View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2020-21

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26

Stokesy's on fire
01-02-2021, 10:14 PM
Deluded sticky buns talking utter pish for no reason other than to get likes on the Follow Follow bigot blog

They are noising up Hibs fans on social media dont bite

01-02-2021, 10:14 PM
Big fan of Hamilton's response to Scott Burns on Twitter.

SB - "All done."

Accies - "No."

01-02-2021, 10:15 PM
BBC suggesting we might not be finished.

Where are you seeing that on the BBC? Just checked the transfer blog but and can’t see any mention of it?

01-02-2021, 10:15 PM
BBC feed also showing Hamilton clipping Scott Burns’ wings

he replied saying ‘all done’ to an accies fan asking if there was any more deals for them.

The club then reply to him saying ‘no. An update in the morning’

01-02-2021, 10:16 PM
I've never seen anyone disagree with right wing being boyles best position. He is significantly better there than anywhere else. A decent option up front but nothing more. Doidge and Nisbet have very good injury records so hopefully not required often.

I wasn’t suggesting that he was more than a decent option. He wouldn’t be my first choice, but he can absolutely play up front.

01-02-2021, 10:16 PM
Big fan of Hamilton's response to Scott Burns on Twitter.

SB - "All done."

Accies - "No."

Yup just goes to show how little some of these experts in the media actually know and why people continue to believe their made up nonsense

01-02-2021, 10:17 PM
[emoji102][emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210201/74518a925688fa14f07b3325bca92e15.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

01-02-2021, 10:17 PM
FFS I’ve just spent the last hour having a tantrum.

They cannae sign anyone now.

01-02-2021, 10:18 PM
📝 Midfielder Stevie Mallan has joined Turkish Super Lig club Yeni Malatyaspor on loan until the summer.

🙌 All the best, @MallanStephen! https://t.co/pfyIIsEPhH

Good luck Stevie Mallan - may your talent shine through and the sun shine through your factor 30 :greengrin

NISBET

the name is

NISBET

NAE WUNNER HE WANTS TO LEAVE

:)

Aberdeen teasing on twitter

Kamberi??

01-02-2021, 10:19 PM

Kamberi??

Yeah.

01-02-2021, 10:20 PM

Kamberi??

announced, hope we pump them rotten

I cannot believe we have let gullan go out on loan

We have a striker in Nisbet who’s head has been turned and will need managed very carefully and doidge who hasn’t scored in weeks.

Surely we cannot go with no other strikers????

We have 100 midfielders surely one of them can fill the void...

Kamberi??

Hope so, give big Daz the chance to leave one on him the next time we play them👍

🔴 We can tonight confirm the loan signing of striker Florian Kamberi from Swiss Super League side, St Gallen, pending international clearance.

#StandFree

Magpie
01-02-2021, 10:21 PM

Kamberi??

Debut against us on Saturday.

Little evidence to suggest we will though, that’s the issue.

Where are you seeing that on the BBC? Just checked the transfer blog but and can’t see any mention of it?

We're also keeping our ears to the door at Motherwell, St Johnstone and Hibernian.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/55892791

Potentially not, they play Livi tomorrow

Magpie
01-02-2021, 10:22 PM
Potentially not, they play Livi tomorrow

Aberdeen confirm he can’t play tomorrow due to work permit process.

It's Akpo Sodje time!!! :hyper :hyper :hyper

Wait, sorry, a decade too late.

i'l be giving it tight to kamberi on saturday

via TV

It’s a bit odd we haven’t confirmed that’s us done.

Magpie
It's Akpo Sodje time!!! :hyper :hyper :hyper

Wait, sorry, a decade too late.

Isn’t he in jail now 😂

The singing section should set up a fund to buy megaphones to provide to all the residents in the flats behind the east to boo the **** every time he touches the ball.

We're also keeping our ears to the door at Motherwell, St Johnstone and Hibernian.

Was that a text from the Aberdeen scouting department? 🤨

01-02-2021, 10:23 PM
i'l be giving it tight to kamberi on saturday

via TV

Good timing that Daz has come back in

01-02-2021, 10:24 PM

First slow and obvious step over at 15:03 Saturday......

01-02-2021, 10:24 PM
#announcekingDom.

Magpie
01-02-2021, 10:25 PM
The singing section should set up a fund to buy megaphones to provide to all the residents in the flats behind the east to boo the **** every time he touches the ball.

He’s going to treat us like the biggest game he’s ever played in. He would have no hesitation in celebrating either. Rat *******.

Was that a text from the Aberdeen scouting department? 🤨

Aberdeen confirm he can’t play tomorrow due to work permit process.

Aye my bad just read the report. Can you imagine if we had fans in Easter Road for that one? Ooft.

It’s a bit odd we haven’t confirmed that’s us done.Probably staff all on furlough.... [emoji51]

01-02-2021, 10:26 PM

😂😂

BegbieHSC

He’ll be first goal scorer, but Porto will break him during his OTT celebration, get sent off, but we win 4-1 in the end. Stick a quid oan it!

Magpie
Aye my bad just read the report. Can you imagine if we had fans in Easter Road for that one? Ooft.

He would get it tight and I’d be all for it.

He’s going to treat us like the biggest game he’s ever played in. He would have no hesitation in celebrating either. Rat *******.

Yep. You know he plays a blinder too then is ***** the rest of the season. Him up against Stevenson wide right would be concerning.

Isn’t he in jail now 😂

Wasn’t summit daft like fraud or a coup?

01-02-2021, 10:27 PM
Good timing that Daz has come back in

i'm wondering who jack ross will drop if Daz is in again on saturday, in fact, who will he drop tomorrow night if Daz keeps his place

Fall over a blade of grass at 15.04.

Magpie
Wasn’t summit daft like fraud or a coup?

Him and his brothers were at it with something I’m sure.

Yep. You know he plays a blinder too then is ***** the rest of the season. Him up against Stevenson wide right would be concerning.

I reckon young Doig would have him in his back pocket. The guys 2nd touch is a tackle.

In fact, I reckon Stevenson would have him in his back pocket anaw

Would it?

01-02-2021, 10:28 PM

He's more likely to be up against Mcginn

NISBET

the name is

NISBET

NAE WUNNER HE WANTS TO LEAVE

:)

Go on Nutsbit 🇳🇬👍

Come onnnnnnn triple signings holding up the hibs top like the fenlon era.

01-02-2021, 10:29 PM
Funny bunch the Dons fans, can you imagine the reaction on here if we’d replaced Nisbet, Doidge and Gullan with that 3! They’re wetting their pants on Twitter, ‘best window ever” etc etc🤷🏼

yerauldda
01-02-2021, 10:29 PM
Now I’ve been advocating Porteous cutting out the silly mistakes and rash challenges out of his game but wouldn’t be against him putting Kamberi 6 feet up in the air on Sat.

01-02-2021, 10:30 PM
Now I’ve been advocating Porteous cutting out the silly mistakes and rash challenges out of his game but wouldn’t be against him putting Kamberi 6 feet up in the air on Sat.

When 2-0 up with 2 minutes to go.

01-02-2021, 10:31 PM
He's more likely to be up against Mcginn

Does McGinn get a game these days?

Surely we’re announcing a big signing.....

Does McGinn get a game these days?

Usually at right back, like for most of the season.....

01-02-2021, 10:32 PM

You think?

For tomorrow? No, not really. We are in no different a position than we've been all season really. Gullan wasn't really a player who was making any impact.

Since then we've brought in Cadden who is freeing Boyle up to be another option up front.

We won away at the weekend without Nisbet coming on at all.

We might not win but not having another striker shouldn't be close to being our main issue if that happens.

Gullan wasn’t making an impact cos we never played him enough, and when we did I thought he did well for the team.

F5 F5 f5 f5

Magpie

I think there’s more chance of getting **** out of a rocking horse at this stage.

Sky:

BREAKING NEWS

Rangers sign defender Jack Simpson from Bournemouth on four-and-a-half-year deal for an undisclosed fee.

RangersFC are today delighted to announce the signing of defender Jack Simpson from @afcbournemouthon on a four-and-a-half year deal, for an undisclosed fee.
— Rangers Football Club (@RangersFC) February 1, 2021

HibeeSS0762
01-02-2021, 10:33 PM

Something tells me we must be.

01-02-2021, 10:33 PM
Him and his brothers were at it with something I’m sure.

His brothers were jailed for fraud. There's a warrant out for his arrest, but he's staying put in Dubai apparently.

01-02-2021, 10:34 PM
First slow and obvious step over at 15:03 Saturday......2nd duck rather than challenge for a high ball 15.06

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Magpie
His brothers were jailed for fraud. There's a warrant out for his arrest, but he's staying put in Dubai apparently.

Some guy, I actually quite liked him as a player.

Funny bunch the Dons fans, can you imagine the reaction on here if we’d replaced Nisbet, Doidge and Gullan with that 3! They’re wetting their pants on Twitter, ‘best window ever” etc etc🤷🏼

"He seems enthusiastic to be here." Seems, lol. 😂

01-02-2021, 10:35 PM
Just checked and that’s right. If we don’t bring someone else in we’re leaving ourselves with one attacker we can bring on in games. If one of our forwards get injured at some point, we’ll pretty much have nothing to come off the bench.

Sorry but this is madness imo.

We’ve got Gray Louie and Daz to come of the bench and play up top if needed

01-02-2021, 10:35 PM
2nd duck rather than challenge for a high ball 15.06

Mile offside 15.07, 15.13, 15.24 etc.

01-02-2021, 10:36 PM
Stephen O'Donnell has extended his Motherwell deal until the end of the season 🙌

Bit embarrassing for Kamberi really.

He keeps posting pics on Instagram in different club colours every few months. It’s like nobody wants to keep him.

O'DONNELL EXTENDS STAY

Oh what a day for Stephen O'Donnell. The Motherwell full-back and Scotland international has extended his deal at Fir Park until the end of the season.

Been posted I see !! I'm slower than Kamberi's stepover.

01-02-2021, 10:37 PM
"He seems enthusiastic" Seems, lol. 😂

“He’s a ****ing *deleted* if the truth be told but we were needing someone to play the scapegoat role. He did a cracking job of that for “Lenny” a few years back and we’re delighted to have him here.”

sean04
01-02-2021, 10:37 PM
What are hibs doing? Just give us an hint if anything is happening

01-02-2021, 10:38 PM
Mile offside 15.07, 15.13, 15.24 etc.

Can't wait to see that incredible first touch when he gets the ball blasted up to him.

01-02-2021, 10:39 PM
Alan Nixon

Motherwell. Late move for Magloire at Blackburn. Loan. Later deadline.

Would it?

Yes. He has fantastic pace and I don’t think Doig would have the experience to show Kamberi onto his weaker foot if he was played on the right.

Let’s not just dismiss how good Kamberi was and how delighted we all were when he signed again for us. He’s a huffy prick at times and thinks he’s better than he is but he was fantastic for us at times. I personally would have taken him back.

I'll be fast asleep by 00:01 if we don't sign anyone I'm so tired. If we do sign someone that'll be me up till about 2am.

What are hibs doing? Just give us an hint if anything is happening

No 'Business concluded' tweet means theres still hope.

01-02-2021, 10:40 PM
LG incoming

In other news, kamberi is a filthy hun

"He seems enthusiastic to be here." Seems, lol. 😂

Doesn’t seem terribly convinced in what he’s saying there.

#persevered
It's a real tragedy that we can't be there to boo kamberi in person.

I'll still be doing it in my living room solo, but it won't be the same.

If Malonga isn't announced soon I'm protesting outside the west stand

There are plenty before we get to Josh.

Shanley

01-02-2021, 10:41 PM

Or the social media worker has fallen asleep 🤣

SSN saying pretty much all the deals in Scotland bar one are done. Sounds like they're saying the other one being Scott Wright to Rangers.

Bit embarrassing for Kamberi really.

He keeps posting pics on Instagram in different club colours every few months. It’s like nobody wants to keep him.

Shows he got an appetite to play games instead of sitting on the bench picking up cash you could argue.

01-02-2021, 10:42 PM
Or the social media worker has fallen asleep 🤣

Or he they had the day off.

If Malonga isn't announced soon I'm protesting outside the west stand

Better wrap up warm mate, below zero with the wind chill.

Stanton Spence
No 'Business concluded' tweet means theres still hope.I'm starting to think that was down to leeanne [emoji849]

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Yes. He has fantastic pace and I don’t think Doig would have the experience to show Kamberi onto his weaker foot if he was played on the right.

Let’s not just dismiss how good Kamberi was and how delighted we all were when he signed again for us. He’s a huffy prick at times and thinks he’s better than he is but he was fantastic for us at times. I personally would have taken him back.

He then completely lost the ability to control a football for a season, couldn’t even control an easy pass to him. He turned from exciting to utter pish.

01-02-2021, 10:43 PM
I'm starting to think that was down to leeanne [emoji849]

We've been doing that long before Dempster came in.

HibeeSS0762
Or he they had the day off.

Laddie got furloughed yesterday

Heedersnvolleys

Or the place has gone to pot since Leanne left

Dr_Regal
What an absolute farce.

That Magloire would have been decent, lightning fast and more suitable for a three at the back.

01-02-2021, 10:44 PM
He then completely lost the ability to control a football for a season, couldn’t even control an easy pass to him. He turned from exciting to utter pish.

I thought he downed tools myself under Lennon and wasn’t bad when given a chance at Rangers. I would rather have him in our squad than the team above us, who have already beaten us twice.

Gaurenteed hibs are trolling us and we will announce 3 signings.

LG incoming

In other news, kamberi is a filthy hun

At last...2 believable pieces of information.

Stanton Spence
We've been doing that long before Dempster came in.Good there's a glimmer [emoji4]

I think you’re about to be disappointed, to be honest

01-02-2021, 10:45 PM

Aye for the Ladies team or something.

JammyDoidger
This is unreal.

Not even a teaser on twitter.
Think we're done.
2 big games coming up, c'mon the cabbage

01-02-2021, 10:46 PM

Maybe we are waiting on Scott Burns saying we are done so we can reply "oh you think so, ya sticky bun twat".

sean04
Twitter guy usual engages a bit when he knows stuff is happening.

Aye for the Ladies team or something.

Jeez you’re on the happy beans tonight with this one in amongst your one man Kamberi fan club posts.

01-02-2021, 10:47 PM
Shows he got an appetite to play games instead of sitting on the bench picking up cash you could argue.

I’ve got an appetite to play games but am no very good either

01-02-2021, 10:47 PM
I thought he downed tools myself under Lennon and wasn’t bad when given a chance at Rangers. I would rather have him in our squad than the team above us, who have already beaten us twice.

No football player would deliberately stop being able to do the basics in front of a crowd especially one paying his wages. It was incredible the way his basic skills disappeared, maybe not giving a **** in training but it was woeful.

01-02-2021, 10:48 PM
Jeez you’re on the happy beans tonight with this one in amongst your one man Kamberi fan club posts.

He's got a point to be fair though.

01-02-2021, 10:48 PM

Kamberi is better than nobody. The guy is a welt but is a good footballer when he wants to be or is playing for a contract.

I

01-02-2021, 10:49 PM
Please Hibs. Just one more centre forward to rotate with.

01-02-2021, 10:50 PM
I will not be happy if there’s zero signings today after refreshing this page around 300 times in the last 6 hours🙈

Edit: 301

01-02-2021, 10:51 PM
Is it a bigger anticlimax getting to now and realising nothing is happening, or having the club confirm it early doors?

Magpie
Aberdeen have recalled a striker from Arbroath too.

sean04
Confirmed we’re done

01-02-2021, 10:52 PM
Kamberi is better than nobody. The guy is a welt but is a good footballer when he wants to be or is playing for a contract.

I

And I don’t think he’s welcome here so long as Jack Ross is in charge. I think his nomadic career says a bit about the boy. A very good player when he’s in the mood but let’s see what Kamberi turns out for Aberdeen.

That’s us finished.

Really poor not to bring in another striker imo.

Is it a bigger anticlimax getting to now and realising nothing is happening, or having the club confirm it early doors?

Aye I’m no sure why they couldn’t have put it out when Gullan was loaned out unless they have been actively trying to bring someone in

HibeeSS0762
I will not be happy if there’s zero signings today after refreshing this page around 300 times in the last 6 hours🙈

Edit: 301

Calm down. Ron the Con has something up his sleeve I’m sure of it.

01-02-2021, 10:53 PM
No football player would deliberately stop being able to do the basics in front of a crowd especially one paying his wages. It was incredible the way his basic skills disappeared, maybe not giving a **** in training but it was woeful.

I agree, it made it all the more disappointing. McLaren was the same, so was Stokes happened to Riordan too. Maybe he got found out by opposing managers? Most the managers in the league are different now though and he would have given us something completely different. Hornby is similar to Doidge and the st Johnstone huddy I don’t care about. I’m just concerned about the lack of depth in the squad that’s lost a lot of form over the past three months as it is. I said a few weeks back Livingston could easily catch us for fourth and now it’s a distinct possibility.

HibeeSS0762
Confirmed we’re done

Where u seeing this?

Certainly left it late to confirm we were done.
Oh well

JammyDoidger
This is unreal.

01-02-2021, 10:54 PM
Boooo for today , good windows in general

Strange we’ve let Gullan go with no back up.

sean04
Where u seeing this?

Edinburgh live twitter

JammyDoidger
'Kin boooooo!!!

Stokesy's on fire

Agree they seem to think they signed 3 world class strikers. 3 poor signings for them tonight.

This is unreal.

Why do you keep saying that? Until someone replied?

Aye I’m no sure why they couldn’t have put it out when Gullan was loaned out unless they have been actively trying to bring someone in

Shouldn’t have let Gullane go unless we already had someone lined up to replace him.

mcfly
01-02-2021, 10:55 PM
Very strange by hibs. 3 strikers on the books, let one go no replacement signed.

no idea what the thinking behind that is.

Better hope no injuries or suspensions to doidge or Nisbet.

Shouldn’t have let Gullane go unless we already had someone lined up to replace him.

Yea I agree

Now that it’s became clear we aren’t bringing anyone in it’s a very risky decision

I agree, it made it all the more disappointing. McLaren was the same, so was Stokes happened to Riordan too. Maybe he got found out by opposing managers? Most the managers in the league are different now though and he would have given us something completely different. Hornby is similar to Doidge and the st Johnstone huddy I don’t care about. I’m just concerned about the lack of depth in the squad that’s lost a lot of form over the past three months as it is. I said a few weeks back Livingston could easily catch us for fourth and now it’s a distinct possibility.
We’ve also got a couple of very good new signings who are getting better each game and others returning to full fitness. Chin up.

They can still sign loan players after midnight I think.

This is worse.

Not that it's particularly terrible or anything. We could all have gone to sleep an hour ago and woke up to find out exactly what we'll learn by staying up, refreshing hibs.net.

it is what it is

as they say :)

fwiw i reckon we have a good enough squad for the remainder of the season

01-02-2021, 10:56 PM

Gullan

Let’s not just dismiss how good Kamberi was and how delighted we all were when he signed again for us. He’s a huffy prick at times and thinks he’s better than he is but he was fantastic for us at times. I personally would have taken him back.Thought he was a coward from the start. Never ever won an ariel challenge, and he played for himself, not Hibs. Said before and stand by it

Well clap me happy, but I’m content with the business we’ve done.

BlackSheep
I’ll wait for the official announcement before going to sleep.

01-02-2021, 10:57 PM
Ah sod it, at least we didn’t replace Nisbet with that St Johnstone player. The day could have been a whole lot worse. Get Newell on a new contract with Mallans wage and announce Malonga.

I'd rather we'd have been told early doors so I could have moaned all night about but it makes no difference to me as I'm currently working anyway. Us key workers deserve more respect from Hibs.

Gordy M
QUOTE=bingo70;6449805]Shouldn’t have let Gullane go unless we already had someone lined up to replace him.[/QUOTE]

I think Gullan is away to get first team football. He wasnt getting much game time here. With signing Irvine and Cadden, who will both play most weeks, along with Allan returning then it pushes players out. Murphy, Boyle, Nisbet and Doidge will all be competing for attacking positions, whether thats a 3 or a 2.....imo.

01-02-2021, 10:58 PM
Well clap me happy, but I’m content with the business we’ve done.

What business? :dunno:

01-02-2021, 10:58 PM
Thought he was a coward from the start. Never ever won an ariel challenge, and he played for himself, not Hibs. Said before and stand by it

He will have two players winning headers for him at Aberdeen, he didn’t suit the lone striker disaster Lennon went with from time to time including the PBS. He is a cowardly type though and is selfish.

01-02-2021, 10:59 PM
What an absolute farce.

That Magloire would have been decent, lightning fast and more suitable for a three at the back.

Would have been decent based on what? The boys played 13 games in his career, the most recent 9 of those, this season...for Hartlepool in the conference.

Kept Nisbet?

What business? :dunno:Irvine, Cadden and Masey I presume

Probably keeping our 2 sought after players too

If the guys Aberdeen have brought in find form from the get go we better hope doidge nisbet & boyle all better start coming on to a game.

01-02-2021, 11:00 PM

Presumably bringing in Cadden and Irvine, and fending off interest for Porto and Nosbott.

If the guys Aberdeen have brought in find form from the get go we better hope doidge nisbet & boyle all start better coming on to a game.
Aunties
Baws
Uncles

If the guys Aberdeen have brought in find form from the get go we better hope doidge nisbet & boyle all better start coming on to a game.Has Callum Hendry every had form?

We’ve also got a couple of very good new signings who are getting better each game and others returning to full fitness. Chin up.

Aye 👍

01-02-2021, 11:01 PM
Two strikers is ****ing mad.

JammyDoidger
01-02-2021, 11:02 PM
Why do you keep saying that? Until someone replied?

Don't know what happened there haha.

Excuse me, it’s two strikers and a winger we can stick up front who can’t really play there thanks very much

This window. Signed a goalie and two decent players, plus resisted cash for our top scorer.

Mallan and Gullan out, shame one or two others didn’t follow, but overall a good transfer window.

01-02-2021, 11:03 PM

Kamberi looked liked he’d never played professional football in his last season at Hibs. He literally couldn’t control the football, his attitude was appalling but where did his basic skills go? He did have brilliant moments that were in complete contrast to the rest of his play.

He could run around doing step overs all day nutmeging the Easter Road seagulls and ran around like a demented headless chicken for the rest of the time ducking crosses..

I’m putting a £10 on him for a hat trick on Saturday now 😂

01-02-2021, 11:04 PM
Excuse me, it’s two strikers and a winger we can stick up front who can’t really play there thanks very muchScored the winner on Saturday from that position

I think we need to accept that Boyle is going to be used as a striker now so it’s 3 forwards we have now.

Still nowhere near enough when the young up and coming players that could plug any gaps are out on loan.

People can kid themselves all they want by saying Boyle, Allan, Murphy and Cadden are attacking players. None of them are strikers.

Fair enough Boyle scored the other day but he was large ineffective and has been on most occasions when played there. No space for him to run into and doesn’t have the quality to play that role effectively without that.

2 strikers is madnesses, especially when we play with 2 up front.

1 injury or suspension and were struggling.

Why would we let Gullan go out on loan only now if we are comfortable having 2 strikers and Boyle. Why not the start of December?

01-02-2021, 11:05 PM
If the guys Aberdeen have brought in find form from the get go we better hope doidge nisbet & boyle all better start coming on to a game.

If the Aberdeen guys keep up their scoring form from the season so far I’ll be delighted.

Between them - 34 appearances, 2 goals.

01-02-2021, 11:05 PM
The only question mark for me is Gullan going out on loan and nobody apparently coming in so we're a little short on cover.

I'd take our transfer window over Aberdeens. Not particularly impressed with their business personally.

01-02-2021, 11:06 PM
Why would we let Gullan go out on loan only now if we are comfortable having 2 strikers and Boyle. Why not the start of December?When did we sign Cadden?

Yeah I don't get that at all to be honest.

Magpie
Club not doing their usual announcement that it’s over via Twitter?

Scored the winner on Saturday from that position

I wouldn’t say it was the winner? All in all he was pretty anonymous.

Can’t argue with his goal though took it well. I’m just not sure he’d be good enough up front when you play the better teams.

01-02-2021, 11:07 PM
People can kid themselves all they want by saying Boyle, Allan, Murphy and Cadden are attacking players. None of them are strikers.

Fair enough Boyle scored the other day but he was large ineffective and has been on most occasions when played there. No space for him to run into and doesn’t have the quality to play that role effectively without that.

Lack of options off the bench will kill us between now and the end of the season.

Greenfly
This window. Signed a goalie and two decent players, plus resisted cash for our top scorer.

Mallan and Gullan out, shame one or two others didn’t follow, but overall a good transfer window.

Agreed - not 100% convinced re. Gullan but overall it could have been much worse.

Excuse me, it’s two strikers and a winger we can stick up front who can’t really play there thanks very much

Don't forget there's the free agent market if we need it. 😉

01-02-2021, 11:08 PM
Well done Hibs. Kept two of our biggest assets while bringing in Irvine and Cadden as well as Macey.
Sad to see Mallan and Gullan leave but we cant have everything.
Now, onto the out of contract market.
Forgot to say, many thought Rocky and Newell were offski. Still here

When did we sign Cadden?

Cadden is a defense/winger my point is why not let Gullan move out on loan sooner

Don't forget there's the free agent market if we need it. [emoji6]I don't think we have used that option much over the years, right?

01-02-2021, 11:09 PM

They are attacking players. No kidding.

We’ve let Gullan go, and not replaced him, but we still have Bradley available to fill the role of young lad who doesn’t get much game time that Gullan had.

Cadden is a defense/winger my point is why not let Gullan move out on loan soonerBecause signing cadden allowed Boyle to. Be used up top

Lack of options off the bench will kill us between now and the end of the season.

Thought our bench looked quite strong at the weekend.

Regarding the squad depth, are we in a different boat to others? Are Aberdeen, as an example, going to have multiple options?

DTS
Would’ve liked another striker in, that being said I don’t think Gullan has played a single minute of league football as a striker for us this season so Cadden is really his direct replacement squad wise.

The 3 players weve signed im very happy with, expect us to see a lot of similar team set ups like at the weekend especially away from home plenty pace and legs in the team to cover the ground. At home would expect us to start to see Scott Allan back in the XI.

Murphy/Boyle/Allan/Cadden/Irvine all vying for the spaces in behind the strikers.

As a direct comparison to Aberdeen’s 3 in Kamberi, hendry & Hornby I would choose Nisbet, Doidge & Boyle everyday of the week

They haven’t killed us so far, why will they for the last 12 games?

With Irvine and Cadden added we are much stronger with a decent bench too.

01-02-2021, 11:11 PM
Don't see the need for us to just bring someone in for the sake of it. I'd far rather we go with 2 out and out strikers for the rest of the season, sell Nisbet in the summer then reinvest in a replacement and a 3rd striker then.

Why the clammer for another striker to come in today? Chances are they will play 5 mins all season. Look at Gullan, he was our 3rd and barely played. If someone gets injured we have emergency loans and free transfers to work with, not as big an issue as people are making out I reckon.

Good window all things considered, we are also in the middle of covid and summer is always better for getting value.

Also, unless I’ve missed it it’s very weird we never let Dabrowski go back out on loan since we signed Macey?

Gordy M

We have Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle, Murphy, Allan, Cadden, Gogic, Hallberg, irvine all competing for 6 places unless we play 3 at the back, Gullan isnt getting in. Id rather he got more game time at the top end of the Championship and see where we are in the summer.

Good window IMO. I felt that centre mid was our biggest problem all season with Newall, Hallberg, Mallan etc all too easy to play through. Jack Ross obviously agreed and he has brought in Irvine. Cadden looks decent as well. And we kept Nisbet and Porteous.
Boyle might have to get used to playing up front a bit more if his speed is going. He certainly doesn’t appear to be going round players as much these days.

01-02-2021, 11:12 PM
Also, unless I’ve missed it it’s very weird we never let Dabrowski go back out on loan since we signed Macey?

League he was playing in is suspended.

Magpie
Fingers crossed that the Nisbet saga won’t have an effect on his performances or relationship with the club.

Where too? Everything below the championship has stopped?

01-02-2021, 11:13 PM
Don't see the need for us to just bring someone in for the sake of it. I'd far rather we go with 2 out and out strikers for the rest of the season, sell Nisbet in the summer then reinvest in a replacement and a 3rd striker then.

Why the clammer for another striker to come in today? Chances are they will play 5 mins all season. Look at Gullan, he was our 3rd and barely played. If someone gets injured we have emergency loans and free transfers to work with, not as big an issue as people are making out I reckon.

Good window all things considered, we are also in the middle of covid and summer is always better for getting value.

That’s the point though. We needed another striker to come in and give genuine competition to Doidge and Nisbet, something Gullan wasn’t doing - he’s also more of a left of a front 3.

Nisbet and Doidge have both had bad/quiet spells this season which is understandable. When you know you’ll start every week your standards drop.

A new face with quality would have gave them the kick they needed. Still think Brophy and Cummings would have done that and some.

We've had two all season. Gullan doesn't offer much.

Don't think teams in the Premiership can do emergency loans but I agree with everything else you've said.

It kind of looks like we’re trying to ride out this Covid storm on a very tight squad. To be honest unless we had sold players I didn’t think we’d splash out. It may or not work out and maybe there are other irons in the fire. I just hope there’s enough fire left in the support to keep season ticket sales up for next season. I think it will be really difficult to get anywhere near the previous numbers TBH. I’ll be there of course.

JDT
01-02-2021, 11:14 PM
I don't think Gullans best position is striker, more on the wing of a front 3 and if we're playing 1 up front then 2 strikers is all you need. I'm more scared about Jamie Murphy and keeping him fit

Have no idea why Hibs didn’t just tweet earlier on that we were done. Think most would have been quietly content.

We’re probably moderately better off than before the window. Not massively as Mallan is a good player who could impact games, at the very least off the bench. Losing Gullan weakens us up top and probably wide left (where he didn’t look too bad in short time he’s had). Boyle isn’t a striker for me. If games open up he can get space and make runs through the middle. However, if game is tight and/or we go a goal behind, and team sits in, he’s like playing with 1 player less in that position. Doidge is going to be massive, Nisbet can’t play upfront on his own and to be honest I expect a bit of fallout from the situation yesterday still.

Some of its paper talk but if Nisbet hadn’t mentioned his intentions to Jack Ross etc. there will probably be some patching up to do. Think this is part of reason Hibs have been quiet on Twitter. Announce the necessary and disappear again.

Fingers crossed that the Nisbet saga won’t have an effect on his performances or relationship with the club.

I hope it does have an effect on his performances and gives him a kick up the arse

Stokesy's on fire
01-02-2021, 11:15 PM
We've had two all season. Gullan doesn't offer much.

Doesnt make it acceptable that we failed to bring in Another striker to cover injuries and even covid.

01-02-2021, 11:16 PM
That’s the point though. We needed another striker to come in and give genuine competition to Doidge and Nisbet, something Gullan wasn’t doing - he’s also more of a left of a front 3.

Nisbet and Doidge have both had bad/quiet spells this season which is understandable. When you know you’ll start every week your standards drop.

A new face with quality would have gave them the kick they needed. Still think Brophy and Cummings would have done that and some.

Think you make a great point, hadn’t even thought of that.

If nisbet or doidge aren’t in form we’ve got nobody to bring in for them or challenge them for their place in the team. You tend to get the best out of players when they’ve got someone challenging them.

Good window IMO. I felt that centre mid was our biggest problem all season with Newall, Hallberg, Mallan etc all too easy to play through. Jack Ross obviously agreed and he has brought in Irvine. Cadden looks decent as well. And we kept Nisbet and Porteous.
Boyle might have to get used to playing up front a bit more if his speed is going. He certainly doesn’t appear to be going round players as much these days.

Not bad but a pity the positives of keeping Nisbet has turned into a media negative on Hibs, what’s new though?

Fwiw it took us a good while, maybe even an hour to put the tweet up last January.

I remember refreshing it non stop in the hope we managed to get Nisbet confirmed.

01-02-2021, 11:17 PM
Have no idea why Hibs didn’t just tweet earlier on that we were done. Think most would have been quietly content.

We’re probably moderately better off than before the window. Not massively as Mallan is a good player who could impact games, at the very least off the bench. Losing Gullan weakens us up top and probably wide left (where he didn’t look too bad in short time he’s had). Boyle isn’t a striker for me. If games open up he can get space and make runs through the middle. However, if game is tight and/or we go a goal behind, and team sits in, he’s like playing with 1 player less in that position. Doidge is going to be massive, Nisbet can’t play upfront on his own and to be honest I expect a bit of fallout from the situation yesterday still.

Some of its paper talk but if Nisbet hadn’t mentioned his intentions to Jack Ross etc. there will probably be some patching up to do. Think this is part of reason Hibs have been quiet on Twitter. Announce the necessary and disappear again.

Maybe couldn't be sure we were done until late on.

01-02-2021, 11:18 PM
Doesnt make it acceptable that we failed to bring in Another striker to cover injuries and even covid.

If Nisbet and Doidge get injured, we’ll regret not bringing in another striker. If Hanlon and Porteous get injured we’ll regret not signing another centre half.

I think we’ll be fine.

We've let go of two players that have played a limited role in the team all season, whilst adding clear quality in Jackson and Cadden.

Magennis getting up to speed, Allan back, Murphy available, and McGregor with a glorious reawakening - I'd say we should be alright.

FWIW I'd have liked us to sign a striker, but that's because I'm a Hibs fan and a sucker for transfer deadline day, not because I thought it was an absolute necessity.

Maybe couldn't be sure we were done until late on.

Still haven’t tweeted though. Surely we know now?

BegbieHSC
01-02-2021, 11:19 PM
We can still go for free agents.

Here’s a list of strikers if we’re short https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/spieler/vertragslosespieler/statistik/1/plus//galerie/0?ausrichtung=alle&spielerposition_id=14&land_id=alle&altersklasse=&wettbewerb_id=alle&seit=alle&yt0=Show

Welcome to Hibernian, Diego Costa.

01-02-2021, 11:19 PM
Not bad but a pity the positives of keeping Nisbet has turned into a media negative on Hibs, what’s new though?

Unhappy player makes a better story than one that is happy enough if he stays.

01-02-2021, 11:20 PM
If Nisbet and Doidge get injured, we’ll regret not bringing in another striker. If Hanlon and Porteous get injured we’ll regret not signing another centre half.

I think we’ll be fine.

McGinn McGregor and Gogic can all play centre half though. Fairly well covered in there. 5 competent centre halves is more than enough.

01-02-2021, 11:20 PM
Martin Boyle has more goals this season, than the 3 forwards Aberdeen signed today have between them. He’s a more than capable option up front when needed.

Stokesy's on fire
01-02-2021, 11:21 PM

I think we’ll be fine.

We have a bit more cover for Porteous and Hanlon though.

Magpie

Here’s a list of strikers if we’re short https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/spieler/vertragslosespieler/statistik/1/plus//galerie/0?ausrichtung=alle&spielerposition_id=14&land_id=alle&altersklasse=&wettbewerb_id=alle&seit=alle&yt0=Show

Anthony Stokes 👀

When was the last time we never signed someone on January transfer deadline day?

01-02-2021, 11:22 PM
McGinn McGregor and Gogic can all play centre half though. Fairly well covered in there. 5 competent centre halves is more than enough.

And we have other players who can cover up front. Boyle, Murphy, Bradley.

01-02-2021, 11:22 PM
Anthony Stokes 👀

Crazy to think that he's only 32 eh! Been around forever.

01-02-2021, 11:24 PM

A new face with quality would have gave them the kick they needed. Still think Brophy and Cummings would have done that and some.If this were a normal season I would usually agree with you here 100%. That being said I think the club are looking at the league around them and the current covid situation and thinking they can manage without for the remaining games (I've seen some say it's only 12 or so left? If that's true then it's really not long till season is done anyway).

I can understand that from the club, they'll be hoping they can save as much in the tank as possible and that crowds can be back next season then spend more cash.

I get that Livi are on a cracking run, that being said Ron will look at our current squad and their squad, we should be finishing ahead of them in 4th place minimum. Even with Nisbet and Doidge both struggling recently we are still on the hunt for 3rd, I think we can get away without a 3rd striker and we should be all the better for it come summer.

01-02-2021, 11:24 PM

See this is where I disagree.

We normally play a back 3 of McGinn, Porteous and Hanlon. If it’s a back 4 then McGinn Porteous Hanlon and Doig.

Mcgregor can come in and play the middle of a back 3 and 4.

Gogic gives me the fear the thought of him playing centre back.

If one or two are injured or suspended at the same time we’re really struggling.

01-02-2021, 11:25 PM
Bit underwhelming but to be expected really.

Surprised there hasn't been a round up tweet but I suppose everyone will have knocked off early if they knew we weren't doing anything today.

01-02-2021, 11:25 PM
And we have other players who can cover up front. Boyle, Murphy, Bradley.

Indeed. Being greedy I’d have liked another out and out striker however in these times I’m happy with what we have. Aberdeen’s signings may click, but it’s huge gamble for them. We know what we have as it’s what we’ve always had. They are gambling that boys who haven’t scored for a long time start scoring otherwise they’ll finish 5th.

Magpie
01-02-2021, 11:26 PM
Bit underwhelming but to be expected really.

Surprised there hasn't been a round up tweet but I suppose everyone will have knocked off early if they knew we weren't doing anything today.

Could have gave us an early night 😃 I suppose they were probably trying right up until the end.

We've let go of two players that have played a limited role in the team all season, whilst adding clear quality in Jackson and Cadden.

Magennis getting up to speed, Allan back, Murphy available, and McGregor with a glorious reawakening - I'd say we should be alright.

FWIW I'd have liked us to sign a striker, but that's because I'm a Hibs fan and a sucker for transfer deadline day, not because I thought it was an absolute necessity.

I’m on the negative side of the argument where this Hibs team are concerned but this is pretty much where I am regarding this window.

The squad is stronger than it was at the start of the window and it’s capable of third. It’s down them and the manager to raise their standards and get after that position now.

BegbieHSC
Crazy to think that he's only 32 eh! Been around forever.

Appropriate age to come home 👀

01-02-2021, 11:27 PM

Diddy clubs like Hearts and Alloa can still loan players from the big league.

See this is where I disagree.

We normally play a back 3 of McGinn, Porteous and Hanlon. If it’s a back 4 then McGinn Porteous Hanlon and Doig.

Mcgregor can come in and play the middle of a back 3 and 4.

Gogic gives me the fear the thought of him playing centre back.

If one or two are injured or suspended at the same time we’re really struggling.

If we play a four Cadden can play right back with McGinn in the middle. Gogic was a centre half, his mobility allows him to play in the middle of the park but he’d win his headers and tackles at the back.

I think my frustration is more out of what could be this season.

Already in a very good position of 4th and have the best shot of 3rd, and even 2nd we’ve had in a long time.

At the same time Livingston and St Mirren are really close behind us.

1 or 2 extra options upfront and centre back would really have kicked us on.

01-02-2021, 11:28 PM
Appropriate age to come home 👀

Get him in!

Would have played with Ross at Falkirk as well I think, it's all starting to make sense.

Be interesting who we line up to replace nisbet in the summer

Anthony Stokes ��

Come on home Antonio Murray.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/antonio-murray/profil/spieler/15842

King Cosell
01-02-2021, 11:30 PM
There must be something happening or they would have wrapped things up by now.

01-02-2021, 11:30 PM
There must be something happening or they would have wrapped things up by now.

It was the same last January, not sure what the hold up was then either.

01-02-2021, 11:31 PM
If we play a four Cadden can play right back with McGinn in the middle. Gogic was a centre half, his mobility allows him to play in the middle of the park but he’d win his headers and tackles at the back.

That defence would give me the fear

Magpie

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/antonio-murray/leistungsdaten/spieler/15842

2 appearances and 2 yellow cards. Inspirational.

I think my frustration is more out of what could be this season.

Already in a very good position of 4th and have the best shot of 3rd, and even 2nd we’ve had in a long time.

At the same time Livingston and St Mirren are really close behind us.

1 or 2 extra options upfront and centre back would really have kicked us on.

I think you have to consider the number of games that are left. We might get an injury or a suspension but it won’t just be us. Our squad was as strong as it’s been all season at the weekend. We should be able to handle 12 games over the next 3 and a half months, assuming the Scottish isn’t played.

01-02-2021, 11:32 PM

Most defences in the SPFL would if you are missing three first choice centre backs.

01-02-2021, 11:32 PM

Yep, it’s all well and good having players that could fill in but they need to be half decent there and surrounded by others in their natural positions.

I really think it will be squad depth that will cost us, especially when you compare to Aberdeen then have a huge squad full of quality.

01-02-2021, 11:34 PM
Yep, it’s all well and good having players that could fill in but they need to be half decent there and surrounded by others in their natural positions.

I really think it will be squad depth that will cost us, especially when you compare to Aberdeen then have a huge squad full of quality.

Is Aberdeen’s squad much bigger? What’s all their striking options? They’ve lost a couple of their main players in the last few days.

If Aberdeen lost Hoban, Considine and Taylor at centre half who plays for them? Absolutely no one that I’ve ever heard of from their team last week.

I really think it will be squad depth that will cost us, especially when you compare to Aberdeen then have a huge squad full of quality.To be fair they have built that squad over years

We are far better position than when Ross came in

01-02-2021, 11:36 PM
How big is Livingstons squad? Surely smaller than ours. They're absolutely flying. Not really concerned about squad size more the quality in it

BegbieHSC
01-02-2021, 11:37 PM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/antonio-murray/profil/spieler/15842

How could we forget ? 😂😂

01-02-2021, 11:38 PM
How big is Livingstons squad? Surely smaller than ours. They're absolutely flying. Not really concerned about squad size more the quality in it

But what if we get 3 injuries and 2 suspensions at the back? We should really have 5/6 proper centre halves just in case.

01-02-2021, 11:38 PM
If Aberdeen lost Hoban, Considine and Taylor at centre half who plays for them? Absolutely no one that I’ve ever heard of from their team last week.

In a back 3? Ross McCrorie, Mikey Devlin and Greg Leigh.

Pretty good for having your first 3 centre halves out...

01-02-2021, 11:39 PM
In a back 3? Ross McCrorie, Mikey Devlin and Greg Leigh.

Pretty good for having your first 3 centre halves out...

McCrorie would be like Gogic playing there for us, Devlin is injured, and Leigh is a full back. No different to Gogic and McGinn stepping in for us and then pulling Doig in as well.

01-02-2021, 11:40 PM

You could be right but we opted for a smaller squad which is (hopefully) quality over quantity. It could be said it's a bit of a gamble that may or may not work however we don't have the same sort of budget as Aberdeen to have a huge, quality squad.

01-02-2021, 11:42 PM
Is Aberdeen’s squad much bigger? What’s all their striking options? They’ve lost a couple of their main players in the last few days.

They do have a very big squad, their wage bill must be through the roof. But it gives them plenty options

Keepers

Joe Lewis
Greg Woods

Defenders

Shay Logan
Ash Taylor
Mikey Devlin
Andy Considine
Tommie Hoban
Greg Leigh

centre mid

Lewis Ferguson
Ross Mccrorie
Dylan Mcgeouch
Dean Campbell

Attacking mid/wingers

Niall McGinn
Ryan Hedges
Connor McLennan
Jonny Hayes
Matty Kennedy

Strikers

Flo Kamberi
Fraser Hornby
Callum Hendry

Plus there youngsters like Ethan Ross etc.

Dont get me wrong I think we have a strong squad and have been really happy with the clubs signings and ambition we have shown, also declining bids for our better players. But squad depth is huge and I think that will be the difference.

01-02-2021, 11:44 PM
How could we forget ? 😂😂

I’m sure he had a great game in a 2-1 win at Tynie.

01-02-2021, 11:44 PM

Aberdeen have some really good players, but they’ve also lost their top scorer for the past 2 seasons this window, as well as one of their best attackers today to Rangers. They’ve went and signed 3 strikers who don’t score many goals to try to sort that.

We’ve scored more than them this season, and we’ve kept Nisbet today.

This huge Aberdeen squad that’s full of quality, is only 1 point ahead of us...at a time when a lot of Hibs fans think we’re ***** and should sack the manager.

01-02-2021, 11:47 PM
They do have a very big squad, their wage bill must be through the roof. But it gives them plenty options

Keepers

Joe Lewis
Greg Woods

Defenders

Shay Logan
Ash Taylor
Mikey Devlin
Andy Considine
Tommie Hoban
Greg Leigh

centre mid

Lewis Ferguson
Ross Mccrorie
Dylan Mcgeouch
Dean Campbell

Attacking mid/wingers

Niall McGinn
Ryan Hedges
Connor McLennan
Jonny Hayes
Matty Kennedy

Strikers

Flo Kamberi
Fraser Hornby
Callum Hendry

Dont get me wrong I think we have a strong squad and have been really happy with the clubs signings and ambition we have shown, also declining bids for our better players. But squad depth is huge and I think that will be the difference.

And we have

Rocky
Macey
KD

McGinn
Gray
Daz
Hanlon
Porteous
Doig
Stevenson
Mackie

Gogic
Newell
Hallberg
Irvine
Cadden

Allan
Boyle
Murphy
Magennis
Wright

Doidge
Nisbet

Apart from being an out and out centre forward light our depth is actually very good.

Edit: missed Stephen McGinn from the middle of the park as well, although hoping it doesn’t get that desperate.

CB Hibs 68
01-02-2021, 11:48 PM
Mixed bag this window.Positives are recruiting Cadden and Irvine and keeping hold of Nisbet and Porteous assuming Kevin knuckles down and applies himself. Disappointing that Gullan has gone and we don't have any back up to Doidge and Nisbet up top.Mallen going on loan is no real loss so overall neither up nor down.How Nisbet reacts will be the key to whether we have a successful run to the end of season or not.

01-02-2021, 11:50 PM

Keepers

Joe Lewis
Greg Woods

Defenders

Shay Logan
Ash Taylor
Mikey Devlin
Andy Considine
Tommie Hoban
Greg Leigh

centre mid

Lewis Ferguson
Ross Mccrorie
Dylan Mcgeouch
Dean Campbell

Attacking mid/wingers

Niall McGinn
Ryan Hedges
Connor McLennan
Jonny Hayes
Matty Kennedy

Strikers

Flo Kamberi
Fraser Hornby
Callum Hendry

Strikers jump out right away. If we’d signed a striker that has played less than 20 senior games and someone not getting a game at St Johnstone, would we saying that we had quality attacking options? I’m not so sure.

Looks like you’ve listed the same number of defenders that we have and that’s discounting Cadden and Gogic who have played a plenty football at right back and centre half.

They look in the same boat as us to me in that if they get an injury to a Ferguson, for example, they don’t have nearly the same quality.

01-02-2021, 11:51 PM
And we have

Rocky
Macey
KD

McGinn
Gray
Daz
Hanlon
Porteous
Doig
Stevenson
Mackie

Gogic
Newell
Hallberg
Irvine
Cadden

Allan
Boyle
Murphy
Magennis
Wright

Doidge
Nisbet

Apart from being an out and out centre forward light our depth is actually very good.

Edit: missed Stephen McGinn from the middle of the park as well, although hoping it doesn’t get that desperate.

I agree that we have a lot of players and that overall the squad is good. But I think quite a few of ours are there in case of emergency - Gray, McGregor (who has proved he’s still got it) and McGinn. I appreciate more squads will have players like this.

I just wish we got one more over the line but as I say delighted with the business and ambition the board have shown.

I’m looking forward to the summer already as I think Ross will really look to address balance of the squad even more and make our money go further.

01-02-2021, 11:52 PM
Mixed bag this window.Positives are recruiting Cadden and Irvine and keeping hold of Nisbet and Porteous assuming Kevin knuckles down and applies himself. Disappointing that Gullan has gone and we don't have any back up to Doidge and Nisbet up top.Mallen going on loan is no real loss so overall neither up nor down.How Nisbet reacts will be the key to whether we have a successful run to the end of season or not.

But we do have back up - up front. Martin Boyle who is as effective as a striker. We have 12 games left this season and likely no Scottish cup.

01-02-2021, 11:53 PM
But we do have back up - up front. Martin Boyle who is as effective as a striker. We have 12 games left this season and likely no Scottish cup.

We have Boyle as a striker now. Cadden in to replace him out wide.

01-02-2021, 11:54 PM
Well that's the end of the window.

Irvine and Macey are two quality short term signings - and Cadden I like the look of more every time I see him play.

Biggest coup on deadline day though was undoubtably the batting off of bids from down south for our prize assets in Nisbet and Porteous - and sticking two fingers up at the pathetic Weedgie press in the doing so. This is every bit as important - if not more so - than adding to the squad, and is becoming a happy habit what with Boyle opting to extend his stay at Easter Road in the summer when every man and his dog had him sold down the river to the highest bidder.

I'd have liked to have seen us sign another striker and possibly another centre half and the late announcement of business concluded coupled with Gullan's loan to Raith makes me think we must have been pretty close to adding another striker anyway - and with loans and free agents still an option something may yet happen. As others have pointed out though, Cadden's arrival frees Boyle up to play up top, so we are not completely bereft of options.

While we remain a bit thin in central areas up top and in defence, I think we have a stronger squad now than on Jan 1st - bring on St Mirren!

01-02-2021, 11:54 PM
TWELVE GAMES

12 12 12 12 12 12 12

Cadden strengths right hand side releasing Boyle as optional striker. Scott Allan back, Daz stepping up.

I think our squad will cope.

01-02-2021, 11:55 PM
Strikers jump out right away. If we’d signed a striker that has played less than 20 senior games and someone not getting a game at St Johnstone, would we saying that we had quality attacking options? I’m not so sure.

Looks like you’ve listed the same number of defenders that we have and that’s discounting Cadden and Gogic who have played a plenty football at right back and centre half.

They look in the same boat as us to me in that if they get an injury to a Ferguson, for example, they don’t have nearly the same quality.

Tbf I don’t think I said they had quality attacking options.

You could also say I never included McCrorie, Hayes and Campbell in the Aberdeen team to play in defence.

Of course you can’t build a squad entirely on what ifs but to me the balance of the Aberdeen team is better, and so it should be with the amount of time Mccinnes has been there. Maybe the same amount of defenders but we have 3 players that can be classed as right back and 3 left backs.

01-02-2021, 11:56 PM
Kamberi can play a bit when hes in the mood but hes become a bit of a journeyman and personally if he was available to us I wouldn't have taken him regardless of any ill feeling fans have for him.
Hendry has scored 10 league goals in 60 odd league appearances (one of those goals was in a loan spell at Brechin)
Hornby has played 18 professional matches most of which were in Belgium first division A.

With Cosgrove and Wright both moving on I think Aberdeen have had a bad window and the players they have brought in are no where the quality of the players who have left.

01-02-2021, 11:58 PM
Why’s there no pre-match conference videos? Have they been kept back in case they needed edited :wink: