View Full Version : Next Manager?
Pages :
[
1]
thebausburst
06-04-2024, 04:10 PM
Assuming Hibs do pull the trigger who do you want? For me McInnes is the obvious choice, very good record at Aberdeen, now doing very well with Killie, guy knows how to win games and big games against the uglies something we are incapable of doing.
SickBoy32
06-04-2024, 04:12 PM
Kensell needs to be first out the door.
If not, the malaise at our club will continue.
06-04-2024, 04:13 PM
At this point I don't think it matters who the manager is.
06-04-2024, 04:14 PM
Assuming Hibs do pull the trigger who do you want? For me McInnes is the obvious choice, very good record at Aberdeen, now doing very well with Killie, guy knows how to win games and big games against the uglies something we are incapable of doing.
Does he know how to win big games? Yes, Killie have had a few decent results against OF this season. My memory of him at Aberdeen is he generally struggled vs the OF, but consistently got good results against the rest of the league.
06-04-2024, 04:14 PM
Clear out everybody on the football side, let Foley and co reset.
Greensunshine
06-04-2024, 04:15 PM
The best manager we’ve had in recent times, it’s got to be Lennon for me.
Bridge hibs
06-04-2024, 04:16 PM
Lee Johnson
06-04-2024, 04:16 PM
Dick Campbell.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Bob Box Fish
06-04-2024, 04:17 PM
Monty , Kensall , McDermott empty the lot
06-04-2024, 04:18 PM
Barely mustering up the energy to care anymore tbh. Scunnered.
06-04-2024, 04:19 PM
Don't know who I want but the one thing I do know is that I don't want Ian Gordon or Ben Kensell near any appointment.
06-04-2024, 04:20 PM
Needs to be someone who knows the Scottish game,not an easy task by any means,tonight I'm not giving a **** 😔
06-04-2024, 04:20 PM
It’s simply got to be McInnes. Should have been him when we sacked JR. And every time since.
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 04:21 PM
Would love McInnes, fully aware it won’t be him.
Suspect it’ll be somebody we’ve never really heard of, sourced by BKFC.
06-04-2024, 04:22 PM
See all the McInnes chat. The BK’s are not going to go for / sanction that appointment.
leith lynx
06-04-2024, 04:24 PM
Michael O'Neill
Ian Murray
Can't imagine why McInnes would want to leave a successful top six club?
AugustaHibs
06-04-2024, 04:25 PM
See all the McInnes chat. The BK’s are not going to go for / sanction that appointment.
He wouldn’t take it.
Take that for fact. He’s not that stupid.
He wouldn’t take it.
I agree with this completely.
McDermott is good mates with Roy Race.
West Upper
06-04-2024, 04:26 PM
Derek Mcinnes or Michael O'Neill
wills
06-04-2024, 04:26 PM
Michael O’Neill
supermcginn
06-04-2024, 04:27 PM
Micheal O'Neill is a certainty, I'd put a good few quid on him getting it. Great track record and a brilliant player for us. It's time.
AugustaHibs
06-04-2024, 04:27 PM
I agree with this completely.
It’s very unfortunate.
Can’t say how I know this but it’s straight from the horses mouth, he doesn’t want to work under an American ownership after cormack. I also don’t think a DOF would help hibs case.
Such a shame as he’d having us competing with hearts consistently.
The merry go round continues with absolutely mental left field appointments that are deemed ‘exciting’ and ‘a bit different’
Craig Levein taking 6 points off us as st Johnstone manager is certainly not ****ing exciting, although it might be ‘a bit different’
06-04-2024, 04:28 PM
Mind-blowing that McInnes was out of work when we appointed Maloney...
Three more wasted years of terrible appointments.
Don't trust Kensell / Gordon to do the right thing and worry it could be a repeat of this season with Monty hanging around over the summer, only to be shown the door early next term.
Honestly don't think McInnes would take the job. He'll have European football with Killie and doesn't need a modest pay rise... Is it a step too far too early for Ian Murray or Scott Brown / Steven Whittaker? Probably.
O'Neill seems to have priced himself out of the Aberdeen gig, so that would cost a pretty penny.
Chorley Hibee
06-04-2024, 04:29 PM
It’s very unfortunate.
Can’t say how I know this but it’s straight from the horses mouth, he doesn’t want to work under an American ownership after cormack. I also don’t think a DOF would help hibs case.
The merry go round continues with absolutely mental left field appointments that are deemed ‘exciting’ and ‘a bit different’
Craig Levein taking 6 points off us as st Johnstone manager is certainly not ****ing exciting, although it might be ‘a bit different’
Levein taking points off us isn't different, it's a regular occurrence.
AugustaHibs
06-04-2024, 04:29 PM
Levein taking points off us isn't different, it's a regular occurrence.
Maybe with a decent side, but not with that ****ing st Johnstone side.
Lowest I’ve felt abut hibs since relegation.
Chorley Hibee
06-04-2024, 04:30 PM
Maybe with a decent side, but not with that ****ing st Johnstone side.
Lowest I’ve felt abut hibs since relegation.
He's taken 6 points from 2 games thus far.
I'll bet you money he makes it 9 points from 3 games if we finish bottom half.
AugustaHibs
06-04-2024, 04:31 PM
I bet you money he makes it 9 from 9 if we finish bottom half.
Agreed mate.
Can anyone actually imagine what Montgomery would do if roles were reversed?
He’d have st j relegated below Livingston!!
Hibees1973
06-04-2024, 04:35 PM
Don't trust Kensell / Gordon to do the right thing and worry it could be a repeat of this season with Monty hanging around over the summer, only to be shown the door early next term.
Honestly don't think McInnes would take the job. He'll have European football with Killie and doesn't need a modest pay rise... Is it a step too far too early for Ian Murray or Scott Brown / Steven Whittaker? Probably.
I think this point is key.
With the Black Knights on board (albeit as a minority) what will be the decision making process.
Can't see Foley sitting back seeing the shambles on the park. He will have seen Kensell & The Gordons appoint three clowns as managers. If Foley is unable to remove Montgomery I cannot see this partnership working. Foley will certainly not invest any more money if he cannot have a major influence.
Micheal O'Neill is a certainty, I'd put a good few quid on him getting it. Great track record and a brilliant player for us. It's time.
well he reputedly turned down Aberdeen, so maybe.
skyehibee
06-04-2024, 04:39 PM
Anyone as long as Kenselll and whoever picked Monty and Johnson are nowhere near the process to appoint somebody again
06-04-2024, 04:39 PM
McDermott is good mates with Roy Race.
Too racist.
I'd like to see Malky McKay in post.
06-04-2024, 04:40 PM
Give McInnes a go. He’d give us some fight.
supermcginn
06-04-2024, 04:41 PM
well he reputedly turned down Aberdeen, so maybe.
Even I'd turn down them 🤣
06-04-2024, 04:48 PM
Does he know how to win big games? Yes, Killie have had a few decent results against OF this season. My memory of him at Aberdeen is he generally struggled vs the OF, but consistently got good results against the rest of the league.
Frankly I'd take that any and every day of the week currently.
Hibiza
06-04-2024, 04:53 PM
Micheal O'Neil .
Dr What If?
06-04-2024, 04:54 PM
It has to be O'Neill, the stars are lining up for this and he ticks a lot of boxes......
Strong Hibs connection and past fan favourite
Managed in Scotland before
Managed at quite a high level with Stoke where he did ok
League title winning manager in Ireland
Got N. Ireland to their first tournament in 30 years, even getting past the groups
His record gives him a bit of box office appeal
With BKFC behind us at a time where we are surely about to part ways with the current incumbent.....it must surely be the right time?
JammyDoidger
06-04-2024, 04:55 PM
Mciness or Lennon, should have been the last time too.
06-04-2024, 04:56 PM
Don't know who I want but the one thing I do know is that I don't want Ian Gordon or Ben Kensell near any appointment.
this 110% :agree:
jakeshibs
06-04-2024, 04:59 PM
I think we must be honest and ask the right question, who worth their salt would come to hibs as no decent manager who values their own reputation would take what is regarded as a poisoned chalice.
Hibiza
06-04-2024, 05:00 PM
Second pick : Jon Dahl Tomasson.
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 05:02 PM
I think we must be honest and ask the right question, who worth their salt would come to hibs as no decent manager who values their own reputation would take what is regarded as a poisoned chalice.
Alternatively lots of managers would look at the resources they’re going to have and think I could improve them absolutely no bother.
Michael O’Neil would be both a fantastic appointment but also hugely popular.
06-04-2024, 05:02 PM
Lennon! That's a joke in itself.
06-04-2024, 05:03 PM
Yup, I'd be delighted with either of them. No more experiments.
Saint Hibee
06-04-2024, 05:06 PM
this 110% :agree:
Yep, totally. They don't know what they're doing.
06-04-2024, 05:07 PM
Isn’t he the Sweden manager now?
06-04-2024, 05:08 PM
Now Sweden manager and wouldn't even entertain us now anyway after the way he was messed about last time.
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 05:08 PM
Isn’t he the Sweden manager now?
Yup
06-04-2024, 05:09 PM
We can’t do this merry go round again… I have PTSD hiccups from this assignment 🤣
Hibiza
06-04-2024, 05:11 PM
Fuzzy Bear .
06-04-2024, 05:18 PM
Tbh who would want to be Hibs manager after our recent history with managers?
06-04-2024, 05:22 PM
The failure of most companies is not down to staff, foremen, or middle management. It’s down to poor management and clueless owners.
big gogs
06-04-2024, 05:27 PM
He wouldn’t take it.
A substantial salary might persuade him.,anyway Monty is going nowhere.in my humble opinion.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 05:30 PM
Mcinnes or O’Neill
06-04-2024, 05:30 PM
Now Sweden manager and wouldn't even entertain us now anyway after the way he was messed about last time.What did hibs do to mess him about?
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 05:37 PM
Not again…
You happy to stick with NM like?
06-04-2024, 06:01 PM
Robbie Neilson
06-04-2024, 06:02 PM
Martin O’Neill
Zeljko Sopic
Robbie Keane
Or anyone else as it doesn’t see to matter.
06-04-2024, 06:06 PM
Fuzzy Bear .
Huggy Bear 👍
06-04-2024, 06:10 PM
Next appointment, and lets be honest, we all know it's coming, is probably the most important one in as long as I can remember.
No point hiring yet another dud with the new backing/investment.
I hope the Black Knights are heavily involved, cause Kensell, IG and McDermott absolutely cannot be trusted on their own.
LeithMike
06-04-2024, 06:49 PM
It has to be O'Neill, the stars are lining up for this and he ticks a lot of boxes......
Strong Hibs connection and past fan favourite
Managed in Scotland before
Managed at quite a high level with Stoke where he did ok
League title winning manager in Ireland
Got N. Ireland to their first tournament in 30 years, even getting past the groups
His record gives him a bit of box office appeal
With BKFC behind us at a time where we are surely about to part ways with the current incumbent.....it must surely be the right time?
Michael O’Neill was terrible at Stoke. He’s done well in Ireland in terms of league football and that’s about it. International football is a different game and while he’s done really well there, it’s been about defending. I think he knows this too so highly doubt he’ll relinquish reigns at Northern Ireland for a job where if he doesn’t start well will be out of a job in 3 months.
Loved him as a player but a no from me. McInnes is a different kettle of fish. Yes there are some question marks about style but he’s managed teams from the lower regions and higher regions and got them all performing above their expectations. It’s sad that he won’t even be considered.
06-04-2024, 06:57 PM
O'Neill seems to have priced himself out of the Aberdeen gig, so that would cost a pretty penny.
McInnes was quite similar to Ross. I think it was the sensible, obvious choice and he'd have been a good fit at that time with the players we had. Instead we tried to be too clever. As we were with LJ and as we were with Montgomery.
Sorry, all I'm doing is moaning but really pissed off that we've got into this state.
K-Zazu
06-04-2024, 06:57 PM
Next appointment, and lets be honest, we all know it's coming, is probably the most important one in as long as I can remember.
No point hiring yet another dud with the new backing/investment.
I hope the Black Knights are heavily involved, cause Kensell, IG and McDermott absolutely cannot be trusted on their own.
I thought the black knights are not allowed to get involved in the football side/decision making?
06-04-2024, 06:58 PM
I thought the black knights are not allowed to get involved in the football side/decision making?
They have two members on the board. They'll (hopefully) be heavily involved.
06-04-2024, 07:05 PM
Lennon
Wasn't a success at Stoke
The Tubs
06-04-2024, 07:10 PM
Lennon
Think I'd rather have Craig Levein.
06-04-2024, 07:11 PM
Think I'd rather have Craig Levein.
That's a lie that.
06-04-2024, 07:16 PM
Ian Murray.
The Tubs
06-04-2024, 07:21 PM
That's a lie that.
It really isn’t.
06-04-2024, 07:22 PM
It really isn’t.
Then you sir, are a mad man!
06-04-2024, 07:27 PM
More hospitality chat - ALF a possibility.
scm70nyd1973
06-04-2024, 07:27 PM
Huggy Bear 👍
Fozzie Bear - ya muppets (sorry but I couldn’t resist 🤭)
Chorley Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:28 PM
As manager?
06-04-2024, 07:28 PM
As manager?
Apparently.
06-04-2024, 07:29 PM
Must be serving some pretty strong drink in hospitality these days
06-04-2024, 07:30 PM
Must be serving some pretty strong drink in hospitality these days
Yeah, sounds a bit left field.
Chorley Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:31 PM
Apparently.
As ridiculous as it sounds, it's exactly the type of nonsense that Hibs would probably go ahead with.
06-04-2024, 07:32 PM
As ridiculous as it sounds, it's exactly the type of nonsense that Hibs would probably go ahead with.
Similarly minded to be fair.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:33 PM
😂 true
Cat Stanton
06-04-2024, 07:33 PM
They won't sack him. Not this season at least. They are still aware of knee-jerk reactions around Ross and Maloney, and the criticism they got. They will say there has been overall improvement, and he will have next season. If next season starts looking **** again, then they will review. But they won't be sacking him this season.
It's wishful thinking among those saying otherwise.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:34 PM
They won't sack him. Not this season at least. They are still aware of knee-jerk reactions around Ross and Maloney, and the criticism they got. They will say there has been overall improvement, and he will have next season. If next season starts looking **** again, then they will review. But they won't be sacking him this season.
If they wait until the new season then it’s already too late. If he’s doesn’t make top 6 he’ll be gone anyway so we won’t need to worry
Chorley Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:36 PM
I sincerely hope you're wrong.
We're at the stage where we're just kicking the can down the road now.
There has to be action now.
06-04-2024, 07:52 PM
McInnes would demand a fortune in wages as knows Hibs are desperate.
Also he turned down Rangers when at Aberdeen ?
Could easily turn us down as he seems to only be going one way with Killie - new training ground - grass pitch - bigger crowds - Europe etc.
Probably even a strong chance of Scotland manager after Clarke following similar path.
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 07:59 PM
They will absolutely sack him if he finishes bottom 6. Absolutely no danger he’ll be here next season if that happens.
06-04-2024, 08:03 PM
Neil Lennon with Ian Murray.
06-04-2024, 08:33 PM
They will absolutely sack him if he finishes bottom 6. Absolutely no danger he’ll be here next season if that happens.
He was being sacked at 81 mins today but then Dundee lost 2 goals and Motherwell kept him in a job by winning.
Motherwell can now get him sacked next week if they beat Hibs.
06-04-2024, 08:39 PM
After a torturous few years , I'd bite your hand off for a McInnes or Robinson.
06-04-2024, 08:41 PM
Naw, not for me. why no throw Kettlewell and Levain in the pot as well.
supermcginn
06-04-2024, 08:51 PM
Wasn't a success at Stoke
How did he do at Shamrock Rovers? Or in charge of northern Ireland? Especially against a seemingly amazing Scotland team last week when he was in charge of a team of nobodies apart from the boy from Liverpool?
jakeshibs
06-04-2024, 08:53 PM
Lennon
No way.. he had us playing worse and in a lower league position
Bertie Wooster
06-04-2024, 09:08 PM
If you are looking for a manager who can get third or fourth in the league then get someone who has either done that before in the Scottish league (McInnes for example) or a comparable league not someone who has the potential or is learning his craft. Hibs need to start employing people who have actually got success on their CV not the potential.
If the BK are wanting someone who can manage Hibs to get to third in the league and European football , they will have someone else in mind who can do just that. I think Foley will have recognised that the Gordons and Kensells of the world couldnt choose the next manager competently and will get someone else in , most probably someone from outside Scottish football.
NM has had his opportunity to audition for the role but he will know himself he is not up to the current job never mind trying to take Hibs to the next level.
Crammond Hibee
06-04-2024, 10:58 PM
Me too
07-04-2024, 12:25 AM
Let's push the boat out and go for Jose Mourinho 😁
If it does happen at the end of the season then I just want someone who actually knows how to improve us as a team.
Yesterday seemed to have a bit of everything, poor at the back at times, not really creating much through the middle and very poor in the final third.
K-Zazu
07-04-2024, 12:58 AM
Eh?
07-04-2024, 01:33 AM
I'd take Derek McInnes in a heartbeat now. Happily ride out a few years of being a competitive team again and some solid recruitment to get ourselves back into a half decent state to actually achieve something. I cannot be arsed with another project, just give me someone that knows what its like to go away to Ross County midweek and get a result, or how the League Cup group stage works without it needing explained to them like they're five years old.
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 01:50 AM
I'd take Derek McInnes in a heartbeat now. Happily ride out a few years of being a competitive team again and some solid recruitment to get ourselves back into a half decent state to actually achieve something. I cannot be arsed with another project, just give me someone that knows what its like to go away to Ross County midweek and get a result, or how the League Cup group stage works without it needing explained to them like they're five years old.
Each to their own opinions mate
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/6701325/aberdeen-worst-goalless-run-european-league/
https://planetradio.co.uk/clyde/sport/football-news/mcinnes-admits-dons-races-st-johnstone-defeat/
07-04-2024, 06:47 AM
Derek McInnes - no more projects
Maloney - inexperienced
LJ - no Scottish managerial experience
Monty - see above
It’s never been more obvious is a simple choice
Experienced
Winner
No thrills
07-04-2024, 06:52 AM
It’s very unfortunate.
Cormack isn't an American
07-04-2024, 06:52 AM
Maloney - inexperienced
Monty - see above
Experienced
Winner
No thrills
Why is no thrills on your list? Is that not exactly what you want as a fan?
I don’t think there’s any chance whatsoever he would want the job so your one man list isn’t as simple as you’d like.
07-04-2024, 07:13 AM
What did hibs do to mess him about?
Had the audacity to say his wage demands were too high.
sauzee1989
07-04-2024, 07:13 AM
McInnes was the obvious choice last time and we must go for him now. Other than him I would take Ian Murray but that would be the cheap option.
Trinity Hibee
07-04-2024, 07:15 AM
Mcinnes, o’neill, Robinson. Has to be one of those 3
07-04-2024, 07:17 AM
McInnes for me. It's too soon for Ian Murray and I'm just not sure about Michael O'Neil now. Alex Neil would be a shout but I think he'll end up back at Sunderland despite his acrimonious departure last time.
07-04-2024, 08:20 AM
Both would get chased out by the fans for style of football
1875M
07-04-2024, 08:29 AM
Yep. We need to play the ‘hibs way’, whatever the hell that is. Would rather win football matches personally.
07-04-2024, 08:39 AM
Had the audacity to say his wage demands were too high.
That wasn't the case at all. Of course those who think the people running the club can do no wrong will blindly drink the Kool aid though.
07-04-2024, 08:43 AM
Maybe, but only in the long term.
They’d get results first, and fans would take that.
I think their “industrial” styles are just as exaggerated as the nonsense idea that Hibs play a better style of football.
07-04-2024, 08:49 AM
I’d take McInnes in a heartbeat and I’d be looking to try and pull in either Ian Murray or Scott Brown into the management structure too if that was possible. McInnes has the experience, knowledge and weight to make an impact on the squad and the club. Murray or Brown would bring the Hibs ‘cultural’ content we’ve been desperately missing. No danger anyone is taking a derby lightly with either of those two there.
It’s not like we couldn’t afford it, look at the money we’ve been pushing away in manager sackings, bloated squad and Kensell’s salary.
He's here!
07-04-2024, 09:09 AM
I'll bet you money he makes it 9 points from 3 games if we finish bottom half.
He's always been a very decent club manager and carries too much savvy for a relative rookie like NM. He'd actually do a solid job at Hibs but that will obviously never happen.
I've stood by NM, but yesterday really exposed his inexperience.
snedzuk
07-04-2024, 09:11 AM
Derek McInnes but I doubt he would take it.
For a box office move, OGS.
However, all irrelevant because even if we lose heavily on Saturday, I don't see NM going.
He's here!
07-04-2024, 09:11 AM
Hard to believe we're still peddling this myth after watching years of mostly dross. Fans want a team which can win games. Stlye is secondary.
07-04-2024, 09:14 AM
Apparently.
Ffs lol. Surely no.
MikeyS
07-04-2024, 09:22 AM
Each to their own opinions mate ��
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/6701325/aberdeen-worst-goalless-run-european-league/
https://planetradio.co.uk/clyde/sport/football-news/mcinnes-admits-dons-races-st-johnstone-defeat/
Do you have an alert or something each team McIness, Keane or Lennon are mentioned on here?
Hibees1973
07-04-2024, 09:28 AM
McInnes is a no brainer now. However, I feel this ship has sailed.
I reckon though that with the BK guys around the club now McInnes is not the kind of guy they would want. They will have their own guys in mind for manager. I've always felt that the last three guys appointed were either inexperienced and/or with little knowledge of the game in Scotland. Three managers who The Gordons and Kensell could manipulate and control. No danger they will be able to do this McInnes. At the AGM it was alluded that Ian Gordon still has some influence on recruitment. Another red flag for McInnes to avoid coming here.
Much as the BK's have a minority stake in the club, surely they would not want The Gordons and Kensell selecting another manager anyway.
What a mess.
07-04-2024, 09:32 AM
That second link is about a game from a season where his Aberdeen side finished 2nd in the league, 9 points clear or Rangers. I’m no sure that’s the anti-McInnes flex you think it is.
snedzuk
07-04-2024, 09:39 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/derek-mcinnes-reports-hibs-fan-28089842
Anyone know if this went any further.
07-04-2024, 09:40 AM
That wasn't the case at all. Of course those who think the people running the club can do no wrong will blindly drink the Kool aid though.
Care to enlighten me? I’ll try and read it but I’m so high on the kool aid I might struggle 🙄
heid the baw
07-04-2024, 09:45 AM
Yep. We need to play the ‘hibs way’, whatever the hell that is. Would rather win football matches personally.
The 'Hibs way' thing is nonsense. We play in a league where you have to grind out results to be the best of the rest, a support act for the 2 horse race.
Hibs have scored more league goals (43) than Hearts (42) and Killie (41) this season.
Goals against Hibs (50) Hearts (32) Killie (34)
They win games by one goal margins week in, week out by keeping their shape, being organised and hard to break down. There is no point in labelling it boring football, it's just the reality. St Johnstone fans had a great day out yesterday despite their team only having 2 shots on target.
I would take boredom all day long if it meant being able to take a wee trip in Europe. Look at that lot, Thessaloniki, Trondheim, Florence, Istanbul, Riga, Zurich in the last 2 years
The people making the manager appointments need to stop fannying around, have a serious analytical look at Scottish football so that when they next interview they don't buy all the flannel and get someone in who knows how to get 3rd place.
Hibees1973
07-04-2024, 09:46 AM
Know there are huge deficiencies in our squad, particularly in defence, but the standard of the SPFL is so poor that our squad is better than every club outside of the top 3. Take Shankland out of the Yam squad and we are not far off them.
This means that the manager has been unable to motivate and organise them to get us into the top 4.
He has to be sacked immediately.
What reasons are there for him to remain?
07-04-2024, 09:48 AM
The only people who ever talk about Hibs way are people like you who don’t care about it.
07-04-2024, 09:52 AM
That wasn't the case at all. Of course those who think the people running the club can do no wrong will blindly drink the Kool aid though.So enlighten us. What did hibs do to "mess him about?"
07-04-2024, 09:58 AM
We've had people telling us for years to get behind the manager, so it follows they would get behind McInnes or Lennon, no?
I don't see how either of them would be more of a risk than continuing the way we are.
07-04-2024, 09:59 AM
We've had people telling us for years to get behind the manager, so it follows they would get behind McInnes or Lennon, no?
I don't see how either of them would be more of a risk than continuing the way we are.
Lennon can’t get a job anywhere. So we don’t need to worry about getting behind him.
07-04-2024, 10:04 AM
Maloney - inexperienced
Monty - see above
Experienced
Winner
No thrills
McInnes (He won’t come) or Lennon for me
Rumble de Thump
07-04-2024, 10:04 AM
If the referees hadn't made so many blatantly incorrect and major decisions against us throughout this season, which also in turn worked in our opponents' favour, we would be wondering whether we'll finish third or fourth. Top six would have been secured weeks ago.
07-04-2024, 10:06 AM
Robinson would be my preference but would be delighted with him or mcinnes.
Murray might be in with a shout as well, impressive what he’s done with Raith and he’s got a decent bit of experience behind him now.
Imrie has worked relative wonders with Greenock Morton as well, not that I would clamour after him, but there’s some really good young coaches in Scotland at the moment.
Paulie Walnuts
07-04-2024, 10:10 AM
Robinson would be my preference but would be delighted with him or mcinnes.
Murray might be in with a shout as well, impressive what he’s done with Raith and he’s got a decent bit of experience behind him now.
Imrie has worked relative wonders with Greenock Morton as well, not that I would clamour after him, but there’s some really good young coaches in Scotland at the moment.
McCabe at Airdrie appears the pick of the lower league managers from me. That being said, I’d rather we avoided that market.
07-04-2024, 10:12 AM
Yesterday was a perfect example of playing the “Hibs Way”
07-04-2024, 10:13 AM
McCabe at Airdrie appears the pick of the lower league managers from me. That being said, I’d rather we avoided that market.
I’d agree with this in fairness, no need to experiment at the moment.
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 10:14 AM
Agree with this.
I am not itk but would be surprised if it is any manager in Scotland. Heay but what do I know!
07-04-2024, 10:14 AM
I have zero appetite for any manager from the league below to be honest
If we are changing - and I feel it's somewhat inevitable - I want someone with a reasonable profile
In Scotland I'd still advocate for Mcinnes
Dunno why but I've somewhat went off from Robinson.
Id be over the moon with someone like Knutsen or some absolutely radge South American
Neilo Lennonio [emoji38]
07-04-2024, 10:15 AM
Lennon can’t get a job anywhere. So we don’t need to worry about getting behind him.
You sound confident, what have you heard?
07-04-2024, 10:21 AM
Wait, there’s chat in hospitality that Montgomery is leaving and being replaced by Le Fondre?
No danger
07-04-2024, 10:22 AM
Not sure what this proves? That he can’t win every game known to man? Yet you back the last two clowns?
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 10:44 AM
Not sure what this proves? That he can’t win every game known to man? Yet you back the last two clowns?
Not just winning he couldn't do , but scoring goals seemed to be a massive problem . Just proves that he's not the Pepe Guardiola some of you make out he is . I'll always back the manager of Hibs .
07-04-2024, 10:45 AM
McInnes was the obvious answer before and whenever NM goes he's still the obvious go to.
07-04-2024, 10:50 AM
Monty Out, Lennon in
07-04-2024, 11:58 AM
Not just winning he couldn't do , but scoring goals seemed to be a massive problem . Just proves that he's not the Pepe Guardiola some of you make out he is . I'll always back the manager of Hibs .
He’s once had his team score 18 more goals than Rangers and finished ahead of them. The next session he scored 18 less than them and still finished ahead of them.
The guy knows what it takes to be competitive week in week out and that’s to stop conceding soft goals.
07-04-2024, 12:04 PM
He has a 50% win ratio. Since 2018 Ian Murray has a 46% win ratio.
07-04-2024, 12:41 PM
Next manager will be Scott Parker.
I’ve just completely made that up but I’m running with it. Well known and respected by the people at Bournemouth and I think we will be leaning on their knowledge for our next appointment. The fact he knows Bournemouth inside out as well will help with any transition of players between the clubs.
07-04-2024, 12:50 PM
I think Monty needs to get an experienced number 2 like Stuart Mcall we need to stop this merry go roundabout
07-04-2024, 12:51 PM
I think Monty needs to get an experienced number 2 like Stuart Mcall we need to stop this merry go roundabout
Oh jeez. 😄
Bridge hibs
07-04-2024, 01:07 PM
Ffs, would be better with Davina Mcall
07-04-2024, 01:07 PM
Oh jeez. 😄
lol it’s getting nightmarish following hind the now reconsidering renewal for next season something has to happen
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 01:27 PM
He’s once had his team score 18 more goals than Rangers and finished ahead of them. The next session he scored 18 less than them and still finished ahead of them.
The guy knows what it takes to be competitive week in week out and that’s to stop conceding soft goals.
Your talking about a Sevco team that was nothing of the quality it is now though. His football isn't good to watch plus the fact is he a manager that would get most fans on board ? , I don't think he is personally.
Aberdeen are apparently trying to get Jimmy Thelin a swede who's in charge of Elsborg as manager. There's a reason why the dons are looking further a field than Lennon , Robinson and McInnes who was already their manager . Why you think that is ? .
He isn't always competitive and stops soft goals though and when that happens your just left with the ***** football his teams play like this one ...... Probably one of the worst games I watched this season as both teams played
hoofball .
https://youtu.be/p5rzp4ir6rc?si=i2evFUsGrGmd3HcM
andrew_dundee
07-04-2024, 01:37 PM
The criteria for the next manager surely has to be that they have had success at an SPL level. I wouldn't want anyone without that experience.
Too many experiments have given us too many crap results.
Paulie Walnuts
07-04-2024, 01:40 PM
Your talking about a Sevco team that was nothing of the quality it is now though. His football isn't good to watch plus the fact is he a manager that would get most fans on board ? , I don't think he is personally.
Aberdeen are apparently trying to get Jimmy Thelin a swede who's in charge of Elsborg as manager. There's a reason why the dons are looking further a field than Lennon , Robinson and McInnes who was already their manager . Why you think that is ? .
He isn't always competitive and stops soft goals though and when that happens your just left with the ***** football his teams play like this one ...... Probably one of the worst games I watched this season as both teams played
hoofball .
Just to be clear, this is the same Aberdeen that appointed Neil Warnock and then let him go about 4 games later? You’re using them as an example of how to appoint a manager?
07-04-2024, 01:42 PM
The criteria for the next manager surely has to be that they have had success at an SPL level. I wouldn't want anyone without that experience.
If he’s the right man where he has managed previously shouldn’t come into it.
07-04-2024, 01:43 PM
The Hibs way is normally boring losing football.
sauzee1989
07-04-2024, 01:48 PM
The 'Hibs way' thing is nonsense. We play in a league where you have to grind out results to be the best of the rest, a support act for the 2 horse race.
Hibs have scored more league goals (43) than Hearts (42) and Killie (41) this season.
Goals against Hibs (50) Hearts (32) Killie (34)
They win games by one goal margins week in, week out by keeping their shape, being organised and hard to break down. There is no point in labelling it boring football, it's just the reality. St Johnstone fans had a great day out yesterday despite their team only having 2 shots on target.
I would take boredom all day long if it meant being able to take a wee trip in Europe. Look at that lot, Thessaloniki, Trondheim, Florence, Istanbul, Riga, Zurich in the last 2 years
The people making the manager appointments need to stop fannying around, have a serious analytical look at Scottish football so that when they next interview they don't buy all the flannel and get someone in who knows how to get 3rd place.
Because we have been soft as **** at centre back for years and fish hasn’t helped that either
07-04-2024, 01:50 PM
One of those clips was about them not scoring goals in Europe, FFS unless NM stays in the job and takes the team to Magaluf next pre season, that's the nearest this clown will get to it.
07-04-2024, 01:54 PM
I think it’ll be Monty and Co long term and it will be a success. It shouldn’t be but it will.
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 01:55 PM
Just to be clear, this is the same Aberdeen that appointed Neil Warnock and then let him go about 4 games later? You’re using them as an example of how to appoint a manager?
No but if we are needing a manager then there's more options out in the world than Derek McInnes and his style of football though. Think what Aberdeen are trying is exciting and ambitious tbh .
Not So Young
07-04-2024, 02:01 PM
Ian Murray
I said this before Monty was appointed. I still think he would be a very good appointment.
07-04-2024, 02:11 PM
hoofball .
You keep throwing one off examples of bad games to justify your position on him, some of them stretching back 4/5 years ago! If we did similar with everyone we would never find a manager again if that was the criteria.
At least look at what he achieves over the course of a season and tell me what he’s failed at other than finishing 4th behind Hibs during covid? He’s met his targets and excelled in some cases. It didn’t matter if Rangers weren’t the same Rangers they are now, the Rangers we beat in 2016 were poor in comparison but the cup win was still an achievement worth celebrating even when you strip out the 114 year wait.
In terms of the football style you can’t tell me he’d be any worse stylistically than whatever it is we have now?
He's here!
07-04-2024, 02:28 PM
The Hibs way is normally boring losing football.
Sad but true.
07-04-2024, 02:30 PM
Scoring goals was a problem for McIness at Aberdeen?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/38973451
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39376258
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42290488
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46516333
His team scored also 4 goals in a game countless times in matches throughout his time there.
andrew70
07-04-2024, 02:58 PM
I think it’ll be Monty and Co long term and it will be a success. It shouldn’t be but it will.
“And it will be a success.
It shouldn’t be but it will”
Reads a bit like you don’t want success because it’s Montgomery.
I get it’s marmite just now but if it’s a success then fair play to him for turning it around but some on here are missing the common denominator in all this.
hibeerealist
07-04-2024, 03:03 PM
If you are looking for a manager who can get third or fourth in the league then get someone who has either done that before in the Scottish league (McInnes for example) or a comparable league not someone who has the potential or is learning his craft. Hibs need to start employing people who have actually got success on their CV not the potential.
If the BK are wanting someone who can manage Hibs to get to third in the league and European football , they will have someone else in mind who can do just that. I think Foley will have recognised that the Gordons and Kensells of the world couldnt choose the next manager competently and will get someone else in , most probably someone from outside Scottish football.
NM has had his opportunity to audition for the role but he will know himself he is not up to the current job never mind trying to take Hibs to the next level.
Spot on Bertie, the BK's are NOT going to sit quiet while NM or another "project" comes in to manage our great club AND their investment.
The manager at a football club is THE most important person in the chain and the last three or four we have engaged were nowhere near that status.
We do not need to panic, NM is going and a suitable candidate will be provided in due course.
snedzuk
07-04-2024, 03:03 PM
hoofball .
How about the Sevco team Killie beat 1-0 this season.
07-04-2024, 03:07 PM
:shhhsh!:
Liam978
07-04-2024, 03:20 PM
hoofball .
Maybe a lot to do with their ranks don't include many Scots these days, some like ourselves, we had only two involved yesterday three if we class the Aussie Boyler as a Scot.
07-04-2024, 04:02 PM
Maybe a lot to do with their ranks don't include many Scots these days, some like ourselves, we had only two involved yesterday three if we class the Aussie Boyler as a Scot.
Given he was born in Aberdeen, I think we can safely include Boyle as a Scot!
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 04:06 PM
That was at Rugby park on a worn out plastic pitch that's passed the stage were football should be played on though wasn't it ? .
Why not appoint Jack Ross instead who also knows how to beat Sevco as well ? .
Seen the other post though can't answer them all , didn't realise the Derek McInnes fan club was so big , personally I don't think his teams play nice football and he'd be a totally uninspiring appointment. Each to their own opinions though 👍.
Honestly imo if Monty does go I don't think the Hibs board will even consider either McInnes or Lennon , McInnes I'd doubt would want to come to us anyhow . Both I'd be quite happy to see us overlook again 😉
07-04-2024, 04:11 PM
“And it will be a success.
It shouldn’t be but it will”
Reads a bit like you don’t want success because it’s Montgomery.
I get it’s marmite just now but if it’s a success then fair play to him for turning it around but some on here are missing the common denominator in all this.
No I think he should be gone that’s where the shouldn’t be comes from. If he is fair play to him and the board. It will happen because it’s the kind of thing Hibs do. The exact opposite of what we should do.
Plays for Australia due to his dad.
07-04-2024, 05:20 PM
Define ‘success at an SPL level’ as that could be a short and unrealistic list.
Niffy
07-04-2024, 05:29 PM
Plays for Australia due to his dad.
Granny
snedzuk
07-04-2024, 05:49 PM
That was at Rugby park on a worn out plastic pitch that's passed the stage were football should be played on though wasn't it ? .
Seen the other post though can't answer them all , didn't realise the Derek McInnes fan club was so big , personally I don't think his teams play nice football and he'd be a totally uninspiring appointment. Each to their own opinions though 👍.
Honestly imo if Monty does go I don't think the Hibs board will even consider either McInnes or Lennon , McInnes I'd doubt would want to come to us anyhow . Both I'd be quite happy to see us overlook again 😉
In fairness, you've made your view on Derek McInnes clear, but you've also said you'd back whoever it was, so fair play.
badabing67
07-04-2024, 06:04 PM
Next manager will be Scott Parker.
I’ve just completely made that up but I’m running with it. Well known and respected by the people at Bournemouth and I think we will be leaning on their knowledge for our next appointment. The fact he knows Bournemouth inside out as well will help with any transition of players between the clubs.
How long has he been out of a job
07-04-2024, 06:06 PM
How long has he been out of a job
About a year.
07-04-2024, 06:41 PM
My neighbour just said that Killie have been approached from Aberdeen about McInnes?
Granny
Boyle is eligible to play for Australia through his Sydney-born father and set foot Down Under for the one-and-only time so far in September 2018 for his Socceroos debut in friendlies against South Korea and Lebanon.
07-04-2024, 07:01 PM
Tony Docherty?
07-04-2024, 07:14 PM
McInnes rejected Sunderland and Rangers approaches when he was at Aberdeen so I would imagine it's by no means a gimme that he'd want to be our manager even if we offered him the role. Sadly I think we'll go through a few more projects and probably burn through Foley's investment before we come to the conclusion that a safe pair of hands is what we need.
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 07:24 PM
In fairness, you've made your view on Derek McInnes clear, but you've also said you'd back whoever it was, so fair play.
If he was our manager I would indeed back him even though I suspect with the style of football he plays it would all end in tears anyhow . Knowing me I'd probably end up defending him against all of you that wanted him in that would eventually want him out 🤣🤣🤣
07-04-2024, 08:31 PM
Nice football wins you nothing, hard work and good defending and game management gives you a better chance to win. I know what I want to see
07-04-2024, 08:42 PM
Preferably someone who doesn’t give everyone a clean slate and doesn’t build the team around Joe Newell.
07-04-2024, 08:46 PM
Preferably someone who doesn’t give everyone a clean slate and doesn’t build the team around Joe Newell.
Yup - someone who has watched it and knows what the issues are.
Doesn’t take months to work it out with different combinations.
A leader who comes in and unites the fans and make us hard to beat. Hearts at Tynecastle don’t lose many games. Hibs seems to be so soft at Easter Road.
No more experiments - just someone who makes an impact and improves us over time.
Also check if they are stubborn and play 4-4-2 before any hiring.
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 09:23 PM
Nice football wins you nothing, hard work and good defending and game management gives you a better chance to win. I know what I want to see
Don't really agree that good football doesn't win you nothing , we won a Scottish cup by playing good football , Mowbray era as well , Burnley last year , leeds this year , many many examples that good football can imo .
NC1875
07-04-2024, 09:24 PM
Alex Neil or Michael ONeil
07-04-2024, 09:33 PM
Alex Neil is a no brainer for me, but I think he has no interest in returning to Scotland.
Michael O’Neill I’m a bit unsure of, I’m not sure how one of his teams would cope being the one with the majority of possession and require to break teams down.
1875Sean
07-04-2024, 09:36 PM
Would take O’Neil but he had a 5 year contract and will be on a huge wage which I doubt we could match
The Wireless
07-04-2024, 09:46 PM
Alex Neil 🫤 Sacked by Preston, Sunderland, Stoke & Preston. Aye a No Brainer for me as well.
Silky
07-04-2024, 09:48 PM
Alex Neil 🫤 Sacked by Preston, Sunderland, Stoke & Preston. Aye a No Brainer for me as well.
May as well add Hibs to that list!
1875Sean
07-04-2024, 10:10 PM
Alex Neil leave Sunderland for Stoke, he wasn’t sacked! Plus you incudles Preston twice!
07-04-2024, 10:12 PM
How many managers don't get sacked? Bit unfair to be listing the Preston sacking twice. Also you missed out his highly impressive promotions with Hamilton and Norwich. And - he didn't get sacked by Sunderland - he left them of his own accord after another successful promotion....
All in all your post is a bit off the mark :greengrin
andrew70
08-04-2024, 06:36 AM
This. Empty him asap.
08-04-2024, 07:44 AM
I want one of those crazy German managers who are so popular these days.
08-04-2024, 08:08 AM
Alex Neil for me would be a good fit. I'm pretty sure it was reported after we sacked LJ that he has no desire to return Scotland to manage anytime soon. That may be different now right enough!
I wanted Robinson in last time. He's young and hungry, still punching above his weight in our league and plays decent football from what i've seen. McInnes too is an obvious shout but he's taking Kilmarnock into Europe and seems to be settled. Think that ship has sailed.
08-04-2024, 08:09 AM
Only if he wears a baseball hat.
08-04-2024, 08:17 AM
The more angry he is the wider the grin.
08-04-2024, 08:34 AM
Only if he wears a baseball hat.
Backwards.
sauzee1989
08-04-2024, 08:37 AM
Alex Neil for me would be a good fit. I'm pretty sure it was reported after we sacked LJ that he has no desire to return Scotland to manage anytime soon. That may be different now right enough!
I wanted Robinson in last time. He's young and hungry, still punching above his weight in our league and plays decent football from what i've seen. McInnes too is an obvious shout but he's taking Kilmarnock into Europe and seems to be settled. Think that ship has sailed.
Need a longer term appointment as Alex Neil would leave at the offer of any job down south
1875M
08-04-2024, 09:30 AM
I would throw everything at McInnes if NM is away. However, I don’t think he’d take it. Failing that, I like Robinson at St Mirren. There’s a few left field options like Steve Cooper and Scott Parker as well but I’d rather McInnes or Robinson. Think he deserves a chance at a bigger club. Seen Tony Docherty’s name mentioned too which is an interesting shout.
08-04-2024, 10:02 AM
Need a longer term appointment as Alex Neil would leave at the offer of any job down southSo would pretty much anyone we employ
Let's hope whoever it is has an offer from down south and that only means they are doing the business for us
08-04-2024, 10:13 AM
Stendel?
08-04-2024, 10:18 AM
Stendel?
He was definitely crazy.
08-04-2024, 10:19 AM
I would throw everything at McInnes if NM is away. However, I don’t think he’d take it. Failing that, I like Robinson at St Mirren. There’s a few left field options like Steve Cooper and Scott Parker as well but I’d rather McInnes or Robinson. Think he deserves a chance at a bigger club. Seen Tony Docherty’s name mentioned too which is an interesting shout.
Think we've had enough left field choices.
08-04-2024, 10:40 AM
Think we've had enough left field choices.
Never, don’t be such a *****bag 😉
If we look at genuine contenders for non left field options and people who have achieved genuine success in Scotland and/or elsewhere, what options do we have?
Lennon- we know that he comes with risks.
Mcinnes- less than 0 chance he comes to us imo.
Alex Neil- don’t think he’s done particularly well in his last couple of jobs?
Robinson- don’t think he’s really achieved that much and would his relative success translate to a bigger club with more pressure? Might do but I’m not sure it would.
Michael O’Neill- had a shocker in his last club job I think, seems to have found his niche with the Norn Ireland job.
I wouldn’t actually be against any of the above and I can see the appeal in all of them, I just don’t think any of them, other than maybe McInnes who I don’t think would touch us, would guarantee the success I think people want by going for a safe option?
IMO there is no cast iron certainty for success, there will be people who have done good jobs at one club but bombed elsewhere. Appointing a manger isn’t an exact science, assuming we are replacing Montgomery soon which looks inevitable, I’ll look at the positives for whoever we appoint and hope for the best.
Ideally it’s a mental chain smoking South American though.
08-04-2024, 10:49 AM
Unfortunately, I don't see things under Monty picking up between now and the end of the season, and think the number of ST renewals and hospitality package take-ups will be the determining corporate and economic factors on whether Foley/ Gordons risk giving him another season.
Replacement wise I'm not for going back to a previous manager and think it would only take a couple of poor results under Lennon for the many who didn't want him back to revisit the nature of his departure and it to become an untenable situation for him. Likewise a couple of bad results under McIness and those who never wanted him would be pushing his style of football as the narrative. If either went on a poor run I think the levels of discontent would be such that they wouldn't be given the time to turn it around.
For me after three appointments of managers with no SPFL experience, it needs to be back to someone who has. Robinson or Docherty are the likeliest candidates for me from that pool. I'd edge towards Robinson as he may think he's taken St Mirren as far as he can while Docherty has had a great season but its only one season and he might also want to build on that success with Dundee next season.
08-04-2024, 10:53 AM
When we say no left field choices / go sensible, the left field ones seem to work well enough for other clubs?
We all laughed at Naismith getting the Hearts job, and they’ve strolled to third place under him. Folk want Robinson, but would they have been in favour of him when St Mirren went in for him?
There’s plenty different types of manager; promising rookie coach, experienced (in Scotland or not), manager from a lower level hopefully on an upward trajectory etc etc. All of those can work out if you pick the right guy, all of those can fail if you don’t. We’ve tried them all under the Gordon’s and failed each time, which would be the concern, if there’s no support from the BKs, I don’t see any reason not to expect the same outcome from whatever approach they’d jump to next.
Mainstandman
08-04-2024, 10:55 AM
We want to target 3/4 th every year. rough glance at the last ten years shows the best performers are Scottish/Uk managers with experience here. Lennon and Ross are the two like this we have had and they finished 3/4 but we keep, it appears, searching for a more interesting appointment.
Paulie Walnuts
08-04-2024, 10:58 AM
Bingos Scott Parker shout is probably the most interesting one I’ve seen so far. Managed at a good level, knows Bournemouth well, he’s probably fairly well known by BKFC.
From the names so far suggested, he’d be my pick, especially on the presumption McInnes wouldn’t come. Whether he’d be realistic or not is another thing altogether. He’s not an EPL level manager at this point, he failed in his last job at Bruuge, so I’d think mid table Championship is probably his ceiling, maybe even bottom half. An attractive package and him being given assurances of major backing could see him interested maybe?
Gaffer1875
08-04-2024, 11:18 AM
Ian Murray and Kevin Thomson. I await the abuse.
Bridge hibs
08-04-2024, 11:33 AM
Ian Murray and Kevin Thomson. I await the abuse.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThomson 🤣 what has he done of note other than getting promotion with Kelty H****s on an inflated budget then jacking it in ?
Murray doesnt have the experience, we have went down that route already and thats why we are still ****
Exuberance1875
08-04-2024, 11:36 AM
I’d take Ian Murray in a heartbeat. His side play good stuff and had progressed himself up the leagues.
Also knows what it means to play for Hibs
08-04-2024, 11:46 AM
Thomson 🤣 what has he done of note other than getting promotion with Kelty H****s on an inflated budget then jacking it in ?
Murray doesnt have the experience, we have went down that route already and thats why we are still ****
Not saying it should be Murray when there is a position to be filled at Hibs, but what experience do you want him to have? He's a Hibs fan who played for Hibs, played at international level. Has over 360 managerial games under his belt. Does he need to win leagues before he's appointed Hibs manager?
08-04-2024, 12:48 PM
Bingos Scott Parker shout is probably the most interesting one I’ve seen so far. Managed at a good level, knows Bournemouth well, he’s probably fairly well known by BKFC.
From the names so far suggested, he’d be my pick, especially on the presumption McInnes wouldn’t come. Whether he’d be realistic or not is another thing altogether. He’s not an EPL level manager at this point, he failed in his last job at Bruuge, so I’d think mid table Championship is probably his ceiling, maybe even bottom half. An attractive package and him being given assurances of major backing could see him interested maybe?
I know next to nothing about Scott Parker, but I can just imagine him coming up here with a real arrogance and not understanding Scottish football at all.
He’s one on paper you think yeah could be good, but I think in reality he’d fail with us.
All based on absolutely nothing 🤣
08-04-2024, 01:08 PM
I know next to nothing about Scott Parker, but I can just imagine him coming up here with a real arrogance and not understanding Scottish football at all.
He’s one on paper you think yeah could be good, but I think in reality he’d fail with us.
I’m sure he used to wear a cardigan come jacket at one point. On that basis he’s a big no for me. :greengrin
Bridge hibs
08-04-2024, 01:14 PM
Not saying it should be Murray when there is a position to be filled at Hibs, but what experience do you want him to have? He's a Hibs fan who played for Hibs, played at international level. Has over 360 managerial games under his belt. Does he need to win leagues before he's appointed Hibs manager?I want a manager who can manage a football team, experience is important for me anyway, especially after the **** show with our previous managers. I quite like what Murray is doing but I would rather we looked at tried and tested
08-04-2024, 01:14 PM
What’s he done that would attract you to him? (In a managerial sense -though if you fancy him sound. I don’t like his ***** cardigans).
08-04-2024, 01:19 PM
That's my worry. And like you, based on nothing.
I really think that this time we need to go back to basics in terms of tried and tested in Scotland to get a decent foundation to build on. We are probably the most un-streetwise team in the league.
08-04-2024, 01:30 PM
What’s he done that would attract you to him? (In a managerial sense -though if you fancy him sound. I don’t like his ***** cardigans).
He’s done a really good job in 2 of his 3 jobs so far. He got Fulham and Bournemouth promoted to the premiership which isn’t easy, the fact he’s done it twice suggests there’s more to him than a flash on the pan that got lucky with a good squad of players.
He does come across very arrogant, I’m not convinced that’s a bad thing, if anything Monty could do with being a bit more sure of himself in how he comes across in the media.
08-04-2024, 02:02 PM
He’s done a really good job in 2 of his 3 jobs so far. He got Fulham and Bournemouth promoted to the premiership which isn’t easy, the fact he’s done it twice suggests there’s more to him than a flash on the pan that got lucky with a good squad of players.
He does come across very arrogant, I’m not convinced that’s a bad thing, if anything Monty could do with being a bit more sure of himself in how he comes across in the media.
Fair enough. Never knew much about him except his team got mauled at Anfield and he was wearing that awful cardigan.
Arrogance is fine.
Arrogance about our game is most certainly not.
08-04-2024, 02:05 PM
I’m sure he used to wear a cardigan come jacket at one point. On that basis he’s a big no for me. :greengrin
me too, worryingly Jamboesque :greengrin
Paulie Walnuts
08-04-2024, 03:41 PM
Don’t disagree with that. I wouldn’t read too much into his spells in the Premiership. It’s such a high standard and on top of that, we’d be looking for a manager who’s going to dominate games/win more weeks than not. When he’s been in the Championship, he’s done that. Im not all that interested on how he done trying to battle against the odds in the Premiership as it’s not the type of job he’d be taking on here.
08-04-2024, 05:05 PM
Didn’t Parker kind of **** off Bournemouth after the Liverpool tanking so they sacked him? Might not suggest he’d be a likely pick by the BKs?
08-04-2024, 05:15 PM
Didn’t Parker kind of **** off Bournemouth after the Liverpool tanking so they sacked him? Might not suggest he’d be a likely pick by the BKs?
Yes think he's burnt his bridges there.
08-04-2024, 06:10 PM
Parker did a terrible job at Club Bruges.
Was there for 10 weeks and won 2 games in 12.
08-04-2024, 06:13 PM
I didn't want Mowbray or Stubbs.
I wanted Butcher , Williamson and was really excited with Calderwood.
😁
LustForLeith
08-04-2024, 07:33 PM
Anyone know much about this guy
https://www.afcb.co.uk/teams/staff-profiles/tommy-elphick/
Club legend. Most successful captain to play for the club. Currently on the coaching staff, you could imagine the club looking to get him
Experience before he got the main job
08-04-2024, 08:55 PM
Where has the chat / thoughts came about of McInnes not wanting to come - I understand it’s just personal opinion
But for me, I reckon he’d be interested to hear hibs plans
Positives with moving:
Probably 10 x plus the budget he’s on just now.
Aiming to be best of the rest
Aiming for cup wins regularly
European football regularly
Long term foley talked about catching up with the uglies.
Negatives
We don’t give managers time
Complete rebuild
He has killie in a good place
Has he ambitions to go to national job or England again rather than Hibs?
I really am rooting for McInnes being appointed, I think he’s exactly what we need.
Really hope he thinks he can be the man to get Hibs off on the right track and turn us around
08-04-2024, 09:12 PM
I hope it is Parker if it only for his The Streets interviews
https://youtu.be/t3J1fC11CBk?si=EXGfa5UT2XEZBZB9
08-04-2024, 09:16 PM
Where has the chat / thoughts came about of McInnes not wanting to come - I understand it’s just personal opinion
Positives with moving:
Negatives
Complete rebuild
I really am rooting for McInnes being appointed, I think he’s exactly what we need.
Really hope he thinks he can be the man to get Hibs off on the right track and turn us around
I don’t think mcinnes would trust a single thing anyone at Hibs said and is a guy that will really dislike how we do/did things.
If interviewed I don’t think he’d be long in saying how many mistakes we’ve made and things he disagrees with, probably all to do with recruitment etc.
Exactly what we need imo, but how that would go down I don’t know.
I just can’t imagine mcinnes ever seeing us as a good option unfortunately. Hes turned down big clubs before
08-04-2024, 09:22 PM
Positives with moving:
Negatives
Complete rebuild
McInnes by all accounts turned down the Rangers job when at Aberdeen, so it's by no means a certainty he would take the Hibs job if asked.
If he was interested it would be a no brainier for me. His record at Aberdeen and Killie speaks for itself.
If McInnes was unavailable, I'd go for Lennon on a short term rolling contract.
Both these guys would be a massive upgrade on NM and the previous 2 Managers and I think they would have an instant impact.
Ian Murray has done well with Airdrie and Raith. Clearly less experience and track record than the other 2, but certainly worth considering.
08-04-2024, 09:23 PM
Positives with moving:
Negatives
Complete rebuild
Hibs budget won't be anything like 10x higher than Killie's. That'd mean your average Killie player would need to be on about £300 a week.
08-04-2024, 09:23 PM
Bielsa.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
08-04-2024, 11:43 PM
Bielsa.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using TapatalkDoesn't know Scottish football.
Also looks ridiculous sitting on chilly bins and such like
09-04-2024, 12:09 AM
I'm not too bothered about Scottish experience, but experience of managing at at least the level of the Scottish Premiership would be good - top flight in a competitive country would do.
09-04-2024, 12:21 AM
Doesn't know Scottish football.
Also looks ridiculous sitting on chilly bins and such like
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkThis is true. Didn't think of that. #bielsaout
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
09-04-2024, 09:03 AM
Hibs budget won't be anything like 10x higher than Killie's. That'd mean your average Killie player would need to be on about £300 a week.
From transfer fees spent last season we spent over £1 million, I bet killie didn’t even pay out for one transfer fee.
Now with foley investment I stand by my point mcinness will have ten x as much in a transfer budget if he came to hibs
Makes it more ridiculous that we are behind them and st mirren , Dundee and scrambling about hoping we scrape in the top 6
Foley won’t be tolerating this with £6 million beans pumped in.
Trinity Hibee
09-04-2024, 09:55 AM
From transfer fees spent last season we spent over £1 million, I bet killie didn’t even pay out for one transfer fee.
Now with foley investment I stand by my point mcinness will have ten x as much in a transfer budget if he came to hibs
Makes it more ridiculous that we are behind them and st mirren , Dundee and scrambling about hoping we scrape in the top 6
Foley won’t be tolerating this with £6 million beans pumped in.
It is ridiculous and is happening far too often. Bottom 6 is failure for any Hibs manager. Mixu was let go for finishing 6th so anything below that should be instant dismissal.
As a club we must set minimum standards and top 6 is that minimum which is easily measurable
09-04-2024, 09:58 AM
Strongly seconded
09-04-2024, 10:02 AM
I see Nikolas Gunnarson is in the press today talking up Jimmy Thelin who has been strongly linked with Aberdeen.
Says he’s done a really good job and that the team play a counter attacking style of football which is fast and direct whilst pressing the opposition high up the pitch.
He did say Elsborg deserve credit for giving him time after how his time at the club started, probably something to be said for that..
Must admit when I hear the team counter attacking used with managers for us, Aberdeen or hearts I always think they won’t end up that great as teams normally sit it. Or you invite them into you which the home fans won’t like.
Paulie Walnuts
09-04-2024, 10:02 AM
I see Nikolas Gunnarson is in the press today talking up Jimmy Thelin who has been strongly linked with Aberdeen.
Says he’s done a really good job and that the team play a counter attacking style of football which is fast and direct whilst pressing the opposition high up the pitch.
He did say Elsborg deserve credit for giving him time after how his time at the club started, probably something to be said for that..
Must admit when I hear the team counter attacking used with managers for us, Aberdeen or hearts I always think they won’t end up that great as teams normally sit it. Or you invite them into you which the home fans won’t like.
Agree.
You can’t really play counter attacking football against teams that commit very few bodies forward.
May21/05/216
09-04-2024, 10:40 AM
I would stick with monty
As he's only had one transfer window
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
#2 Double Tap
09-04-2024, 10:57 AM
I would stick with monty
Someone’s gonna report you to the hate crime police :))
09-04-2024, 11:04 AM
I would stick with monty
Stick with him and we’ll be in the same position next season as we were in at the start of this season. We’d be sacking him in September and bringing in a new manager at the wrong time again. He seems tactically inept and unable to win any big games and his style of football is without doubt driving fans away. He has to go IMHO.
richard_pitts
09-04-2024, 12:05 PM
Stick with him and we’ll be in the same position next season as we were in at the start of this season. We’d be sacking him in September and bringing in a new manager at the wrong time again. He seems tactically inept and unable to win any big games and his style of football is without doubt driving fans away. He has to go IMHO.
Problem is if we keep turning managers over at the rate some seem to desire on here, nobody any good will want the job. Plenty on here were desperate to see Jack Ross emptied. We have certainly not got better.
NM is taking a step up. If he was the finished managerial article, he would most likely be at a higher level. Tony Mowbray was a coach looking to take step up. He has made mistakes. The test is what he has learned.
We also need a serious clear out. NM has next season with that in mind. I can also remember we wanted an experienced SPL manager post McLeish and Fenlon. We got Williamson and Butcher respectively. It's not a given that results in success.
09-04-2024, 12:13 PM
Problem is if we keep turning managers over at the rate some seem to desire on here, nobody any good will want the job. Plenty on here were desperate to see Jack Ross emptied. We have certainly not got better.
NM is taking a step up. If he was the finished managerial article, he would most likely be at a higher level. Tony Mowbray was a coach looking to take step up. He has made mistakes. The test is what he has learned.
We also need a serious clear out. NM has next season with that in mind. I can also remember we wanted an experienced SPL manager post McLeish and Fenlon. We got Williamson and Butcher respectively. It's not a given that results in success.
No one on this forum has any desire to keep sacking managers but we want one who can be better than St Mirren, Dundee and Kilmarnock for example. His style of football is not enjoyable to watch and everyone I speak to agrees that’s it’s awful, tactically inept and really difficult to gain any confidence in what he’s doing. I personally don’t want to stick with that, even though I’ve renewed my ST yet again.
Paulie Walnuts
09-04-2024, 12:42 PM
Problem is if we keep turning managers over at the rate some seem to desire on here, nobody any good will want the job
It’s not really the case though. Football management is a short term thing if you’re not succesful and that’s the case at pretty much every club. Managers know this.
Watford for example have had 20 managers in 10 years under their current owners. This includes managers that before arriving at Watford had previously managed:
Quique Sanchez Flores - Valencia, Benfica, Atletico Madrid
Walter Mazzari - Inter, Napoli, Sampdoria
Marco Silva - Olympiakos, Sporting Lisbon
Claudio Ranieri - Napoli, Fiorentina, Valencia, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Parma, Juventus, Roma, Inter, Monaco, Greece, Leicester
Roy Hodgson - Inter Milan, Liverpool, England
Slaven Bilic - Croatia, Besiktas, West Ham
So they clearly aren’t sitting there struggling to recruit anyone with any decent pedigree despite having nearly 3 times the amount of managers we’ve had in that same period.
Trinity Hibee
09-04-2024, 12:53 PM
Mowbray made mistakes but changed the style of play overnight. Whilst that won’t happen all of the time I don’t think it’s asking much to see a noticeable improvement after 9 months. We aren’t even in the top 6 which suggests we are not improving