Cesc Fabregas
What’s he been upty?
Slick guy for starters.
Saint Hibee
28-05-2024, 09:36 PM
Stop it.
You clearly missed two cup finals and one of the worst derby performances I’ve ever seen.
28-05-2024, 09:42 PM
Cesc Fabregas
If we’re looking at Como then this guy probably a more realistic (and better) shout.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Osian_Roberts
Great career as a coach and appears to have done well as caretaker for Como.
28-05-2024, 10:28 PM
I highlight mckenna as a case study much earlier in the thread.
There's loads of good coaches out there, we just have to find one that works for us
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Find one that works for us? That only leaves David Gray :wink:
28-05-2024, 11:39 PM
You clearly missed two cup finals and one of the worst derby performances I’ve ever seen.
You think a manager that got us to 2 cup final was truly awful? If you are going to bring up derby performances you should probably mention Jack Ross's team with our best Tynecastle derby performance and biggest win there in 25 years.
I was in a boozer watching the Celtic Rangers game on Saturday. Marvin Bartley and Darren McGregor were in watching it. Big Daz said that he thought Jack Ross was a great manager and he absolutely loved him, despite the fact he didn't play him as often as he would have liked. To say he was awful is laughable.
ErinGoBraghHFC
29-05-2024, 12:26 AM
Cesc Fabregas
This would be unreal btw, won’t happen but he’s one cool guy and he knows what it takes to win at the highest level. If Fabregas couldn’t inspire this group of players then no one could imo
29-05-2024, 05:34 AM
Ross didn't manage us in two cup finals. Your opinion doesn't hold much weight on him when you make things up. Which derby performance? The semi? Wouldn't make a top 50 worst derby performances for Hibs sadly.
I watched almost every match under Jack Ross. 3rd place, 4 semi finals, 2 wins. Dreadful stuff indeed. 3 utter failures since him.
29-05-2024, 05:42 AM
The fact Ross got to semis and finals is actually used against him.
He actually got us to Hampden consistently, probably more than any manager for god knows how long.
29-05-2024, 05:52 AM
He actually got us to Hampden consistently, probably more than any manager for god knows how long.
He did though fair to say his defeats to Saints twice and an undercooked Hearts were very poor. Agree the fact we were there at all was a positive. The performance v Rangers was one of the best ever.
29-05-2024, 05:53 AM
Cesc Fabregas
As a player
29-05-2024, 05:54 AM
It's a strange thing. Never failed to get us to Hampden in any competition he managed us in. Gets a hard time for not winning anything. The better you do the easier it seems to be to criticise. What I'd give to pump Rangers at Hampden again. Or pump Hearts at Tynecastle. Or even finish 3rd. Ross was a victim of his own success at Hibs.
29-05-2024, 06:02 AM
It's a strange thing. Never failed to get us to Hampden in any competition he managed us in. Gets a hard time for not winning anything. The better you do the easier it seems to be to criticise. What I'd give to pump Rangers at Hampden again. Or pump Hearts at Tynecastle. Or even finish 3rd. Ross was a victim of his own success at Hibs.
I know I’ll get stick for saying this as LJ proved it’s not a given tk win easy cup ties but a wee bit perspective is needed when it comes to JR’s cup runs. Go and have a look at the teams he beat to get us to Hampden. He did benefit from incredibly favourable cup draws, it’s not like he was some tactical magician that overcame the odds to get us to the latter stages of the competitions.
He does deserve a lot of credit for managing a side that regularly failed to slip up at banana skins though, I’m not denying that, I just think a wee bit perspective is needed.
Irony isn’t lost on me that he got sacked after his best cup result.
Bertie Wooster
29-05-2024, 06:42 AM
I know I’ll get stick for saying this as LJ proved it’s not a given tk win easy cup ties but a wee bit perspective is needed when it comes to JR’s cup runs. Go and have a look at the teams he beat to get us to Hampden. He did benefit from incredibly favourable cup draws, it’s not like he was some tactical magician that overcame the odds to get us to the latter stages of the competitions.
He does deserve a lot of credit for managing a side that regularly failed to slip up at banana skins though, I’m not denying that, I just think a wee bit perspective is needed.
I agree , and if you look at the form from the end of the 2020/21 season into the 2021-22 season it was nothing special.
In the last 9 games of the 2020-21 season the record was W3, D2 , L4 , admittedly he started the next season with W4 D3 L0 but it was a comparably easy start. Then the next 9 games are W1 , D1 , L7.
All in all , out of the last 27 games W8, D6 , L11 bottom . Some some decent cup results , but as bingo70 has said , not all great teams and he never got over the fact he underperformed in some big games.
The decision to remove him from his post is no different to a lot of clubs who review their manager and see if he is just ok or if he able to take a team to the next level. He never struck me as being able to be more than just a mid table manager.
29-05-2024, 06:50 AM
This would be unreal btw, won’t happen but he’s one cool guy and he knows what it takes to win at the highest level. If Fabregas couldn’t inspire this group of players then no one could imo
He’s a fud. Cannae stand that guy.
29-05-2024, 06:53 AM
I agree , and if you look at the form from the end of the 2020/21 season into the 2021-22 season it was nothing special.
In the last 9 games of the 2020-21 season the record was W3, D2 , L4 , admittedly he started the next season with W4 D3 L0 but it was a comparably easy start. Then the next 9 games are W1 , D1 , L7.
All in all , out of the last 27 games W8, D6 , L11 bottom . Some some decent cup results , but as bingo70 has said , not all great teams and he never got over the fact he underperformed in some big games.
The decision to remove him from his post is no different to a lot of clubs who review their manager and see if he is just ok or if he able to take a team to the next level. He never struck me as being able to be more than just a mid table manager.
I don’t think Ross was a bad manager for us, I just think some perspective is needed.
I never enjoyed his time at Hibs as manager despite the success of finishing 3rd and latter stages of the cup runs. I thought the season we finished 4th under Lennon was far more enjoyable. He does deserve credit though, I just don’t think it’s as black and white as Jack Ross good or Jack Ross bad.
Does Jack Ross deserve credit for regularly getting to Hampden? Absolutely, of course he does, he had kind draws but we still had to beat those teams
Is it ok to acknowledge that despite getting to Hampden regularly this was helped by getting favourable cup draws and maybe wasn’t down to him being a brilliant manager for us? Yes, I think it is ok to say that and think both views can live side by side together.
Does Jack Ross deserve credit for finishing 3rd? Absolutely, so few managers have managed it, he deserves lots of praise for that.
Is it ok to think it was still the correct decision to sack him despite the above? IMO absolutely yes. The run of form we were on will always put a Hibs manager under pressure and rightly so. Even when the results were good, fans weren’t turning up. If we didn’t replace him when we did we would have had about 8,000 ST holders the next year and there’s no guarantee he would have turned it around, just look at his spell as Dundee Utd manager for confirmation of that.
Jack Ross was an alright manager who did well in spells. He’s not someone we should spend forever more pining over though imo.
29-05-2024, 07:16 AM
I don’t think Ross was a bad manager for us, I just think some perspective is needed.
I never enjoyed his time at Hibs as manager despite the success of finishing 3rd and latter stages of the cup runs. I thought the season we finished 4th under Lennon was far more enjoyable. He does deserve credit though, I just don’t think it’s as black and white as Jack Ross good or Jack Ross bad.
Does Jack Ross deserve credit for regularly getting to Hampden? Absolutely, of course he does, he had kind draws but we still had to beat those teams
Is it ok to acknowledge that despite getting to Hampden regularly this was helped by getting favourable cup draws and maybe wasn’t down to him being a brilliant manager for us? Yes, I think it is ok to say that and think both views can live side by side together.
Does Jack Ross deserve credit for finishing 3rd? Absolutely, so few managers have managed it, he deserves lots of praise for that.
Is it ok to think it was still the correct decision to sack him despite the above? IMO absolutely yes. The run of form we were on will always put a Hibs manager under pressure and rightly so. Even when the results were good, fans weren’t turning up. If we didn’t replace him when we did we would have had about 8,000 ST holders the next year and there’s no guarantee he would have turned it around, just look at his spell as Dundee Utd manager for confirmation of that.
Jack Ross was an alright manager who did well in spells. He’s not someone we should spend forever more pining over though imo.
Some fair points in there I agree with, however the reason for me it can't ever have been the correct decision to sack him was the fact that we didnt have any sort of a clever plan with who to replace him with. Instead we replaced him with one of the strangest and most out of his depth maagers we've ever had
:boo hoo:
Had we appointed McInnes at that time then the sacking may have had some merit.
29-05-2024, 07:26 AM
Some fair points in there I agree with, however the reason for me it can't ever have been the correct decision to sack him was the fact that we didnt have any sort of a clever plan with who to replace him with. Instead we replaced him with one of the strangest and most out of his depth maagers we've ever had
:boo hoo:
Had we appointed McInnes at that time then the sacking may have had some merit.
Yes, the decisions on who to replace him with is the reason why we are where we are today and the real cause of the problem, not the decision to sack him in the first place imo.
No issue with Ross as such and had a good cup record, it was the fact he didn’t learn after numerous defeats to St Johnstone and his decision to defend 1-0 leads. He was a steady manager but not one to get excited about.
29-05-2024, 07:37 AM
Folk still going on about Jack Ross? [emoji42]
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
29-05-2024, 08:01 AM
I'm taking great issue with Jack Ross overseeing the best Tynecastle performance in years - assuming that was the 2-0 game with Boyle's double? We could have taken them to the cleaners that day but I can't remember us doing a single thing of more in the second half. The Horgan game under Heckingbottom was far better, and against a better Hearts team.
It's really hard to get away from Ross and the Saints horrorshows ultimately. Despite that, he has the Rangers semi win and I'd even forgive him the Hearts semi as we were a bit unlucky that night.
There's plenty of flaws there, probably a Covid impact too which lessened the supporter bond to his better achievements, yet tt's probably a sign of how pish we've been since he left that he still has the air of the last proper manager we had, that actually had an idea of what they were doing.
29-05-2024, 08:09 AM
I don’t think he was a victim of his own success but he could have been a Hibs legend with those 3 winnable games.
We talk about opportunities and credit in the bank - St J ended up doing the double !!
If we won the semi final we had Livingston in the final but we lost 3-0. It wasn’t even a close game!!!
We also lost the Scottish Cup final against them the same season 1-0.
Imagine another Scottish Cup final win!!!
Hibs could have had the double that season but we completely bottled it.
The Hearts game was against a Hearts team who hadn’t even started their season and league below. Another opportunity to get to a final and the extra ££ with it.
These 3 games were a massive issue and lost many fans.
I was at the Boyle semi against the Huns and it was incredible but his form against smaller teams after also cost him his job.
Basically the “nearly man”…
Greenside
29-05-2024, 08:12 AM
Giovanni van Bronckhorst has revealed he is in talks with a club about a return to management, but the former Rangers boss has ruled out a second spell at Feyenoord. (Glasgow Times)
NGoloGrantie
29-05-2024, 08:27 AM
Giovanni van Bronckhorst has revealed he is in talks with a club about a return to management, but the former Rangers boss has ruled out a second spell at Feyenoord. (Glasgow Times)
Will be an English club probably, doubt we could get him at hibs.
29-05-2024, 08:32 AM
there are some very odd posting patterns on here in the last few days. Older accounts with very low posting numbers suddenly remembering passwords?
29-05-2024, 08:39 AM
You're probably right. I liked Ross and will always have a bit of a bias towards him and tend to talk him up but looking at it there were definitely factors that helped him progress in cups. Still, that semi against Rangers was an incredible night. Really, really enjoyed it and its been few and far between since i had that feeling at a Hibs game.
29-05-2024, 08:39 AM
Hopefully next few days some Hibs news..
Manager?
New kit ?
New players ?
Released players ?
Imagine June 1st will see the start of more news ?
there are some very odd posting patterns on here in the last few days. Older accounts with very low posting numbers suddenly remembering passwords?
Noticed that, strange eh?
29-05-2024, 08:45 AM
Cesc Fabregas
Forget everything i said about lack of experience. That would excite me.
ChuckNor
29-05-2024, 08:46 AM
and some are extremely logical, like he has Caretaker Managed only 12 games! He wouldn't get near a like for like position elsewhere and we shouldn't appoint either (and I highly doubt we will)
Read my post. His knowledge and experience is hibs-focused. Who better to lead a rebuild than someone who knows the good players from the bad?
29-05-2024, 09:03 AM
Except that he actually got us third?
29-05-2024, 09:07 AM
Find our fan base hilarious. Some of the reasons not for going with Gray are insane. When it comes to Hibs he is the most experienced coach available - he has been here for years and knows the players strengths and limitations. If you think he won't be harsh with these players then you don't know the man - he is incredibly serious about success.
You find it hilarious that folk don’t want a complete rookie, who’s been part of the problem for years now? Whether it comes to hibs or not, he’s not the most experienced coach available.
I don’t doubt he is serious about success. I love the man. He however, should be absolutely nowhere near that dugout next year.
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 09:31 AM
If what was said is true and there's another 3 going to be interviewed along with gray , wonder who they could be ... ?
29-05-2024, 09:41 AM
If what was said is true and there's another 3 going to be interviewed along with gray , wonder who they could be ... ?Daren MacGregor, Eddie May and Iain Gordon
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
29-05-2024, 09:44 AM
If what was said is true and there's another 3 going to be interviewed along with gray , wonder who they could be ... ?
John Kennedy, random English coach not mentioned yet and random foreign manager.
Absolute guesswork of course but just my suspicion.
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 09:45 AM
Daren MacGregor, Eddie May and Iain Gordon
Could be worse ... Beale , Robson, Warburton...
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 09:47 AM
John Kennedy, random English coach not mentioned yet and random foreign manager.
Think we tried before so might be one . Hoping Ronnie Deila another.
TheGog
29-05-2024, 09:51 AM
Think Ian Murray is in today
TheGog
29-05-2024, 10:04 AM
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 10:05 AM
I remember at one point ( might not have been true) when we were looking for a manager around Maloney / LJ time I think this guy was mentioned , don't know were he is now though .... Vladimir Ivic . Guesswork again too.
29-05-2024, 10:07 AM
I did hear he applied. But he doesnt think he has a chance. If they are interviewing him it makes me think we are just going through the motions now.
29-05-2024, 10:09 AM
Guess that would be all over the place very soon if it’s true, can’t see it not making the press if Raith have given us permission.
29-05-2024, 10:11 AM
I did hear he applied. But he doesnt think he has a chance. If they are interviewing him it makes me think we are just going through the motions now.
It doesn't matter if Murray thinks he's got a chance or not. It's what Hibs think and they mustn't agree with him.
29-05-2024, 10:13 AM
Not sure how these things work but you would think If he's interviewing then Hibs have asked for permission and we'd know or have a rough idea of compensation due?
29-05-2024, 10:14 AM
Could be worse ... Beale , Robson, Warburton...Id take Warburton to be honest
Warburton, Delia and how about that polish boy that was linked the last time?
Won a few titles I think
Greenworld
29-05-2024, 10:15 AM
Latest odds https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240529/181f0e735c3362c7444d89d4ecfd3d92.jpg
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 10:16 AM
Id take Warburton to be honest
Warburton, Delia and how about that polish boy that was linked the last time?
Won a few titles I think
Polish boy ? , don't remember him tbh .
Paulie Walnuts
29-05-2024, 10:17 AM
Latest odds https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240529/181f0e735c3362c7444d89d4ecfd3d92.jpg
That’s really quite grim reading. Could be worse I suppose, we could still have Nick Montgomery.
29-05-2024, 10:18 AM
What a list
29-05-2024, 10:21 AM
It doesn't matter if Murray thinks he's got a chance or not. It's what Hibs think and they mustn't agree with him.
OR....just thinking "We better interview 4 to make it look like we are going through process?" Who knows, but I'll be stunned if he gets it.
29-05-2024, 10:21 AM
It's not necessarily folk who aren't Hibs fans. There's a lot of uncertainty around the manager position, and a lot people just trying to figure out what is happening at the club. It makes sense they'll head to message boards and social media for answers. It was during similar circumstances that I started using the boards more regularly (Hughes appointment I think?).
29-05-2024, 10:24 AM
Tam Courts bloody better not be getting an interview.
He’s the type that would convince our board with his vocabulary.
Greenworld
29-05-2024, 10:28 AM
What is interesting is that Ben Kensell is managing to keep his trap shut
29-05-2024, 10:30 AM
I didn’t mind the thought of Ian Murray until the play offs.
Side we’re losing and he was sat in the dugout, smiling within his assistant, watching everything back on the tv and then put his snood up to about an inch below his eye.
Right now I want someone on the touchline, full of passion and organising the team. Thats what I thought Nid would be so I was surprised, unless the camera panned to him at inoppertune moments. Although it’s really petty if he done the above for us in a big game he’d be hounded out quickly.
He also seems to focus all on the attack to the detriment of his defence. Feel we need a bit of organisation at the back.
Saying all that though he’s done a really good job at everywhere he’s been with the exception of St Mirren which was 9 years ago when Nid was only 34
29-05-2024, 10:32 AM
Not sure how these things work but you would think If he's interviewing then Hibs have asked for permission and we'd know or have a rough idea of compensation due?
Raith know he's a Hibs fan, they'll be happy to let him speak to the club rather than risk discontent.
As for the club inviting him in to chat, they've nothing to lose. It doesn't mean he's on their preferred short list but they might see no danger in hearing him out, provide some feedback on what he needs to do to be ready for the Hibs job in future should he not be successful this time around.
If the club is in anyway well run commercially, I'd be expecting the same things to come out of David Gray interview. If he doesn't get the job then they draw out a clear career pathway for his progression, he really needs to be an assistant ASAP if we are genuinely trying to develop him to be a future manager if Hibs. Then it's up to him if he wants to follow that or leave to manage a team elsewhere
29-05-2024, 10:35 AM
Polish boy ? , don't remember him tbh .Polish manager or manager in Poland - can't remember and struggling to find
I mind thinking last time that its was a more "acceptable" rumor though but he was fairly quickly ruled out
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 10:58 AM
Going by that list . Grays the obvious choice.
29-05-2024, 10:59 AM
Jaap stam is interesting 🤔 on the list hope Nid gets it tho
29-05-2024, 11:02 AM
Polish manager or manager in Poland - can't remember and struggling to find
I mind thinking last time that its was a more "acceptable" rumor though but he was fairly quickly ruled out
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalkhttps://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/nick-montgomery-on-hibs-shortlist-after-mariners-compo-interest-ends-in-marek-papszun-and-criteria-revealed-for-next-manager-4279669
"That list has been cut further following early interviews after three-time Polish manager of the year Marek Papszun was dropped. The man who guided Rakow Czestochwa to their first ever major trophy in 2020/21 and has since backed that up with another Polish Cup win, two Polish Super Cup trophies and the Ekstraklasa title last term, ticked many of the Leith club’s boxes but it seems he has already been discounted as more compatible options have risen to the top in a competitive interview process."
The Tubs
29-05-2024, 11:02 AM
I'd have Gray over Murray any day of the week.
Paulie Walnuts
29-05-2024, 11:03 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/nick-montgomery-on-hibs-shortlist-after-mariners-compo-interest-ends-in-marek-papszun-and-criteria-revealed-for-next-manager-4279669
"That list has been cut further following early interviews after three-time Polish manager of the year Marek Papszun was dropped. The man who guided Rakow Czestochwa to their first ever major trophy in 2020/21 and has since backed that up with another Polish Cup win, two Polish Super Cup trophies and the Ekstraklasa title last term, ticked many of the Leith club’s boxes but it seems he has already been discounted as more compatible options have risen to the top in a competitive interview process."
On paper, the fact we chose Montgomery over him is quite something. Seems to be a very decent track record at a much better level than the A-League.
29-05-2024, 11:03 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/nick-montgomery-on-hibs-shortlist-after-mariners-compo-interest-ends-in-marek-papszun-and-criteria-revealed-for-next-manager-4279669
Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkGet him in!
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 11:05 AM
I'd have Gray over Murray any day of the week.
So would I , thought in the first playoff game when County wore white Raith made them look like Real Madrid.
On paper, the fact we chose Montgomery over him is quite something. Seems to be a very decent track record at a much better level than the A-League.
We’d all have been screaming about lack of knowledge of the Scottish game though, Monty’s U21 cap maybe swung it
29-05-2024, 11:06 AM
Hooefully not Kennedy. I coukd t cope with another manager whose interviews were about celtic as much as Hibs. Also dont see what he has done to deserve it. He'd also be linked immediately with celtic if he did a half decent job at Hibs. Assistant manager of the team with 100x more cash and investment than any other? Seems a pretty easy gig to be honest. Let him try his luck elsewhere first
29-05-2024, 11:08 AM
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make it Ronnie Deila. Knows the Scottish Game and has proved he can win here.. he averages over 50% win rate across his seven managerial jobs and it's never been below 40%. Last job at Brugge it was 57%.
He wins things too. Proper, proven, professional manager who has never "failed" in any job, got sack in his last job for coming 4th and only getting to the quarter finals of the Europa Conference League. He would be a big step up for us and it's what we need.
Has over 600 games as manager in 5 different leagues
PLEASE Hibs !!!!:pray::pray::pray:
29-05-2024, 11:10 AM
What a list
Uninspiring.
29-05-2024, 11:11 AM
Daren MacGregor, Eddie May and Iain Gordon
:faf: hope Ian gets it 😄
29-05-2024, 11:13 AM
Guess that would be all over the place very soon if it’s true, can’t see it not making the press if Raith have given us permission.
Maybe Murray has a clause in his contract that he can speak to other clubs without Raith's permission?
29-05-2024, 11:13 AM
Paul Lambert in the mix ?
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 11:14 AM
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make it Ronnie Deila. Knows the Scottish Game and has proved he can win here.. he averages over 50% win rate across his seven managerial jobs and it's never been below 40%. Last job at Brugge it was 57%.
He wins things too. Proper, proven, professional manager who has never "failed" in any job, got sack in his last job for coming 4th and only getting to the quarter finals of the Europa Conference League. He would be a big step up for us and it's what we need.
Has over 600 games as manager in 5 different leagues
PLEASE Hibs !!!!:pray::pray::pray:
Imo he'd be an outstanding appointment that would show real ambition.
29-05-2024, 11:14 AM
Who is doing the Murray interview it MM doesn’t start till June 1st ?!
The 2nd leg of playoff showed Murray isn’t ready for this role. As much as County have improved it was a quite convincing win.
Ronnie D would be a great fit if we have any ambition - watched a load of his games in MLS and he was loved over there.
Even for a couple years to get us back to basics he would be a great shout but doubt it will happen.
29-05-2024, 11:15 AM
Paul Lambert in the mix ?
Mr Mumbles? the players would never understand what he's saying. :greengrin
If Ian Murray never played for Hibs a hundred years ago we would be touting a manger that’s floated about the lower leagues since failing at St Mirren.
I like to think the powers that be at the club won’t care he used to play for us as it’s clearly not relevant and any interest in him will be short lived.
Donegal Hibby
Get him in!
Looked him up and came across this article.
https://www.si.com/soccer/sunderland/news/who-is-marek-papszun-profiling-the-serial-winner-linked-with-sunderland-job
29-05-2024, 11:16 AM
Who is doing the Murray interview it MM doesn’t start till June 1st ?!
The 2nd leg of playoff showed Murray isn’t ready for this role. As much as County have improved it was a quite convincing win.
Ronnie D would be a great fit if we have any ambition - watched a load of his games in MLS and he was loved over there.
Even for a couple years to get us back to basics he would be a great shout but doubt it will happen.
Assume starting early to get manager in place
29-05-2024, 11:16 AM
Was Ronnie Delia a bit of a joke at Celtic? I never really took any notice/ interest as we were never in the same league as them when he was there
Uninspiring.
Totally, by January 2025 fans would be demanding change in time to make best use of January transfer window.
29-05-2024, 11:17 AM
Was Ronnie Delia a bit of a joke at Celtic? I never really took any notice/ interest as we were never in the same league as them when he was there
Thought he was also. Some poor cup results i think
29-05-2024, 11:22 AM
If Ian Murray never played for Hibs a hundred years ago we would be touting a manger that’s floated about the lower leagues since failing at St Mirren.
I like to think the powers that be at the club won’t care he used to play for us as it’s clearly not relevant and any interest in him will be short lived.
Since failing at St Mirren he had a spell out of the game before coming back and doing very good jobs at Airdrie and Raith. Any interest in him would be on merit surely? Seems a bit harsh to disregard him like that but on the same hand be quite happy with an appointment like Kennedy who’s never had a top job or proven he’s got what it takes to lead a team?
29-05-2024, 11:24 AM
Assume starting early to get manager in place
His official start date is 1 June but I would imagine he's been working in the background for a week or two at least. Maybe 1 June is the official start date because he is still on Ross County payroll, albeit on gardening leave since being sacked, until then?
29-05-2024, 11:25 AM
He won 2 leagues and a league cup.
I think because he lost to Rangers when they were in lower leagues Celtic fans weren’t happy.
He seemed to have learnt from that when I saw his MLS team play.
I think it’s important for Hibs to think what they want in next few years to - is David Gray going to stay for several years ? Does he have ambitions to manage in England ?
Delia does jump around jobs - but you could argue the manager / head coach life span is around 2/3 years max unless you are someone like Pep who has had about 7 years of success getting paid a fortune.
29-05-2024, 11:26 AM
Mowbray was poor at Celtic too.
What makes me like Deila is how he has done at every club he’s been at. Always seems to do well
29-05-2024, 11:27 AM
Since failing at St Mirren he had a good spell out of the game before coming back and doing very good jobs at Airdrie and Raith. Any interest in him would be on merit surely? Seems a bit harsh to disregard him like that but on the same hand be quite happy with an appointment like Kennedy who’s never had a top job or proven he’s got what it takes to lead a team?
Might be harsh but it’s just what I think.
If Murray never played for Hibs, looking purely at his career, he wouldn’t be in the conversation. The fact he used to play for us is irrelevant.
Kennedy has chosen a different career both to get to where he wants to be, he’s served his apprenticeship working at a big club, learning the ropes through the youth teams all the way up to working as assistant manager to a couple of really Elite managers.
Murrays route to getting to where he wants to be is by starting at the bottom of working his way up, he might well get there but it won’t be as Hibs manager this time out I don’t think.
29-05-2024, 11:27 AM
He doesn’t have a chance.
29-05-2024, 11:31 AM
What is interesting is that Ben Kensell is managing to keep his trap shut
Albion is shut.
29-05-2024, 11:32 AM
Issue was he didn’t speak English.
supermcginn
29-05-2024, 11:37 AM
He was, struggled to win the title even without rangers in the league.
Saint Hibee
29-05-2024, 11:38 AM
Deila would be great, but is there any indication that he's actually applied or is it just speculation?
29-05-2024, 11:40 AM
Thought he was also. Some poor cup results i think
He’d be my preferred choice. Not that i’d be taking much interest of performance that far back he did better than Mowbray who lots of us would have up there as best manager in our leftime.
29-05-2024, 11:41 AM
Win stats at Celtic was poorer than Lennon's 2nd stint at Celtic. That was in a league without Rangers.
NC1875
29-05-2024, 11:51 AM
Might be harsh but it’s just what I think.
If Murray never played for Hibs, looking purely at his career, he wouldn’t be in the conversation. The fact he used to play for us is irrelevant.
Kennedy has chosen a different career both to get to where he wants to be, he’s served his apprenticeship working at a big club, learning the ropes through the youth teams all the way up to working as assistant manager to a couple of really Elite managers.
Murrays route to getting to where he wants to be is by starting at the bottom of working his way up, he might well get there but it won’t be as Hibs manager this time out I don’t think.
Copy and Paste for David Gray. Shouldn’t be anywhere near even being spoken about as a Hibs manager at this moment in time.
How we have fallen when we’re talking about interviewing Ian Murray and a coach who’s managed about 10 games off of the back of the coaching team he’s involved in being a failure 4 times.
29-05-2024, 11:55 AM
Copy and Paste for David Gray. Shouldn’t be anywhere near even being spoken about as a Hibs manager at this moment in time.
How we have fallen when we’re talking about interviewing Ian Murray and a coach who’s managed about 10 games off of the back of the coaching team he’s involved in being a failure 4 times.
Murray and Kennedy are both far better qualified to do the job than Gray. If we go down that route then I won’t understand the logic at all, I’ll just close my eyes and hope for the best.
29-05-2024, 12:00 PM
Murray and Kennedy are both far better qualified to do the job than Gray. If we go down that route then I won’t understand the logic at all, I’ll just close my eyes and hope for the best.
Gray always looks so pissed off.
One can only imagine how much worse he'll look after a losing streak.
29-05-2024, 12:03 PM
Tam Courts bloody better not be getting an interview.
He’s the type that would convince our board with his vocabulary.
I'd genuinely rather give the job to Gray than Tam Courts
Greenworld
29-05-2024, 12:05 PM
Deila would be great, but is there any indication that he's actually applied or is it just speculation?Dont know but he is now 12 / 1 from 20 /1 .
Got to think he would be on Black k radar .
That's the thing we dont know who they may have put forward as possible coaches. Along with MM candidates
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 12:06 PM
He won 2 leagues and a league cup.
I think because he lost to Rangers when they were in lower leagues Celtic fans weren’t happy.
He seemed to have learnt from that when I saw his MLS team play.
I think it’s important for Hibs to think what they want in next few years to - is David Gray going to stay for several years ? Does he have ambitions to manage in England ?
Delia does jump around jobs - but you could argue the manager / head coach life span is around 2/3 years max unless you are someone like Pep who has had about 7 years of success getting paid a fortune.
His record at other clubs is good .
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ronny_Deila
Paulie Walnuts
29-05-2024, 12:10 PM
Issue was he didn’t speak English.
Ah ok. :aok:
29-05-2024, 12:18 PM
Win stats at Celtic was poorer than Lennon's 2nd stint at Celtic. That was in a league without Rangers.
That was eight years ago and he still won the league twice and the League Cup. The alternatives seem to be David Gray or The Man who failed to get Raith promoted ! I'd bite your hand off for Deila.
Greenworld
29-05-2024, 12:32 PM
The joys for the new manager and players to look forward to https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240529/53cd08880bc5685e16eb47e88caf5fee.jpg
scm70nyd1973
29-05-2024, 12:33 PM
The joys for the new manager and players to look forward to https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240529/53cd08880bc5685e16eb47e88caf5fee.jpg
The Group of Dearth….
29-05-2024, 12:34 PM
You know who's going to beat us eh :rolleyes:
NGoloGrantie
29-05-2024, 12:40 PM
Polish manager or manager in Poland - can't remember and struggling to find
Marek Papszun
Mcbizz1998
29-05-2024, 12:44 PM
Can't say I do tbh. :confused:
29-05-2024, 12:48 PM
I’m honestly not sure under Montgomery if we would have got out that group.
They’ll all be hard to play against and want us to play it short.
Would have been a horrible watch
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 12:56 PM
Deila/ Gray off to a flyer with 4 wins :wink:
29-05-2024, 12:59 PM
I’m honestly not sure under Montgomery if we would have got out that group.
They’ll all be hard to play against and want us to play it short.
Would have been a horrible watch
Jubilation if we did :greengrin
Murray showed little tactical nous against Ross C, he looked lost at times sat in the dugout.
Kompany off to Bayern, not sure how that will work out.
Niffy
29-05-2024, 03:22 PM
All of them ?
Nah... a wee 2-2 draw in there somewhere.
29-05-2024, 03:41 PM
Kompany off to Bayern, not sure how that will work out.
Fell upward, leaving Burnley with 100 million plus of crap that were relegated by Christmas. Incredible.
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 03:49 PM
Apart from being sacked , left by mutual consent or resigned , we have only had 6 managers that I think have moved to other clubs from us . Can you name them ? . ( Probably too easy) .
29-05-2024, 03:50 PM
Apart from being sacked , left by mutual consent or resigned , we have only had 6 managers that I think have moved to other clubs from us . Can you name them ? . ( Probably too easy) .
Alex McLeish
Tony Mowbray
Erm I'm struggling
Jock Stein?
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 03:54 PM
Alex McLeish
Tony Mowbray
Erm I'm struggling
Jock Stein?
That's 3 of the 6 I have .
Mowbray - WBA .
McLeish - Huns .
Stein - Celtic.
29-05-2024, 03:56 PM
Alex McLeish
Tony Mowbray
Erm I'm struggling
Jock Stein?
Bobby Williamson
HibeeSince85
29-05-2024, 03:59 PM
That's 3 of the 6 I have .
Mowbray - WBA .
McLeish - Huns .
Stein - Celtic.
Williamson to Plymouth and Stubbs to Rothernham
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 04:00 PM
Bobby Williamson
He's another according to what I read , moved to Plymouth .
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 04:01 PM
Williamson to Plymouth and Stubbs to Rothernham
Stubbs 👍
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 04:05 PM
That's five , one left .
29-05-2024, 04:08 PM
Does Neil Lennon count?
His leaving was none of the things you listed. 🤔
Up-the-slope
29-05-2024, 04:09 PM
Well at least we know we will get to Hampden next season :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 04:09 PM
Does Neil Lennon count?
His leaving was none of the things you listed.
No , I had in apart from leaving by mutual consent .
29-05-2024, 04:23 PM
Collinwood or whatever his name was
AllyT
29-05-2024, 04:30 PM
Collinwood or whatever his name was
colin calderwood
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 04:35 PM
colin calderwood
No he was sacked . The first five were easy enough though the last one you'd need to be a Hibs historian or just cheat a little bit to get it ! .
29-05-2024, 04:42 PM
Willie McCartney and Dan McMichael both died in the job.
Phil Kelso moved to Arsenal
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 04:48 PM
Willie McCartney and Dan McMichael both died in the job.
Phil Kelso moved to Arsenal
Kelso 👍.
Hope perspective candidates don't see how manager history 😬
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Hibernian_F.C._managers
Hibees1973
29-05-2024, 04:52 PM
If our guys in charge are looking close to home it would be ridiculous to appoint the likes of Gray or Murray.
Surely McInnes (before he signed a new contract with Kilmarnock would have been sounded out). Now that he is out of reach Robinson is the only logical candidate. He blows Gray and Murray right out of the water. We need experience, not another novice or lower league manager.
If they reckon even Robinson is not good enough for us, then the options in Scotland are little more than zero.
What is deeply concerning is the calibre of people we have who are selecting the new manager.
Not sure if the Black Knights are involved. Hope so.
29-05-2024, 05:20 PM
"It is understood that Gray has already won over a number of key figures at Hibs, who value his role as a respected dressing room leader, appreciate his good record as a stand-in – and have been impressed with his plans to rebuild a squad in disrepair. The former skipper’s candidacy is being given serious consideration as he competes with a number of more experienced figures for the role"
29-05-2024, 05:22 PM
"It is understood that Gray has already won over a number of key figures at Hibs, who value his role as a respected dressing room leader, appreciate his good record as a stand-in – and have been impressed with his plans to rebuild a squad in disrepair. The former skipper’s candidacy is being given serious consideration as he competes with a number of more experienced figures for the role"
Definitely going to be him, if anyone else was seriously in the running we’d have heard about it by now.
29-05-2024, 05:29 PM
Cannot help but feel this is wrong time
We are at an unprecedented crossroads with the investment coming in allied to the terrible midfielders & CBs on our books
Needs an experienced hand imo
Deila ticks a lot of boxes here
29-05-2024, 05:31 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-manager-hunt-latest-fan-favourite-important-hurdle-4646697
29-05-2024, 05:34 PM
It’s almost as if the decision has already been made…
29-05-2024, 05:34 PM
I can't remember if I've posted this already so apologies if I'm repeating myself. My biggest concern about SDG would be the apparent lack of qualifications (the Pro Licence) for the role. Some will dismiss it as a token qualification but there's a good reason that it's required.
There's no need for us to hire someone who's not got that qualification, SDG might be a candidate in the future but the club should be ensuring he's qualified if they want him as Head Coach, it's not like they've not had the time to sort it out before now.
29-05-2024, 05:35 PM
Cannot help but feel this is wrong time
We are at an unprecedented crossroads with the investment coming in allied to the terrible midfielders & CBs on our books
Needs an experienced hand imo
Deila ticks a lot of boxes here
Terrible forwards too. Let's not forget them.
Deila was so average at celtic. Really not that appealing.
tonyrougier123
29-05-2024, 05:42 PM
I’m in two minds on Dave gray getting the job, on the one hand he’s been involved in what 3-4 managers coaching teams,surely some inspiration would’ve shone through in that time as even just a coach.
And on the other hand you think what if??be unreal if the catalyst signing we made in 2014 and the captain that scored that goal was the man to reboot hibs again!
It’s a huge job,I’ve got faith in mackay to steer hibs football department so I’m all in for that,but the team will need drive,graft and we will need players leaving it all on the pitch, That’s going to take an inspirational character that a new batch of players can dig in for and get more out of what we have already in the side.
Andymac85
29-05-2024, 05:42 PM
I’d be amazed if it is anyone but DG now. I dearly hope I’m wrong, but I could see it being another catastrophe of an appointment.
Percy Vere
29-05-2024, 05:47 PM
i don't believe Gray or Murray should be in the shortlist.
Can't believe Hibs are going to mess this up again.
We need experience to transform the squad.
a manager with top credentials at getting the best out of players.
who has a clear vision about how to move Hibs forward.
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 05:51 PM
If our guys in charge are looking close to home it would be ridiculous to appoint the likes of Gray or Murray.
Surely McInnes (before he signed a new contract with Kilmarnock would have been sounded out). Now that he is out of reach Robinson is the only logical candidate. He blows Gray and Murray right out of the water. We need experience, not another novice or lower league manager.
If they reckon even Robinson is not good enough for us, then the options in Scotland are little more than zero.
What is deeply concerning is the calibre of people we have who are selecting the new manager.
Not sure if the Black Knights are involved. Hope so.
Personally I don't think Murray will be one of the candidates . Gray , yes . And again we can't say for sure wither he'll be a good or bad appointment.
I don't know if Mcinnes was a realistic candidate from the start and did Robinson not rule himself out to a degree ? . I don't think he's anything special tbh .
Maybe not as a manager though Gray has plenty of experience of the league and knows the club which should help him .
We are a bigger club than Killie and St Mirren though would any manager want to leave a position that's stable, good relationship with the board , in Europe to take over at a club that's sacked their last 3 managers in 4 months , another just about a year in the job followed by another after 8 months ? , I'm not so sure they'd be jumping at an opportunity like that tbh .
29-05-2024, 06:12 PM
You seem fairly certain it’s him.
29-05-2024, 06:26 PM
I can't remember if I've posted this already so apologies if I'm repeating myself. My biggest concern about SDG would be the apparent lack of qualifications (the Pro Licence) for the role. Some will dismiss it as a token qualification but there's a good reason that it's required.
There's no need for us to hire someone who's not got that qualification, SDG might be a candidate in the future but the club should be ensuring he's qualified if they want him as Head Coach, it's not like they've not had the time to sort it out before now.
I’m not overly bothered about the qualification myself, I think Postecoglu never had it when he joined Celtic and had to apply for dispensation because of the time he’d been a manager. I think it’s possible to be a good manager and not have the qualification.
What bothers me about it is I know Mackay is bothered about the qualifications. He spoke about the importance of them in the podcast interview he did and I don’t see how Gray can possibly tick the boxes he spoke of in his introductory interview without having the pro-license. He can’t display being a student of the game and he can’t give experience of coaching in front of 100 experienced coaches (I know MM didn’t use the words experienced coaches but he inferred it I think, I’m sure most novice coaches could hold a basic training session in front of a hundred dummies).
Mackay simply can’t give an interview highlighting the credentials he is looking for then completely ignore them. It would be ridiculous imo.
29-05-2024, 06:28 PM
I’d be amazed if it is anyone but DG now. I dearly hope I’m wrong, but I could see it being another catastrophe of an appointment.
Yeah. And we could bring in a guy from abroad who is a catastrophe of an appointment. Or a guy from the English leagues who is a catastrophe of an appointment. Perhaps a much admired rival SPFL team's manager could turn out to be a catastrophe of an appointment.
Sounds like nobody knows and that we're all just hoping the next appointment isn't a catastrophe. Whoever it may be.
29-05-2024, 06:41 PM
I hope you make some dough out of it
Coach Jon
29-05-2024, 06:49 PM
Definitely going to be him, if anyone else was seriously in the running we’d have heard about it by now.
By the same token surely if Gray was the man they wanted, they would have given him the job by now.
Silky
29-05-2024, 06:51 PM
Is one of them Phil Kelso? Left to take over Woolwich Arsenal in 1904!!
29-05-2024, 06:53 PM
By the same token surely if Gray was the man they wanted, they would have given him the job by now.
They’ll want to wait till MM has officially started to announce it I assume?
Every story coming out of the EEN points towards it being Gray.
Largshibby
29-05-2024, 07:02 PM
If there’s a surefire way to turn DG from an all time hero to an absolute villain it’s to make him Hibs manager so for that reason alone it’s a no from me.
29-05-2024, 07:19 PM
If there’s a surefire way to turn DG from an all time hero to an absolute villain it’s to make him Hibs manager so for that reason alone it’s a no from me.
Stanton and Blackley's Hibs teams were down near the foot of the table but both are still legends. Turnbull got us relegated. Won't make any difference at all to his legendary status no matter how he does.
29-05-2024, 07:40 PM
Raith fans think Colin Cameron going to be next boss
29-05-2024, 07:42 PM
Assuming they think he's the next gaffer of Raith and not Hibs 👀
Musselbound
Our last 3 managers have been a mix of rookie (Maloney), coming from another league (Monty) and fairly experienced, albeit in another league (Johnson).
We've had rookie managers who have done pretty well before (eg Mowbray, Stubbs), so how is Gray doomed to fail, or what is the profile of a coach certain to do better?
Punting Monty then appointing David Gray seems insane to me, we need someone with more experience, not less than the outgoing coach!
29-05-2024, 07:43 PM
Where are you seeing this?
I have a mate who runs a Raith podcast and he's heard nothing about Murray going anywhere at their end.
Musselbound
29-05-2024, 07:46 PM
Stanton and Blackley's Hibs teams were down near the foot of the table but both are still legends. Turnbull got us relegated. Won't make any difference at all to his legendary status no matter how he does.
Yep. It didn't do Sauzee or Mixu too much harm either.
29-05-2024, 07:49 PM
Wouldn’t want Ian Murray anywhere near it. Never have, there’s just something I don’t like about him football wise. And the way he set Raith up in the first leg of the playoff was a shocker when they really had to try and get something in the first leg.
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 07:50 PM
Is one of them Phil Kelso? Left to take over Woolwich Arsenal in 1904!!
: 👍
TrinityHFC
29-05-2024, 07:51 PM
Punting Monty then appointing David Gray seems insane to me, we need someone with more experience, not less than the outgoing coach!
Experience has counted for nothing before. Do you think it guarantees anything?
29-05-2024, 07:52 PM
We need someone better, experience as we know doesn't always equate to better.
TrinityHFC
29-05-2024, 07:53 PM
Wouldn’t want Ian Murray anywhere near it. Never have, there’s just something I don’t like about him football wise. And the way he set Raith up in the first leg of the playoff was a shocker when they really had to try and get something in the first leg.
Maybe just me but I prefer my Hibs managers to have a bit of something about them. Murray is miles away from the sort of person I’d like to be fronting up for the club.
He's here!
29-05-2024, 07:54 PM
Said it before but we were in a pitiful financial state post- Tom Hart and with Kenny Waugh taking over the club. Stanton and Blackley actually did well to keep us clear of relegation in the circumstances.
As you say, Gray's legendary status will be forever preserved no matter how he does as boss (if he gets the job).
29-05-2024, 07:55 PM
I actually don’t think their was a great deal wrong with how he set them up, more just County were a much better team and came out the traps flying.
A big loss for Raith was being unable to play Kyle turner as he was on loan from county.
County played the occasion better and raith struggled to play their normal game and having Vaughan as the striker meant they never had much of an out ball
29-05-2024, 07:56 PM
How much experience of playing in cup finals did David Gray have before having what it took to drive us on to victory when the opportunity presented itself?
We’ve been through so many different “types” of manager that I think we’ve run out of types that haven’t failed with us. Lee Johnson had bags of experience, Maloney had none, Monty had a little - therefore to avoid repeating past mistakes should we be avoiding coaches with zero, little or loads of experience?
My growing concern is that this isn’t a difficult job - it might be an impossible one.
29-05-2024, 08:00 PM
Maybe just me but I prefer my Hibs managers to have a bit of something about them. Murray is miles away from the sort of person I’d like to be fronting up for the club.
How so? What is it that he doesn't have?
29-05-2024, 08:02 PM
Experience has counted for nothing before. Do you think it guarantees anything?
If it's the right experience with the right character then yes very much, someone who has the experience that allows them to change and adapt during a game as is needed.
29-05-2024, 08:02 PM
I actually don’t think their was a great deal wrong with how he set them up, more just County were a much better team and came out the traps flying.
A big loss for Raith was being unable to play Kyle turner as he was on loan from county.
County played the occasion better and raith struggled to play their normal game and having Vaughan as the striker meant they never had much of an out ball
I thought they were really negative and he left one man totally isolated. I just thought he played not to lose the game rather than try to win it.
29-05-2024, 08:03 PM
How much experience of playing in cup finals did David Gray have before having what it took to drive us on to victory when the opportunity presented itself?
We’ve been through so many different “types” of manager that I think we’ve run out of types that haven’t failed with us. Lee Johnson had bags of experience, Maloney had none, Monty had a little - therefore to avoid repeating past mistakes should we be avoiding coaches with zero, little or loads of experience?
My growing concern is that this isn’t a difficult job - it might be an impossible one.
Well he had a lot of experience playing football before that day...can't really equate that to his 15 games as a manager.
The funny thing with me for SDG as despite not wanting him to get the job (for the many reasons I’ve said before) I actually think he’d do a pretty good job.
I think he’d recruit well
I think we’d be more organised defensively
I think we’d have a better control of the middle of the park
He really likes a switch of play which would mean Boyle etc would be able to isolate full backs more
I think he’d get about a 5th place in the league pretty comfortably.
I don’t think we’d get battered 5-0 etc off the old firm
Whoever it is needs to get through that piss easy cup group or will be under pressure immediately
29-05-2024, 08:08 PM
Where are you seeing this?
I have a mate who runs a Raith podcast and he's heard nothing about Murray going anywhere at their end.
I can see one post on Pie & Bovril, nobody else took the bait and can't find any other discussion on it anywhere?
29-05-2024, 08:08 PM
I thought they were really negative and he left one man totally isolated. I just thought he played not to lose the game rather than try to win it.
I do think they isolated him through a bit of naivety. I think they probably thought they’d be able to pass it under pressure a lot better than they did and be able to play it into the forward players feet.
I was really surprised how little Rudden played over the 2 legs as thought he’d give them that presence
raeburnhibs
29-05-2024, 08:20 PM
But it shouldn't just be experience, it should be experience plus a bunch of other positive attributes
TrinityHFC
29-05-2024, 08:24 PM
How so? What is it that he doesn't have?
He’s not as suave as I prefer my Hibs managers to be.
I don’t really think he’s what Malky explained what he wants from Hibs managers either. It should be a top job and I think Murray just comes over as a lower league manager.
29-05-2024, 08:26 PM
He’s not as suave as I prefer my Hibs managers to be.
I don’t really think he’s what Malky explained what he wants from Hibs managers either. It should be a top job and I think Murray just comes over as a lower league manager.
What’s your thoughts on Gray?
Genuine question as I’ve seen some say no to Murray but want gray.
Hibees1973
29-05-2024, 08:30 PM
My growing concern is that this isn’t a difficult job - it might be an impossible one.Looking like this.
It's proved difficult for the last 3 managers and one for the likes of Gray is a very big ask.
Now with MacKay on the scene, the Black Knights and Ian Gordon and Kensell sniffing around what kind of candidate will want the job. Being Hibs team manager can damage a persons reputation.
The guys at Hibs have made it very difficult for a credible, experienced manager to even consider the job.
This is why there is a growing concern that they will take the easy, cheap option and appoint Gray.
29-05-2024, 08:33 PM
The funny thing with me for SDG as despite not wanting him to get the job (for the many reasons I’ve said before) I actually think he’d do a pretty good job.
He really likes a switch of play which would mean Boyle etc would be able to isolate full backs more
For me, this is almost exactly the expectation / hope for next season.
We don’t go from battering through the managers with the squad we’ve got to pissing third in one step.
Much as folk might not like it - next year needs to be about consolidation and progress.
The fancy, fun stuff can follow that.
Whether that is to be with Gray or someone else is up for debate.
TrinityHFC
29-05-2024, 08:34 PM
What’s your thoughts on Gray?
Genuine question as I’ve seen some say no to Murray but want gray.
I think he probably scrubs up a bit better than Murray. He has the advantage of not having acted like a huge Hibs fan then signing for Rangers. Something I’ll never get my head around to be honest. I’m sure the job I do I could do for them too for decent money but I wouldn’t. That’s not just something that’s easy to say. It’s a fact.
I’m not sure on Gray but not against it. I think in this league trying to be too clever constantly costs us. I don’t think Gray is that daft. There’s no real guarantee whatever we do so I’m basing my preferences on daft superficial things to be honest.
29-05-2024, 08:41 PM
Looking like this.
It's proved difficult for the last 3 managers and one for the likes of Gray is a very big ask.
Now with MacKay on the scene, the Black Knights and Ian Gordon and Kensell sniffing around what kind of candidate will want the job. Being Hibs team manager can damage a persons reputation.
The guys at Hibs have made it very difficult for a credible, experienced manager to even consider the job.
This is why there is a growing concern that they will take the easy, cheap option and appoint Gray.
Far from damaging reputations most Hibs managers of recent years have had no difficulty in getting a job.
Hibees1973
29-05-2024, 08:46 PM
Far from damaging reputations most Hibs managers of recent years have had no difficulty in getting a job.
Can't think of many who are currently managers of a club any better/bigger than Hibs.
Yet you say you don't want him, strange because all these reasons sound like he's exactly the person we need for the job.
29-05-2024, 08:50 PM
Can't think of many who are currently managers of a club any better/bigger than Hibs.
More a damning endictment on the terrible appointments we’ve made than anything else.
Who among the names being floated for the next Hibs manager is a "people catcher"?
29-05-2024, 09:42 PM
Who among the names being floated for the next Hibs manager is a "people catcher"?
Doesn’t answer your question, I just want to point out that I hate that phrase. It doesn’t make any sense and doesn’t translate from German to English in terms of what it’s meant to mean I don’t think.
29-05-2024, 09:45 PM
Doesn’t answer your question, I just want to point out that I hate that phrase. It doesn’t make any sense and doesn’t translate from German to English in terms of what it’s meant to mean I don’t think.
Translates to Human catcher I think.
Ralf Rangnick described Klopp as a “menschenfänger” — a German word to describe charisma that literally means “people-catcher”
29-05-2024, 09:47 PM
Translates to Human catcher I think.
Ralf Rangnick described Klopp as a “menschenfänger” — a German word to describe charisma that literally means “people-catcher”
I think it makes sense in that it describes someone who draws people in and takes them with them on whatever journey they're going on.
Someone who is captivating, engaging, and who you world run through walls for.
Could just have called it a leader, right enough.
29-05-2024, 09:47 PM
Yet you say you don't want him, strange because all these reasons sound like he's exactly the person we need for the job.
Yes but there are also other people I think could do that job with more of a proven background.
Not that strange surely?
29-05-2024, 09:49 PM
Yes but there are also other people I think could do that job with more of a proven background.
Not that strange surely?
Without trying to sound argumentative 😁 does it matter their background if they do the same job?
Gordy M
29-05-2024, 09:49 PM
The one advantage i think Gray has over other recent managers is that he has been in and around Scottish Footbal for about 10 years. A lot of mistakes other managers have made are underestimating the game up here and signing players from League 1 and 2 in England who cant cut it up here. Id like to think Gray(and Mackay) know exactly the type of players we need and how to set up effectively.
29-05-2024, 10:08 PM
Without trying to sound argumentative 😁 does it matter their background if they do the same job?
I think it comes down to evidence and being able to back it up.
I ‘think’ Gray could do that, he might not. I also thought Monty would do well for us 🤣
The other managers I want/wanted have a proven record of doing it and I think with them the things I listed is the minimum they would get.
29-05-2024, 11:38 PM
I think it comes down to evidence and being able to back it up.
I ‘think’ Gray could do that, he might not. I also thought Monty would do well for us 🤣
The other managers I want/wanted have a proven record of doing it and I think with them the things I listed is the minimum they would get.
Every manager is a risk and it’s about risk management. Gray is a huge risk and has no track record at all. I suppose it depends hugely on what sort of players we’re going to be bringing in and in my opinion if we’re building from scratch you really don’t want a novice taking it on. I said before but appointing Gray is playing Russian Roulette, you might get lucky but it’s not really a solid strategy.
30-05-2024, 01:41 AM
Every manager is a risk and it’s about risk management. Gray is a huge risk and has no track record at all. I suppose it depends hugely on what sort of players we’re going to be bringing in and in my opinion if we’re building from scratch you really don’t want a novice taking it on. I said before but appointing Gray is playing Russian Roulette, you might get lucky but it’s not really a solid strategy.
Agreed. Can you ever imagine the Hibs Board sitting there in Feb when Monty was struggling to get a tune out off this squad saying " we'll be ok as we have Gray as a natural and obvious replacement" :greengrin Of course not, Knee-jerking from one crisis to the next is not a strategy. There appears to have been little to no pre-thought from the Board about succession planning but plenty of shoe-horning going on. IMO Gray will be a poor appointment, and the Board will hide behind the affection the fans have for him for as long as that affection holds. MSM are already running the line about Gray being the "fans favourite" for the job. I don't sense that at all, and this appears to be Hibs PR at work - preparing the ground. Was really hoping Hibs had grasped the nettle with this "review" and it was going to be root and branch.
30-05-2024, 05:28 AM
The one advantage i think Gray has over other recent managers is that he has been in and around Scottish Footbal for about 10 years. A lot of mistakes other managers have made are underestimating the game up here and signing players from League 1 and 2 in England who cant cut it up here. Id like to think Gray(and Mackay) know exactly the type of players we need and how to set up effectively.
Where did we sign Gray from?
We've signed as much pish from other Scottish teams as England.
30-05-2024, 07:30 AM
Where did we sign Gray from?
We've signed as much pish from other Scottish teams as England.
Preston NE?
30-05-2024, 07:31 AM
Preston NE?
Burton Albion
Greenworld
30-05-2024, 08:38 AM
Latest oddshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240530/a07bfe6ce9ecb0513095a9ebe65b1cc4.jpg
30-05-2024, 08:43 AM
Latest oddshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240530/a07bfe6ce9ecb0513095a9ebe65b1cc4.jpg
If genuinely DG evens is decent odds
30-05-2024, 08:45 AM
Agreed. Can you ever imagine the Hibs Board sitting there in Feb when Monty was struggling to get a tune out off this squad saying " we'll be ok as we have Gray as a natural and obvious replacement" :greengrin Of course not, Knee-jerking from one crisis to the next is not a strategy. There appears to have been little to no pre-thought from the Board about succession planning but plenty of shoe-horning going on. IMO Gray will be a poor appointment, and the Board will hide behind the affection the fans have for him for as long as that affection holds. MSM are already running the line about Gray being the "fans favourite" for the job. I don't sense that at all, and this appears to be Hibs PR at work - preparing the ground. Was really hoping Hibs had grasped the nettle with this "review" and it was going to be root and branch.
Thing is though - Gray has been spoken of as an eventual Hibs head coach / manager forever. He’s obviously been groomed for the role, with a plan in place for him to eventually get the job.
Where the plan falls down is that the past 3 managers have failed. Hibs could have done with any one of them being a relative success and sticking around for 4 years or so, then the argument for Gray taking argument might be stronger as it doesn’t feel so much like a move from a position of desperation.
I accept the argument that it may be too soon for him but I think that argument will always exist, almost no matter what he does.
30-05-2024, 08:47 AM
It's very blurred on my phone I thought said Horny Delia 👓👓👓
30-05-2024, 08:59 AM
I'd be keen to know what (if any) involvement Gray had in recruitment within his capacity as first team coach. I think of a management team as giving equal input with head coach giving full sign off but as each failed manager has brought in their dedicated "assistant" is gray there to put cones out and coach?
Given our sketchy record on players and managers post Ross. Gray strikes me as someone that should know what type of player we want to be recruiting so if he's had minimal involvement then I'm probably more comfortable giving him the job. If it's just a continuation of the last few years then I feel we should be looking externally for something different
MM also has extensive knowledge of Scottish football. So providing gray has been nowhere near signing players I'm edging towards him at this stage
Consider the amount of promotion Gray is getting on MSM and social media I'm beginning to suspect that it is a done deal and the fan base is being soften up prior to an official announcement. Doesn't excite me frankly.
30-05-2024, 09:04 AM
It's very blurred on my phone I thought said Horny Delia 👓👓👓
Ooft.
Where are ya?
30-05-2024, 09:15 AM
Like others, i'm pretty convinced it'll be Gray now. I think if we'd shown more of a spark against Livingston i'd be more keen. Is what it is though. He does come across better in front of the camera than Montgomery and Maloney and uses less bamboozling football jargon than Johnson so at least that's something. He'll get my full support. It's a massive call from a board with a honking track record so it's understandable that people are nervous about it.
NGoloGrantie
30-05-2024, 09:19 AM
Anyone know what Deilas odds were yesterday?
12-1 now 8-1. A couple of weeks ago 20-1
30-05-2024, 09:26 AM
Like others, i'm pretty convinced it'll be Gray now. I think if we'd shown more of a spark against Livingston i'd be more keen. Is what it is though. He does come across better in front of the camera than Montgomery and Maloney and uses less bamboozling football jargon than Johnson so at least that's something. He'll get my full support. It's a massive call from a board with a honking track record so it's understandable that people are nervous about it.
Am I the only one that doesn’t care much about how a manager comes across on tv?
When I think back over many years of supporting Hibs the things that stick out are players, games and winning!
Can’t really recall what the interview styles of the likes of Jock Stein, Eddie Turnbull, Bob Shankly or even Tony Mowbray were when they were at Hibs…..(certainly can for Alan Stubbs because of the cup win….but had we not won the cup probably wouldn’t).
No doubt there is footage about somewhere……but even in this digital age I don’t see their tv skills being an important factor for consideration when it comes to selecting a manager.
The ability to put a winning team on the park though…..
Donegal Hibby
30-05-2024, 09:30 AM
Gray and Deila are the only two on the list that I hope get it tbh .
I think when Ross made him a coach, the idea was Gray would learn for 3-4 seasons and possibly take over when Ross moved on but that went tits up when Ross fell out with Ron.
30-05-2024, 09:40 AM
Am I the only one that doesn’t care much about how a manager comes across on tv?
When I think back over many years of supporting Hibs the things that stick out are players, games and winning!
Can’t really recall what the interview styles of the likes of Jock Stein, Eddie Turnbull, Bob Shankly or even Tony Mowbray were when they were at Hibs…..(certainly can for Alan Stubbs because of the cup win….but had we not won the cup probably wouldn’t).
No doubt there is footage about somewhere……but even in this digital age I don’t see their tv skills being an important factor for consideration when it comes to selecting a manager.
The ability to put a winning team on the park though…..
I think it must transcend to the players though. They way managers communicate in font of the camera probably gives an indication as to what they're like with the players. Montgomery had me drifting off after about 10 seconds. Our better managers in recent years were all pretty good in front of the camera.
Greenworld
30-05-2024, 10:03 AM
12-1 now 8-1. A couple of weeks ago 20-1Yup stick a tenner on him on Monday got 20 /1 got a message we had talked to him. No idea if it's true or not but thought [emoji848] why not
30-05-2024, 10:07 AM
I think it must transcend to the players though. They way managers communicate in font of the camera probably gives an indication as to what they're like with the players. Montgomery had me drifting off after about 10 seconds. Our better managers in recent years were all pretty good in front of the camera.
Maybe aye, maybe naw.
Definitely logic in what you say, but our mate LeeJohnston was gold in front of the cameras, certainly entertainment wise, but I’m not sure that really displayed what he might have been like in communicating in the dressing room or training ground when it came to it, and where and when it mattered.
Guess it’s a subjective thing too……some lap up Donald Trump’s uttering as those of a genius while others think he’s just bonkers.
What I do know though is that I’m not the best person to decide who the best candidates are….I’m already on record as saying I don’t think it matters hugely who ends up with the poisoned chalice as regardless of who is left holding the parcel when the music stops, he or she will be emptied in a year unless we get the possibly more important recruitment right.
30-05-2024, 10:16 AM
Maybe aye, maybe naw.
Definitely logic in what you say, but our mate LeeJohnston was gold in front of the cameras, certainly entertainment wise, but I’m not sure that really displayed what he might have been like in communicating in the dressing room or training ground when it came to it, and where and when it mattered.
Guess it’s a subjective thing too……some lap up Donald Trump’s uttering as those of a genius while others think he’s just bonkers.
What I do know though is that I’m not the best person to decide who the best candidates are….I’m already on record as saying I don’t think it matters hugely who ends up with the poisoned chalice as regardless of who is left holding the parcel when the music stops, he or she will be emptied in a year unless we get the possibly more important recruitment right.
Your particularly bleak last paragraph pretty much sums up my thoughts on the situation exactly.
Gordy M
30-05-2024, 10:26 AM
Maybe aye, maybe naw.
I dont think the Hibs job is anywhere near a poisoned chalice. Any new manager will be well paid, have a decent budget and a fantastic training centre and facilities at their disposal. No one that has 'failed' at Hibs has gone on to be "out of football" afterwards. Its one of the top jobs in Scotland and lots of managers would jump at the chance. If you get it right here, as has been shown by both previous managers and players then you will move on to a bigger club. Its a great opportunity for someone.
30-05-2024, 10:45 AM
I dont think the Hibs job is anywhere near a poisoned chalice. Any new manager will be well paid, have a decent budget and a fantastic training centre and facilities at their disposal. No one that has 'failed' at Hibs has gone on to be "out of football" afterwards. Its one of the top jobs in Scotland and lots of managers would jump at the chance. If you get it right here, as has been shown by both previous managers and players then you will move on to a bigger club. Its a great opportunity for someone.
The job in general certainly shouldn’t be a poisoned chalice. There’s a lot going for it, as you say.
Right now though? The squad is howling, Foley money has raised expectations and we’re yet to see if that money leads to any sort of greater clout or whether we’re just going to have to babysit a bunch of teenagers so they can make mistakes with us before returning up the BK chain.
If I had a track record and an interest in my managerial career extending much beyond the next year, I wouldn’t be touching it with a barge pole.
Donegal Hibby
30-05-2024, 10:54 AM
Seen this , after the playoffs Murray doesn't fill me with any great confidence .
https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/raith-rovers-boss-ian-murray-rated-bookmakers-favourite-for-vacant-hibernian-managers-job-4647425
30-05-2024, 10:56 AM
I used the term in a figurative sense.
I am sure there will be many candidates.
Gordy M
30-05-2024, 11:33 AM
I used the term in a figurative sense.
I am sure there will be many candidates.
I know i replied to your post but was more a general observation, seen it a few times, who would come here, who would want this job etc......its a fantastic job and opportunity.
Gordy M
30-05-2024, 11:36 AM
The job in general certainly shouldn’t be a poisoned chalice. There’s a lot going for it, as you say.
Right now though? The squad is howling, Foley money has raised expectations and we’re yet to see if that money leads to any sort of greater clout or whether we’re just going to have to babysit a bunch of teenagers so they can make mistakes with us before returning up the BK chain.
If I had a track record and an interest in my managerial career extending much beyond the next year, I wouldn’t be touching it with a barge pole.
See this is where i disagree, i dont think the squad is howling at all, in respect of the SPL. Obv we have lost Maolida who is a huge loss but he will be replaced. This squad with a few additions is more than capable of winning games in the SPL.
If a manger has confidence in his own ability, its a great time to be manager. Just finished 8th, a budget available. Go on and improve and it will do your career no harm at all.
30-05-2024, 12:01 PM
Seen this , after the playoffs Murray doesn't fill me with any great confidence .
https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/raith-rovers-boss-ian-murray-rated-bookmakers-favourite-for-vacant-hibernian-managers-job-4647425
The bookies leave nothing to chance. He's the obvious favourite now, ex Hibs captain, had a good season. But I'd be amazed if it was him.
The 2 performances in the play offs showed me enough not to want Murray, he looked lost sitting in that dugout.
Greenworld
30-05-2024, 12:11 PM
The bookies leave nothing to chance. He's the obvious favourite now, ex Hibs captain, had a good season. But I'd be amazed if it was him.Alternative bookies this morning https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240530/9f0b8715bb274afecfe4dfc6f8054ae6.jpg
tonyrougier123
30-05-2024, 12:17 PM
Alternative bookies this morning https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240530/9f0b8715bb274afecfe4dfc6f8054ae6.jpg
Top 4 in the betting if it’s any them I’d be disappointed frankly.
Donegal Hibby
30-05-2024, 12:19 PM
I'd be amazed if he got it too and fairly disappointed in truth.
I thought Raith were poor in the playoffs particularly the first game were it looked like the game plan was more to try and not lose it than win it and as another poster said he looked lost in the dugout at times .
He just didn't look he had any plan ' B ' .
30-05-2024, 12:22 PM
I'd be amazed if he got it too and fairly disappointed in truth.
I thought Raith were poor in the playoffs particularly the first game were it looked like the game plan was more to try and not lose it than win it and as another poster said he looked lost in the dugout at times . He just didn't look he had any plan ' B ' .
Yet he has demonstrated the opposite during the season. With a (relatively) big squad, he has been able to change tactics during games. The number of late equalisers and winners bears that out.
30-05-2024, 12:23 PM
I know it’s simply just a few folk chucking a couple quid on Deila, but I’d be absolutely chuffed if it’s more than that and it’s folk ITK backing him.
tonyrougier123
30-05-2024, 12:27 PM
I know it’s simply just a few folk chucking a couple quid on Deila, but I’d be absolutely chuffed if it’s more than that and it’s folk ITK backing him.
Why the excitement about deila? He was awful at Celtic.🤷*♂️
Made hard work of it without rangers.
30-05-2024, 12:33 PM
Bit of a rubbish list but my top 5 in preference from it would be.
Neil
Deila
Murray
Gray
Kennedy
Wonder if we'll see a random name pop up? Sure Montgomery wasn't spoken about until fairly late on.
30-05-2024, 12:35 PM
His record at clubs outside of Celtic is excellent. I think he’s done his best work at smaller clubs our size. Combined with his job at Celtic, which wasn’t spectacular but it was alright, means he’s got a knowledge of Scottish football too.
He’d be a tremendous appointment I think but I suspect he’d be out of our reach.
I also think he’s a bit of a lunatic, sure it was him that did his team talk naked at half time or something because he was trying to get a bit of a spark from his team so wanted to do something that would shock them. Was something like that im sure anyway.
30-05-2024, 12:37 PM
His record at clubs outside of Celtic is excellent. I think he’s done his best work at smaller clubs our size. Combined with his job at Celtic, which wasn’t spectacular but it was alright, means he’s got a knowledge of Scottish football too.
He’d be a tremendous appointment I think but I suspect he’d be out of our reach.
I also think he’s a bit of a lunatic, sure it was him that did his team talk naked at half time or something because he was trying to get a bit of a spark from his team so wanted to do something that would shock them. Was something like that im sure anyway.
https://www.teamtalk.com/news/former-celtic-boss-strips-naked-to-inspire-his-team
30-05-2024, 12:39 PM
Exactly this. Think he’s gone on to prove he’s an excellent coach since leaving Celtic.
Think he’d love getting one over them as well if we managed to beat them.
Donegal Hibby
30-05-2024, 12:40 PM
Yet he has demonstrated the opposite during the season. With a (relatively) big squad, he has been able to change tactics during games. The number of late equalisers and winners bears that out.
Raith have had a decent season no doubt though what I saw in the play-off games , particularly the first one wasn't good.
If he has a (relatively) big squad it's probably more concerning that he never attempted to change it then when Ross county were so much on top .
Which I thought was partly down to how Raith set up for the game . Looked like they were trying and get a draw rather than win it imo .
tonyrougier123
30-05-2024, 12:50 PM
Got to be honest bingo I’m no sure where the success is other than Celtic with an astronomical budget compared to the rest. Even then the Celtic fans wanted him gone. Strmgodset he staved off relegation twice before kicking on a bit with them. Valerenga he was a wash out!
Won the mls cup with New York
Two short stints at standard leige and Brugge 🤷*♂️
Bit of a character maybe but as we need to defend better his tactics are best described as Lee Johnson esq.
Dublin07
30-05-2024, 12:53 PM
He has won 4 league titles in 3 different countries. Managed a team to the quarter finals of this seasons conference league. Although it wasn’t perfect at Celtic he won the league both seasons.
Donegal Hibby
30-05-2024, 01:01 PM
Got to be honest bingo I’m no sure where the success is other than Celtic with an astronomical budget compared to the rest. Even then the Celtic fans wanted him gone. Strmgodset he staved off relegation twice before kicking on a bit with them. Valerenga he was a wash out!
Won the mls cup with New York
Two short stints at standard leige and Brugge *♂️
Bit of a character maybe but as we need to defend better his tactics are best described as Lee Johnson esq.
I think as bingo said he would be out of our reach though I think of all the names mentioned lately he's by far the best .
A manager with a 50% win rate that's never dropped below 40% I'd be happy with.
Put this up before , worth looking at .
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ronny_Deila
https://youtu.be/Kdmt6XHK2fE?si=EOE7f7pUrBSOwrXX
30-05-2024, 01:04 PM
See this is where i disagree, i dont think the squad is howling at all, in respect of the SPL. Obv we have lost Maolida who is a huge loss but he will be replaced. This squad with a few additions is more than capable of winning games in the SPL.
If a manger has confidence in his own ability, its a great time to be manager. Just finished 8th, a budget available. Go on and improve and it will do your career no harm at all.
Fair enough.
But as I see it - we're definitely needing a goalkeeper and a couple of centre halves. We've got a couple of fullbacks who are tolerable but who can't defend. We've got Joe "more Rose Royce than Rolls Royce" Newell who will need to start and NMW who are probably ok. Marcondes role needs filled, as does the Maolida / Youan one. We need a new striker and we either need to get more out of Boyle or replace him too. That's before you get onto the piles of garbage that shouldn't come into consideration.
Any new man will be forgiven for trying to get a tune out of Campbell, JDH, Vente and the like but realistically that will only be for a while until they can be replaced.
I think it's a squad that could easily get relegated if we have a "usual" summer window and get the head coach decision wrong.
If I was a decent head coach, knowing I'd get the blame if it went tits up, knowing the likelihood of that happening - I wouldn't be touching it.
The players I'd have deemed worth keeping from our squad have either been freed or decided not to return after loan.
It's a million miles (and more than 2 transfer windows) from being a top 4 squad - and that will be the expectation.
30-05-2024, 01:47 PM
Maybe it's not too late to get Monty back?
30-05-2024, 01:48 PM
Football coaches tend to have big egos.They couldn’t do the job otherwise. Anybody coming here has a no lose situation. Instead of being like Collins who was said to have won a trophy with what plenty on here said was Mowbray’s team he will be stepping into a situation which is commonly described as rock bottom.Plenty kudos if there is improvement-impossible task if there isn’t.
30-05-2024, 02:04 PM
It's Gray
Blaikie with Johnny Dexter as assistant
30-05-2024, 02:05 PM
Football coaches tend to have big egos.They couldn’t do the job otherwise. Anybody coming here has a no lose situation. Instead of being like Collins who was said to have won a trophy with what plenty on here said was Mowbray’s team he will be stepping into a situation which is commonly described as rock bottom.Plenty kudos if there is improvement-impossible task if there isn’t.
Mowbray would have bottled it, JC was the man we needed in charge to win that game, such a wonderful day at Hampden all round. Ah the good old days 😁
davhibby
30-05-2024, 02:11 PM
The main reason Deila struggled a bit at Celtic was that some of the senior players (Commons etc) didn’t like him coming in and trying to tell them what they should be eating and seen him as a bit of a rookie coming from Norway. So he was in a difficult position from the off. He’s gone on and done well at clubs of our level and higher since so there certainly wouldn’t be any issues around him commanding the respect of the players.
30-05-2024, 02:13 PM
The main reason Deila struggled a bit at Celtic was that some of the senior players (Commons etc) didn’t like him coming in and trying to tell them what they should be eating and seen him as a bit of a rookie coming from Norway. So he was in a difficult position from the off. He’s gone on and done well at clubs of our level and higher since so there certainly wouldn’t be any issues around him commanding the respect of the players.
And we know Commons was a bit of a twat. He would be a very good appointment
Hibiza
30-05-2024, 03:42 PM
Our recent transfer windows have seen us sign more " Seagull Catchers and Seagull chasers " . unfortunately.
swin82
30-05-2024, 03:50 PM
Theres only one person on that list thats the absolute standout and i wanted all along and thats alex neil! absolute no brainer to go for him 🙏
30-05-2024, 03:53 PM
Top 4 in the betting if it’s any them I’d be disappointed frankly.
Disappointed if it's Ronny Deila 🤷*♂️Id be delighted if he gets the job
Opinions eh 😁
JimmyJazz1875
30-05-2024, 04:38 PM
I don't know where the Albert Capellas link has come from, but sign me up for that.
I always try to think about who should be the new manager by trying to picture myself as a player. Would I want to listen and learn from them? Jack Ross? Aye, probably. Lennon? Aye, you may not like the guy but he demanded respect. Mowbray? Definitely. Lee Johnson or Calderwood? Not a chance. I think that is what MM is getting at with his 'people catcher' chat.
Capella's video interviews on YouTube talking about player scouting, football philosophy, youth development and his time with Barcelona are all quite impressive. He seems to have that really underrated ability to explain quite complicated concepts in an easy to grasp way.
It's probably just a made up name that some punter has stuck a couple of quid on or a random name plucked by the bookies just because he's currently out of work, but I'd be happy with Capellas getting the gig.
30-05-2024, 05:09 PM
get that Xavi dude in :agree:
Bridge hibs
30-05-2024, 05:20 PM
It's Gray
Blaikie with Johnny Dexter as assistantIts Gray with the experienced Billy Brown as assistant
30-05-2024, 05:31 PM
If it is a local manager then it makes a mockery of Black Knights talk of Europe
It should be someone with experience of group stage European football
Steve Austin
30-05-2024, 05:43 PM
Its Gray with the experienced Billy Brown as assistant
John Kennedy would be a good shout ?
seems highly thought of ,we have considered him before I believe at boardroom level.
Would have us playing good stuff and has been schooled by some top managers at Celtic too.
knows Scottish football etc..
30-05-2024, 07:04 PM
Its Gray with the experienced Billy Brown as assistant
Good news. Billy Browns ‘been places’.
30-05-2024, 07:06 PM
Good news. Billy Browns ‘been places’.
And done hings
30-05-2024, 07:09 PM