I agree.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5q3ALvb16EE

:hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper

25-01-2021, 05:25 PM
Glenn Middleton joins St Johnstone on loan

HFC93
25-01-2021, 05:42 PM
Hearts signed a decent player today. Hope Ron and Ross are paying attention. We'll quickly become the fall guys next season. Just for a change.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Hearts who lost at home to Raith at weekend.

25-01-2021, 05:47 PM
Aye signed two players who had to be up to speed for the biggest game this season but were signed a week before despite being available for a monthWay longer than a month no?

Shouldve locked them in the boardroom until they signed on Jan 1st.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

25-01-2021, 05:53 PM
Mallan wanted on loan with a view to a permanent transfer by some Turkish team.

https://bit.ly/36dX3oB

25-01-2021, 05:54 PM
https://twitter.com/scottburns75/status/1353775326241894400?s=21

Stevie Mallan possibly going to Turkey.

25-01-2021, 05:54 PM
Exclusive: Stevie Mallan set for Hibs exit as Yeni Malatyaspor emerge as shock transfer option | @ScottBurns75

https://t.co/ubQ00E48zK https://t.co/vcayiLqXvY

25-01-2021, 06:03 PM
No real surprise with Mallan wanting out. Especially as he didn't even make the bench at the weekend.

I am surprised at the destination though!

25-01-2021, 06:06 PM
No real surprise with Mallan wanting out. Especially as he didn't even make the bench at the weekend.

I am surprised at the destination though!

It’ll be the reason he wasn’t on the bench I expect

25-01-2021, 06:09 PM
Way longer than a month no?

Shouldve locked them in the boardroom until they signed on Jan 1st.

Why wouldn't hibs get the deals done as soon as possible?

25-01-2021, 06:11 PM
Surely if mallan goes even on loan it means us getting another one or two in

Hopefully

25-01-2021, 06:14 PM
Surely if mallan goes even on loan it means us getting another one or two in

Hopefully

Think JR said he was hopeful of getting another 2 in after Irvine and Cadden, think there was always going to be some juggling with a couple bwing moved on or loaned out to allow this to happen.

Could be an interesting last week of the transfer window that's for sure.

25-01-2021, 06:26 PM
Disappointed if Mallan goes, not been used properly this season I feel and still had a lot to give, he had guile and that's something we've been missing most weeks.

25-01-2021, 06:31 PM
I’ll be sad if Mallan moves on.

A very good technical footballer who has an eye for goal, food delivery from set pieces and the ability to get good assists.

His time here has been hindered through not having the right balance of midfielder behind him.

I still think he has a role to play here behind a front 2 of Doidge and Nisbet with Newell, Gogic, Hallberg, Irvine or Magennis behind him.

If we were a pure footballing team like Yogi has got Ross County playing he would be one of the first names on the team sheet. Similar to Harry Paton for them and he’s excelling under that type of football.

If it’s not Turkey he goes a Scottish club will snap him up, there will be plenty teams in the top flight after him. He will be the one player that could create and score for a Livingston, Motherwell etc and shoot them up the table.

I think we need better players on the ball and Mallan is one of the best we have on the ball.

The Count
25-01-2021, 06:33 PM
In the minority i know but i liked Mallan.But if him going helps to improve the team overall then so be it

25-01-2021, 06:41 PM
In the minority i know but i liked Mallan.But if him going helps to improve the team overall then so be it

I don’t think you’re in the minority

25-01-2021, 06:43 PM

Agreed. I like him but if we can get better then its a sacrifice worth making

25-01-2021, 06:47 PM
Gutted we’re getting rid of Mallan and keeping likes of Drey Wright!

25-01-2021, 06:47 PM
Will free up a decent wage. Hopefully it happens

Mr. Wonderful
25-01-2021, 06:54 PM
Mallan is an excellent player.

For a championship team. Can't hack our level on a consistent basis. Good riddance tae bad rubbish

25-01-2021, 06:57 PM
I’ll be sad if Mallan moves on.

A very good technical footballer who has an eye for goal, food delivery from set pieces and the ability to get good assists.

His time here has been hindered through not having the right balance of midfielder behind him.

I still think he has a role to play here behind a front 2 of Doidge and Nisbet with Newell, Gogic, Hallberg, Irvine or Magennis behind him.

If we were a pure footballing team like Yogi has got Ross County playing he would be one of the first names on the team sheet. Similar to Harry Paton for them and he’s excelling under that type of football.

If it’s not Turkey he goes a Scottish club will snap him up, there will be plenty teams in the top flight after him. He will be the one player that could create and score for a Livingston, Motherwell etc and shoot them up the table.

I think we need better players on the ball and Mallan is one of the best we have on the ball.
I know times are tough, but surely he’s not delivering takeaways :greengrin

Gaffer1875
25-01-2021, 06:57 PM
I’d much prefer to lose Wright / Stephen McGinn.
Mallan is quality and IMO we should keep him.

Not been impressed with Magennis so far but I appreciate he has been injured a bit and lacked fitness. Hallberg is a bit meh so wouldn’t be against losing him too.

Hopefully we can bring in a CB and a CF before the window slams shut!

25-01-2021, 07:00 PM
Mallan frustrates the life out of me.

He's not alone as a current Hibs player who does that, but if we are to progress then we are going to have to shift on a few players who have something to offer but who fall short of offering us enough of what we're looking for.

If that game on Saturday was in the balance then he'd probably be the person I'd want to come on and tip the balance in our favour over almost anyone. That's unlikely to be sufficient for him though, so I respect his desire to go elsewhere to find someone who will offer him greater prominence.

25-01-2021, 07:19 PM

For a championship team. Can't hack our level on a consistent basis. Good riddance tae bad rubbish

Straight from the playground, that one. Totally unnecessary

25-01-2021, 07:24 PM

Were you saying that when he was player of the season ? What a disrespectful post...why would you post something so horrible ?

25-01-2021, 07:24 PM
Good luck to Mallan wherever he goes, could of actually been a success if played in an AMC role.

25-01-2021, 07:27 PM

quite sad that

25-01-2021, 07:28 PM

Ridiculous comment

25-01-2021, 07:29 PM
If Hibs make good money and Mallan gets a good contract in Turkey then probably best for all parties. More Scottish players should try playing abroad. He maybe suits a different style of play, especially to build his confidence again.

25-01-2021, 07:33 PM
Good luck to Mallan wherever he goes, could of actually been a success if played in an AMC role.

He didn’t play well in an attacking midfield role. There wasn’t enough space for him to operate there.

I wasn’t a big fan to be honest, don’t think he really fitted into any system. I think he will be better suited to a foreign league that’s a bit slower and more technical.

25-01-2021, 07:34 PM
Why wouldn't hibs get the deals done as soon as possible?Ofcourse we got the deals donr as quickly as possible

I'm sure we wouldve wanted it done sooner but there can be a myrid of things on both sides that stop the deal happening as quick as the club would like

I don't for a second think that hibs thought we will hold fire on these 2 until the week before the semi

25-01-2021, 07:36 PM
It’ll be the reason he wasn’t on the bench I expectI suspect you are correct

Might be good for the club and suspect Mallan will be doing not bad out it it too

18Craig75
25-01-2021, 07:41 PM
Possibly the most frustrating player in the squad. Bags of potential but first season aside, he’s not done it. Seems unable to adapt his play to suit a different role to what he’d prefer.

I don’t think Hecky helped him mind.

TheGog
25-01-2021, 07:42 PM
Big talk on twitter Leigh is part of a clear out in the summer at Celtic. Hibs being the only destination. Not to sure how reliable the Journo is

25-01-2021, 07:44 PM
Big talk on twitter Leigh is part of a clear out in the summer at Celtic. Hibs being the only destination. Not to sure how reliable the Journo is

If it's the boy with about 600 followers he's neither reliable or a journo.

25-01-2021, 07:47 PM
Clever ploy by everyone to say Mallan is quality to get the transfer over the line. Reality is, he has shown very little for over 2 years now. Never once taken a game and controlled it. Passing very overrated, gave it away far too often and hasn't scored a free kick, his specialty for over 2 years.

25-01-2021, 07:48 PM
Not at all happy to see Mallan leave

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

25-01-2021, 07:51 PM

What has he offered the Hibs team this season you think we’ll miss?

Scott Allan coming back is a far better replacement.

25-01-2021, 07:52 PM
Clever ploy by everyone to say Mallan is quality to get the transfer over the line. Reality is, he has shown very little for over 2 years now. Never once taken a game and controlled it. Passing very overrated, gave it away far too often and hasn't scored a free kick, his specialty for over 2 years.

I think his mid to long range passing is as good as we have to be fair. He can spread the ball about well, switching play quickly. Unfortunately for that he needs to play deep, but can’t defend nor track runners (pretty much McGeouch with less ability). He’s got stuff that I’d like to see him kept for, his delivery and said passing/long range shooting, but he won’t want to stick around to be a squad player and he’s not good enough to be starting.

25-01-2021, 07:53 PM

Be fine if this was American fitba and we could take him on and off for corners and free kicks.

25-01-2021, 07:55 PM

Outrageous comment. No true Hibs supporter would write about one of our players like that. He might not be everyone’s cup of tea but he contributed more than quite a few regulars. Sorry to lose him from the squad.

25-01-2021, 08:00 PM
Can’t see Mallan going to Turkey.

If we let him go we better have a decent replacement lined up otherwise it’s a bad idea.

25-01-2021, 08:00 PM

If we let him go we better have a decent replacement lined up otherwise it’s a bad idea.

Scott Allan

Mr. Wonderful
25-01-2021, 08:01 PM
Outrageous comment. No true Hibs supporter would write about one of our players like that. He might not be everyone’s cup of tea but he contributed more than quite a few regulars. Sorry to lose him from the squad.

Came with a huge reputation and big expectations but he's failed miserably to deliver. We paid good money for him and he won't be on pennies either. Huge failure of a signing and I won't be sad to see him and his mythical goal threat go at all.

25-01-2021, 08:03 PM
What has he offered the Hibs team this season you think we’ll miss?

Scott Allan coming back is a far better replacement.

More than Halberg.

25-01-2021, 08:05 PM

There isn’t really anything to replace. He’s not done anything all year.

I think the replacements for any midfielders leaving are already in the building. We have too many.

25-01-2021, 08:06 PM

But Irvine and Cadden have to be fitted into team and Allan if he doesn’t have recurrence of illness and Newell was injures on Saturday so he will come back in
Realistically he will be bench player so if he can go on loan and get more regular game time and we can bring in anothet player identified don’t have an issue with this

25-01-2021, 08:08 PM
More than Halberg.

Only he hasn’t offered more than Hallberg, which is why he isn’t getting much of a game.

25-01-2021, 08:13 PM
Only he hasn’t offered more than Hallberg, which is why he isn’t getting much of a game.

Yeah he has. Hallberg wouldn’t get a game for Livingston.

25-01-2021, 08:14 PM

That’s tripe, Hallberg got his chance and took it. Has been fairly consistent for a while.

25-01-2021, 08:15 PM
Came with a huge reputation and big expectations but he's failed miserably to deliver. We paid good money for him and he won't be on pennies either. Huge failure of a signing and I won't be sad to see him and his mythical goal threat go at all.

Ok. That’s a fair opinion to have. It’s the tone and language of your original opinion post - ‘good riddance to bad rubbish’ which is objectionable and not only to me, going by other reactions.

25-01-2021, 08:16 PM
More than Halberg.

Were the Turkish club wanting Hallberg but we’ve decided to give them Mallan instead?

I don’t get where you’re going with this?

25-01-2021, 08:17 PM

Huge reputation? He wasn't getting a game for Barnsley.

You've overegged both his pre-Hibs standing and how he's actually done at Hibs by some distance.

25-01-2021, 08:21 PM

Why didn’t you say that in your earlier post rather than making stupid and offensive comments about him?

25-01-2021, 08:30 PM

No he’s not and Hallberg is regularly getting a game for Hibs because he has take his chance and been playing well. Mallan hasn’t.

I couldn’t give a toss about Livingston.

25-01-2021, 08:30 PM

We have Allan, Magennis, Newell, Hallberg, Gogic and Irvine ahead of Mallan - he's our 7th choice. He needs game time and we need to look at improving our defence and front line.

I think there is a player in Stevie but I'm not sure Scottish football is for him. A bit like Gauld I could see his style of play suiting a slower, less physical league.

25-01-2021, 08:34 PM

Yeah, because Livi just have cloggers in midfielder. For the team 8 points ahead of Livi, he has done well. 5 assists is a nice contribution from midfield.

25-01-2021, 08:36 PM
I'd rather Mallan forced his way into the team by busting a gut in training and performing when he gets an opportunity rather than sell him to peanuts so he can go abroad for a year probably come back and haunt us the following season.

25-01-2021, 08:37 PM
Yeah he has. Hallberg wouldn’t get a game for Livingston.Out of the 2 of them is suggest Hallberg has a much better chance of playing for Livi

Mallan doesn't have the athelticsm

25-01-2021, 08:37 PM
There isn’t really anything to replace. He’s not done anything all year.

I think the replacements for any midfielders leaving are already in the building. We have too many.

He’s been injured a lot but he did come back and win us the game against Alloa.

Also scored a long distance goal against Dundee.

Can’t remember many long distance goals this season - anyone know how many goals we have scored from outside the box ?!

Mr. Wonderful
25-01-2021, 08:38 PM
Why didn’t you say that in your earlier post rather than making stupid and offensive comments about him?

Nothing offensive about it and I stand by it. Good riddance.

147lothian
25-01-2021, 08:42 PM

If Mallan never got brought on in the game away to Alloa we would have been out the cup there and then IMO. Ok he isn't the type of player who is going to take a game by the scruff of the neck and drag us through tough times, but he does have undoubted tallent and I can only wish him the best of luck.

25-01-2021, 08:45 PM

Not surprised with this answer. Says a lot about you

25-01-2021, 08:46 PM
I thought Stevie Mallan changed the game against Alloa

Peach of a free-kick that led to the winning goal

I also thought he was one of Jack Ross’ favs - obviously not

Interesting to see how this all pans out with more toing and froing to come no doubt

Gaffer1875
25-01-2021, 08:54 PM
Always fascinates when a team like Yeni Malatyspor, who I’ll be honest I’ve never heard of, is interested in one of our players.

25-01-2021, 08:54 PM
Made a few pretty negative posts about Mallan over the years. Mainly due to frustration cause I honestly think there's a player in there.

But he has had loads of opportunities to tie down a place in what many would agree has been a pretty weak central mid since the departures of McGinn and McGeouch.

If he does leave I wish him all the best, and if it's only a loan hopefully he gets game time and can come back to us better for it.

25-01-2021, 08:55 PM
That’s tripe, Hallberg got his chance and took it. Has been fairly consistent for a while.

Hallbergs ****.

25-01-2021, 08:56 PM
Out of the 2 of them is suggest Hallberg has a much better chance of playing for Livi

Mallan doesn't have the athelticsm

Mallan will always be the better player. He will play at a higher level too.

Magpie
25-01-2021, 08:58 PM

I doubt Hallberg will ever win fans and players player of the year either.

25-01-2021, 08:58 PM
Mallan will always be the better player. He will play at a higher level too.I've liked Mallan previously but can't say I'd be that bothered to see him go

I'd wish him well though

MagicSwirlingShip
25-01-2021, 08:59 PM

Than Hibs? I highly doubt either will

25-01-2021, 09:00 PM

Hallberg has been capped by Sweden and played in Serie A. Fair enough, only a few games

Whilst Mallan can't be capped for Sweden, can't see him ever playing in Serie A!

HairyMM
25-01-2021, 09:06 PM
He didn’t play well in an attacking midfield role. There wasn’t enough space for him to operate there.

I wasn’t a big fan to be honest, don’t think he really fitted into any system. I think he will be better suited to a foreign league that’s a bit slower and more technical.

Stevie Mallan has the heart the size of a pea.....we need much better than him

25-01-2021, 09:09 PM
Hallberg has been capped by Sweden and played in Serie A. Fair enough, only a few games

Whilst Mallan can't be capped for Sweden, can't see him ever playing in Serie A!
Much rather have had Hallberg than not match fit Cadden or Mallan on Saturday. Another example of poor team selection from Ross.

25-01-2021, 09:10 PM
Stevie Mallan has the heart the size of a pea.....we need much better than him

That is utter nonsense.

Mr. Wonderful
25-01-2021, 09:11 PM

I can't accept mediocrity. No hibs fan should

25-01-2021, 09:31 PM

Hallberg has already played significantly higher than Mallan ever will mate

25-01-2021, 09:39 PM
Hallberg has already played significantly higher than Mallan ever will mate

I don't think 4 brief appearances in 4 years can really count as playing at a significantly higher level.

25-01-2021, 09:39 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/ryan-porteous-attracting-hibs-transfer-23384092

Porteous to Millwall?

25-01-2021, 09:44 PM
You’d think that Rangers are so far ahead that the Record wouldn’t bother with the usual transfer story.

25-01-2021, 09:46 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/ryan-porteous-attracting-hibs-transfer-23384092

Porteous to Millwall?

Boy was talking about that on twitter yesterday saying Hibs had turned down 1.5m for him.

BegbieHSC
25-01-2021, 09:46 PM
It’s almost as if we’re playing the Huns in 45 hours time, the way the Record are trying to link all our player with a move away...

BegbieHSC
25-01-2021, 09:49 PM
+ Millwall couldn’t afford Porto. End of discussion.

1875Sean
25-01-2021, 09:50 PM

Porteous to Millwall?

Shock the daily ranger have a story like this out just before the game

25-01-2021, 09:50 PM
Boy was talking about that on twitter yesterday saying Hibs had turned down 1.5m for him.

Yeah, I saw someone mention on here that we’d turned down a £2m bid form Millwal for someone.

I assumed it was Nisbet.

FWIW I really like Porteous. I know it’s not fashionable to admit that just now but he’s still young, most defenders his age have a mistake in them.

I also don’t buy into the idea that the papers will be doing this to unsettle Hibs, there’s absolutely no need for them to do that.

25-01-2021, 09:52 PM
There's a couple of general themes in those posts critical of Mallan.
1. He's had plenty of chances & hasn't taken them.
2. He's so poor he can't get a game in front of Hallberg.
Two contradictory points being made just to support posters' dislike of a Hibs player. FWIW Mallan has started 4 league games this season.

25-01-2021, 10:02 PM

It is offensive, whether you think it is or not. Do you seriously think that Mallan conned his way into Hibs on false pretences, earned a decent wage and all the while was laughing up his sleeve at his luck....... I doubt it. If, according to you and any others who want to bad-mouth Mallan or any others Hibs players they don’t fancy, they didn’t meet the mark or step up to the plate, it isn’t for the lack of trying. Maybe you should direct your vitriol towards the club officials who make the appointments in the first place.

25-01-2021, 10:04 PM
Wouldnt be surprised if Porteous was being looked at. Very inconsistent still but for his age he is developing fairly well and has amassed a decent number of games. That Scotland call up will have done well for his reputation as well even though he didn’t play.

25-01-2021, 10:07 PM
Wouldnt be surprised if Porteous was being looked at. Very inconsistent still but for his age he is developing fairly well and has amassed a decent number of games. That Scotland call up will have done well for his reputation as well even though he didn’t play.

Scottish market will be getting targeted as well due to a number of recent successes.

I’m also not sure how Brexit might affect the likes of Millwall as well, I know there’s dispensation to sign players from the EU if they meet a certain criteria, I don’t think it’s as easy as it was before brexit to sign players from abroad though, not certain of that though?

25-01-2021, 10:10 PM
Yeah, I saw someone mention on here that we’d turned down a £2m bid form Millwal for someone.

I assumed it was Nisbet.

FWIW I really like Porteous. I know it’s not fashionable to admit that just now but he’s still young, most defenders his age have a mistake in them.

I also don’t buy into the idea that the papers will be doing this to unsettle Hibs, there’s absolutely no need for them to do that.

I like Porteous as well but I’m not convinced he’s any better than when he first broke into the team. The first time I saw him I thought he looked like an incredible talent, could defend, long passing looked good, a threat in the opposition box. Looked like the full package.

If anything I think teams might have got used to him and he’s probably less effective than he was.

25-01-2021, 10:11 PM
Even if mallan wasn’t thinking of leaving, not making a bench at the weekends game will have made it up for him.

Good luck to him. Started off very well but didn’t kick on. Wish him well.

25-01-2021, 10:13 PM
I’m not sure Millwall could afford Porteous. If Aberdeen got approx £5m for McKenna I’d want just as much

Key West
25-01-2021, 10:14 PM
Extremely disappointed that Mallan wasn’t involved in the starting line up v St Johnstone, a creator and scorer of goals.

25-01-2021, 10:16 PM
I’ve not really waded in to the Mallan debate. He’s a decent option from the bench but never really shown it when he’s given a start.

I reckon it’ll be one of them where the player gets made out to be a lot better than he really was after he’s left. It’s already happening.

25-01-2021, 10:17 PM
I’m not sure Millwall could afford Porteous. If Aberdeen got approx £5m for McKenna I’d want just as much

Think it was £3m plus add ons they got for him in the end.

I don’t think it would take an offer that big for us to sell. £1.5m-£2m and we’d accept it imo

Magpie
25-01-2021, 10:19 PM
Extremely disappointed that Mallan wasn’t involved in the starting line up v St Johnstone, a creator and scorer of goals.

His performances throughout the competition leading to the semi final was enough to merit a place in the squad. The result suggests he couldn’t have done much worse than those who did play.

25-01-2021, 10:19 PM
If Porteous had 16 caps for Scotland we'd have probably got it.
2m with add ons and a 20% sell on is probably the best we could do.

25-01-2021, 10:21 PM
Porteous to Millwall and Doig to Sunderland/Stoke?

Seems a lot like them trying to stir stuff a couple of days before a game.

Id want a large fee for Porteous though. He may have mistakes in him and frustrate me massively at times but he is a very good defender when he concentrates and is only 21 which is really young for a centre half. Scotland call up already and a decent number of appearances for us.

Doig I’ve no idea what sort of figure we’d get for him but he’s improving at an immense rate and is only 18.

25-01-2021, 10:24 PM
Porteous to Millwall and Doig to Sunderland/Stoke?

Seems a lot like them trying to stir stuff a couple of days before a game.

Id want a large fee for Porteous though. He may have mistakes in him and frustrate me massively at times but he is a very good defender when he concentrates and is only 21 which is really young for a centre half. Scotland call up already and a decent number of appearances for us.

Doig I’ve no idea what sort of figure we’d get for him but he’s improving at an immense rate and is only 18.

Where are you seeing that about Josh Doig?

25-01-2021, 10:26 PM

Bottom of the same article.

25-01-2021, 10:26 PM
There is a very small bit at the bottom of the Porteous story saying Sunderland and Stoke are keeping tabs.

TheHibernator
25-01-2021, 10:40 PM
I like Porteous as well but I’m not convinced he’s any better than when he first broke into the team. The first time I saw him I thought he looked like an incredible talent, could defend, long passing looked good, a threat in the opposition box. Looked like the full package.

If anything I think teams might have got used to him and he’s probably less effective than he was.

Disagree, I think he’s generally a lot more composed and better on the ball than when he first broke through, used to just hammer it anywhere at the first hint of pressure. Think his passing has improved a good bit as well. But still young and has mistakes in him.

25-01-2021, 10:41 PM

:hyper

25-01-2021, 10:43 PM
Shock the daily ranger have a story like this out just before the game

I honestly don't think Rangers will be too bothered about us just now to be getting the Weegie press printing pi sh about transfers.

25-01-2021, 10:46 PM

Disagree entirely, I think he’s very consistent for his age, yes he has had bad games and brain fart moments but not been many for the amount of games he’s played this season.

25-01-2021, 10:49 PM
If there's any truth in the Porteous rumour I wonder if we'll look at Jason Kerr, a Hibby by all accounts.

007 Mickey Weir
26-01-2021, 06:00 AM
If there's any truth in the Porteous rumour I wonder if we'll look at Jason Kerr, a Hibby by all accounts.

Yes him and Ally McCann are both Hibs fans. Ally McCann was at Hibs as a kid but released.

26-01-2021, 06:17 AM
Think it was £3m plus add ons they got for him in the end.

I don’t think it would take an offer that big for us to sell. £1.5m-£2m and we’d accept it imo

Really? One of probably the brightest young talents up here and all we’d demand for him would be at most £2m? I’d be very disappointed at that.

We need to stop selling our better players for pennies to teams down south.

26-01-2021, 06:39 AM
Really? One of probably the brightest young talents up here and all we’d demand for him would be at most £2m? I’d be very disappointed at that.

We need to stop selling our better players for pennies to teams down south.

Sadly you will need to get a reality check

It is what we have always done and always will need to do

Anyone who thinks anything else is deluding themselves

Every player at every club (especially in Scotland) but more generally throughout the entire world has a price

If the price is met they go, end of story

26-01-2021, 06:46 AM

I think he has improved but not to the extent people expected him to.

He’s turned into a pretty good centre half but I’m not sure ‘bigger’ teams will be in a rush to sign him unless they get a good deal.

26-01-2021, 06:46 AM
Sadly you will need to get a reality check

It is what we have always done and always will need to do

Anyone who thinks anything else is deluding themselves

Every player at every club (especially in Scotland) but more generally throughout the entire world has a price

If the price is met they go, end of story

I’m not saying if the price is met we don’t sell but why do we have to set the price so low? He’s one of the brightest talents in the game up here.

26-01-2021, 06:50 AM
I’m not saying if the price is met we don’t sell but why do we have to set the price so low? He’s one of the brightest talents in the game up here.

Our lack of income over the last year will be a factor unfortunately.

£1.5-2m would be a huge boost just now, especially when as much as I like him, wouldn’t be someone that difficult to replace I don’t think.

26-01-2021, 07:16 AM

I don't think we have set any price?

Or even expressed a willingness to consider offers?

All this is is paper talk but folk shouldn't be under any illusions that this is our business model and this season's signings have largely seen a seismic shift towards that model being expanded further.

Best case scenario is that they develop on a similar path but most probably a lower trajectory to SJM and we benefit from their talents on the way up and a decent price when they are sold

In the interim though the concern is that we lack experience and the grit that that brings, which is what I think we are seeing now

26-01-2021, 07:28 AM
I don't think we have set any price?

Or even expressed a willingness to consider offers?

All this is is paper talk but folk shouldn't be under any illusions that this is our business model and this season's signings have largely seen a seismic shift towards that model being expanded further.

Best case scenario is that they develop on a similar path but most probably a lower trajectory to SJM and we benefit from their talents on the way up and a decent price when they are sold

In the interim though the concern is that we lack experience and the grit that that brings, which is what I think we are seeing now

I totally understand we’re a selling club it’s what we do. Some of our signings this season have been to fit that model. My point is we will never get what we’re truly due for a player if we accept bids that are below what we should be getting.

I reckon 1.5m/2m is far too low a price tag on one of Scotland’s most promising talents especially when it’s clubs down south who’re sniffing about. We should be commanding a fee of £3m upwards. But until we do that teams will continuously try to lowball us.

26-01-2021, 07:46 AM
According to reports Sheffield Wednesday have been priced out of a move for Sam Cosgrove

https://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/football/sheffield-wednesday/sheffield-wednesday-transfer-plans-dealt-blow-bid-sign-aberdeen-striker-sam-cosgrove-falls-short-3112654

26-01-2021, 07:55 AM
I wouldn't be overly concerned if we sold Porteous and brought in a replacement if it was a reasonable fee with sell-ons. For me he isn't improving.

26-01-2021, 07:57 AM
I totally understand we’re a selling club it’s what we do. Some of our signings this season have been to fit that model. My point is we will never get what we’re truly due for a player if we accept bids that are below what we should be getting.

I reckon 1.5m/2m is far too low a price tag on one of Scotland’s most promising talents especially when it’s clubs down south who’re sniffing about. We should be commanding a fee of £3m upwards. But until we do that teams will continuously try to lowball us.

Not so sure myself that Porteous is at this stage a £3m Scottish player but we can agree to disagree on that because my opinion is no more or less relevant than yours.

But again, you seem to be getting prematurely upset over paper talk?

If we do sell him for that and you think he is worth more, which you clearly do, then that is the time to be upset, not that my or your opinion will make the slightest difference.

Far too many folk worry about a day that may never come and get themselves all worked up about it.

There are enough actual happenings as a Hibs supporter to do that job for you :-)

26-01-2021, 08:04 AM
Is Jason Kerr better than Ryan Porteous?

Ryan's only 21 and a more than capable spl centre half

He's much improved from when he first started getting first team football

He's doing absolutely fine for a 21 year centre half who's played 60 odd games

Wouldnt want him sold at all

26-01-2021, 08:16 AM
Centre halves dont usually peak until their late 20's. The problem we have is that we dont really have the option to drop him if hes going through a difficult spell. He needs to cut out the nonsense though. I dont know where the going down and wanting free kicks 3 or 4 times a game has came from but it needs to stop. Stand up, be strong and defend the ball coming into the box and stop wanting the ref to give you a dig out.

26-01-2021, 08:18 AM
Not so sure myself that Porteous is at this stage a £3m Scottish player but we can agree to disagree on that because my opinion is no more or less relevant than yours.

If we do sell him for that and you think he is worth more, which you clearly do, then that is the time to be upset, not that my or your opinion will make the slightest difference.

Far too many folk worry about a day that may never come and get themselves all worked up about it.

There are enough actual happenings as a Hibs supporter to do that job for you :-)

I’m not upset at all. I’m not even assuming the club will be selling him for 1.5-2m or even at all I’m just speaking hypothetically.

I find your posts a little patronising as well so on that note I bid you a good day 👍🏼

26-01-2021, 08:21 AM
Is Jason Kerr better than Ryan Porteous?

Ryan's only 21 and a more than capable spl centre half

He's much improved from when he first started getting first team football

He's doing absolutely fine for a 21 year centre half who's played 60 odd games

Wouldnt want him sold at all

Kerr definitely looked the better player on saturday.

26-01-2021, 08:28 AM
Kerr definitely looked the better player on saturday.

Kerr had a good game on Sat. Porto AND Hanlon have had plenty good games this season...overall they have both had a good season. We have a habit of battering our own players when they make a mistake whilst pointing out every thing fantastic about other teams players. None of the CHs talked about recently have been consistently better than what we have and until Hibs can find better we wont be replacing the 2 we currently have.

26-01-2021, 08:28 AM

I can't see anyone getting worked up about it, this is a transfer window and there's talk in the papers this time and not just rumours from Greggs, it's only natural we discuss them on here and give our opinions as to price etc.

Leitherhibs
26-01-2021, 08:31 AM
Milwall's record spend is 900k in Jan 2019 - They won't be offering this money Porteous is worth - Even based on potential alone. Lets move on!

26-01-2021, 08:34 AM
Kerr had a good game on Sat. Porto AND Hanlon have had plenty good games this season...overall they have both had a good season. We have a habit of battering our own players when they make a mistake whilst pointing out every thing fantastic about other teams players. None of the CHs talked about recently have been consistently better than what we have and until Hibs can find better we wont be replacing the 2 we currently have.

I never knocked Porteous in my post, I merely said on saturday Kerr was the better player, he's only a couple of years older than Ryan who is still young and learning, he's still very prone to making errors.

26-01-2021, 08:39 AM
Milwall's record spend is 900k in Jan 2019 - They won't be offering this money Porteous is worth - Even based on potential alone. Lets move on!

Millwall fans reckon they have already bid 2.5m for Molumby this window so they must have money from somewhere.

26-01-2021, 08:41 AM
It would be a shame if he went there. I can't bring myself to ever want anything positive to happen to that football club.

rodhibs55
26-01-2021, 08:42 AM

Spot on and consistently better is the key point which is also borne out by the fact that both our CH's have had call ups to the national side.

26-01-2021, 08:46 AM
I never knocked Porteous in my post, I merely said on saturday Kerr was the better player, he's only a couple of years older than Ryan who is still young and learning, he's still very prone to making errors.

I was talking in general JC not saying you were knocking the player.

26-01-2021, 08:48 AM
I was talking in general JC not saying you were knocking the player.

Greenworld
26-01-2021, 08:55 AM
I still think think we have the basis of a good squad the best transfer we could make is Jack Ross and a guy in that plays players where they are best .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

hibbie02
26-01-2021, 09:02 AM
Are we a Selling Club?

We certainly used to be a Selling Club, but how many big money sales have we managed in the last 10 years? It certainly appears that we may be moving back to that idea, but for years, we are more a club that accumulates journeymen in the hope of uncovering a gem. SJM is an obvious exception and the signing of Nisbet is a positive sign. When we were genuinely a Selling Club, we generated our players in house and sold them on for big money.

I can't see a massive surge in interest in Porto or Doig. So a couple of clubs are claimed to be interested, but I doubt we would get a decent offer for either. In a couple of years, Porto will have hopefully developed more and increased his value making a move then better all round. Going to Millwall at 21 is going to be a shock. Doig is in his first season and shouldn't be even thinking about a move at this stage.

26-01-2021, 09:25 AM
1 million plus a sell on would be good money for Porteous and he'd be away I reckon.

26-01-2021, 09:25 AM

Sure you're on the right board? Far too sensible a post.

26-01-2021, 09:28 AM
Some of the folk criticising Porteous on here need a reality check. Yes he makes some errors (like Rhys Williams) but he can still improve. Yes he is sometimes very optimistic with his long ball or diagonals, but that is usually down to no-one from midfield offering themselves up as an easier option. Overall IMO he has improved this season. He is very composed on the ball. He's cut down the rash lunges giving away free kicks and getting yellows. Yes he goes to ground too easily but mostly he is clever in winning free kicks and the odd penalty by inviting contact (although there was one glaring one Sat when the ref wasn't interested and the Saints boy raced away with the ball). Overall the pros far outweigh the cons and given his age, the gap between them will only increase. If he goes now, no way will we be able to get in a like for like player on whom we are likely to make a profit. We need to keep him through 21-22 giving time for further development and his stock to be enhanced, then look to sell when he has one year left on his contract.

26-01-2021, 09:33 AM
Some of the folk criticising Porteous on here need a reality check. Yes he makes some errors (like Rhys Williams) but he can still improve. Yes he is sometimes very optimistic with his long ball or diagonals, but that is usually down to no-one from midfield offering themselves up as an easier option. Overall IMO he has improved this season. He is very composed on the ball. He's cut down the rash lunges giving away free kicks and getting yellows. Yes he goes to ground too easily but mostly he is clever in winning free kicks and the odd penalty by inviting contact (although there was one glaring one Sat when the ref wasn't interested and the Saints boy raced away with the ball). Overall the pros far outweigh the cons and given his age, the gap between them will only increase. If he goes now, no way will we be able to get in a like for like player on whom we are likely to make a profit. We need to keep him through 21-22 giving time for further development and his stock to be enhanced, then look to sell when he has one year left on his contract.

Agreed. There is definitely a cracking player there who is still learning his craft.

He does seem, though, at times of late to have regressed in positional play and decision making

26-01-2021, 09:41 AM
1 million plus a sell on would be good money for Porteous and he'd be away I reckon.

Good job your not valuing and negotiating our players values/worth

Gaffer1875
26-01-2021, 09:44 AM
I genuinely can’t believe what I’m reading. Between £1-2m let’s take it and sell RP!

He’s had a couple of shaky moments this season but he’s 21! Show me another 21 year old CB who doesn’t make mistakes!

We consistently talk our game down and this is another example of undervaluing our players.

RP is worth more than that to us IMO. Bidding should start at £3m and not a penny less. That said, we should be retaining the likes to Porteous, Doig, Nesbit etc and building better, stronger, more experienced players around them.

26-01-2021, 09:45 AM
I wouldn't be overly concerned if we sold Porteous and brought in a replacement if it was a reasonable fee with sell-ons. For me he isn't improving.

Your not watching the same player then. From the rash Laddie he’s 100% improved this season, his stats speak for themselves. He’s going to make mistakes and have bad games tell me a player that doesn’t never mind a 21 year old centre half who I think has started every league game for us this season.

Always amazes me how the previous game and performance of a players completely clouds the bigger picture and overall performance.

26-01-2021, 09:49 AM
Centre halves dont usually peak until their late 20's. The problem we have is that we dont really have the option to drop him if hes going through a difficult spell. He needs to cut out the nonsense though. I dont know where the going down and wanting free kicks 3 or 4 times a game has came from but it needs to stop. Stand up, be strong and defend the ball coming into the box and stop wanting the ref to give you a dig out.

Totally agree with this point. Fair enough if a blatant foul but not a normal challenge like Saturday. He did this at Ibrox in the second half instead of playing the ball and ended up with Balogun almost scoring. He also seems to have completely lost his threat in the opposition box as he used to be a big threat for scoring from corners.

26-01-2021, 09:50 AM
It’s a funny one with centre halfs because they do all their learning at a young age and get better with that experience.

If they aren’t realistically going to be here for their better years then a good offer for a young centre half is tempting. Take the cash and bring in a more developed one for the next 3 years or so and also to help continue to build other areas of the team.

I doubt Millwall will be spending that type of money though.

26-01-2021, 09:53 AM
I genuinely can’t believe what I’m reading. Between £1-2m let’s take it and sell RP!

He’s had a couple of shaky moments this season but he’s 21! Show me another 21 year old CB who doesn’t make mistakes!

We consistently talk our game down and this is another example of undervaluing our players.

RP is worth more than that to us IMO. Bidding should start at £3m and not a penny less. That said, we should be retaining the likes to Porteous, Doig, Nesbit etc and building better, stronger, more experienced players around them.

I totally get your argument. Porteous will have 2 years left on his contract at the end of the season. That gives us something like 3 windows to make any serious amounts of cash if he doesn't sign a new contract.
I'm not sure his market value right now and don't know when the best window would be to cash in.

If he was getting capped for Scotland he would probably be more valuable and could probably gwt himself a better deal.

I really don't know his worth or when he should move on.

26-01-2021, 10:02 AM
Good job your not valuing and negotiating our players values/worth

You need to remember these times are not normal. £1m plus sell on for Porteous wouldn't be totally out of the realms of possibility IMO.

I'm not saying I think thats what he's worth, but that might the kind of offer the club think of accepting.

26-01-2021, 10:06 AM
I’m not upset at all. I’m not even assuming the club will be selling him for 1.5-2m or even at all I’m just speaking hypothetically.

I find your posts a little patronising as well so on that note I bid you a good day 👍🏼

To be honest I find most of your posts more than a little hysterically panicked so it's not a bad idea to leave it at this. Good luck to you sir

26-01-2021, 10:07 AM
You need to remember these times are not normal. £1m plus sell on for Porteous wouldn't be totally out of the realms of possibility IMO.

I'm not saying I think thats what he's worth, but that might the kind of offer the club think of accepting.

No I get what your saying mate but thankfully the club value him significantly more than that even in this current climate.

MikeyS
26-01-2021, 10:07 AM
It’s a funny one with centre halfs because they do all their learning at a young age and get better with that experience.

If they aren’t realistically going to be here for their better years then a good offer for a young centre half is tempting. Take the cash and bring in a more developed one for the next 3 years or so and also to help continue to build other areas of the team.

I doubt Millwall will be spending that type of money though.

This is a very good point actually. I feel we would benefit from someone who has been round the block a bit, like McGregor was when he arrived, to steady things.

A good example from the past is Pressley, got a few opportunities in the Rangers team made a move for decent money to Coventry where he was absolutely terrible, another big money move to D Utd but it wanst until he turned up at Hearts that he really showed what a good, consistent player he was.

I doubt Ryan will be going to Millwall but there will be clubs in that league well aware of him and thinking about making moves. What we get depends on his current deal and wages too, no use turning down bids of 1-2 million only for his agent to turn round and say "well if he is worth more you need to start paying him more to reflect the valuation".

SQHib
26-01-2021, 10:13 AM
Since the days of Stein and Marinello we have sold on players and NEVER replaced them with the same price and quality ... quite frankly if Ryan Portoeous was playing for any other SPL team we would not be able to afford to buy him .. if we sold Ryan and bought say Stuart Findlay from Kille now they would want I reckon about 300k and he would want more than Ryan will be on given he signed his deal in 2018.. so replacing him has to factor into it .. I agree wholeheartedly on the hibs model of promote and sell but it has to be at the right price and time .. Ryan has 2 years left of his contract after ths season ends .. he's a 21 year old with 60 + games play in the top leagus in scotland and no panic from us and 14 U21 caps .. even if he stands still development wise the invetment hibs have made in him is in the +ve till his contract ends .. it would need to be close ( 75%) to a mcginn type offer I suspect for hibs to even blink .. he's 21 .. he will improve .. cut him some slack !

Audio Visual
26-01-2021, 10:19 AM
Ryan Porteous is undoubtedly the best homegrown CH prospect in my 40 years as a Hibee. If it weren't for the width of the bar and some shoddy finishing, we could have been 2 or 3 up on St Johnstone - would people still be clamouring for their CHs to replace ours then? Porteous needs encouragement not sold and certainly not for the first bid that comes in. We need a few more players like Ryan not less.

26-01-2021, 10:19 AM
Since the days of Stein and Marinello we have sold on players and NEVER replaced them with the same price and quality ... quite frankly if Ryan Portoeous was playing for any other SPL team we would not be able to afford to buy him .. if we sold Ryan and bought say Stuart Findlay from Kille now they would want I reckon about 300k and he would want more than Ryan will be on given he signed his deal in 2018.. so replacing him has to factor into it .. I agree wholeheartedly on the hibs model of promote and sell but it has to be at the right price and time .. Ryan has 2 years left of his contract after ths season ends .. he's a 21 year old with 60 + games play in the top leagus in scotland and no panic from us and 14 U21 caps .. even if he stands still development wise the invetment hibs have made in him is in the +ve till his contract ends .. it would need to be close ( 75%) to a mcginn type offer I suspect for hibs to even blink .. he's 21 .. he will improve .. cut him some slack !

Not really understanding your last comment regarding cut him some slack? I don't think i have posted a negative comment about Porteous? I'm not desperate to sell him.

26-01-2021, 10:24 AM
Ryan Porteous is undoubtedly the best homegrown CH prospect in my 40 years as a Hibee. If it weren't for the width of the bar and some shoddy finishing, we could have been 2 or 3 up on St Johnstone - would people still be clamouring for their CHs to replace ours then? Porteous needs encouragement not sold and certainly not for the first bid that comes in. We need a few more players like Ryan not less.

Too much sense being spoken here, it'll never catch on!

26-01-2021, 10:34 AM

Spot on well said.

Hate about football fans we are so quick to round on our own.

Greenworld
26-01-2021, 10:46 AM

I'm not saying I think thats what he's worth, but that might the kind of offer the club think of accepting.I think the point is we don't need to sell him

SQHib
26-01-2021, 11:24 AM
Not really understanding your last comment regarding cut him some slack? I don't think i have posted a negative comment about Porteous? I'm not desperate to sell him.

Apologies 04Sauzee .. was not related to your post more to the others who are desperate to sell him .. have removed quote from my original post to save confusion

26-01-2021, 11:35 AM
I can’t believe some people are saying 1-2 million for Porteous.

The club have took abuse for years for not getting enough for our players etc then when the best centre half we have and is also a home grown talent gets rumoured off a transfer to Millwall we want to sell him?!

Absolute nonsense and thankfully I imagine Ron, Ross and Mathie will think the same.

26-01-2021, 11:37 AM
@Richcawleyslp

Hibernian defender Ryan Porteous is a name that has been mentioned to me in relation to Millwall's centre-back search.

But no deal close for the centre-back, 21.

Scottish press reported Lions' interest last night.

https://t.co/UUn6K0S3Ay

https://londonnewsonline.co.uk/millwall-not-close-to-deal-for-hibernian-defender-with-scottish-press-reporting-interest-in-january-deal/

26-01-2021, 11:39 AM
I can’t believe some people are saying 1-2 million for Porteous.

The club have took abuse for years for not getting enough for our players etc then when the best centre half we have and is also a home grown talent gets rumoured off a transfer to Millwall we want to sell him?!

Absolute nonsense and thankfully I imagine Ron, Ross and Mathie will think the same.

What players did we not get enough for that the club got abused for?

Key West
26-01-2021, 11:48 AM
I'd rather Porteous was playing for Hibs but 2m+McNamara would be tempting.

26-01-2021, 12:07 PM
I'd rather Porteous was playing for Hibs but 2m+McNamara would be tempting.

Do we need another right/wing back?

26-01-2021, 12:13 PM
Frimpong leaving Celtic

26-01-2021, 12:18 PM
Neil Lennon confirms Celtic defender Jeremie Frimpong is “abroad” speaking to a club about a permanent transfer

26-01-2021, 12:25 PM

Just a small thing but we certainly replaced Stein with not just the same quality but much better.

26-01-2021, 12:27 PM
Neil Lennon confirms Celtic defender Jeremie Frimpong is “abroad” speaking to a club about a permanent transfer

Will get a few bob for him. who does that leave them with who can play right back, as I think the Israel boy wants to go home

26-01-2021, 12:39 PM

While I agree with most of your post as much as it pained me at the time when Stein went along the M8 to join his boyhood heroes, we in fact replaced him with one of my all time fav Hibs Players Joe McBride senior, now he was a goalscorer, I think we may well have replaced Peter Marinello with Arthur Duncan so once more not a good example but once we got to Peter cormack or Alex Cropley Des bremner etc, then we never managed to replace them, the list before Stein goes on and the list after marinello goes on with very few of them being replaced like for like or better.
Ryan will go in the end and I hope he goes to a big club down south and gets the rewards his play will deserve.

26-01-2021, 12:41 PM
Will get a few bob for him. who does that leave them with who can play right back, as I think the Israel boy wants to go home
Ajer playes RB or RWB against Livingston and looked their best player. But you are correct leaves them short in that position.

26-01-2021, 12:47 PM
Said it on another thread but if mallan leaving frees up money then hopefully we're looking for a centre half (Gallagher?) Or a striker

Weve got our B2B centre mid and with Allan returning I'm hopeful he's like a new signing too

26-01-2021, 01:04 PM
Frimpong leaving Celtic

Surprised at that. Wonder where he’s going? He’s a decent player but nowhere near good enough yet to go to a much higher level imo.

Has plenty potential but he needs games at his age so a big step up won’t be the best move for him imo.

26-01-2021, 01:19 PM
Surprised at that. Wonder where he’s going? He’s a decent player but nowhere near good enough yet to go to a much higher level imo.

Has plenty potential but he needs games at his age so a big step up won’t be the best move for him imo.

Celtic fans on their forums seem to think the fee is 10m euros with 30% to Man City 👀👀

They believe O'Donnell will probably sign from Motherwell until the end of the season.

Key West
26-01-2021, 01:26 PM
Do we need another right/wing back?

Not a priority depends on how good Cadden is and how flexible Paul McGinn but yes there are more pressing areas.

26-01-2021, 01:37 PM
Celtic fans on their forums seem to think the fee is 10m euros with 30% to Man City 👀👀

They believe O'Donnell will probably sign from Motherwell until the end of the season.

That’s a bit of a downgrade

26-01-2021, 01:38 PM
Celtic fans on their forums seem to think the fee is 10m euros with 30% to Man City [emoji102][emoji102]

11.5M apparently, heading to Leverkusen.

26-01-2021, 01:42 PM
Killie sign

👋 Say hello to our new 9⃣

Welcome to Killie, George Oakley

https://t.co/uoUn2JNoUe https://t.co/8jevd7AJ4K

26-01-2021, 01:47 PM

Wow. Hes good but he's not 11.5m good. Just shows the difference between ourselves and the bigot twins when it comes to selling players

26-01-2021, 01:52 PM
Probably covered already (so apologies) but also reports of Sunderland interest in Doig

26-01-2021, 01:53 PM
Wow. Hes good but he's not 11.5m good. Just shows the difference between ourselves and the bigot twins when it comes to selling players

Incredible sum of money

51 appearances for Celtic 3 goals 5 yellow cards a 1 red card

Granted he has a league and cup winners medal and played European football.

tonyrougier123
26-01-2021, 02:32 PM
Elliott Moore of Oxford Utd could be worth a punt.not a rumour just a thought.centre back.if Porto goes or even if he doesn’t we still need one.

26-01-2021, 03:43 PM
Elliott Moore of Oxford Utd could be worth a punt.not a ruWmour just a thought.centre back.if Porto goes or even if he doesn’t we still need one.

Seems to be valued at £650k + cannae see us paying that type of transfer fee.

26-01-2021, 04:04 PM
Jack Ross saying in his press conference that there is nothing imminent regarding transfers.

Could be spinning a line who knows

Magpie
26-01-2021, 04:09 PM
Jack Ross saying in his press conference that there is nothing imminent regarding transfers.

If the board are still fully confident in him they will continue to back him. I’d be surprised to see any more players come in this window unless a few left.

26-01-2021, 04:11 PM

Christ let’s hope so. A CB and a striker are absolutely musts

26-01-2021, 04:12 PM

Hopefully Lennon stays around long enough to spend it.

26-01-2021, 04:18 PM

Just listened to it, he's one of the most negative sounding managers around, monotone voice and little passion, I just can't get excited when I hear him.

#2 Double Tap
26-01-2021, 04:19 PM

are you thinking 4m for nisbet, 3.5m for porto, 2.5m for boyle, and 1.5m for marciano

26-01-2021, 04:23 PM
Just listened to it, he's one of the most negative sounding managers around, monotone voice and little passion, I just can't get excited when I hear him.

Personally think he speaks very well.

26-01-2021, 04:25 PM

Bound to be a lot of movement from English teams re loan players I would have thought.

26-01-2021, 04:26 PM

He’s not going to get up and give us a song.

26-01-2021, 04:30 PM

He’s made them a fortune in transfers over the years to be fair.

26-01-2021, 04:32 PM

Same here. Never make a point listening to his interviews, however made a point of listening to Stubbs/Lennon press conferences

26-01-2021, 04:35 PM
There will be another 2 signings Imo.

I like how Ross speaks at times, other times I feel he’s too much of a politician with how he answers stuff like “Our response to adversity”. I get he wants to come across intelligent, speak well and picks his words carefully but at times I’m sat there wanting him to just say it how it is.

Max_Shah
26-01-2021, 04:39 PM
Jeremie Frimpong - In talks with Leverkusen. £11.5M fee.

A "robust" fee.

They are not happy. What the **** is going on at the Lesser Greens?

To think we are literally handing them 2nd place.... :na na:

edit - ninja'ed by better posters than I

https://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/jeremie-frimpong-in-talks-with-leverkusen-11-5m-fe-t136195-s1880.html
(https://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/jeremie-frimpong-in-talks-with-leverkusen-11-5m-fe-t136195-s1880.html)

26-01-2021, 04:40 PM
Interviews are getting even drier tbh. Already were pretty mundane. He looks quite tired to be fair to him.

26-01-2021, 04:50 PM

Have stopped listening to his interviews for this reason.

26-01-2021, 04:52 PM
Personally think he speaks very well.

All slow methodical and well thought out answers, the guy asking the questions is a Hibby so it'll be all pre arranged questions and nothing too controversial. I just don't hear passion in him, boring manager and boring football.

26-01-2021, 04:55 PM
All slow methodical and well thought out answers, the guy asking the questions is a Hibby so it'll be all pre arranged questions and nothing too controversial. I just don't hear passion in him, boring manager and boring football.

It’s multiple journalists asking questions, it’s not a HibsTv interview.

Your not watching the same player then. From the rash Laddie he’s 100% improved this season, his stats speak for themselves. He’s going to make mistakes and have bad games tell me a player that doesn’t never mind a 21 year old centre half who I think has started every league game for us this season.

Always amazes me how the previous game and performance of a players completely clouds the bigger picture and overall performance.
well said

He’s not going to get up and give us a song.

I think there’s ways of sounding engaging without singing songs.

I’m the same as the other poster that used to listen and watch all the pre-match press conferences but don’t bother now.

I think it’s a personal thing, many people will like listening to him and find what he says interesting. I think as a player he will be very good in terms of learning from him and can see him being a very good organiser and communicator in terms of giving clear instructions etc...... doesn’t surprise me that it’s said he’s not a motivator though.

26-01-2021, 05:01 PM
It’s multiple journalists asking questions, it’s not a HibsTv interview.

Sounded like the same guy, is it not done down at HTC?

26-01-2021, 05:03 PM
Sounded like the same guy, is it not done down at HTC?

Ross is at HTC, the journos are on zoom.

26-01-2021, 05:05 PM
I think there’s ways of sounding engaging without singing songs.

I’m the same as the other poster that used to listen and watch all the pre-match press conferences but don’t bother now.

I think it’s a personal thing, many people will like listening to him and find what he says interesting. I think as a player he will be very good in terms of learning from him and can see him being a very good organiser and communicator in terms of giving clear instructions etc...... doesn’t surprise me that it’s said he’s not a motivator though.

I’m sure most managers are the same, 2 days after his post match presser he’s being asked the same questions, and then the same team news questions. Managers I doubt want to do them but have to and in reality has nothing more to add about the weekend, then the stock answers about Rangers and what they’ll bring.

26-01-2021, 05:06 PM

I'm the same. If you're a neutral then he'll come across as well mannered and fairly insightful, worth listening to I guess. As a Hibs fan though he just doesn't excite me which is a sad reflection of his team. I mean, I get that most Hibs managers aren't exactly going to be long term supporters of the club but at least show some passion and desire every now and again. To wrap his interviews up in one word, mundane.

26-01-2021, 05:06 PM
Ross is at HTC, the journos are on zoom.

👍

26-01-2021, 05:07 PM
I'm the same. If you're a neutral then he'll come across as well mannered and fairly insightful, worth listening to I guess. As a Hibs fan though he just doesn't excite me which is a sad reflection of his team. I mean, I get that most Hibs managers aren't exactly going to be long term supporters of the club but at least show some passion and desire every now and again. To wrap his interviews up in one word, mundane.

Heckingbottom was exactly the same, spoke very well, concise and seemed to have all the right answers but was a boring get.

Earlydelivery
26-01-2021, 05:11 PM
Just seen his interview on Sky Sports saying there might be incomings.. also said Mallan to Turkey has stalled

BlackSheep
26-01-2021, 05:15 PM

Jeez are we gonna start criticising his dress sense next... the man has a deep monotone voice, give him a break! 😂

26-01-2021, 05:23 PM
Jeez are we gonna start criticising his dress sense next... the man has a deep monotone voice, give him a break! 😂

Steven Gerrard is much the same. How's that working out for him?

26-01-2021, 05:42 PM

Anyone criticising his dress sense will get banned.

26-01-2021, 05:51 PM

Actually, I wasn’t that taken by Gilet under the overcoat look tbh.

26-01-2021, 05:57 PM
Plus, can anyone explain how come our players appear to have become experts at giving themselves hairdresser style haircuts? Skin fades, short back and sides. Jack Ross or Ross Jack or whatever he calls himself too, looking like some counts are not observing lockdown rules, eh no.

I have uploaded photos from recent games for comparison, just by way of evidence likesae. :aok:

26-01-2021, 06:10 PM

Different people asking the questions. A few deliberately looking for him to slip up and give a headline. Think he deals with them well as imo a good communicator and represents the club well.

26-01-2021, 06:13 PM
Sam Stanton seemingly signing for Dundalk

26-01-2021, 06:19 PM

Signed

26-01-2021, 06:20 PM
Signed

Good luck to him ..thought he was going to be top class when he came through - still having a decent career ..they often get European football ?

26-01-2021, 06:24 PM

I wouldn't hold my breath waiting on a new CB. We let Jackson & Stirling go because we had already brought in Gogic & have other cover in Darren, McGinn & SDG.

26-01-2021, 06:30 PM
We have been link to a familiar face, not that we see much of it!!!

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-transfer-agyepong-manchester-city-18551394?utm_source=taboola&utm_medium=display&utm_campaign=exchange

Errrrr that’s from July. It says we might be after Drey Wright.

26-01-2021, 06:30 PM
We have been linked to a familiar face, not that we see much of it!!!

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-transfer-agyepong-manchester-city-18551394?utm_source=taboola&utm_medium=display&utm_campaign=exchange

On a perm as well

It's dated 6th July!!

badabing67
26-01-2021, 06:32 PM
Errrrr that’s from July. It says we might be after Drey Wright.

Well spotted sorry about that

26-01-2021, 06:35 PM
Not sure about him but that Drey Wright would be a fantastic signing. Hope we get him. Tommy Wright raves about him.

26-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Not sure about him but that Drey Wright would be a fantastic signing. Hope we get him. Tommy Wright raves about him.

Nah we'll miss out as usual. Aberdeen will beat us to him just like they always do.

26-01-2021, 06:42 PM

Anyone criticising his clothes really wants their head examined.

Clarence
26-01-2021, 06:42 PM

We have a great track record of signing players from St Johnstone. See Rowan Vine, Liam Craig and Danny Swanson. It’s like they just can’t wait to prove themselves at a higher level and really kick on when they have our great facilities to support their progress.

26-01-2021, 07:08 PM
when does the transfer window close,has it been extended because of covid ?

26-01-2021, 07:09 PM
when does the transfer window close,has it been extended because of covid ?

Sure it's Monday 11pm in England not sure if we are the same.

26-01-2021, 07:10 PM

Sure it's Monday 11pm in England not sure if we are the same.

12am for Scotland

26-01-2021, 07:11 PM
12am for Scotland

Cheers Billy

26-01-2021, 09:21 PM
Aberdeen supporters seem to think Cosgrove will be sold this Window

Also supposed interest in Ojo from bith sides of the border.

Not sure which club in Scotland would want him althoug Graham Alexander has signed him once 👀

Think Aberdeen may have a a busy few days

26-01-2021, 09:23 PM
Neil Lennon confirms MORE Celtic stars want to follow Jeremie Frimpong out the door as he reveals stance on wantaway players

https://t.co/L45Ww9a00t https://t.co/ZWZm720EOd

26-01-2021, 09:24 PM

Must have offered more money than Ross Co who made him an offer

26-01-2021, 09:26 PM
Aberdeen supporters seem to think Cosgrove will be sold this Window

Also supposed interest in Ojo from bith sides of the border.

Not sure which club in Scotland would want him althoug Graham Alexander has signed him once 👀

Think Aberdeen may have a a busy few days

Both started on Saturday. Sheffield Wed have decided they can't/won't pay the fee Aberdeen want for Cosgrove.

26-01-2021, 09:32 PM
Both started on Saturday. Sheffield Wed have decided they can't/won't pay the fee Aberdeen want for Cosgrove.

I'd be surprised if Wednesday could afford the fee anyway tbh even although they have still been fairly active in the Transfermarket.

27-01-2021, 07:01 AM
Neil Lennon confirms MORE Celtic stars want to follow Jeremie Frimpong out the door as he reveals stance on wantaway players

https://t.co/L45Ww9a00t https://t.co/ZWZm720EOd

Lennon's wonderful man management skills working well again I see :greengrin

27-01-2021, 07:08 AM
Lennon's wonderful man management skills working well again I see :greengrin

Sky sports news were quoting Lennon as saying apart from Frimpong there were other Celtic players wanting to leave. It then said he wasn't going to name the other players but no bid had yet been received for Edouard. :greengrin

27-01-2021, 07:12 AM
Sky sports news were quoting Lennon as saying apart from Frimpong there were other Celtic players wanting to leave. It then said he wasn't going to name the other players but no bid had yet been received for Edouard. :greengrin

And we think we have problems. Hard to see a way forward for Celtic that doesn't include a change of manager.

27-01-2021, 09:07 AM
And we think we have problems. Hard to see a way forward for Celtic that doesn't include a change of manager.

This has been a hilariously catastrophic season for them, one of the biggest implosions since old Rangers went to the wall.

From the outside, it looks very much like Lennon has lost all but a few players, and I'd be amazed if they don't finish the season with a huge gap between them and Rangers.

Greenworld
27-01-2021, 09:54 AM
This has been a hilariously catastrophic season for them, one of the biggest implosions since old Rangers went to the wall.

From the outside, it looks very much like Lennon has lost all but a few players, and I'd be amazed if they don't finish the season with a huge gap between them and Rangers.I will be more surprised if Lennon is not sacked this week and replaced by a high profile name

Greenworld
27-01-2021, 09:57 AM
Lennon's wonderful man management skills working well again I see :greengrinThis could be a blessing get good money in get rid of guys that are not good enough and build a mighty war chest for incoming manager...

27-01-2021, 10:12 AM
This could be a blessing get good money in get rid of guys that are not good enough and build a mighty war chest for incoming manager...

You mean get rid of players not good enough that Lennon signed, where have I seen that before.

27-01-2021, 10:48 AM
https://tbrfootball.com/report-leeds-celtic-and-manchester-city-all-want-hibernian-teen-josh-doig/

Some big clubs tracking Doig. And Celtic.

27-01-2021, 10:52 AM
https://tbrfootball.com/report-leeds-celtic-and-manchester-city-all-want-hibernian-teen-josh-doig/

Some big clubs tracking Doig. And Celtic.
No idea who Goal are or The Boot Room so don't know how credible the source is. I very much doubt any of these clubs would get Doig for 1m

TheHibernator
27-01-2021, 10:54 AM
For me the way he speaks in interviews isn't too big a deal as I'd rather have someone who thinks carefully about what they say than a guy who lets his emotions get the better of him and lets slip in interviews much to the delight of weegie media. The longer this spell goes on for the more pressure he'll come under though and it will become more and more difficult to simply say "yeah we didn't deal with adversity well enough".

He's not the motivating type, would imagine that's more John Potter's job.

27-01-2021, 11:16 AM

Maybe he needs a sprinkle of gold dust? :wink:

27-01-2021, 11:24 AM
How many more semi finals will he be given?

27-01-2021, 11:32 AM

One.

badabing67
27-01-2021, 12:10 PM
How come players like Jason Kerr, Ali McCann, and Gary Mackay Stevens all reputedly Hibs fans, have all managed to slip through our net. Leigh Griffiths arrived via an alternative route. I wonder how many other Hibs fans are signed for other clubs. If I remember right Gordon Strachan was also a Hibs fan but never turned out for the club. Its the kind of thing that get your goat.

27-01-2021, 12:18 PM
Maybe he needs a sprinkle of gold dust? :wink:

The same kind of dust Renton gave Spud for his interview might give him the enthusiasm some seem to think he so desperately needs.

27-01-2021, 12:27 PM
Rumours doing the rounds from both Utd and Celtic fans that the Utd keeper is on his way to Celtic.

27-01-2021, 12:34 PM
Rumours doing the rounds from both Utd and Celtic fans that the Utd keeper is on his way to Celtic.
Maybe I missed something - which United?

27-01-2021, 12:38 PM
Maybe I missed something - which United?

Id assume Dundee, the guy who had the game of his life against us Seigrist or something?

27-01-2021, 01:10 PM

As many as he gets to I would have thought?