View Full Version : Scott Allan - signs a 4 year deal with Celtic
05-08-2015, 07:35 PM
Not going to argue but it's far from nonsense. I would reckon the bulk of our signings will have received a signing on fee. Are you suggesting we don't pay them?
You are wasting your time, how many players do we sign that are worth £300-£600k? In fact how many players who are worth that kind of money would sign on for ANY team for £10k signing on fee and £2k a week On a bosman too? :faf:
05-08-2015, 07:37 PM
That's not true he watched him 4 times! Source.... Gary himself!
did he watch at all?
05-08-2015, 07:40 PM
He said 4 times. Are you saying it was less or more than that?
Chibs
05-08-2015, 08:18 PM
Don't suppose Roy's available is he?
Would rather we went for Hot Shot Hamish than that English c##t.:greengrin
Whether he watched him or not, if the interest from Rotherham & Wigan is more than just paper talk, it will certainly give SA something to think about other tha rangers. I sure both of those clubs pay more than rangers in wages.
05-08-2015, 08:32 PM
You are wasting your time, how many players do we sign that are worth £300-£600k? In fact how many players who are worth that kind of money would sign on for ANY team for £10k signing on fee and £2k a week On a bosman too? :faf:
Ok, are you saying it's more beneficial for Scott Allan to see out his contract as he can pocket 400 k? Do you think he would get a 400k signing on fee? If he leaves now he gets his wage increase now which he would get about a year before his contract ends! If he got a 6k a week increase in salary he will have pocketed about 300k extra by not seeing out his contract!
05-08-2015, 08:35 PM
Ok, are you saying it's more beneficial for Scott Allan to see out his contract as he can pocket 400 k? Do you think he would get a 400k signing on fee? If he leaves now he gets his wage increase now which he would get about a year before his contract ends! If he got a 6k a week increase in salary he will have pocketed about 300k extra by not seeing out his contract!
I think you're missing the point big time. Forget the numbers you keep hanging on to. Think about the logic. It really is how the system works - whether you think it's nonsense or not.
05-08-2015, 08:38 PM
I think you're missing the point big time. Forget the numbers you keep hanging on to. Think about the logic. It really is how the system works - whether you think it's nonsense or not.
Signing on fees perhaps, but the real point was that BH, seemed to be saying that the signing on fee for a free agent was what that player is worth in a transfer fee. That is not the case.
05-08-2015, 08:50 PM
As i said, you are wasting your time. Apparently if he signs for another club at the end of his contract, all he can expect is 2 washers a can of ginger and a free lollipop to go with his increase of wages. The money that would have been spent on signing him for say anywhere from £300-£600k will just go on someone else now.
Thats how it works. :faf:
05-08-2015, 08:57 PM
He would as you say get a proportion of that money he'd earn in the future IF he left now, but as we ALL know it wont be sevco he leaves for this season.
So if as i said he waits until the end of this season and becomes a free agent, he will get a much bigger signing on fee, or a much bigger wage should he sign for even a championship club in England.
You can believe it or not, it really makes no difference to me, but you are kidding yourself if he wont get £400-£500k extra by waiting.
FWIW what kind of signing on fee do you think he'd get?
05-08-2015, 09:04 PM
Hibs sign plenty of free transfers, how many of them get a one off lump sum?
Virtually all of them :aok:
05-08-2015, 10:01 PM
Rod Petrie's apparently given his thoughts on the matter to the media.
Didn't know he was fluent in Spanish! :greengrin
http://captiongenerator.com/53455/Rods-response-to-Sevcos-interest-in-Scott-Allan
05-08-2015, 10:10 PM
http://captiongenerator.com/53455/Rods-response-to-Sevcos-interest-in-Scott-Allan
:faf: :top marks
Spudster
05-08-2015, 10:16 PM
If he waits until the summer, he will get a big signing on fee or a small one and a bigger weekly wage. I wonder if some of the folk who post on here know anything about footballers and the way transfers work? :confused:
I understand that. It's worded very different from what I queried though (implying he will get a £700k signing on fee).
The Pointer
05-08-2015, 10:43 PM
:faf:http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif:lolrangers::hibees
05-08-2015, 10:44 PM
Since we're on the topic of signing on fees.. Do players get signing on fees for signing contract extensions? And if so, presumably it's not at the same level as the signing on fee you'd get for moving club..
Yes and yes. Agent fees too. According to Football Manager anyway.
06-08-2015, 01:49 AM
Outstanding
This should be viral
gorgie greens
06-08-2015, 05:52 AM
you would be surprised as to what lengths clubs go to get a player they are after, heard of cases where in a young player the club have paid stupid amounts to get that player to join them,and in some cases paying the boys family to relocate ,and i know of a young guy when at Hearts moved to Man Utd at 16 and he got a six figure sum to sign for them ,he got emptied 2 years later and never kicked a ball any higher than Scottish Division 2,
I would say on some occasions some players would get paid MORE for a contract extension than they would when they signed,how many times have you heard of a guy saying at this time of his career he needs to do the right move for his family and ends up staying at the same club,all depends on how much a player is valued and SA is in that position now,
06-08-2015, 06:19 AM
06-08-2015, 06:41 AM
Superb!!!
06-08-2015, 06:45 AM
I understand that. It's worded very different from what I queried though (implying he will get a £700k signing on fee).
He could get that, if Rotherham value him at £500k and he's out of contract, they'd pay him that amount to get him to sign. He'd then also get his wages which would perhaps be around £8-10k a week.
I dont think you realise the amount of money thats around in the English game, even with some of the clubs in the lower leagues?:confused:
eezo63
06-08-2015, 06:46 AM
:rotflmao::rotflmao:
That is brilliant,nothing like a good laugh to set up yer day.:thumbsup:
06-08-2015, 06:51 AM
The whole episode has reduced Senga to tears...
06-08-2015, 07:01 AM
Warburton in The Scotsman today saying (again) that it would be disrespectful to talk about another Club's Player... immediately after discussing a possible fourth bid for said Player.
Make up your mind Warbs, Warbey, Wardo, or whatever DerHun are callng you today.
06-08-2015, 07:18 AM
He could get that, if Rotherham value him at £500k and he's out of contract, they'd pay him that amount to get him to sign. He'd then also get his wages which would perhaps be around £8-10k a week.
I dont think you realise the amount of money thats around in the English game, even with some of the clubs in the lower leagues?:confused:
I believe that players get bigger signing on fees if they sign on pre contracts, but going by this logic surely people like Lewandowski signing for Bayern on a pre contract didn't get something in the region of a £50million signing on fee because he's worth around that? :confused: Or else nobody would ever extend there contracts, especially at the elite level of football.
The Leith Dutch
06-08-2015, 07:19 AM
Warburton in The Scotsman today saying (again) that it would be disrespectful to talk about another Club's Player... immediately after discussing a possible fourth bid for said Player.
Make up your mind Warbs, Warbey, Wardo, or whatever DerHun are callng you today.
Saying something is disrespectful and doing it anyway wouldn't be contradictory it would just be hun class.
06-08-2015, 07:31 AM
Empty, two dimensional vessel and all talk. I remember when Butcher came to ER and how most of us hung on his every word. Snap!
Correct. I was told a couple of wages from a conference part time team. Crazy money for that level.
The difference is massive.
06-08-2015, 07:41 AM
Don't suppose Roy's available is he?
You're kidding right? He had his leg amputated after his helicopter crash.
Don't know if Jr. Is still playing though. We've got enough left footers as it is though.
06-08-2015, 07:51 AM
If he went to Rotherham he'd be with Kirk Broadfoot. All the atmosphere of Ibrox without actually having to go near the place!
06-08-2015, 07:55 AM
Few twitter posts suggesting a 4th bid is imminent from The Rangers. I think they're just doing it as a noise -up now.
06-08-2015, 08:01 AM
Few twitter posts suggesting a 4th bid is imminent from The Rangers. I think they're just doing it as a noise -up now.
Be interesting if they stick to their usual 50k increase or actually take into account rotherhams bid 😂
Do we think the club even responds to Rangers bids anymore given how clear it has been made?
06-08-2015, 08:04 AM
Do we think the club even responds to Rangers bids anymore given how clear it has been made?
Agree wouldn't even respond as we have made our position crystal clear.
06-08-2015, 08:04 AM
Correct. I was told a couple of wages from a conference part time team. Crazy money for that level.
The difference is massive.
My mate (my age)retired at 26 and owns two houses. He never played higher than league 2 and only a handful of games.
Lads he was with at Wimbledon when they were semi-pro were on £1500 + bonuses per week.
North Ferriby United, who won the non league cup last season, were paying lads £700pw apparently and they are just in the conference north!
06-08-2015, 08:06 AM
Saying something is disrespectful and doing it anyway wouldn't be contradictory it would just be hun class.
....... and while he's harping on about this bid and that bid and how he wouldn't dream of talking about another club's player, not one of the gutless hacks has had the nerve to say "But you are talking about another team's player, ya numptie."
My mate (my age)retired at 26 and owns two houses. He never played higher than league 2 and only a handful of games.
Lads he was with at Wimbledon when they were semi-pro were on £1500 + bonuses per week.
North Ferriby United, who won the non league cup last season, were paying lads £700pw apparently and they are just in the conference north!
The amounts I was told shocked me given the club only average around 1400 fans week.
06-08-2015, 08:18 AM
I wouldn't get too excited about the English bids. SA missus has just had a child a few weeks ago. I don't see her wanting to move anywhere. The offer would have to be extremely attractive in terms of money. They would likely be happy to stay in Scotland for a couple of years, one year with us, one with the huns and then move. He'll be player of the year in the Championship three years in row.
06-08-2015, 08:20 AM
Agree wouldn't even respond as we have made our position crystal clear.
Resend previous reply! Blind copy every other SPFL club so they can have a laugh too. :greengrin
06-08-2015, 08:27 AM
I take your point ,but he did say it's not up to me to decide if a fourth bid will be made The press know what his script is now and all they wanted to hear were the words fourth bid to run with same old tired story
It was Paul Murray Director, who first openly started coveting S. A ,before the Manager was appointed ,and while I am sure the Manager would like S A in his squad ,I wonder if this is being driven by those higher up ,and they don't like the fact we are saying no . They just can't let it go ,but know they can't afford the price we are looking for ,so they are just keeping it going to show us they can ..They can't accept that Hibs won't just cave in . They don't seem to realise that No means No .
06-08-2015, 08:30 AM
The more bids they make, the more their aim of 'unsettling' us and Allan is weakened. It just becomes laughable.
Weststandwanab
06-08-2015, 08:37 AM
The more bids they make, the more their aim of 'unsettling' us and Allan is weakened. It just becomes laughable.
It was laughable days ago in my opinion.
06-08-2015, 08:39 AM
I reckon Scott Allan knows he is not going to be sold to Rangers this window. Rangers are starting to make a fool of themselves.
Northern Hibby
06-08-2015, 08:47 AM
We should state publicly that we have respectively acknowledged 3 bids and declined each one stating,each time, that Scott Allan is not for sale, since they have ignored this, any further bids will not be acknowledged.
joe t
06-08-2015, 08:58 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/aug/06/luis-suarez-liverpool-arsenal-transfer
Similar theme here. Luis did alright the following season I think.
06-08-2015, 08:59 AM
We should state publicly that we have respectively acknowledged 3 bids and declined each one stating,each time, that Scott Allan is not for sale, since they have ignored this, any further bids will not be acknowledged.
As of yesterday, I don't think we've even officially acknowledged receipt of this supposed third bid.
06-08-2015, 09:02 AM
i notice the huns fans new thing is to call us bigoted. Outstanding
hunbeliveable
06-08-2015, 09:08 AM
I wouldn't get too excited about the English bids. SA missus has just had a child a few weeks ago. I don't see her wanting to move anywhere. The offer would have to be extremely attractive in terms of money. They would likely be happy to stay in Scotland for a couple of years, one year with us, one with the huns and then move. He'll be player of the year in the Championship three years in row.
I'm assuming you dont have a Mrs then? :greengrin me to my wife... me - 'ken how i get paid £1500 odd quid a week and travel to Edinburgh every day'? Wife - 'yeah'... 'well somme wee diddy team down south in some random horrible place are offering me £10000 a week'.... Wife - 'when do we move!?':greengrin
06-08-2015, 09:08 AM
That's one way of putting this sorry mess to bed......
06-08-2015, 09:21 AM
This. It's getting boring now. They're wasting our time, it's disrespectful given we've been so clear about our stance and that we won't sell to them under any circumstances and it would make them look foolish if we done it. :agree:
Glesgahibby
06-08-2015, 09:26 AM
It's like a spoiled child being egged on by his mates(the media).
Why don't they ask the spoiled child(the Rangers)?
1) how can you afford 300/350k?
2) why would hibs sell to there nearest rivals?
3) if you can spend this money,why not pay ally off first:greengrin
06-08-2015, 09:27 AM
I'm assuming you dont have a Mrs then? :greengrin me to my wife... me - 'ken how i get paid £1500 odd quid a week and travel to Edinburgh every day'? Wife - 'yeah'... 'well somme wee diddy team down south in some random horrible place are offering me £10000 a week'.... Wife - 'when do we move!?':greengrin
Agree entirely. Also if he is only going down for year or two, she could stay up here while he play down there.
06-08-2015, 09:36 AM
I haven't forgotten that just before our season started he has, after just one year here where we have been very good for him, decided to ask to leave the club and encourage our biggest rivals to unsettle everything that is going on here, and has allowed his agent to co-ordinate with the media to make matters worse for us. He only had one more year to get on with it and move with all our best wishes.
I've no desire to see him carry on here and so I hope that a decent bid comes in from an English team and we can move on.
06-08-2015, 09:36 AM
100% agree
Turning down a move down south to spend another year at Hibs, possibly sitting in the stand in order to wait on a possible move to Rangers would cost Allan £300k in lost wages. Rangers won't give him that as a signing on fee, so he would be well out of pocket.
GGTTHSpot on. The say they wont be disrespectful towards us then do the opposite which is not just disrespectful but very very disrespectful.
06-08-2015, 09:58 AM
I haven't forgotten that just before our season started he has, after just one year here where we have been very good for him, decided to ask to leave the club and encourage our biggest rivals to unsettle everything that is going on here, and has allowed his agent to co-ordinate with the media to make matters worse for us. He only had one more year to get on with it and move with all our best wishes.
I've no desire to see him carry on here and so I hope that a decent bid comes in from an English team and we can move on.
I'm nearly with you on this one but, bottom line for me is that promotion is our absolute top priority and having Allan, even a disaffected Allan, gives us a greater chance.
06-08-2015, 10:17 AM
Are we really saying Rotherham and the likes pay £10k a week? That doesn't tie up with what I read in 442 a few months back.
06-08-2015, 11:01 AM
Are we really saying Rotherham and the likes pay £10k a week? That doesn't tie up with what I read in 442 a few months back.
They all pay what people make up on here.
06-08-2015, 11:06 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2833020/Premier-League-wages-dwarf-Europe-flight-players-England-earning-average-2-3million-year.html
Players in England's Championship are next, earning £486,000 on average, a staggering sum for a second tier - and higher than most top divisions around the world.
486/52 = 9346pw
I guess Rotherham's star players might get near the average?
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/may/22/club-by-club-guide-championship-finances-2012-2013
*Lowest* championship wage bill 12/13 Peterborough at £6.2M. Numerous clubs paying out £20M+.
Nutmegged
06-08-2015, 11:14 AM
Keeping Scott Allan does increase or chances of Promotion, many tend to get wrapped up in the Title, it would be great to win that and go up as Champions but if that doesn't materialise then the next best thing is going up as Play-Off Champions, Allan's head and heart might be at Ibrox but I genuinely do think he thinks a lot of Hibernian too, the bad feeling around this might just fade if a Scott Allan inspired Hibs team manages to get us promoted via the Play-Off's
06-08-2015, 11:15 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2833020/Premier-League-wages-dwarf-Europe-flight-players-England-earning-average-2-3million-year.html
486/52 = 9346pw
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/may/22/club-by-club-guide-championship-finances-2012-2013
*Lowest* championship wage bill 12/13 Peterborough at £6.2M. Numerous clubs paying out £20M+.
Nothing beats a good evidence based reply. :-)
So it's not unthinkable that someone might offer Scott Allan £10k a week, a salary sevco could not match.
06-08-2015, 11:18 AM
486/52 = 9346pw
Cheers - I'm amazed at that. I read an article in 442 when they were saying there was a huge gulf between Championship and EPL; the smaller promoted teams (like Burnley) struggle to match the expectations. No idea what it was called or when printed though so can't link.
06-08-2015, 11:20 AM
Nothing beats a good evidence based reply. :-)
So it's not unthinkable that someone might offer Scott Allan £10k a week, a salary sevco could not match.
They are alleged to be paying Danny Wilson £5K pw rising to £8K on promotion. If their other new signings are on similar then there might not be a new Huns for Allan to sign with in January. :wink:
Wonder if he was a boyhood fan of the New New Huns? :greengrin
06-08-2015, 11:22 AM
Cheers - I'm amazed at that. I read an article in 442 when they were saying there was a huge gulf between Championship and EPL; the smaller promoted teams (like Burnley) struggle to match the expectations. No idea what it was called or when printed though so can't link.
Isn't that because the average wage in the championship being £9k a week, but the average wage in the premiership is £31k.
That is a massive gulf, many clubs in the championship will be pushing themselves to even hit that £9k a week, and bringing in about the same crowds even once promoted and having to afford £31k per week per player must be nuts.
06-08-2015, 11:24 AM
Dont kid yourself that this is all about SA wnating to play for sevco. Its all about the cash and if he is offered big money elswhere he will take it.
06-08-2015, 11:26 AM
Isn't that because the average wage in the championship being £9k a week, but the average wage in the premiership is £31k.
That is a massive gulf, many clubs in the championship will be pushing themselves to even hit that £9k a week, and bringing in about the same crowds even once promoted and having to afford £31k per week per player must be nuts.
They immediately get a massive tv wedge ...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/32468550
06-08-2015, 11:34 AM
I thought that but the way I read the article was definitely more of a "we don't pay that much". Obviously bollocks.
06-08-2015, 11:37 AM
My wife would say, 'OK, make sure the money's paid into my account and I'll see you when you get back'.
06-08-2015, 11:46 AM
My wife would say, 'OK, make sure the money's paid into my account and I'll see you when you get back'.
06-08-2015, 11:48 AM
Aye, i think thats a little closer to the truth! :greengrin
06-08-2015, 11:52 AM
Aye, i think thats a little closer to the truth! :greengrin
Tbh I couldn't see SA moving south on his own and leaving his wife behind with a new born. That's something that will be right at the top of his thinking I'd imagine and maybe gives the hun an edge.
06-08-2015, 12:18 PM
Tbh I couldn't see SA moving south on his own and leaving his wife behind with a new born. That's something that will be right at the top of his thinking I'd imagine and maybe gives the hun an edge.
Then he should grow a pair and get her told.
06-08-2015, 12:33 PM
I take your point ,but he did say it's not up to me to decide if a fourth bid will be made The press know what his script is now and all they wanted to hear were the words fourth bid to run with same old tired story
It was Paul Murray Director, who first openly started coveting S. A ,before the Manager was appointed ,and while I am sure the Manager would like S A in his squad ,I wonder if this is being driven by those higher up ,and they don't like the fact we are saying no . They just can't let it go ,but know they can't afford the price we are looking for ,so they are just keeping it going to show us they can ..They can't accept that Hibs won't just cave in . They don't seem to realise that No means No .
It's exactly THAT !!. There was never any serious intent from them to buy SA - it was all about unsettling both player and Hibs, hence the ridiculous but safe, first bid. Ridiculous because it was nowhere near his value - Safe because they knew Hibs would say 'No' but it made them look - in the 'Moron Loyal's opinion - like they were serious about doing 'everything possible to restore Rangers to their rightful place' !!
Guaranteed their 4th bid will not match Rotherham's as they'll be banking on SA being 'one of them' so they can be both 'Ridiculous' and 'Safe' as they now KNOW it's not about money and Hibs will not sell to their nearest-rival for promotion to the SPL. I fully expect them to continue with their 'Bids' right up until the window closes, so they can say to their fans they tried their best.
06-08-2015, 12:37 PM
I'd tell the wife I was earning half what I was getting and say 'see you when I get back'
06-08-2015, 01:08 PM
Walter Smith says our stance re Scott Allen is correct.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/rangers/1326070-walter-smith-hibs-quite-right-not-to-sell-scott-allan-to-rangers/
06-08-2015, 01:18 PM
Keeping Scott Allan does increase or chances of Promotion, many tend to get wrapped up in the Title, it would be great to win that and go up as Champions but if that doesn't materialise then the next best thing is going up as Play-Off Champions, Allan's head and heart might be at Ibrox but I genuinely do think he thinks a lot of Hibernian too, the bad feeling around this might just fade if a Scott Allan inspired Hibs team manages to get us promoted via the Play-Off's
Winning the league at Ibrox with Scott Allan scoring directly from a corner kick after being pelted by red, white and blue paper projectiles would be the ultimate expression of football justice.
06-08-2015, 01:23 PM
On the other hand AS seems to want him to stay despite the transfer request so you might just have to get over it.
Bigger things at stake this season than Scott Allan.
The_Sauz
06-08-2015, 01:37 PM
Malonga's wife and kid are in France are they not? If it's good enough for him, then it's good enough for SA
06-08-2015, 01:43 PM
Hibs News @HibsNews1875
(http://www.hibs.net/HibsNews1875?p=s)
22m (http://www.hibs.net/HibsNews1875/status/629280651213193216?p=p)
Rotherham boss Steve Evans has confirmed the club are no longer interested in signing Scott Allan.
06-08-2015, 01:46 PM
Hibs News @HibsNews1875
(http://www.hibs.net/HibsNews1875?p=s)
22m (http://www.hibs.net/HibsNews1875/status/629280651213193216?p=p)
Rotherham boss Steve Evans has confirmed the club are no longer interested in signing Scott Allan.
Probably been told by Allans agent to bolt.
06-08-2015, 01:47 PM
I feel that way too but if he stays and performs as we know he can i will get over it.
I see Stubbs has said that the 3rd bid has been rejected. I wish he'd call them the rangers noise them up a wee bit.
06-08-2015, 02:13 PM
I see Stubbs has said that the 3rd bid has been rejected. I wish he'd call them the rangers noise them up a wee bit.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/33807803
"We have had an offer in that it is a little bit more than the initial one if you can call them offers," said Stubbs. :greengrin
"It has been rejected and the club's stance is exactly the same - we won't do any business with Rangers. We have had no other offers from any clubs."
06-08-2015, 02:15 PM
"We have had an offer in that it is a little bit more than the initial one if you can call them offers," said Stubbs. :greengrin
"It has been rejected and the club's stance is exactly the same - we won't do any business with Rangers. We have had no other offers from any clubs."
:gwa:
06-08-2015, 02:18 PM
Hard to argue with that line of thinking. His "career" to date suggests he's not the brightest spark, with poor advisors. At 23 he should be concentrating on playing his best football, pushing for higher recognition and a Scotland spot. instead, he's transfixed on playing for a team he supported as a kid at cost to himself, his current employers and the fans who've supported him. Daft rather than malicious, I reckon.
06-08-2015, 02:20 PM
He doesn't want to go down south. Hibs won't deal with the huns. No-one else wants him. He is staying at Hibs. The only real question is how will he perform for Hibs after the circus has left town?
06-08-2015, 02:21 PM
So what about the reported £375k from the Millers ?
06-08-2015, 02:24 PM
So what about the reported £375k from the Millers ?
I was wondering about that as well.
Was that an old Interview?
bill the hibby
06-08-2015, 03:14 PM
I was wondering about that as well.
Was that an old Interview?
Think they made an enquiry but no official bid and their managers said there is no further interest, hibs have obviously told them a figure and they can't afford it
06-08-2015, 03:23 PM
Think they made an enquiry but no official bid and their managers said there is no further interest, hibs have obviously told them a figure and they can't afford it
Where has Evans stated Rotherham no longer have an interest?
06-08-2015, 03:24 PM
Where has Evans stated Rotherham no longer have an interest?
BBC Reporting it as part of the GIRFUY to the The Rangers by Alan Stubbs article :wink::agree:
06-08-2015, 03:25 PM
The rejections should be called "F*** offers"
Argylehibby
06-08-2015, 03:37 PM
You mean a club understanding the clear message given by the employers of the player they want and then acting in a reasonable and, dare I say, professional manner? Wonder why the some clubs cannot do the same?
bill the hibby
06-08-2015, 03:43 PM
You mean a club understanding the clear message given by the employers of the player they want and then acting in a reasonable and, dare I say, professional manner? Wonder why the some clubs cannot do the same?
It was nice to see Steve Evans having a dig at the Rangers for this
06-08-2015, 03:43 PM
The rejections should be called "F*** offers"
Richard Wilson on BBC news saying that Hibs Rotherham talks have been called off. He says, although he seems to give his own opinions within news bulletins, that Allan has intimated that he want's to continue his career in Scotland. I wonder what he would do if we got a couple of very good offers from Celtic and Aberdeen. He would probably refuse to go but I assume he has stopped short of saying that he wants to continue his career at Ibrox.
magpie1892
06-08-2015, 03:52 PM
Sorry for being thick but was there not talk of a fourth offer earlier today? (one hun on swallowswallow suggesting it should be less than the third offer, because, um, that's going to do the trick, obv.)
06-08-2015, 03:53 PM
The Rotherham 'bid' was designed for Hibs to make a move so that SA could turn around and say 'no, I'm not going South of the border' thus putting Rangers as the 'only club he has ever wanted to play for'...I've said earlier that if SA shows a desire to leave ER then we should sell him to anyone but Rangers, he has shown his desire by slapping in a request to which he will rebuff any offers accepted unless it's der Hun...he has shown his true colours and if Hibs are not going to do business with Rangers and quite rightly so, sorry Scott, it's a season out of football for you if you fail to turn up in the initial games of the season IMO
I agree, only 3 week ago in La Manga he stated he was seeing out his contract and he wanted another bash at England, if he now only wishes to play for Rangers then I say let him rot for a season, subject to his performances that is. League reconstruction seems to be moving along swiftly and TBH it now looks like this season will just be one of seeing it out and making sure we're in the places for addition to the new set up. Lets see what a year away from 1st team football will do to his Rangers ambitions, would they want him then?
He handed in a transfer and as such should be open to whatever offers we are happy with, he cannot be allowed to choose where and when to go whenever he feels like it, if he knocks back any offers from down south, his true Hun colours will be shown.
Not disagreeing with you but he hasn't shown any signs on the pitch of not doing his job for Hibernian and that's where it counts. It's all about us being promoted this season.
06-08-2015, 04:04 PM
Sorry for being thick but was there not talk of a fourth offer earlier today? (one hun on swallowswallow suggesting it should be less than the third offer, because, um, that's going to do the trick, obv.)Yes, I thought someone had lost count as well.
06-08-2015, 04:06 PM
He's not going to The Rangers. If he doesn't want to go anywhere other than The Rangers, he is staying at Hibs this season...simples.
magpie1892
06-08-2015, 04:07 PM
Yes, I thought someone had lost count as well.
Ah, 5088 poised to make a fourth bid. My mistake.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/rangers-poised-to-make-fourth-bid-for-scott-allan-1-3850592
Can't wait to see what it is. It'll give me a giggle.
Doubtless King's millions will see them over the this time. As they don't say: 'fourth time lucky'.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/rangers-poised-to-make-fourth-bid-for-scott-allan-1-3850592
Can't wait to see what it is.
Someone on twitter suggested the 4th attempt won't be a cash bid, they'll be offering Hibs the "Mystery Box".
Stewboy
06-08-2015, 04:11 PM
We should say we would be happy to sell to you but need to see 7 years worth of accounts first to prove you can pay
Read AS on BBC web site today talking about Rangers and Allan, asked if Allan would start, he said it was up to him and his staff. Trying to read between the lines it sounds like Allan will be in the squad but if Stubbs can get away without playing him, he'll only be used as a sub, rather than a guaranteed starter.
06-08-2015, 04:23 PM
Of course Rotherham could simply have not met Hibs asking price so didn't even get to talk to the player? Just because they are not interested does not mean Scott Allan has turned them down :agree:
Rotherham manager said Allan's representatives made it clear that he was not interested in leaving Scotland.
Matty_Jack04
06-08-2015, 04:27 PM
Read AS on BBC web site today talking about Rangers and Allan, asked if Allan would start, he said it was up to him and his staff. Trying to read between the lines it sounds like Allan will be in the squad but if Stubbs can get away without playing him, he'll only be used as a sub, rather than a guaranteed starter.
Until the window shuts and SA realises he's here for the season he'll be on the bench IMO he's not going to the Rangers no matter how much he stamps his feet he'll know this as well as we do now but his request is still in no matter how good a player he is its bad management to play a guy who wants away in front of another who wants the jersey.
Until the window shuts and he screws the nut he'll be benched
06-08-2015, 04:28 PM
Hard to argue with that line of thinking. His "career" to date suggests he's not the brightest spark, with poor advisors. At 23 he should be concentrating on playing his best football, pushing for higher recognition and a Scotland spot. instead, he's transfixed on playing for a team he supported as a kid at cost to himself, his current employers and the fans who've supported him. Daft rather than malicious, I reckon.
Don't know if that's entirely the case. Could have gone to Rangers from WBA but rejected them for Hibs and Stubbs. Either his head has been turned by them since, or he didn't rate the McCoist regime. Also just had a kid, could be a case of Mrs saying, "I'm staying put - get more dosh." The Huns are always daft enough to promise money they can't afford.
06-08-2015, 04:28 PM
Until the window shuts and SA realises he's here for the season he'll be on the bench IMO he's not going to the Rangers no matter how much he stamps his feet he'll know this as well as we do now but his request is still in no matter how good a player he is its bad management to play a guy who wants away in front of another who wants the jersey.
I expect him to start on Saturday...
magpie1892
06-08-2015, 04:35 PM
Someone on twitter suggested the 4th attempt won't be a cash bid, they'll be offering Hibs the "Mystery Box".
Ooh, that sounds exciting. What ever could be in it?
Matty_Jack04
06-08-2015, 04:36 PM
I expect him to start on Saturday...
I'd be very surprised, I'd be delighted if he was to play to his full ability and give everything but I'm not so sure we can count on that until it's no longer possible for him to leave
Matty_Jack04
06-08-2015, 04:37 PM
Darren macgregor......cause he's a hibby and we're the only team he's ever wanted to play for
06-08-2015, 04:46 PM
Darren macgregor......cause he's a hibby and we're the only team he's ever wanted to play for
I heard Hibs put in a bid of £3.50 and a packet of Monster Munch.
06-08-2015, 04:48 PM
Don't know if that's entirely the case. Could have gone to Rangers from WBA but rejected them for Hibs and Stubbs. Either his head has been turned by them since, or he didn't rate the McCoist regime. Also just had a kid, could be a case of Mrs saying, "I'm staying put - get more dosh." The Huns are always daft enough to promise money they can't afford.
He didn't turn The Rangers down. They didn't think he was better than they had so didn't offer him a deal. That makes his decision worse as far as I am concerned. Not good enough till we give him a chance then they show how desperate they are to sign him up without making a realistic bid for him.
Chibs
06-08-2015, 04:55 PM
Monopoly money.:greengrin
06-08-2015, 05:03 PM
The box would have to be marked FRAGILE.
06-08-2015, 05:15 PM
What flavour though?
06-08-2015, 05:21 PM
What flavour though?
Pickled Hunyin
06-08-2015, 05:21 PM
What flavour though?
Pickled Hunion.
06-08-2015, 05:23 PM
I win
The Leith Dutch
06-08-2015, 05:30 PM
We'll be giving them the Monster Munch in installments though right?
06-08-2015, 05:45 PM
They are alleged to be paying Danny Wilson £5K pw rising to £8K on promotion. If their other new signings are on similar then there might not be a new Huns for Allan to sign with in January. :wink:
Wonder if he was a boyhood fan of the New New Huns? :greengrin
I heard Darren McGregor was on 4k rising to 6k if they got promoted that's why he chose them over Hearts
Nitten Hibee
06-08-2015, 06:18 PM
Did anyone see the peter and roughie show?
Unanimously supporting Hibs stance on this and telling Scott to remember where he was 18 months ago, good too see 👍
Do they no realise this show goes out in the weedge 😜
https://youtu.be/cSJAUekJoXc from 13.40
1875Sean
06-08-2015, 06:21 PM
I heard Darren McGregor was on 4k rising to 6k if they got promoted that's why he chose them over Hearts
Silly money, plus he wouldnt get in the team
06-08-2015, 06:22 PM
id be stunned if McGregor was anywhere near that...2 - 2.5k per week max....
06-08-2015, 06:27 PM
Can't wait to see what it is. It'll give me a giggle.
Doubtless King's millions will see them over the this time. As they don't say: 'fourth time lucky'.
Cannae be a serious bid as they haven't mentioned the rangers "swooping" all serious transfer business requires a"swoop".
The daily ****** would never have made this schoolboy error.
Maybe worth hibs putting in a bid for Kenny Miller, after all every season we have speculation about him rejoining his boyhood favourities.:greengrin
06-08-2015, 06:40 PM
For anyone who missed this last night, I know it was quite late when I posted it. :greengrin
Just a wee tip - make sure you watch it with the sound up! :faf:
Newcastlehibby
06-08-2015, 06:50 PM
For anyone who missed this last night, I know it was quite late when I posted it. :greengrin
Brilliant.:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:flag::fla g::flag:
gaz1875
06-08-2015, 06:51 PM
Too funny :faf:
06-08-2015, 07:05 PM
Maybe worth hibs putting in a bid for Kenny Miller, after all every season we have speculation about him rejoining his boyhood favourities.:greengrin
Bloody hell no 😨 they might except 😣
06-08-2015, 07:08 PM
Well he's turned up ok in his two performances to date. What's changed in your opinion?
06-08-2015, 07:15 PM
Nonsense. If that guy is your main man and his form isn't sufferring he has to play. We can't afford not to play our best player. And I thought his request had bern rejected - so how is it "still in"?
06-08-2015, 07:18 PM
I'd be very surprised, I'd be delighted if he was to play to his full ability and give everything but I'm not so sure we can count on that until it's no longer possible for him to leave
Did you not see him on Saturday? If that's him in first gear he'll do for me.
06-08-2015, 07:24 PM
Well he's turned up ok in his two performances to date. What's changed in your opinion?
Nothing has changed but if it does he knows where he can sit.
06-08-2015, 07:48 PM
A post-dated IOU.
06-08-2015, 08:50 PM
so funny even der hun would laugh at that.
Greenworld
06-08-2015, 09:20 PM
I understand the feeling on SA but im not for benching him.
I want to get of to a great start in the league and that involves all our best players playing.
thats the best way to hurt rangers playing him and winning games.
Rotherham manager said Allan's representatives made it clear that he was not interested in leaving Scotland.
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Greenworld
06-08-2015, 09:26 PM
I agree, only 3 week ago in La Manga he stated he was seeing out his contract and he wanted another bash at England, if he now only wishes to play for Rangers then I say let him rot for a season, subject to his performances that is. League reconstruction seems to be moving along swiftly and TBH it now looks like this season will just be one of seeing it out and making sure we're in the places for addition to the new set up. Lets see what a year away from 1st team football will do to his Rangers ambitions, would they want him then?
He handed in a transfer and as such should be open to whatever offers we are happy with, he cannot be allowed to choose where and when to go whenever he feels like it, if he knocks back any offers from down south, his true Hun colours will be shown.
Is that wishful thinking on the reconstruction
OsloHibs
06-08-2015, 09:28 PM
:aok: Brilliant!
06-08-2015, 11:17 PM
What's the point of having him on the bench 😕 that's just plain daft
He's going to be here to make sure we try and get up this season and having him on the bench is just nuts 😮
Is that wishful thinking on the reconstruction
There's been a lot of talk about it and with Rod being high up there with the SFA he maybe knows a thing or two but tbh I was just putting another edge to all that's been going on, thinking out loud so to speak, if re construction is on the cards, then winning the league won't be as important.
Would love to see a larger top league but I'd be very disappointed if anyone at Hibs was looking at this as a way out. Complete focus on winning the games in front of us is required to bring the lapsed fans back, if nothing else.
07-08-2015, 05:52 AM
I understand the feeling on SA but im not for benching him.
I want to get of to a great start in the league and that involves all our best players playing.
thats the best way to hurt rangers playing him and winning games.
One hundred percent. I have no interest in what SA wants and how we shoukd hurt him or his career. So what he wants to move. Hes not getting his move. Start the boy as he is top notch and works wonders for us in the middle of the park.
07-08-2015, 07:02 AM
One hundred percent. I have no interest in what SA wants and how we shoukd hurt him or his career. So what he wants to move. Hes not getting his move. Start the boy as he is top notch and works wonders for us in the middle of the park.
:agree: Treat him like any other player and if he's not doing the business he can be substituted. The footballer in him wil come out on top.
07-08-2015, 08:36 AM
Guranteed to be another hun bid today to try and disrupt our preperation for tomorrow. **** them
Matty_Jack04
07-08-2015, 09:17 AM
Nonsense. If that guy is your main man and his form isn't sufferring he has to play. We can't afford not to play our best player. And I thought his request had bern rejected - so how is it "still in"?
his request hasnt been rejected i thought the fact we where in talks with rotherham and stubbs saying he doesnt know if he'll be here for the year but 'what he does know is he isnt going to rangers' would have gave you a clue, we'll sell him just not to rangers if its only rangers he wants to play for he could withdraw his request and see his year out as planned.
Did you not see him on Saturday? If that's him in first gear he'll do for me.
yeah i seen him against....montrose :aok:
07-08-2015, 09:27 AM
his request hasnt been rejected i thought the fact we where in talks with rotherham and stubbs saying he doesnt know if he'll be here for the year but 'what he does know is he isnt going to rangers' would have gave you a clue, we'll sell him just not to rangers if its only rangers he wants to play for he could withdraw his request and see his year out as planned.
yeah i seen him against....montrose :aok:
Ah right. So he stands out against them but you reckon he somehow wouldn't show up against higher quality opposition? Aye, right then.
Also, every player has their price - whether they're on the transfer list or not.
07-08-2015, 10:19 AM
Loving Stubbsy in EEN today...get them telt Stubbsy. Great having a manager that speaks out. has a great wee dig at the weedgie media too :)
07-08-2015, 10:47 AM
http://captiongenerator.com/53455/Ro...in-Scott-Allan (http://captiongenerator.com/53455/Rods-response-to-Sevcos-interest-in-Scott-Allan)
Great!!!
snedzuk
07-08-2015, 11:04 AM
Loving Stubbsy in EEN today...get them telt Stubbsy. Great having a manager that speaks out. has a great wee dig at the weedgie media too :)
Just read this article and its finally persuaded me that Hibernian Football Club has irreversibly changed for the better - so thank you Alan Stubbs and Leeann Dempster - HSL membership done.
Mcpakeisgod
07-08-2015, 11:21 AM
Great words from Stubbs, top marks
07-08-2015, 05:13 PM
http://captiongenerator.com/53455/Ro...in-Scott-Allan (http://captiongenerator.com/53455/Rods-response-to-Sevcos-interest-in-Scott-Allan)
Great!!!
Good eh!? :faf:
07-08-2015, 05:20 PM
Great!!!
PMSL :faf:
07-08-2015, 05:22 PM
Good eh!? :faf:
Brilliant. Did you make that, Trig?
07-08-2015, 05:44 PM
Brilliant. Did you make that, Trig?
I did yeah.
Clearly too much time on my hands! :greengrin
07-08-2015, 05:46 PM
I did yeah.
Great job, superb.
07-08-2015, 05:48 PM
I did yeah.
07-08-2015, 05:51 PM
Great job, superb.
Cheers! :aok:
07-08-2015, 05:54 PM
Cheers! :aok:
Is it supposed to have subtitles?
07-08-2015, 05:55 PM
Is it supposed to have subtitles?
Yes, English subtitles.
07-08-2015, 05:56 PM
Yes, English subtitles.
Is this not the same video that had subtitles a few months back?
07-08-2015, 05:57 PM
Just read this article and its finally persuaded me that Hibernian Football Club has irreversibly changed for the better - so thank you Alan Stubbs and Leeann Dempster - HSL membership done.
07-08-2015, 05:58 PM
Is this not the same video that had subtitles a few months back?
Not sure, it is quite a popular one for making funny videos though due to the amount of hysterical laughing the guy does.
07-08-2015, 06:04 PM
Not sure, it is quite a popular one for making funny videos though due to the amount of hysterical laughing the guy does.
http://youtu.be/sMF5RnCelFE
07-08-2015, 06:08 PM
Yes, English subtitles.
I thought that - can see the text before playing the video but they don't appear on the video.
07-08-2015, 06:17 PM
I did yeah.
Gold Star :top marks
I have watched many versions of this clip, but this one takes the biscuit :greengrin
07-08-2015, 06:25 PM
http://youtu.be/sMF5RnCelFE
Funniest thing ever :giruy2:
07-08-2015, 06:51 PM
I thought that - can see the text before playing the video but they don't appear on the video.
Strange.
It works fine for me any time i've watched it. :confused:
07-08-2015, 07:02 PM
Strange.
It works fine for me any time i've watched it. :confused:
Aye, fine for me, too.
07-08-2015, 07:04 PM
just watched Russ Abbott being interviewed on bt sport before the newhun game,its the first time he's not mentioned Scott Allan
07-08-2015, 07:07 PM
just watched Russ Abbott being interviewed on bt sport before the newhun game,its the first time he's not mentioned Scott Allan
Made me chuckle.
07-08-2015, 07:09 PM
Nor me ????
07-08-2015, 07:11 PM
"Oh what an atmosphere. He loves a stadium with a bigoted atmosphere".
Disshibee
07-08-2015, 07:45 PM
"Oh what an atmosphere. He loves a stadium with a bigoted atmosphere".
Anyone else notice the bike parked against the wall in the trophy room!
Capt Mainwaring
07-08-2015, 07:55 PM
Yep - that where I'm at. If Stubbs believes he's fit and able to play then he plays, and I'll support him the same way as any other player in a Hibs jersey
We can't let Hun tactics deprive us of a key asset as long as he's on our books
SuperAllyMcleod
07-08-2015, 08:11 PM
I'm sure the previous club that used to play at Ibrox won that and it is a trophy - can't remember what for, probably most penalties given in a season or something similar.
07-08-2015, 08:12 PM
Yep - that where I'm at. If Stubbs believes he's fit and able to play then he plays, and I'll support him the same way as any other player in a Hibs jersey
We can't let Hun tactics deprive us of a key asset as long as he's on our books
I couldn't agree more with this post, to be honest. I'm not happy that Allan put in a transfer request but now that it's been declined, and it looks like he's staying at Hibs, then I want him playing well in the side and helping us to win the league.
That's the crux of it as far as I'm concerned. There'll be plenty time to give him pelters next season, this season he gets my backing completely while he's on the pitch.
Matty_Jack04
07-08-2015, 08:25 PM
Ah right. So he stands out against them but you reckon he somehow wouldn't show up against higher quality opposition? Aye, right then.
Also, every player has their price - whether they're on the transfer list or not.
It would show a little good faith for him to withdraw the request though wouldn't it, that's all I'm saying he's not going where he wants too till next summer would it be too much to ask him to hold his hands up accept it and withdraw his request?
As for him performing all I've said is at this moment in time with the window open and him and his advisors doing what they can to engineer a move he should be benched, how would someone like McGinn feel signing on for 4years and being over looked for a guy with more faces than Big Ben wanting to leave the first opportunity he gets after saying he's happy to see out his contract?
He might have stood out last week but the previous week you barely noticed he came on IMO
magpie1892
07-08-2015, 08:28 PM
I'm sure the previous club that used to play at Ibrox won that and it is a trophy - can't remember what for, probably most penalties given in a season or something similar.
It was a gift from, I think, St Etienne (not the band). Probably an early attempt on their part to initiate an anti-obesity drive in Govan.
After Craig Whyte, the 'billionaire, wealth off the radar' sold RFC's shares in Arsenal and pocketed the money, someone removed the bike for a while so that he couldn't sell that too, and replaced it when Whyte had to leave the building after adding to his billions by defrauding Ticketus. Then it got put back.
SuperAllyMcleod
07-08-2015, 08:46 PM
It was a gift from, I think, St Etienne (not the band). Probably an early attempt on their part to initiate an anti-obesity drive in Govan.
After Craig Whyte, the 'billionaire, wealth off the radar' sold RFC's shares in Arsenal and pocketed the money, someone removed the bike for a while so that he couldn't sell that too, and replaced it when Whyte had to leave the building after adding to his billions by defrauding Ticketus. Then it got put back.
Thanks for the full explanation - I knew there was a story behind it.
Ronster117
07-08-2015, 08:51 PM
I think it was because they don't do walking away..... A bike is quicker
07-08-2015, 10:19 PM
Try clicking on this link first and then choose the top video.
http://captiongenerator.com/search/sevco
It might work if you go to the search results page first. :dunno:
08-08-2015, 12:04 AM
I hope he starts.
08-08-2015, 06:06 AM
Great!!!
Good job!
wills
08-08-2015, 07:33 AM
A
Yes Leaanne and Alan sent it to them after their third bid for SA
08-08-2015, 09:26 AM
SA has told Rotherham he doesn't fancy a move there. Is that true?
Apparently he's changed his mind about having another crack down south, seemingly only wants to stay in Scotland now, the laddie has no ambition at all.
08-08-2015, 10:25 AM
Apparently he's changed his mind about having another crack down south, seemingly only wants to stay in Scotland now, the laddie has no ambition at all.
Or possibly his agent has said so.
There is that, only people to trust in this whole sorry affair are LD and AS.
08-08-2015, 10:36 AM
do you honestly think the agent would say so without the consent of his client
08-08-2015, 10:42 AM
All I've got to say today is this:
I hope Scott Allan plays for Hibs,today, plays his part in a Hibs win.
All you cool cats speculating can keep doing that. But watch it doesn't get in the way of The Part That Really Matters - enjoyable football from a Hibs team that is worth supporting right now.
Let's get behind the team, every one of them
08-08-2015, 10:54 AM
Not just Rotherham but the whole of England allegedly. What a chronic lack of ambition. Sad stuff. Complete contradiction to what he said a few weeks ago as well about wanting another crack down south. More faces than a clock shop.
08-08-2015, 11:20 AM
I don't think it's a lack of ambition, but more of a flavour of the month statement. It suits him to cosy up to Sevco in the present climate. When the time is right in the future and he's fallen out of love with them he'll return to his desire to play down south again.
08-08-2015, 11:26 AM
Not just Rotherham but the whole of England allegedly. What a chronic lack of ambition. Sad stuff. Complete contradiction to what he said a few weeks ago as well about wanting another crack down south. More faces than a clock shop.
Playing devils advocate here, I've got a young son and if I was offered 3x my salary to move down south I'd turn it down as I'd rather see my laddie grow up. Maybe that's why he doesn't want to go down south?
Nelly070
08-08-2015, 11:33 AM
Playing devils advocate here, I've got a young son and if I was offered 3x my salary to move down south I'd turn it down as I'd rather see my laddie grow up. Maybe that's why he doesn't want to go down south?
Yes but he could take his family with him !
08-08-2015, 11:34 AM
I agree with you and I actually think that that is what this is all about.
His life has changed a wee bit since he became a Dad.
He's got an opportunity (as he sees it) to work a lot closer to home, to get more wages and I think the "play for the club he supports" is actually quite far down his list of priorities.
Last year he'd have jumped at the chance to move South but now his priorities have changed.
I still want to see him stay. See where he is this time next year. If he does the business for us then I'm sure their interest will still be there if that's still where he wants to go.
08-08-2015, 11:39 AM
FFS it is England, not China. :greengrin
EH6 Hibby
08-08-2015, 11:46 AM
His son had already been born when he gave the interview with BBC talking about wanting to go down south again.
08-08-2015, 12:18 PM
I agree with you and I actually think that that is what this is all about.
His life has changed a wee bit since he became a Dad.
He's got an opportunity (as he sees it) to work a lot closer to home, to get more wages and I think the "play for the club he supports" is actually quite far down his list of priorities.
Last year he'd have jumped at the chance to move South but now his priorities have changed.
I still want to see him stay. See where he is this time next year. If he does the business for us then I'm sure their interest will still be there if that's still where he wants to go.
I get all that. I wish he (and his partner??) had the ambition for him to push his career as far as possible, but understand the attraction of building a comfortable life for his family in Glasgow.
That being the case though, it really was very stupid to hand in a transfer request. It has done nothing for him at all, other than sour the relationship with his current club.
08-08-2015, 12:22 PM
Thats easy to say when it isnt happening to you
08-08-2015, 12:46 PM
Thats easy to say when it isnt happening to you
Maybe but I'm guessing most of us could earn more money working in London or further afield, the fact we choose not too isn't a sign of a lack of ambition, it's just other priorities.
Anyway, I'm not wanting to get too defensive about his behaviour as he's treating us shockingly bad, I just find the lack of ambition argument annoying.
I get all that. I wish he (and his partner??) had the ambition for him to push his career as far as possible, but understand the attraction of building a comfortable life for his family in Glasgow.
That being the case though, it really was very stupid to hand in a transfer request. It has done nothing for him at all, other than sour the relationship with his current club.
Scott Allans mind spins in the wind. When he went to WBA ...
SCOTT ALLAN admits he turned his back on boyhood heroes Rangers because he refuses to endure the pressure of playing in Glasgow.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/im-a-rangers-fan-but-i-couldnt-stand-1113508#ICID=sharebar_facebook
08-08-2015, 01:49 PM
John Collins here. Watching Allan?
08-08-2015, 01:55 PM
I would say that's the only reasonable explanation.
Probably watching for Griffiths!
08-08-2015, 02:00 PM
I would say that's the only reasonable explanation.
He's not.
08-08-2015, 02:02 PM
He's not.
Who is not what?
08-08-2015, 02:53 PM
Who is not what?
John Collins. He said before the game he hopes Hibs can hang on to him.
09-08-2015, 03:11 PM
I feel it's time to sell him, even it is to sevco. It is apparent that it is affecting the rest of the squad. Someone on radio 5 was talking about De Gea and his situation with Man U, his wanting to leave is like an illness, and you treat an illness by cutting it out or getting rid of it. We take the money and buy someone who wants to be at our club. When I see our fans arguing amongst themselves because of one player it is time for him to leave. NOT ONE PLAYER IS BIGGER OR MORE IMPORTANT THAN HIBERNIAN FC.
liamh2202
09-08-2015, 03:13 PM
I feel it's time to sell him, even it is to sevco. It is apparent that it is affecting the rest of the squad. Someone on radio 5 was talking about De Gea and his situation with Man U, his wanting to leave is like an illness, and you treat an illness by cutting it out or getting rid of it. We take the money and buy someone who wants to be at our club. When I see our fans arguing amongst themselves because of one player it is time for him to leave. NOT ONE PLAYER IS BIGGER OR MORE IMPORTANT THAN HIBERNIAN FC.
If it wasnt him they would argue about something else , happened for years
09-08-2015, 03:32 PM
I don't see much argument between Hibs fans over SA. Most of the arguments are caused by the general lack of ability of the whole team. Is this the start of a complete U turn in the mindset of Hibs supporters? I hope not, as our meagre chance of pipping Sevco at the post will instantly become no chance if we lose SA to them, not to mention the utter humiliation for Stubbs and Dempster.
The Leith Dutch
09-08-2015, 03:35 PM
I feel it's time to sell him, even it is to sevco. It is apparent that it is affecting the rest of the squad.
I agree with the sentiment that not one player is bigger than the club but disagree with the above.
Selling our best player to Sevco would be an act of lunacy and selling SA at all would be second prize for the tribute act as it deprives us of our best player.
As for affecting the rest of the squad - I'm sure they're aware of it but if they're so mentally weak that the proposed transfer of one of their team mates can affect the ability of moderately well paid professional footballers to dispose of a part time team then the resolution of the SA transfer saga is the least of our worries.....
Unfortunately the dynamic is changing already. If hibs had, as was hoped, hit the road running and shown that rangers would be pushed hard for the title, SA might just might have buckled down and done the business, but now rangers could like hearts be out of site come October, making a pre contract in Jan a no brainer for SA. Then what do hibs do, take a much reduced offer or let him run down his contract to no benefit for hibs?
09-08-2015, 03:44 PM
Or possibly another Hibs player.
09-08-2015, 03:47 PM
Or possibly another Hibs player.
Scott Martin...
The Leith Dutch
09-08-2015, 03:47 PM
Unfortunately the dynamic is changing already. If hibs had, as was hoped, hit the road running and shown that rangers would be pushed hard for the title, SA might just might have buckled down and done the business, but now rangers could like hearts be out of site come October, making a pre contract in Jan a no brainer for SA. Then what do hibs do, take a much reduced offer or let him run down his contract to no benefit for hibs?
Not having a go here but is your alternative really to assume we're going to have lost the league by October so we better take a derisory offer from sevco as we'll lose him for nothing in 12 months?
All that on the back of losing a league game and a game in the diddy diddy cup and having seen Allan perform pretty well in the games he's played.
09-08-2015, 03:58 PM
And once he signs that pre contract, his head will be elsewhere and we will have a player who might not give us 100% for the last few months of the season, or he might, but he has shown his colours and you would have to drop him for the games against them for starters.
Not having a go here but is your alternative really to assume we're going to have lost the league by October so we better take a derisory offer from sevco as we'll lose him for nothing in 12 months?
All that on the back of losing a league game and a game in the diddy diddy cup and having seen Allan perform pretty well in the games he's played.
No offence taken, I am merely looking at a situation that appears to be developing. A number of posters have pointed out that SA played well for 60 mins then switched off, hibs, for all it was the 'diddy' cup performed poorly in what was a competive game against our main rival, then defeat to a part time team if, and yes it maybe a big if, it continues as is we could be facing the same situation as last season then SA could be a problem.
gorgie greens
09-08-2015, 05:16 PM
De gea value has went up £10 million in that time ,they can have SA but they need to talk seven figures about 1.5 mill n he can go ,so put up or shut up
Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
09-08-2015, 06:12 PM
Scott Martin...
09-08-2015, 06:28 PM
Celtic aren't looking for a new number 4 goalie are they? We've got one that fulfilled that role at an EPL club...
09-08-2015, 07:35 PM
And once he signs that pre contract, his head will be elsewhere and we will have a player who might not give us 100% for the last few months of the season, or he might, but he has shown his colours and you would have to drop him for the games against them for starters.
Can you imagine a full house at ibrox if they go a goal up ,It will be continuous He's one of our own etc would love to think we won't let them take the lead but I wish this game was after the window shut to S A situation was at least sorted till next window ,and to give our injured player s some game time to get match fit
But they get St Mirren and hibs first two home games Almost as if someone knew that would guarantee them two sell outs to boost their coffers
09-08-2015, 07:39 PM
Can you imagine a full house at ibrox if they go a goal up ,It will be continuous He's one of our own etc would love to think we won't let them take the lead but I wish this game was after the window shut to S A situation was at least sorted till next window ,and to give our injured player s some game time to get match fit
But they get St Mirren and hibs first two home games Almost as if someone knew that would guarantee them two sell outs to boost their coffers
Fully expect a FINAL FINAL offer from Rangers on 20th August.
Stuarty27
09-08-2015, 07:43 PM
It's time to sell him.
I've been Allan's biggest fan since he has been here, at one point Danderhallhibs used to argue Liam Craig was a better player!!
However it's clear he doesn't want to be here, even tho he tried yesterday I just felt his heart wasn't in it second half.
Sell hm fir 500k, use the cash to get McGeough and we can all move on.
Personally I think we will finish 2nd and Rangers will run away with it,,so who cares if he goes to them, the money we get will make up for the lack of season ticket sales and we can have a shot at the play offs
09-08-2015, 07:44 PM
Probably, but Hibs should tell them to shove it up their arse, again, no matter how much it is. It will never be enough anyway that's for sure.
09-08-2015, 07:45 PM
It's time to sell him.
I've been Allan's biggest fan since he has benn here, at one point Danderhallhibs used to argue Liam Craig was a better player!!
However it's clear he doesn't want to be here, even tho he tried yesterday I just felt his heart wasn't in it second half.
Personally I think we will finish 2nd and Rangers will run away with it,,so who cares if he goes to them, the money we get will make up for the lack of season ticket sales.
Too much has been said for him to go to the rangers, regardless of how much sense it makes.
Selling him bow would send the message we're giving up on the title.
liamh2202
09-08-2015, 07:46 PM
Too much has been said for him to go to the rangers, regardless of how much sense it makes.
Selling him bow would send the message we're giving up on the title.
This and the fact they can afford him
09-08-2015, 07:50 PM
It's time to sell him.
I've been Allan's biggest fan since he has been here, at one point Danderhallhibs used to argue Liam Craig was a better player!!
Personally I think we will finish 2nd and Rangers will run away with it,,so who cares if he goes to them, the money we get will make up for the lack of season ticket sales and we can have a shot at the play offs
If SA doesn't want to move, then we can't sell him.....We won't however be selling him to the Govan bigots..........
09-08-2015, 07:56 PM
If SA doesn't want to move, then we can't sell him.....We won't however be selling him to the Govan bigots..........
He needs to be benched until he publicly withdraws his transfer request though.
I wouldn't leave him in the stand when we may need him on the pitch, he'd be a terrific impact player to bring on.
coco22
09-08-2015, 07:58 PM
Totally agree. A Hun friend of mine is convinced that he will join them on deadline day for an undisclosed fee - he has been correct in the past but think he's miles off on this one. Offer...yes, accepted...no
09-08-2015, 08:00 PM
He needs to be benched until he publicly withdraws his transfer request though.
I wouldn't leave him in the stand when we may need him on the pitch, he'd be a terrific impact player to bring on.
His request was turned down, does he really need to retract it?
liamh2202
09-08-2015, 08:02 PM
No he doesn't imo it would make no difference
09-08-2015, 08:02 PM
Yes, in my opinion to build relations with the club and it's supporters I think he does.
09-08-2015, 08:06 PM
Yes, in my opinion to build relations with the club and it's supporters I think he does.
And if he stays, and signs a pre-contact with derhun, relationships will be broken again....
09-08-2015, 08:07 PM
:agree: Agreed.
Stuarty27
09-08-2015, 08:07 PM
All Stubbs has to say is he has been a distributive influence in the dressing room. Yes some fans will be angry for abit, but we will move on just like the time Fletch, Brown, Whittaker, Thommo, Darren Jackson, Stokes etc were sold.
At the end of the day, we got him for free and to sell him for half a million makes good business sense.
As I said previously, use the cash to get McGeough and we can all move on.
Its clear this is effecting the rest of the players.
You never know it might galvanize the rest of the squad and we maybe push the huns closer with him in our team.
09-08-2015, 08:10 PM
Watched the game on Friday night R, was quite surprised to see it packed out but it looks like they are backing the bread man and decided to turn around and are walking back now, hate to say it but the bread man has put together a decent side in his short time at the club and they will win this league like the tramps did last year.
As for Allan, and the game at Greyskull, I really don't think Stubbs has any other option but to leave him out for this game, just guessing here, but i bet we here of something like a bust up between player and manager a few days before this game or some other bull S*** from the press, agent leaking stories to the press, it will all get ramped up straight after the Morton game.
Lets be honest here, Stubbs has said the right things to the press about SA, he is our player/ we won't sell to them/not for sale, all the good work preparing for the season and a bit positivity coming from the club and fans, all gone down to the SA saga, Stubbs and Dempster must be f***ing fuming with him that he has caused all this unrest at the club but can't give there honest opinion about it. :greengrin
liamh2202
09-08-2015, 08:11 PM
All Stubbs has to say is he has been a distributive influence in the dressing room. Yes some fans will be angry for abit, but we will move on just like the time Fletch, Brown, Whittaker, Thommo, Darren Jackson, Stokes etc were sold.
At the end of the day, we got him for free and to sell him for half a million makes good business sense.
As I said previously, use the cash to get McGeough and we can all move on.
You never know it might galvanize the rest of the squad and we maybe push the huns closer with him in our team.
No one has offered anywhere near half a million tho?
09-08-2015, 08:12 PM
And if he stays, and signs a pre-contact with derhun, relationships will be broken again....
Would clear the air until then though and that's not an insignificant period of time. We can worry about it again in January.
09-08-2015, 08:16 PM
Watched the game on Friday night R, was quite surprised to see it packed out but it looks like they are backing the bread man and decided to turn around and are walking back now, hate to say it but the bread man has put together a decent side in his short time at the club and they will win this league like the tramps did last year.
As for Allan, and the game at Greyskull, I really don't think Stubbs has any other option but to leave him out for this game, just guessing here, but i bet we here of something like a bust up between player and manager a few days before this game or some other bull S*** from the press, agent leaking stories to the press, it will all get ramped up straight after the Morton game.
Lets be honest here, Stubbs has said the right things to the press about SA, he is our player/ we won't sell to them/not for sale, all the good work preparing for the season and a bit positivity coming from the club and fans, all gone down to the SA saga, Stubbs and Dempster must be f***ing fuming with him that he has caused all this unrest at the club but can't give there honest opinion about it. :greengrin
I certainly wouldn't start him at Ibrox, too much of a circus show if this were to happen. This game is far too important for any side show
09-08-2015, 08:20 PM
Would clear the air until then though and that's not an insignificant period of time. We can worry about it again in January.
Then another 4 months of hysteria thereafter?
09-08-2015, 08:21 PM
Would start him every game while he is still a Hibs player
09-08-2015, 08:25 PM
Then another 4 months of hysteria thereafter?
As long as there's hysteria I'd keep him on the bench and only use him when needed. He'd have to decide in January whether it'd be worthwhile for him to cause a fuss again or not.
09-08-2015, 08:30 PM
The 'best mate' selling a story to the papers is sickening for me. Did SA ask him to do this or was it their mutual agent? Whoever it was- it was utter unprofessional, but it sums up this whole farce.
09-08-2015, 08:39 PM
As long as there's hysteria I'd keep him on the bench and only use him when needed. He'd have to decide in January whether it'd be worthwhile for him to cause a fuss again or not.
If he signed pre-contract, it would cause a real hullabaloo....He could just sign after his contact ends to avoid unnecessary grief?
09-08-2015, 08:40 PM
The 'best mate' selling a story to the papers is sickening for me. Did SA ask him to do this or was it their mutual agent? Whoever it was- it was utter unprofessional, but it sums up this whole farce.
Poor from Halliday and poor from the media, they love pandering to the orcs
09-08-2015, 08:45 PM
If he signed pre-contract, it would cause a real hullabaloo....He could just sign after his contact ends to avoid unnecessary grief?
I'd suspect this would be the case. If he has his heart set on moving to Ibrox and Rangers want him, then is there any need for a pre contract?