View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2024/25
03-02-2025, 10:06 PM
Great window. Managed to get rid of quite possibly one of the worse signings ever made in club history. 250k and contributed nothing.
I think the total will be close to or beyond 1 million when you factor in his wages, staggering amount for hee haw in return
03-02-2025, 10:07 PM
What a convenient defence for those making the calls and their apologists on here. We employ an array of staff at some cost specifically to identify players and try to secure them. In this context I’m guessing they either decided we didn’t need any, or they failed to identify them or they failed to persuade them. Unless we’re out of money…
Very disappointed, little strengthening and third almost guaranteed, think we can still do it but would have been easier
03-02-2025, 10:07 PM
We’ve done a good job recently of moving on players not in the plans.
Definitely and much needed. Shame we didn’t get any signings over the line but happy to see a couple of departures and think we actually have enough in the tank to finish strongly. Sitting with a large, cask strength, Glenlivet and the world feels all the better for today’s business.
03-02-2025, 10:08 PM
Let's not get you doing the teams talks anyway
Cool story.
Ribs1875
03-02-2025, 10:08 PM
So long we continue the consistency of the last 12 games until the end of the season and finish with our heads held high then I'll be happy. I am sure in the summer we will generate money from the inevitable sales of Vente and Youan. Lots out of contract, some maybe worth keeping for another season. This summer is massive, especially considering there is likely an overspill of transfer money being carried over from this season.
ElginHibbie
03-02-2025, 10:09 PM
Cool story.
Thanks m8
TrinityHFC
03-02-2025, 10:09 PM
What a convenient defence for those making the calls and their apologists on here. We employ an array of staff at some cost specifically to identify players and try to secure them. In this context I’m guessing they either decided we didn’t need any, or they failed to identify them or they failed to persuade them. Unless we’re out of money…
Apologists is quite a telling word.
I think some people just try and rationalise what the thinking is and make a judgement from there. Perhaps recognising that people are doing what they think is best rather than assuming the worst of everyone.
I don’t think any of the people actually having to do the jobs and make the decisions based on the reality of what we already have, what is available and what plans we have for the summer need anyone on here to apologise for them.
USA_Hibee
03-02-2025, 10:11 PM
Good luck to the players who have left.
Jock O
03-02-2025, 10:12 PM
Or these identified went somewhere else as they were offered more, or it was a more attractive club to them. Despite our local green tinted glasses, the better quality we seek the harder sell we probably need to make, and not sure our current position makes that as easy as it could be. Alternatively we could have have just paid them what they want, but then they may have still chosen alternative offers and we have people screaming at the losses we make. There is no easy answer to this despite what people seem to think, its part of an ongoing process, to use that familiar phrase. We just can't count on getting everyone we want just because we want.
You are desperate to imply it is all the clubs fault, when as usual no-one really knows.
21sMay
03-02-2025, 10:12 PM
Have we said we are done ?
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2025, 10:13 PM
Moved on some players that we needed too while keeping Youan and Rocky and adding a new midfielder … not been a bad transfer window IMO .
1875Sean
03-02-2025, 10:15 PM
We HAVE mutually consented McKirdy.
Thank ****, one of the worst signing in recent memory
Ribs1875
03-02-2025, 10:15 PM
Moved on some players that we needed too while keeping Youan and Rocky and adding a new midfielder … not been a bad transfer window IMO .
Rocky had a bid in for him that we rejected. Wonder who and what was bidded. He's one I'd keep on give him a years contract with a club optional extension.
03-02-2025, 10:16 PM
https://youtu.be/wbmT6cT7_3U?si=VffhLrXMhjwPVR3v
Hopefully see some of this until the summer
1875Sean
03-02-2025, 10:17 PM
Rocky had a bid in for him that we rejected. Wonder who and what was bidded. He's one I'd keep on give him a years contract with a club optional extension.
Not heard any bid from rocky, where has that came from?
03-02-2025, 10:18 PM
Apologists is quite a telling word.
I think some people just try and rationalise what the thinking is and make a judgement from there. Perhaps recognising that people are doing what they think is best rather than assuming the worst of everyone.
I don’t think any of the people actually having to do the jobs and make the decisions based on the reality of what we already have, what is available and what plans we have for the summer need anyone on here to apologise for them.
And yet they do.
PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 10:19 PM
and Harry McKirdy :greengrin
The skateboarding free agent from hell :aok:
Ribs1875
03-02-2025, 10:19 PM
A few platforms online think bbc transfer deadline was one of them. I am happy to see how he gets on between now and the end of the season. He's erratic, but gives his all for the club.
03-02-2025, 10:20 PM
I hope Ellie gets a good reception when he next plays. We need him and for 13 games (hopefully more) he needs us. No point being petty about it
Or these identified went somewhere else as they were offered more, or it was a more attractive club to them. Despite our local green tinted glasses, the better quality we seek the harder sell we probably need to make, and not sure our current position makes that as easy as it could be. Alternatively we could have have just paid them what they want, but then they may have still chosen alternative offers and we have people screaming at the losses we make. There is no easy answer to this despite what people seem to think, its part of an ongoing process, to use that familiar phrase. We just can't count on getting everyone we want just because we want.
You are desperate to imply it is all the clubs fault, when as usual no-one really knows.
“no-one really knows”. Have you and Trinity ever been seen in the same room at the same time ? :-)
ElginHibbie
https://x.com/Record_Sport/status/1886546412550148210 (https://x.com/Record_Sport/status/1886546412550148210)
PortoHSC
No idea if it’s true but told by someone claiming to be in the know we are after Ovie Ejaria formerly of Liverpool,rangers and reading as he’s a free agent
03-02-2025, 10:23 PM
No idea if it’s true but told by someone claiming to be in the know we are after Ovie Ejaria formerly of Liverpool,rangers and reading as he’s a free agent
He’s been without a club since Dec 2023. I highly doubt it
PortoHSC
03-02-2025, 10:24 PM
He’s been without a club since Dec 2023. I highly doubt it
To me sounds of very similar ilk to the signing of maolida. Definitely the type of player with quality David gray said he was after
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2025, 10:24 PM
6 figure fee from a top Belgium club according to Scott Burns in the Daily Record . Between that and what we turned down for Youan fair dues to the club .
ElginHibbie
03-02-2025, 10:25 PM
To me sounds of very similar ilk to the signing of maolida. Definitely the type of player with quality David gray said he was after
Maolida, who we signed on loan from a club, sounds same as a guy who hasn't been with a club for a year?
Think you are at it
I hope Ellie gets a good reception when he next plays. We need him and for 13 games (hopefully more) he needs us. No point being petty about it
Agree - let’s get right behind him and the whole team
He was released by Reading 6 months early due to injury and fitness concerns. Had a trial with Plymouth which he didn’t impress in and has not kicked a ball in competitive football for over a year.
Hibs won’t be interested. Also it’s nothing like Maolida
PortoHSC
03-02-2025, 10:27 PM
Maolida, who we signed on loan from a club, sounds same as a guy who hasn't been with a club for a year?
Think you are at it
Are you forgetting that maolida had been banished to the Hertha Berlins B team?
P.S it’s a transfer thread, I’m just posting a rumour that I’ve been told
1875Sean
03-02-2025, 10:27 PM
https://x.com/Record_Sport/status/1886546412550148210 (https://x.com/Record_Sport/status/1886546412550148210)
Scott Burns isn’t the most reliable source, would have thought some of the Edinburgh based journalists would have mentioned something
PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 10:29 PM
Ovie Ejaria hasn't played a game in over 2 years.
We just got rid of Luke Amos and Harry McKirdy tonight.
Not likely to be towing another FUB up any time soon.
MacGruber
03-02-2025, 10:30 PM
Have an inkling it will go the other way and we'll see an uninterested player. Would hope not
03-02-2025, 10:31 PM
Well like it or not we now know what we have for the run in. Really glad we kept Youan and got rid of Amos and McKirdy (good luck to both). Really hope Menneh is a quality signing but that remains to be seen, fingers crossed. 🤞
All in all I’m disappointed we haven’t added more quality for whatever reason and hope it doesn’t come back to bite us.
We’re going to need a bit of luck with injuries and hope the form stays good. It would also be good if our rivals signings didn’t cut it too much. With a bit of luck and hard work we still have a chance but it’s going to be tight. Even top six could go down to the wire. Strap in. 🤞🤞
TrinityHFC
03-02-2025, 10:31 PM
And yet they do.
Your use of the term indicates that you see the club or people working for the club as some sort of enemy.
So in your world people are taking some sort of side and then just arguing in support of that side.
That is nonsense, personally speaking anyway I just tend to try and rationalise and empathise with people doing whatever role at is, who actually have access to all the information, and try and see what the thinking might be. I’m not apologising for anyone, I can simply see why we’ve decided to do what we’ve done in the window.
ElginHibbie
03-02-2025, 10:32 PM
Banished to a B team vs released due to an injury, aye they are basically the same
But you are right it is a transfer thread and we can post "rumours", I heard we were offered Messi but Ian Gordon turned it down!
Have an inkling it will go the other way and we'll see an uninterested player. Would hope not
Is this the same guy who our manager says loves playing for Hibs?
I've never seen him look disinterested. Bored playing in the wrong position maybe. But never under Gray.
03-02-2025, 10:38 PM
Without doubt the most disappointing transfer window I can remember. Not sure what the various reasons might be but I am sure David Gray was hoping for a little bit more.
Remains to be seen if we have enough to keep pushing on with the squad we have and avoid too many injuries and suspensions but on the back of BK involvement I was expecting a little bit more.
Hopefully Youan's nose isn't out of joint and we can get Bowie up to speed and the team can continue their upward trajectory.
Hey ho, the summer window should be a doozy!!
Maybe the apologists believe what David Gray said, maybe they believe that Garvan Stewart knows what he is doing, maybe they realise the January window isn't the best to do business in and that we'd only do some if we felt the deal was worth doing and the price was right. Maybe they think we're in reasonably good shape at the moment so we don't need to be held to ransom on any enquiries we did make so prefer to wait until the summer. Maybe they don't think the transfer window is like football manager and you can just pick up good players easily by clicking a few buttons. Maybe they realise the club has made mistakes but has hopefully addressed them and don't base their opinions on a skewed hatred of people behind the scenes. Maybe they don't think everything the club does is a complete ****** up. Maybe they just think differently to you.
03-02-2025, 10:44 PM
A bit gutted for SDG
He mentioned a couple of times about getting a bit of magic in near the end of the window
Not happened
03-02-2025, 10:44 PM
Maybe the apologists believe what David Gray said, maybe they believe that Garvan Stewart knows what he is doing, maybe they realise the January window isn't the best to do business in and that we'd only do some if we felt the deal was worth doing and the price was right. Maybe they think we're in reasonably good shape at the moment so we don't need to be held to ransom on any enquiries we did make so prefer to wait until the summer. Maybe they don't think the transfer window is like football manager and you can just pick up good players easily by clicking a few buttons. Maybe they realise the club has made mistakes but has hopefully addressed them and don't base their opinions on a skewed hatred of people behind the scenes. Maybe they don't think everything the club does is a complete ****** up. Maybe they just think differently to you.
‘Maybe’.
PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 10:46 PM
Have you been at the mandrax again?
PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 10:49 PM
A bit gutted for SDG
He mentioned a couple of times about getting a bit of magic in near the end of the window
Not happened
Got rid of Amos & McKirdy near the end.
How much mare magic you ******' wantin' :greengrin
seanshow
03-02-2025, 10:50 PM
I'm actually glad I had to look up Google for mandrax.
03-02-2025, 10:51 PM
Got rid of Amos & McKirdy near the end.
How much mare magic you ******' wantin' :greengrin
🤣🤣
03-02-2025, 10:52 PM
Youan, and the situation with Youan, is going to have a massive impact on how our season plays out. With the exception of a few weeks, the season has been a bit of a write off as far as he’s concerned. We need him on the pitch and performing. Really hope he has his head screwed on and is ready to go after not getting his move.
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2025, 10:54 PM
On Youan missing out on a move the time before …. Élie was a very easy one to bring back around and it didn’t take him long to get his head right where it needed to be because he’s a driven boy who loves playing football every single day . That’s where he’s at his happiest, you see him at his best “ … David Gray .
03-02-2025, 10:56 PM
Youan, and the situation with Youan, is going to have a massive impact on how our season plays out. With the exception of a few weeks, the season has been a bit of a write off as far as he’s concerned. We need him on the pitch and performing. Really hope he has his head screwed on and is ready to go after not getting his move.
With just over 3 months of the season to go he doesn’t have long to wait. If he is desperate to get away then putting in good performances will get him noticed. The fans will all be right behind him if he shows the form, skills and desire we all know he has.
Will pin my hopes on this scenario. 🤞
PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 10:58 PM
Move to 4 mins 50 secs in the following clip to see how Maolida was playing for Hertha Berlin B just before Hibs signed him
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHtdnKW28B4&t=335s
03-02-2025, 10:59 PM
With just over 3 months of the season to go he doesn’t have long to wait. If he is desperate to get away then putting in good performances will get him noticed. The fans will all be right behind him if he shows the form, skills and desire we all know he has.
Will pin my hopes on this scenario. 🤞
What I’m hoping for. Hoping there are 17 games left to play this season and he can help us achieve something.
If he comes back and starts playing well again then it could be massive for us.
03-02-2025, 11:00 PM
Team for rest of the season;
Goalkeepers;
Jordan Smith
Joe Bursik ***
Max Boruc **
Centre backs;
Rocky Bushiri **
Marvin Ekpiteta
Warren O’Hora
Jack Iredale
Fullbacks/Wingbacks;
Chris Cadden **
Lewis Miller **
Nicky Cadden
Jordan Obita
Central midfielders;
Joe Newell
Nectar Triantis **
Dylan Levitt
Alasana Manneh
Hyeokku Kwon **
Josh Campbell
Rudi Molotnikov
Nathan Moriah Welsh
Attackers;
Kieron Bowie
Élie Youan
Martin Boyle **
Dwight Gayle **
Mykolo Kuharevych **
Junior Hoilett **
** relates to contract/loan expiring. Option for further year with Boyle and Miller
Hopefully Newell, Marv, Youan and Bowie get and stay fit for the rest of the season as they all have potential to have huge says
Youan having his head screwed on also changes things massively. Hopefully it is
The squad certainly looks more balanced from previous seasons. Obita and Miller also able to play either side in a back 3.
ElginHibbie
03-02-2025, 11:04 PM
Don't know what has happened behind the scenes, but a Youan playing to attract clubs for a summer move and a manager behind him, which I think SDG is, I am hopeful we will see the best of him
Also fairly sure he has a genuine affection for the club so can see him wanting to end on a high, and he can be a big part of that by making the season a success
PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 11:05 PM
Youan needs to play well for the rest of the season to get the best move possible.
His form and injuries in this season to date are a big part of why he didn't get his move in this window.
Needs to show the best footballing version of himself for the next 3.5 months.
The team are in good form and everyone is in a good place so no reason not to give it his best shot.
PHeffernan
03-02-2025, 11:09 PM
Goalkeepers;
Jordan Smith
Joe Bursik ***
Max Boruc **
Centre backs;
Rocky Bushiri **
Marvin Ekpiteta
Warren O’Hora
Jack Iredale
Fullbacks/Wingbacks;
Chris Cadden **
Lewis Miller **
Nicky Cadden
Jordan Obita
Central midfielders;
Joe Newell
Nectar Triantis **
Dylan Levitt
Alasana Manneh
Hyeokku Kwon **
Josh Campbell
Rudi Molotnikov
Nathan Moriah Welsh
Attackers;
Kieron Bowie
Élie Youan
Martin Boyle **
Dwight Gayle **
Mykolo Kuharevych **
Junior Hoilett **
** relates to contract/loan expiring. Option for further year with Boyle and Miller
Hopefully Newell, Marv, Youan and Bowie get and stay fit for the rest of the season as they all have potential to have huge says
The squad certainly looks more balanced from previous seasons. Obita and Miller also able to play either side in a back 3.
You've given Bursik one too many *
Your use of the term indicates that you see the club or people working for the club as some sort of enemy.
So in your world people are taking some sort of side and then just arguing in support of that side.
That is nonsense, personally speaking anyway I just tend to try and rationalise and empathise with people doing whatever role at is, who actually have access to all the information, and try and see what the thinking might be. I’m not apologising for anyone, I can simply see why we’ve decided to do what we’ve done in the window.
A sensible approach by you.
I daresay there has been a lot of work going on identifying targets and making approaches etc and for one reason or another, Manneh was the only incoming deal done this window. Holding onto Rocky and Youan, plus any others that haven't been reported, has negated the need for us to get replacements.
On the basis that Manneh will be competing to start then we have ended the window stronger than we started it. Which is what SDG said we were aiming to do. Plus, into the bargain, we've also moved on players not contributing thus freeing up space in the squad for the summer window and even though there was no doubt some pay off involved, I expect we've saved a few quid on wages.
badabing67
03-02-2025, 11:29 PM
It looks like he has been a free agent for over a year
21sMay
03-02-2025, 11:29 PM
Not always possible to add quality during the January window . We no doubt have tried , and manneh may be that wee bit class we’re looking for.
Ellie coming back into the fold is equivalent of a big singing in my opinion .
Let’s keep going with this massive personality this team has and crack on for Europe
03-02-2025, 11:33 PM
Good luck to Harry and Luke - two signings that didn't go right through no real fault of their own. Hope they both pick up a deal somewhere soon.
Delighted to hold on to Rocky and Elie though - Rocky has been a driving force in our recent stunning form and we all know what Elie can do when he's in the mood. Both could yet play key parts this season so let's show some love to these guys and let them know we're happy they're still here!
We've only made one signing this window but I'm really liking the look of Alasana Manneh. Highlights reels can be deceptive but this guy looks like he can really pick a pass along with having the physique and the guile to cut it in the SPL.
I understand the eagerness to see more numerous signings - and if we could have got a loan in that made the impact Maolida did last season I'd be all for it. We all know these opportunities don't grow on trees though - and no doubt cost a fair bit too. Other than loans like that I didn't expect to see any incoming unless they could genuinely improve the team going forward. So not that surprised the way things have worked out. I expect to see a lot more movement in the squad in the summer and I think we're keeping our powder dry until then.
Hearts and Aberdeen have made a lot of signings. There is good reason for that though - they have both been a pile of pish recently! Hearts' signings have made a big impact straight away (boo) - Aberdeen's not. Hibs could have gone out and splurged for the sake of it and ended up with another Harry and Luke. As it is we are on good form with key players on the way back and have made what looks like a good signing in the bag - QUALITY over quantity I believe is the operative expression.
03-02-2025, 11:35 PM
The last couple of months have been great but I still think we are a player or two short of where I'd like us to be.
We have a golden chance to get third, which in turn would be a massive boost financially for the club. We need to start taking these chances. Been far too many jam tomorrow windows since we won the Scottish Cup.
Green-Hibee-7
03-02-2025, 11:38 PM
Ultimately, time will tell.
The run we are on and the gap between us and 3rd currently only being 4 points, I can’t help but think another couple of signings would have gave us a right good chance. The teams around us have all strengthened.
One thing for sure is that if David Gray gets us 3rd after this window, with how this season has started, it would be a huge achievement.
Criswell
04-02-2025, 12:18 AM
Cannot believe we have not tried to improve the goalkeeping situation. I believe, the frontline keepers we have are not good enough. They will inevitably cost us points when it matters most and derail the chance of 3rd place. In my opinion this will prove to be a serious mistake by the club.
Stanton Spence
04-02-2025, 12:22 AM
Cannot believe we have not tried to improve the goalkeeping situation. I believe, the frontline keepers we have are not good enough. They will inevitably cost us points when it matters most and derail the chance of 3rd place. In my opinion this will prove to be a serious mistake by the club.
I agree we have just about got away with playing Bursic up to December and although Smith has been better than I thought he would be he’s still not who I’d want for next season and I hope he stays fit for the rest of this season
PHeffernan
04-02-2025, 12:25 AM
I'm actually glad I had to look up Google for mandrax.
04-02-2025, 12:47 AM
I agree we have just about got away with playing Bursic up to December and although Smith has been better than I thought he would be he’s still not who I’d want for next season and I hope he stays fit for the rest of this season
We didn’t get away with playing Bursik as he made a load of mistakes and our back line looked very dodgy.
I wanted another back up keeper for more competition - hopefully Smith will stay fit as he’s been doing very well recently.
04-02-2025, 12:49 AM
Jordan Smith has come onto a good game - agree he needs better competition though. I'm sure that will be a priority in the summer. It's a bit of a gamble that Smith remains fit in the mean time - hope it pays off.
04-02-2025, 12:52 AM
Can understand some worried about the goalkeeper situation, one bad injury to Smith then were back to Bursik or an untested Boruc.
Expect a few free agent articles from the EEN over the week 😁
04-02-2025, 01:01 AM
Kroupi to Bournemouth, the guy is an absolute wonderkid on fm24 😁
04-02-2025, 01:28 AM
Personally, I’m pleased with the window. We’ve suffered from a lack of continuity in players and managers for years. The past few months we’ve finally stabled the ship and I was worried 48hrs ago hearing we may rip that apart by losing Rocky, Youan and Miller.
Rocky is an important part of a recently formed, solid defence. Miller is adequate cover for Cadden who is likely to miss some games before the season ends and Youan gives us something different up top and, on his day, a match winner.
New additions would’ve been great, but not for the sake of it. I’m excited we’ve maintained continuity and can hopefully finish the season positively and bring some new additions in, in the summer whilst locking in new deals for some of the current squad. My ask from Hibs though is lets gets the business done early to give the new additions time to settle and gel before the league campaign starts.
In terms of JDH, Amos and McKirdy, these were deadwood in our squad and trimming down the squad in this way doesn’t feel like a loss at all. More opportunities for some of the academy to mix with first team squad now and some wage off the book. Do recognise we’ve burnt a wedge on that trio though and going by this window it looks like we’ve learnt our lesson on recruiting!
Feeling optimistic and genuinely excited at how we can progress next season if we can finish this season strongly and hold onto what we’ve got.
04-02-2025, 04:24 AM
Well that was boring.
Murphys Touch
04-02-2025, 05:04 AM
Only concern with those out of contract is it’s a double edged sword:
One side they are playing for deals (however good agents will have those deals lined up now) and the other side the players will be wary of getting injured and those deals disappearing.
Sadly I would expect from March onward a slight drop in performance from them
MacGruber
04-02-2025, 05:44 AM
Not always possible to add quality during the January window . We no doubt have tried , and manneh may be that wee bit class we’re looking for.
Ellie coming back into the fold is equivalent of a big singing in my opinion .
Let’s keep going with this massive personality this team has and crack on for Europe
Time will tell. Pretty much everyone else has added numbers to push on. If those clubs improve on the back of it then they have recruited well and will have shown it to be entirely possible to add quality. They of course could turn out much of a muchness and we are able to continue our good form
MacGruber
04-02-2025, 05:53 AM
Goalkeepers;
Jordan Smith
Joe Bursik ***
Max Boruc **
Centre backs;
Rocky Bushiri **
Marvin Ekpiteta
Warren O’Hora
Jack Iredale
Fullbacks/Wingbacks;
Chris Cadden **
Lewis Miller **
Nicky Cadden
Jordan Obita
Central midfielders;
Joe Newell
Nectar Triantis **
Dylan Levitt
Alasana Manneh
Hyeokku Kwon **
Josh Campbell
Rudi Molotnikov
Nathan Moriah Welsh
Attackers;
Kieron Bowie
Élie Youan
Martin Boyle **
Dwight Gayle **
Mykolo Kuharevych **
Junior Hoilett **
Makes a bit of a mockery of the whole nonesense that has been peddled about the big reset in the summer.
11 of those players out of contract and 6 of them were signed by Malky/Gray last summer. Out of the remaining 5 players - the only ones out of contract from previous regimes, most would be happy enough to keep them all except Boruc. I'm sure all 5 probably won't end up staying but likes of keeping Rocky, Boyle, Cadden isn't a disaster.
Big summer reset indeed 😅
thebausburst
04-02-2025, 05:54 AM
It looks like he has been a free agent for over a year
Hasn’t played competitively for over 2 years and coming back off a serious knee injury has put other clubs off signing him.
04-02-2025, 06:00 AM
Makes a bit of a mockery of the whole nonesense that has been peddled about the big reset in the summer.
11 of those players out of contract and 6 of them were signed by Malky/Gray last summer. Out of the remaining 5 players - the only ones out of contract from previous regimes, most would be happy enough to keep them all except Boruc. I'm sure all 5 probably won't end up staying but likes of keeping Rocky, Boyle, Cadden isn't a disaster.
I’d say that we’ve done a decent job of clearing out deadwood this window already though.
JDH, Kenneh, Amos and McKirdy were probably the culprits who were taking the most whilst contributing the least.
Take the loan players out, make a few decisions on the players out of contract (like you I’d be giving serious consideration to keeping some on current form) and you’ve got the bones of a squad that should do fine with the addition of a little bit of quality (rather than sweeping changes).
We’ve also got some youngsters to potentially come back and play a part.
My main issue is that it’s not a squad set up to play 451 (or a variation on it) and I think that’s what most managers - including Gray - will naturally want to revert to.
04-02-2025, 06:01 AM
What's your best guess on how many out and how many in maybe based on a squad size of 24/25. I can see a fairly high turnover.
04-02-2025, 06:05 AM
Goalkeepers;
Jordan Smith
Joe Bursik ***
Max Boruc **
Centre backs;
Rocky Bushiri **
Marvin Ekpiteta
Warren O’Hora
Jack Iredale
Fullbacks/Wingbacks;
Chris Cadden **
Lewis Miller **
Nicky Cadden
Jordan Obita
Central midfielders;
Joe Newell
Nectar Triantis **
Dylan Levitt
Alasana Manneh
Hyeokku Kwon **
Josh Campbell
Rudi Molotnikov
Nathan Moriah Welsh
Attackers;
Kieron Bowie
Élie Youan
Martin Boyle **
Dwight Gayle **
Mykolo Kuharevych **
Junior Hoilett **
When I see that list I can understand why Hibs didn’t bring others in.
I was disappointed last night but not so much this morning
MacGruber
04-02-2025, 06:08 AM
I’d say that we’ve done a decent job of clearing out deadwood this window already though.
JDH, Kenneh, Amos and McKirdy were probably the culprits who were taking the most whilst contributing the least.
Take the loan players out, make a few decisions on the players out if contract (some I’d be giving serious consideration to keeping on current form) and you’ve got the bones of a squad that should do fine with the addition of a little bit of quality (rather than sweeping changes).
We’ve also got some youngsters to potentially come back and play a part.
I agree with you. Couple still to move on like Tavares however every squad is going to have outliers given you can't play them all so having a couple on the payroll and not playing is unavoidable.
Just pointing out this notion that has been on here and in the media isn't forthcoming - we've already cleared the decks
04-02-2025, 06:15 AM
Ultimately, time will tell.
The run we are on and the gap between us and 3rd currently only being 4 points, I can’t help but think another couple of signings would have gave us a right good chance. The teams around us have all strengthened.
One thing for sure is that if David Gray gets us 3rd after this window, with how this season has started, it would be a huge achievement.
SDG has saved the club £££ by getting a tune out of this squad of misfits. Only a few weeks ago, it looked like the Board would have no option but to spend big to get us out of a relegation hole. If SDG can push us on to a Euro place they should build a statue !
04-02-2025, 06:17 AM
Provided all our injured players are available soon that's a pretty decent January window, particularly if Manneh turns out to be decent.
Would maybe have wanted one more in to be totally satisfied.
Looking around Hertz have basically just done one in one out and Aberdeen must have a horrific wage bill now.
04-02-2025, 06:20 AM
Quite pleased waking up to that. Got rid of some deadwood, kept hold of some good players and added a midfielder. Decent January.
Out squad is sill bloated so we were never signing 3 or 4 this window.
Let's keep pushing for 3rd.
MacGruber
04-02-2025, 06:21 AM
What's your best guess on how many out and how many in maybe based on a squad size of 24/25. I can see a fairly high turnover.
I'd wager about 10 out and 6 or 7 in. Will likely be in line with any normal summer. I wouldn't class it a big turnover, there is usually that amount of ins and outs. Big chunk of the 10 out comprising players Malky and Gray brought in last summer so I don't view those as any clearing out of previous managers players they were saddled with.
Triantis unfortunately, Kwon, Bursic, Gayle, Hoilett, Myko all be gone you'd think.
I'm actually happy it doesn't need a big overhaul. I would also keep Boyle, Rocky, Miller and Cadden. Would leave us needing to bring in 5 or 6 and concentrate on bringing in quality to a more settled squad.
It's just if I have to read much more of this take that it's all about the summer window for the big reset - it's a nonesense.
Whilst I get we are doing well, just really hoped to bring in reinforcement now, whilst 3rd place has the group stages attached to it (cup winners I know).
04-02-2025, 06:25 AM
Where does this leave Murray aiken then? He's not gone back put again has he?
04-02-2025, 06:29 AM
Think he can still go out on loan to teams in lower leagues
04-02-2025, 06:29 AM
Do loans to lower leagues not stay open longer?
04-02-2025, 06:47 AM
Think he can still go out on loan to teams in lower leagues
That's definitely the case.
The dalmeny
04-02-2025, 06:54 AM
Do loans to lower leagues not stay open longer?
End of Feb IIRC albeit that really only provides 2 months of football (less playoffs)
04-02-2025, 06:55 AM
Provided all our injured players are available soon that's a pretty decent January window, particularly if Manneh turns out to be decent.
Would maybe have wanted one more in to be totally satisfied.
Looking around Hertz have basically just done one in one out and Aberdeen must have a horrific wage bill now.
Hearts doing one in, one out is how good player trading should work, as long as you’re improving of course.
Just saying no to all offers is how you end up losing players for either nothing in the summer or don’t get market value for them as they approach the end of their contract.
According to the red tops yesterday, we had the opportunity to move on Bursic, Rocky and Youann. Rocky has been good recently but with the right scouting in place, I struggle to believe we couldn’t find better out there, Youann doesn’t want to be here and we don’t know what his availability will be like this season and moving on Bursic should have been a no brainer.
One out, one in is how we should have improved this squad in this transfer window imo.
Replace Rocky with someone more reliable who makes less mistakes, replace Youann with someone more reliable and replace Bursic with someone who could compete with Smith for the first team.
Taking it further, we could be replacing McKirdy with someone who could offer a threat from the bench, we could have looked to cancel Kwons loan (I’m assuming we never as he’s been involved up until the weekend) and improved upon him, same with Amos.
This is where the complacency of our recent run has set in imo.
Being a bit more positive, I suppose we probably are better off now than the start of the window with a he addition of Manneh and not losing any first team regulars so that’s a positive. I do still think there was an opportunity to improve more than we did though.
04-02-2025, 07:13 AM
Hearts doing one in, one out is how good player trading should work, as long as you’re improving of course.
Just saying no to all offers is how you end up losing players for either nothing in the summer or don’t get market value for them as they approach the end of their contract.
According to the red tops yesterday, we had the opportunity to move on Bursic, Rocky and Youann. Rocky has been good recently but with the right scouting in place, I struggle to believe we couldn’t find better out there, Youann doesn’t want to be here and we don’t know what his availability will be like this season and moving on Bursic should have been a no brainer.
One out, one in is how we should have improved this squad in this transfer window imo.
Replace Rocky with someone more reliable who makes less mistakes, replace Youann with someone more reliable and replace Bursic with someone who could compete with Smith for the first team.
Taking it further, we could be replacing McKirdy with someone who could offer a threat from the bench, we could have looked to cancel Kwons loan (I’m assuming we never as he’s been involved up until the weekend) and improved upon him, same with Amos.
Being a bit more positive, I suppose we probably are better off now than the start of the window with a he addition of Manneh and not losing any first team regulars so that’s a positive. I do still think there was an opportunity to improve more than we did though.
You know those papers are talking ***** if they are suggesting we had the chance to move on Bursic and didn’t take it. Nothing else they say can be taken seriously after that.
04-02-2025, 07:18 AM
We didn't want to do one in one out though because we have far too many players. This window has helped rectify that.
Rocky has been excellent in our recent good run, that's why he is wanted elsewhere. To suggest he would be easy to replace at the drop of a hat is simply wrong in my opinion.
The Youan situation, well none of us really know what went on there but it's in his best interests to get back out there doing his stuff and hopefully that's exactly what happens.
hibee1875
04-02-2025, 07:28 AM
Banished to a B team vs released due to an injury, aye they are basically the same
But you are right it is a transfer thread and we can post "rumours", I heard we were offered Messi but Ian Gordon turned it down!
Why the sass?
They’ve posted a genuine rumor they’ve heard. You’ve just pulled something out your arse to make yourself look like an idiot.
Jock O
04-02-2025, 07:29 AM
Kroupi to Bournemouth, the guy is an absolute wonderkid on fm24 😁
There is a story that West Ham had offered 35m but agent/player weren't sure of move, and then Bournemouth came in with 10m and bought him. Anyone know if there is any substance to this?
04-02-2025, 07:29 AM
I keep hearing about how big our squad is
Current first squad sizes;
Dundee United - 24
Kilmarnock - 24
St Mirren - 24
Hibs - 25
Celtic - 26
Ross county - 26
Aberdeen - 27
Dundee - 27
Rangers - 27
Hearts - 30
St Johnstone - 33
Motherwell - 34
Jock O
04-02-2025, 07:33 AM
“no-one really knows”. Have you and Trinity ever been seen in the same room at the same time ? :-)
I did live in Trinity for over 10 years, so maybe we shared atmosphere of the tranquil air, the nice tea rooms, and the Tuesday afternoon bowls session and it left us with a similar demeanour.
Dundee United - 24
Kilmarnock - 24
St Mirren - 24
Hibs - 25
Celtic - 26
Ross county - 26
Aberdeen - 27
Dundee - 27
Rangers - 27
Hearts - 30
St Johnstone - 33
Motherwell - 34
Of our 25 you have Ekpiteta, Newell and Yoaun out injured lately. Bowie and Myk just back from injury. A third choice keeper. Two aging players in Gayle and Hoilett who need to be carefully managed. A young player in Rudi Molotnikov who again we need to be careful with.
Every club will have similar to us re injuries, ages of players and managing minutes though. But it doesn’t take much to then be light on numbers
How big was it at the start of Jan?
04-02-2025, 07:35 AM
We didn't want to do one in one out though because we have far too many players. This window has helped rectify that.
Rocky has been excellent in our recent good run, that's why he is wanted elsewhere. To suggest he would be easy to replace at the drop of a hat is simply wrong in my opinion.
The Youan situation, well none of us really know what went on there but it's in his best interests to get back out there doing his stuff and hopefully that's exactly what happens.
One in, one out wasn’t needed in this window. Most of the players who have went wouldn’t include as part of the squad really, they were contributing that little.
Bursik would have been a priority to replace for me. It worries me if we end up having to use him at all. Rocky, I’m not his biggest fan, but if we were only getting the bid in the last day or two I can see the sense in keeping. It’s not as if we would be turning down a huge fee at this stage of his contract and I’m not sure I’d disrupt the team. We can deal with that situation in the summer if we want. Youan concerns me, need him back in the right frame of mind after missing out on a move that he clearly wanted. Hopefully he does what he can to guarantee that in the summer and we get the benefit of it.
Trinity Hibee
04-02-2025, 07:36 AM
Hearts sign Harry Milne from Partick. Good player who I’d hoped we’d have gone for before now.
04-02-2025, 07:42 AM
Apparently that’s all very difficult and not for us. I’ve sometimes wondered whether one or two key people at the club might perhaps better spend less of their time posting on here and more of it on doing what they’re paid for. Just a thought.
04-02-2025, 07:43 AM
I never suggested Rocky to be replaced at the drop of a hat, I also know it wouldn’t be easy.
I just thought that’s what the benefit of the tie in with the Black Knights would offer. The ability to unearth players we previously wouldn’t have been able to find. The idea that we’re waiting until players leave before trying to then find a last minute replacement is wrong and what I’m having a hissy fit about.
I’m also pretty certain offers like this don’t completely out the blue, the agent would have been in talks with the club in the days previously.
Jock O
04-02-2025, 07:45 AM
Malky and Gray brought in last summer so I don't view those as any clearing out of previous managers players they were saddled with.
Triantis unfortunately, Kwon, Bursic, Gayle, Hoilett, Myko all be gone you'd think.
You seem to be implying that these were all bad buys having to let go, but in reality weren't all of those only fillers till next season when budget for permanent should be bigger, so was a deliberate strategy by MM.
Triantis now looks like a huge miss but not sure any of the others would be expected to stay, or would not be able to replace with better long term prospects.
I now look forward to summer window when the biggest gnashing of teeth will surely be at us losing Rocky as finally people realise he will be very difficult to replace and we are left for a season wishing Rocky was still here.
04-02-2025, 07:45 AM
We’ve moved squad players on so that’s a positive but signing 1 player from the Danish second division does not look like a strong window. We are in a great run but I fear we will pay the price for not strengthening the squad again
04-02-2025, 07:47 AM
Dundee United - 24
Kilmarnock - 24
St Mirren - 24
Hibs - 25
Celtic - 26
Ross county - 26
Aberdeen - 27
Dundee - 27
Rangers - 27
Hearts - 30
St Johnstone - 33
Motherwell - 34
Our recent departures have made the number look healthier. They were players who, for one reason or another, were never going to make a meaningful impact at first team level anyway.
I don't think we do have a big squad now at all, it's about right.
With a horrific injury crisis or an injury to a key player then we might yet look too thin but with everyone fit I think we've now got a reasonably balanced squad to cover all but the worst of crises. I'd still have maybe been bringing in one or two very good players in January to send a signal that we're serious about challenging for 3rd but that's just me.
04-02-2025, 07:48 AM
Overall, cant say im too dissatisfied.
Would still like another body in at CB - a Bevan on loan type.
GK: Smith, Bursik, Boruc
RCB: O'Hora
CB: Rocky, Marvin
LCB: Iredale
RWB: C. Cadden, Miller
CM: Triantis, Kwon, Levitt
CM: Newell, Manneh, Moriah-Welsh
LWB: N. Cadden, Obtia
AM: Campbell, Hoillett, Molitnikov
FW: Boyle, Gayle, Kuchy
FW: Bowie, Youan
Looks pretty well balanced to me, options to go 2 or 3 up top.
Think maybe a loan for Molotnikov could be a good idea.
04-02-2025, 07:49 AM
There are some posters on here who I enjoy reading that seem to have lost the plot regarding this transfer window and what they expected to happen.
Not all clubs have the same budget or the same amount of players reaching the end of their contract.
We appear to have strengthened our midfield which a lot of people have been shouting for. We have got rid of some of our “deadwood” as some on here call it. We now have a leaner squad going forward.
We have kept Youan as no club met our valuation. This shows we are not run by idiots who are willing to take the first offer out on the table. They have to look after the clubs best interests. If there was an offer for Rocky, then they appear to have rejected it as again it was not enough or in the best interests of the club.
We may lose both those players in the summer for less money but with them still here I am hopeful we can have a successful and exciting time to the end of the season.
04-02-2025, 07:51 AM
I never suggested Rocky to be replaced at the drop of a hat, I also know it wouldn’t be easy.
I just thought that’s what the benefit of the tie in with the Black Knights would offer. The ability to unearth players we previously wouldn’t have been able to find. The idea that we’re waiting until players leave before trying to then find a last minute replacement is wrong and what I’m having a hissy fit about.
I’m also pretty certain offers like this don’t completely out the blue, the agent would have been in talks with the club in the days previously.
Must say this window hasn’t given me much more confidence that much is different and we were prepared and decisive. Feels like we let yet another window drift and then forced to try and be reactive or wheel and deal. Do all that after signing a couple of quality loans (RWB & AM for me) and if we don’t get 3rd it feels like we simply had too much ground to make up but at least gave it a go with a couple of high quality loans.
04-02-2025, 07:51 AM
Dundee United - 24
Kilmarnock - 24
St Mirren - 24
Hibs - 25
Celtic - 26
Ross county - 26
Aberdeen - 27
Dundee - 27
Rangers - 27
Hearts - 30
St Johnstone - 33
Motherwell - 34
Does our figure show all the players we have out on loan who have played first team football for us?
04-02-2025, 07:53 AM
Does our figure show all the players we have out on loan who have played first team football for us?
No it’s players currently at each club who would be available to play for the remainder of the season
04-02-2025, 07:59 AM
Dundee United - 24
Kilmarnock - 24
St Mirren - 24
Hibs - 25
Celtic - 26
Ross county - 26
Aberdeen - 27
Dundee - 27
Rangers - 27
Hearts - 30
St Johnstone - 33
Motherwell - 34
Not sure what your point is here. Is 25 not a big enough squad?
Jock O
04-02-2025, 08:01 AM
And putting our budget concerns and our hopes of getting an extra 0.5m for Youan, into perspective, and probably also BK's budget too, Man City spent 180m on a season that is surely over for them. Although I suppose the fear of not making top 4 is a major incentive for them.
Crazy world.
04-02-2025, 08:03 AM
Judgement on this window will be decided by results now. Make Europe and it’s a good window keeping our powder dry for summer. Don’t make Europe and worse, get caught by Hearts and it’s a complete disgrace and people should be losing their jobs.
04-02-2025, 08:03 AM
There are some posters on here who I enjoy reading that seem to have lost the plot regarding this transfer window and what they expected to happen.
Not all clubs have the same budget or the same amount of players reaching the end of their contract.
We appear to have strengthened our midfield which a lot of people have been shouting for. We have got rid of some of our “deadwood” as some on here call it. We now have a leaner squad going forward.
We have kept Youan as no club met our valuation. This shows we are not run by idiots who are willing to take the first offer out on the table. They have to look after the clubs best interests. If there was an offer for Rocky, then they appear to have rejected it as again it was not enough or in the best interests of the club.
We may lose both those players in the summer for less money but with them still here I am hopeful we can have a successful and exciting time to the end of the season.
04-02-2025, 08:05 AM
Not sure what your point is here. Is 25 not a big enough squad?
25 does include Bursic, Kwon, NMW, Hoilett, Rudi & Myko. Plus whatever version of Youan we have. Still a number of squad fillers in the 25 or who make us poorer when they come on.
04-02-2025, 08:06 AM
25 does include Bursic, Kwon, NMW, Hoilett, Rudi & Myko. Plus whatever version of Youan we have. Still a number of squad fillers in the 25 or who make us poorer when they come on.
It does but isn't everyone's squad like that?
Jock O
04-02-2025, 08:09 AM
Do many teams actually have a bench with all players, or even many, who aren't weaker than first team choices. I do agree our bench at times last year looked poor, but I don't think all in it is the worst currently. Where this current approach will leave us unstuck is if we get another 2 or 3 major injuries, or even if a couple of players we rely on every week just run out of steam towards end of season. It is a risk but not sure now its that much bigger, if at all, than our nearest competitors risk
I would have said maybe Celtic, but f you read their fans currently they are fuming at their bench, maybe its more about fans expectations.
Mind I still think Kwon is going to suddenly improve, so maybe my expectations are equally unrealistic
04-02-2025, 08:11 AM
:agree: We would all have liked another player or two, but in reality we are well covered everywhere bar a keeper.
We can argue the toss about the quality of the squad, but we are on a great run of form, and have players to come back and Manneh to add to the squad.
The big reset will if we believe the club happen this summer, it's probably last chance saloon for the Gordons and McKay IF they **** that up, so with the BK group and the money that will be freed up, a near blank canvas will hopfully see us improve beyond recognition.:wink:
04-02-2025, 08:14 AM
It does but isn't everyone's squad like that?
That’s the point.
Everyone’s squad is much and such the same, with us now being the lower size of squad in comparison with the league.
So this excuse of having a bloated squad and not able to sign players etc doesn’t really fly imo
Our squad is well balanced now and we have good options in all positions. But I think we needed a bit more creativity and quality in the final third, appeared SDG wanted similar with some of his comments
04-02-2025, 08:15 AM
Judgement on this window will be decided by results now. Make Europe and it’s a good window keeping our powder dry for summer. Don’t make Europe and worse, get caught by Hearts and it’s a complete disgrace and people should be losing their jobs.
We’ve finally got people in charge that saw how utterly dreadful previous players brought in were draining the money and offering zero ! Getting rid of Kenneh, JDH. McKirdy, and Amos shows me that MM knows exactly what he’s doing. We’ve a tight, bonded squad, with players coming back from injury to boost it. For once there appears to be stability and no scattergun signings, with players previously “out of favour” or underperforming actually becoming mainstays and raising their game to stay in the side.
Jock O
04-02-2025, 08:15 AM
:agree: We would all have liked another player or two, but in reality we are well covered everywhere bar a keeper.
We can argue the toss about the quality of the squad, but we are on a great run of form, and have players to come back and Manneh to add to the squad.
The big reset will if we believe the club happen this summer, it's probably last chance saloon for the Gordons and McKay IF they **** that up, so with the BK group and the money that will be freed up, a near blank canvas will hopfully see us improve beyond recognition.:wink:
I so like it when you are positive again, it feels like sun is coming out and Hibs are definitely on the right trajectory.
But that if is such a big IF in our world, it will dominate the next 6 months thinking as the alternative is literally unthinkable.,
04-02-2025, 08:19 AM
Apparently that’s all very difficult and not for us. I’ve sometimes wondered whether one or two key people at the club might perhaps better spend less of their time posting on here and more of it on doing what they’re paid for. Just a thought.What key people employed by Hibs are not doing their job and spending their day posting on here?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
04-02-2025, 08:20 AM
I so like it when you are positive again, it feels like sun is coming out and Hibs are definitely on the right trajectory.
But that if is such a big IF in our world, it will dominate the next 6 months thinking as the alternative is literally unthinkable.,
It really is a simple concept, Hibs winning, me happy, Hibs sheite, me not happy.:greengrin
04-02-2025, 08:25 AM
What key people employed by Hibs are not doing their job and spending their day posting on here?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Think I would like an answer to that one too.
04-02-2025, 08:27 AM
That’s the point.
Everyone’s squad is much and such the same, with us now being the lower size of squad in comparison with the league.
So this excuse of having a bloated squad and not able to sign players etc doesn’t really fly imo
Our squad is well balanced now and we have good options in all positions. But I think we needed a bit more creativity and quality in the final third, appeared SDG wanted similar with some of his comments
It never flew anyway because the 'bloating' was always going to be relieved by out of contract players in six months time. There would have been nothing to stop us bringing in a couple of quality starters if we really wanted to, unless we failed to scout them or persuade them.
The idea that now having a leaner squad because we've moved on Amos and McKirdy helps us in any way is laughable. It MIGHT have been an important point if we had moved them on and replaced them with players who, you know, play.
Gayle and Myko are aged players prone to injury, Bursik is hopeless and the first choice is just about adequate but not a lot more. We lack a quality AM (let's see if Manneh is a first pick starter in that role every week) and we are a couple of key injuries away from make it up as we go along. Hopefully they won't happen but if they do we'll be asking why our bench is so weak.
Best case scenario: everyone stays fit and uninjured, the new guy is mustard, Youan is totally up for it, maybe a youngster breaks through and we maintain the run of form we've had all the way to the season's end. Worst case scenario: form shades, we find we needed a bit more that we didn't sign and we end up watching an Aberdeen or Hearts, yet again, pick up lucrative group stage European football that was within our grasp with a little ambition.
04-02-2025, 08:28 AM
At what stage did the Rocky interest come in though? Similar to Bursik why would we leave ourselves scrambling for a replacement on deadline day? Yes we can get better than both but it's not as easy as plucking them out of a list and getting them to turn up in the space of a day. Trying to upgrade on Rocky with a days or two time to replace them would risk derailing the season in my opinion. The risks outweigh the benefits massively.
Paulie Walnuts
04-02-2025, 08:29 AM
We’ve finally got people in charge that saw how utterly dreadful previous players brought in were draining the money and offering zero ! Getting rid of Kenneh, JDH. McKirdy, and Amos shows me that MM knows exactly what he’s doing. We’ve a tight, bonded squad, with players coming back from injury to boost it. For once there appears to be stability and no scattergun signings, with players previously “out of favour” or underperforming actually becoming mainstays and raising their game to stay in the side.
We always get rid of players. We got rid of Melkersen, Doidge, Jeggo, Harbottle, McKirdy last January and got worse. I’m not sure it’s a sign of knowing what they’re doing because they got rid of some players. We’ll know if they know what they’re doing when we see how we perform in the coming months.
Third place is within touching distance, if we don’t manage to get there and it appears it’s been because the season has been derailed by a few injuries then questions will rightly be asked.
04-02-2025, 08:30 AM
It never flew anyway because the 'bloating' was always going to be relieved by out of contract players in six months time. There would have been nothing to stop us bringing in a couple of quality starters if we really wanted to, unless we failed to scout them or persuade them.
The idea that now having a leaner squad because we've moved on Amos and McKirdy helps us in any way is laughable. It MIGHT have been an important point if we had moved them on and replaced them with players who, you know, play.
Gayle and Myko are aged players prone to injury, Bursik is hopeless and the first choice is just about adequate but not a lot more. We lack a quality AM (let's see if Manneh is a first pick starter in that role every week) and we are a couple of key injuries away from make it up as we go along. Hopefully they won't happen but if they do we'll be asking why our bench is so weak.
Best case scenario: everyone stays fit and uninjured, the new guy is mustard, Youan is totally up for it, maybe a youngster breaks through and we maintain the run of form we've had all the way to the season's end. Worst case scenario: form shades, we find we needed a bit more that we didn't sign and we end up watching an Aberdeen or Hearts, yet again, pick up lucrative group stage European football that was within our grasp with a little ambition.
Myko is 23.
04-02-2025, 08:37 AM
Myko is 23.
Really? Funny because it feels more like 32...
04-02-2025, 08:39 AM
Really? Funny because it feels more like 32...
You ready to name the Hibs employees who post on here instead of working for the club?
sahpaton
04-02-2025, 08:45 AM
We’ve had a number of key injuries throughout this unbeaten run, not sure why people keep saying we’re only a couple away from thing all taking a nasty turn.
I’m not even sure who is individually significant enough that we’d notice a huge drop off beside Triantis and perhaps the goalkeeper. It’s a pretty balanced squad with not a great deal to separate the options we have in each position.
04-02-2025, 08:51 AM
Glad we knocked back any lowball offers for Elie & Rocky .
A boring window but things are ticking along nicely.
We’ve burned through a lot of money foolishly in the Gordons era - their money and now Foley’s… That is unsustainable.
The annual accounts, which must be out soon, are likely to be horrendous again.
04-02-2025, 08:59 AM
You ready to name the Hibs employees who post on here instead of working for the club?
Use your eyes and your brain.
04-02-2025, 09:03 AM
Do many teams actually have a bench with all players, or even many, who aren't weaker than first team choices. I do agree our bench at times last year looked poor, but I don't think all in it is the worst currently. Where this current approach will leave us unstuck is if we get another 2 or 3 major injuries, or even if a couple of players we rely on every week just run out of steam towards end of season. It is a risk but not sure now its that much bigger, if at all, than our nearest competitors risk
I would have said maybe Celtic, but f you read their fans currently they are fuming at their bench, maybe its more about fans expectations.
Mind I still think Kwon is going to suddenly improve, so maybe my expectations are equally unrealistic
In an ideal world you would have players on the bench who are not quite as good, but that’s because they are either young and improving, a viable alternative option, or brought in as backup and on an equivalent wage. I dread to think how much we are paying Bursic, Kwon, Hoilett, Myko & to a lesser extent NMW (only because I quite like him personally) for a reality where the more we have to use them the more we will be looking over our shoulder at the bottom 6 rather than looking up.
I was merely responding to the numbers listed. 25 is a good size, but in reality 5/6/7 etc of that 25 will see us in the bottom 6 so not really viable options.
04-02-2025, 09:04 AM
I am glad that we have got rid off a few of the players who were contributing nothing to us and whose lack of game time, must have soured their mood and the atmosphere around the place.
I don't have a problem that we have the squad size that we do, the 34's of St Johnstone & Motherwell are nuts and show nothing more than a scattergun approach of very middling players, the pity with our 25 is that a number of them aren't up to the task of replacing current starters without a big drop off in quality, but Rome wasn't built in a day.
There's no doubt that many that did leave went with a substantial pay off that hampered our ability to do much else in the window.
What I am struggling a bit with is the idea that following these departures, the summer offers the chance for the big reset so often spoken about and I am curious to see where we go from here.
I wouldn't mind Boyle staying but it would need to be on very substantially (75%) reduced terms from his reported £8k a week and I dont see him going for that.
If Rocky is saleable we should look now to extend contract but trade him in the summer.
All the loanees will go, as will Hoilett & Gayle, although I would like to keep Triantis.
I would also like to trade Moriah-Welsh, who doesn't do it for me and probably Levitt unless he shows a lot more than he has.
Miller can go for me too.
My concern is though that we will continue to eradicate the mistakes of the past in Jair, Delfierre and Megwa and that will again compromise our summer prospects unless the much vaunted sale of Youan for a pot of gold takes place and properly developing the squad will wait for another year to pass
04-02-2025, 09:05 AM
This person has been discussed on the main board many times.
Maybe they post while on their break :greengrin
04-02-2025, 09:06 AM
I genuinely don't know who you are talking about.
Paulie Walnuts
04-02-2025, 09:09 AM
I wouldn't mind Boyle staying but it would need to be on very substantially (75%) reduced terms from his reported £8k a week and I dont see him going for that.
Why? Hes played 29 games this season, scored 12 and got 8 assists.
I’d suggest hes proven himself this season to be well worth what hes getting paid. He rightly wouldn’t go for a 75% reduction in his wages because it would make him one of our lower earners despite being our best player.
04-02-2025, 09:09 AM
That's really interesting because I must have missed all those discussions and yet have come to the same conclusion.
Myko is 23.
Time he started playing like a 23 year old, repeating his first spell here, injured and doesn't score.
Paulie Walnuts
04-02-2025, 09:13 AM
Time he started playing like a 23 year old, repeating his first spell here, injured and doesn't score.
I said it in the summer, we shouldn’t have been going anywhere near him.
He’s a really poor player. Was overhyped first time round and has been significantly worse this time.
He must be a dream to play against as a centre half.
04-02-2025, 09:15 AM
I said it in the summer, we shouldn’t have been going anywhere near him.
He’s a really poor player. Was overhyped first time round and has been significantly worse this time.
He must be a dream to play against as a centre half.
I actually thought he was decent in spells first time he was here but looks like a guy really short in confidence right now.
04-02-2025, 09:19 AM
I actually thought he was decent in spells first time he was here but looks like a guy really short in confidence right now.
Agree with this. He’s got 9 goals in 32 games for us so he’s not the poorest striker you’re ever likely to see. But he’s looked well off it at times this season. I expected more.
04-02-2025, 09:19 AM
I genuinely don't know who you are talking about.
Sorry meant the PM board :rolleyes:
TrinityHibby
04-02-2025, 09:25 AM
They said it was too late to get a replacement but he’s expected to leave in the summer.
If Rocky is given a new deal we can put to bed any notion we have a credible recruitment model or a Board with any serious football ambitions.
04-02-2025, 09:26 AM
Bromley tweeting;
"Green light received
Here we go
10PM'
Should be McKirdy away
Goodbye my sweet prince. We shouldn't cry because it's over. We should smile because it happened.
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 09:28 AM
At what stage did the Rocky interest come in though? Similar to Bursik why would we leave ourselves scrambling for a replacement on deadline day? Yes we can get better than both but it's not as easy as plucking them out of a list and getting them to turn up in the space of a day. Trying to upgrade on Rocky with a days or two time to replace them would risk derailing the season in my opinion. The risks outweigh the benefits massively.
Rocky’s interest came about on Sunday with a second bid on Monday according to this which your right in that it didn’t leave us a lot of time to find a suitable replacement .
Celtic sold Kyogo for £10mil and one of their priorities was a new striker which for all the wealth they have they failed to acquire …
Reason for that is quite simple in the January window is hard to do any deals in as teams don’t want to lose their better players in it .
Happy we have kept Rocky and Youan while adding a midfielder and clearing a few out . All in all I don’t think this window has been the disaster some are making it out to be….
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/transfers/hibs-booted-out-six-figure-deadline-day-transfer-bid-for-out-of-contract-star/
04-02-2025, 09:31 AM
Rocky’s interest came about on Sunday with a second bid on Monday according to this which your right in that it didn’t leave us a lot of time to find a suitable replacement .
Celtic sold Kyogo for £10mil and one of their priorities was a new striker which for all the wealth they have they failed to acquire …
Reason for that is quite simple in the January window is hard to do any deals in as teams don’t want to lose their better players in it .
Happy we have kept Rocky and Youan while adding a midfielder and clearing a few out . All in all I don’t think this window has been the disaster some are making it out to be….
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/transfers/hibs-booted-out-six-figure-deadline-day-transfer-bid-for-out-of-contract-star/
I'm not sure I've seen a single poster suggesting this window has been a disaster.
Sorry he's short of ability, not confidence,should have been moved on this window.
WestStandWillie
04-02-2025, 09:35 AM
Getting Amos and McKirdy off the payroll is a big win.
McKirdy won't get another payday like it. He seemed to be right into his golf and someone told me he has a page dedicated to it.
Amos just didn't seem to fit into the team. Shame but we move on.
04-02-2025, 09:35 AM
Would be good if we could support Kwon and Myko - still plenty football to play and for the sake of the greater good we need everyone pulling in same direction.
04-02-2025, 09:36 AM
If Rocky is given a new deal we can put to bed any notion we have a credible recruitment model or a Board with any serious football ambitions.
Personally I disagree. I know he has a mistake in him but he is mostly a very solid centre half. And he’s improving. I’d give him a new deal. Especially as it looks like the game changing nonsense about BK’s appears to be just that. He’s a perfectly good SPFL centre half.
04-02-2025, 09:37 AM
I agree. I've always been of the opinion that this window, and in general the season, was about clearing out deadwood, which I think we've almost done. I'd have maybe taken another body or two in certain areas for depth, but I doubt Amos and McKirdy walked away from their contracts for free which maybe hampered us.
WeAreHibs
04-02-2025, 09:37 AM
Dundee United - 24
Kilmarnock - 24
St Mirren - 24
Hibs - 25
Celtic - 26
Ross county - 26
Aberdeen - 27
Dundee - 27
Rangers - 27
Hearts - 30
St Johnstone - 33
Motherwell - 34
I think that's positive. We've dramatically reduced the squad and wage bill and in a strong position to recruit wisely in the summer when I hope we will see what the club have been working on with Garvan having had a good few months. The previous "sticking plaster" approach didn't work.
04-02-2025, 09:38 AM
Sorry meant the PM board :rolleyes:
Ah I do now but that has stopped for a while now.
04-02-2025, 09:39 AM
We’ve had a number of key injuries throughout this unbeaten run, not sure why people keep saying we’re only a couple away from thing all taking a nasty turn.
I’m not even sure who is individually significant enough that we’d notice a huge drop off beside Triantis and perhaps the goalkeeper. It’s a pretty balanced squad with not a great deal to separate the options we have in each position.
I think some people feel we have been on such a good run that it will be hard to keep that form up and continue the run
Luck and getting decisions going for us will play just as big a part in what happens going forward
Would another couple of quality singing have given us a better chance of pushing for third ? I might , but we are where we are and Gray did say he wanted to finish the window stronger and there is a case to be made we have done that
The league is so tight thst it looks like we will need to keep our current run
Going to avoid slipping back the way
I hope we can at least finish fourth
WestStandWillie
04-02-2025, 09:42 AM
Would be good if we could support Kwon and Myko - still plenty football to play and for the sake of the greater good we need everyone pulling in same direction.
I thought Kwon looked good for us in his first few games but has regressed whilst his then underperforming team mates have got better. It's really strange.
Much like Vente's was, I think Myko's confidence is a bit battered. As you say, still a lot of football to be played
He's here!
04-02-2025, 09:49 AM
He's been integral to our revival and improving all the time.
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 09:52 AM
I'm not sure I've seen a single poster suggesting this window has been a disaster.
Maybe a disaster is a bit OTT though there’s a few certainly being quite negative about it . ( not having a go here ) but even your own post #6189 would suggest this fact .
We have kept a couple of our better players despite some offers for them , added a midfielder and cleared out players that haven’t /won’t contribute anything..
It’s not been a bad window even though we all would have liked another player or 2 in though my point about Celtic shows this window isn’t an easy one in recruiting players , especially the right ones .
TrinityHibby
04-02-2025, 09:56 AM
Personally I disagree. I know he has a mistake in him but he is mostly a very solid centre half. And he’s improving. I’d give him a new deal. Especially as it looks like the game changing nonsense about BK’s appears to be just that. He’s a perfectly good SPFL centre half.
The point I’m trying to make is that if the Board want to be a consistent Top 4 side we need to upgrade the calibre of player we are signing. Resigning players such as Rocky and Miller will not deliver that in my opinion and see us mid table at best 😞
04-02-2025, 10:00 AM
Nonsense Rocky has been integral to our upturn in fortunes plays as if he really cares which is a pleasant change is quick over 20 yards and centre forwards bounce off him has a mistake in him yes but watch him at corners being a pest and creating space for others blocking the keeper
Speaking of which Rocky is a keeper great to see him playing with confidence other clubs are beginning to take notice
Is progressive is still learning I hear what you are saying but will be interesting to see what happens at the end of the season
Not that fussed over Miller tbh
Still cannot believe that some people aren’t convinced by Rocky is good for our level
If we can replace him with someone who is loads better go for it
04-02-2025, 10:03 AM
Ah I do now but that has stopped for a while now.
and he wasn't an employee
04-02-2025, 10:15 AM
and he wasn't an employee
So there is no one at the club that is spending time on Hibs.net instead of bringing transfers in?
Paint me surprised.
MacGruber
04-02-2025, 10:16 AM
You seem to be implying that these were all bad buys having to let go, but in reality weren't all of those only fillers till next season when budget for permanent should be bigger, so was a deliberate strategy by MM.
Triantis now looks like a huge miss but not sure any of the others would be expected to stay, or would not be able to replace with better long term prospects.
I now look forward to summer window when the biggest gnashing of teeth will surely be at us losing Rocky as finally people realise he will be very difficult to replace and we are left for a season wishing Rocky was still here.
No, I'm not implying that at all. I was saying that of the 11 out of contract in the summer, 6 were just brought in. There is this notion that it is the players out of contract in the summer that are going to make way for the big MacKay/Gray rebuild however 6 of them are their signings.
I don't think there is going to be a big rebuild in the summer - not more so than any other summer and very likely less movement than last year. And that's a good thing. Just keep hearing it being said. We don't have a massive squad in comparison to the rest of the league. Bringing in players in Jan window was perfectly feasible. We have decided not to and go largely with what we have plus Manneh. Hopefully that is the right call. Arguments for and against - personally wanted us to show that ambition, bring in some reinforcement and go for 3rd with group stage football whilst it is available. Hibs (perhaps finances?) have dictated otherwise and could argue its better to go with the settled squad and keep it going as is.
Triantis, Gayle and Hoilett have been somewhere between excellent and useful - all good additions. Kwon and Myko disappointing but signed under no protest as all thought was good moves at the time. Bursik has obviously not worked out. None of them will be here next year for one reason or another
04-02-2025, 10:18 AM
The point I’m trying to make is that if the Board want to be a consistent Top 4 side we need to upgrade the calibre of player we are signing. Resigning players such as Rocky and Miller will not deliver that in my opinion and see us mid table at best 😞
Since Rocky came back we’ve been a solid top 4 side. Without him we were a solid bottom four side. This is just nonsense on your part, I’m afraid.
04-02-2025, 10:33 AM
Getting Amos and McKirdy off the payroll is a big win.
McKirdy won't get another payday like it. He seemed to be right into his golf and someone told me he has a page dedicated to it.
Amos just didn't seem to fit into the team. Shame but we move on.
They were both out of contract this summer anyway and probably got paid up, maybe not their full contract.
Would have been a big win if we binned them and used any money saved to bring someone in.
04-02-2025, 10:35 AM
Good post agree with that. Seems a much more stable and sensible position to be in
04-02-2025, 10:45 AM
Maybe a disaster is a bit OTT though there’s a few certainly being quite negative about it . ( not having a go here ) but even your own post #6189 would suggest this fact .
We have kept a couple of our better players despite some offers for them , added a midfielder and cleared out players that haven’t /won’t contribute anything..
It’s not been a bad window even though we all would have liked another player or 2 in though my point about Celtic shows this window isn’t an easy one in recruiting players , especially the right ones .
My post that you refer to specifically states that it is in the context of trying to get 3rd place and group stage European football. While no-one could legitimately describe the window as a disaster it would be equally fair to say that no-one could describe it as a storming success in terms of chasing that 3rd place.
04-02-2025, 10:47 AM
So there is no one at the club that is spending time on Hibs.net instead of bringing transfers in?
Paint me surprised.
Rash assumption.
itslegaltender
04-02-2025, 10:49 AM
Since Rocky came back we’ve been a solid top 4 side. Without him we were a solid bottom four side. This is just nonsense on your part, I’m afraid.
Iredale has been the gamechanger, not Rocky.
04-02-2025, 10:53 AM
... and Nicky Cadden getting fit ... and Boyle finding a bit of form ... and the change of shape. Quite a few things came together.
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 10:53 AM
Hertz signed McCart , Aberdeen have Rubezic , Dundee Utd have Gallagher and we have Rocky who I wouldn’t swap for any of the others … one of the most improved players in our squad who has been a big part in the teams good form which Gray has mentioned .
Paulie Walnuts
04-02-2025, 10:57 AM
... and Nicky Cadden getting fit ... and Boyle finding a bit of form ... and the change of shape. Quite a few things came together.
Any claims of one individual etc making the difference is pretty much nonsense. Numerous things have really clicked all at the same time to give us a massive upturn in form.
04-02-2025, 10:59 AM
Rocky has been strolling through games recently. He's improving all the time.
jakeshibs
04-02-2025, 11:20 AM
Fantastic post, exactly how I feel about this window.
Ron D Hibbie
04-02-2025, 11:40 AM
Rocky has been strolling through games recently. He's improving all the time.
100 per cent agree.
ruthven_raiders
04-02-2025, 11:45 AM
Overall, cant say im too dissatisfied.
Would still like another body in at CB - a Bevan on loan type.
GK: Smith, Bursik, Boruc
RCB: O'Hora
CB: Rocky, Marvin
LCB: Iredale
RWB: C. Cadden, Miller
CM: Triantis, Kwon, Levitt
CM: Newell, Manneh, Moriah-Welsh
LWB: N. Cadden, Obtia
AM: Campbell, Hoillett, Molitnikov
FW: Boyle, Gayle, Kuchy
FW: Bowie, Youan
Looks pretty well balanced to me, options to go 2 or 3 up top.
Think maybe a loan for Molotnikov could be a good idea.
Maybe free agent will be available ..all in all it's a decent squad now, just hope we keep injury free till end of the season...
04-02-2025, 11:47 AM
Maybe that’s just because Newell isn’t playing?[emoji6][emoji23]
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 11:55 AM
My post that you refer to specifically states that it is in the context of trying to get 3rd place and group stage European football. While no-one could legitimately describe the window as a disaster it would be equally fair to say that no-one could describe it as a storming success in terms of chasing that 3rd place.
It could have been better though it could also have been worse if we lost Rocky and Youan without having time to get replacements in . I think it’s been a decent enough window and understand why we haven’t recruited more players.
As to our squad I wouldn’t fancy us going up against Barcelona though as to competing against our rivals in Aberdeen , Dundee Utd and hertz etc I think our squad is more than capable of competing and should still be in the mix in challenging for 3rd place with what we have hopefully.
Saint Hibee
04-02-2025, 12:06 PM
Strong disagree! His passion and drive have been a key part in our revival, and he's ironing out the mistakes (albeit slowly).
Hibernian2105
04-02-2025, 12:30 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250204/ea5ced380839cb6b03f5f6a65803ef98.jpg
This is how I’d approach the summer (I expect Rocky miller Levitt youan to be 100% away, would probs keep Levitt tho but no done enough for the salary so..)
1 Starting right back
1 Starting centre half
2 backup centre half
2 defensive mids
1 creative pressing 10
Fast striker to play off defence
1 taller striker maybe experienced
1 winger who can play striker too as backup/a different option if neeeded
1 keeper to challenge (or probably better than) smith
Thoughts?
1875Sean
04-02-2025, 12:37 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250204/ea5ced380839cb6b03f5f6a65803ef98.jpg
This is how I’d approach the summer (I expect Rocky miller Levitt youan to be 100% away, would probs keep Levitt tho but no done enough for the salary so..)
1 Starting right back
1 Starting centre half
2 backup centre half
2 defensive mids
1 creative pressing 10
Fast striker to play off defence
1 taller striker maybe experienced
1 winger who can play striker too as backup/a different option if neeeded
1 keeper to challenge (or probably better than) smith
Thoughts?
bursik won’t be at Hibs, a number 1 should be the top target along with another central midfielder if we can’t get traintis and another striker
04-02-2025, 12:41 PM
Interview up with Malky. https://youtu.be/y5AAnY3XpeQ
Hibiza
04-02-2025, 12:52 PM
Amos & Mckirdy : good luck to both BUT who signed them ?
PHeffernan
04-02-2025, 12:56 PM
Dundee United - 24
Kilmarnock - 24
St Mirren - 24
Hibs - 25
Celtic - 26
Ross county - 26
Aberdeen - 27
Dundee - 27
Rangers - 27
Hearts - 30
St Johnstone - 33
Motherwell - 34
What is your source for this information?
Many have lots of errors in them or are just plain out of date.
I use most as a starter for 10 then check for accuracy.
Even one of the best info sources, transfermarkt, has the contract of Josh Campbell as expiring at the end of this season despite him signing a contract extension yonks ago. They had a similar error with Joe Newell for an age before eventually updating it.
Looking at Hibs squad of 25, only Boruc and Molotnikov are inexperienced and you can only name 19 players in a matchday squad and two of them will be keepers so 5 of the 22 outfield player won't make the matchday squad each game. That will cover injuries and suspensions.
We are now in the last 3rd of the season and have only 13 league games to play and a few cup games and only 1 outfield player will be injured when we play our next league game unless we lose someone else at the weekend.
Plenty resourses for the job at hand with Manneh and Newell to add to the current well performing team for our next league game on the 16th and Ekpiteta to be added before the end of the month. Also have Bowie and Kuharevych building up their fitness for another 10 days.
We have come out of the transfer window stronger than we went in so job done i.e. Manneh in and no starters out.
TrinityHibby
04-02-2025, 01:05 PM
Agreed, there is a section of the Hibs support that would be prepared to give Rocky a new contract on the basis of a few games where he has not made absolute howlers …..quite unbelievable ……it goes a long way to explain why the club has regressed so much under Gordon family control and why such a poor calibre of player is now deemed acceptable
04-02-2025, 01:12 PM
What is your source for this information?
Many have lots of errors in them or are just plain out of date.
I use most as a starter for 10 then check for accuracy.
Even one of the best info sources, transfermarkt, has the contract of Josh Campbell as expiring at the end of this season despite him signing a contract extension yonks ago. They had a similar error with Joe Newell for an age before eventually updating it.
Looking at Hibs squad of 25, only Boruc and Molotnikov are inexperienced and you can only name 19 players in a matchday squad and two of them will be keepers so 5 of the 22 outfield player won't make the matchday squad each game.
We are now in the last 3rd of the season and have only 13 league games to play and a few cup games and only 1 outfield player will be injured when we play our next league game unless we lose someone else at the weekend.
Plenty resourses for the job at hand with Manneh and Newell to add to the current well performing team for our next league game on the 16th and Ekpiteta to be added before the end of the month. Also have Bowie and Kuharevych building up their fitness for another 10 days.
We have come out of the transfer window stronger than we went in so job done i.e. Manneh in and no starters out.
Transfermkt from this morning.
What’s the errors?
04-02-2025, 01:13 PM
Very good interview and explains things very well. After listening to him I’m not so sure the summer window will be quite as extensive as people are thinking it’ll be. I’m sure a lot of contracts will be renewed and by the end of the process we might get 3 or 4 in.
No mention of what the BKG is bringing to the recruitment side of things (didn’t really expect him to mention it) but sound like we’re carrying on as if they’re not there. It would be good to know how their involvement will influence recruitment going forward.
Good interview though. 👍
tonyrougier123
04-02-2025, 01:13 PM
Nice wee update from Malky, I think outgoings and trimming the wage budget for the long term had to happen, my initial thoughts are we could’ve done with a couple in the door with Manneh.
Certainly the shape we are playing and coaching the squad to adapt to is working well with the type of players we have available so there is no panic for recruits but it’s still a gamble with 3rd unbelievably within our reach.
The outgoings between summer and February have been swift and well managed, Malky gets all the credit for me there.
Could be about to enter a great wee period for the club, hopefully Bill Foley can appreciate also the turn around and get fully behind how things are heading.
04-02-2025, 01:14 PM
Agreed, there is a section of the Hibs support that would be prepared to give Rocky a new contract on the basis of a few games where he has not made absolute howlers …..quite unbelievable ……it goes a long way to explain why the club has regressed so much under Gordon family control and why such a poor calibre of player is now deemed acceptable
Absolute garbage.
An OK interview, speaks well, not one mention of Foley and the pyramid of clubs, oh and doesn't he like saying "the football club" a lot ⚽😂
TrinityHibby
04-02-2025, 01:22 PM
Absolute garbage.
It really isn’t that difficult to understand …..if you listen to Malky Mackays post transfer interview he specifically says for Hibs to progress and be consistently Top 4 / qualifying for Europe it is essential Hibs upgrade the players that are out of contract in the summer with better…….Rocky is one of those players
tonyrougier123
04-02-2025, 01:22 PM
Absolute garbage.
Like Malky just said in update, no disrespect to players leaving but we must make sure we replace any that head for new pastures are of better quality.
I think on balance of his time at hibs if played correctly in a system that suits Rocky has proved he’s more than capable of holding onto his jersey, we are being punished a lot less for mistakes which seemed to always end up the worst outcome for some of our players. I’m still not convinced he’s the best header of the ball but he’s full of commitment and desire and is now cult status for a lot of us.
tonyrougier123
04-02-2025, 01:23 PM
An OK interview, speaks well, not one mention of Foley and the pyramid of clubs, oh and doesn't he like saying "the football club" a lot ⚽😂
“Our football club” to be precise
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 01:24 PM
It really isn’t that difficult to understand …..if you listen to Malky Mackays post transfer interview he specifically says for Hibs to progress and be consistently Top 4 / qualifying for Europe it is essential Hibs upgrade the players that are out of contract in the summer with better…….Rocky is one of those players
Boyle one too ?
04-02-2025, 01:28 PM
I don’t think he actually said that all players out of contract would leave. He said anyone who leaves would be replaced by better. He may have Rocky as a leaver in his mind but he didn’t say that. He said they would sit down with the players out of contract to discuss their future if they wanted to stay.
04-02-2025, 01:28 PM
Sounds like the club have realised we’re overpaying players and want to spend money a lot more wisely, the amount he says sustainable makes me think the current or past process wasn’t that whatsoever which seems obvious
inglisavhibs
04-02-2025, 01:32 PM
A wee bit jealous maybe, i wonder what team you support💚
“Our football club” to be precise
I stand corrected 😊
KeithWright9
04-02-2025, 01:38 PM
Boyle one too ?
We have an option on Boyle that we can choose the exercise , the ball is in our court and our court only.
04-02-2025, 01:39 PM
I think you need to have a wee lie down for a bit.
04-02-2025, 01:42 PM
I think you're being a bit harsh on Rocky. I think it's perfectly reasonable to want to move on from him based on the overall period of time he's been at the club.
But anyone with eyes can see that he's been very good since he's came back into the side, whether that's enough to give him a new contract is up to each persons on view point. For the time being he deserves the praise along with many of his teammates that have been mentioned such as Triantis' form, Iredales consistency, Smith being steady. We don't have to forgo recognising his contribution entirely because of previous seasons form.
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 01:45 PM
We have an option on Boyle that we can choose the exercise , the ball is in our court and our court only.
Yeah that’s true but we don’t have to take it up going by what the other posters making up . Personally I think we will take up the option on Boyle and also offer Rocky another contract which he deserves IMO .. wither he wants to stay is an entirely different matter though.
Fratelli
04-02-2025, 01:46 PM
Adam - “Malky, we’re speaking at the conclusion of the transfer window…”
Malky at 6.55 mins - “…the minute the transfer window closes tomorrow…”
Why did Malky use the word ‘tomorrow?’
Apologies if I’ve missed something but that’s a strange thing to say if the interview was recorded ‘at the conclusion of the transfer window’.
Paulie Walnuts
04-02-2025, 01:47 PM
Apologies if I’ve missed something but that’s a strange thing to say if the interview was recorded ‘at the conclusion of the transfer window’.
Good spot. Bit strange..
Hibees1973
Transfer window quiet for us.
Expect if we finish below 3rd we will have a few posters blaming the club for not buying new players in this window.
I'm actually pleased the club have not speculated on even more loans or expensive fantasy projects in this window. Shows they have learned from their mistakes (which they said they have done) by not having numerous aimless punts which they have done in the past. These aimless punts are why we have a bloated squad with so many players out on loan.
Going by some posters on here our accounts are not going to look very good when they come out around the next AGM.
What would you do if you have large losses either personally or in business.
Most of us would tighten our belts and ride it out until we are in a better position to spend/invest.
I've been a critic of Ian Gordon in the past. What we have done in this window suggests there has been a change in strategy. Ian Gordon should be commended for this.
In the summer we have a chance to move on a number of players. I expect Garvan Stewart has his pencil sharpened for the summer when I hope to see real change.
Because it was recorded on Sunday?
04-02-2025, 01:50 PM
Expect if we finish below 3rd we will have a few posters blaming the club for not buying new players in this window.
I'm actually pleased the club have not speculated on even more loans or expensive fantasy projects in this window. Shows they have learned from their mistakes (which they said they have done) by not having numerous aimless punts which they have done in the past. These aimless punts are why we have a bloated squad with so many players out on loan.
Going by some posters on here our accounts are not going to look very good when they come out around the next AGM.
Most of us would tighten our belts and ride it out until we are in a better position to spend/invest.
I've been a critic of Ian Gordon in the past. What we have done in this window suggests there has been a change in strategy. Ian Gordon should be commended for this.
In the summer we have a chance to move on a number of players. I expect Garvan Stewart has his pencil sharpened for the summer when I hope to see real change.
:agree: :top marks
04-02-2025, 01:51 PM
May I be the first to say...... FFS :greengrin:greengrin
Pass the doobie this way........:cb
04-02-2025, 01:52 PM
Suggests the club weren't interested in doing anything at all on deadline day for quite a while if we went through the trouble to record that on Sunday at least a day before the window closed.
I honestly thought that was largely a load of management-speak bollocks that said very, very little. Some of it seemed self-contradictory, the repeated emphasis on finances was a little worrying and when asked about the next window he seemed to imply that they would now get to thinking about that when you would have thought they should perhaps already be all over it well before now. The statement that the recruitment team are now beginning to gel was also a bit bizarre.
I guess if you recruit from a longlist and shortlist of one then you take what you get. It's a 'meh' from me.
Paulie Walnuts
The window concluded on Monday.
Fratelli
04-02-2025, 01:55 PM
My point exactly…Freudian slip perhaps?
TBH, I’d prefer to hear a more revealing interview with tough questions from Matty!
04-02-2025, 01:55 PM
Suggests the club weren't interested in doing anything at all on deadline day for quite a while if we went through the trouble to record that on Sunday at least a day before the window closed.
Or he just mispoke
04-02-2025, 01:57 PM
So we pay 3 guys six months wages not to be here while paying another 3 guys wages to take their place. Don’t think so.
Wasn’t far of the mark. The only surprise was Amos who I thought had another year on his contract. They wouldn’t have walked for nothing.
TrinityHibby
04-02-2025, 01:57 PM
Boyle one too ?
I would argue Boyle is a completely different case to the likes of Miller and Rocky given he has proven his worth to the Club over 10 seasons and been a regular starter over that period.
My guess is he may leave due to a number of factors which include his age, current salary and personal ambitions ……if he wanted to stay recruitment team may still decide they can secure a better value long term option
04-02-2025, 01:59 PM
I think our finances have been the key determinant for this window. The recent run of form gave strong enough cover to not spend and so they took it. That recruitment team will have a bulging filing cabinet by the time the next window opens, especially with all the gelling they're doing.
TrinityHibby
04-02-2025, 01:59 PM
I don’t think he actually said that all players out of contract would leave. He said anyone who leaves would be replaced by better. He may have Rocky as a leaver in his mind but he didn’t say that. He said they would sit down with the players out of contract to discuss their future if they wanted to stay.
Agreed 👍
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 02:01 PM
It’s been a combination of things like formation change , numerous different players like Rocky , Iredale , Smith , Boyle and quite a few more that’s helped turn things around including the manager and his staff that seem to have installed a “ togetherness “ in the squad… long may that continue btw .
As to Rocky I see a difference in him , in he’s not bombing forward as much and is doing the basic stuff now without trying to to over complicate it like if he’s under pressure he’ll just put the ball into row Z for a throw which I think again is probably down to Gray and his staff that deserve some credit for … Rocky has improved a lot and is worth keeping.
04-02-2025, 02:03 PM
It’s been a combination of things like formation change , numerous different players like Rocky , Iredale , Smith , Boyle and quite a few more that’s helped turn things around including the manager and his staff that seem to have installed a “ togetherness “ in the squad… long may that continue btw .
As to Rocky I see a difference in him , in he’s not bombing forward as much and is doing the basic stuff now without trying to to over complicate it like if he’s under pressure he’ll just put the ball into row Z for a throw which I think again is probably down to Gray and his staff that deserve some credit for … Rocky has improved a lot and is worth keeping.
Completely agree. Combined effort and everyone benefitting. We look very much a "team".
04-02-2025, 02:05 PM
I agree, unless there are obviously better players available in our budget which is probably the key.
badabing67
04-02-2025, 02:10 PM
]I don’t think he actually said that all players out of contract would leave[/B]. He said anyone who leaves would be replaced by better. He may have Rocky as a leaver in his mind but he didn’t say that. He said they would sit down with the players out of contract to discuss their future if they wanted to stay.
Your right he said discussion would be ongoing with ones that want to stay. But right now they need to focus on this stage of the season. I guess the discussions and outcomes will depend on where we finish in the league. If we finish in a Euro spot we are more likely to resign / extend more as we will need a bigger squad for the 1st of September.
04-02-2025, 02:13 PM
:worms:
04-02-2025, 02:14 PM
Re the bit in bold - what's wrong with that? Folk aren't suggesting expensive fantasy projects etc, but a couple of good quality additions could be all the difference between group stage football or not.
04-02-2025, 02:20 PM
Or he just mispoke
Perhaps. Maybe it was filmed late last night and he was referring to it closing "tomorrow' as in that's it it's all over properly.
I'm not really fussed when they decided to film it or when they decided to call it a day on our business. I'm fairly happy with where we are at the moment. As others have said I think the finances are probably are huge factor still on what business was possible this window.
04-02-2025, 02:20 PM
Didn’t have a Hibees1973 face turn on my 2025 bingo card
04-02-2025, 02:26 PM
I think our finances have been the key determinant for this window. The recent run of form gave strong enough cover to not spend and so they took it. That recruitment team will have a bulging filing cabinet by the time the next window opens, especially with all the gelling they're doing.
Or there were some targets identified by MM and co but Garvan Stewart and BKG put the kybosh on them when he arrived in November because they didn't like the look of them and the money we would need to spend?
Hibees1973
04-02-2025, 02:36 PM
Didn’t have a Hibees1973 face turn on my 2025 bingo card
Saul, I'm always willing to give credit where it is due.
It's fair to say there has been an upturn in fortunes on the park in the last few months. And, on the surface (know there are some on here purport to be ITK, I don't) a bit more common sense decision making behind the scenes at the club.
We all understand things can change quickly. A loss on Friday would be a bit of a blow, but not a crisis.
But in the long term, I am optimistic that we are starting to overcome and learn from some poor decisions made in the last few years.
04-02-2025, 04:13 PM
Saul, I'm always willing to give credit where it is due.
It's fair to say there has been an upturn in fortunes on the park in the last few months. And, on the surface (know there are some on here purport to be ITK, I don't) a bit more common sense decision making behind the scenes at the club.
We all understand things can change quickly. A loss on Friday would be a bit of a blow, but not a crisis.
But in the long term, I am optimistic that we are starting to overcome and learn from some poor decisions made in the last few years.
When we do have a loss, the test will be how we recover from that and we will find out how close knit a team we have in place and how robust our confidence is.
As for Malky, well he ticked all the boxes or things to say without saying anything, but it does feel like there is a clearer focus now on team and squad building than we have had in the last few years.
I do think we should just get Dave and Rocky tondo all our interviews from now on, as they wouldnt be dull 😁
I still feel quietly confident SDG is pulling us in the right direction.
Hibs4185
04-02-2025, 04:18 PM
Agreed
I honestly thought that was largely a load of management-speak bollocks that said very, very little. Some of it seemed self-contradictory, the repeated emphasis on finances was a little worrying and when asked about the next window he seemed to imply that they would now get to thinking about that when you would have thought they should perhaps already be all over it well before now. The statement that the recruitment team are now beginning to gel was also a bit bizarre.
I guess if you recruit from a longlist and shortlist of one then you take what you get. It's a 'meh' from me.
Agree, said earlier that it was an OK interview, nothing controversial but nothing new, bit word salad at times.
Jock O
04-02-2025, 04:30 PM
Or there were some targets identified by MM and co but Garvan Stewart and BKG put the kybosh on them when he arrived in November because they didn't like the look of them and the money we would need to spend?
Garvan Stewart works for Hibs, and reports into Malky does he not. Are you saying this is just an illusion? And isn't he in charge of doing the identifying ?
04-02-2025, 04:33 PM
Malky mentioned David Marshall, genuine question, what is his role, as we already have a GK coach?
04-02-2025, 04:40 PM
Malky mentioned David Marshall, genuine question, what is his role, as we already have a GK coach?
Mackay’s “assistant”.
04-02-2025, 04:46 PM
Mackay’s “assistant”.
Latest management scapegoat? 🤣
Benny Brazil
04-02-2025, 04:48 PM
Could be wrong but does the window not shut in some places in Europe today - so maybe he was referring to that particularly if we had received bids for Rocky from a Belgian club as has been reported
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 05:02 PM
Best of luck Harry …
https://www.bromleyfc.co.uk/news/first-team/harry-mckirdy-signs-on-a-permanent-deal/
04-02-2025, 05:06 PM
The whole interview was a bit of a waste of time really. Sick of listening to all this management chat from Hibs. Stop talking and start doing.
3rd is within the clubs grasp and they have done what they think can get that. I personally think they should have done more but it’s up to them to prove me and others who think that wrong.
If they don’t get Euro footy or fall behind Hearts then they will have failed and at that point it will be time for some to move on.
Stop talking and start doing it Hibs.
P.s. I’m aware current form is good.[emoji106]
04-02-2025, 05:07 PM
Best of luck Harry …
https://www.bromleyfc.co.uk/news/first-team/harry-mckirdy-signs-on-a-permanent-deal/
You would think getting a contract from us would have used up all his luck.
Best of luck Harry …
Good luck to the boy, been through a lot hope things work out for him 🤞
Hibdan12
04-02-2025, 05:58 PM
The whole interview was a bit of a waste of time really. Sick of listening to all this management chat from Hibs. Stop talking and start doing.
3rd is within the clubs grasp and they have done what they think can get that. I personally think they should have done more but it’s up to them to prove me and others who think that wrong.
If they don’t get Euro footy or fall behind Hearts then they will have failed and at that point it will be time for some to move on.
Stop talking and start doing it Hibs.
P.s. I’m aware current form is good.[emoji106]
Malky did a similar interview in the summer that worried me at the time. Simply because he was telling the squad that it would be a transition season and that most of the squad would be released.
I'm not saying this was the sole cause of our poor start to the season but I would image this had a negative effect. This could of created at least a few bad apples in the camp that knew they were not in the plans.
We have got a few away but this new interview has a similar message which I hope doesn't effect the players. Such comments didnt exactly do butcher any favours.
04-02-2025, 06:17 PM
My point exactly…Freudian slip perhaps?
TBH, I’d prefer to hear a more revealing interview with tough questions from Matty!
like which biscuit could you through the furthest ;)
04-02-2025, 06:19 PM
Good luck to the boy, been through a lot hope things work out for him 🤞
Will probably end up scoring a barrowload of goals for Bromley.
04-02-2025, 06:23 PM
Stay classy.
Good luck Harry Mckirdy:flag:
Murphys Touch
04-02-2025, 06:35 PM
Best of luck Harry …
Spent “a fortune”on him and not a single goal. Waste
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2025, 06:47 PM
Spent “a fortune”on him and not a single goal. Waste
Unfortunate it didn’t work out alright though with the health issues he faced which couldn’t have been easy for him I particularly wish him well and hope he tears it up at Bromley.
04-02-2025, 06:48 PM
Bromley is now my local club. Anyone that thinks Scottish Premiership level is comparable to League 2 here is very much mistaken!
Interesting fact: since the general election they are the only League club in England out of 92 that play in a Tory constituency...
04-02-2025, 06:50 PM
Is McKirdy playing tonight?
Auckland Hibs
04-02-2025, 06:52 PM
Will probably end up scoring a barrowload of goals for Bromley.
Because he's found his level.
Green forever
04-02-2025, 06:54 PM
Is McKirdy playing tonight?
Checked Livescore and not quoted in team or on the bench but possibly not signed/registered in time .
04-02-2025, 06:58 PM
Malky did a similar interview in the summer that worried me at the time. Simply because he was telling the squad that it would be a transition season and that most of the squad would be released.
I'm not saying this was the sole cause of our poor start to the season but I would image this had a negative effect. This could of created at least a few bad apples in the camp that knew they were not in the plans.
We have got a few away but this new interview has a similar message which I hope doesn't effect the players. Such comments didnt exactly do butcher any favours.
If the remainder of a season isn’t a success it won’t be down to attitude if will to do well. That is clear to see now IMO.
Lack of quality or not strengthening sufficiently might catch up with us, or might not, but what we do have will give it a proper go between now and May IMO.
04-02-2025, 07:03 PM
like which biscuit could you through the furthest ;)
The answer is not Alan Preston!
04-02-2025, 07:04 PM
Churlish comment but then you have form for that.
MKHIBEE
04-02-2025, 07:16 PM
Best of luck Harry …
Good luck to the guy, hope it works out for him
04-02-2025, 07:25 PM
Checked Livescore and not quoted in team or on the bench but possibly not signed/registered in time .
Ah right cheers.
Edit: Just noticed they're beating Salford 2 nil.