View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2024/25
27-11-2024, 12:02 PM
Confirmed in (1):
Alasana Manneh, three and a half years (midfielder, OB)
Confirmed new contracts (1):
Rudi Molotnikov (four and a half years)
Confirmed returned from loan (3):
Murray Aiken
Reuben McAllister
Rory Whittaker
Confirmed out (5):
Luke Amos
Jake Doyle-Hayes
Josh Landers (West Ham)
Harry McKirdy
Josh O'Connor (Crusaders)
Confirmed out on loan (1):
Nohan Kenneh (Ross County)
27-11-2024, 12:02 PM
An incredibly important transfer window.
27-11-2024, 12:03 PM
NMW is a rumoured out?
27-11-2024, 12:10 PM
NMW is a rumoured out?
I haven't read anything myself but I guess you could argue anyone that isn't playing now are rumoured to be at least wanted out the club.
27-11-2024, 12:11 PM
I haven't read anything myself but I guess you could argue anyone that isn't playing now are rumoured to be at least wanted out the club.
Aye, suppose so. Personally I'd be playing NMW before Triantis and Kwon. Our player and is 100% more mobile than Triantis.
Just noticed he didn't even make the bench again last night, behind JDH it seems. So will no doubt be looking for a move.
Mcbizz1998
27-11-2024, 12:14 PM
If this link up with Bournemouth is worth anything then we should be getting Will Dennis?
Trinity Hibee
27-11-2024, 12:15 PM
If this link up with Bournemouth is worth anything then we should be getting Will Dennis?
You’d think so. I’d hope that deal is already setup and he’s in the door as soon as the window opens
27-11-2024, 12:16 PM
Aye, suppose so. Personally I'd be playing NMW before Triantis and Kwon. Our player and is 100% more mobile than Triantis.
Yeah don't disagree with that logic to be honest. Triantis doesn't do it for me and Kwon seems to have fallen out of favour as well but still ahead of NMW.
Not sure if it's all on Gray or a mix of club and him but it does seem like once your tea is oot at the moment you're well and truly finished. Guys like Kenneh, NMW, and Amos all seem to be bombed out entirely. Whereas guys like Levitt, McKirdy, and JDH are pretty much done but still needed for match day squads. A worrying place to be when we have to call upon any of them similarly to Butcher with Taiwo and Thomson etc.
27-11-2024, 12:17 PM
Really hope so. Recall Jebbison from Watford and send him our way as well.
Donegal Hibby
27-11-2024, 12:28 PM
You’d think so. I’d hope that deal is already setup and he’s in the door as soon as the window opens
Not trying to be negative though I just can’t see that happening at all … firstly he was doing well at Killie and McInnes tried to get him back on another loan which Bournemouth didn’t want … secondly he’s been on the bench for them and seems to be their third choice so unless they buy a keeper which they don’t need too I think it’s highly unlikely . Hope I’m wrong though.
27-11-2024, 12:35 PM
Not trying to be negative though I just can’t see that happening at all … firstly he was doing well at Killie and McInnes tried to get him back on another loan which Bournemouth didn’t want … secondly he’s been on the bench for them and seems to be their third choice so unless they buy a keeper which they don’t need too I think it’s highly unlikely . Hope I’m wrong though.
Don't think Bournemouth will be loaning players to our rivals any more. They could easily play a younger goalie on their bench.
Surely they want him playing games of football.
27-11-2024, 12:36 PM
Don't think Bournemouth will be loaning players to our rivals any more. They could easily play a younger goalie on their bench.
Surely they want him playing games of football.
Their only other goalie is 17.
27-11-2024, 12:37 PM
Their only other goalie is 17.
Get him on the bench then. Both the 17-year-old and Dennis are highly unlikely to get any game time.
27-11-2024, 12:43 PM
I'm with you DH. I think Dennis will probably sit as their third choice for the foreseeable future. Probably one to forget at this point.
AdidasHibernian
27-11-2024, 03:12 PM
Surely we get rid of JDH this window?
K-Zazu
27-11-2024, 03:21 PM
Who would want to sign Mckirdy?
27-11-2024, 03:35 PM
Luke Amos
Nohan Kenneh
Harry McKirdy
Nathan Moriah-Welsh
Christ. What a load of rubbish we have around the club.
27-11-2024, 03:37 PM
I'd take Les Dennis in goals right now
27-11-2024, 03:40 PM
Will it be third time lucky and we finally see Owen Bevan at Hibs? Not sure how lucky mind you, have never seen him play. Fact we've been in for him the last few windows means we must rate him.
Surely not still injured?
27-11-2024, 04:31 PM
Moriah Welsh is another really weird one under Gray
Featured loads at the start, hardly got a minute since Triantis and Kwon signed, put on in the derby and not seen again since
Hibees1973
27-11-2024, 05:13 PM
Surely we get rid of JDH this window?
Why?
Will only happen if we pay off the remainder of his contract in full. He is not fit to play for us, or anyone else for that matter.
Hibees1973
27-11-2024, 05:17 PM
Just a rumour, spoke to a guy at last nights game who told me Jair Tavares is on just over £5k a week.
Turns out Motherwell are only paying Hibs £500 a week, so we are still paying 90% of his wages.
If true, what a sad state of affairs.
NC1875
27-11-2024, 05:32 PM
Just a rumour, spoke to a guy at last nights game who told me Jair Tavares is on just over £5k a week.
Turns out Motherwell are only paying Hibs £500 a week, so we are still paying 90% of his wages.
He’s that bad we probably inserted a clause to say he HAS to play against us. Would certainly help at the weekend!
27-11-2024, 05:49 PM
I don’t think that’s true.
Was told through someone who knows a Motherwell scout that it’s 25% of his wages Motherwell are paying.
27-11-2024, 05:51 PM
Will it be third time lucky and we finally see Owen Bevan at Hibs? Not sure how lucky mind you, have never seen him play. Fact we've been in for him the last few windows means we must rate him.
Surely not still injured?
Bevan not worth it - been injured - not match fit - injury risk - young and not what we need for a relegation survival fight.
Mcbizz1998
27-11-2024, 05:56 PM
Not sure what relevance that has tbh? I’d be pretty miffed if Bournemouth started loaning players to our rivals.
27-11-2024, 05:56 PM
Bevan not worth it - been injured - not match fit - injury risk - young and not what we need for a relegation survival fight.
I’m the same and will be annoyed if we get the lad on loan. Seems to break down constantly
27-11-2024, 06:36 PM
Don't disagree with you. Just think we might go for him after being linked two windows in a row.
27-11-2024, 06:40 PM
Going after Bevan again would pretty much sum the place up.
Seems to be fairly injury prone, not exactly the experience proven standard we are crying out for.
one day maybe...
27-11-2024, 06:41 PM
Keeper , keeper, keeper we need a strong reliable keeper.. most important signing without a doubt
27-11-2024, 06:45 PM
Keeper , keeper, keeper we need a strong reliable keeper.. most important signing without a doubt
Agree but we are also the lowest scorers in the league although not sure last nights three change that Despitecplenty forward players no one is scoring regularly and we won’t know for certain when Bowie will be back fit and if he will say fit so can’t rely on him imo
AdidasHibernian
27-11-2024, 06:48 PM
Hopefully he is up here signing as soon as the window opens, then ideally he can be in squad for game against St Johnstone.
snedzuk
27-11-2024, 07:05 PM
Yeah don't disagree with that logic to be honest. Triantis doesn't do it for me and Kwon seems to have fallen out of favour as well but still ahead of NMW.
Not sure if it's all on Gray or a mix of club and him but it does seem like once your tea is oot at the moment you're well and truly finished. Guys like Kenneh, NMW, and Amos all seem to be bombed out entirely. Whereas guys like Levitt, McKirdy, and JDH are pretty much done but still needed for match day squads. A worrying place to be when we have to call upon any of them similarly to Butcher with Taiwo and Thomson etc.
McKirdy wasnt in last night, nor at Dundee. Don't know why. JDH was again the target of fan abuse last night ending in verbal exchanges then him booting over water bottles. Wouldn't totally surprise me if he thinks he now needs to leave (somehow).
Donegal Hibby
27-11-2024, 07:15 PM
Not sure what relevance that has tbh? I’d be pretty miffed if Bournemouth started loaning players to our rivals.
The relevance is that they had a player who was doing well , who was probably enjoying his football and happy enough there .. when his loan ended McInnes tried to get him back which Bournemouth didn’t want to do …
I suspect it was always their plan to involve him in their first team squad at 24 and he seems to be there third choice now .. why would they want to loan him out again and leave themselves short of a keeper?
With our connections with them now we might get asked like the rest of the clubs in the group if we want certain young players they have first but I doubt very much Dennis is one that’s available now .
27-11-2024, 07:20 PM
We need a goalkeeper and a manager at the very least ( make it two goalkeepers.. if we sign one he’s nailed on to get injured the first time he kicks it out)
a decent keeper and an experienced manager and Bowie and Ekoiteta back and we won’t get relegated
27-11-2024, 07:51 PM
Looks like Shankland is going to Rangers either on a pre contract or a small fee in January.
27-11-2024, 08:04 PM
McKirdy wasnt in last night, nor at Dundee. Don't know why. JDH was again the target of fan abuse last night ending in verbal exchanges then him booting over water bottles. Wouldn't totally surprise me if he thinks he now needs to leave (somehow).
I thought the abuse aimed towards JDH and Boyle when they were warming up was shocking to be honest. I get we are a very unhappy bunch at the minute, and entitled to sharing our views on certain things, but targeting players when warming up isn’t going to help
27-11-2024, 08:18 PM
Looks like Shankland is going to Rangers either on a pre contract or a small fee in January.
to be honest I thought the news about Shankland real father was a bigger story. Seemingly after Shaun Murphy beat three-time winner Ding Junhui 6-5 in a final-frame decider to move into the quarter-finals of the UK Snooker Championship in York, he admitted in the Press conference that Shankland is his love child ! To be honest.. you can see it !
27-11-2024, 10:39 PM
GK
RB
CB
CDM
More creative and consistent advanced midfielder
RW
What I would like to see at least in January, big ask though to get everything, need at least 80%.
Could maybe even throw a striker in there.
If we are able then I would terminate the loan deals for Bursik and Triantis.
Questions can still asked about Kwon and Myko.
27-11-2024, 11:57 PM
Alex Paulsen, 22 year old keeper signed by Bournemouth for£850,000 and currently loaned to Auckland F C cannot be discounted….for next year’s window, as FIFA regulations probably don’t allow him to move this season even though he hasn’t yet played for Bournemouth.
It would also enable the Black Knight ‘pathway’ to be activated.
Greenio
28-11-2024, 05:57 AM
I thought the abuse aimed towards JDH and Boyle when they were warming up was shocking to be honest. I get we are a very unhappy bunch at the minute, and entitled to sharing our views on certain things, but targeting players when warming up isn’t going to help
Agree. Post match maybe but b4?
What was said?
28-11-2024, 06:52 AM
Alex Paulsen, 22 year old keeper signed by Bournemouth for£850,000 and currently loaned to Auckland F C cannot be discounted….for next year’s window, as FIFA regulations probably don’t allow him to move this season even though he hasn’t yet played for Bournemouth.
Has he continued his good form since moving there? I see they have started well.
28-11-2024, 07:25 AM
Has he continued his good form since moving there? I see they have started well.
I haven’t seen a lot of him in these opening 4 rounds but he must be doing ok as Auckland haven’t conceded a goal yet
28-11-2024, 07:37 AM
Going after Bevan again would pretty much sum the place up.
Seems to be fairly injury prone, not exactly the experience proven standard we are crying out for.
I feel like Bevan has already been here for years.
28-11-2024, 07:56 AM
I feel like Bevan has already been here for years.
I've been on record before on saying I would probably take Bevan if it was pretty much a free loan for depth. We only have O'Hora, Ekpiteta, Rocky, Iredale. If we want to play 3 at the back we're only 1 injury away from never being able to rotate anyone for knocks or anything. I'd probably consider it if it meant we could put the money into getting a better keeper or striker. Although I appreciate that is a cheap option that's probably the way the clubs mind will work.
I think Will Dennis will be permanent in the summer, Bournemouth also lose Kepa next season so I think Poulsen may have an opportunity down there next year, they also have a lad they signed from Queen’s Park possibly 18 still which would make Dennis surplus I think
28-11-2024, 10:29 AM
Agree. Post match maybe but b4?
What was said?
Not sure mate. Boyle seemed to be having a discussion with someone when warming up at the corner flag and JDH stopped as he was making his way back to the dugout. I think one of the other subs told him to leave it and ushered him away
28-11-2024, 10:34 AM
I think Will Dennis will be permanent in the summer, Bournemouth also lose Kepa next season so I think Poulsen may have an opportunity down there next year, they also have a lad they signed from Queen’s Park possibly 18 still which would make Dennis surplus I think
McKenna is very inexperienced and only 17 still. I would find it hard to see us getting him on loan before we give up on the idea of Murray Johnson, and it'll be a good 4 or 5 years before he's even playing for Bournemouth. Paulson will still likely need to go play somewhere else before he also gets the Bournemouth gig too as the A-League is far too big a jump for especially since he's played less than 50 senior games. He could potentially come here on a one year loan as a next step up type of thing, depends how high they rate him as Lorient could easily be his next step too if they want him at Bournemouth sooner rather than later.
Will Dennis has third choice goalie vibes written all over him at Bournemouth I'm afraid. He's homegrown and likely to not kick up a fuss at not playing if he gets a good wage. One I would probably forget about happening.
28-11-2024, 10:42 AM
Not sure mate. Boyle seemed to be having a discussion with someone when warming up at the corner flag and JDH stopped as he was making his way back to the dugout. I think one of the other subs told him to leave it and ushered him away
Didn’t see anything with Boyle or jdh but sure seen Levit having a word or two with someone. Other fans in that area should tell clown to zip it
snedzuk
28-11-2024, 11:00 AM
..for the second home game in a row.
snedzuk
28-11-2024, 11:03 AM
That was when JDH booted the water. Previous game after some verbals he told the 'fan' to STFU.
28-11-2024, 11:10 AM
If Dennis isn't an option for GK then Hibs should speak to Newcastle United about 6 month loan for Mark Gillespie.
28-11-2024, 11:18 AM
Who would want to sign Mckirdy?
Bertram Mills Circus
RossScott1991
28-11-2024, 11:19 AM
We should ask Marshall to come out of retirement until January / backup after
can’t be any worse
or is that a crazy suggestion
28-11-2024, 11:28 AM
Didn’t see anything with Boyle or jdh but sure seen Levit having a word or two with someone. Other fans in that area should tell clown to zip it
what goes through the minds of some people?
How would most folks respond to being verbally abused if true at work?
28-11-2024, 11:32 AM
We should ask Marshall to come out of retirement until January / backup after
can’t be any worse
or is that a crazy suggestion
Probably wouldn't be fit but not sure he'd be any worse that what we have at the moment.
AdidasHibernian
28-11-2024, 12:00 PM
If Dennis isn't an option for GK then Hibs should speak to Newcastle United about 6 month loan for Mark Gillespie.
Fully agree with this, as a toon fan as my English club can say he is a great keeper and pro, very well thought of by players down there also as well as Eddie Howe.
McKenna is very inexperienced and only 17 still. I would find it hard to see us getting him on loan before we give up on the idea of Murray Johnson, and it'll be a good 4 or 5 years before he's even playing for Bournemouth. Paulson will still likely need to go play somewhere else before he also gets the Bournemouth gig too as the A-League is far too big a jump for especially since he's played less than 50 senior games. He could potentially come here on a one year loan as a next step up type of thing, depends how high they rate him as Lorient could easily be his next step too if they want him at Bournemouth sooner rather than later.
Will Dennis has third choice goalie vibes written all over him at Bournemouth I'm afraid. He's homegrown and likely to not kick up a fuss at not playing if he gets a good wage. One I would probably forget about happening.
I didn't consider the home grown thing which is a very decent point, i was thinking they have a current no.2, losing kepa and Poulsen returning,most probably sign a no.1 you would think, dennis would then be 4th choice with a youngster on his tail, it would seem likely at 25 he'd want to leave but you might be bang on i didn't realise the guy from QP was still so young either
supermcginn
28-11-2024, 12:26 PM
Fully agree with this, as a toon fan as my English club can say he is a great keeper and pro, very well thought of by players down there also as well as Eddie Howe.
He's only ever played 3 games for Newcastle in 4 years and they were all in the league cup, the last of which was 3 years ago, he's the last thing we need. He is only still there to fill the homegrown quota.
Gaffer1875
28-11-2024, 12:33 PM
Luke Amos
Nohan Kenneh
Harry McKirdy
Nathan Moriah-Welsh
Not the players fault but those will be costing us £10k+ a week.
28-11-2024, 12:39 PM
I reckon a good bit more than 10k.
28-11-2024, 02:23 PM
I’d like to see Amos more thought he would be quality for us when we got him
28-11-2024, 02:27 PM
45mins at Kelty was enough for me for this season. He laughed when an opposition player came in on his blind side and nipped the ball of him and that will be my abiding memory now.
28-11-2024, 02:56 PM
Me too, i though if he got himself fit he'd be a great signing. Although when he did sign, he was clearly very very unfit, he's hardly played so wont be anywhere near match fit to contribute.
Another one we will have to put down to experience i suppose.
28-11-2024, 03:00 PM
Nesbitt and Miller at Falkirk would also have Mackie back
Hibiza
28-11-2024, 03:00 PM
Luke Amos
Nohan Kenneh
Harry McKirdy
Nathan Moriah-Welsh
Yup , and they are not the only ones, just a shambles.
Paulie Walnuts
28-11-2024, 03:35 PM
So far today I’ve read that we should look at getting back Kevin Dabrowski, Oli Shaw, Glenn Middleton and now Sean Mackie..
Maybe Ian Gordon isn’t so bad after all.
28-11-2024, 03:37 PM
So far today I’ve read that we should look at getting back Kevin Dabrowski, Oli Shaw, Glenn Middleton and now Sean Mackie..
Might as well play Liam Craig
28-11-2024, 04:00 PM
With the intention of driving us up the table. Yeah, that'll work.....
28-11-2024, 04:29 PM
I reckon a good bit more than 10k.
Agree- I would guess it'll be closer to £20k than £10k.
28-11-2024, 04:31 PM
Maybe Ian Gordon isn’t so bad after all.Can this Gordon guy play in goals?
Yeah couldn't believe that either, talk about back to the future 😂
Cabbage-Patch
01-12-2024, 10:38 AM
Stephan Diarra. 25 year old Ghanian Right Winger with over 50 appearances for Lorient. Only played once this season for them. Was on loan at St Ettiene last year. Given Boyle seems to have fallen out of a favour could be an option on loan?
01-12-2024, 11:07 AM
Stephan Diarra. 25 year old Ghanian Right Winger with over 50 appearances for Lorient. Only played once this season for them. Was on loan at St Ettiene last year. Given Boyle seems to have fallen out of a favour could be an option on loan?
Looks like he's just back from a cruciate ligament tear. Would explain the lack of game time.
01-12-2024, 02:56 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_Surridge
01-12-2024, 02:59 PM
What you’ve heard or what you want?
01-12-2024, 03:02 PM
A guy that went over there for £5m in summer last year, plays every game and has 16 goals in 40 games.
Cannae see it happening.
badabing67
01-12-2024, 04:04 PM
Nesbitt and Miller at Falkirk would also have Mackie back
If we are going to get anyone from Falkirk we need to get Keelan Adams apparently the best right back in that league. And been talked up by the guys from the Terrace.
keelan adams - Google Search (https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=keelan+adams&sca_esv=74c6de03b5b81e4a&sxsrf=ADLYWILqG3oz8felKbmnSygfj9nh-aiBkg%3A1733072363992&source=hp&ei=65VMZ5npOfawhbIPmvHwiAw&iflsig=AL9hbdgAAAAAZ0yj-2fRaR-1ITk6GIoSkEsg6dE1Gffa&ved=0ahUKEwjZiv7UhYeKAxV2WEEAHZo4HMEQ4dUDCBo&uact=5&oq=keelan+adams&gs_lp=Egdnd3Mtd2l6IgxrZWVsYW4gYWRhbXMyChAjGIAEGCcY igUyBRAuGIAEMgUQABiABDIFEAAYgAQyBRAAGIAEMgUQABiABD IFEAAYgAQyCBAAGIAEGKIEMggQABiABBiiBDIIEAAYgAQYogRI t0hQ4Q1Y60JwAXgAkAEAmAGcAqAB2g2qAQYwLjExLjG4AQPIAQ D4AQGYAg2gArIOqAIKwgIHECMYJxjqAsICBBAjGCfCAgsQLhiA BBiRAhiKBcICCBAuGIAEGLEDwgIREC4YgAQYsQMYgwEY1AIYig XCAg4QLhiABBixAxiDARiKBcICERAuGIAEGLEDGNEDGIMBGMcB wgIKEC4YgAQYQxiKBcICChAAGIAEGEMYigXCAggQABiABBixA8 ICDhAuGIAEGJECGNQCGIoFwgIQEC4YgAQYsQMYQxiDARiKBcIC DRAAGIAEGLEDGEMYigXCAg0QLhiABBixAxhDGIoFwgIQEC4YgA QYQxjHARiKBRivAcICCxAuGIAEGLEDGIMBwgIHEC4YgAQYCsIC ChAuGIAEGLEDGArCAgcQABiABBgKwgIIEAAYogQYiQWYAwaSBw YxLjExLjGgB5-fAQ&sclient=gws-wiz)
01-12-2024, 05:19 PM
One of our biggest tasks is to (somehow) offload so much deadwood taking up a large part of our budget.
Admittedly easier said than done.
01-12-2024, 05:22 PM
If we are going to get anyone from Falkirk we need to get Keelan Adams apparently the best right back in that league. And been talked up by the guys from the Terrace.
keelan adams - Google Search (https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=keelan+adams&sca_esv=74c6de03b5b81e4a&sxsrf=ADLYWILqG3oz8felKbmnSygfj9nh-aiBkg%3A1733072363992&source=hp&ei=65VMZ5npOfawhbIPmvHwiAw&iflsig=AL9hbdgAAAAAZ0yj-2fRaR-1ITk6GIoSkEsg6dE1Gffa&ved=0ahUKEwjZiv7UhYeKAxV2WEEAHZo4HMEQ4dUDCBo&uact=5&oq=keelan+adams&gs_lp=Egdnd3Mtd2l6IgxrZWVsYW4gYWRhbXMyChAjGIAEGCcY igUyBRAuGIAEMgUQABiABDIFEAAYgAQyBRAAGIAEMgUQABiABD IFEAAYgAQyCBAAGIAEGKIEMggQABiABBiiBDIIEAAYgAQYogRI t0hQ4Q1Y60JwAXgAkAEAmAGcAqAB2g2qAQYwLjExLjG4AQPIAQ D4AQGYAg2gArIOqAIKwgIHECMYJxjqAsICBBAjGCfCAgsQLhiA BBiRAhiKBcICCBAuGIAEGLEDwgIREC4YgAQYsQMYgwEY1AIYig XCAg4QLhiABBixAxiDARiKBcICERAuGIAEGLEDGNEDGIMBGMcB wgIKEC4YgAQYQxiKBcICChAAGIAEGEMYigXCAggQABiABBixA8 ICDhAuGIAEGJECGNQCGIoFwgIQEC4YgAQYsQMYQxiDARiKBcIC DRAAGIAEGLEDGEMYigXCAg0QLhiABBixAxhDGIoFwgIQEC4YgA QYQxjHARiKBRivAcICCxAuGIAEGLEDGIMBwgIHEC4YgAQYCsIC ChAuGIAEGLEDGArCAgcQABiABBgKwgIIEAAYogQYiQWYAwaSBw YxLjExLjGgB5-fAQ&sclient=gws-wiz)
Heard alot of positive things about this young lad, signed from a junior team or something I think?
Just signed a contract extension last month iirc
01-12-2024, 06:13 PM
[QUOTE=Unseen work;7833027]What you’ve heard or what you
He is quality but didn't realise he went for that fee
01-12-2024, 06:21 PM
15-20k!!!
Donegal Hibby
01-12-2024, 06:42 PM
I didn’t realise Lyall Cameron scored for Dundee this weekend.. is he the type of midfielder we need and one that we should be targeting in January? …..
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/16480/13264052/kilmarnock-1-1-dundee-scottish-premiership-highlights
maturehibby
02-12-2024, 09:53 AM
Watched Forfar v Stirling Albion highlights and was impressed by McLean of Forfar who scored a hatrick and then stuck a penalty away in extra time too
Knows where the net is .
Big laddie too so can look after himself
Edinburgh Green
02-12-2024, 10:07 AM
Watched Forfar v Stirling Albion highlights and was impressed by McLean of Forfar who scored a hatrick and then stuck a penalty away in extra time too
Knows where the net is .
Big laddie too so can look after himself
1 league 2 goal this season.
badabing67
02-12-2024, 10:38 AM
Heard alot of positive things about this young lad, signed from a junior team or something I think?
Yes, He's not got a wiki page yet but I think he was playing Junior footie before he went to uni. Then played for his uni and then went back to junior footie till McGlynn signed him. The Terrace have described him as the right sided Andy Robertson. We should be all over him this window.
badabing67
02-12-2024, 11:03 AM
I didn’t realise Lyall Cameron scored for Dundee this weekend.. is he the type of midfielder we need and one that we should be targeting in January? …..
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/16480/13264052/kilmarnock-1-1-dundee-scottish-premiership-highlights
Scott Allan was waxing lyrical about Lyall Cameron when he was co-commentating for Sportsound at the Dundee game. He said Lyall Cameron was the type of player Hibs should be looking at.
andrew70
02-12-2024, 11:03 AM
Yes, He's not got a wiki page yet but I think he was playing Junior footie before he went to uni. Then played for his uni and then went back to junior footie till McGlynn signed him. The Terrace have described him as the right sided Andy Robertson. We should be all over him this window.
He’s from North Berwick.
Signed for Falkirk from Cumbernauld Colts.
Very highly rated as has been said. Well worth a punt but I wouldn’t be taking scouting reports from the nonsense that is The Terrace.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 11:18 AM
Scott Allan was waxing lyrical about Lyall Cameron when he was co-commentating for Sportsound at the Dundee game. He said Lyall Cameron was the type of player Hibs should be looking at.
Like the shot and the way he took his goal against Killie . Think he has something like two goals and four assists so far, someone mentioned the huns might be interested though if they’re not a cash plus player bid wouldn’t be a bad idea .
GreenPJ
02-12-2024, 11:48 AM
I think there needs to be a clear plan as to what is/should happen to the 3 right backs we have and then once that is clear then include right back to the requirements list.
badabing67
02-12-2024, 01:43 PM
I think there needs to be a clear plan as to what is/should happen to the 3 right backs we have and then once that is clear then include right back to the requirements list.
Well my clear plan would be to swap Megwa plus cash for Keelan Adams, not sure C Cadds is a right back, I certainly prefer Miller there.
02-12-2024, 01:46 PM
Agreed re a plan being required.
FWIW my plan would be to sign the young lad from Falkirk, let him fight for a place with Megwa and let the other two go when their contracts end.
02-12-2024, 01:53 PM
Well my clear plan would be to swap Megwa plus cash for Keelan Adams, not sure C Cadds is a right back, I certainly prefer Miller there.
Has Megwa not been playing CDM for Partick? Pretty sure that's where we see him.
badabing67
02-12-2024, 01:57 PM
Has Megwa not been playing CDM for Partick? Pretty sure that's where we see him.
Honestly not sure where he has been playing
andrew70
02-12-2024, 02:09 PM
No, he’s been at right back. Completing all 8 league games since his move.
Cabbage-Patch
02-12-2024, 02:16 PM
Sorry if already mentioned but surely Will Dennis being lined up for a loan move. Dare say Bevan may finally get over the line in January too
badabing67
02-12-2024, 02:20 PM
Falkirk are on the BBC tonight
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 02:26 PM
Sorry if already mentioned but surely Will Dennis being lined up for a loan move. Dare say Bevan may finally get over the line in January too
Is another CH a priority?
badabing67
02-12-2024, 02:30 PM
Will Dennis is the Bournemouth GK that was at Killie last season we would be better getting him on loan and sending Bursik back. Pretty sure Bevan is the CH and will probably be up in Jan if he's fit. He is right side and plays on the left but can play across the back 4. I say we do need another CH especially if we are going to play with 3 at the back.
02-12-2024, 03:42 PM
He’s from North Berwick.
Signed for Falkirk from Cumbernauld Colts.
Very highly rated as has been said. Well worth a punt but I wouldn’t be taking scouting reports from the nonsense that is The Terrace.
Get Big Coll and they can travel together 😆
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 03:59 PM
Will Dennis is the Bournemouth GK that was at Killie last season we would be better getting him on loan and sending Bursik back. Pretty sure Bevan is the CH and will probably be up in Jan if he's fit. He is right side and plays on the left but can play across the back 4. I say we do need another CH especially if we are going to play with 3 at the back.
On Will Dennis as I’ve said before I don’t think we have any chance of getting him in all honesty. You might be right about another CH especially with Ekpiteta out for a while so I wouldn’t rule that one out .
I don’t know if we can cut Bursik’s loan short or not and will we have to move on a couple of others , thinking on McKirdy , Kenneh etc … though priority must be a new No 1 , Att Mid and maybe a striker who’s versatile.
02-12-2024, 04:04 PM
On Will Dennis as I’ve said before I don’t think we have any chance of getting him in all honesty. You might be right about another CH especially with Ekpiteta out for a while so I wouldn’t rule that one out .
I don’t know if we can cut Bursik’s loan short or not and will we have to move on a couple of others , thinking on McKirdy , Kenneh etc … though priority must be a new No 1 , Att Mid and maybe a striker who’s versatile.
You don't think we have any chance of getting a team we're affiliated with third choice keeper? A guy who's played zero minutes and has only been on the bench three times for them this season in the league?
02-12-2024, 04:11 PM
Has to be. We have a number of centre halves and, whilst I’m grateful for the clean sheet at the weekend, it’s an area really lacking in quality.
02-12-2024, 04:45 PM
Has to be. We have a number of centre halves and, whilst I’m grateful for the clean sheet at the weekend, it’s an area really lacking in quality.
It’s looked miles better since having the balance of a naturally left sided CB.
I’d probably need to see a few more games with our current lot before saying whether or not we needed strengthening there.
Prior to the last 2 games I’d have said addressing LCB was a priority.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 05:00 PM
You don't think we have any chance of getting a team we're affiliated with third choice keeper? A guy who's played zero minutes and has only been on the bench three times for them this season in the league?
If they were worried about his game time they’d have loaned him back to killie where he was doing well though they didn’t want too , other side of the coin is if they loan him out and their first or second choice gets injured it leaves them short and I just don’t see them wanting to weaken that area of their team .
02-12-2024, 05:03 PM
It’s looked miles better since having the balance of a naturally left sided CB.
I’d probably need to see a few more games with our current lot before saying whether or not we needed strengthening there.
Prior to the last 2 games I’d have said addressing LCB was a priority.
It was much better against Motherwell but we lost three goals in the game before that. Whilst it helps us be more offensive I’ll still take a bit more convincing on their defensive abilities.
02-12-2024, 05:04 PM
If they were worried about his game time they’d have loaned him back to killie where he was doing well though they didn’t want too , other side of the coin is if they loan him out and their first or second choice gets injured it leaves them short and I just don’t see them wanting to weaken that area of their team .
The player will surely want game time. He's 24 and has no chance of being number one where he is. A loan will also mean he keeps the Bournemouth wage.
Dr What If?
02-12-2024, 05:20 PM
I hear Dennis mentioned a lot, genuinely can't remember him from Killie but a Wiki search that the 20 games he had there was the highest level he played at.....given our issues I would be happier with an older, more experienced keeper that we could take on a permanent basis.
For those that have seen a bit more of Dennis, is he that good?
02-12-2024, 05:22 PM
I hear Dennis mentioned a lot, genuinely can't remember him from Killie but a Wiki search that the 20 games he had there was the highest level he played at.....given our issues I would be happier with an older, more experienced keeper that we could take on a permanent basis.
18 clean sheets in 44 games for Killie which is good going.
Dr What If?
02-12-2024, 05:36 PM
18 clean sheets in 44 games for Killie which is good going.
Thats actually not too bad.....maybe I could be convinced :greengrin
02-12-2024, 05:41 PM
Thats actually not too bad.....maybe I could be convinced :greengrin
Third most saves in the league and highest save percentage as well. Had a class season.
02-12-2024, 05:44 PM
Jordan Smith fits that description.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 05:50 PM
The player will surely want game time. He's 24 and has no chance of being number one where he is. A loan will also mean he keeps the Bournemouth wage.
He might though maybe Bournemouth think after his loan at Killie he will now improve training with their other keepers/ players and working under their coaches which are no doubt a level above anything in our league …
I still think in loaning him out to us it might mean that they either will have to buy one or loan one in not to leave themselves sort which is only hassle …
Talking to another Hibby here today about our keeper situation and he mentioned Jon McLaughlin who he said is Swansea’s No 2 .. I sort of dismissed this idea as we wouldn’t have a chance though he said he’s coming out of contract and might want to return to Edinburgh..
Don’t know if folk would like him though I know one Hibby here that would take him if he was available.
02-12-2024, 05:57 PM
He might though maybe Bournemouth think after his loan at Killie he will now improve training with their other keepers/ players and working under their coaches which are no doubt a level above anything in our league …
I still think in loaning him out to us it might mean that they either will have to buy one or loan one in not to leave themselves sort which is only hassle …
Talking to another Hibby here today about our keeper situation and he mentioned Jon McLaughlin who he said is Swansea’s No 2 .. I sort of dismissed this idea as we wouldn’t have a chance though he said he’s coming out of contract and might want to return to Edinburgh..
Don’t know if folk would like him though I know one Hibby here that would take him if he was available.
Dennis will be entering the last year of his Bournemouth contract next season. Have to think he’ll fall even further down the pecking order when Paulsen comes back from loan next season. No chance he’s getting kept on beyond this contract.
Have to imagine he’ll be wanting to go and play football somewhere. Listen, I don't think he’ll be pushing for a move to come solely to us, but if he's going out on loan you’d like to think we’d be first option.
Bridge hibs
02-12-2024, 06:01 PM
Jordan Smith fits that description.
Yep and more first team games playing at a higher level and only 1 inch shorter in height than Dennis
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 06:16 PM
Dennis will be entering the last year of his Bournemouth contract next season. Have to think he’ll fall even further down the pecking order when Paulsen comes back from loan next season. No chance he’s getting kept on beyond this contract.
Have to imagine he’ll be wanting to go and play football somewhere. Listen, I don't think he’ll be pushing for a move to come solely to us, but if he's going out on loan you’d like to think we’d be first option.
I suppose things can change with him entering the last year of his Bournemouth contract and Paulsen coming back from loan though that’s all not happening till next season and I don’t think Bournemouth will be in any rush to move him out this January and leave themselves light in that area ( hope I’m wrong and your right btw ) 👍
02-12-2024, 06:20 PM
I suppose things can change with him entering the last year of his Bournemouth contract and Paulsen coming back from loan though that’s all not happening till next season and I don’t think Bournemouth will be in any rush to move him out this January and leave themselves light in that area ( hope I’m wrong and your right btw ) 👍
Regardless its getting to the exciting part of the season again so hopefully we start hearing some proper rumours about players both in and out!
02-12-2024, 08:22 PM
Falkirk are on the BBC tonight
Falkirk goalie just made a really decent double save.
He’s impressed me a couple of times this season, he was good against Hearts in the league cup as well I think.
02-12-2024, 08:26 PM
He’s impressed me a couple of times this season, he was good against Hearts in the league cup as well I think.
Son of Myles Hogarth , makes me feel old
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2024, 11:50 PM
Agree CH .
plhibs
03-12-2024, 02:26 AM
I saw him today, picked the ball from a corner out of the air and threw it over the half way line for a two on one for Falkirk, looked on the tv to be a pretty big goalie. Living in Canada I’ve never watched Falkirk before so I might be completely wrong about his ability.
03-12-2024, 06:09 AM
Seen bits of him started shakily including scoring an own goal in a one goal home defeat to Hearts think he was fine when settled in
03-12-2024, 06:10 AM
Son of Myles Hogarth , makes me feel old
He was a hearts reserve goalie wasn’t he?
LustForLeith
03-12-2024, 07:43 AM
Isn’t Zander Clarkes contract coming to an end next summer?
I’d take him at Hibs
chippy
03-12-2024, 08:15 AM
I’d take him at Hibs
A pre contract in January and reckon they’d want to empty him then
GreenPJ
03-12-2024, 08:34 AM
I’d take him at Hibs
I suspect Hearts will look to extend his contract. Craig 'Peter Pan' Gordon cannot go on for ever and suspect that next year age will start to catch up with him a little, more a question of whether Clark is happy to sit and wait until Gordon is no longer considered No 1.
WestStandWillie
03-12-2024, 08:35 AM
Hibs Observer suggesting JDH is still part of Gray's plans but Amos not.
Bit of a shame on the lad. Don't really think he's been given a chance but if it frees up a wage then has to be done.
It's like a Magennis situation with JDH, just awaiting the next load of bad luck for him.
03-12-2024, 08:58 AM
Bit of a shame on the lad. Don't really think he's been given a chance but if it frees up a wage then has to be done.
It's like a Magennis situation with JDH, just awaiting the next load of bad luck for him.
I hope they mean "until the end of the season" and he is not getting a contract extension. :confused:
Amos has been given too many chances
He hasn't the character or the heart to take them
He was the worst midfielder out of 7 midfielders that were on the park in Kelty Hearts vs Hibs
He should have on his epitaph Hard Work Beat Talent When Talent Didn't Work Hard
Ribs1875
Scott Bain at Celtic loaned in for the rest of the season would be logical.
03-12-2024, 09:04 AM
I hope they mean "until the end of the season" and he is not getting a contract extension. :confused:
If we offer JDH a contract extension then there's no chance the Black Knights are in charge of the footballing side of things. Would be madness from us.
I like JDH, think he's a decent player and a good lad. But he's barely played any football in two years.
03-12-2024, 09:08 AM
If we offer JDH a contract extension then there's no chance the Black Knights are in charge of the footballing side of things. Would be madness from us.
I like JDH, think he's a decent player and a good lad. But he's barely played any football in two years.
An extension for JDH would be a madness that surely won't happen. That said, the long contracts given to Newell and Megwa suggest that Ian Gordon hasn't really learned a great deal about merit and playing attributes.
He's here!
03-12-2024, 09:25 AM
Mentioned him on the match thread last night. Looked very accomplished. Glasgow Uni graduate who's been with Cumbernauld Colts and has now signed with Falkirk until 2027. Later developer but the way he's progressing he could end up at a bigger club than Hibs.
May be wrong but his name rings a bell as a former Hibs Academy player.
03-12-2024, 10:11 AM
That would be a fantastic loan move.
Jock O
03-12-2024, 10:11 AM
Not sure if that's a contradiction in Scotsman, cannot see full story, or if Gray saying that but just being diplomatic, from BBC gossip
Luke Amos and Jake Doyle-Hayes are pushing for a return to action at Hibs but face a fight to displace team-mates, says Gray. (Scotsman - subscription) (https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/why-luke-amos-has-not-featured-for-hibs-as-david-gray-gives-update-on-two-players-4892543)
03-12-2024, 10:18 AM
Not sure if that's a contradiction in Scotsman, cannot see full story, or if Gray saying that but just being diplomatic, from BBC gossip
Luke Amos and Jake Doyle-Hayes are pushing for a return to action at Hibs but face a fight to displace team-mates, says Gray. (Scotsman - subscription) (https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/why-luke-amos-has-not-featured-for-hibs-as-david-gray-gives-update-on-two-players-4892543)
On Amos, Gray continued: “He did pick up an injury, he picked up a problem with his calf, which has niggled at him for a wee while. He is over that now though and he's back in training and has been for a week or so.
McIntosh
03-12-2024, 10:27 AM
There are 17 players out of contract, some, not all will leave during the winter transfer window, if not permanently but on loan. Despite our terrible season, there is the spine of a team there, a spine, but with key parts missing, one of which is a keeper with whom the team has confidence. Objectively, this must be a priority, Scott Bain would be a logical and relatively inexpensive acquisition.
Loyal servant like Boyle, will be allowed to depart, I think, and I have no inside knowledge, he has his heart set on living permanently in Australia with his family. So I believe, he will leave in January. I would offer Bushiri a two-year contract extension, if he has shown anything of late, in a crisis and if well managed, he is dependable and more importantly committed. We have a clearly unbalanced midfield, we badly need a box to box player, and the holding midfield players are at best adequate in the team and the positions they are asked to play. They may be a different player, when playing with different players.
As for the manager, who I hold in the highest affection, as do his players clearly, I am not convinced that there is a tactical nuance within his game currently. Though this may come through time and greater experience, I hope it does. Critically, he like a number of recent managers have lost games, not in the final quarters, but in the final moments. Bertie Auld, and the great Eddie Turnbull where masters at managing the game out, and the latter at transforming at key stages, but that is another message in itself.
03-12-2024, 10:40 AM
Loyal servant like Boyle, will be allowed to depart, I think, and I have no inside knowledge, he has his heart set on living permanently in Australia with his family. So I believe, he will leave in January. I would offer Bushiri a two-year contract extension, if he has shown anything of late, in a crisis and if well managed, he is dependable and more importantly committed. We have a clearly unbalanced midfield, we badly need a box to box player, and the holding midfield players are at best adequate in the team and the positions they are asked to play. They may be a different player, when playing with different players.
On the back of a couple of good games?
Just ignore his last couple of seasons?
Chucking out new deals like this is part of the reason why we're stuck with so much crap at the moment.
HFC93
03-12-2024, 10:44 AM
There are 17 players out of contract, some, not all will leave during the winter transfer window, if not permanently but on loan. Despite our terrible season, there is the spine of a team there, a spine, but with key parts missing, one of which is a keeper with whom the team has confidence. Objectively, this must be a priority, Scott Bain would be a logical and relatively inexpensive acquisition.
As for the manager, who I hold in the highest affection, as do his players clearly, I am not convinced that there is a tactical nuance within his game currently. Though this may come through time and greater experience, I hope it does. Critically, he like a number of recent managers have lost games, not in the final quarters, but in the final moments. Bertie Auld, and the great Eddie Turnbull where masters at managing the game out, and the latter at transforming at key stages, but that is another message in itself.
I doubt Boyle will be allowed to leave until the summer when his contract is up.
03-12-2024, 10:45 AM
Chucking out new deals like this is part of the reason why we're stuck with so much crap at the moment.
We also conceded 7 goals in 2 games prior to Saturdays clean sheet.
I don’t want to be negative as that was a great result on Saturday but a wee but perspective is still needed.
03-12-2024, 10:48 AM
I doubt Boyle will be allowed to leave until the summer when his contract is up.
I think we’d quite happily get him off the wage bill. Comfortably be our highest earner and isn't starting games for us any more.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2024, 10:53 AM
I would give him a contract too in fairness . The guy didn’t play a lot of football when he came to us first and ended up playing in a new position which without getting into it again I felt on numerous occasions he was on a hiding to nothing anyway due to having to cover the LB position in all ..
I think he’s improved a lot even though he has the occasional mistake in him . Though I suppose what I most like about him is his character and attitude.. personally think he’d make a good captain…. :tin hat:
Paulie Walnuts
03-12-2024, 10:55 AM
Extending Rocky’s deal would be a mental decision unless he goes on to have an excellent remainder of the season.
03-12-2024, 10:58 AM
I would give him a contract too in fairness . The guy didn’t play a lot of football when he came to us first and ended up playing in a new position which without getting into it again I felt on numerous occasions he was on a hiding to nothing anyway due to having to cover the LB position in all ..
I think he’s improved a lot even though he has the occasional mistake in him . Though I suppose what I most like about him is his character and attitude.. personally think he’d make a good captain…. :tin hat:
A new position? He signed as a centre half, and he's only ever played centre half...hasn't he?
If he plays well consistently, then I'd give him a new deal. On the back of a couple of games, I'd no even be considering it. Earn it properly.
I wouldn't put it past Hibs to offer him a new deal based on a 2 game run of form though. That's why we've still got a few players signed up.
03-12-2024, 11:05 AM
Wow, is he still there?
03-12-2024, 11:11 AM
I think we’d quite happily get him off the wage bill. Comfortably be our highest earner and isn't starting games for us any more.
He’ll want to rinse us for as much cash as he can for as long as possible because he certainly won’t be earning anything like as much anywhere in future.
I think he leaves in the summer.
03-12-2024, 11:12 AM
Not for Celtic it wouldn't. He's homegrown and happy to sit as third choice picking up probably 5-10k a week to do nothing but stay fit. He was almost released in the summer there before signing a new deal so there's a chance he could be available this summer, but he's not going anywhere in January in my opinion.
Extending Rocky’s deal would be a mental decision unless he goes on to have an excellent remainder of the season.
Extending anyone's deals at this point would be a mental decision. We're currently in the throws of a relegation scrap nearly halfway through the season and most of these guys have gotten us here. I am not in the business of renewing guys contracts and rewarding anyone until much much closer to the end of the season if at all. If we lose Rocky Bushiri for free and he happens to have the best 6 months of his Hibs career from now on then so be it, I'll live. The same goes for the rest of them out of contract.
McIntosh
03-12-2024, 11:21 AM
Chucking out new deals like this is part of the reason why we're stuck with so much crap at the moment. You have a point on scale, there was far too many and even more, long term contracts issued, as I said a two year contract maximum.
McIntosh
03-12-2024, 11:23 AM
Extending Rocky’s deal would be a mental decision unless he goes on to have an excellent remainder of the season. Agreed.
badabing67
03-12-2024, 11:33 AM
No chance, he was worse than Bursik against us in the 4-2 game...... It would be like bringing in a 2nd Jordan Smith.... Would of said Siegrist but it looks like Lenny took him to Rapid București
03-12-2024, 11:37 AM
You'd really struggle to make a case for extending anyones contract in the squad right now. If anyone can go this summer they should be going.
03-12-2024, 11:40 AM
Why? He's absolutely pony
03-12-2024, 11:43 AM
Rocky has done well recently, but we cant just forget the past.
Reading between the lines, I dont think he'd sign a new deal anyway, and will leave as soon as his contract is up.
I wouldnt want us to be reliant on him as our first choice centre half for long, but do want him to keep this form up, for us and for him personally too.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2024, 12:00 PM
A new position? He signed as a centre half, and he's only ever played centre half...hasn't he?
If he plays well consistently, then I'd give him a new deal. On the back of a couple of games, I'd no even be considering it. Earn it properly.
I wouldn't put it past Hibs to offer him a new deal based on a 2 game run of form though. That's why we've still got a few players signed up.
As a LCB though? ..( 1:00).
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1786701301390115114
As I said I think he’s come on a lot and is a good character with an excellent attitude. I wouldn’t be at all disappointed if we give him a new 2 year deal. Wither he’d want to stay is another question as he’s taken a fair bit of grief like Youan has .
Personally I don’t mind hanging on to a few of these guys like your Rocky’s , Campbell’s ,Gayles etc .. ones I more interested in moving on is your Amos’s , Kenneh’s , McKirdy’s etc that’s contributing nothing and are unlikely do do so .
03-12-2024, 12:38 PM
As a LCB though? ..( 1:00).
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1786701301390115114
As I said I think he’s come on a lot and is a good character with an excellent attitude. I wouldn’t be at all disappointed if we give him a new 2 year deal. Wither he’d want to stay is another question as he’s taken a fair bit of grief like Youan has .
Personally I don’t mind hanging on to a few of these guys like your Rocky’s , Campbell’s ,Gayles etc .. ones I more interested in moving on is your Amos’s , Kenneh’s , McKirdy’s etc that’s contributing nothing and are unlikely do do so .
Each to their own, but there's nae part of me that's accepting a pro-footballer say they're playing a new position when they're at LCB rather than RCB. I'm no having it.
It's centre half.
Ribs1875
03-12-2024, 12:51 PM
He's a massive step up from what we currently have.
TrinityHFC
03-12-2024, 01:13 PM
He was horrific against us when he got a rare game.
Ribs1875
03-12-2024, 01:43 PM
He was horrific against us when he got a rare game.
Currently he would be the best thing available to us in January, unless we delved into Scandinavian markets who finish their seasons around about now and have folk out of contract. It's pretty sad we have Marsh and Samson both ex goalies and the best that was recruited was these two we got in the summer.
03-12-2024, 01:51 PM
Each to their own, but there's nae part of me that's accepting a pro-footballer say they're playing a new position when they're at LCB rather than RCB. I'm no having it.
It's centre half.
03-12-2024, 02:02 PM
It's centre half.
Correct. In all the years played sweeper I don't ever recall discussing what side I was going to play, it was just me and whatever galoot of a center half I was partnering that day.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2024, 02:24 PM
It's centre half.
Would a right footed player not have to a adapt a little on the left side as a opposed to the one he’s more suited to especially if he hasn’t played there a lot .. thought when I seen O’Hora playing there he didn’t look entirely comfortable either .. anyhow I wouldn’t be unhappy if Rocky stayed as there’s others who are more of priority in moving on instead.
EGL2000
03-12-2024, 02:25 PM
Agree would much rather have him than the current options but there is definitely better options out there.
03-12-2024, 02:30 PM
Not convinced about that at all.
03-12-2024, 02:31 PM
Yes wouldn’t be thinking massive step up
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2024, 02:40 PM
Talk of Bain brought back some nice memories…
https://youtu.be/CqTugqaeMPU?si=UswrRlo4Wtb1s3FD
badabing67
03-12-2024, 02:59 PM
Talk of Bain brought back some nice memories…
https://youtu.be/CqTugqaeMPU?si=UswrRlo4Wtb1s3FD
No idea why Celtic kept him after that. Thought JDH was good in that game, he loves a game against Celtic.
03-12-2024, 03:07 PM
No idea why Celtic kept him after that. Thought JDH was good in that game, he loves a game against Celtic.
Homegrown player rules for Europe
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2024, 03:25 PM
He had a complete stinker in that game . Agree about JDH . One of the strange things in that game for me was Maeda who totally lost the plot ,it was like he wanted to get sent off for some reason.
Hibiza
03-12-2024, 03:37 PM
Quality keeper imho.
03-12-2024, 03:37 PM
We are talking about the Bain who was excellent for Dundee right? Daft to say he wouldn't be a good signing. You don't sign for Celtic if you're pish.
03-12-2024, 03:48 PM
We are talking about the Bain who was excellent for Dundee right? Daft to say he wouldn't be a good signing. You don't sign for Celtic if you're pish.
Mental to think he's been at Celtic for over six years. Played 78 games in total, have to admit, that’s a lot more than I thought he'd played.
Not bad free agent option in the summer if they don't offer him another year.
03-12-2024, 03:48 PM
Looks like that’s Garvan Stewart appointed, some job ahead of him for January and beyond
https://x.com/mcgowan_stephen/status/1863988055184408678?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
03-12-2024, 03:49 PM
Looks like that’s Garvan Stewart appointed, some job ahead of him for January and beyond
https://x.com/mcgowan_stephen/status/1863988055184408678?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
Post deleted? Be good to get some official confirmation on this though.
03-12-2024, 03:50 PM
Post deleted? Be good to get some official confirmation on this though.
Think Stephen has gone a wee bit earlier than he was meant to 😂
03-12-2024, 03:57 PM
Haha. Hopefully find out in about three minutes time.
03-12-2024, 04:05 PM
Now official;
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/december/03/garvan-stewart-appointed-as-head-of-recruitment/
Ribs1875
03-12-2024, 04:09 PM
First point of call, sign Brandon Williams who is still a free agent.
03-12-2024, 04:34 PM
Sign 2 good keepers please.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2024, 04:47 PM
I’d take him at Hibs
Just been reading about him on their forum , a few think he’s leaving….
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/205856-keeper/
03-12-2024, 05:04 PM
Just been reading about him on their forum , a few think he’s leaving….
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/205856-keeper/
Clark wanted to leave in the summer. He’ll probably leave next summer to join his boyhood favourites in Govan and see out his career on the Rangers bench.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2024, 05:57 PM
Clark wanted to leave in the summer. He’ll probably leave next summer to join his boyhood favourites in Govan and see out his career on the Rangers bench.
I did read he was a hun alright , for financial reasons it probably would be a good move though career wise not so good , certainly not good for Scotland either having two good keepers that should be challenging Gordon for the No 1 shirt who’ll be sitting on the bench or worse not even in the first team squad .
03-12-2024, 06:15 PM
If Hearts go from 2 good goalkeepers to 0 just in time for the Championship that would be great.
badabing67
03-12-2024, 08:31 PM
If Hearts go from 2 good goalkeepers to 0 just in time for the Championship that would be great.
How could that be if they have Jamestown Analytics
03-12-2024, 09:15 PM
Gordon will keep playing while there is a chance he could play at the 2026 World Cup.
tonyrougier123
03-12-2024, 09:54 PM
I’d take zander Clarke as hibs no.1 no issues.
They are comparing against one of the best keepers the country has produced and that is skewing their judgement. Clarke is a sound competent keeper, with some top class reflex saves in him.
03-12-2024, 10:40 PM
I did read he was a hun alright , for financial reasons it probably would be a good move though career wise not so good , certainly not good for Scotland either having two good keepers that should be challenging Gordon for the No 1 shirt who’ll be sitting on the bench or worse not even in the first team squad .
I'm willing to bet money that Sevco are about to start offloading their high earners and that'll include Butland. Clarke will be numero uno if he goes to sevco in the summer.
snedzuk
03-12-2024, 11:19 PM
He had a complete stinker in that game . Agree about JDH . One of the strange things in that game for me was Maeda who totally lost the plot ,it was like he wanted to get sent off for some reason.
Betting - remember thinking that at the game.
Cabbage-Patch
04-12-2024, 09:14 AM
Aberdeen apparently about to sign Welsh international keeper Wayne Hennessy on a short term deal. 37 years old but played at a very high and most recently at Notts Forrest. Great signing for them if true.
Cabbage-Patch
04-12-2024, 09:17 AM
Ciaran Slicker, young u21 keeper from Ipswich. Think he's 3rd or 4th choice down there and not getting a look in. Sure he was even called up to Clarkes squad last time such was our lack of options. I would take him on loan for the rest of the season so he can get some 1st team minutes
04-12-2024, 09:30 AM
Would definitely support getting him in.
Pretty sure the deal was closer to £2m too. I thought Phoenix were in line for $4m NZD all up.
04-12-2024, 09:38 AM
Aberdeen apparently about to sign Welsh international keeper Wayne Hennessy on a short term deal. 37 years old but played at a very high and most recently at Notts Forrest. Great signing for them if true.
Just don't invite him to the Christmas night out.
04-12-2024, 09:43 AM
Ciaran Slicker, young u21 keeper from Ipswich. Think he's 3rd or 4th choice down there and not getting a look in. Sure he was even called up to Clarkes squad last time such was our lack of options. I would take him on loan for the rest of the season so he can get some 1st team minutes
You want to replace our current inexperienced goalkeepers with one that has never played a minute of league football?
EGL2000
04-12-2024, 10:02 AM
Had very little first team experience, definitely another risky one. Think we need someone we can almost guarantee will be solid (I know you can't 100% get that). But someone who has already performed well in the Scottish prem for example is much less of a risk.
Edinburgh Green
04-12-2024, 10:12 AM
Every time I've seen him for Scotland u21's I've not been impressed.
04-12-2024, 11:04 AM
They already have Liam Kelly doing that, will be interesting to see what happens to him next summer.
badabing67
04-12-2024, 01:02 PM
Thought the club would of posted an interview with Garvan Stewart by now.
Hibs4185
04-12-2024, 01:08 PM
He’s spending the Day with IG to get some insider tips on how it’s done.
04-12-2024, 01:21 PM
The photo that announced him was of him still at Bournemouth that tells me he isn't actually up here yet.
Also, I'm not hugely sure I want to hear from Garvan Stewart. I know our recruitment has been rotten so that has lead to an increased scrutiny on those involved, but I don't think we need to have him front and centre going forward. Malky Mackay is a director of football so it makes sense. But I'd rather just let this guy get to work rather than worry about how he's perceived by people.
04-12-2024, 01:25 PM
The photo that announced him was of him still at Bournemouth that tells me he isn't actually up here yet.
Also, I'm not hugely sure I want to hear from Garvan Stewart. I know our recruitment has been rotten so that has lead to an increased scrutiny on those involved, but I don't think we need to have him front and centre going forward. Malky Mackay is a director of football so it makes sense. But I'd rather just let this guy get to work rather than worry about how he's perceived by people.
Need to be back to the days of not really knowing who these folk are. If that happens, we’ll be going in the right direction.
04-12-2024, 01:37 PM
Need to be back to the days of not really knowing who these folk are. If that happens, we’ll be going in the right direction.
Agree. I think it's a bit healthier that way. I've almost found even the announcement/speculation of him coming a bit iffy but that club/owners only have themselves to blame for creating this scenario where we discuss these people so intensely.
04-12-2024, 01:38 PM
He’s spending the Day with IG to get some insider tips on how it’s done.
"...Okay so I tend to filter out anyone with a potential below three stars because they won't be worth it, send two scouts to one area at a time just to get a better estimate of the player's true value in the code. On the contract negotiation screen..."
badabing67
04-12-2024, 02:49 PM
I thought he started on Monday
Jock O
04-12-2024, 02:49 PM
Agree strongly on this, an update from McKay on structure maybe but not much else. Then let them get on with between now and summer window.
04-12-2024, 03:13 PM
He did according to the Hibs statement.
04-12-2024, 03:31 PM
Started doesn't mean he's in Edinburgh currently.
04-12-2024, 04:24 PM
Wouldn't say no to Liam Kelly on loan from der huns
04-12-2024, 04:26 PM
I think Lorraine Kelly would be an improvement on the chuckle brothers.
04-12-2024, 04:31 PM
Lol 😆 🤣
leith lynx
04-12-2024, 05:01 PM
Even better, how about Ned Kelly with a bucket over his heid.
04-12-2024, 06:46 PM
Second worst save % in the league last season.
Donegal Hibby
04-12-2024, 08:18 PM
Lyall Cameron with two goals tonight for Dundee .
AdidasHibernian
04-12-2024, 08:37 PM
Good player
04-12-2024, 08:40 PM
This should have been the guy we went for when we didn’t sign McCowan.
Ribs1875
04-12-2024, 08:46 PM
Definitely a top target for me!
04-12-2024, 08:47 PM
Lyall Cameron is out of contract in the summer as well. Definitely one I'd like us to pursue
04-12-2024, 08:49 PM
Lyall Cameron is out of contract in the summer as well. Definitely one I'd like us to pursue
with Garvin in the building we will be shopping in European markets now I think. Expect Boozy type signings.
Bridge hibs
04-12-2024, 09:10 PM
Expect Boozy type signings.According to some we already have a couple of them already 🫣
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2024, 12:30 AM
This should have been the guy we went for when we didn’t sign McCowan.
Would Dundee have been willing to lose him as well as McCowan without us paying silly money for him though?🤔
ruthven_raiders
05-12-2024, 05:05 AM
with Garvin in the building we will be shopping in European markets now I think. Expect Boozy type signings.
I imagine he'll be aware of players in most European Leagues including Scotland....
05-12-2024, 05:54 AM
Boozy type signings? Like an Ian Gordon signing after 2 bottles of his favourite Merlot? 😁
05-12-2024, 06:09 AM
Would Dundee have been willing to lose him as well as McCowan without us paying silly money for him though?🤔
Simple answer is no they wouldn’t
05-12-2024, 06:11 AM
I’ll be amazed if there isn’t a couple of Bournemouth fringe players arrived early in the window.
05-12-2024, 06:25 AM
I’ll be amazed if there isn’t a couple of Bournemouth fringe players arrived early in the window.
I just hope Stewart doesn't fall into the trap of thinking English fringe players will stroll it in the Scottish Premiership.
05-12-2024, 06:46 AM
I just hope Stewart doesn't fall into the trap of thinking English fringe players will stroll it in the Scottish Premiership.
Going by the Hibs Observer article it sounds like he’s a level above that sort of nonsense
05-12-2024, 06:50 AM
The problem with that is I don't think there's much in the way of guys we could get unless they sign some to push others out.
Anyone from their academy is likely not good enough and isn't worth relying on in our current position as they'll all have next to zero first team experience, would need to be a real standout talent for me to justify it. From their first team squad the only realistic looking one is Owen Bevan or James Hill, who wasn't exactly outstanding at Hearts but is a bit older now and has some experience at Blackburn since. I've said before but I think Owen Bevan is as good as a Hibs player this january.
Even someone like Huijsen has played for Roma and Juve and played more often than James Hill this season, so despite his age I doubt he'll be coming up the road to us.
05-12-2024, 07:05 AM
Plenty of English fringe players would stroll it up here, the skill is finding the ones that would and avoiding the ones that wouldn’t. You’d hope he has the ability to do so.
Willis1875
05-12-2024, 07:07 AM
The problem with that is I don't think there's much in the way of guys we could get unless they sign some to push others out.
Anyone from their academy is likely not good enough and isn't worth relying on in our current position as they'll all have next to zero first team experience, would need to be a real standout talent for me to justify it. From their first team squad the only realistic looking one is Owen Bevan or James Hill, who wasn't exactly outstanding at Hearts but is a bit older now and has some experience at Blackburn since. I've said before but I think Owen Bevan is as good as a Hibs player this january.
Even someone like Huijsen has played for Roma and Juve and played more often than James Hill this season, so despite his age I doubt he'll be coming up the road to us.
Two centre half’s which are probably nowhere near the top of the list of positions that we drastically need reinforcements in. Full backs that can defend,a goalkeeper that can resemble a goalie and a functioning midfield would go a long way to easing the pressure on the centre half’s we already have
05-12-2024, 07:17 AM
Two centre half’s which are probably nowhere near the top of the list of positions that we drastically need reinforcements in. Full backs that can defend,a goalkeeper that can resemble a goalie and a functioning midfield would go a long way to easing the pressure on the centre half’s we already have
I agree. But there isn't really anyone on their books that tick boxes for me that look both realistic to get and helpful to us. We're not going to get Max Aarons to come play RB for us or Alex Scott to come into midfield. I'd be amazed if Dennis turns up as well.
05-12-2024, 07:19 AM
Plenty of English fringe players would stroll it up here, the skill is finding the ones that would and avoiding the ones that wouldn’t. You’d hope he has the ability to do so.
I hope he pulls a couple of Maolida types out the hat. Players of real quality.
05-12-2024, 07:23 AM
I think this is the key part. We need a couple of real quality additions that elevate the ones we do have. The guy is unlikely to have been brought in to just sift through the used pile of Black Knights players that are on offer, he could have done that while still at Bournemouth.
05-12-2024, 07:46 AM
Maloida - a fringe player who came here and strolled it.
05-12-2024, 08:15 AM
Gray is saying we might recall Vente from his loan next month.
05-12-2024, 08:21 AM
Garvan Stewart is an interesting one
He’s never been Head of Recruitment and before that was only Head of Recruitment Analysis for 18 months. Seems to mainly have done the role of Head of Performance Analysis.
So what would appear like 2 big promotions in 2 years for him, still a young man at the age of 38.
I like the Simon Francis quote about him “ the ability to connect player profiles to the needs of the club within the recruitment and data departments” and how that’s a strength of his.
Hope the lad does well, he’s got a hell of a job on his hands. Hope people don’t put too much pressure on him.
05-12-2024, 08:23 AM
I did wonder if it would be possible. If we can then we absolutely should, either that or tell his current club pay up to keep him now or we take him back to use him.
05-12-2024, 08:23 AM
I’d be surprised. I listed to the press conference he was asked it in and it just sounded like a very diplomatic answer from Gray imo
TrinityHFC
05-12-2024, 08:45 AM
He’s not really saying that.
05-12-2024, 09:18 AM
Would be interesting to see him back. We need more depth in the forward areas, whether Vente can come back and discover some form is another question.
He’s got a lot to prove, but get him in good positions and he can score.
Paulie Walnuts
05-12-2024, 09:21 AM
Would be interesting to see him back. We need more depth in the forward areas, whether Vente can come back and discover some form is another question.
He’s got a lot to prove, but get him in good positions and he can score.
He wasn’t great last season, far from it. He still has 14 goals and 5 assists from 43 games for us though. Not exactly dreadful numbers and I reckon he’s a lot better than he showed as well.
05-12-2024, 09:31 AM
He wasn’t great last season, far from it. He still has 14 goals and 5 assists from 43 games for us though. Not exactly dreadful numbers and I reckon he’s a lot better than he showed as well.
11 goals. 8 last season plus the 3 against Elgin in the league cup.
Too many periods where there was nothing offered for me. Even now, no goals in his last 8 league games in Holland.
I reckon we’ll probably see him back next pre season for a bit and that’ll be about it. Don’t see him coming back and doing much here, been such a disappointment the way it’s went with him.
05-12-2024, 09:32 AM
It doesn’t sound dreadful. But I think it’s 11 goals?
5 of which were against lower league opposition in cup games.
1 in Europe.
5 league goals in 30 for a Hibs striker is awful.
Kuharevych since coming back has 4 goals in 15 competitive for example, his goal in the cup was against Celtic. He's getting slaughtered on here too.
05-12-2024, 09:34 AM
I'd welcome Vente back
05-12-2024, 09:35 AM
I'd welcome Vente back
Genuine question, why?
I 100% think we need a striker, just don’t think it should be Vente
I think we need a real quality striker who can score from nothing
Paulie Walnuts
05-12-2024, 09:37 AM
Sorry, it is 11 goals, not 14. :agree:
05-12-2024, 09:43 AM
Genuine question, why?
I think both can be true. I would welcome Vente back if we can't sell him. Selling him would also help us get a different striker in. It's unlikely we'd be able to fork out for a striker that elevates us until we get something back for him.
Unless we're able to afford someone like Gayle's wages because Ventes are covered by his loan club I think we're now at the point of getting the raw end of the deal for him being out on loan. It's time to come back and contribute here or leave permanently so we can move on from him properly.
05-12-2024, 09:44 AM
Genuine question, why?
From the brief showings, I think that might be Bowie. Certainly his goal against Dundee was something out of nothing.
05-12-2024, 10:04 AM
Genuine question, why?
I was critical of Vente and I thought the decision to let him go when the team's play wasn't suiting him and his confidence was shot was the right one.
But now we're playing 2 strikers? I could potentially see that suiting him much better. If we went back to the 451 with our current wide players, central midfielders and no attacking midfielder then exactly the same would happen as happened before.
05-12-2024, 10:21 AM
I'd take Vente back. There's a player in there.
05-12-2024, 10:42 AM
It doesn’t sound dreadful. But I think it’s 11 goals?
5 of which were against lower league opposition in cup games.
1 in Europe.
5 league goals in 30 for a Hibs striker is awful.
Kuharevych since coming back has 4 goals in 15 competitive for example, his goal in the cup was against Celtic. He's getting slaughtered on here too.
I know goals are goals and it doesn’t really matter how they come, but 2 (03 is it 3?) of Myko’s have been scrambled in from corners or crosses. It’s hardly indicative that he’s a fantastic finisher.
I’m not trying to downplay his contribution because they all count at the end of the day, but Myko has, rightly in my view, been deserving of criticism because he isn’t doing enough in terms of overall contribution.
For a big lad he doesn’t win enough headers, doesn’t bully defenders enough and rarely gets on the end of crosses.
05-12-2024, 10:50 AM
I know goals are goals and it doesn’t really matter how they come, but 2 (03 is it 3?) of Myko’s have been scrambled in from corners or crosses. It’s hardly indicative that he’s a fantastic finisher.
I’m not trying to downplay his contribution because they all count at the end of the day, but Myko has, rightly in my view, been deserving of criticism because he isn’t doing enough in terms of overall contribution.
For a big lad he doesn’t win enough headers, doesn’t bully defenders enough and rarely gets on the end of crosses.
Yeah 3 scrappy goals against St Johnstone, hearts and Motherwell, brilliant header against Celtic.
Funnily enough as much as I think we need something who is able to score out of nothing, I think we’re a team that don’t score enough scrappy goals and it was the type of goal I rarely saw Vente score. Nothing ever seemed to break or fall to him.
I always thought Vente needed time or to be completely unmarked to score
Agree about Myk and it’s surprised me as during his first loan spell that’s exactly what I thought he brought to the team. Doesn’t seem to chuck defenders about or be as big a nuisance as last time
05-12-2024, 11:10 AM
Genuine question, why?
I'd be really interested to see what he could do with two up front. There's something there for me. I think he'd be playing now if we hadn't loaned him out.