View Full Version : Upcoming gigs?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18

23-06-2023, 10:22 PM
Opinions eh… no different from when I saw them live a couple of weeks ago and smashing it. They have 7 albums to choose from and have evolved massively as a band since their first album. Alex Turner is cool as to me too.

Don't think it's anything to do with evolving as a band though. Hear that a lot. Plenty bands on tour with many more albums than AM have and still play their older hits the same way. Especially at a festival!

Turner has turned into an insufferable egotistical gimp in my opinion.

MountcastleHibs
23-06-2023, 10:29 PM
Don't think it's anything to do with evolving as a band though. Hear that a lot. Plenty bands on tour with many more albums than AM have and still play their older hits the same way. Especially at a festival!

Turner has turned into an insufferable egotistical gimp in my opinion.

He’s a bit of an oddball, but I do think part of that is his stage persona.

I read an interview with him before the last album, and he says they’ve slowed down the songs because he can’t sing them how he did when he was 16/17. I think that’s fair.

23-06-2023, 10:30 PM
Think it will be a competition to see who is the worst headliner this year. My money is fully on Guns'n'Roses mind you they truly are an abomination.

I'm struggling to pick more than 10 bands from the whole lineup that I'd want to listen to. Mind you I don't think I've even heard of 99% of them.

23-06-2023, 10:30 PM
It’s like Hibs for me. I always stay until the end even when we are 3-0 down just in case.:greengrin
Fluorescent Adolescent ….. loving it.

I’m not sure even ‘love is a laser quest’ could get me to turn it back on.. and I can already picture them murdering ‘do I wanna know?’ 🙈😂

Good night 😁

23-06-2023, 10:34 PM
He’s a bit of an oddball, but I do think part of that is his stage persona.

I read an interview with him before the last album, and he says they’ve slowed down the songs because he can’t sing them how he did when he was 16/17. I think that’s fair.

Eh? He's only 37. They haven't exactly had a packed gigging schedule the past decade either considering the gaps between albums.

Can't or doesn't want to are too very different things.

23-06-2023, 10:38 PM
I’m not sure even ‘love is a laser quest’ could get me to turn it back on.. and I can already picture them murdering ‘do I wanna know?’ 🙈😂

Good night 😁

MountcastleHibs
23-06-2023, 10:39 PM
Eh? He's only 37. They haven't exactly had a packed gigging schedule the past decade either considering the gaps between albums.

Exactly. He’s matured as an artist, they’ve become more accomplished as a band.

23-06-2023, 10:40 PM
Exactly. He’s matured as an artist, they’ve become more accomplished as a band.

Absolutely fine when you're playing your own tour.

MountcastleHibs
23-06-2023, 10:43 PM
Absolutely fine when you're playing your own tour.

Completely disagree. They don’t need to change what they do for Glastonbury. People don’t like it - turn it off, watch something else.

From what I’ve seen on Twitter, people seem to just think that they should play songs from albums one and two. You can definitely prefer their earlier stuff, even their headline sets from 07 and 13, but they’ve earned their spot tonight and I’m enjoying their performance.

23-06-2023, 10:53 PM
Completely disagree. They don’t need to change what they do for Glastonbury. People don’t like it - turn it off, watch something else.

From what I’ve seen on Twitter, people seem to just think that they should play songs from albums one and two. You can definitely prefer their earlier stuff, even their headline sets from 07 and 13, but they’ve earned their spot tonight and I’m enjoying their performance.

😂 Are you being serious?

You don't think they should have to change what they do when playing at, probably the world's most famous, festival? Honestly?

Every band on the roster will be expected to play their biggest hits. It's a festival. Foo Fighters are a prime example, you think they won't play their hits same as the album tonight?

MountcastleHibs
23-06-2023, 11:07 PM
😂 Are you being serious?

You don't think they should have to change what they do when playing at, probably the world's most famous, festival? Honestly?

Every band on the roster will be expected to play their biggest hits. It's a festival. Foo Fighters are a prime example, you think they won't play their hits same as the album tonight?

They have played their biggest hits?

23-06-2023, 11:10 PM

Same as the album was the key point. They may as well not have bothered playing some of the songs.

His heart just isn't in the older stuff anymore, and that's absolutely fine, nothing at all do do with age though. Just don't play festivals then.

23-06-2023, 11:17 PM

Anyway! If you enjoy it all power to you man. No point arguing over something that's so subjective! Both like the same band at the end of the day 👍🏻

MountcastleHibs
23-06-2023, 11:19 PM
Same as the album was the key point. They may as well not have bothered playing some of the songs.

His heart just isn't in the older stuff anymore, and that's absolutely fine, nothing at all do do with age though. Just don't play festivals then.

It’s not a new thing, the way they are playing these songs. As I have already said, they’ve evolved as band and have a taken a new spin on it. If people don’t like it, don’t go and see them. Paolo Nutini has done the same thing with some of his music too. People will no doubt have their opinions about that too.

MountcastleHibs
23-06-2023, 11:20 PM
Anyway! If you enjoy it all power to you man. No point arguing over something that's so subjective! Both like the same band at the end of the day 👍🏻

Absolutely - difference of opinion and good to discuss!

23-06-2023, 11:22 PM
Absolutely - difference of opinion and good to discuss!

Spot on!

Nothing gets discussion going more than football and music for me. Enjoy the rest of your weekend mate.

23-06-2023, 11:40 PM
A rather wet but excellent show from Muse tonight in Glasgow. Great band.

Iron Maiden on Monday night at the hydro to follow. Can't wait.

23-06-2023, 11:40 PM

Yep first time seeing Muse and thoroughly enjoyed that. That 5 minutes of mental rain was some laugh [emoji23]

23-06-2023, 11:46 PM
Yep first time seeing Muse and thoroughly enjoyed that. That 5 minutes of mental rain was some laugh [emoji23]

Absolutely pished down. Great vibe though, everyone just embraced it.

I got burned to **** at download festival 2 weeks ago and soaked through tonight. Can't beat live music.

24-06-2023, 06:23 AM
Not been the same live in a very long time.

Easily one of my favourite bands ever. Don't bother going to see them live anymore though.

Not even to do with not liking their new stuff, love The Car. It's exactly what you just said, seems methodical rather than anything else these days

Gone from being edgy young and enthusiastic to now being a tad boring. Just look at the Foos last night, all the energy of 18yr olds but are now all in their 50's and the crowd loved them.

24-06-2023, 06:26 AM

Twin Atlantic supported them did they not??

Another bad who I think are superb.

24-06-2023, 09:22 AM
Twin Atlantic supported them did they not??

Another bad who I think are superb.

Yes. First time seeing them. Really good. I thought they weren't quite my style, bit on the pop side for me but I was wrong. Really impressed.

Trinity Hibee
24-06-2023, 09:24 AM
Lightning seeds had a good set at Glastonbury yesterday

24-06-2023, 10:14 AM
Yes. First time seeing them. Really good. I thought they weren't quite my style, bit on the pop side for me but I was wrong. Really impressed.

Been to see Twin Atlantic about 8/9 times all at indoor gigs. The last gig of there’s was at the Barrowlands where they played their album free in full without interaction with the crowd. That was one of the best gigs I have been to. They were outstanding that night.

I would recommend a listen to their older stuff as it’s superb!

24-06-2023, 12:04 PM
I know everyone will have their own preferences/reasons for being at Glasto, but imagine having a secret act that you didn’t market being the absolute highlight of day 1 on a shortened set…

24-06-2023, 12:38 PM
I know everyone will have their own preferences/reasons for being at Glasto, but imagine having a secret act that you didn’t market being the absolute highlight of day 1 on a shortened set…

Was always going to happen. Foo Fighters could headline and be the highlight of any festival in the world. They are so popular, so good live and in the middle of a massive story with Taylor passing. They will probably be the highlight of the weekend because Axl is absolutely knackered and Elton isn't exactly in his prime. Not the best lineup this year. QoTSA did look good too from the little I've seen.

It's great to see the foos back.

24-06-2023, 12:48 PM

Crazy isn’t it. When Dave said they’d play all night he would.

They played for nearly 3 hours at Bellahouston Park a few years back. Outstanding live.

After watching them last night I had their Essential playlist on whilst out on my bike this morning. Some absolute classics

24-06-2023, 07:11 PM
Rick Astley sings The Smiths. Not even funny.

Manics going through the motions in front of a crowd that know nowt about them. Shame.

That's me till The War On Drugs tomorrow, heard some of their stuff and quite like them.

24-06-2023, 07:39 PM
Glad I changed my mind and turned over to The Pretenders with Johnny Marr and now Dave Grohl on drums! Sounding great.

bringbackbenny
24-06-2023, 07:40 PM
So far from my usual genres or close to anything I'd normally listen to but watching Lizzo, bloody brilliant performance

24-06-2023, 08:12 PM
I'm not his biggest fan but Lewis Capaldi introducing Ed Sheeran then saying he wasn't here was brilliant 😂

24-06-2023, 08:37 PM
So far from my usual genres or close to anything I'd normally listen to but watching Lizzo, bloody brilliant performance

Ha funnily you should say that. Never heard of her or any of her songs but what a show. Superb.

bringbackbenny
24-06-2023, 08:47 PM
Ha funnily you should say that. Never heard of her or any of her songs but what a show. Superb.

Yup. Although the wee flute interlude was pretty weird 😅

24-06-2023, 08:50 PM
Yup. Although the wee flute interlude was pretty weird [emoji28]

Aye it was but still good! My wife and daughters (14/19) keep telling me I need to broaden my music horizons. There you go ladies! [emoji38]

24-06-2023, 08:52 PM
Musically Guns and Roses are still good but they need to turn Axl's mike up unless they've kept it low on purpose

24-06-2023, 09:13 PM
Rick Astley sings The Smiths. Not even funny.

Manics going through the motions in front of a crowd that know nowt about them. Shame.

That's me till The War On Drugs tomorrow, heard some of their stuff and quite like them.

Saw The War on Drugs supporting the Stones in Hyde Park last year. To be honest was a little disappointed.

24-06-2023, 09:14 PM
Musically Guns and Roses are still good but they need to turn Axl's mike up unless they've kept it low on purpose

Thought that too. Seems to have gone up a tad now.

24-06-2023, 09:25 PM
Theres been a Wolves flag close to the front of the Pyramid every year at Glasto since I can remember. Wonder if its the same person/people.

24-06-2023, 09:31 PM

He's friggin murder, one of the worst rock voices out there, screeching into a mic isn't signing, just let Slash play his loooong guitar solo's.

Willis1875
24-06-2023, 09:42 PM
He's friggin murder, one of the worst rock voices out there, screeching into a mic isn't signing, just let Slash play his loooong guitar solo's.

Band are carrying him,they most definitely still have it

24-06-2023, 09:48 PM

To think Slash has to sing with this idiot when Myles Kennedy is out there. Poor guy.

24-06-2023, 09:54 PM
Oh no, he's murdering Live and let die.. Stop it Axl please

24-06-2023, 09:59 PM
Oh no, he's murdering Live and let die.. Stop it Axl please

He sounds more like Jimi Somerville when trying to hit high notes. Time to retire.

Willis1875
24-06-2023, 10:04 PM
He sounds more like Jimi Somerville when trying to hit high notes. Time to retire.

He looks more Ian Beale than Axl Rose these days

24-06-2023, 10:06 PM

The covers are general awful. Live and let die, Knockin' on heavens door etc. Dreadful.

24-06-2023, 10:16 PM
I'm watching on iPlayer so think I'm ahead of all you, all I can say is you are going to love November Rain

Willis1875
24-06-2023, 10:17 PM
I'm watching on iPlayer so think I'm ahead of all you, all I can say is you are going to love November Rain

I’m on iplayer and November rain hasn’t been on yet

24-06-2023, 10:18 PM
I’m on iplayer and November rain hasn’t been on yet

You are maybe watching the BBC version, I'm watching the live Pyramid Stage one that started at half 9

Willis1875
24-06-2023, 10:24 PM
You are maybe watching the BBC version, I'm watching the live Pyramid Stage one that started at half 9

Got you 👍🏼

24-06-2023, 10:24 PM

A total yawn fest, extended by a needlessly long ending.

Get on with paradise city and be done with it.

24-06-2023, 10:52 PM
Urgh, he totally ruined Nightrain.

Turned it off after 30 seconds of paradise city.

I'd rather remember it as it used to be....

24-06-2023, 11:10 PM
Urgh, he totally ruined Nightrain.

Turned it off after 30 seconds of paradise city.

I'd rather remember it as it used to be....

Was it ever good? A great first album, couple of horrific covers, awful albums, dreadful live shows, brutal breakups. If they played in my garden, I'd shut the curtains.

24-06-2023, 11:34 PM
Black Keys were superb tonight. Great crowd too. Hydro special, queuing for the lavvy some git was shouting at anyone washing their hands as it was slowing the queue down. As if we all wash our hands before we pee.....

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-06-2023, 02:08 AM
Saw The Wakes in Dunfermline on Friday night, between that and the St Pauli friendly it was a pretty drunken crowd [emoji16] very good as usual though [emoji106]

Stairway 2 7
25-06-2023, 05:00 AM

Someone better tell Bruce Springsteen to slow down. Smashing out 3 hour sets and full speed in his 70s full of energy.

Can't be bothered with artcic fans saying they are just more nuanced now, or matured ha.

Some people liked the songs how they sounded and don't like them now, that's their choice, they don't have to grow to like something completely different.

A lot better bands than the arctics have gone on longer and still do the hits the same way.

Turner looks like Richard Hammond and talks like lulu now, it's a sad sight. Probably ditched his old mates when he got rid of his accent.

25-06-2023, 07:10 AM
Going to see guns n roses on Tuesday, got the tickets in 2019, reviews haven been great recently but its still guns n roses and I've never seen them live

25-06-2023, 07:16 AM
I saw Velvet Revolver playing once when I was on holiday in Florida. They happened to be playing Hard Rock at Universal and tickets were $20, so we decided to go. They did about 3 GnR songs and 2 Stone Temple Pilot songs and honestly, I was happy with that and not having to feel like I missed out on the Axl Rose experience.

Also got one of Slash's plectrums after the gig, which was a brucie bonus.

Still nobody's come close to laying a glove on the Foos yet IMO.

25-06-2023, 08:14 AM
Going to see guns n roses on Tuesday, got the tickets in 2019, reviews haven been great recently but its still guns n roses and I've never seen them live

I’d had a few but didn’t think they were near as bad as some are saying, but that was after watching the AM on Friday night who were brutal in my opinion.

Im sure you’ll have a great time.

25-06-2023, 09:12 AM
Both my sons were down in london last week for Arctic Monkeys at the Emirates. It was a great experience for my youngest (17) to go to his first ever stadium gig.

My older lad has been to quite a few gigs and festivals now and said they were "okay" but far from the best hes seen live.

Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk

25-06-2023, 12:31 PM
Shout out this morning to Lewis Capaldi. The lad is obviously struggling so well done to him for getting up there yesterday and doing what he loves. That couldn’t have been easy in front of tens of thousands of people!

MountcastleHibs
25-06-2023, 12:47 PM
Shout out this morning to Lewis Capaldi. The lad is obviously struggling so well done to him for getting up there yesterday and doing what he loves. That couldn’t have been easy in front of tens of thousands of people!

Massive props to him. You could tell from the minute he came on stage, he wasn’t himself. Hope he takes the time he needs and recovers.

25-06-2023, 01:16 PM
Someone better tell Bruce Springsteen to slow down. Smashing out 3 hour sets and full speed in his 70s full of energy.

Can't be bothered with artcic fans saying they are just more nuanced now, or matured ha.

Some people liked the songs how they sounded and don't like them now, that's their choice, they don't have to grow to like something completely different.

A lot better bands than the arctics have gone on longer and still do the hits the same way.

Turner looks like Richard Hammond and talks like lulu now, it's a sad sight. Probably ditched his old mates when he got rid of his accent.

Seen some amount of rubbish written about Arctic Monkeys this weekend and this is right up there.

He looks like Richard Hammond and talks like Lulu? Nice one, great banter. Ditched his mates? His mates are on stage with him. Including Tom from Milburn who now tours the world with Arctic Monkeys and has writing credits on their albums. Famously ditched his less successful mate Miles Kane aswell.......nope that didn't happen either.

People moaning about the odd track being delivered slightly differently - get a grip.

Absolutely fine if folk don't like a certain band. All the comments about Turner being up his own a*rse and pretentious etc. What a load of nonsense.

25-06-2023, 01:48 PM
What is it with Rick Astley? He was crap then and he's even worse now. Don't get this 80s cheesy thing at all.

25-06-2023, 01:59 PM
What is it with Rick Astley? He was crap then and he's even worse now. Don't get this 80s cheesy thing at all.

I might be alone here but after the Foo’s and Lizzo (first time I’ve heard her) i think he’s been excellent and up there this year. Far better than Axl that’s for sure!

Should add I thought Lewis Capaldi was good too

25-06-2023, 02:30 PM

His Smiths set with Blossoms was genius. Only decent thing I've seen from Glasto this year so far.

bringbackbenny
25-06-2023, 04:31 PM
His Smiths set with Blossoms was genius. Only decent thing I've seen from Glasto this year so far.

Agreed, also thought he was excellent . Hamming it up big style both for the Smiths covers and his own set but the guys an entertainer with an outstanding voice.

25-06-2023, 04:39 PM

Could hardly bear to watch it, torture. Ah well, opinions.

I suppose its one of these Marmite things as I was discussing it with my mates on WhatsApp and we all agreed it was just awful yet the Guardian gave it a 5 star review and it seems to have gone down well on here!

Pretenders with Johnny Marr the highlight by a mile for me.

25-06-2023, 04:55 PM
Viagra Boys were amazing. Crowd were well up for it.

Loopz
25-06-2023, 04:56 PM
Young Fathers were excellent.

25-06-2023, 06:22 PM

I don't listen to him at all (not really my genre) but we grew up in the same town so I've always 'followed' him to a degree.

Really hope he's getting all of the help and support he needs and deserves away from the spotlight. He's a very refreshing character in the industry with his utterly down to earth approach, and it's a genuine shame to see him struggling.

25-06-2023, 06:25 PM
Christine and. The Queens excellent so sexy

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-06-2023, 06:27 PM
I don't listen to him at all (not really my genre) but we grew up in the same town so I've always 'followed' him to a degree.

Really hope he's getting all of the help and support he needs and deserves away from the spotlight. He's a very refreshing character in the industry with his utterly down to earth approach, and it's a genuine shame to see him struggling.

Used to see him in the twig a few years back before he hit the big time, he was a decent bloke. Hope he’s doing better soon

Stairway 2 7
25-06-2023, 06:59 PM
Seen some amount of rubbish written about Arctic Monkeys this weekend and this is right up there.

He looks like Richard Hammond and talks like Lulu? Nice one, great banter. Ditched his mates? His mates are on stage with him. Including Tom from Milburn who now tours the world with Arctic Monkeys and has writing credits on their albums. Famously ditched his less successful mate Miles Kane aswell.......nope that didn't happen either.

People moaning about the odd track being delivered slightly differently - get a grip.

Absolutely fine if folk don't like a certain band. All the comments about Turner being up his own a*rse and pretentious etc. What a load of nonsense.

Never seen an adult so defensive about a band. His accent is gone and his interviews have shown he's sailing up his own rear. I've seen them live loads the early gigs were unreal. Some bands can keep that fire but it's hard to sing about being kids when your adult millionaires, that's true for all big bands.

The songs are just completely different and pretty pish a big number agree and many don't. Those that don't are weirdly protective. I like a lot of oasis later stuff most don't and I honestly couldn't care less each to there own.

Also saw James brown when he was 70 and he sung his tunes at 100mph and danced like a radge, superb

25-06-2023, 06:59 PM
Viagra Boys were amazing. Crowd were well up for it.I'll watch that later on, that's about the only one I really wanted to see.

25-06-2023, 07:13 PM
Used to see him in the twig a few years back before he hit the big time, he was a decent bloke. Hope he’s doing better soon

The Twig, what a blast from the past. The Twig and Boozy Suzy’s are former haunts from the 80’s and early 90’s!

25-06-2023, 07:38 PM
The Twig, what a blast from the past. The Twig and Boozy Suzy’s are former haunts from the 80’s and early 90’s!

Was boozy suzys the balbardie? Can mind my mum talking about it. I'm a bathgate bairn, been in the Twig many a time

25-06-2023, 07:50 PM
Was boozy suzys the balbardie? Can mind my mum talking about it. I'm a bathgate bairn, been in the Twig many a time

Balbardie was the Hotel/Pub with Boozy Suzies to the rear.

I also frequented the Dreadnaught and Manhattans.

I was brought up in Craigshill and remember the last bus from Bathgate going round all the streets in Livingston etc. was carnage some evenings.

I do remember seeing Goodbye Mr McKenzie okay in Bathgate before they made it big.

25-06-2023, 07:56 PM
The War On Drugs were very good, a few epic moments. I hadn't even heard of them till last week.

25-06-2023, 08:18 PM

Agree thought that was excellent

25-06-2023, 08:52 PM
Candi Station great performance. Started with no one particularly interested and ended up with a field full of fans. Nice one.

25-06-2023, 08:55 PM
Elton is doing just great here, obviously can't do the high notes but he's making vocal adjustments :greengrin

Getting a bit emotional hearing Someone Saved My Life tonight, takes me back to seeing him in the Playhouse in 1976. Hope he doesn't try to jump on to the piano like he did that night!

25-06-2023, 09:12 PM
Candi Station great performance. Started with no one particularly interested and ended up with a field full of fans. Nice one.

She was good. 83 years young!

25-06-2023, 09:33 PM
Didnt realise she was quite that old. Was guessing 70s. Brilliant performace from a true icon. Won the crowd over quite brilliantly from what I would guess was an initial audience who didnt really know who she was or what she had done.

Willis1875
25-06-2023, 09:51 PM
Elton was sensational

MountcastleHibs
25-06-2023, 10:13 PM
Elton was sensational

An absolute masterclass.

He's here!
25-06-2023, 10:19 PM
An absolute masterclass.

Phenomenal.

Just one question...folk adore his song 'Tiny Dancer' but what is it about? Who is the tiny dancer and why are they tiny?

25-06-2023, 10:21 PM
Phenomenal.

Just one question...folk adore his song 'Tiny Dancer' but what is it about? Who is the tiny dancer and why are they tiny?

A Hearts casual I believe

25-06-2023, 10:36 PM
A great set from The Silencers tonight at the Lemon Tree in Aberdeen. Jimmie O’Neill was in great form. Played the old hits and a smattering of new stuff which sounds pretty good.

25-06-2023, 10:36 PM
Elton was sensational

Arguably the best headliner yet.

25-06-2023, 10:37 PM
A Hearts casual I believe

😃👍

26-06-2023, 05:35 AM
I wouldn't go out my way to listen to his tunes but I grew up with his songs being played on the radio, I thought Elton was sensational last night, as has been said he adjusted his vocals as the high notes are harder nowadays but what a performance.

Sloop67
26-06-2023, 05:45 AM
A great set from The Silencers tonight at the Lemon Tree in Aberdeen. Jimmie O’Neill was in great form. Played the old hits and a smattering of new stuff which sounds pretty good.

I saw them on Friday night in Gala , fabulous show

26-06-2023, 06:22 AM
Have to disagree about Elton, we both burst out laughing when he walked on stage like a constipated Mrs Doubtfire.

Of course the songs are legendary, but i thought he came across as an old Vic Reeves singing as the pub singer from shooting stars.

I saw him twice in my life, once in America, and once at the playhouse, brilliant both times, but last night was not for me. :greengrin

26-06-2023, 08:00 AM
Phenomenal.

Bernie Taupin's ex-wife, Maxine. She was the "seamstress for the band" before she "married the music man."

She also coined the phrase "The bitch is back" whenever Elton was in a bad mood.

26-06-2023, 08:12 AM
Never seen an adult so defensive about a band. His accent is gone and his interviews have shown he's sailing up his own rear. I've seen them live loads the early gigs were unreal. Some bands can keep that fire but it's hard to sing about being kids when your adult millionaires, that's true for all big bands.

The songs are just completely different and pretty pish a big number agree and many don't. Those that don't are weirdly protective. I like a lot of oasis later stuff most don't and I honestly couldn't care less each to there own.

Also saw James brown when he was 70 and he sung his tunes at 100mph and danced like a radge, superb

Ha ha, guilty as charged I suppose!

I was out on Friday and saw some of the chat about Arctic Monkeys online. Thought the set must have been a bit of an off day, maybe down to his illness. Then I watched it and just found most of the criticism to be pretty misplaced IMO. Albeit there were big gaps between tracks which didn't help. Not sure what that was all about.

I just don't get the argument about songs not sounding exactly like recorded versions.....surely that is part of the appeal of a live performance. It was also true of virtually any act I watched at Glastonbury this weekend.

A few tracks were slowed slightly but stuff like Dancefloor and Teddy Picker were delivered at 100mph as normal. And the new material, for me Body Paint and it's big jam outro was the absolute highlight of the set.

Each to their own etc :greengrin

26-06-2023, 08:32 AM
Balbardie was the Hotel/Pub with Boozy Suzies to the rear.

I also frequented the Dreadnaught and Manhattans.

I was brought up in Craigshill and remember the last bus from Bathgate going round all the streets in Livingston etc. was carnage some evenings.

I do remember seeing Goodbye Mr McKenzie okay in Bathgate before they made it big.

I learned how to drink in that place. Many an evening in the front bar playing pool and drinking a few pints with friends from school. Only went to the nightclub a handful of times, but it was a real shame when that old building fell empty and eventually into dereliction.

Sorry, a bit of a derailing of the thread I guess but I have fond memories of that place.

26-06-2023, 09:24 AM
I feared the worst when i saw Elton John hobble out looking like a parody of himself but he was very good. I've seen him a couple of times before and his voice has definitely declined, and the reviews of his current tour are very mixed, but he was on good form last night and has adapted his style to reflect he just can't do what he used to.

Thought Guns n Roses were awful, or rather Axl Rose was awful. The rest of the band were still tight and there seemed to be good chemistry but Axl's voice is just shot. There were a few glimpses of what used to be but for the most part it wasn't good. I do wonder if the TV has done him a bit dirty though as the reviews from critics in attendance were far more positive (or at least some of them were).

I enjoyed the Arctic Monkeys. Nowhere near their best but some of the criticism they are getting is way OTT. I get why Alex Turner might rub people up the wrong way with the American accent and whatever but they still put on a show. Their sound has evolved and when you have almost 2 decades of back catalogue then you are never going to please everyone as we'll all have our favourites. I'm not a fan of bands that point blank refuse to play their biggest hits but you couldn't accuse them off that as plenty of the big hitters got an airing.

I quite enjoyed just flicking through the coverage on and off all weekend. Watching some stuff I usually wouldn't and enjoying the spectacle of it all.

Bridge hibs
26-06-2023, 12:14 PM

Was that an acoustic set mate or full on ? Agree Jimmie O’Neill is some chanter but I preferred JJ Gilmours energy and his vocals

26-06-2023, 01:33 PM
Have to disagree about Elton, we both burst out laughing when he walked on stage like a constipated Mrs Doubtfire.

Of course the songs are legendary, but i thought he came across as an old Vic Reeves singing as the pub singer from shooting stars.

I saw him twice in my life, once in America, and once at the playhouse, brilliant both times, but last night was not for me. :greengrin

Harsh

Bridge hibs
26-06-2023, 01:44 PM

🤣

26-06-2023, 02:32 PM
It certainly wasn't an Elton in his prime, but surely, much like GnR, nobody was expecting that?

Glasto isn't my scene at the best of times (it just comes across as a bit too w***y and unaligned to my music tastes), but this year seemed especially poor - with the caveats that 1) of course it's easy to say that as an armchair fan, and b) I wouldn't pay to see any of the advertised acts individually anyway. GnR's somewhat painful headline performance, a divisive Arctic Monkeys set (which I thought was OK but a bit boring in places), the Lana Del Rey debacle, the very sad events around Lewis Capaldi, and a pretty mediocre show from Elton.

I said on Friday few would top the Foo Fighters and I feel that still stands. They were the best act I seen all weekend (opinions may vary, naturally).

It certainly hasn't convinced me I'm missing out on anything by not being in attendance for future Glastonbury's.

26-06-2023, 02:44 PM
Watched Queen's of the Stone Age on the I player, what a brilliant set, absolutely spot on vocals and tight as hell band, 78 minutes of cracking rock.

26-06-2023, 02:58 PM
Watched Queen's of the Stone Age on the I player, what a brilliant set, absolutely spot on vocals and tight as hell band, 78 minutes of cracking rock.

Saw them headline King Tuts at T in The Park in 2007 and they were unbelievable. The energy in the tent was unreal, I still don't understand anyone who went to see Snow Patrol headline the main stage instead but each to their own.

More generally I think with Glastonbury people have to remember you only see a fraction of the entire set up on TV as they focus on the biggest names on the Pyramid Stage and to a lesser extent the Park and Other Stages. There were over 60 stages at the festival this year and when you include other events over 100 venues with something going on. If you look through the line ups for each stage there is a huge range of genres and generations covered and it would be a miracle if you didn't find something that appealed to you. I used to be a bit sceptical of the whole thing but a few of my mates went about 5 or so years ago and I've been jealous ever since.

26-06-2023, 05:36 PM
Saw them headline King Tuts at T in The Park in 2007 and they were unbelievable. The energy in the tent was unreal, I still don't understand anyone who went to see Snow Patrol headline the main stage instead but each to their own.

More generally I think with Glastonbury people have to remember you only see a fraction of the entire set up on TV as they focus on the biggest names on the Pyramid Stage and to a lesser extent the Park and Other Stages. There were over 60 stages at the festival this year and when you include other events over 100 venues with something going on. If you look through the line ups for each stage there is a huge range of genres and generations covered and it would be a miracle if you didn't find something that appealed to you. I used to be a bit sceptical of the whole thing but a few of my mates went about 5 or so years ago and I've been jealous ever since.

Never done a festival, the wife doesn't fancy it although we do go to quite a lot of gigs, generally rock/indie. I'll spend the next few days going through the iplayer watching loads of bands doing their thing, as you say the BBC tend to just show the bigger acts and the Pyramid stage.

26-06-2023, 05:39 PM
Was that an acoustic set mate or full on ? Agree Jimmie O’Neill is some chanter but I preferred JJ Gilmours energy and his vocals

It was an acoustic set……though one of the guitars was electric. Worked well, plenty of singalong momentsmoments.

Stairway 2 7
26-06-2023, 05:39 PM
It's all gone very royal variety. Pop bands and bands of yesteryear.

If they followed the same formula as now who would they have had in 1971 instead of having Hawkwind, The Grateful Dead, Marc Bolan and David Bowie. Would it be Al Jolson, Bing Crosby and Cab Calloway?

26-06-2023, 06:36 PM
Never done a festival, the wife doesn't fancy it although we do go to quite a lot of gigs, generally rock/indie. I'll spend the next few days going through the iplayer watching loads of bands doing their thing, as you say the BBC tend to just show the bigger acts and the Pyramid stage.

If I've guessed your taste right, have a look at The Hu. (yeah, just as you think it's pronounced :greengrin)

I'm interested in your view of them....... :cb

26-06-2023, 07:21 PM
If I've guessed your taste right, have a look at The Hu. (yeah, just as you think it's pronounced :greengrin)

They're so much fun. The crowd they got at Download was incredible - musically, extremely gifted!

26-06-2023, 07:26 PM
Bernie Taupin's ex-wife, Maxine. She was the "seamstress for the band" before she "married the music man."

https://youtu.be/kgcD0XErPZo

26-06-2023, 08:07 PM

Had a listen and erm, nope not what I'd listen to but thanks anyway, I do listen to a wide variety of music and I appreciate the Hu are talented musicians but just not my thing.

Trinity Hibee
26-06-2023, 09:00 PM
I feared the worst when i saw Elton John hobble out looking like a parody of himself but he was very good. I've seen him a couple of times before and his voice has definitely declined, and the reviews of his current tour are very mixed, but he was on good form last night and has adapted his style to reflect he just can't do what he used to.

Thought Guns n Roses were awful, or rather Axl Rose was awful. The rest of the band were still tight and there seemed to be good chemistry but Axl's voice is just shot. There were a few glimpses of what used to be but for the most part it wasn't good. I do wonder if the TV has done him a bit dirty though as the reviews from critics in attendance were far more positive (or at least some of them were).

I enjoyed the Arctic Monkeys. Nowhere near their best but some of the criticism they are getting is way OTT. I get why Alex Turner might rub people up the wrong way with the American accent and whatever but they still put on a show. Their sound has evolved and when you have almost 2 decades of back catalogue then you are never going to please everyone as we'll all have our favourites. I'm not a fan of bands that point blank refuse to play their biggest hits but you couldn't accuse them off that as plenty of the big hitters got an airing.

I quite enjoyed just flicking through the coverage on and off all weekend. Watching some stuff I usually wouldn't and enjoying the spectacle of it all.

Went to the Arctic Monkeys gig in Glasgow last night and it was superb. Night and day from their Glastonbury performance. Alex turner was really going for it so I’m guessing he may have been holding back slightly at Glastonbury having been ill last week. Genuinely one of the best gigs I’ve been too.

I did think the sound at the AM Glasto set was poor and also thought the same for Guns and Roses which may have also played a part in people not enjoying the performance as much.

26-06-2023, 09:15 PM
They're so much fun. The crowd they got at Download was incredible - musically, extremely gifted!

Had a listen and erm, nope not what I'd listen to but thanks anyway, I do listen to a wide variety of music and I appreciate the Hu are talented musicians but just not my thing.

Sorry guys, mixed you up :greengrin

26-06-2023, 09:16 PM
https://youtu.be/kgcD0XErPZo

She was at the side of the stage for Elton. Great twist.

My mate was standing beside her in the wings when Blondie were on.

26-06-2023, 11:19 PM
Just back from seeing iron maiden, I thought they were excellent. I'm a little disappointed they left out some of their iconic songs though.

27-06-2023, 07:45 AM
Foo Fighters announce 2024 UK Tour.
Pre sale tomorrow with general sale Friday.

Only disappointment is they are playing Hampdump. Was really hoping they’d play Murrayfield!

Willis1875
27-06-2023, 07:59 AM

Only disappointment is they are playing Hampdump. Was really hoping they’d play Murrayfield!

On a Monday night aswell 👎🏻

27-06-2023, 08:17 AM
On a Monday night aswell [emoji1304]

I know.

Mrs Aldo will need to take couple of days off work.

Trinity Hibee
27-06-2023, 08:28 AM

Although FF are playing Hampden, it seems like Murrayfield is starting to get the big names so fingers crossed the coming years we see more acts coming here

27-06-2023, 08:33 AM
Although FF are playing Hampden, it seems like Murrayfield is starting to get the big names so fingers crossed the coming years we see more acts coming here

They played at Murrayfield the year after Dave broke his leg and had his throne. Just don’t like the set up at Hampdump.

Mind you in seeing Dave and co so will be superb regardless

27-06-2023, 09:02 AM
Hampden on a Monday probably rules me out, sadly. I was really hoping they'd play one of the Summer Sessions at Bellahouston.

Hampden is a hovel of a stadium, fit for neither sport nor music.

27-06-2023, 09:09 AM
We have tickets to see First Aid Kit in Edinburgh this August.

Bridge hibs
27-06-2023, 10:32 AM
It was an acoustic set……though one of the guitars was electric. Worked well, plenty of singalong momentsmoments.Nice one mate 👍

27-06-2023, 01:38 PM
Supposed to be going to see guns n roses tonight, after waiting 3 years the wife has taken not well and we might not be going now, couldn't make it up!

27-06-2023, 05:37 PM
Just back from seeing iron maiden, I thought they were excellent. I'm a little disappointed they left out some of their iconic songs though.

Yeah, although I think that's a good thing sometimes. A band like Iron Maiden with a dozen brilliant albums need to mix it up. Too many hits to just play the hits.

Personally loved it. A really unique setlist. Probably won't play some of those songs ever again when this tour is over.

28-06-2023, 06:25 AM
Managed to see GNR last night, were much better than I thought they would be

28-06-2023, 10:56 AM
Just got tickets for the foo fighters for next year as well, if anyone is needing the code for pre sale just let me know, ticketmaster are a scandal though, £9.95 extra per ticket for absolutely hee haw

28-06-2023, 11:55 AM
Just got tickets for the foo fighters for next year as well, if anyone is needing the code for pre sale just let me know, ticketmaster are a scandal though, £9.95 extra per ticket for absolutely hee haw

Likewise - Saturday London one. Presale code can be easily found with a quick Google or Twitter search.

28-06-2023, 12:06 PM
Likewise - Saturday London one. Presale code can be easily found with a quick Google or Twitter search.

Aye it was twitter I found it, forgot about their handling fee as well, which seems crazy as you have to pay £9.40 per ticket for a service charge. I don't use ticketmaster that often so was amazed

29-06-2023, 08:54 AM
Foo Fighters tickets for Hampden also secured. Happy days [emoji3059]

Green Man
29-06-2023, 05:13 PM
I looked at Foo Fighters tickets and saw that TM are doing their dynamic pricing thing again. I can’t be doing with that, ticket prices are already through the roof without this new model.

01-07-2023, 08:36 AM
Tickets for Those Damn Crows secured yesterday for Glasgow. Cannot recommend them enough.

01-07-2023, 09:26 AM
I looked at Foo Fighters tickets and saw that TM are doing their dynamic pricing thing again. I can’t be doing with that, ticket prices are already through the roof without this new model.

Eventim were doing tickets at face value but it's Hampden putting me off more than anything. I may have bought at say £60 but not paying over a hundred for that sound quality

05-07-2023, 02:36 PM
Anyone waiting on a Taylor Swift code? Think I might go for a long walk with the dog when my daughter gets home so I'm not pestered with "has it arrived yet," every 2 mins.

05-07-2023, 05:29 PM
Anyone waiting on a Taylor Swift code? Think I might go for a long walk with the dog when my daughter gets home so I'm not pestered with "has it arrived yet," every 2 mins.

Everybody in my family is trying for my superfan nieces. They're prepared to go to any venue in the world. Might be a case of blind panic if I get picked!

Jay
05-07-2023, 05:33 PM

Yep. 14th now. Have to go through all the stress again

05-07-2023, 05:48 PM

Still waiting on emails here. Will have one very unhappy teenager if we don’t get one soon.

05-07-2023, 06:27 PM
I've got teenage bottlerocket/raging Nathan's on 31st this month at audio in Glasgow and then Sloppy Seconds the night after at legends.

After that it's amyl & sniffers at end of August and UK subs in September.

06-07-2023, 08:06 AM
My cousin got tickets for Taylor Swift. She had to join some rugby thing to do with Murryfield to get the early access though and its cost her £800 for two tickets 😆.

06-07-2023, 08:15 AM
Still waiting on emails here. Will have one very unhappy teenager if we don’t get one soon.

Not sure if they've been sent at all, nobody we know got anything. My daughter did get the presale email because she bought the album but nothing from the registration process.

06-07-2023, 08:19 AM
Not sure if they've been sent at all, nobody we know got anything. My daughter did get the presale email because she bought the album but nothing from the registration process.

Yeah my son got the pre sale email too so he was happy last night thankfully.

The other emails are now being sent out on the 14th July.

We could have got ticket through the Murrayfield thing as well but I wouldn’t let him spend £450 on one ticket, horrible mum that I am :greengrin

06-07-2023, 08:58 AM
Mammoth WVH, Motley Crue and Def Leopard tonight in Glasgow. Should be an experience if nothing else.

Trinity Hibee
07-07-2023, 10:03 PM
Ended up at Rod Stewart at the castle tonight. Still a great voice and stage presence for a 78 year old. Quite enjoyed it

08-07-2023, 03:16 PM
Hope the Transmt highlights are a better package than last night.

08-07-2023, 06:02 PM
Hope the Transmt highlights are a better package than last night.

Apparently Pulp refused them permission to show any their set.

08-07-2023, 09:19 PM
And Edith saying just now we won't get Sam Fender highlights tonight, but will get them tomorrow night.

Sportscene-like coverage. Ken whit? Just save everyone's time, and whatever pence out the licence fee and not cover it at all.

MountcastleHibs
08-07-2023, 09:54 PM
And Edith saying just now we won't get Sam Fender highlights tonight, but will get them tomorrow night.

Sportscene-like coverage. Ken whit? Just save everyone's time, and whatever pence out the licence fee and not cover it at all.

It’s embarrassing when you compare it to Glastonbury coverage just two weeks ago. When used to be T in the Park, the coverage was excellent. Shows how downhill the festival has gone as well.

Not expecting them to put the same budget into TRNSMT as Glastonbury obviously, but a bit of effort and live broadcast of headliners isn’t too much to ask?!

10-07-2023, 09:55 AM
Taylor Swift pre sale tickets on sale today

It’s very tense in my house 😬

Jay
10-07-2023, 11:04 AM

We managed to get tickets. I was ill with the stress as I got in first! Happy household here thankfully

10-07-2023, 11:21 AM
We managed to get tickets. I was ill with the stress as I got in first! Happy household here thankfully

Happy house here too :greengrin

10-07-2023, 12:31 PM
Depeche Mode playing the Hydro on January 31st........Good to get a 'home' gig.

bringbackbenny
10-07-2023, 01:43 PM
Inspiral Carpets at PJ's next week

10-07-2023, 02:14 PM

My daughter got 2 sets of 2 tickets for the first 2 nights. First night her tickets were £180 each, second night she went for the £90 tickets and she has restricted view!!

She's delighted. So am I when I read it's a max of 4 per household so I'm now off duty when the general sale happens.

Jay
10-07-2023, 05:53 PM
My daughter got 2 sets of 2 tickets for the first 2 nights. First night her tickets were £180 each, second night she went for the £90 tickets and she has restricted view!!

She's delighted. So am I when I read it's a max of 4 per household so I'm now off duty when the general sale happens.

Same, the pressures off me now. We got all the tickets we need today. I was stressed and had stayed up after a nightshift to help out. Happy days

10-07-2023, 07:00 PM
Congratulations to everyone who got the tickets they wanted today. I know just how stressful than can be. #FirstWorldProblems

10-07-2023, 08:47 PM
I see that some Taylor swift tickets are appearing on resale for more than £3,000

10-07-2023, 10:39 PM
Belle and Sebastian were outstanding tonight at Aberdeen’s Beach Ballroom. Stuart Murdoch and the band were on top form and seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves. Catch them if you can.

11-07-2023, 07:18 AM
The Wonder Years are touring 'The Greatest Generation' in its entirety in November so I'm off to SWG3 to see them. What a great little venue that is, incidentally!

patch1875
11-07-2023, 10:29 AM
Never got a code for Taylor Swift so running the gauntlet on Monday.

Depeche Mode announced for the hydro so same again.

patch1875
13-07-2023, 03:50 PM
Depeche Mode in January.

13-07-2023, 05:09 PM
Never got a code for Taylor Swift so running the gauntlet on Monday.

Depeche Mode announced for the hydro so same again.

Codes for those that registered are coming out tomorrow.

If you didn't register then there will be no gauntlet as you won't even get on the site.

patch1875
13-07-2023, 05:28 PM
Codes for those that registered are coming out tomorrow.

If you didn't register then there will be no gauntlet as you won't even get on the site.

I did register so fingers crossed. I’ve lost track of what’s going on think the ones earlier this week were from a code if you bought the album….apparently!

Jay
13-07-2023, 05:36 PM
I did register so fingers crossed. I’ve lost track of what’s going on think the ones earlier this week were from a code if you bought the album….apparently!

Yeah the codes were for people who bought the album directly from her site last year.

19-07-2023, 07:17 PM
Ticketmaster didn't do dynamic pricing for Taylor swift but just made loads of tickets VIP , basically you pay an extra £400 for a lanyard and some prints.

Makes me think what would be the max you'd pay for a single act concert ticket? I paid £100 for Springsteen - reckon that's my limit.

19-07-2023, 08:07 PM
Ticketmaster didn't do dynamic pricing for Taylor swift but just made loads of tickets VIP , basically you pay an extra £400 for a lanyard and some prints.

Makes me think what would be the max you'd pay for a single act concert ticket? I paid £100 for Springsteen - reckon that's my limit.

We just paid £290 for 2 Taylor Swift tickets. £40 of booking fees [emoji30]

Most I’ve ever paid for a concert and I won’t even be going 🫣

patch1875
19-07-2023, 08:20 PM
We didn’t get any on Monday.

Apparently it’s a lead ticket event now so the person who bought has to attend.

Can see this turning into a shambles!

19-07-2023, 08:30 PM
We didn’t get any on Monday.

Apparently it’s a lead ticket event now so the person who bought has to attend.

Can see this turning into a shambles!

Tbh this lead ticket event is to cause panic for touts etc. been to loads of gigs where they’ve said the lead booker must be present and never been asked for any kind of ID.

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 08:31 PM

Depends who it is, certain bands in certain circumstances could honestly name their price and I’d find a way. For example, if it was going to be a farewell tour for Gerry Cinnamon or The Killers and they wanted £600 a ticket I’d have to stump up and buy it as much as I’m saying I don’t understand folk paying that for Taylor Swift (which is just another tour as far as I can see? Nothing overly special about it?)

19-07-2023, 08:39 PM
Depends who it is, certain bands in certain circumstances could honestly name their price and I’d find a way. For example, if it was going to be a farewell tour for Gerry Cinnamon or The Killers and they wanted £600 a ticket I’d have to stump up and buy it as much as I’m saying I don’t understand folk paying that for Taylor Swift (which is just another tour as far as I can see? Nothing overly special about it?)

I think if you’re a Taylor Swift fan it’s a pretty big tour. She’s on for 3 hours, and does sections for each of her albums.

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 08:41 PM
I think if you’re a Taylor Swift fan it’s a pretty big tour. She’s on for 3 hours, and does sections for each of her albums.

Ah right wasn’t aware of that, fair enough that sounds like a good show if that’s your thing.

19-07-2023, 09:13 PM
There's a weird dynamic with Scottish rugby as part of this tour too (aside from it just being at Murrayfield). I'm a Scotland rugby season ticket holder and I got pre-sale options on hospitality packages and VIP tickets before they went to general sale as a result.

I was never going to use it (file under absolutely not my scene), but I thought it odd that it was an option available to me!

19-07-2023, 11:40 PM
There's a weird dynamic with Scottish rugby as part of this tour too (aside from it just being at Murrayfield). I'm a Scotland rugby season ticket holder and I got pre-sale options on hospitality packages and VIP tickets before they went to general sale as a result.

I was never going to use it (file under absolutely not my scene), but I thought it odd that it was an option available to me!

I got offered a hospitality box at £1500 pp 😂😂😂
Turns out the box is in the West corner where the stage is so imagine has restricted view. Think I'll pass

20-07-2023, 09:15 AM
Hifi sean and David mcalmont. St Luke's in Glasgow, Feb 8th. £19.80 a ticket

Jay
22-07-2023, 08:35 AM
I've heard that Taylor Swift ticket prices have dropped for Murrayfield. If you have a code and didn't want to pay hundreds it's worth logging in for a look today.

patch1875
22-07-2023, 04:29 PM
I've heard that Taylor Swift ticket prices have dropped for Murrayfield. If you have a code and didn't want to pay hundreds it's worth logging in for a look today.

My daughter is still checking every now and again nothing changed still the £600+ only.

Jay
22-07-2023, 05:22 PM
My daughter is still checking every now and again nothing changed still the £600+ only.

Jeez I hope she gets some.

31-07-2023, 11:13 AM
James at Slessor Gardens in Dundee on Friday were brilliant. They really are a superb live band. Always mixing up their setlist and not scared to leave out the big hits. The venue however was a shambles. 2nd time I’ve been to a gig there (Noel Gallagher last year). They haven’t learned from the mistakes last year. Ridiculous queues to get in and 45 minute wait to get s drink at the bar. Shame cos it size and location are great.

Next up, Depeche Mode in Tallinn…..

02-08-2023, 08:24 PM
Teenage bottlerocket absolutely blew the lid off the place on Monday night at audio in glasgow, support band the Raging Nathan's were also outstanding.

Sloppy seconds put on an excellent show at legends last night in their first Scottish gig in 30 years.

02-08-2023, 10:40 PM
Del Amitri in Kevingrove. First time for both..Excellent set of the well known and the deep cuts. Stornoway were the support with a very decent 45 min slot. And some very drunk women. Back home by 11:30 too.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

patch1875
07-08-2023, 02:40 PM
Young Fathers at The Barrowlands should be epic.

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-08-2023, 02:14 AM
Anyone else successful in the mad scramble for Shane Todd tickets for next Friday night? Really looking forward to it.

12-08-2023, 09:31 AM
Peat & Diesel in North Berwick tonight.

Fuzzywuzzy
13-08-2023, 08:38 AM
Shed seven at party at the palace were brilliant. Happy Mondays were not bad

13-08-2023, 10:26 AM
For any fans of Scottish traditional music may I post a recommendation for the Rose Theatre in Rose Street. Set up by the soundhouse.org people (who put on gigs at The Traverse), this wee fringe venue has Bellfield Brewery providing the beers. All gigs £15, two shows a night (7pm and 9:30pm). Some fine gigs coming up (see link (https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on#fq=venue_name%3A%22Rose%20Theatre%22&q=*%3A*)).

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F2hbmDhWwAAZebB?format=webp&name=medium

Last night the wonderful Inge Thomson and Fraser Fifield were simply amazing.

G15 Hibs
14-08-2023, 10:29 AM
Swans at St Luke's on Wednesday night.

Saw them a few years ago at Oran Mor, didn't know what to expect, had never really listened to them before but a pal had a spare ticket. Quite something.

coldingham hibs
27-08-2023, 06:01 PM
Going to The Killers concert at Ingliston Showground. Will be arriving at the Ingliston Park & Ride but not sure where the entrance to the showground is located or how far away it is.

Could someone who has attended a concert at the showground maybe give me some info please.

27-08-2023, 06:37 PM
Hot Milk at SWG3 Glasgow on November 18th

Into the New Year - I've got Enter Shikari in Edinburgh (Corn Exchange) on Feb 12th and then down in London (Wembley Arena) on Feb 17th.

After that it's Pendulum in Leeds (First Direct Arena) on 24th March, and then in Glasgow (Hydro) on 31st March

HibbyDave
27-08-2023, 06:59 PM
Deacon Blue in Liverpool. Really looking forward to it.

29-08-2023, 09:57 AM
Deacon Blue in Liverpool. Really looking forward to it.

They get better and better live. Wasn’t a fan in the 80’s or 90’s but grew to appreciate them. I’ve seen them loads of times in the last 15 years and they never disappoint. Enjoy!

Sloop67
01-09-2023, 06:03 AM
Sleeper tonight at the Mac Arts in Gala then Big Country next week at the same venue

01-09-2023, 12:46 PM
Blink 182 in Glasgow tonight has been postponed I see due to a family emergency for Travis. That’s quite a few gigs in Glasgow over the past year that have been postponed/cancelled and often last minute. Kind of puts me off when you factor in transport and hotel costs that could well be sunk when they cancel such last minute.

01-09-2023, 01:25 PM
Blink 182 in Glasgow tonight has been postponed I see due to a family emergency for Travis. That’s quite a few gigs in Glasgow over the past year that have been postponed/cancelled and often last minute. Kind of puts me off when you factor in transport and hotel costs that could well be sunk when they cancel such last minute.
Can't be helped, the guy's got to deal with his family emergency. Do you need to stay in hotel for a gig in Glasgow?

01-09-2023, 01:50 PM
Can't be helped, the guy's got to deal with his family emergency. Do you need to stay in hotel for a gig in Glasgow?

Its often easier, particularly at the Hydro. If the gig ends at 11, getting back for the last train can be a challenge.

01-09-2023, 02:34 PM
Its often easier, particularly at the Hydro. If the gig ends at 11, getting back for the last train can be a challenge.
Oh I can imagine, if you're relying on public transport.

01-09-2023, 04:47 PM
Paulo Nutini at Ingliston last night. He was great, the crowd were poor. More interested in selfies, group photos and posting to social media than enjoying the gig.

01-09-2023, 09:22 PM

Great bus service from Buchanan Street every hour, if you miss the last train.

02-09-2023, 12:41 PM
Paulo Nutini at Ingliston last night. He was great, the crowd were poor. More interested in selfies, group photos and posting to social media than enjoying the gig.

Saw him at Ally Pally last year. Great night.

02-09-2023, 07:08 PM
Not the first time Blink (or one of their spin-off bands) have cancelled last minute. That being said, Travis’ wife is currently pregnant.

I’m off to see Spanish Love Songs and Hot Mulligan at SWG3 tomorrow and I can’t wait. SLS are one of my favourite bands.

02-09-2023, 08:13 PM
The National, Leeds

06-09-2023, 04:34 PM
Not a gig as such, but Stop Making Sense is showing at the Cameo at the end of the month.

Up there with The Last Waltz and Bangla Desh as my favourite gig films.

06-09-2023, 05:33 PM
Not a gig as such, but Stop Making Sense is showing at the Cameo at the end of the month.

Up there with The Last Waltz and Bangla Desh as my favourite gig films.

It's fantastic. I have the DVD but it's just so good at the cinema.

06-09-2023, 09:16 PM
Swans at St Luke's on Wednesday night.

Saw them a few years ago at Oran Mor, didn't know what to expect, had never really listened to them before but a pal had a spare ticket. Quite something.

I was at Swans at St Luke’s - both spellbinding and exhilarating.

Gira was shamanic at times as he orchestrated proceedings. And boy was it loud - when they put two bass players into action it felt like it was ripping right through you.

Similarly was in attendance last time at Oran Mor, and I’m desperately hoping it’s not going to be the last time seeing them in Scotland.

06-09-2023, 09:31 PM
Picked up tickets for Arab Strap playing Philophobia at MacArts in Gala in December. Seen them loads over the years and always enjoyable.
Also got Slowdive at Liquid Rooms next year, but given the size of other Venus on the tour (Barrowlands for example) there is a real fear of a venue change to the dreaded Corn Exchange.

Coming up I’ve Television Personalities in Bannermans, the September Wavetable event on Causwayside (monthly modular synth/experimental electronica night which is a cheap ticket and a BYOB affair), Glock, Telescopes, Wreckless Eric, Enola Gay, Silver Moth, Calum Easter & Rose City Band all before the years out.

07-09-2023, 04:07 PM
After the National on the 23rd I'm going to see Anna Erhard at the Bride all Social Club on the 25th.

07-09-2023, 08:00 PM
Gig I've only just found out about, tonight in London...

"We'll sleep when we're dead, too".... a tribute to Warren Zevon, who passed away 20 years ago today.

07-09-2023, 08:05 PM
Got a few to look forward to before the year ends. Next up Public Image, then PJ Harvey, Bob Mould, Arab Strap, The Mary Wallopers and The View.

07-09-2023, 08:10 PM
Coming up: Graham Nash, Rachel Sermanni, Judy Collins, Lau, Karine Polwart, Fairport Convention, Salt House, Jenny Sturgeon, Kris Drever, Focus, Christmas Songbook.

07-09-2023, 08:36 PM
Coming up: Graham Nash, Rachel Sermanni, Judy Collins, Lau, Karine Polwart, Fairport Convention, Salt House, Jenny Sturgeon, Kris Drever, Focus, Christmas Songbook.

Focus are still going?
That’s a decent list there.

07-09-2023, 08:48 PM
Focus are still going?
Playing Backstage at Kinross on 22 November and Mac Arts Galashiels on 23 November.

G15 Hibs
08-09-2023, 09:56 AM
I was at Swans at St Luke’s - both spellbinding and exhilarating.

Gira was shamanic at times as he orchestrated proceedings. And boy was it loud - when they put two bass players into action it felt like it was ripping right through you.

Mesmerising at times. Felt like you were physically part of the show as well, as the sound reverberated through you. An experience like no other.

Picked up tickets for Arab Strap playing Philophobia at MacArts in Gala in December. Seen them loads over the years and always enjoyable.

Also going to Arab Strap but at St Luke's. Philophobia is probably my favourite LP of theirs.

14-09-2023, 08:40 PM
Yolanda brown at the sage in gateshead in November.

14-09-2023, 08:49 PM
Yolanda brown at the sage in gateshead in November.You mean you're going to The Glasshouse International Centre for Music.

Sloop67
14-09-2023, 08:57 PM
Also got Slowdive at Liquid Rooms next year, but given the size of other Venus on the tour (Barrowlands for example) there is a real fear of a venue change to the dreaded Corn Exchange.

Coming up I’ve Television Personalities in Bannermans, the September Wavetable event on Causwayside (monthly modular synth/experimental electronica night which is a cheap ticket and a BYOB affair), Glock, Telescopes, Wreckless Eric, Enola Gay, Silver Moth, Calum Easter & Rose City Band all before the years out.

I haven't decided about Arab Strap yet , I've already got tickets for Hayseed Dixie in the Mac Arts , and I'll probably go to see James Grant , Jill Jackson & Porkpie . There's also a couple of tribute acts as well that I might go to , it's usually a decent night out there and it's on 5 minutes away on the train

15-09-2023, 07:35 AM
You mean you're going to The Glasshouse International Centre for Music.

Once the Sage, always the Sage 😉

15-09-2023, 09:32 AM
Once the Sage, always the Sage 😉:agree:

Tbf, the Hammersmith Odeon is still the Hammersmith Odeon to me.

15-09-2023, 11:46 AM
86tv’s tonight at the Mash House.

Looking forward to it.

16-09-2023, 07:08 PM
Focus are still going?
That’s a decent list there.

I’ve got quite a few Focus albums. Just googled and see that the main man Thijs van Leer is still there along with Pierre van der Linden on the drums. Both well into their 70s now 🙌

16-09-2023, 07:19 PM
Going to see Matt Halsall at the Albert Hall on Thursday.

British jazz scene is amazingly good these days. World leading.

19-09-2023, 10:56 PM
A superb set from Public Image Limited tonight at Aberdeen’s beach ballroom. A good mixture of old stuff and songs from the new album. The band were incredibly tight and Lydon was in good form.
The support act , Meryl Streek, was pretty damn good as well.

22-09-2023, 11:44 AM
A superb set from Public Image Limited tonight at Aberdeen’s beach ballroom. A good mixture of old stuff and songs from the new album. The band were incredibly tight and Lydon was in good form.
The support act , Meryl Streek, was pretty damn good as well.

Great to see Meryl Streek get some exposure on this support slot for PIL.

Really like Meryl Streek.
I saw him earlier in year and he likes to play in darkness illuminated by his own torch. With those contact lenses he wears it’s quite a sight in the gloom! Was wondering how his set would transcend to a bigger stage.

22-09-2023, 11:47 AM
Great to see Meryl Streek get some exposure on this support slot for PIL.

Really like Meryl Streek.
I saw him earlier in year and he likes to play in darkness illuminated by his own torch. With those contact lenses he wears it’s quite a sight in the gloom! Was wondering how his set would transcend to a bigger stage.

The contact lenses are something else. :greengrin
He finished his set in the crowd. A real force of nature.

24-09-2023, 10:00 PM
UK Subs bowing out of life as a touring band at an absolutely rammed la belle Angele on their farewell tour tonight. Played all the classics from their extensive back catalogue and did 3 encores. They were on top form and as good as I've seen them in years and it's incredible just how fit Charlie harper is at 79 years of age, I wish I was as fit as he clearly is.
The subs are probably the band I've seen live most and the first record I ever bought was tomorrow's girls so quite sad that it's the end of a very long era.

24-09-2023, 10:23 PM
UK Subs bowing out of life as a touring band at an absolutely rammed la belle Angele on their farewell tour tonight. Played all the classics from their extensive back catalogue and did 3 encores. They were on top form and as good as I've seen them in years and it's incredible just how fit Charlie harper is at 79 years of age, I wish I was as fit as he clearly is.
The subs are probably the band I've seen live most and the first record I ever bought was tomorrow's girls so quite sad that it's the end of a very long era.

The Subs were a real standout at Rebellion this year. Not only do they have a brilliant back catalogue to pick from, but it was obvious that they had done a lot of rehearsal time.

24-09-2023, 11:06 PM
The National were fantastic last night in Leeds. What a performance.

Did anyone see them in Glasgow tonight?

25-09-2023, 04:13 PM
The National were fantastic last night in Leeds. What a performance.

Did anyone see them in Glasgow tonight?

Saw them in the Weege last night. First time for me, really enjoyed them. Probably the wrong choice of venue, it was far from sold out, but the fans got right behind them and they delivered a passionate performance.

Sound was a bit murky, guitars were too quiet, bass a bit too loud. Still, an excellent performance.

25-09-2023, 06:15 PM
Richard Jobson has posted this....

Over the past few years playing with the Skids has been a joy. It didn’t matter if the venue was large or small presenting the music and words to an audience with a relationship to the band was amazing. That hasn’t changed and never will. Bruce and Jamie have been a brilliant part of that journey to date. However their main concern was and will always be Big Country, who are playing to bigger and bigger audiences all over the world. Their diaries are pretty much booked out non-stop because of a resurgent popularity which is well deserved.
This of course left me with a dilemma, do I sit around and twiddle my thumbs or get out there and play the music I love. Its an easy answer. Ive decided to put together another version of the Skids for the foreseeable future so I can honour upcoming tours of UK, Australia and Europe.
There is no acrimony in any of this and everyone understands why I’m doing it. I‘m sure the usual keyboard warriors will have something to say but my answer to them is simple. Let the music and the performances do the talking!!
I will be joined in upcoming dates by long time collaborators and friends Martin Metcalfe and Fin Wilson (Filthy Tongues). They are both Skids fans and have written material on both Burning Cities and Destination Dusseldorf. Nick Hernandez will continue on drums and we will be joined by Dunfermline born guitarist Connor Whyte.
This is an exciting new chapter in the Skids story. Im looking forward to taking to the stage and as always given 100% commitment to the songs and anthems that have made me who I am today.
Ahoy! Ahoy!

25-09-2023, 06:46 PM
Saw them in the Weege last night. First time for me, really enjoyed them. Probably the wrong choice of venue, it was far from sold out, but the fans got right behind them and they delivered a passionate performance.

Sound was a bit murky, guitars were too quiet, bass a bit too loud. Still, an excellent performance.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, but that sounds disappointing.

This is the review of the Leeds gig I saw.

https://amp.theguardian.com/music/2023/sep/24/the-national-review-euphoric-catharsis-from-an-era-defining-band

25-09-2023, 10:37 PM
Am excellent set from PJ Harvey at Barrowlands tonight, played the new album first then second half was some old classics. A unique talent who delivered a great performance.

26-09-2023, 07:35 AM
Pulp playing the Hogmanay party this year.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-66914667

patch1875
26-09-2023, 08:13 AM
Am excellent set from PJ Harvey at Barrowlands tonight, played the new album first then second half was some old classics. A unique talent who delivered a great performance.
Going tonight :-)

26-09-2023, 10:33 AM
Rachel Sermanni at Summerhall on Friday.

26-09-2023, 01:33 PM
I'm glad you enjoyed it, but that sounds disappointing.

This is the review of the Leeds gig I saw.

https://amp.theguardian.com/music/2023/sep/24/the-national-review-euphoric-catharsis-from-an-era-defining-band

Good review.

I'll don't get why the sound guys can't respond to what they/we are hearing. The horns, both guitar's and Berninger's vocals all needed more oomph.

Here's a review from the OVo.

https://theartsdesk.com/new-music/national-ovo-hydro-glasgow-review-commanding-arenas-ease

26-09-2023, 01:54 PM
Going tonight :-)

You are in for a good night. No support so she is on sharp at 8.

Sloop67
28-09-2023, 08:33 PM
Jill Jackson tomorrow night, then Urban Voodoo Machine next Friday and Wrest the following Saturday night , plus Gun have just announced they are returning to the Mac Arts in December

01-10-2023, 07:20 PM
Hard-fi in Newcastle is now officially this month. The 11th. Cannot wait

01-10-2023, 08:15 PM
I'm going to see Madonna at the O2 on the 15th.

Don't ask.

patch1875
01-10-2023, 08:30 PM
New Order on Thursday.

05-10-2023, 06:26 PM
Supersuckers on Sunday and then OFF! November 9th.

05-10-2023, 07:40 PM
Judy Collins tomorrow.

patch1875
06-10-2023, 04:48 PM
New Order were excellent last night. Bernard has never been a great vocalist but as a band they are superb. Amazing visual show as well.

Confidence Man supporting was an odd choice.

09-10-2023, 04:38 PM
Not a gig for me but I see that the Manic Street Preachers and Suede are co-headlining at the Castle next summer.
Sign up here for presale access on Wednesday at 9am https://service.gigsandtours.com/p/7LDA-129/manic-street-preachers-presale?pfredir=3

patch1875
09-10-2023, 06:39 PM
Not a gig for me but I see that the Manic Street Preachers and Suede are co-headlining at the Castle next summer.
Sign up here for presale access on Wednesday at 9am https://service.gigsandtours.com/p/7LDA-129/manic-street-preachers-presale?pfredir=3

That will be great but the timing is rubbish.

G15 Hibs
10-10-2023, 10:52 AM
Baxter Dury at the QMU on Sunday

BarneyBreslin
10-10-2023, 06:41 PM
Glok @ Voodoo Rooms tomorrow.
Young Fathers @ Barras 24th Oct.

10-10-2023, 07:00 PM
Lau on Saturday

Sloop67
10-10-2023, 07:14 PM
Wrest on Friday night

Green Man
11-10-2023, 08:09 AM
Manic Street Preachers and Suede at Edinburgh Castle next July. Two bands I’ve seen several times, should be a great night.

11-10-2023, 08:57 AM
Celtic Connections programme is out, for those who are interested.

11-10-2023, 09:15 PM
Celtic Connections programme is out, for those who are interested.

4 gigs booked. Tense time waiting in queue this morning as I was trying to go out.

USA_Hibee
12-10-2023, 02:52 AM
Managed to catch Billy Joel and Stevie Nicks a few weekends back at Foxborough. Excellent - both still got it!

MKHIBEE
12-10-2023, 08:43 AM
Seen Layla Zoe with Krissy Matthews at Barnoldswick Arts and Music centre on Monday.The gig was brilliant but the venue is like a homage to music over the last 70 years. Photos, press cuttings etc etc all over the place. It’s only a 60 capacity venue but they have some big names performing, Alvin Lee, Terry Reid(who was apparently awful) Pete Wylie, Bev Bevan to name a few. Pete Barton, once of the Animals, is the driving force behind the venue. Definitely a venue to return to