View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2020-21
Souter96Mac
21-01-2021, 07:13 AM
Not a rumour, merely a suggestion, and I'm happy if it gets shot down, but thought it would spark some conversation.
With Celtic in disarray, would it be worth trying to get Klimala on loan until the end of the season? Would obviously prefer Leigh of course, however Klimala may be more realistic? I've only seen him a couple times, but I think he's scored a couple against us in friendlies and the earlier league match Vs them.
21-01-2021, 07:14 AM
Greig had a sports shop on the royal mile, quite near the bottom.
Windows always seemed to be boarded up for some reason? :wink:
Was that not Ronnie Simpson?
21-01-2021, 07:15 AM
Was that not Ronnie Simpson?
I'm sure that was rose st.
21-01-2021, 07:19 AM
Not a rumour, merely a suggestion, and I'm happy if it gets shot down, but thought it would spark some conversation.
With Celtic in disarray, would it be worth trying to get Klimala on loan until the end of the season? Would obviously prefer Leigh of course, however Klimala may be more realistic? I've only seen him a couple times, but I think he's scored a couple against us in friendlies and the earlier league match Vs them.
Don't think they'd loan a player to their rivals for second place 😉. Six points in it haha.
21-01-2021, 07:23 AM
On paper he’d be a decent signing I think. I can’t say I know anything about him though.
21-01-2021, 07:23 AM
You might be right a few years ago now. :greengrin
21-01-2021, 07:24 AM
You might be right a few years ago now. :greengrin
You have made me doubt myself now? :confused: :greengrin
21-01-2021, 07:26 AM
I can see anyone getting anything out of Celtic right now... they might give us Lennon.
21-01-2021, 08:29 AM
So John Greig was an Edinburgh man?
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
In the late 70’s I used to see Greig, Sandy Jardine and Chris, forget his surname (striker) boarding the train at Haymarket in the morning
21-01-2021, 08:34 AM
In the late 70’s I used to see Greig, Sandy Jardine and Chris, forget his surname (striker) boarding the train at Haymarket in the morning
Robertson?
John Robertson's big brother
21-01-2021, 08:35 AM
Robertson?
That’s the one
Well done
21-01-2021, 08:35 AM
Robbo’s brother
21-01-2021, 08:36 AM
Robbo’s brother
Robbo?
21-01-2021, 08:42 AM
You have made me doubt myself now? :confused: :greengrin
Fear not. Your memory serves you well still. Ronnie Simpson's shop was in Rose St. As a lad I won a comp in the Pink and the prize was a pair of boots of my choice from his shop. I chose a "Pele" boot fitted by the man himself. (Ronnie not Pele!). Must have been about 73? (I knew f... all about adidas or puma in those days.)
Robertson?
I remember playing in the Portobello Golf Club boys open as a 12-year-old (I think) with John Robertson who was the year below me at Porty eventually but not at the time
When I turned up, Chris who was a Rangers player by then caddied for him, star-struck me started with an 8 finished with a 79 and was second (I think) overall by 2 shots.
Little did I know that was just the start of the ignominies the Robertson family would inflict upon me!
Robbo?
John Robertson, Chris was tall though
21-01-2021, 08:48 AM
Rumour that stevie mallan being allowed to go out on loan this month
Is that this centuries Stevie Mallan or one we had on our books in the 70's?
madhibby
21-01-2021, 08:52 AM
When he retired from football he had a shop, newsagents or sports shop can’t remember , on Comiston Road up from Morningside Station.
John Greig had a sports shop between Tollcross and Bruntsfield - opposite the meadows/bruntsfield links
I was a typical argumentative Hibby lad then. I used to catch the bus to Leith Walk for Hibs games with my mates from close to his shop. I remember going into his sports shop complaining he sold sectarian Rangers badges with Union Jacks etc on them. He in person responded they weren't sectarian and told me to get out! I asked if he stocked any Irish Tricolour badges which he didn't! I didn't really want to buy one - it was more to wind him up! But does show things don't change or were maybe worse then re the Old Firm and what they stood for? I did think then as Rangers captain he should have set a better example.
21-01-2021, 09:11 AM
Can we start a John Greig thread for transfer updates ?
21-01-2021, 09:27 AM
Gracemount Rovers that takes me back . A few decent players came from them .I still remember the bus accident on the way back from a tournament down south
Definitely, my brother David was one of the two who died and not forget all those who where injured in the accident.
Just thought, 1975 :O
21-01-2021, 09:55 AM
Definitely, my brother David was one of the two who died and not forget all those who where injured in the accident.
Just thought, 1975 :O
Oh apologies for bringing that up
21-01-2021, 09:56 AM
Oh apologies for bringing that up
No probs man brings back memories of my big bro :D and all of those who I'm still in contact with years later. Mostly jambos though
:(
21-01-2021, 09:58 AM
No probs man brings back memories of my big bro :D and all of those who I'm still in contact with years later. Mostly jambos though
Wee Davy Scott?
21-01-2021, 10:10 AM
Stephen Kingsley singed on at Hearts for another 18 months
21-01-2021, 10:23 AM
Stephen Kingsley singed on at Hearts for another 18 months
Part of me thinks we should have gone for him, part of me would rather see doig progress.
cannastar
21-01-2021, 10:30 AM
guy i used to know played schools football with john greig and reckoned he was small in height til he got his teeth pulled and then progressed onto where he ended up and they were both hearts daft.
21-01-2021, 10:38 AM
Part of me thinks we should have gone for him, part of me would rather see doig progress.
Doig’s progression for me. Young mans going to be some player
21-01-2021, 11:36 AM
Any chance of keeping this a transfer thread no a walk down the ages 🤦*♂️
NC1875
21-01-2021, 11:59 AM
When’s John Greig signing then ?
21-01-2021, 12:05 PM
St Gallen in talks with Bochum to give them Kamberi on loan
Twitter gossip
21-01-2021, 12:07 PM
Any chance of keeping this a transfer thread no a walk down the ages 🤦*♂️
Is this a transfer thread? I thought it was a thread to character assassinate Hibs players. :wink: :greengrin
21-01-2021, 12:13 PM
Just goes to show. People wrap themselves up in a particular clubs colours and I just assumed he was a Weedgie.
He had a wee sports shop on the Royal Mile, if I remember correctly :greengrin
21-01-2021, 12:16 PM
Was it not in Rose St? :wink:
21-01-2021, 12:24 PM
Wee Davy Scott?
David Phillips :)
Wow Brog! Great story
There was a Jimmy McManus that moved from Edinburgh Norton and signed for Dundee Utd and later Falkirk.
Is it the same guy?
Yes, that's him. He moved to SA and IIRC won POTY there.
Correct, right at the bottom. Sold club ties.
21-01-2021, 12:30 PM
When was the last time a player was at Hibs or Hearts playing regularly then decided to sign for their rivals ?!
He’s a decent player and a solid signing.
21-01-2021, 12:35 PM
Was it not in Rose St? :wink:
Remember the shop in Rose Street
Used to go there for my Top Dog Continental’s when I was still a contender 😃
21-01-2021, 12:37 PM
St Gallen in talks with Bochum to give them Kamberi on loan
Twitter gossip
It would be a real shame if he faded in to obscurity. Ahh well, at least the prick can look back on his 3 months with his boyhood heroes fondly. :giruy2:
21-01-2021, 02:38 PM
Was a few Hibbies in that group also. :greengrin
houstonhibbee
21-01-2021, 03:06 PM
Next to ma Scott’s at the west end
lillywhites on princes street and Thornton’s on Hanover street
Roxyhibee
21-01-2021, 03:11 PM
John Greig had a sports shop between Tollcross and Bruntsfield - opposite the meadows/bruntsfield links
I was a typical argumentative Hibby lad then. I used to catch the bus to Leith Walk for Hibs games with my mates from close to his shop. I remember going into his sports shop complaining he sold sectarian Rangers badges with Union Jacks etc on them. He in person responded they weren't sectarian and told me to get out! I asked if he stocked any Irish Tricolour badges which he didn't! I didn't really want to buy one - it was more to wind him up! But does show things don't change or were maybe worse then re the Old Firm and what they stood for? I did think then as Rangers captain he should have set a better example.
Superb - would love to have witnessed that.! 👍🇳🇬
21-01-2021, 03:15 PM
Greig would be spot on for the Matty Jack role.
21-01-2021, 03:21 PM
Was a few Hibbies in that group also. :greengrin
There most definitely was 👍
Really nice having this trip down memory lane but does anyone have any transfer rumours, if not do you all want to start a new thread on players of old and what shops they did or didn't own.
21-01-2021, 03:40 PM
Really nice having this trip down memory lane but does anyone have any transfer rumours, if not do you all want to start a new thread on players of old and what shops they did or didn't own.
Nah, until there is a transfer rumour to talk about, I'm quite enjoying the tangential nature of this thread.
Ps: Greig played centre half, alongside Ronnie "Pull yer shorts up as high as humanely possible" MacKinnon.
21-01-2021, 03:59 PM
SJ did because Peter Collins got him in to train us with Gracemount Rovers at the old Dr Guthrie’s complex on Lasswade Road.Jardine trained my cub scout division indoors. Might have been Meadowbank early Eighties. Not sure if he was at Hearts then or if he played or coached with them. My cub scouts was riddled with Yams, it was a bit of a war of attrition with them.
21-01-2021, 04:04 PM
Sandy Jardine once hit golf balls at us when we gave him some abuse at Broomieknowe golf course (we were in the park over the wall).
That's all the transfer news I have to offer.
Percy Vere
21-01-2021, 04:07 PM
Hahaha😂
Percy Vere
21-01-2021, 04:11 PM
Sandy Jardine once hit golf balls at us when we gave him some abuse at Broomieknowe golf course (we were in the park over the wall).
That's all the transfer news I have to offer.
Sandy Jardine and John Greig once took my chips off me when I was 8 years old walking down Easter Rd. Sandy had his own chip van then and John had the sports shop. They had missed their supper and often just took food off local kids. I’m off now to see if there’s any transfer rumours.
21-01-2021, 04:12 PM
The odd digression is to be expected now and again.
Just waiting for Super Leigh Griffiths to demand his loan move to us.
andudare2
21-01-2021, 04:25 PM
So John Greig was an Edinburgh man?
Brought up in Prestonfield.
I played with him in Prestonfield Park, only 4 of us, when IIRC he was Scotland captain. John borrowed a ball from the Janny at Prestonfield Primary then burst it on the hedge! He had to sheepishly hand it back & promise to replace!
21-01-2021, 04:44 PM
I played with him in Prestonfield Park, only 4 of us, when IIRC he was Scotland captain. John borrowed a ball from the Janny at Prestonfield Primary then burst it on the hedge! He had to sheepishly hand it back & promise to replace!
Was he any good :wink:?
I see he captained Scotland at Wembley in 1967 and played centre half. I've said this before. but it's worth repeating since none of the old timers replied, but what was Ronnie MacKinnon doing with his shorts.
21-01-2021, 05:09 PM
I see he captained Scotland at Wembley in 1967 and played centre half. I've said this before. but it's worth repeating since none of the old timers replied, but what was Ronnie MacKinnon doing with his shorts.
My memory of his shorts is that it was of no consequence despite what he might have thought.
Hibs1969
21-01-2021, 05:43 PM
I remember his shop in Bruntsfield but for some reason it’s in my memory bank as a gent’s clothes shop. We used to pass his shop on the way to and from school, if we were feeling particularly brave or if Hibs had beaten the Huns we would open the front door to the shop, yell out ‘Hibees’ and scarper pretty quickly. One one occasion Greig himself was in the shop and as we shouted out, he came out from behind the counter and made as if to chase us. I can tell you that Usain Bolt would have been left in my trail that day, I legged it and never looked back.
The odd digression is to be expected now and again.
Just waiting for Super Leigh Griffiths to demand his loan move to us.
Don't mind the odd digression but this is a takeover bid. :greengrin
He played sweeper behind MacKinnon. As the Kinks sang about that time, 'with his frilly panties pulled up tight'. I think Ronnie was making a fashion statement!
21-01-2021, 06:11 PM
Guessing there is nothing happening on the transfer front 🤔
21-01-2021, 06:14 PM
Guessing there is nothing happening on the transfer front 🤔
I’m sure all our energies are focused on Saturday’s big game
21-01-2021, 06:25 PM
Thought it was in Dalry Rd where Maplins is/was
badabing67
21-01-2021, 09:48 PM
Scottie tipped to make the squad for the semi-final
Scott Allan is poised to make a welcome return to the Hibs squad for this weekend’s trip to Hampden.
By*Moira Gordon
Thursday, 21st January 2021, 10:30 pm
Scott Allan returned to first team training last month and is now expected to feature in the Hibs squad for this weekend's Betfred Cup semi-final.
The talismanic midfielder has been sidelined by a personal illness for most of this season, featuring in only the first five matches of the Premiership campaign.
The 29-year-old’s last appearance came on August 30, against Aberdeen, but since then one of the more mercurial passers in the Scottish game has undergone his own battle to get himself back into contention.
But, ahead of the Betfred Cup semi-final, manager Jack Ross has revealed that the fans’ favourite, who is in his third spell with Hibs, could play a part in helping the Leith side through to their first cup final since that Scottish Cup triumph in 2016.
“Yeah, he'll be in the squad but it's been difficult. The plan was for him to be involved in bounce matches over the last week or two and for a variety of reasons, particularly with the weather as well, that's not been possible, so we've tailored a little bit of our training over the past week to try and accommodate some of his needs as well, in terms of boxes he would need to tick. So we're pretty much there with him.
“It's good, it’s nice to have him back and pretty much there which is good and as I said, he'll be included in the squad.
“I think Scott's abilities are well documented and that's why he's always attracted so much attention in Scottish football, because of his ability to see passes that not many people can see. It's not easy to find or replace players like that. If I was trying to source one at this stage from outwith the club it wouldn't be easy so the fact that we've had one here and the fact that he is nearly back to being fully fit and available is a bonus for us.”
But with such rich competition for places these days, Ross said that not everyone will be able to play their part.
“For the first time this season we may have boys not stripped, which has not really happened this season, apart from when they have had injuries. We may actually have two or three fit and healthy boys not stripped for the first time this season.”
21-01-2021, 09:56 PM
Scottie tipped to make the squad for the semi-final
Scott Allan is poised to make a welcome return to the Hibs squad for this weekend’s trip to Hampden.
By*Moira Gordon
Thursday, 21st January 2021, 10:30 pm
Scott Allan returned to first team training last month and is now expected to feature in the Hibs squad for this weekend's Betfred Cup semi-final. Photo by Mark Scates/SNS Group
The talismanic midfielder has been sidelined by a personal illness for most of this season, featuring in only the first five matches of the Premiership campaign.
The 29-year-old’s last appearance came on August 30, against Aberdeen, but since then one of the more mercurial passers in the Scottish game has undergone his own battle to get himself back into contention.
But, ahead of the Betfred Cup semi-final, manager Jack Ross has revealed that the fans’ favourite, who is in his third spell with Hibs, could play a part in helping the Leith side through to their first cup final since that Scottish Cup triumph in 2016.
“Yeah, he'll be in the squad but it's been difficult. The plan was for him to be involved in bounce matches over the last week or two and for a variety of reasons, particularly with the weather as well, that's not been possible, so we've tailored a little bit of our training over the past week to try and accommodate some of his needs as well, in terms of boxes he would need to tick. So we're pretty much there with him.
“It's good, it’s nice to have him back and pretty much there which is good and as I said, he'll be included in the squad.
“I think Scott's abilities are well documented and that's why he's always attracted so much attention in Scottish football, because of his ability to see passes that not many people can see. It's not easy to find or replace players like that. If I was trying to source one at this stage from outwith the club it wouldn't be easy so the fact that we've had one here and the fact that he is nearly back to being fully fit and available is a bonus for us.”
But with such rich competition for places these days, Ross said that not everyone will be able to play their part.
“For the first time this season we may have boys not stripped, which has not really happened this season, apart from when they have had injuries. We may actually have two or three fit and healthy boys not stripped for the first time this season.”
He hasn’t even played a bounce game so no chance he will feature Just a boost fir player on comeback trail , but another milestone reached so hopefully it won’t be long till he gets time off the Bench
21-01-2021, 10:33 PM
Motherwell sign 6'5 striker
Enhancing our attacking options.
Harry Smith has joined Motherwell on loan from Northampton Town.
Welcome to the club, @harrysmith30_ 👋
https://t.co/iCHZVFRezN https://t.co/JaPPHjMQKC
21-01-2021, 10:53 PM
Motherwell sign 6'5 striker
Enhancing our attacking options.
Harry Smith has joined Motherwell on loan from Northampton Town.
Welcome to the club, @harrysmith30_ ��
https://t.co/iCHZVFRezN https://t.co/JaPPHjMQKC
They already have a useless massive striker in 6'4" Jordan White and now they have big 'arry Smiff.
To be fair I think he is a slight upgrade.
What to do with Jordan White now given no team in the championship will want to increase their wage bill.
Lightbulb moment - Hertz
Nah they don't need him.
22-01-2021, 09:11 AM
Hibernian's hopes of sealing a cut price deal for Ross Stewart in January have been dented after John Hughes claimed it would take a bid of £500,000 to prise him away from the Highlands before the end of the month.
The Easter Road outfit are reportedly among a clutch of Scottish sides monitoring the 24-year-
old's contract situation at Ross County with the forward's deal due to expire at the end of May.
Jack Ross signed this boy for St Mirren.
22-01-2021, 09:14 AM
Hibernian's hopes of sealing a cut price deal for Ross Stewart in January have been dented after John Hughes claimed it would take a bid of £500,000 to prise him away from the Highlands before the end of the month.
The Easter Road outfit are reportedly among a clutch of Scottish sides monitoring the 24-year-old's contract situation at Ross County with the forward's deal due to expire at the end of May.
Yeah sure it would.
22-01-2021, 09:17 AM
The Easter Road outfit are reportedly among a clutch of Scottish sides monitoring the 24-year-
old's contract situation at Ross County with the forward's deal due to expire at the end of May.
There’s no way they will get £500k, but County will put a price on staying up though
22-01-2021, 09:17 AM
I don't see what he would bring to the team in all honesty, 15 goals in 63 games for County, none for St Mirren. £500,000 is absolute nonsense.
22-01-2021, 09:20 AM
No one will pay that amount If he signs a pre contract with a club they will be lucky to negotiate a three figure sum at all
Souter96Mac
22-01-2021, 09:20 AM
I don't see what he would bring to the team in all honesty, 15 goals in 63 games for County, none for St Mirren. £500,000 is absolute nonsense.
He seems to be very versatile, which looks to be the type of player Ross is keen on. Looks like he can play upfront, and on the right hand side. £500k is a lot, but don't begrudge county trying to get as much as they can.
Stanton Spence
22-01-2021, 09:21 AM
I don't see what he would bring to the team in all honesty, 15 goals in 63 games for County, none for St Mirren. £500,000 is absolute nonsense.I agree and Ross County have played their best football without him in the side the past few weeks. I really don't see what the big deal is with him. I'd be happy to be proven wrong if he does end up at Easter road tho.
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
22-01-2021, 09:21 AM
Yogi is a blether.
22-01-2021, 09:22 AM
He seems to be very versatile, which looks to be the type of player Ross is keen on. Looks like he can play upfront, and on the right hand side. £500k is a lot, but don't begrudge county trying to get as much as they can.
They would be lucky to get 100k at this point in his contract.
GreenPJ
22-01-2021, 09:29 AM
Yogi is a blether.
He is doing what any manager would be doing - talking his player value up in the hope that they might get a fraction of that value.
BlackSheep
22-01-2021, 09:30 AM
He hasn’t even played a bounce game so no chance he will feature Just a boost fir player on comeback trail , but another milestone reached so hopefully it won’t be long till he gets time off the Bench
I wouldn't be too sure... depending on how the game goes i can definitely see him getting some time on the pitch, we no little to nothing of the training he has or hasn't been doing over the past months, match fitness aside im sure he will be fighting fit and ready to play.
22-01-2021, 10:12 AM
I don't see it either. Reminds me of a Brian Graham type.
22-01-2021, 10:13 AM
is there any chance County could still be due us money for Shaw? They apparently paid 6 figures so could be worth exploring writing off anything that is potentially still outstanding as part of a deal to get Stewart in.
22-01-2021, 10:14 AM
I think I would rather have Oli Shaw back than Ross Stewart. It’s been quite a long standing rumour though.
Keyser Sauzee
22-01-2021, 10:14 AM
I’d take Oli Shaw back before paying for Stewart, another overrated player.
22-01-2021, 10:15 AM
I don’t see it either. Would rather we steered clear of that one
Great minds......
Not at all, they've every right to try and get as much for him as they can. Versatility is all well and good but we are reasonably well covered for wide players (Murphy, Boyle, Wright, Donaldson), and up front we've got 2 senior strikers and we need someone more prolific than Doidge with more experience than Gullane.
22-01-2021, 10:16 AM
I think I would rather have Oli Shaw back than Ross Stewart. It’s been quite a long standing rumour though.
Are you's copying eachothers work? :rules:
Could we please get this thread back on track talking about players from the 60s!! 😁
22-01-2021, 10:32 AM
Not at all, they've every right to try and get as much for him as they can. Versatility is all well and good but we are reasonably well covered for wide players (Murphy, Boyle, Wright, Donaldson), and up front we've got 2 senior strikers and we need someone more prolific than Doidge with more experience than Gullane.
Struggling to think who Donaldson might be?
22-01-2021, 10:42 AM
Clayton.
22-01-2021, 10:42 AM
Does he have a shop?
22-01-2021, 10:43 AM
There’s no way they will get £500k, but County will put a price on staying up though
Yogis figure immediately disappears if he signs a precontract this month. Quite like the look of him and think he has huge potential
22-01-2021, 10:44 AM
Does he have a shop?
Bottom of the Royal Mile or maybe Rose Street? :greengrin
22-01-2021, 10:49 AM
Could we please get this thread back on track talking about players from the 60s!! 😁
Remember Willie Coburn of St Johnstone used to wear the high shorts and the old fashioned ‘ Billy’s Boots’ with white laces His most redeeming feature was the ever present short back and sides
Then there was Roy Kay of Hearts who always looked as though he had left the coat hanger inside his jersey
Not sure if any of them owned a shop though ?
22-01-2021, 10:49 AM
Wouldn’t be surprised to see a swap deal for Stewart with Mallan going in the other direction.
22-01-2021, 10:52 AM
Sorry, think I meant Steven Bradley, is he not the winger?
I was getting him mixed up with Bradley Donaldson
22-01-2021, 10:52 AM
Sorry, think I meant Steven Bradley, is he not the winger?
Ah, cheers. Had forgotten about him.
22-01-2021, 11:05 AM
Great minds......
But fools....
22-01-2021, 11:07 AM
I don't get the hype around Ross Stewart.
22-01-2021, 11:08 AM
One player id like to see us go for us Josh Mullin, a far better option than Drey Wright imo. Couldn’t believe when County weren’t playing him and allowed him to go to Livi.
Technically he is brilliant and his crosses are as good as anyone in the league.
If were building a big physical team with runners etc we still need boys on the ball that can play or put it on a plate for them, he is one imo.
22-01-2021, 11:47 AM
I think if you dropped a 0 of the price they would be closer to the mark
22-01-2021, 11:51 AM
I don't get the hype around Ross Stewart.
Me neither. Was glad when I heard Aberdeen were in for him.
badabing67
22-01-2021, 11:56 AM
Wouldn’t be surprised to see a swap deal for Stewart with Mallan going in the other direction.
I would be. There is no way he would agree to go there, for a start he is better than that.
22-01-2021, 12:15 PM
But fools....
Takes one to call one?
22-01-2021, 12:17 PM
I think if you dropped a 0 of the price they would be closer to the mark
Always find it strange hibs fans greet when celtic or rangers try to buy players from us for what we perceive to be below an acceptable value then will rate other players at peanuts.
King Cosell
22-01-2021, 12:52 PM
We should sign the man of the match in tonight's Arbroath v Dundee fixture and send the player who plays in his position in our team out on loan.
:yawn2:
Mr. Wonderful
22-01-2021, 02:04 PM
Anyone with doubts about Stewart should re-watch County against celtic in the league cup. Pace, height, strength, composure, nice touch and can turn a player too.
22-01-2021, 02:06 PM
Anyone with doubts about Stewart should re-watch County against celtic in the league cup. Pace, height, strength, composure, nice touch and can turn a player too.
Agree think he is very good.
22-01-2021, 02:13 PM
Remember seeing him first game of the season vs Motherwell and thought he looked very good. I haven't seen much of him since then tbh.
22-01-2021, 02:15 PM
Lars Lokotsch has reached a mutual agreement with Livingston FC to return home to Germany.
Lars leaves with our thanks and best wishes.
#yourroVers https://t.co/R0dzd1zJqG
et_hibby
22-01-2021, 02:33 PM
But any clips of him playing against a half-decent defence though?
22-01-2021, 02:47 PM
Lars Lokotsch has reached a mutual agreement with Livingston FC to return home to Germany.
Lars leaves with our thanks and best wishes.
#yourroVers https://t.co/R0dzd1zJqG
Was on loan at Raith Rovers and I believe he was very poor so no surprise
22-01-2021, 04:41 PM
Pretty sure there’s a few penalties in that 15 as well.
22-01-2021, 06:15 PM
Ross County
✍ CLUB NEWS
Leo Hjelde joins the Staggies on-loan from Celtic
22-01-2021, 06:23 PM
Ross County
✍ CLUB NEWS
Leo Hjelde joins the Staggies on-loan from Celtic
Think John Collins was involved in bringing him to Celtic
Deemed a top talent
22-01-2021, 06:34 PM
Think John Collins was involved in bringing him to Celtic
Deemed a top talent
Brave for Ross County near the bottom of the league bringing in a 17 year old.
Hope he gets some game time.
22-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Brave for Ross County near the bottom of the league bringing in a 17 year old.
Hope he gets some game time.
Boy is deemed a talent, but won’t get any football at a lower level anytime soon
22-01-2021, 08:16 PM
Always find it strange hibs fans greet when celtic or rangers try to buy players from us for what we perceive to be below an acceptable value then will rate other players at peanuts.
Okay then what would you pay for an unproven striker who could sign a pre contract now?
Hibs pay decent money when it’s required but we are business not a charity.
You will be telling me next he is twice the player Nisbet is so we should pony up the £500k
I honestly wouldn’t pay much more than £50k right now for him
22-01-2021, 08:22 PM
Okay then what would you pay for an unproven striker who could sign a pre contract now?
Hibs pay decent money when it’s required but we are business not a charity.
You will be telling me next he is twice the player Nisbet is so we should pony up the £500k
I honestly wouldn’t pay much more than £50k right now for him
Why would i be saying he is twice the player nisbet is just cause i think it’s ridiculous to suggest offering a shan amount like 50k? :confused:
I think county would be more likely to keep hold of him until
the end of his contract if they were only getting 50k out of it.
22-01-2021, 08:50 PM
Why would i be saying he is twice the player nisbet is just cause i think it’s ridiculous to suggest offering a shan amount like 50k? :confused:
I think county would be more likely to keep hold of him until
the end of his contract if they were only getting 50k out of it.
Okay what would you pay for him now?
Bearing in mind that Brophy a Scottish International in a silmilar position moved on for no fee after signing a pre-contract
Hibiza
22-01-2021, 08:51 PM
We should sign the man of the match in tonight's Arbroath v Dundee fixture and send the player who plays in his position in our team out on loan.
:yawn2: 😁
22-01-2021, 09:01 PM
Bearing in mind that Brophy a Scottish International in a silmilar position moved on for no fee after signing a pre-contract
Think Killie were happy to get him off the wage bill. Looks like Killie are struggling.
RC wont get 500k for Stewart but premiership survival has to be worth more than 50k?
22-01-2021, 09:06 PM
I really don’t know tbh mate, he’s not a player i’ve ever paid too much attention to, though i know he seems to be highly rated. My point mate is that if a team values him at 500k, then we’d most likely told where to go if we offered just 50k.
Difference between him and Brophy is that Stewart is a first team starter for county, i don’t think Brophy was for Killie and they probably just wanted him off the wage bill.
22-01-2021, 09:06 PM
John Hughes saying they want £500k for him doesnt mean it’ll actually cost £500k to get him.
There’s loads of other factors to take into account, the fact that is their starting point and best case scenario gives me cause for optimism that we’ll get him (I think he’d be a good signing)
If we want him, we will try to get him on a pre-contract deal, once (or if) we do that a deal becomes much easier and cheaper imo.
22-01-2021, 09:07 PM
Think Killie were happy to get him off the wage bill. Looks like Killie are struggling.
RC wont get 500k for Stewart but premiership survival has to be worth more than 50k?
If you were struggling you would cash in on the asset not give it away?
The simple truth is someone in that position isn’t worth much
Look at Wright at Aberdeen The Rangers aren’t offering mega dosh for him and are hoping to pick him up on the cheap also
22-01-2021, 09:20 PM
If you were struggling you would cash in on the asset not give it away?
The simple truth is someone in that position isn’t worth much
Look at Wright at Aberdeen The Rangers aren’t offering mega dosh for him and are hoping to pick him up on the cheap also
Couldn't tell you how much Rangers are offering or how the deal would be structured.
Again no idea what Killies finances are like if they are looking to pick up a 1m loan.
22-01-2021, 09:37 PM
Maybe a 100k offer with a player going on loan might be an offer if we are genuinely interested in getting Stewart
Souter96Mac
22-01-2021, 09:40 PM
Maybe a 100k offer with a player going on loan might be an offer if we are genuinely interested in getting Stewart
You heard something, or just a suggestion? Maybe Gullan going there on loan til the end of the season?
22-01-2021, 09:42 PM
You heard something, or just a suggestion? Maybe Gullan going there on loan til the end of the season?
Suggestion, Yogi will know fine well he would do well to get half the amount quoted he’s suggesting today.
I’d be prepared to let a Mallan, McGregor, or Gullan go on loan as a sweetener. Wouldn’t be surprised to see hibs go back in for him. That’s the last two windows we have been sniffing around him.
22-01-2021, 10:04 PM
I watched that league cup game where they beat Celtic and he was the best player on the park by some distance that night.
I’ve not seen enough of him to say much about him, but if the one time I’ve paid attention to him he’s ragdolled Celtic at Parkhead, I’d say he must have something. Even if it was a poor Celtic side.
22-01-2021, 11:12 PM
I wouldn't be spending anywhere near 100k if we managed to get him on a pre contract. I'd rather just wait half a season and bring him in then than pay anywhere near that amount to bring in a 3rd striker (albeit a young one with potentially room to grow)
Bradley came on as sub done well and hasn't had a sniff since, so that's unlikely to happen. Gullan's best performances have been as a wide player & we all see Kevin's Nisbet's impact this season.
Giving we are competing in three competitions at this stage of the season, having a third striker available could well be of more value than 100k in the bank.
23-01-2021, 07:51 AM
Takes one to call one?
Only a great mind will point out the opposite can be true.
A fool cannot spit a fool.
delbert
23-01-2021, 08:39 AM
Why would anyone pay anything like that, it’s bonkers, we aren’t even 100% sure the season will be completed, Hughes is talking garbage and he knows it, if he goes it will be for very little because the market has all but collapsed, there is no business sense right now in spending much at all.
EI255
23-01-2021, 10:20 AM
Looks like Hearts have angered Walsall over one of their player's they are trying to get. Once again Hearts are after a 6' 4" giant front man.
Definitely truth in this one as Walsall seem really angry about the way Hearts have conducted themselves... (just for a change)
https://www.expressandstar.com/sport/football/walsall-fc/2021/01/22/walsall-in-talks-with-elijah-adebayo-over-new-deal/
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
23-01-2021, 10:33 AM
^^Thats a good read, thanks for sharing!
Not surprised at all having watched the Hearts documentary. Everyone behind the scenes was amateur in the extreme so can’t really expect them to do things the right way.
Budge knows best though.
23-01-2021, 10:50 AM
Looks like Hearts have angered Walsall over one of their player's they are trying to get. Once again Hearts are after a 6' 4" giant front man.
Definitely truth in this one as Walsall seem really angry about the way Hearts have conducted themselves... (just for a change)
https://www.expressandstar.com/sport/football/walsall-fc/2021/01/22/walsall-in-talks-with-elijah-adebayo-over-new-deal/
Everyone knows how amateur and classless Hearts are. Not really any surprise.
23-01-2021, 11:00 AM
Why would anyone pay anything like that, it’s bonkers, we aren’t even 100% sure the season will be completed, Hughes is talking garbage and he knows it, if he goes it will be for very little because the market has all but collapsed, there is no business sense right now in spending much at all.
It’s not bonkers to think they want some decent money for one of their main assets. 500k is a bit much but 100k really wouldn’t be.
Tommy75
23-01-2021, 11:07 AM
Oh dear. You'd think Hearts would want to keep on the right side of clubs down south given they will be playing there in a few years as they are done with Scottish football.
23-01-2021, 11:19 AM
I think the real issue will be whether Stewart wants to gamble on playing down his contract and potentially getting a more lucrative deal down south because any signing club won't have to pay a fee. As for his current club, I reckon it would take a £100k to tip Ross Co from keeping him until summer but the player is entitled to sit tight.
23-01-2021, 11:25 AM
Sky sports Journalist tweets...
Ross County have accepted an offer from Coventry City for left-back Josh Reid.*
The highly-rated 18-year-old is discussing personal terms with the EFL side this weekend.*
I’m told that Reid will return to County on loan until the end of the season, if the deal goes through.
23-01-2021, 11:33 AM
Sky sports Journalist tweets...
Ross County have accepted an offer from Coventry City for left-back Josh Reid.*
The highly-rated 18-year-old is discussing personal terms with the EFL side this weekend.*
I’m told that Reid will return to County on loan until the end of the season, if the deal goes through.
That's sad.
23-01-2021, 02:04 PM
Ross Stewart not playing for County today. Surely got a move lined up for next week.
23-01-2021, 02:04 PM
Ross Stewart not playing for County today. Surely got a move lined up for next week.
Think he’s still injured
23-01-2021, 02:09 PM
Last played for County on the 23rd December, assuming he's still injured?
23-01-2021, 02:09 PM
Think he’s still injured
Yogi said during the week that he’d be back today. Might’ve had a setback right enough.
Gaffer1875
23-01-2021, 02:55 PM
Ryan Hardie on loan at Plymouth from Blackpool’s contract expires this summer, always likes him we fit in well IMO
23-01-2021, 02:57 PM
Think he’s still injured
Hopefully not going to us then, last think we need is another injured player. Pretty sure he was injured when we were in for him last year too.
23-01-2021, 03:20 PM
Mallan not in the squad for us today.....mentioned a couple of days ago about a player swap with him and Stewart.
Lets see what happens there.
23-01-2021, 03:29 PM
Mallan not in the squad for us today.....mentioned a couple of days ago about a player swap with him and Stewart.
Lets see what happens there.
Actually based on anything? I think it's just a case of our worst midfielder not being chosen ahead of better players.
23-01-2021, 03:37 PM
Hopefully not going to us then, last think we need is another injured player. Pretty sure he was injured when we were in for him last year too.He has a minor injury, abolsutely nothing that shoukd put us off signing him, if we want him
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
23-01-2021, 03:38 PM
No Gray or Mallan in the squad
Might be something in both getting a move
23-01-2021, 03:39 PM
The other side of the coin is who would you leave out for them?
23-01-2021, 04:11 PM
He has a minor injury, abolsutely nothing that shoukd put us off signing him, if we want him
Yeah I never get that logic. Guy would be coming in on a 3/4 year deal most likely and we seemingly shouldn’t sign him cause he might be out for a couple of weeks.
23-01-2021, 04:14 PM
The other side of the coin is who would you leave out for them?
Wright or Gullan could easily have dropped out. Magennis is only just back fit and so is Allan. Mallan has been coming on pretty regularly so I think it is interesting he’s not involved at all unless he is injured.
23-01-2021, 04:18 PM
Wright or Gullan could easily have dropped out. Magennis is only just back fit and so is Allan. Mallan has been coming on pretty regularly so I think it is interesting he’s not involved at all unless he is injured.
Most definitely. Don’t see there being any other reason for his omission. Either injured or moving somewhere.
Last Minute
23-01-2021, 05:23 PM
Gray away to Dunfermline, Mallan away to st. Mirren . Both on loan
24-01-2021, 10:12 AM
🚨 EXCLUSIVE 🚨
Hearts agree terms with Walsall striker Elijah Adebayo | @BarryAnderson_
https://t.co/9rjiYW5zDt
mowgli
24-01-2021, 10:31 AM
🚨 EXCLUSIVE 🚨
Hearts agree terms with Walsall striker Elijah Adebayo | @BarryAnderson_
https://t.co/9rjiYW5zDt
Walsall manager looking like a right tit now after his rant, he didn't understand cross border transfer rules, he thought Hearts couldn't speak to his player until the last month of his contract!
percy veer
24-01-2021, 11:28 AM
Hopefully not going to us then, last think we need is another injured player. Pretty sure he was injured when we were in for him last year too.
Really dont want him at us , vastly over rated 2 goals this season , both pens I think right at the start, would rather take a punt on Cummings again
24-01-2021, 11:51 AM
Really dont want him at us , vastly over rated 2 goals this season , both pens I think right at the start, would rather take a punt on Cummings againHow many goals has Jason Cummings scored the past few seasons?
24-01-2021, 12:08 PM
To me Cummings is a no brainer.
He has that bit of spark and magic that can score or create a goal out of nothing. If he was playing yesterday I’d have confidence he would have scored.
percy veer
24-01-2021, 12:15 PM
How many goals has Jason Cummings scored the past few seasons?
Not sure , but would rather take him than Stewart, Cummings just has that something about him, would have lived that semi against hearts .
percy veer
24-01-2021, 12:16 PM
He has that bit of spark and magic that can score or create a goal out of nothing. If he was playing yesterday I’d have confidence he would have scored.
100 percent
24-01-2021, 12:30 PM
He absolutely would have tucked away Murphys chance. Mind you, I think I could’ve as well
Meanwhile back on planet Earth, Jason Cummings has scored 3 goals all season (2 of those in the EFL Trophy). He has flopped at Forest flopped at the Rangers, flopped at Peterborough, flopped at Luton and is currently flopping at Shrewsbury where he rarely gets off the bench. The sort of faith-based, fact-free, magical thinking that imagines that this once-promising footballer has somehow achieved his potential despite all the evidence to the contrary baffles me.
24-01-2021, 02:20 PM
Meanwhile back on planet Earth, Jason Cummings has scored 3 goals all season (2 of those in the EFL Trophy). He has flopped at Forest flopped at the Rangers, flopped at Peterborough, flopped at Luton and is currently flopping at Shrewsbury where he rarely gets off the bench. The sort of faith-based, fact-free, magical thinking that imagines that this once-promising footballer has somehow achieved his potential despite all the evidence to the contrary baffles me.
He didn't flop at Hibs though.
I don't necessarily think he's the answer, but I won't have a go at folk for thinking that a guy who scored a lot of goals for us including goals in big games against Hearts, Rangers and Aberdeen might be available and might have something to offer us.
24-01-2021, 02:31 PM
Wow, what an ignorant post.
Cummings proved whilst at us he could score on a regular basis when playing upfront and did so against the so called better teams like Hearts, Rangers and Aberdeen.
He went to Nottingham Forrest in the championship, a league he was never going to suit yet scored 2 against Newcastle.
He went to Rangers where he predominantly played either on the right or left of a front 3. He scored 6 goals for them including a hat trick.
At Peterborough he started the season for them on fire, scoring 7 goals by October. He stopped scoring when he threw his TV through a window and was dumped from the team and struggled after that. His loan ended in January and he went to Luton where he scored 1 in 5.
He scored 7 for Shrewsbury last season and 3 for them this season. He’s again been playing wide of a front 3 which anyone watching him at Hibs would know it’s not his best position.
Just because he’s not been scoring 20 a season down south doesn’t mean he can’t come to us and score.
Scott Allan, Dylan Mcgeough etc etc never ‘cut it’ down south but are very good in the SPFL, you can’t write someone off as easily as you are and claim anyone who thinks otherwise is ‘magical thinking’.
Far worse players than Cummings score regularly in this league. With the service, which he would get for us, he would score. Especially in the big games.
24-01-2021, 02:35 PM
Cummings could do OK but he's been pretty guff for a few years now
There's 1000s of players out there I'd rather we didn't go back for Jason
24-01-2021, 03:43 PM
We could do with the players we have staying fit more than signing new ones. Murphy is clearly a very good player, but off the back of this season, I wouldn't trust him to be a key man.
I'd like us to try and get Kiltie on a pre contract.
IAmLee
24-01-2021, 03:52 PM
I’d want us to at least try and get Stewart Findlay on a pre then negotiate to get the deal done now. Knows the league and would be in the frame to play right away. I rate Ross Stewart but he’s more of a hold up player than someone who’ll get a load of goals imo. I’m at a loss to what we can do to get the players to be braver on the ball, Doig was the only one willing to take a player on last night!!
BlackSheep
24-01-2021, 03:59 PM
Cummings proved whilst at us he could score on a regular basis when playing upfront and did so against the so called better teams like Hearts, Rangers and Aberdeen.
He went to Nottingham Forrest in the championship, a league he was never going to suit yet scored 2 against Newcastle.
He went to Rangers where he predominantly played either on the right or left of a front 3. He scored 6 goals for them including a hat trick.
At Peterborough he started the season for them on fire, scoring 7 goals by October. He stopped scoring when he threw his TV through a window and was dumped from the team and struggled after that. His loan ended in January and he went to Luton where he scored 1 in 5.
He scored 7 for Shrewsbury last season and 3 for them this season. He’s again been playing wide of a front 3 which anyone watching him at Hibs would know it’s not his best position.
Just because he’s not been scoring 20 a season down south doesn’t mean he can’t come to us and score.
Scott Allan, Dylan Mcgeough etc etc never ‘cut it’ down south but are very good in the SPFL, you can’t write someone off as easily as you are and claim anyone who thinks otherwise is ‘magical thinking’.
Far worse players than Cummings score regularly in this league. With the service, which he would get for us, he would score. Especially in the big games.
I think this is a fair assessment of Cummings career over the past few years... I for one think he would be a good addition, completely different from any current attackers we have and would hopefully bring a bit of a positive attitude back to the dressing room.
24-01-2021, 04:55 PM
Ross would refuse to sign Jason if it turned out to be a genuine offer by his agent for example. Player has too much personality.
24-01-2021, 05:06 PM
Ross would refuse to sign Jason if it turned out to be a genuine offer by his agent for example. Player has too much personality.Too much personality and not enough ability
24-01-2021, 05:12 PM
Too much personality and not enough ability
He’d have finished Murphys chance yesterday. He also had a knack of scoring goals from nowhere. Something we’re badly lacking just now
24-01-2021, 05:14 PM
He’d have finished Murphys chance yesterday. He also had a knack of scoring goals from nowhere. Something we’re badly lacking just now
Like the penalty against United? Or the open goal at Raith?
24-01-2021, 05:15 PM
Like the penalty against United? Or the open goal at Raith?
Or all his other composed finishes for us?
24-01-2021, 05:18 PM
Or all his other composed finishes for us?
So you can’t say for certain he’d have finished it. Murphy has plenty of composed finishes in his career as well, didn’t help on that occasion.
24-01-2021, 05:21 PM
I’d test livi’s resolve for Jon Guthrie, great centre half
24-01-2021, 05:25 PM
Ive mentioned him before, only issue now is there is probably no chance he signs for us this window when they’re in a semi final.
Stuart Findlay however...
24-01-2021, 05:34 PM
Ive mentioned him before, only issue now is there is probably no chance he signs for us this window when they’re in a semi final.
Stuart Findlay however...
I’d try bring both in. We’re badly needing CB’s
Hibees1973
24-01-2021, 05:37 PM
I ordered a coffee at Costa today and picked it up from their shop in Musselburgh.
Joe Newell was in the queue waiting on his. Didn’t want to bother him so let him be.
Penny for his thoughts though, probably along the lines of ‘thank f*uck I missed that debacle last night’. Even Joe could not make up for the short-comings of most of our lot last night.
It is a big concern his contract is up in the summer and nothing agreed yet.
P.s.....he must be popular with the ladeezs.
Dazzjw1875
24-01-2021, 06:10 PM
In all honestly why would anyone leave Livi to sign for us at present? They are on some run and will soon be overtaking us in 4th spot.
24-01-2021, 06:17 PM
In all honestly why would anyone leave Livi to sign for us at present? They are on some run and will soon be overtaking us in 4th spot.
Money.
24-01-2021, 06:41 PM
Seriously??
24-01-2021, 06:53 PM
Seriously??
Money.
And our potential is better.
They’re in a cup final and should be odds on to finish above us in the league (given current form) so medals and European football should be more likely with them in the near future.
If you want football success in the near future you join them.
If you want more cash you’d join us.
If you’re prepared to wait 3-4 years then maybe we’d be a better bet, but players don’t tend to stick around that long.
24-01-2021, 06:55 PM
Money.
They’re in a cup final and should be odds on to finish above us in the league (given current form) so medals and European football should be more likely with them in the near future.
If you’re prepared to wait 3-4 years then maybe we’d be a better bet, but players don’t tend to stick around that long.
They’re odds on to finish above us? They’re 8 behind us as it stands. There form will tail off and go back to ‘normal’ at some point.
24-01-2021, 07:04 PM
They’re odds on to finish above us? They’re 8 behind us as it stands. There form will tail off and go back to ‘normal’ at some point.
They won’t be but they should be.
Even with the odd blip for us positively and for them negatively, I don’t fancy us over them with an 8 point lead to the end of the season.
They look a decent side who had a slow start. We look utter dug ***** who got a few points on the board early.
24-01-2021, 07:09 PM
Even with the odd blip for us positively and for them negatively, I don’t fancy us over them with an 8 point lead to the end of the season.
They look a decent side who had a slow start. We look utter dug ***** who got a few points on the board early.
We have one game against Rangers and one against Aberdeen before the split, our record against the rest has been outstanding. Watching them today they are anything but a decent side, they’re a hard working side who know their limitations. We’re 8 clear but we are dug***** and they’re decent. Makes sense.
24-01-2021, 07:11 PM
Money.
You don’t really think that.
24-01-2021, 07:21 PM
Chances are it’ll only be 5 clear on Wednesday night. They’ve then got a game in hand. (At home to aberdeen I think)
Great that we’re 8 points clear ahead just now, I wouldn’t bet much on us finishing above them though.
Hopefully they take their eye off the ball and start to think about the league cup final a bit too much.
24-01-2021, 07:25 PM
Chances are it’ll only be 5 clear on Wednesday night. They’ve then got a game in hand. (At home to aberdeen I think)
Great that we’re 8 points clear ahead just now, I wouldn’t bet much on us finishing above them though.
Hopefully they take their eye off the ball and start to think about the league cup final a bit too much.
All well and good saying that, but they’ve got Aberdeen twice and Rangers before the split, we’ve got Aberdeen once and Rangers once. If we start breaking games down on paper like that then we will be well clear come the split. That’s not how it’ll happen though, and they won’t be winning every game. After their exertions today I wouldn’t bank on them winning Wednesday just like that.
24-01-2021, 07:25 PM
Livi are doing very well right now there is no doubt.
But guys like Robinson up top for them are in the form of their life, he will stop scoring goals soon enough.
New manager bounce and all that.
24-01-2021, 07:30 PM
Totally agree. He also brings a bit of personality, self confidence, and devilment (tv throwing aside) which this current squad appears to lack.
24-01-2021, 07:34 PM
Livi are doing very well right now there is no doubt.
But guys like Robinson up top for them are in the form of their life, he will stop scoring goals soon enough.
New manager bounce and all that.
Their new manager has had an influence there for some time so I wouldn’t expect that to have so much of an effect.
And I’m not so convinced that they’re great as I am that we are poor.
8 points over that many games isn’t all that much. We need literally every department to buck their ideas up big time if that lead is to be enough.
24-01-2021, 10:18 PM
Glenn Middleton set to join Saints (st johnstone) on loan until the end of the season.
Leitherhibs
25-01-2021, 08:19 AM
Jason Kerr in before the end of the window? Almost 200 league apps at the age of 23, and a hibs fan, too good to be true surely?
Bridge hibs
25-01-2021, 08:22 AM
Jason Kerr in before the end of the window? Almost 200 league apps at the age of 23, and a hibs fan, too good to be true surely?I could be wrong and apologies if so but didnt he just sign an extension to his contract ? Not saying its not doable but I would think he would cost a fair whack
25-01-2021, 08:29 AM
Jason Kerr in before the end of the window? Almost 200 league apps at the age of 23, and a hibs fan, too good to be true surely?
Would be amazed if we signed any Livi or Saints players - especially after the weekend. Why would you change teams now?
We have had an extension of Lewis....would be good if we knew what was going on with Marciano and Newell...plus 2 months after LD announced she was leaving, it would be nice too replace her also.
I'm not sure we will bring another in...he has Doidge and Gullan on bench and McGregor also - would he bring in another striker or CB ?
Would expect some movement on Gray and Mallan though. I would keep Mallan and play in 10 role in front of Jackson and Gogic - he will add goals and assists.
25-01-2021, 08:32 AM
I could be wrong and apologies if so but didnt he just sign an extension to his contract ? Not saying its not doable but I would think he would cost a fair whack
He's contracted until May 22 and is one of their main players.
Noticed he's also only 6ft, not that defenders havebto be giants just noticed alot of Hibs fans crying out for big brutes at the back.
With St Johnstone having him tied down for 18 months i can't see it happening and can't see it reported anywhere?
25-01-2021, 09:29 AM
📝 #RangersFC are today delighted to announce the signing of Scott Wright on a pre-contract agreement from Aberdeen.
25-01-2021, 09:38 AM
📝 #RangersFC are today delighted to announce the signing of Scott Wright on a pre-contract agreement from Aberdeen.
That’s going to go down well in Aberdeen, if he stays until the summer
Bet Wright is glad there are no fans in just now😀
25-01-2021, 09:42 AM
You can read how well this is going here 😁
http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/41472-scott-wright/page/45/#comments
25-01-2021, 09:43 AM
It would be the same kind of atmosphere at Pittodrie if there was fans there
25-01-2021, 10:11 AM
http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/41472-scott-wright/page/45/#comments
Jeezo, one hun infiltrator and the place loses its mind :confused:
Did we not have a resident Hun or did he go when Rangers died?
25-01-2021, 10:20 AM
✍️ | We are pleased to complete the loan signing of @RangersFC and Scotland U-21 winger Glenn Middleton until the end of the season.
Welcome to Perth, @Glenn_M22!
#SJFC https://t.co/zWKidQCH24
25-01-2021, 11:14 AM
Seriously??
Unbeaten in12 games now I think it is On a high after reaching Cup Final They have the momentum So yes they are a real threat as it’s unlikely we will beat The Rangers
Leitherhibs
25-01-2021, 11:22 AM
Jason Kerr's brother Retweeted a video from a fan encouraging him to sign for us - pretty tenuous link - but you never know.
25-01-2021, 11:22 AM
Unbeaten in12 games now I think it is On a high after reaching Cup Final They have the momentum So yes they are a real threat as it’s unlikely we will beat The Rangers
I meant seriously nobody would turn down us to stay at Livingston.
25-01-2021, 11:49 AM
that's cheered my monday up, they are taking it well :greengrin
25-01-2021, 11:51 AM
that's cheered my monday up, they are taking it well :greengrin
It’s a disgusting site with little or no admin *ricks like we have, to control some of the language on that site
CorrieHibs
25-01-2021, 12:03 PM
He scored 6 goals for Rangers. But, how many in the league 1/2? His hatrick was against Falkirk in the cup at Ibrox and that Falkirk side got relegated year.
25-01-2021, 12:16 PM
I never got the desire to want players and managers to come back, particularly ones that haven’t set the world on fire since they left.
Move forward!
I never got the desire to want players and managers to come back, particularly ones that haven’t set the world on fire since they left.
Move forward!
Agree, nostalgia is one thing but not where ex players/coaches returning are concerned.
AugustaHibs
25-01-2021, 02:40 PM
https://twitter.com/steviemalcolm7/status/1353725448161783810?s=21
This guy legit?
25-01-2021, 02:46 PM
This guy legit?
He was saying yesterday Ross is under pressure from the club to get results and that if he was to leave we want a big name with a track record..
25-01-2021, 02:46 PM
This guy legit?
Doesn't look like it
25-01-2021, 02:50 PM
This guy legit?
We will find out at 4pm 🤨 Legit full of 💩
25-01-2021, 02:50 PM
I’ve had a quick look at the guys twitter, seems he’s actually been right about a couple transfers that have went through, whether he’s reading it from elsewhere remains to be seen
Could also be a fud though
25-01-2021, 02:56 PM
I’ve had a quick look at the guys twitter, seems he’s actually been right about a couple transfers that have went through, whether he’s reading it from elsewhere remains to be seen
Could also be a fud though
I had a quick look and the majority seems to be stuff everyone knew about/at a similar time.
Weird for him to put his neck out that much and say it’s happening at 4pm if he has no news though.
Mark Atkinson also said 10 minutes before this nothing new to report for Hibs and he seems to be a bit more in the know...
25-01-2021, 02:57 PM
I had a quick look and the majority seems to be stuff everyone knew about/at a similar time.
Weird for him to put his neck out that much and say it’s happening at 4pm if he has no news though.
Either that he means he’s got hibs news that he’s releasing at 4 as oppose to anything actually happening at 4
Just said we’re going to supposedly launch a bid for Griffiths in the summer. File under shot in the dark.
25-01-2021, 02:57 PM
This guy legit?
Hibs to make summer move for Leigh apparently.
25-01-2021, 02:59 PM
Griffiths is coming back supposedly.....:rolleyes: Great inside knowledge from him.
25-01-2021, 02:59 PM
Griffiths is coming back supposedly.....:rolleyes: Great inside knowledge from him.
In the summer as well. No need for his 4pm announcement.
25-01-2021, 03:00 PM
Hahahahahahahahha, no we're not.
25-01-2021, 03:00 PM
What’s his injury record like? We like unfit players.
25-01-2021, 03:02 PM
Same guy saying we asked to loan this window but Celtic rejected our approach.
25-01-2021, 03:03 PM
:hyper
25-01-2021, 03:04 PM
What’s his injury record like? We like unfit players.
Renowned for his approach to fitness.
25-01-2021, 03:04 PM
Does anyone know any actual rumours? Pm board?
Ross Stewart?
Stuart Findlay?
Declan Gallagher?
Stevie Mallan?
David Gray?
25-01-2021, 03:05 PM
Same guy saying we asked to loan this window but Celtic rejected our approach.
Also saying looks like we’ve sealed a deal for him in the summer. Load of pish. There’s no chance Celtic would agree to anything with a new manager probably going to be brought in at some point
25-01-2021, 03:11 PM
Hes not a journo he's a slaver. Obviously this guy isn't wired right.
He was saying yesterday Ross is under pressure from the club to get results and that if he was to leave we want a big name with a track record..
Always remember Ross was not Ron's man signed by Leeann and Mathie, if big Ron is not happy he'll get shot of Ross and get his own man in and he may just want to tempt a bigger name here.
25-01-2021, 03:17 PM
Always remember Ross was not Ron's man signed by Leeann and Mathie, if big Ron is not happy he'll get shot of Ross and get his own man in and he may just want to tempt a bigger name here.
I think the Ron point you make is a good one ...he seems to be clearing out most other senior people ..Not sure about the “bigger name” point though - not seen any sign that he is up for attracting bigger names here ...
EI255
25-01-2021, 03:19 PM
Hearts signed a decent player today. Hope Ron and Ross are paying attention. We'll quickly become the fall guys next season. Just for a change.
Mr. Wonderful
25-01-2021, 03:20 PM
Hes not a journo he's a slaver. Obviously this guy isn't wired right.
It's a fake page . Guy they're claiming to be is a real journo though
25-01-2021, 03:22 PM
Hearts signed a decent player today. Hope Ron and Ross are paying attention. We'll quickly become the fall guys next season. Just for a change.
We literally just signed two players the other week.
25-01-2021, 03:25 PM
Yup, and both have played at a higher level than their latest in a long line of gigantic strikers.
25-01-2021, 03:26 PM
Did you miss us getting Jackson Irvine and chris cadden or?
25-01-2021, 03:29 PM
This guy legit?
Nope, he was previously using a profile picture of a producer at Sky Sports news and changed it when people started calling him out on it. See Below
That is a spoof account, first started tweeting an hour ago and using someone called Ed Higgs picture as their profile picture.
https://schoolofjournalism.co.uk/blog/how-to-become-a-sports-journalist/attachment/ed-higgs-become-a-sports-journalist/
The real Sky employees twitter account is here - https://twitter.com/edneilhiggs?s=21
25-01-2021, 03:32 PM
You’ve clearly seen him play quite a few times then?
Forgot we signed Jackson Irvine, Chris Cadden and Matt Macey already and aren’t finished....
25-01-2021, 03:32 PM
You are at it 100%.
25-01-2021, 03:33 PM
Is that so they stop losing to Alloa, Raith Rovers and the like?
25-01-2021, 03:33 PM
Problem with that is that Ross would be entitled to significant compensation.
I’ve had many a tantrum about Ross, some I stand by, some was probably heat of the moment stuff that could only be described as over the top.
One thing I would say though is that he’s not going anywhere soon (unless he quits for another job).
We are in the middle of a pandemic, have no income, have no chief executive to head up the search for his replacement and the reality is he’s doing a decent enough job in the league to ensure he’s not in any danger of losing his job. A boring and safe pair of hands just now probably isn’t the worst thing in the world given everything else that’s happening.
I’m not convinced he’ll ever be my cup of tea, I don’t think I’ll ever find his interviews particularly engaging or interesting and I don’t think his Hibs team will ever become entertaining, I don’t think it’s a coincidence he loses big games at the rate he does, I think it’s clear he’s not a motivator. Now isn’t the time for sacking him though, there’s too much uncertainty elsewhere and it would be too expensive at a time we’ve not got much money.
I think the end game for Ross will be to join the coaching staff at a big club or we will drift along until his contract is up.
bringbackbenny
25-01-2021, 03:34 PM
Interesting, What's the evidence for him being decent? is there anything you can educate us on why he's better than Irvine and Cadden (who we got in earlier that Hearts latest)
bringbackbenny
25-01-2021, 03:35 PM
You are at it 100%.
Unfortunately he is one of many 🙄
25-01-2021, 03:45 PM
I'm the first to complain about lack of ambition on here and even I can see we've had a good transfer window.
There's some things wrong at Hibs just now but our transfer activity this season isn't one of them.
25-01-2021, 03:46 PM
I'm the first to complain about lack of ambition on here and even I can see we've had a good transfer window.
There's some things wrong at Hibs just now but our transfer activity this season isn't one of them.
Absolutely spot on. I'm actuly surprised given the current global pandemic we've been as active as we have. Board can't be faulted for that.
25-01-2021, 04:19 PM
Aye Hearts signings are really something we should be copying.
25-01-2021, 04:27 PM
Yes, we have mostly been signing decent players, but maybe not filling the positions where we are currently weakest?
25-01-2021, 04:42 PM
Sent from my LG-H870 using TapatalkThis the guy they turned too after missing there 'number 1 target?'
25-01-2021, 04:55 PM
Aye signed two players who had to be up to speed for the biggest game this season but were signed a week before despite being available for a month
25-01-2021, 05:03 PM
Aye signed two players who had to be up to speed for the biggest game this season but were signed a week before despite being available for a month
Right ok..