View Full Version : (Soon to be) Former President Donald Trump
04-09-2020, 03:26 PM
Which he's now denying that he said, even though the film of him saying it, and his tweets, are still there for all to see.unbelievably, people will see what he's saying now and believe it, anyone spouting anything else will be classed as 'fake news', Trump's an expert at it, and unbelievably it seems to continually work
-Jonesy-
04-09-2020, 03:34 PM
Michael Reinhoel who was wanted for the shooting in Portland has been killed by law enforcement while attempting his arrest.
04-09-2020, 03:56 PM
Michael Reinhoel who was wanted for the shooting in Portland has been killed by law enforcement while attempting his arrest.
Trump on Michael Reinhoel 12 hours ago "Why aren't the Portland police ARRESTING the cold-blooded killer of Aaron 'Jay' Danielson. Do your job and do it fast. Everybody knows who this thug is. No wonder Portland is going to hell!"
A quite different tone to his views on Kyle Rittenhouse
-Jonesy-
04-09-2020, 04:06 PM
Trump on Michael Reinhoel 12 hours ago "Why aren't the Portland police ARRESTING the cold-blooded killer of Aaron 'Jay' Danielson. Do your job and do it fast. Everybody knows who this thug is. No wonder Portland is going to hell!"
A quite different tone to his views on Kyle Rittenhouse
2 hours later he was dead, he gave an interview to vice jus hours before his attempted arrest as well.
I can’t speculate to his failed arrest/possible execution as it appears he was involved in an armed standoff but One of the most striking differences between him and Rittenhouse is that no one on the left was hailing him as a hero for killing someone on the street in Portland
04-09-2020, 04:30 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/gregorybrothers/status/1300967931975733248
I must have watched this a dozen times, but I still can't believe it :greengrin.
America's military budget is USD700 billion, but 'anarchists' with bags of soup could destroy the country. It's like a sketch from The Day Today, the Chris Morris programme.
04-09-2020, 05:00 PM
https://amp.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/sep/04/pentagon-stars-and-stripes-newspaper-trump?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true
An attack on the military and the press all at once.
04-09-2020, 05:39 PM
https://twitter.com/projectlincoln/status/1301902114386395136?s=21
Powerful
04-09-2020, 06:24 PM
Powerful
While I don’t doubt Trump in all probability did say those things, it fits perfectly with his vernacular, it simply can’t be proven that he did.
From what I’ve read it’s reported he did by three people that, on the face of it, would seem reasonably reliable witnesses but he’s not on record uttering those statements.
He did call McCain a loser though but I think he’s now trying to claim that he called him a loser because he lost rather than a loser per se. Or maybe he’s just flat out denying what really can’t be denied just because he can and that’s what he does!
EAZY-ME
04-09-2020, 07:31 PM
I just came on to post this.
That should be an unbelievable thing for the US President to say but with the bar set as low as it is now, it really isn't.
Some people would believe anything if its in the media... everyone round him has said it never happened. ...i really can't see trump saying anything like that considering the amount of praise and support he gives law enforcement and military.
04-09-2020, 07:35 PM
Some people would believe anything if its in the media... everyone round him has said it never happened. ...i really can't see trump saying anything like that considering the amount of praise and support he gives law enforcement and military.
Lol.
EAZY-ME
04-09-2020, 07:37 PM
Fwiw he right about the soup cans along with cans of juice and tins of food.... they have also been freezing bottled water and throwing them..... the bricks are too heavy to get a decent throw but cans arent and if they get searched it's food for the house.
There's another article on the mail saying a trump supporter mowed down a group of blm protesters.. then in the main story calls it an unidentified vehicle..... so if its unidentified then how the bloody hell do they know the drivers a trump supporter
04-09-2020, 08:17 PM
Fox News now confirming that the story is true.
https://twitter.com/jengriffinfnc/status/1301975321495973889?s=21
Fake news?
04-09-2020, 08:44 PM
And why would 'everyone around him' lie? That really is a mystery. And politicians saying one thing publicly and another privately. Unheard of.
04-09-2020, 08:59 PM
I always wondered if you were at the wind up and now it's been confirmed. Thanks.
04-09-2020, 09:12 PM
One word: Osteophyte
1875godsgift
05-09-2020, 12:56 AM
Fwiw he right about the soup cans along with cans of juice and tins of food.... they have also been freezing bottled water and throwing them..... the bricks are too heavy to get a decent throw but cans arent and if they get searched it's food for the house.
There's another article on the mail saying a trump supporter mowed down a group of blm protesters.. then in the main story calls it an unidentified vehicle..... so if its unidentified then how the bloody hell do they know the drivers a trump supporter
Because he's a Trump supporter driving an unidentified vehicle. The driver has been identified as a Trump supporter, the vehicle make, model, whatever, hasn't been ascertained.
How is it possible to identify the driver's political persuasion, yet not be able to give a description of the vehicle? If a car is about to plow into you, surely the first piece of information you'd give law enforcement would be the make, model and color of the car?
05-09-2020, 01:58 AM
How is it possible to identify the driver's political persuasion, yet not be able to give a description of the vehicle? If a car is about to plow into you, surely the first piece of information you'd give law enforcement would be the make, model and color of the car?
When you have a president who is a hateful anti-BLM racist, and a driver who is a violent hateful anti BLM racist, it’s doesn’t take Columbo to work that one out.
Frankly, even in the remote possibility he isn’t, why would you challenge it..it’s hardly the real root issue
05-09-2020, 04:48 AM
https://twitter.com/projectlincoln/status/1302053669475549184?s=21
05-09-2020, 07:35 AM
You keep defending, or trying to defend, the indefensible. Why?
Actually, I know the answer. It's because there's nothing defensible to defend.
FYI - NBC quotes police sources as saying the driver was 'was found to be a part of the Keep America Great rally' and that the group had 'exchanged heated words' with the BLM supporters.
-Jonesy-
05-09-2020, 07:39 AM
State of this😂😂
“Some people would believe anything”😂😂
05-09-2020, 09:15 AM
Maybe he was wearing a MAGA hat? [emoji2957]
EAZY-ME
05-09-2020, 09:22 AM
Some beauties on here. I wonder how many members are actually the same person. .. trump and his closest people are vehemently denying this yet hibs.net posters have it all sussed. What's the point in a justice system ...they should just log on here and speak to you lot. Absolute jokers
05-09-2020, 09:34 AM
Some beauties on here. I wonder how many members are actually the same person. .. trump and his closest people are vehemently denying this yet hibs.net posters have it all sussed. What's the point in a justice system ...they should just log on here and speak to you lot. Absolute jokers
Better an absolute joker than an absolute joke
05-09-2020, 09:36 AM
I take your point, but of course Trump and his closest people would deny it. That's why we have to look to other sources, who appear to be confirming it.
05-09-2020, 09:37 AM
Lol.
-Jonesy-
05-09-2020, 09:52 AM
State of this an aw😂😂
“Trump and his closest people..” weren’t most of Trumps former closest people all convicted for perjury and obstruction of justice😂🤡
EAZY-ME
05-09-2020, 09:59 AM
State of this an aw😂😂
“Trump and his closest people..” weren’t most of Trumps former closest people all convicted for perjury and obstruction of justice😂🤡
State of you🤡
EAZY-ME
05-09-2020, 10:00 AM
is it not a bit coincidental that all this comes out right before an election ?
05-09-2020, 10:04 AM
Maybe it's true, maybe it's not. We'll probably never know for sure. But Trump and his spokespeople, advisors etc denying it is surely not enough for you to dismiss as false? Given everything he's said about John McCain it would fit pretty well with Trumps world view.
05-09-2020, 10:08 AM
:faf: It's been coming out since before he was elected.
05-09-2020, 10:09 AM
The claims about Trump calling the war dead 'losers' would have more weight if they weren't anonymous.
I'm in no way saying that he didn't say it, but I'm not sure I feel comfortable taking something as serious as this at face value, with no evidence and no one willing to come out publicly and say they heard him say it.
There's enough stupid things that he definitely did say that we can judge him on already.
05-09-2020, 10:14 AM
And why would 'everyone around him' lie? That really is a mystery. And politicians saying one thing publicly and another privately. Unheard of.
That's easy, because he lies.
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/09/04/politics/fact-check-trump-mccain-loser-veterans-choice/index.html
05-09-2020, 10:18 AM
Of course it's not. Those that first provided the story want to damage Trump and have waited for what they consider to be the best moment to do that. That doesn't apply to those who have since confirmed it to be true though.
EAZY-ME
05-09-2020, 10:21 AM
The claims about Trump calling the war dead 'losers' would have more weight if they weren't anonymous.
I'm in no way saying that he didn't say it, but I'm not sure I feel comfortable taking something as serious as this at face value, with no evidence and no one willing to come out publicly and say they heard him say it.
There's enough stupid things that he definitely did say that we can judge him on already.
Good post ... and you are right he opens his gob and says the daftest things but i seriously doubt he said that about the war heroes.
05-09-2020, 10:38 AM
no one willing to come out publicly and say they heard him say it.
Eh? :dunno:
05-09-2020, 10:41 AM
It doesn’t though. This sort of stuff has been coming out constantly for the last 4 years.
05-09-2020, 10:42 AM
When multiple different news agencies with competing agendas are all verifying it with 4 different sources then you can say with a fair degree of confidence that it happened.
-Jonesy-
05-09-2020, 10:43 AM
Good post ... and you are right he opens his gob and says the daftest things but i seriously doubt he said that about the war heroes.
Explain the logic behind this sentence
05-09-2020, 10:45 AM
It doesn’t though. This sort of stuff has been coming out constantly for the last 4 years.
:agree: The McCain being captured chat started in 2015.
05-09-2020, 11:08 AM
Eh? :dunno:
The only reports I've seen so far have been attributed to 'anonymous' sources.
If they've been reported differently anywhere, I must have missed it but would be happy to be provided with a source, or the names of the people (not a dig at anyone, i promise :-) )
When multiple different news agencies with competing agendas are all verifying it with 4 different sources then you can say with a fair degree of confidence that it happened.
As I've already written, while these sources remain anonymous or no evidence is provided to prove it, I'm going to go with the 'innocent until proven guilty' approach.
This is all too similar to the 'Jeremy Corbyn Is An Anti-Semite' stuff we've witnessed in the media for months, and I found that very disturbing.
The Guardian, for instance, seem to have an editorial policy of including the phrase 'anti-semitism' in every single article that mentions Corbyn's name and were determined to smear him at every opportunity.
And just for removal of any doubt, I have no fondness whatsoever for Trump or Corbyn.
05-09-2020, 11:13 AM
The only reports I've seen so far have been attributed to 'anonymous' sources.
If they've been reported differently anywhere, I must have missed it but would be happy to be provided with a source, or the names of the people (not a dig at anyone, i promise :-) )
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-54034707
I know it's the BBC, but it's reported that Fox and PA have corroborated the story from various sources.
05-09-2020, 11:18 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-54034707
I know it's the BBC, but it's reported that Fox and PA have corroborated the story from various sources.
Cheers, I'll have a read at that
05-09-2020, 11:21 AM
That's easy, because he lies.
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/09/04/politics/fact-check-trump-mccain-loser-veterans-choice/index.html
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/08/27/politics/rnc-night-four-fact-check/index.html
A wee bit of fact check goes a long way.
05-09-2020, 12:53 PM
https://twitter.com/aravosis/status/1301991095904202756?s=21
05-09-2020, 12:57 PM
https://twitter.com/aravosis/status/1301991095904202756?s=21
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/09/04/politics/trump-france-memorial-cemetery-visit-fact-check/index.html
Yep, full fact check.
05-09-2020, 01:21 PM
Being anti racist is apparently anti American.
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/sep/04/trump-antiracism-training-white-privilege-critical-race-theory?CMP=fb_gu&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1599295117
05-09-2020, 01:33 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/sep/04/trump-antiracism-training-white-privilege-critical-race-theory?CMP=fb_gu&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1599295117
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/09/04/politics/trump-administration-memo-race-training-ban/index.html
Yep
05-09-2020, 01:37 PM
First off, they made a damn good effort to annihilate the Native American population.
They then claimed to be a country open to everyone looking for a new life... until the Irish, Jews or anyone else that didn't meet the criteria arrived on their shores.
Then large swathes of the country tried to ensure that public transportation, workplaces, restaurants, sports clubs... even the military... kept the inferior Black people well away from the obviously superior Whites.
They've since built up amazing scare stories about Mexicans and others of a Hispanic background, and have recently added Muslims as the 'bogey man'
Let's face it, extreme prejudice is what made America great!
05-09-2020, 02:11 PM
https://nymag.com/intelligencer/amp/2020/09/corroboration-atlantic-report-trump-troops-soldiers-losers-cemetary-amputees.html?__twitter_impression=true
05-09-2020, 02:26 PM
First off, they made a damn good effort to annihilate the Native American population.
They then claimed to be a country open to everyone looking for a new life... until the Irish, Jews or anyone else that didn't meet the criteria arrived on their shores.
Then large swathes of the country tried to ensure that public transportation, workplaces, restaurants, sports clubs... even the military... kept the inferior Black people well away from the obviously superior Whites.
They've since built up amazing scare stories about Mexicans and others of a Hispanic background, and have recently added Muslims as the 'bogey man'
Let's face it, extreme prejudice is what made America great!
You're constant agreeing with and defence of Trump is noted. :wink:
05-09-2020, 03:08 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200905/f7a62f0b36026bfc052fc0dd8c729967.jpg
Even though they are still trying to claim he never said it they are at the same time making excuses for why he did say it.[emoji23]
05-09-2020, 04:14 PM
You're constant agreeing with and defence of Trump is noted. :wink:
You've caught me, I'm a 100% Trumpian
05-09-2020, 05:34 PM
Even though they are still trying to claim he never said it they are at the same time making excuses for why he did say it.[emoji23]
So in defending something that they claim still happened he’s made himself out to be an even bigger **** than if he just apologised?
He’s gonna win this election.
05-09-2020, 05:36 PM
So in defending something that they claim still happened he’s made himself out to be an even bigger **** than if he just apologised?
He’s gonna win this election.
He’s def not going to win this election. I don’t really gamble but I’m thinking of having a bet on Biden. I can’t see how he loses from here.
05-09-2020, 06:47 PM
He’s def not going to win this election. I don’t really gamble but I’m thinking of having a bet on Biden. I can’t see how he loses from here.
I’ll be pleasantly surprised if he doesn’t.
05-09-2020, 07:12 PM
Wait till the Russian bots get going...
05-09-2020, 07:25 PM
He'd have been better going with the more straightforward "I never did it and I won't do it again". :agree:
05-09-2020, 10:36 PM
The odd thing about Trump is that the more outrageous he becomes the more some of his supporters or those who seek to defend him rally round him and buy into the ridiculous notion that he is a perpetual victim.
Leaving aside the potential illegal acts he has committed there are numerous incidents, that could be called faux pas if we were being kind, that would have finished him politically in normal times:
1. The whole pussy grabbing episode and the 'locker room' explanation in lieu of an apology.
2. Mocking the military career of an elder statesman within his own party.
3. Mocking a disabled reporter and openly impersonating him in a pejorative manner during a speech.
4.Politicising a traditionally apolitical speech to a group of scouts and using it to massage his own ego.
5. Sacking Rex Tillerson on Twitter.
6. Sharing multiple videos from Britain First on Twitter.
7. The entirety of longest government shutdown in US history.
8. Being a major exponent of the birther conspiracy.
9. His treatment of Khizr and Ghazala Khan.
10. Referencing Pocahontas when talking about Elizabeth Warren.
10 points will probably do for now. Even for those well to the right on the political spectrum, who may be willing to dismiss being offended about mocking women, Muslims and disabled people as the preserve of 'snowflakes' I question how they can see Trump as a man who embodies traditional conservative values. His wilful abuse of the Christian faith for his own ends, his attitude towards NATO, his veneration of dictators, his lack of formality and sense of duty, his dismissive and hostile attitude to traditional US allies and his disdain for the constitution are all completely at odds with that ideology. I question how anyone who calls themselves a Christian, a conservative or a patriot (all things many Americans hold dear) can support or vote for Trump in good conscience.
1875godsgift
06-09-2020, 01:21 AM
That's an interesting viewpoint you hold there.
So, because many people disagree with you, you think they're all the same person? :crazy:
EAZY-ME
06-09-2020, 09:58 AM
That's an interesting viewpoint you hold there.
So, because many people disagree with you, you think they're all the same person? :crazy:
calling someone a racist and accusing him of saying things he claimed he didn't say and all because the media claim it to be true.....yes i disagree with that
06-09-2020, 10:05 AM
Don't worry ill delete my post as well.....hibby radge right enough
Ooft, another crushing put down.
You're getting ripped to pieces on here so you've resorted to childish insults.
That's why I deleted my post. No point engaging with imbeciles.
06-09-2020, 11:17 AM
Its idiots like you that are part of the problem on here.
Oh ouch!
You're on fire. You should write a book.
However, there is no problem on here.
06-09-2020, 11:34 AM
Bought any good bridges lately?
06-09-2020, 11:39 AM
Since you posted this numerous posts have included evidence that he lied, and did say it.
Are you still going to defend the POTUS in spite of all the evidence against him? Or would you rather call all the other posters idiots?
06-09-2020, 02:41 PM
The last time I posted this Biden had a 92% chance (I think) of winning and now it's down to 83%.
https://projects.economist.com/us-2020-forecast/president
I wonder what's causing the change in direction?
Tobias Funke
06-09-2020, 03:35 PM
The last time I posted this Biden had a 92% chance (I think) of winning and now it's down to 83%.
I wonder what's causing the change in direction?
Trumps odds shortened in the aftermath of the RNC. No idea why, it was a total sh*tshow full of propaganda that would make the North Korean regime blush.
06-09-2020, 03:38 PM
Trumps odds shortened in the aftermath of the RNC. No idea why, it was a total sh*tshow full of propaganda that would make the North Korean regime blush.
I've just been speaking to a friend who lives near Chicago and he says it's because the stock market is up. He's hoping for a crash in late October :greengrin
06-09-2020, 05:34 PM
I've just been speaking to a friend who lives near Chicago and he says it's because the stock market is up. He's hoping for a crash in late October :greengrin
It’s a classic myth that Republican Presidents are better for the stock market....on average over the post war years it’s actually Democrats that have seen the largest gains.
Quite whether the two (Presidents and Market prices) are as connected as people seem to assume is a totally different matter of course
TheReg!
06-09-2020, 06:03 PM
This place will go into meltdown when Trump wins again. 😂 #MAGA 🇺🇸
06-09-2020, 06:20 PM
It’s a classic myth that Republican Presidents are better for the stock market....on average over the post war years it’s actually Democrats that have seen the largest gains.
Quite whether the two (Presidents and Market prices) are as connected as people seem to assume is a totally different matter of course
I know from talking to friends of the opposing ilk, that they feel Tories or Republicans come in and do the hard yards turning the economy round, then the electorate are tired with them and elect Labour or the Democrats who can turn on the spending tap.
Certainly in 1997, Labour inherited a recovery by Ken Clarke from the ERM car crash and played a blinder by pledging to stick to Tory spending plans. It negated the traditional Tory attack on Labour being profligate and also bought them four years of restrained public spending.
Once back in, in 2001, the spending taps opened, and boy, did they flow!
Tobias Funke
06-09-2020, 06:45 PM
This place will go into meltdown when Trump wins again. 😂 #MAGA 🇺🇸
Oh look at you trolling, you are ****ing amazing at it mate.
The odd thing about Trump is that the more outrageous he becomes the more some of his supporters or those who seek to defend him rally round him and buy into the ridiculous notion that he is a perpetual victim.
Leaving aside the potential illegal acts he has committed there are numerous incidents, that could be called faux pas if we were being kind, that would have finished him politically in normal times:
1. The whole pussy grabbing episode and the 'locker room' explanation in lieu of an apology.
2. Mocking the military career of an elder statesman within his own party.
3. Mocking a disabled reporter and openly impersonating him in a pejorative manner during a speech.
4.Politicising a traditionally apolitical speech to a group of scouts and using it to massage his own ego.
5. Sacking Rex Tillerson on Twitter.
6. Sharing multiple videos from Britain First on Twitter.
7. The entirety of longest government shutdown in US history.
8. Being a major exponent of the birther conspiracy.
9. His treatment of Khizr and Ghazala Khan.
10. Referencing Pocahontas when talking about Elizabeth Warren.
10 points will probably do for now. Even for those well to the right on the political spectrum, who may be willing to dismiss being offended about mocking women, Muslims and disabled people as the preserve of 'snowflakes' I question how they can see Trump as a man who embodies traditional conservative values. His wilful abuse of the Christian faith for his own ends, his attitude towards NATO, his veneration of dictators, his lack of formality and sense of duty, his dismissive and hostile attitude to traditional US allies and his disdain for the constitution are all completely at odds with that ideology. I question how anyone who calls themselves a Christian, a conservative or a patriot (all things many Americans hold dear) can support or vote for Trump in good conscience.
:top marks Outstanding post
it says something about the man and his many actions/comments, that I’d forgotten about some of these (drowned out by other extraordinary shenanigans). Several of these would, under previous (more civilised?) times, have seen him nowhere near the presidential nominations in the first place, held to account properly, or removed from the nomination for the next election. Not at the moment :rolleyes:
06-09-2020, 08:55 PM
:top marks Outstanding post
it says something about the man and his many actions/comments, that I’d forgotten about some of these (drowned out by other extraordinary shenanigans). Several of these would, under previous (more civilised?) times, have seen him nowhere near the presidential nominations in the first place, held to account properly, or removed from the nomination for the next election. Not at the moment :rolleyes:
I doubt any of these new revelation will hurt trump with his base but they stop his numbers from climbing.
08-09-2020, 09:20 AM
Donald J. Trump @realDonaldTrump
Starting to get VERY high marks in our handling of the Coronavirus (China Virus), especially when compared to other countries and areas of the world. Now the Vaccines (Plus) are coming, and fast!
He's seen his pal Vlad license a vaccine. Trump defo going to go for it before the election!
08-09-2020, 09:27 AM
Does Trump actually think this is 'all about the numbers'?
Does he really consider over 170k Americans dying from Covid-19 mean they've handled it well?
08-09-2020, 09:32 AM
He's seen his pal Vlad license a vaccine. Trump defo going to go for it before the election!
I don’t think that will move many voters though.
08-09-2020, 10:23 AM
Does Trump actually think this is 'all about the numbers'?
Does he really consider over 170k Americans dying from Covid-19 mean they've handled it well?
What difference does 170k dead Americans make. They are all suckers and losers for dying in the first place.
Or something like that.
08-09-2020, 11:04 AM
If it was down to him alone that would be a certainty.
But he is beholden to the FDA and of course the pharma companies themselves. Just today the leaders in the industry have came out in support of proper due process.
08-09-2020, 02:17 PM
If it was down to him alone that would be a certainty.
But he is beholden to the FDA and of course the pharma companies themselves. Just today the leaders in the industry have came out in support of proper due process.
He'll just turn it around and say that they're withholding a vaccine to undermine him.
08-09-2020, 04:09 PM
https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/is-trump-s-campaign-running-out-of-cash-/amp?__twitter_impression=true
Trump campaign struggling to raise money.
08-09-2020, 04:21 PM
https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/is-trump-s-campaign-running-out-of-cash-/amp?__twitter_impression=true
Trump campaign struggling to raise money.
Have they seriously already spent $800M on his 2020 re-election campaign?
That's crazy money.
08-09-2020, 06:37 PM
Have they seriously already spent $800M on his 2020 re-election campaign?
That's crazy money.
Those Russian bots don't come cheap you know :greengrin
09-09-2020, 10:05 AM
BREAKING: Donald Trump nominated for Nobel Peace Prize https://t.co/7XhwTveIn5
09-09-2020, 10:12 AM
State of this an aw[emoji23][emoji23]
“Trump and his closest people..” weren’t most of Trumps former closest people all convicted for perjury and obstruction of justice[emoji23][emoji1782]Or sacked by Trump, a few even had the integrity or sense of self preservation to resign fairly quickly.
09-09-2020, 10:31 AM
BREAKING: Donald Trump nominated for Nobel Peace Prize https://t.co/7XhwTveIn5
I think there's merit in that.
Discuss 😀
09-09-2020, 10:52 AM
Discuss [emoji3]Other prizes are available.
How much does this one cost?
09-09-2020, 11:09 AM
Discuss 😀
It's mostly the irony of one of the biggest advocates of firearms being nominated for a peace prize*.
* Yeah, I know what Nobel is most famous for.
09-09-2020, 11:16 AM
Discuss 😀
The embassy move to Jerusalem was a real ice breaker. Still, what's a few dead Palestinians versus a Nobel peace prize.
10-09-2020, 09:56 AM
Trump’s quotes in Bob Woodward’s new book Rage areinteresting if not surprising. What does seem surprising is that Trump hasalready characterised it as a “political hit job by rapidly fading Bob Woodward”,yet he supposedly gave 18 interviews for it. This despite similarly dismissivecomments on Woodward’s previous book Fear, in which he called the book “fiction”and dismissed Woodward as a liar.
I think its narcissism, he can't deal with any criticism, but can't resist an opportunity to be the centre of attention even when he must know its likely to lead to criticism
10-09-2020, 11:00 AM
https://twitter.com/JoyAnnReid/status/1303792721304453123?s=19
So um, this isn't great.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
https://twitter.com/JoyAnnReid/status/1303792721304453123?s=19
So um, this isn't great.
No idea about how Biden has been campaigning so far (positive/negative), but I bet his people will be pushing him hard to shout about this from the rooftops
10-09-2020, 01:02 PM
No idea about how Biden has been campaigning so far (positive/negative), but I bet his people will be pushing him hard to shout about this from the rooftops
They will but the numbers have been static for months now. I can’t see it changing much between now and then no matter how bad the revelations about Trump.
10-09-2020, 03:23 PM
https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/2020/09/08/politics/ad-spending-joe-biden-donald-trump/index.html?__twitter_impression=true
More evidence Trump campaign is struggling for cash.
1875godsgift
10-09-2020, 11:47 PM
https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/2020/09/08/politics/ad-spending-joe-biden-donald-trump/index.html?__twitter_impression=true
More evidence Trump campaign is struggling for cash.
'Ad spending doesn't equal victory. If it did, Hillary Clinton would be readying her final sprint for a second term. But 95% of the time (and maybe even higher), the candidate spending more on convincing voters to choose them wins.'
That's a depressing statistic right there.
11-09-2020, 11:19 AM
Fortunate Son - A song about rich kids avoiding going to Vietnam (or any war) plays as Trump arrives for a rally.
Top Level Irony.
https://www.nme.com/news/music/donald-trump-mocked-for-absolute-irony-of-playing-fortunate-son-at-rally-2750668
11-09-2020, 12:05 PM
Fortunate Son - A song about rich kids avoiding going to Vietnam (or any war) plays as Trump arrives for a rally.
Top Level Irony.
https://www.nme.com/news/music/donald-trump-mocked-for-absolute-irony-of-playing-fortunate-son-at-rally-2750668
I often wonder if there are people in his campaign taking the piss out of him? It’s not like you could not know what that song is about?
Class bit of music though.
12-09-2020, 06:54 AM
Top Level Irony.
He's most likely proud of being a rich son and proud that he wasn't one of the "suckers" that did national service.
13-09-2020, 05:29 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/sep/13/roger-stone-to-donald-trump-bring-in-martial-law-if-you-lose-election?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true
Terrifying.
13-09-2020, 06:46 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/sep/13/roger-stone-to-donald-trump-bring-in-martial-law-if-you-lose-election?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true
Terrifying.
The inflammatory language and the gun happy nut jobs. What can go wrong.
13-09-2020, 08:32 AM
The inflammatory language and the gun happy nut jobs. What can go wrong.
What kind of weirdo has a Richard Nixon tattoo down their back? :faf:
13-09-2020, 04:43 PM
Terrifying.
You do worry if the US might be the edge of a pretty terrifying implosion just now.
16-09-2020, 07:17 AM
Good news! The virus is going to go away without a vaccine because of “herd mentality”.
16-09-2020, 07:32 AM
Good news! The virus is going to go away without a vaccine because of “herd mentality”.
I just watched that interview - I’m sure he started his sentence with turd and then corrected himself as well??
16-09-2020, 10:21 AM
I just watched that interview - I’m sure he started his sentence with turd and then corrected himself as well??
And it's apparently Sleepy Joe Biden's fault that the country didn't implement a law that requires people to wear face masks.
You know, Joe Biden, the guy that's not actually the President.
16-09-2020, 10:49 AM
I really cannot stand him. Just the sight of him is sickening, and that's before he opens his stupid mouth.
16-09-2020, 11:53 AM
And it's apparently Sleepy Joe Biden's fault that the country didn't implement a law that requires people to wear face masks.
You know, Joe Biden, the guy that's not actually the President.
The guy that's been wearing a face mask and the guy that Trump has derided for doing so?
How does that work?
16-09-2020, 11:54 AM
I really cannot stand him. Just the sight of him is sickening, and that's before he opens his stupid mouth.
I have the same reaction when I see him.
I despise absolutely everything about him.
The guy that's been wearing a face mask and the guy that Trump has derided for doing so?
How does that work?
It's really quite stunning, and frightening, how much Trump can rationalise saying and doing things that are so obviously at odds with each other, this being a prime example.
16-09-2020, 12:01 PM
It's really quite stunning, and frightening, how much Trump can rationalise saying and doing things that are so obviously at odds with each other, this being a prime example.
More frightening is that his followers don’t know/don’t care or manage to justify it somehow. He could literally squat on their table and s*** in their cornflakes and they would still say “Trump 2020”
TheReg!
16-09-2020, 07:44 PM
4 more years 🇺🇸
16-09-2020, 08:16 PM
4 more years 🇺🇸
Well thought out and in depth response. Usual trump supporter.
16-09-2020, 08:20 PM
4 more years 🇺🇸
I'm not sure the US will last that long if he's in charge. :greengrin
17-09-2020, 12:01 PM
A 26th woman has accused Trump of sexual assault:
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/sep/17/donald-trump-accused-of-sexual-assault-by-former-model-amy-dorris
More frightening is that his followers don’t know/don’t care or manage to justify it somehow. He could literally squat on their table and s*** in their cornflakes and they would still say “Trump 2020”
Very true mate
Time to re-read 1984
21-09-2020, 05:09 PM
A 26th woman has accused Trump of sexual assault:
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/sep/17/donald-trump-accused-of-sexual-assault-by-former-model-amy-dorris
My first thought when I read that article was, why wait twenty three years before going public about it?
Also, why did she then spend the next three days or so going to various events with Trump, including a return to his private box at the US Open?
I hate to sound cynical about this because, if it's true, that's a deplorable way for anybody to behave... and I'm definitely not saying that it didn't happen (there's been so many accusations now that I'd find it hard to believe he's not a sexual predator).
21-09-2020, 05:47 PM
My first thought when I read that article was, why wait twenty three years before going public about it?
Also, why did she then spend the next three days or so going to various events with Trump, including a return to his private box at the US Open?
I hate to sound cynical about this because, if it's true, that's a deplorable way for anybody to behave... and I'm definitely not saying that it didn't happen (there's been so many accusations now that I'd find it hard to believe he's not a sexual predator).
You don’t have to look too far to see why any woman is reluctant to come forward with allegations against powerful men.
21-09-2020, 05:56 PM
You don’t have to look too far to see why any woman is reluctant to come forward with allegations against powerful men.
Yeah, you're right, it's probably just that.
22-09-2020, 06:58 PM
On the day that the US reaches 200,000 Covid deaths, Trump goes on the attack at the UN
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/sep/22/trump-china-xi-beijing-united-nations
Deflecting the blame in light of the upcoming election?
Tobias Funke
22-09-2020, 07:07 PM
On the day that the US reaches 200,000 Covid deaths, Trump goes on the attack at the UN
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/sep/22/trump-china-xi-beijing-united-nations
Trump deflecting blame? Surely not.
China seems to have dealt with the problem quite well and they didn’t get the prior warning (ignored) that the US got.
23-09-2020, 03:47 PM
Trump deflecting blame? Surely not.
A picture tells a thousand words.
23-09-2020, 04:41 PM
A picture tells a thousand words.
If that's accurate, it's incredible. And damning.
23-09-2020, 08:51 PM
If that's accurate, it's incredible. And damning.
I took both maps from separate sources, I've no reason to believe they're inaccurate.
23-09-2020, 10:31 PM
I took both maps from separate sources, I've no reason to believe they're inaccurate.
Good work!
24-09-2020, 07:11 AM
https://twitter.com/nbcnews/status/1308902276187262978?s=21
24-09-2020, 08:23 AM
Pretty sure I said a long way back in this thread that this was always his plan.
Civil war is coming.
Putin is gonna destabilise them without a drop of Russian blood spilt.
24-09-2020, 09:01 PM
Ironic approach, given it's only a week or so since his AG said protestors should be charged with sedition. A Trump refusal to leave after losing the election would, IMO, be sedition.
Tobias Funke
25-09-2020, 12:19 AM
https://youtu.be/Su4dvYmpKy4
Bill Maher predicting Trump not leaving office quietly if he loses, this interview was in June last year.
Even if he loses by a landslide he won’t leave, he’s been sewing the seeds of doubt for months now with the “fraudulent” mail in ballots bullsh*t. He’s got a corrupt AG on his side and is pushing for a hard right appointment in the Supreme Court to balance things in his favour. He’s making all the moves he needs to fudge a victory. He’s a cheating fat canute so DO NOT rule out him losing and still being president for another four years.
25-09-2020, 05:01 AM
Bill Maher predicting Trump not leaving office quietly if he loses, this interview was in June last year.
Even if he loses by a landslide he won’t leave, he’s been sewing the seeds of doubt for months now with the “fraudulent” mail in ballots bullsh*t. He’s got a corrupt AG on his side and is pushing for a hard right appointment in the Supreme Court to balance things in his favour. He’s making all the moves he needs to fudge a victory. He’s a cheating fat canute so DO NOT rule out him losing and still being president for another four years.
If he somehow cheats his way into 4 more years then it won't stop at that. If he's still alive for 2024 he'll 'win' that, followed by Don Junior or Ivanka in 2028.
25-09-2020, 12:48 PM
Lunatics
https://youtu.be/zFeYLKbsyJM
25-09-2020, 01:03 PM
If he somehow cheats his way into 4 more years then it won't stop at that. If he's still alive for 2024 he'll 'win' that, followed by Don Junior or Ivanka in 2028.
Jeezo, from A****a to Ivanka, what a thought.
25-09-2020, 01:15 PM
Jeezo, from A****a to Ivanka, what a thought.
I think he will lose and leave office kicking and screaming but unless the Trump organisation is brought to its knees with massive fraud cases that result in charges against the children then there is a good chance one of them wins the republican nomination in 2024. The brand is strong with racists.
25-09-2020, 01:17 PM
It shouldn’t matter whether HE decides to accept the result, the tripartite structure of government should mean he has no choice in the matter. Lindsay Graham and McConnell fairly quickly contradicted Trump the other day, which suggests there is still a tiny sliver of sanity left in the GOP.
The main fight for both presidential and senate elections in November will be between the party who wants maximum enfranchisement, against a second party who wants to keep voters away, which is a remarkable position for a supposedly functional democracy.
25-09-2020, 05:16 PM
If he loses in anything other than a Bush/Gore Florida hanging chads tiny margin kind of way then I have no doubt that regardless of what he is saying now, he will be faced down by both the House of Representatives and the Senate quickly and effectively and then escorted from the White House by the Secret Service whether he likes it or not.
It is one thing to bull**** your crap while you are the President, it is altogether another to try that on when you have lost a democratic election. In that scenario he would lose enough elected Republicans (and supporters) to torch his own position.
If he loses in anything other than a Bush/Gore Florida hanging chads tiny margin kind of way then I have no doubt that regardless of what he is saying now, he will be faced down by both the House of Representatives and the Senate quickly and effectively and then escorted from the White House by the Secret Service whether he likes it or not.
Donny the President
Packed his bags
And said goodbye
To the Whitehouse
Off he went...etc
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Interesting to see Biden channeling Harding with his ‘return to normalcy’ line.
Harding was a very popular president who saw of the nationalism of WW1 politics and heralded the Roaring 20s boom.
Died in office after 2 years.
Harris is no Coolidge, though.
25-09-2020, 07:38 PM
It shouldn’t matter whether HE decides to accept the result, the tripartite structure of government should mean he has no choice in the matter. Lindsay Graham and McConnell fairly quickly contradicted Trump the other day, which suggests there is still a tiny sliver of sanity left in the GOP.
The main fight for both presidential and senate elections in November will be between the party who wants maximum enfranchisement, against a second party who wants to keep voters away, which is a remarkable position for a supposedly functional democracy.
I would take what Graham and McConnell said with a huge grain of salt given their public statements on Supreme Court Justices.
I've noted McConnell talked about "the winner" being inaugurated. Trumps tactic will be to query the Biden win. Ultimately it would go to the Supreme Court which is now packed with Republican judges. They will then declare Trump the winner.
The above scenario is fanciful I realise but I think if Trump has shown anything, it's that the Republican party have no morals or backbone.
25-09-2020, 07:59 PM
I would take what Graham and McConnell said with a huge grain of salt given their public statements on Supreme Court Justices.
I've noted McConnell talked about "the winner" being inaugurated. Trumps tactic will be to query the Biden win. Ultimately it would go to the Supreme Court which is now packed with Republican judges. They will then declare Trump the winner.
The above scenario is fanciful I realise but I think if Trump has shown anything, it's that the Republican party have no morals or backbone.
Yes, that’s true, and I don’t take either of their word as tablets of stone. And Lindsey Graham is almost pathological about turning his back on previous promises. But he needs centrist votes to stay in his tight senate race in South Carolina. And it’s better than a statement of the opposite intent.
There’s a Johnathan Freedland piece in a similar vein https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/sep/25/donald-trump-democracy-america-conservatives-power-us
and suggesting that liberal states could ‘break off’ from a future authoritarian federation. Which isn’t that fanciful. What does Alabama really have in common with California?
28-09-2020, 10:22 AM
https://twitter.com/someknew/status/1310266060491206657?s=21
For anyone not feeling very clever this morning, this should sort you out.
28-09-2020, 10:41 AM
Look alike the tax return story is out.... Not looking particulary good reading for Trump. Donald or Ivanka
28-09-2020, 10:50 AM
He has demanded Joe Bidden undertakes a drug test before the debate tomorrow.
28-09-2020, 10:55 AM
He's off his head
28-09-2020, 11:03 AM
Performance enhancing drugs for a debate are...
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkPoor f*****s.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
28-09-2020, 11:24 AM
Look alike the tax return story is out.... Not looking particulary good reading for Trump. Donald or Ivanka
New York Times expose: he's broke; hundreds of millions in debt; pays no taxes; fraud and corruption. I wonder why he's been refusing to release his returns? :greengrin
https://youtu.be/OC-23kldIp8
28-09-2020, 11:28 AM
It's a pity the camera shot is so high. It would interest me to see if these guys have opposing thumbs.
28-09-2020, 11:34 AM
Should take one himself, I'm sure it's a pretty well known rumour that Trump is off his tits on adderall, that and Jnr looks off his face on coke anytime he's on tv
28-09-2020, 11:41 AM
Well, no, go to any meeting of people who support Johnson or Brexit and you'll get the same level of person as on this video.
Unfortunately, the worst politicians for the people have now realised that to win power you don't need to convince the people who know what they're talking about, but instead sway the stupidest people in the country to blame people different to them in terms of colour, gender, sexuality, country of origin and say that they'll sort that out.
28-09-2020, 11:50 AM
Has anyone watched Succession on Sky?
Makes me think of the Trumps
Surprised if that's not what it's based on
28-09-2020, 12:51 PM
Has anyone watched Succession on Sky?
Makes me think of the Trumps
Surprised if that's not what it's based on
It’s based fairly accurately on the murdochs.
28-09-2020, 12:56 PM
https://youtu.be/r5p80ulfvXk
28-09-2020, 01:19 PM
It's almost impressive that such a charlatan as Trump has been able to so consistently lie and blunder his way through a presidency by simply making stuff up and dismissing evidence against him as fake.
How have we got to a point where that can happen?
28-09-2020, 01:40 PM
It's almost impressive that such a charlatan as Trump has been able to so consistently lie and blunder his way through a presidency by simply making stuff up and dismissing evidence against him as fake.
The political divide has got so vicious and entrenched in the US that I doubt that even 1% of Trump supporters care if he stole from the IRS. I bet they think It’s a sign of ingenuity on his part. Supporting Trump has become existential, he could do anything and it wouldn’t be as bad as the various bogeymen he’s created in the minds of the Trump voters.
28-09-2020, 01:57 PM
Severe underfunding of public education; a culture of anti-intellectualism; enormous right wing media presence, especially on talk radio, which millions listen to; demonisation of anything progressive; political system bought by billionaires; the growth and power of the evangelical right, which is really an arm of the Republican party; growing economic distress which has made people susceptible to demagogues.
So many factors feeding into the creation of someone like Trump.
28-09-2020, 02:29 PM
That’s absolutely hilarious and rather terrifying at the same time!
What’s even worse is, for the life of me, I cannot understand what Trump has done to deserve such adulation / unquestionable following, it’s genuinely quite staggering.
Dan Sarf
28-09-2020, 02:49 PM
I feel this is worth a look if you want a more balanced assessment of The Donald...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhDz8xMXU8s
(Does he perchance support The Rangers?)
Tobias Funke
28-09-2020, 06:08 PM
If the tax returns exclusive in the NYT is “fake news” then all he has to do to prove it is to release them, surely?
Not an effin chance of that happening.
28-09-2020, 07:09 PM
If the tax returns exclusive in the NYT is “fake news” then all he has to do to prove it is to release them, surely?
Not an effin chance of that happening.
Or he could sue the NYT for libel, which would mean all the documents being released in court. Let's see if he litigates...
28-09-2020, 07:49 PM
Not an effin chance of that happening.Cant
In audit. (still)
[emoji848]
29-09-2020, 06:32 AM
Cant
In audit. (still)
[emoji848]
Even if they are under audit (which IRS won’t confirm either way) there’s nothing to stop him releasing them.
29-09-2020, 07:03 AM
Even if they are under audit (which IRS won’t confirm either way) there’s nothing to stop him releasing them.Yeah there is
You are forgetting SLEEPY JOE! and FAKE NEWS!!
30-09-2020, 02:00 AM
Anybody else watching the Presidential ‘debate’?Trump is being Trump and just disrupting proceedings but it’s working. Biden is struggling to land any sort of blow.
30-09-2020, 06:11 AM
Anybody else watching the Presidential ‘debate’?Trump is being Trump and just disrupting proceedings but it’s working. Biden is struggling to land any sort of blow.
Didn't watch it but from what I've seen of Biden I remain baffled he's the best the Democrats could come up with after four years.
30-09-2020, 06:12 AM
It was just a mess. I'm not sure what Biden can do really. He either let's Trump talk over him and shows he's weak or stands up to him and is accused of stooping to Trump's level.
I'm not sure what the point is in another 2 of these. The moderator needs to be much, much firmer and if necessary, cut the mic of someone if they refuse to follow the process.
The whole thing was a shocking indictment of what America has become under Trump.
30-09-2020, 06:14 AM
Didn't watch it but from what I've seen of Biden I remain baffled he's the best the Democrats could come up with after four years.
He's a safe, middle of the road candidate. I'm not his biggest fan but he'll provide a bit of stability and experience in office after the last 4 years.
30-09-2020, 06:18 AM
I thought Trump actually played into Bidens hands a bit. All the chat has been that Biden would crack under the pressure of debate and show he was toiling cognitively. Trump constantly interrupting and cutting him off essentially stopped him saying anything that could have been used as a stick to beat him. The nasty dismissal of Bidens sons military service won't have gone down well with some of the floating voters either. Essentially saying I don't know who your dead son is and I don't care either isn't a good look.
If it was a football match I'd call it a scrappy 1-0 for Biden thanks to a defensive error.
HibernianJK
30-09-2020, 06:23 AM
Lasted about 20 minutes. Whenever Biden was allowed time to put an answer together he did pretty well. Trump said absolutely nothing of substance.
1-0 Biden.
30-09-2020, 06:31 AM
The whole thing was a shocking indictment of what America has become under Trump.
Trump's in a tricky position. Go to jail or conflagrate the US? :hmmm:
30-09-2020, 06:39 AM
He is a terrible candidate. He was very lucky last night. Trumps constant interruptions allowed him to gather his thoughts before he bumbled by saying something he shouldn’t.
Still, another two nights like last night and he should be home free. He just has to avoid errors and last night he did it.
30-09-2020, 06:47 AM
Trump said absolutely nothing of substance.
Disagree. His inability to condemn white supremacist groups is playing to his supporters and says a lot about his tactics for the months ahead, I don’t know if he’s looking to mobilise them or what.
The man wants civil war if he loses. It’s horrific.
30-09-2020, 06:59 AM
Disagree. His inability to condemn white supremacist groups is playing to his supporters and says a lot about his tactics for the months ahead, I don’t know if he’s looking to mobilise them or what.
The man wants civil war if he loses. It’s horrific.
Richard Wolffe just pointing out his response to the question about the far right and the Proud boys. Not only did he ‘not condemn’ the far right, he explicitly said ‘they should stand down and stand by’. Really astonishing we’re at this place. The media hasn’t headlined it, maybe because it’s so impossible to engage with.
How big is this group? Where is their base?
Does he think they are his Sturmabteilung?
30-09-2020, 07:10 AM
JB doesn’t need to do anything in the debates orher than have no catastrophic **** ups. Trump trails by 7%-ish and has done all year.
30-09-2020, 07:13 AM
JB doesn’t need to do anything in the debates orher than have no catastrophic **** ups. Trump trails by 7%-ish and has done all year.
Whether that's a big lead depends on where the 7% lives, though, because of the ****ed up Electoral College system.
30-09-2020, 07:21 AM
I don’t think any of them won, both men just confirmed. what their supporters already knew. Neither man did enough to win over a sizeable number of undecided voters. Trump will have upset some with his attack on Biden’s son and his refusal to condemn white supremacist groups but the American public have seen it all before, it no longer shocks. If that sort of behaviour hasn’t already alienated floating voters then it isn’t go to do so now.
30-09-2020, 07:22 AM
Whether that's a big lead depends on where the 7% lives, though, because of the ****ed up Electoral College system.
True. But he’s ahead in almost all the battleground states as well.
30-09-2020, 07:25 AM
I don’t think any of them won, both men just confirmed. what their supporters already knew. Neither man did enough to win over a sizeable number of undecided voters. Trump will have upset some with his attack on Biden’s son and his refusal to condemn white supremacist groups but the American public have seen it all before, it no longer shocks. If that sort of behaviour hasn’t already alienated floating voters then it isn’t go to do so now.
I don’t think there are many floating voters out there. Trump has a solid base but anti-Trump is just as solid on the other side. He has had a -ve approval rating for all but the first 2 weeks of his presidency. That’s unprecedented.
30-09-2020, 07:32 AM
I don’t think there are many undecideds left to fight over.
30-09-2020, 07:41 AM
I also don't think there are many undecided votes from a Trump/Biden perspective but there are a sizeable chunk of people who aren't voting at all or are going 3rd party, they are probably trying to make a play for them as it could make all the difference
30-09-2020, 07:45 AM
Trump is going to win again.
We clearly haven't suffered enough yet. Four more years of this lunatic plus Boris plus Brexit plus Corona.
30-09-2020, 07:50 AM
I suspect he'll win too. Its astonishing the Democrat party couldnt come up with anything better for the last 2 elections.
Even if Biden wins somehow I'm convinced Trump has whipped his base not to accept it no matter what.
Civil unrest is gonna dominate the next few years.
30-09-2020, 07:52 AM
I guess like all those groups, their base is the internet. 15,000-20,000 (Presumably heavily armed) members nationwide. That’s a tiny number of voters in the scale of things. He’s courting their approval because he wants them on the streets causing trouble, why else would it be?
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.nytimes.com/2020/09/11/us/politics/veterans-trump-protests-militias.amp.html
30-09-2020, 07:58 AM
I'm sure plenty would-be Democrat candidates just didn't fancy it this time round, given the state of the US and the world. Politicians, eh? And they'll yabber about how they want to change things, improve things.
30-09-2020, 08:00 AM
I was really disappointed with Biden. Trump was just Trump - a repulsive lying bully. Biden didn’t command any sort of authority when he spoke, although I thought he did better when he addressed the viewers, which he did much better than Trump.
Shame on America that this is the best they have to offer, when you think out how many brilliant people they have in their population.
30-09-2020, 08:12 AM
I'm in the middle of reading I Heard You Paint Houses, the book that inspired The Irishman.
In it, Frank Sheeran suggests that Biden's initial election in Delaware was aided/assured by the Mob.
Perhaps one for Trump to use later in the campaign?
30-09-2020, 08:13 AM
Trump is going to win again.
We clearly haven't suffered enough yet. Four more years of this lunatic plus Boris plus Brexit plus Corona.
Based on what evidence?
30-09-2020, 08:31 AM
I suspect he'll win too. Its astonishing the Democrat party couldnt come up with anything better for the last 2 elections.
Even if Biden wins somehow I'm convinced Trump has whipped his base not to accept it no matter what.
Civil unrest is gonna dominate the next few years.
I think Biden will win but I agree with the last 2 paragraphs. I genuinely believe Trump will leave a country that is almost ungovernable.
Normally when a party loses it accepts the defeat and tries to renew and understand where it went wrong - see Keir Starmer. It also then breaks away from the losing candidate and forms a new agenda.
Trumpism doesn't allow for reflection, admitting errors, evaluation or anything other than Trump. He has captured the Republican party and a sizeable chunk of the electorate. He will want to run again in 2024 and he's crushed all before him in the party so will absolutely win the Republican nomination again.
He's set the stage for not accepting the result, which is a call for Republicans and his supporters to do everything they can against the Democrats agenda. And I don't mean legally. America is in for some very tough years ahead.
30-09-2020, 09:53 AM
Full 'debate' here, if you can bear it. I've never seen anything like it; Trump was unhinged, often shouting and interrupting; he even refused to condemn white supremacist groups, nor say he will accept the election result. Biden tried to keep his cool, but he couldn't get a word in at times. I thought Chris Wallace (Fox News) failed to keep Trump under control. What a mess.
https://youtu.be/yHFI8TsSKXY
30-09-2020, 10:23 AM
I think Biden will win but I agree with the last 2 paragraphs. I genuinely believe Trump will leave a country that is almost ungovernable.
Normally when a party loses it accepts the defeat and tries to renew and understand where it went wrong - see Keir Starmer. It also then breaks away from the losing candidate and forms a new agenda.
Trumpism doesn't allow for reflection, admitting errors, evaluation or anything other than Trump. He has captured the Republican party and a sizeable chunk of the electorate. He will want to run again in 2024 and he's crushed all before him in the party so will absolutely win the Republican nomination again.
He's set the stage for not accepting the result, which is a call for Republicans and his supporters to do everything they can against the Democrats agenda. And I don't mean legally. America is in for some very tough years ahead.
The constitution only allows for 2 terms doesnt it?
30-09-2020, 10:41 AM
The Two term limit is an amendment to the constitution and the President can ask the Senate to repeal it. Reagan wanted to. Trumps already said he wants to run for 14 years.
Another reason why the key senate elections are worth watching in November. Over and above the judiciary thing.
30-09-2020, 10:47 AM
The Two term limit is an amendment to the constitution and the President can ask the Senate to repeal it. Reagan wanted to. Trumps already said he wants to run for 14 years.
Another reason why the key senate elections are worth watching in November. Over and above the judiciary thing.
Hence the rush to appoint another SCOTUS judge.
30-09-2020, 11:15 AM
The issue is that in these modern times it doesn't require to be a big group. Whether it's through IT based terrorism (e.g. DDos attacks, hacking), 'lone wolves' (e.g. the guy who drove a car into a group of protesters in the States a few years back) or more, this is a potentially horrendous thing for Trump to stoke up.
He's a huge threat to the security of the United States.
McSwanky
30-09-2020, 11:28 AM
I always watch the exchange odds to try and gauge who 'won' these exchanges, and Biden's odds have shortened in to around 3/5 from 4/5 a few weeks ago, so I guess the markets think he's doing ok. Still wouldn't be surprised to see Trump winning come November though.
30-09-2020, 01:00 PM
I think I was a bit unclear in my earlier post. As others have mentioned, if Trump wins he's in theory restricted to 8 years but as others have pointed out, that can be changed
My point was actually if Trump loses. Normally a candidate will shuffle off, build their library, occasionally dip into politics and the party will rebuild and renew.
Trump isn't going anywhere if he loses. This is where his autocratic tendencies come in. He can run again in 2024. Does anyone think he'll walk away quietly? He's already said he won't concede.
There will be legal challenges, talk of a stolen election, and the Republicans are all abroad the Trump train. What are they going to do in this situation? He's built up a strong base of support, all politicians are behind him and he will not let the Republicans go. He's going to maintain control of the party as he's not allowed anyone else to have the spotlight - there is no other power in the party any more.
I think my point is even if he loses he and his supporters will be fomenting chaos and division for years to come.
30-09-2020, 01:20 PM
I think I was a bit unclear in my earlier post. As others have mentioned, if Trump wins he's in theory restricted to 8 years but as others have pointed out, that can be changed
My point was actually if Trump loses. Normally a candidate will shuffle off, build their library, occasionally dip into politics and the party will rebuild and renew.
Trump isn't going anywhere if he loses. This is where his autocratic tendencies come in. He can run again in 2024. Does anyone think he'll walk away quietly? He's already said he won't concede.
There will be legal challenges, talk of a stolen election, and the Republicans are all abroad the Trump train. What are they going to do in this situation? He's built up a strong base of support, all politicians are behind him and he will not let the Republicans go. He's going to maintain control of the party as he's not allowed anyone else to have the spotlight - there is no other power in the party any more.
I think my point is even if he loses he and his supporters will be fomenting chaos and division for years to come.
He's already dropped it in to interviews, I couldn't find the original clip but there was mention and a clip of it on Frankie Boyles show a couple of years ago.
He has built up a base of support that isn't just rabid in their support, but armed to the ****ing teeth too. He has a militia of civilians who have already been seen on the streets of American cities.
Add to that he has already curated the idea that if he doesn't win it will be because of the corrupt postal ballot system, something that a lot of states will be using this year because of corona, and he has provided the means for his supporters to justify violence.
I think Trump is going to win again, but either way this will be very very ugly.
30-09-2020, 01:33 PM
I always watch the exchange odds to try and gauge who 'won' these exchanges, and Biden's odds have shortened in to around 3/5 from 4/5 a few weeks ago, so I guess the markets think he's doing ok. Still wouldn't be surprised to see Trump winning come November though.
Trump will lose the popular vote, probably by more than the three million votes Clinton beat him by. His path to victory once again is the electoral college: a combined 80,000 vote victory in three swing states got him over the line in 2016. He has to hold them to win. He is already calling the election a fraud, before polling day. If it's close, things could get very ugly.
30-09-2020, 02:16 PM
I'm sure plenty would-be Democrat candidates just didn't fancy it this time round, given the state of the US and the world. Politicians, eh? And they'll yabber about how they want to change things, improve things.
The number of major Democratic candidates for the nomination was the highest from any party in nearly fifty years.
30-09-2020, 02:21 PM
The number of major Democratic candidates for the nomination was the highest from any party in nearly fifty years.
I felt o’rourke would probably have been best placed to take him on but he made a complete mess of his campaign.
I think Biden will get it done though but will only be a one term president and there will be challengers to Harris in 2024. And unless the Trump organisation collapses under massive legal pressure the they will be up against a Trump.
30-09-2020, 02:57 PM
The polls are showing the same. Biden only had an 83% chance of winning the other day but it's 87% now.
You have to wonder how anyone who isn't white would vote for him after last night.
30-09-2020, 03:04 PM
The polls are showing the same. Biden only had an 83% chance of winning the other day but it's 87% now.
You have to wonder how anyone who isn't white would vote for him after last night.
Why anyone who isn't a white supremacist would vote for him.
30-09-2020, 03:07 PM
You have to wonder how anyone who isn't stupid would vote for him, whether before or after last night. I know last time round Clinton referred to his support as deplorable and it backfired on her badly, but describing his core support as deplorable is pretty accurate, with the only real defence against that charge being a lack of intelligence to know any better.
30-09-2020, 03:08 PM
Trump will lose the popular vote, probably by more than the three million votes Clinton beat him by. His path to victory once again is the electoral college: a combined 80,000 vote victory in three swing states got him over the line in 2016. He has to hold them to win. He is already calling the election a fraud, before polling day. If it's close, things could get very ugly.
What a democracy the USA is, they criticise other countries elections but they have a system where you poll less votes than your opponent but win the election. The electoral college should have been got rid of 50 years ago. Remember the Florida debacle a few years ago.
Americans think everything they do or the way they do it is the best way ever and can't possibly be done in a better/fairer/more sensible way. Everything they do/produce/act/operate is the best way. :rolleyes:
30-09-2020, 04:11 PM
Americans think everything they do or the way they do it is the best way ever and can't possibly be done in a better/fairer/more sensible way. Everything they do/produce/act/operate is the best way. :rolleyes:
Our system has its faults as we do not have PR but that is another issue. I fear for the future of America if he gets in again. Biden is too old and should not have been chosen by the Democrats(not being Ageist). I think the Donald will probably get in again.
30-09-2020, 04:12 PM
I'm sure Boris will disagree with that. He has world beating testing systems donchno.
30-09-2020, 04:30 PM
In our country, we could end up with a Prime Minister whose party received fewer votes than another party.
30-09-2020, 04:50 PM
Its worth pointing out again the majority of Americans vote Democrat, 6 out of the last 7 presidential elections going back to the late 1980s, with the only exception being Dubyas second term in 2004, the Democrats have won the popular vote.
30-09-2020, 06:04 PM
But were any of them any of the talented ones? :-) Based on that I can only assume that the Democrats are in a bad way.
30-09-2020, 06:13 PM
In our country, we could end up with a Prime Minister whose party received fewer votes than another party.
I know I did say that ours is not perfect as we do not have PR. The American election is a two horse race and should be decided by a simple majority person with most votes get elected. UKIP got a few million votes in a recent general election but only 1 MP,not that I am a UKIP supporter.
30-09-2020, 07:07 PM
It also allows non consecutive two term Presidents.
He could lose this year and could be back like a bad rash in 2024.
If he wins, expect Don Jr or Ivanka to run in 2024.
30-09-2020, 07:28 PM
I didn’t know that 👍 I knew Bill Clinton wanted to make that change but didn’t know it’d been ratified.
30-09-2020, 07:29 PM
If he loses, a lot could happen in the subsequent three/four years.
30-09-2020, 07:34 PM
If he loses, a lot could happen in the subsequent three/four years.
There will be a lot of legal bills that’s for sure...
30-09-2020, 07:39 PM
But were any of them any of the talented ones? :-) Based on that I can only assume that the Democrats are in a bad way.
Based on what? You have asked a question then turned it into a presumption.
Your original post was that a lot of potential Democratic candidates didn't put themselves forward, whereas it was the biggest field from either side since 1972.
Maybe if you checked who had put themselves forward, you wouldn't have to 'assume' and you could more accurately state what the field was like.
30-09-2020, 07:51 PM
Based on what? You have asked a question then turned it into a presumption.
Your original post was that a lot of potential Democratic candidates didn't put themselves forward, whereas it was the biggest field from either side since 1972.
Maybe if you checked who had put themselves forward, you wouldn't have to 'assume' and you could more accurately state what the field was like.
You take things way too seriously, man.
01-10-2020, 08:49 AM
I couldn't decide whether the US election, Trump or this thread was the right place for this.
One of my all time favourite singer songwriters.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quSvEOzZqhI
Watch right to the end.
01-10-2020, 12:51 PM
The Kayleigh Show (otherwise known as The White House Briefing, or Comical Ali part 2) goes live in a couple of hours. Should be a hoot after the debate.
01-10-2020, 03:29 PM
The Kayleigh Show (otherwise known as The White House Briefing, or Comical Ali part 2) goes live in a couple of hours. Should be a hoot after the debate.
She's talking over all the journalists, Trump stylee.
01-10-2020, 03:47 PM
She's talking over all the journalists, Trump stylee.
She's a terrible person, just horrific. Good looking lassie though :wink:
01-10-2020, 03:49 PM
What a car crash that was. Journalists/reporters were better than in the UK versions though.
02-10-2020, 05:52 AM
Confirmed Trump has covid.
-Jonesy-
02-10-2020, 06:02 AM
But it’s a Democrat hoax??
02-10-2020, 06:06 AM
Just announced - shares in Domestos have plummeted!!:greengrin:wink:
02-10-2020, 06:16 AM
I’m sure an obese, 74 year old man will be fine.
02-10-2020, 06:23 AM
If it's genuine I really don't care which way it goes
02-10-2020, 06:36 AM
If it's genuine I really don't care which way it goes
Nah, I really want him humiliated in November. If he does check out, I can see the Trump organisation folding like Maxwell’s did.
He has a lot of debt which needs to be addressed next year.
02-10-2020, 06:53 AM
This will work in Trump's favour. He'll be fine and a sympathy vote from dumbass Americans will win him the election.
02-10-2020, 06:53 AM
Its awfully convenient after the week he's had.
02-10-2020, 06:55 AM
We should afford Trump the same compassion he afforded the circa 210,000 Americans who have so far died due to Covid: "It is what it is".
He's been telling the public masks aren't necessary and the economy must be re-opened etc. It's a very dangerous game; he held another large rally just yesterday. Of course Trump will receive the best health care in the world, unlike the millions of Americans who have no cover.
02-10-2020, 06:57 AM
When Johnson was ill, as much as I dislike the man and his politics, I genuinely hoped for the best with him.
With Trump I just don't care. I don't actively wish serious illness on him but if it happens I'll shrug my shoulders and not give it a 2nd thought. He has shown no compassion for anyone else impacted by covid and seems so lacking in empathy it borders on the psychopathic.
I just hope he hasn't spread this to anyone else who may be severely affected by it.
02-10-2020, 07:00 AM
Less than 14 days until the 2nd debate so surely that has to be cancelled now. He will still be in isolation even if he is fine.
Result for Biden who is ahead after the last one.
Tobias Funke
02-10-2020, 07:00 AM
This will work in Trump's favour. He'll be fine and a sympathy vote from dumbass Americans will win him the election.
It won’t. The dumbass majority are already his base. He needs more than surviving coronavirus to win the election following his cluster**** campaign.
02-10-2020, 07:05 AM
When Johnson was ill, as much as I dislike the man and his politics, I genuinely hoped for the best with him.
With Trump I just don't care. I don't actively wish serious illness on him but if it happens I'll shrug my shoulders and not give it a 2nd thought. He has shown no compassion for anyone else impacted by covid and seems so lacking in empathy it borders on the psychopathic.
I just hope he hasn't spread this to anyone else who may be severely affected by it.
I fully agree. I wouldn't wish Trump dead, despite the disgrace he is, but I'm not going to be a hypocrite and wish him well. I just don't care, in the same way he doesn't care about the thousands of Americans who have died as a result of his appalling handling of the crisis. They are the ones who deserve our sympathy.
02-10-2020, 07:19 AM
Yep. Considering the stream of lies over the last four years you have to be a wee bit sceptical.
02-10-2020, 07:22 AM
Thoughts and prayers
02-10-2020, 07:26 AM
Yep. Considering the stream of lies over the last four years you have to be a wee bit sceptical.
That was my immediate thought.
It's yet another lie designed to help his campaign. When he miraculously recovers, he'll profess himself to be even more of a superman.
02-10-2020, 07:30 AM
That was my first thought, I hate those lying *******s for making cynics out of us all.
02-10-2020, 07:47 AM
I would imagine Biden will need to isolate now as well? Although they were socially distant, he did spend 90 mins in the same room as him?
02-10-2020, 07:52 AM
I would imagine Biden will need to isolate now as well? Although they were socially distant, he did spend 90 mins in the same room as him?
He'll be tested I'd imagine
02-10-2020, 08:00 AM
Awful news, my thoughts are with the virus at this difficult time.
02-10-2020, 08:00 AM
That was my first thought, I hate those lying *******s for making cynics out of us all.
:agree: worst still is that we’re probably right.
02-10-2020, 08:11 AM
Ah...was just going to post something along these lines!
It would be a wee bit strange if this was all a con....would he really want to show a sign of weakness?
Renfrew_Hibby
02-10-2020, 08:11 AM
Perfect for Trump, behind in the polls and the debates were not going to improve that situation as analysis of the first debate has shown so they will now be cancelled.
I would imagine that Harris v Pence will also be cancelled which is a major plus as Harris would have destroyed Pence.
He gets to lie low for a couple of weeks and then just before polling can make a strong recovery and boost his base, turnout and also gain admiration and sympathy from the wider, undecided voter.
02-10-2020, 08:17 AM
Awful news, my thoughts are with the virus at this difficult time.I'm confident It'll reject him.
02-10-2020, 08:40 AM
Surprised his wife has it as well. Doubt they spend more than 10 minutes together a week. She is quite clearly repulsed by him.
Hopefully Harris Vs Pence can go ahead. Pence is one of Trump's biggest enablers and seeing him getting destroyed will be very entertaining.
02-10-2020, 08:47 AM
I don’t think so. Trumps appeal among Republicans (apparently) lies in him being a badass, taking no **** from anyone. An asshole but our asshole, if you like. I don’t think he’ll elicit much sympathy even among his supporters because he wasnt that kind of individual that elicited empathy in the first place.