View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2024/25
10-01-2025, 10:23 AM
I think you make a great point, I was speaking to an agent while on Holiday over the Christmas period and he told me Hibs was not that a desirable a club for Good players, the club has come across as a circus over the last few seasons and we attract middle of the road players with not a lot of other options.
Youth development will be virtually non existent as we have no consistent structure in place with average players on decent money blocking the pathway.
Pretty rough stuff to listen to from someone within the industry. Too be fair he's not far off what we have seen.
Subjective. Define middle of the road? Define good? It is relative. Our problem isn't that we can't attract players. Or enough good players - relative to our status. It is that we haven't been getting enough bang for the money we do spend. We wasted a lot on a failed moneyball set-up and more still on poorly scouted stat based punts.
Recruitment has improved. The squad is improving and will further - despite the ravings of drunk jambos posing as agents.
10-01-2025, 10:23 AM
Wasn't the chat about wages that Hearts pay relatively small/normal weekly amounts but add loads of extras if the team/player is playing well?
Pure speculation. When they are doing mince or getting relegated their wage bill stays the same so I doubt that is true.
10-01-2025, 10:47 AM
We was. He was also just standing watching the Rangers scorer in acres of space last weekend and didn't seem to get any stick for it. If that was Rocky... He's improving but he's another I wouldn't be bothered if we didn't keep.
We had 3 centre half’s who should have been picking up the one striker surely?
EGL2000
10-01-2025, 10:50 AM
We're a bottom six side in the Scottish Premiership. English clubs watch players all over Europe, so the shop window advantage is over played.
Kevin Nisbet left us to go to ****ing Millwall, to give you an idea of what we're up against.
Millwall isn't a great club but it's a great league to be playing in. Players who come from say Albania are much less of a risk for English teams if they have had a successful period in Scotland first. Gives them time to adapt to climate , culture etc. English teams also still know they can get very good deals up here so still come to us. There's also very few leagues where players of say our quality actually have a very realistic chance of playing in Europe. If you prove yourself there you move on to big bucks really.
badabing67
10-01-2025, 10:52 AM
https://open.substack.com/pub/andrewjeffrey/p/aidan-fitzpatrick?r=2f20qe&utm_medium=ios
Would Aidan fit in at Easter Road?
AIDAN FITZPATRICK 🇧🇪 PARTICK THISTLE Highlights (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DyJ5fgajaYs)
Hibees1973
10-01-2025, 10:54 AM
I think you make a great point, I was speaking to an agent while on Holiday over the Christmas period and he told me Hibs was not that a desirable a club for Good players, the club has come across as a circus over the last few seasons and we attract middle of the road players with not a lot of other options.
Youth development will be virtually non existent as we have no consistent structure in place with average players on decent money blocking the pathway.
Pretty rough stuff to listen to from someone within the industry. Too be fair he's not far off what we have seen.
Interesting.
Know some on here purport to being ITK, but for most of us from the outside looking in, it has been a farce at the club over the last 3-4 years.
In our league it does not take much to get to 3rd in the league. Albeit we have made it look very difficult over a number of years, bar one. Some distinctly average sides have finished 3rd, only to have been found out in Europe the following year.
Think all we can hope for is a modicum of competence in recruitment and some stability at the club for a couple of years and really we should not be far away from our objective.
EGL2000
10-01-2025, 10:57 AM
AIDAN FITZPATRICK 🇧🇪 PARTICK THISTLE Highlights (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DyJ5fgajaYs)
Not for me hardly smashing it in the championship only 3 goals in 19 games. If we are looking in the championship we need someone who is bossing it and clearly has the ability to go up a level.
I remember when we signed Henderson I was very doubtful as he wasn't even really shining at Dunfermline in the Championship.
10-01-2025, 11:03 AM
Not for me hardly smashing it in the championship only 3 goals in 19 games. If we are looking in the championship we need someone who is bossing it and clearly has the ability to go up a level.
I remember when we signed Henderson I was very doubtful as he wasn't even really shining at Dunfermline in the Championship.
Don't know anything about Fitzpatrick other than stats and wee highlight reels, bust seems a very Dan MacKay type signing. Almost exactly the same age as well.
10-01-2025, 11:11 AM
https://open.substack.com/pub/andrewjeffrey/p/aidan-fitzpatrick?r=2f20qe&utm_medium=ios
Are we signing him or is this an opinion piece?
Paulie Walnuts
10-01-2025, 11:13 AM
There’s absolutely nothing on paper that excites me about Fitzpatrick.
Cooshed Kid
10-01-2025, 11:20 AM
Sentiment towards teams and players that have contributed to success and enjoyable football is one thing, sentiment towards players who have contributed to awful defensive records and sustained periods of mediocrity is another.
No, they are exactly the same thing, feelings. You can judge the two situations differently if you choose depending on how your own feelings align or differ, but supporting Hibs is not ultimately for the rational. Our successes have been few and far between for the past 149 years. An unsentimental 150 year old would long ago have found something yielding better dividends for the investment of his time and love.
Greenio
10-01-2025, 11:29 AM
I like Ekpiteta. After a sluggish start he was really coming on to a game. I think Iredale has been doing well at left centre back. I'd give Rocky a year extension. I wouldn't see him as a starter but think he is good enough to come in and cover. He has come in this season to cover Ekpiteta. In that period he has provided us all heart palpitations because he is prone to brain farts. Also in that period he has defended really well majority of times in games, scored v Aberdeen to spark our upturn, scored and assisted v Rangers to keep the unbeaten run going and been part of the team that has pumped Aberdeen and Hearts away - partying with the away fans at Tynie. He's a massive unit, must be one of the quickest and strongest centre backs in the league. Not perfect in the air and a complete bag of madness. A starter - no. Cover, yeah for me. Not to underestimate the bond he has with the fans, he's all heart and gets Hibs. Some will play that off but then at other times moan they don't feel a connection with the team.
Cadden is a bit different, he isn't in covering like Rocky, he is starting. Is he a great defender as a full back - no. Is he a good right winger - no. He is far better at right wing back and brings a power of running. Predominantly, what you look for in your right wing back going forward is balls into the box, assists and goals. Cadden very rarely scores, very rarely assists (has he any this season) and final ball tends to be poor. He has plenty assets though and I still like him. Just that looking to improve that position would be bringing in a starter. Wouldn't be against keeping Cadden however if Miller gets the extension and Megwa on the long deal he might make way to bring in better. Nicky Cadden's goals and assists from left wing back in the 6 months he's been here are probably more than Chris has managed in the 5 or 6 seasons he's been here.
It's not for everyone but for their faults one of the reasons I like both Miller and Rocky is they are both monsters. Miller is constantly winning balls at the back post. Being imposing and athletic like these two goes a long way in Scottish football to cover deficiencies (which both have I know). Both are young aswell and can be coached to improvement.
Maybe that line of thinking is beyond some or mental for others but that's my opinion.
Agree. I like C Cadden but its been glaringly obvious that that its the position that can be improved upon
10-01-2025, 11:34 AM
I agree to an extent 23 nearly 24 same as DM
Fitzpatrick has 177 appearances to his name with 33 goals scored Vs DM 157 appearances and 23 goals
Fitzpatrick is played more as a winger who I think could do what Luke McCowan did when he went from Ayr to Dundee and play centrally.
McCowan was around the same age when he moved to Dundee and probably didn't have the same appearances or goals as Fitzpatrick. Not saying he wasn't a better player at that age I'm just going on stats alone.
10-01-2025, 11:34 AM
No, they are exactly the same thing, feelings. You can judge the two situations differently if you choose depending on how your own feelings align or differ, but supporting Hibs is not ultimately for the rational. Our successes have been few and far between for the past 149 years. An unsentimental 150 year old would long ago have found something yielding better dividends for the investment of his time and love.
and our successes will remain fewer and be even farther between if we hand out contract extensions to mediocre players who aren’t the requisite quality.
10-01-2025, 11:41 AM
10 days in and still not a single exciting or credible rumour. Boring stuff, Hibs.
followhibs
10-01-2025, 11:43 AM
Subjective. Define middle of the road? Define good? It is relative. Our problem isn't that we can't attract players. Or enough good players - relative to our status. It is that we haven't been getting enough bang for the money we do spend. We wasted a lot on a failed moneyball set-up and more still on poorly scouted stat based punts.
Recruitment has improved. The squad is improving and will further - despite the ravings of drunk jambos posing as agents.
Middle of the road- probably a free/out of contract player/released that adds nothing to improve the team, with no sell on value.
Good players- Possible free, improves our team, league position, either stays as the team progresses or has a sale on value.
Totally agree with the moneyball call its been a disaster.
No doubt the squad is on the up but I we have a way to go.
Too be fair to the boy I spoke too works for pretty big English based agency also has a good few EPL, Champs, Lg 1& 2 and SPL players attached to his name ( I googled him)
So the opinion has some validity.
10-01-2025, 11:48 AM
10 days in and still not a single exciting or credible rumour. Boring stuff, Hibs.
Worries me that the good form has papered over the cracks.
Players have improved but some of the dead wood we have and got rid off to be fair was a joke.
Goalie
Striker
Centre half
Midfielder
In that order of necessity still in my eyes
Can turn a mediocre season into something quite special if they get it right
andrew70
10-01-2025, 11:54 AM
Are we signing him or is this an opinion piece?
Just like my Lyall Cameron and Lewis Mayo ones previously it’s just a thought.
Trying to look at young Scots who could make us a few quid as well as immediately make a difference.
andrew70
10-01-2025, 11:56 AM
I agree to an extent 23 nearly 24 same as DM
Fitzpatrick has 177 appearances to his name with 33 goals scored Vs DM 157 appearances and 23 goals
Fitzpatrick is played more as a winger who I think could do what Luke McCowan did when he went from Ayr to Dundee and play centrally.
McCowan was around the same age when he moved to Dundee and probably didn't have the same appearances or goals as Fitzpatrick. Not saying he wasn't a better player at that age I'm just going on stats alone.
Yes I see a lot of similarities with Fitzpatrick and McCowan. It’s an avenue I think Hibs need to use with the caveat they won’t always have the same impact but it’s a no lose situation really as cheap option with a decent ceiling.
10-01-2025, 11:57 AM
The Cadden boys playing as wingbacks have been excellent for us. Im astounded people want rid of Chris. A top class professional who is excellent in our current system. Someone mentioned we have Megwa so we dont need him?? Chris Cadden is light years ahead of Megwa AND Miller in the RWB area.
Nicky’s been excellent. Chris hasn’t.
Chris has been nowhere near his level and all in all has been a very poor signing for us.
10-01-2025, 12:01 PM
Chris has been nowhere near his level and all in all has been a very poor signing for us.
Very poor? That seems harsh. I get he's nothing fancy but I think he's also a very stable player for us that has done a job. Considering he'll have played not far off 150 games for Hibs by the time he leaves I don't really think that come remotely close to a very poor signing.
Very poor are guys like Bojang, Jair, McKirdy, Kenneh. Cost us money and offered the club nothing.
10-01-2025, 12:14 PM
Very poor? That seems harsh. I get he's nothing fancy but I think he's also a very stable player for us that has done a job. Considering he'll have played not far off 150 games for Hibs by the time he leaves I don't really think that come remotely close to a very poor signing.
Very poor are guys like Bojang, Jair, McKirdy, Kenneh. Cost us money and offered the club nothing.
He can only play competently as a wing back. As a rb, his defending is poor, as a right winger, he isn’t anyone an opposing team would worry themselves about.
He only fits in a system we’ve rarely played and even when he’s played there he’s been consistently average. He’s one of our higher earners and he certainly hasn’t been good value.
Clarence
10-01-2025, 12:19 PM
I’m bored with it too. Hopefully we’ll be rewarded towards the end of the window with some quality additions. On the plus side at least the current squad won’t feel that we are bringing in a load of pish mercenaries to displace them.
10-01-2025, 12:20 PM
He can only play competently as a wing back. As a rb, his defending is poor, as a right winger, he isn’t anyone an opposing team would worry themselves about.
He only fits in a system we’ve rarely played and even when he’s played there he’s been consistently average. He’s one of our higher earners and he certainly hasn’t been good value.
I don't really know his wage but i'd be surprised if he's one of our higher earners, but will yield to you on that if you've heard otherwise.
I actually think for the Scottish Premiership Chris Cadden is distinctively average at RB and RWB, admit his going forward ability was never there to be play as a winger imo. But as a right sided defender I look across the league and I would take Chris Cadden over quite a number of them. Marcus Fraser, Oyegoke, Gerarld Taylor, O'Donnell, Ryan Strain, James Brown, Paul McGinn, I would even say Devlin isn't a whole lot better than Chris Cadden if you sit and watch him play.
I'm okay with us wanting to upgrade on Chris Cadden, but I just think some people need a bit of a reality check on what constitutes a 'very poor signing' for Hibernian Football Club, and Chris Cadden is far from it.
10-01-2025, 12:26 PM
Wouldn't say he's been very poor, as much as he hasn't been excellent either.
He's done well enough in patches but doesn't look half the player his brother is.
HIBS NUTS
10-01-2025, 12:29 PM
I don't really know his wage but i'd be surprised if he's one of our higher earners, but will yield to you on that if you've heard otherwise.
I actually think for the Scottish Premiership Chris Cadden is distinctively average at RB and RWB, admit his going forward ability was never there to be play as a winger imo. But as a right sided defender I look across the league and I would take Chris Cadden over quite a number of them. Marcus Fraser, Oyegoke, Gerarld Taylor, O'Donnell, Ryan Strain, James Brown, Paul McGinn, I would even say Devlin isn't a whole lot better than Chris Cadden if you sit and watch him play.
I'm okay with us wanting to upgrade on Chris Cadden, but I just think some people need a bit of a reality check on what constitutes a 'very poor signing' for Hibernian Football Club, and Chris Cadden is far from it.
Agree he has been decent on our recent run, and always gives 100 percent, and loads of energy, I regard him very much in the paul McGinn mould , generally a 7/10.
10-01-2025, 12:31 PM
Think it was Hearts actually - updated my post.
Aberdeen do have benefactors who regularly donate millions, its well documented when I've read summaries of their accounts.
The below is from Swiss Ramble, who are a pretty well respected blogger on football finances. Shows that our wage bill is closer to that of Ross County's and Kilmarnock's than it is Hearts. WIth them paying 16.5 million per year and us 10.1.
The figures for us are a year behind, but even if ours has risen 10-20% since then (which is unlikely if Kensall is saying our wages to turnover ratio has improved) its still miles behind Hearts.
Comparing our wages with Hearts is apples and pears. This has been said many times before. They employ their matchday staff, for example, we don't. They have 290 staff members, we have 160.
That means that comparisons of turnover and wages aren't easy. The Swiss Ramble people should know that.
I wouldn't hold Hearts up as a shining example, either. Their wages:turnover ratio in 2024 was 81%.
As for Aberdeen, I have been through their accounts for the last 4 years, and there is no mention of any benefactors. Where are you reading that? Are you confusing that with the AberDNA scheme, which is part of their turnover?
10-01-2025, 12:47 PM
Comparing our wages with Hearts is apples and pears. This has been said many times before. They employ their matchday staff, for example, we don't. They have 290 staff members, we have 160.
That means that comparisons of turnover and wages aren't easy. The Swiss Blogger people should know that.
I wouldn't hold Hearts up as a shining example, either. Their wages:turnover ratio in 2024 was 81%.
As for Aberdeen, I have been through their accounts for the last 4 years, and there is no mention of any benefactors. Where are you reading that? Are you confusing that with the AberDNA scheme, whioch is part of their turnover?
Thats interesting to note, and when you divide the total wage bill by number of staff ours our paid more highly on average.
Cat Stanton
10-01-2025, 12:50 PM
I'm going to be honest.. Not really wanting us to keep Miller, has far too many bad moments than good. We can do far better.
Anyone who is excited for Miller's contract to be extended clearly doesn't watch him live in games. He's abysmal.
EGL2000
10-01-2025, 12:53 PM
Yes I see a lot of similarities with Fitzpatrick and McCowan. It’s an avenue I think Hibs need to use with the caveat they won’t always have the same impact but it’s a no lose situation really as cheap option with a decent ceiling.
I don't think he would be that cheap to be honest would still probably be around 300k fee as he's still under contract. Transfer market have him valued at that and they usually aren't far away with values. Those players are maybe fine on a free but I definitely wouldn't be spending a fee on him.
10-01-2025, 12:53 PM
Thats interesting to note, and when you divide the total wage bill by number of staff ours our paid more highly on average.
Awww, dinny say that. That's a slam-dunk for those who would say we're paying too much for duds :greengrin
In truth, it reflects the fact that we have a lot fewer staff on minimum and living wages.
andrew70
10-01-2025, 12:56 PM
I don't think he would be that cheap to be honest would still probably be around 300k fee as he's still under contract. Transfer market have him valued at that and they usually aren't far away with values. Those players are maybe fine on a free but I definitely wouldn't be spending a fee on him.
I highly doubt Thistle would command a fee that high but who knows? I’d imagine if a deal was ever to be done, players would possibly go the opposite way too.
EGL2000
10-01-2025, 01:01 PM
I highly doubt Thistle would command a fee that high but who knows? I’d imagine if a deal was ever to be done, players would possibly go the opposite way too.
He went to Norwich for 400k a few years back and he's definitely developed more since then.
10-01-2025, 01:06 PM
That means that comparisons of turnover and wages aren't easy. The Swiss Ramble people should know that.
As for Aberdeen, I have been through their accounts for the last 4 years, and there is no mention of any benefactors. Where are you reading that? Are you confusing that with the AberDNA scheme, which is part of their turnover?
2019 Dons had their big investment. https://www.afc.co.uk/2019/11/25/dave-cormack-we-have-brought-in-some-smart-guys/
10-01-2025, 01:08 PM
2019 Dons had their big investment. https://www.afc.co.uk/2019/11/25/dave-cormack-we-have-brought-in-some-smart-guys/
That’s a hilarious headline.
Trump esque
andrew70
10-01-2025, 01:14 PM
He went to Norwich for 400k a few years back and he's definitely developed more since then.
I understand that but championship clubs making 300k is unlikely off one player as much as I believe in every team maximising value.
£200k similar to Mackay.
10-01-2025, 01:14 PM
Ta. That's my memory.
In other words, new shares, just like our own recent share issues. But no ongoing money from benefactors, and no share issues since then.
10-01-2025, 01:18 PM
Ta. That's my memory.
In other words, new shares, just like our own recent share issues. But no ongoing money from benefactors, and no share issues since then.
Aye but they have made a few million from sales the past couple of years
10-01-2025, 01:25 PM
A few teenagers heating up pies for 3 hours on minimum wage, 18 times a season is not going to make a noticeable difference when comparing wage bills.
Paulie Walnuts
10-01-2025, 01:33 PM
A few teenagers heating up pies for 3 hours on minimum wage, 18 times a season is not going to make a noticeable difference when comparing wage bills.
If they’ve got 130 more staff than us then I’d suggest it’s a bit more than ‘a few teenagers heating up pies’.
10-01-2025, 01:34 PM
I used the matchday staff as an example, probably not the best. That 290 that I mentioned is actually separate to their 128 part-time matchday staff.
There is also the commercial side, which we contract-out, and which they don't. They have 160 "admin and commercial" staff. We have 44.
10-01-2025, 01:35 PM
Played really well second half on Sunday. He was poy before he did his Achilles. Think he has been a half decent signing and likely could do better however looks like he has a great attitude and personally think that goes along way.
10-01-2025, 01:37 PM
He was quite coup when we got him, so we’d have started him on a decent whack and as he was a free, likely a decent signing on as well. We then for some reason gave him a contract extension about 18 months in.
As a right back, I’d nearly all of those you’ve listed ahead of Cadden. If we release him in the summer, he’ll be off to the likes of Killie or Dundee.
Greenworld
10-01-2025, 01:38 PM
Pretty rough stuff to listen to from someone within the industry. Too be fair he's not far off what we have seen.Maybe this agent was correct. Hopefully things are changing behind the scenes and come next summer we will see a different club that these so-called good players will want to come.
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
10-01-2025, 01:42 PM
He was quite coup when we got him, so we’d have started him on a decent whack and as he was a free, likely a decent signing on as well. We then for some reason gave him a contract extension about 18 months in.
As a right back, I’d nearly all of those you’ve listed ahead of Cadden. If we release him in the summer, he’ll be off to the likes of Killie or Dundee.
I wouldn't have said he was a coup personally, he was a failed MLS player that went to Oxford and did nothing and came back up the road with his tail between his legs a bit, but I genuinely haven't heard anything in regards to what he's cost us so you could be right. I'm surprised you'd have any of the names i've listed bar perhaps Devlin over him but each to his own.
10-01-2025, 01:57 PM
I wouldn't have said he was a coup personally, he was a failed MLS player that went to Oxford and did nothing and came back up the road with his tail between his legs a bit, but I genuinely haven't heard anything in regards to what he's cost us so you could be right. I'm surprised you'd have any of the names i've listed bar perhaps Devlin over him but each to his own.
Motherwell were going tonto when he went to the MLS because they expected a decent fee for him. They then loaned him to Oxford and they went even more mental as it looked like it was Oxford’s way of getting round paying a fee for him. Oxford tried to then buy him from Columbus Crew and they refused.
One of the main reasons he returned to the UK was because of Covid but they wanted him to stay.
10-01-2025, 02:01 PM
I used the matchday staff as an example, probably not the best. That 290 that I mentioned is actually separate to their 128 part-time matchday staff.
There is also the commercial side, which we contract-out, and which they don't. They have 160 "admin and commercial" staff. We have 44.
So on a matchday at Tynecastle they have 418 people working there?
That is biggly right enough, more biggly than us.
10-01-2025, 02:02 PM
417. You included Shankland :greengrin
10-01-2025, 02:03 PM
417. You included Shankland :greengrin
:greengrin how could I be so careless?
How on earth do they need 160 doing behind the scenes jobs? Thats a crazy number.
10-01-2025, 02:05 PM
How on earth do they need 160 doing behind the scenes jobs? Thats a crazy number.
Those poppies don’t steal themselves you know.
10-01-2025, 02:06 PM
It will include hotel and restaurant staff, and the management of the kiosks.... none of which we need.
10-01-2025, 02:19 PM
It will include hotel and restaurant staff, and the management of the kiosks.... none of which we need.
Escalator maintenance person. 😁
10-01-2025, 02:23 PM
Yes, good point - painted over.
I think Triantis has the potential to be a very good player, probably end up playing a level beyond Hibs. He's also been improving. Just providing some balance. They are all prone to mistake but they bring other attributes. Personally think Triantis might benefit from a tweak of position.
Make Triantis the 8 and sign Sylla from Dundee as the 6. Excellent against last night sitting in front of the defence.
10-01-2025, 02:25 PM
Escalator maintenance person. 😁
Curator of stairs to nowhere as well mind.
Hibby Gav
10-01-2025, 02:33 PM
Curator of stairs to nowhere as well mind.
they probably need to have a paramedic stationed there to treat injuries of those that went up the stairs and met an abrupt arrival…..
10-01-2025, 02:41 PM
They have the catering contract at the Watsonian Pavilion at Myreside and they probably have a dozen or so staff there.
Buy a coffee or a beer there and you get a receipt from HOMFC.
Sticks in my craw !
10-01-2025, 02:43 PM
They have the catering contract at the Watsonian Pavilion at Myreside and they probably have a dozen or so staff there.
Buy a coffee or a beer there and you get a receipt from HOMFC.
Sticks in my craw !
I don't think you're supposed to swallow it.
10-01-2025, 02:49 PM
Anyone who is excited for Miller's contract to be extended clearly doesn't watch him live in games. He's abysmal.
Saying he is just abysmal isn't a fair reflection of Miller overall though. He does some good things as well as some bad things. Anyone who has watched him live in games would surely concede that he is a mixed bag?
EGL2000
10-01-2025, 03:00 PM
Saying he is just abysmal isn't a fair reflection of Miller overall though. He does some good things as well as some bad things. Anyone who has watched him live in games would surely concede that he is a mixed bag?
I am actually a miller fan and think he has some really good attributes. If he could cut out the silly crap think he could be a great player. Half the stadium seem to jump on him as soon as he plays one bad pass which can't be helping him at all. Yes, I know he is frustrating!
andrew70
10-01-2025, 03:16 PM
I am actually a miller fan and think he has some really good attributes. If he could cut out the silly crap think he could be a great player. Half the stadium seem to jump on him as soon as he plays one bad pass which can't be helping him at all. Yes, I know he is frustrating!
I am the same as you, think he gets it tight for no real reason.
He’s got a lot of resale value and whilst he has silly moments he’s a very competent international footballer who will continue to improve.
10-01-2025, 03:18 PM
Worries me that the good form has papered over the cracks.
Players have improved but some of the dead wood we have and got rid off to be fair was a joke.
Goalie
Striker
Centre half
Midfielder
In that order of necessity still in my eyes
Can turn a mediocre season into something quite special if they get it right
Every window for four/five seasons we have needed certain positions sorted out, and we have been disappointed, this time round the team has certainly turned around results but oh my word do we need new recruitment
10-01-2025, 03:20 PM
He’s got a lot of resale value and whilst he has silly moments he’s a very competent international footballer who will continue to improve.
I’m not sure there is a lot of resale value in him at the moment. He’d need to improve massively before anyone was paying any kind of decent fee for him. I’m not convinced he should even be playing for Hibs week in, week out never mind us being in a position to sell him.
EGL2000
10-01-2025, 03:28 PM
I’m not sure there is a lot of resale value in him at the moment. He’d need to improve massively before anyone was paying any kind of decent fee for him. I’m not convinced he should even be playing for Hibs week in, week out never mind us being in a position to sell him.
Any full international at his age has at least some value in today's market. I could see him doing well in the MLS who aren't short of cash.
Mcbizz1998
10-01-2025, 03:30 PM
Really? I think he is probably our worst player who starts. Makes just about as many mistakes as Bushiri without being anything near as likeable.
10-01-2025, 03:35 PM
Any full international at his age has at least some value in today's market. I could see him doing well in the MLS who aren't short of cash.
If anyone does see any real value in him they’ll take him before he signs a contract extension here. International or not, I think his value is fairly minimal (and I don’t just mean because he’s out of contract).
andrew70
10-01-2025, 03:56 PM
Really? I think he is probably our worst player who starts. Makes just about as many mistakes as Bushiri without being anything near as likeable.
Not even in the ‘top’ three.
Bushwoof
10-01-2025, 03:57 PM
Agreed. I just don't get the hate at all. He's got good feet, scores goals (and hit the post against the Huns), assists with flicks on at corners, has a long throw - all decent assets. Isn't a horrendous defender either, can't remember him giving away any penalties, and a better tackler than Obita for example.
He wouldn't be getting capped for Australia if he's as bad as some here claim. Who could we afford (and who would want to come) who's so much better? OK, he's not good enough for Liverpool or Man City but we're miles away from that standard. Let's be realistic.
10-01-2025, 04:04 PM
Agreed. I just don't get the hate at all. He's got good feet, scores goals (and hit the post against the Huns), assists with flicks on at corners, has a long throw - all decent assets. Isn't a horrendous defender either, can't remember him giving away any penalties, and a better tackler than Obita for example.
He wouldn't be getting capped for Australia if he's as bad as some here claim. Who could we afford (and who would want to come) who's so much better? OK, he's not good enough for Liverpool or Man City but we're miles away from that standard. Let's be realistic.
He isn't a great defender though, which is his position and main job. He's weak, or looks weak for someone of his size and constantly tries to meg players or take the wrong option in dangerous positions when a pass is on. He's 24 now, not a young laddie anymore.
He is class in the air and I think he's a decent enough player for this level. I'd be hoping we're looking for better come the summer though. If it's a year extension we're triggering as back up, I suppose fair enough.
Hibees1973
10-01-2025, 04:09 PM
Miller.
Take away his poor defensive positioning, diving around, hoisting his breeks up at corners, regular defensive howlers, atrocious passing, he's not too bad.
EGL2000
10-01-2025, 04:18 PM
He isn't a great defender though, which is his position and main job. He's weak, or looks weak for someone of his size and constantly tries to meg players or take the wrong option in dangerous positions when a pass is on. He's 24 now, not a young laddie anymore.
He is class in the air and I think he's a decent enough player for this level. I'd be hoping we're looking for better come the summer though. If it's a year extension we're triggering as back up, I suppose fair enough.
That's the thing that annoys me most. He's clearly a strong guy, but often decides to buy a cheap foul and go down easily. If he just stays up he easily deals with every winger in this league. He is probably the best in the air at the club I'd say, miles better than rocky anyway. I see we have finally started targeting him at the back post for attacking set pieces which is good.
K Kay
10-01-2025, 04:22 PM
But we are playing famous 5 stuff now, all attack and no defence, it’s great to watch. My dad always moaned that the 5 would have won everything if it wasn’t for the defence. I used to remind him that at least he got to see the Hibs win the league 3 times.
A couple of the right signings and we are done at moment.
Hibs have already told us they will mainly be using the British market from now on. Young Mayo from Killie is definitely one we should be looking at and I know he’s not Scot’s but young Nectar is turning into a really good midfielder, I’d be looking to get him on a perm. We’ve struck lucky with the goalie at the moment tho, I’d be leaving that till the summer when we can pick up better.
10-01-2025, 04:30 PM
Miller has added creativity to the way we play the ball from defence. No one else who plays centre back offers this. It was apparent on Sunday, a lot of our good work in the second half came down the right and stemmed from him running with the ball or making a decent pass. Admittedly, he started atrociously, but he showed character to get over that and have a good game.
To my mind he has the attributes to make a very good right sided centre back at our level. Not so sure he offers what we need as a right back or right wingback.
10-01-2025, 04:33 PM
St Johnstone sign 24 year old Panama International midfielder Victor Griffith on an 18 month contract.
10-01-2025, 04:36 PM
St Johnstone sign 24 year old Panama International midfielder Victor Griffith on an 18 month contract.
Every word in that sentence is a surprise😊
10-01-2025, 04:49 PM
On a good week, yes.
Other weeks he looks like he’s rolled out the pub and done us a favour by filling a shirt and making up the numbers.
Annoying, because his ceiling of performance is high.
Even on Sunday he managed to give us 45 minutes at one level and another 45 minutes at the other.
10-01-2025, 04:50 PM
He'd have been as well wearing a loyal blue jersey on Sunday in the first half the number of times he gave them possession. Deservedly got slated, but then improved 2nd half. Chalk and cheese.
10-01-2025, 05:31 PM
Would like to see a new centre half, a new creative midfielder and a new striker come in this window. The fact we are playing a RB as a centre half and kwon in midfield shows how much we are lacking just now. I don't rate Miller or bushiri and ideally I'd want them replaced now but appreciate January isn't the window to do it
andrew70
10-01-2025, 05:34 PM
He'd have been as well wearing a loyal blue jersey on Sunday in the first half the number of times he gave them possession. Deservedly got slated, but then improved 2nd half. Chalk and cheese.
Every pass he made was a forward, progressive pass. I don’t mind my players trying to play forward. He’s a player who definitely takes risks but he’s willing to put himself above the parapet so to speak.
He never stops trying even in adversity. Think that’s why I like him so much.
Second half he was doing the same things but they came off and also nearly scored.
I think he’ll make us a good few quid but understand why others may feel differently.
10-01-2025, 05:39 PM
Every pass he made was a forward, progressive pass. I don’t mind my players trying to play forward. He’s a player who definitely takes risks but he’s willing to put himself above the parapet so to speak.
Second half he was doing the same things but they came off and also nearly scored.
I think he’ll make us a good few quid but understand why others may feel differently.
He passed it straight to a Rangers player in the box in the first few minutes
10-01-2025, 05:41 PM
He passed it straight to a Rangers player in the box in the first few minutes
Aye, but progressively
10-01-2025, 05:44 PM
His first two passes were passbacks to Smith as well as passing straight to a Hun inviting The Rangers press putting us under pressure was reluctant to play the ball forward was as culpable if not more culpable for the two early goals lost as Rocky was a rabbit in the headlights and I would have hooked him after 20 minutes
Improved markedly second half SDG moving to 5 3 2 midway through the first half helped settle him down and we started to get a grip in midfield despite surrendering territory
Not convinced but as others have said is good in the air and had a decent strike from distance second half needs to wear bigger shorts 😀
10-01-2025, 05:47 PM
Miller is a big strong athletic laddie with plenty energy. That will probably get him further in the game than his ability will. I wouldn't be offering him a new deal.
10-01-2025, 05:52 PM
Aye, but progressively
😄😄
BegbieHSC
10-01-2025, 05:59 PM
I want us to have a much more successful transfer window than any we’ve had in recent times, and believe the club should absolutely be doing their due diligence so we’re not stuck with more duds.
BUT
I would think, given we’re 8th (albeit on a great run), 10 days in to the window (78 pages on this thread,) we’d have at least one incoming rumour…
Not worried - just intrigued at the moment, as I was of the impression that we needed quite a few in the door.
Hearts midfielder Cammy Devlin is attracting interest from clubs in England and America, the Edinburgh News can reveal. English Championship outfit Portsmouth and MLS side New York City FC are both keen on the Australian internationalist, who signed a new contract at Tynecastle Park just four months ago.
Devlin's deal runs until summer 2026, but those coveting his signature believe they can invoke a minimum-fee release clause. Interested clubs are convinced they could trigger the 26-year-old's exit from Tynecastle Park with a cash offer of just over £280,000.
Jambos are raging over the leaked details of dirty Devlin's release clause. They should be happy they might get anything for the dirty bassa.
10-01-2025, 06:03 PM
Jambos are raging over the leaked details of dirty Devlin's release clause. They should be happy they might get anything for the dirty bassa.
Their doofus of a manager says rumours etc are ok but leaks not acceptable, then says the facts are wrong, how’s it a leak then? A holes
10-01-2025, 06:04 PM
Their doofus of a manager says rumours etc are ok but leaks not acceptable, then says the facts are wrong, how’s it a leak then? A holes
Exactly what I thought when I read it, total moron 😂
andrew70
10-01-2025, 06:23 PM
His first two passes were passbacks to Smith as well as passing straight to a Hun inviting The Rangers press putting us under pressure was reluctant to play the ball forward was as culpable if not more culpable for the two early goals lost as Rocky was a rabbit in the headlights and I would have hooked him after 20 minutes
Improved markedly second half SDG moving to 5 3 2 midway through the first half helped settle him down and we started to get a grip in midfield despite surrendering territory
Not convinced but as others have said is good in the air and had a decent strike from distance second half needs to wear bigger shorts 😀
Sorry I meant every pass he misplaced was a forward one although I did forget, not conveniently, about the one to the Rangers player. It was early doors though so not going to be too disparaging.
Miller was comfortably man of the match against Killie but he gets no praise.
Anyway I know what I see every week when he plays and it’s a positive player who in the main does well for Hibs.
Others see it differently, all good.
Agree about the shorts, disconcerting 😂😂
10-01-2025, 06:25 PM
Sorry I meant every pass he misplaced was a forward one although I did forget, not conveniently, about the one to the Rangers player. It was early doors though so not going to be too disparaging.
Miller was comfortably man of the match against Killie but he gets no praise.
Anyway I know what I see every week when he plays and it’s a positive player who in the main does well for Hibs.
Others see it differently, all good.
Agree about the shorts, disconcerting 😂😂
Rubbish, i even started a thread on how well he played that game, he was superb and i dont rate him at all?:confused:
andrew70
10-01-2025, 06:28 PM
Rubbish, i even started a thread on how well he played that game, he was superb and i dont rate him at all?:confused:
Fair, then 7 days later he’s useless. Players don’t go up and down like that. He’s got a lot of qualities but he has some brain farts, just the same as many players. He’ll get them ironed out.
Have just watched the clip. 😂😂😂 Yeah, that's hilarious, he's confirming it's an actual leak (as opposed to a rumour) of confidential information about the contract but it's wrong.
https://x.com/STVSport/status/1877769617415791065
Murphys Touch
10-01-2025, 06:32 PM
Miller is perfectly fine in this Hibs team - a bottom 6/mid table team. If that’s what we accept then he is the type of player that we will keep having.
Rocky, Campbell, miller, Kwon will not get us into Europe consistently like our owners keep telling us they want
10-01-2025, 06:43 PM
Wouldn't be fussed if Miller left or not, Cadden has done well in recent weeks, we have Megwa back.
Is a position we have been looking to improve as fans for a while.
Ralphy C
10-01-2025, 06:44 PM
To be fair thats nearly 1000 fans each they would have to cater for if everyone turns up!:greengrin
10-01-2025, 07:21 PM
To be honest I am absolutely gobsmacked that we have not brought anybody in as yet.
It is IMO a complete dereliction of duty.
I hope we haven't convinced ourselves that this recent great run has proven we have turned a corner, IMO we have not, its just simply a case of the breaks and good and bad play evening themselves out over the season to date and could just as easily turn back, especially when you see how threadbare the squad is.
Absolutely no-one could have predicted the extent of this great run and without very nearly every point gained we would be sitting 2nd bottom of the table and in all sorts of trouble, for every good run there is a bad run and we could just as easily be back there.
If the run had not taken place and the guys responsible for recruitment had not had 3 or 4 certain starters ready to go at that time we would have been absolutely ****ed.
I cannot believe we did not have players identified ready to come in asap after 1st Jan.
So the question is, where are they?
If not all then at least some?
If this blows up in their faces there will be fury from the support on a level never seen before.
Mcbizz1998
10-01-2025, 07:25 PM
Not even in the ‘top’ three.
Go on then, who’s worse than him amongst starting players?
10-01-2025, 07:30 PM
Fair, then 7 days later he’s useless. Players don’t go up and down like that. He’s got a lot of qualities but he has some brain farts, just the same as many players. He’ll get them ironed out.
Hold on, you want praise for someone for one game, but no critisicm for another game?:confused:
10-01-2025, 07:32 PM
To be honest I am absolutely gobsmacked that we have not brought anybody in as yet.
I hope we haven't convinced ourselves that this recent great run has proven we have turned a corner, IMO we have not, its just simply a case of the breaks and good and bad play evening themselves out over the season to date and could just as easily turn back, especially when you see how threadbare the squad is.
Absolutely no-one could have predicted the extent of this great run and without very nearly every point gained we would be sitting 2nd bottom of the table and in all sorts of trouble, for every good run there is a bad run and we could just as easily be back there.
If the run had not taken place and the guys responsible for recruitment had not had 3 or 4 certain starters ready to go at that time we would have been absolutely ****ed.
I cannot believe we did not have players identified ready to come in asap after 1st Jan.
If this blows up in their faces there will be fury from the support on a level never seen before.
I’m gobsmacked that anyone is gobsmacked we’ve not brought anyone in.
Thought it was clear as day, whether we agree with it or not, that we’d not be doing much in the way of bringing players in this window. There’ll be a couple but it’ll be later, as it always is with us.
Don’t really see the point in talking about the run not taking place. It has and we have the points. We also have a number of players to come back over the next few weeks which strengthen us.
I absolutely want additions. We need them to help us push up the league. We have more than enough to be well clear of the playoff place though.
10-01-2025, 07:32 PM
Boring.
10-01-2025, 07:38 PM
I’m gobsmacked that anyone is gobsmacked we’ve not brought anyone in.
Thought it was clear as day, whether we agree with it or not, that we’d not be doing much in the way of bringing players in this window. There’ll be a couple but it’ll be later, as it always is with us.
Don’t really see the point in talking about the run not taking place. It has and we have the points. We also have a number of players to come back over the next few weeks which strengthen us.
I absolutely want additions. We need them to help us push up the league. We have more than enough to be well clear of the playoff place though.
That's just it, with the right additions we could make a real push for third or fourth. Fact it doesn't look like we'll be adding much at all in January is disappointing.
10-01-2025, 07:41 PM
I think we all see hysterical posts on here regularly but that's up with the best of them, actually made me laugh. If you thought for a minute there would be a massive turnover in a January window you haven't been paying attention to the January window since it's inception.
Murphys Touch
10-01-2025, 07:41 PM
I understand where you are coming from.
4/5 weeks ago we were on our knees and the club should have identified players we needed to come in right away to improve the squad. If they have done that, then those players will still improve the squad.
We are a suspension, injury, poor form away from being on our knees again.
Hibees1973
10-01-2025, 07:42 PM
Think you might be waiting a while.
10-01-2025, 07:42 PM
That's just it, with the right additions we could make a real push for third or fourth. Fact it doesn't look like we'll be adding much at all in January is disappointing.
Nearly 3 weeks left, plenty time
10-01-2025, 07:48 PM
I think we all see hysterical posts on here regularly but that's up with the best of them, actually made me laugh. If you thought for a minute there would be a massive turnover in a January window you haven't been paying attention to the January window since it's inception.
7 ins and a load of outs last January
10-01-2025, 07:48 PM
I agree with that. The poster I was responding to was making the point that lack of incomings could see us fall back in to trouble. I’ve seen enough to think that won’t be the case with what we have. We’ll get enough points to avoid that IMO.
But yep, I’d have liked us to make some improvements as there is an opportunity there. I’ve just never felt we’d do too much. Think last year it was later in the window as well before we did much.
Hibees1973
10-01-2025, 07:51 PM
Those hoping for new players already.
I suspect the tidy wee run we have been on and Garvan Stewart on board will have halted or delayed a few 'panic' buys early in the window.
I doubt many would have preferred the sacking of Gray then the customary Hibs random, scatter gun approach which has been the norm in the past.
Paulie Walnuts
10-01-2025, 08:00 PM
Good to see you have been paying attention, because HoboHarry certainly hasn’t been.
10-01-2025, 08:02 PM
Good to see you have been paying attention, because HoboHarry certainly hasn’t been.
Can you name the seven?
10-01-2025, 08:06 PM
Motherwell are closing in on the signing of Norwich City goalkeeper Archie Mair on loan until the end of this season.
It's expected the move will be completed ahead of tomorrow's game against Hibernian - as boss Stuart Kettlewell was facing a keeper crisis for the match.
#NCFC
10-01-2025, 08:14 PM
Motherwell are closing in on the signing of Norwich City goalkeeper Archie Mair on loan until the end of this season.
It's expected the move will be completed ahead of tomorrow's game against Hibernian - as boss Stuart Kettlewell was facing a keeper crisis for the match.
#NCFC
Hopefully he plays tomorrow with a 2nd name like that :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
10-01-2025, 08:14 PM
I never thought we’d be anywhere near taking in 7 players this window like the last January one . I’d hoped we’d take in 3 or 4 fairly good signings but I still think that might partly depend on shifting some more out like the bloated midfield we still have . The talk about getting rid of players that are coming out of contract but still contributing I thought was a bit mad as I didn’t see that happening either .
Paulie Walnuts
10-01-2025, 08:17 PM
Can you name the seven?
Moriah Welsh, Marcondes, Maolida, Mayenda, Triantis, Bevan and Amos. Why?
10-01-2025, 08:28 PM
Moriah Welsh, Marcondes, Maolida, Mayenda, Triantis, Bevan and Amos. Why?
Oh I was hoping you could tell me the value of signing 7 players and barely playing 4 of them. Maybe you think 7 bodies in counts as lots of activity, I don't. They could just of easily signed me and my dad, we'd have played as many games as some of them. The January window rarely transforms a season for any team but then you probably already know that.
andrew70
10-01-2025, 08:29 PM
Rocky, Campbell and C.Cadden.
Hold on, you want praise for someone for one game, but no critisicm for another game?:confused:
No it really doesn’t need to be as bi polar as that. He deserves more praise than he gets though.
10-01-2025, 08:37 PM
Oh I was hoping you could tell me the value of signing 7 players and barely playing 4 of them. Maybe you think 7 bodies in counts as lots of activity, I don't. They could just of easily signed me and my dad, we'd have played as many games as some of them. The January window rarely transforms a season for any team but then you probably already know that.
What counts as a lot of activity if getting 7 bodies in isn't?
Nobody said it was a good window just a fairly busy window.
10-01-2025, 08:54 PM
The current injury situation definitely makes things appear worse than they are.
We’re short of strikers… but how many strikers should we really have? Any squad would be stretched with the number of injuries we’ve got up front. With most clubs only playing one true striker, I’d expect the absence of 3 significant players like Myko, Bowie and Youan to have us looking stretched.
We look thin in midfield without Newell but we’re not exactly short of numbers for the position even if legitimate doubts exist about the ability of any deputy to take his place.
The 2 main CBs we signed over the summer are out. That would put pressure on most teams.
Our main GK signing from the summer was a disaster - that’s going to make any team anxious about anything happening to the new first choice.
Assuming that we’ll still see quite a lot of football from the injured players between now and the end of the season, we’re in a slightly fiddly position as we choose what we need to do transfer wise to fix the problems that are huge now, but that might not be as serious in just a matter of weeks.
TrinityHFC
10-01-2025, 08:55 PM
Jeez.
10-01-2025, 09:01 PM
An assist this evening, no idea what kind of game he had though.
Hibees1973
10-01-2025, 09:04 PM
[QUOTE=andrew70;7864194]Rocky, Campbell and C.Cadden.
That is highly debatable.
In fact, it's pants.
10-01-2025, 09:04 PM
There are two scenarios when Hibs fans start getting aggro with each other on the internet.
Bad runs and transfer windows.
Thank God the footballs back again tomorrow.
Fritz
10-01-2025, 09:08 PM
What a ridiculous post. To use your own ‘logic’, if we hadn’t lost nearly all the games we’ve lost we’d be second top. Complete and utter nonsense.
10-01-2025, 09:15 PM
An assist this evening, no idea what kind of game he had though.
Dunno but he didn’t start and came on as a sub for Megwa.
10-01-2025, 09:25 PM
Dunno but he didn’t start and came on as a sub for Megwa.
Any ideas how Megwa did? Hope it's not an injury
Silky
10-01-2025, 09:28 PM
I imagine there will be players out there who we have contacted, who are perhaps weighing up offers from other teams as well. Getting in early doesn't necessarily mean getting the best. As Elvis said, "only fools rush in"
Mcbizz1998
10-01-2025, 09:28 PM
No it really doesn’t need to be as bi polar as that. He deserves more praise than he gets though.
I’ll accept Rocky (They are about as bad as each other), the other 2, not a chance 😂
I imagine there will be players out there who we have contacted, who are perhaps weighing up offers from other teams as well. Getting in early doesn't necessarily mean getting the best. As Elvis said, "only fools rush in"Surely it doesn't work like that. It's always been a theme on here since the first ever transfer window that all you need to do is press a few buttons, swap a few tokens and that's it, player signed - like a computer game.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Every transfer window there are posts like this from people that don't seem to understand there are several factors outwith the club's control that determine when a deal is done. Yeah I'm sure they could have done numerous deals by now but not for players they particulary want. 100s of clubs will be concluding deals between now and transfer deadline day, does that mean all those clubs are incompetent for not having those deals done by now?
10-01-2025, 09:33 PM
He gets praise when he plays well, he gets stick when he doesnt, its not rocket science.
He falls over when someone farts in the east stand, maybe thats why he's had more stick recently?
Paulie Walnuts
10-01-2025, 09:33 PM
You were hoping I’d tell you that so you asked me something completely different?
I’m sure you don’t view 7 signings in and 9 players out as lots of activity. I absolutely believe every word. :agree:
10-01-2025, 10:21 PM
There are two scenarios when Hibs fans start getting aggro with each other on the internet.
Bad runs and transfer windows.
Thank God the footballs back again tomorrow.
3: allegations surrounding motives for calling players a “bombscare”.
10-01-2025, 10:32 PM
I’m pretty relaxed about the incomers and outgoings. Gray and his team will be on it. He’s wiser than when he came in and will buy players who will enhance the squad rather than filling it up with more mediocre performers.
If we stuck with him when he turned round a terrible run which lasted two seasons, then we can probably kick back a bit and enjoy the window, trusting in SDG
Donegal Hibby
10-01-2025, 10:49 PM
Clubs no doubt working hard to move some players out in order to get some in , two or three good players with ones coming back especially Bowie who will also be like a new signing will see us improve hopefully. I’ve seen in a few articles like this one in the EEN that if a player with the X-Factor comes available we might try , hopefully see a Marquee signing possibly 🤞….
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/inside-track-hibs-january-transfer-window-strategy-boss-reveals-x-factor-ambition-talent-search-4936758
11-01-2025, 04:44 AM
Clubs no doubt working hard to move some players out in order to get some in , two or three good players with ones coming back especially Bowie who will also be like a new signing will see us improve hopefully. I’ve seen in a few articles like this one in the EEN that if a player with the X-Factor comes available we might try , hopefully see a Marquee signing possibly 🤞….
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/inside-track-hibs-january-transfer-window-strategy-boss-reveals-x-factor-ambition-talent-search-4936758
That would be intents 😁
11-01-2025, 06:25 AM
If I was in the Black Knights circle I'd be saying:
* winning the Scottish Cup trumps 3rd in the league for European football/ riches
* rangers are beatable (especially away from ibrox) and none of the teams 3rd downwards are different from our level
* celtic could (could) get a Cup draw that coincides with a huge European tie, where the European double header takes priority for them
That all makes it the most winnable Cup in years & a bit investment in centre midfield would be the recommendation
11-01-2025, 09:16 AM
Wonder if Gray will go for Attacking Mid 🤔
Roxyhibee
11-01-2025, 09:33 AM
I really think we need to be looking for a proven striker this window as a priority. Not easy to find of course, but if we don’t, I feel we may regret it. For various reasons, Bowie, Khuchy and Gayle cannot be relied on at this point to take us to the end of the season. Bowie could come back strong, that would be fantastic and Kuchy could flourish in our new system but it’s all a bit risky and I’d happily not sign anyone else just to get in someone who can cause teams problems up front.
Rocky, 2.5 years and hardly improved, Miller big athletic lump still can't pass and still makes loads of errors. These 2 and a few others like O'Hora, Kwon etc, are the reason we've struggled and will continue to struggle until they're replaced with better.
11-01-2025, 10:12 AM
The starting point has to be the preferred formation and the players under contract for next season. That determines where we need to recruit in both January and the summer. If we can get a player on a pre-contract then I'd be fine with a bid to get that player here for the rest of this season.
Assuming Gray sticks with the 3-4-1-2, and assuming Vente and Tavares will leave, our squad for 25/26 is -
GK (2) - Smith, ???
CH (5) - Ekpitetata, Iredale, O'Hora, ???, ???
RWB (2) - ???, ???
LWB (2) - Cadden, Obita
CM (6) - Newell, Campbell, Molotnikov, ???, ???, ???
FW (5) - Bowie, Youan, ???, ???, ???
There are a lot of gaps to be filled by either new players or retaining existing players. I don't know if any of the youth players will make the step up. And most of us expect Youan to be sold.
So we have space to keep Rocky, Triantis, Boyle and one of Cadden or Miller if we want whilst still improving the squad overall.
11-01-2025, 10:15 AM
Rocky, 2.5 years and hardly improved, Miller big athletic lump still can't pass and still makes loads of errors. These 2 and a few others like O'Hora, Kwon etc, are the reason we've struggled and will continue to struggle until they're replaced with better.
Whilst acknowledging the obvious mistakes he’s made in the games he’s played, I wouldn’t say we’ve struggled with Rocky in the team this season - quite the opposite. The team’s form and results since Rocky came back into the side has been the sort of form that we are aspiring to as being the end goal, top 3 form. He’s got obvious stuff in his game he needs to improve, but if we as a club could bottle what we’ve had for the past couple of months and play a variation on that for eternity, I’d be thrilled, and Rocky has contributed to the good of that spell as well as some bad.
11-01-2025, 10:35 AM
Rocky has improved year on year was total gash when he first arrived is the first name on the team sheet now and will be offered a new contract despite his recent lapses but really needs to eradicate them from his game in the run in
Agree re all the rest
11-01-2025, 10:45 AM
The starting point has to be the preferred formation and the players under contract for next season. That determines where we need to recruit in both January and the summer. If we can get a player on a pre-contract then I'd be fine with a bid to get that player here for the rest of this season.
Assuming Gray sticks with the 3-4-1-2, and assuming Vente and Tavares will leave, our squad for 25/26 is -
GK (2) - Smith, ???
CH (5) - Ekpitetata, Iredale, O'Hora, Rocky, ???
RWB (2) - Miller, Cadden
LWB (2) - Cadden, Obita
CM (6) - Newell, Campbell, Molotnikov, ???, ???, ???
FW (5) - Bowie, Boyle (assuming Youan will be away), ???, ???, ???
There are a lot of gaps to be filled by either new players or retaining existing players. I don't know if any of the youth players will make the step up. And most of us expect Youan to be sold.
So we have space to keep Rocky, Triantis, Boyle and one of Cadden or Miller if we want whilst still improving the squad overall.
We’ve still got the following contracted players to move on or loan out. Levitt, NMW, Megwa, Vente, Tavares, Johnson, Delfierre? Other than the two youngsters we’ll probably have to take a financial hit in some form on the rest or freeze them out.
If we keep all of Miller, Cadden, Rocky & Boyle I suspect all we will really see different next season, in the starting 11 anyway, is a new keeper, new centre mid in between Newell & Campbell and another option to compete with Bowie & Boyle.
Whatever we do I really hope Cadden & Miller don’t get renewals. Renew them all and I wouldn’t be all that surprised to see Newell leading a players meeting to turn our season around for a 3rd season in a row.
11-01-2025, 11:24 AM
We’ve still got the following contracted players to move on or loan out. Levitt, NMW, Megwa, Vente, Tavares, Johnson, Delfierre? Other than the two youngsters we’ll probably have to take a financial hit in some form on the rest or freeze them out.
If we keep all of Miller, Cadden, Rocky & Boyle I suspect all we will really see different next season, in the starting 11 anyway, is a new keeper, new centre mid in between Newell & Campbell and another option to compete with Bowie & Boyle.
Whatever we do I really hope Cadden & Miller don’t get renewals. Renew them all and I wouldn’t be all that surprised to see Newell leading a players meeting to turn our season around for a 3rd season in a row.
Maybe I'm misremembering things but did Malky Mackay not talk last summer of the 2025 transfer window being the big opportunity to make changes because so many Hibs players were out of contract? Kind of implied there would a a bit of a clear out to make way for new blood.
11-01-2025, 11:27 AM
Rocky has improved year on year was total gash when he first arrived is the first name on the team sheet now and will be offered a new contract despite his recent lapses but really needs to eradicate them from his game in the run in
Agree re all the rest
What do our coaching staff do all day long? He's always had a tendency to rush out of position, to let the ball bounce over his head, to try and be too fancy when all that is needed is to boot the ball into row 20 and to give attackers too much time and space. I haven't really noticed significant improvement in these elements of his game. Great guy, though.
Edinburgh Green
11-01-2025, 11:31 AM
Anyone heard the name Diego Garcia being mentioned? Leganes striker.
11-01-2025, 11:31 AM
Still holding out hope of a 2018 style Allan, Kamberi and Maclaren window this year. Get through today with a win then surely some movement next week.
11-01-2025, 11:35 AM
Maybe I'm misremembering things but did Malky Mackay not talk last summer of the 2025 transfer window being the big opportunity to make changes because so many Hibs players were out of contract? Kind of implied there would a a bit of a clear out to make way for new blood.
He did, and from last summer to this summer we will have been able to move on: Wollacot, Mackay, Henderson, Harbottle, Hanlon, Stevenson, ALF. Kenneh & JDH this window. With Amos, McKirdy, Boruc this summer. Plus probably Hoilett & Gayle.
That’s a lot of deadwood moved to on, but only highlights the mess we got ourselves in when you look at the squad if we renew Miller, Cadden, Rocky & Boyle. With more deadwood still hanging around.
11-01-2025, 11:38 AM
Every transfer window there are posts like this from people that don't seem to understand there are several factors outwith the club's control that determine when a deal is done. Yeah I'm sure they could have done numerous deals by now but not for players they particulary want. 100s of clubs will be concluding deals between now and transfer deadline day, does that mean all those clubs are incompetent for not having those deals done by now?
Agreed, but surely our status now as part of a ‘football group’ should give us more clout in a transfer window?
I understand these things take time, but yet again I’m wondering what benefits the Black Knights bring us.
EGL2000
11-01-2025, 11:39 AM
Looks very meh. One goal scored this season. Only one real prolific season was in the Spanish 3rd division.
11-01-2025, 11:46 AM
He did, and from last summer to this summer we will have been able to move on: Wollacot, Mackay, Henderson, Harbottle, Hanlon, Stevenson, ALF. Kenneh & JDH this window. With Amos, McKirdy, Boruc this summer. Plus probably Hoilett & Gayle.
That’s a lot of deadwood moved to on, but only highlights the mess we got ourselves in when you look at the squad if we renew Miller, Cadden, Rocky & Boyle. With more deadwood still hanging around.
We did have a whole forest of deadwood that needed clearing, so still work to be done IMO even taking into account the names you have mentioned. So I'm still ambivalent about the talk of Rocky and Miller, nae offence boys, getting extensions.
11-01-2025, 11:47 AM
From a Sheffield Wednesday journo. I wonder who the team/teams in Scotland may be ( not suggesting it should be Hibs)
🚨Understand clubs from League One and the Scottish Premiership are among the clubs interested in Owls former #MUFC starlet Charlie McNeill.
In-house development going well. Wednesday will have a decision to make in the next weeks👇
thestar.co.uk//sport/footbal…
#SWFC🦉
11-01-2025, 11:48 AM
Is that not an island in the Chagos archipelago? :greengrin
Is that not the American Air base in the Indian Ocean :cb
11-01-2025, 01:07 PM
I covered Vente and Tavares as well as mentioning that the youths (eg Megwa, Johnson) may not be ready yet.
That leaves Levitt, Moriah-Welsh and Delferriere and I thought they're out of contract. Apparently not but still difficult to see them being involved next season.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 01:16 PM
Boyce leaving Hearts for NI is an odd one. Had he not just replaced Shankland and helped them to a couple of wins?
Or is it a personal/family thing? Seems like step down otherwise - although you can't really go any lower than Hearts.
Paul1642
11-01-2025, 03:58 PM
Boyce leaving Hearts for NI is an odd one. Had he not just replaced Shankland and helped them to a couple of wins?
Or is it a personal/family thing? Seems like step down otherwise - although you can't really go any lower than Hearts.
Out of contact at the end of the season at which time he would be 34. Can’t blame him for taking what he can get.
11-01-2025, 05:19 PM
What do our coaching staff do all day long? He's always had a tendency to rush out of position, to let the ball bounce over his head, to try and be too fancy when all that is needed is to boot the ball into row 20 and to give attackers too much time and space. I haven't really noticed significant improvement in these elements of his game. Great guy, though.
Positioning has been better since he came back into the side which has been significant to a change in our fortunes this season only time I have seen him let the ball bounce over his head was twice last week has improved season on season is a good listener his attitude is first class has good organisational skills is a threat in the opposition box this season yes he does make errors but he is not alone was imperious today and led by example
75% of your fellow posters want him to stay
SDG is probably drawing up his contract extension as I type this :greengrin
11-01-2025, 05:48 PM
Step up to a bigger club.
Cabbage-Patch
11-01-2025, 06:00 PM
Lack of any sort of rumours is worrying me a bit. Our bench was threadbare today again. I know we have a few injuries but my concern is given the recent upturn in form the board may be thinking this group can limp us through to the summer and then we can properly rebuild.
We need a CB, Centre Mid and a striker minimum this window
Paul1642
11-01-2025, 06:06 PM
Lack of any sort of rumours is worrying me a bit. Our bench was threadbare today again. I know we have a few injuries but my concern is given the recent upturn in form the board may be thinking this group can limp us through to the summer and then we can properly rebuild.
Most of our summer signings came completely out of the blue without any hint of them happening on here prior to the announcement.
I would certainly like a incoming player or two for the Clydebank game as it’s good game to break them in, and the lack of rumours doesn’t make we worry too much as it’s hopefully just more an indication that the club have gotten on top of leaks.
11-01-2025, 06:07 PM
I think information has been a bit harder to come by for a couple of windows now.
No solid rumours is not evidence of no work.
I doubt the board are resting on their laurels given the rocky start we had. Gray and the boys have shown there is real opportunity here. A couple of astute signings can see us have a really good season.
Donegal Hibby
11-01-2025, 06:07 PM
I’m not sure we do need a CB , certainly a Mid and Striker though .
11-01-2025, 06:09 PM
Gray has already said there will be more ins than outs did he not? Personally I'd rather see some signings out of the blue than daft rumors on .net which are posters imaginations running riot for the most part.
Cabbage-Patch
11-01-2025, 06:12 PM
Gray has already said there will be more ins than outs did he not? Personally I'd rather see some signings out of the blue than daft rumors on .net which are posters imaginations running riot for the most part.
Must have missed that quote from him. Fair enough
Paul1642
11-01-2025, 06:12 PM
A couple of astute signings can see us have a really good season.
Last year at this time the flaws in our starting 11 were clear to see and Maolida simply papered over the cracks and definitely saved us from finishing lower.
This time a year on we have a better starting 11 IMO although depth is clearly an issue, a better manager and a much more of a feelgood factor. 2 more signings of Maolida and Marcondes’ quality would quite likely propel us to 3rd or 4th I think.
For clarity I don’t know what out points total was last season after 23 games but even if it was marginally more or similar, I still believe we are in a better position this year than last.
11-01-2025, 06:15 PM
Hi
How many games unbeaten? Some limp.
11-01-2025, 06:23 PM
And a goalie. Smith doesn’t look like a long term solution.
raeburnhibs
11-01-2025, 06:28 PM
Threadbare? Yet we were able to bring on Obita, Hoillett, Moriah Welsh and Kwon?
We should still strengthen
11-01-2025, 06:32 PM
With youan Bowie and Myko close to returning and Boyle, Gayle and Mckirdy still here I'm not sure there's room unless a couple leave, a Moilida type would be ideal if possible
Cabbage-Patch
11-01-2025, 06:32 PM
Threadbare? Yet we were able to bring on Obita, Hoillett, Moriah Welsh and Kwon?
Moriah Welsh wouldn't be getting game time if it weren't for the injuries. Same with Kwon. McKirdy still being on the bench shows the lack of options up top also. So yes threadbare in my opinion
We should also really be looking at a keeper because if Smith was to get injured then we are bang in trouble
11-01-2025, 06:33 PM
Hoilett came on as a striker because the only decent recognised striker currently available is a 35 year old in the final months of his career.
11-01-2025, 06:38 PM
Hoilett came on as a striker because the only decent recognised striker currently available is a 35 year old in the final months of his career.
Tbf Kuchy & Bowie will be back shortly.
11-01-2025, 09:37 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Alexander Jensen to Aberdeen is ON as Jimmy Thelin lands his main man after bumper fee triggers deal | @ScottBurns75
dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…
Some amount of money Aberdeen are spending.
11-01-2025, 09:51 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Alexander Jensen to Aberdeen is ON as Jimmy Thelin lands his main man after bumper fee triggers deal | @ScottBurns75
dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…
Some amount of money Aberdeen are spending.
Would be funny if they spent all this money only to end up in the bottom 6.
800k certainly chucking it around
andrew_dundee
11-01-2025, 10:21 PM
Last January (and the summer) the signings came with little speculation, and were generally good (and in Maiolida's case excellent), so I'm not too worried on that front.
Happy to keep Chris Cadden. I think he's a useful player and, like his brother, gets good balls in etc. Also if it helps us to keep Nicky in the long run then all the better.
There are definitely players we could do without and who I would rather lose from the books first (Vente, Tavares, McKirdy, Delfierre etc)
Hibees1973
11-01-2025, 10:39 PM
Is that not an island in the Chagos archipelago? :greengrin
Christ.
Hope Ian Gordon's not back on one of his scouting missions again.
PHeffernan
12-01-2025, 12:04 AM
Bowie and Kuharevych will all be fit for our next league game in 2 weeks.
Youan will be miraculously fit for the game after that if not sold.
Then Newell and top defender Erik Potato will be fit for the following league game after that.
That's half an outfield team of some of our best players to what we had today if Youan isn't sold.
I see no point in bringing in players at the moment unless they would be starters on front of what we already have.
Only position I think we can make an easy improvement is goalkeeper.
Smith has done fine since losing the 1st goal in his first start but I think we can find better.
12-01-2025, 07:20 AM
Then Newell and top defender Erik Potato will be fit for the following league game after that.
That's half an outfield team of some of our best players to what we had today if Youan isn't sold.
I see no point in bringing in players at the moment unless they would be starters on front of what we already have.
Smith has done fine since losing the 1st goal in his first start but I think we can find better.
Whats this Erik potato nonsense you keep posting, thats a few times now, just say the guys nane
12-01-2025, 08:24 AM
Whats this Erik potato nonsense you keep posting, thats a few times now, just say the guys nane
Yeah a bit random in a few posts - guy deserves more respect.
12-01-2025, 08:30 AM
Whats this Erik potato nonsense you keep posting, that's a few times now, just say the guys nane
Yeah a bit random in a few posts - guy deserves more respect.
I'm guessing it's just a joke? Not too different to the 'jacket potata' chat not long after he signed?
Edit; just properly read the post, maybe not!
12-01-2025, 08:31 AM
The Youan pish is pretty dire too.
Ribs1875
12-01-2025, 08:55 AM
Smith keeps the gloves for just now, we are winning games and now got into the top 6th. I say don't fix what doesn't need fixed. Long may our run continue.
Megwa signed a new contract just a few months ago, he’ll not be going anywhere
Walter
12-01-2025, 10:07 AM
Tin hat on but I'd like Vente back. I've got a gut feeling about him
12-01-2025, 10:32 AM
Tin hat on but I'd like Vente back. I've got a gut feeling about him
👍 think he would do well with Gayle
12-01-2025, 10:39 AM
Well in terms of the glass half empty/half full analogy this week the transfer window will be half shut/half open.
Does anything think we'll hear any real rumours, see any incomings/outgoings? Are we optimistic or pessimistic? :hyper :bitchy: ?
12-01-2025, 10:43 AM
He was at fault for their goal yesterday. His positioning was ridiculous.
12-01-2025, 10:51 AM
Just found out the January window closes on the 3rd of February. Panic over 😁
12-01-2025, 11:32 AM
It was hit right at Obita and he jumped out of the way. Doesn't get a read on the flight of the ball.
12-01-2025, 11:53 AM
From Scott Burns
🔵⚪️Kilmarnock set to sign Calvin Ramsay on-loan from Liverpool.🔵⚪️
12-01-2025, 11:55 AM
From Scott Burns
🔵⚪️Kilmarnock set to sign Calvin Ramsay on-loan from Liverpool.🔵⚪️
I was keen for us to sign him until I found out he couldn’t oust Sibbick out of the Wigan starting XI. Don’t think we need him.
Surprised the headline wasn’t Killie beat Hibs to Liverpool loanee!
12-01-2025, 12:35 PM
His setting up of the wall was poor too
Hibernian2105
12-01-2025, 12:40 PM
Plymouth fan saying we’re interested in ‘julio pleguezuelo’ from them?
27yo Spanish centre half valued at £1.3m
ErinGoBraghHFC
12-01-2025, 12:42 PM
I know absolutely nothing about this guy but I want him in a hibs jersey by the end of the week. What an incredible name.
12-01-2025, 12:49 PM
5'10 cb 👀
12-01-2025, 12:51 PM
5'10 cb 👀
Martinez at Man Utd is 5'9".
12-01-2025, 12:52 PM
5'10 cb 👀
:agree: Need to avoid him like the plegue
12-01-2025, 12:58 PM
The rumour is from Alan Nixon, so probably not much in it.
https://pasoti.co.uk/threads/pleguezuelo-to-hibs.131168/
LEaston87
12-01-2025, 01:05 PM
https://youtu.be/SauF59V7RO0
He looks great on the ball, not much highlights for his defensive ability though
12-01-2025, 01:12 PM
Yassss! A rumour! We 100% need a CB. Played plenty in the English Championship and in the Eredivisie, so a good standard.
Out of contract this summer so maybe a pre-contract then small fee to Plymouth if true.
kentao
12-01-2025, 01:13 PM
Looks a decent player from the highlight reel reminds me of Porto the way he brings the ball out from defence to start attacks which could be very useful if we are sticking 3-5-2, He looks to be able to dribble past players with ease, Plymouth fans are full of praise about his effort and commitment. could be an interesting signing
PHeffernan
12-01-2025, 01:13 PM
A 5ft 10in centre half doesn't correlate with our obvious current strategy of adding height to our team.
Triantes, Kwon, Bowie, Kuharevych, Ekpiteta, O'Hora,and Iredale were all added in the summer.
12-01-2025, 01:19 PM
A 5ft 10in centre half doesn't correlate with our obvious current strategy of adding height to our team.
Triantes, Kwon, Bowie, Kuharevych, Ekpiteta, O'Hora,and Iredale were all added in the summer.
We may well have a new strategy now Stewart is head of recruitment.
Really hope we make a move for Allan Campbell as well.
12-01-2025, 01:20 PM
If we're going to continue with three at the back maybe doesn't matter so much if one is a bit smaller.
12-01-2025, 01:26 PM
If we're going to continue with three at the back maybe doesn't matter so much if one is a bit smaller.
How tall is Paul Hanlon, don't think he's much taller than 5 10
Paul1642
12-01-2025, 01:27 PM
Still no Clark in the the Hearts squad. Wonder if there is something in the rumours of us getting him on a pre contract
12-01-2025, 01:28 PM
How tall is Paul Hanlon, don't think he's much taller than 5 10
5'11 , been told that inch can make the difference.
12-01-2025, 01:30 PM
5'11 , been told that inch can make the difference.
I've been told it doesn't matter, thankfully
SonOfDavidFrancey
12-01-2025, 01:30 PM
Pleguezelo: Went to Arsenal at 18, can make scrambled eggs and speaks pretty good English.
https://youtu.be/_482Cl1TI6s?si=opbrKjiRue9oip4O
EVENTUALLY
12-01-2025, 01:56 PM
https://youtu.be/SauF59V7RO0
He looks great on the ball, not much highlights for his defensive ability though
Think he could be quickly coached to be a very good defensive midfielder. Decent height for that position and looks very comfortable on the ball.
Hibernian2105
12-01-2025, 02:03 PM
Yassss! A rumour! We 100% need a CB. Played plenty in the English Championship and in the Eredivisie, so a good standard.
Out of contract this summer so maybe a pre-contract then small fee to Plymouth if true.
“Hibernian want to sign Pleguezuelo in a bargain deal this month, with it now down to the player to decide on the move, as Argyle are willing and ready to sell him to the Edinburgh club.”
Article suggests it would be this window
Donegal Hibby
12-01-2025, 02:04 PM
Just after reading this …
https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/hibernian-set-to-swoop-for-plymouth-argyle-man-pleguezuelo/
12-01-2025, 02:10 PM
A lot of positive comments on the Plymouth fans form.
Saying he’s really good in a back 3 and he’s been brilliant of late since he got an actual run in the team
Looks like he’s be an O’Hora replacement though?
12-01-2025, 02:18 PM
I was thinking yesterday that we really need someone better on the ball in Ohoras position
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Paulie Walnuts
12-01-2025, 02:24 PM
Not sure why he’d be coming here. Seems to play a reasonable amount of games for Plymouth, is back in the team after a spell on the bench etc.
Looks in interesting signing on paper, just not sure I see it happening.
12-01-2025, 02:25 PM
I was thinking yesterday that we really need someone better on the ball in Ohoras position
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Playing alongside Victor Palsson in the Argyle defence yesterday! As they knocked Brentford out of the cup. Some result to get a clean sheet against that opponent.
12-01-2025, 02:27 PM
Think he could be quickly coached to be a very good defensive midfielder. Decent height for that position and looks very comfortable on the ball.Hes no even signed yet and folk want to turn him into a defensive midfielder [emoji23]
Think I've seen folk on here wanting Hanlon, Efe, Porteous and Rocky all in midfield in the last few years
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
As someone said at last a rumour, not one I can happening to be honest.
12-01-2025, 03:25 PM
Playing alongside Victor Palsson in the Argyle defence yesterday! As they knocked Brentford out of the cup. Some result to get a clean sheet against that opponent.
Surely not the guy who played for us??? He would be a fair age now!!
Willis1875
12-01-2025, 03:28 PM
Only 33 I think, he’s had himself a very decent career
This is going to be a pen for hearts
VAR check nae penalty.
Paul1642
12-01-2025, 03:43 PM
Just after reading this …
https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/hibernian-set-to-swoop-for-plymouth-argyle-man-pleguezuelo/
Had a wee look into him and on the face of it would be a pretty exciting signing IMO.
Not ITK whatsoever but got hunch it’s just a nothing rumour.
12-01-2025, 04:03 PM
Had a wee look into him and on the face of it would be a pretty exciting signing IMO.
It's an Alan Nixon rumour so you're probably right.
12-01-2025, 04:07 PM
It's an Alan Nixon rumour so you're probably right.
He's not completely awful when it comes to us, is he? Pretty sure he got the McKirdy one spot on and a few others?
I'm just happy with a rumour. Hopefully a good few more to come!
12-01-2025, 04:08 PM
He's not completely awful when it comes to us, is he? Pretty sure he got the McKirdy one spot on and a few others?
I'm just happy with a rumour. Hopefully a good few more to come!
He gets vastly more wrong than he gets right. :greengrin
Ribs1875
12-01-2025, 04:08 PM
The only thing I'd question is he is 28 later on this month and so far played a total of 161 senior appearances, which is a bit short of the mark. Seems to have played a decent bit in the last couple of years though. Wonder if it'll come of anything.
12-01-2025, 04:09 PM
Suppose, everywhere was reporting the McKirdy one. Seems to only be Nixon reporting this one.
12-01-2025, 04:12 PM
Suppose, everywhere was reporting the McKirdy one. Seems to only be Nixon reporting this one.
Yeah - he's Scottish but based down south. NO journos here seem to be reporting it.
12-01-2025, 04:18 PM
When your job is to report on football rumours, it’s to be expected you’ll get more wrong than right as deals break down all the time.
I’m assuming there’s something in it based on the rumours doing the rounds on Friday we were close to signing a Spanish defender.
12-01-2025, 04:22 PM
Yeah, he was only 20 or something when he was with us, nice to see him playing at a decent level in europe, i must admit i had forgotten all about him.
PHeffernan
12-01-2025, 04:35 PM
Only 33 I think, he’s had himself a very decent career
He has but never stays anywhere for long. Has generally played 2 seasons at each club before moving on.
More than 12 years since Victor was at Hibs. He is 34 at the end of April.
PHeffernan
12-01-2025, 04:44 PM
A lot of positive comments on the Plymouth fans form.
Saying he’s really good in a back 3 and he’s been brilliant of late since he got an actual run in the team
The Spanish guy would be a Rocky or possibly O'Hora replacement.
He's out of contract at the end of this season so Hibs could sign him on a pre contract which would make him a seamless swap for Rocky in the summer.
Alternatively he is a replacement for O'Hora but that has a whole lot more moveable parts and issues. O'Hora has moved to Edinburgh, lock stock and barrel. His wife has had a baby and the player has a long contract with Hibs. That combination would not point at a player that would be keen to move
Donegal Hibby
12-01-2025, 05:33 PM
According to the sun some second tier club in Turkey are interested in Shankland .
You'd think he'd have had enough stuffing since Boxing Day.
Hibs4185
12-01-2025, 05:41 PM
Chuck in 40,000 hair Grafts for his forehead and it’s a deal
12-01-2025, 05:43 PM
You'd think he'd have had enough stuffing since Boxing Day.
All that lovely shawarma, he’ll come back at 16 stone
12-01-2025, 05:44 PM
He has but never stays anywhere for long. Has generally played 2 seasons at each club before moving on.
Looked very good for a few games, then his form capitulated🫤
12-01-2025, 05:47 PM
“Hibernian want to sign Pleguezuelo in a bargain deal this month, with it now down to the player to decide on the move, as Argyle are willing and ready to sell him to the Edinburgh club.”
Article suggests it would be this window
So the rumours about us signing a Spanish striker were 50% true.
12-01-2025, 05:54 PM
Surely he is better than thst sHe should just stay and sign tgst bumper new contract he was offerred lol
12-01-2025, 06:02 PM
All that lovely shawarma, he’ll come back at 16 stone
I doubt he’ll lose weight over there…
12-01-2025, 06:14 PM
Surely he is better than thst sHe should just stay and sign tgst bumper new contract he was offerred lol
Going by your typing you must have about 8 thumbs - are you one of thae Jambo lurkers on here? :greengrin
Mcbizz1998
12-01-2025, 06:33 PM
My brother in law is from down near Plymouth, he’s a spurs fan but Argyle are very much his second team. His thoughts on the boy Pleguezuelo.
‘Think it would be a daft move by Argyle. He came in like 3 years ago, fell out of favour and was just starting to get back into the team. Ex-Arsenal youth centre back. Would leave Argyle in an actual defensive crisis as they’ve just sold their best CB so doubt anything would happen before they get another in. Think the new manager wants to play 3 CBs and they wouldn’t have 3 senior if Pleguezuelo was sold.’
Make of that what you will!
12-01-2025, 06:37 PM
According to the sun some second tier club in Turkey are interested in Shankland .These stories are often lost in translation but I think I heard somewhere that Shankland is definitely interested in turkeys, with all the trimmings.
PHeffernan
12-01-2025, 06:48 PM
I believe he has the same injury as Youan, transferitis.
12-01-2025, 07:26 PM
I remember him having a running battle with Goodwin v St mirren at ER one afternoon. Was very funny.
12-01-2025, 08:04 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1878546222077592063?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Aberdeen signing young centre half on loan from Spurs
12-01-2025, 08:10 PM
These stories are often lost in translation but I think I heard somewhere that Shankland is definitely interested in turkeys, with all the trimmings.
Get off his case. In this day and age there should be no shame about what goes on behind your own curtains.
12-01-2025, 08:11 PM
Get off his case. In this day and age there should be no shame about what goes on behind your own curtains.[emoji23]