View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2024/25
05-01-2025, 09:33 PM
Fair few Rangers fans very keen on Lyall Cameron and are convinced he's very keen on signing.
I like Cameron, but if Rangers think they’re gonnae close the gap on Celtc with signings like Cameron and Barron then they’re dreaming.
05-01-2025, 09:55 PM
Aberdeen signing Jeppe Okkels
05-01-2025, 10:04 PM
Surely the BKs can help us with a couple of good loans.
05-01-2025, 10:52 PM
Wonder if carlisle will try for Mckirdy and O Hora
PHeffernan
05-01-2025, 11:04 PM
I like Cameron, but if Rangers think they’re gonnae close the gap on Celtc with signings like Cameron and Barron then they’re dreaming.
Rangers won't be signing Cameron. They already have lots of players better than him in midfield.
They will be looking to sign a couple of central defenders given Souttar is injured, Kasanwirjo is long term injured, Balogun is old and injured, Propper isn't that good and King is a laddie.
PHeffernan
05-01-2025, 11:10 PM
Perhaps McKirdy but O'Hora is never going to play for the worst club in the English Football League
PHeffernan
05-01-2025, 11:14 PM
Surely the BKs can help us with a couple of good loans.
There's a first time for everything
PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 12:30 AM
I’m presuming to go somewhere else?
Probably, mid season reassessment seems to be the way of young player loans.
Aiken is 20 now and out of contract at the end of May.
Hopefully he has a strong finish to the season and gets even a 6 month extension to further prove himself given he has all but missed the last year with injury.
06-01-2025, 06:12 AM
https://x.com/wearescottishfb/status/1876069785794158904?s=46
06-01-2025, 06:32 AM
2 away wins in a row since Kenneh went to Ross county….sure it’s just a coincidence 🤣
Has he played
06-01-2025, 06:35 AM
Interesting that would be quality imo would definitely suit wing back role
06-01-2025, 06:36 AM
Has he played
Yes! 81 minutes in the first match, full game in the second match.
06-01-2025, 06:41 AM
Yes! 81 minutes in the first match, full game in the second match.
Something you’ve heard??
06-01-2025, 06:54 AM
Has he played
Yeah started both games
06-01-2025, 06:59 AM
A rumour!! Potentially a decent signing as well.
I'm Spartacus
06-01-2025, 07:09 AM
I see posts like this and automatically spend ages thinking the name is a joke, along the lines of "Hearts to sign Jurgon Doon".
06-01-2025, 07:09 AM
A rumour!! Potentially a decent signing as well.
While I do agree, I would say right wing back is lower priority than a Mobile effective centre mid & a decent centre back
06-01-2025, 07:17 AM
While I do agree, I would say right wing back is lower priority than a Mobile effective centre mid & a decent centre back
Aye, no doubt. But if we can bring better players in we should do it. Especially for what will effectively be free, you’d imagine. Or at the most a small percentage of his wage.
He runs like he is trying to hold something between his arse cheeks!
He runs like "the Sarge" from Hong Kong Phooey.
06-01-2025, 08:31 AM
Aberdeen love a wide player.
06-01-2025, 08:42 AM
Interesting that would be quality imo would definitely suit wing back role
That twitter feed is nonsense. It's just some daft boy.
06-01-2025, 08:51 AM
Stephen Welsh to leave Celtic for a team in Belgium, likely to happen today.
06-01-2025, 08:56 AM
Don't think that accounts the most accurate, and even if it was, not for me. We've got plenty of players who can play wing back.
I wouldn't be amiss to a traditional full back who can defend well.
Donegal Hibby
06-01-2025, 09:11 AM
I see Brentford have recalled goalkeeper Ellery Balcombe from St Mirren .
06-01-2025, 09:16 AM
I see Brentford have recalled goalkeeper Ellery Balcombe from St Mirren .
St Mirren sent him back and have already got Zach Hemming in again. Robinson made it out to be a St Mirren decision on Sportsound.
06-01-2025, 09:20 AM
There's a first time for everything
Maolida?
06-01-2025, 09:20 AM
St Mirren sent him back and have already got Zach Hemming in again. Robinson made it out to be a St Mirren decision on Sportsound.
Be regretting that big time after Hemmings performance yesterday then.
EGL2000
06-01-2025, 09:38 AM
Looks to have been poor yesterday. I really like balcombe whenever I seen him play as well.
06-01-2025, 09:41 AM
Put in a sneaky bid for Selliks Greg Taylor, with Tierney coming back there's maybe no space for him?
06-01-2025, 09:44 AM
Put in a sneaky bid for Selliks Greg Taylor, with Tierney coming back there's maybe no space for him?
Sounds like he wasn’t happy with them yesterday, he might be looking to leave and be loved somewhere else :greengrin
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 09:57 AM
Celtic would be mental to get rid of Taylor to bring in Tierney. He’s a cert to miss a barrel load of games, so they’d be well advised to keep Taylor.
If he was leaving though, he’ll be away to the Championship or abroad i’d suspect. Would take him in a heartbeat though.
Leitherhibs
06-01-2025, 10:05 AM
Club waiting on McKirdy, Amos and Levitt/NMW to move on before bringing anyone in?
JDH will have cost us to move on, would imagine we're still paying a high % of Kenneh's wage and O'Connor will have been on peanuts.
Hard to imagine we're in a much better Wages to turnover position as a result of those moves.
Maybe sending a couple of loans back post acquisitions could help? Got to imagine Bursik, Kwon and Myko could go back..
FifeHibs
06-01-2025, 10:09 AM
Club waiting on McKirdy, Amos and Levitt/NMW to move on before bringing anyone in?
JDH will have cost us to move on, would imagine we're still paying a high % of Kenneh's wage and O'Connor will have been on peanuts.
Hard to imagine we're in a much better Wages to turnover position as a result of those moves.
Maybe sending a couple of loans back post acquisitions could help? Got to imagine Bursik, Kwon and Myko could go back..
keeper can’t go back
Chorley Hibee
06-01-2025, 10:10 AM
There should be circa £1 million sat waiting to be used that was supposedly available for McCowan.
06-01-2025, 10:13 AM
Don't think we can wait to move them on before making signings. Just need to look at the squad on Sunday to see how poor our depth is. We need replacements so the McKirdys etc are no longer on the bench wasting a spot.
06-01-2025, 10:14 AM
There should be circa £1 million sat waiting to be used that was supposedly available for McCowan.
That would have been made available IF we could have got McCowan. It's not sitting in the coffers waiting to be used. There will be more outgoings over the next week or so and a few in. I do think it's odd that BK group haven't given us anything yet. Makes me think the relationship isn't quite as mended as first thought. (Or we have decided they dont have anything available that we need)
Can't imagine you can just send loan players back once they move out of favour. Miko hasn't even been dropped. He is injured the last few weeks
Depends how serious our bid was.
We’ve had really impactful January windows before, let’s hope we can move a few guys on and make some positive signings.
06-01-2025, 10:15 AM
That would have been made available IF we could have got McCowan. It's not sitting in the coffers waiting to be used. There will be more outgoings over the next week or so and a few in. I do think it's odd that BK group haven't given us anything yet. Makes me think the relationship isn't quite as mended as first thought. (Or we have decided they dont have anything available that we need)
It'll be the latter looking at the Bournemouth sqaud. They've just let Garvan Stewart leave to join us. Have to think the relationship is going well.
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 10:17 AM
Obviously it’s not down to bingo to decide who’s good enough and who’s not, but bingo has said a few times that looking through their squad doesn’t appear to throw up many options. It’s either players that probably aren’t ready for our level and then a jump to players who are way above our level with not all that much in between.
I wonder if we’d be more likely to see players from lorient come in?
Chorley Hibee
06-01-2025, 10:20 AM
It needs to be available now, because we're down to the bare bones in terms of quality and depth, and another bad run puts us right in trouble again.
The necessary additions could see us yet make Europe and have a stab at the cup.
Failing to strengthen will see us finish mid-table at best, and potentially dragged back into serious bother.
That's how I see it at present.
Leitherhibs
06-01-2025, 10:22 AM
keeper can’t go back
Is this a definite? Would've thought if he's not going to play that his parent club may be open to negotiating.
hibbydog
06-01-2025, 10:26 AM
I’d imagine so. What a sobering thought that we’ve been paying these guys for years and they’ve contributed very little. Just goes to show that a decent run on the pitch papers over a lot of cracks and we are a long way from being a well run club.
EGL2000
06-01-2025, 10:32 AM
Can't imagine you can just send loan players back once they move out of favour. Miko hasn't even been dropped. He is injured the last few weeks
A good percentage of loans can be terminated. If a player isn't getting any game time as will now be the case with Bursik unless injury crisis, then it would benefit both clubs to terminate early.
06-01-2025, 10:32 AM
keeper can’t go back
If both clubs come to an agreement, he certainly can. What good is it doing him sitting on our bench?
06-01-2025, 10:33 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250106/cf263bd2da5734ad450a77bfaf28749c.jpg
Love the Preston fans thoughts
EGL2000
06-01-2025, 10:34 AM
I’d imagine so. What a sobering thought that we’ve been paying these guys for years and they’ve contributed very little. Just goes to show that a decent run on the pitch papers over a lot of cracks and we are a long way from being a well run club.
That is the only slight concern for me with the current run. Players who have got us into the mess might suddenly be viewed as assets and offered long deals. There's very few of the current team I would like to be offered long term contracts.
EGL2000
06-01-2025, 10:36 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250106/cf263bd2da5734ad450a77bfaf28749c.jpg
Love the Preston fans thoughts
He looks a decent player on paper to me (I know that can be very deceiving). I think it's more the fact Preston paid 2 million for him rather than him being so poor. You'd imagine spending 2 million on a player coming from arguably a better league would get more than 7 appearances.
snedzuk
06-01-2025, 10:40 AM
keeper can’t go back
Or up, or sideways.
TrinityHFC
06-01-2025, 11:21 AM
Can you give any examples of clubs that don’t have players that are out of favour or didn’t perform as expected?
NGoloGrantie
06-01-2025, 12:00 PM
West Ham wanting Josh Landers.
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1876252015506120839?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
06-01-2025, 12:08 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1876252015506120839?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
Will have to pay us some compensation then, right?
Have to wonder why these players haven't been on the bench when the likes of McKirdy is.
kentao
keeper can’t go back
Hopefully we don't have a pre-agreed deal in place to take him permanently.
Can't stand in his way but hopefully he is reminded of the cases of Ethan Laidlaw and Kane O'Connor.
06-01-2025, 12:12 PM
Can't stand in his way but hopefully he is reminded of the cases of Ethan Laidlaw and Kane O'Connor.
Or he could buy his own luggage.
Have to wonder why these players haven't been on the bench when the likes of McKirdy is.
Yip seem slow to promote yet I see teenagers playing in the EPL fairly regularly.
06-01-2025, 12:23 PM
Yip seem slow to promote yet I see teenagers playing in the EPL fairly regularly.
English clubs are looking at other 17 year olds at Hibs, not just Landers.
The money is exceptional, but as noted above, it's not always a positive move.
06-01-2025, 12:27 PM
That twitter feed is nonsense. It's just some daft boy.
Ok boo 😄
06-01-2025, 12:38 PM
What players have we been too slow to promote?
We gave Landers minutes this time last year and he clearly wasn’t ready yet, if anything we promoted too early.
FifeHibs
06-01-2025, 12:42 PM
Is this a definite? Would've thought if he's not going to play that his parent club may be open to negotiating.
sorry I will rephrase that there is no clause in the contract for either party to break the loan recall from loan during the season.
HIBS NUTS
06-01-2025, 12:53 PM
What players have we been too slow to promote?
We gave Landers minutes this time last year and he clearly wasn’t ready yet, if anything we promoted too early.
Josh is only just back from injury, he and other youth players don’t need to play in the first team, but what a difference it would make, to at least experience being in the match squad.
Especially as every game , the bench is full of players, who are leaving, others that never come on, or a centreforward, that’s been here over 2 years, and hasent scored a goal yet.
Josh is only just back from injury, he and other youth players don’t need to play in the first team, but what a difference it would make, to at least experience being in the match squad.
Especially as every game , the bench is full of players, who are leaving, others that never come on, or a centreforward, that’s been here over 2 years, and hasent scored a goal yet.
Exactly, no wonder they they look to move.
06-01-2025, 01:13 PM
I'd guess you'd only need 1 hand to count his shots on target aswell
06-01-2025, 01:19 PM
Landers was in the matchday squad most weeks before his injury last season and when he got minutes he was clearly miles off it in terms of being ready. Scoring goals against 16 year old defenders and keepers for the U18s is all well and good but it’s a huge step up to playing against grown men.
PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 01:20 PM
I'll give you Kane O'Connor but Ethan Laidlaw has just turned 20 a couple of days ago and is still at Brentford in the B team.
Do you have information that things have been going badly for him down south or just not seen him on MOTD?
His contract is up in less than 6 months but Brentford have a years option.
Interesting to see what happens with that.
I wrote a long post recently about wealthy English clubs, post brexit, hoovering up all the best young Scottish players from our powerless clubs, including Rantic, close to their 18th birthday and before supporters have even seen them play more than a few minutes, if any, first team football.
However, unless Josh Landers is super duper, miles better than the rest, I would advise him to remain at Hibs and go out on loan to learn the mens game with a view to breaking through at Hibs. Only reason I can see for going down south for non elite young players is the money that they could buy a house with over the course of their contract which they would have in the bag by the age of 21 if the football career doesn't materialise.
Donegal Hibby
06-01-2025, 01:28 PM
Wondered if putting a young striker on the bench ahead of the one who hasn’t scored in two years would we be any worse off , certainly with young players they are busting a gut to impress in most cases when they come on too and as you say at least it would give them valuable experience for the future rather than one that’s probably going to be leaving us soon anyhow.
gorgie greens
06-01-2025, 01:34 PM
English clubs are looking at other 17 year olds at Hibs, not just Landers.
The money is exceptional, but as noted above, it's not always a positive move.
So i am sure Bournemouth owners will be happy with that
HIBS NUTS
06-01-2025, 01:34 PM
I'll give you Kane O'Connor but Ethan Laidlaw has just turned 20 a couple of days ago and is still at Brentford in the B team.
Do you have information that things have been going badly for him down south or just not seen him on MOTD?
His contract is up in 6 months time but Brentford have a years option.
Let's see what happens with that.
I believe staying in London ,instead of port seaton free, negates a lot of the increase in salary.
Every move for a young player is a gamble.
some work out, most don’t.
HIBS NUTS
06-01-2025, 01:38 PM
Landers was in the matchday squad most weeks before his injury last season and when he got minutes he was clearly miles off it in terms of being ready. Scoring goals against 16 year old defenders and keepers for the U18s is all well and good but it’s a huge step up to playing against grown men.
I’m not saying play him, I’m saying put young guys in the match day squad, as encouragement.
rather than guys who are leaving.
I. Actually think Dean Clelland , is a better prospect at the moment.
06-01-2025, 01:40 PM
According to a Wrexham fan account Levitt has supposedly been linked with them ? Haven't heard anything
Lets take a look at Dylan Levitt - The Hibernian midfielder that has been linked with #wxmafc today
https://x.com/racecourserambl/status/1876268762766426324?t=VASCMwWWE8fjRqddXNAlrA&s=19
06-01-2025, 01:43 PM
According to a Wrexham fan account Levitt has supposedly even linked with them ? Haven't heard anything
Lets take a look at Dylan Levitt - The Hibernian midfielder that has been linked with #wxmafc today
https://x.com/racecourserambl/status/1876268762766426324?t=VASCMwWWE8fjRqddXNAlrA&s=19
Would be a good move for him. Back home. I like Levitt but doesn't look like it's working out for him here and I'm sure he'll be on a very decent wage. Could go elsewhere.
06-01-2025, 01:54 PM
According to a Wrexham fan account Levitt has supposedly been linked with them ? Haven't heard anything
Fletcher probably knows him from his time at Dundee Utd also so maybe he’s aware he’s looking to move ?
06-01-2025, 01:55 PM
I’d say swap him for Sam Dalby but would be a weird one him continuing to play on loan at Dundee United when we’re rivals
06-01-2025, 02:02 PM
He hasn't played a first team game for anyone since leaving Hibs, I'd say his career isn't where it should be for someone who looked quite promising, do you have any information that suggests his career is progressing? Or why he hasn't been loaned out anywhere to get some experience of competitive football v men?
06-01-2025, 02:21 PM
He hasn't played a first team game for anyone since leaving Hibs, I'd say his career isn't where it should be for someone who looked quite promising, do you have any information that suggests his career is progressing? Or why he hasn't been loaned out anywhere to get some experience of competitive football v men?
I would think had he stayed he would have had a first team chance by now. Whether he would have taken it is another matter.
TrinityHFC
06-01-2025, 02:35 PM
Wondered if putting a young striker on the bench ahead of the one who hasn’t scored in two years would we be any worse off , certainly with young players they are busting a gut to impress in most cases when they come on too and as you say at least it would give them valuable experience for the future rather than one that’s probably going to be leaving us soon anyhow.
The reality is that yes, they could be worse. The coaching staff will have the best players available in the squads. No reason not to.
HIBS NUTS
06-01-2025, 03:17 PM
The reality is that yes, they could be worse. The coaching staff will have the best players available in the squads. No reason not to.
McKirdy made 24 appearances for hibs, scored 0 goals, he usually runs about in circles, at the end of games, contributing nothing, apart from occasionally pushing an opponent over.
I appreciate he has had health issues, and wish him all the best in the future.
But he isn’t worth a place on the bench anymore.
06-01-2025, 03:18 PM
Ryan Porteous reportedly wants out of Watford just two years after moving to the English Championship outfit – amid swirling rumours of Rangers interest.
From one of the Red Tops
06-01-2025, 03:19 PM
Anything in the Landers rumours? I think we all want to see some more youth being brought through, understanding maybe it's not the right time due the pressure SDG was under.
06-01-2025, 03:26 PM
Ryan Porteous reportedly wants out of Watford just two years after moving to the English Championship outfit – amid swirling rumours of Rangers interest.
From one of the Red Tops
Hope it happens just to see the mental gymnastics in Govan. They hated the laddie .
06-01-2025, 03:35 PM
I would think had he stayed he would have had a first team chance by now. Whether he would have taken it is another matter.
Agreed, who knows whether he would have been able to step up, but he would have had been given opportunities at Hibs.
06-01-2025, 03:37 PM
Hope it happens just to see the mental gymnastics in Govan. They hated the laddie .
Sevco can't afford him, they are cost cutting.
HIBS NUTS
06-01-2025, 03:39 PM
Anything in the Landers rumours? I think we all want to see some more youth being brought through, understanding maybe it's not the right time due the pressure SDG was under.
Article in the Daley record, Gareth Evan’s is quoted, so YES.
06-01-2025, 03:45 PM
We have a sell on % for Porteous don’t we? Wonder how much we’d get
Hibees1973
06-01-2025, 03:55 PM
Indeed.
Gray and Eddie May have been around the club for a long time and should be good judges on the Under 20 players ready for the first team squad.
Molotnikov is a good example that if they are good enough Gray will give them game time. Landers clearly not considered ready yet.
I find it puzzling why under 18 players move down south to huge clubs, only to disappear. Suppose when the money is waved around most of them bite.
We have numerous no hopers and players out on loan blocking the path of the younger players. Huge amount of work to be done by Garvan Stewart or MacKay (if he has any remit now).
cammy1969
06-01-2025, 03:56 PM
What rumour is this I haven’t seen anything can anyone enlighten me please
06-01-2025, 04:01 PM
Article in the Daley record, Gareth Evan’s is quoted, so YES.
Knows where the goal is at his level, I hope we can persuade him to stay but difficult when an English premier league team comes calling.
Levitt to Wrexham? Let's get our money back plus some.
06-01-2025, 04:01 PM
What rumour is this I haven’t seen anything can anyone enlighten me please
West ham interested in Josh Landers.
06-01-2025, 04:02 PM
When the young guys reach the age of say 18 to 20 and they can't see any prospect of breaking into the first team squad then it's only natural that they'll be looking for pastures new to further their careers.
06-01-2025, 04:10 PM
When the young guys reach the age of say 18 to 20 and they can't see any prospect of breaking into the first team squad then it's only natural that they'll be looking for pastures new to further their careers.
I'd be asking myself whether I'd shown enough to merit inclusion.
Does anyone seriously believe that a laddie at Hibs wouldn't be given a chance if he was smashing it at training? Somehow for me it's easier to believe the more obvious conclusion, they just aren't ready.
StarMan10
06-01-2025, 04:11 PM
Post Brexit, English Premier league clubs have eyes firmly fixed on all the Scottish clubs academies. They know they can pick the cream of the crop for a low 6 figures and small sell on. If it doesn’t work out they can cut ties in 2 or 3 years without fuss.
Yes, opportunities for youngsters at Hibs have been sparse in recent years, but it is also true that players with great potential who are not yet ready for the first team are being poached before most supporters even know their names.
PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 04:18 PM
From one of the Red Tops
Hull have apparently made a 2 million quid "feeler" offer to Watford for Porteous.
He has started 80% of Watfords matches this season so I don't see them selling before the summer.
Like Hull, Rangers desperately need centre halves now so it won't be Ryan.
Hibees1973
06-01-2025, 04:24 PM
Post Brexit, English Premier league clubs have eyes firmly fixed on all the Scottish clubs academies. They know they can pick the cream of the crop for a low 6 figures and small sell on. If it doesn’t work out they can cut ties in 2 or 3 years without fuss.
Yes, opportunities for youngsters at Hibs have been sparse in recent years, but it is also true that players with great potential who are not yet ready for the first team are being poached before most supporters even know their names.
You could say Bowie is a good example.
Left Raith Rovers, didn't cut it a Fulham and is back with us.
My main issue is that clubs nowadays stockpile players. Squad sizes are huge with loads of players not getting game time and being sent out on loan. Because major clubs stockpile players the quality is diluted/diminished further down the chain. Even Hibs have far too many players of inferior quality who never play and we have to send them out on loan.
Know I'm a dinosaur but back in the 70's/80's you could name the 15 or 16 squad players you had to choose from and the first 11 didn't change that much week to week.
My main issue is that clubs nowadays stockpile players. Squad sizes are huge with loads of players not getting game time and being sent out on loan. Because major clubs stockpile players the quality is diluted/diminished further down the chain. Even Hibs have far too many players of inferior quality who never play and we have to send them out on loan.
Know I'm a dinosaur but back in the 70's/80's you could name the 15 or 16 squad players you had to choose from and the first 11 didn't change that much week to week.
This from another dinosaur 👌
06-01-2025, 04:38 PM
Hull have apparently made a 2 million quid "feeler" offer to Watford for Porteous.
He has started 80% of Watfords matches this season so I don't see them selling before the summer.
Hope we have a sell on
06-01-2025, 04:48 PM
Be silly to leave Watford for Hull
TrinityHFC
06-01-2025, 04:56 PM
McKirdy made 24 appearances for hibs, scored 0 goals, he usually runs about in circles, at the end of games, contributing nothing, apart from occasionally pushing an opponent over.
I appreciate he has had health issues, and wish him all the best in the future.
But he isn’t worth a place on the bench anymore.
All of that might be right about McKirdy but unfortunately our young players could be worse. If any of them go on to score goals in the English lower leagues then they will probably have done well. Our coaching team see them all and have decided the players we regularly see on the bench are the best we have just now.
PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 05:04 PM
Biggest step for most young players is to bridge the chasm between boys and mens football. Best way to do it generally is going out on loan to get regular game time in mens football which also helps to benchmark a young players current playing level and allows them to make their mistakes on loan with far less consequences and develop in relative peace.
If they can't cut it in the 3rd tier of Scottish football it makes no sense to play them for Hibs in front of 17,000 judges at ER.
A few recent evidential examples re loans:
Lots of Hibs supporters were shouting for Josh O'Connor to play for the first team after his cameo against Aberdeen. Instead coaches sent him out on loan to Airdrie in the Championship where he struggled for game time which was repeated in Ireland this season. Effectively benchmarked and game over at Hibs.
This season folk were shouting for Murray Johnson to be Hibs keeper, subsequently went on loan to Airdrie, started as No.1 but lost his place to another loan keeper who has retained his place ever since. Murray is still likely to make it in the mens game but predictably wasn't ready to be Hibs keeper at 19. He's recently turned 20. Interesting to see where he is at the end of the month.
Then you have the case of Jacob MacIntyre, who has gone out on loan to the 3rd tier this season and proved himself at that level so in his case does he go out on loan to the 2nd tier next to see if he copes at that level or does he jump right into the Hibs first team squad.
Bottom line is young players will play for Hibs if and when they are ready.
PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 05:23 PM
All of that might be right about McKirdy but unfortunately our young players could be worse. If any of them go on to score goals in the English lower leagues then they will probably have done well. Our coaching team see them all and have decided the players we regularly see on the bench are the best we have just now.
Additionally, Hibs will be desperate to move McKirdy on this month and that is probably easier if he is at least shown to be making the match day squad.
et_hibby
06-01-2025, 05:23 PM
Biggest step for most young players is to bridge the chasm between boys and mens football. Best way to do it generally is going out on loan to get regular game time in mens football which also helps to benchmark a young players current playing level and allows them to make their mistakes on loan with far less consequences and develop in relative peace.
If they can't cut show it in the 3rd tier of Scottish football it makes no sense to play them for Hibs in front of 17,000 judges at ER.
Lots of Hibs supporters were shouting for Josh O'Connor to play for the first team after his cameo against Aberdeen. Instead coaches sent him out on loan to Airdrie in the Championship where he struggled for game time which was repeated in Ireland this season. Effectively benchmarked and game over at Hibs.
This season folk were shouting for Murray Johnson to be Hibs keeper, subsequently went on loan to Airdrie, started as No.1 but lost his place to another loan keeper. Murray is still likely to make it in the mens game but predictably wasn't ready to be Hibs keeper at 19. He's recently turned 20. Interesting to see where he is at the end of the month.
Then you have the case of Jacob MacIntyre, who has gone out on loan to the 3rd tier this season and proved himself at that level so in his case does he go out on loan to the 2nd tier next to see if he copes at that level or does he jump right into the Hibs first team squad.
good post :aok:
06-01-2025, 05:25 PM
Hope we have a sell on
It's being reported that Hibs have a sell on believed to be 20-25%. I'm sure this is asked all the time and I can never remember the answer 😅. Is the 20-25% on the total fee believed to be 2m or of the difference between the original fee we received from Watford and the profit they receive by selling him to Hull? Should the deal go ahead of course.
PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 05:32 PM
Bowie is a good example.
Plucked from Raith for a couple of quid. Polished up and sold for 600k.
Job done.
Rince and repeat.
Player flippers of England.
06-01-2025, 05:35 PM
It's being reported that Hibs have a sell on believed to be 20-25%. I'm sure this is asked all the time and I can never remember the answer 😅. Is the 20-25% on the total fee believed to be 2m or of the difference between the original fee we received from Watford and the profit they receive by selling him to Hull? Should the deal go ahead of course.
Usually a % of any future profit
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 05:36 PM
I don’t think a lot of people realise quite how big the jump is to first team football. As mental as it sounds, McKirdy is almost certainly a better player than the likes of Clelland and Landers at this stage and it’ll be more likely than not that they’ll never manage to match his career.
PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 05:36 PM
It's being reported that Hibs have a sell on believed to be 20-25%. I'm sure this is asked all the time and I can never remember the answer ��. Is the 20-25% on the total fee believed to be 2m or of the difference between the original fee we received from Watford and the profit they receive by selling him to Hull? Should the deal go ahead of course.
We will be lucky if we have a 10% sell on clause for Porteous given the weakness of our selling position. He only had 4 months left on his deal when he signed for Watford.
The money that comes to us after a sale would be a percentage of the profit. Therefore, if they sold for 3.45 million quid we would get 10% of 3 million quid which is 300k.
That would see us having made 750k in total on Ryan. 450k at the time and an additional 300k from the sell on fee.
06-01-2025, 05:39 PM
We will be lucky if we have a 10% sell on clause for Porteous given the weakness of our position when selling.
The money that comes to us after a sale would be the percentage of the profit.
Just going by the report in the Hibs Observer who reckon it's 20-25%, profit seems to make sense tbh.
06-01-2025, 05:51 PM
Just going by the report in the Hibs Observer who reckon it's 20-25%, profit seems to make sense tbh.
Well will also be due 5% of any fee (not profit) on top of that through FIFA’s training compensation scheme should Porteous move to a club outwith England.
Donegal Hibby
06-01-2025, 06:00 PM
Didn’t know Sam Dalby could be recalled .. some of the Wrexham fans are wanting to recall him in order to force Dundee Utd into buying him as his contract according to them is running out . What’s he got so far , ten goals so far ! .I’ve read a few articles saying Gray is after a more conventional striker , at 6’3 could / should he be a possible target for us?…
https://www.leaderlive.co.uk/sport/24835311.wrexham-option-recall-sam-dalby-dundee-united/
06-01-2025, 06:00 PM
https://x.com/RobertSantonna4/status/1876267477434282199?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1876267477434282199%7Ctwgr% 5E86e4df335b8cc6a741b997bf09657cba0cd81cbf%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fbournemouth-forum.vitalfootball.co.uk%2Fthreads%2Fdaniel-jebbison.19461%2Fpage-12
I think I’m right in saying Robert Santonna has got this one wrong?
CG are you aware of any loop holes in the rules that would allow a player to play for three clubs in a year?
PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 06:05 PM
HO are certainly one of the better information sources given they are fed by the narrative controllers and spinners department at Hibernian FC.
In this case Hibs will be guessing that this deal won't happen but have tapped in for a positive spin on the sell on front for ****'n'giggles.
Deep joy if it is indeed 20-25% but I hae ma doubts for the reasons originally stated.
06-01-2025, 06:05 PM
https://x.com/RobertSantonna4/status/1876267477434282199?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1876267477434282199%7Ctwgr% 5E86e4df335b8cc6a741b997bf09657cba0cd81cbf%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fbournemouth-forum.vitalfootball.co.uk%2Fthreads%2Fdaniel-jebbison.19461%2Fpage-12
I think I’m right in saying Robert Santonna has got this one wrong?
CG are you aware of any loop holes in the rules that would allow a player to play for three clubs in a year?
Yeah pretty certain he is wrong with this one
06-01-2025, 06:10 PM
Just searching Jebbison, he’s another that seems completely stupid on social media
Bare in mind he plays for Watford
Andre Brooks uploaded a photo of him scoring against Watford and Jebbison commented “my brudda”
Probably the reason in him being recalled
inglisavhibs
06-01-2025, 06:26 PM
This from another dinosaur 👌
I remember (if my memory is intact) Peter Marinello making his debut at Starks Park and we had no idea who he was.
06-01-2025, 06:30 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2023/january/27/Ryan-Porteous-Joins-Watford/
We definitely have a sell on. Doesn’t say here how much though.
06-01-2025, 06:31 PM
Swap porteous with rocky
06-01-2025, 06:35 PM
Swap porteous with rocky
And cash obviously
06-01-2025, 06:49 PM
Aberdeen have bid for Alexander Jensen in Brommapojkarna. This time the bid is 400,000 pounds, 3.6 million kroner, but the Swedes want double that for the Dane, who has played every game for his club for two seasons. Negotiations are ongoing.
06-01-2025, 06:52 PM
Ross County make a signing
Ross County FC are delighted to announce the signing of striker, Kieran Phillips, on a two and a half year deal from Huddersfield Town.
Kieran joins us on the back of a successful loan spell with Sacramento Republic where he netted 15 goals.
Welcome to the club, Kieran
06-01-2025, 06:53 PM
Swap porteous with rocky
I would prefer Rocky. Genuinely.
Paul1642
06-01-2025, 06:54 PM
I love Rocky but it’s wouldn't close if I had to choose between the two. Porto is a class act.
06-01-2025, 07:03 PM
Ross County make a signing
Ross County FC are delighted to announce the signing of striker, Kieran Phillips, on a two and a half year deal from Huddersfield Town.
Kieran joins us on the back of a successful loan spell with Sacramento Republic where he netted 15 goals.
Welcome to the club, Kieran
Bit of a change for him. California to Dingwall.
06-01-2025, 07:11 PM
Bournemouth sign a 17 year old keeper from Chelsea
https://x.com/afcb_academy/status/1876312950828671065?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Just announce Dennis already Hibs!
06-01-2025, 07:12 PM
70k signing during the window. FFS they could have done a pre contract and spent 70k on actual windows[emoji16]
sauzee1989
06-01-2025, 07:19 PM
Got to be a joke 😂
06-01-2025, 07:35 PM
Swap porteous with rocky
Frying pan/fire springs to mind
06-01-2025, 07:37 PM
https://x.com/afcb_academy/status/1876312950828671065?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Bit past it now. Think he's happy running the pub in Kirkcaldy
:aok::greengrin
jonny
06-01-2025, 08:17 PM
At what sport? Surely not football.
06-01-2025, 08:25 PM
At what sport? Surely not football.
This is hilarious. My sides have literally split
et_hibby
06-01-2025, 08:27 PM
Perhaps watching a Shaun D highlights reel would help fix Rocky :idea:
CentreForward
06-01-2025, 08:29 PM
hibbydog
06-01-2025, 08:49 PM
Can you give any examples of clubs that don’t have players that are out of favour or didn’t perform as expected?
Point accepted, every club has under performers. The point is we have far more underperforming overpaid failures that suffocate our capability to improve the squad.
They need to go
06-01-2025, 08:51 PM
Frying pan/fire springs to mind
We had the best defence outwith the old firm for the 2 full seasons before Porteous left.
06-01-2025, 08:54 PM
We had the best defence outwith the old firm for the 2 full seasons before Porteous left.
I reckon Rocky would have thrived with that manager, GK, LB, LCB, RB and DM though.
He’d have been like Porteous - a bit error prone but ultimately a very strong cog in a strong system.
JasonC1875
06-01-2025, 08:59 PM
Kepa ineligible next Tuesday with Bournemouth playing Chelsea. If anything happening with Dennis, I’d imagine it’ll be after that
06-01-2025, 09:00 PM
Looking at potential loans from Bournemouth, they’ve got a couple if young lads who have been in and around the first team squad a few times recently. Remy Rees-Dottin is an attacker who is meant to be like Ivan Sproule on a motor bike and Winterburn is a midfielder. Both having excellent seasons for the Bournemouth B team apparently.
It’s the FA cup next weekend, I wonder if Bournemouth are wanting them around so they can rotate their squad a bit as is common for teams in the FA Cup now.
06-01-2025, 09:09 PM
Got to be a joke 😂
Nah. I just got fed up with it always being about him with Porto. Never seemed a team player.
I also don't think he is as good as he thinks he is.
06-01-2025, 09:11 PM
Think you maybe sat behind me in the FF lower a good few seasons ago.
Thank f im now in the East ( no offence)
06-01-2025, 09:17 PM
Looking at potential loans from Bournemouth, they’ve got a couple if young lads who have been in and around the first team squad a few times recently. Remy Rees-Dottin is an attacker who is meant to be like Ivan Sproule on a motor bike and Winterburn is a midfielder. Both having excellent seasons for the Bournemouth B team apparently.
It’s the FA cup next weekend, I wonder if Bournemouth are wanting them around so they can rotate their squad a bit as is common for teams in the FA Cup now.
I can mind we signed a winger from Newcastle that was meant to be like Ivan on a motor bike 🙈he was single fish
Donegal Hibby
06-01-2025, 09:17 PM
See on a few club forums this guy getting talked about as its rumoured he’s moving from Luton ( not saying it’s us but some rate him and wondering where he’s going) …
https://youtu.be/AvPBKJ5zfnw?si=RSgY4T803SmFoujK
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 09:23 PM
I reckon Rocky would have thrived with that manager, GK, LB, LCB, RB and DM though.
He’d have been like Porteous - a bit error prone but ultimately a very strong cog in a strong system.
I’m sure for almost his entire time here our defensive record gets worse when Rocky plays, often quite significantly. It’s happened again this season. Want to say Capital Green has posted all the figures before.
06-01-2025, 09:27 PM
See on a few club forums this guy getting talked about as its rumoured he’s moving from Luton ( not saying it’s us but some rate him and wondering where he’s going) …
https://youtu.be/AvPBKJ5zfnw?si=RSgY4T803SmFoujK
Somewhere with a bit of cash swilling around
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/c2ldp9rvrj9o
Donegal Hibby
06-01-2025, 09:33 PM
Somewhere with a bit of cash swilling around
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/c2ldp9rvrj9o
Fair enough mate 👍
gegs70
06-01-2025, 11:51 PM
I can mind we signed a winger from Newcastle that was meant to be like Ivan on a motor bike 🙈he was single fish
Was that Allan O'brien.
PHeffernan
07-01-2025, 12:40 AM
Will Fish hasn't played since September for his new club Cardiff.
Purchased for a million quid in the summer.
Could be valued at 500k by next summer but don't suppose he will want to walk away only a year into a lucrative 4 year deal.
The experienced, 30 years old Greek defender Goutas and 25 year old Norwegian, Daland are keeping him out of the team.
Amazing how much money a team that is 2nd bottom of the Championship can have. Able to sign Fish for good money then dump him on the bench for over 3 months.
He's still only 21 so in truth can probably use this season to settle in and be ready to play 3rd tier football next season.
tonyrougier123
07-01-2025, 06:10 AM
Calvin Ramsay linked with hibs move on x account.
Mcbizz1998
07-01-2025, 06:28 AM
Alan O’Brien, remember the motorbike line doing the rounds but never understood it. Ivan on a motorbike would be as fast as anyone on a motorbike, pretty much.
So basically Alan O’Brien is as fast as a motorbike, whomever the driver. Maybe I’ve thought too much about this! 😂
07-01-2025, 06:33 AM
Alan O’Brien, remember the motorbike line doing the rounds but never understood it. Ivan on a motorbike would be as fast as anyone on a motorbike, pretty much.
So basically Alan O’Brien is as fast as a motorbike, whomever the driver. Maybe I’ve thought too much about this!
When I think of Alan O'Brien, I always think of the cowardly lion from the Wizard of Oz. Serious lack of courage from O'Brien.
Ben Winterburn has been in the matchday squads and made a ten or so minute sub appearance against Fulham.
07-01-2025, 07:03 AM
Calvin Ramsay linked with hibs move on x account.
Around about 600 million active users on X apparently, any chance of being more specific? 😜
*sorry but not really sorry for the dickish reply, labelling X, Twitter, Facebook etc as a source without saying the name of the account posting it is a real pet hate of mine and normally generates at least one rant per transfer window. 😃 ,
07-01-2025, 07:20 AM
They signed another young goalie from Wellington Phoenix…..Alex Paulsen a few months ago and have him on loan with sister club Auckland FC.
Must be stocking up on goalies.
tonyrougier123
07-01-2025, 07:33 AM
Around about 600 million active users on X apparently, any chance of being more specific? 😜
*sorry but not really sorry for the dickish reply, labelling X, Twitter, Facebook etc as a source without saying the name of the account posting it is a real pet hate of mine and normally generates at least one rant per transfer window. 😃 ,
Wearescottishfootball 🤷*♂️ a mate sent me it as a screenshot. Your dickish reply is fine 😂
07-01-2025, 07:36 AM
Wearescottishfootball 🤷*♂️ a mate sent me it as a screenshot. Your dickish reply is fine 😂
Thats up there with HibsCentral tbh. :greengrin :aok:
tonyrougier123
07-01-2025, 07:51 AM
Thats up there with HibsCentral tbh. :greengrin :aok:
I have no idea, I’ve seen hibs central post stuff that’s correct and true, this one I’ve no idea about at all, I’ve not been on x to have a proper look to see what’s what.
He’s predominantly a right back, wouldn’t have thought we were in market for one that was my thoughts on the rumour anyway.
cammy1969
07-01-2025, 08:04 AM
West ham interested in Josh Landers.
Thanks tambo I must have missed that one [emoji106]
07-01-2025, 08:06 AM
So basically Alan O’Brien is as fast as a motorbike, whomever the driver. Maybe I’ve thought too much about this!
Thats a very good point, can either of them ride a motorbike though?
AOB was pace in abundance, but he'd have made a better sprinter.
cammy1969
07-01-2025, 08:18 AM
Around about 600 million active users on X apparently, any chance of being more specific? [emoji12]
*sorry but not really sorry for the dickish reply, labelling X, Twitter, Facebook etc as a source without saying the name of the account posting it is a real pet hate of mine and normally generates at least one rant per transfer window. [emoji2] ,
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250107/b603d85a5a90ed9c5c0831bfecd8ad56.jpg
07-01-2025, 09:02 AM
I'd be asking myself whether I'd shown enough to merit inclusion.
Does anyone seriously believe that a laddie at Hibs wouldn't be given a chance if he was smashing it at training? Somehow for me it's easier to believe the more obvious conclusion, they just aren't ready.
I agree. West Ham being interested means nothing really, it's all guesswork on potential. If it costs them 100k to secure a laddie from Scotland it's peanuts, and they may even make all that back by sending him off on failed loans to League 2. Jacob Blaney went training with Southampton I believe and ended up in LOI. The people who are best placed to judge these guys are the coaches who see them every day in training.
I would concede though that in some instances it might be better to see the likes of a Josh O'Connor start or come off the bench in place of guys we know are duds like Jair or McKirdy, if only to say you tried to give them a final chance and they couldn't take it, but I think ultimately if they struggle in training against the guys you don't already rate then it's an uphill task to convince a struggling manager to play them out of sheer hope alone.
Donegal Hibby
07-01-2025, 09:11 AM
Apologies if already discussed as I might have missed it but anyone know if we have a sell on clause with Porto ? Read this …..
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-favourite-linked-seven-figure-january-transfer-hull-city-keen-4932716
07-01-2025, 09:13 AM
Apologies if already discussed as I might have missed it but anyone know if we have a sell on clause with Porto ? Read this …..
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-favourite-linked-seven-figure-january-transfer-hull-city-keen-4932716
We definitely do. How much I don't know but I'd be surprised if it would see us pocket anything more than what we got initially for him.
So basically Alan O’Brien is as fast as a motorbike, whomever the driver. Maybe I’ve thought too much about this! 😂
The analogy is he was that fast it felt like he was on a motorbike he was that fast, I don't think any motorbikes were actually involved 😂
Leitherhibs
07-01-2025, 09:16 AM
Hibs Observer stating in the region of 20-25%.
Donegal Hibby
07-01-2025, 09:36 AM
We definitely do. How much I don't know but I'd be surprised if it would see us pocket anything more than what we got initially for him.
Hibs Observer stating in the region of 20-25%.
Thanks . That would be around about 300k we’d get possibly which would be good if it happens as it’s a tidy sum of money. From Porto’s point it isn’t really a step up as they are in a relegation battle and it’s possible they could end up in league one though it would probably guarantee him a better chance of playing regularly as I think Cleverly doesn’t appear to be keen on him .
07-01-2025, 09:51 AM
The analogy is he was that fast it felt like he was on a motorbike he was that fast, I don't think any motorbikes were actually involved 😂
I assumed there was. I assumed he fell off the motorbike and hurt himself, hence why he was mince. :greengrin
Maybe his bike wasn't allowed to come with him as part of the deal, hence why he was pish. 😅
07-01-2025, 10:22 AM
https://x.com/sportspeteo/status/1876585814530130196?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
Was Roos not very good for Aberdeen at one point? Then remember his form fell to bits and he got punted. Samson recommendation probably
JasonC1875
07-01-2025, 10:26 AM
https://x.com/sportspeteo/status/1876585814530130196?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
Was Roos not very good for Aberdeen at one point? Then remember his form fell to bits and he got punted. Samson recommendation probably
Was very poor towards the end and pretty certain their fans blamed Samson for the change
07-01-2025, 10:27 AM
Aye, he was class at one point. Playing in Serie C just now though, weird one.
07-01-2025, 10:32 AM
I’m still quite surprised there’s been no incomings since the window opened. I know it shouldn’t surprise me but the fact we have this Black Knight tie up and recruitment seems to be high on their agenda with Garvan Stewart being recruited, I would have expected something to have already been lined up.
We won’t be so desperate once our injury list clears up but still need to bring in a bit more after looking at the bench on Sunday.
07-01-2025, 10:36 AM
Thanks . That would be around about 300k we’d get possibly which would be good if it happens as it’s a tidy sum of money. From Porto’s point it isn’t really a step up as they are in a relegation battle and it’s possible they could end up in league one though it would probably guarantee him a better chance of playing regularly as I think Cleverly doesn’t appear to be keen on him .
Yeah to be honest I think the bottom half of the Championship is as good as it'll get for Porto now sadly. I've seen some of his games while at Watford and the guys not really kicked on for them and is entering that stage where he's making enough mistakes to justify shipping out. I'm actually quite surprised Hull are willing to pay that amount for him to be honest.
07-01-2025, 10:39 AM
Roos was brutal near the end for Aberdeen.
Started off very good for them but you’d be wondering what one were getting
07-01-2025, 10:45 AM
I’m still quite surprised there’s been no incomings since the window opened. I know it shouldn’t surprise me but the fact we have this Black Knight tie up and recruitment seems to be high on their agenda with Garvan Stewart being recruited, I would have expected something to have already been lined up.
We won’t be so desperate once our injury list clears up but still need to bring in a bit more after looking at the bench on Sunday.
I would imagine (though total speculation on my part) that some of the potential loanees from the BK Group will be getting a chance for Bournemouth in the FA Cup, plus the keeper (Dennis) is needed for their league game v Chelsea due to the loan arrangements for Kepa meaning he can't play in that particular game.
I suspect any movement on the BK Group front wont be until after our game v Clydebank at the earliest, this window - but like I say just a hunch
Seen an Aberdeen fan saying he was fine until Samson coached him
Donegal Hibby
07-01-2025, 10:49 AM
Thought he was good at one point and his form dipped towards the end though if he could rediscover his form he’d be a good signing IMO ….
https://youtu.be/s2U3XvHVZGg?si=XCzQN3weWhsB3fAW
07-01-2025, 10:57 AM
Not sure I believe these Porto stories. He's played 70% of minutes available, pretty much. Watford are roughly where you'd expect them to be and have a decent shot at the play offs. Really don't see Porteous demanding a move, he's doing fine.
Donegal Hibby
07-01-2025, 11:06 AM
Yeah to be honest I think the bottom half of the Championship is as good as it'll get for Porto now sadly. I've seen some of his games while at Watford and the guys not really kicked on for them and is entering that stage where he's making enough mistakes to justify shipping out. I'm actually quite surprised Hull are willing to pay that amount for him to be honest.
I haven’t seen any of his games at all in truth so I will take your word on that CH , only thing I would say is if he had been under a longer contract at us when Watford came in for him we’d have probably been looking for a Million plus for him and when you consider how mad the English transfer market is with its inflated valuations of players .. is 1.6 mill bad for a international player ?
07-01-2025, 11:06 AM
I agree. West Ham being interested means nothing really, it's all guesswork on potential. If it costs them 100k to secure a laddie from Scotland it's peanuts, and they may even make all that back by sending him off on failed loans to League 2. Jacob Blaney went training with Southampton I believe and ended up in LOI. The people who are best placed to judge these guys are the coaches who see them every day in training.
I would concede though that in some instances it might be better to see the likes of a Josh O'Connor start or come off the bench in place of guys we know are duds like Jair or McKirdy, if only to say you tried to give them a final chance and they couldn't take it, but I think ultimately if they struggle in training against the guys you don't already rate then it's an uphill task to convince a struggling manager to play them out of sheer hope alone.
I'd rather a youngster coming off the bench than Jair or McKirdy, especially considering the amount we must be spending in wages. Who knows, the youngster might have the Ross Caldwell moment that could define their career.
07-01-2025, 11:16 AM
I haven’t seen any of his games at all in truth so I will take your word on that CH , only thing I would say is if he had been under a longer contract at us when Watford came in for him we’d have probably been looking for a Million plus for him and when you consider how mad the English transfer market is with its inflated valuations of players .. is 1.6 mill bad for a international player ?
Yeah we definitely lost out on probably at least £1m for him if he had just signed a new deal. I suppose to contradict my previous post the amount of money being banded about in that division is quite ludicrous so £1.6m isn't that bad for someone who has been playing for Watford for 3 years and is an international.
07-01-2025, 11:22 AM
Yeah Aberdeen fans were wanting rid at the end.
07-01-2025, 11:35 AM
Wonder what happened to the Clark & Dawson chat
Hibstrooper
07-01-2025, 11:42 AM
Not a rumour but someone I’d be looking at is Mashwanise at Motherwell. Signed from Leicester in the summer, 5 goals & 3 assists so far this season. Plenty of pace to burn.
07-01-2025, 11:43 AM
Kelle Roos was murder at Aberdeen
Their fans were happy to see the back of him
07-01-2025, 12:00 PM
If they can't cut it in the 3rd tier of Scottish football it makes no sense to play them for Hibs in front of 17,000 judges at ER.
This season folk were shouting for Murray Johnson to be Hibs keeper, subsequently went on loan to Airdrie, started as No.1 but lost his place to another loan keeper who has retained his place ever since. Murray is still likely to make it in the mens game but predictably wasn't ready to be Hibs keeper at 19. He's recently turned 20. Interesting to see where he is at the end of the month.
When this happens young prospects get moved on li
Ke these lads
It makes me wonder if academy's at clubs is worth it
07-01-2025, 12:14 PM
When this happens young prospects get moved on li
Ke these lads
It makes me wonder if academy's at clubs is worth it
I think they are overall. But I think football has massively forgotten about the bridge between Academy and Senior football. A lot of clubs now want to see their prospects playing in the senior team by 20 at most it seems. I personally think you can add on another year or two to that for some players to full mature. Not everyone can be a star at 18/19.
07-01-2025, 12:14 PM
Roos would be a decent back up for Smith. Upgrade on Bursic anyway.
Souter96Mac
07-01-2025, 12:15 PM
Kelle Roos was murder at Aberdeen
Their fans were happy to see the back of him
He's also currently at some Serie C side, who are 3rd bottom in their league..doesn't scream to me he's doing amazing this season either.
07-01-2025, 12:23 PM
He's also currently at some Serie C side, who are 3rd bottom in their league..doesn't scream to me he's doing amazing this season either.
21 games played, 29 conceded
4 clean sheets
Why the **** we not just getting Dennis in on loan
07-01-2025, 12:31 PM
4 clean sheets
Could be multiple reasons including our club being aware of more than one option?
07-01-2025, 12:45 PM
Think you maybe sat behind me in the FF lower a good few seasons ago.
Thank f im now in the East ( no offence)
Haha! No never been in the FFL.
Not a porto fan though. Here is the Watford fans view on your man...
https://wfcforums.com/index.php?threads/ryan-porteous.61308/
07-01-2025, 12:47 PM
4 clean sheets
Maybe Hibs don’t want him
Mcbizz1998
07-01-2025, 12:50 PM
Haha! No never been in the FFL.
Not a porto fan though. Here is the Watford fans view on your man...
https://wfcforums.com/index.php?threads/ryan-porteous.61308/
Pretty much irrelevant what Watford fans make of him, it’s a different club in a very different league.
Ryan Porteous is lightyears ahead of Rocky ****ing Bushiri, whilst playing for our club.
If you can’t admit that you are either seriously biased or completely clueless.
07-01-2025, 12:54 PM
Pretty much irrelevant what Watford fans make of him, it’s a different club in a very different league.
Ryan Porteous is lightyears ahead of Rocky ****ing Bushiri, whilst playing for our club.
You need to calm down. I personally don't rate porteous. I don't think bushiri is the answer at this point either. I said that given a choice I would take bushiri over porteous based on his team player ethos, work ethic and potential. That's all.
07-01-2025, 12:57 PM
Every thread is a Bushiri thread. Rocky all over the world indeed.
FWIW i think Porteous has a higher ceiling than Bushiri (see his performance against Ukraine in the qualifiers) but a similarly terrible floor (ridiculous red card in the actual tournament). Plus the good team player/work ethic thing is lacking.
Mcbizz1998
07-01-2025, 01:01 PM
You need to calm down. I personally don't rate porteous. I don't think bushiri is the answer at this point either. I said that given a choice I would take bushiri over porteous based on his team player ethos, work ethic and potential. That's all.
I’m perfectly calm. I’m pointing out that if you would rather have Bushiri over Porteous then you are clueless. You are pretty much in a minority of 1 with that opinion, but you are entitled to it 👍
07-01-2025, 01:06 PM
:faf: :tee hee: :crazy:
07-01-2025, 01:07 PM
Porto has hit his ceiling. It's not working for him at Watford. Rangers is the easy move for him. Couple of good performances and he will be back playing for Scotland. Move over to Hull and he will probably disappear for ever.
Paulie Walnuts
07-01-2025, 01:08 PM
Porto has hit his ceiling. It's not working for him at Watford. Rangers is the easy move for him. Couple of good performances and he will be back playing for Scotland. Move over to Hull and he will probably disappear for ever.
Porteous hit his ceiling fairly early in his career imo. I’ve no idea why, but he just never felt like a player that would ever kick on.
Said when he left here that the Championship would be his peak and it looks likely to be the case.
07-01-2025, 01:16 PM
Porto has played 20 games this season 2 goals 7 yellows ( tells a story ) with an average SOFA score of 6.9 which is no too bad
07-01-2025, 01:37 PM
Maybe Hibs don’t want him
If we’d rather Roos over a goalie who came up here and was solid then I’m worried the recruitment team still haven’t sorted their **** out
07-01-2025, 01:38 PM
Porteous hit his ceiling fairly early in his career imo. I’ve no idea why, but he just never felt like a player that would ever kick on.
Said when he left here that the Championship would be his peak and it looks likely to be the case.
He'll be 26 in a couple of months. Any player coming through the academy at Hibs and playing regularly in the English Championship in his mid 20's, is achieving more than 99% of players coming through the academy at Hibs.
Championship being his peak isn't a negative in my opinion.
07-01-2025, 01:40 PM
If we’d rather Roos over a goalie who came up here and was solid then I’m worried the recruitment team still haven’t sorted their **** out
Surely we wouldn't though? Stewart will know all about Dennis form working at Bournemouth all that time.
I now think its a case of we know we can't get Dennis this window so are looking elsewhere.
Have to admit. I'm more than happy just sticking with Smith if that's the case and using Boruc as backup. He's still our player I think.
Paulie Walnuts
07-01-2025, 01:46 PM
He'll be 26 in a couple of months. Any player coming through the academy at Hibs and playing regularly in the English Championship in his mid 20's, is achieving more than 99% of players coming through the academy at Hibs.
No, absolutely, I’m not suggesting it’s a negative.
I remember a lot of posts however saying he’d be a future Scotland captain etc. I just never thought he looked like he’d get much better than the player that kind of stalled at us for his last couple of seasons. I’ve still never seen anything to change my mind that that has happened.
07-01-2025, 01:49 PM
It became the Porteous show in the end. I felt he thought he was better than he was. He was a borderline liability in the end and cost us in some really important games. I wouldn't want him back. On his day an exceptional player with all the attributes. I honestly think it's a toss up between them but less of a side show with Rocky. Porteous had to get out of Scotland as every referee had him sussed.
Chorley Hibee
07-01-2025, 02:07 PM
Post on a Facebook group that Iredale is signing for Rotherham.
Hope that isn't the case.
Donegal Hibby
07-01-2025, 02:07 PM
4 clean sheets
I don’t think Dennis was ever an option as he’s Bournemouths third choice and on occasions been 2nd choice . I just don’t see how it benefits them to loan him out .
As to Roos I thought he was excellent at first and his formed dipped which I can understand why some would be worried about him , any keeper in a poor team struggling against relegation isn’t going to be keeping clean sheets which isn’t always down to the goalie …
In saying that I would prefer Clark and would imagine we have a few targets. I’m more than happy going by his performances to see Smith continue as our No 1 . I think he’s done really well and has surprised most of us since coming into the team ….
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/transfers/kelle-roos-hibs-transfer-interest-addressed-after-approach-reports/
07-01-2025, 02:12 PM
Post on a Facebook group that Iredale is signing for Rotherham.
Hope that isn't the case.
https://x.com/petewrighty/status/1876404038079508991?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg
61 followers. Think this one can be confirmed as rubbish.
07-01-2025, 02:14 PM
https://x.com/petewrighty/status/1876404038079508991?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg
61 followers. Think this one can be confirmed as rubbish.
He played one league game for Bolton before moving to us so can't play for another team this season.
07-01-2025, 02:16 PM
You're getting your knickers in a twist over a rumour about a backup goalie.
07-01-2025, 02:18 PM
It became the Porteous show in the end. I felt he thought he was better than he was. He was a borderline liability in the end and cost us in some really important games. I wouldn't want him back. On his day an exceptional player with all the attributes. I honestly think it's a toss up between them but less of a side show with Rocky. Porteous had to get out of Scotland as every referee had him sussed.
Think that's a wee bit unfair. How many homegrown players have we had close to his ability in the last 10-15 years? He should have lifted a trophy with us.
And I think Stevie G had a big impact with his nonsense calling him out in the media and playing up to it affected his performances.
07-01-2025, 02:22 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1876648991682638039?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Mental, imo
07-01-2025, 02:26 PM
Think that's a wee bit unfair. How many homegrown players have we had close to his ability in the last 10-15 years? He should have lifted a trophy with us.
And I think Stevie G had a big impact with his nonsense calling him out in the media and playing up to it affected his performances.
Gerrards behaviour was disgraceful, and of course the hunmedia lapped it up, and the refs followed suit.
Unfortunately Porto didnt help himself with some of his antics, including some of the worst-performed dives since Amadou Konte.
07-01-2025, 02:29 PM
Gerrards behaviour was disgraceful, and of course the hunmedia lapped it up, and the refs followed suit.
Unfortunately Porto didnt help himself with some of his antics, including some of the worst-performed dives since Amadou Konte.
I thought Goodwin was worse. His comments on Porto ahead of the game v Dons were out of order in my book
07-01-2025, 02:35 PM
Agreed, Bushiri isn't the greatest, but his liabilities are very different from Porteous' theatricals.
Either way, I wouldn't want Porteous back at Hibs, he wasn't a great defender and there was too much drama up here which he couldn't navigate. Hopefully age and experience has allowed him to become a bit more mature on the field
07-01-2025, 02:35 PM
Wonder if we’ll be interested in Johnny Kenny at Celtic
We were interested a couple of years ago when he signed for Celtic. Just returned after a really good loan at Shamrock Rovers
Only 21 years of age
07-01-2025, 02:41 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1876648991682638039?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Mental, imo
Smith has done well for us so far. Maybe we'll sign someone on a pre-contract?
07-01-2025, 02:44 PM
Wonder if we’ll be interested in Johnny Kenny at Celtic
We were interested a couple of years ago when he signed for Celtic. Just returned after a really good loan at Shamrock Rovers
Only 21 years of age
Exactly the sort of player we should be interested in imo.
07-01-2025, 02:47 PM
Smith has done well for us so far. Maybe we'll sign someone on a pre-contract?
That must be the plan. Big risk if Smith is to lose form or get injured/suspended, there’s no chance Bursik can play again without chucking more in the net.
07-01-2025, 02:51 PM
That must be the plan. Big risk if Smith is to lose form or get injured/suspended, there’s no chance Bursik can play again without chucking more in the net.
I'd be more comfortable If we signed even any bottom6 goalie that has a good number of games under their belt in this league and returned Bursik, relative to going the second half of the season as we are.
07-01-2025, 02:51 PM
I can mind we signed a winger from Newcastle that was meant to be like Ivan on a motor bike [emoji85]he was single fishAs much use as a fish on a bicycle.
07-01-2025, 02:54 PM
I think if we're not going to get a new keeper this window it tells me that we can't cancel Bursik's loan and Brugge have no inclination to do it for us either.
I also think this next 6 months are Jordan Smith's to prove he's our keeper next year too. We may as well look ahead to the summer than get another one in the door to add to our list of them.
07-01-2025, 03:08 PM
You're getting your knickers in a twist over a rumour about a backup goalie.
Knickers in a twist isn’t the same as calling a keeper we’re linked with gash.
Is that not the point in rumours
Donegal Hibby
07-01-2025, 03:16 PM
I think if we're not going to get a new keeper this window it tells me that we can't cancel Bursik's loan and Brugge have no inclination to do it for us either.
I also think this next 6 months are Jordan Smith's to prove he's our keeper next year too. We may as well look ahead to the summer than get another one in the door to add to our list of them.
Agree with this … we could also sign one on a pre contract now and wait till the summer while using our budged to strengthen other areas like defence , midfield and attack now .
07-01-2025, 03:27 PM
Agree with this … we could also sign one on a pre contract now and wait till the summer while using our budged to strengthen other areas like defence , midfield and attack now .
Absolutely. I still maintain that I think it is rather unlikely we do a lot in the way of longer term business in this window anyway. This year has clearly been about clearing the decks and starting again and getting to the summer all but completes that process with the amount of guys out of contract and the loans ending. The worry was if we were at risk of going down in this window that might have forced our hand a bit more than it likely is to now.
Unless we are 100% certain that a player we're looking at is worth it then I don't see us being held to ransom on signing anyone up to three or four year deals to convince them to join now. I think everything we've done is to get into a place to do proper business this summer coming.
MacGruber
07-01-2025, 03:36 PM
Our top target this window should be Josh Mulligan from Dundee. Out of contract in the summer and we can use the McCowan cash if it is still there to offer something to tempt them now. Make it a double swoop for Lyall Cameron whilst we're at it
07-01-2025, 03:38 PM
Probably best to wait to see what happens rather than get critical over something that could be complete nonsense
07-01-2025, 03:42 PM
Our top target this window should be Josh Mulligan from Dundee. Out of contract in the summer and we can use the McCowan cash if it is still there to offer something to tempt them now. Make it a double swoop for Lyall Cameron whilst we're at it
Is he genuinely that good?
I’ve heard good things about him sporadically over the past 2 or so years,. So Ferry on open goal says he’s 100% a right wing back type rather than a centre mid.
I thought he was brilliant against us in the right wing back position, is he churning out those sort of performances regularly? If he is then 100% we should be looking at him as a starter
07-01-2025, 03:43 PM
Genuine question as I don't know much about the boy, is he much better than we have? Is he a RB RWB or RW or can he play all 3?
07-01-2025, 03:45 PM
Probably best to wait to see what happens rather than get critical over something that could be complete nonsense
Where’s the fun in that
Agree it's a very decent standard.
Hibiza
07-01-2025, 03:49 PM
2 Celtic players we could get on loan ,/sign ,Bain and Welsh,unless they have moved on.
07-01-2025, 03:50 PM
2 Celtic players we could get on loan ,/sign ,Bain and Welsh,unless they have moved on.
Think Welsh is going to Belgium.
Bain is bowf
07-01-2025, 03:51 PM
We already have one from Celtic, we can't get another.
07-01-2025, 03:57 PM
Exactly the sort of player we should be interested in imo.
Agree
07-01-2025, 04:00 PM
I think they are overall. But I think football has massively forgotten about the bridge between Academy and Senior football. A lot of clubs now want to see their prospects playing in the senior team by 20 at most it seems. I personally think you can add on another year or two to that for some players to full mature. Not everyone can be a star at 18/19.
I think you should be playing with adults by the time you are 20. And playing week in week out.
PHeffernan
07-01-2025, 04:06 PM
Interest in Roos sounds like fiction.
Hibs have Smith, Bursik, Boruc and Johnson for the keeper position.
Unless Hibs or his agent can find another loan club for Bursik it looks like we are stuck with him and that line up of keepers for the season. Importantly Hibs are stuck paying the rental on Bursik which I presume his parent club are happy to collect whilst they decide how to make him disappear this summer after seeing his performances at Hibs which I suspect were no surprise to them.
Amusingly Josef is contracted at Club Brugge until June 30th 2027.
07-01-2025, 04:12 PM
Agreed, Bushiri isn't the greatest, but his liabilities are very different from Porteous' theatricals.
Either way, I wouldn't want Porteous back at Hibs, he wasn't a great defender and there was too much drama up here which he couldn't navigate. Hopefully age and experience has allowed him to become a bit more mature on the field
In my many years watching Hibs, I have seen a few centre halfs and Porto is a pretty good one, when I think about some of the poorer players in the same position, makes me realise that the majority of good centre halfs dont really mature as players till they get to around 27 years auld.
I also remember a certain Rob Jones who could not trap a bag o cement when he first got to Hibs, he turned out alright. Just ma humbe opinion of course.
As for that phanney Gerard enough said, think he will stay in the desert for as long as a camel.
07-01-2025, 04:26 PM
In my many years watching Hibs, I have seen a few centre halfs and Porto is a pretty good one, when I think about some of the poorer players in the same position, makes me realise that the majority of good centre halfs dont really mature as players till they get to around 27 years auld.
I also remember a certain Rob Jones who could not trap a bag o cement when he first got to Hibs, he turned out alright. Just ma humbe opinion of course.
As for that phanney Gerard enough said, think he will stay in the desert for as long as a camel.
... which is another one of the reasons why I'm tempted to err on the side of keep when it comes to Rocky.
07-01-2025, 04:31 PM
I’ve gone down a rabbithole trying to work out who is surplus to requirements at Lorient and who might be a cheeky loanee in a key position. But then i gave up, theyre in a promotion race, very unlikely to give up their good players for 4 months of running around on icy muddy pitches up here…
07-01-2025, 04:32 PM
... which is another one of the reasons why I'm tempted to err on the side of keep when it comes to Rocky.
Only, one Rocky and he is a character, we need characters in the game, he may mess up now and again but that's what makes him human.
He will get better I am sure of it, even the great John Blackley would screw up in a game before going on to be player of the match.
MacGruber
07-01-2025, 04:39 PM
Genuine question as I don't know much about the boy, is he much better than we have? Is he a RB RWB or RW or can he play all 3?
I think he is definitely better yes and wouldn't be surprised if he ended up at one of the old firm. Think it would be an upgrade on C Cadden at both options of RWB and further up as a winger. Lots of talk of Lyall Cameron and would like to see us go for both, would have Mulligan as the top target of the 2 though.
07-01-2025, 04:41 PM
I’ve gone down a rabbithole trying to work out who is surplus to requirements at Lorient and who might be a cheeky loanee in a key position. But then i gave up, theyre in a promotion race, very unlikely to give up their good players for 4 months of running around on icy muddy pitches up here…
Filtering by playing time shows the below, I have screen grabbed the players with lower minutes. Might help you 😁
https://i.ibb.co/f97sgks/Screenshot-20250107-173927.png (https://ibb.co/PM8dLcd)
07-01-2025, 04:44 PM
I would like the club to get the finger out now. We are desperate for new signings and I see no benefit to waiting. Getting impatient.
07-01-2025, 04:44 PM
I think you should be playing with adults by the time you are 20. And playing week in week out.
Yeah I would agree but I also think that can include loans at lower levels and not the senior team of the club you're at. Plenty of scope for development still into your early 20s. You do have to show signs of it though granted.
07-01-2025, 04:45 PM
Filtering by playing time shows the below, I have screen grabbed the players with lower minutes. Might help you 😁
https://i.ibb.co/f97sgks/Screenshot-20250107-173927.png (https://ibb.co/PM8dLcd)
I demand we sign any midfielder called Cheesemaker.
07-01-2025, 04:46 PM
Was that Allan O'brien.
Yes it was. He was fast but that was all he had unfortunately.
What made it worse was the Newcastle fans gutted he was signing for us🤨
A good few wishing it was Damian Duff instead 🙈how we wished it was after a few games😂
07-01-2025, 04:47 PM
I demand we sign any midfielder called Cheesemaker.
Blessed are the Cheesemakers.
07-01-2025, 04:51 PM
Blessed are the Cheesemakers.
Think very very caerphilly about this…
07-01-2025, 04:55 PM
Any idea what the standard in the second division is like?
Unsure the club will be that interested in their players on the fringes
07-01-2025, 04:59 PM
TBF Porto give him his due was trying like a bear pardon the pun to take that League Cup Final versus Celtic into extra time going close on a few occasions even ended up playing upfront with Celtic praying for the final whistle