View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2024/25
22-01-2025, 07:05 AM
Today is the day! Surely.
...don't call me Shirley
22-01-2025, 07:05 AM
Come on Hibs. Release the "underwhelmed"!
22-01-2025, 07:23 AM
Would still be of the opinion at 19 with no senior games it's not what we need. Long in the tooth enough to know the youtube reels count for nothing, especially youth level. If he came in obviously hope he smashes it but ideally hoping for some established players with some pedigree.
There's so little between the league 3rd to 11th that the January business could be the deciding factor in who takes 3rd and Europe - in terms of Hearts, think it will be who signs better this window for who finishes on top between us. They have certainly splashed a bit of cash (hopefully on crap) and making their move.
A bit anxious we haven't done anything yet but sure we will do and will see where we landed when it closes. Would be odd to herald the arrival of Garvan to head up recruitment and be the only team not to make a play.
I think there can be examples though of laddies who come in with no senior experience and just take to it like a duck to water. CJ Egan-Riley only played cameos in about 6 senior games before he turned up at us and was a crucial component to the mini revival we had to push for fourth. Will Fish had 3 senior games, although admittedly he had to wait a while to get his chance before slotting in as Porteous' replacement, and dare I say we were a better team with him after that happened.
I will admit for every one example of a good player, there are probably 2 or 3 that weren't. But I think it's one that we have to trust the scouting on if we were to go for him.
22-01-2025, 07:33 AM
I think there can be examples though of laddies who come in with no senior experience and just take to it like a duck to water. CJ Egan-Riley only played cameos in about 6 senior games before he turned up at us and was a crucial component to the mini revival we had to push for fourth. Will Fish had 3 senior games, although admittedly he had to wait a while to get his chance before slotting in as Porteous' replacement, and dare I say we were a better team with him after that happened.
I will admit for every one example of a good player, there are probably 2 or 3 that weren't. But I think it's one that we have to trust the scouting on if we were to go for him.
There are definitely young players who can come in on loan and make an impact, but I think your 1 good to 2-3 poor ratio is way off. It’s probably closer to 1 good to 10 poor.
Fingers crossed, if the guy does sign, that he’s ready to play first team football. Players can have all the potential in the world, but the step up from youth to first team is a big one.
22-01-2025, 07:45 AM
There are definitely young players who can come in on loan and make an impact, but I think your 1 good to 2-3 poor ratio is way off. It’s probably closer to 1 good to 10 poor.
Fingers crossed, if the guy does sign, that he’s ready to play first team football. Players can have all the potential in the world, but the step up from youth to first team is a big one.
You're probably right on the ratio to be fair. But there are examples every year of guys who come up on loan with very minimal amount of decent senior appearances and it's the making of them, the risk is that they sink rather than swim. Biereth had played 13 games before smashing it for Motherwell. Even Will Dennis had never played above Conference South before being decent at Kilmarnock and we'd all like to see him turn up one day. The difference is we've been able to see them play ourselves.
Every signing is a risk whether they're 28 or 18, I get all we have to go off is their Transfermarkt CV but whoever we sign needs to be given the chance to show what they're capable of. Even after a few lacklustre games at first, I remember the thread on Maolida this time last year for example.
22-01-2025, 08:14 AM
SSN saying Tyrese Hall expected to go out on loan but no clubs mentioned
22-01-2025, 08:45 AM
SSN saying Tyrese Hall expected to go out on loan but no clubs mentioned
Why would we wont a player with no first team experience to come to Hibs for 6 months? We would be better of continuing to give Rudi game time.
It is slightly concerning that we've not strengthened the squad.
22-01-2025, 08:48 AM
Why would we wont a player with no first team experience to come to Hibs for 6 months? We would be better of continuing to give Rudi game time.
It is slightly concerning that we've not strengthened the squad.I never buy this argument
What if Tyrese hall is significantly better than Rudi?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
22-01-2025, 08:53 AM
I never buy this argument
Exactly.
It’s also not one or the other, I’m sure there’s place in the squad for both.
mcfly
22-01-2025, 08:54 AM
Wow. This lad is on a 4 yr deal at Tottenham. He will be significantly better than any of our current midfielders regardless of his age…
If you read the Tottenham academy reports then this lad is quality.
If he signs for us on loan then brilliant.
22-01-2025, 08:59 AM
Wow. This lad is on a 4 yr deal at Tottenham. He will be significantly better than any of our current midfielders regardless of his age…
He’s been backed by Defoe, an ex Spurs player who has also coached him and I’m sure all academies will have positive reports on their players.
If we do sign him I hope he’s different class. A mate who is a Spurs supporter has seen him play a few times and really rates him, usually spot on about players so I’m pleased with that.
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 08:59 AM
Would still be of the opinion at 19 with no senior games it's not what we need. Long in the tooth enough to know the youtube reels count for nothing, especially youth level. If he came in obviously hope he smashes it but ideally hoping for some established players with some pedigree.
There's so little between the league 3rd to 11th that the January business could be the deciding factor in who takes 3rd and Europe - in terms of Hearts, think it will be who signs better this window for who finishes on top between us. They have certainly splashed a bit of cash (hopefully on crap) and making their move.
A bit anxious we haven't done anything yet but sure we will do and will see where we landed when it closes. Would be odd to herald the arrival of Garvan to head up recruitment and be the only team not to make a play.
I suppose my initial disappointment was because we tried to sign McCowan that I thought we would actually buy a decent midfielder permanently rather than loan deals again ( maybe we still will ). We already have two midfielders on loan and it seems like every summer we are looking at a big rebuilding job without ever getting a settled squad where we just have to add a few players …
I also had the same concerns in is a 19 year old with no senior games what we need right now too though on the flip side of that he does look decent on the utube reels which your right don’t mean much though the high praise from de foe and if other championship clubs are after him would suggest he could very well be a player at a decent level and I suppose his age or inexperience doesn’t really matter if he’s got the ability.
22-01-2025, 09:00 AM
Without commenting on his ability at all, I don’t agree with your logic.
There are thousands and thousands of young players who have been contracted to big clubs who never make any impact on senior football.
He might go on to have a good career, he might not. Simply being contracted to Spurs doesn’t mean he’s better than anything we’ve got.
22-01-2025, 09:02 AM
He’s been backed by Defoe, an ex Spurs player who has also coached him and I’m sure all academies will have positive reports on their players.
If we do sign him I hope he’s different class. A mate who is a Spurs supporter has seen him play a few times and really rates him, usually spot on about players so I’m pleased with that.
Spurs are down to the bare bones. Surely if this lad was exceptional he would be featuring? On the face of it I’m not convinced. It’s got Tavares written all over it.
22-01-2025, 09:04 AM
Spurs are down to the bare bones. Surely if this lad was exceptional he would be featuring? On the face of it I’m not convinced. It’s got Tavares written all over it.
It would be loan as Spurs have no intention of letting him go so not sure where the Tavares angle fits.
22-01-2025, 09:08 AM
It would be loan as Spurs have no intention of letting him go so not sure where the Tavares angle fits.
Sorry to be clear well thought if and bags of ability apparently.
I’m in the not what we need for this campaign camp.
mcfly
22-01-2025, 09:13 AM
Without commenting on his ability at all, I don’t agree with your logic.
There are thousands and thousands of young players who have been contracted to big clubs who never make any impact on senior football.
He might go on to have a good career, he might not. Simply being contracted to Spurs doesn’t mean he’s better than anything we’ve got.
Let’s put it another way then. How many of our current squad would get a deal at Tottenham?
The answer is none. So if we sign this lad he will improve our team
tonyrougier123
22-01-2025, 09:16 AM
Really think we should muscle Dundee for mo sylla, pre contract small fee offered now that would beef up our midfield no end. Solid age solid player.
22-01-2025, 09:17 AM
Really think we should muscle Dundee for mo sylla, pre contract small fee offered now that would beef up our midfield no end. Solid age solid player.32 part way into next season
Not for me and I doubt we would go down that route
He's done well with Dundee tho
From Dundee id only go for Cameron and maybe Mulligan
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 09:23 AM
I’m sort of on the fence with this one so I see where your coming from with this though the lad could still be very talented but just not ready for the standard of quality that’s in the premier league but a very good player for us in the Scottish premier.
22-01-2025, 09:24 AM
Let’s put it another way then. How many of our current squad would get a deal at Tottenham?
The answer is none. So if we sign this lad he will improve our team
Na, doesn’t work like that. We signed Jair Tavares from Benfica. Did he improve us? Even look at the current squad, we got Miriah-Welsh from Bournemouth and he barely gets a game. We’ve had players from plenty big clubs over the years that have made little to no impact. We’re talking about a youth team player here, not a first team player.
Might be good, might not be. Simply being at Spurs at his age doesn’t mean he’d come in and improve a senior team at our level.
22-01-2025, 09:25 AM
Could be completely wrong, but haven’t Spurs injury issues mainly been with their defenders?
Mcbizz1998
22-01-2025, 09:25 AM
Checking with my Spurs supporting brother in law on this lad, Hall.
Did he play at Tynecastle? I was there but don’t remember him. That doesn’t mean much as I didn’t know most of the players for Spurs, particularly in the second half where they brought on the kids and ran hearts ragged.
22-01-2025, 09:27 AM
Tavares is probably the epitome of the talented youngster who joins from a big club, has minimal to no first team experience prior to joining and then is found to be woefully short of being able to contribute. He's far from alone in being a Hibs player who fits that description though.
When it goes the other way they can be like Craig Rocastle, who was excellent for us. It was always a bit of a mystery to me that he only went on to have a nomadic career, and one that didn't ever bring him back to Scotland, where his style of play seemed to be a really good fit.
I'm definitely not against "this type" of signing and don't really consider them to be that much more of a risk than any other signing.
mcfly
22-01-2025, 09:32 AM
Na, doesn’t work like that. We signed Jair Tavares from Benfica. Did he improve us? Even look at the current squad, we got Miriah-Welsh from Bournemouth and he barely gets a game. We’ve had players from plenty big clubs over the years that have made little to no impact. We’re talking about a youth team player here, not a first team player.
Might be good, might not be. Simply being at Spurs at his age doesn’t mean he’d come in and improve a senior team at our level.
Whatever….im in the positives camp on this.
You stick to your negative thoughts
22-01-2025, 09:33 AM
It doesn't, it also doesn't mean he's tam kite and worth writing off.
Seems like you are ruling him out purely on his age when the important thing should be his ability.
Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2025, 09:41 AM
Did Lee Johnson not allude to some sort of idea that we’d pinched him from Benfica due to some weird clause in his contract and that they didn’t want to let him go? I mean having seen what else he said about Tavares when he signed I’m not sure I would believe any of it to be fair :greengrin
Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2025, 09:42 AM
Not all youth players are of equal ability. If he’s better than Rudi (and I’ve no idea whether he’d even be directly competing with him?) and/or our other midfielders then get him in. If that stunts Rudi a bit then so be it.
22-01-2025, 09:45 AM
Couldn't lace Rudi's boots.
I expect he'd just be a quality squad player for the six months.
The depth will help.
22-01-2025, 09:52 AM
Seems like you are ruling him out purely on his age when the important thing should be his ability.
Nope, never actually commented on his ability at all. I just disagreed with the logic of the other poster that he’d definitely improve us because he’d be coming from Spurs.
22-01-2025, 09:58 AM
Has any news outlet linked this young spurs player with Hibs yet?
22-01-2025, 10:04 AM
Has any news outlet linked this young spurs player with Hibs yet?
No, just that a Scottish Premiership club was in the running to sign him.
22-01-2025, 11:03 AM
Florian Kamberi on the look out for a new club since leaving Romania...
11 in 97 since leaving us 2nd time round spanning Scotland, England, Switzerland, Romania & Croatia.
22-01-2025, 11:06 AM
Nope, never actually commented on his ability at all. I just disagreed with the logic of the other poster that he’d definitely improve us because he’d be coming from Spurs.
Yep. As another example, Daniel Boateng came from Arsenal and we know how that turned out.
22-01-2025, 11:08 AM
11 in 97 since leaving us 2nd time round spanning Scotland, England, Switzerland, Romania & Croatia.
Rangers loan killed his career. Probably made decent money at Sheffield though.
Loved him in his loan spell then first season here.
Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2025, 11:09 AM
Yep. As another example, Daniel Boateng came from Arsenal and we know how that turned out.
Harry McKirdy was at Villa until he was 22.
22-01-2025, 11:21 AM
Rangers loan killed his career. Probably made decent money at Sheffield though.
Loved him in his loan spell then first season here.
Same here, he was the perfect player at the perfect time.
His goals always seemed so emphatic, his debut against Motherwell when he pinged it off the crossbar and in was a cracker.
Benny Brazil
22-01-2025, 11:25 AM
Did he play at Tynecastle? I was there but don’t remember him. That doesn’t mean much as I didn’t know most of the players for Spurs, particularly in the second half where they brought on the kids and ran hearts ragged.
He did play the 2nd half of that game - I was there as well and was very impressed by him
Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2025, 11:36 AM
His goals always seemed so emphatic, his debut against Motherwell when he pinged it off the crossbar and in was a cracker.
Can’t beat an emphatic finisher. Nothing better than seeing someone just ****ing hammer the ball and score.
22-01-2025, 11:39 AM
He did play the 2nd half of that game - I was there as well and was very impressed by him
I was at the game watching Spurs reserves pump them.
https://youtu.be/lZCecgy3nA4
That’s the link to the full match - Hall plays 2nd half. Haven’t watched it back but thought he was good at the game but maybe was getting confused with someone else as a few guys who played 2nd half did well.
22-01-2025, 11:46 AM
His goal to clinch a 2-0 win at home to Celtic was the epitome of that.
22-01-2025, 11:47 AM
Can’t beat an emphatic finisher. Nothing better than seeing someone just ****ing hammer the ball and score.
And his goal against Aberdeen when he cut in off the left and went low to the near post.
He did have a tendency to really leather the ball.
It could have all been so different. Shame really. Just looked him up and he played over a third of his total career minutes for us.
MacGruber
22-01-2025, 11:47 AM
I wouldn't rule him out at all but my concerns aren't age or ability, it's not having played at senior level and there being a big jump in both physicality and intensity. Also a new pressure playing infront of the crowds.
He could come in and smash it regardless.
22-01-2025, 11:48 AM
His goal to clinch a 2-0 win at home to Celtic was the epitome of that.
:agree: absolutely smashed it.
22-01-2025, 11:53 AM
Him and Elie up front would be the huffiest forward line in the history of fitba but if they clicked together....
22-01-2025, 12:00 PM
January 2025 Transfer Window
New Arrivals (inc Loans)
As at 22/01
Aberdeen 4
Ross County 4
Dundee 3
Hearts 3
St.Johnstone 3
Dundee Utd 2
Motherwell 2
St.Mirren 2
Kilmarnock 1
Rangers 1
Hibs 0
Celtic 0
Window closes 23:00 on Monday Feb 3rd 2025
Source; @Nareystoepoker
nareystoepoker.blogspot.com/p/all-spfl-tra…
22-01-2025, 12:03 PM
New Arrivals (inc Loans)
As at 22/01
Aberdeen 4
Ross County 4
Dundee 3
Hearts 3
St.Johnstone 3
Dundee Utd 2
Motherwell 2
St.Mirren 2
Kilmarnock 1
Rangers 1
Hibs 0
Celtic 0
Source; @Nareystoepoker
Notice how the two best teams in the league on current form aren't panic buying
22-01-2025, 12:11 PM
This could be the best bit our recent resurgence.
If we'd still been bottom 2/3 we'd probably have had no choice but to just pick up whoever was available to us- even just for the look of us being determined to turn things around. Having the chance to be more selective and hopefully only bring in players we know will improve us is probably a good thing.
22-01-2025, 12:17 PM
Atanasov posting another post on Twitter with fans saying they’ll miss him. Wonder if we’re about to find out where he’s going.
mixu83
22-01-2025, 12:36 PM
Plymouth have agreed a deal for a centre back from Sparta Rotterdam. May free up the Pleguezuelo move?
22-01-2025, 12:36 PM
Atanasov posting another post on Twitter with fans saying they’ll miss him. Wonder if we’re about to find out where he’s going.
Think this is the 3rd time he's said his goodbyes 😅
22-01-2025, 12:42 PM
Think this is the 3rd time he's said his goodbyes 😅
Haha aye I know, hopefully this time though!
yerauldda
22-01-2025, 12:43 PM
Plymouth have agreed a deal for a centre back from Sparta Rotterdam. May free up the Pleguezuelo move?
Had the link to him not been rubbished?
We've signed about a hundred players since the club built the team that won us the cup. Half of them since we finished third.
Wasted millions between wages and signing fees, only to go backwards.
Give me a settled team anyday who are together on and off the park. Who develop an intuitive understanding of where everyone is, who's making runs when, who to cover where and when.
We had some unglamourous players in the Tornadoes but under Turnbull, the team picked itself. And as a former player, Eddie wisnae a bad manager either. :flag:
22-01-2025, 01:03 PM
And his goal against Aberdeen when he cut in off the left and went low to the near post.
He did have a tendency to really leather the ball.
It could have all been so different. Shame really. Just looked him up and he played over a third of his total career minutes for us.
There's quite the group of players who find their feet at Hibs yet clearly see a future 'above' us. In hindsight - maybe not financially - they never had it as good as they had here.
22-01-2025, 01:04 PM
Can't really remember much of a bigger drop off in form in a Hibs player. He was outstanding for the first six months/ year whatever it was and then was truly struggling at the end. Maybe that coincided with how the team was doing but it was bizarre at the time that he ended up at Rangers.
badabing67
22-01-2025, 01:24 PM
Sparta Rotterdam accept Plymouth's Eerdhuijzen bid ahead of medicalLatest from Sky Sports News' Lyall Thomas & Mark McAdam:
Plymouth have had an offer accepted by Sparta Rotterdam for centre-back Mike Eerdhuijzen.
The Championship strugglers are trying to beat the Friday deadline to get him registered to play this weekend.
There are still aspects of the deal still to finalise, but it is hoped the player can travel to the UK to undergo a medical in the next 24 hours.
King Cosell
22-01-2025, 01:28 PM
Sparta Rotterdam accept Plymouth's Eerdhuijzen bid ahead of medical
Latest from Sky Sports News' Lyall Thomas & Mark McAdam:
Plymouth have had an offer accepted by Sparta Rotterdam for centre-back Mike Eerdhuijzen.
The Championship strugglers are trying to beat the Friday deadline to get him registered to play this weekend.
There are still aspects of the deal still to finalise, but it is hoped the player can travel to the UK to undergo a medical in the next 24 hours.
Deadline day is Monday 3rd Feb.
22-01-2025, 01:29 PM
Yes but Friday is the deadline to allow him to play this weekend.
badabing67
22-01-2025, 01:33 PM
For us yes, not sure about EFL Championship
22-01-2025, 01:51 PM
For us yes, not sure about EFL Championship
23.00 on 3/2/24
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 02:38 PM
Another day passes by ….:tumble:
22-01-2025, 02:45 PM
Very quiet.
22-01-2025, 02:59 PM
Unless we expect Hibs to keep updating us on whats being considered/persued what do people expect apart from announced signings?(signings we've missed out on isnt going to happen) We all want the team to strengthen but have already been told it'll be later in the window by SDG. Anything before that is a bonus.......No idea how later in the window so I may started to worry next week :wink: Later in the window is very subjective & rightly so.
Later in the window goes to the 2nd last day then it’s called a last day signing
HendoDelivered
22-01-2025, 03:34 PM
Safe to say the club have stopped the leaks.
22-01-2025, 03:35 PM
Safe to say the club have stopped the leaks.
Absolutely fine with that. Looks like they’ve stopped making signings as well though…
Silversand
22-01-2025, 03:45 PM
Absolutely fine with that. Looks like they’ve stopped making signings as well though…The best way to stop leaks [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
22-01-2025, 03:48 PM
The best way to stop leaks [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
Haha yup, can't leak signings if you don't make any
https://media4.giphy.com/media/d3mlE7uhX8KFgEmY/giphy.gif?cid=6c09b952tteh7nl428t08kommigveww6w0md o16lifm42rla&ep=v1_gifs_search&rid=giphy.gif&ct=g
Paul1642
22-01-2025, 03:54 PM
New Arrivals (inc Loans)
As at 22/01
Aberdeen 4
Ross County 4
Dundee 3
Hearts 3
St.Johnstone 3
Dundee Utd 2
Motherwell 2
St.Mirren 2
Kilmarnock 1
Rangers 1
Hibs 0
Celtic 0
Source; @Nareystoepoker
I could have sworn that Hearts and Aberdeen had signed about 6 each form the continent 😬
I must have read the same headlines more than once due to not recognising any names.
Hibiza
22-01-2025, 04:02 PM
Kamberi was just : " billy big baws " .
Kamberi was just : " billy big baws " .Then became "billy-boy big baws" once he saw Ibrox.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
TheSouthMoroccan
22-01-2025, 04:32 PM
My thoughts exactly. Incontinence pants are available from multiple outlets for those who disagree with this viewpoint :wink:
22-01-2025, 04:45 PM
Weird one this, always thought he was one of their better players. Wonder where he fancies going? I'm not touting him for Hibs btw
Falkirk have reluctantly agreed to put Callumn Morrison on the transfer-list, writes Scott Burns.
The 25-year-old has asked to leave the Championship leaders.
The talented attacker has been a big player for the Bairns but has now asked to move on.
Morrison still has around 18 months left on his deal and it would take a suitable fee for John McGlynn’s side to sell
22-01-2025, 04:49 PM
To be fair two of their younger players Gray and Bodaval (sp?) have been their best players
Bergvall
22-01-2025, 04:53 PM
I was there, he did play and he was great. Hearts couldn’t get near him.
22-01-2025, 04:56 PM
From Fabrizio Romano
🚨🇸🇪 Djugården have verbally agreed deal to sign 17 year old talent Matias Siltanen, despite approach from City Group.
Siltanen will travel to Sweden tomorrow for medical tests and contract signing.
Transfer fee: €1.2m.
22-01-2025, 05:05 PM
From Fabrizio Romano
🚨🇸🇪 Djugården have verbally agreed deal to sign 17 year old talent Matias Siltanen, despite approach from City Group.
That'll be that then.
22-01-2025, 05:09 PM
https://media1.tenor.com/m/vOoG3kqTG-IAAAAd/toy-story-oh-well-we-tried.gif
The recruitment team right now
Musselbound
22-01-2025, 05:19 PM
I really don't think we'll see many players coming in this month. Maybe a couple of loans late on in the window. Summer would be a better time to buy and sell players anyway.
22-01-2025, 05:34 PM
I really don't think we'll see many players coming in this month. Maybe a couple of loans late on in the window. Summer would be a better time to buy and sell players anyway.
Two at most now I reckon. Going to leave us short in quality, cause like every team, we're going to have to deal with injuries and suspensions before the split/end of the season.
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 05:39 PM
I didn’t think we would make many either , 2 maybe 3 at a push and while this is a hardest window to sign players I do expect us to make a fairly decent permanent signing.
If we end up with a couple of 18 or 19 year olds on loan I would find it disappointing to say the least.. though still hopeful it won’t come that .
22-01-2025, 05:44 PM
Which would be disappointing. 3rd place and the cup is up for grabs.
A transfer window like last Jan could be the difference. Instead so far we have nothing.
22-01-2025, 05:47 PM
I didn’t think we would make many either , 2 maybe 3 at a push and while this is a hardest window to sign players I do expect us to make a fairly decent permanent signing.
If we end up with a couple of 18 or 19 year olds on loan I would find it disappointing to say the least.. though still hopeful it won’t come that .
I still expect to see a few bodies in, there will still be a couple of players leave either permanent or on loan which would leave us light. Still expect to see 3 or 4.
Exuberance1875
22-01-2025, 06:00 PM
Harry McKirdy was at Villa until he was 22.
Still waiting on the famous celebration to be done
From Fabrizio Romano
Well out of our reach.
I still expect to see a few bodies in, there will still be a couple of players leave either permanent or on loan which would leave us light. Still expect to see 3 or 4.
3 or 4 looking less and less likely.
Chorley Hibee
22-01-2025, 06:07 PM
My thoughts exactly. Incontinence pants are available from multiple outlets for those who disagree with this viewpoint :wink:
I think it's a bit disingenuous to try and align Hibs and Celtic's January window requirements.
I think Celtic have a slightly better side, and depth of squad, than we currently have.
As I've repeatedly said, there's 3rd place and a cup up for grabs, and I'll be mightily disappointed if we miss this opportunity through failing to strengthen.
22-01-2025, 06:07 PM
Dundee make a further loan signing, one of their Burnley loans was recalled earlier.
Lopez is a Dee!
Dundee Football Club are delighted to announce the signing of Mexican midfielder Victor Lopez on a yearlong loan deal, subject to international clearance and being granted the necessary visa.
Victor who is known as Chespi will join us from Liga MX side Queretaro.
Once available for selection Chespi will wear the number 27 jersey for the Dark Blues.
Welcome to the Dee Chespi!
Read the full announcement on the club website: dundeefc.co.uk/news/lopez-is-…
#VamosDundee
22-01-2025, 06:11 PM
https://x.com/spurs_academy/status/1882132712858722345?s=46&t=EfA1G2-GpOrWCJVdyNPv4w
Tyrese Hall starts and captains the u23’s tonight
King Cosell
22-01-2025, 06:14 PM
Dundee make a further loan signing, one of their Burnley loans was recalled earlier.
Lopez is a Dee!
Dundee Football Club are delighted to announce the signing of Mexican midfielder Victor Lopez on a yearlong loan deal, subject to international clearance and being granted the necessary visa.
Victor who is known as Chespi will join us from Liga MX side Queretaro.
Once available for selection Chespi will wear the number 27 jersey for the Dark Blues.
Welcome to the Dee Chespi!
Read the full announcement on the club website: dundeefc.co.uk/news/lopez-is-…
#VamosDundee
He sounds like a Frank Bruno opponent from 1983, with one win in his last twelve outings.
22-01-2025, 06:16 PM
https://x.com/Record_Sport/status/1882144954304102771?t=jRCgGo7cVSM2sMKu5h3zgg&s=19
There we go.
ElginHibbie
22-01-2025, 06:20 PM
https://x.com/Record_Sport/status/1882144954304102771?t=jRCgGo7cVSM2sMKu5h3zgg&s=19
There we go.
As recent history goes once a story leaked I expect he'll be signed within 24 hours
HFC93
22-01-2025, 06:20 PM
There we go.
Hope he's better than the last Gambian we signed.
22-01-2025, 06:21 PM
Hope he's better the last Gambian we signed.
Reported.
badabing67
22-01-2025, 06:24 PM
Hibs closing in on first January signing as one time Barcelona prospect targeted (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-closing-in-on-ex-barcelona-prospect-as-first-january-transfer-window-signing-4955653)
22-01-2025, 06:26 PM
https://youtu.be/lMFiFWcFwzc?si=RD-sMh0U4Jh-h-kH
Obligatory YouTube video
Some really good through balls
22-01-2025, 06:26 PM
Hope he's better than the last Gambian we signed.
22-01-2025, 06:27 PM
https://youtu.be/lMFiFWcFwzc?si=f-tfFgw66ASJkljs
Some will say they don’t tell the whole story but as far as highlights reel go, that’s a pretty good one!
22-01-2025, 06:29 PM
Hibs closing in on first January signing as one time Barcelona prospect targeted (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-closing-in-on-ex-barcelona-prospect-as-first-january-transfer-window-signing-4955653)
Started every game for them and made 7 assists in 17 games. Decent! Danish second tier though.
But plenty good players playing in lower divisions over Europe.
22-01-2025, 06:32 PM
Started every game for them and made 7 assists in 17 games. Decent! Danish second tier though.
But plenty good players playing in lower divisions over Europe.
Agree there are plenty, but do you not also think it’s for some reason seemed better if you sign from a foreign market than players in Scottish leagues for some reason?
A 26 year old playing second division in Denmark will always be far better received than the same in Scottish championship for some reason
Suppose it’s the unknown!
22-01-2025, 06:36 PM
What's the latest we've ever made a first signing of the January window?
22-01-2025, 06:37 PM
Ten past 9.
22-01-2025, 06:39 PM
Remember now; the three loanees on deadline day under Butcher.
If I recall correctly as well we didn't sign anyone in the 2007 window, Tam Sowunmi came in as a free agent after it shut.
22-01-2025, 06:40 PM
Couple of tweets re stats for Manneh
https://x.com/jahesch0/status/1877336167701492072?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
https://x.com/danishscout_/status/1874816437828948159?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
22-01-2025, 06:43 PM
Agree there are plenty, but do you not also think it’s for some reason seemed better if you sign from a foreign market than players in Scottish leagues for some reason?
A 26 year old playing second division in Denmark will always be far better received than the same in Scottish championship for some reason
Aw its absolutely the unknown!
Played plenty in the Polish top flight and near enough 40 games in the Danish Superliga.
Pretty buzzing about this one now.
22-01-2025, 06:46 PM
https://x.com/danishscout_/status/1874816437828948159?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Defensive midfield player or Deep-lying midfield player. Wonder how he fits the system? Is gray looking at a 4-2-3-1 next season? Does have some decent numbers.
22-01-2025, 06:47 PM
To be fair he also has 40 in the top flight plus 85 in the Polish top flight as well.
Have no idea if he’ll be good, bad or indifferent. Will be interesting to see if he actually comes in and plays.
LEaston87
22-01-2025, 06:54 PM
Sure we signed Ulrik Laursen from them. Hopefully he’s just as successful
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 06:57 PM
https://www.fotmob.com/en-GB/players/854296/alasana-manneh
SonOfDavidFrancey
22-01-2025, 07:00 PM
He sounds like a Frank Bruno opponent from 1983, with one win in his last twelve outings.
Although that would also apply to Tyrese Hall
MacGruber
22-01-2025, 07:01 PM
Must be quite far down the line - he's the guy from the training photo
Bridge hibs
22-01-2025, 07:05 PM
Must be quite far down the line - he's the guy from the training photoYou sure ? He has played every game for his club this season so would be surprised he would be given time to train with us if he has been very much a first team player for his club
Gordy M
22-01-2025, 07:06 PM
Was just about to ask if that was the guy in the photo, has that been confirmed?
22-01-2025, 07:06 PM
You sure ? He has played every game for his club this season so would be surprised he would be given time to train with us if he has been very much a first team player for his club
Hasn't been in the last two squads apparently. Playing friendlies just now, league doesn't start up again til near the end of Feb
Gordy M
22-01-2025, 07:09 PM
Hasn't been in the last two squads apparently.
Looking at the most recent 2 games ,they look like they were friendlies?
Yeah, they are. Just edited my post. Their league doesn't start up again until 21st Feb.
Does Denmark have a winter break?
22-01-2025, 07:11 PM
Obligatory YouTube video
Scott Allan with pace 👏looks a baller like but his teammates were prettyrubbish
22-01-2025, 07:13 PM
Always wary of signing someone who has had to go on trial first
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 07:13 PM
You sure ? He has played every game for his club this season so would be surprised he would be given time to train with us if he has been very much a first team player for his club
Looks a lot like him in fairness….
https://weszlo.com/tag/alasana-manneh/
TrinityHFC
22-01-2025, 07:14 PM
Where have you heard he was on trial?
22-01-2025, 07:14 PM
Taken from @kaigwatson on twitter if these stats mean anything to anyone.
https://i.ibb.co/8sgSg26/20250122-201319.jpg (https://ibb.co/C8KTKvh)
22-01-2025, 07:15 PM
Russell Latapy
Almost top of the league in all 3 passing stats.
22-01-2025, 07:19 PM
5 of our starting XI in the 2007 League Cup final were on trial before signing.
22-01-2025, 07:21 PM
Guillaume Beuzelin?
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 07:26 PM
do your thing detectives
Has to him right? ..
Bob Box Fish
22-01-2025, 07:26 PM
Is Bojang’s flat still free ?
Hibees1973
22-01-2025, 07:39 PM
Is Bojang’s flat still free ?
Still fire damaged.
Wee lick of paint and will be fine.
Hibernian2105
22-01-2025, 07:44 PM
For me this is a very good signing. Only concern is the league quality but he’s played a full season in the top division of Denmark and 85 apps in Poland premier division.
Watching clips he has a real eye for a pass and knows how to get the ball forward, his assist stats could be better but his tackling stats are good. Fits the Gray prototype of midfielders (see Triantis) who can press and win the ball, good passing whether that be a direct through ball or just hitting wide areas for us which we’ve been successful with recently. Has more tackles on average per game than Newell and Campbell as well as 6 assists so far this season. Good signing imo and hopefully stops the bedwetters crying because hibs don’t publicly announce every agent we speak to[emoji106][emoji106]
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 07:44 PM
Ivan Sproule ?
22-01-2025, 07:47 PM
Has to him right? ..
Definitely him Sherlock 👏
22-01-2025, 07:48 PM
If he's not set his head on fire before his first appearance, then send him back.
22-01-2025, 07:48 PM
Observer reporting we’re close to a deal for Manneh. Lovely stuff!
Hibees1973
22-01-2025, 07:52 PM
Just noticed that Pleguezuelo guy we are linked with is part of Plymouth defence currently getting pumped 5-0 at half time.
22-01-2025, 07:53 PM
Highlight reel looks good but can he do it on a cold night in Ayr
22-01-2025, 07:55 PM
Hopefully announced by the weekend.
MagicSwirlingShip
22-01-2025, 07:58 PM
Obligatory YouTube video
Some of that finishing 🤦 Bojang would be proud
22-01-2025, 07:58 PM
For me this is a very good signing. Only concern is the league quality but he’s played a full season in the top division of Denmark and 85 apps in Poland premier division.
Watching clips he has a real eye for a pass and knows how to get the ball forward, his assist stats could be better but his tackling stats are good. Fits the Gray prototype of midfielders (see Triantis) who can press and win the ball, good passing whether that be a direct through ball or just hitting wide areas for us which we’ve been successful with recently. Has more tackles on average per game than Newell and Campbell as well as 6 assists so far this season. Good signing imo and hopefully stops the bedwetters crying because hibs don’t publicly announce every agent we speak to[emoji106][emoji106]
his assist stats are because his team mates are crap ! In 1300 minutes football this year he has created 41 chances… but his crappy forwards have only converted 6 of them. Get him feeding Boyle !
22-01-2025, 07:59 PM
Has to him right? ..
Don’t think so, that photo was taken on the 17th and he photo I’ve attached was the 15th
22-01-2025, 07:59 PM
Scott Allan with pace 👏looks a baller like but his teammates were prettyrubbish
I was just going to post exactly the same !
22-01-2025, 08:03 PM
Too wee.
chippy
22-01-2025, 08:03 PM
What I like about this is that it’s exactly the positions we need help in/ CM, CDM. He looks athletic with an eye for a pass with good experience. Low risk
Bob Box Fish
22-01-2025, 08:04 PM
Watching the YouTube clips that’s what I thought Dylan Levitt was going to be like when he signed.
Gordy M
22-01-2025, 08:08 PM
You have to think that someone who was at the Barca academy will have decent technical ability. Whether he suits the Scottish game remains to be seen, but you would imagine he is good on the ball.
22-01-2025, 08:09 PM
Is that what they said?
22-01-2025, 08:10 PM
Is that what they said?
“ Hibernian are closing in on the signing of Odense midfielder Alasana Manneh, as head coach David Gray looks to bolster his options in the middle of the park”
Doesn't really say anything that hasn't already been mentioned though. No new details. But if the Observer are reporting it we must be close you'd think.
Ribs1875
22-01-2025, 08:11 PM
Ivan Sproule ?
Why won't they just announce Ivans son Sam Sproule??
Hibees1973
22-01-2025, 08:13 PM
Has to him right? ..
If this was this time last year this Manneh guy has a whif of Ian Gordon all over it.
However we have all been reassured that Ian Gordon is nowhere near recruitment these days.
22-01-2025, 08:14 PM
Highlight reel looks good but can he do it on a cold night in Ayr
Dont think Denmarks exactly roasty toasty all year round
22-01-2025, 08:15 PM
If this was this time last year this Manneh guy has a whif of Ian Gordon all over it.
However we have all been reassured that Ian Gordon is nowhere near recruitment these days.
Take a day off ffs
Yet some folk keep bringing it up
I don’t think so at all.
22-01-2025, 08:17 PM
You think Garvan Stewart is here for a laugh? There’s not a hope in hell he’ll be taking orders on recruitment from Ian Gordon.
Hibees1973
Take a day off ffs
Apologies Saul.
I'm still haunted by the fact that the likes of Mueller and Bojang had the privilege of pulling on the Hibs jersey.
Take a day off ffs
He is obsessed. It’s like a broken record that never stops
Tha Cabbage Kid
22-01-2025, 08:18 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZaBaWi6i7E&t=197s
scored a cracker when he played for Gornik start from 2:36 mins in
However we have all been reassured that Ian Gordon is nowhere near recruitment these days.I heard Ian Gordon is exactly who's leading this signing
Garvin and Malky arnt keen by Ian is insisting based on wyscout
Obviously this is only true if he's garbage
If he's good then it's got to be a marvelous decision by SDG [emoji6]
MagicSwirlingShip
Apologies Saul.
I'm still haunted by the fact that the likes of Mueller and Bojang had the privilege of pulling on the Hibs jersey.
What a hoot
Gordy M
22-01-2025, 08:19 PM
Apologies Saul.
But this guy has played over 100 games between the top flight in Poland and Denmark? Who did Ian Gordon sign with that type of history? Maybe im missing someone but no one springs to mind?
22-01-2025, 08:19 PM
I don’t think so at all.
Just trolling
22-01-2025, 08:20 PM
Apologies Saul.
FFS they were gambles that didn’t pay off. It happens. We have signed better players than them that have come to us and never settled.
22-01-2025, 08:20 PM
Apologies Saul.
Well if someone says Ian Gordon signing to me I’m thinking of project players from b teams that haven’t played much, or any, first team games.
I’m not sure how someone that’s played 89 games in the polish top flight, 42 games in the danish top flight and 18 games in the danish second tier this season has any sign of an Ian Gordon signing about it.
22-01-2025, 08:21 PM
You still here?
tonyrougier123
22-01-2025, 08:25 PM
Totally the type of signing that rarely comes off for us, pedigree lost his way found his way to Easter road. In that position we have NMW Levitt, this boy an upgrade? Time will tell. I think there’s better available right under our nose to build a decent midfield, no need to be STILL attempting these foreign stab in the dark signings. Nothing jumps out at me about this boy. Hope I’m wrong as usual but not what I was hoping to see.
Might be a Glen Kamara type so I’ll live in hope.
22-01-2025, 08:26 PM
I wonder if we are still in for Jani Atanasov or if this signing is instead of
22-01-2025, 08:26 PM
Totally the type of signing that rarely comes off for us, pedigree lost his way found his way to Easter road. In that position we have NMW Levitt, this boy an upgrade? Time will tell. I think there’s better available right under our nose to build a decent midfield, no need to be STILL attempting these foreign stab in the dark signings. Nothing jumps out at me about this boy. Hope I’m wrong as usual but not what I was hoping to see.
I've no idea how good he is, do you?
22-01-2025, 08:28 PM
Who's better under our nose that is affordable and would be tempted by Hibs at this time?
22-01-2025, 08:28 PM
Totally the type of signing that rarely comes off for us, pedigree lost his way found his way to Easter road. .
It's what Mowbray and Stubb's built there team around no?
22-01-2025, 08:37 PM
Grow up dude!
FastEddieFelson
22-01-2025, 08:37 PM
Jesus, Tony. Cheer up.
22-01-2025, 08:38 PM
Might be a Glen Kamara type so I’ll live in hope.Who would you take as right under our nose?
Bearing in mind Lyall Cameron is linked with Rangers now
Hibees1973
22-01-2025, 08:39 PM
You still here?
Hello Flash.
Yes, still here.
You know me by now. Have a word with these other posters and tell them to pipe down a bit.
22-01-2025, 08:40 PM
Hello Flash.
Yes, still here.
You know me by now. Have a word with these other posters and tell them to pipe down a bit.
I think they smell a rat.
Ribs1875
22-01-2025, 08:42 PM
It's what Mowbray and Stubb's built there team around no?
Even the best managers sign duds, what I liked about the likes of big eck, Mogga, Stubbs and Lenny was we always had 2 to each position.
Particularly under Mowbray, if Riordan and O'Connor were not fit then Fletcher and killen would come in and we were every bit as good. It was the same with our midfield back then. We had 2 for each position. Hopefully we will recruit better in the summer and replicate that model.
22-01-2025, 08:42 PM
The guy seems fine. Hopefully he does well for us.
22-01-2025, 08:51 PM
I think they smell a rat.
Or a whiff of edible tuber...
Apologies Saul.
I'm still haunted by the fact that the likes of Mueller and Bojang had the privilege of pulling on the Hibs jersey.Grow up a bit.
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 09:06 PM
You must have missed this 😂….
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/december/03/garvan-stewart-appointed-as-head-of-recruitment/
22-01-2025, 09:07 PM
Tbf I get what you’re saying.
We need players to come in to improve our midfield and start. Will he be much above Levitt for example?
Played in the Polish top flight, danish top flight and now second division. Other than this season, he doesn’t seem to have had many assists for a creative midfielder
However he seems the type that would get the ‘pre assist’ with his passing from deep
Is he the type of quality we all expected we’d wait until the end of the window for?
We’re just going to have to wait and see.
Seen it many times when someone came in and I thought they’d be brilliant but were shocking and vice versa.
Fergos
22-01-2025, 09:13 PM
If he's not set his head on fire before his first appearance, then send him back.
🤣 should now be mandatory now that Bojang set the standard.
Mcbizz1998
22-01-2025, 09:29 PM
I, for one, am quite excited about this potential signing. We shall see of course but it’s a signing in an area we need and with a good pedigree.
tonyrougier123
22-01-2025, 10:12 PM
I see the alasana I wanted us to look at is subject to a bid by Plymouth 750k Gambian also big striker alasana jatta. Looks a real handful.
22-01-2025, 10:13 PM
Kyogo leaving Celtic to Rennes for 10 million. Jota also going back to Celtic
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
1875Sean
22-01-2025, 10:36 PM
I see the alasana I wanted us to look at is subject to a bid by Plymouth 750k Gambian also big striker alasana jatta. Looks a real handful.
Can’t see us going for a striker in this window with Bowie and Myko coming back from injury
22-01-2025, 10:54 PM
I’m quite relaxed about this window. There is a huge opportunity there for us between now and the end of the season but not that many games to play. This window is definitely one for a couple of players who can come in, hit the ground running and make a quick impact on the team. I’m not really interested in us adding anyone that just gives us a bit more depth, that can be taken care of in the summer. I think we have plenty goals in us with the players we have but I’ll be disappointed if we don’t do something that helps reduce the number we’re losing. That could be the real difference IMO.
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 10:55 PM
Can’t see us going for a striker in this window with Bowie and Myko coming back from injury
Think the defence is well covered too , couple of midfielders the priority IMO.
I've no idea how good he is, do you?
His average Sofascore rating over the last 20 matches is 7.53. Manneh form heaven!
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 11:16 PM
If I had a choice between Kyogo or Idah I’d pick Kyogo all day long .
ruthven_raiders
22-01-2025, 11:30 PM
Surely GK, but I guess as bursic is still here then not possible?
WellingtonHibby
22-01-2025, 11:36 PM
🤣 should now be mandatory now that Bojang set the standard.
Pa Kujabi is spinning in his grave.
Cabbage-Patch
22-01-2025, 11:47 PM
Won't be sad to see him go from a Hibs perspective but he's been an incredible signing for them. Crazy to let him go for that money unless his contract is up and he dosent want to renew
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2025, 11:47 PM
Surely GK, but I guess as bursic is still here then not possible?
I think we’d all like another keeper though it doesn’t seem like Bursik is going anywhere so it’s probably not possible at the moment though on a positive note it does give us more time to line up a good one in the summer .
Cabbage-Patch
22-01-2025, 11:49 PM
I would disagree. If Rocky or Iredale got injured we would be in trouble. I know Marv is due to come back but we are light on CBs and could do with another in the door
I’m quite relaxed about this window. There is a huge opportunity there for us between now and the end of the season but not that many games to play. This window is definitely one for a couple of players who can come in, hit the ground running and make a quick impact on the team. I’m not really interested in us adding anyone that just gives us a bit more depth, that can be taken care of in the summer. I think we have plenty goals in us with the players we have but I’ll be disappointed if we don’t do something that helps reduce the number we’re losing. That could be the real difference IMO.A midfielder can help there. Someone who is available for an easy pass, gives the defence an out, turn and motor. Makes a huge difference.
Donegal Hibby
23-01-2025, 12:27 AM
I would disagree. If Rocky or Iredale got injured we would be in trouble. I know Marv is due to come back but we are light on CBs and could do with another in the door
I think Obita could play there and Miller and dare I say Triantis too if we were stuck . The one area we are most weak in is midfield … with Newell injured , what if we lose Campbell or Triantis.. who steps in there ?
23-01-2025, 06:00 AM
Won't be sad to see him go from a Hibs perspective but he's been an incredible signing for them. Crazy to let him go for that money unless his contract is up and he dosent want to renew
Didn’t realise he was 30
23-01-2025, 08:18 AM
Celtic always sell when they can get most value. He’s probably at his peak now and from here on it’s all decline.
23-01-2025, 08:22 AM
I think Obita could play there and Miller and dare I say Triantis too if we were stuck . The one area we are most weak in is midfield … with Newell injured , what if we lose Campbell or Triantis.. who steps in there ?
I doubt Triantis will ever play in central defence again for us. He’s a mainstay in midfield and if he’s fit and available, that’s where he’ll play for Hibs.
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2025, 08:26 AM
Celtic always sell when they can get most value. He’s probably at his peak now and from here on it’s all decline.
Whilst he’s an excellent player, his goal contributions would likely also be replaceable now for Celtic. The last season and a half hasn’t been half as impressive from him as his first 2 seasons.
badabing67
23-01-2025, 08:33 AM
Doesn't look like Tyrese Hall is happening for us
Hibs had interest in 'phenomenal' EPL talent but loan chances have ended (https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/transfers/hibs-had-interest-in-phenomenal-epl-talent-but-loan-chances-have-ended/)
Hello Flash.
Yes, still here.
Don't take it personally. We don't judge you as a person. Only a few of us have met.
There's a huge difference behind the keyboard between a Jambo on the wind-up and a negative Hibby whose cup is permanently half-empty.
But the net effect of dropping a smelly one with every post is the same.
We are going well. Please try to find something about our club that you like.
Ribs1875
23-01-2025, 08:37 AM
Priority for me is a striker because we cant continue to rely on Boyle for our source of goals. Bowie is back, which feels like a new signing. After that we are left with Gayle who is quality, but not a 90 minute player. Myko who struggles to finish his tea and McKirdy who is not good enough.
MacGruber
23-01-2025, 08:42 AM
Priority for me is a striker because we cant continue to rely on Boyle for our source of goals. Bowie is back, which feels like a new signing. After that we are left with Gayle who is quality, but not a 90 minute player. Myko who struggles to finish his tea and McKirdy who is not good enough.
Agree, especially as Bowie might take a while to get fully up and running
23-01-2025, 08:43 AM
Doesn't look like Tyrese Hall is happening for us
Hibs had interest in 'phenomenal' EPL talent but loan chances have ended (https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/transfers/hibs-had-interest-in-phenomenal-epl-talent-but-loan-chances-have-ended/)
Quite relieved to be honest. Don't think he's what we require.
badabing67
23-01-2025, 08:46 AM
Quite relieved to be honest. Don't think he's what we require.
Just wonder if we have another option
23-01-2025, 08:46 AM
Just wonder if we have another option
Manneh?
Donegal Hibby
23-01-2025, 08:51 AM
I’m not saying you’re wrong because I’d like another striker too though I think we might possibly need to move McKirdy on if that’s to happen . I do think upfront we have players who can chip in with goals like Youan , Cadden etc … a better midfield for me would hopefully help the defence more and maybe create more for our attackers .
Ribs1875
23-01-2025, 08:51 AM
Agree, especially as Bowie might take a while to get fully up and running
We need a long term striking partner for him, I would love to see us get a Kevin Nisbet type striker. Have the classic one comes short and the other goes long.
Ribs1875
23-01-2025, 09:02 AM
I’m not saying you’re wrong because I’d like another striker too though I think we might possibly need to move McKirdy on if that’s to happen . I do think upfront we have players who can chip in with goals like Youan , Cadden etc … a better midfield for me would hopefully help the defence more and maybe create more for our attackers .
Absolutely, we could do with signing a defensive mid so our current centre mids can focus on driving further forward. Folk have laughed at me before, but I think Bushiri would do a good job as a defensive mid.
There is still an anxiety amongst around the way we began the season and that we must sign. The change of system with going 3 centres at the back tightened us up. Being brutally honest, we have an opportunity to clear out the out of contract deadwood in the summer. If we stick to the same system with the current players we will make top six. I'd be happy to see us loan in a few players, give youth players a chance and properly rebuild in the summer.
Donegal Hibby
23-01-2025, 09:02 AM
Didn’t with McGregor or Forrest . IMO you’d get at least 3 or 4 good years out of Kyogo and compared to what they spent 9 million , Kyogo is a much better player.
badabing67
23-01-2025, 09:08 AM
Manneh?
Was wondering if we were getting Manneh + Jani Atanasov
23-01-2025, 09:10 AM
Didn’t with McGregor or Forrest . IMO you’d get at least 3 or 4 good years out of Kyogo and compared to what they spent 9 million , Kyogo is a much better player.
I think it's slightly different with the the Scottish lads. I don't think McGregor, Forest or Brown before then had any intention to leave, they were happy earning good money and winning things regularly whilst living close to home.
Kyogo obviously doesn't have the ties to Scotland that those do.
On the whole though the poster is correct, Celtic are very good at selling to get maximum value for players.
23-01-2025, 09:12 AM
Manneh?
Can see lots of song options similar to Mane at Liverpool! Just need to recruit Salah too!
Hibees1973
23-01-2025, 09:16 AM
Don't take it personally. We don't judge you as a person. Only a few of us have met.
There's a huge difference behind the keyboard between a Jambo on the wind-up and a negative Hibby whose cup is permanently half-empty.
But the net effect of dropping a smelly one with every post is the same.
We are going well. Please try to find something about our club that you like.
My posts last evening were in jest. I would like to think hibs.net is a forum where we have the platform to laugh at ourselves a bit.
I do post loads of positive things about Hibs.
If you want one this morning. I'm enjoying the unbeaten run we are on.
23-01-2025, 09:53 AM
Was wondering if we were getting Manneh + Jani Atanasov
Atanasov seems a bit like a back up option for us
Wonder if we’re holding out for someone like Alan Campbell or similar as our first choice
Septimus
23-01-2025, 10:28 AM
Manneh?
Manneh from heaven?
23-01-2025, 10:32 AM
Wonder if we’re holding out for someone like Alan Campbell or similar as our first choice
Atanasov looks a much better option than Campbell based on their most recent seasons and I say that as someone who was a big AC fan when he was at Motherwell & Luton.
23-01-2025, 10:44 AM
Wouldn't mind that one bit & I seem to recall you've mentioned AC a couple of times this window
Would be delighted if there's something in that
23-01-2025, 10:46 AM
Atanasov looks a much better option than Campbell based on their most recent seasons and I say that as someone who was a big AC fan when he was at Motherwell & Luton.
Does he? Based on what?
Genuinely intrigued.
Atanasov hasn’t played much this season for a team in the Polish top flight - 318 minutes in 10 appearances . Whilst Campbell doesn’t seem to have had a great time of it at Charlton
Not sure what standard the Polish league is
As you say Campbell was really good at Motherwell and then Luton, playing every week in the English championship. Probably just lost his way a bit
Think Campbell would be classed as the safer option and one gray would want
23-01-2025, 10:47 AM
Wouldn't mind that one bit & I seem to recall you've mentioned AC a couple of times this window
Would be delighted if there's something in that
We were definitely interested in him. Beyond that who knows.
23-01-2025, 10:49 AM
No one itk got any info at all?
badabing67
23-01-2025, 10:59 AM
Does he? Based on what?
Genuinely intrigued.
Atanasov hasn’t played much this season for a team in the Polish top flight - 318 minutes in 10 appearances . Whilst Campbell doesn’t seem to have had a great time of it at Charlton
Not sure what standard the Polish league is
As you say Campbell was really good at Motherwell and then Luton, playing every week in the English championship. Probably just lost his way a bit
Think Campbell would be classed as the safer option and one gray would want
Would Atanasov not be more likely to be a permanent move where as Campbell would just be a loan deal.
23-01-2025, 11:03 AM
Would Atanasov not be more likely to be a permanent move where as Campbell would just be a loan deal.
Campbell is out of contract at the end of the season
I’d imagine if we try do a deal it would be loan to the end of the season which turns permanent
23-01-2025, 11:09 AM
Campbell strikes me as the type of deal we used to do under Leeann D. Players with a proven pedigree who may like to come home like Fyvie. I always think these are a good idea in terms of risk/reward
Cabbage-Patch
23-01-2025, 11:10 AM
Where is this stuff re Allan Campbell coming from? Has there actually been any solid links or is it just wishful thinking? Personally If it was a choice between Campbell or Atanasov I would go for Campbell but why not both? Triantis likely won't be here next season neither will Amos or Kwon. NMW dosent look to be too favoured by Gray either.
badabing67
23-01-2025, 11:15 AM
Where is this stuff re Allan Campbell coming from? Has there actually been any solid links or is it just wishful thinking? Personally If it was a choice between Campbell or Atanasov I would go for Campbell but why not both? Triantis likely won't be here next season neither will Amos or Kwon. NMW dosent look to be too favoured by Gray either.
I think it's been in the media that he wants to come back to Scotland with Rangers or Aberdeen being the front runners to get him.
TrinityHFC
23-01-2025, 11:16 AM
Campbell strikes me as the type of deal we used to do under Leeann D. Players with a proven pedigree who may like to come home like Fyvie. I always think these are a good idea in terms of risk/reward
Like we did this year with Bowie? Or Cadden?
Cabbage-Patch
23-01-2025, 11:17 AM
I think it's been in the media that he wants to come back to Scotland with Rangers or Aberdeen being the front runners to get him.
Fair enough. Has Aderdeen signing all over it tbh. Can't see him going to Rangers.
aberhibsfc
23-01-2025, 11:30 AM
I think the smoke signals were leaning towards the Finish youngster we submitted a bid for, joining the Swedish club due to some connection.
Has anyone heard any update regards this target?
23-01-2025, 11:44 AM
I think the smoke signals were leaning towards the Finish youngster we submitted a bid for, joining the Swedish club due to some connection.
Has anyone heard any update regards this target?
Yeah, it was being reported in the Swedish media yesterday he was having his medical with Djurgarden and would be announced shortly.
I think we can all but score his name of the list.
Yeah, it was being reported in the Swedish media yesterday he was having his medical with Djurgarden and would be announced shortly.
Well perhaps this will allow some of our own 17 year old the opportunity to progress towards 1st team football.
They're all allowed the opportunity, they just need to be good enough. Which, on the evidence of those who have left without getting 'a chance', hasn't often been the case.
23-01-2025, 12:51 PM
Like we did this year with Bowie? Or Cadden? Exactly, Bowie was a bigger punt because of injury and while it may end up a masterstroke I think signing injured players is often poor use of resources. Solid players who have proven they have it in Scotland, went down south for more cash and maybe lost their way a bit would be a market I would be looking very closely at.
23-01-2025, 12:56 PM
Not sure if this has been posted.
Sam Stanton loaned to Arbroath until the end of the season.
"Several months ago, Sam indicated he longer wanted to play for Raith Rovers, so we worked together to ensure he joined a club that suits both parties"
23-01-2025, 01:23 PM
Not sure if this has been posted.
Sam Stanton loaned to Arbroath until the end of the season.
"Several months ago, Sam indicated he longer wanted to play for Raith Rovers, so we worked together to ensure he joined a club that suits both parties"
That's a strange one on the face of it as he is usually one of Raiths better players whenever I see them.
23-01-2025, 01:57 PM
That's a strange one on the face of it as he is usually one of Raiths better players whenever I see them.
He is, but he's been out a lot this season due to injury.
If his head isn't in it, though, it does make sense.
Yip the club seemed a good fit for him.
23-01-2025, 03:11 PM
Just hoping the fact we ain't brought anyone in yet will be due to finding the right players and not rushing into things.
Still have a week or so, I'm sure we'll see something happen next week.
Ribs1875
23-01-2025, 03:17 PM
Probably for the best to be honest. It's a very risky transfer to buy a 17 year old lad for 1 mil. So many factors could go against us. If a club like ours is to spend that type of money I'd rather it be on someone who has proven themselves and we could make a profit on. We already signed players based on their potential to come good and it got us no where.
23-01-2025, 03:22 PM
Probably for the best to be honest. It's a very risky transfer to buy a 17 year old lad for 1 mil. So many factors could go against us. If a club like ours is to spend that type of money I'd rather it be on someone who has proven themselves and we could make a profit on. We already signed players based on their potential to come good and it got us no where.
Not sure all 17 year olds sit in the same bracket
The best ones are first team regulars from that age on a permanent basis
davhibby
23-01-2025, 03:24 PM
He is, but he's been out a lot this season due to injury.
If his head isn't in it, though, it does make sense.
Looking at the replies on twitter something has been going on behind the scenes rather than him actually being injured
23-01-2025, 06:01 PM
Celtic basically swapping Kyogo for Jota
Exuberance1875
23-01-2025, 06:03 PM
Celtid basically swapping Kyogo for Jota
Pretty decent business if you ask me
23-01-2025, 06:04 PM
Looking at the replies on twitter something has been going on behind the scenes rather than him actually being injured
I ditched my Twitter, but that's been my thoughts today.
23-01-2025, 06:23 PM
I said earlier if we hadn't signed a player by Thursday I’d be going tonto, but that Kensell news has fair cheered me up!
I'll give Hibe til Monday now before I lose it on the transfer front.
23-01-2025, 06:25 PM
I said earlier if we hadn't signed a player by Thursday I’d be going tonto, but that Kensell news has fair cheered me up!
I'll give Hibe til Monday now before I lose it on the transfer front.
If we get a loan Ranger, will you still go Tonto?
23-01-2025, 06:29 PM
If we get a loan Ranger, will you still go Tonto?
https://media.tenor.com/qEIyUhGf30oAAAAM/tonto-lone-ranger.gif