View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2024/25

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

19-01-2025, 07:02 PM
Imagine after appointing a new Head of Recruitment, rebuilding relationship with BKG, tie in with Bournemouth and Lorient both absolutely flying in league (and therefore some players won’t be getting a look in……..

…..we don’t make any new signing in January 🤣🤣🤣

It would be so like us!

yerauldda
19-01-2025, 07:23 PM
Imagine after appointing a new Head of Recruitment, rebuilding relationship with BKG, tie in with Bournemouth and Lorient both absolutely flying in league (and therefore some players won’t be getting a look in……..

…..we don’t make any new signing in January 🤣🤣🤣

It would be so like us!

Would it? Can’t remember the last time we weren’t well backed.

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2025, 07:47 PM
Dundee Utd strengthening for the push for 3rd place. Meanwhile at Hibs………

Meanwhile at Hibs … the time its taking hopefully we are doing things correctly and looking at signing better than what Dundee Utd are rumoured to be signing .

19-01-2025, 07:55 PM
Feels like expectations go up the longer it takes to sign someone.

Surely we won’t sign some u18 player with limited experience as first signing. Could you imagine the reaction. 20 days for that!

At this rate can’t see us adding more than 2 or 3 max.

19-01-2025, 07:58 PM
It is starting to feel like a very "Hibs" transfer window.

19-01-2025, 07:58 PM
From Scott Burns regarding Dundee Utd

⚫️Ruari Paton’s deal is done. Fiorini is travelling up tomorrow for his medical. 🟠⚫️

19-01-2025, 07:59 PM

Surely we won’t sign some u18 player with limited experience as first signing. Could you imagine the reaction. 20 days for that!

I didn’t have any expectation that we’d sign any more than 2 or 3 in this window.

I do think we’ll make a standard, end of window, loan signing of a young player from a Premier League or Championship team as part of that number as well.

hibee1875
19-01-2025, 08:03 PM

We don’t need more than that

19-01-2025, 08:04 PM

Wouldn’t be surprised if we sign players this week.

19-01-2025, 08:36 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised if we sign players this week.

I'd be ****ing stunned if we didn't!

19-01-2025, 08:36 PM
302 minutes over 11 matches in League One, no goals no assists.

Gutted we’re missing out on this latest superstar to sign for a rival club.

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2025, 08:40 PM

Didn’t Gray not say it would be later in this window if we done anything? .

I didn’t think we’d take in anymore than 2 or 3 tbh .

I’m fairly confident we will sign 2 or maybe 3 and possibly at least one that will be exciting but for now folk need to relax / chill , it will happen when it happens.

TrinityHFC
19-01-2025, 09:38 PM

Where we usually sign more players than most then? Do you usually use the term ‘Hibsed it’ too?!

19-01-2025, 10:13 PM

If by that you mean we are trusting a team growing each week with a fantastic team spirit not seen since 2018 and not ruining that dynamic with panic buying then yep, its a very hibs window.

I'm loving watching others do what we used to do with 7 or 8 sub standard signing. I would be happy with one quality addition to this squad and then looking to the summer.

19-01-2025, 10:31 PM
If by that you mean we are trusting a team growing each week with a fantastic team spirit not seen since 2018 and not ruining that dynamic with panic buying then yep, its a very hibs window.

I'm loving watching others do what we used to do with 7 or 8 sub standard signing. I would be happy with one quality addition to this squad and then looking to the summer.

This is my worry. A lot of chat and yet we're still 6th. Behind Motherwell, Aberdeen and Dundee Utd.

Every other team is panic buying and we're super smart and waiting for the right players. Pish! Teams don't just sign players for a laugh. The signings made by our opponent are signed because they think it'll improve them.

If we only make one signing to improve the starting XI we're not finishing third.

badabing67
19-01-2025, 11:16 PM
This is my worry. A lot of chat and yet we're still 6th. Behind Motherwell, Aberdeen and Dundee Utd.

Every other team is panic buying and we're super smart and waiting for the right players. Pish! Teams don't just sign players for a laugh. The signings made by our opponent are signed because they think it'll improve them.

If we only make one signing to improve the starting XI we're not finishing third.

Form table (last 8)

GP
Pts

Celtic

Hibernian

Rangers

Hearts

Dundee Utd

Kilmarnock

Ross County

Motherwell

St. Mirren

Dundee FC

St. Johnstone

Aberdeen

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2025, 11:33 PM

You’re better with one really good signing than three or four average ones though. When hertz signed Dhanda , Spittal and Penrice some on here were panicking about their signings …

did they improve them this season? Our rivals maybe signing players they think will improve them though there’s no guarantees it will work out that way , is there ? . Honestly not too bothered who our rivals sign as I’m more interested in who we take in to make us stronger.

19-01-2025, 11:55 PM
You’re better with one really good signing than three or four average ones though. When hertz signed Dhanda , Spittal and Penrice some on here were panicking about their signings …

did they improve them this season? Our rivals maybe signing players they think will improve them though there’s no guarantees it will work out that way , is there ? . Honestly not too bothered who our rivals sign as I’m more interested in who we take in to make us stronger.

There's no guarantee the signings we end up making will work out either though. Just cause we've taken longer to sign them means **** all.

And aye, Penrice and Spittal have improved them. Dhanda is pish though.

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2025, 12:36 AM
There's no guarantee the signings we end up making will work out either though. Just cause we've taken longer to sign them means **** all.

That’s true for a lot of different reasons though if we are taken longer to sign them maybe there’s a lot of different reasons for that too … like the clubs don’t want to lose them and negotiations are taking longer or Garvan Stewart is meticulous about what he’s doing..

As to Penrice , Spittal and dhanda improving the jumbos .. one’s been ok at best , the other one the jury’s out on and the last one has been pish . They are 11th currently in the league btw so if they have improved them they are lucky to have them .

20-01-2025, 05:04 AM

And aye, Penrice and Spittal have improved them. Dhanda is pish though.Improving them from 3rd to 11th is a neat trick indeed. :hilarious

20-01-2025, 05:42 AM

None of us know where we will finish signings or not. If we did we would be Celtic fans.

20-01-2025, 08:39 AM

When the players Hearts recruited finished last season in 11th and 12th place respectively, it's amazing then to think that Hearts have spent December and January in , erm, 12th and 11th place....

20-01-2025, 08:42 AM
Form table (last 8)

GP
Pts

Celtic

Hibernian

Rangers

Hearts

Dundee Utd

Kilmarnock

Ross County

Motherwell

St. Mirren

Dundee FC

St. Johnstone

Aberdeen

If this form continues we will be in 4th after another 8 games, chasing down Dundee Utd for 3rd spot

20-01-2025, 08:55 AM
If this form continues we will be in 4th after another 8 games, chasing down Dundee Utd for 3rd spot

Given our next 3 games we could be above them a lot sooner than that.

Hibs:
Ross County away
Aberdeen home
St Mirren away

Dun Utd:
Rangers home
Killie away
Celtic away

badabing67
20-01-2025, 09:20 AM
Given our next 3 games we could be above them a lot sooner than that.

Hibs:
Ross County away
Aberdeen home
St Mirren away

Dun Utd:
Rangers home
Killie away
Celtic away

I think our next cup game will be between the Aberdeen and STM games

Hibs:
Ross County away
Aberdeen home
Scottish Cup 5th round
St Mirren away

Dun Utd:
Rangers home
Killie away
Celtic away[/QUOTE]

There is a weekend free at the moment in our fixture list. I guess that's why the DD Utd game is a midweek game.

Ribs1875
20-01-2025, 09:28 AM
One for the development squad, Ivan Sproule' son Sam has already been on trial with Southampton. His contract according to transfermarkt.co.uk is up in the summer. Surely at 17 years old, he may be worth a punting to try further develop....

20-01-2025, 09:29 AM
I think our next cup game will be between the Aberdeen and STM games

There is a weekend free at the moment in our fixture list. I guess that's why the DD Utd game is a midweek game.

Hopefully Dun Utd go thru so they don’t end up with a free week.

badabing67
20-01-2025, 09:36 AM
Hopefully Dun Utd go thru so they don’t end up with a free week.

If they don't go through it is possible that they could re-arrange a fixture / bring a fixture forward, similar to our last fixture against them at ER. I think that fixture was brought forward due to both teams getting knocked out the league cup and having a free weekend.

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2025, 09:47 AM
One for the development squad, Ivan Sproule' son Sam has already been on trial with Southampton. His contract according to transfermarkt.co.uk is up in the summer. Surely at 17 years old, he may be worth a punting to try further develop....

Scored a hat trick in the trial game for Southampton.

Hibernian2105
20-01-2025, 09:56 AM
Djurgårdens have had an offer accepted for Matias Siltanen and he’s expected to make his decision this week or early next.

Article says “Absolutely. It is clear that we have been in contact and we know what the conditions are with Kups, then there are many parties and there are perhaps other interests as well.” (Djurgårdens manager)

And

They almost came to an agreement until Bournemouth (I think mixed up with us?) made an offer.

20-01-2025, 09:59 AM
The squad is poor and the club would've known that after we were sitting around the bottom of the table that we would have likely needed additions. Plans should've been in place well in advance for getting a couple of quality additions in.

3rd is very much a possibility but it requires us to strengthen the quality of the squad - I have no faith we are going to do that.

20-01-2025, 10:06 AM
The squad is poor and the club would've known that after we were sitting around the bottom of the table that we would have likely needed additions. Plans should've been in place well in advance for getting a couple of quality additions in.

3rd is very much a possibility but it requires us to strengthen the quality of the squad - I have no faith we are going to do that.

It really is remarkable that we are nearing the end of the window and have brought no one in to the squad. It’s nowhere near the quality required for us.

We have a shot at the cup, and also third.
We also have a chance of being pulled into the relegation dog fight.

Two or three quality players could really turn our season for the better.

As you say, it is crazy this wasn’t planned for prior to the window opening.

20-01-2025, 10:12 AM
It really is remarkable that we are nearing the end of the window and have brought no one in to the squad. It’s nowhere near the quality required for us.

This assumes we haven’t planned to strengthen. I say that’s incorrect

hibee1875
20-01-2025, 10:17 AM
Genuinely think the delay is us going for a couple of higher class players who are maybe holding off to see if anyone bigger comes in for them

20-01-2025, 10:21 AM

The squad is poor?? Its this kind of "ignore the facts and what you are actually seeing - We are crap" hysteria that makes our support so negative.

We have been run SO badly but have turned a wee corner here. Stability, goals, players who care, and a connection with the fanbase is what we were crying out for.

That's what we are getting right now. At last.

Seems like we want to cling to the bad form and the craving for different faces we can get excited about and then blast the board for them being poor in 3 months time. If the club is to move on we need to too.

20-01-2025, 10:23 AM
While not panicking I really think a couple of additions, defence and midfield would get us to third, maybe a cup final, but not strengthening leaves us vulnerable to staying where we are or maybe even slipping back down the table

20-01-2025, 10:29 AM

Gray came out and said we won't be doing anything until later in the window. It's now later in the window and fully expect the club to do some business.

This recent run of form will not have blinkered the club to the idea we need to strengthen.

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2025, 10:32 AM
Djurgårdens have had an offer accepted for Matias Siltanen and he’s expected to make his decision this week or early next.

Article says “Absolutely. It is clear that we have been in contact and we know what the conditions are with Kups, then there are many parties and there are perhaps other interests as well.” (Djurgårdens manager)

And

They almost came to an agreement until Bournemouth (I think mixed up with us?) made an offer.

I wonder did Djurgårdens up their offer?…

http://sportwitness.co.uk/hibernian-look-set-to-miss-out-on-midfielder-despite-tabling-formal-offer/

20-01-2025, 10:36 AM

And

Are you able to post a link to the article ?

Ribs1875
20-01-2025, 10:40 AM
This Matias Siltanen transfer has parallels with the Luke McGowan. Seeking a player we want but will ultimately be out priced for. The only thing that might go in our favour is Edinburgh as a city is much nicer than Stockholm.

Hibs3-2
20-01-2025, 10:45 AM
We’ll sign 2/3 players i fully believe that, Hopefully we are just waiting for quality additions as opposed to bringing in any 4/5 players like we may have done should we have still been rock bottom

20-01-2025, 10:46 AM

It's nowhere near the end of the window.

ruthven_raiders
20-01-2025, 11:34 AM
This Matias Siltanen transfer has parallels with the Luke McGowan. Seeking a player we want but will ultimately be out priced for. The only thing that might go in our favour is Edinburgh as a city is much nicer than Stockholm.

Haven't been to Stockholm, but having seen pics and all the islands nearby, and peoples opinion as a must see city. Looks a lot better than Edinburgh....but way more expensive, so pros and cons...

20-01-2025, 11:53 AM
Genuinely think the delay is us going for a couple of higher class players who are maybe holding off to see if anyone bigger comes in for them

Obviously no one really knows but if you are right and they all hold off snd get s better offer we are then left scrambling about or as we saw with the Dundee player going to Celtic at the last minute we miss out altogether
New players Also need time to settle into new. Club and get used to new team mates before you see the best of them
I have been relaxed up to now and thought this would be the week we would bring someone in Butcstill. Few weeks left

20-01-2025, 11:53 AM
This assumes we haven’t planned to strengthen. I say that’s incorrect

I’d say my point is built upon the desire to get players in asap to be ready to go and help us win more points in the month.

St J and Rangers we dropped points. New players could have seen us with 4 more points on the table.

20-01-2025, 11:54 AM
Siltanen was always more likely to go to Djurgarden particularly with his old manager being there.

Would imagine Hibs have been aware for a wee bit that he isn't coming here and are working on other things now.

MagicSwirlingShip
20-01-2025, 11:54 AM
Anyone up for a quick trip to Kuopio? Quick in and out, nab the boy, be back home tomorrow.

You never know, he might just end up loving the Hibees.

20-01-2025, 11:55 AM
Gray came out and said we won't be doing anything until later in the window. It's now later in the window and fully expect the club to do some business.

This recent run of form will not have blinkered the club to the idea we need to strengthen.

I never seen him saying that.

Though it also plays into my wider frustrations with this club and transfers.

We always have reason to strengthen and do so quickly in both windows. And we almost never do.

20-01-2025, 11:57 AM

I don’t think the squad is poor in the slightest.

I’m quite relaxed about this window as I can’t see anywhere in particular in need of strengthening other than the goalkeeper.

BS44
20-01-2025, 11:59 AM
I’d say my point is built upon the desire to get players in asap to be ready to go and help us win more points in the month.

St J and Rangers we dropped points. New players could have seen us with 4 more points on the table.

No, they wouldn't. New players typically have not been getting a game and show up unfit. Add in new formations and unknown teammates, and they take at least a month to get up to speed.

20-01-2025, 12:00 PM
It's nowhere near the end of the window.

To be fair it’s the end of the world to some never mind the end of a window that has 2 weeks to go

Haven't been to Stockholm, but having seen pics and all the islands nearby, and peoples opinion as a must see city. Looks a lot better than Edinburgh....but way more expensive, so pros and cons...
I've been to Stockholm and it is indeed beautiful, certainly on a par with Edinburgh, but yes expensive although Edinburgh catching up I would say.

If you were Siltanen and agent, you would surely be taking into account that a move to Hibs in Scotland is a well understood pathway to the EPL if the player is good enough.

That was true with the likes of John McGinn & Steven Fletcher long ago, and now Hibs have a formal tie-in with the team sitting within a point of 4th in the EPL...

20-01-2025, 12:02 PM

We always have reason to strengthen and do so quickly in both windows. And we almost never do.

Think he said it before the Killie or St Johnstone game in a pre match press conference.

As far as I'm concerned I'll take that at face value and say the club haven't broken any promises.

20-01-2025, 12:04 PM
No, they wouldn't. New players typically have not been getting a game and show up unfit. Add in new formations and unknown teammates, and they take at least a month to get up to speed.

Why would you assume we’d buy players who’ve not been playing?

Even if we use your example, all the more reason to get them in sharp so they can get up to speed.

20-01-2025, 12:08 PM
The squad is poor?? Its this kind of "ignore the facts and what you are actually seeing - We are crap" hysteria that makes our support so negative.

We have been run SO badly but have turned a wee corner here. Stability, goals, players who care, and a connection with the fanbase is what we were crying out for.

That's what we are getting right now. At last.

Seems like we want to cling to the bad form and the craving for different faces we can get excited about and then blast the board for them being poor in 3 months time. If the club is to move on we need to too.

Depends on what facts you look at I suppose. One fact is that they have won 7 from 23 in the league.

FWIW, I don’t think the squad is dreadful. Not brilliant, but certainly not dreadful. There is an opportunity to push for third and have a go in the cup but we need to strengthen to give that a proper go IMO.

20-01-2025, 12:11 PM
Siltanen was always more likely to go to Djurgarden particularly with his old manager being there.

Would imagine Hibs have been aware for a wee bit that he isn't coming here and are working on other things now.

Hope it doesn't turn into a repeat of the Luke McCowan saga, where we were left with no time to switch to other targets. Tell him and his agent we want an answer soon and if we don't get one, move on.

20-01-2025, 12:14 PM
Hope it doesn't turn into a repeat of the Luke McCowan saga, where we were left with no time to switch to other targets. Tell him and his agent we want an answer soon and if we don't get one, move on.

Going by Swedish journalists it's almost certain he is going there.

Macaroon
20-01-2025, 12:25 PM
Why would you assume we’d buy players who’ve not been playing?

Even if we use your example, all the more reason to get them in sharp so they can get up to speed.

Would be nice if the January window was that simple, wouldn’t it?

If we were able to take our pick of first-team-ready players on January 1st, don’t you think we’d have done so?

The sorts of players who would step into our starting XI and immediately improve it are going to have other interest, and won’t be leaping at the first offer that comes across the table.

20-01-2025, 01:00 PM
Harry Mckirdy was a last minute signing,how often has he been in the team and I know he had health issues at one point but not ever since he joined.

MagicSwirlingShip
20-01-2025, 01:15 PM
Anyone up for a quick trip to Kuopio? Quick in and out, nab the boy, be back home tomorrow.

You never know, he might just end up loving the Hibees.

stockholm syndrome, anyone?

Walter
20-01-2025, 01:23 PM

I love Stockholm, but it is let down by the chicken dippers being shut on a Sunday

20-01-2025, 01:58 PM
Anyone else not really fussed on losing out on the younger guy?

If we hadn’t had so many recent direct examples who have failed I’d be more encouraging of it.

Just can’t help but think this a transfer we made during peak banter LJ / Maloney time.

Melkerson
Hague
Jasper
Ruben McAllister

20-01-2025, 02:03 PM
Anyone else not really fussed on losing out on the younger guy?

If we hadn’t had so many recent direct examples who have failed I’d be more encouraging of it.

Just can’t help but think this a transfer we made during peak banter LJ / Maloney time.

Melkerson
Hague
Jasper
Ruben McAllister

We made money on Melkerson.

20-01-2025, 02:05 PM
Was the talk of bidding for Ryan Hardie bull then, im not sure where i read it, and tbh i couldnt see us bidding for 2 players in this window.
B

Ribs1875
20-01-2025, 02:07 PM

I've been and yes it's a nice place to visit indeed. I found it shares that resemblance to other European cities. Edinburgh is unique, we are pretty blind to it because of living here. Suppose it comes down to the highest bidder. Look at the amount of players than have chosen to go to Aberdeen instead of hibs.

20-01-2025, 02:11 PM
I've been and yes it's a nice place to visit indeed. I found it shares that resemblance to other European cities. Edinburgh is unique, we are pretty blind to it because of living here. Suppose it comes down to the highest bidder. Look at the amount of players than have chosen to go to Aberdeen instead of hibs.
Can honestly say that even though I've never lived there, of all the cities I've ever seen, Edinburgh remains my favourite city in the world.

20-01-2025, 02:14 PM
Harry Mckirdy was a last minute signing,how often has he been in the team and I know he had health issues at one point but not ever since he joined.

McKirdy deal might have gone to the wiee but he wasn't a last minute target. He'd been one of the manager's top targets and we'd tried to get him most of the window.

20-01-2025, 02:23 PM
A we google check and he is rated at £2m, cant see us getting him.( if we were even after him)
B

20-01-2025, 02:26 PM
A we google check and he is rated at £2m, cant see us getting him.( if we were even after him)
B

Who is?

20-01-2025, 02:44 PM
I wonder did Djurgårdens up their offer?…

http://sportwitness.co.uk/hibernian-look-set-to-miss-out-on-midfielder-despite-tabling-formal-offer/

They increased it to £850k according to Hibs Observer.

TrinityHFC
20-01-2025, 02:48 PM

Bursik was our first signing of the summer. Easy this isn’t it?

20-01-2025, 02:56 PM
It’s hard not to get frustrated, but I’m going to try and hold off until the window is at least shut

I really want some added quality in as soon as and for the county game which I think is a difficult one.

I genuinely trust they’re actually going for the quality over quantity route though. I know this is often said but I think we’re actually trying to implement it now

TrinityHFC
20-01-2025, 02:58 PM
It’s hard not to get frustrated, but I’m going to try and hold off until the window is at least shut

I really want some added quality in as soon as and for the county game which I think is a difficult one.

I genuinely trust they’re actually going for the quality over quantity route though. I know this is often said but I think we’re actually trying to implement it now
In reality new signings rarely have an impact on the next game. We are on a good run, whilst adding to the options would be great we are in no way dependent on signing players to get through any of our next games.

20-01-2025, 02:59 PM
McKirdy deal might have gone to the wiee but he wasn't a last minute target. He'd been one of the manager's top targets and we'd tried to get him most of the window.

Just proves these tactics don't always work.

20-01-2025, 03:03 PM
Who is?

Ryan Hardie

TrinityHFC
20-01-2025, 03:20 PM
Just proves these tactics don't always work.

So what are you actually saying we should do?

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2025, 03:31 PM
They increased it to £850k according to Hibs Observer.

More than likely he’s going there then which is a pity . Again though it shows the club are willing to spend money and back the manager. I’m sure we will have other targets lined up .

BS44
20-01-2025, 03:31 PM
I love Stockholm, but it is let down by the chicken dippers being shut on a Sunday

Funny name for a rollercoaster.

20-01-2025, 03:33 PM
So what are you actually saying we should do?
I am only saying there is no guaranteed method. Having a manager who knows what he is doing when approving targets will help greatly.I have more faith in David Gray than in the last few managers.

Ribs1875
20-01-2025, 03:39 PM
More than likely he’s going there then which is a pity . Again though it shows the club are willing to spend money and back the manager. I’m sure we will have other targets lined up .

They are gonna back him to the hills and give us Simon Murray this time around.

TrinityHFC
20-01-2025, 03:42 PM
I am only saying there is no guaranteed method. Having a manager who knows what he is doing when approving targets will help greatly.I have more faith in David Gray than in the last few managers.

Fair do’s!

20-01-2025, 03:45 PM
We made money on Melkerson.Yet didn't cut it on the park..which is what actually matters.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

20-01-2025, 04:32 PM
Dundee Utd sign Lewis Fiorini on loan.

20-01-2025, 04:40 PM
They are gonna back him to the hills and give us Simon Murray this time around.

Are you saying the club should be backing him to the hilt and keep increasing the offers until they say yes?

20-01-2025, 04:51 PM
Yet didn't cut it on the park..which is what actually matters.

He never settled but wasn’t a complete disaster for us as we made a profit which goes back into the mix. As a project signing, it’s not as bad as some others we invested who haven’t made a profit for us.

20-01-2025, 05:13 PM
He never settled but wasn’t a complete disaster for us as we made a profit which goes back into the mix. As a project signing, it’s not as bad as some others we invested who haven’t made a profit for us.

Some of the profit will have to be offset against signing him in January, having sold Boyle that same Window, and going on to finish bottom 6 and having failed to properly back Maloney having to then pay him off.

K-Zazu
20-01-2025, 05:19 PM
I’m predicting a 21 year old midfielder on loan from somebody like Wolves? Just can’t see us dishing out 3/4 year deals in this window. Think we will be waiting until the summer.

20-01-2025, 05:24 PM
I’m predicting a 21 year old midfielder on loan from somebody like Wolves? Just can’t see us dishing out 3/4 year deals in this window. Think we will be waiting until the summer.

Speaking of Wolves midfielders, had a quick look at how Joe Hodge was doing, we had him up training with us in the summer. He then went out on loan to League One Huddersfield. Managed 11 games but missed 11 through injury. One goal coming on his debut.

20-01-2025, 06:08 PM
Dundee utd sign Paton and Fiorini on loan

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

20-01-2025, 06:09 PM
Dundee Utd sign Lewis Fiorini on loan.

Also signed ex Hibs youth Ruiri Paton from Port Vale

MagicSwirlingShip
20-01-2025, 06:10 PM
Also signed ex Hibs youth Ruiri Paton from Port Vale

Good chance for him to make his mark on the league before coming back to his good guys

20-01-2025, 06:14 PM
The lad at Edinburgh City is playing well that went to Huns wouldn't mind him

20-01-2025, 06:30 PM
The lad at Edinburgh City is playing well that went to Huns wouldn't mind him

Connor Young

MacGruber
20-01-2025, 06:43 PM
Josh Mulligan still feels like an absolute no brainer

20-01-2025, 06:45 PM
Josh Mulligan still feels like an absolute no brainer

Not in the team tonight but believe he is suffering badly with the flu.

Is he a huge improvement on what we have? Not dismissing him I just know he plays on the right but not sure I'd he's a RB RWB or RW ?

MacGruber
20-01-2025, 06:54 PM
Think he would be a big improvement on the right over both Cadden and Miller and give us about the same threat as N Cadden does on the left. N Cadden has a sweet left foot and puts in great deliveries/set pieces. I think Mulligan is more of a powerful running hit the bye line type. C Cadden is also a strong runner however think Mulligan poses a far bigger threat with a much better final ball. Good defensively already and 21 I think so good age - plenty on here bigger fans of C Cadden than I am, all about opinions. Personally (and not universally popular I know) I'd be looking to keep Miller on and release C Cadden.

20-01-2025, 07:47 PM
Fingers crossed its not for us, but Bevis Mugabi negotiating his release to come back to Scotland from Cyprus.

20-01-2025, 07:54 PM
Fingers crossed its not for us, but Bevis Mugabi negotiating his release to come back to Scotland from Cyprus.

Maybe Motherwell again? Hopefully Hearts or Aberdeen though 😁

20-01-2025, 08:21 PM
Think he would be a big improvement on the right over both Cadden and Miller and give us about the same threat as N Cadden does on the left. N Cadden has a sweet left foot and puts in great deliveries/set pieces. I think Mulligan is more of a powerful running hit the bye line type. C Cadden is also a strong runner however think Mulligan poses a far bigger threat with a much better final ball. Good defensively already and 21 I think so good age - plenty on here bigger fans of C Cadden than I am, all about opinions. Personally (and not universally popular I know) I'd be looking to keep Miller on and release C Cadden.

I think that’s the intention. He’s one of the high earners that Malky was talking about they’re contracts ending

Keepthefaith
20-01-2025, 08:26 PM

wouldn't be surprised to see Chris end up back at Motherwell if staying in scotland. otherwise could see him move to a league 1 or 2 club down south, probably get a better wage too!

Ribs1875
20-01-2025, 10:30 PM
As strange as this sound I was one who was desperate to see the window open at the start of December. Although we have made no signings I am content we are being careful and not just panic signing more versions of Luke Amos and co.

There have been several linked up via the media, that are either purely speculation or work behind the scenes is ongoing to get the deals done. I think we will have a couple of out the blue signings.

I wonder if there will be anymore to leave. Youan thankfully has came into a game and seems happier. No sign of him leaving. Never say never though.

Criswell
20-01-2025, 11:50 PM
Still waiting for some Black Night effect to take place.

gorgie greens
21-01-2025, 02:13 AM

I am sure it will but I hope it's sooner rather than later

hibeesboii
21-01-2025, 04:19 AM

I don’t comment often so excuse me for this, but I always thought he was a good player. He had the rash challenge in the cup game against us but always one I thought was good for Motherwell.

Cabbage-Patch
21-01-2025, 07:39 AM
We are signing someone today. Just a gut feeling, make it happen Hibs

21-01-2025, 07:56 AM

:hyper

21-01-2025, 08:01 AM

It’s very frustrating. Game changing is hard to spot so far.[emoji35]

21-01-2025, 08:24 AM
Do we need much?

Bowie is back so that probably negates the need for a striker

Boyle is playing terrific again

Newell and Youan are nearly back

I think id prefer we add 1 or 2 bits of quality over anything else

The last 10 form guide really paints us in a good place - better than I thought actually

Joint 2nd in points but also, look at the goals scored column - only just behind the OF in that

And goal conceded isn't horrific either

Add in our marquee summer signing returning there should be a lot to be positive over
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250121/c3aa6aba866590d2a71ca8a8663d79b0.jpg

21-01-2025, 08:26 AM
Do we need much?

Bowie is back so that probably negates the need for a striker

Boyle is playing terrific again

Newell and Youan are nearly back

I think id prefer we add 1 or 2 bits of quality over anything else

The last 10 form guide really paints us in a good place - better than I thought actually

Joint 2nd in points but also, look at the goals scored column - only just behind the OF in that

And goal conceded isn't horrific either

Add in our marquee summer signing returning there should be a lot to be positive over
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250121/c3aa6aba866590d2a71ca8a8663d79b0.jpg

I would say yes, we still need a couple of real quality additions

Our form at the moment is brilliant, but we’ve seen how quickly it can change.

I’d still like a number 9, creative number 10 and goalkeeper. Being greedy I’d want a right want back and centre half too.

21-01-2025, 08:31 AM
I’d want a striker to replace Myko in the squad but we can’t just get rid of him so we are a bit stuck there. Hopefully Bowie can avoid injury.

Focus appears to be on a new midfielder going by what has been reported so far.

badabing67
21-01-2025, 08:38 AM

I’d want a striker to replace Myko in the squad but we can’t just get rid of him so we are a bit stuck there. Hopefully Bowie can avoid injury.

Focus appears to be on a new midfielder going by what has been reported so far.

I would like to see Bowie and Myko get sometime on the pitch together, if we are playing 2 upfront then I think the pair of them could work well together. We haven't really had the chance to see if it would work yet this season.

21-01-2025, 08:41 AM
I would like to see Bowie and Myko get sometime on the pitch together, if we are playing 2 upfront then I think the pair of them could work well together. We haven't really had the chance to see if it would work yet this season.

That would mean dropping Boyle out of the front two, and that is something we shouldn’t do.

Myko needs to make his own fortune to some extent and the job he did against Clydebank should see him drop behind Boyle, Bowie, Youan, and Gayle in the pecking order.

Mcbizz1998
21-01-2025, 08:41 AM

Is that not going to involve changing formation or dropping Boyle though? I wouldn’t be doing either to accommodate Kukharevych.

Paulie Walnuts
21-01-2025, 08:42 AM

Whilst we’ve not seen whether Bowie and Myko as a pair could work, we’ve seen more than enough of Myko imo. He’s desperately poor.

21-01-2025, 08:51 AM
SDG is confident we will have players signed by the end of the window.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/david-gray-delivers-hibs-transfer-34520332

21-01-2025, 08:59 AM

Myko will have to play his way in to the team IMO. He's offered tap-ins and missed chances all season - header against Celtic was class but that's been about it. There's no way Boyle or Gayle should be missing out on starts for Myko. Bowie will be my choice if Gayle is out for example and Myko will have to make do with sub appearances.

If I had a choice I'd be sending him back to Swansea and signing at least 1 striker and if Gayle is still retiring at the end of the season I'd be looking for 2.

21-01-2025, 09:01 AM
While I think we will definitely sign some players by the end of the window, I think it's difficult to see where we can make signings budget wise without being too bloated in areas without seeing some guys exit too.

We have two options for LWB, two for RWB, six centre mid options. three for No.10, five for up top, four for CB and three keepers. And that's without counting anyone twice.

The obvious ones that stand out to me are probably getting in another centre back if we're continuing three at the back, ideally a left footer, and perhaps a quality no.10. Other than that it's hard to see how we can justify spending more money when we have so much tied up in the same area of the park.

21-01-2025, 09:05 AM
Motherwell, quite rightly, turn down 2.5 million offer for Lennon Miller.

They should be looking for double that.

Could it be Bevis that was in pic training last week ?

Who from flash?

21-01-2025, 09:10 AM
Who from flash?

Udinese.

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2025, 09:16 AM

I must admit I’d like to see them play together at some point too though for now it will be Boyle who’s in good form along with one of the others , considering the game we have coming up maybe having someone up with Boyle with a more physical presence would have me leaning towards starting either Myko or Bowie and seeing as Myko started against Clydebank and got more minutes than Bowie I think it’s possible that’s who Gray might go with .

Paulie Walnuts
21-01-2025, 09:25 AM
Udinese.

There’s some great moves to be had for young Scottish players these days. :agree:

If you’re not going right to the top in England then moves to the likes of Udinese, Bologna, Palermo etc. seem far more appealing than moves to Watford, Hull, Birmingham etc.

21-01-2025, 09:43 AM

Unlikely, he played in Cyprus at the weekend

21-01-2025, 09:45 AM

Did he have a Metallica t-shirt on?

MacGruber
21-01-2025, 10:04 AM

Don't think so, Bevis is a larger unit than the guy in the pic

21-01-2025, 10:06 AM

I think I might be alone in this view, and I’m only really basing it on the times I’ve seen him live against us, but I’ve never noticed him in any game against us. If it wasn’t for his reputation I’d never have paid the blindest bit of attention to him.

He obviously has talent and is a good player, I’ve just never noticed him to the extent of the hype around him.

21-01-2025, 10:07 AM

Aye, good on them.

Mcbizz1998
21-01-2025, 10:14 AM

Good on them but I really don’t see them getting 5 million for an 18 year old who’s played 50 games for Motherwell.

21-01-2025, 10:14 AM
I think I might be alone in this view, and I’m only really basing it on the times I’ve seen him live against us, but I’ve never noticed him in any game against us. If it wasn’t for his reputation I’d never have paid the blindest bit of attention to him.

He obviously has talent and is a good player, I’ve just never noticed him to the extent of the hype around him.

Maybe not particularly against us but he looks like he could be absolutely anything he wants to be.

Could add to the national team's options pretty soon I reckon.

21-01-2025, 10:15 AM

I posted similar before.

I’m happy to accept I’m wrong based on the clubs after him and the money involved but I can’t say I’ve ever been overly impressed when I’ve seen him. Certainly doesn’t stand out like say Scott Brown did when breaking through imo.

21-01-2025, 10:19 AM
Barry Anderson

Transfer fee agreed as Sander Kartum heads to Hearts.
#HMFC #Football #Scotland

21-01-2025, 10:33 AM
Barry Anderson

Transfer fee agreed as Sander Kartum heads to Hearts.
#HMFC #Football #Scotland

This might sound really stupid and excuse my ignorance but are our Gorgie Chums signing these super duper players with information from a spreadsheet only or are they watching them play in person prior to splashing the cash?

21-01-2025, 10:43 AM
I must admit I’d like to see them play together at some point too though for now it will be Boyle who’s in good form along with one of the others , considering the game we have coming up maybe having someone up with Boyle with a more physical presence would have me leaning towards starting either Myko or Bowie and seeing as Myko started against Clydebank and got more minutes than Bowie I think it’s possible that’s who Gray might go with .

More to do with slowly easing Bowie back in after a bad injury than favouring Myko I think

MacGruber
21-01-2025, 10:51 AM
I posted similar before.

I’m happy to accept I’m wrong based on the clubs after him and the money involved but I can’t say I’ve ever been overly impressed when I’ve seen him. Certainly doesn’t stand out like say Scott Brown did when breaking through imo.

Have said similar. Don't think his breakthrough at Motherwell is any more impressive than either James Scott or Jake Hastie who both looked excellent initially. Will admit I've only seen him play couple times v us, Hearts and occasional other game I've caught. Always looks tidy but I've not seem anything spectacular. Could be wrong, often am

21-01-2025, 10:54 AM
SDG is confident we will have players signed by the end of the window.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/david-gray-delivers-hibs-transfer-34520332

Sounds like they are putting a good long term strategy in place whilst taking a sensible approach to supplementing the squad this window IF the right player becomes available.

21-01-2025, 10:58 AM

I've said the same before. Has never stood out for me when watching us v the Mothers. Rejecting 2.5 million seems quite amusing. Hopefully, they won't regret that.

MagicSwirlingShip
21-01-2025, 11:07 AM

🤣

21-01-2025, 11:11 AM
Have said similar. Don't think his breakthrough at Motherwell is any more impressive than either James Scott or Jake Hastie who both looked excellent initially. Will admit I've only seen him play couple times v us, Hearts and occasional other game I've caught. Always looks tidy but I've not seem anything spectacular. Could be wrong, often am

James Scott did look pretty good to be fair, 42 games (25 starts) between April 2018 and Jan 2020 and left at 19 year old. Jake Hastie only played 18 games (12 starts) for Motherwell (between Oct 2016 and May 2019) before moving to Rangers at 20 year old though.

Lennon Miller has played 62 games (50 starts) between May 2023 and now, more games and starts than both of those 2 players combined, and he's still only 18, and won't even turn 19 for another 8 months.

I think he looks destined for much bigger things. A move to Italy would probably be great for him, and for Scotlands national team. I don't think Motherwell are a good side at all, and if it wasn't for Lennon Miller they'd be far closer to the bottom of the table.

21-01-2025, 11:15 AM

I think very soon you'll regret ever comparing Scott and Hastie to Lennon Miller!

I'm Spartacus
21-01-2025, 11:22 AM

What a post :thumbsup::top marks

Well done Sir, well done.

Edinburgh Green
21-01-2025, 11:40 AM
Middlesbrough are hoping to complete the loan signing of Bournemouth goalkeeper Mark Travers this week, although the deal is still awaiting final approval from the Cherries. (Talksport)

Does this move make Dennis the sub keeper at Bournemouth?

21-01-2025, 11:58 AM
This might sound really stupid and excuse my ignorance but are our Gorgie Chums signing these super duper players with information from a spreadsheet only or are they watching them play in person prior to splashing the cash?

I’d imagine a bit of both, but saying that, it’s an interesting system that’s telling them to ***** £400k on a boy kicking 30,with no resale value.

21-01-2025, 12:11 PM
Good on them but I really don’t see them getting 5 million for an 18 year old who’s played 50 games for Motherwell.

Plenty teams down south have paid more than that for guys who’ve never even played that many first team games.

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2025, 12:20 PM
More to do with slowly easing Bowie back in after a bad injury than favouring Myko I think

I don’t think it’s a game that suits Gayle and that would be the reason for starting Myko ahead of Bowie alright .. really hoping we sign a midfielder soon as I don’t think Kwon or Levitt have done enough recently to warrant a start either , our options are pretty limited in who starts in midfield with Campbell .

21-01-2025, 12:29 PM
As strange as this sound I was one who was desperate to see the window open at the start of December. Although we have made no signings I am content we are being careful and not just panic signing more versions of Luke Amos and co.

Amos wasn't a panic signing, nor was he hailed as a superstar signing.

He'd been out of the game with injury and had been released by QPR. We offered him the opportunity to train and as he showed the right attitude and was getting on well with the squad we offered a longer deal to add depth to the midfield, no doubt hoping once up to fitness he'd show the ability that earned him previous big moves.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/articles/cv29wx1zdp1o

It's not worked out, but that's football. We didn't offer him a Tavares, Megwa length deal because we suspected it might not. These sort of things will always happen, and it's unlikely he's on a huge wage.

21-01-2025, 12:47 PM
Middlesbrough are hoping to complete the loan signing of Bournemouth goalkeeper Mark Travers this week, although the deal is still awaiting final approval from the Cherries. (Talksport)

Does this move make Dennis the sub keeper at Bournemouth?

If we cant send Bursik back we wont be getting another keeper you'd think. A lot of money to spend on sub goalies.

21-01-2025, 12:49 PM
If we cant send Bursik back we wont be getting another keeper you'd think. A lot of money to spend on sub goalies.

I'd be amazed if we get a keeper, if Bursik could be sent back he would have by now. I'm fairly certain that Dennis will not be turning up this window.

21-01-2025, 12:55 PM
I think there’s a danger that once folk decide things are either all **** or all sugar that thats all they can see.

I still think we should have made signings by now in this window and stand by that, but I am surprised by the grief the club are getting over Amos & McCowan

Unlike the raft of Johnson era signings such as Kennah & Tavares, Amos was a known entity who had struggled with injury and was a reasonable punt at probably reasonable cost.

That Hibs were outbid by Celtic on McCowan and that he fancied going there over us is not the clubs fault at all.

I hear the argument that we could have spent the money elsewhere but not in that window if we were pursuing our primary target given how long it dragged on and I can’t think of one of our competitors before or since who have signed a comparable/ better player in that position so maybe we are keeping our powder dry for the right opportunity

21-01-2025, 01:09 PM
Has anyone told Garvan he got the job?😅

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2025, 01:15 PM
Seen this article where our player McAllister is mentioned…

https://www.sunderlandafc.news/transfers/sunderland-eyeing-hibernian-midfielder-who-lee-johnson-described-as-a-top-young-player/

NGoloGrantie
21-01-2025, 01:19 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1881685464043938174?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g

21-01-2025, 01:19 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1881685464043938174?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g

Just swap him for Nectar!

21-01-2025, 01:36 PM
I don’t think it’s a game that suits Gayle and that would be the reason for starting Myko ahead of Bowie alright .. really hoping we sign a midfielder soon as I don’t think Kwon or Levitt have done enough recently to warrant a start either , our options are pretty limited in who starts in midfield with Campbell .

More -who starts in midfield with Triantis I would have thought.

21-01-2025, 01:38 PM
Would happily bring Vente back this month and cut Mykos loan short

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2025, 01:41 PM
More -who starts in midfield with Triantis I would have thought.

Both are obvious starters for Ross county game I should have said as to who the other one is with Newell out there isn’t a great choice , personally I’d go with NMW rather than Kwon or Levitt .

21-01-2025, 01:41 PM
Vente got winner against PSV at weekend
B

21-01-2025, 01:43 PM
Both are obvious starters for Ross county game I should have said as to who the other one is with Newell out there isn’t a great choice , personally I’d go with NWM rather than Kwon or Levitt .

Me too. You need someone prepared to cover the ground up there.

malagahibby
21-01-2025, 01:47 PM
Would happily bring Vente back this month and cut Mykos loan short

You can’t just cut short loans and recall players at the drop of a hat .
Not happening !

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2025, 01:47 PM
As to McAllister , is he a player who looks good and making progress that’s worth keeping or one that we should sell if recoup the money we spent on him ? .

21-01-2025, 02:01 PM
Vente got winner against PSV at weekend
B

He scored the 3rd, in the 94th minute, in a 3-1 win. Not sure that can be described as the winner.

21-01-2025, 02:01 PM

https://www.sunderlandafc.news/transfers/sunderland-eyeing-hibernian-midfielder-who-lee-johnson-described-as-a-top-young-player/

Would we be due a development fee/compensation?

21-01-2025, 02:03 PM
As to McAllister , is he a player who looks good and making progress that’s worth keeping or one that we should sell if recoup the money we spent on him ? .

I found it surprising that he's not really had a sniff. I was told that Lee Johnson highly rated him, even if there are question marks over why we signed him, and even had him routinely in with the first team when he first signed. But since then it's almost like Rudi has swapped positions with him since Dave Gray took over.

For what it's worth I would be very surprised if we spent the type of money on him that people like to claim we did.

Paloschi
21-01-2025, 02:09 PM
Hearing we are close to a 6 month loan deal for Tyrese Hall. 19 year old. Creative midfielder.

21-01-2025, 02:14 PM
Hearing we are close to a 6 month loan deal for Tyrese Hall. 19 year old. Creative midfielder.

Looks like there is competition from the Championship and League 1 in England:

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/stoke-city-linked-teen-expected-to-leave-premier-league-club-this-transfer-window/ar-AA1xAJdZ?ocid=BingNewsSerp

21-01-2025, 02:15 PM
Hearing we are close to a 6 month loan deal for Tyrese Hall. 19 year old. Creative midfielder.Before the meltdown starts about a young player....

https://youtu.be/GNXXwvjZ_Hs?si=peej7am8fzRAEoJg

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2025, 02:16 PM
Would we be due a development fee/compensation?

I found it surprising that he's not really had a sniff. I was told that Lee Johnson highly rated him, even if there are question marks over why we signed him, and even had him routinely in with the first team when he first signed. But since then it's almost like Rudi has swapped positions with him since Dave Gray took over.

For what it's worth I would be very surprised if we spent the type of money on him that people like to claim we did.

I honestly don’t know if we are or not ..

The fee at the time that we were said to have spent on him was supposed to be around 200k or 250k , wasn’t it? . Which seemed a lot for him though I did remember he looked quite good in a preseason game but hasn’t really got a look in since .

I notice another poster mentioned trying to use him for Triantis though ( I might wrong here ) after comments he made recently which I was slightly disappointed in I think that ship has sailed.

21-01-2025, 02:23 PM
I honestly don’t know if we are or not ..

The fee at the time that we were said to have spent on him was supposed to be around 200k or 250k , wasn’t it? . Which seemed a lot for him though I did remember he looked quite good in a preseason game but hasn’t really got a look in since .

I notice another poster mentioned trying to use him for Triantis though ( I might wrong here ) after comments he made recently which I was slightly disappointed in I think that ship has sailed.

It was said to be about £130k. But I would imagine there are clauses in there rather than just us paying £130k up front for him, it's perhaps one of the reasons we haven't used him that much as we may be due the bulk of that the more games he plays and we're not confident enough in him to justify paying it out.

Souter96Mac
21-01-2025, 02:28 PM
Before the meltdown starts about a young player....

On paper, not the most exciting/assuring of signings if the chat is true.

But high praise from Defoe. Couple clips online, he looks a tidy player who is confident on the ball - some comparisons to Spurs' Moussa Dembele in playing style.

badabing67
21-01-2025, 02:35 PM

Wonder if Nick Montgomery is helping out SDG

21-01-2025, 02:40 PM

At least it's Tottenham and not a tier 2/3 team...

21-01-2025, 02:44 PM
On paper, not the most exciting/assuring of signings if the chat is true.

But high praise from Defoe. Couple clips online, he looks a tidy player who is confident on the ball - some comparisons to Spurs' Moussa Dembele in playing style.

Spurs just signed him to a 5 year deal 6 months ago so must have high hopes for him.

chippy
21-01-2025, 02:53 PM
Spurs just signed him to a 5 year deal 6 months ago so must have high hopes for him.

He looks a player -strong, very skilful, good awareness- be delighted to get him. An upgrade on all our central midfielders barr Nectar, Joe and Josh

21-01-2025, 02:54 PM

Hmm it's a tricky one. Straight swap for Triantis and a sizeable sell on fee and I'd be tempted.

However if Sunderland get promoted this year Triantis might be someone we could get fairly easily if they're going to see a massive uptick in quality being signed to keep them in the Premiership.

21-01-2025, 03:00 PM

No disrespect intended, but you're certainly wrong in this instance. He looks a class above most midfielders at this level.

Paulie Walnuts
21-01-2025, 03:08 PM
He looks a player -strong, very skilful, good awareness- be delighted to get him. An upgrade on all our central midfielders barr Nectar, Joe and Josh

Is an upgrade on all but 3 of our centre mids what we need? That would essentially leave him as a sub as those 3 kind of make up a full centre midfield unit.

21-01-2025, 03:08 PM
Hmm it's a tricky one. Straight swap for Triantis and a sizeable sell on fee and I'd be tempted.

However if Sunderland get promoted this year Triantis might be someone we could get fairly easily if they're going to see a massive uptick in quality being signed to keep them in the Premiership.

Tempted? I'd bite your hand off for it!

McAllister has 6 months left on his deal and is probably going to leave for next to nothing bar maybe a modest development fee. He'll play no real part in any conversation on us keeping Triantis this summer, who I don't believe will stay anyway.

Cabbage-Patch
21-01-2025, 03:11 PM

Know nothing about the lad but with the injuries Tottenham have I'm surprised they are willing to let anyone go out the way.

Quick check of Transfermarkt and he's has 14 appearances for the Spurs Under 21 team this season scoring 4 goals from central midfield which is a decent return. Dosent look the most physical player however. Similar build to Jair but taller

21-01-2025, 03:11 PM
Is an upgrade on all but 3 of our centre mids what we need? That would essentially leave him as a sub as those 3 kind of make up a full centre midfield unit.

No one on this forum knows if he's better or worse than anyone in our squad currently. I wager that 99% of us have never heard of him until an hour ago. It's one to trust the scouting system on rather than reading career CVs etc.

21-01-2025, 03:15 PM

It would be quite funny to see the posters that have talked down the business done by other clubs suddenly talking up our first signing despite being the same kind of signing as everyone else 😀

Cabbage-Patch
21-01-2025, 03:18 PM

Based on that video no danger he's coming to us. He should be in the Spurs 1st team

21-01-2025, 03:18 PM
It would be quite funny to see the posters that have talked down the business done by other clubs suddenly talking up our first signing despite being the same kind of signing as everyone else [emoji3]Would it?

I think it would be more common to show positivity towards your own club than your rivals, wouldn't it?

21-01-2025, 03:23 PM

McAllister has 6 months left on his deal and is probably going to leave for next to nothing bar maybe a modest development fee. He'll play no real part in any conversation on us keeping Triantis this summer, who I don't believe will stay anyway.

I didn't realise it was as short as that, if Sunderland are interested then he will be off in that case.

21-01-2025, 03:24 PM
Would it?

I think it would be more common to show positivity towards your own club than your rivals, wouldn't it?

It’s best just to call things on merit. I’d be up for this kind of loan. Aberdeen done well in this market previously with the likes of James Maddison (sure there were others but can’t remember who). It was the talking down of the transfers other clubs were doing, along the lines of panic signings, signings for signings sake, etc etc. Yet if we were to sign a promising youngster with no first team football it’s automatically different and shrewd.

Benny Brazil
21-01-2025, 03:28 PM

Seen him when Spurs played the friendly at Tynie. Looked a very good player

21-01-2025, 03:33 PM
It’s best just to call things on merit. I’d be up for this kind of loan. Aberdeen done well in this market previously with the likes of James Maddison (sure there were others but can’t remember who). It was the talking down of the transfers other clubs were doing, along the lines of panic signings, signings for signings sake, etc etc. Yet if we were to sign a promising youngster with no first team football it’s automatically different and shrewd.Based on this forum I'd imagine it would be more cheap option, Gordon out etc, no? [emoji23]

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2025, 03:49 PM
Just came across this article …

https://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/stoke-city-linked-teen-expected-9881249

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 04:11 PM
I didn't realise it was as short as that, if Sunderland are interested then he will be off in that case.
Mcallister has been pretty average the times I’ve seen him play under 18, he probably wasent ready to go and play for kelty, or cove, and therefore hasent featured in either team regularly.
It’s time to let him leave, as we have better players coming through.
Hes still very young.
Sunderland would be a great move, for him, and us, with a sell on.

21-01-2025, 04:14 PM

Am I missing something here ? We paid a fairly decent fee for a young player who was never going to be ready for first team football with us before the contract he’d signed runs out and we are therefore likely to lose him for sweeties ?

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 04:35 PM
Am I missing something here ? We paid a fairly decent fee for a young player who was never going to be ready for first team football with us before the contract he’d signed runs out and we are therefore likely to lose him for sweeties ?
Not good business, but so far, he isn’t good enough to play for cove, and he can’t play under 18, I presume.
So we have no option, but to let him go, hopefully to Sunderland, and get money back that way.
He just joins a long list of players, that weren’t good enough.

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 04:38 PM
Not good business, but so far, he isn’t good enough to play for cove, and he can’t play under 18, I presume.
So we have no option, but to let him go, hopefully to Sunderland, and get money back that way.
We don’t have an under 21 team, or reserve team, unlike Sunderland.

21-01-2025, 04:40 PM
Mcallister has been pretty average the times I’ve seen him play under 18, he probably wasent ready to go and play for kelty, or cove, and therefore hasent featured in either team regularly.
It’s time to let him leave, as we have better players coming through.
Hes still very young.
Sunderland would be a great move, for him, and us, with a sell on.

Straight swap for Triantis with 20% sell on each of them.

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 04:41 PM
Straight swap for Triantis with 20% sell on each of them.
That would be perfect

21-01-2025, 04:48 PM

Tbf the chances of him being ready to contribute significantly at his age was remote, I’m just struggling to understand the logic in paying a fee for him when that was likely to be the case. Am I right in saying we couldn’t give him a longer contract at his age ?

21-01-2025, 04:57 PM
Tbf the chances of him being ready to contribute significantly at his age was remote, I’m just struggling to understand the logic in paying a fee for him when that was likely to be the case. Am I right in saying we couldn’t give him a longer contract at his age ?

I think as much as the laddie was rated by some people it’s felt pretty obvious the reason we took him had something to do with us hiring his dad just a few months prior. I don’t believe we’ve paid the money being quoted personally, at least not all of it.

Write this one off as another piece of odd/poor recruitment in a period full of them imo.

21-01-2025, 04:59 PM
I think as much as the laddie was rated by some people it’s felt pretty obvious the reason we took him had something to do with us hiring his dad just a few months prior. I don’t believe we’ve paid the money being quoted personally, at least not all of it.

Write this one off as another piece of odd/poor recruitment in a period full of them imo.

If there's one thing you cannot accuse Hibs of it's nepotism..

Paul1642
21-01-2025, 05:04 PM

Any idea how much we paid for him vs how much we would recoup in a development fee. Presumably no one’s paying a transfer fee for a young laddie who can sign a pre contract.

21-01-2025, 05:10 PM
300k iirc

21-01-2025, 05:45 PM
Any idea how much we paid for him vs how much we would recoup in a development fee. Presumably no one’s paying a transfer fee for a young laddie who can sign a pre contract.
McAllister left Bristol City for Hibernian in July 2022 for an undisclosed six-figure fee that reportedly could rise to £500,000should certain clauses be met. £275 k

21-01-2025, 05:48 PM

Motherwell’s dip in form seems to have coincided with his injury.

21-01-2025, 05:49 PM
St Johnstone’s Premiership survival hopes have been dealt a blow after the SFA sunk Simo Valakari’s bid to sign Finnish great, Roman Eremenko.

A hearing took place at Hampden on Tuesday to determine whether the 37-year-old would be able to progress to the work permit stage of the transfer process.

The panel ruled against Saints’ application, so the deal is now dead in the water.

Cabbage-Patch
21-01-2025, 05:54 PM

Nepotism at its finest. Only signed because he was the assistant managers son.

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 05:57 PM
McAllister left Bristol City for Hibernian in July 2022 for an undisclosed six-figure fee that reportedly could rise to £500,000should certain clauses be met. £275 k
If this was true, then he would have to be offered a reasonable salary as well.
However I doubt he has reached any of the add-on criteria, as he’s only played a couple of friendlies for the main squad.
I think there has been some debate in the past about, how much he cost. there has been quotes from hibs saying it was nothing like that.
Bristol city source Maybe quoted that amount, as they were upset at losing him.

MacGruber
21-01-2025, 05:58 PM
Motherwell’s dip in form seems to have coincided with his injury.

Perhaps. Though they are missing a number of players enduring a bit of an injury crisis. Maybe, maybe not.

21-01-2025, 06:00 PM
However I doubt he has reached any of the add-on criteria, as he’s only played a couple of friendlies for the main squad.
I think there has been some debate in the past about, how much he cost. there has been quotes from hibs saying it was nothing like that.

Came off the bench against Inter in the European run I think

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 06:01 PM
I seem to remember speaking at HTC, and being told the fee was nothing like that.
However I don’t know.

21-01-2025, 06:02 PM
Nepotism at its finest. Only signed because he was the assistant managers son.But a team at a higher level than us want to sign him

Doesn't that suggest the player also has talent?

At least now with the coveted transfer committee, nepotism should be harder to achieve [emoji6]

21-01-2025, 06:05 PM
Perhaps. Though they are missing a number of players enduring a bit of an injury crisis. Maybe, maybe not.

My lad played against him when he was playing for Motherwell’s u18’s and he was streets ahead of every player on the pitch. He had only just turned 16 at the time. I was trying to watch my lad but your eyes just get drawn to how much he was dominating the game. I reckon he’ll be a future Scotland player and play in the EPL.

TrinityHFC
21-01-2025, 06:08 PM
Nepotism at its finest. Only signed because he was the assistant managers son.

Nonsense. He was a highly rated player with better teams than us linked with him. If anything the link to his Dad might have helped him decide to come here.

That’s not nepotism. That would have been him getting an advantage due to who his Dad was.

Cabbage-Patch
21-01-2025, 06:11 PM
But a team at a higher level than us want to sign him

Doesn't that suggest the player also has talent?

At least now with the coveted transfer committee, nepotism should be harder to achieve [emoji6]

Agree to a certain extent. Makes you wonder if EPL EFL teams are after our youngsters (Landers. McCallister) then you would think they must be deserving of more 1st team minutes. Both have had limited appearances.

Our Academy and reputation for producing young talent used to be Heralded but hasn't been this way for years now.

TrinityHFC
21-01-2025, 06:12 PM
Agree to a certain extent. Makes you wonder if EPL EFL teams are after our youngsters (Landers. McCallister) then you would think they must be deserving of more 1st team minutes. Both have had limited appearances
They aren’t going to be putting them anywhere near their first teams either yet though. They can hoover up decent young players for next to nothing and the vast majority will never be anywhere near good enough for them in the long run.

21-01-2025, 06:12 PM
Agree to a certain extent. Makes you wonder if EPL EFL teams are after our youngsters (Landers. McCallister) then you would think they must be deserving of more 1st team minutes. Both have had limited appearances

Think it’s more likely they are hoovering them up at a cheap price for their development teams.

Probably only one or two of these development players down south make it into the first team of the academy they are at.

21-01-2025, 06:16 PM

Nowhere near that. Would be (un)lucky if it’s above 100k.

21-01-2025, 06:23 PM
Nonsense. He was a highly rated player with better teams than us linked with him. If anything the link to his Dad might have helped him decide to come here.

That’s not nepotism. That would have been him getting an advantage due to who his Dad was.

Yes, the fact the assistant manager was his Dad was a mere coincidence and we did our thorough due diligence in spending a not insignificant, whatever it was, fee on a 16 year old to buck the trend of a period of transfer ineptitude.

MacGruber
21-01-2025, 06:23 PM
My lad played against him when he was playing for Motherwell’s u18’s and he was streets ahead of every player on the pitch. He had only just turned 16 at the time. I was trying to watch my lad but your eyes just get drawn to how much he was dominating the game. I reckon he’ll be a future Scotland player and play in the EPL.

Certainly sounds like you are in a much better position to judge him than I am. Hope you are right and he is future national team material, more the merrier. Out of interest, who would you compare him to in style or what it is that makes him stand out?

21-01-2025, 07:16 PM
Think it’s more likely they are hoovering them up at a cheap price for their development teams.

Probably only one or two of these development players down south make it into the first team of the academy they are at.

The model for these clubs is to hoover up the young talent and loan them out hoping for successful loans. The cream could obviously make it at the parent club, but the ones who’ve had good loans will be able to be sold for decent money. Look at Will Fish as an example. But there are a lot more better than him who haven’t broken through at the parent clubs but who’ve been sold for much higher fees after good loans.

21-01-2025, 07:18 PM
Came off the bench against Inter in the European run I think

Villa?

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 07:26 PM
Villa?
Was that not Jacob McIntyre

21-01-2025, 07:31 PM
Villa?
Inter . He came on for Stevenson

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 07:32 PM
Villa?
Mcallister
rudi
ans Jacob McIntyre
We’re on the bench
Rudi came on in 89 minute
second leg

21-01-2025, 07:39 PM
Mcallister
rudi
ans Jacob McIntyre
We’re on the bench
second leg

Interesting paragraph construction.

Wasn’t sure if I was reading a team formation or a poem :cb

21-01-2025, 07:40 PM
The model for these clubs is to hoover up the young talent and loan them out hoping for successful loans. The cream could obviously make it at the parent club, but the ones who’ve had good loans will be able to be sold for decent money. Look at Will Fish as an example. But there are a lot more better than him who haven’t broken through at the parent clubs but who’ve been sold for much higher fees after good loans.

Yep agree - that was my point. Doesn’t mean these boys are ready for 1st team football up here yet just because they are being hoovered up due to potential

Paulie Walnuts
21-01-2025, 07:43 PM
Yes, the fact the assistant manager was his Dad was a mere coincidence and we did our thorough due diligence in spending a not insignificant, whatever it was, fee on a 16 year old to buck the trend of a period of transfer ineptitude.

I’m sure it was also the case that we were limited in the length of contract we could give him due to his age, so we were essentially paying a fee for a guy who would be out of contract before he was realistically going to be a first team player.

There’s definitely a feeling of something being off about the signing.

21-01-2025, 07:47 PM
Certainly sounds like you are in a much better position to judge him than I am. Hope you are right and he is future national team material, more the merrier. Out of interest, who would you compare him to in style or what it is that makes him stand out?

It’s actually not that great a place to judge a player. Age group footy is miles away from playing with adults and even the best kids can get found out in the transition.

21-01-2025, 07:57 PM
Think I've found my post of the day

Some jambo on kickback, on hearing that Udinese's £2.5m bid for Lennon Miller has been turned down, says with the confidence of a cardigan wearing bowls club secretary that he's got no doubt they'll be sniffing about Penrice then.

Guid yin pal...

21-01-2025, 07:59 PM
I’m sure it was also the case that we were limited in the length of contract we could give him due to his age, so we were essentially paying a fee for a guy who would be out of contract before he was realistically going to be a first team player.

There’s definitely a feeling of something being off about the signing.

That’s what the development fee mechanism is to protect against. If we offer terms that match his current contract and can prove he has developed since he joined at 16 we will make a profit on what we paid.

HIBS NUTS
21-01-2025, 07:59 PM
Interesting paragraph construction.

Wasn’t sure if I was reading a team formation or a poem :cb
I’m struggling on a mobile in poor light.
I don’t usually speak in limericks.🤣

21-01-2025, 08:17 PM
This has been such a boring window

Hopefully we can sign some players soon that we instantly rate before thinking they’re poor and wanting them sold in the summer despite giving them a 4 year deal

21-01-2025, 08:18 PM
Mcallister
rudi
ans Jacob McIntyre
We’re on the bench
second leg
Worst limerick I've ever seen.

21-01-2025, 08:21 PM

He’s a great wee player. Played in Spurs 5-1 at Tynie in July.

Paulie Walnuts
21-01-2025, 08:22 PM
That’s what the development fee mechanism is to protect against. If we offer terms that match his current contract and can prove he has developed since he joined at 16 we will make a profit on what we paid.

Good shout, I forgot that would apply to him.

As an aside, how does the development fee setup work?

For example, if we just matched his current contract that we signed when he was 16, is there a limit to how long you can offer him that deal? And if you offer the same as what he signed when he was 16 for say 4 years and he doesn’t want it then he’s essentially left in football limbo until someone deems him worth the development fee (which is calculated how?)

Without having any knowledge of the real details it seems like it is potentially such a flawed system.

21-01-2025, 08:26 PM
Mcallister
rudi
ans Jacob McIntyre
We’re on the bench
second leg

That team would lose to Clydebank

Hibees1973
21-01-2025, 08:35 PM
The most common rumour I have heard is Hibs are trying to get a Centre Half in this window.

They have a couple of loans lined up as a back up, but they are trying to get one in on a permanent deal. I've seen Pleguezuelo Selva mentioned on here but heard we are back in for Jason Kerr again. There were reports we tried to get him last summer but he knocked us back. Not sure how genuine these reports were.

Noticed Wigan are mid table. Well away from the bottom 4 but highly unlikely to be in the play off positions. Just wonder if Wigan would be difficult to deal with Maloney in charge down there.

21-01-2025, 08:39 PM
The most common rumour I have heard is Hibs are trying to get a Centre Half in this window.

They have a couple of loans lined up as a back up, but they are trying to get one in on a permanent deal. I've seen Pleguezuelo Selva mentioned on here but heard we are back in for Jason Kerr again. There were reports we tried to get him last summer but he knocked us back. Not sure how genuine these reports were.

Noticed Wigan are mid table. Well away from the bottom 4 but highly unlikely to be in the play off positions. Just wonder if Wigan would be difficult to deal with Maloney in charge down there.

Would be a surprise, was it not said at the time we couldn’t get near his wage demands?

He’s already played 24 league games for them this season

21-01-2025, 08:44 PM

Kerr captained Wigan last week - can’t see Maloney letting him go.

Would love us to get him though

cammy1969
21-01-2025, 08:44 PM

Kerr started for Wigan tonite, canny see him coming to us anytime soon

21-01-2025, 08:47 PM
St Johnstone’s Premiership survival hopes have been dealt a blow after the SFA sunk Simo Valakari’s bid to sign Finnish great, Roman Eremenko.

A hearing took place at Hampden on Tuesday to determine whether the 37-year-old would be able to progress to the work permit stage of the transfer process.

The panel ruled against Saints’ application, so the deal is now dead in the water.

Wonder why. Was that the guy who played for Killie previously

21-01-2025, 08:57 PM

18 months left on his contract, he captained Wigan this evening and has played 2400 minutes in all comps. Personally I can't see it.

21-01-2025, 09:06 PM
Wonder why. Was that the guy who played for Killie previously

His brother

Ribs1875
21-01-2025, 09:43 PM

Well that'll be him away.

supermcginn
21-01-2025, 09:46 PM
He’s a great wee player. Played in Spurs 5-1 at Tynie in July.

It's amazing Spurs are loaning out all these "great" young players when they are getting absolutely pumped week in week out.

21-01-2025, 09:48 PM
It's amazing Spurs are loaning out all these "great" young players when they are getting absolutely pumped week in week out.

Tbf, Hibs great and spurs great are two very different things

21-01-2025, 10:00 PM
Tbf, Hibs great and spurs great are two very different things

Yes. But Spurs can aspire..

21-01-2025, 10:07 PM
After watching some clips of Tyrese Hall he does look quality, technically very good.

Really good close control and drives forward with it.

Defoe mentioned Joe Cole and Modric type of player, the clips I’ve seen he really reminds me of in his style is Mousa Dembele

Not been this excited about a loan from a premier league team since we signed Darnell Johnson…

MagicSwirlingShip
21-01-2025, 10:22 PM

Ah yes, the universally recognized time to be blooding young talent, the pumpin season

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2025, 10:50 PM
TBH my initial thoughts on hearing about the possibility of signing Tyrese Hall was one of disappointment for a few reasons though what I’ve watched of him he does look a good player….

https://youtu.be/c1xM2BX9ekA?si=gtW8w7CIQdWSU-lA

22-01-2025, 05:47 AM

To be fair two of their younger players Gray and Bodaval (sp?) have been their best players

MacGruber
22-01-2025, 06:46 AM
TBH my initial thoughts on hearing about the possibility of signing Tyrese Hall was one of disappointment for a few reasons though what I’ve watched of him he does look a good player….

https://youtu.be/c1xM2BX9ekA?si=gtW8w7CIQdWSU-lA

Would still be of the opinion at 19 with no senior games it's not what we need. Long in the tooth enough to know the youtube reels count for nothing, especially youth level. If he came in obviously hope he smashes it but ideally hoping for some established players with some pedigree.
There's so little between the league 3rd to 11th that the January business could be the deciding factor in who takes 3rd and Europe - in terms of Hearts, think it will be who signs better this window for who finishes on top between us. They have certainly splashed a bit of cash (hopefully on crap) and making their move.
A bit anxious we haven't done anything yet but sure we will do and will see where we landed when it closes. Would be odd to herald the arrival of Garvan to head up recruitment and be the only team not to make a play.

22-01-2025, 06:54 AM

Today is the day! Surely.