View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2020-21

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26

01-02-2021, 08:23 PM
Aberdeen look to have strengthened quite a bit especially if they get Kamberi. Cosgrove has left but he’s been very poor for them this season.

Mccrorie permanent
Hendry loan
Kamberi loan
Hornby loan

Kamberi and Hornby with Hedges in behind will be a handful

I think we’ve strengthened more than they have this month.

Renfrew_Hibby
01-02-2021, 08:25 PM
Great for a caption competition!

"Who's that radge?"

Mustafa Kemal Ataturk? Portrait adorns most, classrooms, public buildings, boardrooms ect ect.

The father of modern Turkey.

sean04
What is the deal with hibs and Aberdeen? Is it just agents offering the players to both clubs then Aberdeen sign them? Been a few picked Aberdeen over us

If they are, and you specifically Keith Jackson are reading this, I want you to know that it’s not over. I’m not done with you yet. I’m biding my time.

One day, maybe not tomorrow, but one day you will apologise for your crimes against journalism, namely your article in 2016. Fud.

Love it!!

01-02-2021, 08:26 PM
Tam M saying room for another striker, do you think he knows
something?

Hammer has gone back on loan to Raith so maybe that’s why he is saying it and Mallan away on loan So frees up some wages

01-02-2021, 08:27 PM
Mustafa Kemal Ataturk? Portrait adorns most, classrooms, public buildings, boardrooms ect ect.

The father of modern Turkey.

I know. It was a caption competition entry.

Stonewall
01-02-2021, 08:27 PM
Aberdeen look to have strengthened quite a bit especially if they get Kamberi. Cosgrove has left but he’s been very poor for them this season.

Mccrorie permanent
Hendry loan
Kamberi loan
Hornby loan

I’d take McCrorie and Cosgrove.

Overall we’ve done better.

01-02-2021, 08:28 PM
I’d take McCrorie and Cosgrove.

Overall we’ve done better.

They’ve lost Wright too.

01-02-2021, 08:29 PM
What is the deal with hibs and Aberdeen? Is it just agents offering the players to both clubs then Aberdeen sign them? Been a few picked Aberdeen over us

I think so.

Both have roughly the same budgets, agents will offer players to similar
clubs and it will be a case of us keeping tracks on them.

Although they might be of interest it’s not the case that we’ve made a genuine attempt to sign them

sean04
Where’s omeonga ?

I’d rather see the season out with Drey Wright up front.

Now there's a thought...

01-02-2021, 08:30 PM

Mccrorie permanent
Hendry loan
Kamberi loan
Hornby loan

You think? They had McCrorie anyway, just they can now play him in one or two extra games against the the's, but they've lost Scott Wright in return.

Hendry is a bit of an unknown quantity as is Hornby and Kamberi is a good player when he can be arsed, which is hardly ever.

01-02-2021, 08:31 PM

Mccrorie permanent
Hendry loan
Kamberi loan
Hornby loan

Based on end product, attitude, commitment level and consistency, I’m delighted to see Kamberi at one of our rivals.

Good enough on his day, not good often enough to be more than a liability.

01-02-2021, 08:32 PM
I think so.

Both have roughly the same budgets, agents will offer players to similar
clubs and it will be a case of us keeping tracks on them.

Although they might be of interest it’s not the case that we’ve made a genuine attempt to sign them

I think a lot of it will just be agent talk as well.

I remember Alan Stubbs speaking at a visit to EM and he said the one thing that could be guaranteed was any agent offering us a player would say he was either attracting interest from or had an offer from Hearts.

My old man
01-02-2021, 08:32 PM
If they are, and you specifically Keith Jackson are reading this, I want you to know that it’s not over. I’m not done with you yet. I’m biding my time.

One day, maybe not tomorrow, but one day you will apologise for your crimes against journalism, namely your article in 2016. Fud.

Hahahahaha
He’s a total fud of a man
If he’s reading this hope your next s@@t is a hedgehog ya walloper

01-02-2021, 08:33 PM
Heard Hornby is a good trainer.

I'll get Ma coat

01-02-2021, 08:34 PM

Mccrorie permanent
Hendry loan
Kamberi loan
Hornby loan

They still have the slowest back 3 in the league.

I probably missed this on here, but from Sky

MEDLEY MOVES TO KILMARNOCK

Zech Medley has joined Kilmarnock on a loan deal from Arsenal until the end of the season, subject to Scottish FA approval.

I shouldn't really post this as his name is pun material

Based on end product, attitude, commitment level and consistency, I’m delighted to see Kamberi at one of our rivals.

Good enough on his day, not good often enough to be more than a liability.

Problem is he’s guaranteed to be arsed agains us

angus hibby
Didn’t Jack Ross sign Will Grigg for Sunderland? Surplus to requirements there.

Mccrorie permanent
Hendry loan
Kamberi loan
Hornby loan

They have got more bodies but time will tell if they’ve strengthened.

We know Kamberi can be good when he fancies it. Hendry not getting a game at St Johnstone and Hornby hardly played any senior football.

Are they as good as Cosgrove and Wright? I know Cosgrove hasn’t been brilliant this year but he’s also had his injury problems etc.

01-02-2021, 08:35 PM
Looks like a ransom note is more likely than a fee.Why's that?

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

Tam McManus now suggesting we won't be signing anyone

Heard Hornby is a good trainer.

I'll get Ma coat

Needs a few coaches to get the best out of him.

01-02-2021, 08:36 PM
You think? They had McCrorie anyway, just they can now play him in one or two extra games against the the's, but they've lost Scott Wright in return.

Hendry is a bit of an unknown quantity as is Hornby and Kamberi is a good player when he can be arsed, which is hardly ever.

Hendry's made 53 appearances for St J. Not that unknown.

Tam McManus now suggesting we won't be signing anyone

At least he’s covered both bases so he can look in the know.

Best watch the admins don’t ban you for taking this thread off track!

Jim_in_Canada

I wish we had a "like" button. This post would garner a lot, I think.

Mcpakeisgod
01-02-2021, 08:37 PM

Haha yeah technically he did , but he didn’t seem too chuffed about it in the Sunderland documentary

01-02-2021, 08:38 PM
Hendry's made 53 appearances for St J. Not that unknown.

There you go then :greengrin

01-02-2021, 08:40 PM

0h oh I gauge a wee pun in there

sean04
01-02-2021, 08:41 PM
Haha yeah technically he did , but he didn’t seem too chuffed about it in the Sunderland documentary

The owner paid way to much for him and Ross wasn’t amused

Model professional I’ve heard.

Hibernian FC
@HiberniannFC
·
1h
Memo Hibernian are delighted to announce Yermaś Dîldo from Turkish Süper Lig club Bursaspor for an undisclosed fee #GGTTH

Speech balloon”i am here to do my best and try to succeed” https://hibernianfc.co.uk

01-02-2021, 08:42 PM
Hibernian FC
@HiberniannFC
·
1h
Memo Hibernian are delighted to announce Yermaś Dîldo from Turkish Süper Lig club Bursaspor for an undisclosed fee #GGTTH

Speech balloon”i am here to do my best and try to succeed” https://hibernianfc.co.uk

...why share this? :rolleyes:

Hibernian FC
@HiberniannFC
·
1h

Hiberniann

BegbieHSC
Hibernian FC
@HiberniannFC
·
1h

Bought it until I read the name aloud 😂😂

sean04
McManus again saying nothing happening

01-02-2021, 08:43 PM

Certainly looking that way.

01-02-2021, 08:44 PM
Still no ‘that concludes our business’ tweet. Normally quite early when it’s clear we won’t be doing anything (think the summer was very early).

Hibernian FC
@HiberniannFC
·
1h

Cock 😁

...why share this? :rolleyes:

😂😂😂

Need a wee giggle with all the moaning and grumbling on here recently.

Hibernian FC
@HiberniannFC
·
1h

😂😂😂

sean04
Certainly looking that way.

Very late in the day to get a medical and deal sorted for anybody

IIRC JR said don't pay more than £1.25M because he isn't worth any more. Then the owner Stewart Donald went ahead and ended up paying £3M rising to £4M.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/what-fans-saying-hibs-boss-18036345

01-02-2021, 08:45 PM
Best watch the admins don’t ban you for taking this thread off track!

The game’s a bogie.

01-02-2021, 08:46 PM
Hibernian FC
@HiberniannFC
·
1h

Sounds like a banging player

On Sky:

ACCIES BRING IN ANDERSON

Hamilton have signed forward Bruce Anderson on loan from Aberdeen until the end of the season.

The Scottish Premiership club have also released striker Tunde Owolabi and midfielder Justin Johnson.

Oh well thought we were short of a forward when the window shut in tje summer. I believe we have still left ourselves short.

01-02-2021, 08:48 PM
Hibernian FC
@HiberniannFC
·
1h

Good at scoring by coming late into the box?

Think we are probably done. Think we are short up top but league will be over before we know it.

Magpie
Oh well thought we were short of a forward when the window shut in tje summer. I believe we have still left ourselves short.

By an extra striker 😅

You can still sign someone subject to medical

01-02-2021, 08:49 PM

I think the fact we beat Dundee United has given a bit leeway to the club.

Could be interesting on here tomorrow night if we get beat off St Mirren though having let two attacking players go and not replaced them (assuming we don’t of course)

I just think it’s absolutley mental we’re even lighter upfront now than we were at the start of the window, when everyone was saying we needing an extra body....

So did I. An injury to doidge or nisbet leaves us having to play a winger up top who has little impact on a game up there.

Let’s hope we’re not missing doidge & nisbet at the same time

hibee1875
01-02-2021, 08:50 PM
Think we are probably done. Think we are short up top but league will be over before we know it.

It’s not over till the transfer window round up article is posted 😬

sean04
01-02-2021, 08:50 PM

Could be interesting on here tomorrow night if we get beat off St Mirren though having let two attacking players go and not replaced them (assuming we don’t of course)

When we end up with drey wright up front himself in a 3-0 defeat 😂🙈🙈

Magpie
01-02-2021, 08:51 PM

One of our strikers apparently doesn’t want to be here and the other has 6 goals in 30 appearances this season, we be fine.

01-02-2021, 08:52 PM

We are very likely to have Nisbet still on the bench tomorrow. Also very late to expect any singing to influence a game tomorrow night.

We’ve gone 20 odd league games. If we get beat tomorrow night not signing a striker tonight would have very little to do with it.

01-02-2021, 08:52 PM
It’s not over till the transfer window round up article is posted 😬

Find out tomorrow for me. I'll probably be disappointed so best being fresh when I see the news!

mcfly
01-02-2021, 08:53 PM
I cannot believe we have let gullan go out on loan

We have a striker in Nisbet who’s head has been turned and will need managed very carefully and doidge who hasn’t scored in weeks.

Surely we cannot go with no other strikers????

01-02-2021, 08:53 PM
I need a new refresh key.

leftfield
01-02-2021, 08:54 PM
A Dons fan has just told me that Kamberi has signed for them. He may of course been at the wind up

AltheHibby
01-02-2021, 08:54 PM
0h oh I gauge a wee pun in there

I reckon about 1/76 of these puns are ookay.

01-02-2021, 08:55 PM

We have a striker in Nisbet who’s head has been turned and will need managed very carefully and doidge who hasn’t scored in weeks.

We might be working on getting one in. Still have 2 hours 5 mins

Greenworld
01-02-2021, 08:56 PM
A Dons fan has just told me that Kamberi has signed for them. He may of course been at the wind upHearts apparently trying for him

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

01-02-2021, 08:56 PM
Good at scoring by coming late into the box?

Yes and usually from deep positions too....

01-02-2021, 08:58 PM
I just think it’s absolutley mental we’re even lighter upfront now than we were at the start of the window, when everyone was saying we needing an extra body....

We’ve brought in Cadden which allows Boyle to start up front if and when required. I can see Jackson Irvine chipping in from midfield as well based on what I’ve evidenced so far. Meaning no disrespect to Jamie or Stevie but they’ve contributed 1 league goal between them this season, I suspect that Cadden and Irvine will contribute more assist/goals than the players we’ve let leave so we could say that we’ve strengthened in the forward areas in this window.

01-02-2021, 08:59 PM

Even if his head has been turned (and I have my doubts) he would have to unturn it pretty damn quick if he wants a big move in the summer. Throwing a strop wont help him do that.

01-02-2021, 08:59 PM
We absolutely need another striker

Greenworld
01-02-2021, 09:00 PM
You can still sign someone subject to medical

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYup and come 11pm there .ight be a few players from England the never got the moves expected now become available

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

01-02-2021, 09:01 PM
We are very likely to have Nisbet still on the bench tomorrow. Also very late to expect any singing to influence a game tomorrow night.

We’ve gone 20 odd league games. If we get beat tomorrow night not signing a striker tonight would have very little to do with it.
What song would be best to influence tomorrow nights game?

Mr. Wonderful

Hearing we're in for Assambalonga

Maybe they think Boyle, Murphy, Irvine , Bradley can all play up there if they need to....and just saving money until next season ???

01-02-2021, 09:02 PM
Yes and usually from deep positions too....
Can hit the spot from a set piece too I hear

Magpie
01-02-2021, 09:02 PM

Can’t see that happening, would be some signing.

01-02-2021, 09:03 PM

Jamie hasn't started a league game this season & we're 3rd highest scorers in the league. Nothing's changed.

01-02-2021, 09:03 PM

Think he is quite tight with Jack so assume that is it. Bit surprised as we haven't been great up front this season and potential for Nisbet to be distracted.

01-02-2021, 09:04 PM

That’s my line.

01-02-2021, 09:04 PM
Jamie hasn't started a league game this season & we're 3rd highest scorers in the league. Nothing's changed.

Yep its true but we're still gambling on no injuries.

RIP Bestie
01-02-2021, 09:05 PM
Danny Graham has contract cancelled at Sunderland.
Not sure if our manager signed him for them but I'm sure we were interested in him before

Souter96Mac
01-02-2021, 09:06 PM
Danny Graham has contract cancelled at Sunderland.
Not sure if our manager signed him for them but I'm sure we were interested in him before

Think we've been linked with Graham for the last 4/5 windows. I think he's had some bad injuries

01-02-2021, 09:07 PM

I think we’ve been pretty fortunate in that neither Doidge and Nisbet have been injured or suspended much in the first half of the season. Long may that continue but letting Gullane go with no replacement doesn’t leave us much wiggle room should we get an injury or two up front.

If Doidge or Nisbet get injured, or if we play them up front together we’ve got nothing to come off the bench to try and change the game.

We’re going to have some tough games coming up after the split particularly, having a strong bench could be important. I’m not arsed about letting Gullane go but he had to be replaced with someone that could be effective coming off the bench.

Nisbet been sold yet?? Great business for Hibs, needs to happen

That’s my line.

Are we

01-02-2021, 09:08 PM
I think we’ve been pretty fortunate in that neither Doidge and Nisbet have been injured or suspended much in the first half of the season. Long may that continue but letting Gullane go with no replacement doesn’t leave us much wiggle room should we get an injury or two up front.

If Doidge or Nisbet get injured, or if we play them up front together we’ve got nothing to come off the bench to try and change the game.

We’re going to have some tough games coming up after the split particularly, having a strong bench could be important. I’m not arsed about letting Gullane go but he had to be replaced with someone that could be effective coming off the bench.

Generally agree but what I'm saying is that it shouldn't be a reason to be kicking off tomorrow night. We aren't short for tomorrow.

01-02-2021, 09:09 PM
Generally agree but what I'm saying is that it shouldn't be a reason to be kicking off tomorrow night. We aren't short for tomorrow.

We are if doidge or nisbet ends up injured early doors

01-02-2021, 09:10 PM

If Doidge gets injured, Nisbet will come on.

01-02-2021, 09:11 PM

So you don’t think it’s risky at all then?

01-02-2021, 09:13 PM

Nisbet would be starting if I was picking the team.

01-02-2021, 09:13 PM

Suppose we start with the same team as we started against Dundee United, is Nisbet the only really attacking sub we can bring on?

Scott Allan maybe, anybody else that I’m not thinking of?

01-02-2021, 09:14 PM
Think that's us done for the night. If we need another striker just recall Gullan? 😂

01-02-2021, 09:14 PM
So you don’t think it’s risky at all then?

For tomorrow? No, not really. We are in no different a position than we've been all season really. Gullan wasn't really a player who was making any impact.

Since then we've brought in Cadden who is freeing Boyle up to be another option up front.

We won away at the weekend without Nisbet coming on at all.

We might not win but not having another striker shouldn't be close to being our main issue if that happens.

01-02-2021, 09:15 PM
Suppose we start with the same team as we started against Dundee United, is Nisbet the only really attacking sub we can bring on?

Bradley ? Wright

Magpie
Nisbet would be starting if I was picking the team.

I agree, no point rejecting £3m bids if you are not going to play him. He had his rest on Saturday.

He brought on Wright at the weekend

Mr. Wonderful
01-02-2021, 09:16 PM

Dr Drey.

I’ve said all season I wanted another striker. Don’t want someone to come in and sit on the bench and make the numbers up though. Want someone who would come in and play in front of Doidge who’s underperformed for me this season. When you get to this point in the window, and only have 12 games to go, I think it’s pretty clear that’s no happening though.

No striker but I’m happy that the squad is stronger than at the start of the window.

For tomorrow? No, not really. We are in no different a position than we've been all season really. Gullan wasn't really a player who was making any impact.

Since then we've brought in Cadden who is freeing Boyle up to be another option up front.

We won away at the weekend without Nisbet coming on at all.

We might not win but not having another striker shouldn't be close to being our main issue if that happens.

But with regards to the rest of the season? Still a lot of football to be played, 3rd place to go for, tough matches in the top 6, an injury to one of our strikers means us either playing with 1 up front or going 2 up top without a senior striker to bring on off the bench

01-02-2021, 09:17 PM
Yep its true but we're still gambling on no injuries.

I agree but Boyle, Murphy, Irvine & Allan can all play fairly high up the park.

Just checked and that’s right. If we don’t bring someone else in we’re leaving ourselves with one attacker we can bring on in games. If one of our forwards get injured at some point, we’ll pretty much have nothing to come off the bench.

Sorry but this is madness imo.

So we have only 3 centre backs and 2 strikers upfront for a team pushing for 3rd. Not good enough.

BS44

If Doidge runs over Nisbet's foot in the car park before heading to Paisley tomorrow, and then manages to sprain his own ankle as he leaps from his car to see if his team mate is okay then we are really ****ed

01-02-2021, 09:18 PM
I agree, no point rejecting £3m bids if you are not going to play him. He had his rest on Saturday.

He's been invisible for the last 2 months bar his goal v Celtic. Not sure why Doidge or anyone else would lose their place after Sat?

Assuming nothing happens tonight it's a massive 3 months for the guy - I really hope he rises to the challenge.

01-02-2021, 09:18 PM

Correct, 12 league games left why would you not start your star £3m rated striker? Let him show what he’s got in his few remaining games with the club.

01-02-2021, 09:19 PM
➡️Hearts winger joins Motherwell

Jordan Roberts has completed a loan move to Motherwell until the end of the season.

Think we've been linked with Graham for the last 4/5 windows. I think he's had some bad injuries

He’s not kicked a ball for them this spell (or the last one) although he’s always up against it there due to being a Newcastle fan.

Weird he’s signed for them twice, been terrible and unpopular twice.

But with regards to the rest of the season? Still a lot of football to be played, 3rd place to go for, tough matches in the top 6, an injury to one of our strikers means us either playing with 1 up front or going 2 up top without a senior striker to bring on off the bench

Yeah I've been saying all season we could do with another - although at this point it is not likely to make a huge difference if we are going to be moving to the 3 in midfield, wing backs and 1 real striker.

I hope we do add one, always happy to have new signings, but my point was that if we are going to be using it to make a complaint tomorrow night if we lose then it isn't hugely valid.

01-02-2021, 09:21 PM
***** man. Really thought a forward would come in.

01-02-2021, 09:22 PM
Yeah I've been saying all season we could do with another - although at this point it is not likely to make a huge difference if we are going to be moving to the 3 in midfield, wing backs and 1 real striker.

I hope we do add one, always happy to have new signings, but my point was that if we are going to be using it to make a complaint tomorrow night if we lose then it isn't hugely valid.

Na probably not an excuse for tomorrow night if we get beat but could well be an excuse if we miss out on 3rd or 4th come the end of the season.

Important not to forget the squad we have available to us is the same squad that was beat 3-0 at Hampden from st J. I think the nisbet situation has masked that completely

01-02-2021, 09:23 PM
Really surprised that SDG hasn't gone out on loan.

01-02-2021, 09:24 PM

Why is the criticism not valid tomorrow night?

What happens if we need a forward to come off the bench and make an impact, Nisbet doesn’t make the impact we are hoping for, is that it? We are giving ourselves one good attacking option off the bench?!

You don’t finish 3rd with poor options like that off the suns bench. That criticism is as valid tomorrow night as it is the rest of the season.

01-02-2021, 09:24 PM
He's been invisible for the last 2 months bar his goal v Celtic. Not sure why Doidge or anyone else would lose their place after Sat?

Assuming nothing happens tonight it's a massive 3 months for the guy - I really hope he rises to the challenge.

In the last 7 weeks, apart from his equaliser against Celtc, Kevin also scored against Hamilton away & a superb winner against St Mirren. Not really invisible.

Magpie
01-02-2021, 09:25 PM
No signings for Livingston? I thought they may have brought another one in to push for top four.

01-02-2021, 09:25 PM
We aren’t signing another striker are we?

I don’t think that’s good enough tbh

Tam McManus has tweeted we tried to get someone in but it didn't come off.

Nisbet, Doidge and Boyle and if any get injured then look to the free agent market is probably the plan.

01-02-2021, 09:26 PM
Did we use up all our cash in the summer?! Come on hibs another striker please!

Stanton Spence
Still no tweet from hibs saying we have finished business but clutching at straws me thinks
Can't believe we let gullan go on loan

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Why is the criticism not valid tomorrow night?

What happens if we need a forward to come off the bench and make an impact, Nisbet doesn’t make the impact we are hoping for, is that it? We are giving ourselves one good attacking option off the bench?!

You don’t finish 3rd with poor options like that off the suns bench. That criticism is as valid tomorrow night as it is the rest of the season.Josh O'connor

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Hibeesforever
Really surprised that SDG hasn't gone out on loan.

A very inconsistent squad, we are challenging for third and possibly second if we go on a run....Nisbet has pressure on him to perform...secure a Scotland place and get a move that he wants...

01-02-2021, 09:27 PM
Did we use up all our cash in the summer?! Come on hibs another striker please!We signed 2 fairly expensive players this window in Irvine and Cadden

As well as seemingly keeping two of our most valued assets is Nisbet and Porteous

01-02-2021, 09:28 PM
Let’s not forget the two senior strikers we do have, one of them has scored 6 in 30 games & misses at least one great chance every game & the other striker doesn’t even want to be here.

In the last 7 weeks, apart from his equaliser against Celtc, Kevin also scored against Hamilton away & a superb winner against St Mirren. Not really invisible.

It's 1 goal in 8 games. If you're happy with his form and think he should just come back after the team played well on Sat that's ok. I disagree, but I'm really glad he's staying and am desperate for him to catch fire again.

I think we're all looking to see how he reacts. Personally I'm not sure how it'll go and think Hibs made an exceptionally brave decision to reject the offers we got.

Josh O'connor

There are plenty before we get to Josh.

01-02-2021, 09:29 PM
There are plenty before we get to Josh.Isn't he now training with the first team?

01-02-2021, 09:29 PM
Let’s not forget the two senior strikers we do have, one of them has scored 6 in 30 games & misses at least one great chance every game & the other striker doesn’t even want to be here.

How many times do you have to say the same thing?

Magpie
01-02-2021, 09:30 PM
Hopefully we get good news on Newell and Marciano’s contract in the near future. I think it should be a priority to get them two and Irvine signed up for at least another 2 years.

Did we use up all our cash in the summer?! Come on hibs another striker please!

Irvine and Cadden won't be on buttons

AL-Qaholik
Insanity if this is our squad for the rest of the season.
3 centre halves and 2 strikers, one of whom doesn’t want to play for us.
Aberdeen will be laughing their wooly erchies off.

Think that’s the first time I’ve made that point to be honest

Does it make it any less valid?

greenflyer
01-02-2021, 09:31 PM
What about unsigned players. There seems to be some about.

It's 1 goal in 8 games. If you're happy with his form and think he should just come back after the team played well on Sat that's ok. I disagree, but I'm really glad he's staying and am desperate for him to catch fire again.

I think we're all looking to see how he reacts. Personally I'm not sure how it'll go and think Hibs made an exceptionally brave decision to reject the offers we got.

Isn't it 2 in the last 8

We’ve got 4 centre halfs.

01-02-2021, 09:32 PM
Seems a massive gamble letting Gullan go and now dealing with by all accounts a majorly p##### off Nisbet..be serious questions asked if this costs us a Euro place at end of season. I hope Nisbet rises to challenge and we need Boyle and Doidge to up their games massively too to what we've had from them so far this season ...very strange not to have signed another striker imo

Aberdeen will be laughing their wooly erchies off.Lose there main striker and replace with short term loans

Sure hibs.net would be in meltdown if we done that with Nisbet

Also lost another main player in Scott Wright

I think over the whole window we have improved more than they have

Irvine and Cadden will definately have a massive influence on our side

We've strengthened in this window and they haven't so no idea what they're laughing about?

Nisbet does want to play for us anyway. Just wants to play for quadruple his salary a bit more.

01-02-2021, 09:33 PM
Curtis Main available

01-02-2021, 09:34 PM
Seems a massive gamble letting Gullan go and now dealing with by all accounts a majorly p##### off Nisbet..be serious questions asked if this costs us a Euro place at end of season. I hope Nisbet rises to challenge and we need Boyle and Doidge to up their games massively too to what we've had from them so far this season ...very strange not to have signed another striker imo

It’s all okay there’s only 12 games left and 10 after the weekend. That’s how to use that excuse isn’t it?

The games left will decide wether or not this seasons been successful or a failure. They could also decide wether or not Jack Ross keeps his job.

Nisbet was potentially going to get the type of money that set him up for life. Doesn’t mean he’s not going to apply himself going forward now that he’s not got it.

Isn't he now training with the first team?

We have Ryan Shanley back as the other leagues are on hold, Josh Currie, Connor Young. All young boys that can do a job if we are pushed. I'd still have liked another experienced head in though.

I think the whole thing about Nisbet being pissed off is being over egged.

Still plenty motivation for him to do well between now and the end of the season, whether he’s happy or not.

Curtis Main availableHe's not.

Signed for shrewsbury

01-02-2021, 09:35 PM
Curtis Main released from Aberdeen 😁😁

Joins Shrewsbury

That's sone turn around of strikers

Still no tweet from hibs saying we have finished business but clutching at straws me thinks
Can't believe we let gullan go on loan

Why? We've hardly used him in 26 league games so what makes you think he would have played much in the last 12.

He's been put out on loan because he's not good enough at this moment in time.

There will be a few free agents that could do a job after getting released this window, we may pick one up after tonight.

We’ve got 4 centre halfs.

It also looks like Boyle will be utilised as a striker.

I'd have rather seen another striker come in but I'm not too upset that we didn't. We've a strong squad with plenty options to choose from in terms of formations and lineups.

01-02-2021, 09:36 PM

According to online "journalists" who are desperate for clicks and are fed info by agents who feed them whatever BS they think will help them get a deal.

We have Ryan Shanley back as the other leagues are on hold, Josh Currie, Connor Young. All young boys that can do a job if we are pushed. I'd still have liked another experienced head in though.

Shanleys registration will be with Kelty Hearts though.

We can’t just play him until they start back up again.

It’s all okay there’s only 12 games left and 10 after the weekend. That’s how to use that excuse isn’t it?

The games left will decide wether or not this seasons been successful or a failure. They could also decide wether or not Jack Ross keeps his job.We lost a young striker who wasn't doing much and replaced his place with Martin Boyle, who's place we have replaced by double MotM Chris Cadden

They still have the slowest back 3 in the league.

How have we got on against them...

01-02-2021, 09:37 PM
Talk about us taking a risk with strikers. Aberdeen going with the three they are going with must fall in to that racket as well?

01-02-2021, 09:37 PM

I didn't say I was happy with his form. I just pointed out your comment that he had been invisible for the last 2 months was inaccurate. Without checking I suspect he scored more than Christian in that period.

01-02-2021, 09:38 PM
Curtis Main released from Aberdeen [emoji16][emoji16]

Joins Shrewsbury

That's sone turn around of strikers

So Aberdeen are going to be relying solely on 3 loanees up front if Kamberi does go there? Interesting. Be some rebuilding job in the summer that.

01-02-2021, 09:38 PM
Talk about us taking a risk with strikers. Aberdeen going with the three they are going with must fall in to that racket as well?Kamberi, Hornby, C Hendry

Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle

01-02-2021, 09:39 PM
Shanleys registration will be with Kelty Hearts though.

We can’t just play him until they start back up again.

We'd bring him back if we had to. Hopefully it wont come to that.

We lost a young striker who wasn't doing much and replaced his place with Martin Boyle, who's place we have replaced by double MotM Chris Cadden

When Boyle was played upfront before now it’s been repeatedly said that he’s no good up top. I reckon he’s wasted upfront and you can tell it’s not his natural position. When we’re chasing 3rd place we shouldn’t be having to potentially rely on playing our best winger as a striker

Why? We've hardly used him in 26 league games so what makes you think he would have played much in the last 12.

There will be a few free agents that could do a job after getting released this window, we may pick one up after tonight.

We’ve looked so weak off the bench this season though Scoopy, if arise didn’t fancy him to impact games we needed to replace him with someone who would, not just let him go.

MagicSwirlingShip
Kamberi, Hornby, C Hendry

Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle

We welcome the run in

01-02-2021, 09:40 PM

Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle

Yup. A St Johnstone reserve, a guy who hasn't played much senior football and Flo Kamberi. Very uninspiring.

We welcome the run in

They’ll probably see us as another easy 3 points to be honest. Almost guaranteed

Stanton Spence

There will be a few free agents that could do a job after getting released this window, we may pick one up after tonight.And I'd hope that we didn't have to rely on him but he was an option from the bench if ever Doidge or Nisbet get a bad injury, now that option is now gone

01-02-2021, 09:41 PM
By my reckoning Hibs have given up on 3rd,Aberdeen have to be favourites to hold onto that, Hibs need to make sure Livingston stay in 5th. Tomorrow's game will tell us a lot.

When Boyle was played upfront before now it’s been repeatedly said that he’s no good up top. I reckon he’s wasted upfront and you can tell it’s not his natural position. When we’re chasing 3rd place we shouldn’t be having to potentially rely on playing our best winger as a strikerCadden offered more than Martin has out wide past 2 games and Boyle has 1 in 2 [emoji106][emoji106]

I'm not sure I'd prefer Aberdeen front line to be honest

There are plenty before we get to Josh.

Who are they?

Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle

And Murphy.

Magpie

Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle

Connor McLennan and Niall McGinn?

01-02-2021, 09:42 PM
We’ve looked so weak off the bench this season though Scoopy, if arise didn’t fancy him to impact games we needed to replace him with someone who would, not just let him go.

I reckon Cadden is the replacement allowing Boyle to play up top without really weakening the right hand side.

I think the squad is stronger than at the start of the window.

They’ll probably see us as another easy 3 points to be honest. Almost guaranteed. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210201/ed418d7ba50f06fc4220174c393396cb.jpg

I agree, don’t think Gullan is good enough (maybe given time) but I definitely didn’t think we would have let him go with so few strikers at the club abs no one coming in (so far). I also think Nesbit will be either brilliant or terrible due to the car crash of a deadline day. We will see.

They’ll probably see us as another easy 3 points to be honest. Almost guaranteed

Would you prefer their front 3 to what we have available?

When Boyle was played upfront before now it’s been repeatedly said that he’s no good up top. I reckon he’s wasted upfront and you can tell it’s not his natural position. When we’re chasing 3rd place we shouldn’t be having to potentially rely on playing our best winger as a striker

He scored in our last game playing up front.

And Murphy.

They’ve got Hedges, McGinn and Kennedy too

By my reckoning Hibs have given up on 3rd,Aberdeen have to be favourites to hold onto that, Hibs need to make sure Livingston stay in 5th. Tomorrow's game will tell us a lot.

Based on?

In what way have we given up on third? Don’t see anything in that Aberdeen team that would make them favourites at all for third.

01-02-2021, 09:43 PM
Would you prefer their front 3 to what we have available?

Not sure what that has to do with the point I’ve made?

They’ve beat us twice already without us really laying a glove on them. They’ll fancy themselves to do it again on Saturday

01-02-2021, 09:43 PM
Very little to suggest Nisbet is raging or will down tools. Hibs would not have kept him if he was really pushing for it or causing trouble.

01-02-2021, 09:44 PM

Hedges is their best player i think

01-02-2021, 09:45 PM
Not sure what that has to do with the point I’ve made?

They’ve beat us twice already without us really laying a glove on them. They’ll fancy themselves to do it again on Saturday

Us not signing a striker is all you’ve went on about on this thread so just wondered if you would prefer their front players to ours

They are one point ahead of us no? Why in world would we have given up?

Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle

Yeah but if we’re using a winger as a forward for us then they could do the same.

In an attacking sense they’ve also got Mcginn, Hedges, Hayes, Kennedy and McLennan

We’ve got Murphy who isn’t fit enough and that’s it.

How have we got on against them...

McKenna played in the 1st game against us. The fact we failed to take advantage doesn't alter the fact they have a ponderous back 3. Ross C did take advantage.

Your reckoning is wrong. Why are Aberdeen favourites? Because they signed a load of forwards who wouldn't get near our side? Okay then. We're closer to Aberdeen than Livi are to us.

roo62
01-02-2021, 09:46 PM

Jackson Irvine, Scott Allan ??

They’ve got Hedges, McGinn and Kennedy too

Well if we’re going down that route we’ve also got Allan, Cadden and Wright.

Us not signing a striker is all you’ve went on about on this thread so just wondered if you would prefer their front players to ours

But even then, us not signing a striker doesn’t really have anything to do with wether or not I prefer our front players to there’s, which I do.

That doesn’t mean I can’t be unhappy that we never brought another out and out striker in though?

Aye rejecting £3million quid for Nisbet and bringing in Cadden and Irvine.. it's hard not to notice we've raised the white flag to the team one point ahead of us who've had to bring in 3 loan strikers with terrible CV's....

This place is nuts.

01-02-2021, 09:47 PM
By my reckoning Hibs have given up on 3rd,Aberdeen have to be favourites to hold onto that, Hibs need to make sure Livingston stay in 5th. Tomorrow's game will tell us a lot.We have gained 1 more point than Aberdeen over the past 6 league matches

Sure that included 3 Of games for us and 1 for them too

They have lost to Ross County and Rangers and drew with St J and Livi

3rd is far from over

1875Sean
01-02-2021, 09:48 PM
People know there I will be plenty forwards freed from plays and can sing out with the window, know we would like another body in but if there is a injury there is still options there

01-02-2021, 09:49 PM
People know there I will be plenty forwards freed from plays and can sing out with the window, know we would like another body in but if there is a injury there is still options thereAgreed!

What do you base that on and where does turning down a £3M bid fit into your reckoning?

People know there I will be plenty forwards freed from plays and can sing out with the window, know we would like another body in but if there is a injury there is still options there
Sing when you're signing you only sing when you're signing

There must be something else in the pipeline, whether that’s someone out on loan or someone in, we would’ve closed our business officially by now if not (we had confirmed it by 9pm in the summer).

Very little to suggest Nisbet is raging or will down tools. Hibs would not have kept him if he was really pushing for it or causing trouble.

I heard a rumour that, put onto a vegetarian diet, he wasn't happy that we wern't giving him the option of the burning ham today as the chef was roasting a pig and it was made even worse by him not being given 4 times the celery he wanted...at least I think that's what I heard?

01-02-2021, 09:50 PM

They can’t play up front though?

The Aberdeen players can in a front 3.

They’ve also got far more options off the bench than we do to change things if it’s not working.

They’ll be bringing people who can win matches off the bench, we don’t have enough off them.

Aye rejecting £3million quid for Nisbet and bringing in Cadden and Irvine.. it's hard not to notice we've raised the white flag to the team one point ahead of us who've had to bring in 3 loan strikers with terrible CV's....

This place is nuts.

Sioux
But even then, us not signing a striker doesn’t really have anything to do with wether or not I prefer our front players to there’s, which I do.

That doesn’t mean I can’t be unhappy that we never brought another out and out striker in though?

You like to be unhappy about virtually everything Hibs do.

01-02-2021, 09:51 PM

They’ve also got far more options off the bench than we do to change things if it’s not working.

They’ll be bringing people who can win matches off the bench, we don’t have enough off them.I thought our bench looked unusually strong on the weekend

They’ll be bringing people who can win matches off the bench, we don’t have enough off them.

They had McLennan and Hedges on Saturday and they were woeful. There’s a reason they’ve went and got loads of strikers in tonight.

If Camden’s recent performances are anything to go by, Boyle’s not our best winger any more.

Magpie
Jackson Irvine, Scott Allan ??

They are not strikers.

Some folk aren't happy unless they've got something to be unhappy about.

roo62
01-02-2021, 09:52 PM

...and Doig and Irvine. We can match up now with Aberdeen. They are in a fight for 3rd no question.

I thought our bench looked unusually strong on the weekend

Yeah we have employed Ian Black as our new handyman

He has a point tbf it’s a concern. Plans should have been in place long ago to bring a forward in come January and instead we lose one. Gullan must be done at Hibs too which is disappointing.

Martin Boyle has scored 81 goals in his career. There’s no question that he can play up front.

01-02-2021, 09:53 PM
He has a point tbf it’s a concern. Plans should have been in place long ago to bring a forward in come January and instead we lose one. Gullan must be done at Hibs too which is disappointing.But we decided to replace Jamie Gullane with Martin Boyle..... I think?

01-02-2021, 09:55 PM
If nothing changes between now and midnight then we'll come out of the window stronger than we went into it.

roo62
[QaUOTE=Magpie;6449563]They are not strikers.[/QUOTE
I agree but they can score goals.We have a good squad capable of giving Aberdeen a run for 3rd.Aberdeen don't score too many goals so I am not fearful whatever Aberdeen names you throw out there.

What time does the window slam shut? 12?

01-02-2021, 09:56 PM
I like our new signings and am happy enough with who has departed.
I think we could do with another striker but looks like that ain't happening.
Transfer windows are 99% perception. Everyone now thinks Aberdeen have had a good one and we haven't because they had to do a lot of stuff on deadline day.
If you rationalise it the opposite is true. We got what we wanted and kept KN while they look like signing 3 strikers of which Hornby is the only one they would have brought in given time.

If nothing changes between now and midnight then we'll come out of the window stronger than we went into it.

Correct

Not at all. I’m happy when there’s something to be happy about. I was happy about the way we went about our win on Saturday. Well earned 3 points.

I’m happy we rejected Birmingham’s offer for Nisbet because we didn’t like the amount offered. I’m happy we never felt bullied into accepting it after he handed in his transfer request.

I’m unhappy he decided to hand one in or that he allowed his agent to decide that was the best course of action.

I’m unhappy that we’ve decided not to bring in another striker

It’s all about balance. Because I’m unhappy about something the clubs decided not to do doesn’t mean I can’t be happy about things the club has done. I was pretty vocal in my support for hibs rejecting Birmingham but because I’m seen as a negative poster people only tend to focus on anything I say that’s deemed negative by the more positive posters.

01-02-2021, 09:57 PM
There's no guarantee that Nisbet's going to rediscover his early season scoring form, but had he been sold and Hibs season collapsed the fans wouldnt look too far for the reason why.

Keeping the fans onside undr the current circumstances is essential as the club will be needing their money in the coming months.

Very good point - people carping on about "missing out" on 2 or 3 million are forgetting about the kick in bollox such a move would be to the very life blood of the club - the ST holders and other Hibs fans putting their hands in their pockets to keep their club afloat.

We have no need to sell Nisbet - the club is debt free and he is barely in the door. So what's the hurry???

Magpie
01-02-2021, 09:58 PM
[QaUOTE=Magpie;6449563]They are not strikers.[/QUOTE
I agree but they can score goals.We have a good squad capable of giving Aberdeen a run for 3rd.Aberdeen don't score too many goals so I am not fearful whatever Aberdeen names you throw out there.

We have just moved on Mallan who has been one of our top goal scorers since he arrived too. I really like Irvine and I hope Magennis can get over his injuries and show his quality too. We know how good Allan is, I just hope he hasn’t lost any quality after his lengthy spell out.

Also FWIW Aberdeen have only scored 4 goals less than us in the league this season playing a game less.

What time does the window slam shut? 12?

12 here, 11 England

Martin Boyle has scored 81 goals in his career. There’s no question that he can play up front.

Rogerio Ceni scored over 130. I wouldn't want him up front. Boyle is not a striker. He has rarely played well there for us. Ideally we do need another forward but us not getting one doesn't mean we have given up on 3rd like some think. We can effectively play 1 or 2 strikers, with Murphy Boyle and Allan supporting. There are options.

01-02-2021, 09:59 PM
2 strikers 😂

01-02-2021, 09:59 PM
Have Hibs releases the press conference for tomorrow nights game yet?

01-02-2021, 10:00 PM
I wish we had a "like" button. This post would garner a lot, I think.I think we should send it into the Daily Rangers sports letter pages as an official representation of Hibernian supporters. Make it a thread starter and a sticky?

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

01-02-2021, 10:01 PM

Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle

Boyle isn’t a striker.

sean04
01-02-2021, 10:03 PM
Rangers fans saying Nesbit to them🙈

But we decided to replace Jamie Gullane with Martin Boyle..... I think?

Have we signed a new Martin Boyle or is the same one that doesn’t perform that well at all when he’s required in emergency to play up top?

it'll be fine stush EMA non-employer

As other folk have said we have Cadden as wide right with Murphy and Drey able to play wide left. We have a choice of Doidge, KN and Boyle upfront and can play 1 or 2 upfront or fully load with a three. We have Irvine in and Allan making a comeback. Magennis getting fit to. So plenty of options. Good to move away from loans and building for medium term.

01-02-2021, 10:04 PM

No chance we sell to them this late and no chance they need him either.

hibsboy69
01-02-2021, 10:04 PM

You took the words out of my mouth !

Magpie
01-02-2021, 10:05 PM
Where’s Charleston Battery with the prime Raul?

Boyle isn’t a striker.

He’s got more league goals playing as a striker, in the last 72 hours, than Aberdeen’s new three have between them all season though.

I also agree that Boyle is a much better winger by the way. But can you imagine the reaction if we were signing someone not getting a game for St Johnstone and someone with less than 20 senior appearances?

davhibby

Callum Hendry is not going to win them matches, he’s behind Stevie May in the pecking order at St Johnstone. There’s definitely something to be said about us being light up top but Aberdeen don’t have a better squad than us

Have we signed a new Martin Boyle or is the same one that doesn’t perform that well at all when he’s required in emergency to play up top?Good move or not is yet to be determined but it appears to be our strategy

I'd rather have Boyle coming from the bench than Gullan tho to be honest, regardless where he plays

He didn't do toobadly on the weekend

01-02-2021, 10:06 PM
it'll be fine stush EMA non-employer

Could do with one upfront

roo62
01-02-2021, 10:06 PM
Boyle isn’t a striker.

He scores goals tho...unlike Kamberi...lol

01-02-2021, 10:07 PM
Callum Hendry is not going to win them matches, he’s behind Stevie May in the pecking order at St Johnstone. There’s definitely something to be said about us being light up top but Aberdeen don’t have a better squad than usOh well.. Now know exactly what's happening on the weekend....

01-02-2021, 10:08 PM
Some folk aren't happy unless they've got something to be unhappy about.

Distinctly unhappy about this comment.

01-02-2021, 10:08 PM
📝Nolan joins Motherwell

Republic of Ireland international defender Eddie Nolan has joined Motherwell on loan from Crewe Alexandra until the end of the season

01-02-2021, 10:09 PM
Rogerio Ceni scored over 130. I wouldn't want him up front. Boyle is not a striker. He has rarely played well there for us. Ideally we do need another forward but us not getting one doesn't mean we have given up on 3rd like some think. We can effectively play 1 or 2 strikers, with Murphy Boyle and Allan supporting. There are options.

Any need for that flippant pish? Boyle started his career as a centre forward, and remains a forward player to this day.

Wherever Boyle plays there will always be others who don’t think it’s his best position. He is perfectly capable up front.

Agree that we have plenty of options.

He’s got more league goals playing as a striker, in the last 72 hours, than Aberdeen’s new three have between them all season though.

I also agree that Boyle is a much better winger by the way. But can you imagine the reaction if we were signing someone not getting a game for St Johnstone and someone with less than 20 senior appearances?

Can you imagine the reaction if we were signing Kamberi?

Distinctly unhappy about this comment.

Glad I could cheer you up. 😀

Andymac85
BBC suggesting we might not be finished.

01-02-2021, 10:10 PM
Callum Hendry is not going to win them matches, he’s behind Stevie May in the pecking order at St Johnstone. There’s definitely something to be said about us being light up top but Aberdeen don’t have a better squad than us

I’ll remind you of that tomorrow night when we’re chasing the game and bring on Stephen Mcginn and Lewis Stevenson off the bench again 😉

We’ve not come from behind to win a league match this season, the poor bench we’ve got in an attacking sense has been a factor in that IMO.

I’m really surprised the club hasn’t addressed that. We needed a different kind of forward that could come on and change the game, we’ve not got that and I think it’ll cost us points.

Stokesy's on fire
01-02-2021, 10:11 PM

I agree the players they have signed this window are a sure sign of desperation.

Very good point - people carping on about "missing out" on 2 or 3 million are forgetting about the kick in bollox such a move would be to the very life blood of the club - the ST holders and other Hibs fans putting their hands in their pockets to keep their club afloat.

We have no need to sell Nisbet - the club is debt free and he is barely in the door. So what's the hurry???

I think they are also missing that this £3m was likely to have consisted of a fair proportion of smoke and mirrors. Very little up front and the remainder split between instalments and reliant on appearances, goals and maybe even promotion.
Not basing that on any factual source other than the true value of reported fees is seldom what the press tell us

FFS I’ve just spent the last hour having a tantrum.

They cannae sign anyone now.

01-02-2021, 10:12 PM

🤣

FFS I’ve just spent the last hour having a tantrum.

They cannae sign anyone now.It's the hope that kills ye

ffs i’ve just spent the last hour having a tantrum.

They cannae sign anyone now.

aye same here

thats the whole thing knackered

Any need for that flippant pish? Boyle started his career as a centre forward, and remains a forward player to this day.

Wherever Boyle plays there will always be others who don’t think it’s his best position. He is perfectly capable up front.

Agree that we have plenty of options.

I've never seen anyone disagree with right wing being boyles best position. He is significantly better there than anywhere else. A decent option up front but nothing more. Doidge and Nisbet have very good injury records so hopefully not required often.

Boyle isn’t a striker.

Yeah, he’s not a striker who has a goal per game ratio on par with, or better, than Aberdeen’s new ‘strikers’. I’d take Boyle partnering Nisbet or Doidge up front over any of that 3!

Why who else are we gonna get rid of? 😂

BegbieHSC
01-02-2021, 10:13 PM

Deluded sticky buns talking utter pish for no reason other than to get likes on the Follow Follow bigot blog

01-02-2021, 10:13 PM

Maybe Rab C 🤣