28-01-2025, 03:58 PM
It's manneh. It's on the app.
28-01-2025, 03:59 PM
https://media1.tenor.com/m/TOem6yHKnEcAAAAC/daffy-duck-ahh.gif
It's back, it's finally back :cheers:
Nearly there before we find out the latest signing for Hibs ladies.
😆
He looks like a Nabe Keita type. 5’7 fairly small but athletic. Looksa bit like him too.
28-01-2025, 04:00 PM
"First January signing". We must have another very soon
3.5 year deal, lovely stuff!
We are delighted to announce the signing of Gambian international Alasana Manneh from Odense Boldklub, subject to international clearance and visa approval.
The terms of the transfer will remain undisclosed, with the 26-year-old putting pen-to-paper on a three-and-a-half-year deal.
The central midfielder was in the famous La Masia, Barcelona’s Academy, and featured for their youth team and B Team, alongside the likes of European Championship winner Marc Cucurella.
Manneh has since gone on to make almost 200 career appearances playing in the Bulgarian, Polish, and Danish top-flights.
During the 2024/25 campaign, he’s played a vital role for Odense Boldklub (OB) as they look to bounce back to the Danish Superliga. He’s set up seven goals in 17 league games, as they sit top of the league.
On the international front, he’s a regular for The Gambia, earning 18 caps to date.
On his signing, Hibernian FC Head Coach David Gray said: “We’re delighted to bring Alasana to the Club.
“As a player he’s very competitive, has a fantastic work ethic, and has good technical ability on the ball. At 26, he has good experience at senior level and playing in high-level leagues, and he adds extra strength in depth to the middle of our midfield. I look forward to working with him.”
Hibernian FC Sporting Director Malky Mackay added: “We have been diligent in our work throughout the January transfer window to ensure we add quality and not quantity to our First Team squad.
“Alasana is someone we’ve been watching for a long period of time knowing his contract was due to expire in the summer. After positive conversations with OB, we’re delighted we’ve been able to agree a deal to bring him in during the January window, so he can make a real impact from now until the rest of the season.
“He has a real good pedigree coming from Barcelona’s Academy and playing in the top-flights in Poland and Denmark, and I look forward to seeing him perform for us.”
28-01-2025, 04:01 PM
Confirmed :thumbsup:
Manneh from heaven :greengrin
28-01-2025, 04:01 PM
Guy looks decent from the limited youtube stuff I have seen.
Good.
An area we needed to strengthen.
28-01-2025, 04:03 PM
Looks like he isn't in Scotland yet. Interesting that we have flown over to get the deal done.
28-01-2025, 04:03 PM
I predict Kwon wont play many more minutes for us, especially when Joes back.
28-01-2025, 04:04 PM
Quite surprised no comment from Garvan Stewart on the signing
28-01-2025, 04:04 PM
Oh well I suppose the knockers can now say now that we have made a signing that he is crap or underwhelmed.
Mcbizz1998
28-01-2025, 04:05 PM
Looks like he isn't in Scotland yet. Interesting that we have flown over to get the deal done.
Yeah was thinking that too. Makes sense if the fee was only agreed today as papers were suggesting.
28-01-2025, 04:05 PM
Well that came out of the blue :cb
28-01-2025, 04:06 PM
It’s an Ian Gordon signing ‘been watching him for a while…’
28-01-2025, 04:07 PM
Wonder when we can expect to see him available for selection.
28-01-2025, 04:07 PM
Boy on Twitter seems to think Johnny Stuttle is coming to Hibs, don't know if it's an assumption on his side or if it's something he's heard. Can't see it myself.
How flammable is his head?
28-01-2025, 04:09 PM
Subject to international clearance and visa, so could be a couple of weeks.
I’m hoping he’s allowed to just get on with his job. Gray can do the media side.
WeAreHibs
:tee hee::tee hee:
He wouldn't leave Celtc.
Sorry, I was thinking of Farter-Knickers
Subject to international clearance and visa, so could be a couple of weeks.
Full international, played almost all their matches so hopefully shouldn't take too long nah?
28-01-2025, 04:10 PM
Only wan signing? FFS Petrie oot.
28-01-2025, 04:10 PM
Waiting for visa and WP I would guess.
28-01-2025, 04:11 PM
Think we’re at the point where we might only see a loan or two coming in to provide cover/depth. Bit disappointing but if the right players haven’t been available then I’d rather be patient and wait.
Well timed post, sir! :greengrin
28-01-2025, 04:12 PM
I'm not to be honest, don't know him obviously but he strikes me as someone who does his job quietly and efficiently in the background.
28-01-2025, 04:12 PM
Always feels like it takes an age for our international players to get a permit. Maybe just an inaccurate perception on my part.
28-01-2025, 04:13 PM
Waiting for visa and WP I would guess.
Normally doesn’t stop players training with us. TBF, I’ve always thought that as a bit odd given that surely training is “work”
This has probably already been said but I think I'm right in saying Hibs are now the only Premiership side to have no new recruits so far this window?
All good if we're deliberately targeting only players we really want, so long as we get them in and if we can't get them in I'd rather stick with what we've got at present rather than panic buying in the coming days, panic buying only leads to bloated squads and that never works out well.
Hopefully some decent news in the coming few days to help us push on and contend for the euro places (which not so long ago didn't seem very likely anyway).
Fake news
28-01-2025, 04:14 PM
I remember being excited about Noah Kenneh. Time will tell. Good luck fella.
28-01-2025, 04:14 PM
Surely some potential for a magnificent terrace song with a name like that.
28-01-2025, 04:15 PM
I don't think we ever really will. I suspect the guys a background figure and not to be seen in the same way as a Malky for example, who I think is his boss anyway?
100% agree, I just find it funny we do it every window.
NMW, Amos, McKirdy….Bojang
Though not in the David Gray/Malky Mackay era. Players intended to go straight into the starting 11 (or at least challenging for a starting spot).
https://i.ibb.co/Yc6LPcb/Screenshot-20250128-171258-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/D9NRz9L)
Paul1642
28-01-2025, 04:21 PM
Around 180 senior appearances and 12 international appearances, approaching peak age vs a then 19 year old with zero senior appearances.
Not seeing the correlation.
Victor
28-01-2025, 04:22 PM
It’s strange that you never hear about signings for English Premier League teams being subject to work permits. Does it just apply to Scottish teams, or am I being paranoid?
28-01-2025, 04:23 PM
Surely hibs pay to fast track the application
I imagine he will be on his way this week
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
28-01-2025, 04:24 PM
Surely some potential for a magnificent terrace song with a name like that.
Manneh, Manneh, Manneh
Critchley's a fanny
It's a Hibby world
(getting coat)
28-01-2025, 04:24 PM
Around 180 senior appearances and 12 international appearances, approaching peak age vs a then 19 year old with zero senior appearances.
New midfielder. Badly needed long term appointment. Exactly what we need and a permanent signing on a long term contract. The rest is irrelevant.
28-01-2025, 04:25 PM
It’s strange that you never hear about signings for English Premier League teams being subject to work permits. Does it just apply to Scottish teams, or am I being paranoid?
The usually tend to sign guys of such a higher calibre they meet the threshold for work permits very easily. That and they probably get it done before announcing or fast track it.
28-01-2025, 04:26 PM
Absolutely no idea if he’ll be good or bad. Shouldn’t be to difficult to be better than the previous two we’ve had from Gambia though!
Defensive improvement next please.
28-01-2025, 04:27 PM
Welcome Manneh, will not be judging him on his first performance, finally a signing we can talk about, If he can be an upgrade on Kwon that will be a bonus, not sure if he's a creative type of player or not.
28-01-2025, 04:27 PM
Depends on what % of his national teams games in the last 3 years they've played and some other factors. Basically higher profile players will skoosh through the process, less illustrious ones not so much
28-01-2025, 04:30 PM
Hibernian Football Club sign former La Masia starlet…I like it.
28-01-2025, 04:33 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/january/28/career-so-far--alasana-manneh/
How can anyone read that and not be excited about Manneh signing?
‘ a box-to-box, dynamic midfielder who is creative on the ball and aggressive out of possession’ 🤤
28-01-2025, 04:35 PM
The most similar profile who fell on his erchie was Ed van der graf, who had a pretty decent pedigree and a good career but was frankly garbage. Hopefully nothing like that.
28-01-2025, 04:36 PM
Could be the midfield artist we need.
Wonder how much Monet he cost.
At least he’ll make an Impression
Pickle
28-01-2025, 04:39 PM
On the bench on Saturday hopefully
wee bonus that The Gambia didn’t qualify for the African Cup of Nations due to start late December
28-01-2025, 04:41 PM
Always feels like it takes an age for our international players to get a permit. Maybe just an inaccurate perception on my part.
It did during the summer of 2022 when we needed a few work permits because the fast track system was suspended due to Covid. It’s possible to pay for fast track again now so should be a lot quicker.
On the bench on Saturday hopefully
wee bonus that The Gambia didn’t qualify for the African Cup of Nations due to start late December
Are his work permit and visa likely to come through that quickly?
28-01-2025, 04:47 PM
Doubt it unless we have already submitted them
28-01-2025, 04:47 PM
Welcome, Manneh
Looks a player from the very limited clips I’ve seen and the description Hibs have came him sounds excellent - no pressure eh?
Hopefully a busy couple of days.
Who next?
28-01-2025, 04:49 PM
Hibernian Football Club sign former La Masia starlet…I like it.
Hopefully he's even better than the last player we signed from Barcelona :greengrin
28-01-2025, 04:51 PM
Anyone been on Odense.net to see what they're saying about Manneh?
King Cosell
28-01-2025, 04:51 PM
He's played 5 seasons at SPFL Top 6 standard, Kenneh had a few appearances for Leeds u21s.
28-01-2025, 04:53 PM
As long as Roberto Carlos wasn’t mentioned im not bothered.
Donegal Hibby
28-01-2025, 04:53 PM
Welcome to Hibs Manneh 🇳🇬….
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/january/28/alasana-manneh-becomes-first-january-signing-/
28-01-2025, 04:54 PM
“måske kan han vende tilbage en dag i en trænerrolle”
28-01-2025, 04:57 PM
😂😅
28-01-2025, 05:01 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/january/28/career-so-far--alasana-manneh/
How can anyone read that and not be excited about Manneh signing?
‘ a box-to-box, dynamic midfielder who is creative on the ball and aggressive out of possession’ 🤤
Eventually found the new Pat Mcginlay :cb:cb
28-01-2025, 05:05 PM
Finally signed someone . We can all dry our underpants now . He looks like he could be decent,hopefully another couple to join him before the window shuts .
headshrinker
28-01-2025, 05:05 PM
Manneh Manneh do do - do do do
Manneh Manneh do do do do
Manneh Manneh do do - do de do do - de do do - de do do - dat da da da
Animal from the Muppets show
28-01-2025, 05:06 PM
Where you been :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
28-01-2025, 05:07 PM
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1884300910978900190?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/have-hibs-signed-a-star-in-the-making-inside-track-ex-barcelona-midfielder-quality-addition-january-transfer-window-4964821
28-01-2025, 05:07 PM
Easy for you to say mate...
28-01-2025, 05:10 PM
James McGarry leaves Aberdeen on loan.
28-01-2025, 05:11 PM
Just be better than we currently have please and i will be happy.:pray:
28-01-2025, 05:16 PM
James McGarry leaves Aberdeen on loan.
Was hoping he’d play on Saturday
28-01-2025, 05:17 PM
It did during the summer of 2022 when we needed a few work permits because the fast track system was suspended due to Covid. It’s possible to pay for fast track again now so should be a lot quicker.
Nice one. I didn’t know that.
headshrinker
28-01-2025, 05:20 PM
:offski:
Where you been :greengrin
28-01-2025, 05:35 PM
He's played 5 seasons at SPFL Top 6 standard, Kenneh had a few appearances for Leeds u21s.
What’s your point?
28-01-2025, 05:39 PM
What’s your point?
At a guess, not knowing either of you, I'd say the point is Kenneh had a much smaller track record than our new signing brings
King Cosell
28-01-2025, 05:45 PM
What’s your point?
The only thing they've got in common is they're both African.
Sheffhibee
28-01-2025, 05:51 PM
Dan Gore, 21yr old Man Utd B team being name checked in EE article 🤔
28-01-2025, 05:53 PM
Campbell wants to come back up the road . It’s between us , the sheep and Utd
Donegal Hibby
28-01-2025, 05:53 PM
I wonder if we sign another player or possibly two what is our priority now …. Another midfielder or striker maybe ? 🤔
28-01-2025, 05:54 PM
Price Tag - Jesse J
Bowie up front on the left
Boyle up front on the right
Can you feel that? Yeah
We're playing on fire tonight
It's all about the Manneh, Manneh, Manneh
Supplying our forwards is Manneh, Manneh, Manneh
We just wanna win for the Hibees
Forget about the Jambo’s, their sh*te
28-01-2025, 06:05 PM
So us and Aberdeen then, surely no one is picking Dundee Utd over either team. Maybe I’m being a bit ***** about that though?
One I’d really like but has Aberdeen written all over it. Hopefully he doesn’t want to move too far north!
AdidasHibernian
28-01-2025, 06:07 PM
Welcome Manneh 🇳🇬🇳🇬
Now a defender and ideally another striker!
Price Tag - Jesse J
Can you feel that? Yeah
Don’t ruin this beautiful moment, please 😂😅
28-01-2025, 06:21 PM
Where have you seen that?
Would transform our midfield.
EGL2000
28-01-2025, 06:23 PM
19. He was a regular scorer for Bournemouth under 21s. Aldershot fans reckon he wasn’t given any opportunities. Assume he’s at Bournemouth for a reason!
I doubt he’s coming but if he was I wouldn’t read too much into a short loan spell. We didn’t play Mayenda last year and he’s been a regular scorer at the top end of the Championship.
Mayenda had actually played a good amount of football at a decent level though before going to Sunderland. Has this guy played any senior football higher than the national league?
28-01-2025, 06:25 PM
Where have you seen that?
Would transform our midfield.
Got a text from a Utd fan
28-01-2025, 06:28 PM
The only thing they've got in common is they're both African.
I never said they had anything in common regards playing ability or background etc. I said the last time I was excited by a midfield signing that I thought we needed it didn’t end well and then wished the guy luck. That’s what they have in common for me. That’s it. I’m not needing anyone elaborating on anything else trying to correct what I’m feeling right now.
King Cosell
28-01-2025, 06:31 PM
I never said they had anything in common regards playing ability or background etc. I said the last time I was excited by a midfield signing that I thought we needed it didn’t end well and then wished the guy luck. That’s what they have in common for me. That’s it. I’m not needing anyone elaborating on anything else.
Fair enough.
28-01-2025, 06:32 PM
Got a text from a Utd fan
Where's he seen that 😁
And don't dare say he got a text from a Dons fan 😅
28-01-2025, 06:33 PM
Fair enough.
:aok: Not trying to start a fight in an empty hoose. Honest.
Oh yes you are! 😀
28-01-2025, 06:36 PM
Oh yes you are! 😀:take that:greengrin
Up-the-slope
28-01-2025, 06:36 PM
The most similar profile who fell on his erchie was Ed van der graf, who had a pretty decent pedigree and a good career but was frankly garbage. Hopefully nothing like that.
Do you puncture balloons at kids parties too :rolleyes:
28-01-2025, 06:41 PM
Where's he seen that 😁
And don't dare say he got a text from a Dons fan 😅
Some staff member in peland
28-01-2025, 06:41 PM
Price Tag - Jesse J
Can you feel that? Yeah
You're trying too hard there pal.
Keep it simple, it's a football chant....
Think more along the lines of Abba. Money, money, money.
*You're welcome 😁
28-01-2025, 06:44 PM
Gore was mentioned on here last week
Ship of Hope
28-01-2025, 06:46 PM
Already got a winner
28-01-2025, 07:01 PM
We’ve signed Bertie Bassett?
Is that the Wispa?
Ralphy C
28-01-2025, 07:04 PM
LOL Very good. Anyone under 40 or so will probably need to learn the tune though.:thumbsup:
You're trying too hard there pal.
Keep it simple, it's a football chant....
Think more along the lines of Abba. Money, money, money.
*You're welcome 😁
Manneh's too s**te to mention. 😲
28-01-2025, 07:07 PM
LOL Very good. Anyone under 40 or so will probably need to learn the tune though.:thumbsup:
Anyone under 40 will have trouble learning the words.
28-01-2025, 07:19 PM
Lets hope UK government doesnt base their work permit decision on BBC Scotland coverage; judging by the tv news and a look at the sports scotland webpage we literally havent signed anyone :dunno:
TrinityHFC
28-01-2025, 07:21 PM
Lets hope UK government doesnt base their work permit decision on BBC Scotland coverage; judging by the tv news and a look at the sports scotland webpage we literally havent signed anyone :dunno:
It’s about the 6th item on the BBC Scottish football page.
28-01-2025, 07:23 PM
Aye and likewise on Radio forth / Greatest Hits Radio at 6pm.
Mention Hearts had sold their boy Oyegoke but no mention of us signing Manneh.
However happy for us to stay under the radar and hope our man can do his talking on the pitch
Cat Stanton
28-01-2025, 07:25 PM
Welcome Manneh 🇳🇬🇳🇬
Now a defender and ideally another striker!
And a goalie!!!! For the love of God, a goalie!!!
KianMulholland
28-01-2025, 07:37 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=YZaBaWi6i7E
2mins 40 into this clip.
Have we got ourselves an actual Gambian “Roberto Carlos” [emoji23][emoji23]
28-01-2025, 07:46 PM
Looking at the boy on Wikipedia thinking we’ve signed the second coming of Messi before I realised someone’s been mucking about with his goal stats 😂
28-01-2025, 07:52 PM
Started for Charlton tonight
28-01-2025, 07:58 PM
Started for Charlton tonight
Different Campbell. He’s been totally out of the squad last two games. I don’t see us getting him to be fair, think he’s a stick on for Aberdeen.
Gordy M
28-01-2025, 08:07 PM
Different Campbell. He’s been totally out of the squad last two games. I don’t see us getting him to be fair, think he’s a stick on for Aberdeen.
Live score definitely have Allan Campbell as starting for Charlton tonight?
28-01-2025, 08:08 PM
Yep, got an assist for their first goal
ElginHibbie
28-01-2025, 08:11 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GiZnlDiWAAABhIV?format=jpg&name=small
Tyreece Campbell
Bridge hibs
28-01-2025, 08:12 PM
Live score definitely have Allan Campbell as starting for Charlton tonight?Its Tyrese Campbell according to this 28478
Gordy M
28-01-2025, 08:17 PM
Its Tyrese Campbell according to this 28478
Haha bizarrely enough, Live Score now has It as Tyrese Campbell. Thats just changed!
28-01-2025, 08:23 PM
I'm not to be honest, don't know him obviously but he strikes me as someone who does his job quietly and efficiently in the background.
I’m also not aware of any other clubs heads of recruitment routinely commenting on signings.
28-01-2025, 08:45 PM
Man, eh's going to be a good signing
Looking at the boy on Wikipedia thinking we’ve signed the second coming of Messi before I realised someone’s been mucking about with his goal stats 😂
Already scored 3 for us. 😂
https://i.ibb.co/Df5p9SLb/Screenshot-20250128-214841-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/9HstbCGv)
28-01-2025, 08:52 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Df5p9SLb/Screenshot-20250128-214841-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/9HstbCGv)
Pleyer
28-01-2025, 09:15 PM
He’s certainly getting a bit more prominence after his ‘worldie’’ against WSW but honestly at the moment at least he wouldn’t be a Signing candidate for me.
That’s not to say I’m right and your wrong…it’s just that he doesn’t seem to get in the game often enough for me, and think he’d struggle with the close marking he’d get in the SPFL as opposed to what seems cavernous space afforded attackers in the A League.
Hibs have wasted millions signing ‘developing’ players, and I think he’d have to do more than he has to date to interest them.
Should we monitor him?
Absolutely, as we should for any player who is considered a developing talent.
Jed Drew now has 6 goals / 7 assists for 13 appearances.
Seen a headline article that there were a couple of European teams showing interest in him but it was behind a pay wall. There was also a You Tube clip, which I did not open and now can’t find it, with his photo comparing him to a young Jamie McLaren.
I know we have ‘wasted’ some amount of cash on young players of his ilk but I think he would be worth a punt.
28-01-2025, 09:34 PM
Seen a headline article that there were a couple of European teams showing interest in him but it was behind a pay wall. There was also a You Tube clip, which I did not open and now can’t find it, with his photo comparing him to a young Jamie McLaren.
I know we have ‘wasted’ some amount of cash on young players of his ilk but I think he would be worth a punt.
Better bringing back the actual jamie maclaren. Would love to see him in this side! Guaranteed goals!
Mcbizz1998
28-01-2025, 09:45 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/mcgrath-hearts-hibs-aberdeen-transfer-34567855.amp
Hmmmm.
HendoDelivered
28-01-2025, 09:49 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/mcgrath-hearts-hibs-aberdeen-transfer-34567855.amp
Hmmmm.
He’s meh.
28-01-2025, 09:52 PM
He’s meh.
I'd rather have Mark O'Hara from St Mirren. Under contract until summer 2026.
PHeffernan
28-01-2025, 09:58 PM
Hmmmm.
McGrath is not going to moving sideways to Hibs or Hearts.
He would be as well staying at Aberdeen
badabing67
28-01-2025, 09:59 PM
We should have more pts :confused:
King Cosell
28-01-2025, 10:01 PM
It's sideways or down.
CentreForward
28-01-2025, 10:10 PM
Hmmmm.
No thanks!
28-01-2025, 10:12 PM
Hmmmm.
Sounds like an agent trying to get his client more money
28-01-2025, 10:18 PM
Does Scott Burns only know Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen?
Ribs1875
28-01-2025, 10:21 PM
Hopefully we are going bring in a striker. Out biggest problem is we are not clinical enough infront of goal. McKirdy and Myko struggle to finish their tea up front. We need more goals so we can kill team like county off, rather than trying to defend a 1 goal lead to eventually concede.
Donegal Hibby
28-01-2025, 10:27 PM
Hmmmm.
Player that would improve us IMO though don’t see it happening.
K-Zazu
28-01-2025, 10:29 PM
Hopefully we are going bring in a striker. Out biggest problem is we are not clinical enough infront of goal. McKirdy and Myko struggle to finish their tea up front. We need more goals so we can kill team like county off, rather than trying to defend a 1 goal lead to eventually concede.
We won’t be bringing in a striker if Bowie, Gayle and Myko are here.
King Cosell
28-01-2025, 10:38 PM
Can see us getting a youngster from a big club on loan, like we did with Mayenda last season.
Ribs1875
28-01-2025, 10:39 PM
Never say never. If I was Gray I'd be thinking our defence although error prone isn't the problem. It's the lack of goals. The game on the weekend was a classic example 13 shots at goal, 4 on target with 1 scored.
Keepthefaith
28-01-2025, 10:47 PM
Never say never. If I was Gray I'd be thinking our defence although error prone isn't the problem. It's the lack of goals. The game on the weekend was a classic example 13 shots at goal, 4 on target with 1 scored.
just checking you do realise that our two main strikers are just coming back into the team after months out yeah? along with that we've not seen youan since the derby I think...if we can keep everyone fit I'm not sure we need another striker though I wouldn't be averse to sending myko back if that's an option if we can get someone else with pace
King Cosell
28-01-2025, 10:50 PM
26 goals in last 12 games, scored 3 in 7 of those games. Scored more in league than Hearts, Dundee Utd and Aberdeen. We can always improve but I'm not sure it's a huge problem.
28-01-2025, 11:17 PM
Since we changed shape we’ve scored 23 goals in 11 league games. In the same time we’ve only kept 2 clean sheets.
We’ve lost a lot of points from winning positions this season. I don’t think our biggest issue is in the final third, even if we are unlikely to score 3 goals every week.
badabing67
28-01-2025, 11:39 PM
Does Scott Burns only know Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen?
Probably the most likely to take a nibble of the bait
badabing67
28-01-2025, 11:42 PM
I take it there was nothing in the Julio Pleguezuelo then
29-01-2025, 12:10 AM
While I admire your home town loyalty...Jed played in the mountains, I'm afraid I can't agree with idea that he is anything like Jamie MacLaren.
MacLaren is a 'fox in the box' type of player, while what I have seen of Jed his main attribute is running fast up the right wing hoping to get on the end of a long ball before the defence do...in fact he's much more like Martin Boyle in style than Jamie.
I don't have any critisicm of him other than to say that ..purely in my opinion...he has not done enough to warrant serious attention from Hibs.
While he can run fast chasing the ball, I am yet to be convinced of his running WITH the ball, and he seems to be out of the game for a fair amount of time..when I have seen him, that is.
In his defence, he DID supply a neat reverse pass which led to a goal last time I saw him.
So I guess its down to opinions whether Hibs should 'take a punt on him' or wait to see how he continues to develop.
I'd prefer the latter, as I just don't think he is yet up to SPL standard..again, in my opinion.
Stokesy's on fire
29-01-2025, 03:52 AM
Both Hibs and Hearts is a step up.
29-01-2025, 05:35 AM
Urghhh I'm fed up with Jamie McGrath, can we just not be linked with him ever again please? He's never going to be a Hibs player.
29-01-2025, 06:00 AM
Hmmmm.
Don't think he fits the profile. Certainly no resale value.
29-01-2025, 06:21 AM
McGrath a no for me. If he's not good enough for Aberdeen he's certainly not good enough for Hibs.
29-01-2025, 06:22 AM
Hmmmm.
He’s injured for 3 months - thought he was off to the MLS?
Aberdeen fans haven’t been impressed with him this season.
29-01-2025, 06:27 AM
McGrath a no for me. If he's not good enough for Aberdeen he's certainly not good enough for Hibs.
Think he’s a key player for them and they’ll be wanting to keep him? He’s definitely good enough for them.
I doubt we’re interested in him anyway though, just a usual Scott burns story so he can say Aberdeen beat off other interest to keep him if he decides to stay.
29-01-2025, 06:56 AM
Think he’s a key player for them and they’ll be wanting to keep him? He’s definitely good enough for them.
I doubt we’re interested in him anyway though, just a usual Scott burns story so he can say Aberdeen beat off other interest to keep him if he decides to stay.
It will likely be agent talk. His player is free to talk to other clubs so it’s beneficial if you leak stories that he’s in demand.
29-01-2025, 07:35 AM
He absolutely has been good enough for them. He's out injured just now but they want him to sign a new deal
Ribs1875
29-01-2025, 07:41 AM
I rate McGarth, but it's a no for me. I'd rather we sign someone like Lyle Cameron who is young and we could make a profit on.
29-01-2025, 07:45 AM
I rate McGarth, but it's a no for me. I'd rather we sign someone like Lyle Cameron who is young and we could make a profit on.
Same on both fronts. If Aberdeen are chancing it with Cameron I really hope we are too.
Both us and Aberdeen have pretty good recent evidence of players doing well here then getting a move to a bigger league. Hopefully that counts for something and he doesn’t choose the huns.
29-01-2025, 07:46 AM
I think the time to get Cameron would be this window. If he's out of contract in the summer he's going to have loads of clubs to choose from. Even this window he may prefer to wait until the summer and Dundee may be unwilling to sell as they may not have time to get in a replacement. Think it would be a hefty fee.
MacGruber
29-01-2025, 08:12 AM
I think the time to get Cameron would be this window. If he's out of contract in the summer he's going to have loads of clubs to choose from. Even this window he may prefer to wait until the summer and Dundee may be unwilling to sell as they may not have time to get in a replacement. Think it would be a hefty fee.
Would be a hefty fee - wonder if it would be as much as the £700k quoted for the 17 year old we apparently bid for? I imagine it would be there or thereabouts
29-01-2025, 08:29 AM
He absolutely has been good enough for them. He's out injured just now but they want him to sign a new deal
The sheep I know don't rate him.
29-01-2025, 08:34 AM
Would be a hefty fee - wonder if it would be as much as the £700k quoted for the 17 year old we apparently bid for? I imagine it would be there or thereabouts
But if he is out of contract in the summer, we could sign him on a pre-Contract now, and hang fire until the summer, or they might accept a cut price figure now, knowing that they're losing him regardless.
Bushwoof
29-01-2025, 08:58 AM
My sheepy friend says he's basically downed tools since he decided he was leaving. He never seems to stay anywhere past the end of his 1st contract. Not the fans favourite up there by all accounts.
Ribs1875
29-01-2025, 08:58 AM
But if he is out of contract in the summer, we could sign him on a pre-Contract now, and hang fire until the summer, or they might accept a cut price figure now, knowing that they're losing him regardless.
All it take is for him to have a blinder between now and the end of the season and the he would be completely out our reach.
29-01-2025, 09:06 AM
Is he not injured and out for the next couple of months? There wouldn't be much point in giving Aberdeen money to sign him now as he wouldn't be available for much, if any, of the rest of the season.
Which probably means that is exactly what will happen, it would be such a Hibs thing to do. :greengrin
29-01-2025, 09:10 AM
Going by this board if an Aberdeen fan asked a Hibs fan if they rated *insert Hibs player here* they'd probably get a negative answer as well :wink:
Especially if it was looking like the player wanted out.
29-01-2025, 09:16 AM
No chance.
We've 2 forward positions with how we set up, and have Boyle, Bowie, Myko & Gayle - and assuming that McKirdy doesnt hang around.
29-01-2025, 09:20 AM
Is he not injured and out for the next couple of months? There wouldn't be much point in giving Aberdeen money to sign him now as he wouldn't be available for much, if any, of the rest of the season.
Which probably means that is exactly what will happen, it would be such a Hibs thing to do. :greengrin
He's due back in March.
Say the number was £150k, might be worth it if meant our doctors could manage it, and we were able to get him bedded into the squad ahead of next season, and he managed 4-5 games after the split.
whereswallace?
29-01-2025, 09:36 AM
No chance.
We've 2 forward positions with how we set up, and have Boyle, Bowie, Myko & Gayle - and assuming that McKirdy doesnt hang around.
If Youan leaves this window, we will replace him with another pacy attacker yous have to think.
29-01-2025, 09:49 AM
If Youan leaves this window, we will replace him with another pacy attacker yous have to think.
I hope Youan does move this window. I’m bored of the circus around him, the coincidental injuries in the summer window and this window. Tweets about Lee Johnson and spats with Bartley. Arguing with fans. Etc etc. All fine if he’s doing well but he was part of a team that finished 8th last season, a bang average mid table team that’s won 7 games this season and we’re heading into February with him on 2 goals and 1 assist.
Youan might be one of our better players, but over the course of his time here he’s better on paper than reality IMO.
MacGruber
29-01-2025, 09:53 AM
Yeah I meant Cameron, not McGrath
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2025, 09:53 AM
Strange as he seems to have chipped in with a few goals and assists this season for Aberdeen which is probably why they are trying to keep him and other clubs are interested.
Personally I rate him having watched him a few times for Ireland and like the fact he can play a few positions. I think he would be a player that would improve us but at the same time don’t believe there’s anything in it when I see who’s written the article.
29-01-2025, 10:27 AM
He's due back in March.
Say the number was £150k, might be worth it if meant our doctors could manage it, and we were able to get him bedded into the squad ahead of next season, and he managed 4-5 games after the split.
Is he any better than Levitt?
29-01-2025, 10:30 AM
He’s much better than Levitt, but mainly being playing out wide for Aberdeen this season.
4 goals and 6 assists from 20 games. He’s also four years older than Levitt though at 28.
29-01-2025, 10:53 AM
Yes, but also a completely different player.
I hope Youan does move this window. I’m bored of the circus around him, the coincidental injuries in the summer window and this window. Tweets about Lee Johnson and spats with Bartley. Arguing with fans. Etc etc. All fine if he’s doing well but he was part of a team that finished 8th last season, a bang average mid table team that’s won 7 games this season and we’re heading into February with him on 2 goals and 1 assist.
Youan might be one of our better players, but over the course of his time here he’s better on paper than reality IMO.
Spot on👍
29-01-2025, 11:33 AM
St Johnstone accept £200k offer from Belgium for Benji Kimpioka
29-01-2025, 11:52 AM
Surely he’s not good enough to play for Belgium?! Is that even allowed?
29-01-2025, 11:55 AM
29-01-2025, 11:56 AM
"I'm here all week....."
29-01-2025, 11:59 AM
I don't write the headlines I just copy them 😁
badabing67
29-01-2025, 12:27 PM
My mate at work, he works p/t for STJ. He coaches their 13's age group but previously coached their 16's. Anyway yesterday he told me one of his lads Brodie Dair now 17 who is yet to make his debut at STJ despite being part of a few squads, has been sold to Fulham for £200k plus add on's and another young player Callan Hammel who is still only 15, but STJ have agreed a £150k plus add on's deal with Arsenal for him. Apparently that deal can only be completed in the summer when the player turns 16 though.
29-01-2025, 12:28 PM
My mate at work, he works p/t for STJ. He coaches their 13's age group but previously coached their 16's. Anyway yesterday he told me one of his lads Brodie Dair now 17 who is yet to make his debut at STJ despite being part of a few squads, has been sold to Fulham for £200k plus add on's and another young player Callan Hammel who is still only 15, but STJ have agreed a £150k plus add on's deal with Arsenal for him. Apparently that deal can only be completed in the summer when the player turns 16 though.
Hope he's ok with you posting this...
badabing67
29-01-2025, 12:29 PM
Hope he's ok with you posting this...
He doesn't know..... How
Ribs1875
29-01-2025, 12:50 PM
No surprise there tbh. Alistair Stevenson is the head of youth development there. We had him for a while at easter road many years ago. I met him at my work and got to know him well the few days he was in. He has such a good football brain and has every corner of youth level football covered.
29-01-2025, 01:15 PM
Quite depressing big English teams plundering decent young talent before they have even been close to first team
MagicSwirlingShip
29-01-2025, 01:17 PM
Quite depressing big English teams plundering decent young talent before they have even been close to first team
Been happening for years. Our own gaffer and Danny Galbraith moved to Man United before getting anywhere near the Hearts first team.
29-01-2025, 01:18 PM
Been happening for years. Our own gaffer and Danny Galbraith moved to Man United before getting anywhere near the Hearts first team.
Fair enough and you can understand the lure of the money
29-01-2025, 01:30 PM
Just under 129hrsblefg off the window 😁
29-01-2025, 01:31 PM
Just under 129hrsblefg off the window 😁
Is that a hint that we’re signing a Norwegian?
29-01-2025, 01:55 PM
The beauty of typing fast at work 😅
29-01-2025, 01:56 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I probably laughed way to hard at that
29-01-2025, 02:03 PM
It's worse now cos of Brexit as they can't get work permits for overseas players
Hibernian2105
29-01-2025, 02:16 PM
Rogue one but anyone heard anything about an Egyptian signing? Heard from someone I know but could easily be bull****
29-01-2025, 02:17 PM
Rogue one but anyone heard anything about an Egyptian signing? Heard from someone I know but could easily be bull****
Will ask my mummy.
Pharaoh nuff! 🫣
Hopefully decent info!
29-01-2025, 02:27 PM
Will ask my mummy.
Brilliant
29-01-2025, 02:28 PM
Inevitable given the Black Knights pyramid set up.
badabing67
29-01-2025, 02:29 PM
Maybe just a Cairopodist to help with Elle's toe
29-01-2025, 02:38 PM
A Luxory we couldn't afford.
29-01-2025, 02:40 PM
Will ask my mummy.
Tut! Tut!
Rumble de Thump
29-01-2025, 02:42 PM
An Egypt-related pun.
Lendo
29-01-2025, 02:47 PM
Trent Alexandria-Arnold?
29-01-2025, 02:49 PM
Trent Alexandria-Arnold?
Cairoan Mings
Renfrew_Hibby
29-01-2025, 02:49 PM
I sphinx this is a wind up.
badabing67
29-01-2025, 02:50 PM
Trent Alexandria-Arnold?
He would be the al alamein man
29-01-2025, 02:50 PM
Nile Ranger?
These Egyptian puns are the best ones in ages, well done folks :faf:
NC1875
29-01-2025, 03:00 PM
I’m in de-Nile.
Giza break.
29-01-2025, 03:02 PM
What position does Rosetta Stone play?
29-01-2025, 03:05 PM
It's obviously for the song "We've got Salah, Manneh, Manneh", just need to sign Firmino next.
29-01-2025, 03:05 PM
Salah is out of contract soon
Block7 will need to stock up on the pyroglyphics.
29-01-2025, 03:14 PM
Will ask my mummy.
Ze Mamma is Morrocan no Egyptian!
29-01-2025, 03:15 PM
Think you're talking out of your uraeus....
29-01-2025, 03:15 PM
Ze Mamma is Morrocan no Egyptian!
flash is taking a Libyarty there :agree:
I keep on dead sea scrolling but all I get is puns
USA_Hibee
29-01-2025, 03:23 PM
Ban puns. :greengrin :agree:
Hibs need to sheikh a leg and get him signed.
AltheHibby
29-01-2025, 03:24 PM
Agreed. They're spinhxtacular.
29-01-2025, 03:25 PM
Tutankhamen coming out of retirement?
29-01-2025, 03:29 PM
Hopefully the force is with this one
29-01-2025, 03:31 PM
Cassian Andor, is the rumour I've heard. Couple of great shots when he played against Scarif in his last game.
leith lynx
29-01-2025, 03:32 PM
Interesting, he would have to walk in to the first team though.
Is the Ghanaian lad to be Hibs only signing, any thoughts?
29-01-2025, 03:40 PM
What did they say ?
MagicSwirlingShip
29-01-2025, 03:40 PM
No
29-01-2025, 03:41 PM
What did they say ?
Everyone got caught up in the puns they forgot the important question 😅
While I admire your home town loyalty...Jed played in the mountains, I'm afraid I can't agree with idea that he is anything like Jamie MacLaren.
MacLaren is a 'fox in the box' type of player, while what I have seen of Jed his main attribute is running fast up the right wing hoping to get on the end of a long ball before the defence do...in fact he's much more like Martin Boyle in style than Jamie.
I don't have any critisicm of him other than to say that ..purely in my opinion...he has not done enough to warrant serious attention from Hibs.
While he can run fast chasing the ball, I am yet to be convinced of his running WITH the ball, and he seems to be out of the game for a fair amount of time..when I have seen him, that is.
In his defence, he DID supply a neat reverse pass which led to a goal last time I saw him.
So I guess its down to opinions whether Hibs should 'take a punt on him' or wait to see how he continues to develop.
I'd prefer the latter, as I just don't think he is yet up to SPL standard..again, in my opinion.
Apparently going to Austrian team TSV Hartberg (News.com.au).
29-01-2025, 03:43 PM
Anubis would happen!
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2025, 03:50 PM
Total guess work though I think we will bring in one more , possibly two .
I can’t see one being a keeper unless we move one on and doubt we need a defender as we have plenty of cover there, possibly another midfielder if we can move on one of Amos , NMW or Levitt and possibly a striker/ winger if Mckirdy or Youan goes .
Hibernian2105
29-01-2025, 03:51 PM
What did they say ?
His exact words were “it’s from a guy who is usually correct but I’m not sure so could be total bollocks”. A striker called Hossam Ashraaf.
Plays for Zamalek, a massive team in Egypt and have the most league titles in all of Africa. Pretty random name to pull out of no where is the only reason i thought anything of it to be honest
29-01-2025, 03:52 PM
Think he might be surprised to hear he's Ghanaian. Gambia might be in the merde too for playing him 18 times.
29-01-2025, 03:55 PM
His exact words were “it’s from a guy who is usually correct but I’m not sure so could be total bollocks”. A striker called Hossam Ashraaf.
Plays for Zamalek, a massive team in Egypt and have the most league titles in all of Africa. Pretty random name to pull out of no where is the only reason i thought anything of it to be honest
Appreciate you sharing this mate , Always good to hear rumours :aok:
Pytheas
29-01-2025, 03:59 PM
Earlier in the season he threaded a Scott Allan through ball for a great assist at Celtic Park, there was an article asking if he was player of the season in the league so far.
Problem is the same as at Saints he seems to have lost motivation. Keep him happy and he's a great player. Better than either Josh or Newell.
Reckon the last few years might have been considerably better if we hadn't **** the bed with his paperwork on deadline day.
badabing67
29-01-2025, 04:00 PM
I was hoping we would of signed someone like Fez Ferdinand by now
29-01-2025, 04:09 PM
These puns put the Shan in Egyptshan
29-01-2025, 04:19 PM
In other news Aston Villa reject Arsenal bid for Ollie Watkins
Daily Mail
Hibs4185
29-01-2025, 04:21 PM
No
Ghana no dae that
29-01-2025, 04:22 PM
https://youtu.be/DRXo_egrRjM?si=NGSUgNpTD52_FvUA
Obligatory YouTube highlight reel
Think he might be surprised to hear he's Ghanaian. Gambia might be in the merde too for playing him 18 times.
My bad 😕
29-01-2025, 04:24 PM
https://youtu.be/DRXo_egrRjM?si=NGSUgNpTD52_FvUA
Obligatory YouTube highlight reel
There wouldn't be a signing rumour without video footage from Unseenwork 😅 cheers pal 👍
29-01-2025, 04:27 PM
From the EEN
Gray, who says Hibs are still looking to add “a bit of magic” to a sizeable squad before Monday night’s deadline, clearly believes Manneh has the potential to make an impact in Scotland. While he may be joined by another signing or two over the coming days, with movement partially but not entirely related to the possibility of outgoings, the 26-year-old – who WON’T have international clearance in time to face Aberdeen at Easter Road on Sunday – is currently the focus of hopes and demands from an entire support base.
29-01-2025, 04:29 PM
There wouldn't be a signing rumour without video footage from Unseenwork 😅 cheers pal 👍
Has to be done 🤣
Couple of more recent finishes on X
https://x.com/onzemasr_en/status/1878492553642750404?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
https://x.com/mmohamed15804/status/1872738749681127774?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
badabing67
29-01-2025, 04:36 PM
From the EEN
Gray, who says Hibs are still looking to add “a bit of magic” to a sizeable squad before Monday night’s deadline, clearly believes Manneh has the potential to make an impact in Scotland. While he may be joined by another signing or two over the coming days, with movement partially but not entirely related to the possibility of outgoings, the 26-year-old – who WON’T have international clearance in time to face Aberdeen at Easter Road on Sunday – is currently the focus of hopes and demands from an entire support base.
I'm going on Saturday
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2025, 04:36 PM
Article in the EEN on new signing etc …
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-key-qualities-ex-barca-prospect-david-gray-bit-of-magic-transfer-ambition-exclusive-4966444
Article in the EEN on new signing etc …
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-key-qualities-ex-barca-prospect-david-gray-bit-of-magic-transfer-ambition-exclusive-4966444
Great a link that opens 👏
Hibiza
29-01-2025, 04:38 PM
In which team in England would he fit into the Pyramid scheme ?
29-01-2025, 04:45 PM
My bad 😕
Lendo
29-01-2025, 04:52 PM
Only has 11 appearances in 3 seasons for his main club. Out on loan just now at another Egyptian Premier League club scoring 14 in 32 games. It’s a good return but you would have to wonder why he’s been loaned out to another club in the same league.
Edit: their wiki page is out of date. He’s playing the Egyptian Second Division.
29-01-2025, 04:56 PM
Only has 11 appearances in 3 seasons for his main club. Out on loan just now at another Egyptian Premier League club scoring 14 in 32 games. It’s a good return but you would have to wonder why he’s been loaned out to another club in the same league.
Bit like Celtc loaning someone to Ross County. His loan club got relegated.
29-01-2025, 04:59 PM
Edit: their wiki page is out of date. He’s playing the Egyptian Second Division.
If it’s anything like our flair player (Youan) maybe it’s attitude?
29-01-2025, 05:00 PM
No, his games were in the top division for a team that got relegated. He's back at Zamalek but not getting a game.
Lendo
29-01-2025, 05:03 PM
Our last two North African players are fondly remembered as cult heroes so I’m all for these random signings. Make it happen Hibs.
badabing67
29-01-2025, 05:12 PM
If this guys is coming to us then surely it will only be a loan with an option to buy. It looks like a bit of punt to me. Plus he has 18 months left on his contract
29-01-2025, 05:13 PM
Would he even meet the criteria for a work permit? I’ve honestly no idea these days.
MagicSwirlingShip
29-01-2025, 05:18 PM
Ghana no dae that
Uganda(e)?
29-01-2025, 05:23 PM
Our last two North African players are fondly remembered as cult heroes so I’m all for these random signings. Make it happen Hibs.
Nothing against the guy, but I wouldn’t put Faycal Rherras down as a cult hero. :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2025, 05:24 PM
In other news Aston Villa reject Arsenal bid for Ollie Watkins
Daily Mail
Very surprised to see he’s 29 as I took it he was much younger than that … 60 million being mentioned with Arsenal to make another bid apparently.