View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2020-21

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

08-01-2021, 10:47 AM
He wasnt good enough to make it down south and it was obvious to all but I'd have him back. Certainly a better footballer than Doidge is & a more natural finisher too.

The respective careers of Doidge and Cummings in recent years doesn’t really back that up.

Cummings has scored 13 league goals in total since he left us.

08-01-2021, 10:49 AM
We definitely do. If Murphy doesn’t play we, and he seems to rarely play, we have to stick someone out there who isn’t a winger, its really noticeable in our play.

While this is true I assume we are banking on Murphy putting in a solid run in the side sooner rather than later. I’d argue any budget we’ve got would be better used on a centre half and another striker before we looked at left wing.

08-01-2021, 10:49 AM
That’s some signing for them. Unfortunately because of the money they make each month they will be able to afford such players.

“Such players”? Just the same level of player that we can afford. Along with half the teams in the top division.

GMS is a good player at our level. Nothing more. Hearts have signed him after bringing in two other wingers in the summer who have failed. Their recruitment model continues to be a joke.

08-01-2021, 10:51 AM
Matt Macey signs

Will give him a chance but Plymouth fans said he really wasn’t great and a massive reason they got relegated.

Reminds me of when Hearts signed Pereira from Man Utd - folk wondering how he managed to end up at Man U.

08-01-2021, 10:53 AM
I would 100% take Cummings back but it would not be without risk.

I doubt he has lost his goalscoring instinct but it is entirely possible he has lost his desire and/or marbles.

I am pretty heavily swayed by his record last time and feel that we could do with his (or a few others) gallusness

The odds are against it being a success but at the right price, I would view it a punt worth taking.

One way or another we definitely need other options in that area.

08-01-2021, 10:54 AM
“Such players”? Just the same level of player that we can afford. Along with half the teams in the top division.

GMS is a good player at our level. Nothing more. Hearts have signed him after bringing in two other wingers in the summer who have failed. Their recruitment model continues to be a joke.

While they have quite a scatter gun approach to new players..

Our signings haven’t exactly made a hide difference. McGinn and Nisbet have done well. Gogic fine - the rest need to do more and show more consistency.

We need to sign players who give back consistency / make a difference and not regularly injured.

MikeyS
08-01-2021, 10:54 AM
The respective careers of Doidge and Cummings in recent years doesn’t really back that up.

Cummings has scored 13 league goals in total since he left us.

That could easily be put down to bad career choices, JC should never have left us and putting his financial gain aside I'm pretty sure part of him would agree with that. He would have continued to score goals with us, I'm sure.

08-01-2021, 10:56 AM
Will give him a chance but Plymouth fans said he really wasn’t great and a massive reason they got relegated.

Reminds me of when Hearts signed Pereira from Man Utd - folk wondering how he managed to end up at Man U.

On the contrary I seen a thread from a Plymouth fans forum and they were praising him, saying their defence was more at fault than the keeper for goals lost.

badabing67
08-01-2021, 11:03 AM
GMS loves to score against Hibs...not ideal he’s signing for Hearts.

Would have taken him at Hibs especially since we can’t seem to find a left winger who plays regularly.

Compare to Boyle on the right who plays every week - left wing seems to have been an issue for a while.

Lets hope they have another target in mind

SloopJB
08-01-2021, 11:07 AM
Will be very dissapointing if Hibs didn't try and sign GMS?

I think it might be more disappointing if we did try to sign him and he opted for Hearts.
In my opinion anyway.

08-01-2021, 11:09 AM
Even though he's more experienced now I just get the feeling Cummings wouldn't be as good. Sometimes with players once they make it and earn a lot of money they are never the same.

Guys like Goodwillie and Stevie May (appreciate he also had injuries) are prime examples.

Cummings was great as the young up and coming kid who wanted to prove everything to the world. I'm not sure the current version of him would have that hunger.

08-01-2021, 11:13 AM
Kai Kennedy has gone on loan to Raith Rovers.
I wonder why Rangers brought him back from ICT to then loan him to Rovers.

08-01-2021, 11:13 AM
Hearts are building a strong squad for the Premiership albeit the players are coming towards the end of their careers

08-01-2021, 11:15 AM

Maybe the player wanted the move.

08-01-2021, 11:18 AM
Hearts are building a strong squad for the Premiership albeit the players are coming towards the end of their careers

They were doing that when they finished bottom of the league tae though

08-01-2021, 11:20 AM
Maybe the player wanted the move.

Possibly.
By all accounts he was playing very well.

08-01-2021, 11:31 AM

Reminds you of that without actually having ever seen him play, just based on what a few fans of a team that got relegated said?

Cat Stanton
On the contrary I seen a thread from a Plymouth fans forum and they were praising him, saying their defence was more at fault than the keeper for goals lost.

Any chance of sharing? We need some positivity about this, given people are already saying he's mince without having ever seen him...

Robbo6-2
Possibly.
By all accounts he was playing very well.
He was homesick

Highwayman
08-01-2021, 11:34 AM
Read a report this morning that Marcianos groin injury will keep him out for further 2 to 3 weeks.Odd that what started off as a tight hamstring requiring him to come off against Rangers has now gone on to something else.Is there any truth in the rumour that Celtic are assembling a bid for him due to their lack of a decent keeper.If this comes to fact Hibs should ask for a full cash payment and not take any off their gash keepers as part of the deal.

08-01-2021, 11:37 AM
Any chance of sharing? We need some positivity about this, given people are already saying he's mince without having ever seen him...

Aye of course...I canny get the below as a hyperlink so it’s a copy and paste job

https://pasoti.co.uk/talk/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=105048

FifeHibs
08-01-2021, 11:38 AM
He was homesick

The courier was saying about Covid restricted travel etc

08-01-2021, 11:40 AM

''Will give him a chance'' I'd hope so.

Magpie
08-01-2021, 11:42 AM
Read a report this morning that Marcianos groin injury will keep him out for further 2 to 3 weeks.Odd that what started off as a tight hamstring requiring him to come off against Rangers has now gone on to something else.Is there any truth in the rumour that Celtic are assembling a bid for him due to their lack of a decent keeper.If this comes to fact Hibs should ask for a full cash payment and not take any off their gash keepers as part of the deal.

I don’t think they will be signing another keeper this window. Spent a fortune on Barkas in the summer. If they were to go for Rocky I can’t see it being anything more than a pre contract.

08-01-2021, 11:46 AM
Why would we sign GMS when we have Murphy who is, at worst, as good a player?

08-01-2021, 11:52 AM
The courier was saying about Covid restricted travel etc

Well thats pish....he;s a pro footballer. They can go where they want!

The dalmeny

maybe players just going through the motions.

We wouldn't, if we sign a left winger /midfield player it should be a loan or a younger guynfot for competition, not somebody of the same age.

08-01-2021, 11:53 AM

Murphy barely plays due to on-going injury issues?

Have to say, Hibs shouldn’t be signing players coming back from serious injury. Neither Magennis or Murphy have been particularly useful thus far this season. Murphy is clearly talented, but sadly is missing more than he plays.

08-01-2021, 11:55 AM
Well thats pish....he;s a pro footballer. They can go where they want!Not in his own time.

Magpie
08-01-2021, 11:58 AM

Our squad is small and we have struggled with injuries this season. A few more players is what we need imo.

The Green Sea
GMS loves to score against Hibs...not ideal he’s signing for Hearts.

Would have taken him at Hibs especially since we can’t seem to find a left winger who plays regularly.

Compare to Boyle on the right who plays every week - left wing seems to have been an issue for a while.

The next time we play Herats the easiest bet in the world will be GMS scoring against us.

Great, let us know how much you win.

08-01-2021, 12:01 PM

GMS is only a year younger than Murphy and the contracts of both will expire a couple of months before their 33rd birthdays.
Would have made little financial sense to bring in GMS in the current climate. Just need to hope Murphy can get himself onto a decent run of games injury free.
Was obviously available last game with 11 further days tune up before the Celtic game.

08-01-2021, 12:05 PM

Still a few months before that game happens if at all assuming Hearts win their league of course. Why worry about the day that may never come?

08-01-2021, 12:07 PM

Maybe wasn't getting enough game time at Inverness also may not have settled there.

08-01-2021, 12:08 PM
Murphy barely plays due to on-going injury issues?

Have to say, Hibs shouldn’t be signing players coming back from serious injury. Neither Magennis or Murphy have been particularly useful thus far this season. Murphy is clearly talented, but sadly is missing more than he plays.
His injury problem is explained fully on the interview on the official site.

The Green Sea
08-01-2021, 12:12 PM
Great, let us know how much you win.

Will do. Maybe send some your way to cheer you up.

08-01-2021, 12:15 PM

I agree. Been very unlucky with injuries so far. Given a run of games he'll do very well. Was running riot at Burton only last season.

08-01-2021, 12:16 PM
Scott Burns also saying Aberdeen weren't in a position to offer GMS a contract this window. Aberdeen need to move players on before they can sign anyone.

08-01-2021, 12:18 PM

Who have the bottlers signed now?

08-01-2021, 12:19 PM

John Sutton.

Magpie
Scott Burns also saying Aberdeen weren't in a position to offer GMS a contract this window. Aberdeen need to move players on before they can sign anyone.

No doubt they will now beat us to a signing before the window closes, with no players departing.

Will do. Maybe send some your way to cheer you up.

I’m not sure he’s the one needing cheered up

08-01-2021, 12:22 PM
No doubt they will now beat us to a signing before the window closes, with no players departing.

Think they are trying desperately to offload the left back they signed.
Also talk of Fedguson and/or Cosgrove being sold.

08-01-2021, 12:30 PM
Let’s not kid ourselves, GMS is a very good signing for them.

Anyway, welcome to the club Matt Macey.

Cat Stanton
08-01-2021, 12:34 PM
Aye of course...I canny get the below as a hyperlink so it’s a copy and paste job

https://pasoti.co.uk/talk/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=105048

That's helpful - lot of positive noises there. Thanks a lot.

Dazzjw1875
08-01-2021, 12:42 PM
No more news regarding Cadden? All went very quiet. Or perhaps we were never in for him or as close as reported on Sunday.

08-01-2021, 12:46 PM
His injury problem is explained fully on the interview on the official site.

The reality is that he has hasn't really been able to play regularly since signed. Not sure many games he's actually started from the 12 appearances he's made?

The interview doesn't really explain everything fully for me.

"I had a few niggles on the back of the one real injury that I had but that’s normal. The tag can be harder to shake off than the injuries. When you get a serious injury there’s a knock-on impact to your whole body. I have far more muscle now than I ever did prior to the knee injury, which makes you more susceptible to muscle injuries. So that’s where the prehab and recovery stuff becomes more important but I certainly don’t consider myself to be ‘injury-hit’.

The main point is that money is tight and only going to get tighter. Signing guys recovering from a long term serious injury is a risky strategy. Thus far it's not been a success. Neither Magennis or Murphy haven't played enough. Two likely high earners and the team is desperately short at the moment.

08-01-2021, 12:55 PM
🆕 Matt Macey is a Hibee! 👊

📝 We're pleased to confirm the signing of the 6ft 7in, 26-year-old goalkeeper from Arsenal, subject to international clearance.

💪 Matt will compete with Ofir Marciano and Kevin Dabrowski for a starting spot.
From the fishy site 👍

08-01-2021, 01:01 PM
I do like the fact that our incoming signings are usually found guilty before they have even been charged :confused:

On the basis that even our established players completely divide the support as to their relative merits, I really wouldn't be paying too much attention to what another support thought about a player.

Stats show us that for every person who writes to a supplier to say well done, at least 10 write to complain.

It's reasonable to extrapolate from that that folk are more likely to post something somewhere saying a player is terrible than to go on and say he is great.

This site would prove that theory.

The sad fact of this is that once someone has made their mind up about a player, we find it difficult to change our minds even in the face of incontrovertible evidence to the contrary

Maybe it would be a better idea to give the guy a chance and come to our own conclusions without being influenced by others likely unbalanced opinions?
What a sensible post, I wonder if this could ever catch on.

08-01-2021, 01:07 PM
How long has Macey been signed for?

08-01-2021, 01:09 PM
GMS will be right at home with all the other divers they have already.

Partyraiser
08-01-2021, 01:12 PM
How long has Macey been signed for?

Until the end of the season

thegaffer12
08-01-2021, 01:14 PM
Liverpool fans said Bodgan was a shocking goalie and he turned out to be the hero in quite a few games, including our Greek victory. He was probably as far down the Liverpool goalie pecking order as Lacey was down Arsenal's.

08-01-2021, 01:14 PM
No more news regarding Cadden? All went very quiet. Or perhaps we were never in for him or as close as reported on Sunday.

Certainly seems strange.

08-01-2021, 01:16 PM
Certainly seems strange.

Aye, doesn't bode well.

Unless coming from USA there's a bit of extra red tape.

08-01-2021, 01:17 PM
Let’s not kid ourselves, GMS is a very good signing for them.

Anyway, welcome to the club Matt Macey.

I would have been excited had we signed him, but in ten years he's averaged just over 18 league starts a season. No stranger to an injury himself.

08-01-2021, 01:24 PM
GMS will be right at home with all the other divers they have already.

Exactly what I was thinking. More soft pens guaranteed

badabing67
08-01-2021, 01:31 PM

There could be a problem with the medical or there is a problem with the terms or he has other offers to consider. I'm sure we will find out in time

08-01-2021, 01:33 PM

Things a bit slower from the Columbus side than both Hibs and Cadden expected but should be done soon

08-01-2021, 01:33 PM
There could be a problem with the medical or there is a problem with the terms or he has other offers to consider. I'm sure we will find out in time

Has it ever been more than a press rumour?

08-01-2021, 01:35 PM
I'm a wee bit disappointed at GMS going to the Yams - just because I always thought he was an exciting talent and I'd like to see him in a Hibs jersey. Of course we do have Murphy - a similar player of a similar age and quality - so the logic of not moving for him is pretty obvious.

Great we have the keeper situation resolved though - welcome Matt Macey :flag::flag::flag:

08-01-2021, 01:53 PM
GMS would have been an ideal signing for us. Always played well at ER.

Probably the reason why they bought him just play him against us next season. Would like to know where Hearts are getting money to buy players esp if Aberdeen cant afford him unless they didnt want to pay what the player wanted.

Allez Hibs
08-01-2021, 01:56 PM
Probably the reason why they bought him just play him against us next season. Would like to know where Hearts are getting money to buy players esp if Aberdeen cant afford him unless they didnt want to pay what the player wanted.

I think Championship clubs have been given a £500k grant whilst Premiership clubs have been given a £150k loan.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/ayrshire/ayr-united-receive-500000-scottish-23190886.amp

08-01-2021, 01:59 PM

The longer they contribute more than us to the extent of what they do the stronger they will get now Leveins away.

Our summer recruitment was hardly a shining success either. Drew Wright or GMS? Tough yin.

08-01-2021, 02:06 PM
I think Championship clubs have been given a £500k grant whilst Premiership clubs have been given a £150k loan.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/ayrshire/ayr-united-receive-500000-scottish-23190886.amp

I thought it was given on condition that it wasn't spent on transfers.

ElginHibbie
08-01-2021, 02:09 PM
I thought it was given on condition that it wasn't spent on transfers.

Spend it on something else they were going to pay for anyway and that frees up money for transfers

Stokesy's on fire
08-01-2021, 02:10 PM

Aberdeen broke the bank to beat Hibs to Ross MccRorrie and they have still to pay the Huns for him as well. The bills are mounting up for them. Hopefully the toasters going up for sale soon

08-01-2021, 02:20 PM

In truth I reckon McInnes isn't bothered enough about GMS to push the boat out.
As for Hearts and the cash to finance the move. It is no doubt from the Foundation of Hearts money from their fans.
Feel free to contribute to the Hibs equivalent HSL and their current initiative to raise an extra £100k for the club before our LC semi final :aok:

08-01-2021, 02:27 PM
Aberdeen look to be in some state.

Not sure if the below is 100% correct bit they have a squad of 24 listed on Transfermarket

The following are our on contract in the summer

Hoban
Devlin
Taylor
Leigh
Logan
McGinn
Main
Wright
Mclennan
Anderson
Virtanen

That leaves them with a couple of GKs
Hernandez who they are trying to shift
Considine who is now 33
Hayes who is now 33
McGeouch who doesn't get much game time
Ojo

And obviously the likes of Ferguson, McCrorie and Cosgrove.

Allez Hibs
08-01-2021, 02:27 PM
As for Hearts and the cash to finance the move. It is no doubt from the Foundation of Hearts money from their fans.
Feel free to contribute to the Hibs equivalent HSL and their current initiative to raise an extra £100k for the club before our LC semi final :aok:

Good initiative from Hibs 👏

I think Championship clubs haveen given a £500k grant from the government.

Allez Hibs
08-01-2021, 02:29 PM

Not sure if the below is 100% correct bit they have a squad of 24 listed on Transfermarket

Hoban
Devlin
Taylor
Leigh
Logan
McGinn
Main
Wright
Mclennan
Anderson
Virtanen

Considine who is now 33
Hayes who is now 33
Ojo

As a big a rebuilding job we are facing.

08-01-2021, 02:29 PM
That's helpful - lot of positive noises there. Thanks a lot.

Have a read of this also..

https://www.pasoti.co.uk/talk/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=111592&sid=3b8dd665f95c33214df7d4e256d63815

badabing67
08-01-2021, 02:34 PM
Until the end of the season

Hoban
Devlin
Taylor
Leigh
Logan
McGinn
Main
Wright
Mclennan
Anderson
Virtanen

Considine who is now 33
Hayes who is now 33
Ojo

I think McCrorie has gone there to replace Ferguson. Rangers will use McCrorie in a deal for Ferguson in the summer that has got to be expected

08-01-2021, 02:37 PM
I think McCrorie has gone there to replace Ferguson. Rangers will use McCrorie in a deal for Ferguson in the summer that has got to be expected

Aberdeen have already done the McCrorie deal
Post his loan period ....

08-01-2021, 02:44 PM
There’s no way hibs would have been in for gms. We have Murphy who plays in that position and we will be putting all our efforts into getting him fit and keeping him that way. What would it say to Murphy if we were signing a replacement already, not to mention the waste of money if Murphy does get himself fit. We will have a limited amount to spend in this window and none of it will be going on a left midfielder.

08-01-2021, 02:44 PM

Really? We have 4(?) players now out of contract at the end of the season including our new signing today. We have a small squad but easier to add to the squad than replace a whole squad nearly.

08-01-2021, 03:05 PM
Liverpool fans said Bodgan was a shocking goalie and he turned out to be the hero in quite a few games, including our Greek victory. He was probably as far down the Liverpool goalie pecking order as Lacey was down Arsenal's.

Bogdan was a very good keeper when Liverpool signed him, he had a couple of bad games and his confidence was shot, he never recovered, perhaps playing for such a big club didn't help.

08-01-2021, 03:05 PM
Maouche becomes a Staggie
08/01/2021
Ross County FC can today announce the signing of Mohamed Maouche. 27-year-old midfielder Maouche, most recently of Oldham Athletic, joins the Staggies on a contract to the end of the season subject to international clearance.

Stanton Spence
08-01-2021, 03:06 PM
As a big a rebuilding job we are facing.I'm sure I heard Mathie or someone saying that we have nearly all our squad tied down for the next couple of years?

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

08-01-2021, 03:13 PM
I'm sure I heard Mathie or someone saying that we have nearly all our squad tied down for the next couple of years?

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Think we have Newell, S McGinn, Stevenson, Macey and Marciano out of contract.

Add to that ageing players like McGregor and Gray.

We have been in worse positions.

08-01-2021, 03:18 PM

Eh? Elaborate please.

08-01-2021, 03:26 PM

Asking for a friend - do you actually know anything about Hibs??

Your recent posts would indicate you don’t?

08-01-2021, 04:03 PM

That needed said, guy's at the wind-up. TBF not many are daft enough to engage with it.

08-01-2021, 04:07 PM
That needed said, guy's at the wind-up. TBF not many are daft enough to engage with it.

I thought so.

PS.. will take the daft bit as a compliment! [emoji2957]

08-01-2021, 04:08 PM
I thought so.

PS.. will take the daft bit as a compliment! [emoji2957]

You might be daft, but yer no stupid.

The Green Sea
08-01-2021, 04:18 PM
I’m not sure he’s the one needing cheered up

Perfectly happy we're not going for GMS. The most annoying thing about him, seemed to be his ability to play well against us.

08-01-2021, 04:20 PM
Bogdan was a very good keeper when Liverpool signed him, he had a couple of bad games and his confidence was shot, he never recovered, perhaps playing for such a big club didn't help.

Bogdan was never awful he just made a few mistakes which were highlighted at that level. He was always a solid keeper and had many decent games before.

Karius on the other hand was always prone to a mistake and many would say Bogdan was a better keeper.

A decent keeper makes the back line play better - I hope whoever plays gives them confidence. Do we know if Kev is cup tied for semi final ?

08-01-2021, 04:23 PM
A much better option than Drey Wright.

We don't seem to sign any players with something about them who will stand up for themselves.

I think that needs addressed.

You think GMS would stand up for himself? On the pitch he finds it hard enough to just stand at times

08-01-2021, 04:34 PM
You think GMS would stand up for himself? On the pitch he finds it hard enough to just stand at times

He did that night he ended up in the Clyde 🤣

HairyMM
08-01-2021, 04:39 PM

I think the point was that whilst the majority are under contract recent results and performances suggest they are not of the required standard hence the need to rebuild?

08-01-2021, 04:44 PM
I think the point was that whilst the majority are under contract recent results and performances suggest they are not of the required standard hence the need to rebuild?

That’s not my take on it at all!

Inconsequential
08-01-2021, 04:49 PM
I think the point was that whilst the majority are under contract recent results and performances suggest they are not of the required standard hence the need to rebuild? In my years as a Hibs supporter it appears that Hibs are in a permanent state of rebuilding. Good sides are dismantled when the top men are transferred and replaced with inferior players. Humpty Dumpty is Project Manager.

08-01-2021, 04:49 PM
He did that night he ended up in the Clyde [emoji1787]

Oft! Laugh out loud moment there! [emoji23]

08-01-2021, 04:51 PM

Tin hat on here JC but I thought he was a better keeper than Rocky during his spell with us! I liked Bogdan and wished we had signed him up!

08-01-2021, 04:54 PM
Tin hat on here JC but I thought he was a better keeper than Rocky during his spell with us! I liked Bogdan and wished we had signed him up!

That night in Tripoli the pick of the bunch. He was immense

08-01-2021, 04:55 PM
He did that night he ended up in the Clyde 🤣

Heard him talking about that event on Si Ferri’s show. Somehow had the feeling that he wasn’t giving us the full picture as to how he ended up in the water.

08-01-2021, 04:57 PM

I’ll be wearing a similar tin hat then Aldo. I’m a big Rocky fan but all round Bogdan just shaded it for me.

08-01-2021, 04:58 PM
That night in Tripoli the pick of the bunch. He was immense

Barring his mistake in the first keg I thought he was. Don’t get me wrong I think Rocky is a very good keeper. I just think Bogdan was better

08-01-2021, 05:07 PM
Barring his mistake in the first keg I thought he was. Don’t get me wrong I think Rocky is a very good keeper. I just think Bogdan was better

No tin hat required for me, Bogdan ahead of Rocky for me. RM is a very good keeper, but his major weaknesses are his concentration and kicking under no pressure which continues to infuriate me. We've actually had a good run of decent keepers since the hideous Smith, Maka, and Brown days :rolleyes:

I always find I'm wanting Rocky to be more 'switched on' and fully in the game - for me he has lapses which cost us or puts us under pressure needlessly. On his game however he is a top keeper.

08-01-2021, 05:08 PM

I too like Bogdan and that was the point of my post he was outstanding at Bolton and got his big move to Liverpool, a couple of bad games and his confidence was shot, I thought he was more reliable than Rocky at the time and kept him out the team.

Greenworld
08-01-2021, 05:08 PM

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/ayrshire/ayr-united-receive-500000-scottish-23190886.ampPremiership can get a loan up to 1.6 million which is really no help at all .
150k is the grant for 1st division

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

08-01-2021, 05:10 PM
In my years as a Hibs supporter it appears that Hibs are in a permanent state of rebuilding. Good sides are dismantled when the top men are transferred and replaced with inferior replacements. Humpty Dumpty is Project Manager.

100% this.

08-01-2021, 05:34 PM
I too like Bogdan and that was the point of my post he was outstanding at Bolton and got his big move to Liverpool, a couple of bad games and his confidence was shot, I thought he was more reliable than Rocky at the time and kept him out the team.

No worries JC. Hopefully the new lad will settle in quickly and become a very good addition!

Allez Hibs
08-01-2021, 05:41 PM

What a friendly post? Season ticket holder across 4 decades.

We have a number of out of contract players along with players on short term contracts and then there is the whole 2016 back line especially such as Lewy that are going to need replaced soon. Will Marciano and Newell sign new contracts? Is Drey Wright good enough? We only have two out and out strikers.

What midfielder has a bit of bite about them?

08-01-2021, 05:45 PM

We have a number of out of contract players along with players on short term contracts and then there is the whole 2016 back line especially such as Lewy that are going to need replaced soon. Will Marciano and Newell sign new contracts? Is Drey Wright good enough? We only have two out and strikers.

What midfielder has a bit if bite about them?

Still nothing like the Aberdeen situation that i posted originally though.

08-01-2021, 05:47 PM
[QUOTE

What midfielder has a bit if bite about them?[/QUOTE]

Gogic.

08-01-2021, 05:48 PM

We have a number of out of contract players along with players on short term contracts and then there is the whole 2016 back line especially such as Lewy that are going to need replaced soon. Will Marciano and Newell sign new contracts? Is Dey Wright good enough? We only have two out and strikers.

What midfielder has a bit if bite about them?

I asked a question

We have 4 out of contract - 3 of which should be offered extensions

Lewis
Rocky
Joe

Steven McGinn will be released and was a stop gap!

Of which I think 2 will sign and that’s Lewis and Joe!

Rocky will be off.

As for Drey Wright.... it’s not worked out. These things happen. It happens to loads of teams. Look at Hearts..... pretty much 2 teams worth of utter dross and most are still there!

Anyway get out injured players back and we will get back in track. That along with such good quality over quantity

Allez Hibs
08-01-2021, 05:50 PM
I asked a question

We have 4 out of contract - 3 of which should be offered extensions

Lewis
Rocky
Joe

Steven McGinn will be released and was a stop gap!

Of which I think 2 will sign and that’s Lewis and Joe!

Rocky will be off.

As for Drey Wright.... it’s not worked out. These things happen. It happens to loads of teams. Look at Hearts..... pretty much 2 teams worth of utter dross and most are still there!

Anyway get out injured players back and we will get back in track. That along with such good quality over quantity

👍 Let's hope some more quality is added this month and we have a final to look forward to.

08-01-2021, 06:13 PM

We have a number of out of contract players along with players on short term contracts and then there is the whole 2016 back line especially such as Lewy that are going to need replaced soon. Will Marciano and Newell sign new contracts? Is Drey Wright good enough? We only have two out and out strikers.

What midfielder has a bit of bite about them?

Have looked back on your posting content?

Back on to transfers. Maybe Hibs should ca-canny. Football is probably coming to a halt for a while.

08-01-2021, 06:15 PM
[QUOTE=Aldo;6411740]Tin hat on here JC but I thought he was a better keeper than Rocky during his spell with us! I liked Bogdan and wished we had signed him up!

I'll join you in the trench - I thought the same.

08-01-2021, 06:19 PM

We all make mistakes with the first keg in us mate 😁
Also liked Bogdan.

08-01-2021, 06:21 PM
We all make mistakes with the first keg in us mate [emoji16]
Also liked Bogdan.

[emoji23][emoji23] [emoji481]

ThatDayInMay
08-01-2021, 06:56 PM
The MLS is extremely complex and significantly different than Europe regarding contracts and transfers. I suspect that this is what is holding up the Cadden deal.

08-01-2021, 07:00 PM

I’d reckon its more Anderson cash. They will be in serious bother should that cash stream end for whatever reason.

08-01-2021, 07:12 PM
🤘🐺🤘

Eamonn Brophy has joined St Mirren on loan until the end of the season ahead of his permanent move in the summer.

08-01-2021, 07:17 PM

He is super light weight and downs tools when his side go behind. Say what they like about our midfield not being able to tackle a fish supper no one can say they stop trying when they go behind. So I am glad he was not one of our targets. He will do well at Hearts this season but next will be a different story.

08-01-2021, 07:28 PM
I still think we'll try and get Jordan Jones on loan.

08-01-2021, 07:35 PM
He is super light weight and downs tools when his side go behind. Say what they like about our midfield not being able to tackle a fish supper no one can say they stop trying when they go behind. So I am glad he was not one of our targets. He will do well at Hearts this season but next will be a different story.

He is very much what we don't need.

08-01-2021, 07:38 PM

I hope so, that would be a better signing than GMS imo

08-01-2021, 07:43 PM

Also agree - Bogdan was very good and reliable.

Thing is Rockys form dropped but has definitely picked up this season.

The question is would Bogdan have kept that consistency.

I can see Rocky going to Celtic to fight for number 1 next season.

08-01-2021, 07:44 PM
🤘🐺🤘

Eamonn Brophy has joined St Mirren on loan until the end of the season ahead of his permanent move in the summer.

Great signing for saints.

08-01-2021, 07:45 PM
I hope so, that would be a better signing than GMS imo

I also think we've a better trading relationship with The Rangers at present given we got Docherty, Murphy and nearly landed McRorie.....and loaned Kamberi :sick:

Would certainly give our left side balance, width, and allow Murphy to adopt an 'Allan' role.

08-01-2021, 07:47 PM
I also think we've a better trading relationship with The Rangers at present given we got Docherty, Murphy and nearly landed McRorie.....and loaned Kamberi :sick:

Would certainly give our left side balance, width, and allow Murphy to adopt an 'Allan' role.

As sickening as it is, it does us no harm to have an off field relationship of sorts with both halves of the old farm.

08-01-2021, 07:51 PM

Do we really want Murphy to adopt a different role? He’s predominantly been a wide player in his career and has looked good there when fit.

He’s had a couple of brief appearances in a more central position and not looked nearly as dangerous. Was it maybe the St Johnstone game at ER where he got moved inside after an hour or so and Ross ended up saying after that he’d made a mistake moving him.

08-01-2021, 07:51 PM

Don't think we can have 2 rangers players on loan?

08-01-2021, 07:57 PM
Jordan Jones would be a fantastic signing and would add great balance to the side. Having him and Boyle on both wings would be great viewing and a nightmare for the opposition.

08-01-2021, 08:00 PM

I think they changed that rule for this season.

08-01-2021, 08:01 PM

Think we can now mate, rules changed this season im sure.

08-01-2021, 08:10 PM
Can’t help but think we’ve got something very good and exciting lined up before we’ve not signed Gary Mackay Steven.

30 years old or not he’s a quality player that would improve our squad. Plenty of speed and trickery left in his legs.

08-01-2021, 08:15 PM
Can’t help but think we’ve got something very good and exciting lined up before we’ve not signed Gary Mackay Steven.

30 years old or not he’s a quality player that would improve our squad. Plenty of speed and trickery left in his legs.
But throws in the towel too quickly for my liking.

08-01-2021, 08:19 PM
He is very much what we don't need.

Agree totally.

08-01-2021, 08:21 PM

What makes you think that?

Imo he has real quality, more than a lot of the players in our squad and could have made a big difference to us.

Him and Brophy are two players I’d have liked to have seen us sign but we’ve decided against so I hope it’s because we have even better achievable targets.

Jordan Jones and Cummings would do:greengrin

08-01-2021, 08:23 PM

As sickening as it is, it does us no harm to have an off field relationship of sorts with both halves of the old farm.

If we do have a better trading relationship with the Huns, it must involve Mathie and upwards because, from what I hear, there’s no love lost between the managers and coaches of both clubs.

08-01-2021, 08:24 PM

Imo he has real quality, more than a lot of the players in our squad and could have made a big difference to us.

Him and Brophy are two players I’d have liked to have seen us sign but we’ve decided against so I hope it’s because we have even better achievable targets.

Good to see St Mirren won a Brophy this season😁

08-01-2021, 08:34 PM

Observation over the years. No argument that he can play and in a side thats in front he can be fantastic. Unfortunately he is not the kind of character in situations when his team are two down with twenty to go he suddenly has an jnjury and needs subbed. Reminds me of a decent Celtic man I used to play against. We went four up and he was spotted sneaking off the pitch. I shouted where r u going and he says just remembered I left a pot on the cooker.

08-01-2021, 08:41 PM
GMS horrible diving Scrote will fit in perfectly.

NC1875
08-01-2021, 09:02 PM
GMS has about one good game in 10. He’d be absolutely slated on here after a few weeks but because he’s signed for Hearts he’s brilliant ?

Has anyone seen much of him in America ? Stats aren’t great.

And he’s signed for them so F-**k him

08-01-2021, 09:10 PM
GMS has about one good game in 10. He’d be absolutely slated on here after a few weeks but because he’s signed for Hearts he’s brilliant ?

Has anyone seen much of him in America ? Stats aren’t great.

And he’s signed for them so F-**k him

See this is it. I genuinely never seen much of GMS unless they were on tele or playing us (he always turned up against us). Out with that I couldn’t tell you how he was against the rest.

I probably would’ve been happy enough to sign him but I’m a far cry from losing any sleep that we haven’t and he’s signed for them

08-01-2021, 09:41 PM
Not much of an update but more on Hibs transfer business here

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-keep-kevin-nisbet-under-19592031

08-01-2021, 09:48 PM
LIVINGSTON manager Davie Martindale has welcomed his second January signing after recruiting Irish forward Jaze Kabia.

The 20-year-old has joined on a deal until the summer of 2023 after leaving Shelbourne in his homeland.

Kabia was utilised as a left winger for Shels, who received a nominal compensation fee, and scored one goal in 11 appearances last seaso

08-01-2021, 09:49 PM
Observation over the years. No argument that he can play and in a side thats in front he can be fantastic. Unfortunately he is not the kind of character in situations when his team are two down with twenty to go he suddenly has an jnjury and needs subbed. Reminds me of a decent Celtic man I used to play against. We went four up and he was spotted sneaking off the pitch. I shouted where r u going and he says just remembered I left a pot on the cooker.

Name and shame.

08-01-2021, 09:56 PM
GMS horrible diving Scrote will fit in perfectly.Exactly

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

08-01-2021, 09:57 PM
Name and shame.

Alexandre LeCreuset (Arsenal)

08-01-2021, 10:03 PM

Was always my opinion of him too, always thought he was the sort of player who would chuck it after a couple of agricultural challenges and I've seen him do it at ER a couple of times. On his day a dangerous player, but I doubt our fans would have warmed to him.

Can't say I'm that bothered about him joining them, he didn't make a big impact in MLS that I'm aware of and I would rather see us sign a younger player.

coco mc
09-01-2021, 07:18 AM
And very annoyingly he was desperate to stay at Hibs ...... still keeps up to date with ER

No tin hat required for me, Bogdan ahead of Rocky for me. RM is a very good keeper, but his major weaknesses are his concentration and kicking under no pressure which continues to infuriate me. We've actually had a good run of decent keepers since the hideous Smith, Maka, and Brown days :rolleyes:

I always find I'm wanting Rocky to be more 'switched on' and fully in the game - for me he has lapses which cost us or puts us under pressure needlessly. On his game however he is a top keeper.

Latapy'sVolley
09-01-2021, 08:14 AM
Alexandre LeCreuset (Arsenal)

09-01-2021, 08:30 AM

He’s been offered to multiple teams.

Highwayman
09-01-2021, 08:36 AM
I think they changed that rule for this season.

Can anybody provide some clarity as to what the current loan rules are.

SloopJB
09-01-2021, 08:40 AM
No, just the people that know what the current rules are.

09-01-2021, 08:42 AM

https://spfl.co.uk/news/loan-regulations-amended-for-202021

09-01-2021, 08:58 AM
Was hoping we’d maybe have cadden in for Monday’s game. Seems unlikely now.

Robbo6-2
09-01-2021, 09:00 AM
Think Jordan Jones is abit of an arse in the changing room thats why alot of clubs wont touch him.

09-01-2021, 09:21 AM

Given the club indicated it was nearly a Done deal you would of thought that would of been the case by Monday Wonder what’s holding it up

09-01-2021, 09:25 AM
Given the club indicated it was nearly a Done deal you would of thought that would of been the case by Monday Wonder what’s holding it up

Moira Gordon replied to someone on twitter saying it had stalled slightly. I’d imagine it might be on Columbus’ side of things as opposed to ours. Hope no-one nips in ahead of us

09-01-2021, 09:32 AM

Did the club say anything?

I thought it was all een/ Edinburgh live

09-01-2021, 09:37 AM
Moira Gordon replied to someone on twitter saying it had stalled slightly. I’d imagine it might be on Columbus’ side of things as opposed to ours. Hope no-one nips in ahead of us

And that was 3 days ago now, for something she tweeted that she expected it to be announced that evening it hasnt half stalled.

09-01-2021, 09:37 AM

As long as we are not just being used by Columbus to generate other interest If you loose out as deal couldn’t be done so be it

09-01-2021, 09:41 AM
As long as we are not just being used by Columbus to generate other interest If you loose out as deal couldn’t be done so be it

I found it a bit odd that he was being released? Oxford offered decent money for him that was knocked back. According to Oxford.

09-01-2021, 09:44 AM

Monday doesn’t bother me as such.

It’s more the Killie game and especially the semi final.

Every day means less time for any new players to settle in and get to know team mates.

The US system can be complicated with rights etc and Cadden was kept on the Columbus roster for 2021 season.

I assume Hibs will have to help with living arrangements also unless he still has family here ??

I hope we can find a new central midfielder and striker as feel they are priority.

09-01-2021, 09:52 AM
When was the last time Cadden kicked a ball? Is he actually fit?

09-01-2021, 09:53 AM
Monday doesn’t bother me as such.

It’s more the Killie game and especially the semi final.

Every day means less time for any new players to settle in and get to know team mates.

The US system can be complicated with rights etc and Cadden was kept on the Columbus roster for 2021 season.

I assume Hibs will have to help with living arrangements also unless he still has family here ??

I hope we can find a new central midfielder and striker as feel they are priority.
It wws reported that he was back in Scotland for xmas so assume he has property here, not sure if he's still here or not?

Highwayman
09-01-2021, 09:56 AM
https://spfl.co.uk/news/loan-regulations-amended-for-202021

Thanks.Certainly clarifies the situation.

09-01-2021, 10:01 AM

She was a bit premature. Hibs never made any comment to the press. It was hoped to be done in time for the Celtic game and might still be. Delay is from across the pond

EI255
09-01-2021, 12:51 PM
See this is it. I genuinely never seen much of GMS unless they were on tele or playing us (he always turned up against us). Out with that I couldn’t tell you how he was against the rest.

I probably would’ve been happy enough to sign him but I’m a far cry from losing any sleep that we haven’t and he’s signed for themHe wouldn't have been cheap either. Read he turned down the sheep. Not sure how much truth in that though. Usual agent BS.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

davhibby
09-01-2021, 01:09 PM

GMS and Brophy would have both been poor signings, as would Cummings.

Jones was good at Killie but I’m not sure about his attitude now.

09-01-2021, 01:19 PM
When was the last time Cadden kicked a ball? Is he actually fit?

November 29th...Sub appearance

09-01-2021, 01:25 PM
November 29th...Sub appearance

Looks like he came on as a 116th minute sub in that game 30th November.

https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=74850

09-01-2021, 01:34 PM
And very annoyingly he was desperate to stay at Hibs ...... still keeps up to date with ER

Bogdan has only played 1 game for Ferencvaros this season.
He really has played little football since his concussion playing for Hibs which was a long time ago.
Hope he can get back to playing soon but Hibs were right not to sign him even if Covid finances wasn't a factor.

09-01-2021, 02:11 PM
GMS and Brophy would have both been poor signings, as would Cummings.

Jones was good at Killie but I’m not sure about his attitude now.

Sorry but I couldn’t disagree more.

GMS has a lot of ability and would give us a lot of creativity and another threat going forward as he chips in with goals and assists. He’s 30 which isn’t that old and is still really fit and quite pacey.

Brophy is still relatively young and was really good for Killie under Clark although has went off the boil a bit of late. He would be a really good 3rd choice striker as he would provide genuine competition to Doidge and Nisbet, he also works hard and is a constant threat.

Cummings scores goals and has the swagger needed to play for us. He’s also played wide of a front 3 lately so will likely have developed his game.

Jones is a quality player and the prospect of him and Boyle would scare most teams. Not heard anything too bad about his attitude.

09-01-2021, 02:18 PM

GMS has a lot of ability and would give us a lot of creativity and another threat going forward as he chips in with goals and assists. He’s 30 which isn’t that old and is still really fit and quite pacey.

Brophy is still relatively young and was really good for Killie under Clark although has went off the boil a bit of late. He would be a really good 3rd choice striker as he would provide genuine competition to Doidge and Nisbet, he also works hard and is a constant threat.

Cummings scores goals and has the swagger needed to play for us. He’s also played wide of a front 3 lately so will likely have developed his game.

Jones is a quality player and the prospect of him and Boyle would scare most teams. Not heard anything too bad about his attitude.

didn’t jones have Chris Burke playing opposite to him? Think him and Boyle could compliment and help each other as teams couldn’t overload on either of them easily

i know we have Murphy, would be nice to have some options to change things out wide if we wanted to, although I get there’s other priorities

09-01-2021, 02:21 PM
Jordan Jones to me fits the exact type of player we should be looking to pick up. Proven in the league, good age, still can give the carrot saying do well here and get a bigger move to England potentially. Chance to get international recognition. Would like to see hibs get him rather than gregg Stewart.

09-01-2021, 02:34 PM

GMS signed for a lower league team. Brophy signed for a bottom 6 team. No way is that the level of player we should be going for. It’s got to be players that will push to be starters.

Souter96Mac
09-01-2021, 02:43 PM
GMS signed for a lower league team. Brophy signed for a bottom 6 team. No way is that the level of player we should be going for. It’s got to be players that will push to be starters.

Fair point here. We should be looking at recruiting the next crop of players that can be key players in the league. Deals like we've made in the past like McGinn, Allan, Nisbet, Magennis, which may require an initial outlay but with the right nurturing we can then make a substantial profit. I'd rather that approach than signing older players who will be on larger wages.

09-01-2021, 02:44 PM

Hearts made him an offer he wouldn’t get anywhere else in the Scotland outwith the OF. Big wages made sure that’s where he was going! Would be surprised it was 3-4K a week

09-01-2021, 02:48 PM

By that logic teams in the top league when we were in the championship shouldn’t have signed McGinn, Mcgeough, Fyvie, Allan, Gray, Fontaine, McGregor, Kennedy, Stokes, Henderson etc etc

Teams will go to the bigger clubs and the ones that pay the most wages.

Hearts have plenty of players that we would want to sign if the opportunity presented and money wasn’t an issue.

09-01-2021, 02:49 PM
Nice graphic here regarding here regarding how many players out of contract at each club. Some rebuilding in the jan/summer windows by some clubs needed.

09-01-2021, 02:54 PM
By that logic teams in the top league when we were in the championship shouldn’t have signed McGinn, Mcgeough, Fyvie, Allan, Gray, Fontaine, McGregor, Kennedy, Stokes, Henderson etc etc

Teams will go to the bigger clubs and the ones that pay the most wages.

Hearts have plenty of players that we would want to sign if the opportunity presented and money wasn’t an issue.

We signed the best players we could at that time. The same thing now. Neither player is going to be a first 11 pick for us so why bothers. Quality not quantity please

hibs#1
09-01-2021, 02:59 PM
GMS would have been a good signing and is a good signing for Hearts, but I'd say he doesn't really fit our signing profile last few years we've been signing younger players with potential/possible future transfer profit.

davhibby
09-01-2021, 03:00 PM

A lot of people’s views on here about GMS are based on him playing well against us which also just about covers all the really good games he had for Aberdeen. He would’ve been a good signing a few years ago but he’s not at the level required if we’re wanting to be in the hunt for 3rd.

Brophy had one good season and hasn’t shown anything in the last 18 months to suggest he’s anything other than a decent bottom 6 striker.

Cummings career since leaving us speaks for itself.

Jones’ attitude on and off the park has cost him a chance at Rangers, as recently as getting a big ban for breaking the covid rules a couple of months ago.

09-01-2021, 03:08 PM
We signed the best players we could at that time. The same thing now. Neither player is going to be a first 11 pick for us so why bothers. Quality not quantity please

My point is you said we shouldn’t be signing players that sign for championship clubs. The majority of those players mentioned would absolutley get a game for us now or at the time they signed for us regardless of what league we are in.

09-01-2021, 03:14 PM
My point is you said we shouldn’t be signing players that sign for championship clubs. The majority of those players mentioned would absolutley get a game for us now or at the time they signed for us regardless of what league we are in.

No. To be clear I’m saying we shouldn’t be buying players who are currently signing for lower clubs. We aren’t in the championship. We are top 4 in the prem. if we were hearts or st Mirren I’d be happy with those signings. We need better. Much better.

mal
09-01-2021, 03:15 PM

Cummings used to score goals, for us, in the Scottish Championship. He has scored very few goals for any of the 5 clubs at which he has failed since leaving us three-and-a-half years ago. He's currently struggling to get any game time at Shrewsbury in the lower half of League One. If he's still swaggering all that suggests is a lack of self-awareness.

09-01-2021, 03:15 PM
Brophy coming on for st Mirren.

Robbo6-2
09-01-2021, 03:17 PM
Ross said there is room.to bring in two, the keeper and Cadden by the sounds of it.

If any other movement players will have to go first

09-01-2021, 03:19 PM
Ross said there is room.to bring in two, the keeper and Cadden by the sounds of it.

I think you can ignore that managers say during transfer windows. It’s normally nonsense.

09-01-2021, 03:19 PM

Heard him say that yesterday which didn't excite me much, any other business means we would have to trade.

At the beginning of the window he said he hoped to pad the squad out a bit giving us more quality on the bench.

09-01-2021, 03:20 PM

But the keeper came in as one left so in effect we haven’t added to the squad at all

09-01-2021, 03:20 PM
Cummings used to score goals, for us, in the Scottish Championship. He has scored very few goals for any of the 5 clubs at which he has failed since leaving us three-and-a-half years ago. He's currently struggling to get any game time at Shrewsbury in the lower half of League One. If he's still swaggering all that suggests is a lack of self-awareness.

I’ve played with amateur players who have a swagger, you don’t need to be Messi to be confident. Self-awareness has nowt to do with it.

Robbo6-2
09-01-2021, 03:21 PM
But the keeper came in as one left so in effect we haven’t added to the squad at all

He mentioned the goalie as 1 of them

Dr What If?
09-01-2021, 03:38 PM

We recalled Dabrowski though, so that is one extra.

09-01-2021, 03:42 PM

Would imagine we were paying most if not all his wages so in terms of spend he's probably not extra.

Robbo6-2
09-01-2021, 03:42 PM

Did you watch the interview ? Thats not how I picked up on it

Davy Mac
09-01-2021, 03:45 PM
Again, if what's his face wants to buy GMS with his own money to finance the deal and keep it off their payroll then its typical Hertz.

Although, there likely will be no ROI with him due to his age so let them ***** more money against the wall.

I'm not bitter but hope it doesn't work out for both of them :-)

broondog
09-01-2021, 04:46 PM
Sorry but can someone explain to me how a mediocre struggling championship team has managed to sign Gary McKay Stevens?really is beginning to border on the ridiculous again, the magic hearts money tree keeps growing and growing yet they claim they turn a profit. No fans, playing part time teams, no SPL money anymore yet they are renewing expensive contracts and buying international players complete disgrace.

Anyone know if UEFA FairPlay rules come into play? I would think as they aren’t getting rid of anyone they are gaining an unfair advantage. All they know if cheating but I thought they would at least be repurrecuassoons for breaking a FairPlay Rules points deduction hopefully. I won’t hold my breath but think it should be looked into and investigated.

09-01-2021, 04:53 PM
Sorry but can someone explain to me how a mediocre struggling championship team has managed to sign Gary McKay Stevens?really is beginning to border on the ridiculous again, the magic hearts money tree keeps growing and growing yet they claim they turn a profit. No fans, playing part time teams, no SPL money anymore yet they are renewing expensive contracts and buying international players complete disgrace.

Anyone know if UEFA FairPlay rules come into play? I would think as they aren’t getting rid of anyone they are gaining an unfair advantage. All they know if cheating but I thought they would at least be repurrecuassoons for breaking a FairPlay Rules points deduction hopefully. I won’t hold my breath but think it should be looked into and investigated.

The reason is that there Foundation of Hearts stick a huge amount of money into the club to give them the financial clout to make signings like that.

Financial Fair Play isn’t in any danger of being breached, it’s all legitimate.

We could be making signings better than that if supporters of Hibs put money into the club at the same level as supporters of Hearts put money into Hearts.

09-01-2021, 04:55 PM
The reason is that there Foundation of Hearts stick a huge amount of money into the club to give them the financial clout to make signings like that.

We could be making signings better than that if supporters of Hibs put money into the club at the same level as supporters of Hearts put money into Hearts.

Or if we had a one guy chucking £3m in. How much is it FOH has going in a year now?

09-01-2021, 04:58 PM

Matty do you know for sure he isnt at the wind up?

09-01-2021, 04:59 PM

He’s a pretty average signing though in the scheme of things. We have been and will again be making signings better than that regardless of what extra money fans are putting in.

09-01-2021, 05:05 PM
He’s a pretty average signing though in the scheme of things. We have been and will again be making signings better than that regardless of what extra money fans are putting in.

Lets hope so but Aberdeen who have consistently finished above us throughout the last decade didn't want him to leave them.

HFC93
09-01-2021, 05:10 PM

Foundation of Hearts.

They aren't struggling. They are winning the league easily and they'll be aiming for top 5 next season in the SPL. Cup money and the donations will have them easily the 5th biggest budget in Scotland, from the championship.

We signed Stokes, McGinn, McGregor, Ambrose, Commons, Fontaine, Marciano, Fyvie, McGeouch and many more in that league. They're not doing anything different.

Yeah we are very fortunate that they don’t spend it wisely, if they had capable people at the club they’d be a stick on for third most seasons.

09-01-2021, 05:13 PM
Yeah we are very fortunate that they don’t spend it wisely, if they had capable people at the club they’d be a stick on for third most seasons.

This is maybe the start of it with that new guy being there, his name escapes me

09-01-2021, 05:14 PM
Or if we had a one guy chucking £3m in. How much is it FOH has going in a year now?

Budge said in the summer the benefactors money was dependent on the club being soundly financially. They must have signed off on GMS but what do they know about and over the top footballer

09-01-2021, 05:17 PM

You've been telt before 😀

There is no FFP regime in the SPFL. Even if there were, Hearts wouldn't be breaking any rules.

And it's repercussions....

09-01-2021, 05:45 PM

Dear Catastrophe Waitress

Are you one of them roaster guys on football forums that Tam McManus was on about through the week or just a jambo?

09-01-2021, 05:54 PM
Dear Catastrophe Waitress

Are you one of them roaster guys on football forums that Tam McManus was on about through the week or just a jambo?

Great reference. :greengrin

09-01-2021, 06:03 PM
Great reference. :greengrin

I'm bored Matty. No Hibs for 2 more days.

09-01-2021, 06:10 PM

Lets hope so but Aberdeen who have consistently finished above us throughout the last decade didn't want him to leave them.

09-01-2021, 06:15 PM
A lot of people’s views on here about GMS are based on him playing well against us which also just about covers all the really good games he had for Aberdeen. He would’ve been a good signing a few years ago but he’s not at the level required if we’re wanting to be in the hunt for 3rd.

Brophy had one good season and hasn’t shown anything in the last 18 months to suggest he’s anything other than a decent bottom 6 striker.

Cummings career since leaving us speaks for itself.

Jones’ attitude on and off the park has cost him a chance at Rangers, as recently as getting a big ban for breaking the covid rules a couple of months ago.

I watch quite a bit of MLS. It’s a decent league and many teams and players better than over here in Scotland.

GMS didn’t exactly do much over there..he did start to hit a bit of form in November.

I’ve seen him do absolutely nothing in teams and be subbed early on..I’ve also seen him run our same difference all over the place - scoring 8 goals against us. The thing I do feel we need is a tricky player to unlock the opposition. Boyle / Murphy / Allan / Mallan and Newell are our main creative players - 3 out of the 5 injured.

Aberdeen fans mostly say they didn’t want GMS back as they want younger and happy in that area.

The one thing you can guarantee is he won’t be cheap and the big question is will he be value for money by the end of his time at Hearts.

Brophy - can score goals but again just not sure - is he consistent enough ? Seems he wants to stay local and be a 1st team starter.

Jones - probably happy picking up a wage at a team
Going to win the league. He had an issue with careless driving in July and the Covid protocol issue. I do think he would be decent for us but he’s also had a bad knee injury.

Cummings bit like GMS - can be a passenger if not involved but if he ends up at Hearts like GMS he will probably end up scoring against us. Right now I don’t fully have faith in our team to beat Hearts. They have more experience and better mental toughness even if we have some decent players - we are still soft especially central midfield.

If Ross thinks Cadden and a keeper is enough I will be seriously worried about the semi and rest of season / finishing 4th.

Turkish Green
09-01-2021, 06:18 PM
Foundation of Hearts.

And rich benefactors who wanted to remain anon. until the SFA/SPFL demasked them. Now if Ron only had some benevolent chums.

09-01-2021, 06:38 PM
I watch quite a bit of MLS. It’s a decent league and many teams and players better than over here in Scotland.

GMS didn’t exactly do much over there..he did start to hit a bit of form in November.

I’ve seen him do absolutely nothing in teams and be subbed early on..I’ve also seen him run our same difference all over the place - scoring 8 goals against us. The thing I do feel we need is a tricky player to unlock the opposition. Boyle / Murphy / Allan / Mallan and Newell are our main creative players - 3 out of the 5 injured.

Aberdeen fans mostly say they didn’t want GMS back as they want younger and happy in that area.

The one thing you can guarantee is he won’t be cheap and the big question is will he be value for money by the end of his time at Hearts.

Brophy - can score goals but again just not sure - is he consistent enough ? Seems he wants to stay local and be a 1st team starter.

Going to win the league. He had an issue with careless driving in July and the Covid protocol issue. I do think he would be decent for us but he’s also had a bad knee injury.

Cummings bit like GMS - can be a passenger if not involved but if he ends up at Hearts like GMS he will probably end up scoring against us. Right now I don’t fully have faith in our team to beat Hearts. They have more experience and better mental toughness even if we have some decent players - we are still soft especially central midfield.

If Ross thinks Cadden and a keeper is enough I will be seriously worried about the semi and rest of season / finishing 4th.

Enlightening because although many if us knew that deep down, it needed to be said to make it official. Hearts signings are quick short term fixes. I am glad if we dont consider GMS nor Cumming as what we need right now. I am not saying we get it right with every signing, far from it but those two would be wrong for us and wont help Hearts in the SPL next season.

09-01-2021, 06:45 PM

We dont want Boyle to leave but that doesnt mean we would now bring him in if he was elsewhere.

09-01-2021, 06:49 PM

I agree. Our squad isn't much better than most in the league tbh and we will struggle to get 4th. Mainly due to soft core. Hibs players get plaudits quite quickly (Nisbet) and I think that usually masks the fact we are distinctly average.

If we don't strengthen now I hope we have some very impressive long term plans as we could well be left behind soon. We keep making poor signings and trimming squad to nothing seems to be our way...

Where are the plans for a link up with big European club? Thought that was in pipeline? Surely we were very close before talking about it in the first place?

I've said a few times a poor player at Hibs is a project...very rarely will this work in the club's favour. Threadbare squad of our making as well with long contracts being thrown around at players that can't actually play...

09-01-2021, 06:55 PM
I agree. Our squad isn't much better than most in the league tbh and we will struggle to get 4th. Mainly due to soft core. Hibs players get plaudits quite quickly (Nisbet) and I think that usually masks the fact we are distinctly average.

If we don't strengthen now I hope we have some very impressive long term plans as we could well be left behind soon. We keep making poor signings and trimming squad to nothing seems to be our way...

Where are the plans for a link up with big European club? Thought that was in pipeline? Surely we were very close before talking about it in the first place?

I've said a few times a poor player at Hibs is a project...very rarely will this work in the club's favour. Threadbare squad of our making as well with long contracts being thrown around at players that can't actually play...

This is such a negative view. Our squad is quite clearly better than at least 8 squads in this league. In SPL terms, Nisbet is well above average. Who exactly are we getting left behind by? Trimming the squad? Did you miss the pandemic going on? Obviously we've got a thin squad. Its better than a big squad full of crap like Motherwell for example have.

Threadbare is nonsense. Doesn't stand up to anything. In a 442, the only positions we don't have at least 2 players for is central defence and striker. Considering covid and the cuts we've had to make, its quite understandable.

Its mad to me how quickly people have lost perspective this season. There was a point in pre season where I'd have been happy just staying up. Things looked very grim for clubs financially. Fans rallied, we got players in and suddely 4th isn't good enough? ****ing hilarious. I would kill for 5th place and the league cup. Kill. 4th and the league cup is very realisitic. We've had a rough week of form. Thats it.

09-01-2021, 07:03 PM
This is such a negative view. Our squad is quite clearly better than at least 8 squads in this league. In SPL terms, Nisbet is well above average. Who exactly are we getting left behind by? Trimming the squad? Did you miss the pandemic going on? Obviously we've got a thin squad. Its better than a big squad full of crap like Motherwell for example have.

Threadbare is nonsense. Doesn't stand up to anything. In a 442, the only positions we don't have at least 2 players for is central defence and striker. Considering covid and the cuts we've had to make, its quite understandable.

Its mad to me how quickly people have lost perspective this season. There was a point in pre season where I'd have been happy just staying up. Things looked very grim for clubs financially. Fans rallied, we got players in and suddely 4th isn't good enough? ****ing hilarious. I would kill for 5th place and the league cup. Kill. 4th and the league cup is very realisitic. We've had a rough week of form. Thats it.

What disappoints me is that we cant get our fringe players to take their chances. Not one of them can get close to hilding on to a place when called upon. That for me indivates too many passengers on the fringe and/or a training/coacihing regime not up to keeping them match fit although appreciate training matches must be difficult to have under Covid. Or am I making excuses?

09-01-2021, 07:29 PM

Pretty threadbare when you subtract the number of regularly injured players, unfit players and those that obviously aren't deemed good enough.

We've been fortunate that other teams have been so poor. We've hit dip in form yes...but home form tells a story.

09-01-2021, 07:31 PM
Pretty threadbare when you subtract the number of regularly injured players, unfit players and those that obviously aren't deemed good enough.

We've been fortunate that other teams have been so poor. We've hit dip in form yes...but home form tells a story.

So does our excellent away form.

09-01-2021, 07:37 PM
So does our excellent away form.

Yes. I havent disputed that. Although a few have been very tight games and we've had some luck.

Size of squad stance remains - it is tiny when you think of the injuries, those unfit and those actually not really in squad beyond making up numbers (Gray and McGregor)

Wouldnt be so small if we didn't sign unfit or injured players though.

09-01-2021, 07:43 PM
Yes. I havent disputed that. Although a few have been very tight games and we've had some luck.

Size of squad stance remains - it is tiny when you think of the injuries, those unfit and those actually not really in squad beyond making up numbers (Gray and McGregor)

Wouldnt be so small if we didn't sign unfit or injured players though.

So other teams don’t have injuries, unfit players or players not good enough?

We’re just lucky that somehow the other teams have not been as good.

Got you.

09-01-2021, 07:51 PM

No. We've been better than other teams. Full stop. Nothing fortunate about it.

Any squad is ''threadbare'' when you subtract those things.

09-01-2021, 08:00 PM
No. We've been better than other teams. Full stop. Nothing fortunate about it.

Any squad is ''threadbare'' when you subtract those things.

Only as good as your last game. Dont get trophies at Christmas. Let's see where we end the season at. Thats most important thing.

09-01-2021, 08:07 PM
Only as good as your last game. Dont get trophies at Christmas. Let's see where we end the season at. Thats most important thing.

Celtic got a nice shiny scottish cup 😁

Sioux
09-01-2021, 08:16 PM

So no need to get your knickers in a twist then?

09-01-2021, 08:18 PM

So only as good as last game but you'll judge us over 38? Okay.

09-01-2021, 08:21 PM

You’re allowed to panic after 2 or 3 games. If you think we’re doing okay you need to wait the full season.

Makes sense.

09-01-2021, 08:22 PM

Cheers for the debate.

09-01-2021, 08:24 PM
You’re allowed to panic after 2 or 3 games. If you think we’re doing okay you need to wait the full season.

Makes sense.

Who says I'm panicking after 2 or 3 games? I'm of the opinion we've been a poor watch for most of the season. Thought that was clear? Like the teaming up going on here though, everyone giving each other high fives?

Have fun.

Mickey Weir
09-01-2021, 08:28 PM

Completely agree. Hearts have been cheating for years and have never been truly punished for it. Yes, they went into admin and were relegated but they cheated their way to the cup in 2012 and almost done it again a few weeks ago. When will it end?

09-01-2021, 08:51 PM
Completely agree. Hearts have been cheating for years and have never been truly punished for it. Yes, they went into admin and were relegated but they cheated their way to the cup in 2012 and almost done it again a few weeks ago. When will it end?

The cheating thing is an issue for me, they spent money they didn’t have and all that, but the system in place allows that to happen? So did they cheat, or where they allowed to shaft people over, go out of business, press reset and come back within a couple of years...is it cheating or is it just playing a system?

I would refute they’re cheating now, they’re just spending money that they wouldn’t have had unless it was given to them.

09-01-2021, 09:16 PM

What an absolute load of nonsense, bed wetting rubbish. Not been on here for ages and its posts like this that keep me away, people getting their knicks in a knot coz Herts have signed an ageing winger. Honestly nonsense

Mickey Weir
09-01-2021, 09:23 PM
The cheating thing is an issue for me, they spent money they didn’t have and all that, but the system in place allows that to happen? So did they cheat, or where they allowed to shaft people over, go out of business, press reset and come back within a couple of years...is it cheating or is it just playing a system?

I would refute they’re cheating now, they’re just spending money that they wouldn’t have had unless it was given to them.

Ok but they have had an unfair advantage in that case. They would never have beaten us in the semi final recently had there been a level playing field.

09-01-2021, 09:26 PM
Ok but they have had an unfair advantage in that case. They would never have beaten us in the semi final recently had there been a level playing field.

I take it this is a joke?!

09-01-2021, 09:29 PM

They have a financial advantage over us the same way as Rangers and Celtic do, and that we have over majority of clubs. It’s hardly unfair 😂

Juice-Terry
09-01-2021, 09:35 PM

I would refute they’re cheating now, they’re just spending money that they wouldn’t have had unless it was given to them.LTYF.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Hibs4185
09-01-2021, 09:39 PM

There’s no FFP in Scotland of course but what’s the difference between James Anderson and someone like Sheikh Mansour pumping millions into a club?

The answer is maybe Sheikh Mansour is an owner and therefore his millions is unfair financially. In that case, when FOH become owners, does that mean their contributions therefore fall foul of FFP?

09-01-2021, 09:48 PM
There’s no FFP in Scotland of course but what’s the difference between James Anderson and someone like Sheikh Mansour pumping millions into a club?

The answer is maybe Sheikh Mansour is an owner and therefore his millions is unfair financially. In that case, when FOH become owners, does that mean their contributions therefore fall foul of FFP?

As you say, there's no FFP in the SPFL, although it does apply to teams competing in Europe. If Hearts think there's an issue, and I can't see that there is, the likelihood is that the current contributions will be made directly to the club.

09-01-2021, 09:51 PM
GMS is an inconsistent winger. Fantastic on the odd occasion, anonymous the rest of the time. Not the kind of player I'd want in a battle at Somerset Park. Might look good at home when 3-0 up on Arbroath.

09-01-2021, 10:50 PM
GMS is a good signing for Hearts and unfortunately he usually does well against us.

09-01-2021, 10:58 PM

Only as good as the league table. You’re trying too hard now :aok:

09-01-2021, 11:19 PM
GMS is a good signing for Hearts and unfortunately he usually does well against us.

Just as well we are in different divisions then.

Mr. Wonderful
10-01-2021, 05:55 AM
GMS is an inconsistent winger. Fantastic on the odd occasion, anonymous the rest of the time. Not the kind of player I'd want in a battle at Somerset Park. Might look good at home when 3-0 up on Arbroath.

So like any other winger ever then?

Clarence
10-01-2021, 06:25 AM
So like any other winger ever then?

No. There have been lots of more consistent wingers than him. Kevin McAllister, Mickey Weir and Didier Agathe are three quick examples of wingers that, in their day, I would expect to perform on a more consistent basis than GMS.

Mr. Wonderful
10-01-2021, 07:49 AM
No. There have been lots of more consistent wingers than him. Kevin McAllister, Mickey Weir and Didier Agathe are three quick examples of wingers that, in their day, I would expect to perform on a more consistent basis than GMS.

Very recent examples those.

Clarence
10-01-2021, 07:59 AM
Very recent examples those.

He did say any winger ever.

Mickey Weir
10-01-2021, 08:11 AM

Cherrs bro 👍

10-01-2021, 08:21 AM
So... Hibs, eh?

Sweet Left Peg
10-01-2021, 08:25 AM

Michael O'Neill is another one