View Full Version : Next Manager?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15

05-06-2024, 04:11 PM
What makes him worse than Stubbs, Mowbray or Collins?

Maloney was a ridiculous appointment, no doubt. Gray can't be worse than him.

Gray will probably do fine. Folk pissing themselves about relegation are being ridiculous.

He knows the club, knows the league, and will be desperate to succeed.

I'll be delighted if it's Gray.

The relegation stuff though - we have a ropey squad and have had questionable recruitment for a few years. We've known for a while that this is going to be a huge window for us. The main reason in favour of Gray is that he's in the best position possible to figure out EARLY what can be done with who we already have signed and who needs emptied.

Imo the current squad has the makings of a relegation squad if we piss about with clean slates for everyone, bring in someone who knows nowt about Scottish football or if we get the recruitment badly wrong.

The risk of that happening reduces if it's Gray, even allowing for the fact that he's a rookie who is going to make mistakes through lack of experience along the way.

I don't agree appointing DG looks like a bad decision on paper, in retrospect or otherwise.
If the promotion from within option is ever worth a go then, as far as DG is concerned, now is probably the time to give it a try.
There are various pros and cons to consider - he obviously ticks a lot of boxes in terms of knowing the squad, club and league inside out. He also seems to have a great rep within the game as a promising coach.
Against that are various inponderables that we will never know until he has a go at it - ability to spot the right kind of player and build a team; inspirational qualities; tactical nous; playing style.
Gray himself is confident he can do the job and make a good fist of it - if he's able to convince McKay et Al of the same then bring it on!

Does he, apart from McGeady talking him up I've not heard anyone speaking about him, although that could be down to me not listening much? :greengrin

What makes him worse than Stubbs, Mowbray or Collins?

Maloney was a ridiculous appointment, no doubt. Gray can't be worse than him.

Gray will probably do fine. Folk pissing themselves about relegation are being ridiculous.

He knows the club, knows the league, and will be desperate to succeed.

His win percentage to date at Hibs is 41.64%. (12 games in charge)

Even if he doesn’t improve on that it’s more than plenty to secure top 6 at a minimum and still be in the euro mix. He has a good base to build from.

05-06-2024, 04:15 PM

Even if he doesn’t improve on that it’s more than plenty to secure top 6 at a minimum and still be in the euro mix. He has a good base to build from.

Yep. If he wins over 40% of matches next season , it would be excellent. Especially important to remember he's usually taking over a shambles.

05-06-2024, 04:17 PM
When any of the players are asked who they want for Manager, they all say SDG.
That's enough reason for me not to give him the job.
I wouldn't trust this group of wage thieves in the slightest.

What do you expect them to say ? Point me to an article where any players have come out and said they don’t want someone appointed as a manager. Just one will do.

05-06-2024, 04:19 PM
Does he, apart from McGeady talking him up I've not heard anyone speaking about him, although that could be down to me not listening much? :greengrin

Maloney wanted him at Wigan, Mathie at Ayr. Must have been doing something right..

jamie_1875
05-06-2024, 04:20 PM
Gray confirmed.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c0kk097wg50o

babahibs
05-06-2024, 04:22 PM
John Doolans not leaving a managers job to come and be David Grays assistant.

You sure about that?

05-06-2024, 04:24 PM

Not sure you can read too much into that win % based on such a small sample. He’s never managed a league game against a top 6 side. In the 10 league games he’s managed, they’ve all been against teams who were in the bottom 6. He won 5 of those games, with 4 of those wins coming against teams who were in the bottom 3 at the time. Likewise, his only games against non-bottom 6 sides was against Celtic and Villa so not fair to use those as a basis to judge him on.

05-06-2024, 04:24 PM
Gray confirmed.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c0kk097wg50o

What does agreed in principle mean? Strange way to report it.

Is there still things to conclude before he’s our actual head coach?

05-06-2024, 04:26 PM

Needs to return from holiday to finalise the contract presumably.

Doesn't fill me with confidence. But I do think Gray's management style - we have yet to see what that is - will be more doing the basics well and not trying to over complicate the game.

You can see from a short sample size that when guys like Maloney and NM leave that try to really change the style, the very next game back to basics the players are free'd up and we see immediate improvement.

Ultimately our recruitment is going to be absolutely vital. Big overhaul needed, and it needs to be guys coming in immediately to the starting line-up. We can't afford to be bringing in players that we very quickly discover aren't up to it.

Good post regarding the basics etc

Recruitment will be vital, hopefully SDG don't mess about and clear some of the deadwood.

We've all kinda knew it was going to be SDG, Good luck and I look forward to the new season.

Assuming its meaning his backroom staff and Joe Newell’s new 5 year deal :duck:

Wonder if it means he’s agreed to take it but just needs to be signed. He’s not in country just now is he?

05-06-2024, 04:27 PM

Waiting on Klopp being confirmed as his assistant

05-06-2024, 04:29 PM

McGeady also talks nonsense and thinks he’s always in the right.

By the sounds of it he’d moan to SDG about stuff and he would agree. Was the SDG’s genuine beliefs or just to appease McGeady?

McGeady also slagged Johnson a couple of times despite knowing exactly what type of person/manager he was from his time at Sunderland.

swin82
05-06-2024, 04:32 PM
Possibly trying to copy hearts with naismith?? who knows how this will work out, i would have preferred an experienced head to sort this out but in a way thats why malky was brought in. I am on the fence with it but like all his many predecessors he will get my backing🇳🇬

05-06-2024, 04:34 PM
This will be a massive ****ing disaster. Really hope I'm proved wrong mind.

05-06-2024, 04:35 PM
I strangely feel far more content and confident about this than I did when Montgomery was appointed.

DIXIHIBS
05-06-2024, 04:37 PM

FFS is that the best you've got...why even bother.

eliburnhibees
05-06-2024, 04:38 PM

I agree think we might struggle to get top players in with a rookie manager

05-06-2024, 04:39 PM
Possibly trying to copy hearts with naismith?? who knows how this will work out, i would have preferred an experienced head to sort this out but in a way thats why malky was brought in. I am on the fence with it but like all his many predecessors he will get my backing🇳🇬

Yea I’m sure hearts are the only club who’ve ever done it ever

05-06-2024, 04:40 PM

We don’t need top players, we just need hard working players

I'm glad that is one thing sorted and he will know the players to keep and the ones to move on. I hope he gets the backing to be able to cull the squad, while adding quality.

My reservation about the appointment is not about the man in charge, but about the squad of players he will have to work with. I doubt any manager in our price range could get a tune out of the players we have at the moment. We really need more guys with the committment of Stevenson and Hanlon, coupled with the talents of Maolida. We have to be ruthless with the guys who are not up to the levels we need. We need guys not unlike Gray himself, maybe not the most gifted of footballers, but a grafter prepared to fight for the cause.

Exactly. What like not have an interview process then the farce that followed. **** them!

eliburnhibees
05-06-2024, 04:41 PM

We need both

05-06-2024, 04:41 PM

Really?

Gruff
05-06-2024, 04:47 PM
The appointment of SDG, if confirmed, comes with a lot pressure on both Gray and the board.
Gray has the advantage over a manager coming in in that he knows the players inside out and i hope he uses that knowledge to full effect and empties a fair few of them and he also addresses the defence issue as his first priority.
The pre season and cup games will give us a rough idea of what tactics/formations he will favour.
Its a tough first gig and although hes been in the seat before, its been under very different circumstances and steadying the ship was his remit after 3 managers who had lost the plot, so leeway was given.
Its different this time and one i hope bears much fruit

swin82
05-06-2024, 04:48 PM

Name another club thats done it in the league recently?

eliburnhibees
05-06-2024, 04:48 PM
Really?

You think different great player for us but think it is the wrong time for an inexperienced manager

05-06-2024, 04:49 PM

Nothing to with copying hearts :hmmm:

05-06-2024, 04:50 PM
How long is his contract for? Sorry if I've missed it

05-06-2024, 04:53 PM
Marcondes was proof that we need someone in who understands the league and is suited to it. Clearly has played at a much higher level but largely ineffectual with us .

Chorley Hibee
05-06-2024, 04:55 PM
I think this is the wrong appointment, and I'm disappointed in Mackay, the board (yet again) and the Black Knights if this is what the in depth review has brought us.

Make no mistake, if this goes tits up, then it's them that support are coming for this time.

Good luck, David.

I think you'll need it.

05-06-2024, 04:55 PM

Possibly trying to copy Real Madrid with Zidane?

05-06-2024, 05:01 PM
I think this is the wrong appointment, and I'm disappointed in Mackay, the board (yet again) and the Black Knights if this is what the in depth review has brought us.

Make no mistake, if this goes tits up, then it's them that support are coming for this time.

Good luck, David.

I think you'll need it.

That's the game. You sound like you want this to fail.

05-06-2024, 05:02 PM
On the BBC Scotland website he has been offered the job in principal and is deciding his assistant

05-06-2024, 05:04 PM
Oh dear, I fear that this is yet another strategic mistake from the same people who brought us all the previous ones. We desperately needed someone with some authority, steel and experience. We seem instead to have the kind of appointee that our failed CEO and dismal owner would be comfortable with.

Has the club announced the outcome of its review yet?

05-06-2024, 05:06 PM

Good luck, David.

I think you'll need it.
:agree: SDG will get every Hibby supporter backing from the get go, what worries me is the depth of clearcut needed for him to make a success of it and will he get the time from the club and support.

All the best David because with the set of duds you are inheriting they are going to get you the tin tack if you can't sort them out. I actually feel sorry for him as I think this is too big a step up for him too quickly but you'll alway get my full support.

05-06-2024, 05:07 PM

Sounds to me more like he's seen this movie several times before...

05-06-2024, 05:08 PM
None of us want it to fail Brooster just being realistic. Has David got the experience and self belief to make this work ? I sure hope so.

Donegal Hibby

Gray being our manager won't effect the quality of players we bring in , just like it didn't when Monty was manager when we signed Maolida and Marcondes .

Chorley Hibee

Yes, as a season ticket holder, who follow Hibs home and away every week, at the cost of thousands of pounds a year, I'm naturally wanting this to fail.

Or, might it just be that I don't trust this board/owner to run a bath, never mind a football club, and that their past record suggests they've not got a clue.

Now we've got another rookie manager who wouldn't have got anywhere near this position with any club other than Hibs.

I want, and hope, that he's a massive success, and we can all look back on this moment as the start of change for the better.

Don't be surprised by folk having scepticism though, and with ample reason to be concerned as well.

05-06-2024, 05:10 PM
Oh dear, I fear that this is yet another strategic mistake from the same people who brought us all the previous ones. We desperately needed someone with some authority, steel and experience. We seem instead to have the kind of appointee that our failed CEO and dismal owner would be comfortable with.

Has the club announced the outcome of its review yet?

The list of potential candidates wasn’t really awash with such people.

Once it was clear McInnes wasn’t going to leave Kilmarnock then Gray became the most obvious choice when other names were added to that rather lame looking list.

05-06-2024, 05:11 PM
I still can’t make my mind up on Gray.

I can see positives in it but I’m not convinced. As soon as McKay was appointed I thought there was a more than fair chance he’d get it. Hopefully it’s just done and announced sooner rather than later and him and McKay can get to work.

05-06-2024, 05:11 PM
You think different great player for us but think it is the wrong time for an inexperienced manager

I don't think he will struggle to attract players to the club.

05-06-2024, 05:13 PM
Good. Congratulations David and all the best.

Now for some players..

Ricky Bobby
05-06-2024, 05:15 PM
How exactly are they wage thieves?

Do you believe that the players have putting in the required effort?
If so, you haven't been watching the same team as me.
I was at Dingwall watching Simon Murray work harder than our first 11 combined.

05-06-2024, 05:16 PM
Do you believe that the players have putting in the required effort?
If so, you haven't been watching the same team as me.
I was at Dingwall watching Simon Murray work harder than our first 11 combined.

Maybe they should have asked Simon Murray who to give the hibs job to then?

05-06-2024, 05:17 PM
Yes, as a season ticket holder, who follow Hibs home and away every week, at the cost of thousands of pounds a year, I'm naturally wanting this to fail.

Or, might it just be that I don't trust this board/owner to run a bath, never mind a football club, and that their past record suggests they've not got a clue.

Now we've got another rookie manager who wouldn't have got anywhere near this position with any club other than Hibs.

I want, and hope, that he's a massive success, and we can all look back on this moment as the start of change for the better.

Don't be surprised by folk having scepticism though, and with ample reason to be concerned as well.

If there's one thing that Hibs have consistently demonstrated in recent years it is this.

I think they will ALWAYS go for a relatively tame managerial option who they feel they can control and who will not have the managerial pedigree to be a challenge to them. The best leaders in any walk of life want to appoint people who are as good as or better than them and who will constructively challenge them. This lot want the opposite of that, because they are not good leaders, they are defensive and they put control before ambition.

I hope David Gray somehow erupts out of his own ribcage in success and authority terms and scares the **** out of them. Phasers currently set to underwhelmed however.

05-06-2024, 05:18 PM

Good luck, David.

I think you'll need it.

No offence mate and you are entitled to your opinion about him being the wrong appointment, but we appointed Maloney, Johnson and Monty, all varying degrees of disasters and bar a bit of moaning on social media the supporters did F all. If SDG doesn’t work out then I expect the same. Where I will have an issue with the club is if we appoint him and don’t back him properly and by that I don’t necessarily mean chucking money at signings.

What I would say is whoever we appoints it is a gamble. Personally I’d rather take a gamble on someone who knows the club, knows Scottish football and in his short spells as manager has done a decent job.

05-06-2024, 05:19 PM

Once it was clear McInnes wasn’t going to leave Kilmarnock then Gray became the most obvious choice when other names were added to that rather lame looking list.

Yes, well, if you start out unambitious even your best outcome isn't going to rise above where you were aiming at the beginning...

sauzeelegod
05-06-2024, 05:21 PM
All the best Sir David. 🇳🇬

Chorley Hibee
05-06-2024, 05:22 PM
No offence mate and you are entitled to your opinion about him being the wrong appointment, but we appointed Maloney, Johnson and Monty, all varying degrees of disasters and bar a bit of moaning on social media the supporters did F all. If SDG doesn’t work out then I expect the same. Where I will have an issue with the club is if we appoint him and don’t back him properly and by that I don’t necessarily mean chucking money at signings.

What I would say is whoever we appoints it is a gamble. Personally I’d rather take a gamble on someone who knows the club, knows Scottish football and in his short spells as manager has done a decent job.

The difference being is that the previous managers didn't have the attachment that David Gray has with the support.

I worry he'll be hung out to dry.

Ricky Bobby
05-06-2024, 05:24 PM
Maybe they should have asked Simon Murray who to give the hibs job to then?

Maybe they should, they certainly aren't listening to the fans.

05-06-2024, 05:24 PM
Be interesting to hear if Johnson Monty wanted Gray as part of the coaching team

eliburnhibees
05-06-2024, 05:25 PM
I don't think he will struggle to attract players to the club.

Only time will tell there I hope he does but not so sure

05-06-2024, 05:26 PM
The difference being is that the previous managers didn't have the attachment that David Gray with the support.

I worry he'll be hung out to dry.

And if that happens then I’d agree with you they deserve all that comes their way, however I’m not giving them a hard time for his appointment in the first place. Though I’m happy with the decision, certainly much happier than with the last 3.

05-06-2024, 05:26 PM
Although I don’t think this is the right time for either Hibs or David Gray it looks like that’s where we are. Will be100% behind him and can only hope we’ve backed a winner even though it looks a bit of an outside bet at this point. Best of luck to him, he’ll certainly need a bit of that plus a few decent signings. 🇳🇬🇳🇬

05-06-2024, 05:27 PM
Possibly trying to copy Real Madrid with Zidane?

It seems the more thing to do recently…

Think England and there are various other club sides who promote from within.

In reality it does make sense understanding how a club operates rather than learning everything and taking time to do so.

What I do know is some clubs really plan for the future and even ask the current manager who should replace them if they move on / leave in future which helps with succession planning.

The big question is will he be a suit or tracksuit head coach? Thinking he will be more of the Jack Ross style.

I’m also curious to see what happens after Hibs with Gray - say he does well - would he be keen for a championship team or someone like Sunderland etc.

I’m looking forward to Gray v Naismith though. If Naismith keeps improving he will be moving to another club sooner rather than later ( Rangers??!). Will be hard for him to follow up this seasons points tally.

ElginHibbie
05-06-2024, 05:28 PM
The big question is will he be a suit or tracksuit head coach? Thinking he will be more of the Jack Ross style.

Finally someone getting to the real stuff

05-06-2024, 05:28 PM
I'm a lot happier with Gray just now than I was with the appointment of Calderwood, Heckingbottom or Johnson at the time.

05-06-2024, 05:31 PM
I'm a lot happier with Gray just now than I was with the appointment of Calderwood, Heckingbottom or Johnson at the time.

Yeah that’s a fair point.

It’s either going to be brilliant or a complete disaster !

Silky
05-06-2024, 05:32 PM

Good luck, David.

I think you'll need it.

I have no knowledge of the inner workings of the club, no contacts within it and have never been privy to what happens on a daily basis within East Mains.

From my standpoint of knowing sod all, I ask why the appointment is wrong? I've read many comments like that but seen no credible evidence to back up those claims, yet over the many years I've followed Hibs I've seen plenty "experienced" managers and coaches make a complete arse of it.

Some of the best football I've seen at Easter Road was played under a rookie manager in Mowbray and another inexperienced manager won us the Scottish Cup.

When I look at that and compare it to the disaster left by Lennon and then Johnson, I struggle even more to see how it is "wrong" to give it to Gray.

05-06-2024, 05:36 PM
I have no knowledge of the inner workings of the club, no contacts within it and have never been privy to what happens on a daily basis within East Mains.

From my standpoint of knowing sod all, I ask why the appointment is wrong? I've read many comments like that but seen no credible evidence to back up those claims, yet over the many years I've followed Hibs I've seen plenty "experienced" managers and coaches make a complete arse of it.

Some of the best football I've seen at Easter Road was played under a rookie manager in Mowbray and another inexperienced manager won us the Scottish Cup.

When I look at that and compare it to the disaster left by Lennon and then Johnson, I struggle even more to see how it is "wrong" to give it to Gray.

Good post. I think he’ll do well. Others don’t. The point is none of us actually know.

05-06-2024, 05:39 PM
Personally thought it’s the wrong time for SDG to be appointed, but if he is, then he will get my full backing and support, no other ex player would you want to do well and be successful at Hibs as much as SDG, a Leader and all round good guy

ElginHibbie
05-06-2024, 05:39 PM
Not sure he'd have been my first choice, but with the new structure and having Mackay above him I am optimistic this could work out quite well

The first couple of signings will be the real test of what level the club is aiming for rather than this appointment imho

Donegal Hibby
05-06-2024, 05:40 PM
I remember when Monty left , Gray spoke about defensively we needed to tighten up and described
" the non-negotiable's" he would/will demand from the players revealing....

"That's 100% effort and commitment all the time whether that's sprinting back or sprinting forwards. And just a collective team performance where everyone is doing everything they possibly can to make sure that your harder to beat .

As I said before I think we are going to be more organised , probably more hard working under Gray than previous manager's. With the right recruitment of players next hopefully there are better times ahead now .

05-06-2024, 05:42 PM

Once it was clear McInnes wasn’t going to leave Kilmarnock then Gray became the most obvious choice when other names were added to that rather lame looking list.I don't agree at all? Why did grey become the obvious choice as soon as it wasn't McInnes?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

05-06-2024, 05:43 PM
Good post. I think he’ll do well. Others don’t. The point is none of us actually know.

Agree with your last sentence.

We could appoint Klopp but it might not work out as he’s used to working with a higher calibre of player.

Normal for everyone to have an opinion but it means nothing really other than a potential ‘I told you so’ in a few months time.

You’ve maybe noticed my reservations in previous posts but I’m looking forward to seeing who we sign now.

05-06-2024, 05:44 PM
grey

ltyf

05-06-2024, 05:46 PM
ltyfApologies

Sir Davide Grey

[emoji23]

05-06-2024, 06:06 PM

That's not true, they also have to entertain some folk more than others and get results, until results go bad and then they want results at any cost.

one day maybe...
05-06-2024, 06:06 PM
Good luck Sir David Gray… Like every manager of Hibs you get my backing.. Time for hero’s 🇳🇬

05-06-2024, 06:07 PM

I will be one of the sceptics, nae experience and couldnae even get oor defence tae stop leaking goals last season.
I hope he does well but ah huv ma doots.

05-06-2024, 06:07 PM
Agree with your last sentence.

We could appoint Klopp but it might not work out as he’s used to working with a higher calibre of player.

Normal for everyone to have an opinion but it means nothing really other than a potential ‘I told you so’ in a few months time.

You’ve maybe noticed my reservations in previous posts but I’m looking forward to seeing who we sign now.

Hadn’t noticed that mate 😜

hibeerealist
05-06-2024, 06:09 PM
I really did not expect SDG to get the gig, I thought the BK'S would be heavily involved and provide a coach, however, if they and MM believe SDG is the right man for the job then I am 100% behind that.

Was not keen on Johnson or NM appointments before they even got underway and felt underwhelmed, I don't feel that way over SDG a legend who gets the club and the support.

OK SDG give it your best!!

05-06-2024, 06:12 PM
I will be one of the sceptics, nae experience and couldnae even get oor defence tae stop leaking goals last season.
I hope he does well but ah huv ma doots.

Was coaching our defence his responsibility ? Asking for a friend.

Paul1642
05-06-2024, 06:16 PM
I had my reservations . I’m over them now he’s confirmed.

With Malky Mackay and an experienced assistant (Doolan), he’s got the support around him to take a good crack at it. We know he’s a leader which we have lacked on and off the pitch for a while.

The squad aren’t half as bad as last season made them look and under a good manager should easy have achieved top 6. A few good signings and Gray’s job isn’t as hard as some on here are making it out to be.

Europe here we come 🎉

05-06-2024, 06:17 PM
When Johnson was appointed, Jon Dahl Tomasson was the ambitious candidate

This summer McInnes & Deila were the ambitious choices

The Black Knights need a new motto:

Lads, you get what you pay for

tug.lismore
05-06-2024, 06:17 PM
I really did not expect SDG to get the gig, I thought the BK'S would be heavily involved and provide a coach, however, if they and MM believe SDG is the right man for the job then I am 100% behind that.

Was not keen on Johnson or NM appointments before they even got underway and felt underwhelmed, I don't feel that way over SDG a legend who gets the club and the support.

OK SDG give it your best!!A lot rests on the player recruitment over the summer. And the coaching team that are brought in to support him.

With a proper DoF in place then SDG should be able to get on with preparation of the team with some guidance from Malky Mackay.

However, we need to see a significant upturn in the quality of the squad and the vision of how the team plays.

I have no idea if SDG is the man for the job. Good luck to him. Time will tell.

Sent from my 2312DRA50G using Tapatalk

05-06-2024, 06:18 PM
I had my reservations . I’m over them now he’s confirmed.

With Malky Mackay and an experienced assistant (Doolan), he’s got the support around him to take a good crack at it. We know he’s a leader which we have lacked on and off the pitch for a while.

The squad aren’t half as bad as last season made them look and under a good manager should easy have achieved top 6. A few good signings and Gray’s job isn’t as hard as some on here are making it out to be.

Europe here we come 🎉

Where is it confirmed and that Doolan is assistant? Can't see it.

Paul1642
05-06-2024, 06:19 PM
Where is it confirmed and that Doolan is assistant? Can't see it.

It’s not. Wishful thinking from me, although I do think it could happen.

Trinity Hibee
05-06-2024, 06:23 PM
A bit surprised but will get behind him.

Recruitment is the big task so as a club we need to get that right to give SDG the best chance

05-06-2024, 06:24 PM

Nope

05-06-2024, 06:31 PM
It’s not. Wishful thinking from me, although I do think it could happen.

Doolan has just signed a three year deal with Accrington Stanley as Manager

kentao
05-06-2024, 06:37 PM
I Think the board have made an arse of the whole situation. If they sacked Monty when he failed to get top 6 it would have gave them a chance to see if SDG could be the right man for the job. It would have also allowed us to look at other candidates and maybe get someone in with 2 or 3 games to go so they could assess the squad and plan for the future.

Appointing an outsider to our league now would require more time for him to settle and figure out what's needed for playing in this league and recruiting the right players which may have led to a poor start to the season then playing catch up in January.

Since we missed out on McInnes and Robinson SDG is probably the best suited for the role with our circumstances. He knows the league as a player and seen lots of different players brought in with differing success at the club through his coaching role. He should know our strengths and weakness` from the current crop of players so hopefully he can make massive improvements on that front.

With a club legend like him at the helm i don't think the players would be able to down tools when they fancy a change of manager. As the fans wont be wanting SDG emptied but those at the top.

I feel this season we are going to have to be patient and maybe lower our expectations from top 4 to top 6 and allow SDG to build from there. (Hoping i`m talking out my arse and we romp 1st).

Really looking forward to the new season and hopeful SDG can put his stamp on the team and instil some of his fight, passion and determination into a hard working attacking team.

05-06-2024, 06:40 PM
Doolan has just signed a three year deal with Accrington Stanley as Manager

Who are they?

05-06-2024, 06:42 PM
Nope

I know that, just no matter how many times it’s pointed out you can always rely on someone blaming him for our poor defending.

05-06-2024, 06:44 PM
Wasn’t David gray responsible for our poor defending

pollution
05-06-2024, 06:45 PM
I feel completely underwhelmed, but good luck to him.

05-06-2024, 06:46 PM

tonyrougier123
05-06-2024, 06:47 PM
Folk are going to need to be patient,if we get off to a flying start it’ll be an achievement tbh

05-06-2024, 06:48 PM
I have no knowledge of how good Gray was as a coach. I doubt many on here do either. We just have to hope it’s positive. He does know the club though and the league.
The key to his success or failure will be in player recruitment. If he gets that right then he has a good chance of success. Even average managers can do well if they have good players. Think Alan Stubbs.

Silky
05-06-2024, 06:49 PM

No. He retired. Hasn't played for years.

05-06-2024, 06:54 PM
I feel completely underwhelmed, but good luck to him.

You're probably saying exactly what most Hibs supporters feel. The appointment screams out to me that MM is basically our Manager and he will call all the shots. Gary's roll will be coaching the players.

It's all a question of whether you have confidence in MM turning around our fortunes.

I'm not convinced at all, but will back them both to the hilt and hope for the best, as ever.

05-06-2024, 06:57 PM
Well as they used to say on Eastenders

“What’s done is done - let’s have a nice cup of tea”

All the best to SDG - hope it works oot

05-06-2024, 06:57 PM
I have no knowledge of how good Gray was as a coach. I doubt many on here do either. We just have to hope it’s positive. He does know the club though and the league.
The key to his success or failure will be in player recruitment. If he gets that right then he has a good chance of success. Even average managers can do well if they have good players. Think Alan Stubbs.

The bit about recruitment is spot on. My only concern with this is we have quite a few substandard players on good wages and lengthy contracts which could hamper more ins.

I’m hoping that MM can work some magic and move on a fair few….. well loads tbh. This would assist freeing up wages and squad places for new players.

05-06-2024, 06:58 PM
The meltdown should be interesting after his first defeat

hibbie02
05-06-2024, 07:03 PM
You're probably saying exactly what most Hibs supporters feel. The appointment screams out to me that MM is basically our Manager and he will call all the shots. Gary's roll will be coaching the players.

It's all a question of whether you have confidence in MM turning around our fortunes.

I'm not convinced at all, but will back them both to the hilt and hope for the best, as ever.

Agreed. If that is how it is going to work, I’m fine with that. Coaching staff are critical.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

05-06-2024, 07:04 PM
I'm fine with the decision to appoint Gray.

He wasn't handed the permanent position for sentimental reasons immediately after Montgomery was sacked but instead came through an interview process featuring two of the Black Knights who were only interested in what he can do for us next season and not what he did in 2016.

But as a fan, that goal means I want him to succeed even more than I do every Hibs manager.

DinkyTwo
05-06-2024, 07:04 PM
Happy with the appointment, when it happens.

Will be amazing to have the entire home end chant David, David Gray as he leads the team out as manager.

Romanticism aside, I think he's a good shout to set us up sensibly and with a few new additions we'll be close to or even in the European spots end of next season.

If he can build from there with a united support, who knows what we'll achieve.

05-06-2024, 07:07 PM
I think thankfully for us as our club seems/is called a mess etc from alot of people that it might help moving players on.

Some players might just think they don’t want to be any part of us anymore and move on.

05-06-2024, 07:07 PM
I Think the board have made an arse of the whole situation. If they sacked Monty when he failed to get top 6 it would have gave them a chance to see if SDG could be the right man for the job. It would have also allowed us to look at other candidates and maybe get someone in with 2 or 3 games to go so they could assess the squad and plan for the future.

Think this is a fair point - they should have really given him the final 5 games and see what he could have done.

I get the clean slate chat but would have still made more sense.

It seems right now the board seems to do the opposite of what many people think so I hold my breath with recruitment as until we improve the spine of the team and add players we need - we won’t improve. ..hopefully this summer we see what we need.

05-06-2024, 07:08 PM
Looks like it's a done deal now. I'm pretty relaxed by the decision.

It looks like we're going back to the Dempster days of a DoF with head coach. I'm not particularly happy about MacKay as DoF - but his role is to provide the experience and structure for the coaches to get on with coaching. Under this structure there's no need for an 'experienced' assistant.

It's a structure I generally support as it allows the club to develop a football style and culture regardless of playing and coaching staff who change frequently. A bit like Liverpool in the 70s/80s where they seamlessly changed managers all from within the coaching staff of the club.

05-06-2024, 07:09 PM
Folk are going to need to be patient,if we get off to a flying start it’ll be an achievement tbhThere no chance folk will be patient

He will get some leeway but if signs of improvement arnt happening quite quickly the rumbles will start - like I said earlier, won't surprise me if thats initially aimed at MM instead of SDG

The Tubs
05-06-2024, 07:12 PM

This coaching will involve picking the team, tactics and getting the players to focus on winning games. That's going to have a bigger impact on our results than almost anything Malky does, except for possibly bringing in top quality players.

05-06-2024, 07:14 PM
I think thankfully for us as our club seems/is called a mess etc from alot of people that it might help moving players on.

Some players might just think they don’t want to be any part of us anymore and move on.

We can live and hope.

I am hoping that quite a few will feel this way however I think those that are on longer contracts and more than likely very good wages may want to hang about.

Mikey_1875
05-06-2024, 07:14 PM
I feel this season we are going to have to be patient and maybe lower our expectations from top 4 to top 6 and allow SDG to build from there. (Hoping i`m talking out my arse and we romp 1st).

This type of narrative creeping in is one of the main concerns of SDG getting the gig. If he is appointed on merit then why are we lowering our expectations? Is it unreasonable to expect a team that can finish above St Mirren and Killie? We have seen with other sides that it doesn’t take much to propel up the league table.

SDG will not be going in with that attitude which is at least something and I understand he will deservedly be given more patience initially due to his status at the club. I don’t see why we need to be lowering our expectations though.

05-06-2024, 07:15 PM
This coaching will involve picking the team, tactics and getting the players to focus on winning games. That's going to have a bigger impact on our results than almost anything Malky does, except for possibly bringing in top quality players.

That and getting rid of the substandard players that are nowhere near good enough.

The Tubs
05-06-2024, 07:17 PM
That and getting rid of the substandard players that are nowhere near good enough.

I'm hoping Cansell will do more Melkersen-like miracles.

DinkyTwo
05-06-2024, 07:19 PM
Think this is a fair point - they should have really given him the final 5 games and see what he could have done.

I get the clean slate chat but would have still made more sense.

It seems right now the board seems to do the opposite of what many people think so I hold my breath with recruitment as until we improve the spine of the team and add players we need - we won’t improve. ..hopefully this summer we see what we need.I think it's a difficult one. We clearly tried to give NM the time to show he was the man to turn things around, you know, after missing out on the top 6 was as much down to the team's performance as it was unbelievable refereeing decisions.

Then we were immediately pumped by a struggling Aberdeen side and the position became untenable, despite all the caveats.

Some might argue that the board should have been looking at the rigid formation, daft substitutions, style of play and not need further confirmation Monty was out of his depth.

I would also agree with that, but I don't think we were even considering Gray as a replacement at that stage - so what do you do...

05-06-2024, 07:25 PM
Nope, apparently free kicks, corners and throw ins, all learned under the remit of Maloney, Johnstone and Montgomery, oh well can only hope.
Have to say the euphoria of the Folley/Black Knight involvement is rapidly diminishing.

Jakhog1
05-06-2024, 07:29 PM
I'm fine with this appointment, can't wait to see his legendary status shoot up even more when he becomes the first player to captain and score the winning goal and complete football by winning us the Scottish cup as a manager

05-06-2024, 07:30 PM
Absolutely love the SDG and if it’s him selected, he has my full support.

Am I slightly worried? Yes, but only because I’d hate for there to be even the slightest blemish against him at this club, but that’s being pessimistic. He’ll always be a set-in-stone legend here and on the flip side, if he can perform well as a manager (maybe even bagging a cup!) he’d go down as an all-time great for us.

Now to get the spine of our team signed.

Tha Cabbage Kid
05-06-2024, 07:30 PM
Due to us not having a lot of time to allow the new manager assess the players and get rid of the dead wood and and bring in new players i think the board decided Gray was the only one who has their finger on the pulse of the squad. It think for this reason alone Gray is probably the only one who could make the changes quick enough for the start of the season. whether he can on not remains to be seen.

Fingers crossed.

MelbourneHibees
05-06-2024, 07:32 PM
Due to us not having a lot of time to allow the new manager assess the players and get rid of the dead wood and and bring in new players i think the board decided Gray was the only one who has their finger on the pulse of the squad. It think for this reason alone Gray is probably the only one who could make the changes quick enough for the start of the season. whether he can on not remains to be seen.

Fingers crossed.

Gray could have assisted any new coach as he always has with this. This is a terrible cheap appointment.

Andymac85
05-06-2024, 07:35 PM
I would have preferred someone more experienced who hadn’t been part of the last number of failed regimes, but now that is has been decided SDG will have my full support.

Gordy M
05-06-2024, 07:36 PM
Gray could have assisted any new coach as he always has with this. This is a terrible cheap appointment.

Ive seen this a few times....how is it cheap? He will be getting managers wages?

05-06-2024, 07:39 PM

I hope so, but can't escape the feeling that the sort of player you're talking about is at the best club they will ever be at in their careers and will be in no hurry to move.

05-06-2024, 07:40 PM
Ive seen this a few times....how is it cheap? He will be getting managers wages?

It's cheap because we ruled out paying compensation to other clubs

05-06-2024, 07:41 PM
It's cheap because we ruled out paying compensation to other clubs

Did we rule it out?

kentao
05-06-2024, 07:44 PM
This type of narrative creeping in is one of the main concerns of SDG getting the gig. If he is appointed on merit then why are we lowering our expectations? Is it unreasonable to expect a team that can finish above St Mirren and Killie? We have seen with other sides that it doesn’t take much to propel up the league table.

SDG will not be going in with that attitude which is at least something and I understand he will deservedly be given more patience initially due to his status at the club. I don’t see why we need to be lowering our expectations though.

My thinking behind lowering the expectations is its his first gig as a manager taking over a poor squad that's needing emptied and starting from scratch unfortunately that wont be done over 1 transfer window. I am expecting the top 3 to be the same next season with stiff competition from 2 good managers at this level in McInnes and Robinson who have settled teams punching above their turnover. Aberdeen will be hoping for a better finish this term.

Top 4 is not impossible but it will be a big ask for a rookie manager to come in and sort this **** show within the space of 5-6 weeks. Lower the expectations for this season and look to improve from there.

All the best SDG

MelbourneHibees
05-06-2024, 07:45 PM

It's his first managerial job. He doesn't currently hold the Pro License and thus wouldn't be able to command the wages that a manager with that badge could.
And lastly not essential and preferable to avoid but we don't need to spend any money on compensation to ensure we got the man we wanted who has proven to be a success elsewhere.
It's about as cheap an appointment as we could manage.

Paulie Walnuts
05-06-2024, 07:49 PM
It's his first managerial job. He doesn't currently hold the Pro License and thus wouldn't be able to command the wages that a manager with that badge could.
And lastly not essential and preferable to avoid but we don't need to spend any money on compensation to ensure we got the man we wanted who has proven to be a success elsewhere.

I don’t think there can be any argument it’s probably about the cheapest appointment we could realistically have made. That doesn’t mean it’s a bad one though.

Donegal Hibby
05-06-2024, 07:52 PM
I find this " cheap option " a load of nonsense personally . If we wanted a cheap option we could have went for Billy Dodds , Steven MacLean or Barry Robson . Grays getting it because the club think he's the best candidate we have interviewed .

05-06-2024, 07:54 PM
Last season, the defensive set up, playing out and tactics was the brainchild of Sergio Raimundo and was supported by Nick Montgomery.

It gave the team more possession but then the outward formation became singular, slow and predictable. Talented strikers like Boyle and Youan were receiving the ball on the touchline instead of outside the box.

The first thing Davie did was tell Jojo to kick out. His kicks were long and penetrating. Playing in the opposition half was good but unfortunately neither Myziane nor Dylan would compete for headers.

I think Murray and Doidge would have added value as ball winners. Gray will be more pragmatic and instead of trying to fit square pegs into round holes, he will make better use of the players we have.

He was possibly the best qualified candidate that applied for the job. It's clear that no other SPL manager fancied the position nor is it likely it would have appealed to anyone from the English leagues.

A left field appointment from Europe or Rest of the World would have been seen as more risky IMO.

05-06-2024, 07:56 PM

I remember when I started my first ever job I got slightly more wages ‘cos I had higher English. I didn’t realise similar applied with football managers.

05-06-2024, 07:57 PM
So just out of interest what makes Gray a better prospect than Maloney or Montgomery, both considered rookies that should never have been appointed.

The main positive for me is his passion for the club and his mentality. He had that in abundance as a captain so I am hoping he can instil this in the players (hopefully a whole lot of new additions)

Will wait and see how he does coaching and tactics wise but will be backing him to the hilt

05-06-2024, 07:58 PM

100%

It’s not a transition season and he doesn’t need time to settle - quite the opposite.

In reality we should be flying at the start of the league cup campaign and start of season.

Of course progress takes time but Hibs is a club with expectations.

Silky
05-06-2024, 07:58 PM

Is it? Why? Woild you rather we had another "terrible" expensive appointment? I've not seen any evidence to support that. I have seen plenty evidence of "terrible" expensive appointments. Lennon wouldn't have been cheap, neither would LJ.

Something being perceived as cheap, doesn't necessarily make it crap.

05-06-2024, 07:59 PM
Did we rule it out?

I thought we had ruled out getting into protracted negotiations for compensation, not ruled out compensation altogether.

05-06-2024, 08:00 PM
Last season, the defensive set up, playing out and tactics was the brainchild of Sergio Raimundo and was supported by Nick Montgomery.

It gave the team more possession but then the outward formation became singular, slow and predictable. Talented strikers like Boyle and Youan were receiving the ball on the touchline instead of outside the box.

The first thing Davie did was tell Jojo to kick out. His kicks were long and penetrating. Playing in the opposition half was good but unfortunately neither Myziane nor Dylan would compete for headers.

I think Murray and Doidge would have added value as ball winners. Gray will be more pragmatic and instead of trying to fit square pegs into round holes, he will make better use of the players we have.

He was possibly the best qualified candidate that applied for the job. It's clear that no other SPL manager fancied the position nor is it likely it would have appealed to anyone from the English leagues.

A left field appointment from Europe or Rest of the World would have been seen as more risky IMO.

TBF its the brain child of just about every modern coach in the world now.

05-06-2024, 08:00 PM
Surprised Hibs haven’t commented on it as yet.

MelbourneHibees
05-06-2024, 08:01 PM
Is it? Why? Woild you rather we had another "terrible" expensive appointment? I've not seen any evidence to support that. I have seen plenty evidence of "terrible" expensive appointments. Lennon wouldn't have been cheap, neither would LJ.

Something being perceived as cheap, doesn't necessarily make it crap.

Who was the last appointment you'd consider expensive?
Lennon probably, he never done too badly. Not that I wanted him back mind.
LJ wouldn't have cost much.

05-06-2024, 08:03 PM
I find this " cheap option " a load of nonsense personally . If we wanted a cheap option we could have went for Billy Dodds , Steven MacLean or Barry Robson . Grays getting it because the club think he's the best candidate we have interviewed .

I would assume MM is getting paid more than Gray.

Will Gray be getting more than our top earners ?

Some leagues the Head Coach gets more than players - some leagues the players salaries are much higher than the managers / head coach.

05-06-2024, 08:05 PM

Lots of leaks for last couple weeks to get fans perspective and give fans a heads up..so many articles about Gray in paper many on here said it would be surprising if he didn’t get it.

Obviously MM or someone at club telling the press what’s going on.

05-06-2024, 08:09 PM

Probs because it's not all tied up yet. The papers say Gray has been "offered" the job - maybe he's taking time on holiday to think about it first, discuss it more with his wife and family, before he accepts and signs the deal?

ElginHibbie
05-06-2024, 08:14 PM
I thought we had ruled out getting into protracted negotiations for compensation, not ruled out compensation altogether.

But harder to have a dig at the club if you word it like that

05-06-2024, 08:19 PM

They was my take also

05-06-2024, 08:22 PM
When it was clear we weren't getting DM then Gray became more appealing. I think he was the board's only candidate and the decision was made a couple of weeks ago despite what other noises are being made. Presumably the delay in announcing it is simply down to MM's official starting date.

Donegal Hibby
05-06-2024, 08:30 PM
Who was the last appointment you'd consider expensive?
Lennon probably, he never done too badly. Not that I wanted him back mind.
LJ wouldn't have cost much.

Lennon didn't do to badly at the start because he took over a good team that another manager built which deteriorated under his management and it did go badly towards the end .

Wonder did we pay compensation for Maloney , LJ was out of work , read we paid CCM 50 k compensation for Monty and it has probably cost us plenty in paying all 3 and their staff off too .

Don't think we have been penny pinching on players or staff to often , don't think we are now either .

Hibees1973
05-06-2024, 08:30 PM

And that's the point. He may have been the best candidate interviewed.

Which leaves us all to wonder who were the other candidates interviewed. We will never know. It's clear to even Stevie Wonder that Gray fitted the profile of the type of manager Ian Gordon, Kensell and MacKay wanted at a time when a whole load of money has been burnt and mistakes made.

A. Didn't cost any compensation
B. Lower cost due to him not being fully qualified and of little experience
C. More than likely not too stubborn or awkward if MacKay gets closely involved in the first team
D. Knows the club/players and has witnessed the debacle of the last 3 years on the park, so hopefully will be able to learn from and avoid the same mistakes

It would be daft of Gray not to lean on MacKay for advice. Let's face it MacKay has a whole load more experience than Gray.

What has happened at Hibs over the last two months is no doubt a completely different direction to where Ian Gordon and Kensell were taking us in. They have got the Black Knights involved and in MacKay have appointed a Director of Football operations for the whole club. Can only hope this will give clear parameters of what Ian Gordon & Kensell get involved in on the football side.

My fear is he has taken this job too early in his management career and he has taken over the reigns of a basket case of a football club. He has a huge job of improving the first team and in turn the current image of the club.

He has my best wishes and full support.

05-06-2024, 08:47 PM
David Gray and Darren Fletcher as his assistant would he a good combination. I am sure they are good friends.

05-06-2024, 08:55 PM
David Gray and Darren Fletcher as his assistant would he a good combination. I am sure they are good friends.

Has Darren Fletcher still not got a good job at UTD or did they change when Jim Radcliffe came in?

Liam Craig's name has been mentioned numerous times on twitter.

21sMay
05-06-2024, 08:57 PM
Is it too early for a David gray song ?

To the tune of the Warburton song.

David Grays a legend , his blood runs green and white .
He tucked away the rangers , because their *** sh*te.
He scored in the cup final and suddenly it dawned .
Our sir David gray , he has a magic wand .

I'll get my coat 🙈

05-06-2024, 09:00 PM
Has Darren Fletcher still not got a good job at UTD or did they change when Jim Radcliffe came in?

Just checked and Fletcher wasn’t a coach for long before being made technical director. He’s just lost that position to Jason Wilcox but Man Utd have said he’s still involved.

Probably a good guy to have at the club for his contacts but not sure he’d be a good choice for assistant manager.

05-06-2024, 09:00 PM

Fletcher was Technical director but they brought somebody else in to do that job. His job is to identify players from the second youth teams to get them ready for the first team I believe. Sounds like a downgrade from the Technical Directors job.

Donegal Hibby
05-06-2024, 09:01 PM
And that's the point. He may have been the best candidate interviewed.

Which leaves us all to wonder who were the other candidates interviewed. We will never know. It's clear to even Stevie Wonder that Gray fitted the profile of the type of manager Ian Gordon, Kensell and MacKay wanted at a time when a whole load of money has been burnt and mistakes made.

A. Didn't cost any compensation
B. Lower cost due to him not being fully qualified and of little experience
C. More than likely not too stubborn or awkward if MacKay gets closely involved in the first team
D. Knows the club/players and has witnessed the debacle of the last 3 years on the park, so hopefully will be able to learn from and avoid the same mistakes

It would be daft of Gray not to lean on MacKay for advice. Let's face it MacKay has a whole load more experience than Gray.

What has happened at Hibs over the last two months is no doubt a completely different direction to where Ian Gordon and Kensell were taking us in. They have got the Black Knights involved and in MacKay have appointed a Director of Football operations for the whole club. Can only hope this will give clear parameters of what Ian Gordon & Kensell get involved in on the football side.

My fear is he has taken this job too early in his management career and he has taken over the reigns of a basket case of a football club. He has a huge job of improving the first team and in turn the current image of the club.

He has my best wishes and full support.

We could have appointed cheaper options than David Gray imo . We don't know who the other candidates were , maybe one was Ronnie Delia and Gray impressed more with his ideas , knowledge of the club and the numerous players and staff that backed him for it was noticed too .

This wouldn't make him a " cheap option" but what the club decided was the best one . Your right in MM has loads more experience than Gray which is another reason to back his judgement in making Gray manager.

Again Gray has a wealth of knowledge as a player , 3 years as a coach and has said he wants the job because he believes he 100% can do it after stepping in to do it 4 times now . Can't keep him as a coach permanently when he's obviously wanting to take the next step into management .

If he gets his own coaches and possibly a experienced assistant ( maybe Doolan ) and we recruit well we will be ok mate . If he continues his win rate of just over 40 % next season we will be in the top 6 and maybe in the mix for 3rd too hopefully.

05-06-2024, 09:23 PM
Not the appointment I was hoping for tbh. I just hope we get the recruitment right.

05-06-2024, 09:26 PM
Just checked and Fletcher wasn’t a coach for long before being made technical director. He’s just lost that position to Jason Wilcox but Man Utd have said he’s still involved.

Probably a good guy to have at the club for his contacts but not sure he’d be a good choice for assistant manager.

About as qualified to be an assistant manager as our supposed new manager.

ChuckNor
05-06-2024, 09:44 PM
Some amount of moaning on here over a club legend landing a job he is more than ready for. People desperate to be seen as “right” if it all goes tits up? Really sad.

Gray was always getting the job. Some people are made for certain clubs.

Marvin Bartley as assistant?

05-06-2024, 09:46 PM
Some amount of moaning on here over a club legend landing a job he is more than ready for. People desperate to be seen as “right” if it all goes tits up? Really sad.

Bartley failed at Queen of the South, no thanks.

Trinity Hibee
05-06-2024, 09:48 PM

Folk aren’t “looking to be right” at all. The concerns are fully justified given Gray has only taken charge of the first team for a small number of games.

As others have said if we were recruiting someone who had only been interim manager for a couple of games at another club everyone would have reservations and they would be justified in doing so.

05-06-2024, 09:50 PM
Think John Doolan would be the perfect assistant, I’m guessing that’s the delay in announcing Gray, trying to see how much compensation Accrington Stanley are looking for.

Would make the Gray signing a bit more exciting in my opinion.

05-06-2024, 09:51 PM
Think John Doolan would be the perfect assistant, I’m guessing that’s the delay in announcing Gray, trying to see how much compensation Accrington Stanley are looking for.

Surely we could just announce Gray and say details of his back room team to follow?

TrinityHFC
05-06-2024, 09:54 PM
Folk aren’t “looking to be right” at all. The concerns are fully justified given Gray has only taken charge of the first team for a small number of games.

As others have said if we were recruiting someone who had only been interim manager for a couple of games at another club everyone would have reservations and they would be justified in doing so.

He wasn’t at another club though. He’s been here for a number of years, is a club legend and was given a Mo g term deal near his playing retirement to keep him at the club and developing his coaching experience.

Players become managers on a successful basis quite often. It isn’t unusual and actually demonstrates a successful development process.

Who knows what will actually happen from here but he will get more support from fans than most and there was no guarantee of success with any manager. Some are talking as if there was certain success taking a different route. There isn’t.

05-06-2024, 09:54 PM
Surely we could just announce Gray and say details of his back room team to follow?

Absolutely. Pretty sure that’s what happened with LJ, or maybe Maloney.

It’s all been a bit drawn out and weird comms wise with this appointment. It’s maybe actually how it should be, we’re just so used to leaks getting out so we know more.

05-06-2024, 09:55 PM

Are you guessing or hoping or do you know?

05-06-2024, 09:56 PM
Are you guessing or hoping or do you know?

Complete guess work. Just going off Twitter chat, so could be nothing at all in it. Hope it’s true though. Big part of the cup winning team.

Trinity Hibee
05-06-2024, 09:58 PM
He wasn’t at another club though. He’s been here for a number of years, is a club legend and was given a Mo g term deal near his playing retirement to keep him at the club and developing his coaching experience.

Players become managers on a successful basis quite often. It isn’t unusual and actually demonstrates a successful development process.

Who knows what will actually happen from here but he will get more support from fans than most and there was no guarantee of success with any manager. Some are talking as if there was certain success taking a different route. There isn’t.

Absolutely, even those who aren’t convinced it’s the right appointment will give him the backing so that’s a big plus. This idea that fans want SDG to fail though just so they can be proved right is way off the mark. If there is anyone Hibs fans WANT to succeed it’s SDG

05-06-2024, 09:58 PM
About as qualified to be an assistant manager as our supposed new manager.

We get that Gray isn't your choice, no need to keep harping on about it though.

There are posters on here who think Gray is a bad choice that thought Maloney and Montgomery would do well.

None of us know for sure, but I'm confident Gray will do a hell of a lot better than those two.

05-06-2024, 09:59 PM

Change the record, man.

You keep making outlandish statement like ‘more than ready for’. Anyone ‘moaning’ is making reasoned arguments as to why it’s not a great appointment.

Any actual hibs fan doesn’t want it to go tits up.

TrinityHFC
05-06-2024, 09:59 PM
Complete guess work. Just going off Twitter chat, so could be nothing at all in it. Hope it’s true though. Big part of the cup winning team.

I think most people talking about him are oblivious to the fact he just agreed a three year deal in his current role. Not sure what relationship there is between him and Gray that rings him into the equation.

I don’t think a guy in a long term manager position at a decent level is moving to us to be an assistant for a second time.

05-06-2024, 10:03 PM
We get that Gray isn't your choice, no need to keep harping on about it though.

There are posters on here who think Gray is a bad choice that thought Maloney and Montgomery would do well.

None of us know for sure, but I'm confident Gray will do a hell of a lot better than those two.

I’m actually at the point where I couldn’t really care less, I don’t mean to harp on - I just cannot stand folk making stuff about him being ready, being the only man for the job blah blah blah. It’s pish.

Me along with every other hibs fan will wish him all the best.

05-06-2024, 10:06 PM
I’m actually at the point where I couldn’t really care less, I don’t mean to harp on - I just cannot stand folk making stuff about him being ready, being the only man for the job blah blah blah. It’s pish.

Me along with every other hibs fan will wish him all the best.
Agree there is as they say in politics a bit spin going on round this appointment.

05-06-2024, 10:11 PM
Change the record, man.

You keep making outlandish statement like ‘more than ready for’. Anyone ‘moaning’ is making reasoned arguments as to why it’s not a great appointment.

Any actual hibs fan doesn’t want it to go tits up.

This x100.

I keep seeing these comments about a section of our fans and how some want him to fail so they can say they were right.

All I’ve seen is fans voice very reasonable points about why he should/shouldn’t get the job.

It can be far off most Hibs fans perfect scenario to see SDG be a success as a manager after the playing career he had for us.

Everyone has the club and SDG best interests at hearts, just because they don’t agree with the decision doesn’t mean anything other than that

05-06-2024, 10:22 PM
I think most people talking about him are oblivious to the fact he just agreed a three year deal in his current role. Not sure what relationship there is between him and Gray that rings him into the equation.

I don’t think a guy in a long term manager position at a decent level is moving to us to be an assistant for a second time.

A very good relationship, a guy who drove up after a match just so he could be there in person at SDG’s testimonial.

Heedersnvolleys
05-06-2024, 10:33 PM
I find this a weak argument as you know as well as I do the board would have got dogs abuse for any of those names. This is the cheapest with the least amount of aggravation for the board. I am beginning to think more and more MM is the manager in all but name SDG is now an elevated coach.

CentreForward
05-06-2024, 10:36 PM
Would be fascinating to know who else was interviewed. This time absolutely no other names leaked out and once McInnes and Robinson were ruled out very few names were really mentioned. This might sound daft, but am almost wondering was anyone else at all actually interviewed or was it in fact SDG all the way?

05-06-2024, 10:38 PM

He’s not more than ready, he has never managed a club before and it’s a massive gamble. Stop trying to get at fans who have every right to question his underwhelming qualifications for this huge job.

Everyone will be behind him 100% and give him all the support he deserves for success in the role but there’s no need for the playground rants about other posters legitimate views.

Greensunshine
05-06-2024, 10:52 PM
There’s never any guarantees in football management.

I’m a wee bit underwhelmed and I’ll certainly no be rushing out to buy a season ticket but rather continue to pick and choose games when it suits.

Saying all that i wish David all luck and he’ll get my 100% support.

He’s going to get plenty time. Top six next season would be seen as an improvement so he’s not got much to live upto, so hopefully it’ll give him and Malky the time to build something special.

Good luck SDG 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬👍

05-06-2024, 11:02 PM
Not the appointment I was hoping for tbh. I just hope we get the recruitment right.

Agreed. I of course wish SDG all the best and hope he's a massive success but the club are all over the place right now.

If you'd told me last summer we'd be going into the new season with SDG as our permanent manager and Malky Mackay as Sporting Director I would have thought it was a bad joke.

I understand the desire from some fans for positivity, get behind the team etc but given how poorly we've performed on the pitch since the Gordon's have come in, I think some cynicism is entirely reasonable.

I'm still sore from us sacking Sauzee all those yet years ago. I'm not sure I can handle us binning another legend. We have to get out recruitment spot on and give SDG every chance of success.

We should now be in a position where we have the funds, resources, contacts and structure to push on. No more jam tomorrow, we need to start seeing progress on the pitch.

K-Zazu
05-06-2024, 11:03 PM
Would be fascinating to know who else was interviewed. This time absolutely no other names leaked out and once McInnes and Robinson were ruled out very few names were really mentioned. This might sound daft, but am almost wondering was anyone else at all actually interviewed or was it in fact SDG all the way?

Neill Collins I think?

HibeEC
05-06-2024, 11:11 PM
he has never managed a club before

He hasn't been appointed as the manager. He is the Head Coach. He has been coaching for 3 years. Give him a chance. He needs your support.

Percy Vere
05-06-2024, 11:18 PM
He’s not more than ready, he has never managed a club before and it’s a massive gamble. Stop trying to get at fans who have every right to question his underwhelming qualifications for this huge job.

Everyone will be behind him 100% and give him all the support he deserves for success in the role but there’s no need for the playground rants about other posters legitimate views.

I'm usually one of the ones on here defending managers and players.
Im pretty speechless on this one.
underwhelmed and bewildered.
There may well be a time for SDG to manage Hibs, but I just don't think this is it.
such a massive task ahead. But he knows that!
It's not only a huge gamble by the club it is for his career too.
The team around him is absolutely key, as is player recruitment.
Ideally the delay is him hammering out the best possible strategy to take this club forward and guarantee the resources he needs to rebuild the squad.
I really hope his player legend status translates into a legendary manager/head coach - I'll be delighted to be won over. GGTTH

05-06-2024, 11:25 PM
Agreed. I of course wish SDG all the best and hope he's a massive success but the club are all over the place right now.

If you'd told me last summer we'd be going into the new season with SDG as our permanent manager and Malky Mackay as Sporting Director I would have thought it was a bad joke.

I understand the desire from some fans for positivity, get behind the team etc but given how poorly we've performed on the pitch since the Gordon's have come in, I think some cynicism is entirely reasonable.

I'm still sore from us sacking Sauzee all those yet years ago. I'm not sure I can handle us binning another legend. We have to get out recruitment spot on and give SDG every chance of success.

We should now be in a position where we have the funds, resources, contacts and structure to push on. No more jam tomorrow, we need to start seeing progress on the pitch.

Having the funds is one thing, identifying the right recruits is another thing entirely. I sincerely hope the next appointment is someone to head up the recruitment department. This has been shocking since Mathie was fired, initially replaced with Ian Gordon, and I hope this is where Foley and his team have serious influence and decision making power.

one day maybe...
05-06-2024, 11:26 PM
Any word on who his assistant is going to be?

05-06-2024, 11:30 PM
He hasn't been appointed as the manager. He is the Head Coach. He has been coaching for 3 years. Give him a chance. He needs your support.

Read my post, he has my 100% support and now he’s seemingly been appointed he will get a 100% chance. That doesn’t mean I and many others don’t think it’s the best for Hibs or him at this time. I am desperately hoping he’s a roaring success but it’s very much against the odds.

06-06-2024, 12:36 AM
I have to say this is a massive gamble. In SDG's case it's the gamble any coach takes when he goes into management, be it with this club or any other.

The biggest gamble with the biggest prospect of fallout is being taken by the club. If this doesn't work a fanbase that have seen failed manager after failed manager over the last few years is going to go absolutely ballistic if we end up having to sack SDG before a season is up. And there's no doubt whatsoever where our anger will be targeted.

They had better ........... F'ing well BETTER!!! ...... back this guy with every single penny they can raise to throw at the playing squad, even if they have to sell Malky McKay's car to add to it.

They could have gone for McInnes, or Alex Neil, or Robinson, if they had been prepared to ante up. They didn't, the result being that with two months to go until the league kicks off the NEWS from Hibs is that we have:

One first choice centre back.
Could lose Youan.
One recognised striker who we don't play as a striker who cost 700,000 quid and who scored about 6 goals last season.
A first choice keeper most of us think has seen his best days.
A midfield that badly needs improving.
The club / BK's reneging on what was as near as dammit a promise to build an indoor training facility.
A rookie manager being asked to sort a team that's under performed for two seasons.

Our recruitment in the summer window had better be f'ing well spectacular !!!

06-06-2024, 01:35 AM

I can literally remember the day Sauzee got sacked in the same way I got other huge and usually really bad news.

I couldn’t believe it and felt totally cold and empty. Absolutely gutted.

06-06-2024, 02:29 AM
Let’s face it…..there was never a managerial appointment that was going to be met with universal approval on this forum.

The biggest plus I can see with SDG getting the job is that he can immediately get stuck into offloading those players he sees as huddies, and doesn’t have to spend time ‘assessing’ the squad from scratch.

If an outsider had come in, then I think there would be inevitable delay in the delisting/recruitment process that would flow over to the season proper.

I’m already on record with saying I’m not real fussed about who gets the job, and that it is the recruitment process that will decide whether that person is still in the job next season.

SDG may not have the managerial experience of some, but he certainly has more knowledge than many, and he’ll do me.

Now, let’s see some movements in and out….l

06-06-2024, 03:17 AM
Trying to find positives, if SDG proves to a roaring success at Hibs he's much more likely to want to STAY with Hibs for an extended period than any of the others mentioned as candidates. On the rare occasions we've unearthed a decent manager who has brought a modicum of success to ER, it took the slightest flash of OF or EFL petticoat to lure them away.

Paulie Walnuts
06-06-2024, 05:29 AM
I find this a weak argument as you know as well as I do the board would have got dogs abuse for any of those names. This is the cheapest with the least amount of aggravation for the board. I am beginning to think more and more MM is the manager in all but name SDG is now an elevated coach.

If the argument is ‘it could have been cheaper, we could have got Billy Dodds’ then I’d suggest that tells you it was the cheap appointment.

Again, that’s not to say it’s why Hibs went for Gray. But it most definitely is one of the cheapest realistic appointments we could have made, and that remains the case even if we could have appointed Judy from the Morrisons customer service desk for cheaper.

It’s concerning imo that our first appointment after investment from billionaire owners has seen us appoint someone who isn’t even qualified to manage at the level we want to be playing at.

06-06-2024, 06:18 AM

If the argument is ‘it could have been cheaper, we could have got Billy Dodds’ then I’d suggest that tells you it was the cheap appointment.

Again, that’s not to say it’s why Hibs went for Gray. But it most definitely is one of the cheapest realistic appointments we could have made, and that remains the case even if we could have appointed Judy from the Morrisons customer service desk for cheaper.

It’s concerning imo that our first appointment after investment from billionaire owners has seen us appoint someone who isn’t even qualified to manage at the level we want to be playing at.

But we don’t have billionaire owners. They have a minority shareholding in the club.

06-06-2024, 06:21 AM
It’s a gamble but any appointment with the possible exception of McInnes would have been. This is Hibs, after all.

Let’s get behind our boy SDG

06-06-2024, 06:22 AM
It’s a gamble but any appointment with the possible exception of McInnes would have been. This is Hibs, after all.

Let’s get behind our boy SDG

Couldn’t agree more

06-06-2024, 06:22 AM
It's not about billionaire investors. Teams with considerably less money than Hibs have finished above us and/or won trophies almost every season since we won the Scottish Cup. It's about getting the right tactics and the right players for this league, and being able to pivot between a game where there's space to attack and a team who's sole intention is to stop you playing football. Hopefully Gray knows how to do that given his experience in this league.

06-06-2024, 06:26 AM
It's not about billionaire investors. Teams with considerably less money than Hibs have finished above us and/or won trophies almost every season since we won the Scottish Cup. It's about getting the right tactics and the right players for this league, and being able to pivot between a game where there's space to attack and a team who's sole intention is to stop you playing football. Hopefully Gray knows how to do that given his experience in this league.

This is it. If we continue to recruit the same way we have been since Ross was sacked then we are ****ed and SDG will be on a hiding to nothing. We’ve got to provide him with players suited to the league, no more projects or punts filling the squad.

06-06-2024, 06:31 AM
This is it. If we continue to recruit the same way we have been since Ross was sacked then we are ****ed and SDG will be on a hiding to nothing. We’ve got to provide him with players suited to the league, no more projects or punts filling the squad.

Agreed. I hope that those are deemed not good enough are moved on to make space for better but some me might not keen given the wages etc. Tavares being one

06-06-2024, 06:39 AM
I must have missed an announcement. When did the club say we won’t now be building the full-size indoor pitch at East Mains and what reason was given?

06-06-2024, 06:53 AM
I must have missed an announcement. When did the club say we won’t now be building the full-size indoor pitch at East Mains and what reason was given?

Was t an announcement, Kensell said it at a sponsors night apparently.

I wasn’t there but sure people have said they’ve decided the spend had to go on the team instead of infrastructure for now.

06-06-2024, 06:55 AM
Was t an announcement, Kensell said it at a sponsors night apparently.

I wasn’t there but sure people have said they’ve decided the spend had to go on the team instead of infrastructure for now.

Yep, he said part of the review may decide to use the investment on the team rather than training ground. Which was clear that was what they were gonna do.

06-06-2024, 06:59 AM
I'm happy with the appointment.
SDG knows the players and staff and what will be needed to improve us.
He's ready for this and I'm confident that he will easily achieve more success than the last three appointments.

06-06-2024, 07:00 AM
I have to say this is a massive gamble. In SDG's case it's the gamble any coach takes when he goes into management, be it with this club or any other.

The biggest gamble with the biggest prospect of fallout is being taken by the club. If this doesn't work a fanbase that have seen failed manager after failed manager over the last few years is going to go absolutely ballistic if we end up having to sack SDG before a season is up. And there's no doubt whatsoever where our anger will be targeted.

They had better ........... F'ing well BETTER!!! ...... back this guy with every single penny they can raise to throw at the playing squad, even if they have to sell Malky McKay's car to add to it.

They could have gone for McInnes, or Alex Neil, or Robinson, if they had been prepared to ante up. They didn't, the result being that with two months to go until the league kicks off the NEWS from Hibs is that we have:

Could lose Youan.
One recognised striker who we don't play as a striker who cost 700,000 quid and who scored about 6 goals last season.
The club / BK's reneging on what was as near as dammit a promise to build an indoor training facility.
A rookie manager being asked to sort a team that's under performed for two seasons.

Our recruitment in the summer window had better be f'ing well spectacular !!!

Thought Marsh had left or won’t be returning to the playing side ?

Paulie Walnuts
06-06-2024, 07:13 AM
But we don’t have billionaire owners. They have a minority shareholding in the club.

They own a significant chunk of the club and are billionaires. So we have billionaire owners.

Regardless though, we’re supposed to be in a strong financial position, or you could realistically expect we are anyway. To then go and declare we won’t be paying compensation, appoint a manager with no experience, who doesn’t even have the relevant qualifications to manage at the level we publicly state we want to be playing at makes very little sense to me.

06-06-2024, 07:14 AM

Could lose Youan.

Our recruitment in the summer window had better be f'ing well spectacular !!!I dont think backing (cash wise) has been lacking at all the past few years

If that level continues or goes up and we fail then the blame will be with the manager (again)

SDG - legend or not - needs to extract the most out of the squad he has

Hopefully with MM in we will see better quality for the money we pay

It's then up to SDG and the coaching team to make it work

06-06-2024, 07:23 AM
I feel Gray is less of a gamble than Montgomery or Maloney were. A gamble all the same. He isn't a stranger to the club, he captained us in one of our darkest periods, Stubbs very first signing and ended up leading us on the park to our most iconic moment. He knows what it means, he knows what it means to us. There wont be any "moments from jubilation" or "happy at 1-1" pish. I expect to see a more fired up Hibs next season. A Hibs in his mold with more purpose.

06-06-2024, 07:32 AM
They own a significant chunk of the club and are billionaires. So we have billionaire owners.

Regardless though, we’re supposed to be in a strong financial position, or you could realistically expect we are anyway. To then go and declare we won’t be paying compensation, appoint a manager with no experience, who doesn’t even have the relevant qualifications to manage at the level we publicly state we want to be playing at makes very little sense to me.

The issue we have is all the money we have pissed up the wall giving lengthy contracts and wages to substandard players. Our position is an accumulation of the start of Maloney reign and we are now suffering. Instead of having all the extra income from the new hospitality we will more than likely use some of the budget to pay folk off or at very least come to an agreement.

As I type a what’s app from club indicates more investment by Leslie Robb and the Gordon’s.

06-06-2024, 07:33 AM
Controversial take here, but....

The key man in our revival 10 years ago wasn't Stubbsy it was signing good midfielders (John McGinn, Scott Allan, Dylan McGeough, Ewan Henderson, Fraser Five etc)

The key man this year isn't who is the manager, it's who we sign in midfield - with the money, go spend it on McCowan and Lennon Miller and SDG's chances of success will be increased hugely

06-06-2024, 07:36 AM

This was never a club statement. Just journo trash to get headlines and provoke responses like yours.

Paulie Walnuts
06-06-2024, 07:38 AM
This was never a club statement. Just journo trash to get headlines and provoke responses like yours.

It wasn’t a club statement, you’re right. Ive little doubt it was the approach the club took though.

The club quite clearly briefed the media of this to ensure people were very quickly of the understanding that we wouldn’t be getting McInnes and get their expectations in line. So it wasn’t so much ‘journo trash’ and much more Hibs telling them ‘well no be paying but we can’t say that ourselves, so get the fans rely’.

06-06-2024, 07:39 AM

The key man in our revival 10 years ago wasn't Stubbsy it was signing good midfielders (John McGinn, Scott Allan, Dylan McGeough, Ewan Henderson, Fraser Five etc)

The key man this year isn't who is the manager, it's who we sign in midfield - with the money, go spend it on McCowan and Lennon Miller and SDG's chances of success will be increased hugely

The key man was a woman. Without Dempster there is no Stubbs, Mcginn, Allan or anyone else.

She hired George Craig, and him and his team were excellent.

06-06-2024, 07:46 AM

The importance of the midfield is massive, you are correct.

But recruitment around that time was exceptional all over the park. A couple of central defenders of the ilk of Fontaine and McGregor would go a long way towards correcting our current ills imo.

Basically - yes, we need to get the midfield right, but we also need to get the GK, centre halves, full backs, wide players and strikers right too.

And our most pressing need is at the back.

06-06-2024, 07:47 AM
I'm happy with the appointment.
SDG knows the players and staff and what will be needed to improve us.
He's ready for this and I'm confident that he will easily achieve more success than the last three appointments.

That’s where I’m at also. Am actually pleased with this appointment

06-06-2024, 07:54 AM
First I’ve heard of this too

06-06-2024, 08:06 AM
If/when Gray is announced time to update on a number of other things.

What’s happening with the review/what it found.

Who has been released, preferably followed by a whole list who have also been told they are free to leave.

What’s happening with Youan’s transfer.

Any contract renewals (rumours about Rocky & Newell).

What’s happening with Bryan McDermott.

What’s happening with the indoor pitch.

Etc

06-06-2024, 08:06 AM

Who has been released, preferably followed by a whole list who have also been told they are free to leave.

Etc

We need an Ann Budge type comms. Remember that day she released a statement with about 34 million words in it, one word for every pound of debt they walked away from 😂😂

06-06-2024, 08:08 AM
Two seasons ago, decisions about recruitment were being taken by Ben Kensell and Ian Gordon. A huge bloated squad is a legacy of their reign. Two much input too from what turned out to be temporary Managers.

This summer, we have a Sporting Director, a Head of Recuitment and a Head Coach. A completely different model and reverting back to the Craig, Mathie, Stubbs team approach of 2014 onwards.

Fans and the Media urgently need to recognise that's a strategic change and stop using the incorrect term 'Manager'

06-06-2024, 08:11 AM
The key man was a woman. Without Dempster there is no Stubbs, Mcginn, Allan or anyone else.

She hired George Craig, and him and his team were excellent.

By that logic the key person is surely Rod Petrie.

06-06-2024, 08:12 AM
First I’ve heard of this too

Last I heard it was still going ahead and we’d bought additional land to build it on…

06-06-2024, 08:14 AM

EtcWho's actually the head of recruitment and who's actually involved in it.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

06-06-2024, 08:18 AM

Well no, because he was also just an employee. Farmer told him what to do.

But no, clearly not. It was Leeann Dempster.

06-06-2024, 08:19 AM
Will people stop saying he's the manager, the club structure has changed with MM now doing the majority of running the club with Gray's job as head coach to purely coach the team and get them match ready. The last time we had this structure was when Stubbs was here.

06-06-2024, 08:21 AM
Last I heard it was still going ahead and we’d bought additional land to build it on…

Nothing official - but at recent sponsor nights BK said some of that infra investment may have to be back burner as they sort out the squad first. The indoor pitch was given as an example of something that "may" have to wait.

06-06-2024, 08:22 AM

Petrie realised all too late changes were needed, plus he was going after the top job at the SFA.

06-06-2024, 08:24 AM
Will people stop saying he's the manager, the club structure has changed with MM now doing the majority of running the club with Gray's job as head coach to purely coach the team and get them match ready. The last time we had this structure was when Stubbs was here.

Montgomery was head coach…..as was Ross, Heckingbottom and Lennon

People will always automatically call whoever it is the manager, it’s really not a big deal

WestStandWillie
06-06-2024, 08:25 AM
No issue with DG getting the job. Hopefully Malky can support him and whoever he brings in as his backroom team.

We've tried various options that haven't worked out for us, at least Gray gets what the club is all about.

Seen more unity from a Hibs team against Motherwell last month than I saw in the whole of last season. Players respect and enjoy playing under Gray.

If he gets the defence right, that's half the battle.

06-06-2024, 08:30 AM
Nothing official - but at recent sponsor nights BK said some of that infra investment may have to be back burner as they sort out the squad first. The indoor pitch was given as an example of something that "may" have to wait.

:agree: I heard that suggestion, was probably from you :greengrin Though I also heard a lot of the plans were far down the line and were going ahead.

06-06-2024, 08:34 AM

That is exactly what happened under Monty, Maloney, Hecky, Ross, Lennon, Stubbs etc.

Manager and head coach are the same thing. You have an input on signings, you train and coach the team.

Mcbizz1998
06-06-2024, 08:52 AM
That is exactly what happened under Monty, Maloney, Hecky, Ross, Lennon, Stubbs etc.

Manager and head coach are the same thing. You have an input on signings, you train and coach the team.

If they are the same thing then why are Hibs very specific with what word they use? We have had managers and head coaches, do Hibs just use them interchangeably? Would seem odd.

06-06-2024, 08:53 AM
No issue with DG getting the job. Hopefully Malky can support him and whoever he brings in as his backroom team.

We've tried various options that haven't worked out for us, at least Gray gets what the club is all about.

Seen more unity from a Hibs team against Motherwell last month than I saw in the whole of last season. Players respect and enjoy playing under Gray.

If he gets the defence right, that's half the battle.

Liked what he said about his nonnegotiables leave it all out on the park never give up make us harder to beat play for each other and the jersey and help turn ER back into a fortress

No more placid timid performances might take a few games to get it right but with the right Coaching team behind him, MM and significant investment out on the pitch who knows ?

06-06-2024, 08:56 AM
If they are the same thing then why are Hibs very specific with what word they use? We have had managers and head coaches, do Hibs just use them interchangeably? Would seem odd.

Yes, they do. All just pish. Nowadays any serious club has someone else in charge of the football department.

Musselbound
06-06-2024, 09:05 AM

Whatever term is used, surely the head coach has some input on recruitment as you say. Certainly those head coaches you name have received plenty of stick about signings made under their tenure. Whether it is all their fault or choice is another matter.

06-06-2024, 09:11 AM

As much as I loved that midfield (and I think you mean Liam not Ewan Henderson) let's not forget it took them three goes just to get out of the championship. They are remembered so fondly because of the Scottish Cup win and our record in the cups in general. McGinn was and is exceptional, but like it or not the team Stubbs and Dempster created tried and failed to get out of the 2nd tier of Scottish football twice. By comparison..The team we all think is much worse, managed by a guy who has been vilified actually came 5th in the top flight qualified for Europe and made it through to the third round that we played in and then were beaten by eventual finalists. "Success" is subjective in football very often.

06-06-2024, 09:11 AM

Beginning to wonder if following the end of season review our new billionaire share holders have thought, oh oh let's just take a step back here and have a it of a think.

Chorley Hibee
06-06-2024, 09:13 AM
Beginning to wonder if following the end of season review our new billionaire share holders have thought, oh oh let's just take a step back here and have a it of a think.

That scenario has crossed my mind.

Donegal Hibby
06-06-2024, 09:29 AM

Always took it they were different . Like what folk were saying in that Mcinnes wouldn't work under a set-up like we had because he was a more hands on manager and a Head coach isn't involved as much and just takes the training , picking the team and so on .

06-06-2024, 09:36 AM
Always took it they were different . Like what folk were saying in that Mcinnes wouldn't work under a set-up like we had because he was a more hands on manager and a Head coach isn't involved as much and just takes the training , picking the team and so on .

Yup.

Michael Edwards was moved out of Liverpool due to Klopp wanting full control. Klopp leaves and Edwards almost immediately reappointed with a ‘head coach’ employed.

Most elite clubs operate this way now.

06-06-2024, 09:39 AM
Gray's combined record as Hibs manager, as things stand:

Played: 12
Won: 5
Drawn: 3
Lost: 4

Goals scored: 16
Goals conceded: 12

06-06-2024, 09:44 AM
Strange that still no announcement.

ElginHibbie
06-06-2024, 09:48 AM

He might not be back in country yet, still working out backroom staff, could be many reasons for it, nothing to worry about

I am hoping that club was waiting for the funding to all be confirmed and with that now announced will see movement on a few things today and tomorrow, this being one

TrinityHFC
06-06-2024, 09:50 AM
As much as I loved that midfield (and I think you mean Liam not Ewan Henderson) let's not forget it took them three goes just to get out of the championship. They are remembered so fondly because of the Scottish Cup win and our record in the cups in general. McGinn was and is exceptional, but like it or not the team Stubbs and Dempster created tried and failed to get out of the 2nd tier of Scottish football twice. By comparison..The team we all think is much worse, managed by a guy who has been vilified actually came 5th in the top flight qualified for Europe and made it through to the third round that we played in and then were beaten by eventual finalists. "Success" is subjective in football very often.

Aye. The harking back to that set up is beyond boring. We were on the right side of history so we don’t have to worry about it but leaving Falkirk the week before felt like we could have been headed for a very bad outcome for the future of the club.

They got some signings very right indeed and McGinn was one I do t think we knew the extent of what we were getting. We also signed some complete dross. They didn’t have the complete answer on recruitment or anything else.

Donegal Hibby
06-06-2024, 09:50 AM

I read in the EEN that Gray wasn't back till early next week so maybe then there will be an official announcement ? . Or just waiting to get his coaches and assistant in too . Just guessing again though .

06-06-2024, 09:51 AM

Give it 10 minutes…

06-06-2024, 09:53 AM

Gray's still away on holiday. Maybe he hasn't actually signed on the dotted yet, maybe Hibs are waiting to get the assistants in place to announce the complete package?

06-06-2024, 09:55 AM
Think we're waiting on the new kit coming out before we announce the manager.

06-06-2024, 09:56 AM

Is this a baseless comment or are you suggesting a farcical Naismith type scenario where he needs additional badges before he can manage in Europe?

06-06-2024, 09:58 AM
I'm beginning to think the appointment was leaked while Gray was away in order to give the fans time to vent and get over the appointment.

06-06-2024, 09:59 AM

I agree about that midfield, i'd replace them all, although we do need defenders too probably more than midfielders as we have none apart from Rocky.

This is as big a rebuild as we've had since Stubbs.

ElginHibbie
06-06-2024, 10:00 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GPYZwb8WcAA8DyY?format=jpg&name=large

Give it 10 minutes…

Impressive

Paulie Walnuts
Is this a baseless comment or are you suggesting a farcical Naismith type scenario where he needs additional badges before he can manage in Europe?

He doesn’t have the badges to manage in Europe. He doesn’t even currently have the level of badges below that level.

If we end up in Europe in 25/26 then he’ll almost certainly not have the necessary badges to be our manager in those games.

06-06-2024, 10:02 AM
🇳🇬🥬

06-06-2024, 10:02 AM
Gray confirmed!

https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1798656096359285170

Mcbizz1998
06-06-2024, 10:03 AM
Yaaasss!

https://youtube.com/shorts/aHlRXEYMnXw?si=j0txSukb1_ExHbEv

"It is a real privilege for me to become the head coach of this great football club," said Gray.

“Everyone knows how much Hibs means to me. It is a massive club with a phenomenal fanbase, that I know very well – so to be given this opportunity is a true honour.

"From being here as a player and a coach for over 10 years, I know what a successful Hibs team looks like and I am determined to succeed and take our club forward."

He doesn’t have the badges to manage in Europe. He doesn’t even currently have the level of badges below that level.

If we end up in Europe in 25/26 then he’ll almost certainly not have the necessary badges to be our manager in those games.

He does otherwise he wouldn’t be able to enroll on the UEFA Pro License course

snedzuk
06-06-2024, 10:04 AM

Its often forgotten that Hearts and Rangers in that division were there for financial reasons. Of the 'big three' it was Hibernian that were there on playing merit following years of under achieving mediocrity. I'm yet to be convinced we are not in another similar spell of mediocrity, but we'll find out this coming season. Everybody else in this division wont be standing still while we play catch up.

Mcbizz1998
06-06-2024, 10:05 AM
Enough of the negativity now please, let’s get right behind him.