Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

10-01-2021, 08:46 AM
Michael O'Neill is another oneArthur Duncan was pretty good as well[emoji6]

Mr. Wonderful
10-01-2021, 08:53 AM
He did say any winger ever.

The fact you've had to go back that far does more to prove the initial point though, no?

10-01-2021, 08:59 AM
The fact you've had to go back that far does more to prove the initial point though, no?

Boyle has been very good for us. Is he current enough? 😁

Weegreenman
10-01-2021, 09:54 AM
I can’t believe GMS has signed for that lot. I’d love to see him at Easter Road in a Green jersey, sadly not to be.

Great signing for the vermin.

Mr. Wonderful
10-01-2021, 10:24 AM
Boyle has been very good for us. Is he current enough? 😁

Of course I like Boyle and would probably just about describe him as good but ability wasn't in question, consistency was. And I don't think anyone could ever call Boyle consistent.

Key West
10-01-2021, 10:28 AM
I would say that Boyle is a better all round player than Gary Mackay Stevens, though I think the latter will play a significant role in getting Hearts promoted.

Walter
10-01-2021, 10:34 AM
No. There have been lots of more consistent wingers than him. Kevin McAllister, Mickey Weir and Didier Agathe are three quick examples of wingers that, in their day, I would expect to perform on a more consistent basis than GMS.

Can't believe you didn't mention my favourite player Tony Rougier

10-01-2021, 10:41 AM
Of course I like Boyle and would probably just about describe him as good but ability wasn't in question, consistency was. And I don't think anyone could ever call Boyle consistent.

Of course he's consistent. If he wasn't we wouldn't have given him an increased contract & he wouldn't have become a full internationalist. He's by far our most dangerous player & he's the only player in a Hibs jersey that other teams deliberately target. When fit he's an automatic 1st choice & I doubt there's been a more consistent player than Boyle over last 3 seasons.

10-01-2021, 10:44 AM
I would say that Boyle is a better all round player than Gary Mackay Stevens, though I think the latter will play a significant role in getting Hearts promoted.

Hearts are well clear already. They don't need him to get promoted.

Mr. Wonderful
10-01-2021, 10:44 AM
Of course he's consistent. If he wasn't we wouldn't have given him an increased contract & he wouldn't have become a full internationalist. He's by far our most dangerous player & he's the only player in a Hibs jersey that other teams deliberately target. When fit he's an automatic 1st choice & I doubt there's been a more consistent player than Boyle over last 3 seasons.

He never hides and he's always a danger, but he's frustratingly inconsistent in performance levels. He even says so himself.

NC1875
10-01-2021, 10:46 AM

Don’t agree with that. Boyle is unplayable at times and other times he’s just not very good. He’s far from consistent.

If he was consistent he wouldnt be at Hibs.

Mr. Wonderful
10-01-2021, 10:47 AM

Put the pipe doon mate.

10-01-2021, 10:51 AM

The only thing consistent about Boyle is his inconsistency

10-01-2021, 10:58 AM

Boyle isn't consisted unfortunately. Take the semi final for example, he was anonymous in our biggest game of the season.

If Boyle was consistent he'd probably be the best player in the country.

Robbo6-2
10-01-2021, 11:00 AM
Boyle isn't consisted unfortunately. Take the semi final for example, he was anonymous in our biggest game of the season.

If Boyle was consistent he'd probably be the best player in the country.

If he had a left foot we would of won the semi. Horrendous touch

10-01-2021, 11:10 AM
All wingers are inconsistent to a certain extent, even the better ones.

Rumble de Thump
10-01-2021, 11:15 AM
If Gary Mackay-Steven was as good as Martin Boyle he wouldn't be signing for a Scottish Championship club.

10-01-2021, 11:17 AM
If Gary Mackay-Steven was as good as Martin Boyle he wouldn't be signing for a Scottish Championship club.

All about cash. He's not good enough for the bigot twins, Aberdeen couldn't afford him, we didn't want him. Hearts offer loads of cash. Simple really

10-01-2021, 11:18 AM

It is amazing the extent to which some of our support will talk up players that aren’t ours.

Rumble de Thump
10-01-2021, 11:19 AM
Unfortunately for Hearts players over the years, whether the club pays them their wages or not tends to be a hit and miss. Good luck to him.

Mr. Wonderful
10-01-2021, 11:20 AM
It is amazing the extent to which some of our support will talk up players that aren’t ours.

It's amazing the extent people will talk down players just because they signed for our rivals

10-01-2021, 11:24 AM
Don’t agree with that. Boyle is unplayable at times and other times he’s just not very good. He’s far from consistent.

If he was consistent he wouldnt be at Hibs.

Agree totally with this.

Rumble de Thump
10-01-2021, 11:25 AM
It's amazing the extent people will talk down players just because they signed for our rivals

Hearts aren't Hibs' rival.

10-01-2021, 11:31 AM

Not sure Aberdeen are Hearts rivals...

10-01-2021, 11:32 AM
Boyle is surrounded by inconsistent players and his “hit and cold” performances will reflect our team’s.

Because we have few threats on the park consistently who perform at his level, it is possible for teams to double up on him and make him appear even more inconsistent.

If he played for a top side with threats throughout the team who got into the park consistently, I think you’d see more consistency from him.

As long as he’s playing in a Hibs side like this one, he’ll be blighted by this.

Remember how consistent he was during the second half of our 1st season back up, when him, Kamberi, McLaren, Allan, McGinn and McGeouch all required attention?

10-01-2021, 11:34 AM
Put the pipe doon mate.

Do you think GMS is better than Boyle? Really? GMS was bang average at Aberdeen last season he was here and been poor in the MLS.

10-01-2021, 11:38 AM
Do you think GMS is better than Boyle? Really? GMS was bang average at Aberdeen last season he was here and been poor in the MLS.

If he was all that he'd be signing for Hibs or Aberdeen not a championship club.

10-01-2021, 11:40 AM
If he was all that he'd be signing for Hibs or Aberdeen not a championship club.

Exactly. I don’t doubt he’s getting daft money at Hearts. But we made no approach for him.

10-01-2021, 11:45 AM
Boyle would be better for us having a threat like GMS on the other wing, just like he is when Murphy is fit and carrying a threat on the other side.

10-01-2021, 11:56 AM
All wingers are inconsistent to a certain extent, even the better ones.

I agree but a lot of that is down to the service they receive. If a winger has to go looking for the ball then they're far less effective. Since our final championship season, Boyle, when available has been a 1st choice pick for every manager. He has very few substitute appearances. Anyway, per the sages on Hibs Net we haven't had a consistent player in any position for 20 years!

10-01-2021, 11:56 AM
Ok guys/gals, all this bickering about GMS is getting a bit tedious now. Can we just agree that he is a good player on his day, will be a good acquisition for them this season and leave it at that.
Now, has anyone any news/ rumours about Hib s signing targets ?
( Cue the dafties.

Gordy M
10-01-2021, 12:06 PM
Re GMs, read the same rubbish on here about we shouldve signed Halkett, Naismith, Boyce etc.....result, bottom of the league and RELEGATED.....

10-01-2021, 12:07 PM
LTYF.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Aw wow! I’ve never had an LTYF before!

Highwayman
10-01-2021, 12:51 PM
Can we now put a plug in the GMS debate.Who cares.He’s signed for a lower league team.See Preston North End have signed Ched Evans.They would have to call the bomb squad to .net if the Jambos had signed him.

10-01-2021, 01:04 PM
Can we now put a plug in the GMS debate.Who cares.He’s signed for a lower league team.See Preston North End have signed Ched Evans.They would have to call the bomb squad to .net if the Jambos had signed him.

Ched Evans to Preston is a crazy signing.

You could understand a wee club maybe taking a risk that the collateral damage that comes with signing him might pay off by getting a standard of player you might otherwise not have been able to.

Preston are choosing to antagonise a section of their support to sign a 32 year old who hasn’t played at that level for a long time and hasn’t obviously played at such a high standard that he deserves such a move on football terms alone.

Strange one.

Robbo6-2
10-01-2021, 01:06 PM
Ched Evans to Preston is a crazy signing.

You could understand a wee club maybe taking a risk that the collateral damage that comes with signing him might pay off by getting a standard of player you might otherwise not have been able to.

Preston are choosing to antagonise a section of their support to sign a 32 year old who hasn’t played at that level for a long time and hasn’t obviously played at such a high standard that he deserves such a move on football terms alone.

Strange one.

His conviction was quashed so in the eyes of the law he actually didnt do anything wrong.

10-01-2021, 02:02 PM

Hearts aren't Hibs' rival.

Hibs.net has come so far. Who knew we’d have a conversation one day between a Mr Oagwibble and a Mr Fezziwig?

10-01-2021, 02:06 PM
Welcome to the Hearts transfer thread, where we're witnessing an exciting battle between the "every player they sign is pish and past it" squad and the "OMGZ, why didn't we sign them???" team. At half time it's pretty even with the "they're all pish" squad possibly shading it. Tune in next time for Hibs transfer news? Nah.

10-01-2021, 02:10 PM
Welcome to the Hearts transfer thread, where we're witnessing an exciting battle between the "every player they sign is pish and past it" squad and the "OMGZ, why didn't we sign them???" team. At half time it's pretty even with the "they're all pish" squad possibly shading it. Tune in next time for Hibs transfer news? Nah.

Many a true word spoken in jest.

10-01-2021, 02:30 PM
I’d love us to make a bid for Scott Wright. I think he’s going down south though.

ElginHibbie
10-01-2021, 02:43 PM
Daily Record saying Jackson Irvine being linked

Magpie
10-01-2021, 02:46 PM

Would be a great signing.

10-01-2021, 02:46 PM

Expecting him to have a medical with us! Buzzing if this is true.

10-01-2021, 02:47 PM
Irvine due to have a medical according to Scott burns in the daily record.

**** the hertz and all who play for and support them
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

Souter96Mac
Now that would be something. You can shove your GMS

Hopefully Irvine would be on a decent length of deal :agree:

Depends where his fitness is? When did he last play a game?

10-01-2021, 02:48 PM
Very promising.

If we could secure another striker we’d be in decent shape for the rest of the season.

Magpie
10-01-2021, 02:49 PM
Depends where his fitness is? When did he last play a game?

Think it was Hull before they got relegated? Apparently he was one of their best players though.

10-01-2021, 02:51 PM
Irvine due to have a medical according to Scott burns in the daily record.

Everyone Burns links with us signs for someone else usually.

10-01-2021, 02:51 PM
Irvine hasn’t played for ages but I’d be delighted for us to sign him. Just noticed the article only says until the end of the season though, which would suggest he’d use us to get himself back fit then leave in the summer.

10-01-2021, 02:54 PM
It’s Scott Burns, so Irvine is having a medical somewhere, probably not with us and then he can tweet and say we’ve missed out on our target.

Magpie
10-01-2021, 02:56 PM
Irvine hasn’t played for ages but I’d be delighted for us to sign him. Just noticed the article only says until the end of the season though, which would suggest he’d use us to get himself back fit then leave in the summer.

Or perhaps have an option of another year. I’d be surprised if we didn’t have something like this.

10-01-2021, 02:57 PM
Like a lot of fans Jack Ross clearly sees centre mid as a priority. We're crying out for someone like Irvine in there.

skyehibee
10-01-2021, 02:57 PM
Brilliant signing Jackson would be if we could get him. Exactly what we need in midfield

10-01-2021, 02:59 PM
Irvine is a decent player but not having played since last March is a bit of a concern. Hopefully he can come in and get up to speed quickly.

Clarence
10-01-2021, 03:00 PM

The initial point that every winger ever would struggle in a wet midweek game against opposition from the Scottish lower leagues is not a particularly strong argument so I just thought of some fun examples for people the same age as me. And yes Tony Rougier did cross my mind however he was actually the picture of inconsistency towards the end of his time at the club. Unplayable on his day but could spend entire matches sauntering up and down the touch line without getting involved in the game too much.

10-01-2021, 03:00 PM
Jackson Irvine would be grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat!

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/0gl454ZvHVQ/hqdefault.jpg

10-01-2021, 03:09 PM
Jackson Irvine would be grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat!

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/0gl454ZvHVQ/hqdefault.jpg

What position does he play?

10-01-2021, 03:14 PM
What position does he play?Centre mid

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Lee Marvin
10-01-2021, 03:19 PM
Wouldnt believe a thing Burns says about Hibs

10-01-2021, 03:30 PM
Everyone Burns links with us signs for someone else usually.

Agree would treat this with caution on that basis however would be an excellent signing though bit odd he hasn't had a club for a while.

If we got Cadden and Irvine we would certainly have a very physically competitive midfield.

Wouldnt believe a thing Burns says about Hibs

Yep agree

10-01-2021, 03:32 PM
Thats very interesting.

Mr. Wonderful
10-01-2021, 03:33 PM
Don't see why we need Irvine. We've got Gogic for the DM role

10-01-2021, 03:34 PM
If we got Cadden and Irvine we would certainly have a very physically competitive midfield.

Is Cadden a midfielder?

I’d hope we’re not signing a full back to shoehorn into midfield.

10-01-2021, 03:35 PM

Hes not a dm? Hes a box to box player.

And honestly, he is significantly better than gogic.

IAmLee
10-01-2021, 03:36 PM
Is Cadden a midfielder?

He plays right midfield and right back. Played right and central mid mostly for Motherwell and more as a right back for Oxford and the American team

yerauldda
10-01-2021, 03:37 PM
A midfield of Newell, Allan and Irvine would be quite something. So much flair, so much hair.

10-01-2021, 03:46 PM
A midfield of Newell, Allan and Irvine would be quite something. So much flair, so much hair.

From what I remember of Irvine he’d definitely improve what I’ve felt all season is an absolute lack of athleticism in the midfield.

sean04
10-01-2021, 03:46 PM
Surely means someone out, wouldn’t be surprised to see newell head back down south

hibee1875
10-01-2021, 03:47 PM
Surely means someone out, wouldn’t be surprised to see newell head back down south

Wouldn’t be surprised to see Mallan back at St Mirren

Souter96Mac
10-01-2021, 03:51 PM

I fear the same. Would love to see a midfield of Newell, Irvine and Allan when he's back fit

chippy
10-01-2021, 03:53 PM

Add Boyle and Cadden in a 5 and we’re talking the business

10-01-2021, 03:57 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised if hallberg or mallan leave. Both would be no great loss now.

IAmLee
10-01-2021, 03:58 PM
Is Cadden a midfielder?

He plays right midfield and right back. Played right and central mid mostly for Motherwell and more as a right back for Oxford and the American team

10-01-2021, 04:00 PM

Don’t know enough about Jackson but it sounds like signing another non match fit player. Have we not got enough of them?

chippy
10-01-2021, 04:01 PM

Gogic is a centre half playing in midfield.

10-01-2021, 04:03 PM
Gogic is a centre half playing in midfield.

And Irvine’s a better player

Comfy with the ball at his feet too. Gogic gives me a heart attack every time he has it

10-01-2021, 04:04 PM
Most of the Twitter comments from Hull fans were of disappointment when he left. A few were pissed he chose not to extend his contract and leave before last season finished. Played over 100 games for Hull and pitched in with a few goals. This would be a good signing and I’d hope it would be more than just until the summer. Not sure if this is accurate but apparently he was on 15k per week at Hull so wages may be an issue.

10-01-2021, 04:12 PM
Most of the Twitter comments from Hull fans were of disappointment when he left. A few were pissed he chose not to extend his contract and leave before last season finished. Played over 100 games for Hull and pitched in with a few goals. This would be a good signing and I’d hope it would be more than just until the summer. Not sure if this is accurate but apparently he was on 15k per week at Hull so wages may be an issue.

Hull can’t pay that now though as they are salary capped. Unless a championship club in England want him then the SPFL is his best option.

The Count
What position does he play?

That was a great penalty Tony when you beat Pat Jennings.

NC1875
Don’t see anywhere that suggests it would only be a deal until the summer ?

Irvine would be a great signing. Exactly the type of midfielder we don’t have currently.

Irvine in and Hallberg out would be a good bit of business

10-01-2021, 04:13 PM
Jackson Irvine is the exact type of player we need, he’s sheer quality.

For people asking why do we need him when we have Gogic, because he is a far far better player. He can do the dirty side but also get around the pitch well and is good on the ball.

Him, Newell, Magennis and Allan competing for starting spots is strong, never mind Gogic, Mallan and Hallberg.

10-01-2021, 04:14 PM
This clip is from 5 years ago, and just one game, but if he’s still the same player he looks like a genuine all rounder midfielder.

https://youtu.be/u34pYRQvxvY

10-01-2021, 04:15 PM
Don’t see anywhere that suggests it would only be a deal until the summer ?

Irvine would be a great signing. Exactly the type of midfielder we don’t have currently.

Irvine in and Hallberg out would be a good bit of business

This is under the headline

“ The former Ross County star is a free agent since leaving Hull City in the summer and the Easter Road boss is keen on signing him for the second half of the season.”

I’ve taken that to mean it’ll be a short term deal but could be wrong. If it is short term hopefully there’s an option to extend it.

10-01-2021, 04:16 PM
Hes not a dm? Hes a box to box player.

And honestly, he is significantly better than gogic.

Agreed. He can play DM but he basically plays all over the midfield.

10-01-2021, 04:19 PM

“ The former Ross County star is a free agent since leaving Hull City in the summer and the Easter Road boss is keen on signing him for the second half of the season.”

I’ve taken that to mean it’ll be a short term deal but could be wrong. If it is short term hopefully there’s an option to extend it.

If it’s just a deal until the end of the season without any guarantees he’ll sign a deal I’d be less keen to sign him. He’d probably get more out of that deal in getting match fit and in the shop window than we would from the amount of games we would get from him when he’s match fit.

NC1875
10-01-2021, 04:22 PM

Hopefully that’s meaning “to have him in place for the second half of the season” rather than he’d just be here for half a season.

Fingers crossed

10-01-2021, 04:26 PM
If it’s just a deal until the end of the season without any guarantees he’ll sign a deal I’d be less keen to sign him. He’d probably get more out of that deal in getting match fit and in the shop window than we would from the amount of games we would get from him when he’s match fit.Agreed, not enough in it for us if that's the plan. We don't want to sent a message that we'll happily be a glorified training camp for players.

For what it's worth I don't see why we couldn't sign him longer term, he's been without a club now for half a season and although he's a great players he's not out of our league so to say.

10-01-2021, 04:29 PM
i'd be majorly surprised if it were to be just until the end of this season, not played a match for 8 months so by the time we could play him for more than the last 20 mins of a game we will just have a few games left :) and probably on a fair whack as well £££, i've already consigned myself to thinking it could be the end of febuary at earliest for scott allan getting a run....maybe even longer

10-01-2021, 04:42 PM

Irvine is a big upgrade on gogic

10-01-2021, 04:43 PM
Why has Irvine not played since the summer?

10-01-2021, 04:44 PM
Why has Irvine not played since the summer?

Sheffield Wednesday were in for him. Think he was expecting a better move? He has been training with Oldham so should be in decent shape, obviously just needs games of football now.

10-01-2021, 04:46 PM
Sheffield Wednesday were in for him. Think he was expecting a better move? He has been training with Oldham so should be in decent shape, obviously just needs games of football now.
Cheers.

10-01-2021, 04:55 PM

So he hasn’t exactly been in great demand?

10-01-2021, 05:05 PM
So he hasn’t exactly been in great demand?

Couldn't tell you, he may have been butbwas holding out for something else thst didn't materialise. Maybe he was hoping for a mive abroad but didn't feel right with the pandemic.

Can't tell you why he's without a club

10-01-2021, 05:14 PM
Couldn't tell you, he may have been butbwas holding out for something else thst didn't materialise. Maybe he was hoping for a mive abroad but didn't feel right with the pandemic.

Can't tell you why he's without a club

He’ll certainly be sensible to find a club now. Football is not going to escape big job losses especially if some clubs go to the wall.

10-01-2021, 05:14 PM
Would be very happy if we can wrap up Irvine and Cadden.

10-01-2021, 05:31 PM
Would be very happy if we can wrap up Irvine and Cadden.

Likewise, but surely we would be looking to move a few out.
Hallberg Mallan McGinn Gogic will all struggle for any game time if these 2 come in and Magennis and Allan get up to speed.

Hibiza
10-01-2021, 05:32 PM

He he 10/10.

10-01-2021, 05:54 PM
Surprised at the lack of excitement/comments re Irvine.

In saying that I’m trying not too get too excited as it feels like everytime were linked in the press with a good player that were away to sign/they have a medical something comes up and they go elsewhere.

10-01-2021, 05:56 PM

Irvine isn’t a DM

10-01-2021, 05:59 PM
Likewise, but surely we would be looking to move a few out.
Hallberg Mallan McGinn Gogic will all struggle for any game time if these 2 come in and Magennis and Allan get up to speed.

I take it by McGinn, you mean Stephen ?

10-01-2021, 06:01 PM
What's a rumour without some youtube footage

https://youtu.be/u34pYRQvxvY

10-01-2021, 06:04 PM
I always felt Irvine was rather limited as a footballer technically, however was hard working and a good tackler which is possibly what we need.

Interesting that he has been without a club but was MOTM in the league cup final and kept McGinn quiet that day

10-01-2021, 06:04 PM
Sign him tomorrow but too late for the Celtic game, plays in the bounce game on Tuesday and raring to go for the weekend?

love it.

10-01-2021, 06:11 PM
Irvine isn’t a DM

So he can't play the Matty Jack role?

10-01-2021, 06:22 PM
I take it by McGinn, you mean Stephen ?

Yes

10-01-2021, 06:24 PM
Ryan Edmunson going back to Leeds fron Aberdeen. That's them got 1 out

10-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Ryan Edmunson going back to Leeds fron Aberdeen. That's them got 1 out

DONS LAND CADDEN AND IRVINE
By Scott Burns
SunSport can exclusively reveal that Aberdeen are set to pip Hibs to the post for midfielders Chris Cadden and Jackson Irvine.
The Easter Road side had previously agreed terms for both, with the players agreeing medicals.
However, it looks like Derek McInnes' side have tempted pacy winger Cadden and stopper Irvine to head north after coming in with eleventh-hour offers.
The moves come as a surprise, with Aberdeen chairman Dave Cormack publicly stating the club were operating a one-in, one-out policy.
Speaking to SunSport, McInnes was quoted as saying "This is a complete surprise. Honest. We were never in for either of these players until, like, five minutes ago. Thanks to Scott Bu- I mean, the chairman for sorting this for me."

Magpie
10-01-2021, 06:40 PM
By Scott Burns
SunSport can exclusively reveal that Aberdeen are set to pip Hibs to the post for midfielders Chris Cadden and Jackson Irvine.
The Easter Road side had previously agreed terms for both, with the players agreeing medicals.
However, it looks like Derek McInnes' side have tempted pacy winger Cadden and stopper Irvine to head north after coming in with eleventh-hour offers.
The moves come as a surprise, with Aberdeen chairman Dave Cormack publicly stating the club were operating a one-in, one-out policy.
Speaking to SunSport, McInnes was quoted as saying "This is a complete surprise. Honest. We were never in for either of these players until, like, five minutes ago. Thanks to Scott Bu- I mean, the chairman for sorting this for me."

I believed that for a moment 😂

10-01-2021, 06:56 PM
Don’t know enough about Jackson but it sounds like signing another non match fit player. Have we not got enough of them?

I get where you're coming from but from what I can gather Irvine is a quality player of a kind we need at the moment and the fact he's without a club and looking to get back playing only strengthens our chances of landing him - whereas he'd probably have been out of our league wage wise 6 months ago.

He left Hull after relegation from the Championship when they wanted him to take a wage cut - refused it and so was granted a free. He was their captain and is an Aussie international and probably fancied his chances of winning a move to another Championship side although it seems that COVID landed him in limbo. He has been training with a club down south and if he lacks match fitness is not coming back from any injuries so should be not far away from being in fine fettle.

10-01-2021, 06:58 PM
He’s been training with Oldham so he should be fit.

10-01-2021, 07:14 PM
Jackson Irvine is the exact type of player we need, he’s sheer quality.

For people asking why do we need him when we have Gogic, because he is a far far better player. He can do the dirty side but also get around the pitch well and is good on the ball.

Him, Newell, Magennis and Allan competing for starting spots is strong, never mind Gogic, Mallan and Hallberg.

I remember him well from the motm performance he put in against us in the 2016 League Cup Final.

He’s a much more positive player than Gogic and could play alongside him in a midfield two. Or he takes the DM role and allow Gogic to play centre back if needed.

10-01-2021, 07:18 PM
So he can't play the Matty Jack role?

Think Josh Vela but, like, good.

10-01-2021, 07:24 PM
Irvine would be a great signing. Even if he's not match fit. Still think we are very light up top and could do with another wide player but understand its a difficult time.

10-01-2021, 08:16 PM
He’s been training with Oldham so he should be fit.

Fit and match fit are quite different things though. Find it very odd he didn’t sign a short term deal anywhere in August, I wonder why he didn’t sign up with Oldham?

If Irvine does sign, I wonder if Gogic will be competing for a place in the centre of our defence. A few folk have mentioned that he has played there Hamilton?

10-01-2021, 08:31 PM
Fit and match fit are quite different things though. Find it very odd he didn’t sign a short term deal anywhere in August, I wonder why he didn’t sign up with Oldham?

If Irvine does sign, I wonder if Gogic will be competing for a place in the centre of our defence. A few folk have mentioned that he has played there Hamilton?

Agreed, however the good news is that he hasn't bewn injured and coming back from an injury. Perhaos one of the reasons for fhe the bounce game is to give Irvine, Cadden and Allan some minutes on the pitch 👀

JDT
10-01-2021, 09:20 PM
Cadden for Wright
Irvine for Hallberg

Do I dare to dream?

10-01-2021, 09:32 PM
By Scott Burns

Not funny. Nearly sh it masel'

10-01-2021, 10:56 PM
I get where you're coming from but from what I can gather Irvine is a quality player of a kind we need at the moment and the fact he's without a club and looking to get back playing only strengthens our chances of landing him - whereas he'd probably have been out of our league wage wise 6 months ago.

He left Hull after relegation from the Championship when they wanted him to take a wage cut - refused it and so was granted a free. He was their captain and is an Aussie international and probably fancied his chances of winning a move to another Championship side although it seems that COVID landed him in limbo. He has been training with a club down south and if he lacks match fitness is not coming back from any injuries so should be not far away from being in fine fettle.

I did say that I didn’t know too much about the player and others have now confirmed that he has been training with a decent team since leaving Hull. In that event it is much quicker to move from being fit to match fit, rather than starting from scratch after 6 months out and if he is as good as some on here are suggesting, then he could well be a good addition to the squad if we are able to count on him for a substantial number of games.

badabing67
11-01-2021, 08:17 AM
We could be playing Celtic reserves tonight depending on isolation decision. Wonder if the Green Brigade will blame Lenny for it. If the decision is to isolate a bet there will be protests tonight if we win...

broondog
11-01-2021, 09:54 AM
hope the Irvine siging happens, fantastic player and exactly what we need

ivan03
11-01-2021, 10:12 AM
Irvine and Newell with Scotty on front. Now that’s a midfield 3!!

Magpie
11-01-2021, 11:34 AM
Not Hibs related but former Celtic striker Moussa Dembele is set to sign for Atletico Madrid.

11-01-2021, 11:40 AM
Not Hibs related but former Celtic striker Moussa Dembele is set to sign for Atletico Madrid.

Seen that, loan with an option to buy at €30m? Quite a bit less than Celtic were expecting for their sell on %

Magpie
11-01-2021, 11:41 AM
Seen that, loan with an option to buy at €30m? Quite a bit less than Celtic were expecting for their sell on %

Just over £3m they will get I read. They probably would have hoped for a bit more than that.

11-01-2021, 12:55 PM
Scott Wright from Aberdeen expected to move to Rangers at the end of the season. SSN

11-01-2021, 12:57 PM
Maybe some money of Mcrorie or a swap with Stewart?

Rangers will make an approach for Aberdeen forward Scott Wright.

He’s out of contract this summer and hasn’t agreed terms on a new deal.

Rangers could offer a pre-contract, but @SkySportsNews understands they’re looking to do a deal in this window.

(@ScotlandSky)

11-01-2021, 12:57 PM
Scott Wright from Aberdeen expected to move to Rangers at the end of the season. SSN

Surprised at that.... i like him and was hoping Hibs would make a move. Wouldnt have thought he'd be Rangers level tho.

11-01-2021, 01:02 PM
Talk that Cadden has failed a medical. Knee issue. Probably rubbish like.

https://twitter.com/HibernianChat/status/1348627085468852226

11-01-2021, 01:16 PM
Talk that Cadden has failed a medical. Knee issue. Probably rubbish like.

https://twitter.com/HibernianChat/status/1348627085468852226

It’s rubbish

11-01-2021, 01:22 PM
It’s rubbish

Was hoping he'd have been announced by now. Hopefully get a couple in this week.

11-01-2021, 01:24 PM
It’s rubbish

You seem sure

11-01-2021, 01:33 PM
You seem sure

You only need to look at the guys reply to someone questioning on it to realise he’s a dafty and most likely knows nout

11-01-2021, 01:41 PM
You only need to look at the guys reply to someone questioning on it to realise he’s a dafty and most likely knows nout

I trust you don’t mean me Stuart 😂.

11-01-2021, 02:21 PM
I trust you don’t mean me Stuart 😂.

We’ll never know 😂

The guy who tweeted it is giving it the big one to someone who replied to him doubting his info

badabing67
11-01-2021, 02:39 PM
Maybe some money of Mcrorie or a swap with Stewart?

Rangers will make an approach for Aberdeen forward Scott Wright.

He’s out of contract this summer and hasn’t agreed terms on a new deal.

Rangers could offer a pre-contract, but @SkySportsNews understands they’re looking to do a deal in this window.

(@ScotlandSky)

Are Aberdeen Rangers partnership team

11-01-2021, 02:45 PM
Alan Nixon tweets

Wigan. After a right back. James loan won’t be extended by the looks.

11-01-2021, 02:46 PM
Alan Nixon tweets

Wigan. After a right back. James loan won’t be extended by the looks.

Guess we're giving him another go.

EDIT: Maybe not.

11-01-2021, 02:46 PM
✍🏼 Crewe Alexandra are eyeing a move for Hibs defender Tom James, who has spent time on loan at Wigan Athletic this season. The Welshman is seen as a potential replacement for Perry Ng. #CreweAlex #WAFC #EFL_HUB https://t.co/nz2EzWcpaM

11-01-2021, 02:48 PM
Guess we're giving him another go.
Just seen anither tweet another club are looking at him, maybe a club who will pay more wages or pay a small fee?

11-01-2021, 09:38 PM
Could do with another couple of bodies in this week, looks like we may have taken a couple of small knocks this evening.

11-01-2021, 09:51 PM
Hopefully nothing serious with Newell as that would be bloody typical that we sign a very good player like Irvine to play along side him then he’s out.

Hopefully we can get Cadden, Irvine and one more in sooner rather than later.

I know we have quite a few out right now but the quality needs upped.

12-01-2021, 06:24 AM
Now that the excitement of yesterday has died down whats the chances of Cadden and Irvine signing in the near future?

Greenworld
12-01-2021, 08:04 AM
Was boyle really injured or has someone made a bid for him celtic for instance?

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

12-01-2021, 08:16 AM

Maybe the player who refused to play - has a wife and young child at home.

12-01-2021, 08:19 AM

He was at the match so that would suggest he was happy to play if fit.

12-01-2021, 08:19 AM

He was at the game.

12-01-2021, 08:35 AM

Celtic aren't going to bid for Boyle. Why is this still a thing.

12-01-2021, 08:58 AM
Celtic aren't going to bid for Boyle. Why is this still a thing.

With due respect to MB, a valued player for us, Celtic signing him in the present climate would be underwhelming, to say the least.

12-01-2021, 09:04 AM
He was at the match so that would suggest he was happy to play if fit.

Did you not find it strange we took an injured player along last night? Especially with all the noises about our players safety?

Hopefully Cadden deal will get over the line in the next day or so

12-01-2021, 09:06 AM
Did you not find it strange we took an injured player along last night? Especially with all the noises about our players safety?

Hopefully Cadden deal will get over the line in the next day or so
Possibly. To be honest if he didn't fancy it then fair enough.

12-01-2021, 09:09 AM
Possibly. To be honest if he didn't fancy it then fair enough.

I don’t think he didn’t fancy it either. But just thought it was strange him being there unless it was a late decision not to play him

Souter96Mac
12-01-2021, 09:38 AM
I don’t think he didn’t fancy it either. But just thought it was strange him being there unless it was a late decision not to play him

Think Eilidh Barbour mentioned it was an ankle injury. Whether that is all true, who knows. Hopefully he's back soon regardless as we missed him and his pace

hibbie02
12-01-2021, 09:42 AM
With due respect to MB, a valued player for us, Celtic signing him in the present climate would be underwhelming, to say the least.

When has that ever stopped them signing our best players?

12-01-2021, 09:51 AM
When has that ever stopped them signing our best players?

I meant underwhelming for their supporters. Lawwell is on sticky ground and I think they need to aim higher than Martin Boyle to appease the masses.

1875Sean
12-01-2021, 09:57 AM

Sky sports said he had an ankle injury, don’t think he refused to play due to COVID, if that was the case I would imagine he wouldn’t have went to the game

12-01-2021, 10:11 AM
Sky sports said he had an ankle injury, don’t think he refused to play due to COVID, if that was the case I would imagine he wouldn’t have went to the game

I agree. I don’t think he refused to play either. I just wondered why we’d take an injured player along. Seems like an added risk under the whole circumstances around the game

12-01-2021, 10:14 AM
I agree. I don’t think he refused to play either. I just wondered why we’d take an injured player along. Seems like an added risk under the whole circumstances around the game

Unless he wanted to support his teammates.

12-01-2021, 10:17 AM

Exactly

12-01-2021, 10:18 AM

Which is fair enough 👍

12-01-2021, 10:22 AM

Well one obvious reason is that if you turn up without a player it's clear to the opposition he's not playing. Take him along and they don't know until team lines are handed over,.

12-01-2021, 10:41 AM
Scott Burns when asked on twitter about Cadden and Irvine...

'Patience. It comes to those who wait'

12-01-2021, 10:43 AM

Decent news. Also gave a thumbs up when asked if Irvine was close

12-01-2021, 10:54 AM

Both on paper would be good signings if happening. Slight concern over their impact this season though so hopefully decent contract lengths if fit etc. As we won’t see best until next season probably.

12-01-2021, 10:54 AM
He was at the game.

But not on the pitch where social distancing is impossible. Allan at games and I sure his diabetes covud risk was his health issue.

12-01-2021, 11:08 AM
From Edinburgh Live

Australia coach Graham Arnold has backed Jackson Irvine's rumoured move to Hibernian as "a great thing" for the Socceroos' World Cup qualification bid.

The 27-year-old has not played a competitive game for more than ten months after his contract at Hull City was allowed to expire in controversial circumstances.

However, Jack Ross is reportedly close to bringing the midfielder - who has 34 caps for his country - back to Scotland on an initial short-term deal until the end of the season almost five years after leaving Ross County.

Irvine has been working with Australian legend Harry Kewell at Oldham Athletic to regain his fitness and has been on a tailored plan by FFA conditioning coach Andrew Clark to keep himself ready for a return to club action.

And the prospect of the rangy midfielder linking up with fellow Aussie international Martin Boyle in green and white has delighted Arnold ahead of the Socceroos Qatar 2022 qualifying campaign resuming in March.

He told Australian radio station SBS: "It’s great that he’s coming back - he captained Hull at times and was a big player for them.

"The fact it’s taken a long period of time to find a club just shows how tough the market is in Europe right now.

“Everything has tightened up, monetary-wise and recruitment-wise, so to get into a good club like Hibs is a great thing for him.

“It’ll be really pleasing to see him out there on the pitch playing again.”

Irvine's last appearance came as an attacking midfielder when he captained the Tigers' to a 5-1 loss at the hands of Stoke City in March before he was forced to sit out of the game's coronavirus restart when the club were unable to agree an extension to his deal.

Hearts defender Stephen Kingsley suffered a similar fate before arriving at Tynecastle in the summer, however Irvine initially returned home to Melbourne after the pandemic struck.

He flew back to the UK last year and has been training with League Two Oldham to maintain his fitness, though Kewell previously admitted there was little chance of a deal.

But despite his lack of game time, Arnold expects Irvine to find his feet in Scotland relatively quickly having previously been on the books at Celtic as a young player alongside spells with Kilmarnock and The Staggies.

“He’s been working on his programs and Jackson has always had a great work ethic and is a top professional,” he said.

“You’d expect he’d be in quite good shape and it will just be a matter of getting that match rhythm back.

“When he starts off he’ll have plenty of energy and he’ll get by on that for a while but when the reality kicks back in, he’ll be right.

“Hibs have been a bit inconsistent in recent weeks but other than that have been doing well and will be fighting for a European spot.”

Arnold took Irvine to the 2018 World Cup in Russia, where the Aussies finished bottom of a group containing France, Denmark and Peru.

The Asian confederation did not follow the path of Uefa by allowing international football to return last year, with the virus still placing doubts over Australia's planned qualifier with Kuwait in March.

But Arnold reiterated that Irvine will still be a part of his plans should that game take place.

“I think I’ve shown a lot of confidence and belief in Jacko since I’ve been in charge,” he said.

“Against Jordan [Australia’s last World Cup qualifier] he came up with a great assist for Adam Taggart in our 1-0 win, so for me he’s a very good player who’s important to us."

Follow @EdinburghLive_
MORE ON
Hibernian FCScottish PremiershipHibs Transfer News

12-01-2021, 11:08 AM
It’s great that he’s coming back - he captained Hull at times and was a big player for them. The fact it’s taken a long period of time to find a club just shows how tough the market is in Europe right now.
Everything has tightened up, monetary-wise and recruitment-wise, so to get into a good club like Hibs is a great thing for him.
It’ll be really pleasing to see him out there on the pitch playing again.
He’s been working on his programs and Jackson has always had a great work ethic and is a top professional. You’d expect he’d be in quite good shape and it will just be a matter of getting that match rhythm back.
Hibs have been a bit inconsistent in recent weeks but other than that have been doing well and will be fighting for a European spot.”

Ia that Australian national team manager said - before he’s commenting on him signing for us you imagine it’s a done deal.....surely?

12-01-2021, 11:09 AM
Interesting. He’s talking as if he’s signed.

12-01-2021, 11:12 AM
Although Irvine would be a brilliant signing it would be disappointing if it’s just till the end of the season as his value will rise again and we’ll be priced out.

However if he comes in and leads us to a cup and 3rd in the league we can’t moan.

12-01-2021, 11:14 AM
Interesting. He’s talking as if he’s signed.

Sounds like it don't think he would be speaking like that if it wasn't. Assuming they have international games coming up hopefully not too many or are based in Europe and coincide with Scotland games.

12-01-2021, 02:31 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1349016070041038850?s=20

12-01-2021, 02:32 PM
Irvine to he announced

12-01-2021, 02:34 PM
:panic:

12-01-2021, 02:34 PM
Hibs twitter is brilliant. Irvine incoming

12-01-2021, 02:37 PM
Hibs twitter is brilliant. Irvine incoming

Missed an opportunity to replace one of the kangaroo heads in the pic though - or had him looking over one of their shoulders. Funny if people missed it.

Jakhog1
12-01-2021, 02:38 PM
That's him signed, beauty

Greenworld
12-01-2021, 03:10 PM
Although Irvine would be a brilliant signing it would be disappointing if it’s just till the end of the season as his value will rise again and we’ll be priced out.

However if he comes in and leads us to a cup and 3rd in the league we can’t moan.Really ? No one signed him mind he is a free agent. No idea of his value but most likely suits both parties at this stage of carona

12-01-2021, 06:35 PM
https://twitter.com/scotsunsport/status/1349074715890036736?s=12

Imagine the meltdown if he signed for us. :protest:

12-01-2021, 06:36 PM

I'd take him.

12-01-2021, 06:41 PM
I'd take him.

Same.

mentalhibee
12-01-2021, 07:10 PM

No thanks!

12-01-2021, 07:14 PM

Shirley he will end up back at Hearts.

12-01-2021, 07:14 PM
Same.

So you detest Doidge but so far you’d have Lafferty or Chris Long instead. Mental.

12-01-2021, 09:21 PM
We need a striker.

12-01-2021, 10:05 PM
So you detest Doidge but so far you’d have Lafferty or Chris Long instead. Mental.

Mental indeed

12-01-2021, 10:28 PM
He's not someone you want around the dressing room

Magpie
12-01-2021, 10:34 PM

Not for me.

StevesFamau5
12-01-2021, 10:40 PM

Imagine the meltdown if he signed for us. :protest:I can't think of anything positive that would come out of us signing him, comes across as a total roaster.

Back to the Yams or a stint at Linfield would be more likely.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

Key West
12-01-2021, 10:42 PM
I’m surprised we haven’t signed a centre back or a left sided midfielder.

12-01-2021, 11:15 PM
We need a striker.

But not Lafferty.

13-01-2021, 04:46 AM
Rather dispand the club than sign that cretin.

13-01-2021, 04:56 AM
I’m happy with our two strikers. Get a decent midfield behind them and they will continue to do well.

13-01-2021, 05:18 AM

I'd start a Jack Ross out thread

greenbelly
13-01-2021, 05:29 AM
no way do I wanna see Lafferty in the green. Only good thing about that fanny is his hand tattoo.

13-01-2021, 07:08 AM
I’m happy with our two strikers. Get a decent midfield behind them and they will continue to do well.

There’s really only the 2 of them though. Could do with another.

We’ve gone for 7 or 8 midfielders so a bit of cover up front would be useful too.

13-01-2021, 07:11 AM
I’m surprised we haven’t signed a centre back or a left sided midfielder.

Magennis is our left sided midfielder. Murphy and Wright and Doig also can play there. I’d like a CB for cover but I doubt we will do that whilst we still have Daz.

Souter96Mac
13-01-2021, 07:18 AM
There’s really only the 2 of them though. Could do with another.

We’ve gone for 7 or 8 midfielders so a bit of cover up front would be useful too.

Agreed. I'd even be happy with loaning another forward in for the rest of the season, just as cover in case anything happens to Nisbet and/or Doidge

13-01-2021, 07:19 AM
Magennis is our left sided midfielder. Murphy and Wright and Doig also can play there. I’d like a CB for cover but I doubt we will do that whilst we still have Daz.

Do you mean he's left sided player in a 3, as in my opinion he's never a left sided midfielder in a 4 or 5?:confused:

Key West
13-01-2021, 07:21 AM

Magennis and Wright are both right footed, Murphy when he plays I agree, Doig is in and out the team due to his inexperience at the moment.

13-01-2021, 08:52 AM
Do you mean he's left sided player in a 3, as in my opinion he's never a left sided midfielder in a 4 or 5?:confused:

Yes - left of a 3. We may have played him as LW/LM a couple of time but thats not his best area...he needs to be in side the game.

13-01-2021, 09:41 AM
Not a Rumour but noticed Ryan Hardie is out od contract at the end of the season.
Scored loads for Livingston in then leagues when he was still a Rangers player.
Still only 23, 6ft+ and fairly pacey.

Greenworld
13-01-2021, 09:43 AM
But not Lafferty.Not the sort of character for hibs dressing room

13-01-2021, 10:01 AM
Agreed. I'd even be happy with loaning another forward in for the rest of the season, just as cover in case anything happens to Nisbet and/or Doidge

I see Kyle Lafferty is available.

13-01-2021, 10:03 AM
Not a Rumour but noticed Ryan Hardie is out od contract at the end of the season.
Scored loads for Livingston in then leagues when he was still a Rangers player.
Still only 23, 6ft+ and fairly pacey.

15 goals for Livi in season 18-19 - their first season back in the top flight? Doesn't have a great record latterly for Blackpool and Plymouth Argyle.

13-01-2021, 10:04 AM
15 goals for Livi in season 18-19 - their first season back in the top flight?

Even better than i thought 😁

13-01-2021, 10:06 AM
Yes - left of a 3. We may have played him as LW/LM a couple of time but thats not his best area...he needs to be in side the game.

He’s right footed ....not saying he can’t play it, but it’s not his natural side ..he was normally right centre for St Mirren

chippy
13-01-2021, 10:22 AM
He’s right footed ....not saying he can’t play it, but it’s not his natural side ..he was normally right centre for St Mirren

if that’s correct , is Jack thinking a midfield 5 most of the time: Cadden, McGennis, Irvine, Newell, Murphy with Boyle up top with Nisbet? Gogis is CB and CM cover, while Mallan is cover for no 10 perhaps until/if Allan recovers. Hallberg, Wright benched mostly.

13-01-2021, 10:30 AM
Sam stanton on trial with Ross County

13-01-2021, 10:35 AM
Sam stanton on trial with Ross County

Believe David Cancola is also on trial at County

13-01-2021, 10:43 AM

I wouldn't be confident if either Doidge or Nisbet were out for any reason. We definitely should be looking to bring someone in on loan as back up.

13-01-2021, 10:47 AM
I wouldn't be confident if either Doidge or Nisbet were out for any reason. We definitely should be looking to bring someone in on loan as back up.

Definitely need cover in that area

13-01-2021, 11:36 AM
Talks of Nicky Clark to Dundee, he's a free agent at the end of the season.

That would be Mcmullan and Clark if it does happen.

13-01-2021, 11:40 AM
Talks of Nicky Clark to Dundee, he's a free agent at the end of the season.

That would be Mcmullan and Clark if it does happen.

I’d probably take Clark as back up

13-01-2021, 11:41 AM

I’d be hoping for better even for back up.

13-01-2021, 11:46 AM
Wonder what Brian Graham’s doing these days?

:cb

BlackSheep
13-01-2021, 11:54 AM
We have also signed a few youth players recently to professional contracts..... who's to say Josh O'Connor won't see some action this year....?

zitelli62
13-01-2021, 11:57 AM

He fizzies about but goes flat after a while.

13-01-2021, 12:02 PM
Wonder what Brian Graham’s doing these days?

:cb

Partick Thistle I believe

13-01-2021, 12:04 PM

I've got a real soft spot for him for his part in our cup winning goal

13-01-2021, 12:05 PM

He has no bottle

13-01-2021, 12:07 PM
Partick Thistle I believe

Ladies ?

13-01-2021, 12:09 PM
I’d be hoping for better even for back up.

Yep, even if he is a Hibs legend.

Gypsy King
13-01-2021, 12:12 PM
So impressed with the Signings under Ross so far. Well maybe not Drey Wright but it really feels like we are looking to cement our place as the best of the rest with the ambition being shown by the management and board regarding player recruitment. Exciting times.

13-01-2021, 12:24 PM

Never at our level, even as a back up.

13-01-2021, 12:37 PM
So impressed with the Signings under Ross so far. Well maybe not Drey Wright but it really feels like we are looking to cement our place as the best of the rest with the ambition being shown by the management and board regarding player recruitment. Exciting times.

Yup been very good. Cadden would be another good signing. Not going to get them all right but his success rate is good. If Aberdeen had signed Irvine and Cadden we'd all be looking on with envy.

IAmLee
13-01-2021, 12:38 PM
Never at our level, even as a back up.

Not saying he’s at our level but he’s joint third on the top scorers list this season (so far)

13-01-2021, 12:40 PM
Ladies ?

Plays for the mens team and coaches the ladies team

Hfc_Since1875
13-01-2021, 01:15 PM
Hibs Twitter just liked a tweet asking for Chris cadden to be announced...

Announcement soon maybe

13-01-2021, 01:20 PM
Hibs Twitter just liked a tweet asking for Chris cadden to be announced...

Announcement soon maybe

Hibs twitter being having fun this morning with a guy who was trying to study but was finding it difficult as he was waiting on the Cadden announcement.

Can't see them having liked anything very recently?

13-01-2021, 01:26 PM
Hibs twitter being having fun this morning with a guy who was trying to study but was finding it difficult as he was waiting on the Cadden announcement.

Can't see them having liked anything very recently?

Historically I'm sure they've only ever toyed with supporters a wee bit when the deal is done, so I think we can be pretty happy that that's the case! Good news. 🎉

13-01-2021, 01:33 PM
Irvine and Cadden in two days would be exceptional

13-01-2021, 01:41 PM
We have also signed a few youth players recently to professional contracts..... who's to say Josh O'Connor won't see some action this year....?

Ooh matron!

Kinross Hibee
13-01-2021, 01:45 PM
RB, CB & STRIKER please :aok:

BlackSheep
13-01-2021, 01:48 PM
[/b]ooh matron!

lolololololol... :)

13-01-2021, 01:50 PM
RB, CB & STRIKER please :aok:

I can’t see us signing even another two after cadden comes in.

I’m sure Cadden is a RB

Kinross Hibee
13-01-2021, 02:00 PM
I can’t see us signing even another two after cadden comes in.

I’m sure Cadden is a RB

We live in hope Stuart, if I set my expectations high and 2 out the 3 happen I'd be satisfied! :aok:

13-01-2021, 02:15 PM
We live in hope Stuart, if I set my expectations high and 2 out the 3 happen I'd be satisfied! :aok:

I reckon we’ll bring in a striker after cadden and that’ll be us.

McGregor and Gogic as CB cover if need be

Kinross Hibee
13-01-2021, 02:23 PM
I reckon we’ll bring in a striker after cadden and that’ll be us.

McGregor and Gogic as CB cover if need be

I'd take that :cool2:

Hector Mudflap
13-01-2021, 02:30 PM
I wouldn't be too bothered about Doidge leaving. I know he holds play up , he's a big target guy but if I'm honest I would rather have Kyle Lafferty. If it's one on one with the Doidge v keeper and a long run towards goal my money is on the keeper every time. Lafferty (or the one I last saw play across the city) IMHO is a better player. It's not going to be a popular post this but it's my opinion. I don't care what a player has done before or where he's played. It's my team I want better for. I think Doidge is a slightly better Nish. I would also take Cummings back no hesitation at all. He loves a big game and thrives on where he is idolised. He would get that here and we are creating chances - we just don't have anyone to score. Nisbet is a big strong guy who might thrive with a Cummings type player around him.
Just my two pence worth.

13-01-2021, 02:39 PM
I wouldn't be too bothered about Doidge leaving. I know he holds play up , he's a big target guy but if I'm honest I would rather have Kyle Lafferty. If it's one on one with the Doidge v keeper and a long run towards goal my money is on the keeper every time. Lafferty (or the one I last saw play across the city) IMHO is a better player. It's not going to be a popular post this but it's my opinion. I don't care what a player has done before or where he's played. It's my team I want better for. I think Doidge is a slightly better Nish. I would also take Cummings back no hesitation at all. He loves a big game and thrives on where he is idolised. He would get that here and we are creating chances - we just don't have anyone to score. Nisbet is a big strong guy who might thrive with a Cummings type player around him.
Just my two pence worth.

Doidge has scored 25 goals I think in a year and a half.

Lafferty has scored 35 goals over the last 7 years.

No thanks on that.

13-01-2021, 02:42 PM
Just my two pence worth.

Lafferty is a horrible piece of work who hates Hibs...as a signing he would be an absolute disaster. If Doidge get's pelters for missing chances, can you imagine the reaction that Lafferty would get ? Cummings is yesterdays man unfortunately, let's not go backwards. I'd much rather see another strong, but mobile forward come in to fight for a place in the team with Doidge and Nisbet.

13-01-2021, 02:45 PM
Just my two pence worth.

The thing I would disagree about immediately is that Doidge isn't a slightly better Nish, Nish's goalscoring record is far superior to Doidge's

We could argue till the cows come home about what Doidge brings to the team that Nish didn't but a centre forwards job is to score goals, Doidge other than a brief purple patch where every sclaff went in doesn't.

To be clear he was entitled to every sclaff going in, but I have seen nothing before or after to suggest such a patch is repeatable.

As for Lafferty he can GTF, odious individual who I wouldn't want anywhere near ER, particularly after he shafted us last time

ElginHibbie
13-01-2021, 02:56 PM
The thing I would disagree about immediately is that Doidge isn't a slightly better Nish, Nish's goalscoring record is far superior to Doidge's

We could argue till the cows come home about what Doidge brings to the team that Nish didn't but a centre forwards job is to score goals, Doidge other than a brief purple patch where every sclaff went in doesn't.

To be clear he was entitled to every sclaff going in, but I have seen nothing before or after to suggest such a patch is repeatable.

As for Lafferty he can GTF, odious individual who I wouldn't want anywhere near ER, particularly after he shafted us last time

Doidge has 17 goals in 49 league games for us, Nish had 22 in 98

13-01-2021, 02:59 PM

That's just inaccurate nonsense, Doidge's goal-scoring record is far superior to Colin Nish's no matter how you look at the figures.

FOR HIBS

Nish - 22 in 98 games (average 0.22 per game)
Doidge - 17 in 49 games (average 0.34 per game)

ENTIRE CAREER

Nish - 93 in 416 games ( average 0.22 per game)
Doidge - 132 in 300 games (average 0.44 per game)

You are entitled to have an opinion, you are not entitled to tell porkies