View Full Version : Upcoming gigs?
Pages :
[
5]
Babyshamble
10-10-2016, 10:22 PM
Arab Strap at the weekend :aok:
The first big weekend ...great tune. Enjoy the gig mate.
11-10-2016, 09:19 PM
Depeche Mode new album and tour announced today. 32 stadium gigs across Europe, including London Olympic Stadium then over to the US and back to Europe for an indoor leg.
Stranraer
13-10-2016, 07:29 AM
Any Hip Hop fans?
The Game is coming to Glasgow on December 21st, got my ticket and a few of us from Stranraer are going up to it.
13-10-2016, 02:38 PM
A gig called "Jingle Ball"(I kid you not) on December 2nd came up on my ticket offers but the lineup looks frightening.
Bruno Mars, Justin Bieber, Britney Spears, Meghan Trainor, Fifth Harmony, Diplo, Alessia Cara, Lukas Graham, Daya and Niall Horan.
Oh, and Bob Dylan just won the Nobel Literature Prize for "having created new poetic expressions within the great American song tradition."
13-10-2016, 02:42 PM
Jean Michel Jarre tomorrow for me.
13-10-2016, 02:42 PM
You'll spend your time watching the screens.
And the sound is poor up there.
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
Agreed. Done 1 gig from the 3rd tier and wouldn't fancy it again. Done a couple from the front of the 2nd tier tho and that was good
patch1875
13-10-2016, 02:51 PM
Depeche Mode new album and tour announced today. 32 stadium gigs across Europe, including London Olympic Stadium then over to the US and back to Europe for an indoor leg.
Pity no Scottish dates.
13-10-2016, 03:40 PM
Any Hip Hop fans?
The Game is coming to Glasgow on December 21st, got my ticket and a few of us from Stranraer are going up to it.
Seen him years ago in glasgow, where is he this time? Also seen him support 50 cent about 10 years ago and was good then as well
13-10-2016, 03:49 PM
Jean Michel Jarre tomorrow for me.Me too. Steve Howe on Saturday.
13-10-2016, 05:24 PM
Jamie T on Monday, then Courteeeners and Blossoms before the end of the year.
Newhaven
13-10-2016, 08:49 PM
How many you doing mate?
14-10-2016, 08:11 AM
Now to try and get my hands on Kraftwerk tickets for June in either Glasgow or Edinburgh.
14-10-2016, 12:47 PM
Super Furry Animals at the limelight in Belfast at the end of November. First night of a tour celebrating the 20th anniversary of the first 2 albums. I can't believe it's been that long. I saw them touring Radiator on my 18th birthday.
14-10-2016, 09:17 PM
Pity no Scottish dates.
After the summer, they head to the US and South America, then they'll be back in Europe for an arena tour in the winter. It's their tried & tested routine. They might well play the Hydro then.
14-10-2016, 09:18 PM
How many you doing mate?
So far I've booked Stockholm, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Kiev & Warsaw. Think that'll be it for this leg. Will get a few more in the winter when they're back for the indoor gigs, which are far better than the huge stadiums.
14-10-2016, 11:45 PM
Me too. Steve Howe on Saturday.
Brilliant night, thank you Jean Michel Jarre
15-10-2016, 04:07 PM
Bob Dylan may have won the Nobel Prize for Literature but last night his performance was totally eclipsed by The Rolling Stones. The best band performance I have seen on stage. They average an age over 70.
16-10-2016, 09:33 AM
Arab Strap were outstanding. Perfect setlist and ended up playing for nearly two and a half hours, much to the lack of amusement of the cloakroom staff.
18-10-2016, 04:58 PM
Roger Waters is playing in LA on the 20th and 21st of June 2017. I quite enjoyed his performance at Desert Trip and the stage show was spectacular while presenting his political viewpoints. I would rate him behind The Rolling Stones and The Who for entertainment value but I'll take up my ticket options.
24-10-2016, 07:27 PM
Deftones - May 7th - SECC :thumbsup::thumbsup:
25-10-2016, 07:21 AM
Next year's shaping up well, so far I've booked Pet Shop Boys at The Playhouse, Stone Roses at Hampden and Depeche Mode in Stockholm, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Kiev & Warsaw.
Unfortunately I had to punt my tickets for Adam Ant as it clashes with the start of the Depeche tour.
Green Man
27-10-2016, 08:19 PM
Next year's shaping up well, so far I've booked Pet Shop Boys at The Playhouse, Stone Roses at Hampden and Depeche Mode in Stockholm, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Kiev & Warsaw.
Unfortunately I had to punt my tickets for Adam Ant as it clashes with the start of the Depeche tour.
I got Pet Shop Boys tickets as well, can't wait for it. I've only seen them once before, at Glastonbury 2000, so I'm looking forward to seeing a full production.
28-10-2016, 08:54 AM
Getting dragged along to see UFO at the Queens Hall tonight by my mate. Wasn't really a fan when they were actually half decent so a good few pints beforehand is in order.
Galahibby
28-10-2016, 02:15 PM
Take That tickets secured for May '17. Yip, you read that right - loud and proud :greengrin
28-10-2016, 02:48 PM
Take That tickets secured for May '17. Yip, you read that right - loud and proud :greengrin
Same here! :greengrin
Babyshamble
08-11-2016, 12:40 AM
Peter Nardini at cottiers theatre on Wednesday.gaunnae be a belter
08-11-2016, 04:41 PM
Robbie Williams at Murryfield go on sale on Friday :thumbsup:
09-11-2016, 09:27 AM
Robbie Williams at Murryfield go on sale on Friday :thumbsup:
Got mine this morning :greengrin
09-11-2016, 04:22 PM
American Music Awards. (http://www.theamas.com) The wife likes Bruno Mars and he is supposed to be opening but I'm not sure about the rest of the performers.
09-11-2016, 07:45 PM
Lovely Eggs @ The Electric Circus on Friday night.
Richie Ramone @ Bannermans in December, and that's all I've left ticket wise this year. Been to some good ones lately - Brix & The Extricated, Arab Strap, Damien Dempsey and The Fall.
Next year I have King Creosote @ The Old Fruitmarket and Kraftwerk @ Usher Hall. Getting my arm twisted go to Leipzig to see Depeche Mode, but still to decide.
10-11-2016, 09:49 AM
Went to see Bring Me The Horizon at the Hydro last night.
Very disappointed I have to say. Quite sure Oli Sykes was high or completely pished! His vocal performance was agonisingly bad.
10-11-2016, 11:23 AM
I see Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth) is playing Summerhall next Wednesday :hmmm:
10-11-2016, 12:08 PM
The Courteeners for the 40000th time next Saturday.
As usual, can't wait.
10-11-2016, 12:24 PM
The Courteeners for the 40000th time next Saturday.
As usual, can't wait.
:agree: same here :aok:
10-11-2016, 02:21 PM
Good man, you liking the new album?
10-11-2016, 07:51 PM
Good man, you liking the new album?
Aye, I'm liking it. Really like Kitchen.
If the gig is half as good as it was at the academy last year then it'll be a great night!
13-11-2016, 07:12 AM
Architects (with support from Bury Tomorrow and Stick to your Guns) at the O2 ABC tonight.
Missed them at Download due to the passing of Tom Searle, so I'm really looking forward to this.
Expecting tears!
13-11-2016, 07:25 AM
Next year I have ... Kraftwerk @ Usher Hall. Green with envy.
13-11-2016, 07:25 AM
Yusuf at the Armadillo this week.
14-11-2016, 11:54 AM
Me 3. God bless the band.
Babyshamble
18-11-2016, 03:51 PM
Just got pre-sale tickets for Mickey Flanagan at the hydro.26th May.day before the Scottish cup final ... 😬
LustForLeith
19-11-2016, 11:28 AM
Just got pre-sale tickets for Mickey Flanagan at the hydro.26th May.day before the Scottish cup final ... 😬
I just got them for the 27th May at the Playhouse. Trying to work out what time I got back from Hampden this year :thumbsup:
19-11-2016, 11:44 AM
The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing are playing in Bannermans in Edinburgh tonight and I'm heading along.
They were great at Download, and I'm really looking forward to it! :greengrin
LustForLeith
22-11-2016, 06:31 AM
Primal Scream were excellent at the Usher Hall last nihgt. Love the venue itself with one problem - the amount of time you have to wait at the bar. Surely some boffin types have created a system/formula for the quickest time you could order a drink and have it pured for you? Missed about three songs!
I'm off to see Alter Bridge at the Hydro next Thursday, a wee birthday pressie from the wife, hotel near the venue so a few drinks and breakfast in the morning. They have a new album out so looking forward to this gig, seen them a few times, Tremonti is some guitarist and Miles Kennedy was born to sing rock with a 4 octave range voice.
30-11-2016, 10:41 PM
Some clips from Desert Trip 2nd Weekend. (https://vimeo.com/193791899)
30-11-2016, 10:50 PM
Just witnessed the Super Furry Animals play their first 2 albums in their entirety in Belfast. Happy because parts of it reminded me of being 17 again. Slightly sad because overall it highlighted that that was 20 years ago...
BarneyBreslin
01-12-2016, 11:23 AM
Just witnessed the Super Furry Animals play their first 2 albums in their entirety in Belfast. Happy because parts of it reminded me of being 17 again. Slightly sad because overall it highlighted that that was 20 years ago...
Seeing the same show at the Usher Hall on the 12th Dec.
01-12-2016, 02:08 PM
Seeing the same show at the Usher Hall on the 12th Dec.
I think you'll enjoy it. They were good last night. Mental obviously, but good :greengrin
01-12-2016, 05:02 PM
I've just bought tickets for little mix at the hydro next year :greengrin
06-12-2016, 08:57 PM
Just discovered' Paul Carrack'. I knew his name and his association with Mike and the Mechanics but not much else. Turns out he was with Ace, session artist with Roxy Music, Squeeze, wrote a couple of songs for The Eagles and now is his own man, writing his own stuff and doing great covers of old classics. Superb, velvety, soulful voice, certainly one for the oldies. Can't wait to see him at the Playhouse in February.
07-12-2016, 01:51 PM
Just discovered' Paul Carrack'. I knew his name and his association with Mike and the Mechanics but not much else. Turns out he was with Ace, session artist with Roxy Music, Squeeze, wrote a couple of songs for The Eagles and now is his own man, writing his own stuff and doing great covers of old classics. Superb, velvety, soulful voice, certainly one for the oldies. Can't wait to see him at the Playhouse in February.
His covers album Still Groovin is mostly superb, the strange thing is that the bonus tracks are the best covers on the album.
07-12-2016, 05:57 PM
Blossoms were very good on Monday night, saw them at Liquid Rooms earlier in the year tae, but they were better at Potterrow.
08-12-2016, 10:47 AM
Party Fears Three are back at The Liquid Rooms on Thursday 29th December for the now legendary annual Christmas 80's electronic shindig. Brilliant night of Depeche Mode, Human League, Erasure, Ultravox, Duran Duran, Pet Shop Boys, Soft Cell, Simple Minds, Ah-ha, Heaven 17, Gary Numan, Bowie etc. Norman Brown will be on the wheels of steel after the gig with more electronic 80's tunes until the small hours. All for a tenner!
09-12-2016, 10:06 PM
anyone off to TTF tomorrow?
LustForLeith
11-12-2016, 03:42 PM
Went to see The Fratellis last night at the Barras. Really good show although at times they sounded like a country band!
12-12-2016, 12:41 PM
Was at one of the best gigs I've been to in a very long time on Saturday night at the Garage in Glasgow - Beartooth (with support from Vanna and Trash Boat). An immense crowd and a stunning performance from Beartooth - I like the Garage as a venue - great sound, and super tight on the floor, with a great balcony area.
Off to see Yellowcard at the O2 ABC tonight perform their last ever gig in Scotland.
12-12-2016, 02:51 PM
anyone off to TTF tomorrow?
How did that go?
It's my best mates Mrs 40th birthday in January. As a result he is trying to get my wife and i to go with them to see Ultrasonic. Think its some sort of Source reunion or something. Told him we are to old for that but its what she wants her birthday lol.
Godsahibby
12-12-2016, 05:08 PM
Off to see Super Furry Animals tonight. Playing something for the weekend and Radiator back to back.
15-12-2016, 09:16 AM
Yellowcard was a sad experience on Monday - I was 16 again for the full evening. Pure nostalgia and a lengthy set!
Seen Korn with support from Limp Bizkit last night - again, a pure nostalgia trip but both bands were really good (can't say anything about Madball, whom I had no interest in catching).
Was at Twin Atlantic at the Barrowlands last Thursday and it's fair to say they didn't disappoint.
Outstanding gig.
22-12-2016, 07:20 PM
Was at Twin Atlantic at the Barrowlands last Thursday and it's fair to say they didn't disappoint.
Outstanding gig.
we cheekily asked them to play at our wedding, the other half works with the wife of one the band, were to busy apparently!!
I'd cheekily have asked to come to you wedding just to hear them!, :-)
19-01-2017, 03:13 PM
I had nothing planned for this evening but whilst out getting coffee at work earlier, I clocked The Dillinger Escape Plan guys heading into the QMU for soundcheck, so popped over to say hello (as I'm a fan) - now I'm on their guest list for this evening :greengrin
19-01-2017, 03:32 PM
Celtic Connections starts tonight, got three gigs, The Hazey Janes and Liz Lochhead, Eliza Carty and Mull Historical Society on three consecutive nights.
20-01-2017, 07:19 PM
Anyone seen noasis? If so, are they any good? Playing in Glasgow next month and thinking of heading along.
22-01-2017, 09:42 PM
This week I have Girl Band on Thursday night @ Summerhall followed by King Creosote @ The Old Fruitmarket on Friday night.
26-01-2017, 08:42 AM
Tickets purchased for Mogwai @ The Hydro on Dec 16th. Never been to the Hydro before so not sure what to expect. After taking on board some info from someone who experienced dodgy sound from a section of the seated areas, a mate has opted for standing tickets for us.
Tickets have also been purchased for Future Islands @ The Barrowlands on April 27th.
26-01-2017, 05:51 PM
The View at Liquid Rooms in May.
27-01-2017, 12:02 PM
The View at Liquid Rooms in May.
Possibly go to this too. Although if you have your ticket already, I'll guess it's now sold out :agree:
27-01-2017, 12:38 PM
Possibly go to this too. Although if you have your ticket already, I'll guess it's now sold out :agree:
Dunno if its sold out, but I do already have my ticket. :aok:
27-01-2017, 02:32 PM
Going to see JJ Gilmour, Ex Silencers singer, now great singer/songwriter in Stirling on Saturday. Then next Saturday, Paul Carrack, top man, at Edinburgh Fesival Theatre.
30-01-2017, 12:38 AM
Guns N Roses this Thursday in Wellington. Got a ticket for about £40 as they've been struggling to sell them - cheapest to start with was around £70 at the back of the stadium up to £200 odds down the front. Way too much for most Kiwis.
Ayrshire Hibee
31-01-2017, 11:14 PM
British Sea Power @ liquid rooms in april (will be my 17th BSP gig) love this band and so underrated. Worth checking out guys if you have never seen them ;-)
LustForLeith
01-02-2017, 09:18 AM
Got a Saturday ticket for TRNSMT or whatever it's called. Never been to Glasgow Green for a gig before!
01-02-2017, 09:19 AM
The Wonder Years (with support from PUP, Tiny Moving Parts and Trash Boat) at the QMU in Glasgow on Saturday! :thumbsup:
01-02-2017, 09:29 AM
Got a Saturday ticket for TRNSMT or whatever it's called. Never been to Glasgow Green for a gig before!
Only the Sunday was anywhere near enticing me, but that's because of Biffy and I've seen them 7 times already!
There used to be 'Gig on the Green', which was excellent - I went 3 years in a row between 2000 and 2003 (I think?).
02-02-2017, 02:49 PM
Anyone else going to see Miracle Glass Company at Voodoo Rooms on Friday?
I was going to go but it is part of some sort of club night rather than just a normal gig. I saw The Enemy at The Picturehouse at a similar sounding club night. They didn't come on until midnight and was a shorter set. Phoned the venue but the girl had no idea. Anyone know how I could find out?
05-02-2017, 03:52 PM
Paul Carrack at the Festival Theatre last night. Outstanding.
05-02-2017, 04:00 PM
Paul Carrack at the Festival Theatre last night. Outstanding.Saw him in 1975 with Ace.
05-02-2017, 05:22 PM
I've got tickets for Stewart Lee in May and Jools Holland in November.
I have a sneaky suspicion that my wife has bought us tickets for Amy MacDonald in March and I know we're going to see The Weeknd somewhere. (Don't ask.)
05-02-2017, 06:20 PM
Saw him in 1975 with Ace.
Still doing How Long and all the Mike and the Mechanics stuff plus his more recent soul repertoire. Really tight band ........ fantastic musicians. Best gig I've been to for ages.
05-02-2017, 10:18 PM
One for Rammstein fans, got tickets for their concert filmed in Paris a few years ago.
It's on for one night only at the Cameo on 23rd March.
https://www.picturehouses.com/cinema/Cameo_Picturehouse/film/rammstein-paris
07-02-2017, 09:31 PM
April 3rd Staples Center, Los Angeles.
Starting as a call-to-action on Twitter in response to the recent immigration ban, multi-platinum, GRAMMY award-winning artist/DJ/producer Zedd has organized WELCOME!, a fundraising concert benefiting the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). Performances By Daya, Halsey, Imagine Dragons, Incubus, Macklemore, Skrillex, Tinashe and ZEDD (artist line-up subject to change).
08-02-2017, 10:09 PM
Blossoms.
10-02-2017, 07:08 PM
Support act for JJ Gilmour at his Portpatrick festival at the end of the month - Blue Rose Code. Listened to them on Spotify. Great singer with good Scots accent and good instrumentals, lots of good songs. One called Edina, sings about wearing the green and white and going through the turnstiles at Easter Road.
19-02-2017, 11:18 AM
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/15102476.Glasgow_to_host_BBC_6_Music_Fest/
I've heard the greatest band in the World will be headlining this event with a very intimate gig by their standards at The Barras.
19-02-2017, 04:29 PM
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/15102476.Glasgow_to_host_BBC_6_Music_Fest/
I've heard the greatest band in the World will be headlining this event with a very intimate gig by their standards at The Barras.
Pray tell, who do you consider the greatest band in the world to be?
20-02-2017, 08:29 AM
Pray tell, who do you consider the greatest band in the world to be?
Should be announced tomorrow but those who know me on here will know as I tend to bang on about them every 3 or 4 years when they release albums and go on tour. Here's some clues, they release their 14th studio album next month and head out on a world stadium tour in May, unfortunately Celtic have adopted one of their very early songs and my avatar might just give it away if you can make out the small text!
Green Man
20-02-2017, 03:29 PM
Should be announced tomorrow but those who know me on here will know as I tend to bang on about them every 3 or 4 years when they release albums and go on tour. Here's some clues, they release their 14th studio album next month and head out on a world stadium tour in May, unfortunately Celtic have adopted one of their very early songs and my avatar might just give it away if you can make out the small text!
If your translation skills are any good - it's French for "we're wusses" :greengrin
20-02-2017, 04:25 PM
Depeche Mode.
Ah well good on you. Not my cup of tea but hopefully something else to my liking in this 6 Music line up, if it's almost a mini festival over a few days
20-02-2017, 06:41 PM
....... Gerry and the Pacemakers? :greengrin
21-02-2017, 12:20 PM
It's official, Depeche Mode, The Barras Sunday 26th March. Wow!
Green Man
21-02-2017, 01:38 PM
That will be incredible. When is the last time Depeche Mode played such a small venue?
I like the look of The Jesus and Mary Chain and Ride on the Friday. That will be noisy.
21-02-2017, 01:51 PM
few decent line ups for the 6 music festival. going to try for Father John Misty, possibly Car Seat Headrest and Goldfrapp as well.
24-02-2017, 10:50 PM
After an almighty scramble, I managed to bag myself a ticket For Depeche Mode at The Barras. I actually can't believe I'm going to see them in such a small, iconic venue. Having seen them in some huge stadiums and arenas over the years, this is going to be special, up there with The Albert Hall gig a few years ago. It's their smallest gig since 1984....and only £30 for the privilege. 44 years old and I feel like a kid waiting for Christmas!
25-02-2017, 08:09 PM
After an almighty scramble, I managed to bag myself a ticket For Depeche Mode at The Barras. I actually can't believe I'm going to see them in such a small, iconic venue. Having seen them in some huge stadiums and arenas over the years, this is going to be special, up there with The Albert Hall gig a few years ago. It's their smallest gig since 1984....and only £30 for the privilege. 44 years old and I feel like a kid waiting for Christmas!
Any idea what the US dates will be?
25-02-2017, 09:12 PM
Any idea what the US dates will be?
You can register now for the pre-sale at each of the venues but they haven't released the dates yet. I'd expect them this week as they have some US TV appearances lined up.
26-02-2017, 05:59 PM
You can register now for the pre-sale at each of the venues but they haven't released the dates yet. I'd expect them this week as they have some US TV appearances lined up.
Cheers. I'm in one of the queues just in case we're there when they play.
SON OF PADDY
26-02-2017, 06:47 PM
The one and only Mr Elvis Costello !!
Anyone who has unfortunately never seen him, do yourself a favour and check him out next time.
He never disappoints it's the truth.
01-03-2017, 10:51 AM
The dates are out but they don't suit us unfortunately.
01-03-2017, 02:19 PM
The dates are out but they don't suit us unfortunately.
Should be a European arena leg after North America.
03-03-2017, 11:40 AM
Idles @ Sneaky Petes on Sat 25th March
Slowdive @ Art School Glasgow on Mon 27th March
Honeyblood @ Roisin Dubh, Galway on Thurs 6th April
Brian Wilson plays Pet Sounds @ Galway Arts Festivsl on Sun 23rd July
At The Edge
03-03-2017, 04:35 PM
The Skids with Richard Jobson doing a small gig in their hometown of Dunfermline in PJ Malloys, 3rd May, belter
bringbackbenny
04-03-2017, 02:54 PM
Managed to get tickets for SLF @ barras, big nostalgia trip for me, not been to the st pat's gig in donkeys. support theater of hate.
StevieT
05-03-2017, 09:53 PM
Managed to get tickets for SLF @ barras, big nostalgia trip for me, not been to the st pat's gig in donkeys. support theater of hate.
I'm going to this one too. Looking forward to it.
Also got tickets to see Deep Purple, Iron Maiden and ELO later this year. But before them I'm going to see La Bohemme in Dundee (should be good).
09-03-2017, 03:51 PM
Ed Sheeran August 10th at Staples Center, LA. Ordered 6 tickets
Hall & Oates/ Tears for Fears July 28th at Staples Center, LA. Not bothering.
10-03-2017, 08:20 AM
Anyone else trying for Eminem tickets?
10-03-2017, 04:59 PM
Anyone else trying for Eminem tickets?
That'll be a naw then :greengrin. Managed to get 2 this morning.
14-03-2017, 05:16 PM
Might not be as good as the Desert Trip (http://deserttrip.com) last summer but the Arroyo Seco Weekend (https://www.arroyosecoweekend.com) in Pasadena looks like quite a lineup.
There are a few artists I am not familiar with on the list so any reviews would be appreciated.
ClewsHibs
14-03-2017, 07:37 PM
Jagwar Ma on Sunday.
MichaelTheCelt
17-03-2017, 01:55 PM
I've got tickets for Stewart Lee in May and Jools Holland in November.
I have a sneaky suspicion that my wife has bought us tickets for Amy MacDonald in March and I know we're going to see The Weeknd somewhere. (Don't ask.)
I went to see Stewart Lee last night in Glasgow at the Armadillo, it was ******g awesome man! Enjoy.
17-03-2017, 02:20 PM
Shed Seven tickets for the Liquid Rooms sorted this morning. My favourite band.
17-03-2017, 05:20 PM
I went to see Stewart Lee last night in Glasgow at the Armadillo, it was ******g awesome man! Enjoy.
I tried to get tickets for tonight from two gumtree ads, neither got back to me. Gutted
MichaelTheCelt
17-03-2017, 05:49 PM
I tried to get tickets for tonight from two gumtree ads, neither got back to me. Gutted
Thats baws man sorry to hear that.
26-03-2017, 08:21 AM
Got tickets over the weekend for
PJ Harvey, Edinburgh Playhouse August 7th
Metallica, Glasgow Hydro October 26th
And Jason Byrne during Edin Festival, usually the funniest show of the festival.
27-03-2017, 11:43 AM
The xx at the new outdoor bit of swg3.
31-03-2017, 06:32 AM
Nearly Dan tonight.
Alabama 3 (for the third time in a year) and Tinariwen next month.
And...dead excited about this...Southside Johnny and Steve van Zandt on successive nights in Amsterdam in June. Declined Glastonbury for that 😀
08-04-2017, 12:31 PM
Got a spare ticket from a mate for the Who last night at the Hydro, they were superb, Townsend & Daltrey are pretty special. :thumbsup:
Loopz
14-04-2017, 07:47 AM
Saint Etienne 09th June Queens Hall.
yonder1875
16-04-2017, 06:02 PM
Going to see The Libertines at Prenton Park next month, home to the mighty Tranmere Rovers.
17-04-2017, 12:48 AM
Going to see The Libertines at Prenton Park next month, home to the mighty Tranmere Rovers.
Superb - any tickets going?
yonder1875
17-04-2017, 01:34 AM
Superb - any tickets going?
There you go, mate.
http://mtickets.ents24.com/event/the-libertines/prenton-park/1068992?aff=ents24&inf=-8b122706076a6819
17-04-2017, 08:38 AM
Have a various tickets bought so far Mark Lanegan ,Dr Hook , XX Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds Really looking forward to the last one has have never seem him live
Stranraer
17-04-2017, 02:50 PM
Nas at the 02 Academy in July. Gonna be dope :greengrin
At The Edge
18-04-2017, 03:50 PM
The Skids warm up gig at PJ's in Dunfermline, Thursday at Rebellion in Blackpool in August, best day for me with Good Riddance, Teenage Bottlerocket, Pears, Face to Face, Geoffrey OiCott, Pennywise and topped off with Bad Religion.
it'll be like I'm back in the mid 90's
25-04-2017, 09:40 AM
Just booked to go see Idlewild at Leith Theatre on 27 May, only £19!
Also got Ocean Colour Scene in November in Wellington.
Went to see The Darkness a few days ago here in a venue of about 600 people - top notch.
25-04-2017, 10:35 AM
Bill ryder jones doing an acoustic set at woodland creatures. Great booking for a pub.
Not got tickets yet but planning on going to nicolas jaar at the barrowlands. Also the black angels at swg3 in december.
KingFranck
03-05-2017, 09:12 PM
Been waiting a while but this Friday The Skids at the Liquid Rooms
04-05-2017, 03:43 PM
Underoath tonight at the O2 ABC in Glasgow!
Waited, literally, years for this!
04-05-2017, 03:58 PM
Withered Hand tonight. Good Hibby.
cammy1969
04-05-2017, 11:55 PM
Just booked up for hope & glory festival in Liverpool early august great line up if you like your guitar bands James ocs the view rev & makers and more
05-05-2017, 01:49 AM
http://kiisfm.iheart.com/features/wango-tango-2017-2021/ with a mixed lineup to love or loath.
Kendrick Lamar - The Damn Tour on August 8th in LA.
05-05-2017, 07:55 AM
Depeche Mode in front of 50,000 fans in Stockholm tonight. Jeepers the beer's expensive here!
05-05-2017, 08:26 AM
EH6 Festival in October looks fun. Gerry Cinamon, Big Country, Alabama 3, Space, Colonel Mustard & the Dijon 5 & many others.
HibeeLR
05-05-2017, 09:59 AM
Got Gorillaz tickets for their gig at the hydro in November. Absolutely buzzing for it already!
yonder1875
07-05-2017, 10:30 PM
Just back from Bob Dylan at the Clyde Auditorium - best he's sounded in a while to be honest. And as per, zero words spoken to the crowd, an acknowledgment at the end though.
Stranraer
13-05-2017, 06:33 AM
J Hus at Saint Luke's on the 18th and I'm going to miss it. FML.
13-05-2017, 08:26 PM
Stone Foundation at Voodoo rooms next Friday. An excuse to dress up and add the two tone oxfords to the Parka 😎
14-05-2017, 01:38 AM
Chris Rock tickets are on sale for the Hydro in January. Would love to see him live but at £100+ per ticket for lower section seats I'm thinking its a tad to much to see a comedian (even if it is Chris Rock). You can get level 3 tickets for £50 but given its one guy on stage doing stand up and not a band doing a full gig I'm guessing these seats would be pretty crap. Thoughts ??? :confused:.
14-05-2017, 08:36 AM
Chris Rock tickets are on sale for the Hydro in January. Would love to see him live but at £100+ per ticket for lower section seats I'm thinking its a tad to much to see a comedian (even if it is Chris Rock). You can get level 3 tickets for £50 but given its one guy on stage doing stand up and not a band doing a full gig I'm guessing these seats would be pretty crap. Thoughts ??? :confused:.I think he's off his head. I hope no one pays those prices and he plays to an empty venue.
16-05-2017, 06:57 PM
Got electric fields tickets. The tenement tv tent is looking good after recent announcements. Went last year and it was excellent, got basicaly 2 for 1 tickets in an auction as well which has made my mind up about returning.
18-05-2017, 06:40 AM
The View last night at Liquid Rooms were class.
10 years since Hats Off To The Buskers album, played in full from start to finish.
Mr Grieves
19-05-2017, 12:08 PM
Got tickets to see my favourite band, Arcade Fire, at my least favourite venue, Corn Exchange.
Also seeing Idlewild at Leith theatre, Dropkick Murphy's in Dunfermline and Nick Cave and the bad seeds at the Hydro.
19-05-2017, 08:57 PM
Ears still ringing after an amazing show by Swans last night - two and a half hours for a set consisting of of five tracks! Loudest gig ever attended.
Don't think I've anything else for a few weeks so next up will be Kraftwerk @ Usher Hall then Dead Kennedys @ Liquid Rooms in June. Fall tickets booked for a Friday night trip to Wakefield which should be fun.
Mr Grieves
20-05-2017, 12:03 AM
Ears still ringing after an amazing show by Swans last night - two and a half hours for a set consisting of of five tracks! Loudest gig ever attended.
Don't think I've anything else for a few weeks so next up will be Kraftwerk @ Usher Hall then Dead Kennedys @ Liquid Rooms in June. Fall tickets booked for a Friday night trip to Wakefield which should be fun.
Who's singing for the dead kennedys?
20-05-2017, 04:47 PM
Stone roses tickets arrived this morning, can't wait :thumbsup:
21-05-2017, 07:37 AM
Got tickets to see my favourite band, Arcade Fire, at my least favourite venue, Corn Exchange.
Also seeing Idlewild at Leith theatre, Dropkick Murphy's in Dunfermline and Nick Cave and the bad seeds at the Hydro.
Any idea if Idlewild are doing a full set? I am going, but I have been told they're not on until 10:15pm! Wouldn't be worried, but I'm also going to the afternoon session of the Edinburgh Craft Beer festival the same day, and I'll have stepped off a flight from New Zealand on the Wednesday so am concerned that a combo of drink and jet lag might mean I don't even see Idlewild that night...
Also got tickets for Arcade Fire, I think they'll be decent at the ECE. Annoying venue to get to mind, I'll likely drive to that gig.
Mr Grieves
21-05-2017, 02:33 PM
Any idea if Idlewild are doing a full set? I am going, but I have been told they're not on until 10:15pm! Wouldn't be worried, but I'm also going to the afternoon session of the Edinburgh Craft Beer festival the same day, and I'll have stepped off a flight from New Zealand on the Wednesday so am concerned that a combo of drink and jet lag might mean I don't even see Idlewild that night...
Also got tickets for Arcade Fire, I think they'll be decent at the ECE. Annoying venue to get to mind, I'll likely drive to that gig.
It looks like there's a dj on after Idlewild, at 23:30, so I imagine they'll be on for an hour or so. I think there's stuff going on until 3AM but you probably won't manage that.
I'm buzzing for Arcade Fire, awesome live and they'll make the best of it.
25-05-2017, 02:02 AM
It looks like there's a dj on after Idlewild, at 23:30, so I imagine they'll be on for an hour or so. I think there's stuff going on until 3AM but you probably won't manage that.
I'm buzzing for Arcade Fire, awesome live and they'll make the best of it.
Nah I'll be gone after Idlewild, if I make it that far! If you see someone asleep on their feet, give me a nudge :greengrin
25-05-2017, 07:15 AM
Was at Imelda May last night in Glasgow, with support from Jack Lukeman at the Royal Concert Hall.
Quite enjoyed it, even though it's not necessarily my usual scene. Very good backing band, and by goodness that woman can sing. The support act was also bloody good.
25-05-2017, 07:28 AM
Was at Imelda May last night in Glasgow, with support from Jack Lukeman at the Royal Concert Hall.
Quite enjoyed it, even though it's not necessarily my usual scene. Very good backing band, and by goodness that woman can sing. The support act was also bloody good.
Is her ex Daniel Higham still in the band? Great guitarist.
25-05-2017, 08:00 AM
Is her ex Daniel Higham still in the band? Great guitarist.
Nah, they parted ways after they separated. His replacement was a Glaswegian guy, Donny Little - he's exceptionally good!
yonder1875
25-05-2017, 08:20 PM
Went and seen The Libertines last weekend and a wee appearance from Jeremy Corbyn, too. The whole crowd was singing his name like he was a star striker for their club!
26-05-2017, 08:20 AM
Liam Gallagher is playing Barrowlands Sunday 11th June. Then Monday morning flying to Belfast for a few days for the Stone Roses at the Belfast SSE on Tuesday 13th. Can't wait!
Edit: scrap that, LG sold out too quick :grr:
Babyshamble
28-05-2017, 07:54 PM
Not music related,bit I saw Micky Flanangan at the hydro on Friday.pure class 👏👏👏
30-05-2017, 08:25 PM
Nah I'll be gone after Idlewild, if I make it that far! If you see someone asleep on their feet, give me a nudge :greengrin
Surprised myself and didn't leave Leith Theatre until 1:30am! Was a good night.
30-05-2017, 08:51 PM
Not music related,bit I saw Micky Flanangan at the hydro on Friday.pure class 👏👏👏How long did it take you to get in? Saw the huge queues at the doors.
31-05-2017, 06:16 AM
I can't believe I bought tickets for Guns n Roses 24th November but we have a vastly diverse collection of chums these days. Gone already to the wife's boss.
yonder1875
31-05-2017, 06:45 PM
Liam Gallagher is playing Barrowlands Sunday 11th June. Then Monday morning flying to Belfast for a few days for the Stone Roses at the Belfast SSE on Tuesday 13th. Can't wait!
Edit: scrap that, LG sold out too quick :grr:
Just heard his new tune on Radio 1 and I can confirm it is, a tune.
MountcastleHibs
31-05-2017, 08:33 PM
Great comeback record. Sticking to what he does best! Love it.
02-06-2017, 09:31 AM
Yep it sure is! Brilliant from him.
02-06-2017, 03:12 PM
My all-time favourite band, Breaking Benjamin, are playing the Glasgow Garage on August 28th! VIP ticket summarily procured!
What a start to the weekend :thumbsup::thumbsup:
02-06-2017, 10:40 PM
Been on a ticket buying frenzy today. Hurts in Bratislava in November and Erasure in Dublin, Dundee & Edinburgh in February to add to Stone Roses in a few weeks and Depeche Mode in Kiev & Warsaw next month.
09-06-2017, 12:17 PM
Was with wife at Ricky Gervais last night at the Playhouse.
Flying solo at Kraftwerk at the Usher Hall on Saturday :greengrin.
Loopz
10-06-2017, 10:04 AM
Saint Etienne were superb last night, a nice mixture of old and new. Their album (Released last week) has some really good songs, Heather is my early favourite.
patch1875
10-06-2017, 04:57 PM
Ride in November
10-06-2017, 10:47 PM
Arcade Fire are headlining the Isle of Wight festival just now, excellent. Must see them live.
10-06-2017, 11:24 PM
Stone Roses at Hampden and Maccabees farewell tour the night before, also in Glasgow.
12-06-2017, 10:57 AM
Saint Etienne were superb last night, a nice mixture of old and new. Their album (Released last week) has some really good songs, Heather is my early favourite.
Bollocks, I meant to go to that gig.
Lee Marvin
13-06-2017, 12:27 PM
Radiohead at Manchester Arena on the 5th July (if it's reopened by then).
Radiohead at TRMSMT festival, Glasgow Green on friday 7th.
Literally cannot wait.
13-06-2017, 12:42 PM
Was with wife at Ricky Gervais last night at the Playhouse.
Flying solo at Kraftwerk at the Usher Hall on Saturday :greengrin.
My mates got chucked out for talking.
13-06-2017, 06:00 PM
Good.
Should probably be in the Pet Peeves thread, but there are few things more annoying than people talking during a concert. Specially one where people have paid lotsa money for tickets.
13-06-2017, 06:23 PM
Ocean Colour Scene in Belfast 25th August looks very tempting. Playing Moseley Shoals in its entirety. Considering how retro styled it is and was at it's release I've always been surprised how well it's stood the test of time as an album.
14-06-2017, 07:59 PM
The Stone Roses in Belfast last night was class. 🍋
yonder1875
14-06-2017, 10:55 PM
The Stone Roses in Belfast last night was class. 🍋
Off to see them at Hampden next week - noticed they still aren't playing Beautiful Thing! We need some new roses music after seeing them perform the backlog (still can't think of many better ways to spend a Saturday night) 4 times since 2012.
15-06-2017, 05:25 AM
Ocean Colour Scene in Belfast 25th August looks very tempting. Playing Moseley Shoals in its entirety. Considering how retro styled it is and was at it's release I've always been surprised how well it's stood the test of time as an album.
That sounds excellent, gutted i missed when they done that at the barrowlands a few years ago. Not listened to any of their music for ages but their always unbelievable live.
Ayrshire Hibee
15-06-2017, 09:03 PM
Manic Street Preachers- Times Square Newcastle 5th Aug :-)
Mantis Toboggan
15-06-2017, 11:13 PM
Going to guns and roses at Olympic stadium on Saturday. I am not expecting too much but it's worth it just to see Slash and Axl doing the classics one time.
Mantis Toboggan
15-06-2017, 11:15 PM
If they were the guys in the upper circle they were being pretty loud tbf. Don't agree with chucking out though.
15-06-2017, 11:21 PM
If they were the guys in the upper circle they were being pretty loud tbf. Don't agree with chucking out though.
What would you suggest instead? Presumably they will have been asked to quiet down, and also presumably they will have ignored that request. So what would you suggest is the next move?
Mantis Toboggan
15-06-2017, 11:31 PM
What would you suggest instead? Presumably they will have been asked to quiet down, and also presumably they will have ignored that request. So what would you suggest is the next move?
I don't know the whole story or if it was even the guys I am thinking of.
That said, it was an electro gig but we were all sat there in silence. Wrong venue for the gig I would say, so I have sympathy for folk chucked out for being a bit boisterous.
15-06-2017, 11:35 PM
I don't know the whole story or if it was even the guys I am thinking of.
That said, it was an electro gig but we were all sat there in silence. Wrong venue for the gig I would say, so I have sympathy for folk chucked out for being a bit boisterous.
I guess you're right, and I think it depends on the band. Speaking personally, if I want to be boisterous I'll go to the pub. I go to concerts to listen to the music, and having folk talking at gigs drives me mad.
I realise there are different types of gigs.
Mantis Toboggan
15-06-2017, 11:43 PM
I guess you're right, and I think it depends on the band. Speaking personally, if I want to be boisterous I'll go to the pub. I go to concerts to listen to the music, and having folk talking at gigs drives me mad.
I realise there are different types of gigs.
Agree depends on the gig.
If anyone talks at Nick Cave later this year I will be far less accommodating.
******** behaviour does seem to happen more often now. The absolute nadir for me was a couple horrifically firing in to each other in the front row at Godspeed You Black Emperor. Didn't see that one coming.
Either that or I am getting old and grumpy
16-06-2017, 06:39 AM
Jackson Browne at Festival Theatre on Sunday.
16-06-2017, 09:40 AM
Woo hoo I'm going to Emily Sande at the Castle on 13th July. :flag:
16-06-2017, 11:37 AM
Folks are going to that too. Will be excellent - the man can play music.
16-06-2017, 12:43 PM
Got tickets to see The Libertines in Blackpool on a Friday night in September. Should be a class night.
ACLeith
16-06-2017, 07:02 PM
First time hearing him in concert. Can't wait 😊
17-06-2017, 09:46 AM
Going to guns and roses at Olympic stadium on Saturday. I am not expecting too much but it's worth it just to see Slash and Axl doing the classics one time.
I was there last night and really enjoyed it. Axl still sounds alright and puts in a shift running around the stage. I'd forgotten how good they were and even if you didn't like their music you'd still enjoy the performance. Natural showmen and the crowd were getting well in to it. Took me back to doing my paper round before school. Enjoy mate, wish I was going again.
17-06-2017, 01:39 PM
Saw this doing the rounds on Facebook and thought it would be fun on this thread......
Gig History
First gig: Howard Jones, Edinburgh Playhouse 1985
Last gig: Depeche Mode, Copenhagen couple of weeks ago
Next Gigs: Stone Roses, Hampden next week & Depeche Mode Kiev next month
Best gig: Prince, London 02, 2007
Worst gig: Travis, Amsterdam 2003, dull as f***
Who have you seen most: Depeche Mode (40-50 odd times)
Best concert venue: The Barras
Worst concert venue: Ingilston Edinburgh & Terra Vibe Athens
Who have you not seen but want to: Hmm, can't think of one
Band no longer around you wish you'd seen: INXS with MH (seen them with JD Fortune)
Come on then pop pickers, let's be having you.......
17-06-2017, 11:17 PM
Just back from Dr Hook at Kelvin grove Bandstand Didn't think i knew so many of their songs Freakers Ball The Highlight
yonder1875
17-06-2017, 11:26 PM
Gig History
First gig: Oasis, Murrayfield 2009
Last gig: The Libertines ft. Jeremy Corbyn at Tranmere
Next Gigs: Stone Roses @ our second home
Best gig: Libertines, Barrowlands
Worst gig: Does The 1975 at T in the Park count?
Who have you seen most: The Libertines, 6 times
Worst concert venue: Corn Exchange
Who have you not seen but want to: The Strokes
Band no longer around you wish you'd seen: The Doors
18-06-2017, 07:59 AM
First gig: REM, Murrayfield 1995
Last gig: Guns and Roses, Olympic Stadium
Next Gigs: Weezer, Wembley
Best gig: Cypress Hill, 1996, Barras
Worst gig: Lou Reed, Hammersmith. Bad sound, unenthusiastic performance, played his new stuff, disappointing given his talent
Who have you seen most: Primal Scream (6 times I think)
Best concert venue: The Barras, Shapards Bush, London
Worst concert venue: Ingilston and Corn Exchange, Edinburgh
Who have you not seen but want to: not sure either, will update later
Band no longer around you wish you'd seen: The Jam, Queen, Prince
18-06-2017, 11:42 AM
First gig: Oasis, Murrayfield 2009
Jealous of this big time. I'm gutted that I never got to see them!
Oasis and The Jam are the 2 bands I would love to go back in time to see.
18-06-2017, 08:46 PM
Saw this doing the rounds on Facebook and thought it would be fun on this thread......
Gig History
First gig: Howard Jones, Edinburgh Playhouse 1985
Last gig: Depeche Mode, Copenhagen couple of weeks ago
Next Gigs: Stone Roses, Hampden next week & Depeche Mode Kiev next month
Best gig: Prince, London 02, 2007
Worst gig: Travis, Amsterdam 2003, dull as f***
Who have you seen most: Depeche Mode (40-50 odd times)
Worst concert venue: Ingilston Edinburgh & Terra Vibe Athens
Who have you not seen but want to: Hmm, can't think of one
Band no longer around you wish you'd seen: INXS with MH (seen them with JD Fortune)
Come on then pop pickers, let's be having you.......
First gig - Oasis @ Ingliston 1996
Last gig - The Who at Royal Albert Hall in April
Next gigs - Not 100% sure yet. Have tickets for Blossoms and The Coral at Castlefield Bowl next month but don't think can make it now
Best gig - Strokes at the Corn Exchange, Libertines at Kentish Town Forum or Paul McCartney at the O2
Worst gig - The War on Drugs at Usher Hall. Probably my own fault as wasn't that into them
Who have you seen most - Oasis 13 or 14 times I think
Best venue - Barrowlands or Kentish Town forum
Worst venue - Corn Exchange, looking back now
Not seen but want to - White Stripes
Band no longer around go back to see - gotta be the Beatles even though they never actually played their best stuff live
Green Man
21-06-2017, 08:29 AM
LCD Soundsystem at the Barras. I thought I'd missed my chance of ever seeing them when they split so I'm beyond excit d for this one.
21-06-2017, 08:30 AM
LCD Soundsystem at the Barras. I thought I'd missed my chance of ever seeing them when they split so I'm beyond excit d for this one.
You having problems getting tickets? I was on the site at 905, and there's nane ....:rolleyes:
EDIT. It was sold out that quickly. But another date has been added, and I got one.
Green Man
21-06-2017, 09:25 AM
You having problems getting tickets? I was on the site at 905, and there's nane ....:rolleyes:
EDIT. It was sold out that quickly. But another date has been added, and I got one.
My mate was on the site bang on 9 and got tickets. Glad you managed to get one for the second night, looks like that's sold out as well.
Lee Marvin
21-06-2017, 01:04 PM
My mate was on the site bang on 9 and got tickets. Glad you managed to get one for the second night, looks like that's sold out as well.
I failed to get tickets for the first night and was gutted. News of the 2nd night was a gift from the gods. Cannot wait for this one!!
My favourite venue too
21-06-2017, 06:09 PM
Was at Mark Lanagan Band concert in the Garage last night His voice could do with a rest Highlight cover version of Joy Divisions Love Will Tear Us Apart
21-06-2017, 08:31 PM
Just bought a ticket for the Stone Roses for Hampden. First ever concert. Canni wait :hyper
21-06-2017, 08:31 PM
First gig: 10cc, Usher Hall, 1974
Last gig: Grandaddy at Potterrow, Feb 2017
Next Gigs: None planned
Best gig: The Clash, Edinburgh Odeon, Nov 78. Too many to choose from though.
Worst gig: Crosby & Nash about 1976. Mind-numbing.
Who have you seen most: Not sure. Maybe Squeeze.
Worst concert venue: None in particular
Who have you not seen but want to: The Decemberists
Band no longer around you wish you'd seen: The Beatles!
21-06-2017, 08:36 PM
Libertines in Dunfermline in September. Tickets on sale Friday
21-06-2017, 09:43 PM
Just bought a ticket for the Stone Roses for Hampden. First ever concert. Canni wait :hyper
I was so tempted to buy one for this having been in Belfast but I'm too skint :boo hoo:
21-06-2017, 10:43 PM
I was so tempted to buy one for this having been in Belfast but I'm too skint :boo hoo:
Lots of rumours Hampden will be their last gig. Seems all is not well between Renni & Brown again.
21-06-2017, 10:47 PM
Lots of rumours Hampden will be their last gig. Seems all is not well between Renni & Brown again.
I wouldn't even be too upset if this was true, end on a high so to speak considering there is no new material likely to be released. Before they re-formed I was gutted that I would never get to see them live. Was buzzing when they announced they were getting back together and seen them twice now, both times have been amazing. Would obviously be a shame and I'd definitely go see them again if it isn't their last one though.
21-06-2017, 10:54 PM
Mines was £35 with Ticketmaster mate. 👍🏻
yonder1875
22-06-2017, 12:12 AM
This will set the bar incredibly high for any gigs you go to after this, enjoy!
22-06-2017, 12:41 AM
This will set the bar incredibly high for any gigs you go to after this, enjoy!
Thanks mate. :aok:
Will be a great night.
22-06-2017, 04:18 PM
Mines was £35 with Ticketmaster mate. 👍🏻
Where about in the stadium is that for?
22-06-2017, 04:24 PM
Where about in the stadium is that for?
South Stand Upper.
Ayrshire Hibee
22-06-2017, 04:33 PM
picked up some cheap tickets(less than face value from a tout site) for the maccabees at the o2 academy tomorrow.... canny believe they have not sold out their final gig in scotland :rolleyes:
Ayrshire Hibee
22-06-2017, 04:40 PM
Gig History
First gig: Marillion Secc 1985
Last gig: SkidS ABC Glasgow last month
Next Gigs: The Maccabees tomorrow night at o2 Academy & Manics at time square Newcastle in Aug
Best gig: Any British Sea Power gig
Worst gig: My Chemical Romance (supporting Muse) Meadowbank Stadium 2006
Who have you seen most: British Sea Power 17 times
Worst concert venue: SECC
Who have you not seen but want to: White Lies
Band no longer around you wish you'd seen: The Clash
23-06-2017, 08:11 AM
Just got 2 x tickets for The Libertines in Dunfermline in Sept:thumbsup:
Just gone on sale now if anyone interested.
23-06-2017, 08:14 AM
Got mines tae
yonder1875
23-06-2017, 11:13 AM
Me too - should be a hoot!
24-06-2017, 11:15 AM
I wasn't meant to be home till Monday but got home a couple of days early.
Any, off to see one off my old heroes. Ritchie Blackmores Rainbow at the Hydro. 1976 at the Playhouse when i first saw them. That made me feel old.
24-06-2017, 01:54 PM
Just got tickets for
Royal Blood at The Hydro in November
Queens of the Stone Age at Manchester Arena November, they are playing the Usher Hall but could not get tickets.
24-06-2017, 03:46 PM
We are off to the Arroyo Seco Weekend today in Pasadena where 3 stages will compete for our attention from lunchtime till late.
Might not be as good as the Desert Trip but the lineups look good. I'll be at the Willow stage until after Roy Ayers.
https://www.arroyosecoweekend.com/settimes/
24-06-2017, 04:22 PM
The missus got tickets for Saturday trnsmt for my birthday. Really looking forward to Kasabian.
24-06-2017, 04:50 PM
Got mines tae
Me too - should be a hoot!
And me, downstairs standing, me and the mrs. Only down side is its a Sunday night.
Just got tickets for
Royal Blood at The Hydro in November
Queens of the Stone Age at Manchester Arena November, they are playing the Usher Hall but could not get tickets.
Got RB tickets too!! New album is excellent!!
25-06-2017, 01:09 AM
Stone Roses were awesome tonight.
:hyper
ColinNish
25-06-2017, 07:58 AM
Saw OCS doing Moseley Shoals at Hydro in January. It was fantastic.
Godsahibby
25-06-2017, 10:29 AM
Great night at Hampden for the Roses. They weren't the best but that's expected. There for the sing along more than anything.
tanfield
25-06-2017, 03:09 PM
Great night at Hampden for the Roses. They weren't the best but that's expected. There for the sing along more than anything.
Absolutely. Could hardly hear them but sing along was good.
Godsahibby
25-06-2017, 06:29 PM
If you want to go to a gig and appreciate the stone roses go see rh complete stone roses!
Still a quality day out.
25-06-2017, 07:09 PM
If you want to go to a gig and appreciate the stone roses go see rh complete stone roses!
Still a quality day out.
They are brilliant. The lead singer left late last year though, not seen them with the new guy.
Godsahibby
25-06-2017, 07:19 PM
They are brilliant. The lead singer left late last year though, not seen them with the new guy.
Same here the old front man I'm sure was from Livvy didn't realise he had been replaced.
If you want to go to a gig and appreciate the stone roses go see rh complete stone roses! Still a quality day out.
Indeed. They are playing in Leven In Aug!!
yonder1875
25-06-2017, 09:46 PM
Was standing about halfway back on the pitch and they sounded so quiet... Hampden really is ****, isn't it? I enjoyed yesterday but there were too many factors that contributed to it not being a patch on Glasgow Green or Manchester.
26-06-2017, 08:40 AM
This is to wind up Brog 😆
Saw the wonderful Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes in Amsterdam on Saturday. Followed up with Steve van Zandt last night. Blistering set.
All topped off with SSJ joining SVZ for the encore. Emotions torn apart and a major ambition fulfilled......
tanfield
26-06-2017, 11:23 AM
Was standing about halfway back on the pitch and they sounded so quiet... Hampden really is ****, isn't it? I enjoyed yesterday but there were too many factors that contributed to it not being a patch on Glasgow Green or Manchester.
Hampden is a poor venue. Gig finished at half 10, after getting to and waiting a futile 30 mins at Mount Florida we hiked back into town and got back got the hotel at quarter to 1! Thank *&*! I wasn't due to head back to Edinburgh the same night
26-06-2017, 11:51 AM
Booked up for Leeds on the Friday to se LG.
The Sherlocks are playing too but other than that it's a ***** line up - be worth the trip for Liam Gallagher alone though.
26-06-2017, 12:01 PM
Booked up for Leeds on the Friday to se LG.
The Sherlocks are playing too but other than that it's a ***** line up - be worth the trip for Liam Gallagher alone though.
I'd toyed with a ticket to Leeds for the Friday too, but with the exception of Architects and Breaking Benjamin I didn't find it worth the money.
26-06-2017, 12:40 PM
Hampden is a poor venue. Gig finished at half 10, after getting to and waiting a futile 30 mins at Mount Florida we hiked back into town and got back got the hotel at quarter to 1! Thank *&*! I wasn't due to head back to Edinburgh the same night
And I though going to Hampden with Hibs was bad enough. Joke of a stadium not fit for purpose and stewards are hopeless. We had standing tickets but ended up sitting in the stand for half the night. Seemed to me that people could just go where they wanted and we were involved in a massive crush underneath the south stand where the bar and all the porta cabins were. Was very frightening as one line of stewards were pushing the crowd one way and another line of stewards pushing the crowd the other so crowd wash pushing into each other. People were going nuts and a few people had to be seen by paramedics as it was a proper struggle. Lots of people complaining to the stewards and wanting something done about it but were just told to go away or being laughed at. Then there's the bar situation where you gotta queue half an hour for tokens to then have to then have to spend another half hour queuing to get served the drink, thank god they don't serve alcohol at the football. Saw many drunken sights including guys just peeing everywhere (inside the stadium). No idea how women cope with needing the toilet as nowhere near enough for them and seemed to be queing for ages to use the ones that were there. Also what's the script with smoking? How come you can't smoke at the football but are freely allowed to smoke inside the stadium at a gig :confused:.
To top the night off, some wee lassie spewed all over one of our group. Not a pleasant sight but what you gonna do, was a wee girl about 16 who just said sorry and then continued to jump about daft.
As others have said, getting back into town was a farce. Do they not put on extra buses and trains like they do at the football?
I've seen some sights going to Hampden with Hibs but Saturday topped them all and doubt I'd ever go back again for a concert.
28-06-2017, 02:04 AM
Took me 3.5 hours to get back to Portobello after the England game the other week. Horrendous scenes.
I also recall getting back from a U2 gig at Hampden in 2005 at something mental like 3am due to traffic getting away from Hampden/Glasgow!
28-06-2017, 09:39 AM
Going to see Vida & The Rah's at King Tuts on 15th July, looking forward to it.
30-06-2017, 07:45 AM
Going to see Vida & The Rah's at King Tuts on 15th July, looking forward to it.
King Tuts is rapidly becoming my most hated venue in Glasgow.
Their late-start policy for gigs is brutal, especially for those of us travelling in from out of town.
Went to see Every Time I Die play there last December, and I left at midnight - their set was only half done.
I thought it was because something was wrong, but every gig I've fancied going to since then has also been a 'doors at 8:30pm' start.
06-07-2017, 02:36 PM
The Charlatans x2 (o2 academy Glasgow & o2 apollo Manchester)
Shed Seven (o2 academy Glasgow)
Happy Mondays (o2 academy Glasgow)
Royal Blood (hydro Glasgow)
Gorillaz (hydro Glasgow)
Reverend & The Makers (the garage Glasgow)
Also got a Saturday ticket for TRNSMT Festival this weekend at Glasgow Green. Planning on seeing Kasabian, The Kooks and Catfish & The Bottlemen.
Busy 6 months ahead :cb
Mantis Toboggan
06-07-2017, 11:47 PM
King Tuts is rapidly becoming my most hated venue in Glasgow.
Their late-start policy for gigs is brutal, especially for those of us travelling in from out of town.
Went to see Every Time I Die play there last December, and I left at midnight - their set was only half done.
I thought it was because something was wrong, but every gig I've fancied going to since then has also been a 'doors at 8:30pm' start.
Bit worried by this as going to see Employed to Serve there on a Sunday night in a few weeks...hello brutally expensive taxi
07-07-2017, 08:53 AM
Bit worried by this as going to see Employed to Serve there on a Sunday night in a few weeks...hello brutally expensive taxi
If you're able, and don't mind not drinking, I'd drive through. Parking is pretty easy to get on a Sunday night around Bath Street, St Vincent Street or in Blythswood Square.
If it's the Milk Teeth gig, doors open at 8:00pm and there are two support acts in Employed to Serve and Wallflower.
Mantis Toboggan
07-07-2017, 05:56 PM
If you're able, and don't mind not drinking, I'd drive through. Parking is pretty easy to get on a Sunday night around Bath Street, St Vincent Street or in Blythswood Square.
If it's the Milk Teeth gig, doors open at 8:00pm and there are two support acts in Employed to Serve and Wallflower.
Aye that's the one. Not much of a milk teeth fan so as long as ETS are done by 11 all will be well.
Not drinking probably not an option for this as anticipate it will be fairly mental.
Godsahibby
08-07-2017, 10:55 PM
Watching the highlights of TRNSMT this totally passes me by had no idea it was on but Kasabian are unreal. Love watching them live
09-07-2017, 12:31 AM
Watching the highlights of TRNSMT this totally passes me by had no idea it was on but Kasabian are unreal. Love watching them live
Was there yesterday and loved Radiohead. Watching Kasabian at the moment on tv and they're different class.
10-07-2017, 09:20 PM
Sublime with Rome at Shepherds Bush. Won't be the same without Bradley but still really looking forward to it.
02-08-2017, 10:48 PM
Next weekend sees Party Fears Three play their annual Festival gig at Liquid Rooms followed by a main stage slot at Party at the Palace on the Sunday. Get yourself along if you like your 80's synth bands.
04-08-2017, 12:23 AM
Four tickets bought for The Killers at Staples Center LA February 2018. Never heard of them so need to Spotify and find out if we want to go.
05-08-2017, 07:24 AM
Four tickets bought for The Killers at Staples Center LA February 2018. Never heard of them so need to Spotify and find out if we want to go.
Depends on your tastes I suppose - I know they're quite popular, but for me, they released one really good album (their first) and everything after that just sounded derivative and insipid - pretty typical of the Indie bands from that era.
I seen them live at my only ever trip to T in the Park in 2005, and they were entertaining enough.