View Full Version : (Soon to be) Former President Donald Trump

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38

K-Zazu
28-02-2025, 10:11 PM
Russia wrote the script, those idiots just read their lines.

28-02-2025, 10:16 PM
The “journalist” who had a go at Zelenskyy is Marjorie Taylor Greene’s boyfriend.

ah, the not so lovely Moscow Marj

28-02-2025, 10:35 PM
****ing Newsnight allowing more airtime to that Carla Sands horror, whom Victoria Derbyshire interviewed the other week.

Parroting bull**** about Ukraine being the most corrupt country in the world, that Zelenskyy is an authoritarian, and that the US won’t fund “another yacht for him”.

These times call for serious debate, not this ****ing juvenile reality TV bull****.

28-02-2025, 10:50 PM
didn't expect this from alastair campbell, but well said (1) Mike H on X: "@campbellclaret You didn’t hold back on #c4news did you? #vileVance https://t.co/nOSm4oIYM4" / X (https://x.com/mikoh123/status/1895565533732618423) and absolutely spot on description for vance

I watched his interview on C4 News. Tremendous. Certainly didn’t hold back.

28-02-2025, 11:00 PM
Don’t say bad things about my mate:

https://x.com/Acyn/status/1895605393944166536

The Tubs
28-02-2025, 11:47 PM
Leaving Starmer open to potentially carry an olive branch isn’t the worst idea.

We’d all love to tell Trump to F off, which is why we’re not at the absolute pinnacle of international diplomacy.

If I were him, I’d organise a national Stars and Stripes burning at 6pm.

01-03-2025, 12:26 AM
****ing Newsnight allowing more airtime to that Carla Sands horror, whom Victoria Derbyshire interviewed the other week.

Parroting bull**** about Ukraine being the most corrupt country in the world, that Zelenskyy is an authoritarian, and that the US won’t fund “another yacht for him”.

These times call for serious debate, not this ****ing juvenile reality TV bull****.
It’s absolute gaslighting. I’m horrified at what’s going on in the world just now. It’s like some sick dystopian nightmare.

01-03-2025, 04:07 AM
Just watched a fuller version of the meeting …….. incredulously, it started off with one of the assembled Mafia thugs berating Zelensky for not wearing a suit, saying he was being disrespectful. I’ve never felt so much anger and hatred for Trump’s circus and am saddened that a convicted criminal, proud and unashamed misogynist and sexual predator can turn world peace on it’s head. Jeremy Bowen on the BBC news even suggested that the whole thing, from start to finish, might have been stage managed to undermine Zelensky and send a message of support to Putin.

They knew exactly what they were doing.

01-03-2025, 07:11 AM

And Sarah Smith's old man will be spinning his grave after her shameful pro-Trump report. Couldn't believe what I was hearing.

01-03-2025, 07:26 AM
It’s actually staggering how successful they’ve been. Trump in the White House twice, and now doing their bidding in the most transparent way possible.

The UK out of Europe and the continent fractured, with a significant right wing presence in government in most countries.

All thanks to their Twitter bots and owning the likes of Trump, Musk, Banks and Farage.

And all in less than a decade. Unbelievable.

Yep incredible how successful they have been. Good summary. Our media will have accurately reported all this so the people are informed as they possibly can be. On the other hand….

01-03-2025, 07:27 AM
And Sarah Smith's old man will be spinning his grave after her shameful pro-Trump report. Couldn't believe what I was hearing.

What did she say?

01-03-2025, 07:29 AM
Zelensky was asked to leave the white house & a planned news conference abruptly cancelled

shame on Trump, shame on him

putin will be rolling about on the floor pizzing himself laughing

Putin probably in one of the west wing back offices

01-03-2025, 07:29 AM

She should wear a MAGA hat when she is on. [emoji35]

01-03-2025, 07:56 AM
What did she say?

Made out that Zelensky was the aggressor basically. Said that he received a "dressing down" from Trump.

01-03-2025, 08:20 AM
Made out that Zelensky was the aggressor basically. Said that he received a "dressing down" from Trump.

She's a terrible journalist and the complete opposite to what her father was.

01-03-2025, 08:26 AM
A Swedish psychologist's take on the exchange...

"Today it became painfully clear what narcissistic exercise of power and psychopathology look like when Trump humiliated Zelenskyj openly in the Oval Room. In front of the world's accredited journalists, he called Zelenskyj "disrespectful," questioning his loyalty and insinuating that he did not deserve the support of the United States. As if that were not enough, he warned that Zelenskyj could cause a Third World War - a classic psychopathological trait in which threats are used as a means of control.
It wasn't just a display of bad diplomacy - it was a demonstrative manifestation of power characterized by narcissism and psychopathy.
Grandiose self-image and need for submission
- Trump expected Zelenskyj to show gratitude and admiration. When it didn't happen, he punished him in public. People with narcissistic personality disorder cannot handle having their self image questioned and use humiliation as a defense.
Manipulation and threats
- Blaming someone for potential disaster is a classic psychopathic tactic. By saying that Zelenskyj is “playing with World War III,” he puts the blame on him, while positioning himself as the only one who can prevent the catastrophe.
Impulsive and emotionally controlled power exercise
- When Trump felt challenged by Zelenskyj, he interrupted the meeting abruptly. A stable and strategic leader had handled the situation diplomatically, but a person with psychopathic traits reacts instinctively on the basis of his own sense of loss of control.
But why did he do this to the press? This is why narcissists and psychopaths love to show their power in public. By humiliating Zelenskyj in front of the world, he is sending a signal—not only to him, but to all leaders and nations: “I am the one in charge, and whoever does not obey will be crushed. ”
What we saw today was not just a president acting inappropriate. It was a school example of how narcissistic and psychopathic leaders use humiliation, threats, and manipulation to assert their power. And just like in destructive relationships, it's never about building, but about controlling. And why was the agreement about minerals? What does it take to drive a Tesla? Narcissists, dictators, and psychopaths idealize each other and in unholy alliances scratch each other's backs.
Trump can no longer claim to be leader of the free world. His actions today do not place him among democratic statesmen, but among history's dictators. A true leader builds alliances through respect and diplomacy—a dictator rules through threats, fear, and humiliation. When the fate of the world is at stake, we should not blind our eyes to the difference. We did not see a president today, but a despot in real time."

01-03-2025, 08:42 AM
Just watched a fuller version of the meeting …….. incredulously, it started off with one of the assembled Mafia thugs berating Zelensky for not wearing a suit, saying he was being disrespectful. I’ve never felt so much anger and hatred for Trump’s circus and am saddened that a convicted criminal, proud and unashamed misogynist and sexual predator can turn world peace on it’s head. Jeremy Bowen on the BBC news even suggested that the whole thing, from start to finish, might have been stage managed to undermine Zelensky and send a message of support to Putin.

I think there's a very strong possibility that's true.

Bridge hibs
01-03-2025, 08:46 AM
A Swedish psychologist's take on the exchange...

"Today it became painfully clear what narcissistic exercise of power and psychopathology look like when Trump humiliated Zelenskyj openly in the Oval Room. In front of the world's accredited journalists, he called Zelenskyj "disrespectful," questioning his loyalty and insinuating that he did not deserve the support of the United States. As if that were not enough, he warned that Zelenskyj could cause a Third World War - a classic psychopathological trait in which threats are used as a means of control.
It wasn't just a display of bad diplomacy - it was a demonstrative manifestation of power characterized by narcissism and psychopathy.
Grandiose self-image and need for submission
- Trump expected Zelenskyj to show gratitude and admiration. When it didn't happen, he punished him in public. People with narcissistic personality disorder cannot handle having their self image questioned and use humiliation as a defense.
Manipulation and threats
- Blaming someone for potential disaster is a classic psychopathic tactic. By saying that Zelenskyj is “playing with World War III,” he puts the blame on him, while positioning himself as the only one who can prevent the catastrophe.
Impulsive and emotionally controlled power exercise
- When Trump felt challenged by Zelenskyj, he interrupted the meeting abruptly. A stable and strategic leader had handled the situation diplomatically, but a person with psychopathic traits reacts instinctively on the basis of his own sense of loss of control.
But why did he do this to the press? This is why narcissists and psychopaths love to show their power in public. By humiliating Zelenskyj in front of the world, he is sending a signal—not only to him, but to all leaders and nations: “I am the one in charge, and whoever does not obey will be crushed. ”
What we saw today was not just a president acting inappropriate. It was a school example of how narcissistic and psychopathic leaders use humiliation, threats, and manipulation to assert their power. And just like in destructive relationships, it's never about building, but about controlling. And why was the agreement about minerals? What does it take to drive a Tesla? Narcissists, dictators, and psychopaths idealize each other and in unholy alliances scratch each other's backs.
Trump can no longer claim to be leader of the free world. His actions today do not place him among democratic statesmen, but among history's dictators. A true leader builds alliances through respect and diplomacy—a dictator rules through threats, fear, and humiliation. When the fate of the world is at stake, we should not blind our eyes to the difference. We did not see a president today, but a despot in real time."If there was ever a notion that Ukraine/Russia would agree a peace deal that seems a million miles away from happening now, that wedge has been driven further in now 🤬

01-03-2025, 08:46 AM
Just watched a fuller version of the meeting …….. incredulously, it started off with one of the assembled Mafia thugs berating Zelensky for not wearing a suit, saying he was being disrespectful. I’ve never felt so much anger and hatred for Trump’s circus and am saddened that a convicted criminal, proud and unashamed misogynist and sexual predator can turn world peace on it’s head. Jeremy Bowen on the BBC news even suggested that the whole thing, from start to finish, might have been stage managed to undermine Zelensky and send a message of support to Putin.Apparently the journalist who attacked zelensky for not wearing a suit in the Whitehouse is Marjory Taylor Green's boyfriend(?) Whatever, he has never once challenged Musk who wears a baseball hat, trainers and a dark tee shirt with an image on it in the oval office.
Hopefully the so called swasticars sales continue to decline and become more expensive to produce without Ukrainian lithium.

01-03-2025, 09:05 AM
If there was ever a notion that Ukraine/Russia would agree a peace deal that seems a million miles away from happening now, that wedge has been driven further in now ��

I'm not totally convinced.

The only thing that had changed recently was that Trump had come to power. He wants to satisfy his own ego by delivering peace and wants a Nobel Peace prize, however he's too stupid to realise that it isn't in his gift to deliver peace and that the sort of peace he describes (forcing Ukraine to capitulate to a dictator) doesn't impress peace prize judges.

The war rages on. 80% of the weapons Ukraine are using - and using to slowly get the upper hand - are coming from Europe now, who have ramped up their production capabilities way in advance of this easily predicted situation arising.

Potential problem as I see it - America deciding to let up on the Russian sanctions. The sanctions are killing the Russian ability to fight the war on anything like an even footing. If the Americans can be convinced to keep up the sanctions (and I'm not convinced Vance and co think it's going to be in their interests to keep them up) then this war swings strongly the way of the Ukrainians this year. What happens at "the moment it finally slips away from Putin" is a scary thought, but one that will need to be confronted at some point.

Congress should stop the USA from outright allying with the Russians (obviously finding ourselves officially on the opposite side to the Americans would be awful) but if Trump's acolytes manage to dismantle enough of the American political infrastructure then that may also eventually be a threat. Not soon though, I don't think.

Worth keeping a wee eye on the Chinese too. Very quiet, very patient, very measured. My hunch is that we might even find ourselves having more common interests with them than those who have been our greatest allies for 80 years. That possibility is one of just many that the morons in the White House should be considering when talking about what cards people have.

01-03-2025, 09:11 AM
I'm not totally convinced.

The only thing that had changed recently was that Trump had come to power. He wants to satisfy his own ego by delivering peace and wants a Nobel Peace prize, however he's too stupid to realise that it isn't in his gift to deliver peace and that the sort of peace he describes (forcing Ukraine to capitulate to a dictator) doesn't impress peace prize judges.

The war rages on. 80% of the weapons Ukraine are using - and using to slowly get the upper hand - are coming from Europe now, who have ramped up their production capabilities way in advance of this easily predicted situation arising.

Potential problem as I see it - America deciding to let up on the Russian sanctions. The sanctions are killing the Russian ability to fight the war on anything like an even footing. If the Americans can be convinced to keep up the sanctions (and I'm not convinced Vance and co think it's going to be in their interests to keep them up) then this war swings strongly the way of the Ukrainians this year. What happens at "the moment it finally slips away from Putin" is a scary thought, but one that will need to be confronted at some point.

Congress should stop the USA from outright allying with the Russians (obviously finding ourselves officially on the opposite side to the Americans would be awful) but if Trump's acolytes manage to dismantle enough of the American political infrastructure then that may also eventually be a threat. Not soon though, I don't think.

Worth keeping a wee eye on the Chinese too. Very quiet, very patient, very measured. My hunch is that we might even find ourselves having more common interests with them than those who have been our greatest allies for 80 years. That possibility is one of just many that the morons in the White House should be considering when talking about what cards people have.

Only Congress can drop the sanctions thankfully. I doubt it is ready to do that.

01-03-2025, 09:20 AM
Only Congress can drop the sanctions thankfully. I doubt it is ready to do that.

I didn't realise that.

Makes sense, really, because Krasnov would probably have done so by now if he were able to.

01-03-2025, 09:21 AM
It’s absolute gaslighting. I’m horrified at what’s going on in the world just now. It’s like some sick dystopian nightmare.

iIt really is. America is now backing an authoritarian Russia against an invaded democratic ally. A 180 degree shift from just a few weeks ago when Biden was president. It’s enough to make your head spin. Trump, as usual, has thrown everything into chaos. We can wait for what happens next. Hopefully, this debacle can be pulled back from the brink.

01-03-2025, 09:52 AM
iIt really is. America is now backing an authoritarian Russia against an invaded democratic ally. A 180 degree shift from just a few weeks ago when Biden was president. It’s enough to make your head spin. Trump, as usual, has thrown everything into chaos. We can wait for what happens next. Hopefully, this debacle can be pulled back from the brink.

There is no changing Trump. He’s there for 4 years and we have to deal with that. Best thing is to arm Ukraine to the teeth and take Trump out the equation. We have to give the Ukranians what they need to start forcing Russia back. That will require money. Euro has it but it also needs the political will.

Caversham Green
01-03-2025, 10:26 AM
Online petition demanding that Trump's invitation to a state visit be rescinded.

https://www.change.org/p/urge-the-government-to-rescind-donald-trump-s-state-visit-invitation?signed=true

01-03-2025, 10:44 AM

Aye. She almost seemed indignant on Trump’s behalf. Pathetic.

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2025, 11:03 AM
There’s a phrase along the lines of “slowly, slowly… then all at once”.

For a very long time now there has been nothing but bad news for the Russian economy and it’s only been propped up by ever more desperate measures.

The only hope for the Russian economy is Trump.

And re war finance… as the American door closes, keep a wee eye out for an incredibly significant Norwegian one opening.

Europe need to keep stepping up, which of late they have been doing.

Who are you really Smartie 🤔 mi5

NEXTA
@nexta_tv
5 minutes ago
Norwegians Plan to Launch Mass Production of Air Defense Missiles in Ukraine

Norwegian company Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace is planning to establish missile production for NASAMS air defense systems on Ukrainian territory, company president Eirik Lie announced.

"We are currently setting up a company in Ukraine and actively negotiating with local manufacturers to create a joint venture. Our main goal is to increase the production of NASAMS missiles using Ukrainian technology," Lie said.

The Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace president emphasized that the plan involves mass production of missiles

Hibs4185
01-03-2025, 11:15 AM
Apparently the journalist who attacked zelensky for not wearing a suit in the Whitehouse is Marjory Taylor Green's boyfriend(?) Whatever, he has never once challenged Musk who wears a baseball hat, trainers and a dark tee shirt with an image on it in the oval office.
Hopefully the so called swasticars sales continue to decline and become more expensive to produce without Ukrainian lithium.

And why was someone so obviously hostile to Zelensky and Ukraine positioned so close to the president? All these things are carefully stage managed, having him there was no coincidence

01-03-2025, 11:20 AM
Who are you really Smartie 🤔 mi5

NEXTA
@nexta_tv
5 minutes ago

Norwegian company Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace is planning to establish missile production for NASAMS air defense systems on Ukrainian territory, company president Eirik Lie announced.

"We are currently setting up a company in Ukraine and actively negotiating with local manufacturers to create a joint venture. Our main goal is to increase the production of NASAMS missiles using Ukrainian technology," Lie said.

The Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace president emphasized that the plan involves mass production of missiles

Oh dear, if Trump was hoping to weaken Europe as part of his masterplan, it doesn't sound as if that's going too well. There'll be ketchup on the White House walls.

01-03-2025, 11:36 AM
And why was someone so obviously hostile to Zelensky and Ukraine positioned so close to the president? All these things are carefully stage managed, having him there was no coincidenceUtter set up to please his bosses in Russia

01-03-2025, 11:37 AM
Who are you really Smartie �� mi5

NEXTA
@nexta_tv
5 minutes ago

Me?

Just an ordinary punter with an eye on some obscure corners of the internet that occasionally turn up decent info.

I need to be a bit careful with it though, as I did mention in a WhatsApp group about Xi having his tea poisoned last year, leading to a Chinese delegation leaving a meeting in a hurry. Turned out to be pish, and not the only time I've embarrassingly shared duff info.

Re the post above about Europe - the Europeans aren't all that downhearted about how the meeting went. They know what they need to do and they've known for a long time that they might find themselves in alliance with unpredictable Americans. TBH - gaining the supermotivated Swedes and Finns, getting a more unified Europe and losing the Americans who are drifting towards isolation - isn't the worst "deal" in the world. Imperfect, with downsides, but far from the disaster that it can be painted to be in some "legacy media" quarters.

01-03-2025, 11:46 AM
The most ironic quote from yesterday's clown show in the Oval circus office was when Trump spitting and shouting at Zelensky told him..

"He (Trump) had enabled him (Zelensky) to be a tough guy"

This coming from a multiple draft dodger who claimed bone spurs had stopped him from serving his country ! Even though his medical records have no evidence he ever had so much as a varuka let alone a little bone spur !

Let's be clear here! When America offered to fly Zelensky to safety shortly after the Russian invasion began telling him that Russia would kill him and his family within hours ! He replied that "He needed military equipment not a free plane ride"

If that had been Trump staring down the barrel of a much bigger and much more powerful adversary, who's whole objective from now on and 24/7 would be to kill him !

Trump would have taken those plane tickets and been on board with a big suitcase of money before the first Russian tank crossed the border.

Trump truly is one of the great cowards of history !

01-03-2025, 12:34 PM

The Republicans have a 3 seat majority and are more than capable of giving Trump full support. In normal times you would not expect every Republican to vote for extreme measures from their party but with the new, crazy administration, nothing would surprise me.

Berwickhibby
01-03-2025, 12:58 PM
Online petition demanding that Trump's invitation to a state visit be rescinded.

https://www.change.org/p/urge-the-government-to-rescind-donald-trump-s-state-visit-invitation?signed=true

I am certainly no fan of Trump or his motley crew and he will be US president for next 4 years….however if this daft wee visit and a shake of Charlie’s hand provides a better trade deal then let it go ahead

01-03-2025, 01:05 PM
I am certainly no fan of Trump or his motley crew and he will be US president for next 4 years….however if this daft wee visit and a shake of Charlie’s hand provides a better trade deal then let it go ahead

You probably have a point.

That said, I'd hope that people are allowed to show their feelings on the man in a public manner (for and against, of course). Somehow, though, I think things will be sanitised and controlled to the point where there is no obvious newsworthy dissent.

It would be a wonderful legacy for Janey Godley if thousands of people were allowed to show "her" sign.

Caversham Green
01-03-2025, 01:12 PM

I don't doubt that it will happen regardless of the petitions, but as CWG says it's an opportunity to let him know how the UK public feel about him.

If it happens in London or Windsor I will do my best to get along to give him the warmest possible "welcome".

01-03-2025, 01:14 PM
I don't doubt that it will happen regardless of the petitions, but as CWG says it's an opportunity to let him know how the UK public feel about him.

If it happens in London or Windsor I will do my best to get along to give him the warmest possible "welcome".

So, if we see on the news an ageing ex-beancounter being arrested for displaying a sign saying "Trump Is a Hearts B*****d".............

Caversham Green
01-03-2025, 01:22 PM
So, if we see on the news an ageing ex-beancounter being arrested for displaying a sign saying "Trump Is a Hearts B*****d".............

Insert the word "orange" in that sign and you're damn right.

Oh, and ageing but handsome ex-beancounter.

01-03-2025, 01:22 PM
Wonder how Zelensky is feeling today after that car crash? It’s not about sitting and being dictated to, it’s about prioritising the safety and recovery of his country. Instead he chose to argue with that pair. Still can’t believe it, on live television too. Putin will be lapping it up and rubbing his hands after no doubt being concerned initially at the pressure Trump would put on him.

01-03-2025, 01:23 PM

100%.

01-03-2025, 01:35 PM
Wonder how Zelensky is feeling today after that car crash? It’s not about sitting and being dictated to, it’s about prioritising the safety and recovery of his country. Instead he chose to argue with that pair. Still can’t believe it, on live television too. Putin will be lapping it up and rubbing his hands after no doubt being concerned initially at the pressure Trump would put on him.
When you say he should prioritise the safety and recovery of his country, what do you think Zelensky should have done there?

01-03-2025, 01:40 PM
The most ironic quote from yesterday's clown show in the Oval circus office was when Trump spitting and shouting at Zelensky told him..

"He (Trump) had enabled him (Zelensky) to be a tough guy"

This coming from a multiple draft dodger who claimed bone spurs had stopped him from serving his country ! Even though his medical records have no evidence he ever had so much as a varuka let alone a little bone spur !

Let's be clear here! When America offered to fly Zelensky to safety shortly after the Russian invasion began telling him that Russia would kill him and his family within hours ! He replied that "He needed military equipment not a free plane ride"

If that had been Trump staring down the barrel of a much bigger and much more powerful adversary, who's whole objective from now on and 24/7 would be to kill him !

Trump would have taken those plane tickets and been on board with a big suitcase of money before the first Russian tank crossed the border.

Trump truly is one of the great cowards of history !

Spot on, they thought they could humiliate Z in front of Trumps selected press groupies, and it has backfired, as for Vance, Z must have been biting his tongue to not just smash him in the face and walk out.

01-03-2025, 01:42 PM
When you say he should prioritise the safety and recovery of his country, what do you think Zelensky should have done there?

Not spoke over and argued with the President of US in his office on live television. What did he think that would achieve? He’s alienated himself with him/them even more now. Sometimes you need to recognise and respect your place, especially against your biggest financial and military supporter. Trump is an idiotic, chaotic and dangerous man. But yipee because he stood up to him, whilst ruining any chance of his country getting a balanced deal and end to the conflict.

01-03-2025, 01:47 PM
Not spoke over and argued with the President of US in his office on live television. What did he think that would achieve? He’s alienated himself with him/them even more now. Sometimes you need to recognise and respect your place, especially against your biggest financial and military supporter. Trump is an idiotic, chaotic and dangerous man. But yipee because he stood up to him, whilst ruining any chance of his country getting a balanced deal and end to the conflict.

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2025, 01:49 PM
Your the only non reform voter or staunch republican nutter I've seen that doesn't see it as a clear hijack by Vance in particular to belittle a sovereign leader fighting a war. He wouldn't have been able to return to Ukraine if he sat there and let them spout Putin's lines. They have made him a hero in Europe it seems and European unity has just been given a huge shove

01-03-2025, 01:52 PM
Your the only non reform voter or staunch republican nutter I've seen that doesn't see it as a clear hijack by Vance in particular to belittle a sovereign leader fighting a war. He wouldn't have been able to return to Ukraine if he sat there and let them spout Putin's lines. They have made him a hero in Europe it seems and European unity has just been given a huge shove

Take the tinted glasses off and you’ll see the same. You think that was a good result for Ukraine, UK and Europe yesterday? It’s pretty devastating, I thought yesterday would be the beginning of the end of it all.

01-03-2025, 01:55 PM
Take the tinted glasses off and you’ll see the same. You think that was a good result for Ukraine, UK and Europe yesterday? It’s pretty devastating, I thought yesterday would be the beginning of the end of it all.
What on Earth made you think that? With Trump in the WH and his longstanding hatred of Z, there's no way that the US were ever going to faciltate the end of this war.

01-03-2025, 01:57 PM
What on Earth made you think that? With Trump in the WH and his longstanding hatred of Z, there's no way that the US were ever going to faciltate the end of this war.

01-03-2025, 01:58 PM

Righto.

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2025, 02:00 PM

Well if you did you haven't been following things very clearly. It was an ambush to parrot Russian talking points. The point of the meeting wasn't a ceasefire it was a minerals deal with no security guarantees. I think yesterday will cement Europe's position. All leaders bar ours have came out in support. It feels liberating to be separated from the Russian bought bigots in the white house. I genuinely can't remember a more unified Europe

01-03-2025, 02:01 PM
Spot on, they thought they could humiliate Z in front of Trumps selected press groupies, and it has backfired, as for Vance, Z must have been biting his tongue to not just smash him in the face and walk out.In the case of the multi faced Vance, just one blow would do it....

01-03-2025, 02:03 PM
Well if you did you haven't been following things very clearly. It was an ambush to parrot Russian talking points. The point of the meeting wasn't a ceasefire it was a minerals deal with no security guarantees. I think yesterday will cement Europe's position. All leaders bar ours have came out in support. It feels liberating to be separated from the Russian bought bigots in the white house. I genuinely can't remember a more unified Europe

And a unified Europe puts an end to the slaughter? Sounds like you don’t want things to end.

01-03-2025, 02:03 PM
I was being serious.

01-03-2025, 02:06 PM
And a unified Europe puts an end to the slaughter? Sounds like you don’t want things to end.
How do you suggest this ends? Do you want Putin to keep the territory he has invaded? Make no reparations for the damage and lives lost? Because thats what Trump was offering. Or maybe you have a better idea?

01-03-2025, 02:09 PM

They wanted him to sign away the minerals before they talked about security guarantees. From what they've said so far, they might not be offering anything in return, and whatever that was or wasn't was for a future discussion. If there was a serious, possible balanced deal available, I might have agreed with you. For all our sakes, i genuinely think that it's probably more useful that Trump and his cabinet meet some resistance, and the rest of the world confronts the new reality sooner rather than later.

Ultimately, whatever Trump and Vance planned - whether it was an ambush, or a postcard to Putin, or an attempt to turn the tide against Zelensky's leadership - they weren't dealing in good faith.

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2025, 02:12 PM

It ends when Russia stops fighting and they don't want to. It's a genocide like in Palestine or Vietnam. I defend the right for all people being conquered to defend themselves. Russia won't stop without force, they have already disregarded 22 ceasefire deals. Saying people who back Ukraine defending themselves is insulting stupid and out of vlads playbook

01-03-2025, 02:14 PM
How do you suggest this ends? Do you want Putin to keep the territory he has invaded? Make no reparations for the damage and lives lost? Because thats what Trump was offering. Or maybe you have a better idea?

I’d love nothing more than a bullet in Putin’s head and Russia to pay the cost, however I’m realistic. Do you seriously think there’s a scenario where Ukraine wins without support from US? The % of Americans wanting US to continue to support Ukraine keeps falling. Yesterday done that no favours and goes towards giving Trump even more of a mandate to do what the hell he wants. I get it’s unpopular to go against the mainstream media and party line, but you are seriously deluded if you think yesterday was anything else but a catastrophe for us all. But it’s ok, a few European leaders have tweeted on X to say they support Ukraine so it’ll all be fine.

01-03-2025, 02:16 PM

I don't necessary disagree with you here.

The point that he got into a slanging match under great provocation and that it may not have ended up serving his best interests is a fair one.

When it started to head South though - the point he made about the value of making multiple "deals" with Putin, all of which he went on to renege on was a fair one worth making - and that was what seemed to properly rile Vance.

It WAS an ambush and the behaviour of the Americans was deplorable on so many levels.

Zelensky isn't always the most deft diplomat and he wasn't here - with good reason, it would be fair to say.

To think that isn't unreasonable and it doesn't let the Americans off the hook for what was a despicable stunt.

Time will tell whether or not being honest and bravely fronting up or soaking up another 10 minutes or so of nonsense was in his, Ukraine's and our best interests.

01-03-2025, 02:16 PM
It ends when Russia stops fighting and they don't want to. It's a genocide like in Palestine or Vietnam. I defend the right for all people being conquered to defend themselves. Russia won't stop without force, they have already disregarded 22 ceasefire deals. Saying people who back Ukraine defending themselves is insulting stupid and out of vlads playbook

You didn’t answer my question because you know, like I do, that Ukraine doesn’t win this or get a fair deal without the support of US.

01-03-2025, 02:17 PM

Trump hasn’t sent a penny and was never going to. Yesterday changed nothing in that respect. Yesterday was stage managed by Trump and Vance. There was no response from Zelensky that could have got more money from the US. They are now out of the coalition. Time to move on without them.

ddoc
01-03-2025, 02:21 PM
I am amazed at how much chaos he has generated in such a short time frame.
What is our world going to look like in 4 years time with this meglomaniac at the helm.

01-03-2025, 02:21 PM
You didn’t answer my question because you know, like I do, that Ukraine doesn’t win this or get a fair deal without the support of US.

I think Ukraine can and will win this if Europe supports them. Europe can’t afford for Ukraine to lose. And Europe can easily fund Ukraine to do so.
How does Russia win from here?

01-03-2025, 02:22 PM
I’d love nothing more than a bullet in Putin’s head and Russia to pay the cost, however I’m realistic. Do you seriously think there’s a scenario where Ukraine wins without support from US? The % of Americans wanting US to continue to support Ukraine keeps falling. Yesterday done that no favours and goes towards giving Trump even more of a mandate to do what the hell he wants. I get it’s unpopular to go against the mainstream media and party line, but you are seriously deluded if you think yesterday was anything else but a catastrophe for us all. But it’s ok, a few European leaders have tweeted on X to say they support Ukraine so it’ll all be fine.

He needs the Europeans on his side more than anyone, they're the ones who have been stepping up to the plate most, most recently.

Obviously it would help greatly if the Americans were on board but they lose credibility as a genuine ally every day. They use alternative facts, have different agendas, plainly act in bad faith against the values held in the main by Europe. They tried extortion tactics on one of our allies.

Unless they change their ways they can gtf.

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2025, 02:22 PM

US never sent anything for almost 5 months a year ago and Ukraine fought off the invasion. Trump won't send anything regardless if Zelensky sits and agrees when they shout at him that he is rude to Putin. Europe dwarfs the Russian economy and they can step up if needed. Ukraine has been fighting on their own for over a decade. They will fight on with a lot more help than they did previously

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2025, 02:26 PM
German Foreign Minister Annalena Baerbock says Europe should send the most comprehensive package when they meet next week.

Surprised the tories are on the right side of history. Sunak says we should send the frozen £300 billion to Ukraine
https://archive.ph/exBF7

H18S NX
01-03-2025, 02:27 PM
I would like to know why TASS the russan state media outfit were allowed into the oval office while the AP and Reuters were not.

01-03-2025, 02:29 PM

Wouldn't even need to risk a five-year prison sentence by using sweary words on a placard. Probably 'We are all Janey Godley' would do.

01-03-2025, 02:35 PM
US never sent anything for almost 5 months a year ago and Ukraine fought off the invasion. Trump won't send anything regardless if Zelensky sits and agrees when they shout at him that he is rude to Putin. Europe dwarfs the Russian economy and they can step up if needed. Ukraine has been fighting on their own for over a decade. They will fight on with a lot more help than they did previously

Ah yes, those thriving UK and EU economies that are doing us all well!

01-03-2025, 02:37 PM

Are you saying Russia has a stronger economy?

01-03-2025, 02:39 PM
Are you saying Russia has a stronger economy?

I’m saying our economy would be better served with the war ending.

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2025, 02:44 PM

Of course it would so would Ukraines unfortunately there is absolutely no way Putin will stop before his economy collapses. Ukraine is holding off Russia with an economy hundreds of times smaller than Europe's and using 1970s surplus equipment mostly. Europe could end it tomorrow with its 300 f35s and 500 Eurofighters. It's political will, hopefully Trump showing Europe that they have to wake up will make them wake up

01-03-2025, 03:01 PM
German Foreign Minister Annalena Baerbock says Europe should send the most comprehensive package when they meet next week.

Surprised the tories are on the right side of history. Sunak says we should send the frozen £300 billion to Ukraine
https://archive.ph/exBF7

Agree with this. Amazed it hasn’t been done sooner. So Russian investors and Oligarchs lose their investments. Sue us! You get it back when Putin is deposited in The Hague. Should have thought of that.

Time for Europe to step up. Arm and fund Ukraine. Tighten the noose on their economy, make ordinary metropolitan Russians feel the pain and rise up.

01-03-2025, 03:02 PM

We are doing well. Compared to Russia with its 21% inflation.

Berwickhibby
01-03-2025, 03:03 PM
Agree with this. Amazed it hasn’t been done sooner. So Russian investors and Oligarchs lose their investments. Sue us! You get it back when Putin is deposited in The Hague. Should have thought of that.

Time for Europe to step up. Arm and fund Russia. Tighten the noose on their economy, make ordinary metropolitan Russians feel the pain and rise up.

Arm and fund Russia ?

01-03-2025, 03:12 PM
Wouldn't even need to risk a five-year prison sentence by using sweary words on a placard. Probably 'We are all Janey Godley' would do.

Is it an offence to have a placard with “Trump is c***” on it, is that not free speech.

01-03-2025, 03:17 PM
Arm and fund Russia ?

Woah! Massive error there. I’ll change it.

Hibs4185
01-03-2025, 03:23 PM
You probably have a point.

That said, I'd hope that people are allowed to show their feelings on the man in a public manner (for and against, of course). Somehow, though, I think things will be sanitised and controlled to the point where there is no obvious newsworthy dissent.

It would be a wonderful legacy for Janey Godley if thousands of people were allowed to show "her" sign.

Think you are right, helicopter into Balmoral and back out again.

They’ll be hoping when the state visit takes place a year or so later that things have died down

01-03-2025, 03:26 PM

Are you suggesting surrender?

01-03-2025, 03:27 PM
Think you are right, helicopter into Balmoral and back out again.

They’ll be hoping when the state visit takes place a year or so later that things have died down

Get the drones out to prevent it landing :thumbsup:

01-03-2025, 03:40 PM
I'm now more convinced than ever that Trump and his cronies never had any intention of creating a genuine peace deal. The only thing they are interested in is getting a deal for the Ukrainian minerals, and whoever is actually ruling Ukraine is fine by them.

Russia will continue it's war until it runs out of money and manpower. In the minds of Putin and Trump, a 'peace deal' is Ukraine's surrender.

If that happens, the Russians will take over and democracy, freedom of the press, freedom of speech... freedom to think differently... will all end. Basically the same that has been happening in Russia for the last 20+ years.

Why didn't the UK just surrender in WWII? I'm sure it would have been much better for our economy

Hibs4185
01-03-2025, 03:49 PM
I'm now more convinced than ever that Trump and his cronies never had any intention of creating a genuine peace deal. The only thing they are interested in is getting a deal for the Ukrainian minerals, and whoever is actually ruling Ukraine is fine by them.

Russia will continue it's war until it runs out of money and manpower. In the minds of Putin and Trump, a 'peace deal' is Ukraine's surrender.

If that happens, the Russians will take over and democracy, freedom of the press, freedom of speech... freedom to think differently... will all end. Basically the same that has been happening in Russia for the last 20+ years.

Why didn't the UK just surrender in WWII? I'm sure it would have been much better for our economy

You are right. The deal was never a serious deal. Ukraine were signing a deal in hope rather than certainty. Sign it first and then we will see.. Trump keeps using this )350 billion figure and it’s been widely acknowledged it’s a fraction of that, with most of it spent replacing ageing American stocks with newer weapons.

01-03-2025, 03:57 PM

01-03-2025, 04:02 PM

You're spot on.

This isn't about peace from Trump, they want resources and they want to sell Ukraine out to get it.

A deal that sees Ukraine give up land that Russia invaded is no deal at all.

01-03-2025, 04:28 PM
Some intelligent input. IMO

https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_thumbnail/plain/did:plc:agxhun7wf2fm3fdfj6zrm33y/bafkreibv3kngh3wjk6bhs7qz5lfcczv4nnggef7iq654eupvh 5pq43xpd4@jpeg

01-03-2025, 04:31 PM

I think you're right. Though I think he would actually like the kudos of a peace deal (+Nobel), but on his terms. Which seem to be: "So, we get half of your valuable mineral resources for ever, and you surrender to Russia the parts that their brave brave men fought and died for. And they'll leave you alone after that because they totally respect me. See - was that difficult,Volodymyr? "

And I think he does care who's in charge of Ukraine. They need to
have Russia's interests in mind.

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2025, 04:39 PM

Good post mate 👌

01-03-2025, 04:51 PM
Not being funny, but we’d fight tooth and nail for Scotland. Hell we’d even fight for the rest of the UK if our Island was attacked, like it was in WW2.

Why do the Ukrainians have to give up their land.

There was even plans in place for a guerrilla war and a resistance network to fight the Nazis.

01-03-2025, 04:59 PM
Not being funny, but we’d fight tooth and nail for Scotland. Hell we’d even fight for the rest of the UK if our Island was attacked, like it was in WW2.

There was even plans in place for a guerrilla war and a resistance network to fight the Nazis.

100%

01-03-2025, 05:38 PM

Wow she is horrific

01-03-2025, 05:54 PM

J[emoji106]

01-03-2025, 06:01 PM
Short term you are correct but if the rest of Europe and uk don’t step up to defeat the Russian aggressors without the USA then the economy is even more screwed over the long run. We all need to be as one and defeat the aggressor or it will never end with constant appeasement.

The Tubs
01-03-2025, 06:08 PM
Short term you are correct but if the rest of Europe and uk don’t step up to defeat the Russian aggressors without the USA then the economy is even more screwed over the long run. We all need to be as one and defeat the aggressor or it will never end with constant appeasement.

Exactly. Imagine if someone had had the foresight to nip it in the bud back in 2008, a month before the great recession.

01-03-2025, 06:24 PM
**** you Agent Krasnov :agree:

- Polish Prime Minister Donald Tusk: “Dear Zelensky, dear Ukrainian friends, you are not alone.”

- President of Lithuania Gitanas Nausea: “Ukraine, you’ll never walk alone.”

- Denmark Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen: “Dear Zelensky, Denmark proudly stands with Ukraine and the Ukrainian people.”

- French President Emmanual Macron: “There is an aggressor: Russia. There is a people being aggressed: Ukraine. We were all right to help Ukraine and sanction Russia three years ago and to continue doing so. We, that’s the Americans, the Europeans, Canadians, Japanese, and many others... Because they are fighting for their dignity, their independence, for their children, and for the security of Europe.”

- President of Moldova Maia Sandu: “The truth is simple. Russia invaded Ukraine. Russia is the aggressor. Ukraine defends its freedom—and ours. We stand with Ukraine.”

- Swedish Prime Minister Ulf Kristersson: “Sweden stands with Ukraine. You are not only fighting for your freedom but also for all of Europe’s. Slava Ukraini! ”
- Incoming German Chancellor Friedrich Mer: “Dear Zelenskyy, we stand with Ukraine in good and in testing times. We must never confuse aggressor and victim in this terrible war.
- Crotia’s Prime Minister Andrej Plenković: “Croatia knows from its own experience that only a just peace can last. The Croatian Government stands firm in its belief that Ukraine needs such a peace - a peace that means sovereignty, territorial integrity, and a secure Europe.”

- Finland’s Prime Minister Petteri Orpo: “Finland and the Finnish people stand firmly with Ukraine. We will continue our unwavering support and work towards a just and lasting peace.”

- Estonian Prime Minister Kristen Michal: “We stand united with
Zelenskyy and Ukraine in our fight for freedom. Always. Because it is right, not easy.”

- Ireland’s Deputy Prime Minister Simon Harris: “Ukraine is not to blame for this war brought about by Russia’s illegal invasion. We stand with Ukraine.“

- Latvia’s President Edgars Rinkevics: “Ukraine is a victim of the Russian aggression. It fights the war with the help from many friends and partners. We need to spare no effort for just and lasting peace. Latvia stands with Ukraine”
- Prime Minister of the Netherlands Dick Schoof: ”The Netherlands supports Ukraine as firmly as ever. Now more than ever. We want a lasting peace and an end to the war of aggression started by Russia. For Ukraine and its people, and for Europe.”
- Prime Minister of Luxembourg Luc Friedsen: “Luxembourg stands with Ukraine. You are fighting for your freedom and a rules based international order. ”

The West stands with the heroic Zelensky. Trump sides with the evil Putin. What has America become?

01-03-2025, 07:17 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Gk-N7TJXoAAO59o?format=jpg&name=small

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/481248561_9375015885888492_3347139918551663250_n.j pg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=aa7b47&_nc_ohc=AEdaamPJ_-kQ7kNvgGR64g6&_nc_oc=AdizUj5HVl4zu7PNWJiyb6LaStr2DefvkeJz_uGA3Uw Fq8nefuiyR1IdYIQj461B5HY&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&_nc_gid=AKP8pPrM1FY12xXQC_sVEHE&oh=00_AYAX7OoQuVpLibljyzy3ayZLlZ76JeG8nr46UlhsBVpT hg&oe=67C93D3D

01-03-2025, 08:16 PM

100% disagree. Short of Trump sending US troops to fight for Russia Europe perfectly capable of stepping up and filling the gap left by American support.

01-03-2025, 08:21 PM
Took the day off from all this **** but there’s no question this was a deliberate ploy by the Americans.

Be if for minerals or whatever else, this was choreographed and is tantamount to treasonous to the rest of the western world.

It’s also - in my opinion - no coincidence that within a couple of hours both Trump and Medvedev were talking about WW3.

01-03-2025, 08:50 PM
Having swerved military service the orange guy and his pals might not get the symbolism https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250301/f3078c7f880e3562b2730d783d26b664.jpg

01-03-2025, 09:24 PM
Having swerved military service the orange guy and his pals might not get the symbolism https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250301/f3078c7f880e3562b2730d783d26b664.jpg

Being a bit hard on Trump there. It was the smart thing to do, lie about bone spurs. Otherwise he might have ended up a loser, like McCain, or a sucker, like all those dead servicemen.

01-03-2025, 09:28 PM
Being a bit hard on Trump there. It was the smart thing to do, lie about bone spurs. Otherwise he might have ended up a loser, like McCain, or a sucker, like all those dead servicemen.Surely he could have just done a deal to stay out? People tell him he does a good deal.

01-03-2025, 09:54 PM
Mail on Sunday headline tomorrow - Now Stop State Visit for "Bully" Trump. And praises Starmer.

Meanwhile Sarah Smith, Kuenssberg and Mason keep the pile on going.

Strange things going on in media land.

01-03-2025, 10:05 PM
Mail on Sunday headline tomorrow - Now Stop State Visit for "Bully" Trump. And praises Starmer.

Meanwhile Sarah Smith, Kuenssberg and Mason keep the pile on going.

Strange things going on in media land.

Chris Mason? How so?

01-03-2025, 10:36 PM
Chris Mason? How so?

Well not in regards to Trump but his constant anti-Starmer pro-Reform agenda is just pathetic and I'm no Starmer fan.

02-03-2025, 06:54 AM
wee shame for Elon Mexican Billionaire Carlos Slim Cuts Ties with Elon Musk’s Starlink, Costing Musk $7 Billion After Controversial Tweet (https://www.msn.com/en-us/technology/tech-companies/mexican-billionaire-carlos-slim-cuts-ties-with-elon-musk-s-starlink-costing-musk-7-billion-after-controversial-tweet/ar-AA1zWshm?fbclid=IwY2xjawIw7PxleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHWVu jVouBToWPdcF7lMyC13HYVLAZTKiYVkiBRnNxeG9KRf28bSO_A s9aA_aem_1jbZxtz94SXSoDXcWwwVVQ) hopefully more do the same

02-03-2025, 08:05 AM
Something for any American Jews that support the Republicans to reflect on? Or indeed just decent human beings to think about.

In June of 1941, Hitler's Army began a rampage through Ukraine, razing towns, unleashing death squads, and massacring Jews by the hundreds of thousands. In one village, four Jewish brothers enlisted in the military, said goodbye to their parents, and walked off to fight the Nazis.

By the war's end in 1945, only one of the brothers, named Semyon, was still alive. He returned to find that the Nazis had torched his entire village, burning his parents to death. Semyon's family was dead, and his beloved Ukraine was in ruins. The Nazis had murdered between 1.2 and 1.6 million Ukrainian Jews.

Semyon married a fellow Ukrainian Jew who had survived the war by fleeing her city, in which the Nazis had killed 5,000 Jews. Two years later, in that same city, they had a son, Oleksandr, keeping alive the family line that the Nazis had brought a razor's width from extinction. Thirty-one years after that, Oleksandr had his own little boy.

That boy was Volodymyr Zelensky, who grew up to become the President of independent, democratic Ukraine. Today, he leads his outmanned, outgunned, ferociously defiant nation against the onslaught of Russia. As Russia dashes itself against the will of his people, Zelensky, the survivor of survivors, summons the resilience of his ancestors. He does not bend.

Copied from Laura Hillenbrand

02-03-2025, 03:10 PM
Saturday Night Live Saturday Night Live - SNL on X: "Zelenskyy’s White House meeting with Trump and Vance https://t.co/l7T2GCvVJW" / X (https://x.com/nbcsnl/status/1896062193524703261) :greengrin

02-03-2025, 08:26 PM
Trump 2016 advisor, she really didn't like being questioned, the next one is just as dippit
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSsV7xyDyfY

02-03-2025, 09:42 PM
Trump 2016 advisor, she really didn't like being questioned, the next one is just as dippit
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSsV7xyDyfY

That was a diabolical performance.

The arguments of these people don’t stand up to scrutiny. They’re Russian shills and I wonder when they’re going to be able to stop denying it.

02-03-2025, 10:55 PM
London Underground

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/481236675_9380150985374982_1465172382760407880_n.j pg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=aa7b47&_nc_ohc=QskieDBf_d0Q7kNvgFeqpYX&_nc_oc=AdiJ6Oh2M28Yi6g8SAJRsknBwaopk3mlAzJiSHJKalj 2nsnlG2A4nQhi9f6yQMhZXf0&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&_nc_gid=AN87onjOpgjauDSoOh1UQHx&oh=00_AYAOpMEMEGU06ATZxLonGv4iNDXbPfWMrALo0klo5gWQ qw&oe=67CACFCF

02-03-2025, 10:56 PM
That was a diabolical performance.

The arguments of these people don’t stand up to scrutiny. They’re Russian shills and I wonder when they’re going to be able to stop denying it.

she was very professional at the end of her call :greengrin

03-03-2025, 01:07 PM
Trump administration retreats in fight against Russian cyber threats | US national security | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2025/feb/28/trump-russia-hacking-cyber-security)

(1) No Lie with Brian Tyler Cohen (@NoLieWithBTC) / X (https://x.com/NoLieWithBTC)

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/481279097_629843253312435_8670211383530371520_n.jp g?stp=cp6_dst-jpg_tt6&_nc_cat=101&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=127cfc&_nc_ohc=WWcj1NrKzW4Q7kNvgG-1SOW&_nc_oc=AdgLBBc9z7Ogo2UDfqlRb13EJR-7Br4Xlor8pT8MA0yxvaxj7KMi1QzqE-rHQouxecM&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&_nc_gid=AxnXXFqq_7-tu1A3-EnjzRq&oh=00_AYDEbd9tQ391doDhLfSoBK-8KyG5_Ab7TsNJTS_rUSBBqQ&oe=67CB94D2

03-03-2025, 02:57 PM
Trump administration retreats in fight against Russian cyber threats | US national security | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2025/feb/28/trump-russia-hacking-cyber-security)

(1) No Lie with Brian Tyler Cohen (@NoLieWithBTC) / X (https://x.com/NoLieWithBTC)

"Come awa' ben the hoose, Vlad! Hae a wee gless wi me."

I don't think it's conspiratorial to suggest that they seem to be deliberately weakening themselves. Could be any or all of a number of reasons, but it's very alarming.

03-03-2025, 03:50 PM

I don't think it's conspiratorial to suggest that they seem to be deliberately weakening themselves. Could be any or all of a number of reasons, but it's very alarming.

Vlad: "Hey Donny, remember that wee party we had in Moscow back in 2013"?

Donny: "Aye, that was some night ya bam lolz".

Vlad: "Ah've got some photies, think ah might dig them oot".

Donny: "Awe ffs naw, just naw, yeh dinnae want tae dae that".

Vlad: "What's it worth tae yeh"?

Hibs4185
03-03-2025, 04:10 PM
Rumours he’s pulling out of NATO tomorrow. Seen a few things from Trump today which looks like it could be laying the groundwork to do it.

Scary times ahead.

03-03-2025, 04:16 PM
Rumours he’s pulling out of NATO tomorrow. Seen a few things from Trump today which looks like it could be laying the groundwork to do it.

Scary times ahead.

One view:-

In 2023, Sens. Tim Kaine (D-Va.) and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) authored legislation requiring that any presidential decision to exit NATO must have either two-thirds Senate approval or be authorized through an act of Congress. Lawmakers passed the measure as part of the fiscal 2024 National Defense Authorization Act, which President Joe Biden signed into law.

But

Legal experts warn that Trump could try to sidestep Congress’s NATO guardrail, citing presidential authority over foreign policy — an approach he used before to bypass congressional restrictions on treaty withdrawal.

03-03-2025, 04:48 PM

Surely he won't do that, though, in case it upsets King Charles before the state visit? :dunno:

03-03-2025, 04:51 PM

Vlad: "What's it worth tae yeh"?Answer to the last question might be a refund of a similar sized cash dump from Deutschebank as the last time?

03-03-2025, 08:06 PM
https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_thumbnail/plain/did:plc:4llrhdclvdlmmynkwsmg5tdc/bafkreiggj75xnvleluxpdvru5x7s5jrdmyawhgc4iffz5sok7 4em227zrq@jpeg

03-03-2025, 08:07 PM
https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_thumbnail/plain/did:plc:4llrhdclvdlmmynkwsmg5tdc/bafkreiggj75xnvleluxpdvru5x7s5jrdmyawhgc4iffz5sok7 4em227zrq@jpeg

Markets are already responding. (Mexico, Canada and China start tomorrow.)

03-03-2025, 09:08 PM

it will be Vlad organising the drinks when Trump visits Moscow in the near future

03-03-2025, 09:35 PM
wow

Tariffs from midnight

Canada - 25%
Mexico - 25%
China - 20%

i just wish he would get the price of those damn Eggs down

03-03-2025, 09:58 PM
those talented dudes at Led By Donkeys :agree: Led By Donkeys: "If Trump was President in 1940" — Bluesky (https://bsky.app/profile/ledbydonkeys.org/post/3ljhy65zjik2x)

03-03-2025, 10:09 PM
it will be Vlad organising the drinks when Trump visits Moscow in the near future

I think I'd be insisting on taking my own. And meeting in the basement.:greengrin

04-03-2025, 06:54 AM
wow

Tariffs from midnight

Canada - 25%
Mexico - 25%
China - 20%

i just wish he would get the price of those damn Eggs down

This trade war will push up prices in USA badly affecting the poorest. Nobody really wins from such a war

04-03-2025, 07:11 AM
Hopefully Starmer will return to reality now and stop trying to convince us the US will provide any kind of back stop to his fantasy peacekeeping force plans and start getting serious about funding Ukraine in the here and now.[emoji35]

Hibs4185
04-03-2025, 07:54 AM
Hopefully Starmer will return to reality now and stop trying to convince us the US will provide any kind of back stop to his fantasy peacekeeping force plans and start getting serious about funding Ukraine in the here and now.[emoji35]

I genuinely despair about the current situation. I fully support Ukraine 100% but unfortunately the lunatics have taken over the asylum.

They seemed convinced Zelensky is a dictator and the Ukrainians get the stick whilst Putin gets the carrots.

We are where we are and unfortunately we need the US to engage for Ukraine to prosper.

I had an idea and whilst controversial, in this situation you need solutions.

Could Zelensky agree to elections but in order to do so it requires a 3 month ceasefire from Putin (gives Trump and Putin what they want), it will require European boots on the ground to monitor the elections along with the relevant western election monitoring bodies (try to stop Russian interfering), annexed areas can’t vote (why would they, they are part of ‘Russia’).

Everyone wins. Putin and Trump get their election, there is a ceasefire with European boots on the ground (UK & France proposal) and in the event of a fair and free election, Zelensky wins according to the all the polls.

I know the election is just prophinada from Putin and Trump so likely they wouldn’t agree but it would put them in a very difficult position

jamie_1875
04-03-2025, 08:14 AM

Nice sentiment but next time people moan about cutting spending on X and Y etc then we will quickly have people rightly or wrongly say we are giving billions to Ukraine while our own people can't heat their houses. It's going to get messy. Are the people of the UK happy to pay more taxes or see spending cuts here in order to fund Ukraine? I don't know the answer, some will and some won't?

04-03-2025, 08:17 AM
Nice sentiment but next time people moan about cutting spending on X and Y etc then we will quickly have people rightly or wrongly say we are giving billions to Ukraine while our own people can't heat their houses. It's going to get messy. Are the people of the UK happy to pay more taxes or see spending cuts here in order to fund Ukraine? I don't know the answer, some will and some won't?

They will be even more pissed if we have to send our kids to war.

04-03-2025, 08:17 AM
I genuinely despair about the current situation. I fully support Ukraine 100% but unfortunately the lunatics have taken over the asylum.

They seemed convinced Zelensky is a dictator and the Ukrainians get the stick whilst Putin gets the carrots.

We are where we are and unfortunately we need the US to engage for Ukraine to prosper.

Could Zelensky agree to elections but in order to do so it requires a 3 month ceasefire from Putin (gives Trump and Putin what they want), it will require European boots on the ground to monitor the elections along with the relevant western election monitoring bodies (try to stop Russian interfering), annexed areas can’t vote (why would they, they are part of ‘Russia’).

Everyone wins. Putin and Trump get their election, there is a ceasefire with European boots on the ground (UK & France proposal) and in the event of a fair and free election, Zelensky wins according to the all the polls.

I know the election is just prophinada from Putin and Trump so likely they wouldn’t agree but it would put them in a very difficult position

Putin never agrees to that. And Zelensky wins anyway.

jamie_1875
04-03-2025, 08:24 AM
They will be even more pissed if we have to send our kids to war.

You don't need to send anyone when you have nuclear weapons.

04-03-2025, 08:26 AM

Zelensky could march up and down Red Square in his underpants singing the Russian national anthem and it wouldn't make an ounce of difference. Putin's desires are imperialist and nothing short of Ukrainian surrender will satisfy him. He also has Trump so deep in his pocket that Trump will fulfil any demands he makes.

The only hope for Ukraine is on the battlefield, they have to hold the line long enough until Putin's regime is toppled from within, even then there's no guarantees that the next Kremlin incumbent won't be just as bad or even worse.

04-03-2025, 08:30 AM

So we let them take the whole of Europe and then think they won’t take us as we have nuclear weapons? And you don’t think that will have negative effects on us? Or that funding Ukraine to prevent that is good value for money?

04-03-2025, 08:32 AM

The relatives of those killed during the Falklands War would disagree.

04-03-2025, 08:33 AM
Zelensky could march up and down Red Square in his underpants singing the Russian national anthem and it wouldn't make an ounce of difference. Putin's desires are imperialist and nothing short of Ukrainian surrender will satisfy him. He also has Trump so deep in his pocket that Trump will fulfil any demands he makes.

The only hope for Ukraine is on the battlefield, they have to hold the line long enough until Putin's regime is toppled from within, even then there's no guarantees that the next Kremlin incumbent won't be just as bad or even worse.

100%. The only way to stop them is on the battlefield in Ukraine. Talk of peace talks is fantasy land stuff. Putin can’t afford peace as it would collapse Russia just as quickly as defeat. Starmer is gas lighting everyone with his chat about peace keepers. He knows it’s never going to happen. He needs to start talking seriously about how we make Ukraine win.

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2025, 09:01 AM

We are giving them a £3 billion loan and the money will be paid back from frozen Russian assets. So £3 billion of Russian money will be spent on British industry in the form of US making and sending 5000 air defense missles, jobs and tax paid to the UK exchequer.

The other aid we sent isn't actual cash it's mostly old equipment we need to pay to be stored. The freezing grannies line is written in Moscow, unless your granny is going to heat her house with a 30 year old anti tank missle

04-03-2025, 09:04 AM
Tory MPs now openly asking if Trump is a Russian asset. I know there’s been rumours but nonetheless. Have to wonder if any UK intelligence is finding its way to Russia via the US. Strange times

04-03-2025, 09:05 AM
https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_fullsize/plain/did:plc:le3snqzui22uenjjk7v4btfb/bafkreigw5dg5ogb3usvqqht6gbzlfdfu7serjxlent2y4pfcp nddikvprm@jpeg

Berwickhibby
04-03-2025, 09:08 AM
https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_fullsize/plain/did:plc:le3snqzui22uenjjk7v4btfb/bafkreigw5dg5ogb3usvqqht6gbzlfdfu7serjxlent2y4pfcp nddikvprm@jpeg

This sums up Bozo 🤡 to a T

04-03-2025, 09:09 AM
https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_fullsize/plain/did:plc:le3snqzui22uenjjk7v4btfb/bafkreigw5dg5ogb3usvqqht6gbzlfdfu7serjxlent2y4pfcp nddikvprm@jpegBozo's Russian connections are pretty well established, from knighting relatives of ex KGB officers, attending private parties on their property after dispensing with his security staff, playing tennis with their families in return for donations......

jamie_1875
04-03-2025, 09:09 AM
We are giving them a £3 billion loan and the money will be paid back from frozen Russian assets. So £3 billion of Russian money will be spent on British industry in the form of US making and sending 5000 air defense missles, jobs and tax paid to the UK exchequer.

The other aid we sent isn't actual cash it's mostly old equipment we need to pay to be stored. The freezing grannies line is written in Moscow, unless your granny is going to heat her house with a 30 year old anti tank missle

Fair point, I never understood it was using the frozen russian assets.

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2025, 09:17 AM
Jd Vance should visit the families of the over 600 British troops killed in Iraq and Afghanistan or the 10,000 injured. Afghanistan was the only time article 5 has been triggered, meaning UK, French, Polish, German troops fought shoulder to shoulder at the aid of the US.

@antoguerrera
Bad news for Starmer and Macron. Vance confirms the only US security guarantee in Ukraine will be the mineral deal. He also plays down British & French peacekeeping troops as “20k troops from some random country that hasn’t fought a war in 30 or 40 years"

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2025, 09:18 AM
Tory MPs now openly asking if Trump is a Russian asset. I know there’s been rumours but nonetheless. Have to wonder if any UK intelligence is finding its way to Russia via the US. Strange times

Pretty extraordinary

Graham Stuart MP
@grahamstuart
We have to consider the possibility that President Trump is a Russian asset.

If so, Trump's acquisition is the crowning achievement of Putin's FSB career - and Europe is on its own

04-03-2025, 10:09 AM
Putin has congratulated Trump and welcomed his actions to create peace. So half of America and probably most of Russia are now singing from the same hymn sheet. The United States of Tyranny.

Sergio sledge
04-03-2025, 10:15 AM

I don't see how any election can be deemed to be free and fair in the conditions a lot of Ukraine is living under.

I don't see how any result of elections could be legitimate when approximately 10% of the population are living under Russian control and can't vote.

The only way they get a legitimate election is if Russia pulls out. The grandstanding from Trump / Vance / Gubbard etc. is just noise, they know elections can't and won't happen, but their followers seem to be lapping it all up.

04-03-2025, 10:18 AM
https://youtu.be/EC8KRd0sDGs?si=9dCoTibalM8Drt7b

A short animation made during the first trump administration.

There's a few of them.

04-03-2025, 10:48 AM
Putin has congratulated Trump and welcomed his actions to create peace. So half of America and probably most of Russia are now singing from the same hymn sheet. The United States of Tyranny.The rush for "peace" might well be because Russia is teetering.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Andy Bee
04-03-2025, 11:04 AM

The UK is giving £3bn in military aid every year until at least 2031, it aint from Russian assets. The extra £1.5bn this year is from interest on the held Russian assets. Starmer may actually be ableto boast about growth in the future, it's just a shame the majority of it will come from UK weapons manufacturers.

04-03-2025, 11:11 AM

Fair to say that he's at least an unconscious asset. He's been spreading Russian propaganda to his base since the last time round, and it's been working.

04-03-2025, 11:15 AM
The rush for "peace" might well be because Russia is teetering.

…… but is it really? They now have the USA ( by its withdrawal of aid to Ukraine ) effectively in their camp and there are also some European leaders who support Putin and Trump eg Orban and Sulyok in Hungary. With the likely ( in my opinion ) defeat of Ukraine, and control of strategic territories, the ( at best ) ‘neutrality’ of the USA and scattered support from European countries, Putin will, in the longer term, be in a position to stretch his legs and attempt to take control of Eastern Europe. Full scale European war is far from out of the question.

04-03-2025, 11:33 AM
…… but is it really? They now have the USA ( by its withdrawal of aid to Ukraine ) effectively in their camp and there are also some European leaders who support Putin and Trump eg Orban and Sulyok in Hungary. With the likely ( in my opinion ) defeat of Ukraine, and control of strategic territories, the ( at best ) ‘neutrality’ of the USA and scattered support from European countries, Putin will, in the longer term, be in a position to stretch his legs and attempt to take control of Eastern Europe. Full scale European war is far from out of the question.

The Russian economy is struggling big time but any kind of help it gets could change that. We have to hope sanctions remain in place. It’s very possible it could collapse in 2025 if we keep up the pressure.

04-03-2025, 12:00 PM
The Russian economy is struggling big time but any kind of help it gets could change that. We have to hope sanctions remain in place. It’s very possible it could collapse in 2025 if we keep up the pressure.

Trump’s next step could very well be to lift sanctions on Russia, to ease their economic pressure and effectively boost their war effort, in payment for access to a share of defeated Ukraine’s mineral resources. He would have to get that through Congress but that’s not out of the question.

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2025, 12:03 PM
The UK is giving £3bn in military aid every year until at least 2031, it aint from Russian assets. The extra £1.5bn this year is from interest on the held Russian assets. Starmer may actually be ableto boast about growth in the future, it's just a shame the majority of it will come from UK weapons manufacturers.

I was talking about yesterday's announcement of £2.3 billion for 5k air defense missles funded from Russian assets. The majority of the previous money is from old equipment, they also quote the full price of purchase. It's a bit like me giving my mate an old box tv in my attic and saying I've given him £1000 as that's what I paid for it.

Some of the money is for aid in medicine which is to be commended and some for ammunition. Some was spent on new equipment like shells but it's a fraction of our £57 billion defence budget and worth every penny destroying all the Soviet supplies and helping hold back an evil invasion.

04-03-2025, 12:26 PM
BBC news …….. US sanctions on Canada, China and Mexico begin today. Canada has retaliated with their own tariffs. The Premier of Ontario saying that he will have no qualms about turning off energy supplies that the US depend on heavily.

04-03-2025, 12:38 PM

It really is.

The battlefield is going very badly for them right now.

The nature of Russian War is that they don’t value human life and sacrifice many men to take land. Their sacrifice has been heavier as they’ve gambled on getting as much land as possible to use as a bargaining chip when Krasnov comes in to make his peace deal. Modern war as the Ukrainians fight it uses lots of drones and is much more efficient when it comes to loss of manpower.

With calm heads and continued progress, the Russians would have been forced out of Ukraine this year. Instead of that, we’ve got Trump.

None of what is currently happening is a surprise to the Europeans and both the Ukrainians and the Europeans have been preparing for all of these eventualities for some time.

All that remains to be seen is just how far onto Russia’s side Trump is going to jump, when, how fast the Europeans are at reacting to that developing and whether Trump keeps his own people onside as he entertains a seismic strategic shift. If they’re skint and still can’t afford eggs then he might have a job on his hands there.

04-03-2025, 12:52 PM
It really is.

The nature of Russian War is that they don’t value human life and sacrifice many men to take land. Their sacrifice has been heavier as they’ve gambled on getting as much land as possible to use as a bargaining chip when Krasnov comes in to make his peace deal. Modern war as the Ukrainians fight it uses lots of drones and is much more efficient when it comes to loss of manpower.

With calm heads and continued progress, the Russians would have been forced out of Ukraine this year. Instead of that, we’ve got Trump.

None of what is currently happening is a surprise to the Europeans and both the Ukrainians and the Europeans have been preparing for all of these eventualities for some time.

All that remains to be seen is just how far onto Russia’s side Trump is going to jump, when, how fast the Europeans are at reacting to that developing and whether Trump keeps his own people onside as he entertains a seismic strategic shift. If they’re skint and still can’t afford eggs then he might have a job on his hands there.

Trump has taken himself out of any peace negotiations now. There is no need for either side to talk to him as he has now given up his leverage.
Russia does not want peace yet, and they won’t until they start seeing their troops pushed back. When they do want peace they are going to have to seek out Europe.

Berwickhibby
04-03-2025, 01:39 PM
BBC news …….. US sanctions on Canada, China and Mexico begin today. Canada has retaliated with their own tariffs. The Premier of Ontario saying that he will have no qualms about turning off energy supplies that the US depend on heavily.

Trump needs to remember that the majority of the US fresh water supply comes from Canada 🇨🇦…a few well placed dams could cause major disruption in the US

04-03-2025, 02:21 PM
Protesting is no longer allowed.

https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_thumbnail/plain/did:plc:4llrhdclvdlmmynkwsmg5tdc/bafkreickond3furgaftqy5mbcdgbt77lkncsx5imvn2qlez5u k55h4nrdy@jpeg

04-03-2025, 02:30 PM

https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_thumbnail/plain/did:plc:4llrhdclvdlmmynkwsmg5tdc/bafkreickond3furgaftqy5mbcdgbt77lkncsx5imvn2qlez5u k55h4nrdy@jpegThat kind of move and the wholesale sacking of govt workers is designed to foment trouble on the streets IMHO.

Then he can crack down even harder.

04-03-2025, 02:38 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/xCpSZ2pn/FB-IMG-1741009924308.jpg

04-03-2025, 02:48 PM

https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_thumbnail/plain/did:plc:4llrhdclvdlmmynkwsmg5tdc/bafkreickond3furgaftqy5mbcdgbt77lkncsx5imvn2qlez5u k55h4nrdy@jpeg

Welcome to the land of the free...

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2025, 02:50 PM
US stock exchange lost 3.4 trillion dollars today so far after Trumps genius tariffs

04-03-2025, 03:04 PM
At what point does our government accept the fact that he's a strategic enemy and treat him as such?

And how much damage do the American people let him do before realising that he is dismantling everything that they stand for?

It wasn't long ago that Vance was on a stage in Munich banging on about "shared common values". Those values no longer exist and imo the sooner we cotton on, the sooner we can protect ourselves from the changing situation.

If Trump only understands strength... kicking him hard when trillions are being wiped off the value of their stock exchange might be a decent place to start, rather than continuing to grovel.

04-03-2025, 03:15 PM

https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_thumbnail/plain/did:plc:4llrhdclvdlmmynkwsmg5tdc/bafkreickond3furgaftqy5mbcdgbt77lkncsx5imvn2qlez5u k55h4nrdy@jpegThe great American people, if there are enough left, need to recapture the spirit that ultimately got them onto the streets and out of Vietnam in defiance of leaders who were considerably less dangerous than this current gang.

04-03-2025, 03:18 PM
Oooft.

Trudeau's not mincing his words.

Sergio sledge
04-03-2025, 03:21 PM
Oooft.

Trudeau's not mincing his words.

From BBC:

Canadian PM Justin Trudeau has just arrived and reacts to America's new tariffs, which hours ago came into force.

"Today the United States has launched a trade war against Canada," Trudeau says. "Its closest partner and ally, its closest friend."

He says Washington is, at the same time, talking about working with Vladimir Putin - someone Trudeau calls a "murderer and a dictator".

"Make it make sense," Trudeau adds.

"Donald, even though you are a very smart guy, this is a very dumb thing to do."

Whatever you think about Trudeau, he's such a good public speaker. I think he delivered that whole address from memory.

What a contrast between him and Trump when he stops reading his notes and starts trying to speak from his brain...

04-03-2025, 03:38 PM
US stock exchange lost 3.4 trillion dollars today so far after Trumps genius tariffs

He might help Ukraine after all. If the US economy blows up (I don’t see how it can’t now) then the oil price will plummet. That will be fatal for Putin.

04-03-2025, 03:45 PM
It really is.

I must admit, I’ve never come across this name in relation to Trump so I’ve done my homework. Is it common usage/knowledge/ suspicion or just a bit of daft conspiracy theory?

04-03-2025, 03:50 PM
At what point does our government accept the fact that he's a strategic enemy and treat him as such?

And how much damage do the American people let him do before realising that he is dismantling everything that they stand for?

It wasn't long ago that Vance was on a stage in Munich banging on about "shared common values". Those values no longer exist and imo the sooner we cotton on, the sooner we can protect ourselves from the changing situation.

If Trump only understands strength... kicking him hard when trillions are being wiped off the value of their stock exchange might be a decent place to start, rather than continuing to grovel.

You missed the point Vance was making, he meant common values with a previous German government.

04-03-2025, 03:51 PM
I must admit, I’ve never come across this name in relation to Trump so I’ve done my homework. Is it common usage/knowledge/ suspicion or just a bit of daft conspiracy theory?

Could be either.

Realistically - it sounds ridiculously far fetched.

Also realistically - his every single recent action suggests it may be true.

I'd always been part of the "conspiracy theory" crew but I'm seriously starting to question it. A month ago I wouldn't have known who "Krasnov" was, so putting a name to the asset is certainly something recent, but I'm sometimes surprised with who seems to have heard about it now so the rumour is certainly common knowledge.

04-03-2025, 04:09 PM
Ontario just put a 25% export tariff on electricity. Hurts American consumers and not Canadians. Smart.

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2025, 04:43 PM
Trudaeu's liberals were 26 points behind in polling before Trump started their attacks on Canada they are now neck and neck. Trump who is universally disliked, attacking your country grows solidarity. Zelenskyy is polling at his highest point in Ukraine since the war started after standing tall in the Whitehouse. He's polling at 42% for if their was an presidential election tomorrow. In second place is pro fighting ex army chief Valerii Zaluzhnyi at 20%

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2025, 05:05 PM
Millions of people voted for an idiot who has been bankrupt and is looking to do the same to his nation

"Please explain to Governor Trudeau of Canada that when he imposes a retaliatory tariff on the U.S., our retaliatory tariff will immediately increase by the same amount!" — Donald Trump declared

jamie_1875
04-03-2025, 05:08 PM
Zelensky ready to work under Trump's 'strong leadership' after 'regrettable' showdown.

Looks like he is going to sign the deal now.

04-03-2025, 05:19 PM
Could be either.

Realistically - it sounds ridiculously far fetched.

Also realistically - his every single recent action suggests it may be true.

I'd always been part of the "conspiracy theory" crew but I'm seriously starting to question it. A month ago I wouldn't have known who "Krasnov" was, so putting a name to the asset is certainly something recent, but I'm sometimes surprised with who seems to have heard about it now so the rumour is certainly common knowledge.There are several books on his connections with Russia and in particular his connections, early in his career, with the Russian mafia.

Does it matter if its true or not just now? Every single move and utterance he's made since he regained the presidency has favoured Putin and a lot of those moves also subvert his own country.

04-03-2025, 06:41 PM
https://x.com/bbcnewsnight/status/1896711210575212701?s=46&t=zHpvj3vDc3Zglhf0Lr6VeA

I’m no fan of nuclear weapons but I was shocked by this. The U.K. ‘independent’ nuclear deterrent not so independent after all.

04-03-2025, 06:49 PM
Trump’s next step could very well be to lift sanctions on Russia, to ease their economic pressure and effectively boost their war effort, in payment for access to a share of defeated Ukraine’s mineral resources. He would have to get that through Congress but that’s not out of the question.

There's no doubt in my mind that he will do exactly that.

Trump cares about nothing but money and business opportunities.

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2025, 07:03 PM
Apparently the minerals deal has been signed. Trump trying to play it as better than a security guarantee as Russia won't bomb near American worker's. They will just keep bombing hospitals and civilian homes though

04-03-2025, 07:04 PM
Apparently the minerals deal has been signed. Trump trying to play it as better than a security guarantee as Russia won't bomb near American worker's. They will just keep bombing hospitals and civilian homes thoughExtortion

04-03-2025, 07:11 PM
https://x.com/bbcnewsnight/status/1896711210575212701?s=46&t=zHpvj3vDc3Zglhf0Lr6VeA

I’m no fan of nuclear weapons but I was shocked by this. The U.K. ‘independent’ nuclear deterrent not so independent after all.

Think of it like getting your car serviced.

You own the car, you can drive it where you want, you can take your car to war. But it’s serviced at the dealership in the US.

Let’s be honest, you only need to fire one salvo as everything after that is redundant. There is no Britain left after that.

There’s also no Russia, America or China left either.

Remember America gains by the U.K. being Nuclear armed. We spend a lot of money on those car services. We provide bases for American Submarines and we provide another independent deterrent to other Nuclear armed States.

04-03-2025, 07:27 PM
Tesla showroom in France torched Laleh Khalili 🇵🇸 on X: "The French are so real. Tesla showrooms there: https://t.co/HFKkNHLxYu" / X (https://x.com/LalehKhalili/status/1896962917297529236)

INFO LA DÉPÊCHE. Tesla dealership set on fire: 12 cars destroyed, at least 700,000 euros in damage - ladepeche.fr (https://www.ladepeche.fr/2025/03/03/info-la-depeche-incendie-criminel-dans-une-concession-tesla-pres-de-toulouse-12-voitures-detruites-au-moins-700-000-euros-de-degats-12546501.php?fbclid=IwY2xjawI0QFJleHRuA2FlbQIxMQAB HXqVByIOTAJg0FS_dY26arkRSfZxix7ddn000EZKUXYuP0bOR4 ljkscdmg_aem_2Cmgnj-MbFwSxugonVPwIg)

04-03-2025, 07:54 PM
Was on FB today and all of a sudden I was seeing posts from dafties who never ever crop up on my timeline sharing flat out Russian propaganda.

It’s like Covid all over again with the “do your research” mantra being repeated as plain bull**** YouTube videos and IG reels are being shared.

So ****ing depressing.

Paulie Walnuts
04-03-2025, 08:56 PM
Was on FB today and all of a sudden I was seeing posts from dafties who never ever crop up on my timeline sharing flat out Russian propaganda.

It’s like Covid all over again with the “do your research” mantra being repeated as plain bull**** YouTube videos and IG reels are being shared.

So ****ing depressing.

Will largely be the same idiots as well.

04-03-2025, 09:10 PM
Think of it like getting your car serviced.

You own the car, you can drive it where you want, you can take your car to war. But it’s serviced at the dealership in the US.

Let’s be honest, you only need to fire one salvo as everything after that is redundant. There is no Britain left after that.

There’s also no Russia, America or China left either.

Remember America gains by the U.K. being Nuclear armed. We spend a lot of money on those car services. We provide bases for American Submarines and we provide another independent deterrent to other Nuclear armed States.

France does the whole shebang itself. If the U.S. under Trump continues its lurch towards isolationism then a U.K. government of any political hue must look at making its nuclear deterrent properly independent and kick U.S. troops out.

I’ve long argued that if humankind is about in a hundred years time the U.S. will be seen as having been an empire with occupying forces around the world.

Paulie Walnuts
05-03-2025, 07:43 AM
Trump is insistent that Canada, Mexico and China are going to have to give America lots of money now that the tariffs are in place.

He genuinely doesn’t realise it’s the American consumer that will be paying the tariff, does he?

05-03-2025, 07:47 AM
He genuinely doesn’t realise it’s the American consumer that will be paying the tariff, does he?

He must do. He aced that test distinguishing between a man and a TV set.

05-03-2025, 08:15 AM
Trump is insistent that Canada, Mexico and China are going to have to give America lots of money now that the tariffs are in place.

The man is a special type of moron.

Arrogant, ignorant and talks out his ****ing arse.

Canadian PM announces retaliatory tariffs last night, Trump said he will retaliate with further tariffs.

Meanwhile trillions of dollars has been wiped from the US economy.

05-03-2025, 09:23 AM
The man is a special type of moron.

Arrogant, ignorant and talks out his ****ing arse.

Canadian PM announces retaliatory tariffs last night, Trump said he will retaliate with further tariffs.

Meanwhile trillions of dollars has been wiped from the US economy.It's almost as if they are getting what they voted for as far as the trashing of their own economy goes.

Maybe they should all buy Trump coins? Oh wait.......

05-03-2025, 09:32 AM
I’m hoping this develops into a game of chicken with Canada and Mexico because I think they are up for it. Crucially their populations are behind their leaders. Most Americans want Trump to fail.
With a bit of luck Trump follows through and increases the tariffs again.[emoji1696][emoji1696][emoji1696]

Paulie Walnuts
05-03-2025, 10:25 AM
I’m hoping this develops into a game of chicken with Canada and Mexico because I think they are up for it. Crucially their populations are behind their leaders. Most Americans want Trump to fail.
With a bit of luck Trump follows through and increases the tariffs again.[emoji1696][emoji1696][emoji1696]

I was thinking that myself.

I’m sure there could well be negative consequences for the global economy, but if this becomes tit for tat then Trump could lose a hell of a lot of support when Americans can’t afford anything.

Hibs4185
05-03-2025, 10:37 AM

Hopefully Ontario just tuned off the power and let the American’s see how much they rely on others

05-03-2025, 02:29 PM
What next ?:rolleyes:

Republican legislator, Texas Representative Brandon Gill, is likely to introduce a bill on Monday to put Trump on U.S. currency after he leaves office. According to Fox News, Gill explained that he wishes to replace Trump's face with Benjamin Franklin's on the $100 bill in recognition of his future accomplishments.
Representative Gill reiterated that instead of relaxing in retirement, President Trump could be busy taking it easy; instead, he worked hard for America. He also pointed towards Trump's initiatives to fortify the border, enhance trade alliances, reenergize the U.S. to be energy-independent once again, and put America first by reducing wasteful overseas aid.:bitchy::bitchy::bitchy:

05-03-2025, 03:04 PM

Vlad: "What's it worth tae yeh"?

05-03-2025, 03:34 PM
Tesla showroom in France torched Laleh Khalili 🇵🇸 on X: "The French are so real. Tesla showrooms there: https://t.co/HFKkNHLxYu" / X (https://x.com/LalehKhalili/status/1896962917297529236)

INFO LA DÉPÊCHE. Tesla dealership set on fire: 12 cars destroyed, at least 700,000 euros in damage - ladepeche.fr (https://www.ladepeche.fr/2025/03/03/info-la-depeche-incendie-criminel-dans-une-concession-tesla-pres-de-toulouse-12-voitures-detruites-au-moins-700-000-euros-de-degats-12546501.php?fbclid=IwY2xjawI0QFJleHRuA2FlbQIxMQAB HXqVByIOTAJg0FS_dY26arkRSfZxix7ddn000EZKUXYuP0bOR4 ljkscdmg_aem_2Cmgnj-MbFwSxugonVPwIg)

That's not acceptable.

Whoever owns the showroom, and the people that work there, aren't complicit in Musk's stupidity.

05-03-2025, 03:58 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1LzhCLzfJFg

The Canadian vibe is definitely, 'Come ahead, then...:take that'

05-03-2025, 04:23 PM
That's not acceptable.

Whoever owns the showroom, and the people that work there, aren't complicit in Musk's stupidity.

Will nobody think of the henchmen?[emoji2369]

05-03-2025, 06:38 PM
Today's front page of Canada's 'paper of record'.

https://bsky.app/profile/drbibliomane.bsky.social/post/3ljncazwsj22l

Berwickhibby
05-03-2025, 06:50 PM
Canada’s response https://www.facebook.com/reel/534550182486601?fs=e&s=TIeQ9V&fs=e&fs=e

05-03-2025, 07:47 PM
Will nobody think of the henchmen?[emoji2369]

Who all possibly became involved with Tesla long before Musk made sure we all know he's an arse?

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

05-03-2025, 08:32 PM
The guy who set a mob loose on the Capitol resulting in the deaths of 5 police officers has now signed a presidential decree ordering the mandatory death sentence for killing a police officer.

05-03-2025, 09:16 PM
Who all possibly became involved with Tesla long before Musk made sure we all know he's an arse?

Good time to be looking for other opportunities.[emoji106]

05-03-2025, 09:30 PM
Good time to be looking for other opportunities.[emoji106]

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWhat if you already own one of the cars?

Paulie Walnuts
05-03-2025, 09:41 PM
The guy who set a mob loose on the Capitol resulting in the deaths of 5 police officers has now signed a presidential decree ordering the mandatory death sentence for killing a police officer.

I don’t agree with the death penalty whatsoever but I’ve no issue with the presidential order for the punishment being the most severe penalty possible.

The fact he pardoned those involved in riots killing 5 police officers a few weeks ago makes an utter mockery of it though. Kill a police officer for Trump and you’ll be fine. For any other reason, death.

06-03-2025, 02:23 AM
"if you don't do as i say" :faf:

hurry the **** up and depart this earth Trump for the love of god

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GlT3fTkXoAArPWn?format=jpg&name=large

06-03-2025, 08:11 AM
"if you don't do as i say" :faf:

hurry the **** up and depart this earth Trump for the love of god

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GlT3fTkXoAArPWn?format=jpg&name=large

It's not like Trump to support a regime hell bent on genocide.

06-03-2025, 09:27 AM
It's not like Trump to support a regime hell bent on genocide.

And he met all the former hostages!? Where and when?

06-03-2025, 10:07 AM

The answer is really somewhere in the middle.

The actual payer of an import tariff is the importer.

In this case it’s likely to be the American based company that’s doing the importing. But not all importers will be American companies.

The consumer may end up covering that cost through higher end retail prices but that’s certainly not always the case.

There is plenty of evidence of tariffs being absorbed, at least by some degree, by margin contraction on the sending side as the foreign entity takes some of the hit to try and keep its products competitive. There is good evidence that is what happened the last time Trump applied tariffs last time around.

The importers can also absorb some of the cost in the same way.

So while it’s not wrong to say ‘the consumer pays’ it’s not an absolute truth either.

What is certainly true is that the Chinese or whoever will not be paying these tariffs directly to the US Treasury.

06-03-2025, 10:18 AM
The answer is really somewhere in the middle.

The actual payer of an import tariff is the importer.

In this case it’s likely to be the American based company that’s doing the importing. But not all importers will be American companies.

The consumer may end up covering that cost through higher end retail prices but that’s certainly not always the case.

There is plenty of evidence of tariffs being absorbed, at least by some degree, by margin contraction on the sending side as the foreign entity takes some of the hit to try and keep its products competitive. There is good evidence that is what happened the last time Trump applied tariffs last time around.

The importers can also absorb some of the cost in the same way.

So while it’s not wrong to say ‘the consumer pays’ it’s not an absolute truth either.

What is certainly true is that the Chinese or whoever will not be paying these tariffs directly to the US Treasury.

Those effects are only temporary though. How often do businesses accept lower profits long term? Eventually the consumer pays.

06-03-2025, 10:28 AM
https://www.politico.eu/article/donald-trump-allies-secret-talks-volodymyr-zelenskyy-opposition-ukraine-elections-yulia-tymoshenko-petro-poroshenko/

KYIV — Four senior members of Donald Trump’s entourage have held secret discussions with some of Kyiv’s top political opponents to Volodymyr Zelenskyy, just as Washington aligns with Moscow in seeking to lever the Ukrainian president out of his job.

i wonder if any of them are pro-putin

06-03-2025, 10:44 AM
https://www.politico.eu/article/donald-trump-allies-secret-talks-volodymyr-zelenskyy-opposition-ukraine-elections-yulia-tymoshenko-petro-poroshenko/

KYIV — Four senior members of Donald Trump’s entourage have held secret discussions with some of Kyiv’s top political opponents to Volodymyr Zelenskyy, just as Washington aligns with Moscow in seeking to lever the Ukrainian president out of his job.

i wonder if any of them are pro-putin

Oh good, USA now attempting to effectively force one of the best world leaders we've seen in 100 years out of office and leave his country and the rest of Europe open to further Russian aggression.

What the **** is going on?

Andy Bee
06-03-2025, 11:15 AM
Tariffs are basically a tool for promoting homegrown products and disadvantaging importing products, Trump keeps trumpeting this line that they'll create $squillions for the US economy when that is not their function. This is going to see a rise in prices which'll lead to a rise in inflation and also lower confidence in the $, pretty dangerous really as the $ is seen as the worlds reserved currency. Hopefully the UK doesn't do its usual and mirror the US economy.

Lendo
06-03-2025, 11:29 AM
Tariffs are basically a tool for promoting homegrown products and disadvantaging importing products, Trump keeps trumpeting this line that they'll create $squillions for the US economy when that is not their function. This is going to see a rise in prices which'll lead to a rise in inflation and also lower confidence in the $, pretty dangerous really as the $ is seen as the worlds reserved currency. Hopefully the UK doesn't do its usual and mirror the US economy.

I’ve already seen a daily substantial fall in my pension and Stocks & Shares ISA this week. I suspect due to market fear for this trade war. Thankfully I’m still 25 years from retirement

Andy Bee
06-03-2025, 11:37 AM
I’ve already seen a daily substantial fall in my pension and Stocks & Shares ISA this week. I suspect due to market fear for this trade war. Thankfully I’m still 25 years from retirement

Sorry to hear that Lendo, hopefully they'll recover quickly but it's a dip that wasn't needed. On the plus side, my dream boat has dropped over £50k due to the price of the $ the last 2 or 3 weeks, still a dream though. :greengrin

06-03-2025, 12:32 PM
Sorry to hear that Lendo, hopefully they'll recover quickly but it's a dip that wasn't needed. On the plus side, my dream boat has dropped over £50k due to the price of the $ the last 2 or 3 weeks, still a dream though. :greengrin

To be fair, the US stock market is due a correction with or without Trump. There is a reason Buffet has been sellling and sitting on a mountain of cash.

Andy Bee
06-03-2025, 12:41 PM
To be fair, the US stock market is due a correction with or without Trump. There is a reason Buffet has been sellling and sitting on a mountain of cash.

I reckon you're right going by some of the valuations of some companies, TBF I just wasn't wanting to piss off Lendo even more.

06-03-2025, 12:50 PM
And he met all the former hostages!? Where and when?

Inveterate liar.

jamie_1875
06-03-2025, 01:09 PM

European defence stocks would be a good investment. Rolls Royce has gone from about £1 to £8 in a few years. Defence spending is only going up.

06-03-2025, 01:17 PM
European defence stocks would be a good investment. Rolls Royce has gone from about £1 to £8 in a few years. Defence spending is only going up.

Yes, if I was into stocks that’s where I would be looking. Europe rearming will drive a huge amount of growth over next few years. I expect that a few countries like Poland and the Baltics will be looking to build a nuclear deterrent now as well.

06-03-2025, 01:21 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250306/adee554f599d78136b789e57638394b5.jpg
Going to be a big recession.[emoji106]

06-03-2025, 01:47 PM

If markets hate anything it’s uncertainty.

And boy has Trump caused that.

Already US consumer comfort’s plummeting, seems business investment is going the same way.

His random approach is making it increasingly impossible for any corporation to make investment plans so they simply stop doing so.

The knock on effects for the US economy could be significant indeed with shock waves felt around the world.

We’ll see how long his popularity lasts when his actions drive down the S&P, drive up inflation and cause labour market chaos.

As the US has substantially more domestic stock market investors than almost any other country its domestic political fortunes are almost uniquely tied to it as a key metric of how the US population measures its wealth.

Trump might find that people turn on him way quicker than he thinks.

The Tubs
06-03-2025, 02:05 PM

Already US consumer comfort’s plummeting, seems business investment is going the same way.

His random approach is making it increasingly impossible for any corporation to make investment plans so they simply stop doing so.

The knock on effects for the US economy could be significant indeed with shock waves felt around the world.

We’ll see how long his popularity lasts when his actions drive down the S&P, drive up inflation and cause labour market chaos.

As the US has substantially more domestic stock market investors than almost any other country its domestic political fortunes are almost uniquely tied to it as a key metric of how the US population measures its wealth.

If you read about the deal for the Panama Canal terminals that BlackRock bought, you see the effects of crony capitalism Trump has introduced, resulting in very inefficient transactions. I think they paid more than the seller's entire market capitalisation.

06-03-2025, 02:11 PM
Today's mayhem seems to include shutting down the Department of Education (as forewarned), and removing responsibility to the states. This is expected to harm special needs education, which is guaranteed by the DoE up until age 21.

And the Post Office leadership is to be removed, and the institution to be controlled by the Executive Office. No way this is going to affect postal voting. No siree :rolleyes:

Edit: I'm off out for a long and brisk walk. Will be buying a bottle of Canadian whisky from our friendly local liquor store on the way back.

06-03-2025, 02:21 PM

I can already see it as investments and pension pots are tanking daily.

ddoc
06-03-2025, 03:21 PM
I can already see it as investments and pension pots are tanking daily.

I retired 4 months ago and my superannuation is down around $20K in a fortnight.
I expect it to get a lot worse before it gets any better.
His stance on Ukraine is unlikely to change much. The economy is a bit more of an unknown, you would think that there is a lot of pressure going to be applied behind the scenes if the markets continue to tank.
He prides himself in being this great, successful businessman and a Wall Street collapse under his presidency would not look that great on his CV.

06-03-2025, 03:44 PM
I retired 4 months ago and my superannuation is down around $20K in a fortnight.
I expect it to get a lot worse before it gets any better.
His stance on Ukraine is unlikely to change much. The economy is a bit more of an unknown, you would think that there is a lot of pressure going to be applied behind the scenes if the markets continue to tank.
He prides himself in being this great, successful businessman and a Wall Street collapse under his presidency would not look that great on his CV.He'll just call Wall Street "woke" and people will cheer him on.

06-03-2025, 03:54 PM
Trumps backs down on Mexico tariffs again. Very disappointing. Really want to see him royally **** everything up. [emoji849]

Paulie Walnuts
06-03-2025, 03:57 PM
This really is an absolute shambles. What’s it been? 2 days or so since the tariff was introduced?

The guy has no ****ing clue what he’s doing.

Or I suppose alternatively, he knows exactly what he’s doing and is manipulating markets to help his rich pals get richer.

Andy Bee
06-03-2025, 04:04 PM
The Tate brothers not as smug as they were a couple of days ago. Florida opening up an investigation into them. Wonder if the Don will step in?

https://x.com/TheNewsAgents/status/1897626030757573007

Lendo
06-03-2025, 04:09 PM
I reckon you're right going by some of the valuations of some companies, TBF I just wasn't wanting to piss off Lendo even more.

I wouldn’t worry, I am constantly pissed off at the moment :wink:. Hibs are the one shining light in a miserable world right now.

MKHIBEE
06-03-2025, 06:21 PM
I wouldn’t worry, I am constantly pissed off at the moment :wink:. Hibs are the one shining light in a miserable world right now.

I said the same thing to my brother a week ago

06-03-2025, 06:31 PM

Jeez, the world really has turned upside down!

06-03-2025, 06:52 PM
Jeez, the world really has turned upside down!You do remember what happened the last time he was elected?

Andy Bee
06-03-2025, 07:08 PM
You do remember what happened the last time he was elected?

Problem is this time he has an idea of what he can get away with and also has a "sociopathic" billionaire helping him.

06-03-2025, 07:16 PM
Problem is this time he has an idea of what he can get away with and also has a sociopathic billionaire helping him.David Gray?

Andy Bee
06-03-2025, 07:23 PM
David Gray?

Ahh I might be wrong, is Liam Craig that rich?

06-03-2025, 07:24 PM
Ahh I might be wrong, is Liam Craig that rich?[emoji846]

06-03-2025, 07:56 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/481915630_10235469317617309_4245429473935656719_n. jpg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=aa7b47&_nc_ohc=QBREOpyYoMQQ7kNvgEIzy3q&_nc_oc=Adim5ovxBYgGBzr5iqzv61b2PbzubJcGRkuYLUkq6VA pmC6h-pHTwHcxPe-OwkiBIXs&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&_nc_gid=ArgknI_1B-LtPkfJcfpKeI3&oh=00_AYC4QrRc-JRQubmUlY4srslRW8bCiRG8vtr-kWxpYMPRGg&oe=67CFCAB0

06-03-2025, 08:18 PM
JFC

https://bsky.app/profile/atrupar.com/post/3ljqfwlen2s23

Trump on two astronauts stuck in space: "Maybe they'll love each other, I don't know. But they've been left up there. Think of it. And I see the woman with the wild hair. Good solid head of hair she's got. There's no kidding. There's no games with her hair."

06-03-2025, 11:58 PM
JFC

On the subject of space, that's the Gulf of Mexico being cleared of planes again to avoid debris from Elon's exploded spacecraft.

07-03-2025, 06:37 AM
Musk should invite Trump to accompany him on his next manned Starship failure. If only!!!!

07-03-2025, 07:52 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250307/ce2ee4860251c5062896224e25deedfa.png

MKHIBEE
07-03-2025, 08:03 AM
JFC

Somebody needs to take his phone from him

07-03-2025, 05:26 PM
i can't believe Americans with an IQ above 60 fall for this crap

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GlZKt8TWkAAILY6?format=jpg&name=900x900

07-03-2025, 05:35 PM

In the name of the father Eric,
his son Donald
and the Holy Musk.
...All-men

07-03-2025, 05:36 PM

I think the problem is that there are just not enough of them.

07-03-2025, 05:42 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250307/f78ef909b94b9cd3bb99d7407e37e7b0.jpg
Is it wrong to think Yes, go for it you absolute ****wits? I guess the kids are innocent but that’s how Darwinism works isn’t it?

07-03-2025, 05:56 PM

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GlZKt8TWkAAILY6?format=jpg&name=900x900Probably performative to convince the clowns who believe they are on their side.

08-03-2025, 08:43 AM
I thought this Jonathon Freedland article describing Trump as a wannabee Mafia Don is pretty accurate.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2025/mar/07/donald-trump-america-mafia-state

08-03-2025, 08:51 AM
https://www.msn.com/en-us/money/companies/kentucky-distillers-association-bourbon-industry-will-suffer-amid-tariffs/ar-AA1AkAE3?ocid=TobArticle

Kentucky distillers association are warning 23,000 jobs at risk in the state. Shame. [emoji2369]

08-03-2025, 04:49 PM
The mugs have had Trump currency, now this grift, wonder what's next?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250308/482acab63a673d7edfe1a5d29bc0ac63.jpg

09-03-2025, 06:26 AM
https://news.sky.com/story/bluesky-13324846

Lendo
09-03-2025, 07:44 AM
https://news.sky.com/story/bluesky-13324846

What a depressing read. Stupidest nation on earth.