View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2024/25

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27

03-02-2025, 02:16 PM
Someone on here could have provided cover and probably wouldn’t be any worse than Bursik. Mental decision imo.

I don't rate the guy personally either and I'd probably have been happy to see him go and just went with Boruc on the bench as well maybe. But I don't think it's as criminal a decision for now seeing as it's just a number 2 keeper at this point that will hopefully never play. Saves us going out and trying to find someone happy to come sit in his place.

There's a chance we have a keeper lined up for the summer and we're just holding onto him as emergency cover until they join.

03-02-2025, 02:18 PM
I know he’s a player you know well, do you think he’d be better suited to going out on loan and playing every week or squad filler here?

I’m undecided, too many players get lost never to be heard of again when sent out on loan. I’m not sure he’s ready for making a regular impact at first team level though.

I think they want to keep him in with the squad as he will learn more there than being out in the 1st div soon is something. It's a tricky one - send him out - get more time - but the quality levels could set him back.

03-02-2025, 02:19 PM
Bristol rovers head scout clearly pished

They can't afford the transfer fee to get him now :faf::faf::faf:

Heres hoping he doesn’t get a nasty torn achilles before he joins…although apparently hes been all tippy tappy in games already, like playing with a man down. Dundee could easily get relegated with him in the team not trying a leg.

Dave?

Yes mate?

I don't rate the guy personally either and I'd probably have been happy to see him go and just went with Boruc on the bench as well maybe. But I don't think it's as criminal a decision for now seeing as it's just a number 2 keeper at this point that will hopefully never play. Saves us going out and trying to find someone happy to come sit in his place.

There's a chance we have a keeper lined up for the summer and we're just holding onto him as emergency cover until they join.

It’s irrelevant if we don’t have to play him again, but he’s a total liability and I wouldn’t want to take the risk that we might have to.

03-02-2025, 02:21 PM

Whats the point off Boruc then?

03-02-2025, 02:21 PM
Yes mate?

You mean yes Trigger. 🤣

03-02-2025, 02:22 PM
Bristol rovers head scout clearly pished

League 1 is poor quality. Fletcher still starring for Wrexham.

03-02-2025, 02:24 PM
Whats the point off Boruc then?

Very rare any team now has just two 'senior' keepers. Every team will have a third of some sorts that travels with the squad and will come in if someone is injured in the warm up. You only need to go as far back to our Home game against Inter Escaldes to see why teams do that.

We of course could have one of our youngsters do that which I think we have done with Murray Johnstone before but these guys also need to go play and not sit as an injury back up.

Donegal Hibby
03-02-2025, 02:25 PM
Rangers got a pre-contract with Lyall Cameron

Rangers transfers: Lyall Cameron to join when Dundee deal expires - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cy7gjy5v2l6o)

I don’t think he’s a signing that will improve them all that much .

03-02-2025, 02:26 PM
League 1 is poor quality. Fletcher still starring for Wrexham.

Fletcher is quality, that’s not in itself a criticism of the league. Hed contribute more than Myko or Mckirdy no doubt

Silky
03-02-2025, 02:26 PM
Daily record reporting Hibs blocked a move for Bursik from Bristol Rovers. They wanted him on loan. Source says David Gray didn't want to leave hibs "short in the goalkeeping department" incredible if true. We had the chance to get shot and we have said no!

If we did get shot and didn't manage to get another keep in, then I can only imagine the reaction. Keeping at this stage of the window is probably easiest.

Cabbage-Patch
03-02-2025, 02:28 PM
Fletcher is quality, that’s not in itself a criticism of the league. Hed contribute more than Myko or Mckirdy no doubt

He was pish at Dundee Utd

badabing67

A midfield of Barron and Cameron is not striking fear into anyone. Celtic must be laughing

Said similar to a mate the other week

I think he’s a really good young Scottish player for a Hibs, hearts or Aberdeen

Do I worry about a midfield 3 for rangers consisting of Barron, Cameron and one other?

Not in the slightest

Cabbage-Patch
03-02-2025, 02:29 PM
Lyall Cameron signed a pre contract with the Huns

Another home grown player to balance the Euro squad books no doubt much as McCowan was for celtic. He won't be a regular starter.

Hibiza
03-02-2025, 02:30 PM
Bursik : shot have bitten the hands off Bristol Rovers , even though just a loaner. Our run began after SDG dropped him.

03-02-2025, 02:31 PM
A midfield of Barron and Cameron is not striking fear into anyone. Celtic must be laughing

Mid table midfield at best

Ribs1875
03-02-2025, 02:32 PM

I thought him breaking Craig Gordons leg was a masterclass of the quality he still has.

03-02-2025, 02:33 PM
Surely not

We could surely someone better than him easily

Also do we not hear how well prepared we are should an offer come in for a player? We have replacements lined up etc

Next we’ll be blocking a move for McKirdy

Listen, I know he’s not had the most auspicious start at Hibs and we could no doubt sign better but why do we just give up on somebody having a bad spell. Maybe the coaches are working with him, building his confidence and developing him into a better player. There may be a decent keeper there if we give it time and, for now, maybe Gray and the coaching staff are happy to have him as back up.

Players do get better you know, especially younger players.

03-02-2025, 02:34 PM
I thought him breaking Craig Gordons leg was a masterclass of the quality he still has.

NthCarolinaHibs

Poor comment..

Looks to me like they moved on from Lawwells ridiculous belief that they needed a strong Sevco and now just watching Sevco is like rubber necking a car crash.

03-02-2025, 02:35 PM
Dearie me.

03-02-2025, 02:35 PM
Murray Johnson has just gone out on loan, Max Boruc has very little first team experience - this late in the day it doesn’t make sense for us to allow Bursik to leave, unless we have a nailed on replacement coming in.

03-02-2025, 02:36 PM
Murray Johnson has just gone out on loan, Max Boruc has very little first team experience - this late in the day it doesn’t make sense for us to allow Bursik to leave, unless we have a nailed on replacement coming in.

9 goals wasnt bad, 1 in 3 of his starts, plus he totally bossed us in a MOTM performance against us at Tannadice, i was there and he was excellent. Wrexham also probably pay more than us.

Ribs1875
Listen, I know he’s not had the most auspicious start at Hibs and we could no doubt sign better but why do we just give up on somebody having a bad spell. Maybe the coaches are working with him, building his confidence and developing him into a better player. There may be a decent keeper there if we give it time and, for now, maybe Gray and the coaching staff are happy to have him as back up.

I understand where you are coming from. He needs game time however. I doubt he will be back in unless Smith gets injured. That said, he was unfortunate being dropped straight before went went 3 centre half's.

Lyall Cameron signed a pre contract with the Huns

I'd be surprised if he doesn't sign before 11pm, Dundee fans were scathing of him after the Hearts game saying it's clear he doesn't want to be there.

03-02-2025, 02:37 PM

Sky pissing me off again, going to Ipox to discuss a pre contract, don’t know why they love that lot so much

badabing67
They can't afford the transfer fee to get him now :faf::faf::faf:

Is this another one that could go to tribunal for a development fee and end up costing Dundee a pile of cash in legal fees similar to Aberdeen. If it is what an atrocious way for a club that size to do business in Scotland. It feels like they are getting smaller all the time if that is the case.

I'd be surprised if he doesn't sign before 11pm, Dundee fans were scathing of him after the Hearts game saying it's clear he doesn't want to be there.
I'll be surprised if he does, Sevco aren't paying out a transfer fee, they are cost cutting.

03-02-2025, 02:49 PM
Porteous signs for PNE on loan

Jock O
03-02-2025, 02:50 PM
If there are better quality players available to us we have to take the opportunity to improve, it’s the only way.

I agree with that, but it has to better quality players that want to come to us and will fit our squad and structure, and like it or not current budget, I think that is the right decision that the team seem to have made. Ironically the better quality we want the more choice they have, hence I suspect Gray's comments about nothing happening till the end. I actually think it's pretty hard to meet that criteria at any time, and will be interesting how it is addressed in Summer, but especially in January. I have no doubt the guys have had their targets but for whatever reason they have dropped, and I think everyone agrees we want to make sure, within all reasonable risk considerations, they come looking like they will improve us as a squad.

Its especially frustrating as a few more key injuries will leave us threadbare as a squad, but in all honesty not sure recruitment team could do much more , without a slice of luck like Maolida agreeing to come and then playing out of his skin for the best part of the season. Marcondes on the other hand probably didn't work out as hoped, although I think that was as much on how we played as on him, it was clear at times and more so this year, he was significantly more talented than would normally come to most SPL clubs. I think these guys coming to Hibs in current budgets will always be the exception,

Its interesting reading around the transfer news today, it seems very cagy from lots of teams around the UK.

Aberdeen and Hearts are probably the exception here, and have thrown the dice, but there is definitely larger slices of risk than I think we want to take on both these teams. Only the end of season will tell

Hibs4185
03-02-2025, 02:51 PM
I've just seen the quad-coloured pen on the way to Ormiston in a limo. It's happening 🔏

Only get excited when it’s been helicoptered in

hibee1875
03-02-2025, 02:52 PM

Exactly. The fact we don’t want to “scramble about” suggests we have our attentions elsewhere and don’t want to split focus to find a new GK we weren’t planning for

03-02-2025, 02:55 PM

Touch condescending but in answer to your question

I think he really struggles making any noticeable saves, he makes very poor mistakes and he’s cost us two goals from being completely unaware on the ball. I think the whole team and fan base get nervous with him

He’s only on loan here and his confidence seemed completely shot. He could absolutely develop and improve, I just can’t see that happening in the next 5 months

To me it would have made sense moving him on and getting someone else in

I agree with that, but it has to better quality players that want to come to us and will fit our squad and structure, and like it or not current budget, I think that is the right decision that the team seem to have made. Ironically the better quality we want the more choice they have, hence I suspect Gray's comments about nothing happening till the end. I actually think it's pretty hard to meet that criteria at any time, and will be interesting how it is addressed in Summer, but especially in January. I have no doubt the guys have had their targets but for whatever reason they have dropped, and I think everyone agrees we want to make sure, within all reasonable risk considerations, they come looking like they will improve us as a squad.

Its especially frustrating as a few more key injuries will leave us threadbare as a squad, but in all honesty not sure recruitment team could do much more , without a slice of luck like Maolida agreeing to come and then playing out of his skin for the best part of the season. Marcondes on the other hand probably didn't work out as hoped, although I think that was as much on how we played as on him, it was clear at times and more so this year, he was significantly more talented than would normally come to most SPL clubs. I think these guys coming to Hibs in current budgets will always be the exception,

Its interesting reading around the transfer news today, it seems very cagy from lots of teams around the UK.

Aberdeen and Hearts are probably the exception here, and have thrown the dice, but there is definitely larger slices of risk than I think we want to take on both these teams. Only the end of season will tell

I completely agree, it’s just that the partnership with BKG was supposed to be giving us an edge in these situations, an edge that was not there before. To me it looks like nothing has changed, that's my concern.

Very rare any team now has just two 'senior' keepers. Every team will have a third of some sorts that travels with the squad and will come in if someone is injured in the warm up. You only need to go as far back to our Home game against Inter Escaldes to see why teams do that.

We of course could have one of our youngsters do that which I think we have done with Murray Johnstone before but these guys also need to go play and not sit as an injury back up.

I get that but Borac never plays. Not even in Dev games from what I can see. May as well fill one of the space with a young lad.

03-02-2025, 02:56 PM

Dundee Utd too. Three decent (on paper) signings for them in January. So Dundee Utd, Aberdeen and Hearts. The current 3rd place, 4th place and 7th place teams all recruiting in January for an end of season push.

As much as I hope our current form continues through the rest of the season, I'd be more confident if we'd added another couple of good players.

03-02-2025, 02:57 PM

I think he really struggles making any noticeable saves, he makes very poor mistakes and he’s cost us two goals from being completely unaware on the ball. I think the whole team and fan base get nervous with him

He’s only on loan here and his confidence seemed completely shot. He could absolutely develop and improve, I just can’t see that happening in the next 5 months

He's a keeper that needs to improve, but he's only here for a few more months, so we'll not see any benefit of any improvement anyway.

Hopefully we don't have to use him, but if Smith was unavailable I'd rather we picked Boruc.

03-02-2025, 03:02 PM
Bristol rovers head scout clearly pishedMight no be alcohol, Eating 12 Kit Kats and a pillow case full of Monster Munch can have the effect as well. See the transfer day snacks thread[emoji6]

03-02-2025, 03:03 PM

Not intending to be condescending. Just think the fanbase is always quick to judge someone as ****, no good get rid when they’re going through a bad patch. Just a thought that with the right man management, coaching and confidence building he might actually be ok for us if called upon.

I always found it strange that a young, relatively inexperienced goalie was our first pick this season and the inevitable rocky start materialised but he’ll have learnt from it. Got to trust Gray and the coaching staff on this one I guess.

03-02-2025, 03:05 PM
I mean, Hibs have been very quiet on social media today. Either the media team is busy preparing for a signing(s) or we aren't signing anyone and they're ****ting themselves to post anything incase folk go radge at them

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Ribs1875
03-02-2025, 03:06 PM
I get that but Borac never plays. Not even in Dev games from what I can see. May as well fill one of the space with a young lad.

I never understand why we sign these young dudes from other countries to have them kick around and then they don't make it. Surely that position would be better of giving to a local lad instead of paying extra to bring someone to another country find them accommodation, pay their visa and what not.

03-02-2025, 03:09 PM
I completely agree, it’s just that the partnership with BKG was supposed to be giving us an edge in these situations, an edge that was not there before. To me it looks like nothing has changed, that's my concern.

Whilst it's obvious we need to sign another goalkeeper, maybe the partnership is STOPPING us making deadline day signings like McKirdy..and to me that is worth something as it's leaves more to be [hopefully] wisely invested in the summer.

03-02-2025, 03:11 PM
Not intending to be condescending. Just think the fanbase is always quick to judge someone as ****, no good get rid when they’re going through a bad patch. Just a thought that with the right man management, coaching and confidence building he might actually be ok for us if called upon.

I always found it strange that a young, relatively inexperienced goalie was our first pick this season and the inevitable rocky start materialised but he’ll have learnt from it. Got to trust Gray and the coaching staff on this one I guess.

I agree with this. I’m relaxed about the squad we have and shouldn’t be looking to replace them just appease supporters (who, as you say, will tend to write off players as useless during a bad run of form) and focus on quality upgrades.

Players like Moriah-Welsh and McKirdy have had no game time other than in a struggling team with no confidence. Rocky and Iredale and Smith all went from write-offs to mainstays in a team with confidence.

03-02-2025, 03:11 PM

I think we tried to shift Boruc last summer and no one wanted him. He's just another player in the list of "will be thankfully gone by the summer'. Not really much we can do with that until it happens.

03-02-2025, 03:14 PM
Aberdeen sign another centre half

Mats Knoester

3rd centre half this window and 4th defender

03-02-2025, 03:18 PM
I wonder if we could also explore the possibility of just gifting Jair to Motherwell

The word is that Motherwell could not afford to cover all his wages and hence Jair would be unlikely to accept such a proposal.

Hence the wisdom of the loan - Motherwell presumably paying a decent portion of his wage while we sit back and hope that he discovers the sort of form that would justify what we're actually paying him.

03-02-2025, 03:19 PM
Exactly. The fact we don’t want to “scramble about” suggests we have our attentions elsewhere and don’t want to split focus to find a new GK we weren’t planning for

We could literally sign any available keeper and it have little impact. Bursik is a terrible keeper. We only need to replace him with another terrible keeper and we would still be in the same position quality wise as we are now. I'd get rid as if, god forbid, something happens to Smith, the fans would be on Bursik's back right away.

badabing67
03-02-2025, 03:21 PM

Mats Knoester

Think it might take time for Thelin to get that defence working well, he could run out of time if its not fixed quickly

03-02-2025, 03:21 PM

Mats Knoester

An anagram of Stetson Maker

He'll be gifting Bowie a hat trick if we play Aberdeen again after the split

03-02-2025, 03:25 PM
From Barry Anderson

Plymouth Argyle make a transfer bid for Hearts midfielder Malachi Boateng.
#HMFC #Transfers #DeadlineDay

PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 03:25 PM
Daily record reporting Hibs blocked a move for Bursik from Bristol Rovers. They wanted him on loan. Source Mr H. Crab says David Gray didn't want to leave hibs "short in the goalkeeping department" incredible if true. We had the chance to get shot and we have said no!

Sorted that for you

Jock O
03-02-2025, 03:26 PM

I am just not clear on how that works to be honest, going to start a bit of a discussion on it after today is all over as I am not sure anyone is totally clear so would be good to get some views.

Jock O
03-02-2025, 03:28 PM
Dundee Utd too. Three decent (on paper) signings for them in January. So Dundee Utd, Aberdeen and Hearts. The current 3rd place, 4th place and 7th place teams all recruiting in January for an end of season push.

As much as I hope our current form continues through the rest of the season, I'd be more confident if we'd added another couple of good players.

Fair point on Dundee Utd, and on paper I think their signings are most likely to succeed here, but I have I got that wrong a number of times before :-)

I agree we need another couple, I suppose in my half full side of the fence I am assuming they have tried to get them but not been able to get the quality we want in the areas we need. I just think January is a bit of a lottery to be honest.

03-02-2025, 03:29 PM
An anagram of Stetson Maker

He'll be gifting Bowie a hat trick if we play Aberdeen again after the split

Kin also spell 'Stern monks ':greengrin , They need a stern talking to the monks so they can pray for there next win !

03-02-2025, 03:33 PM

Mats Knoester

That's an expensive squad for the championship

03-02-2025, 03:37 PM
Think it might take time for Thelin to get that defence working well, he could run out of time if its not fixed quickly

Are they getting all these players from IKEA? Playing a flat pack four.

03-02-2025, 03:38 PM

03-02-2025, 03:39 PM

We'll he's certainly the Swedish Barry Robson

03-02-2025, 03:41 PM

That's been Aberdeen's problem recently.

Too many drawers.

03-02-2025, 03:41 PM

😂😂

03-02-2025, 03:42 PM

They sound top drawer tbf

03-02-2025, 03:43 PM
We’re actually not going to sign anyone are we

03-02-2025, 03:44 PM

Maybe.

03-02-2025, 03:44 PM

Nah, you're talking (meat)balls, mate! :greengrin

03-02-2025, 03:47 PM
It’s irrelevant if we don’t have to play him again, but he’s a total liability and I wouldn’t want to take the risk that we might have to.

That's what ordinary mortals like us would conclude - but we are not football folk and so as Yogi would have it - we dinnae ken whit's goin on!

03-02-2025, 03:49 PM

Thats terrific work :applause:

03-02-2025, 03:50 PM
Danny Ings Celtic rumoured

He's here!
03-02-2025, 03:51 PM

The complete lack of even a rumoured signing suggests not.

badabing67
03-02-2025, 03:51 PM

Would be hilarious if they turned out to be Swedish meatballs

03-02-2025, 03:53 PM
Poor comment..

Aw come on - shirley black humour has some kind of a place on here. Big Craig Gordon has made a full recovery afterall - and at least it wasn't disrespectful to esteemed club legends like Kano this time :cb

03-02-2025, 03:55 PM
They sound top drawer tbf

Aye but they’ve all got a screw lose! 😁

PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 03:56 PM

Mats Knoester

Bit more info;
26 year old Dutch CH signed on a 2.5 year contract following expiry of his contract at Ferencvaros after a loan spell in Denmark with Aarhus.

badabing67
03-02-2025, 03:57 PM
Aw come on - shirley black humour has some kind of a place on here. Big Craig Gordon has made a full recovery afterall - and at least it wasn't disrespectful to esteemed club legends like Kano this time :cb

Still it was not a very nice thing to say about him, even though I have heard that he is a proper sneaky yam c@#t.

Up-the-slope
03-02-2025, 03:57 PM
Not exactly a Banger so far - pretty much nowt happening of note.

3 February - transfer deadline day
*All times GMT
Premier League
14:02 - Evan Ferguson (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c87d5eg81qjo) Loan
10:31 - Stefanos Tzimas (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c203z9dyr09o) [Nuremburg - Brighton] £20.8m
[B]International
08:30 - Kosta Nedeljkovic (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/czdl8316858o) [Aston Villa - RB Leipzig] Loan
Scottish Premiership
16:15 - Mats Knoester (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c627gz61zylo) [Free agent - Aberdeen]
English Football League
16:30 - Tommy Backwell (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cvgpv8gg12lo) [Bristol City - Cheltenham] Undisclosed
16:00 - Nathan Bishop (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c5yvqkyenqgo) [Sunderland - Cambridge Utd] Loan
16:00 - Ben Fox (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cvg81rn59w0o) [Northampton - Harrogate] Undisclosed
16:00 - Darius Lipsiuc (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c87d5elz8z4o) [Stoke - Walsall] Loan
16:00 - Louie Marsh (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cd64z355v9lo) [Sheff Utd - Fleetwood] Loan
15:00 - Maldini Kacurri (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c78wxzl7xlzo) [Arsenal - Bromley] Loan
15:00 - Alfie Chang (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c87d5elz8z4o) [Birmingham - Walsall] Loan
15:00 - Brad Hills (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c3e1wzy59ejo) [Norwich - Stockport] Loan
15:00 - Ryan Porteous (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c1lv7e7qm13o) [Watford - Preston] Loan
14:00 - Caleb Wiley (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c5yvqkwglk4o) [Chelsea - Watford] Loan
14:00 - Timothee Dieng (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cvgpv8gg12lo) [Gillingham - Cheltenham] Loan
13:30 - Adam Reach (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c62q0gv04ngo) [Unattached - Wycombe]
11:15 - Mai Traore (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c4g35e7pg2go) [Fredrikstad - Notts County] Undisclosed
11:00 - Will Alves (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c391wx78mp2o) [Leicester - Cardiff City] Loan
11:00 - Ruairi McConville (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cx2m4emwknxo) [Brighton - Norwich] Undisclosed
10:30 - Romoney Crichlow (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c5y2vq77deqo) [Peterborough - Bradford] Undisclosed
10:30 - Samuel Iling-Junior (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cp9xm2nzg9yo) [Aston Villa - Middlesbrough] Loan
10:00 - Marcus Edwards (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cz9eq5lkyyzo) [Sporting CP - Burnley] Loan
10:00 - Sil Swinkels (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c1dg6r2645xo) [Aston Villa - Bristol Rovers] Loan
09:30 - Alex Gilbert (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c334jzpl16xo) [Middlesbrough - Charlton] Loan
09:00 - Benicio Baker-Boaitey (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/clyez1djpnno) [Brighton - Millwall] Undisclosed

He's here!
03-02-2025, 03:58 PM

I know very little about these guys other than that they've been with Hibs for a reasonable amount of time now. They're both still young, so is that what's keeping them from being anywhere near the first team? Are the club simply being patient with their development or is there a sense that they're not going to make it at Scottish top-flight level?

03-02-2025, 03:58 PM
Bit more info;
26 year old Dutch CH signed on a 2.5 year contract following expiry of his contract at Ferencvaros after a loan spell in Denmark with Aarhus.

Aarhus, in the middle of Aarstreet, total Madness.

03-02-2025, 03:59 PM

I don’t think so. Our only concern is whether we take what might be offered for Youan and run or be left with an unhappy player for the rest of the season. He’ll get game time but chances are we might get much less for him further down the road.

03-02-2025, 03:59 PM
The usual people I go to for any information are all empty. Starting to think we really are going to leave it there.

03-02-2025, 04:01 PM

At least we haven’t had the message from Hibs that there will be no more business done in the window

badabing67
03-02-2025, 04:01 PM

Look who's stummin like a goodin the dae

03-02-2025, 04:02 PM
That's been Aberdeen's problem recently.

Too many drawers.

Get your coat !!!

03-02-2025, 04:02 PM
Look who's stummin like a goodin the dae

I’m bored with no transfer news. 😁

03-02-2025, 04:05 PM

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji122][emoji122]

03-02-2025, 04:08 PM
At least we haven’t had the message from Hibs that there will be no more business done in the window

I can’t remember the last time that ever actually happened. Must be a good 6/7 years ago now and usually comes off the back of an actual signing.

03-02-2025, 04:09 PM
I can’t remember the last time that ever actually happened. Must be a good 6/7 years ago now and usually comes off the back of an actual signing.

Gee whizz, didn’t realise it was that long ago

03-02-2025, 04:09 PM
Any more of that nonsense and you'll be on a Night Boat to Cairo.

SonOfDavidFrancey
03-02-2025, 04:11 PM

That is genius and makes up for the complete lack of signings.

Any more of that nonsense and you'll be on a Night Boat to Cairo.

Already got it booked 🚢

PHeffernan

That is exactly what popped int ma mind as well
Pair o dunderheids we are :wink:

GGTTH07
03-02-2025, 04:14 PM
When you look at the money spent on Aberdeen and Hearts compared to us in this window, Gray has been hung out to dry imo

03-02-2025, 04:15 PM
That is exactly what popped int ma mind as well
Pair o dunderheids we are :wink:

👍 👍

Bridge hibs
03-02-2025, 04:17 PM
When you look at the money spent on Aberdeen and Hearts compared to us in this window, Gray has been hung out to dry imoHow much have hearts spent ?

Hibiza
03-02-2025, 04:19 PM

😂😂😂

03-02-2025, 04:19 PM
Is this the most boring transfer deadline day in history?

Not even a rumour of an in or out.

03-02-2025, 04:20 PM
When you look at the money spent on Aberdeen and Hearts compared to us in this window, Gray has been hung out to dry imo[emoji23]

How much did we spend in the summer?

Surely Thelin was hung our to dry then when losing their best player for 6million?

Hung out to dry - gies piece

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Cabbage-Patch
03-02-2025, 04:21 PM
195 pages and 1 signing. My personal window of giving a flying you know what has just slammed shut. I will check back tomorrow. Who knows I may be pleasantly surprised.

Donegal Hibby
03-02-2025, 04:24 PM
When you look at the money spent on Aberdeen and Hearts compared to us in this window, Gray has been hung out to dry imo

We are just after beating Aberdeen quite comfortably … spending money doesn’t guarantee anything.

03-02-2025, 04:25 PM
The complete lack of even a rumoured signing suggests not.
Ooh can’t figure out if this response falls under the “double negative” category - but English was never my string suit :)

badabing67
03-02-2025, 04:26 PM
195 pages and 1 signing. My personal window of giving a flying you know what has just slammed shut. I will check back tomorrow. Who knows I may be pleasantly surprised.

Cheer up m8. I really hope you make it to tomorrow

PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 04:27 PM
I know very little about these guys other than that they've been with Hibs for a reasonable amount of time now. They're both still young, so is that what's keeping them from being anywhere near the first team? Are the club simply being patient with their development or is there a sense that they're not going to make it at Scottish top-flight level?

I think Boruc was originally signed to allow Johnson to go out on loan.
His contract expires in the summer and won't be removed.

Johnson is a real prospect but he's not long turned 20.
That's very young for a goalkeeper and there are none of that age currently playing in the top 2 leagues in Scotland.
Folk will point to some young world beater elsewhere but as a rule there are few goalkeepers under 24 that are first pick at any level. I could see Murray Johnson cutting it in another 16 months. He just needs time and senior playing experience to get there.
He's been at Airdrie this season but lost his place to a 25 year old on loan from Rangers, who I had never heard off, which kinda makes my earlier point. He has now gone down a league to QOS where he will hopefully get game time for the rest of this season.

03-02-2025, 04:27 PM

It's the hope that kills you 😁

Hibee Daft
03-02-2025, 04:28 PM
What position are people wanting strengthened?

Attackers we have: Boyle, Youan, Bowie, Gayle

AM: Campbell, Molotnikov, Hoilett

DM: Triantis, Manneh, Newell, Levitt, Kwon

Wingback: Cadden, Cadden, Obita, Miller

Centerback: Iredale, Rocky, O'Hora, Ekpiteta

Unless we sell I'm not desperate for hibs to sign anyone unless they are better, remember the hardy mckirdy transfer window...

Looking at it probably a quality centerback

Hibernian2105
03-02-2025, 04:29 PM
No rumours then?

PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 04:38 PM

I think you will find Hearts have spent less money in transfer fees this window than they have brought in so the very opposite of your point. A lot of their business has been driven by defensive injuries with only the laddie up front from Belgium being an extra player.
As for Aberdeen we may find they have been desperately throwing mud at the wall. Probably about 1.4 million quids worth of mud to date and as Hibs found once you bring lots of rubbish in it's hellish hard to get rid of it quickly or cheaply.
Hibs have made one good quality permanent signing to add to the current settled and performing squad and hopefully can make a good signing tonight to add to that but there is no fire needing put out at ER thanks.

03-02-2025, 04:39 PM
NOT ink, but I think we may get Daniel jebbison from Bournemouth on loan,

No chance. They've lost their main 2 strikers through injury and he is getting games for them

03-02-2025, 04:43 PM
No chance. They've lost their main 2 strikers through injury and he is getting games for them

He's played for 2 clubs this season so it's a non starter

03-02-2025, 04:43 PM

Unless we sell I'm not desperate for hibs to sign anyone unless they are better, remember the hardy mckirdy transfer window...

We need to be preparing for the goals/assist drying up from Cadden, Gayle losing fitness, Youan not featuring much and Boyle going off form again. If we're looking at boosting the ways we can scrape three points and push for third, that AM trio could absolutely be improved on.

03-02-2025, 04:45 PM

We’re weak in terms of the attacking midfield position. Campbell suited to certain games, Hoilett been average at best but is actually a winger in any case and Molotnikov not shown anything in that position. I’d still like a centre half (although I did think Saturday is as solid as we’ve looked this season in that position).

MacGruber
03-02-2025, 04:48 PM

Missing a creative attacking midfielder - Campbell is running and effort and Hoilett is a wide man who hasn't converted that well to the middle. Molotnikov has plenty promise but not quite a starter yet.

Also, Youan conundrum. If he goes we need a pacey attacker, if he stays will he drop off having wanted to go.

Goalkeeper

03-02-2025, 04:52 PM

What if we lose Miller, Rocky and Youan in this window?

Just now I’d say RWB, CD, AM and ST are areas we could improve. Even before the above players leave.

Silky
03-02-2025, 04:53 PM
I mean, Hibs have been very quiet on social media today. Either the media team is busy preparing for a signing(s) or we aren't signing anyone and they're ****ting themselves to post anything incase folk go radge at them

Why would folk go radge at them? They're not involved in recruitment, or probably any decision making at the club. It says more about the folk doing that imo.

03-02-2025, 04:54 PM
Scotsman saying the club expect Youan to stay

Hibs expect forward Elie Youan to stay despite interest from Stoke City, Blackburn Rovers and Derby County. The Easter Road side received bids last week for the Frenchman but all parties have so far been unable to come to an agreement and the ex-Nantes man is set to stay in Edinburgh.

However, striker Harry McKirdy and midfielder Luke Amos - both out of the first-team picture - are interesting clubs in England and could leave before the window closes.

03-02-2025, 04:55 PM
Why would folk go radge at them? They're not involved in recruitment, or probably any decision making at the club. It says more about the folk doing that imo.Ok.

Up-the-slope
youan rumour - stoke confident

Hibs expect forward Elie Youan to stay despite interest from Stoke City, Blackburn Rovers and Derby County. The Easter Road side received bids last week for the Frenchman but all parties have so far been unable to come to an agreement and the ex-Nantes man is set to stay in Edinburgh.

However, striker Harry McKirdy and midfielder Luke Amos - both out of the first-team picture - are interesting clubs in England and could leave before the window closes.

Fingers crossed they leave and we can potentially grab even one more body on loan.

03-02-2025, 04:56 PM

Above from the Scotsman. Hopefully McKirdy and Amos out with one or two in

badabing67
03-02-2025, 04:56 PM

Happy with that, hope they are still working on an XFactor signing

03-02-2025, 04:57 PM

As long as his head and toe are fine, I'd be happy to keep him until the summer, he must be focused and ready to play though

03-02-2025, 04:58 PM
I’d be really surprised if we signed anyone now with Youan looking like he’s staying.

03-02-2025, 04:59 PM
We need to be preparing for the goals/assist drying up from Cadden, Gayle losing fitness, Youan not featuring much and Boyle going off form again. If we're looking at boosting the ways we can scrape three points and push for third, that AM trio could absolutely be improved on.

And Newell coming back in could see our points per game drop again.[emoji6]

Up-the-slope

patch him up and send to Stoke

Worrying if true, not confident we have a replacement lined up. Hope the Evening News article is the one to believe.

Missing a creative attacking midfielder - Campbell is running and effort and Hoilett is a wide man who hasn't converted that well to the middle. Molotnikov has plenty promise but not quite a starter yet.

Also, Youan conundrum. If he goes we need a pacey attacker, if he stays will he drop off having wanted to go.

Goalkeeper

I'm worried that a couple of injuries and suspensions and we're scraping the barrel again. Manneh may turn out to be excellent, who knows, but we have too many passengers who, even if they get a chance, just don't contribute. I suspect the recruitment team is adopting an "all eggs in one basket for next season" strategy and has written off this season, although we could still be third with a bit of a push. Equally without strengthening we could fall back to bottom 6.

03-02-2025, 05:00 PM
I’d be really surprised if we signed anyone now with Youan looking like he’s staying.

Agree, absolute shambles if we don't strengthen further though.

Brilliant if we get rid of Amos and McKirdy on the outgoing front.

Hibernian2105
03-02-2025, 05:00 PM

Got told his medical went to ****

Paul1642
03-02-2025, 05:01 PM
What if we lose Miller, Rocky and Youan in this window?

Just now I’d say RWB, CD, AM and ST are areas we could improve. Even before the above players leave.

In a tricky situation. If we loose them all in a few hours time we have just hours at most to replace them, which even with replacements identified is a bad situation to be in.

We can’t however go replacing 3 players right now who might not even leave.

If Megwa’s loan is terminable then that could be the backup if needed for Miller leaving.

Maybe Bevan is yet again on the cards as a sub CB should Rocky leave, with Marv re entering the first team once fit. Leaves us short until both are up to fitness and I’d be gutted to see Rocky leave as I think he’s been phenomenal this season. New contract is my preference over a token fee.

I’d imagine we have a Youan replacement in mind as he’s always been expected to go, although whether he goes or not seems up in the air right now.

As boring as it would be, the best scenario in my mind right now is Miller away, Megwa recalled, Rocky new contract, Youan away for good money and a Youan replacement in on loan. Nothing else needed right now.

Up-the-slope
03-02-2025, 05:01 PM
Porto out on loan from Watford - going backwards

PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 05:02 PM

Kuharevych is missing from your list;
So 21 outfield players plus 2 keepers for a matchday squad of 19
There are going to be 4 disappointed outfield players each week if everyone is fit

Up-the-slope
03-02-2025, 05:03 PM
Worrying if true, not confident we have a replacement lined up. Hope the Evening News article is the one to believe.

Most of the transfer business was concluded at Easter Road before deadline day, but Stoke City remain confident they can conclude a deal to take French forward Elie Youan down south.

TrinityHFC
03-02-2025, 05:04 PM
Got told his medical went to ****

Drivel.

badabing67
03-02-2025, 05:04 PM

They might give out a couple of extensions though, but as long as the window is open there has to be a chance of a signing.

03-02-2025, 05:05 PM
Agree, absolute shambles if we don't strengthen further though.

Brilliant if we get rid of Amos and McKirdy on the outgoing front.

I think it's been obvious they've been told Hibs won't stand in their way if they get a new club. If they don't go tonight I guess either 1) they have crap agents or 2) they're happy to hang around a pick up a wage until the end of the season. I would hope professionals would prefer to be playing every week but who knows.

03-02-2025, 05:05 PM
Porto out on loan from Watford - going backwards
They are currently only 4 points behind Watford so it's not very far backwards and going to a decent manager too.

Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2025, 05:08 PM
I think it's been obvious they've been told Hibs won't stand in their way if they get a new club. If they don't go tonight I guess either 1) they have crap agents or 2) they're happy to hang around a pick up a wage until the end of the season. I would hope professionals would prefer to be playing every week but who knows.

From McKirdys POV he’ll know he’ll be unlikely to get another good contract. He’ll understandably be wanting to take what he’s owed. On top of that he seems to be trying to start up a golf channel which may well be his plan after packing in football at any meaningful level. Better being up here to do that than away down south.

badabing67
03-02-2025, 05:12 PM
In a tricky situation. If we loose them all in a few hours time we have just hours at most to replace them, which even with replacements identified is a bad situation to be in.

If Megwa’s loan is terminable then that could be the backup if needed for Miller leaving.

Maybe Bevan is yet again on the cards as a sub CB should Rocky leave, with Marv re entering the first team once fit. Leaves us short until both are up to fitness and I’d be gutted to see Rocky leave as I think he’s been phenomenal this season. New contract is my preference over a token fee.

I’d imagine we have a Youan replacement in mind as he’s always been expected to go, although whether he goes or not seems up in the air right now.

As boring as it would be, the best scenario in my mind right now is Miller away, Megwa recalled, Rocky new contract, Youan away for good money and a Youan replacement in on loan. Nothing else needed right now.

I have no idea why you would see that as the best scenario

Gordy M
03-02-2025, 05:13 PM
If no one else leaves then we will likely be

Smith
C cadden
Iredale
Rocky
O Hora
N cadden
Manneh
Newell
Triantis
Boyle
Bowie
Youhan

Leaves Miller, Campbell, hoilett, Gayle, Marv, Obita, Milotkinov and Myko on the bench....thats pretty strong id say.

andrew70
03-02-2025, 05:16 PM

Smith
C cadden
Iredale
Rocky
O Hora
N cadden
Manneh
Newell
Triantis
Boyle
Bowie
Youhan

Leaves Miller, Campbell, hoilett, Gayle, Marv, Obita, Milotkinov and Myko on the bench....thats pretty strong id say.

12, just to shoehorn Newell in? 😂

Gordy M
03-02-2025, 05:18 PM
12, just to shoehorn Newell in? 😂

Makes us even stronger.

03-02-2025, 05:21 PM
Patrick Mcpartlin

Élie Youan is STAYING at Hibs, despite transfer interest from multiple clubs.
Also not expecting there to be any new arrivals, although there could be a couple of departures before the deadline.

Latest here ➡️onlrl.co/ixutkc

andrew70
03-02-2025, 05:22 PM
Makes us even stronger.

We were barely allowed to keep 11 on the park earlier in the season no so sure we’d get away with that. Worth a try.

Patrick Mcpartlin

Also not expecting there to be any new arrivals, although there could be a couple of departures before the deadline.

Pathetic.

Silky
Patrick Mcpartlin

When's the protest?

03-02-2025, 05:23 PM
Ridiculous from Hibs signing one player this window

Sounds like everyone is getting completely carried away by this good run and not realising we still have weaknesses in the squad

Smith
C cadden
Iredale
Rocky
O Hora
N cadden
Manneh
Newell
Triantis
Boyle
Bowie
Youhan

Agree - especially as you cannot understate the importance of a good team spirit, which SDG has created

Patrick Mcpartlin

I’d be disappointed if that’s the case.

03-02-2025, 05:24 PM

Sounds like everyone is getting completely carried away by this good run and not realising we still have weaknesses in the squad

Totally agree. Now is the time to show a bit of ambition

Paul1642
I have no idea why you would see that as the best scenario

I think Gray has settled on his best team which doesn’t look like it Includes Miller.

A 24 year old international who we hold a 1 year extension clause on could command a meaningful transfer fee worth more to Hibs than getting 6 more months out of the player. Meanwhile we develop Megwa who is potentially at the club for another 3-4 years.

It’s not necessarily the best scenario, especially if C. Cadden drops form (I don’t think he’s great anyway to be honest) or gets injured but it’s far from a disaster. All dependent on the fee I suppose.

Pathetic.
I'll believe it when Hibs say that, not some journalist.

allmodcons
03-02-2025, 05:25 PM

Mental ‘best scenario’.

Would weaken our squad.

Megwa nowhere near the standard of Miller at this time and getting a replacement as good as Youan is highly unlikely.

03-02-2025, 05:25 PM
If nobody else comes in then it’s a gamble by the club. Miss out on Europe and it will just be more evidence of a lack of ambition at the club.

03-02-2025, 05:26 PM
Patrick Mcpartlin

Are we skint? We need at least 2 more if we want to challenge for Europe.

03-02-2025, 05:26 PM
Totally agree. Now is the time to show a bit of ambition

Nah, let’s just wait till next year, all will be better then. 😞

03-02-2025, 05:27 PM

Third is there for us but we’re probably asking a group of players who have won 8 out of 25 to win about the same number of games from 13.

It’ll be really disappointing if nobody else comes in. You also don’t know what Youan you’re getting back either.

Paul1642
Mental ‘best scenario’.

Would weaken our squad.

Megwa nowhere near the standard of Miller at this time and getting a replacement as good as Youan is highly unlikely.

Youan wants away and I’m not convinced we’re going to see the best out of him in green and white again. The money is now likely to be worth more than than the player from Hibs perspective. Hope I’m wrong of course. I’ve posted my logic behind Miller a couple posts above.

Perhaps best scenario was a bit of a push to be fair.

Did we not bid something like 700k for the Finnish boy? I wouldn't suggest we are skint.

03-02-2025, 05:28 PM
We are already challenging for Europe.

USA_Hibee
03-02-2025, 05:28 PM
I suspect if we are not bringing anyone in its because the budget is tight, and/or better players are available in summer who we are working in.

Unfortunate if this is the case but it's the reality of the current situation given how badly we've been run the past few years.

03-02-2025, 05:29 PM

Unfortunately I think Pat is as ‘ITK’ as any journalist when it comes to Hibs

Club probably told him that information

03-02-2025, 05:29 PM

He's usually accurate

03-02-2025, 05:30 PM

Maybe a visit to the doctor would be a good idea. Depressing stuff.

03-02-2025, 05:31 PM
I posted after the rangers game that Gray was rinsing everything he could from the current squad and that he deserved help in the window. Is one signing enough? Who knows. Gray will publicly come out and say he's happy with the business done but I wonder if deep down he will be frustrated that we haven't managed to add at least one other to the squad to get through till May. We are on a good run just now, but as we have seen it doesn't take a lot for that to change in both directions. A couple of injuries and the bench starts to look weaker too. A big gamble. Let's hope Manneh makes a real impact.

03-02-2025, 05:33 PM

We're the in form team in the league and are challenging for Europe

allmodcons
03-02-2025, 05:34 PM
Patrick Mcpartlin

I don’t have a problem with this.

I’d be delighted if Youan stays and quite like the look of our new signing, Manneh.

Still think we need a better goalkeeper, a good quality central defender and a midfielder who can open up the opposition.

Absolutely no need for panic buying and ending up with players who aren’t good enough.

Bowie is like a new signing and having Newell and Youan back will increase competition for places and improve what we currently have on the pitch.

Hibernian2105

Nope. But we have plenty players out of contract in the summer and already a massively bloated squad. Signings would’ve been nice yeah but difficult window to sign players especially when our squad is already massive

1875M

We are challenging with this squad. Nonsense.

03-02-2025, 05:35 PM
Garvan Stewart and Black Knights really showing their worth this window in identifying players

The aim is to come out of the window stronger than when it opened. That's what we have been getting told most of the month. I guess signing a player who club wanted should make us stronger but we really are just a few injuries away from struggling again.

skyehibee
Huge lack of ambition. Invest in a really good signing or 2 and push for 3rd guaranteed group stage football while it’s still there.

Over what period?

I thought Hearts and Rangers had overtaken us now in the form table.

03-02-2025, 05:36 PM

At present. Form can easily change in the opposite direction. We’re only three points off eighth. Could easily drop out the top six in the next few weeks.

03-02-2025, 05:37 PM
I’m OK with how this window has gone. Have not lost any key players, brought in Manneh, and Bowie is back from injury. SDG probably quite happy with a squad which is on a phenomenal run of form and won’t be wanting to change that much.

It’s always been pretty clear that, this season, we will get what we are given. This summer is when the real rebuild will happen and I expect us to be very active in the transfer market with many marquee signings. Trust this team to get us over the line into Europe.

The aim is to come out of the window stronger than when it opened. That's what we have been getting told most of the month. I guess signing a player who club wanted should make us stronger but we really are just a few injuries away from struggling again.

Yeah I think we could be in trouble if we suffer with injuries in a couple of areas. Hopefully luck is on our side

badabing67
Did we not bid something like 700k for the Finnish boy? I wouldn't suggest we are skint.

How much did we spend to get Menneh out his contract early?

Paul1642
Over what period?

From Pie and Bovril on X:

SPFL Premiership
Form Guide
Points Last Six

Rangers 14
Hearts 14
Celtic 13
Hibernian 12
Dundee 8
Ross County 8
Kilmarnock 7
St.Johnstone 7
Dundee Utd 6
Motherwell 4
St.Mirren 3
Aberdeen 1

I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt that no quality players have became available in this window. Just shows how poor the players Aberdeen and Hearts have signed. 😉

I’ll be gutted if we end up in the bottom 6 yet again despite BKG involvement and the arrival of Garvan Stewart. To watch the likes of Dundee Utd, St Mirren, Motherwell or Dundee take our place in the top six to challenge for Europe would be totally unacceptable.

03-02-2025, 05:38 PM
Wasn't planning on having popcorn but might as well bust it out now and watch 4 hours worth of .net wailing and gnashing of teeth.

03-02-2025, 05:38 PM
We are already challenging for Europe.

We are but we aren't comfortably ahead of the eleventh placed team, it could still go wrong and we could plummet just as quickly as we climbed.

I have a horrible gut feeling that the lack of incomers in this window will hurt us come the end of the season.

03-02-2025, 05:39 PM
We did try to sign the 17yr old midfielder for £700k. We have money, but perhaps not the right player available just now?

03-02-2025, 05:39 PM
I’m OK with how this window has gone. Have not lost any key players, brought in Manneh, and Bowie is back from injury. SDG probably quite happy with a squad which is on a phenomenal run of form and won’t be wanting to change that much.

It’s always been pretty clear that, this season, we will get what we are given. This summer is when the real rebuild will happen and I expect us to be very active in the transfer market with many marquee signings. Trust this team to get us over the line into Europe.
Exactly right :agree:

03-02-2025, 05:40 PM
We are but we aren't comfortably ahead of the eleventh placed team, it could still go wrong and we could plummet just as quickly as we climbed.

I have a horrible gut feeling that the lack of incomers in this window will hurt us come the end of the season.

Exactly how I feel. Imagine the feeling on Friday night if the unthinkable was to happen. We also have very difficult fixtures ahead in the league

Over what period?

Said form table doesn’t have Hearts playing either of the old firm in their past 12 league games, whilst we have played both. We’ve also played Aberdeen twice. Their form will drop off after an easy run of fixtures.

I think it depends on the impact of Bowie. If he can perform how we all hope, then I think 3rd place is within our grasp.

We have Ekpiteta to come too, injuries as always will be key.

NC1875

That form won’t last forever. Would’ve been good to see 2-3 in the door to give us more strength in depth and the option to change things up as players lose form, suspensions etc.

The BK partnership baffles yet again.

Hibees1973
03-02-2025, 05:41 PM
Really don't know why some on here are so angry.

We have a bloated squad with numerous players out on loan or hangers on in and around the squad getting very little game time. We are not getting value for money from the wage bill we have. We will have more clarity on this come the AGM.

We can't improve our squad that much in this window due to recruitment mistakes that have been made in the past.

The squad will be in better shape once Bowie and Newell are fully match fit.

If this is not enough for the top four then so be it.

The real business is going to take place in the summer when we can finally be rid of those who have been of no use.

Garvan Stewart and Black Knights really showing their worth this window in identifying players

They maybe have identified players but our board are not prepared to spend the money

How much did we spend to get Menneh out his contract early?

100k. We also got that amount back by selling Landers to West Ham

03-02-2025, 05:42 PM
When can we begin to see some fruits of the “game changing” partnership with the Black Knights?

Our summer window was an improvement, though not perfect, but we were still shopping in the same places we have always done. Continue to shop like that and we might be able to be slightly less woeful than the rest of the league with it being our turn for the other clubs to say “how are Hibs 3rd, they’re crap. Shows how poor the league is”

We’ve probably broke even this window. 6 figure fee for Maneh, 6 figure fee for Landers. Maneh’s wages offset to some degree by Kenneth & JDH leaving.

03-02-2025, 05:42 PM
Huge lack of ambition. Invest in a really good signing or 2 and push for 3rd guaranteed group stage football while it’s still there.

Agreed. Finishing 3rd would be a significant financial boost and it is within our grasp.

Our rivals for 3rd have all brought in players where we appear to have stood still. Time will tell if their players are any good, but at least they are throwing the dice.

Looks like the good run has drawn us into a false sense of security as we're a few injuries away from being exposed.

03-02-2025, 05:43 PM

I think it could hurt us in terms of pushing for third but not in terms of ending up in a relegation playoff or anything like that. I think it’s a huge gamble not strengthening with what is potentially there for us.

03-02-2025, 05:44 PM
I don't understand how people can blame the black knights. They don't own the majority of the club as folk repeatedly keep posting on here.They've put in a head of recruitment to identify players and put them to Gray. That's it. It's up to Mackay/Gordon to then do the deals for the players identified.

They maybe have identified players but our board are not prepared to spend the money

Potentially.

However that doesn’t seem to be an issue with the Gordon’s in fairness to them. Especially bidding vast amount of money for Siltanen and McCowan in the last 2 windows and not spending it since

Hibee Daft

We have a bloated squad with numerous players out on loan or hangers on in and around the squad getting very little game time. We are not getting value for money from the wage bill we have. We will have more clarity on this come the AGM.

We can't improve our squad that much in this window due to recruitment mistakes that have been made in the past.

The real business is going to take place in the summer when we can finally be rid of those who have been of no use.

Yeah agreed. Also we have players like Molotnikov, Bowie and a few others that are only going to get better with game time.

03-02-2025, 05:45 PM

I'm more disappointed than angry, there's a glorious chance to finish third or fourth

badabing67
Over what period?

Form table (last 8)
GP pts
Celtic 8 19
Rangers 8 18
Hibernian 8 18
Hearts 8 17
Dundee Utd 8 12
Kilmarnock 8 11
Ross County 8 11
St. Mirren 8 9
Dundee FC 8 8
St. Johnstone 8 7
Motherwell 8 5
Aberdeen 8 1

Hibs4185
When's the protest?

Block 7 will have to turn their flag upside down again which will mean it’s a flag the right away round??

I posted after the rangers game that Gray was rinsing everything he could from the current squad and that he deserved help in the window. Is one signing enough? Who knows. Gray will publicly come out and say he's happy with the business done but I wonder if deep down he will be frustrated that we haven't managed to add at least one other to the squad to get through till May. We are on a good run just now, but as we have seen it doesn't take a lot for that to change in both directions. A couple of injuries and the bench starts to look weaker too. A big gamble. Let's hope Manneh makes a real impact.

WTH you on this, hope this doesn’t show a lack of ambition

03-02-2025, 05:46 PM
Patrick Mcpartlin

But, but I was told there were definitely more to come after our one signing last week.

03-02-2025, 05:47 PM
.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250203/0432f7638e84d94a121e50c5d5cd4306.jpg

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

hibee bouncer
03-02-2025, 05:47 PM
Over what period?

Over the last 6 games, they’ve “overtaken” us but over the 8 or 10 games, we’re 2nd in the form book. Stats are there to be manipulated in whatever positive or negative way you want to display. Let’s take the positive view on the form…..and the players coming back from injury that will undoubtedly make the squad stronger.

03-02-2025, 05:48 PM
I'm more disappointed than angry, there's a glorious chance to finish third or fourth

I’ve got reservations about this tactic of holding off until the summer given the way the season has gone so far.

I can’t help but feel this is a gamble on the current squad all staying fit and that we’ve used up our bad luck with injuries.

03-02-2025, 05:48 PM
I don't understand how people can blame the black knights. They don't own the majority of the club as folk repeatedly keep posting on here.They've put in a head of recruitment to identify players and put them to Gray. That's it. It's up to Mackay/Gordon to then do the deals for the players identified.

I don’t think anyone is blaming them as such. Just that we were expecting more from their partnership so far

The recent chat was they’re all working together

I’m not buying this we’re just happy with our squad until the end of the season. Something is amiss imo, whether that’s setting our sights too high with targets that aren’t achievable, leaving it too late etc.

All imo as I say, just all seems a bit off

03-02-2025, 05:49 PM
I think it's far more likely that they've identified players for the longer term as opposed to picking up the usual type of suspects available in the January window. Just look at who we are likely to be willing to let go (not including any who will command a decent fee) McKirdy, Amos etc, other clubs are doing the same and that's not what we need.

03-02-2025, 05:50 PM
Harry McKirdy is set to leave Hibs and return to England before tonight’s deadline - but Elie Youan will NOT be following him out of Easter Road.

Record Sport understands McKirdy - who has failed to score a single goal in 33 appearances for Hibs since signing from Swindon Town in 2022 - will pen a deal with a League Two club before tonight’s deadline.

And out of favour midfielder Luke Amos also looks set to depart Leith after a year.

03-02-2025, 05:51 PM
Harry McKirdy is set to leave Hibs and return to England before tonight’s deadline - but Elie Youan will NOT be following him out of Easter Road.

Record Sport understands McKirdy - who has failed to score a single goal in 33 appearances for Hibs since signing from Swindon Town in 2022 - will pen a deal with a League Two club before tonight’s deadline.

And out of favour midfielder Luke Amos also looks set to depart Leith after a year.

That is a good deadline day window. Keep a hold of a star and get rid of two absolute imposters who will be on big wages. Good stuff and will aid our budgeting for the summer window or some good free agents.

1875Sean
03-02-2025, 05:52 PM

Who on ?

03-02-2025, 05:55 PM

The opportunity is still there.

Quality over quantity always wins.

We are just after beating Aberdeen quite comfortably … spending money doesn’t guarantee anything.

And as shown by Aberdeen at the start of the season, incredible form can come to an abrupt stop,

We’re making a mistake not improving the squad for the end of season push.

Who on ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matias_Siltanen

Went to Djurgaarden in Sweden.

03-02-2025, 05:56 PM
The opportunity is still there.

Quality over quantity always wins.

There's always the free transfer market! :greengrin

03-02-2025, 05:56 PM

At last a couple of bits of good news.

03-02-2025, 05:57 PM
I think it's far more likely that they've identified players for the longer term as opposed to picking up the usual type of suspects available in the January window. Just look at who we are likely to be willing to let go (not including any who will command a decent fee) McKirdy, Amos etc, other clubs are doing the same and that's not what we need.

We’ve picked up players who have made a real impact in January, over the years. Allan, Kamberi, McLaren. Maolida and Marcondes (although the latter faded). You can even look at the likes of McNulty and Omeonga who gave us a real short term boost first time round. Fraser Fyvie was a January signing.

Said all window that it was all about trying to get a short term kick from a player or players. There’s only 13 league games to go but feel we really needed to give ourselves a boost. For all players are coming back, we’ll pick up more injuries as we go as well.

03-02-2025, 05:57 PM
At last a couple of bits of good news.

:greengrin Surely creates space to bring in one more?

cubehindthegoal
03-02-2025, 05:58 PM
I don’t have a problem with this.

I’d be delighted if Youan stays and quite like the look of our new signing, Manneh.

Still think we need a better goalkeeper, a good quality central defender and a midfielder who can open up the opposition.

Absolutely no need for panic buying and ending up with players who aren’t good enough.

Bowie is like a new signing and having Newell and Youan back will increase competition for places and improve what we currently have on the pitch.

While it would be great to sign one or two quality players (not squad fillers) now, I am happy to wait for summer signings fitting that bill, and also losing players off the wage bill like McKirdy and Amos. Gray has shown he can take this squad from the lows of the beginning of the season, and produce the excellent results of the last couple months with these same players.

With Bowie back, and Manneh in, and some injured players coming back (but of course we need to realise we will get more injuries in the coming months) I’m actually a little curious to see if he can maintain this form for the remainder of the season and take us into Europe. If he does, he deserves praise, and backing next summer in the transfer market … and again, I would rather see quality than quantity our mantra then, though hopefully it will also mean a few more as the squad thins and the available players increase.

Feel quite positive … would love to see some quality come in now though, even one more. But if not, then let’s get behind the team and Gray for the rest of the season as it stands … they have earned that from us the past couple months, I would say anyway.

Ribs1875
03-02-2025, 06:01 PM
I can only describe this hibs January transfer window as being like the scene from pulp fiction with pumpkin and honey bunny. They think they are quids in when they see what's in the brief case (Matias Siltanen). Then Jule's (Djugardens) get control of the situation. Pumpkin and honey bunny have to make do with the money from the cash til and wallets (Alasana Menneh).

03-02-2025, 06:01 PM

No one is arguing with your point , but it’s s big ask to think this squad can keep this run going as possibly more injuries and suspensions kick in
Bowie and the new signing hopefully freshen things up and give us more options Youan too when his toe heals

03-02-2025, 06:02 PM
No one is arguing with your point , but it’s s big ask to think this squad can keep this run going as possibly more injuries and suspensions kick in
Bowie and the new signing hopefully freshen things up and give us more options Youan too when his toe heals

If? :greengrin

03-02-2025, 06:02 PM
We did try to sign the 17yr old midfielder for £700k. We have money, but perhaps not the right player available just now?

Gray has consistently said we will
Only sign if right player becomes available.

He also said we had identified replacements IF. Any of our first team players left.

So we have strengthened our midfield with Manneh and have Joe, Ellie and Marv still to come back

USA_Hibee
03-02-2025, 06:03 PM
"We have money so we must spend it now!"

03-02-2025, 06:04 PM
I can only describe this hibs January transfer window as being like the scene from pulp fiction with pumpkin and honey bunny. They think they are quids in when they see what's in the brief case (Matias Siltanen). Then Jule's (Djugardens) get control of the situation. Pumpkin and honey bunny have to make do with the money from the cash til and wallets (Alasana Menneh).

Marvin (Youan) getting shot in the face (big toe) would certainly explain his injury, to keep the Pulp Fiction metaphors going.

03-02-2025, 06:04 PM
I think it could hurt us in terms of pushing for third but not in terms of ending up in a relegation playoff or anything like that. I think it’s a huge gamble not strengthening with what is potentially there for us.

Yeah, I agree with that. We’ll not be close to relegation.

We should be pushing for the group stage European place. That’s where the money is.

03-02-2025, 06:05 PM
Delighted with this

The best teams have a settled side.
We are keeping Elie who previous managers (and SDG earlier in the season) wasted in a deep/wide role. He's finally in a free-ranging striker role that he's happy with.
Gray is hanging onto the players he is improving with good coaching. He's being backed in that regard.
There's a reason why players move clubs in the window - generally because their own clubs don't want them
I'm sick fed up of watching us sign other people's duds
Lets put our trust in Garvan and Malky doing an effective squad rebuild in the summer

Remember - when the signing conversations were starting two-three months ago, we were plumb last. So please don't be totally shocked why good players weren't lining up to sign for us.

03-02-2025, 06:06 PM
https://x.com/aidn1875v2/status/1886486501506076701?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Insight to the boardroom tonight

03-02-2025, 06:06 PM

Exactly, summed up what I was thinking.

Let's have faith in the club for once and let them keep us right - hopefully 💪

Chorley Hibee
03-02-2025, 06:07 PM
Disappointed, but not in the least bit surprised.

Big questions for me surrounding the "game changing" Black Knight investment.

Fed up hearing about the future and the supposed summer incomings we'll see this year.

The latest 'jam tomorrow' installment from Hibs whilst potentially passing up group stage European football once again.

ElginHibbie
03-02-2025, 06:09 PM
Would have liked a CB in for cover but with Newell, Bowie and Youan back from injury and Levitt starting to put in decent performances quietly content with squad as it is, especially as seems to be a bond and positivity around the team

03-02-2025, 06:09 PM
I’d be disappointed if that’s the case.To be fair you'd likely be disappointed if it wasn't the case either :greengrin

03-02-2025, 06:10 PM
Disappointing.

cubehindthegoal
03-02-2025, 06:11 PM

That’s quite the stretch. Good movie like, but … 😂

03-02-2025, 06:14 PM
Delighted with this

We are keeping Elie who previous managers (and SDG earlier in the season) wasted in a deep/wide role. He's finally in a free-ranging striker role that he's happy with.
Gray is hanging onto the players he is improving with good coaching. He's being backed in that regard.
There's a reason why players move clubs in the window - generally because their own clubs don't want them
Lets put our trust in Garvan and Malky doing an effective squad rebuild in the summer

Remember - when the signing conversations were starting two-three months ago, we were plumb last. So please don't be totally shocked why good players weren't lining up to sign for us.

We managed to sign good players when we were actually in the Championship, not bottom of the Premiership with two thirds of the season to go. Not having that as a reason for lack of activity.

03-02-2025, 06:15 PM
Disappointed, but not in the least bit surprised.

Big questions for me surrounding the "game changing" Black Knight investment.

Fed up hearing about the future and the supposed summer incomings we'll see this year.

The latest 'jam tomorrow' installment from Hibs whilst potentially passing up group stage European football once again.

Agree. It feels like something just isn’t right. Made a big deal about Stewart coming on board yet we’ve signed 1 player

03-02-2025, 06:16 PM
If? :greengrin

Yes IF but am confident on this one

Ribs1875
Marvin (Youan) getting shot in the face (big toe) would certainly explain his injury, to keep the Pulp Fiction metaphors going.

Harry McKirdy is the guy hiding in the closet, scared with a gun and comes out shouting but hits every where but the target. Offft I am harsh!

I guess if we get hit with injuries we could give Rudi more game time and get Dean Cleland involved.

Maybe even recall the MacIntyres

03-02-2025, 06:17 PM
Agree. It feels like something just isn’t right. Made a big deal about Stewart coming on board yet we’ve signed 1 player

I never expected a huge influence from him in this window, think it’ll be the summer when we start seeing what he brings. But I thought we’d have done more with what we already had in place.

GreenGray
03-02-2025, 06:17 PM
Can’t say I’m too shocked to be honest, we have so many players out of contract in the summer so it’ll just be a full rebuild then.

No loans from Bournemouth is surprising though. Yet to see any benefits of this partnership thus far imo.

cubehindthegoal
03-02-2025, 06:19 PM
Delighted with this

It’s surely a fact also, that if you overfill a squad with players not good enough, as we have, you see more movement of players out than in over a period of change and improvement. Maybe that’s what we are witnessing as it happens. We can’t complain about bringing in loads of average dross over the past few years, then also complain when we start to fix it.

03-02-2025, 06:19 PM
Can’t say I’m too shocked to be honest, we have so many players out of contract in the summer so it’ll just be a full rebuild then.

No loans from Bournemouth is surprising though. Yet to see any benefits of this partnership thus far imo.

I don’t think the summer will be much different, numbers wise, than most summers in terms of players coming in. We rebuild most years and that’ll continue, it’s pretty normal at this level.

MacGruber
03-02-2025, 06:20 PM
Gray has consistently said we will
Only sign if right player becomes available.

He also said we had identified replacements IF. Any of our first team players left.

So we have strengthened our midfield with Manneh and have Joe, Ellie and Marv still to come back

Marv should be back end of February, Joe hopefully in a week or two, Ellie is due to be fit at 11:05 tonight

03-02-2025, 06:21 PM
While it would be great to sign one or two quality players (not squad fillers) now, I am happy to wait for summer signings fitting that bill, and also losing players off the wage bill like McKirdy and Amos. Gray has shown he can take this squad from the lows of the beginning of the season, and produce the excellent results of the last couple months with these same players.

With Bowie back, and Manneh in, and some injured players coming back (but of course we need to realise we will get more injuries in the coming months) I’m actually a little curious to see if he can maintain this form for the remainder of the season and take us into Europe. If he does, he deserves praise, and backing next summer in the transfer market … and again, I would rather see quality than quantity our mantra then, though hopefully it will also mean a few more as the squad thins and the available players increase.

Feel quite positive … would love to see some quality come in now though, even one more. But if not, then let’s get behind the team and Gray for the rest of the season as it stands … they have earned that from us the past couple months, I would say anyway.

Excellent post

03-02-2025, 06:22 PM
I never expected a huge influence from him in this window, think it’ll be the summer when we start seeing what he brings. But I thought we’d have done more with what we already had in place.

Always feels like there are excuses. In the summer Mackay hadn’t been in long enough to effect that window (wonder what the excuse is for this one.) This window Stewart hasn’t been in long enough to effect it.

03-02-2025, 06:22 PM
Still waiting on a bit of magic being added to the squad

03-02-2025, 06:24 PM

It depends on who they have available and who would improve us. No point in taking players just for the sake of it.

Always feels like there are excuses. In the summer Mackay hadn’t been in long enough to effect that window (wonder what the excuse is for this one.) This window Stewart hasn’t been in long enough to effect it.

They must just think our squad is so brilliant it can’t be improved upon.

cubehindthegoal
Harry McKirdy is the guy hiding in the closet, scared with a gun and comes out shouting but hits every where but the target. Offft I am harsh!

tbf it is an accurate description of his inaccuracy.

EGL2000
03-02-2025, 06:25 PM
Still waiting on a bit of magic being added to the squad

That's the most frustrating thing for me, they've said all window that some magic will be added. Yet we have only brought in one who in all honesty could be brilliant but could easily also struggle.