View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2020-21

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

28-01-2021, 09:34 PM
With the rumours of the outgoings and if business isn’t done before Saturday it will be interesting if any of these players play as they won’t want any deal breaking down with a injury.

28-01-2021, 09:34 PM
Couldn’t blame Hibs taking they offers up.

I could. They have taken season ticket money of me and used it to buy a player and now they want to sell him before I’ve even had a chance to see him play?

28-01-2021, 09:37 PM
One of the problems we have is that these players have been playing poorly for a wee while and it taints your view a bit.

Form is temporary, class is permanent though and I do think both Nisbet and Porteous are going through dips in form. They are good players and they don't come cheap. Nisbet is the league's top goalscorer, Porteous is one of the country's top talents and on the fringe's of a national squad who have reached a major finals. The price for those players isn't buttons.

Everyone has their price though.

And the price at the first bid is seldom the highest.

As ever, the quality of replacement would also be key. We don't have a great track record in that department. And in Nisbet's case we don't actually have anyone to play in that position.

28-01-2021, 09:44 PM
You said the players were pish.

Care to show me where I said the players were pish. Specifically Nisbet and Porteous please. Bet you can't.

Bye now.

28-01-2021, 09:49 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/143382151_10223373721834324_4949865006210004914_o. jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=2&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=RcRS7dtOuBgAX8bnJLK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=f828341395a6f6d39e0eb11f58e7e7d0&oe=6036FB11

AugustaHibs
28-01-2021, 09:51 PM
2 years ago Brentford sold a 21 year old centre back for £12m. I would hazard a guess very few on here could name him. That's the market, English Championship, that we could be selling to & people think we should accept a bid of less than 10% of that for Porteous. Brentford have also sold 3 strikers in last 2 or 3 years for about £70m. We must not short change ourself!

ezri konsa? To be fair he is now part of one of the best defences in the premier league.

Although I do agree with your point

28-01-2021, 09:52 PM
1 million for Porteous and 2 million for Nisbet?

No thanks.

My thoughts exactly, can ram that offer imo

28-01-2021, 09:56 PM
ezri konsa? To be fair he is now part of one of the best defences in the premier league.

No, Chris Mepham at Bournemouth. He's now back in the Championship!!

Torto7
28-01-2021, 10:00 PM

That diddy Waghorn moved for 8mill. Folk on here thinking we should sell for two million. Depressing.

EVENTUALLY
28-01-2021, 10:01 PM
I know that figure is pure speculation but using it for the sake of discussion, here’s what I’d do.

1) Take the 1.7 million loan from the government.
2) Try to sell fringe players or an older player to make up the £1.3 million shortfall
3) Ask the fans for help to make up any remaining shortfall
4) Ron Gordon to make up any remaining shortfall

I’d be going through all those options before underselling our prized assets. Our stock must be pretty high down south with how McGinn has done in the Premiership. It would be really harmful to the long term plan of the club to abandon our player strategy of developing our own young players or buying others to then develop further, before it’s even got started.

I’m not against selling anyone btw; I just think it makes most financial sense to demand market value for our players that have the biggest potential.

This is the way to go.

Christ we've not even had the chance to see Kevin Nisbet or young Doig in the flesh yet.

No need to even think about an offer for KN. He's on a 4 year deal and is going to get better and better. Josh is clearly improving fast and is starting to look like a really great asset as an exciting wing back with plenty of time to develop in a Hibs jersey.

If Ron Gordon believes our best years lie ahead of us (His words - AGM) then we'll need to keep a hold of these guys to progress.

Reject any offers for these two and for Ryan and try to move the squad around by recruiting alternatives for Hallberg, Wright, Gogic and Doidge.

28-01-2021, 10:05 PM
Birmingham have also bid 2 million for Cosgrove at the sheep

28-01-2021, 10:09 PM
Birmingham have also bid 2 million for Cosgrove at the sheep

No chance they could afford both. Hopefully we’ve told them to bolt.

28-01-2021, 10:09 PM
It’s no a decent deal. How’s he untested? He’s sitting top scorer, or up there, in the league and we’re in January.

£2m is *****. Everyone’s got their opinion but I reckon our young lads are getting heavily undervalued by some on here especially when Celtic players, who’ve underperformed all season, are going for over 5 times that.

Frimpong was outstanding last season and I can probably bet Lennon's wonderful management skills are a reason the laddie was underperforming as he expected to leave at the beginning of the season, plus he was on the books at Man C.

Nisbet has had half a season, started on fire but has looked decidedly poor since the death of his dad, he's still untested and not even ha a full season in the top division, £2m + add ons would be a very decent deal.

28-01-2021, 10:10 PM
Could be a fair bit of business happening.

The guy I know at East Mains says Hibs trying to tie up a few replacements before the following may leave.

Doig....very close to going to Arsenal. £2.5m with add ons
Gogic...couple of clubs in Cyprus want him. Omonia Nicosia one of them
Marciano....QPR and a club in Israel
Mallan....Peterborough (loan)
Porteous....Millwall £1.2m

Nisbet going nowhere.

He didn’t want to say who may come in but Doig, Gogic & Marciano are the players most likely to leave. He said the club not looking to replace Doig as they feel they have enough cover just now but trying to get another goalie, CH & CF.
I'd take the Doig deal with a loan back until the summer, or even better for next season as well. The money would largely cover our losses this season.

If Marciano isn't close to signing a new deal, then I'd accept an offer and go with Macey and Dabrowski.

Mallan - we've plenty of midfielders and he's not getting game time so makes sense to have someone else pay his wages until the summer.

Losing Gogic would leave us without a defensive midfielder, but there is the alternative of playing both Irvine and Magennis instead.

Porteous - if we can pick up Findlay or Kerr on the cheap to replace him then it's worth considering.

28-01-2021, 10:11 PM
I would be unhappy if we don't replace Doig and end up with Mackie as our back up for left back.

Mackie has looked very decent when he started earlier, more worried bout his injury proneness.

28-01-2021, 10:13 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Sam Cosgrove in Birmingham City transfer bid as Aberdeen weigh up £2million offer for star striker | @scottburns75 #BCFC

https://t.co/DdvPmNROZ6 https://t.co/ketQoTHtkM

28-01-2021, 10:14 PM
I'd take the Doig deal with a loan back until the summer, or even better for next season as well. The money would largely cover our losses this season.

If Marciano isn't close to signing a new deal, then I'd accept an offer and go with Macey and Dabrowski.

Mallan - we've plenty of midfielders and he's not getting game time so makes sense to have someone else pay his wages until the summer.

Losing Gogic would leave us without a defensive midfielder, but there is the alternative of playing both Irvine and Magennis instead.

Porteous - if we can pick up Findlay or Kerr on the cheap to replace him then it's worth considering.

Rather keep Gogic. Despite the adverse results in the last two games, I at least felt our midfield were competing for the ball and trying to win it back. Gogic and Irvine have done well. Who knows how good Magennis is but we can’t start relying on him, that’s for sure.

28-01-2021, 10:16 PM

The guy I know at East Mains says Hibs trying to tie up a few replacements before the following may leave.

Nisbet going nowhere.

He didn’t want to say who may come in but Doig, Gogic & Marciano are the players most likely to leave. He said the club not looking to replace Doig as they feel they have enough cover just now but trying to get another goalie, CH & CF.

Some of those are interesting...

However, if we sell Porteous for £1.2M I'll be shocked. We surely value him much more than that?

28-01-2021, 10:17 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Sam Cosgrove in Birmingham City transfer bid as Aberdeen weigh up £2million offer for star striker | @scottburns75 #BCFC

https://t.co/DdvPmNROZ6 https://t.co/ketQoTHtkM

On a side note, noticed at the end of the article there that Funso Ojo is away to Wigan on loan, definitely sounds like we got lucky missing out on that one

28-01-2021, 10:18 PM
Frimpong was outstanding last season and I can probably bet Lennon's wonderful management skills are a reason the laddie was underperforming as he expected to leave at the beginning of the season, plus he was on the books at Man C.

Nisbet has had half a season, started on fire but has looked decidedly poor since the death of his dad, he's still untested and not even ha a full season in the top division, £2m + add ons would be a very decent deal.

Why do you keep saying untested, what do you even mean by that? 13 goals for us so far in his first season in the top flight.

28-01-2021, 10:19 PM
That diddy Waghorn moved for 8mill. Folk on here thinking we should sell for two million. Depressing.

Exactly, puts it into perspective. £2m is derogatory. Simple as that.

28-01-2021, 10:25 PM
Why do you keep saying untested, what do you even mean by that? 13 goals for us so far in his first season in the top flight.

Untested as in he's only played just over half a season in the top league, started well but is going through a real dip just now, so he's still to prove he can do it consistently on a regular basis. Look at Shankland, outstanding the past 2 years and been pish this year in the top league, we all wanted to sign him before Nisbet came, 2 years banging in goals then we could look for £5m +.

28-01-2021, 10:28 PM
Surely we can't even entertain a £2m offer for Nisbet! Joint top scorer in the league, still has three years left on his deal and is only 23, soon to be 24. Double it and we'll start talking. And yes, I understand the markets all over the place right now.

Don't believe the Doig stuff personally.

28-01-2021, 10:28 PM
This has moved fast

Birmingham agree transfer fee with Aberdeen for Sam Cosgrove 🤝

https://t.co/6iR5mnVmZX https://t.co/Jw7iNnBjqf

28-01-2021, 10:30 PM

And how much did Ipswich pay Rangers for him, not £8m that's for sure, says undisclosed but it would've been around £2m.

28-01-2021, 10:30 PM

Amazes me the amount of people that would take 2m for him. He’s no even had a season with us and has 3 and a half years left. He’s joint top scorer in the league and yes has dipped in form as has the team but that’s temporary he will finish the season 20+ goals you don’t take an offer like that for a striker who has scored goals consistently for the last few seasons.

Folk moan about English clubs coming her to offer for our players on the cheap. Well if we keep taking offers like that for one of the best strikers in the league they will continue to do so.

28-01-2021, 10:36 PM
The list is looking like a crazy mass exodus of players with a few days of the window left. It has to be largely a pile of crap. If true however and we take the bait, decent replacements will be hard to come by and I hope RG is aware of the likely consequences. Maybe he is willing to trade a top four finish for an upturn in our bank balance. Assuming there is a chance of getting back to some sort of normality next season, he has to tread carefully and not upset future customers. It’s going to be an interesting weekend.

28-01-2021, 10:40 PM
This has moved fast

That’s good, weakens them and keeps Nisbet here

28-01-2021, 10:50 PM

Nisbet going nowhere.

Sorry mate that’s all guff.
Doig, Porteous and Nisbet are the Crown Jewels. Ron won’t let them go for anything other than serious cash.

Fact.

28-01-2021, 10:53 PM
Where is all this transfer talk coming from? Credible sources or just .net nonsense?

28-01-2021, 11:05 PM

Nisbet going nowhere.

Guff

davhibby
28-01-2021, 11:15 PM
If we actually do have a shortfall then we’d surely be better off waiting until the summer when the likes of Nisbet and Doig will be worth more. You’ll also have Boyle who’ll be in the shop window at the Copa America. The guaranteed group stage football in Europe that 3rd would get us will be worth a few million too.

Selling Nisbet for £2m now would be a disaster and completely undermines the signing policy if you sell guys on the cheap at the first time of asking

28-01-2021, 11:19 PM
This has moved fast

Games being played.

28-01-2021, 11:21 PM
So are Aberdeen mental is agree £2m for cosgrove?

28-01-2021, 11:26 PM
18 months left if hiis contract.
3 goals this season
In and out of the team
Aberdeen to find 350k for Mcrorie
Aberdeen to pay a full year of defaulted wages for Johnny Hayes
Aberdeen Chairman always in the media wanting fans in the stadium
I think Aberdeen want money and the fans don't rate him highly at all.

28-01-2021, 11:30 PM
Now we’ll see if Ron is here for the promises he made or for the money.Eh ?

davhibby
28-01-2021, 11:40 PM

For a player who is nowhere near as good, no. Curtis Main has been picked ahead of him multiple this season. If anything the Cosgrove bid shows up how bad the Nisbet bid is.

29-01-2021, 12:22 AM

If we had the Six Million Dollar Man or our books we would accept two million for him :wink:

and Celtic would still offer 150k :greengrin

crash
29-01-2021, 05:59 AM
January is not the time to be selling, player values are boosted in the summer when Sky money is injected into English Clubs coffers. We should not be giving these paltry offers the time of day.

29-01-2021, 06:15 AM
The only ‘bid’ from those mentioned that I suspect Hibs would agree to is £2.5 million for Doig, that would be daft to turn down, I really can’t see that being the truth though. Nisbet/Porteous’s value will not decrease between now and the summer, more likely increase. Another £1 million each and I wouldn’t blame the club accepting those offers now but I can see them holding on to the summer to try and maximise the return.

29-01-2021, 06:52 AM
With Aberdeen agreeing to sell Cosgrove to Birmingham for £2m that’ll hopefully mean the end of any stories on Nisbet leaving in this window.

29-01-2021, 07:10 AM
With Aberdeen agreeing to sell Cosgrove to Birmingham for £2m that’ll hopefully mean the end of any stories on Nisbet leaving in this window.

Good luck with that one. He will be linked with a few more yet.

29-01-2021, 07:30 AM
I have no doubt in my mind that Kevin Nisbet will leave Hibs at some point before his contract ends.

He is our prized asset and Ron Gordon knows this. If Cosgrove is going for 2 million this window with 18 months on his contract I’d start with bids of around 3.5-4 million for Kevin and see whose still interested. He will get better and with that the price rises. He still has 3.5 years left on his contract FFS.

We have to bear in mind we will be due Dunfermline a percentage of this so we don’t sell our prized assets for peanuts unless we desperately need to

29-01-2021, 07:33 AM
I have no doubt in my mind that Kevin Nisbet will leave Hibs at some point before his contract ends.

He is our prized asset and Ron Gordon knows this. If Cosgrove is going for 2 million this window with 18 months on his contract I’d start with bids of around 3.5-4 million for Kevin and see whose still interested. He will get better and with that the price rises. He still has 3.5 years left on his contract FFS.

We have to bear in mind we will be due Dunfermline a percentage of this so we don’t sell our prized assets for peanuts unless we desperately need to

We may or may not be due Dunfermline anything. Don’t think we’ve ever had confirmation of that.

29-01-2021, 07:35 AM
We may or may not be due Dunfermline anything. Don’t think we’ve ever had confirmation of that.

Indeed but just covering the bases.

29-01-2021, 07:41 AM

Agree.

Hopefully the club also agree and do not entertain anywhere near the amount being offered.

29-01-2021, 07:44 AM

Do we know for certain we would owe Dunfermline anything?

29-01-2021, 07:46 AM
How does it make no sense? Teams will poach us for any talent we’ve got if they reckon they can low ball us or we roll over and accept bids well below what we should be demanding

When has that happened?

And please dont say John McGinn.

29-01-2021, 07:47 AM
Agree.

Hopefully the club also agree and do not entertain anywhere near the amount being offered.

I dont think they will. With 3.5 years left on his contract and the bid accepted by Aberdeen for Cosgrove, Hibs will know what Nisbet’s worth is.

I don’t want to sell any of our best players but we are a selling club unfortunately and hopefully if we do sell someone it will allow us to continue moving forward.

I don’t think we will lose Nisbet unless there is a big bid and by that I mean 3-4 million

Mr. Wonderful
29-01-2021, 07:47 AM
My understanding is the club are open to offers for all these players and won't stand in their way should they choose to go. There's a surprisingly substantial cash offer been accepted for a fringe player too.

Ron doesn't want hibs to be a selling club in the long term but can't refuse the profit in this current climate.

If the offers don't go through its because the players haven't agreed terms or wanted to go to that particular team but hibs are willing to let them leave and we have replacements lined up.

29-01-2021, 07:48 AM
Do we know for certain we would owe Dunfermline anything?

No but I was just factoring it in. I would be surprised if there wasn’t some sort of sell on etc though!

29-01-2021, 07:50 AM
My understanding is the club are open to offers for all these players and won't stand in their way should they choose to go. There's a surprisingly substantial cash offer been accepted for a fringe player too.

Ron doesn't want hibs to be a selling club in the long term but can't refuse the profit in this current climate.

If the offers don't go through its because the players haven't agreed terms or wanted to go to that particular team but hibs are willing to let them leave and we have replacements lined up.

If we guess it will you tell us who it is?

29-01-2021, 07:51 AM
When has that happened?

And please dont say John McGinn.

Scott Brown, accepted a bid from Celtic before the season was over with loads of interest elsewhere and herts got twice the fee for Gordon.

If the offers don't go through its because the players haven't agreed terms or wanted to go to that particular team but hibs are willing to let them leave.

I can believe this to be the case. I know fitba is an emotive business but still not sure it's reasonable to expect an owner to simply plough cash in without any attempt to balance the books whatsoever particularly in the middle of a worldwide financial crisis.
Not suggesting we accept cut price offers but surely everyone can understand why we might need to bring in some money right now if a fair price is offered.

Souter96Mac
In an ideal scenario, this late in the window, we can keep the likes of Nisbet, Porto and Doig, unless stupid money is offered.

Nisbet would be the hardest to replace imo, at the stage of the window at least. Especially as we're low on forwards at the moment anyway.

Porto would probably be the easiest to replace, but I say that lightly! We probably have Jason Kerr waiting in the wings if it does go ahead.

Doig, I think if a team came in for him, Hibs would agree some sort of loan back for the rest of the season, as I can't see him breaking into any of the so called rumoured teams that are after him just yet

Mr. Wonderful
29-01-2021, 07:52 AM
If we guess it will you tell us who it is?

If I knew exactly which one, I would've just said. That's all I've been given I'm afraid.

29-01-2021, 07:53 AM
Scott Brown, accepted a bid from Celtic before the season was over with loads of interest elsewhere and herts got twice the fee for Gordon.

so, 14 years ago and its still a record between scottish clubs?

29-01-2021, 07:56 AM
In an ideal scenario, this late in the window, we can keep the likes of Nisbet, Porto and Doig, unless stupid money is offered.

Nisbet would be the hardest to replace imo, at the stage of the window at least. Especially as we're low on forwards at the moment anyway.

Porto would probably be the easiest to replace, but I say that lightly! We probably have Jason Kerr waiting in the wings if it does go ahead.

Doig, I think if a team came in for him, Hibs would agree some sort of loan back for the rest of the season, as I can't see him breaking into any of the so called rumoured teams that are after him just yet

Don’t be so sure on the Kerr thing, St J won’t roll over and get their belly’s tickled it would take the 1m for Porteous and more to get them to sell him

29-01-2021, 07:56 AM

We got £4.5m for Brown, nobody at the time thought that was not enough or worth £9m

29-01-2021, 07:58 AM
We got £4.5m for Brown, nobody at the time thought that was not enough or worth £9m

I think it was a record for a transfer between Scottish clubs at the time. Could actually still be now I think about it.

29-01-2021, 08:05 AM
He's on a four year deal.

Any English player having the exact same season would go for £10M plus.

European players just got a lot harder to get becuase of Brexit so Scotland isn't a cheap fall back option any more.

Pay up or **** off.

29-01-2021, 08:05 AM
It’s going to be an interesting end to the window. The reported fees are below what I imagine the club value the players at especially Ryan’s. Josh Doig is an interesting one. Out of the 3 I think he will go on to have the most successful career by quite a distance so I would imagine Hibs will try to get quite a few clauses added in. Would imagine Birmingham’s interest will drop in Kevin now they have signed Cosgrove but there will be others sniffing about. With Covid it makes it a different marketplace and there will be some clubs desperate to sell to survive. With us signing new players already we aren’t one of those but it will be interesting to see how the club react. I expect we will come out of it in a better position.

29-01-2021, 08:08 AM
It’s going to be an interesting end to the window. The reported fees are below what I imagine the club value the players at especially Ryan’s. Josh Doig is an interesting one. Out of the 3 I think he will go on to have the most successful career by quite a distance so I would imagine Hibs will try to get quite a few clauses added in. Would imagine Birmingham’s interest will drop in Kevin now they have signed Cosgrove but there will be others sniffing about. With Covid it makes it a different marketplace and there will be some clubs desperate to sell to survive. With us signing new players already we aren’t one of those but it will be interesting to see how the club react. I expect we will come out of it in a better position.
I agree but I reckon we will sell one of them if a reasonable bid is received. No idea which one mind.

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 08:09 AM

I agree with that too. Getting 10x your money back for Nisbet after half a season is exactly the kind of deal we will accept. Of course we would all love more though.

It appears that lots of folk on here play Football Manager and think it works that way in real life too. Its no as easy as just rejecting it cos he has a long deal. What if he wants to go? What if the agent says fine dont accept but up his wages to reflect what a £4m player gets? Same goes for Porto, comparisons with Mckenna are fair on an ability level but one is a full international who was already on a new big deal at Aberdeen which strengthend Aberdeens hand when it came to negotiation.

Stokesy's on fire
29-01-2021, 08:09 AM

European players just got a lot harder to get becuase of Brexit so Scotland isn't a cheap fall back option any more.

Pay up or **** off.

Or dont sell hope We keep him if we are to aim high we beed to be keeping our best players

29-01-2021, 08:13 AM
I agree with that too. Getting 10x your money back for Nisbet after half a season is exactly the kind of deal we will accept. Of course we would all love more though.

It appears that lots of folk on here play Football Manager and think it works that way in real life too. Its no as easy as just rejecting it cos he has a long deal. What if he wants to go? What if the agent says fine dont accept but up his wages to reflect what a £4m player gets? Same goes for Porto, comparisons with Mckenna are fair on an ability level but one is a full international who was already on a new big deal at Aberdeen which strengthend Aberdeens hand when it came to negotiation.

I honestly think £2 million is too low. It would be a calculated gamble by Hibs to turn it down but for arguements sake if Kevin finishes top scorer in the league, possible does well in a Scottish Cup semi/final and makes the squad for the Euros then his value will probably be about double that.

Saying that I think if the bid crept a bit closer to £3 million at the moment the club would accept it.

29-01-2021, 08:15 AM

Pay up or **** off.

Scotland will only stop being a cheap option if the clubs stop accepting the bids. We’ve got clubs looking for government loans so players will still be sold for what is perceived to be cheap.

I don’t think we’ll sell Nisbet for £2m though. And I don’t think we’ll sell in this window.

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 08:16 AM

Pay up or **** off.

How much harder are european players to get? MAN utd just *****ed 37m on a teenager, Villa took someone from Marseille, Norwich, Wolves, Brentford, Stoke have all brought in EU players with relative ease this month too.

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 08:19 AM
I honestly think £2 million is too low. It would be a calculated gamble by Hibs to turn it down but for arguements sake if Kevin finishes top scorer in the league, possible does well in a Scottish Cup semi/final and makes the squad for the Euros then his value will probably be about double that.

Saying that I think if the bid crept a bit closer to £3 million at the moment the club would accept it.

Of course we all think 2mil is too low, we as fans want huge fees for our players so we can go out and get the best replacement.

Think of it this way, Kenny Miller went for 2 million 20 years ago when the league was swimming in TV cash. He only scored 12 goals for us.

If its a genuine offer and KN wants to go, we will have to sack it up unfortunately.

Lee Marvin
29-01-2021, 08:25 AM
Of course we all think 2mil is too low, we as fans want huge fees for our players so we can go out and get the best replacement.

Think of it this way, Kenny Miller went for 2 million 20 years ago when the league was swimming in TV cash. He only scored 12 goals for us.

If its a genuine offer and KN wants to go, we will have to sack it up unfortunately.

You do realise that the 'real' value of money 20 years ago is roughly half of moneys worth now? So, that £2m was actually around £4m today.

29-01-2021, 08:28 AM
If I knew exactly which one, I would've just said. That's all I've been given I'm afraid.

:aok: thanks for sharing anyway, my initial thought was Drey Wright.

davhibby
29-01-2021, 08:33 AM

Think of it this way, if Sam Cosgrove is worth 2 million now, Nisbet is worth much more

29-01-2021, 08:35 AM

There is also far more money in the English leagues (including the Championship) than there was 20 years ago.

29-01-2021, 08:38 AM
Scotland will only stop being a cheap option if the clubs stop accepting the bids. We’ve got clubs looking for government loans so players will still be sold for what is perceived to be cheap.

I don’t think we’ll sell Nisbet for £2m though. And I don’t think we’ll sell in this window.

We are a cheaper option because English scouts want to see if players can make the step up. Celtic and Rangers get higher fees because they can showcase their players in Europe every year. If we really want to maximise the fee for Nisbet we would put him on loan in the English championship until the end of the season.

29-01-2021, 08:39 AM
Think of it this way, if Sam Cosgrove is worth 2 million now, Nisbet is worth much more

why? Cosgrove now has 3-4 years top league performances in his bag, and Nisbet has half a season? Cosgrove is only one year older....

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 08:41 AM

On this seasons form I agree, Cosgrove however has played and scored more in the top league than KN. Teams will view that as a more proven player. Look, im not wanting us to sell as imo he is the only real bright spark in a season that is petering out before our eyes but I realise that Hibs will be very tempted getting 2 mil for a player we paid 200 grand for only 6 months or so ago.its the business model that will see us continue as a club.

Mr. Wonderful
29-01-2021, 08:42 AM
:aok: thanks for sharing anyway, my initial thought was Drey Wright.

No prob. Also mentioned there's some unhappy faces amongst backroom staff about it.

29-01-2021, 08:44 AM

It’s not just about getting 10x your money though. The club will see what Cosgrove is going for.... £2 million with 18 months on his contract. Nisbet has 3.5 years left and will only get better.

Why would the club sell him for the same price as Cosgrove with double left on his contract.
Kevin Nisbet signed a 4 year contract and was happy to do so. You really think after 6 months he’s unhappy and wants to go (you’ve not said that direct but your agent chat is just that)

Unless we get a starting bid of 3-4 million Kevin Nisbet will be going nowhere!

29-01-2021, 08:45 AM
Don’t be so sure on the Kerr thing, St J won’t roll over and get their belly’s tickled it would take the 1m for Porteous and more to get them to sell him

No danger it’d take a million to sign Kerr.

If he wasn’t a Hibs fan, 99% of the folk who want him at Hibs wouldn’t be interested at all.

If we had him, he’d be filling Adam Jackson’s role here, first choice backup defender.

29-01-2021, 08:46 AM
No prob. Also mentioned there's some unhappy faces amongst backroom staff about it.
Unhappy about what sorry?

Leitherhibs
29-01-2021, 08:48 AM

If he wasn’t a Hibs fan, 99% of the folk who want him at Hibs wouldn’t be interested at all.

If we had him, he’d be filling Adam Jackson’s role here, first choice backup defender.

Think Kerr would be first choice, but agree that with only 18 months left on his deal we'd get him for way short of 1mil.

Magpie
29-01-2021, 08:48 AM

It’s a shame that Adam wanted to be closer to home. Thought he was a good player. Doing well with Lincoln this season.

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 08:50 AM
There is also far more money in the English leagues (including the Championship) than there was 20 years ago.

Thats also true mate. There is clubs in that league that will compete with Celtic & Rangers financially but what do we do if we say to KN, nah you aren't going anywhere and he then wants his wage to reflect that we value him at 4million pounds.

We certainly couldn't match it and then we might find ourselves with a player who isn't happy and just going through the motions.

29-01-2021, 08:51 AM
For me Doig would be the sorest one to lose.

A different player compared to the one that started the season. If the trajectory continues who knows how good he get.

yerauldda
29-01-2021, 08:52 AM

Can’t agree. Very highly rated player.
There’s a similar clamour around Guthrie, a similar player and not a Hibs fan.

Leitherhibs
29-01-2021, 08:53 AM
For me Doig would be the sorest one to lose.

A different player compared to the one that started the season. If the trajectory continues who knows how good he get.

Any deal seeing Doig leave would include a loan back clause I reckon, the clubs credited with interest wouldn’t be using him in their first team, so he’d be as well developing here.

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 08:54 AM
It’s not just about getting 10x your money though. The club will see what Cosgrove is going for.... £2 million with 18 months on his contract. Nisbet has 3.5 years left and will only get better.

Why would the club sell him for the same price as Cosgrove with double left on his contract.
Kevin Nisbet signed a 4 year contract and was happy to do so. You really think after 6 months he’s unhappy and wants to go (you’ve not said that direct but your agent chat is just that)

Unless we get a starting bid of 3-4 million Kevin Nisbet will be going nowhere!

Cosgrove hasnt got anything to do with Hibs so I'm no sure why he keeps being the example held up. Aberdeen agreed he was worth 2 million and that's that.

I'm sure KN was delighted to get a pay rise by coming here but surely you aren't that naive to think he won't then be tempted by the many more thousands of pounds Birmingham are liley to be offering him! He doesn't have any long term affiliation to us and like most footballers will only see it as a job.

29-01-2021, 08:55 AM
That was a pretty depressing point made earlier that we may lose two players we have yet to actually see play for Hibs.

29-01-2021, 08:56 AM

I know I did and I contacted the club at the time to tell them so, I thought it was a dreadful decision at the time and nothing that has happened since then has made me want to change that view.

29-01-2021, 08:58 AM
It’s a shame that Adam wanted to be closer to home. Thought he was a good player. Doing well with Lincoln this season.

Good goal threat from corners too, mind you our corners dont tend to clear the first man these days so does it matter..

29-01-2021, 09:00 AM
60-70% confident?? 🤔

🤔📝 "60-70 per cent I am confident that somebody is going to come"

@BCFC boss Aitor Karanka has say on Birmingham links with Hibs striker Kevin Nisbet and Aberdeen forward Sam Cosgrove | @atkotweets

https://t.co/CK0e5Ey5VC

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 09:02 AM
I know I did and I contacted the club at the time to tell them so, I thought it was a dreadful decision at the time and nothing that has happened since then has made me want to change that view.

Did you get a response?

29-01-2021, 09:02 AM
60-70% confident?? 🤔

🤔📝 "60-70 per cent I am confident that somebody is going to come"

@BCFC boss Aitor Karanka has say on Birmingham links with Hibs striker Kevin Nisbet and Aberdeen forward Sam Cosgrove | @atkotweets

https://t.co/CK0e5Ey5VC

It sounds like Aberdeen have accepted an offer, and a previous poster who seems genuine says Nisbet is going nowhere. 2+2=Cosgrove going to Brum

29-01-2021, 09:03 AM
Did you get a response?

It was just a photo of Petrie sitting on a stack of cash in his gold-plated pants.

29-01-2021, 09:06 AM
Cosgrove hasnt got anything to do with Hibs so I'm no sure why he keeps being the example held up. Aberdeen agreed he was worth 2 million and that's that.

I'm sure KN was delighted to get a pay rise by coming here but surely you aren't that naive to think he won't then be tempted by the many more thousands of pounds Birmingham are liley to be offering him! He doesn't have any long term affiliation to us and like most footballers will only see it as a job.

Think you’re missing my point in all this. Aberdeen sold their player, a CF who had 18 months left on his contract for £2 million.

We have a similar type player, who in my eyes will only get better, who has 3.5 years left in his contract!

Why would Hibs sell a player for £2 million after seeing this player being sold for that amount.

As for being naive, no I’m not but we won’t sell for £2million

All in all Hibs hold all the aces if they wanted to sell their prize assest. If a team wants him they better be prepared to pay for him.

Personally unless it’s 3-4 million Kevin Nisbets going nowhere

29-01-2021, 09:13 AM
Can’t agree. Very highly rated player.
There’s a similar clamour around Guthrie, a similar player and not a Hibs fan.

Seemingly out of contract at the end of the season, wonder if we've looked into that at all. Good player

29-01-2021, 09:14 AM

Kerr is a very good defender. 750 would get him though as ST J are skint.

29-01-2021, 09:20 AM
Kerr is a very good defender. 750 would get him though as ST J are skint.

750 grand for Kerr. That seems a bit much.

yerauldda
29-01-2021, 09:20 AM
Seemingly out of contract at the end of the season, wonder if we've looked into that at all. Good player

If we have any sense then we would be looking into that. One of the best players in the league over the last 2/3 months.

29-01-2021, 09:24 AM

Bang average player imo.

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 09:25 AM
It was just a photo of Petrie sitting on a stack of cash in his gold-plated pants.
🤣🤣

29-01-2021, 09:25 AM

For me he is as good a prospect as Porto and people on here want £4m for him. :greengrin

davhibby
29-01-2021, 09:26 AM
why? Cosgrove now has 3-4 years top league performances in his bag, and Nisbet has half a season? Cosgrove is only one year older....

Cosgrove has a much shorter contract for starters. Cosgrove has been poor for most of the time up here and had done nothing before being at Aberdeen. Nisbet has now scored goals moving up through the levels the last few years, that shows he’s a proper goalscorer. That is worth more than pretty much any other type of player on the pitch

Mr. Wonderful
29-01-2021, 09:26 AM
Unhappy about what sorry?

Us being so willing to sell several players at this stage of the window 👍

29-01-2021, 09:29 AM

Gotcha cheers
Sounds to me we have a few talents other clubs are interested in so we have decisions to make.
Unless we are actively trying to offload our best assets?

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 09:33 AM
Think you’re missing my point in all this. Aberdeen sold their player, a CF who had 18 months left on his contract for £2 million.

We have a similar type player, who in my eyes will only get better, who has 3.5 years left in his contract!

Why would Hibs sell a player for £2 million after seeing this player being sold for that amount.

As for being naive, no I’m not but we won’t sell for £2million

All in all Hibs hold all the aces if they wanted to sell their prize assest. If a team wants him they better be prepared to pay for him.

Personally unless it’s 3-4 million Kevin Nisbets going nowhere

I get your point that you rate KN more than SC as a striker, I do too by the way but that's where comparison on this have to end in my opinion. Aberdeen have a value they are happy with, at the moment we have no idea if Hibs even have a bid and I hope that SC going to Brum means they no longer want Kevin.

I'm not aiming this at you but I'm seeing loads fi people on here sat we should be looking double Cosgrove worth or start the bidding at 5m. To me thats like saying Celtic got 11 million for Frimpong so we can expect more for Paul McGinn if a bid comes in. I'd assume he has a longer deal and I believe he is a better player in the same position. Unfortunately it doesn't work like that.

29-01-2021, 09:34 AM
Derek McInnes has confirmed Aberdeen are in negotiations with Birmingham over the sale of striker Sam Cosgrove. #aberdeenfc #bcfc

29-01-2021, 09:36 AM
If we sold Porteous for one million I'd be greatfull for the money. Costing us goals and games at the moment. Nisbet and Doig are two we should try and keep hold of for the time beingas their value is only going to go up.

29-01-2021, 09:37 AM

To be fair if they’d made it to the cup final I don’t think we’d have been as willing...

Any developments? When’s the pre-match interviews normally out?

Derek McInnes has confirmed Aberdeen are in negotiations with Birmingham over the sale of striker Sam Cosgrove. #aberdeenfc #bcfc

fingers crossed.

ThatDayInMay
We rejected the opening offer for Nisbet and it seems that Birmingham have turned their full attention towards signing Cosgrove. They are in negotiations with Aberdeen at the minute. Karanka himself stated that is was a case of one or the other. Looks like Nissy is staying beyond this window. I know he’s been through a rough patch recently but if he finds his form over the 2nd half of the season we could quite conceivably get £3/4m for him with some means of sell on percentage.

Porto on the other hand, Millwall are coming back with a second bid.

29-01-2021, 09:40 AM

If a substantial cash offer has been accepted for a fringe player then why hasn't it happened/been reported yet?

Mr. Wonderful
29-01-2021, 09:41 AM
We rejected the opening offer for Nisbet and it seems that Birmingham have turned their full attention towards signing Cosgrove. They are in negotiations with Aberdeen at the minute. Karanka himself stated that is was a case of one or the other. Looks like Nissy is staying beyond this window. I know he’s been through a rough patch recently but if he finds his form over the 2nd half of the season we could quite conceivably get £3/4m for him with some means of sell on percentage.

Birmingham want Cosgrove and are maybe using Nisbet interest as a pawn to get Aberdeen to sell.

29-01-2021, 09:43 AM
I get your point that you rate KN more than SC as a striker, I do too by the way but that's where comparison on this have to end in my opinion. Aberdeen have a value they are happy with, at the moment we have no idea if Hibs even have a bid and I hope that SC going to Brum means they no longer want Kevin.

I'm not aiming this at you but I'm seeing loads fi people on here sat we should be looking double Cosgrove worth or start the bidding at 5m. To me thats like saying Celtic got 11 million for Frimpong so we can expect more for Paul McGinn if a bid comes in. I'd assume he has a longer deal and I believe he is a better player in the same position. Unfortunately it doesn't work like that.

You’ve missed my point and your last bit is just daft.

It’s not about rating a player better than each other it’s about what they are worth and that includes potential etc.

If a team sees fit to pay £2 million for a player like Cosgrove with 18 months left on his contract then so be it. Kevin Nisbet has 3.5 years left and is every bit as good as him and has potential to get better. We hold the aces and we won’t sell him cheap.

If Paul McGinn was as good and had similar time left on his contact etc as Frimpong then yes I’d expect the same or more. Why not.
Why should we expect anything less?

We are the selling ourselves short if we don’t look to get at the very least £3 - 4 million for Nisbet

Do you rate Kevin Nisbet?

29-01-2021, 09:44 AM

Agree regarding it would take nowhere near £1million.

Disagree regarding back up, if we sell Portoeus to fund his arrival he will be playing.

29-01-2021, 09:49 AM

It sounds like Brum only had £2m to spend. We knocked back the first bid, Aberdeen accepted theirs. They must be in serious bother right now.

29-01-2021, 09:52 AM
It sounds like Brum only had £2m to spend. We knocked back the first bid, Aberdeen accepted theirs. They must be in serious bother right now.

McInnes is saying the deal is far from done.
I still expect it to happen though.

29-01-2021, 09:57 AM
If a substantial cash offer has been accepted for a fringe player then why hasn't it happened/been reported yet?

Because there hasnt been one made.

29-01-2021, 09:59 AM

Trying to equate Paul McGinn with Frimpong as a comparison with Cosgrove/Nisbet is ridiculous. Re Cosgrove/Nisbet you posted earlier that Cosgrove has scored more top flight goals than Kevin. Really? A guy in his 4th season versus 1 in his first! Incidentally IIRC Cosgrove didn't score at all in his first 20 odd games then suddenly went off on a scoring spree, helped by numerous penalties. Now he's back to his early days. Nisbet is younger, on a longer contract, on a direct comparison (1st season in Prem) he's way ahead of Cosgrove. We absolutely should be looking for at least £4m for Kevin & I suspect Hibs will take that view also.
Strangely, although I think Kevin is a far better player than Cosgrove & has far more potential, I believe Cosgrove may at present be better suited to Brum & the Championship. Brum have had a long tradition of a big huddy up top, remember Zigic, & Cosgrove knows English league football.

29-01-2021, 10:00 AM
Because there hasnt been one made.

I suspect you're correct.

29-01-2021, 10:07 AM
You’ve missed my point and your last bit is just daft.

It’s not about rating a player better than each other it’s about what they are worth and that includes potential etc.

If a team sees fit to pay £2 million for a player like Cosgrove with 18 months left on his contract then so be it. Kevin Nisbet has 3.5 years left and is every bit as good as him and has potential to get better. We hold the aces and we won’t sell him cheap.

If Paul McGinn was as good and had similar time left on his contact etc as Frimpong then yes I’d expect the same or more. Why not.
Why should we expect anything less?

We are the selling ourselves short if we don’t look to get at the very least £3 - 4 million for Nisbet

Do you rate Kevin Nisbet?

I agree with you. Personally I think Aberdeen should bite their hand off for £2m for SC, personally I wouldn't be bidding that much for him. Yes he is a big strapping CF but he isn't as mobile as KN and height and size isn't everything, for example Doidgy isn't as tall as SC but I bet he can jump higher to get to those high balls. Overall I'd keep KN as I believe he will be worth more than £2m in time and time is on our side.

HendoDelivered
29-01-2021, 10:08 AM
Some of the logic regarding Porto/selling him is astonishing.

29-01-2021, 10:11 AM

We haven't had confirmation but I would be willing to have a Hibs Net charity bet with you or anyone else on this Board that we do have a sell on % agreed with Pars. The SJM situation was in the public domain, thanks to the St M chairman & every club is now (rightly) looking to cash in. It's our ( & many other clubs) business model.

29-01-2021, 10:11 AM

So let me see if i have this right, one person (you) thought at the time we were selling a player too cheaply 14 years ago, but 99.9% of the rest of us thought we were losing a great player but were receiving a fair price for him?

Can you name another we've sold far too cheaply where we could have got more, and just accepted the first offer, rolled over is the term being used at the moment?

29-01-2021, 10:13 AM

Agreed 100%. Thank goodness those folks aren't in charge!

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 10:14 AM
Trying to equate Paul McGinn with Frimpong as a comparison with Cosgrove/Nisbet is ridiculous. Re Cosgrove/Nisbet you posted earlier that Cosgrove has scored more top flight goals than Kevin. Really? A guy in his 4th season versus 1 in his first! Incidentally IIRC Cosgrove didn't score at all in his first 20 odd games then suddenly went off on a scoring spree, helped by numerous penalties. Now he's back to his early days. Nisbet is younger, on a longer contract, on a direct comparison (1st season in Prem) he's way ahead of Cosgrove. We absolutely should be looking for at least £4m for Kevin & I suspect Hibs will take that view also.
Strangely, although I think Kevin is a far better player than Cosgrove & has far more potential, I believe Cosgrove may at present be better suited to Brum & the Championship. Brum have had a long tradition of a big huddy up top, remember Zigic, & Cosgrove knows English league football.
I never said I thought it was a fair comparison mate. My point was that we shouldn't be comparing KN & SC just like we can't expect millions for our right back just because another team in the league got the same for theirs.

I really hope he goes nowhere anyway cos I believe he is the best striker we've had since Deek

29-01-2021, 10:15 AM
We haven't had confirmation but I would be willing to have a Hibs Net charity bet with you or anyone else on this Board that we do have a sell on % agreed with Pars. The SJM situation was in the public domain, thanks to the St M chairman & every club is now (rightly) looking to cash in. It's our ( & many other clubs) business model.

We do have a sell on clause with Dunfermline. There was also substantial bonuses for them for each cup final we reached. We have saved cash on that front unfortunately.

29-01-2021, 10:17 AM

I'll take this with a pinch of salt.

I would be surprised if Hibs are looking to sell any key players. Gordon is here to build a successful football team. There are potential ambitions beyond the SPL (I'm making this up, but I think it's not too far off the mark). Getting rid of the most sellable players at the drop of a hat isn't a great business strategy really, is it?

Happy to see fringe players go, the likes of Mallan, S.McGinn Wright, Gray and McGregor (sentiment aside), particularly if this means we can bring others in).

29-01-2021, 10:18 AM
Dunfermline would have to be pretty stupid not to have included a sell on clause. Every club does it. Hibs have it with McGinn and we will no doubt have it with Porteous, Nisbet, Doig ect when they eventually do move on.

29-01-2021, 10:20 AM
Dunfermline would have to be pretty stupid not to have included a sell on clause. Every club does it. Hibs have it with McGinn and we will no doubt have it with Porteous, Nisbet, Doig ect when they eventually do move on.
I don't doubt there is, i just dont think it's the 30% the Dunfermline fans seem to think it is.

MikeyS
29-01-2021, 10:22 AM
I don't doubt there is, i just dont think it's the 30% the Dunfermline fans seem to think it is.

It seems every set of fans go to number is 30% after the whole John McGinn transfer. Its not helped by lazy journos perpetuating these myths too.

Leitherhibs
29-01-2021, 10:23 AM

Agree, I couldn't see us agreeing to 30%, more likely to be in the realms of the standard 10-20%, which seems to be a pretty standard clause inserted for guys 24 or younger.

The Sundance Kid
29-01-2021, 10:25 AM
Hibs confirm on Twitter that Josh Doig is doing the pre-match press conference, can’t see him being chosen for this if he was imminently leaving.

ElginHibbie
29-01-2021, 10:25 AM
Doig doing pre match conference so doesn't look like a move for him is imminent

29-01-2021, 10:26 AM
So let me see if i have this right, one person (you) thought at the time we were selling a player too cheaply 14 years ago, but 99.9% of the rest of us thought we were losing a great player but were receiving a fair price for him?

Can you name another we've sold far too cheaply where we could have got more, and just accepted the first offer, rolled over is the term being used at the moment?

I’d just like to put on record that I was speaking hypothetically in the event that we accepted the offers that are rumoured, as oppose to it actually happening previously

inglisavhibs
29-01-2021, 10:28 AM
If we sold Porteous for one million I'd be greatfull for the money. Costing us goals and games at the moment. Nisbet and Doig are two we should try and keep hold of for the time beingas their value is only going to go up.
Thank god you are not in charge of Hibs.

29-01-2021, 10:30 AM
I never said I thought it was a fair comparison mate. My point was that we shouldn't be comparing KN & SC just like we can't expect millions for our right back just because another team in the league got the same for theirs.

I really hope he goes nowhere anyway cos I believe he is the best striker we've had since Deek

You’re not getting it though.

So if the club accepted £2 million for Nisbet then Aberdeen sell Cosgrove for £3 million what would you say about that??!

A similar type player but only 18 months left on his contract compared to 3.5 years. Would you ever happy with that??

Simple question there. Keen to know your thoughts

29-01-2021, 10:31 AM

Depends how negotiations went. Maybe Hibs offered £100k with a 10% sell on or £200k cash now? With things being what they were and with the Pars not knowing when their league would even start and the player agitating for a move it’s not that hard to think they may have taken the cash option.
There is no way of knowing what the deal was unless the clubs or player let it slip.

29-01-2021, 10:42 AM
You’re not getting it though.

So if the club accepted £2 million for Nisbet then Aberdeen sell Cosgrove for £3 million what would you say about that??!

A similar type player but only 18 months left on his contract compared to 3.5 years. Would you ever happy with that??

Simple question there. Keen to know your thoughts

I don't think it's as simple as saying player X goes for such amount so player Y goes for such amount. We don't know what Aberdeen's financial situation is and we don't know if Cosgrove made it clear he wanted to go. It could be Nesbit said he's happy to stay here at the moment.

Too many variables that we as fans just don't about.

29-01-2021, 10:44 AM
I don't think it's as simple as saying player X goes for such amount so player Y goes for such amount. We don't know what Aberdeen's financial situation is and we don't know if Cosgrove made it clear he wanted to to. It could be Nesbit said he's happy to stay here at the moment.

Too many variables that we as fans just don't about.

It’s never simple and I get it but my point is that there has been a standard set etc regardless of if it’s our player or not.

29-01-2021, 10:46 AM
Sky sports Scotland tweets

Sam Cosgrove is heading to Birmingham for a medical and to complete his move from Aberdeen after the Championship club agreed a fee.

29-01-2021, 10:47 AM

The KN sell on clause is 15%.

29-01-2021, 10:48 AM

Nope, it's 50%. And 5% goes to St Mirren. We actually owe St Mirren 10% of every player we ever sell now ever, the St Mirren chairman said so on Twitter.

29-01-2021, 10:49 AM
I’d just like to put on record that I was speaking hypothetically in the event that we accepted the offers that are rumoured, as oppose to it actually happening previously

Why would you like it put on record though, if we do not have any history of rolling over when selling players? :confused:

Spudster
29-01-2021, 10:51 AM
Got to wonder what Birmingham’s scouting department is up to. A toss up between Cosgrove or Nisbet? They are completely different types of player. Criteria must be “a striker in Scotland”

Percy Vere
29-01-2021, 10:55 AM

If we could get £2.5m for Doig
International call up fee
25% sell on fee
And a loan back
I’d jump at it in this climate
Would give Hibs solid security going forward
And Great for the lad

Hibiza
29-01-2021, 11:00 AM
Agree 100%

29-01-2021, 11:02 AM
‘EFL Hub’ are saying an offer of 1.3 million has been accepted by Hibs for Porteous. No idea how reliable they are.

29-01-2021, 11:04 AM
That sounds more believable

Magpie
29-01-2021, 11:05 AM
‘EFL Hub’ are saying an offer of 1.3 million has been accepted by Hibs for Porteous. No idea how reliable they are.

13,000 followers seems quite credible. Looks like most of it might be guesswork though.

29-01-2021, 11:05 AM

That's pretty dire if true.

29-01-2021, 11:08 AM
That's pretty dire if true.

Yeah, I'd be pretty gutted by that.

29-01-2021, 11:08 AM
13,000 followers seems quite credible.
Hibs Central on twitter has 10.6K followers on twitter and he spouts quite a bit of nonsense.

In saying that i have no idea how credible that EFL account is 😁

29-01-2021, 11:09 AM
13,000 followers seems quite credible. Looks like most of it might be guesswork though.

Unless there's a huge sell on clause, I couldn't see us parting with him for 1.3 mill, credible source or not.

29-01-2021, 11:10 AM

I'd be a bit gutted by that.

29-01-2021, 11:17 AM
We do have a sell on clause with Dunfermline. There was also substantial bonuses for them for each cup final we reached. We have saved cash on that front unfortunately.

Sounds like the Pars would have been more gutted than some of the players seemed to be last Saturday. :greengrin

Leitherhibs
29-01-2021, 11:18 AM
Apparently a certain Ex-Hibee is Birmingham City's scout up here..

inglisavhibs
29-01-2021, 11:19 AM
Unless there's a huge sell on clause, I couldn't see us parting with him for 1.3 mill, credible source or not.
Possibility that when Ryan signed his extended contract there was a clause in its saying that if Hibs got a certain offer they would have to accept, I think Cummings had a similar clause. Not great to lose Ryan if he goes.

29-01-2021, 11:21 AM

David Murphy? No idea if he is a scout or not, just the first former Hibee i can think of that played for Birmingham aside from Gaz

Dmas
29-01-2021, 11:23 AM

How you so sure? You got a link to anything? I’m not doubting,I’d be very surprised if pars didn’t have something, I just can’t remember seeing anything about it at the time never mind an exact figure.

Magpie
29-01-2021, 11:24 AM

Callum Davidson has a good connection with Millwall, I thought they might have fancied Jason Kerr if looking for a centre half up here, they must rate Porteous a lot higher.

29-01-2021, 11:25 AM
Anything less than £2M would be a paltry sum for Ryan Porteous given his age, potential and attitude.

He's a cracking young prospect in a position that is difficult to come by players like him at such a young age.

I'll be amazed if we sold him for the so called £1.2/£1.3M being touted just now.

How you so sure? You got a link to anything? I’m not doubting,I’d be very surprised if pars didn’t have something, I just can’t remember seeing anything about it at the time never mind an exact figure.

I'm not prepared to reveal my contacts. 15% plus £50k if we qualify for Europe.

Wouldn't accept 1.3 for Porto. That's less than Hearts got for Hickey right? And Porto must have played much more first team football. And he's been involved in the past few Scotland squads at 21.

29-01-2021, 11:27 AM
I would be gutted if the 1.3 turned out to be true, I’d be wanting at least double that.

Sell on % are all great and well but it depends how the player does.

29-01-2021, 11:36 AM

Fair enough!

29-01-2021, 11:37 AM
I would be gutted if the 1.3 turned out to be true, I’d be wanting at least double that.

Sell on % are all great and well but it depends how the player does.Yep, and there's the risk that they go on to be a staple player in the next team for years to come. There's still a risk John McGinn will stay through his prime at villa and not be sold for Megabucks in the end

Leitherhibs
29-01-2021, 11:40 AM
David Murphy? No idea if he is a scout or not, just the first former Hibee i can think of that played for Birmingham aside from Gaz

No mate, Sam Morrow.

29-01-2021, 11:42 AM
No mate, Sam Morrow.
Christ, thats a blast from the past

29-01-2021, 11:43 AM
Depends how big the sell on fee is - if it's 40% and Porto develops into a player deserving of a top flight move, that could be a huge amount by the end. I don't think he's going to improve further with us in the Scottish leagues so it may be good timing wise.

29-01-2021, 11:43 AM
£1.3 million for Porteous would be scandalous, he’s worth way more than that.

29-01-2021, 11:46 AM
Got to wonder what Birmingham’s scouting department is up to. A toss up between Cosgrove or Nisbet? They are completely different types of player. Criteria must be “a striker in Scotland”

I posted earlier that Cosgrove may be the better (short term) option for Brum. Right now their entire focus is on staying up. Cosgrove is a typical Championship striker, big lump, good at holding up, decent in air, experienced in England. Kevin is IMO a far better player with significantly greater potential but I can see why Brum would go for him. Hopefully also though it's because we laughed at their offer!

29-01-2021, 11:48 AM
Depends how big the sell on fee is - if it's 40% and Porto develops into a player deserving of a top flight move, that could be a huge amount by the end. I don't think he's going to improve further with us in the Scottish leagues so it may be good timing wise.I think you raise a good point there actually that we doesn't look like progressing much more with us.

I totally agree, he has a lot of potential but (taking my Hibs hat off), for his career it might be best to move and learn from better players/coaches. He will be learning very little from Hanlon right now if you ask me, if he hangs around much longer he'll stagnate.

29-01-2021, 11:49 AM
As other posters have stated. Won't be so easy for lower league English clubs to sign players from the EU, time for all Scottish clubs to up their prices. Scottish football clubs excluding celtic and rangers have been getting shafted for years.

USAHibee
29-01-2021, 11:52 AM
£1.3 million for Porteous would be scandalous, he’s worth way more than that.

THere is great talet in the Scotttish League, a league vastly under rated elsewhere. Its a tough place to play\learn and I can see more players moving for bigger fees in the coming years. We are lucky that we have three of the best young talents at Hibs and Im certain they will go on to much bigger things - just hopefully not too soon!

Ryan is definitely worth way more than 1.3 million, hopefully we hold out for more. Nisbet and Doig will probably move on in the summer for over of 2 million each...

The clubs signing policy and academy should be praised for bringing these players through, definitely doing something right....

29-01-2021, 11:56 AM
I think you raise a good point there actually that we doesn't look like progressing much more with us.

I totally agree, he has a lot of potential but (taking my Hibs hat off), for his career it might be best to move and learn from better players/coaches. He will be learning very little from Hanlon right now if you ask me, if he hangs around much longer he'll stagnate.

I’m not sure Milwall would really fit the better players and coaches thing. It’s not a huge step up to that league, most of the boys that go down from Scotland do well in that league. Might be a bit different if he was going to one of the big clubs with ambitions of pushing for the Premier League, but no Milwall.

Would possibly do him good to out of the bubble up here and concentrating on his football though. He’s got a reputation, unfairly, because Rangers have made a bit of noise about him. They were all after him the other night.

29-01-2021, 11:58 AM
£1.3 million is absolutely scandalous if true.

Even with a high sell on or add ons - with Porteous previous injuries there are no guarantees.

Tell them to ram it.

29-01-2021, 11:58 AM
THere is great talet in the Scotttish League, a league vastly under rated elsewhere. Its a tough place to play\learn and I can see more players moving for bigger fees in the coming years. We are lucky that we have three of the best young talents at Hibs and Im certain they will go on to much bigger things - just hopefully not too soon!

Ryan is definitely worth way more than 1.3 million, hopefully we hold out for more. Nisbet and Doig will probably move on in the summer for over of 2 million each...

The clubs signing policy and academy should be praised for bringing these players through, definitely doing something right....
I think the growing number of Scottish players at the bigger clubs in England proves your point. I’d rate Porteous up there with the best of what’s came through in recent years.

TheGog
29-01-2021, 12:02 PM
How much did McKenna go for? Cause tripple that for porto

Dmas
29-01-2021, 12:02 PM
I think you raise a good point there actually that we doesn't look like progressing much more with us.

I don’t think porteous has improved much at all, he’s got his tackling under control but his all round game in my opinion hasn’t improved much since he came into the team, injuries, managerial changes wouldn’t have helped that’s for sure but for me cashing in now and using it to bring in a couple of decent replacements would be ideal and a sell on just incase wouldn’t do any harm.

Forrest signed McKenna from aberdeen for under £3m and he was a full international and playing a few European games a season so half that amount is probably as fair a price as we could hope for

29-01-2021, 12:03 PM
£1.3 million is absolutely scandalous if true.

Even with a high sell on or add ons - with Porteous previous injuries there are no guarantees.

Tell them to ram it.
Though on the flip side if he has injury concerns long term would we not want to take the money?

29-01-2021, 12:05 PM
Though on the flip side if he has injury concerns long term would we not want to take the money?

Surely the better option would be to hold out for a bigger fee with little sell on in that case?

29-01-2021, 12:12 PM
Surely the better option would be to hold out for a bigger fee with little sell on in that case?

Am playing devil's advocate really.

29-01-2021, 12:21 PM
I don’t think porteous has improved much at all, he’s got his tackling under control but his all round game in my opinion hasn’t improved much since he came into the team, injuries, managerial changes wouldn’t have helped that’s for sure but for me cashing in now and using it to bring in a couple of decent replacements would be ideal and a sell on just incase wouldn’t do any harm.

Forrest signed McKenna from aberdeen for under £3m and he was a full international and playing a few European games a season so half that amount is probably as fair a price as we could hope for

I would agree with you that Porteous hasn’t progressed as much this season as we would have hoped. His decision making, passing, concentration and reading of the game have all been exposed at times ( none of which have anything to do with playing with Hanlon- where do folk get the inspiration for tha5 kind of nonsense, and not referring to you).

That said he still clearly has a lot of potential and I would rather keep a promising young player rather than punt him off at the first sniff of cash. That should work only be an option if the club are really concerned about our finances.

I have my doubts. If this had any substance, I think we would have seen another centre half in the door before now.

Of course, we also have to consider what Porteous might want. Does a move to a horrible London based club in the middle of a severe pandemic tick his boxes in terms of career development? I would like to think not.

29-01-2021, 12:21 PM
£2.5m for Porteous is the very least I think we should take. That would need add-ons as well.

£2.5m would go a very long way to alleviating financial pressures at this time.

29-01-2021, 12:25 PM
I would agree with you that Porteous hasn’t progressed as much this season as we would have hoped. His decision making, passing, concentration and reading of the game have all been exposed at times ( none of which have anything to do with playing with Hanlon- where do folk get the inspiration for tha5 kind of nonsense, and not referring to you).

That said he still clearly has a lot of potential and I would rather keep a promising young player rather than punt him off at the first sniff of cash. That should work only be an option if the club are really concerned about our finances.

I have my doubts. If this had any substance, I think we would have seen another centre half in the door before now.

Of course, we also have to consider what Porteous might want. Does a move to a horrible London based club in the middle of a severe pandemic tick his boxed in terms of career development? I wuld like to think not.

£20k a week would.

29-01-2021, 12:28 PM

Of course, we also have to consider what Porteous might want. Does a move to a horrible London based club in the middle of a severe pandemic tick his boxed in terms of career development? I wuld like to think not.

playing in the championship would develop him and get him a platform that could transform his career...would be a no brainer for him I think.....

29-01-2021, 12:30 PM
£20k a week would.

If we are just making up random figures, maybe more like 5k a week?

29-01-2021, 12:32 PM
Agree regarding it would take nowhere near £1million.

Disagree regarding back up, if we sell Portoeus to fund his arrival he will be playing.

If we sell Porteous and bring in Kerr then of course he’d be playing. I’m saying if we have Hanlon, Porteous and Kerr, then it’s Kerr who’s the back up.

allyh1bs
29-01-2021, 12:32 PM
Doesn’t look like Nisbet will be going to a Birmingham. Sam Cosgrove is on his way down to B’ham for a medical, and they have just signed a striker from Norwich on loan with an obligation to buy.

29-01-2021, 12:35 PM

He’s getting a far harder time than he deserves on here. He’s made some **** ups, no doubt about it, but he’s also been an integral part of the defence who has a lot of clean sheets this season. Only 3 teams have conceded less goals, one of them (Aberdeen) has conceded only one less, but played a game less too.

Porto was called into the Scotland squad this season, not Kerr, not Guthrie. Porto is the apparent target of a million pound bid from the Championship, not Kerr or Guthrie who would be far easier to get. Still though, Hibs fans love to stick the boot into one of their own.

29-01-2021, 12:37 PM
If we are just making up random figures, maybe more like 5k a week?

With the average weekly wage in the English championship being reported at 29k a week , I’d say he’d move for notably more than 5k per week ...would surely be at least 9k-10k a week .....

https://www.eadt.co.uk/sport/huge-wage-gap-in-efl-revealed-2663302

29-01-2021, 12:37 PM
A Millwall fans podcast tweets

Our sources are telling us a bid for @HibsFc_1875 player
Ryan Porteous has been accepted for just over £1m with more in add on’s.

@HFCTalk what's your thoughts on this?

29-01-2021, 12:38 PM
£20k a week would.

Don’t think he’d be getting remotely close to that going to Milwall.

He’d get a wage rise I’m sure but don’t think it’d be anything huge. Their last financials showed a turnover of £18.4m. The financial gap in that league between the clubs who have had EPL money and those who haven’t is massive.

29-01-2021, 12:40 PM
With the average weekly wage in the English championship being reported at 29k a week , I’d say he’d move for notably more than 5k per week ...would surely be at least 9k-10k a week .....

https://www.eadt.co.uk/sport/huge-wage-gap-in-efl-revealed-2663302

Really skewed by the teams that have had, and spend, parachute money. Milwall’s most recent turnover was £18.4m.

29-01-2021, 12:40 PM
Don’t think he’d be getting remotely close to that going to Milwall.

He’d get a wage rise I’m sure but don’t think it’d be anything huge. Their last financials showed a turnover of £18.4m. The financial gap in that league between the clubs who have had EPL money and those who haven’t is massive.

I’d imagine he’d be lucky to get £10k a week. Loads of players at that level will be on less than £10k a week.

29-01-2021, 12:41 PM
Really skewed by the teams that have had, and spend, parachute money. Milwall’s most recent turnover was £18.4m.

Yep. Always a risk in averages. But he’s not going to move unless he goes as one of their better player players ..18.4M is almost double our turnover is it not ?

29-01-2021, 12:42 PM
If this £1.3m is accurate, and has been accepted, the club aren’t going to encourage many ST renewals for next season.

Are we good at getting players cheap but sadly equally good at selling them cheaply? Hope this is just rumours.

sean04
29-01-2021, 12:44 PM
I’ve tough to lose Porto but the club could be looking at Kerr and Finlay for next season. Also money in the club just now will be more than welcome

29-01-2021, 12:45 PM
If this £1.3m is accurate, and has been accepted, the club aren’t going to encourage many ST renewals for next season.

Are we good at getting players cheap but sadly equally good at selling them cheaply? Hope this is just rumours.

When are the times we have done that previously?

29-01-2021, 12:45 PM
I wouldn't be shocked of Ryan turned down this move. Unlike of course but it's really not a good move and waiting 6 months could see much better options.

29-01-2021, 12:46 PM
Millwall don't seem to sell players for big money, quick look shows you that Mark Kennedy is their largest transfer fee received 2.3m in 1995

29-01-2021, 12:46 PM
Yep. Always a risk in averages. But he’s not going to move unless he goes as one of their better player players ..18.4M is almost double our turnover is it not ?

Bit less than double ours, pre pandemic.

Which I think brings a bit perspective to how much he’d be getting paid. Increase, aye. But not to five figures a week I wouldn’t think. If it was A Stoke, Norwich or something then I think he’d be getting the life changing money.

29-01-2021, 12:47 PM
When are the times we have done that previously?

McGinn.

29-01-2021, 12:48 PM
I wouldn't be shocked of Ryan turned down this move. Unlike of course but it's really not a good move and waiting 6 months could see much better options.

I agree, I don’t think it’s a great move.

Bit less than double ours, pre pandemic.

Which I think brings a bit perspective to how much he’d be getting paid. Increase, aye. But not to five figures a week I wouldn’t think. If it was A Stoke, Norwich or something then I think he’d be getting the life changing money.

We are all just guessing / analysing aren’t we ..the fact is we may have half their turnover , but we’d never get anywhere near offering a 1.3M fee being paid out ..that sort of fee commands a decent salary. It will be nearer 10k than 5k that’s for sure ...

cannastar
take the money for both if it is reallistic. be sad to see them leave but money in the club is important also.

29-01-2021, 12:50 PM
If we sell Porto for a million then we’ve lost the ****ing plot.

The boy is a massive talent with huge potential who is improving at a high rate. 1 million is far too low for him IMO.

If we sell, we should be looking at the type of money other Scottish players have been attracting. They are worth whatever we would sell them for so we shouldn’t be accepting low offers.

Dmas
29-01-2021, 12:50 PM

Of course, we also have to consider what Porteous might want. Does a move to a horrible London based club in the middle of a severe pandemic tick his boxes in terms of career development? I would like to think not.

Total agreement on the Hanlon thing I thought about mentioning similar in my post but couldn’t be bothered with the aggro it could have caused.
I also agree in somewhat with the keeping promising players beyond the first offer but I really have my doubts that Porto is all he’s been cracked up to be, a decent hibs defender and I certainly wouldn’t chase him out the door but I think 1.3 and a sell on if it works out for him is a good deal for us (if we can get a replacement in, probably 2 in an ideal world)

29-01-2021, 12:52 PM
Kyle Lafferty and Joe Ledley to Dundee seems to be the talk on twitter

29-01-2021, 12:53 PM
Millwall don't seem to sell players for big money, quick look shows you that Mark Kennedy is their largest transfer fee received 2.3m in 1995

I was thinking it was quite a ***** move for him.

I know they’re a relatively big club but nothing seems to ever happen there. Don’t buy big, don’t sell big, don’t seem to ever get near promotion and in general just seem to be a bit of a nothing club.

Also a bit too Hunnish for my liking.

Saying that he’ll probably increase his wages by about 10x and gets to live in London which I’m sure will be appealing to him.

29-01-2021, 12:55 PM
McGinn.

He was always leaving at that point and the club maximised the fee accordingly.

Lafferty and Cummings up top, interesting to see how that works out

Is Joe Ledley still playing???

29-01-2021, 12:56 PM
I was thinking it was quite a ***** move for him.

I know they’re a relatively big club but nothing seems to ever happen there. Don’t buy big, don’t sell big, don’t seem to ever get near promotion and in general just seem to be a bit of a nothing club.

Also a bit too Hunnish for my liking.

Saying that he’ll probably increase his wages by about 10x and gets to live in London which I’m sure will be appealing to him.
Plus if he does well he will move up again and start earning the proper big bucks.

29-01-2021, 12:57 PM
Sam Cosgrove on his way to Birmingham for £2 million. Apparently put a £2 million bid in for Nisbet prior to this. Source Sky Transfer programme.

29-01-2021, 12:58 PM
Is Jason Kerr even that good or just because he scored last week and is a Hibs fan?

Souter96Mac
29-01-2021, 12:58 PM

Wow, their squad is pretty large as it stands. Must have some wage bill

29-01-2021, 12:59 PM
Is Joe Ledley still playing???

Was in Australia, probably twitter nonsense

BlackSheep
29-01-2021, 01:00 PM
Sam Cosgrove on his way to Birmingham for £2 million. Apparently put a £2 million bid in for Nisbet prior to this. Source Sky Transfer programme.

Thats was a long lie in this morning :greengrin

29-01-2021, 01:02 PM
Thats was a long lie in this morning :greengrin

:greengrin sorry I did read back one page and didnt see anything, its the trouble with 125 page threads :greengrin

WestStandMoaner
29-01-2021, 01:06 PM

The boy is a massive talent with huge potential who is improving at a high rate. 1 million is far too low for him IMO.

If we sell, we should be looking at the type of money other Scottish players have been attracting. They are worth whatever we would sell them for so we shouldn’t be accepting low offers.

I agree this is not a great price I would also question Hibs ambitions Ryan is a huge talent still young, yes, has made some mistakes recently but will only get better. Also would not be surprised if Ryan turns down the move.

29-01-2021, 01:06 PM
Is Jason Kerr even that good or just because he scored last week and is a Hibs fan?

I really rate him and have done so for a while.

Seemed to break onto the scene, was very highly rated and linked with other teams when playing with Shaugnessy however when he moved on Kerr (and the whole team) seemed to have a bit of a dip in form and not perform so well.

Hes picked up again and has developed into a good centre half and is captain. Strong, quick and good on the ball.

29-01-2021, 01:07 PM

Is he improving through? Two weeks in succession he's cost us dearly

29-01-2021, 01:07 PM
You’d think if Hibs accepted the bid then Porteous is keen?

If Porteous never fancied it surely Hibs would reject it and save face, sending a message to others they expect more than 1.3 or whatever it is?

29-01-2021, 01:09 PM
You’d think if Hibs accepted the bid then Porteous is keen?

If Porteous never fancied it surely Hibs would reject it and save face, sending a message to others they expect more than 1.3 or whatever it is?

Could be keen to speak to them. Once he sees the den he might reconsider

Lee Marvin
29-01-2021, 01:10 PM
Literally never been ITK, until now...

Just told, from a very good source, that Hibs turned down higher bid than those in media for Ryan. This is due to lack of cover and as Hibs have no financial pressure to sell. Good news!

29-01-2021, 01:12 PM

Just told, from a very good source, that Hibs turned down higher bid than those in media for Ryan. This is due to lack of cover and as Hibs have no financial pressure to sell. Good news!

That's great news if true. :thumbsup:

BlackSheep
29-01-2021, 01:18 PM
:greengrin sorry I did read back one page and didnt see anything, its the trouble with 125 page threads :greengrin

Lol, aye... harder when the pages are filled with non related stuff too... i don't blame you.

29-01-2021, 01:19 PM
https://twitter.com/sheelaghmclaren/status/1355154830902358016?s=21

Magpie
29-01-2021, 01:21 PM

Happy to hear that if true.

29-01-2021, 01:25 PM

Just told, from a very good source, that Hibs turned down higher bid than those in media for Ryan. This is due to lack of cover and as Hibs have no financial pressure to sell. Good news!Makes a lot more sense.

We would be left with Hanlon, McGregor then Gogic at CB with zero cover whatsoever (and McGregor unlikely to play every game).

29-01-2021, 01:26 PM
Is he improving through? Two weeks in succession he's cost us dearly

Are you saying 2 mistakes means he hasn’t improved since he first came on the scene? He has improved massively.

He is young and learning, mistakes are going to happen.

29-01-2021, 01:27 PM

Now the results are making sense 😁

29-01-2021, 01:36 PM

I have also heard this from a very ITK source today. Much higher in fact :agree: 3 bids in the last couple of weeks.

Seems they are quite desperate to get him.

29-01-2021, 01:39 PM
Are you saying 2 mistakes means he hasn’t improved since he first came on the scene? He has improved massively.

He is young and learning, mistakes are going to happen.

He's getting much better at carrying thr ball out of defence as well and picking his passes.

29-01-2021, 01:41 PM
A lot of people placing a lot of credibility on a Millwall podcast. As someone who lives a few miles from their ground I can assure you the average Millwall fan's knowledge of Scottish football is zero. Looks like this guy's just regurgitating rumours.

29-01-2021, 01:43 PM
Can't help but feel anyone saying that Porteous hasn't improved is letting their emotions from recent results cloud their judgement.

That or they're listening to Kris Boyd and the The Rangers media streams. The only time these muppets have seen Porteous is v them, I don't think that warrants a strong opinion on his ability.

29-01-2021, 01:44 PM
A lot of people placing a lot of credibility on a Millwall podcast. As someone who lives a few miles from their ground I can assure you the average Millwall fan's knowledge of Scottish football is zero. Looks like this guy's just regurgitating rumours.

It's 100% true. Ryan now considering his options.

29-01-2021, 01:47 PM
Ryan Porteous has improved dramatically over the last 12 months, far better composure on the ball, he’s stopped the rash challenges, starts move moving into midfield. He’s making some occasional poor positional choices which will improve with experience, maturity and coaching. Let’s not let a couple of bad games cloud our judgement, the laddie has come on leaps and bounds hence the interest. No danger hibs were accepting a million for him.

29-01-2021, 01:48 PM

Hope he doesn't read message-boards.

29-01-2021, 01:56 PM

I meant the just over 1m being accepted. Hopefully a lot more than that.

29-01-2021, 01:57 PM

Exactly.

In truth the guy has been brilliant for us all season apart from a couple of lapses recently. That doesn't make him a liability overnight.

I'd hate to see him leave.

29-01-2021, 01:59 PM

He doesn't.

29-01-2021, 01:59 PM

His options?

If Hibs havent accepted a bid then he doesnt have any.

Mr. Wonderful
29-01-2021, 02:00 PM

Ryan thinks he's got an unfair reputation up here now in the media and is worried it will hinder his development.

29-01-2021, 02:02 PM
Ryan thinks he's got an unfair reputation up here now in the media and is worried it will hinder his development.

29-01-2021, 02:07 PM

Dont see why media reputation would hinder his development? I doubt trying to escape his reputation will do his career many favours.

29-01-2021, 02:07 PM

Hard to blame him.