View Full Version : Upcoming gigs?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18

04-09-2022, 04:21 PM
Death Cab for Cutie are playing the Usher Hall next March - definitely going to try and get tickets for this - they're also playing the Barrowlands but I'd rather see them at the UH.

It's no exaggeration to say that Ben Gibbard's daily live videos from his home studio during the start of Covid-19 and the lockdown period genuinely saved my life. They gave me something to look forward to at the end of each day, rather than focussing on the same non-existence that would follow the same day (in my head anyway).

I've been a fan since You Can Play These Songs with Chords but I've never seen them live before.

04-09-2022, 04:26 PM
Death Cab for Cutie are playing the Usher Hall next March - definitely going to try and get tickets for this - they're also playing the Barrowlands but I'd rather see them at the UH.

It's no exaggeration to say that Ben Gibbard's daily live videos from his home studio during the start of Covid-19 and the lockdown period genuinely saved my life. They gave me something to look forward to at the end of each day, rather than focussing on the same non-existence that would follow the same day (in my head anyway).

I've been a fan since You Can Play These Songs with Chords but I've never seen them live before.

Butler, Grant and Blake played one of his songs last night at the QH.

Me and Magdalena? (one that he wrote for, or was covered on, the last Monkees album).

04-09-2022, 04:31 PM
Butler, Grant and Blake played one of his songs last night at the QH.

Me and Magdalena? (one that he wrote for, or was covered on, the last Monkees album).

He wrote it for them - for the Good Times album. His skill as a songwriter and storyteller are quite exceptional.

If anyone's interested, I'd genuinely recommend his 'Live From Home' videos on Youtube - his ability to put on a show with just a guitar or piano and his voice blew me away. Spent many a night during lockdown in tears watching him perform live. Would love the chance to properly thank him!

05-09-2022, 08:08 PM
Back from Lindisfarne festival yesterday. Amazing weekend with great people, food and music. Would recommend but you definitely need to go with an open mind

05-09-2022, 08:14 PM

Thanks for the heads up. Used to be one of my favourite bands but I didn't like their last 3 albums at all so not sure about going.

14-09-2022, 10:39 AM
Gabriels at SWG3 next month :agree:

patch1875
14-09-2022, 03:04 PM
Gabriels at SWG3 next month :agree:

That will be good. Looked superb at Glastonbury.

patch1875
15-09-2022, 07:00 PM
Suede At the O2 academy in Glasgow

nellio
22-09-2022, 01:28 PM
Suede At the O2 academy in Glasgow

Saw them at usher hall on the coming up tour fairly recently. Not seen them for donkeys years, really enjoyed it.

nellio
22-09-2022, 01:29 PM
Not sure if already mentioned but Biffy and Arictects at the hydro.

Mental that architects are supporting given as big as they are at the moment but I'm certainly not complaining!

22-09-2022, 03:31 PM
The Skids tonight at OGV Aberdeen.
Emma Pollock early tomorrow night at the Wonder Hoose pop up venue in Aberdeen then Retro Video Club doing a late night gig at the Lemon Tree. Gonna be a busy couple of nights. :greengrin

22-09-2022, 03:56 PM
Lone Lady at the Crescent in October.

The Proclaimers at the Barbican, also October.

Fontaines DC in Leeds in November.

Jools Holland at the Barbican in December.

patch1875
22-09-2022, 06:22 PM
Saw them at usher hall on the coming up tour fairly recently. Not seen them for donkeys years, really enjoyed it.

Was there also great band.

22-09-2022, 07:06 PM
Not sure if already mentioned but Biffy and Arictects at the hydro.

Mental that architects are supporting given as big as they are at the moment but I'm certainly not complaining!

If they could add While She Sleeps to the bill, it would be one of the best gigs I'll have been to!

Stairway 2 7
26-09-2022, 06:13 AM
Ian brown is doing his new tour karaoke style, brutal

https://mobile.twitter.com/I_R_Mole/status/1574160677517901825

26-09-2022, 08:45 AM

Oh no.

His downfall is complete.

Despite being aware he canny sing, I really liked his solo albums, and as the girlfriend likes him too I got 2 tickets for tomorrow night for us.

I don't think I can go to that :bitchy:

bringbackbenny
26-09-2022, 04:36 PM

Omg, beyond parody. Nearly £50 for him tomorrow at The Academy 🫣😅

26-09-2022, 05:01 PM
Omg, beyond parody. Nearly £50 for him tomorrow at The Academy 🫣😅

I think this gig will be remembered for years to come, so on reflection could be worth going for comedy value:greengrin

Stairway 2 7
26-09-2022, 08:49 PM
Gets better, be worth seeing ha absolute tune aswell

https://mobile.twitter.com/jasonmansell73/status/1574293903410450432

patch1875
29-09-2022, 05:15 PM
Goodbye Mr McKenzie in Troon tomorrow

davy67 +
30-09-2022, 11:38 PM
Hayseed Dixie were absolutely fantastic last night, another cracking night out at The Mac Arts Centre in Galashiels, the place was bouncing any act that can Segway from Bohemian Rhapsody to what shall we do with a Drunken Sailor , Lets get it on then back to Bohemian Rhapsody is worthy of praise

01-10-2022, 12:43 AM
Anthrax were superb at Glasgow O2 Academy tonight(Friday..) 🤘

01-10-2022, 05:57 AM
Hayseed Dixie were absolutely fantastic last night, another cracking night out at The Mac Arts Centre in Galashiels, the place was bouncing any act that can Segway from Bohemian Rhapsody to what shall we do with a Drunken Sailor , Lets get it on then back to Bohemian Rhapsody is worthy of praise

Love that band.

02-10-2022, 05:24 PM
Been to a couple of Steve Hackett gigs in recent weeks. Always a good show, this year he's celebrating 50 years since Foxtrot was released by playing the whole album start to finish.

50 years! I feel so old.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FeFD4MQWIAEsp-w?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

02-10-2022, 08:07 PM
Been to a couple of Steve Hackett gigs in recent weeks. Always a good show, this year he's celebrating 50 years since Foxtrot was released by playing the whole album start to finish.

50 years! I feel so old.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FeFD4MQWIAEsp-w?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

Next week is the 50th anniversary of my first ever gig. Genesis, with Hackett, were support that night to Lindisfarne

patch1875
02-10-2022, 08:21 PM
Public Service Broadcasting on Tuesday

03-10-2022, 02:57 PM
Public Service Broadcasting on Tuesday

Me too. I like the Usher Hall for gigs.

03-10-2022, 05:14 PM
Depeche Mode world Tour being announced in Berlin tomorrow. A few dates leaked already including Madison Square Garden, Twickenham and Stade de France.

KdyHby
03-10-2022, 05:57 PM
Tom Robinson at the Woodside Hotel, Aberdour this Friday

03-10-2022, 07:06 PM
Tom Robinson at the Woodside Hotel, Aberdour this Friday

Wow, never knew he still performed. Remember seeing him with his band in the Odeon back in 78 or 79, brilliant gig.

Enjoy!

davy67 +
03-10-2022, 07:09 PM
Another cracking show last night . Jah Wobble was excellent at The Mac Arts , not anywhere near as busy as Friday night and definitely a totally different atmosphere but still a great night out

13-10-2022, 07:12 AM
Off to Glagow later, The Virginmarys supported by Anchor Lane at the Garage, time for my hard rock fix.

13-10-2022, 04:09 PM
Iron Maiden and Blink 182 tickets secured :not worth

Bridge hibs
13-10-2022, 08:14 PM
I see the Twilight Sad are supporting the Cure on their world tour, fantastic stuff for the band. Never knew Grant Hutchison formerly Frightened Rabbit is their drummer

Jay
13-10-2022, 08:48 PM
Just got tickets to see Pink at the stadium of light next year. I had a ticket but missed out 3 yrs ago due to illness so buzzing about this one.

Peanut Shaz
15-10-2022, 12:10 PM
Just got tickets to see Pink at the stadium of light next year. I had a ticket but missed out 3 yrs ago due to illness so buzzing about this one.

Seen her twice. Without a doubt one of the best performers going.

15-10-2022, 09:38 PM
Went to see The Proclaimers in Liverpool on Monday. Something I’ve been meaning to do for years but finally managed it, and well worth the wait too.

LustForLeith
16-10-2022, 10:36 AM
How good were The Snuts last night?

What’s the song that fades into All Your Friends? Was it Renegade Master?

bringbackbenny
16-10-2022, 09:30 PM
Pavement x 2 this week, Barrowlands then Usher Hall. Anyone else going?

21-10-2022, 10:02 AM
I’m hearing Pet Shop Boys will be headlining Hogmanay in Princes Street Gardens. That would be some coo. Wonder if they’ll bring New Order with them!

Tide Lines and more Scottish bands lined up for New Year’s Day.

21-10-2022, 10:14 AM
Jenny Sturgeon next week at the Glad Cafe.

21-10-2022, 10:22 AM
Gabriels tonight, Bicep next week.

Key West
21-10-2022, 01:34 PM
Dylan 31/10/22 in Glasgow thanks to the suggestions regarding return ticket sales on .net, cheers Hibby 70 and others much appreciated, it will be gig 58!

23-10-2022, 05:00 PM
Dylan 31/10/22 in Glasgow thanks to the suggestions regarding return ticket sales on .net, cheers Hibby 70 and others much appreciated, it will be gig 58!

I did wonder how this would work with Ticketnasters fluid ticket prices.

I'd imagine anyone putting a Bruce Springsteen ticket back up for sale would find that the seller gets the ticket price back but they would put it on sale at the ridiculously inflated price.

23-10-2022, 05:34 PM
Dylan 31/10/22 in Glasgow thanks to the suggestions regarding return ticket sales on .net, cheers Hibby 70 and others much appreciated, it will be gig 58!Is that 58 Dylan gigs? :not worth

LustForLeith
23-10-2022, 07:48 PM
I’m hearing Pet Shop Boys will be headlining Hogmanay in Princes Street Gardens. That would be some coo. Wonder if they’ll bring New Order with them!

Tide Lines and more Scottish bands lined up for New Year’s Day.

I thought they were going to cancel the Hogmanay show due to lack of funding? Maybe got the wrong end of the stick

Stairway 2 7
23-10-2022, 07:53 PM
I thought they were going to cancel the Hogmanay show due to lack of funding? Maybe got the wrong end of the stick

Defo on. There's a family show on the bandstand on the 30th also

Santa Cruz
23-10-2022, 08:23 PM

Halved the usual capacity for tickets for the Street party, sure it's 30,000 this year. Still normal capacity for the concert in the Gardens as far as I know.

Key West
24-10-2022, 01:03 PM
Is that 58 Dylan gigs? :not worth

Correct.👍

24-10-2022, 01:04 PM
Correct.👍Wow.

First one?
Best one?

Key West
24-10-2022, 01:30 PM
Wow.

First one?
Best one?

Glasgow 1989
Brixton 1995

24-10-2022, 01:32 PM
Glasgow 1989
Brixton 1995
Wembley 1978
Barrowlands 2004

I was thinking about Glasgow 1989 just the other day - possibly my unhappiest Dylan gig.

Key West
24-10-2022, 01:37 PM
Wembley 1978
Barrowlands 2004

I was thinking about Glasgow 1989 just the other day - possibly my unhappiest Dylan gig.

It wasn't the greatest.

24-10-2022, 07:43 PM
Depeche Mode album & tour next year. So far got Vegas (happy 50th to me), Amsterdam x 2, Dublin, Düsseldorf x 2, Tallinn booked for the summer leg, with a winter arena leg to come. Funnily enough, that’ll take me to 58 DM gigs!

patch1875
25-10-2022, 08:40 AM
Gabriels tonight, Bicep next week.

How was Gabriel’s? Heard it was an amazing show but very short?

HibbyDave
25-10-2022, 02:21 PM
Went to ABBA Voyage in London at the weekend. Best gig ever and by a mile.

If you get the chance to go don’t miss out on an experience I think you will never forget.

G15 Hibs
25-10-2022, 03:15 PM
Giving serious consideration to reliving my youth and going to see Jim Bob from Carter USM at Drygate next month. Loved them when I was 15. Not 15 anymore, of course. I'd imagine all of the audience will be in the same boat.

Got Fontaines DC and Yard Act in November too.

25-10-2022, 03:42 PM
Giving serious consideration to reliving my youth and going to see Jim Bob from Carter USM at Drygate next month. Loved them when I was 15. Not 15 anymore, of course. I'd imagine all of the audience will be in the same boat.

Got Fontaines DC and Yard Act in November too.
Saw Jim Bob at Kubix this year. You will not be disappointed

G15 Hibs
25-10-2022, 03:53 PM

Thanks. That probably tips me from 'maybe' to 'aye, why not?'.

25-10-2022, 04:36 PM
How was Gabriel’s? Heard it was an amazing show but very short?

It was barely an hour. I guess they don't have enough material yet to do longer, which maybe explains the choice of SWG3 as a venue.

Technically, they were excellent. Jacob is such an incredible singer and showman, and the rest of the band were superb. But I felt something was missing... I can't decide what though!

As they develop their material and stage act, hopefully that will change.

25-10-2022, 04:38 PM

If you get the chance to go don’t miss out on an experience I think you will never forget.Not for me thanks, think I'll pass.

25-10-2022, 09:17 PM
Thanks. That probably tips me from 'maybe' to 'aye, why not?'.

His chat was as good as his music - very funny guy.

25-10-2022, 10:36 PM
Not for me thanks, think I'll pass.

I've been trying to come up with an idea for my in-laws' 50th wedding anniversary.

A trip to the Big Smoke and the Abba thing could be the perfect answer.

26-10-2022, 10:39 PM
Total Jockathon this week. Pauli Nutini last night. Proclaimers tonight.

27-10-2022, 09:42 AM
I've been trying to come up with an idea for my in-laws' 50th wedding anniversary.

A trip to the Big Smoke and the Abba thing could be the perfect answer.You know your in-laws so you should decide based on that knowledge. If my son-in-law gave us tickets to Abba Voyage for our anniversary we'd never speak to him again! :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 10:56 AM
You know your in-laws so you should decide based on that knowledge. If my son-in-law gave us tickets to Abba Voyage for our anniversary we'd never speak to him again! :greengrin

People do have different tastes from each other thankfully.

I've booked to see the view in Glasgow in December and terminal v for a rave on Saturday, I'm sure many would hate both

27-10-2022, 11:01 AM
People do have different tastes from each other thankfully. :agree:

For the avoidance of doubt, I'm happy that people want to see these events, and glad that people look forward to such things.
As S27 says, we're all different, it's just not for me. Agree with S27.

Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 11:16 AM

For the avoidance of doubt, I'm happy that people want to see these events, and glad that people look forward to such things.
As S27 says, we're all different, it's just not for me. Agree with S27.

Actually just googled it and suppose it would be fun if you like them, a bit like seeing bootleg beatles when you can't see the real band.

But a bit like the Tupac show I think it's a bit of a cheek charging full price for watching basically a TV show (hologram). Is this the way music is going, go to a room anywhere in the world or put on your virtual reality and watch a band play. More of a show that a gig, but if it's enjoyable who cares I suppose

Peanut Shaz
27-10-2022, 12:28 PM

If you get the chance to go don’t miss out on an experience I think you will never forget.

Going in November. Really looking forward to it.

27-10-2022, 02:42 PM
Bicep 💪tonight

Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 02:53 PM
Bicep 💪tonight

Where is that, will be brill

27-10-2022, 02:54 PM
Where is that, will be brill

Didn't want to say, in case I was accused of showing off :))))

Paris. In France.

27-10-2022, 02:55 PM

Paris. In France.
Show off!

Have a great time! (Whoever they are).

Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 03:03 PM

Paris. In France.

Superb. Seeing them in December in glamorous Chesser ha

28-10-2022, 09:08 AM

Paris. In France.

Apart from the one in Texas, don't know of any others

28-10-2022, 11:34 AM
Apart from the one in Texas, don't know if any others

There's one near Toronto 😁

28-10-2022, 01:41 PM
Kasabian and Fontaines DC for me in November. I think my wife wants to go see The Blossoms as well, so potentially them too.

30-10-2022, 09:46 PM
Cockney Rejects on the 3rd December at La Belle Angele

30-10-2022, 11:07 PM
Bob Dylan tomorrow.

01-11-2022, 06:43 AM
Was at the Enemy at the O2 Academy last week. They were only on stage for 65-70 minutes but battered through 17 songs. They were superb.

Then last night saw Paolo Nutini at the same venue. He was absolutely top drawer.
Can tell he’s maybe bored with some of his earlier stuff tho. Didn’t do last request and then done rearranged versions of pencil full of lead, new shoes, Jenny don’t be hasty and Candy. Was on for pretty much 2 hours and came out for the encore with the whole band dressed as Ghostbusters, sang ghostbusters and was joined by the Marshmallow man. [emoji23]

Key West
05-11-2022, 11:42 AM
Brilliant performance from Dylan and his band at the Armadillo on Monday night.

05-11-2022, 11:56 AM
Brilliant performance from Dylan and his band at the Armadillo on Monday night.
Agreed! Gotta Serve Somebody was my highlight, but there were many others besides. Just a great gig, so good to see him again.

05-11-2022, 12:11 PM
Sugababes at the Usher Hall tonight for me 🤘🏻

Key West
05-11-2022, 04:02 PM
Agreed! Gotta Serve Somebody was my highlight, but there were many others besides. Just a great gig, so good to see him again.

Great interaction with Dylan on piano and Charlie Drayton on drums,anarchic at times on the high notes on the piano, expected it to be very good but it way up there with previous gigs.

👍

05-11-2022, 08:33 PM
I've bought from Bandcamp the video of the Blue Rose Code gig in Perth theatre that I was at in April this year.

Superb quality and cast it to the telly tonight.

05-11-2022, 09:45 PM
Being dragged along by the missus to see Blue at the Hydro in December.

06-11-2022, 10:23 AM
Being dragged along by the missus to see Blue at the Hydro in December.

Fair play for agreeing to go to that.

BarneyBreslin
06-11-2022, 10:37 AM
Glastonbury June 23!

MountcastleHibs
06-11-2022, 04:43 PM
Was at the Enemy at the O2 Academy last week. They were only on stage for 65-70 minutes but battered through 17 songs. They were superb.

Then last night saw Paolo Nutini at the same venue. He was absolutely top drawer.
Can tell he’s maybe bored with some of his earlier stuff tho. Didn’t do last request and then done rearranged versions of pencil full of lead, new shoes, Jenny don’t be hasty and Candy. Was on for pretty much 2 hours and came out for the encore with the whole band dressed as Ghostbusters, sang ghostbusters and was joined by the Marshmallow man. [emoji23]

Was at The Enemy gig also. Thought they were absolutely superb - my mate found his stub from the first we saw them. March 2008 🤯.

Next up, Arctic Monkeys in Sheffield and Sam Fender in Newcastle on the same weekend next June. Can’t wait.

06-11-2022, 04:46 PM
Was at The Enemy gig also. Thought they were absolutely superb - my mate found his stub from the first we saw them. March 2008 [emoji2962].

Next up, Arctic Monkeys in Sheffield and Sam Fender in Newcastle on the same weekend next June. Can’t wait.

Aye first time I saw them was TITP 2007. Was at the farewell gig in Glasgow 5 years ago which was class but last week was better.

Got Sherlocks, Fratellis and Kaiser Chiefs on Friday at the Hydro

06-11-2022, 06:53 PM

All rise for SteveHFC :greengrin

06-11-2022, 07:27 PM
Was at The Enemy gig also. Thought they were absolutely superb - my mate found his stub from the first we saw them. March 2008 🤯.

Aye, I was at the Enemy gig tae, thought they were brilliant.

Had the Snuts the week before, they were good too.

Got The View, Blossoms, Jamie T still to come this year, then Courteeners in Manchester booked for next year.

06-11-2022, 09:09 PM

All rise for SteveHFC :greengrin

Having a couple of beers at that gig will make up for having to stand and listen to that type of music all night :greengrin

06-11-2022, 09:38 PM
Fontaines DC on Tuesday in Leeds.

For various reasons, I've decided to drive so it's probably be my first ever gig completely sober!

06-11-2022, 11:13 PM
Kasabian last night at the Hydro were superb. Such a powerful band. Serge taking over lead vocals has added to the energy and Robert Harvey from The Music joining really adds to sound. One thing I learned from the gig.....I'm getting too old for the mosh pit!

08-11-2022, 02:36 PM
Well I was going to get tickets to see Peter Gabriel at the OVO Glasgow. But I'll be blowed if I'm paying £200 plus fees for a ticket to that place.

08-11-2022, 04:11 PM
Kasabian last night at the Hydro were superb. Such a powerful band. Serge taking over lead vocals has added to the energy and Robert Harvey from The Music joining really adds to sound. One thing I learned from the gig.....I'm getting too old for the mosh pit!

It was a fantastic gig. I agree about Serge though I spoke to a lot of people afterwards who disagreed. “Nowhere near as good without Tom”, “he’s not a front man”, “too rocky now” (wtf?), “probably my least favourite Kasabian gig”, “Tom’s solo gig in December will be a lot better than that”. I was shocked as I thought it was fantastic and preferred it to when I saw them with Tom.

08-11-2022, 08:03 PM
Well I was going to get tickets to see Peter Gabriel at the OVO Glasgow. But I'll be blowed if I'm paying £200 plus fees for a ticket to that place.

That is the least I'd expect at that price. 🙄

08-11-2022, 09:22 PM

I looked at the shania twain tickets, all that is available are £505 vip tickets

09-11-2022, 10:26 AM
It was a fantastic gig. I agree about Serge though I spoke to a lot of people afterwards who disagreed. “Nowhere near as good without Tom”, “he’s not a front man”, “too rocky now” (wtf?), “probably my least favourite Kasabian gig”, “Tom’s solo gig in December will be a lot better than that”. I was shocked as I thought it was fantastic and preferred it to when I saw them with Tom.

Never easy when the front man leaves a band as he can make that band tick. When Scott Stapp left Creed the band recruited Myles Kennedy who is a totally different singer and the band changed too, Alter Bridge will never be Creed and vice versa.

G15 Hibs
11-11-2022, 07:58 AM

Thanks for the encouragement to get a ticket for this. Gig was last night, brilliant night. So glad I went.

Green Man
11-11-2022, 08:39 AM
I’m a big Carter fan and Jim’s recent solo stuff has been brilliant as well. I wanted to go to last night’s gig but couldn’t make it. Glad to hear you had a good night!

G15 Hibs
11-11-2022, 09:55 AM
I’m a big Carter fan and Jim’s recent solo stuff has been brilliant as well. I wanted to go to last night’s gig but couldn’t make it. Glad to hear you had a good night!

Cheers, it really brightened up a ****ty week. Apparently he's already got his next album recorded so hopefully he'll tour again next year when it's out and you'll be able to get along.

bringbackbenny
11-11-2022, 10:02 AM
The Nightingales last night at the Caves.

Such a good wee venue and the Nightingales are great, 1 hour no gaps and all new material, certainly not relying on a long back catalogue.

11-11-2022, 10:45 AM
Thanks for the encouragement to get a ticket for this. Gig was last night, brilliant night. So glad I went.

👍

Green Man
11-11-2022, 01:29 PM
Cheers, it really brightened up a ****ty week. Apparently he's already got his next album recorded so hopefully he'll tour again next year when it's out and you'll be able to get along.

He’s in prolific form! I’m listening to his live album right now that was recorded a few years back in London.

11-11-2022, 02:01 PM
Just got a ticket for Gaz Coombes next April.

11-11-2022, 02:43 PM
James grant tomorrow in Perth.

11-11-2022, 02:44 PM
James grant tomorrow in Perth.

Love him. Seen him loads of times.

Bridge hibs
11-11-2022, 06:14 PM
James & Orchestra at Usher hall next April, £93 a ticket, will be bodyswerving that one then 😵

11-11-2022, 09:51 PM
James & Orchestra at Usher hall next April, £93 a ticket, will be bodyswerving that one then 😵

They start at £38 though. Albeit they'll be pretty poor seats. I'm going no more than the £50 seats though if there's any to be had. There's a presale if you buy the album.

Bridge hibs
12-11-2022, 04:36 AM
They start at £38 though. Albeit they'll be pretty poor seats. I'm going no more than the £50 seats though if there's any to be had. There's a presale if you buy the album.Ah thanks mate, I just received an alert yesterday and sent it to my Wife who then messaged me to say they were £93, quite fancy the orchestra angle, watched their gig with Orchestra of the Swan in Manchester and was quite different. Im not too fussed about the view as Im a bit old for the front of stage mosh pit carry on now 🤣

12-11-2022, 08:42 AM
They start at £38 though. Albeit they'll be pretty poor seats. I'm going no more than the £50 seats though if there's any to be had. There's a presale if you buy the album.

You do t need to buy the album, here’s the free pre-sale link

https://james.tmstor.es/splash/7715

12-11-2022, 08:43 AM

Saw them at the Albert Hall with an orchestra about 10 years ago. One of my favourite ever gigs. Will definitely be trying for the the Usher Hall.

Santa Cruz
12-11-2022, 09:23 AM

I had pre-sale access the other day (won't mention the gig as it was for a crimbo pressie, my daughter might read this and don't want to spoil the surprise). Refreshed constantly, after 40 mins I finally secured the tickets, went to checkout the site crashed and I lost the seats. Massive grrrr moment. I will try again for the general sale, but not holding out much hope. So frustrating. Should really add this to the pet peeve thread :greengrin

12-11-2022, 10:07 PM
Love him. Seen him loads of times.

Really good. Saw him before the gig, pizza express the restaurant of choice for both of us.

Him and guitar with cello accompaniment, first half his solo work and second half love and money mostly.

Next week it's Courtney pine at the Queen's Hall

12-11-2022, 10:26 PM

Cheers matey

Newhaven
13-11-2022, 10:00 PM
https://the.proclaimers.co.uk/scotland-summer-2023-shows

Surely a concert at the holy ground? Would bring in a fortune.

13-11-2022, 10:12 PM
https://the.proclaimers.co.uk/scotland-summer-2023-shows

Surely a concert at the holy ground? Would bring in a fortune.

2 words.

Elton, and.... wotsisname?.

16-11-2022, 08:54 AM
James tickets purchased. Cheers again for the link Frazerbob.

16-11-2022, 09:14 AM
James tickets purchased. Cheers again for the link Frazerbob.

No worries. Got good seats in the stalls. Canny wait!

16-11-2022, 11:58 AM
Got Alter Bridge on the 6th December at the Hydro as a wee birthday gift, supported by Hailstorm and Mammoth WVH (Eddie Van Halens son Wolfgang)

Bridge hibs
16-11-2022, 12:03 PM
Quite fancy Peter Hook and the Light at 02 Academy in April

G15 Hibs
16-11-2022, 12:41 PM
Quite fancy Peter Hook and the Light at 02 Academy in April

Saw him at the Barrowlands in July doing Unknown Pleasures and Closer. They're very good at what they do.

16-11-2022, 12:48 PM
I'm dreading the Taylor Swift sale when it comes. My daughter is desperate for a ticket but imagine it will be a shambles if the US sale is anything to go by.

G15 Hibs
17-11-2022, 08:47 AM
Fontaines DC at the O2 Academy in Glasgow tonight. Will be the third time I've seen them, it'll take some going to top their gig at the Barrowlands last year.

nellio
17-11-2022, 02:19 PM
Got Alter Bridge on the 6th December at the Hydro as a wee birthday gift, supported by Hailstorm and Mammoth WVH (Eddie Van Halens son Wolfgang)

Im going to that. Alter bridge are absolutely amazing. What a band.

17-11-2022, 08:09 PM
Im going to that. Alter bridge are absolutely amazing. What a band.

Yep, seen them about 10 times now, Tremonti is one of the best guitarists ever and Myles's voice it awesome.

18-11-2022, 07:08 PM
Ezra Furman (again) at the QMU on Sunday.

Have a spare ticket if anyone is interested.

18-11-2022, 07:31 PM
Mama (Genesis tribute band) tonight, Backstage at Kinross. Sold out tonight and tomorrow.

Key West
19-11-2022, 12:00 PM
CowboyJunkies at The Assembly Rooms tomorrow night. 👍

20-11-2022, 10:10 AM
Did anyone get tickets for Peter Kay? I got 2 in Sheffield... in July 2024!

Peanut Shaz
20-11-2022, 03:23 PM

Just come out from todays show. Absolutely mind-blowing. Just surreal,thousands of people singing and dancing along to effectively an empty stage. Bizarre but brilliant at the same time.

20-11-2022, 06:04 PM
Just come out from todays show. Absolutely mind-blowing. Just surreal,thousands of people singing and dancing along to effectively an empty stage. Bizarre but brilliant at the same time.

Those are great reviews. I've bought 2 tickets for my wife's Christmas on the dance floor. I might actually start looking forward to it now I've read your comments! 😁

20-11-2022, 07:02 PM
Those are great reviews. I've bought 2 tickets for my wife's Christmas on the dance floor. I might actually start looking forward to it now I've read your comments! 😁

I'm doing the same - buying it as a voucher, mainly due to not knowing when she can go but also in the hope she finds a pal to go with 😂

20-11-2022, 08:32 PM
I'm off to see Scottish up-and-comers Parliamo play a sold-out show at Oran Mor on Friday evening, ahead of them supporting The View in December.

I actually taught one of their members last year who was pursuing a Masters and supervised their dissertation, and I'm looking forward to catching up with them and see them perform live to a capacity crowd - they were kind enough to offer me a spot on their guest-list.

Peanut Shaz
20-11-2022, 08:33 PM
Honestly it's one of the best things I've seen in years. Very, very clever.

20-11-2022, 09:55 PM
Honestly it's one of the best things I've seen in years. Very, very clever.

👍 Great to hear.

Calvin
21-11-2022, 01:21 AM
Starting to see quite a few of the Northern Hemisphere bands returning to Australia. Saw Idles last week and they were every bit as good as I remember them... a good 3 and a half years since I've spent the bulk of a gig in the pit and jeez was my body feeling it the next day. Had Enter Shikari the week after and they were certainly far from their early peak.

Got a good run coming up over the next few months though... Pixies, Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, Arctic Monkeys, Chvrches, Fontaines DC, Billy Bragg, Future Islands, Ash... and of course The Proclaimers.

I'm even tempted to take my chances to see Elton John and Sting (seperately) down here; but I'm not sure I can swallow $300 a pop just to tick them off the list.

G15 Hibs
22-11-2022, 03:49 PM
Yard Act at the QMU tonight. Last I've got planned this year, as it stands.

22-11-2022, 03:57 PM

Me too, Manchester August 2024.:greengrin

22-11-2022, 09:26 PM
Swithering over tickets for Iggy Pop/ Blondie at Crystal Palace next summer purely for the Gen X/ Sex Pistols hybrid ‘Generation Sex’ supporting. They’ll be brilliant, watched the set they done in LA a few years back on YouTube umpteen times and I’m hoping they’ll do a few gigs on their own when they’re here, as Steve Jones rarely ventures to the UK these days so he’ll surely no be coming over just for one gig. Might even get a bit of a Sex Pistols reunion with Glen Matlock playing in Blondie now!

Not got tickets yet but planning on doing Motley Crue at Hampden next summer and have Cockney Rejects next Saturday at la belle angele. 999 also just announced Bannermans next October which I’ll no doubt be at too.

24-11-2022, 12:44 PM
Got two tickets for a week on Saturday at Manchester. Night two of the entire tour. Would have tried for night one but Bolton v Bristol Rovers got moved to that night. Won’t lie, I felt a little smug at 10.01am on the day of open sale when I got straight through for tickets on Eventim while everyone else was fighting with Ticketmaster. Albeit made it more frustrating that I’d wasted half a day fighting with the priority sale on O2 and Three!

24-11-2022, 12:47 PM
We’ve paid £57 each for Blackpool Opera House

LewysGot2
25-11-2022, 04:23 PM
2 weeks till the Proclaimers at the Playhouse :thumbsup:

Bridge hibs
25-11-2022, 04:31 PM
We’ve paid £57 each for Blackpool Opera HouseNice one mate enjoy, think my Wife just checked the highest price before quickly telling me Im not going

Unless she has negotiated with Santa and I might get a surprise at Christmas 🤣

25-11-2022, 08:48 PM
Horse, The Same Sky anniversary tour at Perth theatre tomorrow night. What a voice.

26-11-2022, 10:05 AM
Gary Delaney next Thursday.

Not the most PC comedian in the world. :wink:

davy67 +
26-11-2022, 02:37 PM
Niteworks, tonight in Galashiels

26-11-2022, 02:47 PM
Niteworks, tonight in GalashielsIs that at Mac Arts? Really nice venue I thought.

davy67 +
26-11-2022, 11:20 PM
Is that at Mac Arts? Really nice venue I thought.
Yup. It's a great venue. Gig was excellent. I'm back there in two weeks to see Colonel Mustard and the Dijon 5

28-11-2022, 09:19 AM
Not "upcoming" but I was in Glasgow last night to see Ozric Tentacles and Gong. Great fun, but very loud.

28-11-2022, 01:44 PM
Going to the Royal Festival Hall in London on Friday. A celebration of Sir Peter Blake with a line up featuring Chrissie Hynde, Roger Daltrey, Noel Gallagher, Paul Weller and Madness headlining. With a bit of luck Macca himself might rock up aswell.

28-11-2022, 03:56 PM
Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott at the Hydro on Friday (Billy Bragg supporting). £30 a ticket…..bargain!

28-11-2022, 03:57 PM
Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott at the Hydro on Saturday (Billy Bragg supporting). £30 a ticket…..bargain!

Friday. :greengrin

28-11-2022, 04:00 PM
Just booked tickets for Southside Johnny in London next July.

Maybe not of much interest to most, (except Brog :greengrin ) but read on....

They're playing on the 7th July. Springsteen is in London, doing gigs on the 6th and the 8th. They have a long history of rocking up to each other's gigs when they can.

So... any London-based posters who couldn't get tickets for Bruce, this might be an option :greengrin

Disclaimer.... he might not turn up, but you will still have a helluva night

28-11-2022, 05:37 PM

They're playing on the 7th July. Springsteen is in London, doing gigs on the 6th and the 8th. They have a long history of rocking up to each other's gigs when they can.

So... any London-based posters who couldn't get tickets for Bruce, this might be an option :greengrin

Disclaimer.... he might not turn up, but you will still have a helluva night That's a very good call.

29-11-2022, 08:01 AM
Couple of tickets just come available on Ticketmaster for Proclaimers @ Playhouse on Saturday 10th December

29-11-2022, 07:00 PM
Friday. :greengrin

I knew that.....honest! :wink:

01-12-2022, 09:51 AM
Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott at the Hydro on Friday (Billy Bragg supporting). £30 a ticket…..bargain!

Jacqui Abbott unwell so Paul playing solo. Hopefully means more Housmartins songs on the setlist.......

02-12-2022, 09:38 AM
Been roped into going to see the complete Stone Roses at the O2 next week. Should be good as they doing the full set from the 2nd coming tour. Definitely Oasis also playing and doing the full 1997 Be here now tour set. Also Blur and Pulp tribute bands on as well. Gonna be a long long day but the Complete Stone Roses are class.

02-12-2022, 09:34 PM
I think Saga are going to be running trips to Glastonnext year.

05-12-2022, 06:27 PM
Hydro tomorrow night to see the wonderful Alter Bridge, lost count how many times we've seen them. Supported by the Halestorm (LIzzy Hale fwoar) and Mammoth WVH.

nellio
06-12-2022, 12:26 PM
Hydro tomorrow night to see the wonderful Alter Bridge, lost count how many times we've seen them. Supported by the Halestorm (LIzzy Hale fwoar) and Mammoth WVH.

Going tonight as well. Love AB they are one of my fav bands. New album especially the opening track is epic.

09-12-2022, 02:44 PM
Proclaimers tonight at the Playhouse

davy67 +
09-12-2022, 07:38 PM
Last trip along to The Mac Arts Centre of the year tomorrow night to see Colonel Mustard & Djion 5 , with Brownbear in support. Looking forward to another cracking night out

09-12-2022, 09:41 PM
The Killers playing at the Royal Highland Centre next August.

Johnny Marr also making a appearance :hyper

Will be some gig that.

09-12-2022, 10:13 PM
Proclaimers tonight at the Playhouse

Me too. And ffs I've never seen an audience less able to stay in their seat for more than two songs at a time. Guy in our row must have gone out for drinks and the loo seven times. Also; people who take flash photos or video, lighting up everyone within the next few rows. They will get rubbish photos and just upset everyone around them.

Proclaimers still a class act, nonetheless. Second biggest cheer of the night was for Cap In Hand.

10-12-2022, 09:37 AM
Me too. And ffs I've never seen an audience less able to stay in their seat for more than two songs at a time. Guy in our row must have gone out for drinks and the loo seven times. Also; people who take flash photos or video, lighting up everyone within the next few rows. They will get rubbish photos and just upset everyone around them.

Proclaimers still a class act, nonetheless. Second biggest cheer of the night was for Cap In Hand.I noticed the reaction to cap in hand was much louder and more enthusiastic than any time Ive seen them before, that's not to say it wasn't well received those other times too :greengrin

10-12-2022, 10:34 AM

Proclaimers still a class act, nonetheless. Second biggest cheer of the night was for Cap In Hand.

I don't mind folk using their phones for the odd photo or recording but FFS turn the light off. The stage lights do that job just fine.

10-12-2022, 10:36 AM
Scouting for Girls tomorrow in the Weedge. Always a fun gig.

Also got tickets for The Killers in Ingliston this morning. £85 ooft

10-12-2022, 11:50 AM
The Proclaimers, supported by Blue Rose Code in Perth on Wednesday.

10-12-2022, 12:11 PM

I apologise if it was me. 🫣my bladder isn’t designed for seated gigs

Great gig as usual tho.

10-12-2022, 12:49 PM
I apologise if it was me. 🫣my bladder isn’t designed for seated gigs
Now you've made me feel bad! Tbf the Playhouse seats are not designed for the modern day Proclaimers fan ... :greengrin

10-12-2022, 02:17 PM
Now you've made me feel bad! Tbf the Playhouse seats are not designed for the modern day Proclaimers fan ... :greengrin

Definitely not. Snug to say the least. Standing gigs much better. Funnily enough I bought playhouse tickets rather than Dunfermline Alhambra because the last time everyone stood for the entirety at the playhouse while at the Alhambra everyone stayed seated for pretty much the whole night. Typically, the Alhambra took the seats out this time [emoji23]

11-12-2022, 08:39 PM
Tickets sorted for A Flock of Seagulls at Bannermans next year. Should be brilliant

15-12-2022, 10:30 PM
Kevin Bridges on top form in Leeds*tonight. Great to watch a comedian on stage rather than on a massive screen behind. Probably a contributing factor as to why me and Mrs both enjoyed it far more than we did seeing Peter Kay the other week.*

Green Man
13-01-2023, 10:03 AM
I managed to get tickets for Suede at Stereo, only 300 capacity. Should be incredible.

19-01-2023, 10:25 AM
I've bagged Madonna tickets for her show at the O2 arena in London, not cheap by any means but once in a lifetime for me. Absolutely delighted.

patch1875
19-01-2023, 04:58 PM
I managed to get tickets for Suede at Stereo, only 300 capacity. Should be incredible.

Nice one tried and failed.

Tickets for them in March though.

19-01-2023, 05:15 PM
I've bagged Madonna tickets for her show at the O2 arena in London, not cheap by any means but once in a lifetime for me. Absolutely delighted.
Very pleased for you. I have a number of once in a lifetime gigs I can look back on, so I'm pleased for anyone who pushes the boat out to see a gig they really want to see.

19-01-2023, 06:03 PM
Very pleased for you. I have a number of once in a lifetime gigs I can look back on, so I'm pleased for anyone who pushes the boat out to see a gig they really want to see.

Done VIP for the Pet Shop Boys on Hogmanay as well, they were outstanding but the VIP experienced was an absolute con. Flat standing area so if you were not at the front you couldn't see a thing, no shelter either, the bar was outside the VIP area so you had to show your wrist band twice before getting back in, all while carrying 3/4 drinks. £7 a can of Amstel and £7.50 a can of pre mixed vodka cranberry as well. Complained to the organiser but not heard back from them. Those who bought tickets for the Gardens or terracing below us had a much better view. It was an absolute disgrace. £310 for 2 tickets to look at the back of someones head for 2 hours.

She's just added a 2nd night (knew she would as theres big gaps in the dates of her tour), glad I got the Saturday night though, spend the day in London before hand. Now I just need to find someone to go with. This will probably be her last tour given that she's 64 now, always wanted to see her but never got the chance previously. Massive crush of mine when too, even now. £450 for 2 tickets, she's worth it. :greengrin

19-01-2023, 09:20 PM
We've got Black Stone Cherry co headlining with the Darkness at OVO Hydro on the 30th of this month. Love BSC but not a huge fan of The Darkness.

25-01-2023, 09:07 PM

Disclaimer.... he might not turn up, but you will still have a helluva night Bought tickets on this basis at the time! Cheers.

Weird Al/ Emo Phillips, Deacon Blue, Black Keys. Frankie Boyle all booked. Still to sort tickets for Rezillos.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

03-02-2023, 05:46 PM
It's been about Celtic Connections for me recently.

Started off with the Roamin' Roots Revue.... bit of a mixed bag, but with some magical moments.

Then an African night, including the last standing member of the Bhundu Boys (the band that moved John Peel to tears).

Tomorrow finish off with some Shooglenifty.

In other news, Springsteen's tour kicked off on Wednesday night. Some major omissions from the set-list (Thunder Road ffs!!) , but he's notorious for changing things around, so not fretting yet.

davy67 +
03-02-2023, 05:59 PM
First gig of the year tomorrow night Fatherson at The Mac Arts Centre in Galashiels, part of Independent Venue week. One of many visits I've got lined up to great wee venue

04-02-2023, 09:57 AM
Got tickets for The Who, Sunday 9th July at Edinburgh Castle.

First time at the castle for a gig.

04-02-2023, 11:24 AM

Started off with the Roamin' Roots Revue.... bit of a mixed bag, but with some magical moments.

Then an African night, including the last standing member of the Bhundu Boys (the band that moved John Peel to tears).

In other news, Springsteen's tour kicked off on Wednesday night. Some major omissions from the set-list (Thunder Road ffs!!) , but he's notorious for changing things around, so not fretting yet.

Thunder Road was back in the set list last night, hopefully played at Murrayfield

04-02-2023, 11:37 AM
In my top five lifetime gigs. 48 years ago ...

https://youtu.be/6O3MO2y30fU

04-02-2023, 11:39 AM
Thunder Road was back in the set list last night, hopefully played at Murrayfield

Good news. You realise we'll be checking every gig from now until May...? 😀

04-02-2023, 12:19 PM
Got tickets to go see the who on the 9th of July, can't wait, tickets were a bit pricy but not overly fussed until the wife finds out!!

04-02-2023, 01:46 PM

Also at Celtic Connections, Thursday night was Kim Edgar and friends at St Luke's. Friends included James Grant, Horse and Boo Hewerdeen. Last night was Transatlantic Sessions at the concert hall. Martha Wainwright and Amythyst Kiah were very good. Tonight it's Hen Hoose at St Luke's.

Bridge hibs
04-02-2023, 02:12 PM
Not a gig per se but enjoying the stuff from Band from Rockall, former Runrig Brothers, quite catchy tunes

04-02-2023, 05:45 PM
Got tickets to go see the who on the 9th of July, can't wait, tickets were a bit pricy but not overly fussed until the wife finds out!!

I was swithering whether to buy or not. But the venue is just too awful to justify the price.

Green Man
04-02-2023, 06:07 PM
Suede at Stereo last night were superb. I’ve seen them a few times before but playing in a 300 capacity venue was something special. A good few tracks from their most recent album (which is excellent) and the rest of the set spanning their back catalogue. The loudest and sweatiest gif I’ve been to in a long time!

04-02-2023, 09:37 PM
Hen hoose were brilliant tonight at St Luke's in Glasgow. Everything from folk to pop to electronica to hip hop to rap.

04-02-2023, 09:39 PM
I was swithering whether to buy or not. But the venue is just too awful to justify the price.

If I hadn't gotten the tickets I know I'd have regretted it later

05-02-2023, 03:08 PM
Going to see Those Damn Crows at the Garage on the 21st of this month.

05-02-2023, 03:11 PM
Hen hoose were brilliant tonight at St Luke's in Glasgow. Everything from folk to pop to electronica to hip hop to rap.
That's two CC gigs you've been to that I wanted to attend. Glad you enjoyed.

05-02-2023, 04:15 PM
Not to most folk on here's taste but managed to secure Global Journey tickets to Tomorrowland this summer

06-02-2023, 08:25 PM
Not a gig, but....

Bonnie Raitt is described as "an unknown blues singer" by the Daily Mail after winning a Grammy last night 😀

06-02-2023, 08:50 PM
Not a gig, but....

Bonnie Raitt is described as "an unknown blues singer" by the Daily Mail after winning a Grammy last night 😀

I just saw this as well. She hasn't done last night at the Proms so is a nobody!

06-02-2023, 09:35 PM
Also not a gig but I saw this earlier, and I guess that Pink Floyd reunion is not going to happen any time soon ...

https://twitter.com/pollysamson/status/1622513762602205184?s=61&t=QlDS34L32W6bsfA8puHlDg

06-02-2023, 10:15 PM
I just saw this as well. She hasn't done last night at the Proms so is a nobody!

I've just dug out a Little Feat album that she sings on from 1973, 16 years before Taylor Swift was born 😀

He's here!
13-02-2023, 02:57 PM
'Weird Al' Jankovic at the O2 in Glasgow last night. Stepped in to take my superfan nephew as his mum was sick. Not a gig I'd ever have imagined going to (thought he was an 80s one-hit wonder) but it was a terrific show. Emo Phillips in support.

Hadn't been to this venue for years and if anything the surrounding dereliction is more grim than ever. The O2 feels like the last thing standing in a war zone. Not a pleasant walk to and from town in the dark with a child in tow.

13-02-2023, 07:09 PM
Couple coming up.

Kris Barras band at the Caves on Wednesday followed by Those Damn Crows next Tuesday at The Garage in Glasgow.

13-02-2023, 07:13 PM
'Weird Al' Jankovic at the O2 in Glasgow last night. Stepped in to take my superfan nephew as his mum was sick. Not a gig I'd ever have imagined going to (thought he was an 80s one-hit wonder) but it was a terrific show. Emo Phillips in support.

Hadn't been to this venue for years and if anything the surrounding dereliction is more grim than ever. The O2 feels like the last thing standing in a war zone. Not a pleasant walk to and from town in the dark with a child in tow.

The walk down from the centre is an eye opener, O2 is down in the Gorbals area.

13-02-2023, 09:05 PM
The walk down from the centre is an eye opener, O2 is down in the Gorbals area.

4 minutes walk from Bridge Street underground station.

bringbackbenny
13-02-2023, 09:37 PM
Bis at the Voodoo Rooms on Friday

13-02-2023, 09:53 PM
Bit left field this one but like a bit of classical now and then. Im watching a performance of Vivaldi's four seasons in a candle lit Sheffield Cathederal at the end of March. A gig of sorts.

13-02-2023, 10:28 PM

Hadn't been to this venue for years and if anything the surrounding dereliction is more grim than ever. The O2 feels like the last thing standing in a war zone. Not a pleasant walk to and from town in the dark with a child in tow.I was there too. I bought the tickets as I'd not seen Emo Phillips since the 80s.... Despite knowing non of the material, thought Weird Al was OK. Band was good, sound was good but surrounded by a bunch of singing fans left after about 30 minutes. I love live music, but this just wasn''t for me. Mrs O was really not enjoying herself. I got brownie points for saying we should just leave The neighbourhood is pretty scary thanks to streets of warehouses but I quite like the venue.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

14-02-2023, 06:55 AM

Not if you're having to walk back up to Buchanan St to get the bus home, or heading for a city centre hotel for the night.

14-02-2023, 07:33 AM
Bit left field this one but like a bit of classical now and then. Im watching a performance of Vivaldi's four seasons in a candle lit Sheffield Cathederal at the end of March. A gig of sorts.

That sounds incredible.

I once seen the Royal Philharmonic perform Holst's 'Planets' in full at Guildford Cathedral by candelight - was a stunning experience.

14-02-2023, 07:57 AM
Not if you're having to walk back up to Buchanan St to get the bus home, or heading for a city centre hotel for the night.

I've been to 3 gigs in Glasgow this month, 2 at St Luke's and 1 at the concert hall. I was staying at the Premier Inn in the Gorbals! Walking back from St Luke's along London Road is a bit of a worry as there are more people about.

14-02-2023, 08:22 AM
I've been to 3 gigs in Glasgow this month, 2 at St Luke's and 1 at the concert hall. I was staying at the Premier Inn in the Gorbals! Walking back from St Luke's along London Road is a bit of a worry as there are more people about.

Tbh you're probably pretty safe, just that area has that reputation.

I remember our first gig at the O2 a few years back, the change in scenery going down Renfield St, down Union St/Jamaica St and over the bridge, was an eye opener.

14-02-2023, 09:49 AM
Cracking pub across the road from the O2 Academy, The Laurieston. A Glasgow institution. It has a letter on the wall from Jock Stein on Hibs headed paper, accepting the Celtic job.

14-02-2023, 11:17 AM
Sonic Dissonance been announced for 2023, from 15th to the 17th September across 3 Edinburgh venues, Legends, Banshee Labyrinth and Bannermans. Over 30 bands appearing over the two days. Advanced tickets on sale for £30 for the weekend. It is a bit heavy on the Death Metal side but still some good bands appearing across a few genres.

Selection of bands on line up:
Abyssal, Wallowing, Mastiff, Crepitation, Live Burial, Scordatura, Vacivus, Kastrated, Deus Vermin, Aphotic, Headless Kross, Nemorous, Exhumation, Ageless Summoning, Gendo Ikari, Penny Coffin, Uir, Coffin Mulch, Endless Swarm, BrainBath, Tymvos, Ven, Stairmaster, Forever Machine, Extort, Suffering Rites, Wolvesrot, Oliver Wardell, Secret Admirers, Unhallowed + more

Tickets available now through Tickets-Scotland.com Over 18s only due to the venues being pubs.

After the Red Crust Festival at the start of Feb this will be the 2nd metal weekend in Edinburgh this year, we may not have good mid-sized venues in Edinburgh but our small venues are rocking it with the bands they are attracting to play here. We still need to go to Glasgow to see the bigger bands but you will find a decent small metal gig somewhere in Edinburgh most weeks.

14-02-2023, 12:41 PM
An all girl group called Slady, this Friday at the Waterloo pub Blackpool. A Slade tribute band, with a support band who play everything from Bowie to T rex and Mott the hoople.

It's only 5 minutes away from my house, so a bit of 70's and a few drinks, what's not to like? :greengrin

14-02-2023, 06:20 PM
Just got tickets for Off With Their Heads at Audio in Glasgow in April. Looking forward to it as it's ten year anniversary tour for one of their best albums rather than some of the accoustic stuff they've been doing recently.

https://youtu.be/u3xsfcG0nV8

16-02-2023, 09:14 AM
Hamish Hawk was brilliant last night.

16-02-2023, 09:25 AM
An all girl group called Slady, this Friday at the Waterloo pub Blackpool. A Slade tribute band, with a support band who play everything from Bowie to T rex and Mott the hoople.

It's only 5 minutes away from my house, so a bit of 70's and a few drinks, what's not to like? :greengrinYeah, I could party to that.

https://youtu.be/CvL-WvVcVAs

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

He's here!
17-02-2023, 12:13 AM

Closed after 6pm on a Sunday otherwise that would have been our plan.

He's here!
17-02-2023, 12:15 AM
Cracking pub across the road from the O2 Academy, The Laurieston. A Glasgow institution. It has a letter on the wall from Jock Stein on Hibs headed paper, accepting the Celtic job.

Yeh, from outside it looks like a dodgy dump that hasn't changed since the 70s but I know it's well regarded.

17-02-2023, 07:40 AM
Closed after 6pm on a Sunday otherwise that would have been our plan.

Ah, I didn't realise, what a daft thing for public transport to stop running that early.

17-02-2023, 07:41 AM
Yeh, from outside it looks like a dodgy dump that hasn't changed since the 70s but I know it's well regarded.

The Laurieston features on the cover of the debut album by Album Club.

18-02-2023, 01:53 PM
Scottish Opera’s Verdi Collection at the Usher Hall last week. Excellent other than the guy next to me in the first half really needing to buy three seats. Not only was he half on my seat, he was shaking his leg in time with the music. I swapped with my wife in the second half so she had to suffer it instead. Unfortunately, he fell asleep after 2 mins and his snoring was so loud people from 3 rows in front were turning round to see what the noise was.

Rock Orchestra by Candlelight at the Playhouse tonight.

Hell is For Heroes and Hundred Reasons at the Barrowlands this coming Friday.

I have an eclectic taste in music :greengrin:

18-02-2023, 03:41 PM
Scottish Opera’s Verdi Collection at the Usher Hall last week. Excellent other than the guy next to me in the first half really needing to buy three seats. Not only was he half on my seat, he was shaking his leg in time with the music. I swapped with my wife in the second half so she had to suffer it instead. Unfortunately, he fell asleep after 2 mins and his snoring was so loud people from 3 rows in front were turning round to see what the noise was.

Heard that Rock Orchestra is a good night out.

He's here!
18-02-2023, 05:19 PM

The seats were admittedly on the snug side at the 'Weird Al' gig but I had to ask my nephew to swap seats as the guy next to me was taking up half of mine as well as his own. Luckily my nephew's such a skinny wee lad it didn't bother him but I reckon if I needed additional seat room I'd book an aisle seat.

Peanut Shaz
19-02-2023, 07:49 AM
Belinda Carlisle supported by The Christians last night the Usher Hall. Both excellent.

LustForLeith
19-02-2023, 02:59 PM
This year it’s

Razorlight
Harry Styles
The Proclaimers
The Snuts
The Killers
Lewis Capaldi

And fingers crossed for this Fred Again… gig teased recently

19-02-2023, 03:39 PM
The Filthy Tongues, with Tam Dean Burn, at the Traverse on Saturday.

19-02-2023, 03:51 PM
The Filthy Tongues, with Tam Dean Burn, at the Traverse on Saturday.I think you make some of these names up.

19-02-2023, 04:06 PM
I think you make some of these names up.

Ha 😀

Hibs used one of their songs for marketing a few years ago. They're half of Goodbye Mr.Mackenzie.

Bridge hibs
19-02-2023, 04:44 PM
Ha 😀

Hibs used one of their songs for marketing a few years ago. They're half of Goodbye Mr.Mackenzie.

Is this Stacey Chavis and the rest of Mr Mackenzie or is it a new line up ?

Or Isa and the Filthy Tongues, or has Isa left 😀

19-02-2023, 04:49 PM
Is this Stacey Chavis and the rest of Mr Mackenzie or is it a new line up ?

Or Isa and the Filthy Tongues, or has Isa left 😀

Stacey left a good few years ago, to concentrate on her yoga studio. When she left, they dropped Isa. The rest of the guys have had 3 albums out since then.

Bridge hibs
19-02-2023, 05:03 PM
Stacey left a good few years ago, to concentrate on her yoga studio. When she left, they dropped Isa. The rest of the guys have had 3 albums out since then.

Was she Martin Metcalfes partner ? Theres a really interesting interview with Metcalfe and Richard Jobson, maybe on youtube

19-02-2023, 05:05 PM
Was she Martin Metcalfes partner ? Theres a really interesting interview with Metcalfe and Richard Jobson, maybe on youtube

Still is AFAIK.

Jobson and Metcalfe do gigs together now and again.

Bridge hibs
19-02-2023, 05:52 PM
Still is AFAIK.

Jobson and Metcalfe do gigs together now and again.

Nice one mate, enjoy the gig, I still blast out Isa and the Filthy Tongues “Education” I love it 👍

davy67 +
19-02-2023, 06:02 PM
The Filthy Tongues, with Tam Dean Burn, at the Traverse on Saturday.
I've got Tickets for The Filthy Tongues at The Mac Arts in Gala on April 1st

G15 Hibs
20-02-2023, 12:46 PM
Panic Shack in Glasgow on Friday

20-02-2023, 08:26 PM
It was my birthday on Saturday and my wife had bought me tickets to see Elton John.

I'm delighted because he's meant to be brilliant live and I've been trying to get tickets but they're like hens' teeth.

21-02-2023, 12:10 PM
Glasgow tonight at the Garage to see Those Damn Crows, never seen these guys before.

Mr Grieves
21-02-2023, 10:16 PM
Young father's at the O2 in Glasgow next Friday then in the space of a week in June I've got the proclaimers at Leith links and death grips at the barrowlands

Sent from my M2003J15SC using Tapatalk

Mr Grieves
21-02-2023, 10:30 PM

I have an eclectic taste in music :greengrin:I hadn't listened to hundred reasons or hell is for heroes or any of that ***** in around 20 years. My mate suggested going to this gig and I was not that bothered so listened to their stuff to peak my interest and I honestly forgot enjoyable this "*****" was. And now I can't go and I'm completely gutted. Enjoy!

Sent from my M2003J15SC using Tapatalk

09-03-2023, 04:34 PM
The Undertones at La Belle Angele tomorrow night. Proper looking forward to it.

09-03-2023, 08:03 PM
Have a few this month:

Beartooth (supported by Motionless in White and Stray from the Path) at the Barrowlands next week
Death Cab for Cutie at the Usher Hall the week after
Caskets at G2 (the attic venue in the Garage in Glasgow) at the end of the month.

10-03-2023, 05:30 PM
Punks Against Cancer tomorrow at Legends. Should be good. The Guillotines are very good.

https://www.whatsoninedinburgh.co.uk/event/116362-punk%E2%80%99s-against-cancer-w:-crashed-out,-sad-society,-the-guillotines-+-lots-more/

davy67 +
11-03-2023, 05:04 AM
These Wicked Rivers , tonight at The Mac Arts Centre in Gala, first of four consecutive Saturday nights athe this venue, Gun , the Countess of Fife and The Filthy Tongues to follow, Then Horse Macdonald later in April

Mr Grieves
12-03-2023, 08:12 AM
Last night I saw a rage against the machine tribute act called radge against the machine, good craic

davy67 +
13-03-2023, 07:22 PM
Has anyone seen Tom McGuire and the Brassholes ? He's coming to Gala soon , a couple of people have said he's good