-08-2015, 09:00 AM
Taking into account he is a compulsive baby(4 times now) and WILL throw his toys out the pram if he doesnt get his way......You cannot compare Scott Brown and Gary Caldwell to this spoilt child.

I wish somebody else came in with a bid and took this disgusting individual off our hands before it has a major impact on our season...If it it has not already.

Perhaps the worst post I've read on the subject.

02-08-2015, 09:00 AM

I get the impression that nearly everyone wants him to play for us just now, knowing full well that he is Ibrox bound. What's to stop him putting a spanner in the works in the first half of the season? There has to be a big element of trust and a hope that, while under pre-contract, he is not unprofessional and stupid enough to blatantly down tools on the pitch. If he is seen to do that, his long term career will be in jeopardy and we can just let him train on his own and give him the weekend off. I would rather take a chance on him post January than decide now that he will not toe the line in the hope we will sell him in January.

02-08-2015, 09:02 AM
Taking into account he is a compulsive baby and WILL throw his toys out the pram if he doesnt get his way......You cannot compare Scott Brown and Gary Caldwell to this spoilt child.

On what basis is he "a compulsive baby"?? He has trained, he has played...feels like that's what you want to believe. Has he refused to do either of those? Just because he wants to move on, doesn't mean he won't put in a shift with us - as shown yesterday, and as he will show over the coming weeks. He is going nowhere. So both he and fans who have an issue with that will just have to get used to him in the Hibs midfield Because that is where he is going to be. And frankly to me, Hibs without Scott Allan are not a team that will get promoted - so unless Stubbs has another one of him lined up, we just need to deal with it - I'm sure he will too.

02-08-2015, 09:07 AM

I think you need to put down the :smokin and have a :coffee:

02-08-2015, 09:07 AM
Exactly. Moving to Sevco would be a real waste for Scott when he could join up to an English club and try again

It doesn't say much for him if the limit of his ambition is to join Rangers. He'd be better playing out of his skin this season and attracting big money from the south, as you say.

If I was Stubbs I'd say to him: "See how you get on until Christmas and we'll have another chat then."

Ryan69
02-08-2015, 09:10 AM
On what basis is he "a compulsive baby"?? He has trained, he has played...feels like that's what you want to believe. Has he refused to do either of those? Just because he wants to move on, doesn't mean he won't put in a shift with us - as shown yesterday, and as he will show over the coming weeks. He is going nowhere. So both he and fans who have an issue with that will just have to get used to him in the Hibs midfield Because that is where he is going to be. And frankly to me, Hibs without Scott Allan are not a team that will get promoted - so unless Stubbs has another one of him lined up, we just need to deal with it - I'm sure he will too.

1. He is a liar
2. He obviously instructed his agent to make this move happen
3. He has done this now at Dundee Utd,Birmingham,West Brom....and now Hibs
4. Did you see him hugging the whole Rangers team

Hibs have worked hard to bring harmony between the fans and the club....and we do NOT need someone like him to put alot of hardwork and effort to disjoin us. We should ALL be united!

Why do we need this?

02-08-2015, 09:13 AM
1. He is a liar

Hibs have worked hard to bring harmony between the fans and the club....and we do NOT need someone like him to put alot of hardwork and effort to disjoin us. We should ALL be united!

Why do we need this?

Because he is our best player....I don't see any of these points illustrating why he is "a compulsive baby"...he wants away. Not helpful or desired...but his prerogative. He is going nowhere.

02-08-2015, 09:16 AM
1. He is a liar

Why do we need this?

He hugged a lot of the Montrose players yesterday, maybe we should be worried about him going there! :greengrin

Ryan69
02-08-2015, 09:18 AM
He hugged a lot of the Montrose players yesterday, maybe we should be worried about him going there! :greengrin

Then went for a beer with them?

02-08-2015, 09:19 AM

Yes but you'll need to wait a while for the photo to show up.

02-08-2015, 09:20 AM
It would be in his best interest not to sign a pre contract with them. He doesn't have to.

02-08-2015, 09:22 AM
1. He is a liar

Why do we need this?

My personal feelings about SA are of dislike and disgust, so much, that, if not careful I might say silly things I would regret. However, to take negative action against him now would cause as much disharmony among our support and for me the only option is to play him until such time when we perceive his contribution to be dispensible.

Ryan69
02-08-2015, 09:29 AM
My personal feelings about SA are of dislike and disgust, so much, that, if not careful I might say silly things I would regret. However, to take negative action against him now would cause as much disharmony among our support and for me the only option is to play him until such time when we perceive his contribution to be dispensible.

I completely agree.....and that is why I hope he is sold off.

02-08-2015, 09:33 AM
Wow, some seriously angry people on here today for no real apparent reason

02-08-2015, 09:37 AM

Non-starter. Not going to happen.

Wow, some seriously angry people on here today for no real apparent reason

I hope this doesn't include me. I've declared a dislike of SA but, I think, with a sensible attitude as how to deal with the problem.

02-08-2015, 09:38 AM

Absolute nonsense. Give me a good unhappy player over the very average contented players we have had recently any day.
He is ambitious and wants to earn more dough, fair enough. The best way he can achieve that is playing well for Hibs.

02-08-2015, 09:41 AM

Totally agree Matty ,maybe the clue is location Amsterdam Too many Hash Browns for breakfast :wink:

02-08-2015, 09:59 AM
http://www.journific.com/hibernian-star-scott-allan-agrees-4-year-deal-at-celtic.html

linlithgowhibbie
02-08-2015, 10:16 AM
http://www.journific.com/hibernian-star-scott-allan-agrees-4-year-deal-at-celtic.html

I'm not sure I like you anymore Chico!!!!!:na na:

Caversham Green
02-08-2015, 10:30 AM
It would be in his best interest not to sign a pre contract with them. He doesn't have to.

Correct. There's actually no good reason for him to sign a pre-contract in January. If he holds off and plays well he has the chance of going to a bigger club down south, and if that doesn't happen he still has the Sevco option at the end of the season, plus he keeps the Hibs fans reasonably happy. All of that goes out the window as soon as he signs the pre-contract.

Of course, as he's being advised by morons we can expect the pre-contract to be signed but we must hold him to his contract with Hibs, even if we don't play him.

02-08-2015, 10:36 AM
Correct. There's actually no good reason for him to sign a pre-contract in January. If he holds off and plays well he has the chance of going to a bigger club down south, and if that doesn't happen he still has the Sevco option at the end of the season, plus he keeps the Hibs fans reasonably happy. All of that goes out the window as soon as he signs the pre-contract.

Of course, as he's being advised by morons we can expect the pre-contract to be signed but we must hold him to his contract with Hibs, even if we don't play him.

They could put a squeeze on him saying if he doesn't sign a pre contract they'll look elsewhere.

02-08-2015, 10:38 AM

Your memory is that short you cannot remember yesterday! Did you see the impact he made against Montrose, yes it was only Montrose yet we struggled to really break them down, he came on and lifted the team and the game. Yes it will have a major impact on our season if he goes, so in the meantime Allan should be playing for as long as we have him.

02-08-2015, 10:40 AM
Good old Daily Record

They really have it in for Stubbs/Hibs. Should ban them from Easter Rd

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bolton-fans-brand-alan-stubbs-6179723

02-08-2015, 10:43 AM
Good old Daily Record

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bolton-fans-brand-alan-stubbs-6179723

I have refused to buy that rag since the Thomson/Brown saga and any right minded hibs fan should not give that paper their cash.

02-08-2015, 10:46 AM
Good old Daily Record

Even by their standards that's a shocker of a story.

He's not criticised Allan and in fact he's been very respectful of him so there's no way he could be labelled a hypocrite.

Also, how the **** would some Bolton fan know what he was like in training?!

02-08-2015, 10:48 AM
Good old Daily Record

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bolton-fans-brand-alan-stubbs-6179723Massage to the Daily record.There IS no Scott Allan transfer saga.

02-08-2015, 10:49 AM

Agree but maybe the OP is a Jambo wind up merchant?

02-08-2015, 10:54 AM
Good old Daily Record

Yep saw that this morning, they are trying everything to get Hibs to budge, and there was another piece (p87) by Scott McDermott ( who seems to be the main protagonist) quoting Alex Rae ( I wonder where his loyalties lie? ) saying that the " The Rangers" bid of £250k is the right price, The Hun media are trying anything to undermine our stance

02-08-2015, 10:55 AM
Agree but maybe the OP is a Jambo wind up merchant?

That thought had crossed my mind, I also remember him being vitriolic about Oxley a while back. Mind you, even his comments are nonsense, SA was on loan at Birmingham, only played a few times but the one game I saw he was their only creative player. I'm unaware of any problems at Brum or indeed at WBA other than his obvious disappointment at not breaking through.

calamitus
02-08-2015, 10:56 AM
Good old Daily Record

Sounds like succulent lamb is still on the menu. Appallingly partisan journalism. Reads like it's from a The the Rangers fan site.

Hibby D
02-08-2015, 10:57 AM
I have refused to buy that rag since the Thomson/Brown saga and any right minded hibs fan should not give that paper their cash.

Or click on any link to their site :agree:

Could someone please paraphrase the article for us stubborn gits? :greengrin

02-08-2015, 10:58 AM
Media campaign moving in to 2nd gear. Let's see how low they can go to sooth the pain of their Hun readership 😄

02-08-2015, 11:00 AM
Here

BOLTON fans last night branded Easter Road boss Alan Stubbs a HYPOCRITE over his handling of the Scott Allan transfer saga (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hanging-scott-allan-shows-hibs-6175582). The Hibs (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/hibernian-fc) gaffer has rejected two bids from Rangers (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/rangers-fc) for his star player – despite the fact Allan has submitted a written transfer request.
Hibs have thrown out offers of £175,000 and £225,000 for the midfielder who still has a year left on his contract.
Last week Stubbs and Hibs chief executive Leeann Dempster refused to deny a verbal agreement (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-stay-tight-lipped-scott-6168157) was reached with the player when he signed that would allow him to go if a bigger club came calling.
The Hibees gaffer was in a similar predicament to Allan in 1995 while at Bolton with clubs such as Arsenal and Celtic interested in signing him.
Like Allan – who netted in yesterday’s 3-0 win over Montrose (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-match-reports/scottish-league-cup-first-round-6177414) – Stubbs handed in a transfer request and eventually got a £4m move to Parkhead.

Stubbs last week denied he was being hypocritical over Allan (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/alan-stubbs-demanded-move-bolton-6167736) and that his player’s situation is totally different to the one he faced at Bolton but Trotters fans beg to differ. The Bolton Wanderers Supporters Association insist Stubbs engineered his own exit when he was at their club and shouldn’t be surprised to see Allan do the same at Hibs.
Christopher Jones, the BWSA vice-chairman, told MailSport: “The way Stubbs is handling this is very hypocritical.
“When he wanted out of Bolton he became quite belligerent around the club. He kept himself to himself in the dressing room.
“Big clubs like Arsenal were interested at the time and I remember how he behaved.

“Stubbs essentially handed in his notice through the media. And that wasn’t the way it should have been handled.
“The Bolton fans began to give him cat calls and boos. Everything was turned around on him due to how he acted with the transfer request.
“If I was Alan Stubbs (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hibs-boss-alan-stubbs-signs-6160174) now I’d be initially disappointed that a player like Scott Allan wanted to leave. But I’d then think back to the position I was in 20 years ago. He wanted to make himself better at a different team.
“He should be thinking about that with Allan now."

02-08-2015, 11:02 AM
... there was another piece (p87) by Scott McDermott ( who seems to be the main protagonist) quoting Alex Rae ( I wonder where his loyalties lie? ) saying that the " The Rangers" bid of £250k is the right price, The Hun media are trying anything to undermine our stance

It's in the Scotsman too

Alex Rae, the former Rangers player, has said that his old side’s offer of £225,000 is a fair price for emerging talent Scott Allan. Pointing out that Dundee United had offered a similar amount that Hibernian were less inclined to be dismissive about, Rae also said that he worried for Allan’s mental state if he were to remain at Easter Road.
He said: “This is a tricky time for Scott. He has tried to force Hibs’ hand but they have stood strong. If Rangers were to go to £500,000 that would be an inflated price. [£225,000 is] a realistic offer, considering Rangers can get him in four months on a pre-contract.” ()

Hibby D
02-08-2015, 11:04 AM
Here

Cheers. That epitomises everything I despise about that rag. Rummaging around the bottom of the waste bin looking for anything to appease their west coast readership.

02-08-2015, 11:07 AM
Yep saw that this morning, they are trying everything to get Hibs to budge, and there was another piece (p87) by Scott McDermott ( who seems to be the main protagonist) quoting Alex Rae ( I wonder where his loyalties lie? ) saying that the " The Rangers" bid of £250k is the right price, The Hun media are trying anything to undermine our stance

The Weegie media are seething, just seething that their grand plan to aid & abet Sevco in daylight robbery has failed. They're desperately seeking quotes from everywhere to justify keeping the (non) story alive. I've actually met Alex Rae a few times ( in Portugal ) & he's a good guy but diehard Sevco fan. He's best mates with Davie Farrell who may have a different slant on things! Surprisingly the SM didn't ask Alex how much he thought Lewis McLeod was worth!

02-08-2015, 11:16 AM
The Weegie media are seething, just seething that their grand plan to aid & abet Sevco in daylight robbery has failed. They're desperately seeking quotes from everywhere to justify keeping the (non) story alive. I've actually met Alex Rae a few times ( in Portugal ) & he's a good guy but diehard Sevco fan. He's best mates with Davie Farrell who may have a different slant on things! Surprisingly the SM didn't ask Alex how much he thought Lewis McLeod was worth!

The thick weegie media think they are boxing clever getting pro Sevco comments from die hard numpties. They are placating the masses but fail to realise that at the same time they are highlighting Weegie Mafia traits which people with half a brain can see through.

02-08-2015, 11:16 AM
@Jasoncummings35: It was good to get the win and a goal on my birthday, thanks for all the messages #GettingOld 💚👴🏻 https://t.co/stQoG8Dwkt

02-08-2015, 11:17 AM
Cheers. That epitomises everything I despise about that rag. Rummaging around the bottom of the waste bin looking for anything to appease their west coast readership.

Agree.......have you seen SM's photo, have to say that epitomises the ugly side of the Weedgia.............[emoji3]

02-08-2015, 11:22 AM
Daily Record...seriously u wouldnae wipe yer a@@ wi that rag would u...utterly desperate tactics

Caversham Green
02-08-2015, 11:22 AM
They could put a squeeze on him saying if he doesn't sign a pre contract they'll look elsewhere.

They could, but he'd be a fool to believe them.

high bee
02-08-2015, 11:27 AM
Alex Rae - they can't 'get' SA in 4 months, they can only agree terms. They they can get him next season. As for the fee, Celtic paid DUTD £250k in Jan AFTER Armstrong had signed a pre contract. So to say £250k now if fair because they can 'get' him in 4 months is typical of their drivel.

And as for the Scotsman, we were less inclined to be dismissive about DUTDs bids were we? Pretty sure they weren't our main rival and we turned them down immediately. The only reason we are being painted as massively dismissive is because you guys in the media won't let it go.

02-08-2015, 11:31 AM
If he signs a pre contract with Rangers it'll be obvious that his agent will be acting in Rangers interest not his client's.He has no need to sign one-just as he had no need to ask for a transfer.

02-08-2015, 11:42 AM
Honest to goodness there is some absolute crap in the media and from some Hibs fans over this.

The facts of the matter are that he is Hibs player until the end of the season or until we, and no-one else, decide other wise.

For as long as he is our player then providing Stubbs thinks he is worthy of a place, we should leave them to get on with it, its a non story, pre-contract or not.

He is following a well worn path of players working their ticket out of clubs to " advance" their careers

Quite why he is subject to this level of vitriol is anyone's guess.

I seriously doubt that if he had been a mad Celtic fan, there would be this level of grief.

He cant go The Rangers for reasons well known to all and has been told this and as far as I see is accepting of it by training and playing.

He has played all his cards and lost the hand, he no doubt still wants to go to Rangers, that's fine. He is now under no doubt he wont be going.

We should IMO get over ourselves and enjoy having a player of his ability for as long as we have him.

He probably wont appear on many Hibs Fans Christmas Cards list, but plenty of players who would were no where near good enough to play for Hibs.

In our place in the food chain, to get someone of Allan's ability you are likely to have to be dealing with damaged goods.

semaj64
02-08-2015, 11:44 AM

He may hang off just was there is always the fact The Rangers might not go up, of course there maybe reconstruction

02-08-2015, 12:08 PM

Some interesting views. Strange.

02-08-2015, 12:15 PM
Honest to goodness there is some absolute crap in the media and from some Hibs fans over this.

The facts of the matter are that he is Hibs player until the end of the season or until we, and no-one else, decide other wise.

For as long as he is our player then providing Stubbs thinks he is worthy of a place, we should leave them to get on with it, its a non story, pre-contract or not.

He is following a well worn path of players working their ticket out of clubs to " advance" their careers

I seriously doubt that if he had been a mad Celtic fan, there would be this level of grief.

He cant go The Rangers for reasons well known to all and has been told this and as far as I see is accepting of it by training and playing.

He has played all his cards and lost the hand, he no doubt still wants to go to Rangers, that's fine. He is now under no doubt he wont be going.

We should IMO get over ourselves and enjoy having a player of his ability for as long as we have him.

He probably wont appear on many Hibs Fans Christmas Cards list, but plenty of players who would were no where near good enough to play for Hibs.

In our place in the food chain, to get someone of Allan's ability you are likely to have to be dealing with damaged goods.

That's a very reasonable post. I don't begrudge him an eventual move to the club he supports; it's just a shame he handed in the transfer request, rather than waiting. I would say that if Celtic were in the Championship I'd expect the same reaction. We just need to make the best of an awkward situation.

02-08-2015, 12:24 PM
Frankly its all becoming a bit tiresome now.

02-08-2015, 12:24 PM
Who the f*** is this no mark Alex Rae? What on earth has Scott Allan's transfer, or more correctly non-transfer, got to do with him?

Rae "also said that he is worried for Allan's mental state if he were to remain at Easter Road". FFS is this clown related to Scott Allan, or is he his best pal or something? Does he even know Scott Allan? Unbelievable stuff.

Alex Rae should be more concerned about his own "mental state" if he seriously thinks £225,000 is a "fair price" for Scott Allan, as he is also quoted as saying.

This is just getting beyond parody now. Why is someone like this being dug up for silly comments like this? Yes, we all know it's to continue to keep the pressure on Hibs, but to start bringing in stuff about the lad Allan's mental state is really beyond the pale. Disgusting stuff.

02-08-2015, 12:35 PM
Who the f*** is this no mark Alex Rae? What on earth has Scott Allan's transfer, or more correctly non-transfer, got to do with him?

Rae "also said that he is worried for Allan's mental state if he were to remain at Easter Road". FFS is this clown related to Scott Allan, or is he his best pal or something? Does he even know Scott Allan? Unbelievable stuff.

Alex Rae should be more concerned about his own "mental state" if he seriously thinks £225,000 is a "fair price" for Scott Allan, as he is also quoted as saying.

This is just getting beyond parody now. Why is someone like this being dug up for silly comments like this? Yes, we all know it's to continue to keep the pressure on Hibs, but to start bringing in stuff about the lad Allan's mental state is really beyond the pale. Disgusting stuff.

Spot on. The "mental state" comment was outlandish - but I'd be doubtful that he used language akin to that.

I'm just waiting for the lexicon of all things hunnish to wade into the debate - Bomber Brown. We could be in trouble then ☺

02-08-2015, 12:36 PM

I think it's painfully obvious why there is so moch vitriol surrounding this issue. It's because of the seriousness of our situation and the fact that Sevco, aided and abetted by Allan, unconsciously or not, are doing their best to scupper our chances of success. If we were in the Premiership, languishing around mid-table, I don't think the strength of feeling would be anywhere near as tense and bitter as it is just now.

02-08-2015, 12:42 PM

For as long as he is wearing our jersey out there on the park and giving his best, then I`ll support him. That is all that really matters in the end. Imho. That will only change if there are signs that the off-field stuff is affecting the performances and results. Early days, but so far there are no signs that this is happening.

Hibby D
02-08-2015, 12:44 PM
Agree.......have you seen SM's photo, have to say that epitomises the ugly side of the Weedgia.............[emoji3]

SM? :dunno:

familyman
02-08-2015, 12:50 PM
Time to switch to another subject..My final thoughts are we can see how good a player he is as he lifted a very ordinary Hibs team performance yesterday with great ease as he scored with what seemed total ease...the early season warm up approach by Hibs could have backfired but after SA goal it changed the whole game really.SO LET US ENCOURAGE HIM TO PLAY AT HIS BEST , we do not want another Kevin T situation when his form dipped after pre season signing with Rangers once upon a time.Once Hibs get their full squad fit we can all smile again!

02-08-2015, 12:52 PM
SM? :dunno:

Sado masochism?:dunno:

02-08-2015, 12:58 PM
It's the crux of the matter, it's why the rangers and the Glasgow media are desperate to move him from us now.
Scott Allan playing his best every week gives us a great chance of winning the championship.

02-08-2015, 01:19 PM
Yesterday's warm reaction from the Hibs fans towards Scott Allan would have infuriated the new Rangers and their media team.
Expect a lot more stories like this and enjoy it. We have seen this show before.

02-08-2015, 01:39 PM
It's in the Scotsman too

Arithmetic obviously isn't Rae's strong point seeing as four months is the beginning of December. Surprising cos he doesn't look like a caveman whatsoever.

02-08-2015, 02:02 PM
The 'Stubbs is a hypocrite' stuff is utter nonsense as the Daily Ranger know full well. When he was a player his aim ( just like Scott Allan and every other player ) was to get as big and lucrative move as possible for himself and his family.

Now, as a manager, his job is to make the team he runs as strong and competitive as possible and at the same time try as hard as possible to avoid doing anything which will hand his competitors any advantage. Part of that process is not to smooth the way for his best player to go to his clubs biggest rival. Allan Stubbs has never criticised Scott Allan for wanting to join the Zombies .... all he has done is his job to the best of his ability and unfortunately for Scott that means turning down his transfer request.

Anyway ...... Scott Allan is available for transfer. just not to Sevco and certainly not for £225,000 on easy payment terms.

02-08-2015, 03:08 PM

Next we'll have Social Services investigating abuse by Hibernian. Poor wee Scott Allan's mental health and wellbeing is in serious danger. It's only right that our socially responsible west coast media brings this important issue to everyone's attention.

02-08-2015, 03:29 PM
Rangers be like... https://vine.co/v/hUt6YJDmZpu

02-08-2015, 03:35 PM
The thick weegie media think they are boxing clever getting pro Sevco comments from die hard numpties. They are placating the masses but fail to realise that at the same time they are highlighting Weegie Mafia traits which people with half a brain can see through.

Spot on [emoji6]

02-08-2015, 03:45 PM
Sounds like succulent lamb is still on the menu. Appallingly partisan journalism. Reads like it's from a The the Rangers fan site.

Nope ! As they're still in the Championship, the fare on offer at their 'press-conferences' (or rather - 'Updates', where they're told what to write/say) is still on a 'Championship-Budget' - hence the rabid-clamour to get SA to 'Greyskull' !. Our SMSM's stomach's are stretched to breaking-point having to eat what the 'mugs' eat - for many, the thought of another season in the Championship is just too unbearable !

It's in the Scotsman too

Naturally - the 'Scotsman' is now the sister-paper of the 'R*tard'. don't believe me ? - read it !. They're chasing the 'Hun-£' and so the standard of it's journalism has plummeted to accommodate the average Hun-IQ.

Tip: if helps to have some banjo-music on in the background to fully immerse yourself in the mood/atmosphere !!

(When I say 'Read it' I obviously mean the online-eversion - DON'T buy it , ffs !)

02-08-2015, 04:34 PM
That article is utterly abysmal, even for the Record. Horrifically bad

02-08-2015, 04:42 PM

Nope, just like he didn't go for a Beer with the Hun players after last week's game either.

If you're gonna troll on this subject then you do really need to keep up.

02-08-2015, 05:53 PM
Next we'll have Social Services investigating abuse by Hibernian. Poor wee Scott Allan's mental health and wellbeing is in serious danger. It's only right that our socially responsible west coast media brings this important issue to everyone's attention.

:agree: Yep, Leeann Dempster, Rod Petrie and Alan Stubbs will be getting dragged out of their houses and charged with abusing Scott Allan.

As I said earlier, it's beyond parody. It has become completely farcical. There's probably more of this ****** yet to come. How low will they sink?

02-08-2015, 06:01 PM

I believe you do want him sold. You really do.

02-08-2015, 06:25 PM
:agree: Yep, Leeann Dempster, Rod Petrie and Alan Stubbs will be getting dragged out of their houses and charged with abusing Scott Allan.

As I said earlier, it's beyond parody. It has become completely farcical. There's probably more of this ****** yet to come. How low will they sink?

It's clearly being orchestrated so that stories just drip through every other day , it's despicable but sadly to be expected as long as the ibrox media p r machine is letting sympathisers know they are still interested in getting him this Transfer window .
Nae idea how low they would go ,but suggesting it's causing him mental health problems is irresponsible ,and starting to sound desperate .
At some point it has stop though as it becomes an old story ,and people need to start taking personal responsibility for to stop spouting ***** ,in the hope it continues to unsettle our player.

A banner for ibrox spelling out our player isn't for sale to them would be in order just to rub it in at the next leaugue game .

02-08-2015, 07:39 PM
That article is utterly abysmal, even for the Record. Horrifically bad

What do you think gets more clicks on the webpage; a well-balanced piece of journalism, or something that stupid Huns will lap up (and share with all their friends on Facebook/Twitter) and stupid Hibs fans will get outraged by (and share with all their friends on Facebook/Twitter)?

02-08-2015, 08:02 PM

Would be well advised to tell SA 'never meet your heroes' then.

magpie1892
02-08-2015, 08:45 PM

I don't think it will last much longer. Even some of the orcs are getting bored now.

02-08-2015, 08:52 PM
6 days ago I thought this:

1. Scott Allan is a smashing footballer with a shan agent who has totally misjudged 2&3&4 below...

2. In Alan Stubbs and Leeann Dempster we finally have a leadership driven by sporting ambition and achievement, who refuse to be bullied

3. Rangers have no money, on the radar or off the radar. They are a child's pushover these days. £225k? In installments?

4. Money talks, but that £225k ain't serious money so we ain't listening and Scott Allan will win the league this year in a Hibs jersey.

That was 6 days ago

6 days later, and NONE of that has changed

Hibs,and Scott Allan, for the title.
Get behind the team
All of them

02-08-2015, 09:35 PM
That £225k wasn't just in instalments, some of it was conditional on Sevco Huns being promoted and later making Europe. Basically any way that they could find to delay having to part with actual cash in the hope that they might scrape enough together to be able to afford the next payment when it eventually fell due.

02-08-2015, 11:19 PM
What do you think gets more clicks on the webpage; a well-balanced piece of journalism, or something that stupid Huns will lap up (and share with all their friends on Facebook/Twitter) and stupid Hibs fans will get outraged by (and share with all their friends on Facebook/Twitter)?

I'm fully aware of how it works and why the article has been written. It's horrendously bad though, which was my point

03-08-2015, 05:43 AM
That £225k wasn't just in instalments, some of it was conditional on Sevco Huns being promoted and later making Europe. Basically any way that they could find to delay having to part with actual cash in the hope that they might scrape enough together to be able to afford the next payment when it eventually fell due.

With no guarantees that the later instalments would ever become due, as they might not get promoted or into European competition.

03-08-2015, 07:18 AM
With no guarantees that the later instalments would ever become due, as they might not get promoted or into European competition.

And no guarantees the due instalments would be paid.

The Rangers may decide it is not in their Clubs interest to make the payments. :greengrin

03-08-2015, 09:06 AM
What's the Daily Rangers angle on their story today then?

Has Rod Petrie stuck Scott Allan's pet kittens in a sack and drowned them? Does Leanne Dempster know nothing about football because she's a woman? Memories of Stubbs going to a Celtic supporters club dance and saying something mildly anti Rangers.?

Still waiting for the last throw of the dice and a photoshopped or indeed staged photo of Scott Allan doing a 1-5 hand gesture.

03-08-2015, 09:22 AM

Has Rod Petrie stuck Scott Allan's pet kittens in a sack and drowned them? Does Leanne Dempster know nothing about football because she's a woman? Memories of Stubbs going to a Celtic supporters club dance and saying something mildly anti Rangers.?

Still waiting for the last throw of the dice and a photoshopped or indeed staged photo of Scott Allan doing a 1-5 hand gesture.

My money's on the DR dredging up old photos of Leeann in a Rangers scarf or claims that all Hibbies are sectarian bigots because we use the word Hun.

03-08-2015, 09:39 AM
Just on Sky Sports News there, still asking Warburton questions over SA after the Peterhead game, don't they ever give up, shameless the way the way the weegie loving press are handling this, I hope we will be able to shut them up very soon.

03-08-2015, 01:44 PM
Just on Sky Sports News there, still asking Warburton questions over SA after the Peterhead game, don't they ever give up, shameless the way the way the weegie loving press are handling this, I hope we will be able to shut them up very soon.

I think they'll make another one bid at least. In the face of complete rejection and a warning from Hibs that their bids are considered 'unwelcome', when does Sevco's behaviour become harrassment, worthy of the attention ( unlikely, however ) of the SPFL?

03-08-2015, 01:58 PM

he's a sevco fan, he will be able to do a 2-6 hand gesture

03-08-2015, 02:17 PM
There will at least be another bid in the run up to the league game against them at Ibrox. It's called playing dirty, it's The Rangers way.

03-08-2015, 05:08 PM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/13525178.Hibs_bang_on_the_money_to_rebuff_Rangers_ bids_for_Scott_Allan_before_Championship_kick_off/

03-08-2015, 05:21 PM
Many huns on twitter claiming hibs have acted in a "shameless, undignified manner" :faf: Yes how very dare we not do what the "mighty rangers" demand and sell our best player to you - shameless behaviour indeed that a club has had to audacity to actually stand up for themselves against you and your bully boy tactics! :rolleyes: Got to laugh eh!

It's like when the little guy finally stand up for himself against the school bully and the bully goes running and greeting to the teacher and tries to act the poor victim. They don't like when clubs stand up against them, thats the bottom line. They still live in the past glory days where rangers were a powerful club, the rangers of today is very different and the quicker they accept that and stop trying to throw their weight about the better.

You don't have to be a genius to see what the rangers plan was in all of this - put in a couple of low bids that you know fine well wont be accepted but you can still say to the fans "we tried but hibs fault for not letting him go", then use the media and other tactics to try and cause as much unsettlement in the hibs camp as possible.

03-08-2015, 05:26 PM

Rod petrie ate Scott Allan's hamster and sent its bones to an orphanage set up by the rangers,the record can exclusively reveal that Alan Stubbs also hates hamsters, and the rangers

03-08-2015, 05:29 PM
Rod petrie ate Scott Allan's hamster and sent its bones to an orphanage set up by the rangers,the record can exclusively reveal that most decent human beings on planet earth(and outlying planets) hate and despise the rangers

slight little tweak :)

03-08-2015, 05:31 PM
[emoji1] Obvious really. How did I omit it?

03-08-2015, 05:33 PM
[emoji1] Obvious really. How did I omit it?

mistakes happen :dunno: you just weren't thinking straight :)

03-08-2015, 06:35 PM
Rod petrie ate Scott Allan's hamster and sent its bones to an orphanage set up by the rangers,the record can exclusively reveal that most decent human beings on planet earth(and outlying planets) hate and despise the rangers

Only "most"? You mean that not everyone has heard of the legendary Sevco Huns (est. 2012)?

OsloHibs
03-08-2015, 07:22 PM
There will at least be another bid in the run up to the league game against them at Ibrox.

Capt Mainwaring
03-08-2015, 07:27 PM

Apparently it was Scott's Dentist that shot Cecil the Lion!

03-08-2015, 08:21 PM
Apparently it was Scott's Dentist that shot Cecil the Lion!

I'd shoot a lion too if I got into my car and found one in the passengers seat. Nasty wee buggers.

Gerard
03-08-2015, 08:34 PM
Scott Allan STILL NOT FOR SALE to Rangers 2012. One day they will accept that a club can say no to them. That day is today and that is something they will eventually get.:wink: