View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2020-21
02-02-2021, 12:00 AM
Kamberi can play a bit when hes in the mood but hes become a bit of a journeyman and personally if he was available to us I wouldn't have taken him regardless of any ill feeling fans have for him.
Hendry has scored 10 league goals in 60 odd league appearances (one of those goals was in a loan spell at Brechin)
Hornby has played 18 professional matches most of which were in Belgium first division A.
With Cosgrove and Wright both moving on I think Aberdeen have had a bad window and the players they have brought in are no where the quality of the players who have left.
I wouldn’t be happy if that was our window, but I wouldn’t say it’s bad as yet, it’s a huge risk though. If it comes off and they score even some goals then they’ll finish third. However, that’s a massive IF, those players could easily hold their previous form and they would be in a huge battle for top 4 never mind 3rd.
02-02-2021, 12:07 AM
Still no tweet......
Maybe think it’s too late and will announce someone/free agent first thing?
02-02-2021, 12:08 AM
Tbf I don’t think I said they had quality attacking options.
You could also say I never included McCrorie, Hayes and Campbell in the Aberdeen team to play in defence.
Of course you can’t build a squad entirely on what ifs but to me the balance of the Aberdeen team is better, and so it should be with the amount of time Mccinnes has been there. Maybe the same amount of defenders but we have 3 players that can be classed as right back and 3 left backs.
You just said they were full of quality so I assumed that would have included their attacking options, given it’s a direct comparison to us and that’s what everybody is questioning tonight.
I don’t think the balance of the squads looks terribly different to be honest. They lost McKenna this season as well as the two that have just left, I think they are weakening. We need to go and take advantage of that. We’ve already wasted some good opportunities this year, this is another good opportunity for me.
Still no tweet......
Maybe think it’s too late and will announce someone/free agent first thing?
Not from an official source but it does say the club have confirmed it.
https://twitter.com/EdLiveSport/status/1356389453032521746?s=19
No more business "tonight". So you never know, we might still get a free agent like you say. Not going to get my hopes up though. I'm happy enough that we've not lost Nisbet or Porteous.
02-02-2021, 12:23 AM
TWELVE GAMES
12 12 12 12 12 12 12
Cadden strengths right hand side releasing Boyle as optional striker. Scott Allan back, Daz stepping up.
I think our squad will cope.
Agree completely when you highlight the number of games left.
02-02-2021, 05:06 AM
Can’t wait for the posts when Doidge is suspended and Nisbet injured/not trying a leg and we are forced to play Boyle up front on his own.
02-02-2021, 05:15 AM
Can’t wait for the posts when Doidge is suspended and Nisbet injured/not trying a leg and we are forced to play Boyle up front on his own.
and he scores a hatrick to ram it up the doubters 😊
02-02-2021, 05:52 AM
Before the window, we needed a centre half and a striker. Yes, Gogic played centre half for Hamilton at times, but not very well. We ended it bringing in no centre half and actually a striker down from the start. Mismanagement really.
Looking at the two squads, Aberdeen have the stronger. I know some think we have good players, but we really don't have the right balance or style of play to suit our team.
02-02-2021, 05:53 AM
People worried about our options from the bench.... tonight we’ll likely have Nisbet, Allan and Magennis to call on to change the game. Not bad at all.
I do think Calum Hendry is one with potential. In the right circumstances he could become a real player, but he wouldn’t get that opportunity here as we already have better players.
Glad to see Gullan go out and get more game time.
02-02-2021, 06:11 AM
Before the window, we needed a centre half and a striker. Yes, Gogic played centre half for Hamilton at times, but not very well. We ended it bringing in no centre half and actually a striker down from the start. Mismanagement really.
Looking at the two squads, Aberdeen have the stronger. I know some think we have good players, but we really don't have the right balance or style of play to suit our team.
On the other hand Daz has come in and looked more than capable of playing so no need for a centre half.
We have also brought in better than we had in Irvine, Cadden and Macey.
We also have Scott Allan back.
The sheep have lost 2 first team players and replaced them with pretty much untried and untested players - Kamberi maybe the exception however we all know what he’s like.
As much as we all love to see players arrive at Easter Road perhaps we need to look at this window slightly differently and perhaps be grateful to the club for not cashing in on 2 of our players and boosting the bank balance to the tune of 4m.
02-02-2021, 06:14 AM
Is it over? Not seen anything from Hibs.
02-02-2021, 06:16 AM
The sad thing about that is you probably hope that happens.
02-02-2021, 06:36 AM
Then we would sign someone on loan.
02-02-2021, 06:40 AM
The sad thing about that is you probably hope that happens.
Aye I’m absolutely desperate for it to happen. Can’t wait.
02-02-2021, 06:43 AM
Did you miss the whole bit about the transfer window closing yesterday?
02-02-2021, 06:47 AM
Well aren’t you a dazzling little ray of sunshine...
02-02-2021, 06:48 AM
Am I right in thinking you can still sign unattached players?
02-02-2021, 06:52 AM
Yeah. No loans though thats only diddy clubs in diddy leagues.
02-02-2021, 07:02 AM
Yeah as long as they were unattached when the window closed.
I’m surprised we’ve finished the window with even less strikers than we had before. Leaves us with next to nothing to change a game seeing as Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet will probably start most weeks and nobody else can play up top.
I presume Josh O’Connor is nowhere near ready?
02-02-2021, 07:05 AM
Florian Kamberi obviously worried that some Hibs fans are still ambivalent towards him. I bet he will put a real shift in if he plays against us.
Saint Hibee
02-02-2021, 07:09 AM
Genuine question: what is it that people are seeing in Callum Hendry? His goal record is poor and he’s certainly never stood out when I’ve seen him play. Am I missing something?
02-02-2021, 07:10 AM
Interesting point re Kamberi. Apparently he needs to get a work permit this time round due to Brexit, despite being "Swiss", as UK is now out of the Freedom of Movement area. His international qualification is based on Kosovan citizenship now and he may not get rubber stamped. Cannot play against Livvy and may not get Home Office clearance in time for our game against sheep at the weekend.
Crunchie
02-02-2021, 07:11 AM
If that was to happen I'd imagine we'd be savvy enough to have a clause in place to recall Gullan.
02-02-2021, 07:12 AM
I’m surprised we’ve finished the window with even less strikers than we had before. Leaves us with next to nothing to change a game seeing as Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet will probably start most weeks and nobody else can play up top.
In the same way we sometimes use McGinn in a back 3 as a centre half, and in a back 4 at right back. If Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet are on and we need to change it, Boyle can go up front and someone else can play on the right of midfield.
I’d love us to have 3 quality options as striker, but when we’re watching the budget for obvious reasons, we can’t do that. I’m happier to use Boyle up front than bring in a young unproven striker on loan from someone else who turns out to offer no more than Gullan has.
02-02-2021, 07:12 AM
If that was to happen I'd imagine we'd be savvy enough to have a clause in place to recall Gullan.
Im not sure that’s possible outwith transfer windows?
02-02-2021, 07:13 AM
Let’s not forget the two senior strikers we do have, one of them has scored 6 in 30 games & misses at least one great chance every game & the other striker doesn’t even want to be here.
I dont think Hibs are for you, have you tried a more mundane sport like dominoes?
02-02-2021, 07:14 AM
Still waiting on you providing the evidence that I said the players were pish.
02-02-2021, 07:14 AM
Interesting point re Kamberi. Apparently he needs to get a work permit this time round due to Brexit, despite being "Swiss", as UK is now out of the Freedom of Movement area. His international qualification is based on Kosovan citizenship now and he may not get rubber stamped. Cannot play against Livvy and may not get Home Office clearance in time for our game against sheep at the weekend.
That would be a shame. :greengrin
02-02-2021, 07:15 AM
Didn’t I read yesterday that the JRG had secured the same rights as we had previously for players signing until the summer? May have totally made that up but sure a journo tweeted it yesterday.
02-02-2021, 07:15 AM
Think you are right though pretty sure Hearts did it knowing they wouldn't be punished by authorities few years back
02-02-2021, 07:17 AM
Yeah as long as they were unattached when the window closed.
I presume Josh O’Connor is nowhere near ready?
I hope not. The day Josh plays for hibs it will officially me be considered old! 🤣 I mind being about 16/17 and him being a baby in the crowd at Dunfermline.
02-02-2021, 07:17 AM
There will be another striker signed, there are still options available to Hibs.
We’ve definitely finished this window with a stronger squad. We are light in forwards but like I said that can still be resolved. I’m happy with the business we’ve done, Irving’s brought a bit of muscle into midfield, Cadden is looking good and is versatile, Macey is a good back up to Ofir. A bit disappointed Mallan left but he really wasn’t used enough to justify a first team salary. Gullen going on loan will be good for him and us in the long run.
02-02-2021, 07:20 AM
Genuine question: what is it that people are seeing in Callum Hendry? His goal record is poor and he’s certainly never stood out when I’ve seen him play. Am I missing something?
Nothing, it’s just that he’s signed for the sheep.
If we’d come out of the window selling a player for a couple of million a well as losing our best player this season to the team we hate most, and replaced them with the players they have, folk would be going mental.
I wanted a striker in but accept that our squad is stronger than it was at the start of the window. I don’t think we’re penny pinching (or Nisbet would be away). Up to Ross to get them firing for these last 12 games now. Real chance of going for third but that needs to start tonight.
02-02-2021, 07:26 AM
No you're not.
If we had signed him posters would have been furious as he is rubbish.
Same posters that now think he is brilliant because he has went to Aberdeen.
From what I can gather his biggest attribute is he is a pest to defenders as he's non stop.
02-02-2021, 07:30 AM
No you're not.
From what I can gather his biggest attribute is he is a pest to defenders as he's non stop.
I’m consistent I would have been furious and a waste because he’s rubbish.
I’m delighted he’s away up north because he’s rubbish.
02-02-2021, 07:31 AM
We are 1 point behind Aberdeen now that the window has closed. We have Irvine and Cadden in who with every game they play look better and better.
Scott Allan is back, now he is quality when fit, one of the best midfielders in the country.
Add in that Jack said at the weekend we have EVERY player in the squad fit, we are in fine fettle for the run in.
There is 12 games left, and we are always a couple of players short. We will be fine, it's some of the fans i worry about though, frightened of their own shadows, and worried about things that have not happened.
Mad.:rolleyes:
02-02-2021, 07:32 AM
No you're not.
He's a slower Simon Murray.
02-02-2021, 07:36 AM
We are 1 point behind Aberdeen now that the window has closed. We have Irvine and Cadden in who with every game they play look better and better.
Scott Allan is back, now he is quality when fit, one of the best midfielders in the country.
Add in that Jack said at the weekend we have EVERY player in the squad fit, we are in fine fettle for the run in.
There is 12 games left, and we are always a couple of players short. We will be fine, it's some of the fans i worry about though, frightened of their own shadows, and worried about things that have not happened.
We are also in piss poor form apart from a couple of games. Scudded off County St Johnstone and Livi and sit in fourth because of our great start.
02-02-2021, 07:38 AM
We are also in piss poor form apart from a couple of games. Scudded off County St Johnstone and Livi and sit in fourth because of our great start.
No we are not, we won our last game so are in good form.:confused:
02-02-2021, 07:41 AM
Did you miss the whole bit about the transfer window closing yesterday?
Are emergency loans not allowed any more?*
02-02-2021, 07:42 AM
TBF most people are grasping that Hibs have had a good window and are looking stronger as a squad than we were before January. It’s only a few dissenting voices who obviously prefer to take the negative angle at every opportunity.
12 games left, a full squad to choose from and the chance to finish third is a realistic one. We ‘ve hung on to our two most valuable players and a couple of soon to be out of contract players that I had suspected might leave.
02-02-2021, 07:42 AM
I’m consistent I would have been furious and a waste because he’s rubbish.
I’m delighted he’s away up north because he’s rubbish.
Excellent, you obviously don't have a mental block over Aberdeen. I wish there were more like you
02-02-2021, 07:43 AM
Are emergency loans not allowed any more?*
Nope.
We could sign unattached players but not loans.
Crunchie
02-02-2021, 07:47 AM
Not sure, but I'm sure we'll have something in place in the unlikely event we're short.
02-02-2021, 07:48 AM
We've been the 4th best team over the season, thats why we're 4th. We've won 2 and drawn 1 of the past 4 matches, with the loss a very close game with Rangers where their goalscorer should have been sent off. We are not in piss poor form.
02-02-2021, 07:52 AM
I dont think Hibs are for you, have you tried a more mundane sport like dominoes?
Plenty other posters not happy about only having two senior strikers left in the squad...hibs must not be for them either.
Are hibs only for people who pretend to be happy about everything the club does?
02-02-2021, 07:52 AM
Guess the late tweet was because we weren't done , someone might have came in with big cash for nisbet thankfully they never , he will get his big buck move in the summer if he kicks on
02-02-2021, 07:54 AM
Kamberi can play a bit when hes in the mood but hes become a bit of a journeyman and personally if he was available to us I wouldn't have taken him regardless of any ill feeling fans have for him.
Hendry has scored 10 league goals in 60 odd league appearances (one of those goals was in a loan spell at Brechin)
Hornby has played 18 professional matches most of which were in Belgium first division A.
With Cosgrove and Wright both moving on I think Aberdeen have had a bad window and the players they have brought in are no where the quality of the players who have left.
Plus they need to settle in and firm a strike partnership and fit into formation etc
02-02-2021, 07:55 AM
Plenty other posters not happy about only having two senior strikers left in the squad...hibs must not be for them either.
Are hibs only for people who pretend to be happy about everything the club does?
Of course not, everybody is entitled to their opinions.
You could try and be happy occasionally though, the last few days you have been in a foul mood:greengrin
02-02-2021, 07:57 AM
Aye I’m absolutely desperate for it to happen. Can’t wait.
Annoying that sort of comment when it comes at you isn’t it?
02-02-2021, 07:59 AM
Of course not, everybody is entitled to their opinions.
You could try and be happy occasionally though, the last few days you have been in a foul mood:greengrin
Let’s hope we manage a result tonight or I’ll really be struggling 😂
02-02-2021, 08:03 AM
Aren’t we in better form than Aberdeen? Livi, although not losing games still, have started to draw a lot.
02-02-2021, 08:04 AM
Let’s hope we manage a result tonight or I’ll really be struggling 😂
Oh I'm hoping alright. :flag::flag::flag:
02-02-2021, 08:05 AM
Guess the late tweet was because we weren't done , someone might have came in with big cash for nisbet thankfully they never , he will get his big buck move in the summer if he kicks on
Is it not more likely that we were still trying to get someone in?
02-02-2021, 08:09 AM
Were 6th in the league based on the last 6 games.
We've won 2 of our last 3 league games.
We've conceded once in 3 games.
02-02-2021, 08:10 AM
We've been the 4th best team over the season, thats why we're 4th. We've won 2 and drawn 1 of the past 4 matches, with the loss a very close game with Rangers where their goalscorer should have been sent off. We are not in piss poor form.
Yes, because of a very good start. Since that start our form has been patchy to poor with very little signs it will be turned on its head because ultimately we haven’t had the squad to deal with the course of he season and we still have a quarter to go. Let’s hope we do turn it around though.
02-02-2021, 08:14 AM
With regard to Gullan, when will he be deemed bona fide first-team material? As already discussed, his latest loan move leaves us very thin up front - and while I imagine there's a recall clause in the event of injuries it doesn't put much pressure on our only two out-and-out strikers to keep on their toes.
Is it the case that the coaching staff are not yet convinced he's got what it takes? I recall Oli Shaw knocking on the first team door for a while (like Gullan he was a standout for the youth team) and even though he did get his big chance (and did reasonably well) I personally felt he never looked quite ready/good enough for a regular first team spot.
Were 6th in the league based on the last 6 games.
We've won 2 of our last 3 league games.
We've conceded once in 3 games.
We’ve won twice since Christmas. A few scuddings in the to the bargain including humiliation in a national semi.
Yes, because of a very good start. Since that start our form has been patchy to poor with very little signs it will be turned on its head because ultimately we haven’t had the squad to deal with the course of he season and we still have a quarter to go. Let’s hope we do turn it around though.
But our form as still been better than 8 other teams in the league? We can all agree on that yeh? We've had a blip but get back on track and win more than we lose and we will be pretty good.
02-02-2021, 08:15 AM
Can’t wait for the posts when Doidge is suspended and Nisbet injured/not trying a leg and we are forced to play Boyle up front on his own.And you have the audacity to call me weird.
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Greenworld
02-02-2021, 08:15 AM
Yes, because of a very good start. Since that start our form has been patchy to poor with very little signs it will be turned on its head because ultimately we haven’t had the squad to deal with the course of he season and we still have a quarter to go. Let’s hope we do turn it around though.I'll not forget the The Ross County match . Alex Miller in the hibs TV studio before the match even started said he was concerned for the Hibs line up tactically. Explained how John Hughes sets up his teams and how right he was. That concerned me then about Jack.
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
02-02-2021, 08:18 AM
We are also in piss poor form apart from a couple of games. Scudded off County St Johnstone and Livi and sit in fourth because of our great start.Weve gathered more points than Aberdeen last 6 games
02-02-2021, 08:19 AM
But our form as still been better than 8 other teams in the league? We can all agree on that yeh? We've had a blip but get back on track and win more than we lose and we will be pretty good.
All I know is we have won twice since Christmas. That is not the form of any side going to finish 4th.
02-02-2021, 08:21 AM
I think we will sign a free agent striker.
02-02-2021, 08:22 AM
All I know is we have won twice since Christmas. That is not the form of any side going to finish 4th.Aberdeen better throw in the towel then
They have won precisely 2 games since Christmas
02-02-2021, 08:24 AM
All I know is we have won twice since Christmas. That is not the form of any side going to finish 4th.
You keep mentioning our good start and how out of form we are, how’s Aberdeen’s form holding up? We weren’t miles clear of them and they’ve caught us up, we are matching them every step. How many games have they won since Christmas? Two. One of the two of us have to finish 4th or better.
02-02-2021, 08:25 AM
When we won five games on the bounce at the start of the season did you assume we would win the league?
There are signs we are turning it around, though. We've won 2 of the last 3. I don't think having the squad has been the issue.
7 or 8 players have played nearly every league match. We simply had a dip in form. Was always going to happen. If we had not bad a dip, we would be clear in second which was never going to happen.
Aberdeen better throw in the towel then
They have won precisely 2 games since Christmas
They are in as poor as form as us then. Unfortunately they are also ahead of us in the league.
02-02-2021, 08:28 AM
Dont we have strikers out on loan that can be called back?
02-02-2021, 08:28 AM
They are in as poor as form as us then. Unfortunately they are also ahead of us in the league.
With a far harder run in (ie they’ve had it easier up until now). They’re a point ahead of us. We’re both clear in 3rd/4th, your point was winning two games since xmas won’t get you 4th.
02-02-2021, 08:29 AM
They are in as poor as form as us then. Unfortunately they are also ahead of us in the league.But are not in the form "of any side to finish fourth"
Or does that only apply to Hibs?
We could quite easily be third in our our right after the weekends games
Or we could be 7 points behind Aberdeen
Its very tight - can't see how folk can be so sure that we are going backwards
02-02-2021, 08:29 AM
I think we will sign a free agent striker.
I think so too.
02-02-2021, 08:30 AM
Nonsense.
02-02-2021, 08:30 AM
And you have the audacity to call me weird.
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Think you are getting me mixed up with someone else Callum.
02-02-2021, 08:31 AM
But are not in the form "of any side to finish fourth"
Or does that only apply to Hibs?
We could quite easily be third in our our right after the weekends games
Or we could be 7 points behind Aberdeen
Its very tight - can't see how folk can be so sure that we are going backwards
Of it continues they will probably finish fourth with us fifth and Livi third. Unfortunately for us 5th isn’t Europe.
James Stephen
02-02-2021, 08:32 AM
Piss poor form, apart from the games we are not 🤣
Caversham Green
02-02-2021, 08:33 AM
We've also added two players who are likely to improve the side that's sitting comfortably 4th and have a third coming back from a long term absence. Also, the teams one point ahead and seven points behind us play each other tonight so one or both will drop points. A win against St Mirren tonight will consolidate 4th place at the very least.
02-02-2021, 08:33 AM
Of it continues they will probably finish fourth with us fifth and Livi third. Unfortunately for us 5th isn’t Europe.
Right, but Livi are not going to keep their title winning form up, same as Hibs did not.
Seriously, you are being incredibly negative and totally ignoring facts and probability to just slam Hibs form and bum up the other sides.
02-02-2021, 08:34 AM
Dont we have strikers out on loan that can be called back?
Just Ryan Shanley who’s at Kelty, not sure what’s happening to him, as they currently aren’t playing
02-02-2021, 08:34 AM
Who are these people who are pretending they are happy with everything the club do? :confused:
02-02-2021, 08:37 AM
Just Ryan Shanley who’s at Kelty, not sure what’s happening to him, as they currently aren’t playing
Cheers, then hopefully we sign a free.
Anyone, whos free?
02-02-2021, 08:39 AM
Right, but Livi are not going to keep their title winning form up, same as Hibs did not.
Seriously, you are being incredibly negative and totally ignoring facts and probability to just slam Hibs form and bum up the other sides.
There’s nothing to suggest Livi won’t keep up good form though, which including skelping us since they have appointed their new manager.
I’m negative because our form has been so poor and I base it a lot on how unbalanced our squad is and lack of options up top and the longer the season goes suspensions and injuries I don’t feel we have the capabilities to put a consistent run of wins together which will be needed.
02-02-2021, 08:39 AM
Fifth probably would mean Europe.
With Scotland having five places next season it would take somebody outwith the top five to win the Scottish Cup to take that away.
02-02-2021, 08:42 AM
With Scotland having five places next season it would take somebody outwith the top five to win the Scottish Cup to take that away.
And with there being a good chance the cup being suspended until next season, get the champagne out now, we are in Europe? :thumbsup:
02-02-2021, 08:43 AM
Anyone, whos free?
Might be slighlty out of date but here's a list
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/spieler/vertragslosespieler/statistik/1/plus//galerie/0?ausrichtung=Sturm&spielerposition_id=14&land_id=alle&altersklasse=&wettbewerb_id=alle&seit=2021&yt0=Show
02-02-2021, 08:43 AM
Anyone, whos free?
I'm free (John Inman / Mr Humphries / Are You Being Served):greengrin
02-02-2021, 08:45 AM
There’s nothing to suggest Livi won’t keep up good form though, which including skelping us since they have appointed their new manager.
I’m negative because our form has been so poor and I base it a lot on how unbalanced our squad is and lack of options up top and the longer the season goes suspensions and injuries I don’t feel we have the capabilities to put a consistent run of wins together which will be needed.
Yes, there is everything to suggest they will not keep up the good form. No one has ever maintained form like that in this league over 25 or so games other than Celtic and Rangers. They've only won 1 of their last 4 league games and that was with a last minute goal. Livi would be on about 65 points if they had had that form all season. Never going to happen.
We have already put together a consistent run this season, have a better squad now and you simply cannot see it again? Again, our recent form is not poor. We've got more points from the last 3 matches than Livi. Win tonight and them and Aberdeen scrap another draw and we're laughing.
We have 2 brilliant strikers up front. I would not swap our strikers for anyone outside the old firm. Dunno how that is a lack of options. Lack of depth maybe but Gullan wasn't playing at all. Why would another striker suddenly get loads of games?
02-02-2021, 08:46 AM
The majority of our poor run of form was missed by Newell & Allan and we've added Irvine & Cadden - all of whom are now getting back to fitness/up to speed.
That's 4 very good midfielders - probably our weakest part of the team this season.
Maybe there's room for a bit of optimism?
02-02-2021, 08:50 AM
Think you are getting me mixed up with someone else Callum.Indeed I did.... Didn't realise we have 2 D... Doidge in the house
Apologies!
02-02-2021, 08:55 AM
If current form continues we finish above Aberdeen. Ps 5th will be Europe.
Are all the younger boys out on loan too Billy? I assumed everyone was back as the football is all off for them.
That’s reassuring then. Especially if the cup gets cancelled. It’s it Europa league or that new one?
02-02-2021, 08:56 AM
The majority of our poor run of form was missed by Newell & Allan and we've added Irvine & Cadden - all of whom are now getting back to fitness/up to speed.
That's 4 very good midfielders - probably our weakest part of the team this season.
Yep. You make fair and valid points 👍
02-02-2021, 08:56 AM
There is room for plenty of optimism.
We have added two very good players to our squad who we are already seeing a positive impact from, Scott Allan is back and available, Newell still to come back and I don't think Nibs.net is going to down tools or anywhere near as annoyed as the weegie gutter press are making out him to be.
02-02-2021, 09:00 AM
Who are these people who are pretending they are happy with everything the club do? :confused:
I'm happy and so is my wife.
02-02-2021, 09:00 AM
Are all the younger boys out on loan too Billy? I assumed everyone was back as the football is all off for them.
All of last years development team are
Innes Murray Alloa
Paddy Martin, Jayden Fairley and Scholesy at Stenhousemuir
Fraser Murray Dunfermline
Dino Leddie somewhere in Spain
Josh Campbell Edin City
Gallantes / Singapore I think
Think one or two maybe at lowland league clubs
02-02-2021, 09:01 AM
There is room for plenty of optimism.
We have added two very good players to our squad who we are already seeing a positive impact from, Scott Allan is back and available, Newell still to come back and I don't think Nibs.net is going to down tools or anywhere near as annoyed as the weegie gutter press are making out him to be.
Brilliant :top marks
02-02-2021, 09:02 AM
That’s reassuring then. Especially if the cup gets cancelled. It’s it Europa league or that new one?
5th will be the Conference League qualifiers. I think 3rd goes into the playoffs for the Europa League group and if they get knocked out of that then they go straight into the Conference League groups.
02-02-2021, 09:05 AM
How many strikers did we have on our books when we won the cup?
Boyle was an out and out winger then, so we obviously had Stokes, Cummings and Keatings.
I can't remember which other strikers we had that season.
02-02-2021, 09:06 AM
Boyle was an out and out winger then, so we obviously had Stokes, Cummings and Keatings.
Dagnall?
02-02-2021, 09:06 AM
Innes Murray Alloa
Josh Campbell Edin City
Do any of them have a realistic chance of making it at Hibs? My, uninformed, gut feel is that none of that list will.
02-02-2021, 09:07 AM
Was Hibs legend Dagnall a striker?
Dagnall
Farid
Malgona - left in January
Handling
Tbh, we did have plenty then. In 2007, we only had 2 fit strikers for the second half of the season after Killens injury I think. Benji and Fletcher.
Mr. Wonderful
With regard to Gullan, when will he be deemed bona fide first-team material? As already discussed, his latest loan move leaves us very thin up front - and while I imagine there's a recall clause in the event of injuries it doesn't put much pressure on our only two out-and-out strikers to keep on their toes.
Is it the case that the coaching staff are not yet convinced he's got what it takes? I recall Oli Shaw knocking on the first team door for a while (like Gullan he was a standout for the youth team) and even though he did get his big chance (and did reasonably well) I personally felt he never looked quite ready/good enough for a regular first team spot.
He won't. He'll leave us and become a Declan Mcmanus type.
02-02-2021, 09:08 AM
Absolutely astonishing that a so-called Hibs fan could forget about Chris Dagnall…
02-02-2021, 09:09 AM
Absolutely astonishing that a so-called Hibs fan could forget about Chris Dagnall…
It’s always the usual suspects forgetting Dagnall
02-02-2021, 09:11 AM
Nae need!
I'm not a so-called Hibs fan. I'm a bonefide alleged Hibs fan. :grr:
02-02-2021, 09:14 AM
I think Dave knows him as Dagnall Chris. :wink:
Dagnall
Farid
Handling
Tbh, we did have plenty then. In 2007, we only had 2 fit strikers for the second half of the season after Killens injury I think. Benji and Fletcher.
Who was it that played up top in the Semi replay? Was it Kurtis Byrne? Definitely a youngster. Damon Gray instead of Fletcher 🤣🤣🤣
I know it upsets people but I just don't think Gullan is good enough right now. That's not to say he won't be good enough. Hopefully he rattles the goals in at the Rovers. Playing every week will help him massively. Credit to him for putting his pride to the side and going out on loan. If Oli Shaw had done that he may still have been here. I can fully understand the club wanting to do that as I think Premiership football off the bench is extremely difficult for the lad right now. Asking a lot of him.
02-02-2021, 09:16 AM
It’s always the usual suspects forgetting Dagnall
I know it's only 5 years ago and I was probably at every game he played in but the only thing I remember about him is the chance he missed at the piggery in the League Cup semi v St Johnstone.
Percy Vere
02-02-2021, 09:17 AM
But no team is blitzing apart from Rangers. Livis run will stop soon.
It’s a stop stutter from all the mid table teams. Anyone can beat anyone.
So yeah we will finish 4th. Can’t see it being better unfortunately.
Percy Vere
02-02-2021, 09:19 AM
Are there any players available who are out of contract?
Surely we need a striker with Gullah going on loan.
Dagnall
Farid
Handling
Was Handling getting a game then? Wiki suggests not.
In which case, we weren't much better off from January 2016 than we are now. Farid only contributed 2 goals and Dagnall didn't score at all.
With Boyle being brought into the middle, we're not much different in terms of bodies who can score today than we were when we won the cup.
But no team is blitzing apart from Rangers. Livis run will stop soon.
It’s a stop stutter from all the mid table teams. Anyone can beat anyone.
So yeah we will finish 4th. Can’t see it being better unfortunately.
I think Aberdeen are in for a horrible surprise with their signings yesterday.
02-02-2021, 09:20 AM
Was Handling getting a game then? Wiki suggests not.
In which case, we weren't much better off from January 2016 than we are now. Farid only contributed 2 goals and Dagnall didn't score at all.
With Boyle being brought into the middle, we're not much different in terms of bodies who can score today than we were when we won the cup.
Na, he had had a bad injury. Was on the bench in the league cup final ircc.
02-02-2021, 09:20 AM
I think Dave knows him as Dagnall Chris. :wink:
:faf: :top marks
dchibs
02-02-2021, 09:23 AM
Was Hibs legend Dagnall a striker?
Is it true Dagnal has more medals than Lavine.
02-02-2021, 09:23 AM
I think Aberdeen are in for a horrible surprise with their signings yesterday.
Hornby could score plenty if he gets the service. I'd have taken him - but he;d have only played if Doidge was injured for us.
02-02-2021, 09:24 AM
Hornby could score plenty if he gets the service. I'd have taken him - but he;d have only played if Doidge was injured for us.
Has he kicked a ball for a first team yet? I'd have liked to bring him in but not bothered we didn't.
02-02-2021, 09:25 AM
I know it upsets people but I just don't think Gullan is good enough right now. That's not to say he won't be good enough. Hopefully he rattles the goals in at the Rovers. Playing every week will help him massively. Credit to him for putting his pride to the side and going out on loan. If Oli Shaw had done that he may still have been here. I can fully understand the club wanting to do that as I think Premiership football off the bench is extremely difficult for the lad right now. Asking a lot of him.
He hasn't shown enough IMO, but getting 5-10 minutes here and there isn't enough.
02-02-2021, 09:45 AM
I'm not unhappy with our business. Not blown away by it, but certainly not unhappy.
Irvine really looks the part. The midfield has continued to be a problem and we've looked much more competitive in there since he came in. Credit to Ross for making the Cadden signing happen. Boyle has been badly out of form all season and we've not offered enough down that side. Cadden's early performances have been very promising and we look much stronger on that flank, which is great.
Gullan going out on loan is good for him. he needs to be playing and he's not going to be doing enough of it at Hibs. His most recent cameos have promised a reasonable amount and I'm not convinced he offers much less than Murphy coming in off the left but Ross will be determined to get a tune out of Murphy and always pick him ahead of Gullan, which does the young lad no favours. He'll be playing in a decent team at a decent level, which is great for us and him.
Best signing of the window is Darren McGregor. He's brought everything we've been lacking in the past 2 games and must be considered a first pick for now.
I wouldn't have been against letting Nisbet go if the money had been good tbh. He's disappeared a bit in recent weeks and I don't think it's a coincidence we looked better without him in the team at the weekend. I also remain to be convinced that he'll bang in a whole load more goals between now and the summer, get into the Scotland squad and add to his value. Hopefully I'm wrong but I've just seen a bit too much "anonymous" from him lately for us to be turning down big cash if it comes.
As I look at it - no chance of 2nd or 3rd, might have a chance of hanging onto 4th. Unlikely to be a brilliant season that lives long in the memory but I don't see us tumbling down the league either. McGregor, Irvine and Cadden look like our best players though, so the window has to be considered a relative success.
02-02-2021, 09:51 AM
I'm not unhappy with our business. Not blown away by it, but certainly not unhappy.
Irvine really looks the part. The midfield has continued to be a problem and we've looked much more competitive in there since he came in. Credit to Ross for making the Cadden signing happen. Boyle has been badly out of form all season and we've not offered enough down that side. Cadden's early performances have been very promising and we look much stronger on that flank, which is great.
Gullan going out on loan is good for him. he needs to be playing and he's not going to be doing enough of it at Hibs. His most recent cameos have promised a reasonable amount and I'm not convinced he offers much less than Murphy coming in off the left but Ross will be determined to get a tune out of Murphy and always pick him ahead of Gullan, which does the young lad no favours. He'll be playing in a decent team at a decent level, which is great for us and him.
Best signing of the window is Darren McGregor. He's brought everything we've been lacking in the past 2 games and must be considered a first pick for now.
I wouldn't have been against letting Nisbet go if the money had been good tbh. He's disappeared a bit in recent weeks and I don't think it's a coincidence we looked better without him in the team at the weekend. I also remain to be convinced that he'll bang in a whole load more goals between now and the summer, get into the Scotland squad and add to his value. Hopefully I'm wrong but I've just seen a bit too much "anonymous" from him lately for us to be turning down big cash if it comes.
As I look at it - no chance of 2nd or 3rd, might have a chance of hanging onto 4th. Unlikely to be a brilliant season that lives long in the memory but I don't see us tumbling down the league either. McGregor, Irvine and Cadden look like our best players though, so the window has to be considered a relative success.
Sorry but saying Boyle has been badly out of form this season and that we have no chance of third and might scrape 4th is mental. While Boyle has had his off days, he’s still be far and away one of our most productive players in terms of goals and assists. We are one point off third, we are 7 ahead of 5th. While we may or may not finish 3rd, you can’t say we have no chance of finishing there.
Stanton Spence
02-02-2021, 09:57 AM
Looks like we are taking a wee bit of a gamble on the cup being cancelled, which is looking more likely every day. If we only have the 12 games then we should have enough options up front. I don't think we will see Boyle Doidge and Nisbet starting many games now that we have brought in Cadden. Him and Irvine are by far the best signings any club outside of the uglies will make up here in this window and the early signs look promising
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
02-02-2021, 09:58 AM
Alternatively, we've won two of our last three league games.
We've played the unbeaten league leaders twice since Christmas.
OK we had 2 poor league results (County and livi), but it's nowhere near as bad as you're making out.
02-02-2021, 10:01 AM
Who was it that played up top in the Semi replay? Was it Kurtis Byrne? Definitely a youngster. Damon Gray instead of Fletcher 🤣🤣🤣
Aye that was through choice an not necessity. Mental decision. I think we’d rested loads of players on the Saturday up at Aberdeen. Gray scored and ended up keeping his place.
02-02-2021, 10:07 AM
Sorry but saying Boyle has been badly out of form this season and that we have no chance of third and might scrape 4th is mental. While Boyle has had his off days, he’s still be far and away one of our most productive players in terms of goals and assists. We are one point off third, we are 7 ahead of 5th. While we may or may not finish 3rd, you can’t say we have no chance of finishing there.
Just my opinion.
Aberdeen have looked at the weakest part of their team and taken a whopping gamble to fix it. I reckon they'll be a good bit better now, certainly no worse.
I wouldn't even say Boyle has had had his off days - he's been poor with the odd bright performance. When did we last see him play well out wide? His pace looks to me like it has gone and since that was his main asset he doesn't look like he's got all that much about him any more. Good finish on Saturday mind, and I've been one of he few who actually quite likes him up front.
Cadden looks very much like an upgrade though.
02-02-2021, 10:17 AM
Just my opinion.
Aberdeen have looked at the weakest part of their team and taken a whopping gamble to fix it. I reckon they'll be a good bit better now, certainly no worse.
I wouldn't even say Boyle has had had his off days - he's been poor with the odd bright performance. When did we last see him play well out wide? His pace looks to me like it has gone and since that was his main asset he doesn't look like he's got all that much about him any more. Good finish on Saturday mind, and I've been one of he few who actually quite likes him up front.
Cadden isn’t a winger, Boyle is. Completely different. You don’t hit the numbers Boyle has hit, and get the attention that he gets, while being poor. His pace certainly hadn’t deserted him for the winner on Saturday.
Whether you think we will finish third or not is one thing, saying we have no chance is utterly wrong. Aberdeen have got rid of their two best players and replaced them with relative unknowns. It may work, it may not.
02-02-2021, 10:33 AM
Just my opinion.
Kamberi has scored 1 goal since he left Hibs, he has been recovering from a covid diagnosis in November though. Hornby has hardly played football, 3 games last year none this. Callum Hendry was behind Stevie May in St Johnstone team and scores roughly every 5 games for the Perth Saints. I cannot see how you think they are better than Cosgrove who while not in the best of form has banged in 20 goals in a season and Main who has scored goals for fun in this league.
02-02-2021, 10:38 AM
Cadden isn’t a winger, Boyle is. Completely different. You don’t hit the numbers Boyle has hit, and get the attention that he gets, while being poor. His pace certainly hadn’t deserted him for the winner on Saturday.
Whether you think we will finish third or not is one thing, saying we have no chance is utterly wrong. Aberdeen have got rid of their two best players and replaced them with relative unknowns. It may work, it may not.
Cadden played wide right all game Saturday. Strong runner on the offensive who put lots if good balls into the box I think that is a winger.
Stanton Spence
02-02-2021, 10:39 AM
Kamberi has scored 1 goal since he left Hibs, he has been recovering from a covid diagnosis in November though. Hornby has hardly played football, 3 games last year none this. Callum Hendry was behind Stevie May in St Johnstone team and scores roughly every 5 games for the Perth Saints. I cannot see how you think they are better than Cosgrove who while not in the best of form has banged in 20 goals in a season and Main who has scored goals for fun in this league.While I agree with almost all of the above I think you may be stretching it saying that Main scores for fun in this league
Eaststand
02-02-2021, 10:39 AM
Innes Murray Alloa
Josh Campbell Edin City
Billy I know you've watched our younger lads in their age group teams a fair bit over the years, so my question is, in your opinion are any of them ready to step into the first team.
For example is Josh O'Connor ready for the step up ?
02-02-2021, 10:42 AM
Cadden might not hit the by line and cross much but Saturday showed us that he can go from box to box on the right and so might get some crosses in, just not from the by line. That leaves Paul McGinn to look after his defensive duties. I can see a lot more switching in positions going on during matches over the last twelve or so games. We witnessed more of that last Saturday than I've been aware of this season. Boyle going from wide to center to wide, Hanlon from centre to Left and same for Doig Left to Centre, and there were other switches too. All of that should make life more difficult for the opposition going forward. Will Boyle take on left backs and cross or will he be looking for a channel through the centre to run in to and on to, is only one of the questions defences will be asking themselves. Who will run at them on the right, McGinn, Boyle or Cadden is another. There will be many more problems for the opposition to deal with and answer in coming matches which will make viewing for us very interesting. I haven't even started to think about where Newell, Allan, Murphy and Irvine could pop up, so all in all I think we could be a bit of a handful now.
02-02-2021, 10:43 AM
Cadden played wide right all game Saturday. Strong runner on the offensive who put lots if good balls into the box I think that is a winger.
He played as a right wing back on Saturday, he can play right back, right midfield or right of a three in the middle, he isn’t a winger and never has been. Boyle is a winger.
02-02-2021, 10:44 AM
Kamberi has scored 1 goal since he left Hibs, he has been recovering from a covid diagnosis in November though. Hornby has hardly played football, 3 games last year none this. Callum Hendry was behind Stevie May in St Johnstone team and scores roughly every 5 games for the Perth Saints. I cannot see how you think they are better than Cosgrove who while not in the best of form has banged in 20 goals in a season and Main who has scored goals for fun in this league.
As I said though, they've taken a gamble.
What they were doing wasn't working. Cosgrove's good form isn't present tense, it was a wee while ago and he was out of sorts.
To me it sounds a bit like when we bombed out Stokes and Murray to bring in Kamberi and McLaren. Stokes and Murray weren't even doing all that badly, certainly not when compared to Cosgrove and Main this season.
Kamberi I'm not a fan of but he can play when he's in the mood. Hornby looks decent for Scotland under 21s. Hendry I don't know much about but he seems to be reasonably highly rated.
I just think that taking something that's not working and replacing it with something that might work is a gamble worth taking and I expect them to improve.
02-02-2021, 10:48 AM
He played as a right wing back on Saturday, he can play right back, right midfield or right of a three in the middle, he isn’t a winger and never has been. Boyle is a winger.
Isn’t RWB not just a modern option for a winger when playing with width? not many wingers would get to play without having to help out their full back or tracking back these days ?
02-02-2021, 10:50 AM
I agree with everything Smartie says masel, especially Boyle and scraping 4th.
02-02-2021, 10:51 AM
Isn’t RWB not just a modern option for a winger when playing with width? not many wingers would get to play without having to help out their full back or tracking back these days ?
Boyle has been playing on the right of a front three recently (until Saturday), a position Cadden wouldn’t play, an out and out winger. Majority of top sides play with a central striker and two wingers who do very little tracking back or defensive work.
02-02-2021, 10:51 AM
Depends what constitutes your definition of a winger. Cadden has played wide for the majority of his career including playing a wide right position for Motherwell. Don't think his role or play was significantly different to how Boyle would play in that position
02-02-2021, 10:53 AM
Boyle has been playing on the right of a front three recently (until Saturday), a position Cadden wouldn’t play, an out and out winger. Majority of top sides play with a central striker and two wingers who do very little tracking back or defensive work.
I’ve seen Boyle work back loads of times this season to help out when playing in a 3 ..i agree Cadden and Boyle are different - and obviously there are different types of wingers ..but there are different types of strikers, midfielders and CHs too..not too sure what the big point is you’re trying to make
02-02-2021, 10:54 AM
I agree with everything Smartie says masel, especially Boyle and scraping 4th.
Most assists outwith Rangers, joint most goal contributions outwith Rangers and Nisbet. Aye he’s been rotten.
02-02-2021, 10:59 AM
Depends what constitutes your definition of a winger. Cadden has played wide for the majority of his career including playing a wide right position for Motherwell. Don't think his role or play was significantly different to how Boyle would play in that position
If we play with a wing back or 4 across midfield then Cadden will play, if we went 4-3-3 again then Boyle would play. Cadden will get up and down and is solid, Boyle is far more likely to run in behind or take his man on.
02-02-2021, 11:02 AM
If we play with a wing back or 4 across midfield then Cadden will play, if we went 4-3-3 again then Boyle would play. Cadden will get up and down and is solid, Boyle is far more likely to run in behind or take his man on.
Doesn't necessarily mean Cadden isn't capable of playing that role just that Boyle would likely be better suited to it.
02-02-2021, 11:03 AM
I’ve seen Boyle work back loads of times this season to help out when playing in a 3 ..i agree Cadden and Boyle are different - and obviously there are different types of wingers ..but there are different types of strikers, midfielders and CHs too..not too sure what the big point is you’re trying to make
The point was that Cadden is an upgrade, even though he’s not a like for like change, I agree with you. I still wouldn’t class Cadden as a winger, he’s a wide player for sure, I’d say Boyle was the opposite in that he is a winger who can play elsewhere. I’d say the upgrade is on McGinn as an attacking wing back rather than on Boyle.
02-02-2021, 11:03 AM
Wasn’t expecting anything this window so pleased with what we’ve done.
The league is pretty much a right off anyways, we’ll finish fourth and get Europe next year.
No point in wasting money now that can be better spent in the summer.
02-02-2021, 11:04 AM
Doesn't necessarily mean Cadden isn't capable of playing that role just that Boyle would likely be better suited to it.
Correct, hence why he isn’t an upgrade on Boyle, he’s a totally different player brought in for a completely different position/shape.
02-02-2021, 11:06 AM
I don't think that anyone would argue that they are the same type of player. The introduction of Cadden on the right, I believe frees up McGinn to defend more and Boyle to hit the by line or make central runs more, but as I talked about switching things earlier, with McGinn behind him there's no reason why Cadden couldn't hit the by line if need be, I'm sure he has that in him. It can't be bad to half two players who could interchange that way, Boyle and Cadden although it's accepted that they are not the same type of player, accepted by me anyway, Cadden does have tricks in him too and so could take players on, if given the freedom to at the top end.
02-02-2021, 11:07 AM
The point was that Cadden is an upgrade, even though he’s not a like for like change, I agree with you. I still wouldn’t class Cadden as a winger, he’s a wide player for sure, I’d say Boyle was the opposite in that he is a winger who can play elsewhere. I’d say the upgrade is on McGinn as an attacking wing back rather than on Boyle.
Thanks for explaining ..Definitely an upgrade on McGinn going forward and with the ball . McGinn is good defensively, but not got the crossing and distribution of Cadden . Cadden reminds me (in style) of a younger james Milner - versatile in the same way too ..
Does McGinn not have 3 goals to his name this season??
Decent finishes too!
02-02-2021, 11:15 AM
I don't think that anyone would argue that they are the same type of player. The introduction of Cadden on the right, I believe frees up McGinn to defend more and Boyle to hit the by line or make central runs more, but as I talked about switching things earlier, with McGinn behind him there's no reason why Cadden couldn't hit the by line if need be, I'm sure he has that in him. It can't be bad to half two players who could interchange that way, Boyle and Cadden although it's accepted that they are not the same type of player, accepted by me anyway, Cadden does have tricks in him too and so could take players on, if given the freedom to at the top end.
I’m delighted we have him, and it gives us far more options and flexibility. I just don’t agree at all that he’s an upgrade on Boyle, they’re completely different and work in different ways in different systems.
02-02-2021, 11:16 AM
Decent finishes too!
Yeah. Great they were. He’s been consistent for most of the season.
Doesn’t make him a strong passer or crosser though - I’m sure he would admit those are not his strongest points ...
02-02-2021, 11:17 AM
Decent finishes too!
I think it’s McGinn’s nature to defend first and foremost, it’s rare that he makes a burst up the park but when he does he’s often effective.
Doesn’t make him a strong passer or crosser though - I’m sure he would admit those are not his strongest points ...
Indeed.
02-02-2021, 11:23 AM
Indeed I did.... Didn't realise we have 2 D... Doidge in the house
Apologies!
All good:aok:
02-02-2021, 11:37 AM
I’m delighted we have him, and it gives us far more options and flexibility. I just don’t agree at all that he’s an upgrade on Boyle, they’re completely different and work in different ways in different systems.
Yes I wouldn't say an upgrade, but an addition. We will see this time next season what he has done and where by then.
02-02-2021, 11:39 AM
We haven't sold Boyle.
He can play as a winger or as a striker when we need him to, or we think it'll benefit us tactically.
We have options.
02-02-2021, 11:42 AM
Wasn’t expecting anything this window so pleased with what we’ve done.
The league is pretty much a right off anyways, we’ll finish fourth and get Europe next year.
No point in wasting money now that can be better spent in the summer.
I agree. I think we are in a better situation now than we were in December so I am happy with that, in fact I'm quite excited about the rest of the season now. When I had previously thought it was going to be a difficult three months from December I hadn't considered we would or could brought in quality such as Cadden and Irvine. Well I live and learn.
02-02-2021, 11:43 AM
Weve also played Rangers twice and Celtic away since Xmas - a tough run of fixtures. Granted Ross Co and Livi at home were awful but every team has a blip over the course of a season and hopefully that was ours
Max_Shah
02-02-2021, 11:43 AM
I remember having the unshakable conviction Damo was going to be a top class striker for us. Having played alongside him [humble-brag] he had it all. Either footed, good pedigree and he ****ing banged them in for fun in our yoof and reserve sides.
I wonder what he's up to now. Last I heard he left the senior game and moved back down south.
02-02-2021, 11:46 AM
While I agree with almost all of the above I think you may be stretching it saying that Main scores for fun in this league
Aye I was stretching it on that one :greengrin, but saying that he is a competent striker at this level but Aberdeens style was never going to suit him.
02-02-2021, 11:49 AM
I thought we should have added a striker and a centre half at least this window, and that was prior to Gullan leaving.
That said, looking at the squad and in particular looking at the Dundee United game as a clue as to how we might shape up for the remaining 12 games of the season, I don't think we're in that bad a place with the squad we've got.
If you consider attacking options and not just strikers, we're absolutely fine - particularly if, like Saturday, we play one up top (either Nisbet or Doidge, but unlikely to be both IMHO) with three behind.
That gives us Murphy, Wright, Irvine, Allan, Boyle as a minimum (who could all do a shift up front if we changed formation) supporting Doidge and Nisbet.
At centre half, we have McGinn, Gogic, Hanlon, Porteous and McGregor who could all play there if need be.
Cadden's signing is key - his ability to play more or less anywhere on the right hand side frees Boyle up to change position. I actually think Ross will persevere with the formation from Saturday as it allows him to get both Cadden and Boyle on the pitch together, and on Saturday's showing, they are two of our best players.
Going into the second part of the season with a £3m striker shouldn't be sniffed at either, we couldn't afford to buy one so keeping the one we have is significant.
Would I have liked more? Yes, but looking at the options in the squad overall, I'm pretty happy that we've got enough across the park to do well in the run in.
02-02-2021, 11:50 AM
As I said though, they've taken a gamble.
What they were doing wasn't working. Cosgrove's good form isn't present tense, it was a wee while ago and he was out of sorts.
To me it sounds a bit like when we bombed out Stokes and Murray to bring in Kamberi and McLaren. Stokes and Murray weren't even doing all that badly, certainly not when compared to Cosgrove and Main this season.
Kamberi I'm not a fan of but he can play when he's in the mood. Hornby looks decent for Scotland under 21s. Hendry I don't know much about but he seems to be reasonably highly rated.
I just think that taking something that's not working and replacing it with something that might work is a gamble worth taking and I expect them to improve.
Fair points and it is a gamble. It would have been less of a gamble to replace two out the 3 strikers. Taking the whole front line out and bringing in 3 loan deals in January has to be a big gamble as you are relying on 3 players to hit the ground running and three players who haven't played much recently.
Magpie
02-02-2021, 11:51 AM
Weve also played Rangers twice and Celtic away since Xmas - a tough run of fixtures. Granted Ross Co and Livi at home were awful but every team has a blip over the course of a season and hopefully that was ours
Lost a cup semi final 3-0 to St Johnstone in that time too.
Greenworld
02-02-2021, 11:54 AM
I'm free (John Inman / Mr Humphries / Are You Being Served):greengrinWe will be talking about pussys next
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
02-02-2021, 12:00 PM
Marseille coach Andre Villas-Boas has sensationally offered his resignation as he admits he never wanted to sign Olivier Ntcham.
The midfielder has joined from Celtic on loan with an option to buy, a deal that was completed late on transfer deadline day.
BeansOnToast
02-02-2021, 12:00 PM
I remember having the unshakable conviction Damo was going to be a top class striker for us. Having played alongside him [humble-brag] he had it all. Either footed, good pedigree and he ****ing banged them in for fun in our yoof and reserve sides.
I wonder what he's up to now. Last I heard he left the senior game and moved back down south.
He’s a friend of a friend. I also have a memory of him scoring a cracker against the Sticky Buns at Ibrox for Partick in the cup. Last I’d seen of him he was an academy coach at HTC.
Stanton Spence
02-02-2021, 12:02 PM
Aye I was stretching it on that one :greengrin, but saying that he is a competent striker at this level but Aberdeens style was never going to suit him.[emoji23][emoji1303] To be fair when Main first came in at Motherwell he looked a bit of a handful and was causing defences trouble with his constant running and strength and he was scoring at a good rate. He never seemed to recapture that form tho and doesn't look like he will
hughio
02-02-2021, 12:05 PM
we will be talking about pussys next
sent from my sm-g975u1 using tapatalk
stop
davhibby
02-02-2021, 12:07 PM
I actually think his crossing is good for a full back, better than most
02-02-2021, 12:31 PM
Why no transfer round up tweet yet?
02-02-2021, 12:38 PM
Are you still clinging to some hope that we haven't announced someone 😁
02-02-2021, 12:40 PM
Maybe there's a free agent in the offing...
Sergio sledge
02-02-2021, 12:43 PM
I'd have taken a chance on him as back-up to Doidge and Nisbet, but that's based solely on the clubs he has been at, but he's hardly played any minutes at first team level and he's 21 years old.
It's a gamble for Aberdeen, but you can see why McInnes has done it. Of the top 10 scorers for them this season, 5 of them are no longer at the club, Cosgrove, Wright, Watkins, Edmondson and Main. They've replaced them with 3 players on loan, 2 of whom are players in their early twenties who have no real track record of being prolific scorers at any level. The other is a player who, apart from one half season at us, has a scoring record of less than a goal every 3 games and a reputation for being hard to motivate.
02-02-2021, 01:10 PM
I'd have taken a chance on him as back-up to Doidge and Nisbet, but that's based solely on the clubs he has been at, but he's hardly played any minutes at first team level and he's 21 years old.
It's a gamble for Aberdeen, but you can see why McInnes has done it. Of the top 10 scorers for them this season, 5 of them are no longer at the club, Cosgrove, Wright, Watkins, Edmondson and Main. They've replaced them with 3 players on loan, 2 of whom are players in their early twenties who have no real track record of being prolific scorers at any level. The other is a player who, apart from one half season at us, has a scoring record of less than a goal every 3 games and a reputation for being hard to motivate.
Especially when McInnes admitted on Saturday that he’d missed out on his first couple of targets. So those must’ve been his 3rd/4th/5th options. Would you be confident of them hitting the ground running? Huge gamble.
You can see a list of free agents on Transfermarkt.
Free agents | Transfermarkt (https://www.transfermarkt.com/spieler/vertragslosespieler/statistik/1/plus//galerie/0?ausrichtung=Sturm&spielerposition_id=alle&land_id=alle&altersklasse=&wettbewerb_id=alle&seit=alle&yt0=Show)
Can't say i know much about any of these players with the exception of Anthony Stokes and Kyle Lafferty but i didn't know about guys like Hallberg and Newell before we brought them in either.
HFC93
02-02-2021, 01:21 PM
I can't believe how many posters are getting worked up about Aberdeen's transfer business yesterday.
Hornby - How many senior goals has he scored?
Hendry - St Johnstone's fourth choice striker.
Kamberi - We're all aware of his qualities and flaws.
They've sold Cosgrove and Wright who wil be big losses for them. I'm not sure they're actually any stronger.
02-02-2021, 01:25 PM
I can't believe how many posters are getting worked up about Aberdeen's transfer business yesterday.
Hornby - How many senior goals has he scored?
Hendry - St John stone's fourth choice striker.
Kamberi - We're all aware of his qualities and flaws.
They've sold Cosgrove and Wright who wil be big losses for them. I'm not sure they're actually any stronger.
Agree. I would say this is a weaker squad. Time will tell but wouldn't be getting too excited about that.
02-02-2021, 01:35 PM
Are you still clinging to some hope that we haven't announced someone 😁
You’re too right I am!:greengrin
02-02-2021, 01:35 PM
I think Doidge probably has more career goals than all Aberdeen strikers combined. Not worried.
Max_Shah
02-02-2021, 01:43 PM
He’s a friend of a friend. I also have a memory of him scoring a cracker against the Sticky Buns at Ibrox for Partick in the cup. Last I’d seen of him he was an academy coach at HTC.
Thanks for that mate. Delighted to hear he’s cracking on nicely.
Hopefully his killer instinct in front of goal will rub off in front of our future YLT/MCF.
Again, thanks for that.
Very much appreciated as it literally brightened up a ****ty gray [lol] day @ the RIE.
I think Doidge probably has more career goals than all Aberdeen strikers combined. Not worried.
About time he started adding to them, he's hardly prolific.
02-02-2021, 01:58 PM
About time he started adding to them, he's hardly prolific.
His last 4 seasons have been 27, 25, 15, and 19 goals. Including this seasons 7, thats 93 goals in 5 years (196 games). Pretty good. Definitely prollific.
02-02-2021, 02:07 PM
That's us, see you in the summer!