View Full Version : Upcoming gigs?
Pages :
[
16]
Stairway 2 7
24-03-2024, 06:36 PM
He's pretty much confirmed on Twitter that we'll hear Cloudburst, (It's) Good to be Free, Fade Away, Listen Up, Sad Song, Whatever and Walrus. That will be about 1 hour 40.
What a list, should be tremendous. Had to get Manchester due to being in Germany for Glasgow, if he plays half that list it'll be worth the trip
bringbackbenny
27-03-2024, 11:09 PM
Mary Chain tonight at Usher hall, great set 😀
Ugly Kid Joe and The Virginmarys at Slay last night, superb gig from both bands, I highly recommend The Virginmarys when they come up here to gig, brilliant 2 piece hard rock band.
28-03-2024, 08:40 PM
Tickets bought thick and fast for later in the year.
The Enemy/Subways
Shed Seven
Maximo Park
Big Country
Skids/Spear of Destiny
patch1875
29-03-2024, 12:30 PM
Ugly Kid Joe and The Virginmarys at Slay last night, superb gig from both bands, I highly recommend The Virginmarys when they come up here to gig, brilliant 2 piece hard rock band.
They are great seen them with The Sisters of Mercy
Cool, missed that gig as the wife worked that day.
30-03-2024, 05:49 PM
Tickets bought thick and fast for later in the year.
The Enemy/Subways
Shed Seven
Maximo Park
Big Country
Skids/Spear of Destiny
Just bought tickets for The Enemy / The Subways / The Holloways
Already had tickets for Shed Seven
02-04-2024, 09:14 AM
Got my tickets for the Enemy too
Seen the Subways years ago at Studio 24 I think it was!
Slash with Myles Kennedy at the Hydro tomorrow, supported by Mammoth WVH.
04-04-2024, 09:26 AM
Tickets bought for Youssou N'Dour at the Usher Hall and Lack of Afro at the Voodoo Rooms :greengrin
18-04-2024, 12:45 PM
The K’s tonight at La Belle. Saw them a couple of years ago at the Isle of Wight festival and enjoying their debut album. Should be good.
patch1875
18-04-2024, 02:33 PM
Couple booked this week.
The Dandy Warhols
The Cult
18-04-2024, 04:02 PM
Safehouse at Stramash on Saturday.
Always a hippie-fest :greengrin
Edit. In light of Dickey Betts' passing, more likely an Allmans-fest
patch1875
18-04-2024, 04:08 PM
Realised I’m seeing Personal Trainer on Sunday.
Sloop67
19-04-2024, 06:15 PM
Mickey9s tonight at The MacArts Centre in Gala
19-04-2024, 07:42 PM
Not got round to buying The Enemy / The Subways in Manchester in October yet but makes perfect sense when I’ll be literally across the road earlier in the evening at Super League Grand Final.
Going to the test event at Co-Op Live tomorrow night (new arena at the Etihad). Rick Astley headlining so at least we know we only need to aim to get there for the last song 😁
27-04-2024, 10:00 AM
The K’s tonight at La Belle. Saw them a couple of years ago at the Isle of Wight festival and enjoying their debut album. Should be good.
The gig was cut short after 5 songs due the singer having a throat infection. He announced that they'd reschedule and all tickets would be valid. I must admit to thinking the promoter would be thinking 'WTF' as that would be a financial disaster. Low and behold, gig rescheduled for August 1st and all tickets valid. 10/10 to all involved.
tricky
01-05-2024, 01:15 PM
I’ve got two spare standing tickets for Springsteen in Cardiff on Sunday, if anyone here wants them will sell below face value
Green Man
01-05-2024, 04:08 PM
Got tickets for Arab Strap at La Belle Angele in November. Don’t think I’ve ever seen them before, which seems strange to me.
01-05-2024, 04:30 PM
Got tickets for Arab Strap at La Belle Angele in November. Don’t think I’ve ever seen them before, which seems strange to me.
You won’t be disappointed. I saw them in January, they are better than ever.
Green Man
01-05-2024, 08:06 PM
Great to hear, cheers!
Sloop67
02-05-2024, 09:28 PM
They're coming back to Gala, I missed them last time around but I think I'll get tickets this time
04-05-2024, 02:32 AM
Postal Service and Death Cab for Cutie in August
04-05-2024, 06:28 AM
Streetrave 35th year anniversary tomorrow on Ayr Beach.
HYMALAYAS in June at Sneaky Pete's, small venue but a young up and coming Welsh band.
06-05-2024, 10:55 PM
Eric Clapton in Newcastle this Thursday.
07-05-2024, 07:51 AM
Birdvox, Julie Fowlis and Katherine Priddy in the coming week.
Sloop67
08-05-2024, 08:42 PM
Dubinski on Saturday night
09-05-2024, 06:07 PM
Tenacious D at the Hydro tonight.
10-05-2024, 05:49 PM
Eric Clapton in Newcastle this Thursday.
No Layla or Wonderful Tonight, but Clapton and his band were fantastic. His support band, Andy Fairweather Low and the Low Riders were excellent. Only minor negative was the stadium itself, the Utilita Arena. Seating was very tight and most seats faced across the arena instead of angled towards the stage. It made viewing a bit uncomfortable especially for ‘oldies’ like me with back issues.:greengrin
Sloop67
13-05-2024, 08:18 PM
Tickets bought tonight for Hayseed Dixie in the Liquid Rooms
20-05-2024, 09:23 AM
Got tickets for Madness at the castle then was informed you can’t get a pint there - surely not?!
20-05-2024, 09:41 AM
Springsteen in Sunderland on Wednesday :greengrin
He started his Belfast gig with No Surrender.... :rolleyes:
He did even things up with If I Were A Priest later.....
21-05-2024, 06:44 AM
Got tickets for Madness at the castle then was informed you can’t get a pint there - surely not?!
That can’t be true. Surely not.
21-05-2024, 01:02 PM
If it's like last year tins of Innes & Gunn. 568 ml cans but no draft.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
21-05-2024, 09:31 PM
That can’t be true. Surely not.
It’s true. There’s never alcohol at any gig at the Castle. Was really weird being at a Noel Gallagher gig there without a drink
Edit: just seen there is sometimes a bar these days but still some/most gigs are dry.
22-05-2024, 09:25 AM
Off down to Leeds for Slam Dunk festival this weekend - can't wait, but the site is currently getting drenched apparently.
It's usually a day of great live music, great craft beer, and reliable sunshine! 2/3 will be fine :greengrin
Green Man
22-05-2024, 04:00 PM
Sleaford Mods at La Belle Angele in November. When I saw their tour announced I never imagined they’d play such a small venue.
22-05-2024, 04:06 PM
Hayseed Dixie at The Liquid Rooms Saturday
22-05-2024, 05:06 PM
Off down to Leeds for Slam Dunk festival this weekend - can't wait, but the site is currently getting drenched apparently.
It's usually a day of great live music, great craft beer, and reliable sunshine! 2/3 will be fine :greengrinLooking at the line up I'd be wanting to see Pennywise, bouncing souls and snuff. Notice goldfinger and mad caddies too, both of them were good last I saw them. Was about 20 odd years ago mind.
Saw snuff last month and they were superb.
23-05-2024, 08:44 AM
Mountain Goats in London last night.
Coming up over the summer I have these in London:
Courtney Barnett
Ezra Furman
Waxahatchee
And Kevin Morby in Brighton.
patch1875
23-05-2024, 12:27 PM
The Wedding Present tonight.
23-05-2024, 01:04 PM
Saw them last night. The new guitarist, Rachel, is excellent. The support band is first rate as well. You are in for a brilliant night.
patch1875
24-05-2024, 12:50 PM
Saw them last night. The new guitarist, Rachel, is excellent. The support band is first rate as well. You are in for a brilliant night.
Yes support very good. Great setlist from Mr Gedge best classics selection for a few shows I’ve seen the last few years.
patch1875
24-05-2024, 12:51 PM
LCD sound system at the Barras bought!
Sleaford Mods at La Belle Angele in November. When I saw their tour announced I never imagined they’d play such a small venue.
Saw them at blur Wembley last year, with all the festivals worldwide they do I’m also surprised it’s a small venue .
Also got briefs
Seen them loads and was My very first gig in 1986 in the Cavendish.
Not managed to see them this time but hopefully get tickets for Liquid rooms in Oct.
patch1875
24-05-2024, 03:05 PM
Not managed to see them this time but hopefully get tickets for Liquid rooms in Oct.
Always a great show pretty much see them every year nowadays.
Next up is Janes Addiction at the Barrowlands can’t wait even more exciting is Dave Navarro is back so it’s the original line up.
Nice one. That’ll also be a good gig.
Foo Fighters for me on 17th June.
bringbackbenny
26-05-2024, 07:21 AM
They were one of my first gigs as well, Assembly Rooms headlining a CND benefit in 1988
He must be over his health issues, suffering from long Covid.
26-05-2024, 12:03 PM
And on the Dexys at the Kelvingrove next Saturday, followed by Richard Hawley at the Usher Hall Monday!
Sloop67
26-05-2024, 08:15 PM
Cracking night last night Hayseed Dixie were superb, good support too from The Zipheads . I heard today that Hayseed Dixie will be coming back to Gala later this year, just waiting on them being announced, not sure what my next gib will be could be Bombskare at the end of June in Gala
28-05-2024, 09:02 AM
Just about dried out from the Springsteen gig last week (he hasn't. He has postponed a few dates as a result of his soaking.)
Next up is King Creosote at St Andrews on Saturday. A homecoming gig. :cb
28-05-2024, 09:28 AM
Skizofrenik up next for me, should be a sedate affair. :greengrin
28-05-2024, 11:34 AM
It’s true. There’s never alcohol at any gig at the Castle. Was really weird being at a Noel Gallagher gig there without a drink
Edit: just seen there is sometimes a bar these days but still some/most gigs are dry.
Was at Rod Stewarts last summer and you can get cans and wine etc quite easily
Sloop67
29-05-2024, 09:58 PM
Porkpie next Saturday night in the Liquid Rooms, a wee birthday treat to myself as I wasn't intending on doing another gig until the end of June and I've already got tickets to see them in Gala in December . The train makes traveling up to Edinburgh for gigs so easier nowadays
30-05-2024, 06:22 PM
Post-festival blues are real. Just bought tickets for Mallory Knox (October), Four Year Strong (February) and The Devil Wears Prada (February).
30-05-2024, 06:33 PM
Porkpie next Saturday night in the Liquid Rooms, a wee birthday treat to myself as I wasn't intending on doing another gig until the end of June and I've already got tickets to see them in Gala in December . The train makes traveling up to Edinburgh for gigs so easier nowadays
My mate deps with them now and again. Fab night out. :agree:
30-05-2024, 07:00 PM
My mate deps with them now and again. Fab night out. :agree:
Yeap, that will be a sweaty night in the Liquid Rooms. They put on a superb show.
31-05-2024, 06:22 AM
Managed to get a couple of heavily discounted tickets for Thirty Seconds To Mars in Glasgow next week.
I’m no particularly a fan, but she is.
If people haven’t heard of it already, you should sign up for Show Film First online. It’s free to sign up. You get emails for things that aren’t selling out and offered the chance to buy for cheaper.
I got these tickets for £7.50 each. They’re still on sale on Ticketmaster for 10x that!
31-05-2024, 07:42 AM
Fun loving crime writers at perth theatre last night.
Good format with the first half chat about how the band formed then a bit about their latest books. Second half rocking the building.
Highlights, SOS and Hit me Baby. I'm imagining Britney getting the royalty check and wondering who covered it 🤣
31-05-2024, 06:36 PM
Managed to get a couple of heavily discounted tickets for Thirty Seconds To Mars in Glasgow next week.
I’m no particularly a fan, but she is.
If people haven’t heard of it already, you should sign up for Show Film First online. It’s free to sign up. You get emails for things that aren’t selling out and offered the chance to buy for cheaper.
I got these tickets for £7.50 each. They’re still on sale on Ticketmaster for 10x that!
Wow! Id have considered going at that price! Loved their first 2 albums, but can’t be doing with their newer stuff and Leto’s ego.
[QUOTE=Moulin Yarns;7673363]Fun loving crime writers at perth theatre last night.
Good format with the first half chat about how the band formed then a bit about their latest books. Second half rocking the building.
Highlights, SOS and Hit me Baby. I'm imagining Britney getting the royalty check and wondering who covered it 🤣[/
Don’t think she wrote that song , Britney was offered it after Rihanna knocked it back
02-06-2024, 08:41 PM
[QUOTE=Moulin Yarns;7673363]Fun loving crime writers at perth theatre last night.
Highlights, SOS and Hit me Baby. I'm imagining Britney getting the royalty check and wondering who covered it 🤣[/
Don’t think she wrote that song , Britney was offered it after Rihanna knocked it back
I have to say that you have too much interest in Britney 🤣 but thanks, it was meant as a light hearted observation 😁
A little investigation tells me max Martin is the beneficiary
03-06-2024, 12:01 PM
I have Madness at the castle next month
The Enemy at the Corn Exchange in October
Dropkick Murphys and You Me At Six in glasgow next year
The Sex Pistols minus John Lydon are playing benefit shows for Bush Hall in August, I’m going to try and get tickets for both but I’ll be extremely lucky to even get one!
03-06-2024, 12:12 PM
Could be missing something but Rihanna would barely be ten years old when that song was written and recorded?
03-06-2024, 01:59 PM
Could be missing something but Rihanna would barely be ten years old when that song was written and recorded?
1. Baby One More Time was originally offered to girlband TLC, but they turned it down as they were uncomfortable with the “hit me” lyric, interpreting it as having illusions to domestic violence.
Swedish writer of the song thought it meant call me
(according to the huffington post
03-06-2024, 02:42 PM
1. Baby One More Time was originally offered to girlband TLC, but they turned it down as they were uncomfortable with the “hit me” lyric, interpreting it as having illusions to domestic violence.
Swedish writer of the song thought it meant call me
(according to the huffington post
I always just assumed she was singing about playing blackjack 🤷🏻
06-06-2024, 01:22 PM
As a father of a teenage girl, I'll be glad when this weekend is over 🤣
06-06-2024, 01:36 PM
As a father of a teenage girl, I'll be glad when this weekend is over 🤣
Hope she enjoys the gig.
patch1875
07-06-2024, 07:00 AM
Managed to secure a couple of tickets for my daughter for Sunday.
Don’t ask how much I had to pay for them :-(
07-06-2024, 07:03 AM
Managed to secure a couple of tickets for my daughter for Sunday.
Don’t ask how much I had to pay for them :-(
What site did you use?
patch1875
07-06-2024, 07:16 AM
What site did you use?
StubHub
Few appearing on twickets but no luck securing them.
She has a friend over from Chicago so had to get a pair no matter what!
07-06-2024, 07:26 AM
StubHub
Few appearing on twickets but no luck securing them.
She has a friend over from Chicago so had to get a pair no matter what!
I find the only way to get them on Twickets is to use the ticket stream option on the app and be fastest on the buzzer.
07-06-2024, 08:31 AM
My teenager left the house at 7am to go join the queue for tonight. Crazy!!
He’s also going on Sunday night, managed to get cheap restricted view tickets.
I’ll be glad once this weekend is over too!!
07-06-2024, 10:25 AM
My teenager left the house at 7am to go join the queue for tonight. Crazy!! !
As someone who has just come back from a trip seeing more than one gig by a band I first saw live 49 years ago, I'm really pleased to see the enthusiasm in these youngsters in their support of Taylor Swift. I know nothing about her, couldn't name a single song, but I'm enjoying watching their delight in these shows and this tour.
07-06-2024, 10:35 AM
As someone who has just come back from a trip seeing more than one gig by a band I first saw live 49 years ago, I'm really pleased to see the enthusiasm in these youngsters in their support of Taylor Swift. I know nothing about her, couldn't name a single song, but I'm enjoying watching their delight in these shows and this tour.
I'm with you on the ignorance thing, too. But the music isn't meant for me. If young people get as much out of live gigs as you and I have for the last xx years, then that has to be good.
ps who was that band you saw?
patch1875
07-06-2024, 10:35 AM
My daughter just got 2 restricted view for the Saturday as well apparently they were released this morning.
She’s already been to the merch stand and spent £70 on a hoodie.
Sure it will be a great show though!
patch1875
07-06-2024, 10:38 AM
More my thing Smashing Pumpkins and Weezer on Wednesday.
07-06-2024, 10:39 AM
ps who was that band you saw?
Yes. First saw them live May 10 1975.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GPdc_QbWAAANzNT?format=jpg&name=4096x4096
07-06-2024, 10:41 AM
Yes. First saw them live May 10 1975.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GPdc_QbWAAANzNT?format=jpg&name=4096x4096
A wondrous story, indeed :greengrin
07-06-2024, 10:55 AM
It is great, much worse things they could be doing :greengrin
I’m just jealous he wouldn’t let me tag along to one of the concerts 😄
Green Man
07-06-2024, 12:02 PM
I just passed a group of young women (not kids but younger than me) who were clearly on their way to Murrayfield, and I know exactly what you mean, just seeing the excitement is a good feeling. I love live music.
07-06-2024, 01:17 PM
I'm quite jealous of my daughter in some respects (not the music). But it's been a long time since I was that excited about a music event (probably not since Prince at the O2 and the after-party).
They'll have a blast. She ignored my advice about wearing a coat so my job as a father is complete 🤣
07-06-2024, 02:14 PM
Leith Jazz Festival this weekend.
babahibs
07-06-2024, 02:49 PM
Gigs for me in the next month or 2,
Nile Rodgers at the Playhouse,
LCD Soundsystem at Barrowlands,
The National at the Castle.
07-06-2024, 03:17 PM
I'm on the tram on the way back home from work at the gyle and it's carnage, the ones coming up from Leith will be even worse
10-06-2024, 09:07 PM
Ended up with two freebies for Take That at Co-Op Live on Wednesday. Be a right cheesefest, I’m sure, but can hardly complain about the price!
Currie Hibbie
11-06-2024, 08:21 AM
Saw YES in Glasgow on the 24th May and then in Newcastle (the Sage in Gateshead) on 2 June. Both excellent gigs. The musicianship, as always, was first class and of course, their delivery of material at their disposal was simply superb. My first YES concert was in 1977. My wife's first was the Relayer tour in 1975. Seen them many times over the years. Simply the band ever.
11-06-2024, 04:32 PM
Saw YES in Glasgow on the 24th May and then in Newcastle (the Sage in Gateshead) on 2 June.
Good to hear I'm not the only one doing multiple shows. Glasgow audience - as is often the case - the best audience of the tour. Also nice to find another long term fan!
14-06-2024, 08:52 AM
Nick Mason next week.
14-06-2024, 09:00 AM
Rammstein in Dublin on 23rd. Nathaniel Rateliffe and the Night Sweats in Glasgow on 26th.
Small one on Sunday, Sneaky Pete's to see HYMALAYAS.
14-06-2024, 10:32 AM
Safehouse at Stramash on Saturday.
Always a good psych-out for the hippies.....:cb
17-06-2024, 12:14 PM
So does anyone have a definitive answer as to whether or not you can get a pint at the castle during a gig then?
17-06-2024, 12:36 PM
So does anyone have a definitive answer as to whether or not you can get a pint at the castle during a gig then?
My son is working for Innes & Gunn at the castle gigs so some form of alcohol will be there.
17-06-2024, 03:28 PM
Going to the Queens Hall on Friday to see "Legend - The Music of Bob Marley". As far as I can tell it is a tribute band doing all the biggest hits from Marley's back catalogue. Fair looking forward to it.
17-06-2024, 10:25 PM
So does anyone have a definitive answer as to whether or not you can get a pint at the castle during a gig then?If it's the same as last year. Pint yes, draft no. So currently no definitive answer...
If it's the same as last year. Pint yes, draft no. So currently no definitive answer...
Last time I was there (Elbow, July 2022) you could not.
Foo Fighters last night at Hampden and they didn’t disappoint. First time I have seen them without Taylor Hawkins on the drums.
Outstanding evening.
18-06-2024, 10:45 PM
Just back from seeing Billy Talent at the Barrowlands. A thoroughly overdue return to Scotland, and a relentless, energetic set full of hits.
19-06-2024, 12:35 PM
Foo Fighters last night at Hampden and they didn’t disappoint. First time I have seen them without Taylor Hawkins on the drums.
Outstanding evening.
I was there too. My only complaint was that I didn't think the sound quality was that great on the pitch. There was a noticeable difference when I went into the stand at the Rangers end to go to the toilet.
I’m read that yesterday about the sound. We too were on the pitch near the east end by the speaker pylon. I thought the sound was good.
I remember when they played at Meadowbank and the stage was backed onto Marionville Road. The sound just echoed and bounced around the stand. Still great though but can understand folks frustration.
Weather made it even better.
19-06-2024, 04:13 PM
Hampden is dreadful for sound quality. Been around 6 or 7 gigs there and they've all been terrible (U2 being the worst)
20-06-2024, 08:12 PM
Amazing gig from Nick Mason's Saucerful of Secrets at Manchester Apollo last night. Glasgow tomorrow!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GQiuLuXXUAAr-an?format=jpg&name=4096x4096
babahibs
22-06-2024, 04:51 PM
Nile Rodgers gig was superb, discotastic.
25-06-2024, 10:08 AM
Nile Rodgers gig was superb, discotastic.
Saw him last summer at Cropredy. Was absolutely fantastic.
On my way to Manchester right now to see Pearl Jam tonight. Should be a cracker.
Sloop67
28-06-2024, 09:24 PM
Bombskare tomorrow night in Gala
04-07-2024, 11:46 AM
Kasabian last night at the Corn Exchange/O2 Academy. Brilliant and a really decent crowd considering it was all last minute and tickets only went on sale a couple of weeks ago.
11-07-2024, 07:24 AM
Manic Street Preachers supported by Suede last night at the Castle. Great gig made better by watching from the posh seats in the Royal Box. Getting auld so appreciated a padded seat and nice loos 😁
11-07-2024, 01:24 PM
Madness were absolutely brilliant last week but the castle was a bit of a shambles.
Half hour wait to get in, folk being refused for being pished, another half hour que for a can of Innis and Gun, and a 20 minute wait for a pish. Great idea for a venue, but disorganised chaos.
babahibs
12-07-2024, 07:38 AM
Madness were absolutely brilliant last week but the castle was a bit of a shambles.
Half hour wait to get in, folk being refused for being pished, another half hour que for a can of Innis and Gun, and a 20 minute wait for a pish. Great idea for a venue, but disorganised chaos.
Was at The National at the Castle last night, excellent gig.
No issues with the organisation at all, minimal queue to get in, didn't buy anything to drink in the place as I had a hip flask, toilets weren't too bad.
Was probably down to the older, less rowdy crowd, was full of old guys like me.
12-07-2024, 08:12 AM
Really enjoyed The Killers and Travis at The Hydro on 25/6/2024
Brandon Flowers in top form an excellent front man who truly gave each hit 100% and looked as though he really enjoys what he does
Legend :not worth
12-07-2024, 12:34 PM
Sums up why I don't go to gigs any more!
12-07-2024, 12:38 PM
No issues with the organisation at all, minimal queue to get in, didn't buy anything to drink in the place as I had a hip flask, toilets weren't too bad.
That's the third time I've seen them and it's been a different set every time.
I loved how they ended the show acoustically last night.
MountcastleHibs
12-07-2024, 05:13 PM
Courteeners have just announced a new tour with DMAs for November. Hopefully be getting involved in that.
Stairway 2 7
12-07-2024, 05:31 PM
Courteeners have just announced a new tour with DMAs for November. Hopefully be getting involved in that.
Will be booking that, really like both
12-07-2024, 11:01 PM
Back to the Castle for Skipinnish tonight. Fantastic. Not the sort of music I listen to in the car or in the house but live it’s sensational. Better attended than the Manics gig I was at on Wednesday . The audience were far more mental too 🕺🏼 🏴
babahibs
13-07-2024, 11:22 AM
That's the third time I've seen them and it's been a different set every time.
I loved how they ended the show acoustically last night.
First time I've seen them, I like a lot of they're albums but they seemed almost different live, a lot more energy or something.
Matt Berninger's a superb front man. Was well impressed, hopefully I'll see them again.
13-07-2024, 12:48 PM
Paul Weller at the castle tonight. Shame about the weather.
13-07-2024, 02:48 PM
First time I've seen them, I like a lot of they're albums but they seemed almost different live, a lot more energy or something.
Matt Berninger's a superb front man. Was well impressed, hopefully I'll see them again.
Yeah, they come alive on stage. Matt is remarkable, he gives his all everytime.
As good as Thursday was, I think it lost something being open air.
We saw them in Leeds last year and it was mind blowingly good. I'll definitely see them again if I get the chance.
17-07-2024, 12:01 PM
I thought they started off a bit slow and it was all a bit one-paced. It picked up though. I would love to see them in a smaller venue. Castle was far from sold out and the time before , at the HYdro, the place was 2/3 full.
Love Berninger's willingness to get involved with the fans. He's very engaging, without saying much.
Musicianship is superb, two great guitarists and fantastic rhythm section. I enjoyed the brass too.
My only gripe was a couple of folk behind me who were so sent by the music that they felt the need to bellow every word. No one appreciates two twats in the audience singing louder than the actual singer, but I suppose they don't give a **** that it's not cool.
Oh aye, and the stage lighting was a bit dark and dire too.
19-07-2024, 08:36 AM
Got my tickets to see Dylan. So today I don't care what the BBC, or the Tories, or Hearts do. I'm chilled.
Small gig tomorrow at Sneaky Pete's to see my daughter's boyfriend band Livid and as a bonus she's playing bass for them, until they get a new bassist.
19-07-2024, 06:38 PM
Off to King Tuts on Sunday night. Been years since I've been in the place. 4 bands playing but I've no idea who any of them are. The Braes are headlining if that's any good to anyone.
21-07-2024, 10:08 AM
Just been invited to Johnny Marr in Glasgow on Thursday. First gig at the Kelvingrove bandstand.
Also got Kasabian and Paul Heaton at the Hydro in November & December.
21-07-2024, 06:29 PM
Alkaline Trio at the O2 Academy in Glasgow next Tuesday. Last time I seen them was headlining the HMV Picturehouse!
21-07-2024, 07:09 PM
Alkaline Trio at the O2 Academy in Glasgow next Tuesday. Last time I seen them was headlining the HMV Picturehouse!I'm also in Glasgow on Tuesday to see the wonderful Birdvox.
Got my tickets to see Dylan. So today I don't care what the BBC, or the Tories, or Hearts do. I'm chilled.
Saw him in Glasgow last time.not a huge fan but grabbed the chance to see him.
didn’t play 1 song I recognised ,don’t know if it was his latest album or just songs I’d never heard of
22-07-2024, 11:00 AM
Saw him in Glasgow last time.not a huge fan but grabbed the chance to see him.
didn’t play 1 song I recognised ,don’t know if it was his latest album or just songs I’d never heard of
I can't get on board with his "lock your phone away when I'm playing" nonsense. Sure, people who go film entire gigs/watch it all through their screens can ruin a show. And I get that if you go to a theatre performance/musical etc you'd be huckled out if you tried to film it. But I see nothing wrong whatsoever with wanting to take a photo of your idol on stage, even if nobody gives a toss about that photo in the years that follow but you...
22-07-2024, 11:10 AM
I can't get on board with his "lock your phone away when I'm playing" nonsense. Sure, people who go film entire gigs/watch it all through their screens can ruin a show. And I get that if you go to a theatre performance/musical etc you'd be huckled out if you tried to film it. But I see nothing wrong whatsoever with wanting to take a photo of your idol on stage, even if nobody gives a toss about that photo in the years that follow but you...I'm quite happy with it. And I'm someone who often takes photos of artists on stage at gigs. The lack of phones & cameras creates a far better gig experience IMO. The trouble with allowing them is you get far too many people watching through their screens and, as you say, this can ruin a show.
22-07-2024, 05:58 PM
Aussie Pink Floyd November Aussie Bee Gees May 2025
Sloop67
22-07-2024, 08:15 PM
The Vaselines on Saturday night then The Xcerts on August 11th both in Gala
24-07-2024, 06:33 AM
I was at Twin Atlantic last night at PJ Molloys. Couldn't believe they were playing a 350 capacity venue, I was lucky to get tickets.
Unbelievable experience!
Also have the Xcerts there in August, Wrest at the Barras in August and then again at PJs in October.
Biffy's Friday night at the Barras too which I think is November but had to get tickets on Viagogo.
24-07-2024, 10:09 AM
I was at Twin Atlantic last night at PJ Molloys. Couldn't believe they were playing a 350 capacity venue, I was lucky to get tickets.
Unbelievable experience!
Also have the Xcerts there in August, Wrest at the Barras in August and then again at PJs in October.
Biffy's Friday night at the Barras too which I think is November but had to get tickets on Viagogo.
I'm a massive Biffy fan - have been since Blackened Sky (where they actually played my Freshers in Dundee Union). Seen them 13 times to this point and was delighted when they announced this but the tickets were a complete and utter farce.
I had an artist pre-sale link, signed in bang at 9am and they were all showing as sold out. Every show.
Yet sure enough, they were on resale sites for hundreds of pounds merely hours later. I've been lucky, but that was my first truly awful Ticketmaster experience.
24-07-2024, 11:47 AM
I'm a massive Biffy fan - have been since Blackened Sky (where they actually played my Freshers in Dundee Union). Seen them 13 times to this point and was delighted when they announced this but the tickets were a complete and utter farce.
I had an artist pre-sale link, signed in bang at 9am and they were all showing as sold out. Every show.
Yet sure enough, they were on resale sites for hundreds of pounds merely hours later. I've been lucky, but that was my first truly awful Ticketmaster experience.
I was the same, it was very disappointing. I just bit the bullet and paid by Klarna on Viagogo as I missed the last Barrowland shows.
I initially was going to get Blackened Sky tickets but went with Vertigo of Bliss.
25-07-2024, 08:51 PM
The wonderful Steelhouse festival in South Wales for me and mine this weekend
26-07-2024, 02:53 PM
Johnny Marr at Kelvingrove Bandstand last night was brilliant. A master class from a proper legend. 10 Smiths & 2 Electronic songs included in his set. Loved the venue too. First time there and well organised bars, great view from anywhere and even at the back you felt close to the stage. Like that they use the actual stage, unlike the Ross Bandstand gigs.
26-07-2024, 08:42 PM
Shed Seven at SWG3. £28 for a ticket including a CD. Should be a cracking intimate gig. Also going later in the year to the corn exchange but couldn't pass this one up.
MagicSwirlingShip
01-08-2024, 09:02 PM
Taking my old man down to Del Amitri on Saturday. Fringe on the Sea, North Berwick
01-08-2024, 10:13 PM
Was at Keane tonight at the O2 Academy. God it was bloody hot. Quite a few folk fainting.
The sooner Edinburgh gets a purpose built arena the better.
Keane were very good mind you.
02-08-2024, 08:58 PM
The K's last night at La Belle were superb. Rescheduled gig after they had to stop after 5 songs a few months ago. All ticket holders got in free. They were superb, the place was jumping. I'm getting too old for mosh pits tho!
babahibs
05-08-2024, 05:31 PM
Just got tickets for Goat in Manchester in October.
05-08-2024, 05:36 PM
Youssou N'dour next week at the Usher Hall.
05-08-2024, 05:50 PM
Lindisfarne on Saturday at the Queens Hall. Haven't seen them live since 1984.
05-08-2024, 06:07 PM
Lindisfarne on Saturday at the Queens Hall. Haven't seen them live since 1984.
Saw them a couple of years ago. A fun night, with just a hint of nostalgia :agree:
When Alan Hull's son-in-law sings Winter Song, close your eyes and tell me he's not channelling the man himself. :not worth
06-08-2024, 01:35 PM
Went to Lughsadnah festival in Fife this weekend just past - tiny little one dayer. Main acts were Hamish Hawk and Walt Disco, with arts and crafts and a tour of edible flowers in the venues garden. Newport Bakery supplied the food. Excellent event.
07-08-2024, 08:37 AM
Went to Lughsadnah festival in Fife this weekend just past - tiny little one dayer. Main acts were Hamish Hawk and Walt Disco, with arts and crafts and a tour of edible flowers in the venues garden. Newport Bakery supplied the food. Excellent event.
I really like Hamish Hawk. Saw him supporting The Proclaimers at Leith Links and have subsequently seen him a couple of times at his own gigs. I had tickets for his album launch gig at the end of the month but he had to reschedule it as he subsequently agreed to go on tour with another act. Unfortunately, we are away on holiday when the rescheduled gig takes place.
07-08-2024, 06:56 PM
I really like Hamish Hawk. Saw him supporting The Proclaimers at Leith Links and have subsequently seen him a couple of times at his own gigs. I had tickets for his album launch gig at the end of the month but he had to reschedule it as he subsequently agreed to go on tour with another act. Unfortunately, we are away on holiday when the rescheduled gig takes place.
I think he’s brilliant. Great songwriter and such a clever lyricist.
Just got tickets for Tremonti at the SWG3 next February 6th.
KingFranck
10-08-2024, 06:56 PM
Got Wipeout Festival in Whitehaven next month then Morecambe Punk Festival in November. Also bought tickets for Punk on the Peninsula next year in Dunoon great festival 👍
10-08-2024, 09:51 PM
Catfish and the Bottlemen Ingliston 24th August
11-08-2024, 05:14 AM
Arab Strap in St Andrews and The Go! Team in the Queens Hall next month.
Sloop67
11-08-2024, 05:52 AM
Xcerts tonight in Gala
Fuzzywuzzy
11-08-2024, 08:04 AM
Party at the palace last night. What a ****ing **** show. The whole place was covered in camp chairs with few walk ways. Definite vibe of "this is my space, **** off"
UB40 were brilliant. Heaven 17 and big country were ok.
When leaving there was a car broken down and some stupid **** decided to push it into the folk in front of it (not sure why the handbrake wasn't on). Could have been nasty
11-08-2024, 08:36 AM
When Alan Hull's son-in-law sings Winter Song, close your eyes and tell me he's not channelling the man himself. :not worth
What a lovely voice he has! I'd never heard him before, and you're right, Winter Song was a standout. Really enjoyable night, thinking of seeing them again in December in Kinross.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GUr9zA6WgAA1vXI?format=jpg&name=4096x4096
11-08-2024, 11:33 AM
Youssou N'dour next week at the Usher Hall.
Not much more than 7 seconds away now. 🤭
13-08-2024, 11:11 PM
Undertones Holmfirth August 29th
15-08-2024, 05:06 PM
Arab Strap in St Andrews and The Go! Team in the Queens Hall next month.
Got tickets to see them in Gala in September, can’t wait.
Bonnie Prince Billy up next for me, end of August. His first Scottish gig in many years, the man is an enigmatic genius.
patch1875
15-08-2024, 06:43 PM
Pixies next week.
16-08-2024, 03:09 PM
Rachel Sermanni next week, followed by the GRIT Orchestra.
16-08-2024, 03:29 PM
Undertones Holmfirth August 29thUndertones in Edinburgh in September for me, Ruts DC supporting.
16-08-2024, 06:19 PM
Hamish Hawk towards end of September. New album is brilliant.
17-08-2024, 06:49 AM
Have Death Cab For Cutie/The Postal Service at The Hydro on Friday evening - playing Transatlanticism (a stellar album) and Give Up in thier entireties.
Supported by Teenage Fanclub, who I can't say I've been enjoying when checking them out. Rather bland.
17-08-2024, 06:51 AM
Rachel Sermanni next week, followed by the GRIT Orchestra.
Aw man, where is the grit orchestra, when? And what will they be playing??
Stairway 2 7
17-08-2024, 07:30 AM
Got a few shows during the festival saw Carmen at the festival theatre last week was really good. the Halle orchestra at the Usher Hall yesterday was brilliant, everyone was seated on beanbags in the stalls and the musicians were all around us mixed in with the audience, great seeing them play a few feet away.
Marriage of Figaro at festival Theatre tonight
Have the Scottish Opera doing Oedipus Rex at the Museum on Sunday. They perform in the middle of the main hall and the audience stand around and can move about apparently.
Got a family classical show next Sunday with the bairns at Usher Hall.
So far outside Edin Fest
Eric Prydz at Hi Ibiza
Peggy Gou at the Warehouse Project in Manchester
Courteeners and the DMAs Hydro Glasgow
17-08-2024, 07:34 AM
Aw man, where is the grit orchestra, when? And what will they be playing??https://www.eif.co.uk/events/grit-orchestra
17-08-2024, 08:33 AM
https://www.eif.co.uk/events/grit-orchestra
I'm coming to Edinburgh this Sunday for a few shows,can't justify going next weekend as well.
17-08-2024, 09:32 AM
Got a few coming up
September -The Wolfetones
October - Tom Robinson Band, The Wedding Present, Evan Dando, Altered Images, Glasvegas.
November - Nick Cave , Pork Pie.
December - The Damned, The Skids and Spear of Destiny , The Bluebells.
No wonder I’m skint. :greengrin
17-08-2024, 10:36 AM
Have Death Cab For Cutie/The Postal Service at The Hydro on Friday evening - playing Transatlanticism (a stellar album) and Give Up in thier entireties.
Supported by Teenage Fanclub, who I can't say I've been enjoying when checking them out. Rather bland.Give Ben Gibbard's song by song cover of Bandwagonesque a go: https://youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_llSv1kERViHVKzpflhBhDwCb5ILV eIxCI
17-08-2024, 12:22 PM
Give Ben Gibbard's song by song cover of Bandwagonesque a go: https://youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_llSv1kERViHVKzpflhBhDwCb5ILV eIxCI
Cheers. I keep on top of most of his stuff but missed this. His nightly “live from home” series during Covid quite probably kept me alive some days. One of my favourite musicians.
17-08-2024, 08:20 PM
NATI at St james quarter tomorrow night.
Had tickets to see her last year but caught covid and was too unwell to go.
17-08-2024, 09:06 PM
Had tickets to see her last year but caught covid and was too unwell to go.
Free gig through the sjq app.
Saw her at Celtic connections this year. Try and get along.
18-08-2024, 11:19 AM
Just got a ticket for Bis supported by Art Brut and The Yummy Fur.
Green Man
19-08-2024, 06:40 AM
Supported by Teenage Fanclub, who I can't say I've been enjoying when checking them out. Rather bland.
I’ll be there as well, I love both these albums and have been waiting a long time to see them played - it feels like an eternity since they announced the first shows for these albums.
19-08-2024, 10:32 AM
Last night, the Laurettes and NATI, on the roof of the St James Quarter. What a stunning location for a gig!!!
https://www.instagram.com/reel/C-2Rbv1IQmg/?igsh=MXFwbzE4anl0b3YwMg==
19-08-2024, 10:42 AM
Going to this too. Looking forward to it. My mate who is the only other person I know that's into them is away so I'm taking along my wife who doesn't really get either of them - Death Cab maybe at a push.
Interesting they play the songs from the albums in order. I was at the Liam Gallagher Definitely Maybe gig in Belfast at the weekend and he played those songs out of order (as he has done on the entire tour), presumably because the best songs are all near the start and he was also interspersing them with B-sides of the era. I think I'd prefer it in order the way Death Cab For Cutie and The Postal Service are doing it.
Green Man
20-08-2024, 10:21 AM
Going to this too. Looking forward to it. My mate who is the only other person I know that's into them is away so I'm taking along my wife who doesn't really get either of them - Death Cab maybe at a push.
Interesting they play the songs from the albums in order. I was at the Liam Gallagher Definitely Maybe gig in Belfast at the weekend and he played those songs out of order (as he has done on the entire tour), presumably because the best songs are all near the start and he was also interspersing them with B-sides of the era. I think I'd prefer it in order the way Death Cab For Cutie and The Postal Service are doing it.
I’ve seen a few gigs now where an artist has played an album in full, and it’s always been in the original order apart from Billy Bragg. I like it that way as the running order of an album is important, although I appreciate from a live performance view the artist may want to change it, like Billy did so he could finish with A New England.
patch1875
23-08-2024, 08:14 AM
Frank Carter and 3 of the Pistols(no rotten) at the O2 next month purchased.
23-08-2024, 09:03 AM
Me too and I’ve been absolutely buzzing since I got them. Counting down the days already
24-08-2024, 08:11 AM
Peter Kay last night, what a funny man. :top marks
25-08-2024, 01:53 PM
Media reporting Oasis will be announcing a tour comeback next year.
Won’t believe it until it’s confirmed.
All thanks due to Noel’s ex wife no doubt
MountcastleHibs
25-08-2024, 10:22 PM
Noel, Liam and Oasis social media accounts all posting same video. 27.8.24, 8am.
ErinGoBraghHFC
25-08-2024, 10:34 PM
Noel, Liam and Oasis social media accounts all posting same video. 27.8.24, 8am.
Holy ****ing **** I’m horny
25-08-2024, 10:40 PM
Where’s the Daffy Duck gif.
26-08-2024, 06:12 AM
Another year of rubbish hogging all the Murrayfield gigs then.
26-08-2024, 11:53 AM
£400 million is lot of reasons to do it.
26-08-2024, 03:23 PM
Anyone going to Wrest on Saturday at the Barras?
Trinity Hibee
26-08-2024, 09:34 PM
Apparently Murrayfield is 8th and 9th August
Sloop67
27-08-2024, 05:44 AM
, I’m heading there, bought tickets last year when they played in Galashiels, looking forward to it, I’ve also got tickets for their gig back down here later in the year
27-08-2024, 06:53 AM
, I’m heading there, bought tickets last year when they played in Galashiels, looking forward to it, I’ve also got tickets for their gig back down here later in the year
Nice. I feel like this gig has been a long time in the making but it's now well over a year since tickets were released. I think it's finally sold out.
27-08-2024, 08:18 AM
Anyone have any tips on beating Ticketmaster queues?
patch1875
27-08-2024, 08:41 AM
Just luck usually!
27-08-2024, 09:14 AM
Anyone have any tips on beating Ticketmaster queues?
Multiple devices, multiple data options (VPN, WiFi, 4g).
If you do get in take what you get, don't release and look for better tickets, it generally only gets worse.
It will be a nightmare as usual, surprised they haven't gone for the Invitation code route.
I also expect they'll have an additional date for the Sunday held back.
27-08-2024, 09:23 AM
Multiple devices, multiple data options (VPN, WiFi, 4g).
If you do get in take what you get, don't release and look for better tickets, it generally only gets worse.
It will be a nightmare as usual, surprised they haven't gone for the Invitation code route.
I also expect they'll have an additional date for the Sunday held back.
If anyone is a member of the Scotland Rugby Supporters Club - they are getting an exclusive allocation. Current members only so you can't just sign up.
27-08-2024, 10:06 AM
Note that Livenation and Ents24 will also be selling tickets. Possibly others too.
https://www.livenation.co.uk/show/1513343/oasis/edinburgh/2025-08-08
https://www.ents24.com/uk/tour-dates/oasis
Yep, great idea to have two massive gigs at the start of next years Festival, good luck finding accommodation and you better take out a huge loan to pay for it all.
He's here!
27-08-2024, 07:22 PM
Are they billing themselves as the Pistols? Without Rotten that's a stretch if so. Jones & Co must also really be getting on a bit now?
Happened upon a 1990s documentary on them a wee while back (not the Filth and the Fury film by Julien Temple which I still have on DVD somewhere) and Rotten was a phenomenal lead singer/front man.
He's here!
27-08-2024, 07:26 PM
Irrespective of the doubtless conflicting opinions on Oasis here, the reunion's going to be a huge thing for their fans.
Are there any particular bands folk would give just about anything to see play again?
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-08-2024, 08:01 PM
Irrespective of the doubtless conflicting opinions on Oasis here, the reunion's going to be a huge thing for their fans.
Are there any particular bands folk would give just about anything to see play again?
Yes, Oasis.
And The Smiths, but with Andy Rourke sadly no longer being with us and Morrissey being… well, Morrissey; it’ll never happen.
27-08-2024, 08:23 PM
The Jam.
27-08-2024, 10:29 PM
Fleetwood Mac if they toured again.
Sloop67
28-08-2024, 05:50 AM
Nice. I feel like this gig has been a long time in the making but it's now well over a year since tickets were released. I think it's finally sold out.
Confirmed yesterday on their facebook page that it’s sold out, they’re playing La Belle too , I was thinking about going to that as well but with the way the trains are at the moment I changed my mind, The Bluebells are playing in Gala the same night anyway so I’m going to that instead
28-08-2024, 12:15 PM
Confirmed yesterday on their facebook page that it’s sold out, they’re playing La Belle too , I was thinking about going to that as well but with the way the trains are at the moment I changed my mind, The Bluebells are playing in Gala the same night anyway so I’m going to that instead
They are playing PJs in Dunfermline in October which is where I stay luckily.
Starting to really look forward to Saturday now,
28-08-2024, 01:04 PM
Fleetwood Mac if they toured again.
Peter Green's deid, mate :greengrin
28-08-2024, 03:02 PM
Led Zeppelin.
REM would be great too.
Sloop67
28-08-2024, 08:33 PM
The Jam.
That would be fantastic , unfortunately I cant see it ever happening any time soon especially with Bruce Foxton's recent health issues
28-08-2024, 09:00 PM
Led Zeppelin.
REM would be great too.
Seen them play Balloch Country park - 2006 or 2007 (can't exactly remember). They were absolutely outstanding. I wasn't their biggest fan til that show but really fell in love with them afterward.
I've always made a point of seeing bands I wanted to - Death Cab For Cutie at the Hydro last Friday were my only real outstanding bucket list band that I still wanted to see.
I regret being too young and missing out on Nirvana (a band I never really liked when I first got into rock as the hype was unreal, but enjoyed them in later life), and I wish I'd seen Soundgarden live (again, I was late to appreciate them) - that being said, I did see Audioslave once and they played a couple of Soundgarden songs, which was a real pleasure.
29-08-2024, 03:56 AM
Seen them play Balloch Country park - 2006 or 2007 (can't exactly remember). They were absolutely outstanding. I wasn't their biggest fan til that show but really fell in love with them afterward.
I've always made a point of seeing bands I wanted to - Death Cab For Cutie at the Hydro last Friday were my only real outstanding bucket list band that I still wanted to see.
I regret being too young and missing out on Nirvana (a band I never really liked when I first got into rock as the hype was unreal, but enjoyed them in later life), and I wish I'd seen Soundgarden live (again, I was late to appreciate them) - that being said, I did see Audioslave once and they played a couple of Soundgarden songs, which was a real pleasure.
Very jealous. Audioslave/Soundgarden would be right at the top of my list if Chris was still with us. A real special guy.
29-08-2024, 08:42 AM
Have added the 12th now as well.
Hibs Go Bragh
30-08-2024, 07:23 PM
Simon & Garfunkel.
31-08-2024, 07:35 AM
June the 18th 2005. My 18th was the Thursday, school ball the Friday, rem the Saturday.
Zutons and feeder were cracking support.
Saw audioslave at t in the park that year as well. They were brilliant.
31-08-2024, 08:34 AM
Simon & Garfunkel.
I saw Art Garfunkel at the Usher Hall a few years ago. His voice still had it even post throat problems. Hearing him sing Bridge OTW was a bit of a bucket list moment. He insisted on reading some pretty god awful poetry though.
31-08-2024, 09:50 AM
I saw Art Garfunkel at the Usher Hall a few years ago. His voice still had it even post throat problems. Hearing him sing Bridge OTW was a bit of a bucket list moment. He insisted on reading some pretty god awful poetry though.I saw him at the Armadillo in Glasgow. He brought his son onstage to sing with him - son dressed as a mini version of AG. Holds my record for shortest concert ever, less than an hour, we were back in the car park and it was still light. Everyone was looking at one another not knowing what to say.
31-08-2024, 12:32 PM
After queuing for an eternity I had oasis tickets in my checkout basket and bloody celtic nipped in and snapped them off me just as I was about to purchase.
patch1875
31-08-2024, 01:36 PM
Total con got through rear standing available but high demand pricing £350 each.
Don’t think so
Trinity Hibee
31-08-2024, 01:58 PM
Total con got through rear standing available but high demand pricing £350 each.
Don’t think so
Yeah wtf is that about? Have a cheek to talk about touts when they’ve doubled the price of a standing ticket
31-08-2024, 01:59 PM
Yeah wtf is that about? Have a cheek to talk about touts when they’ve doubled the price of a standing ticket
That's ticketmaster doing that.
Essentially there's no price for tickets, if it's busy, they stick the price up as far as they can and idiots pay it.
Trinity Hibee
31-08-2024, 02:03 PM
Essentially there's no price for tickets, if it's busy, they stick the price up as far as they can and idiots pay it.
Get what you are saying but Prices were advertised as £150
31-08-2024, 03:01 PM
Don’t think so
£337 each for us. Knocked it in the head as I've seen them loads but girls not happy. Told them to pay it then lol (their 20 and 25).
31-08-2024, 04:10 PM
Same for us got through and the only option was £350+ standing tickets. Despite waiting about 5 hours in the queue, I'm not paying that.
bringbackbenny
01-09-2024, 06:58 AM
The band can still say no though? Pure greed from Ticketb****** and Oasis.
01-09-2024, 07:41 AM
I saw a ticket stub from 1994, oasis and special guest £5.
01-09-2024, 01:08 PM
Bonnie Prince Billy at the QMU in Glasgow last night.
Magnificent.
patch1875
01-09-2024, 02:32 PM
Ride next Sunday.
way better than Oasis anyway!
01-09-2024, 06:20 PM
Ticketmaster implement it but the band (or their management etc) set the pricing tiers to meet the demand. Blame to go around!
02-09-2024, 07:40 AM
Glad to see the dynamic pricing getting a lot of coverage on the news. It should never have been a thing. If it doesn't get banned or severly restricted, at the very least, if you are in a queue they should have the live prices next to the status bar so you know what you will be expecting to pay. At least then that will stop you queueing for 5 hours only to realise your being asked to pay rip off prices.
02-09-2024, 08:53 AM
Ticketmaster implement it but the band (or their management etc) set the pricing tiers to meet the demand. Blame to go around!
Does that work the other way round in that if demand is low, the prices go down?
02-09-2024, 09:59 AM
Glad to see the dynamic pricing getting a lot of coverage on the news. It should never have been a thing. If it doesn't get banned or severly restricted, at the very least, if you are in a queue they should have the live prices next to the status bar so you know what you will be expecting to pay. At least then that will stop you queueing for 5 hours only to realise your being asked to pay rip off prices.
It’s scandalous. I was listening to Chris Evans this morning going on about it and, while he didn’t actually agree with it, he said that’s how markets, like airlines and hotels etc. operate these days, so you just have to accept it. Well, Mr Richman, the comparisons you make are not quite the same. When booking, say a flight, the price doesn’t jump in the middle of a transaction. It’s when you leave a website, you leave cookies which can trigger an increase if and when you return at a later date. As Gatecrasher says, this practice is an infringement of the Trade Descriptions Act 1968 and the government should investigate and penalise these charlatans.
02-09-2024, 10:07 AM
On a brighter note than my above post, I’m going to see The Script in Glasgow in November. Maybe a bit middle of the road for some tastes, but the fact that I’m going with my grandkids, teenagers, son and daughter in law, in their 40’s and old fuddy duddy me, 78, it shows their mass appeal.
02-09-2024, 03:10 PM
the only good thing about it is that people get to see what our economy does naturally, just in fast forward.
02-09-2024, 09:02 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/music/2023/mar/17/the-cures-robert-smith-convinces-ticketmaster-to-refund-unduly-high-fees-after-fan-anger?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other
The cure gets ticketmaster to refund some of the fees added
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-09-2024, 02:02 PM
Finally, managed to get myself a ticket for Murrayfield. 12 o’clock at night last night, £500 for a hospitality ticket via Twickets. Happy now, if a bit skint.
patch1875
03-09-2024, 04:37 PM
Finally, managed to get myself a ticket for Murrayfield. 12 o’clock at night last night, £500 for a hospitality ticket via Twickets. Happy now, if a bit skint.
Few appearing on Twickets if you keep checking. Not sure about buying just now when there’s no actual ticket yet imagine plenty will appear closer to the dates. Doubt they will be able to stop them going on the rip off sites either.
ErinGoBraghHFC
04-09-2024, 02:01 AM
Few appearing on Twickets if you keep checking. Not sure about buying just now when there’s no actual ticket yet imagine plenty will appear closer to the dates. Doubt they will be able to stop them going on the rip off sites either.
Mine is from part of the Murrayfield hospitality offering which wasn’t available through ticketmaster but only via Murrayfield and their partners. The tickets were available two days prior and actual ticket is downloadable already. Wish I knew about this at the time, it’d have saved me a fair bit of stress over the past few days. I can’t see them being able to stop tickets being sold on stub hub etc either mate
04-09-2024, 10:54 AM
Just got tickets for The K’s at Blackpool Tower in December.
06-09-2024, 10:30 AM
Tickets onsale today for their only Scottish date next year, Glasgow Fruitmarket. https://www.glasgowlife.org.uk/event/1/wrest?utm_source=Wrest+Organic+Socials+OFM&utm_medium=Organic+Socials+OFM&utm_campaign=Wrest&utm_content=Wrest+image
06-09-2024, 07:40 PM
Tickets bought for The Rifles at the Caves in January.
07-09-2024, 10:25 PM
Back in from seeing Big Country perform the ‘Steeltown’ album plus hits at the Queens Hall supported by Mike Peters of The Alarm. Superb! Went with my best mate 41 years since we first saw them together after queuing all night outside The Playhouse box office for tickets. Oasis fans have the nerve to moan😁
patch1875
09-09-2024, 07:34 AM
Ride last night were great as usual although the hall used in SWG3 was not the best.
Early start as well so home for a decent time on a Sunday night.
09-09-2024, 10:26 AM
Ride last night were great as usual although the hall used in SWG3 was not the best.
Early start as well so home for a decent time on a Sunday night.
Which one was it, out of interest?
I personally think SWG3 is one of the better venues in Glasgow just now. Really enjoyed every gig I've been to there!
Just a pain to get to on a weeknight, Glasgow's other venues are good by bus (except Hydro), SWG3 isn't as easy when the gigs finish, good venue but not for getting there and back.
09-09-2024, 03:53 PM
Just a pain to get to on a weeknight, Glasgow's other venues are good by bus (except Hydro), SWG3 isn't as easy when the gigs finish, good venue but not for getting there and back.
Yeah, it does probably require that someone in your party drive I guess. The good thing is if you can drive, it's pretty easy to get parked closeby outside the venue, and I find getting back onto the motorway from there quite straightforward. It's also a short hop to Finnieston for some decent places to eat/drink pre-gig.
09-09-2024, 09:23 PM
Half of the original Linkin park touring with a new female vocalist. Nearest stop is London though, so I don't think I'll bother.
patch1875
10-09-2024, 05:32 AM
It was TV studio. Lot of pillars and concrete so didn’t think the acoustics were great.
Generally enjoy the venue when I’ve been but first time in this hall.
10-09-2024, 09:47 PM
Blackberry Smoke at the old Corn Exchange. I've only heard the one album and sporadic tracks. Good gig. Would go and see them again.
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
Blackberry Smoke at the old Corn Exchange. I've only heard the one album and sporadic tracks. Good gig. Would go and see them again.
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
My mate was there,said they were very good.